About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Edamame W Peanut Dipping Sauce
Chocolate Lava Cake
Salted caramel cheesecake
Seared Sea Scallops
Lobster Dim Sum
Coconut Shrimp
Crab Cakes
Hawaiian Short Ribs

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (40)
fit for foodies (35)
romantic (23)
See All
good for groups (20)
great for outdoor dining (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I have celebrated our past f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I have celebrated our past four anniversaries at Roy's. Each year they do a wonderful job of making it feel like a special occasion. Every member of Roy's staff that visits our table makes a point to wish us a happy anniversary, they decorate the table and go above and beyond for making it a celebration. The food is not out-shown by the wonderful service. It is creative and delicious. There has never been a meal at Roy's that hasn't impressed and we haven't thoroughly enjoyed. We love Roy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was horrible. Seemed like 10 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was horrible. Seemed like 100 servers just running around but not really doing anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Will never recommend this restaurant. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Will never recommend this restaurant.

We had a horrible experience and would never consider coming back.

We booked a table for six earlier in the day Saturday 7:30 Open Table

We arrived on time and the table wasn't ready. They bought us

Prosecco (Thanks) One half hour later we were seated.

Waiter took drinks and appetizer order. Drinks came and then

we waited and waited.

Waiter took our dinner order.

Two hours later no appetizers, no main course.

Excuses from the Manager. "These things happen"

I am thinking if so why would anyone come here.

Still no appetizers. Manager says food will be coming out.

Main Course, no appetizers. No good excuses. "Things happen"

We are aware tables around us are also not getting food. Two walked out.

Our main course arrived and the saving grace was the food was great.

We told the Manager we didn't expect to pay and there was a lot of push back.

Finally we were told they would pick up the tab.

So the fireworks we were planning to go to were over and we stopped at

Eataly for Gelato the place was packed.

Never again at Roys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible experience will never return to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible experience will never return to Roy's again. I went to Roy's for a business dinner and I have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past 10 years. We had the worst service I could remember having in many years, and certainly for an expensive highly rated restaurant in Chicago. We had to wait 15 minutes to even get a glass of water and another 10 minutes to get napkins and another 15 minutes to get drinks. We finally ordered appetizers after 40 minutes after we complained that no one was waiting on us. The waiter came and said that we were not his table and he left to find out waiter then finally came back and said "oh well I guess I have to wait on you!!" and all of this when the restaurant did not look very busy. He assured us the food we ordered would be out quickly, at least some of it. After 25 minutes with no further attention, we stopped the waiter and asked for more drinks and to find out where our food was. He came back with our hot appetizer which was lukewarm at best and the beef and chicken both tasted like they had been previously cooked and then reheated, they were chewy and flavorless. The sushi we ordered was mediocre at best, and it was very difficult to get soy sauce or chop sticks, we had to ask 2 people. We didn't dare ask for extra ginger! The best thing we ordered was the Wedge Salad which was very good. None of the signature items were good, extremely disappointing food. The waiter was so bad he didn't even bother asking us if we wanted dessert or coffee, he just dropped off our check. It was the first time in over 20 years that my friend left ZERO tip because the service was that bad. Neither of us will ever go to Roy's again. It was an extremely disappointing evening despite the good company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was very tasty, my SO and I enj ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very tasty, my SO and I enjoyed some sushi and entrees. The outdoor dining service needs some work. Our service was just slow, but we saw other tables that were seated after us wait 15+ minutes before even being approached by a server. If they can get this aspect fixed I would heartily recommend a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is very good. Service exceptional. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food is very good. Service exceptional. Main course portion a bit spare. Sides were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a get to gather with friends from t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Just a get to gather with friends from the east coast. I wanted a sure thing for food and service. Everyone had fish. Butterfish was great!! Now off to the fireworks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten at Roy's a few times over the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've eaten at Roy's a few times over the past 10 years in different locations including Lincolnshire and Maui. The first we went was really great all around. The next few not so much. The food is good, but not creative or very special, and too expensive for what it is. We've had poor service on more than one occasion, this time I think our server was just inexperienced, but for the price you expect your order to be correct, the service to be attentive, and for goodness sakes at least the extra place settings removed from the table. . The ambience is nothing special. This is the last time we'll go there, that first great experience stuck with me, but now I'll remember it just doesn't have it anymore, the whole place seems tired. . There are too many great choices in Chicago to waste another meal here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This was second time I visited Roy's and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was second time I visited Roy's and it was just as amazing as the first!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My order was incorrect but was immediate ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My order was incorrect but was immediately corrected. The staff cared about getting it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I loved our experience. My clients did t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I loved our experience. My clients did too. Thank you. And our server was amazing. I do not remember her name, but I appreciated her professionally, knowledge of the menu and just pleasant presence. I will be back and I just referred a colleague.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew gave great service. Good recommen ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Andrew gave great service. Good recommendations too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My daughters are gluten intolerant we di ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My daughters are gluten intolerant we did not feel the waiter nor sushi chef were actually familiar as they should be on gluten. We were afraid to stay for dinner and left. Gluten friendly is not the same as having siliac. They can get very sick if the food is not prepared on a dedicated surface.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection of wines, including by the glass

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ate in their outside seating that was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I ate in their outside seating that was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was haphazard as our waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was haphazard as our waiter was busy with other tables. Our drinks were forgotten until we reminded. Not the standard we would expect at a place like this. Food was average. The alcoholic drink tasted bland like a cocktail. We were very disappointed given that it was supposed to be Father's Day celebration for my dad and husband.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

The butterfish (black cod) was amazing, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The butterfish (black cod) was amazing, melt-in-your-mouth good! Service was lacking, but we enjoyed sitting outside on a beautiful night. All the food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great mainstay in Chicago. Wonderful fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great mainstay in Chicago. Wonderful food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We ate at around 9pm on a Friday evening ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We ate at around 9pm on a Friday evening so I'm sure the dinner rush was over when we arrived. Our server was wonderful and the food was delicious. When our server found out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, when we ordered dessert, he had the chef use the chocolate and raspberry sauces from our dessert to write an anniversary congrats on our shared dessert plate and the server took our picture, and presented us with a framed picture before we left. Very nice touches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Roy's Chicago at least 50 times ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Been to Roy's Chicago at least 50 times over the years--food execution has dramatically declined. Maui Wowie salad tasted like it was made hours earlier and put in the fridge. Salmon was over-sauced (could be that it should have been on a plate instead of in a bowl) and butterfish was poorly cooked. And I won't even start about removing lobster dim sum from the menu. We won't be back until I hear it has dramatically changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Aloha continues to be alive and well at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Aloha continues to be alive and well at Roy's Chicago location. The food offerings were well prepared and delicious, and the wait staff friendly as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From California and come here whenever I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

From California and come here whenever I'm in town. Never disappoints. Food is excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Roy's many times to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Roy's many times to celebrate our anniversary. We have recommended Roy's many times to others. This Sunday we dined at Roy's and for the first time we left and said "that was not worth the money." I had the butterfish, it was flavorless, small portioned and very expensive. My husband had the sea bass, it was excellent but small portioned and even more expensive. When you go to Roy's your expect to be wowed but the ambiance and the food. I have to admit, the carpets look drab, the attendance was low and the food was not deserving of the money paid. I have nothing against paying good money for good food but to spend $220 a person and to leave feeling that the food was just so-so is really frustrating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Very good, but pricey

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our 2nd visit and we did enjoy our meal. But, overall I think that it was a bit overpriced for the experience. The food is very good, I just don't think it warrants the pricing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were great!!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and service were great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Roy's is Rockin'!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Roy's is obviously known for their seafood and that is understandable because they had some awesome selections on the menu. I ordered the seasonal spring trout and found it delightful, another person I was with had salmon and found it to be some of the best they've had. I am not a sushi person but I was with group who adores sushi so we got a starter plate of sushi and I actually think that it was some of the best sushi I've had. They also had some pretty good wine on the menu as well. It was a little pricy but would definitely repeat service to this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service from manager, Joanne, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful service from manager, Joanne, servers Marlin and Cecil and the whole Roy's ohana! Once they heard that we were celebrating graduation from college they went all out to make it a memorable evening - from a card which converted into a picture frame for the pictures I took later on, to the orchids, the lava cake, special appetizer ... it just kept coming. Delicious food and great service; it was so much than what we had expected tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy Roy's

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Roy's is one of our favorite upscale chain restaurants. We always enjoy the food and drinks, the atmosphere and the service. This location is similar in decor to the others and the menu is standard Roy's (which is a good thing). The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the food and drinks were all prepared nicely. We would not hesitate to recommend this Roy's to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place, food and drinks very good. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place, food and drinks very good. Some of the servers were very good, wish they stayed with us the whole time. However great place to wine and dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was mediocre. I feel like this rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was mediocre. I feel like this restaurant is past its prime. Better seafood choices elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

There are much better restaurants

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Over the years I have made frequent trips to Roy's and after much experience with fine dining, I have to say that Roy's is now on the meh level.

For drinks, I had the Pacific Cooler and it was very delicious and refreshing. So much so, that I almost ordered two, until I remembered that I was driving. I attended the Gold Coast food festival and fell in love with the Poke that Roy's presented because it was so fresh and naturally I kept coming back for more. Unfortunately, it was not so fresh at the restaurant. For my main course, I ordered the Misoyaki "Butterfish" and it was delicious with the right amount of flakiness. I also ordered a side of the lump crab fried rice and it was terrible! Very greasy and too much seasoning took away from the actual taste of the crab, but maybe that was the point. At any rate, after about three bites, I was done and sent the plate away. Against my better judgement, I ordered the infamous chocolate souffle and it has definitely lost it's appeal. Nonetheless, I still tore it up, but in hindsight, I could have saved the calories for a cookie from Whole Foods bakery department.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was perfect!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a late nite dinner after the fi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for a late nite dinner after the final ballet performance.

This was our first visit to Roy's in Chicago .

We have visited Roy's LAand OC quite often.

Food was fantastic, service was personable and expeditious.

We even got one server to sing opera for us and everyone enjoyed

The miniature concert

Bravo all the way around

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic ahi tuna steak! Every time I'm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic ahi tuna steak! Every time I'm near a Roy's I try to eat there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Roy's no ka 'oi

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We first dined at Roy's on Maui back in the late '80s. Now, nearly 30 years later and it's still a fabulous menu with flavors so unique to the brand. We've covered 10 locations and loved every meal. Mahalo

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really bad food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Once again, accountants should not be allowed near the food buying and preparation decisions of restaurants. Mushy seafood, frozen for months; cheap preparation; no quality control. Great service, beautiful room, nice ambiance. Terrible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Quality Time

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I took my son out for a mother-son dinner. As a parent, I believe it is important to expose kids to different types of cuisine. We had a great time, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides the wonderful wait staff, the ma ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Besides the wonderful wait staff, the management was terrible. We waited over 30 minutes for the valet. When we went to tell the manager he seemed to not care at all and I walked away he mumbled under his breath, " don't have to be rude about it", towards us when we were polite as could be. After approaching said manager he decided to blame it all on us the guests. Our waitress and food were the only two reasons we stayed. The hostess was stand-off from the beginning and disrespectful when we asked the simplest of question. All I wanted was a great birthday dinner. We have dined at the Roy's in Hawaii many times. Instead of a great evening with family and friends we were patronized by the management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

TERRIBLE

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to Roy's several times over the last 10 years. We went there to celebrate Mother's Day expecting the same quality atmosphere, service and food. Turns out Roy's changed management recently. The new owners/managers should be embarrassed. They shouldn't be allowed to use the Roy's name because it is nowhere near the same restaurant. We waited over 10 minutes for a table at 5:30 p.m. (not a busy time on a Sunday night) despite having a reservation and despite the restaurant being only half-full. We should've turned around and left but didn't. When seated, we ordered within 10 minutes because we had hungry children. We asked that the kids' meals be brought out first, if possible. They weren't. We waited an hour for our meal. We had the least friendly waiter imaginable. No personality. No apologies for the delays. No explanation. Nothing. And then the food finally came. The butterfish preparation has been changed, and not for the better. It was fine but not what we had come to expect. No reason to go back to Roy's. . . ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Ended up waiting way too long and had to leave

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had booked a reservation for Mother's Day. After being there for 90 minutes, we had only each received our appetizer and one drink. Nobody ever came around to ask us if we wanted another drink even though our empty glasses were sitting there for about an hour - and when I tracked someone down to ask for coffee, it never arrived. When we finally got up and asked how much longer it would be for our meals, someone went to the kitchen to inquire and informed us that they were not even started yet. That would have put us at about 2 hours before even getting our entrees, and we had two small children with us who were getting restless after patiently sitting for an hour and a half already. We noticed that other tables around us were also getting annoyed at the slow service and long waits for food. Things seemed extremely unorganized even though the restaurant surprisingly wasn't as crowded as we would have expected. We decided it wasn't worth waiting any longer and told them we had to go. The manager was very apologetic and did comp what little we did receive during that time, but it wasn't exactly the Mother's Day we had expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.