Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Roy's - Chicago

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Casual (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (0)
Sort By:
S
2626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

We always go to Roys when we travel to one of their locations. I think this was our 8th.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I would highly recommend this for a special date night or birthday/anniversary dinner. The food was wonderful, and the service was impeccable. While it is pricey, we found it to be well worth what you pay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. The food was delicious and our server, William, was welcoming and very attentive. He gave us great menu recommendations! It was a special Easter menu, so am not sure if what we had is on the regular menu. But we would highly recommend the shrimp and lobster omelette. It was wonderful and a perfect portion size!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our service was outstanding. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. After seating us, we were handed two complimentary glasses of champagne to help us celebrate. Both of us felt our meals - my husband the swordfish and myself the Mahi Mahi - were some of the best we had at Roy's. We absolutely loved our meals. For dessert, we received a complimentary key lime dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the plate. We had our picture taken by Roy's and it turned out very nice. Overall we had just a perfect anniversary dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter Marlon was so nice and very accomidating to our meal. He answered all our questions and made sure we made the perfect food choices. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very nice, high quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Couldn't make up my mind. Dillion's creativity is always worth exploring. With our server help Maria, I decided to try wedge salad, Tempura-Crusted Ahi Roll, Aloha Roll, premium wine flights and Roy's Trio fish. Everything spot on. Thanks Dillion and Maria!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very enjoyable. Great food, service. Made our daughter's birthday celebration special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great dinner, as usual at Roys. Had the short ribs preceded by calamari, which was excellent. The service, ambience and quality have always been wonderful here and this dinner was no different. My wife had the coconut crusted Mahi and it too was fantastic. I would recommend Roys to anyone wanting a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorites. When visiting other cities and there is a Roy's in town and we are visiting for a few days, Roy's is always a consideration for one of our evening meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very, very good ford and service! We will be back!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was disappointed there was a seperate Groupon menu. Really wasn't worth the $59.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was our anniversary and the staff at Roy's made it an incredible evening. The food was excellent and the service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Unparalleled level of service. Food quality far superior to other similar Pan-Asian fusion cuisine in the downtown Chicago area. We sat at the open kitchen bar and were able to talk to the Executive Chef Chef Partner (Dillion Graham). He was fantastic! Having worked in the front end of high-end restaurants for 10+ years I can appreciate the importance of waiters refolding the customers napkins every time they get up from the table. Even the way the table is cleared (after the meal is over) is a testament to the high level of training and attention to detail at Roy's. the night we went to Roy's: Ming Tsai (TV Top Chef Personality) was holding a demonstration dinner for about 40 people in the private dining room which was also a treat for us to see. Sounds like Ming Tsai and Roy Yamaguchi are pretty tight friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I love Roy's Hawaii locations, and it was great to see that the food in Chicago was just as good- particularly the dishes that you don't see in Chicago.

Our server (Marlin) was absolutely wonderful, and he was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, from our wine selection to the food preparation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I ordered the filet (medium) with bok choy and it was cooked perfectly. My mom had ordered salmon with carrots. We both loved our meals. We sat in the bar area and it was a fun environment. We had a great waitress as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Really disappointed..
I invited some friends to join me for dinner and Roy's didn't measure to their normal standards. The app ribs were burnt and the entrees were salty. I have referred several people to Roy's for the excellent service, drinks and food. Unfortunately, they missed the mark...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My first time dining at Roy's and the experience was wonderful! Kevin, our server, was very kind and professional. Roy's made my birthday dinner extra special by offering complementary champagne, sashimi and a to-die-for chocolate dessert. Aside from that, the lamb's amazing and I'm impressed by their wine selection. I highly recommend this restaurant for great food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The freshest fish...wonderful presentation. We ordered the canoe appetiser plate: fantastic selection included ...ribs, lobster pot stickers, falloff the bone Szechuan Ribs - Spicy Tuna Roll - Filet Yakitori - Chicken Satay. To die for entrees we had...melt in your mouth seared ahi tuna and seafood trio...butterfish mmm! Very friendly staff and warm spacious atmosphere. Food lwys consistent and highest quality. Must visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My first visit to a Roy's was in Anaheim, CA a few months ago and I LOVED IT. I was excited to find there was one in Chicago (aka close to home) and immediately booked a birthday dinner. The food and service was equally amazing. I can't praise enough their sushi and specialty drinks. The ambiance was nice, although pales in comparison to Anaheim's. Super nice staff and SUPER DELICIOUS surprise birthday dessert with printed photo of our table. I will definitely return and continue to introduce friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My dinner at Roy's was one of the worst "fine" dining experiences that I've ever had. My date and I were seated at 8:17pm and we got our entrees nearly two hours later. We got the check at 10:24pm, after just an appetizer and entree. We ordered everything at once, relatively soon after sitting down as we were both hungry. At no point had we been warned that the kitchen was behind or had an indication that there may be a long wait as the restaurant was at least 25% empty. During our wait, the manager did not introduce herself at all until we had been waiting over 90 minutes and went over to her to ask if our order had been lost. Several minutes later, after informing her of our wait, she came over and comped our entrees and a single drink. They still gladly charged us $3.50 each for our Diet Cokes even though that our waitress had not been keeping them full during the wait. I'm not even sure they would have even comped anything if we not affirmatively gone to complain. As my date used to work in the restaurant industry, we asked if kitchen staff unexpectedly had called off or something had happened that was slowing everything down so much. She told us that they were fully staffed, no unexpected call offs. As we were leaving, the other manager had to apologize to all of the tables around us (after they finally got their food). The restaurant was not packed, it was between 1/2 and 1/4 empty, so I'm horrified to think how the service might be on a busy night.

The food that we did get was lacking flavor, size, and inspiration. It would have been a $200 meal and we both left hungry. The lobster potstickers tasted about the same as regular potstickers from a China Buffet. The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi had no flavor and tasted like something you'd get from a Microwave dinner. My boyfriend's dish had cold potatoes and was equally underwhelming on taste.

To top it off, the bathroom didn't have paper towels for 2 hours. Noone cares here.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Chicago and the best ahi tuna I have ever had anyplace. B

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been going to Roy's for years and they have always been 5 stars in our eyes (great food, great service, great ambiance). The night we visited, the restaurant was not on the top of their game. They clearly were not staffed up appropriately for the Saturday before Valentine's day and the food was average and the service was poor, which was disappointing. If this was the first time I had went to Roy's, we would not be going back. However, this has always been one of my favorite restaurants and we are willing to give them another chance. My hope is that management learned some lessons that evening and are making the proper adjustments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been coming to Roy's for years. This time was the worst time ever. The service was awful. We were told they were short staffed and it was Valentine's Day weekend. I could accept that if the restaurant was packed. There were empty tables all over. It took way too long for drinks, one app and our dinner. And to top it off the food was not hot, translation...the waiter let it sit. Needless to say we did a Valentine's Day redo a week later and had a great time.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good as expected. The server was knowledgeable and the restaurant ambiance exactly what was expected for an upper scale restaurant. Definetley did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants in Chicago. This visit was as good if not better than the previous. The entire experience was exceptional. The poke appetizer, Seabass and Seafood Trio were all very fresh and wonderfully prepared. I could do without the TV's on the wall with undersized slideshow of Hawaii. Service was attentive and professional. At times we felt a little rushed. We were the first seating for a Saturday night so I am sure they were trying to stay on schedule and turn tables as quickly as possible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a favorite of ours! We always have great food and a positive experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was amazing, AS USUAL! I had a bday dinner at Roy's in 2015, and I've loved the food, service and ambiance! I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Roy's is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. I've been to many locations. I took two of my friends there on this particular day so they could try it. Occasionally they do their "My Prix Fixe Mondays" where the entire menu is a set price and you get an appetizer, entree and dessert. It's the best way to try everything! The food was wonderful. We sat at the sushi bar and chatted with the chefs all night. Our waiter was only ok, but talking to the chefs made up for the lull in service.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing service, and great food . All the servers were very attentive and it was truly top notch service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Server rushed us. Meat was tough. Fish was oily, not memorable. This was very disappointing given our other visits were quite the opposite. Management has an attitude as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful family get together at one of our family favorites. Our kids were in town for Super Bowl and some of their friends joined us. Butterfish is our family favorite.
The short ribs are my favorite and I thought it was a little salty this time, a little disappointing. But the drinks appetizers and desserts made up for it.
We had a great time!!!! Will be back again and again!!!
Love you guys!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Each tine I go to Roy's I'm never disappointed! The service is always good and the food/drinks better. We tried the filet and lobster and it was AMAZING! Also for something different try the SAKE SLING cocktail, truly handcrafting at its best! I can't wait for a reason to return...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went for restarant week. I ordered a different prix fixe menu because it had the same entree option I wanted but a different dessert that I preferred. It was only $3 more.

The Cesar salad was delicious. I wanted to go home and grill some romaine lettuce lol. The bacon salmon was yummy. It had corn, spinach, and mussels in the special sauce. The bread pudding was good but would've been better warmed.

I look forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was amazing ... we had three birthdays back to back and our server Marlon was the absolute best... the keylime pie was to die for💋😬

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Kevin the server was excellent. Great personality friendly and helpful

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Roy's always know how to make us feel special. The food is always superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

overall the dinner was good. most people at our table enjoyed their dinner whereas mine was not as good as in the past but I will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was excellent as always. This is my 2nd time recently. Both times, the service wasn't great. For the caliber of restaurant, servers should be more attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.