About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (41)
fit for foodies (29)
romantic (27)
See All
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (20)
notable wine list (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place, food and drinks very good. ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great place, food and drinks very good. Some of the servers were very good, wish they stayed with us the whole time. However great place to wine and dine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect!

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a late nite dinner after the fi ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for a late nite dinner after the final ballet performance. This was our first visit to Roy's in Chicago . We have visited Roy's LAand OC quite often. Food was fantastic, service was personable and expeditious. We even got one server to sing opera for us and everyone enjoyed The miniature concert Bravo all the way around

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic ahi tuna steak! Every time I'm ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic ahi tuna steak! Every time I'm near a Roy's I try to eat there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's no ka 'oi

Dined on May 15, 2016

We first dined at Roy's on Maui back in the late '80s. Now, nearly 30 years later and it's still a fabulous menu with flavors so unique to the brand. We've covered 10 locations and loved every meal. Mahalo

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Really bad food

Dined on May 14, 2016

Once again, accountants should not be allowed near the food buying and preparation decisions of restaurants. Mushy seafood, frozen for months; cheap preparation; no quality control. Great service, beautiful room, nice ambiance. Terrible food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality Time

Dined on May 13, 2016

I took my son out for a mother-son dinner. As a parent, I believe it is important to expose kids to different types of cuisine. We had a great time, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

Besides the wonderful wait staff, the ma ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Besides the wonderful wait staff, the management was terrible. We waited over 30 minutes for the valet. When we went to tell the manager he seemed to not care at all and I walked away he mumbled under his breath, " don't have to be rude about it", towards us when we were polite as could be. After approaching said manager he decided to blame it all on us the guests. Our waitress and food were the only two reasons we stayed. The hostess was stand-off from the beginning and disrespectful when we asked the simplest of question. All I wanted was a great birthday dinner. We have dined at the Roy's in Hawaii many times. Instead of a great evening with family and friends we were patronized by the management.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

TERRIBLE

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to Roy's several times over the last 10 years. We went there to celebrate Mother's Day expecting the same quality atmosphere, service and food. Turns out Roy's changed management recently. The new owners/managers should be embarrassed. They shouldn't be allowed to use the Roy's name because it is nowhere near the same restaurant. We waited over 10 minutes for a table at 5:30 p.m. (not a busy time on a Sunday night) despite having a reservation and despite the restaurant being only half-full. We should've turned around and left but didn't. When seated, we ordered within 10 minutes because we had hungry children. We asked that the kids' meals be brought out first, if possible. They weren't. We waited an hour for our meal. We had the least friendly waiter imaginable. No personality. No apologies for the delays. No explanation. Nothing. And then the food finally came. The butterfish preparation has been changed, and not for the better. It was fine but not what we had come to expect. No reason to go back to Roy's. . . ever.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Ended up waiting way too long and had to leave

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had booked a reservation for Mother's Day. After being there for 90 minutes, we had only each received our appetizer and one drink. Nobody ever came around to ask us if we wanted another drink even though our empty glasses were sitting there for about an hour - and when I tracked someone down to ask for coffee, it never arrived. When we finally got up and asked how much longer it would be for our meals, someone went to the kitchen to inquire and informed us that they were not even started yet. That would have put us at about 2 hours before even getting our entrees, and we had two small children with us who were getting restless after patiently sitting for an hour and a half already. We noticed that other tables around us were also getting annoyed at the slow service and long waits for food. Things seemed extremely unorganized even though the restaurant surprisingly wasn't as crowded as we would have expected. We decided it wasn't worth waiting any longer and told them we had to go. The manager was very apologetic and did comp what little we did receive during that time, but it wasn't exactly the Mother's Day we had expected.

food1
ambience1
service1

This restaurant will not be around much ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant will not be around much longer. Our Mother's Day was disastrous... Unless the restaurant had 15 no shows for help last minute, after 2 hours and 15 minutes, we walked out when the manager could not assure us our entrees would be coming out in 10 minutes. I will call in Monday to ask for an explanation...

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding main courses, the Mahi Mahi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding main courses, the Mahi Mahi is superb and the lobster dem dem is delicious. Can not say enough about the Butterfish!! Always outstanding service with great ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Solid

Dined on May 8, 2016

Eaten here 4 times. Tasty and a value for restaurants in that area of town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Poor value and btter Choices

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I expect an excellent overall experience for the price. Seems like this restaurant is slipping or getting ready for an exit

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Repeat Visit to Icon

Dined on April 15, 2016

We enjoyed dining at Roy's on a return visit to Chicago. With its central location and great seafood, we were not disappointed in our entrees. Of particular delight was the lobster potstickers appetizer. Plenty for two people to share, a delicious way to start our meal. The beverage manager was very attentive and searched out a special bottle of wine that was not on the menu. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delish

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The salmon in ponzu sauce is amazing every time! Don't miss the lobster dim sum ! Wine list is very good and cocktails Delish.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst restaurant experience in a long time.

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had so many service issues that we left before we got our main course. Our appetizers took over an hour to show up. Management had no explanation for why we had the problems we did. We will never return to this location.

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Experience with Roy's may be different

Dined on April 6, 2016

I invited 3 quests for business dinner at this restaurant since my previous experience with Roy's was very good. However this time Roy's did not meet my expectations. Maybe because last night we had fantastic dinner at Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone CrabSalad, maybe because we ordered tasteless salad and soup that wasn't warm enough. Even the service was not good enough as we had to actively invite waiters to make our additional orders.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great time. Food is excellent. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great time. Food is excellent. Service is great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Taste of the Islands

Dined on March 17, 2016

The menu is locally modified from the original Roy's restuarant in Honolulu. Many of the original favorites are on the menu, while this location offers unique offerings. The food was well prepared and presented.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy Birthday Celebration!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was awesome and their speciality dessert was even better!!! Please go you will love it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliably good

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary at Roy's and enjoyed the ribs for an appetizer, snapper and Ono for the entrees. Service is excellent. Noise level low (this was on a Sunday evening) even though the dining room was almost full. Only surprise was the reconfiguration of the booths. They had been separated and pulled back, leaving them halfway in the walkway between the bar and dining room and halfway in the actual dining room. Not nearly as intimate a seating as before. Would be nice with a small partition added on the walkway side of the booth to reduce the feeling of nearly falling out or people walking in to us. This would still leave access between the booths but up the intimacy level!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

This is not a kid friendly place even th ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

This is not a kid friendly place even though they have an awesome 3 course kids menu. I brought my 2 daughters and the staff was annoyed with us. As far as the food, it was alright. This is a seafood restaurant however we were not able to order any ahi tuna rolls as an appetizer because they ran out and only had enough if you ordered it for dinner. It wasn't a great experience. I have been to many Roy's restaurants and would not recommend the Chicago location.

food4
ambience5
service5

Desserts are fantastic! Marlon was our s ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Desserts are fantastic! Marlon was our server and he was as nice as can be...also very knowledgeable. I had a terrible headache the night that we had dinner for my husband's birthday. He noticed that I wasn't feeling well and offered herbal tea...which went quite well with the Aleve my husband went out and got for me during dinner. I felt much better afterwards. Thanks so much Marlon for your care and outstanding service. You're a top professional and absolute gentleman to boot.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Roy's on a Wednesday

Dined on March 3, 2016

We had a few very minor service glitches at the start but the staff finished strong. The food was uniformly good. I especially enjoyed one of the night's specials: red snapper, with Portuguese sausage crust over gnocchi, with Asian glaze. My first thought when I heard "Asian glaze" was the stuff you might get on an entrée at a cheap Chinese take out place. But I went with it anyway and was very pleased. The glaze was more like a subtle, sophisticated barbeque sauce, but not sweet. Gnocchi can be hit or miss but this was lovely, with just the right consistency and helped out by the glaze. We have been to Roy's 4 or 5 times and will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Mahi mahi was delicious

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

I am a big fan of Roy's in Hawaii. It had been awhile since I had been to Roy's in Chicago so I thought I would take some colleagues. The mahi mahi was absolutely delicious and was one of the largest portions of mahi I had ever received. It gets an A+. I felt like the lobster bisque was a little anemic - more watery than creamy. Also, the red velvet cake was inedible. It was as dry as cardboard. I did not want to make a scene with my colleagues, so I just let it go. It was like the cake had sat out in the air for days. Super dry and hard. Definitely avoid it. Overall it was a great spot for conversation since we went early (6 p.m.) and it was quiet. I'd go back for the mahi, but not the bisque appetizer or the red velvet cake dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is fantastic

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband and I planned dinner at Roy's for our anniversary, of sorts. This was our 2nd visit to Roy's, our first being Waikoloa Village Hawaii, so we knew we were in for a treat. We started with Lobster Potstickers and Lobster Bisque. Absolutely scrumptious. To continue, my husband chose the Seared Sea Scallops and I chose the Shellfish Sampler. I don't typically order shrimp, but the flavor was wonderful. The lobster tail was sweet and succulent, rivaling fresh Maine Lobster. To finish we ordered Roy's Melting Hot Chocolate Souffle and Pineapple Upside Down Cake which arrived with toasted coconut ice cream. There was a glitch in the kitchen so we were lucky to receive free desserts. Had we paid, they would have been well worth the money. The staff were also phenomenal and were very helpful when recommending menu/bar items. All in all, fabulous restaurant with great GREAT menu options, even if a little expensive! We highly recommend Roy's!!! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

salty, marginal service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Nice evening but the service was lacking and the food was exceedingly salty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Celebrating an anniversary. Nice welcome note in a frame at table when we arrived. Great Service throughout evening. At the end of the meal the server came by and snapped a picture of the anniversary couple and placed it in the frame. Wonderful, unexpected touch. Thanks for a fantastic evening.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for large events

Dined on February 15, 2016

We've come to Roys many times with big groups and celebrated milestone events. The service is excellent and the valet parking helps also. The wait staff is very considerate of food allergies and special dietary requests. We will be back. The ribs are delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had the pleasure of taking my girlfriend out for dinner at this fine established. We both enjoyed the food and the service. I would tell any who like spicy drinks to try the halepeno margaritas. Great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always our go to place for special occas ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always our go to place for special occasions, or just an Aloha Hour. Never disappointed in any meal.

food5
ambience4
service4

Butterfish was to die for.....

Dined on February 14, 2016

Butterfish was to die for.....

food4
ambience4
service1

The food was great and we loved the atmo ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was great and we loved the atmosphere. The service however was awful. We took part in the four course Valentines Day prefixed menu and it took forever for us to get our food. Then they brought us the wrong entree and we had to wait for them to remake our dinner. I understand restaurants are busy on Valentine's Day, but we got there at 9:15pm and half the restaurant was already clearing out. Our entire dining experience to about 2 hours and 15 minutes.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pre-valentine dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Previously, Roy's had been high on my list of favorite restaurants. On this occasion however, the service was lacking. Perhaps the night before valentine's contributed but even that should not be an excuse as the restaurant should have been prepared. Dinner was a little over 2.5 hrs long. When the manager visited our table for the third time, I mentioned the lengthy time period. Her reply was that "they are backed up in the kitchen". Talk about the obvious! She never even offerred an apology. Her appearance was all for show. After writing a similar review on another site, I received a message from the restaurant that they would like to contact me. I replied with my number but the call has yet to come, furthering my claim that they are not serious about service. At least not on this particular occassion. Overall, the food is good but the service lacking! If you value great service, you may not the find it here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Not the greatest food experience.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Ono was over cooked and cold. The waiter did come back indicating that the sushi rice should be cold. Not sure what the sushi rice being cold has to do with over cooked and cold ono but we moved on. The second attempt for the ono was better but by that time my significant other was done eating. The braised short rib was pretty good but the mash potatoes were cold. To finish the pineapple upside down cake was pretty good.

food5
ambience4
service5

Really enjoy going to any Roy's location ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Really enjoy going to any Roy's location, and this location was just as wonderful as all the rest! Service, food, and atmosphere were all great! Can't believe Roy's isn't considered a sushi restaurant- their sushi is to die for! Yum!

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Ruined our night

Dined on January 30, 2016

I have never posted a bad review of a restaurant but tonight inspired me. I cannot comment on the food since I didn't have a chance. Husband and I had a reservation for Roy’s through Open Table for 7:00 pm and arrived five minutes in advance. The host told us that things were running behind and that it may be a few minutes which of course is understandable. We were offered the opportunity to have a drink at the bar which had no available seating. We stood for 40 minutes while empty tables for four were quickly filled. We were eventually offered two seats at the bar next to the kitchen. So disappointing since we really looked forward to this night out. I always thought a reservation was a mutual commitment – me to arrive on time and the restaurant to seat me within a reasonable time of that arrival. Roy’s clearly overbooked. So what good is a reservation through Open Table? Lost trust.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Aloha meh. Came here for Chicago Restau ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Aloha meh. Came here for Chicago Restaurant Week last night. The service can be best described as slow - not in a relaxed, Hawaiian style, but a significant gap between courses with waiter apologizing slow. Once it came, the food was just okay. This is the first time I've been to a Roy's on the mainland. If this is what their normal service and quality of cuisine is like this far away, it's likely my last.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing choices for Restaurant Week. Won ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Amazing choices for Restaurant Week. Wonderful drink list. Attentive waiters even with our giant party. Fantastic night.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.