About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Edamame W Peanut Dipping Sauce - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Lava Cake - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Salted caramel cheesecake - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Seared Sea Scallops - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Lobster Dim Sum - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Coconut Shrimp - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Crab Cakes - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Hawaiian Short Ribs - Roy's - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
2408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ever since we happened by his place in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Ever since we happened by his place in Hawaii, allay enjoyed food. Great tastes, good value and good service, its well worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Roy's Never Disappoints! I love this ch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Roy's Never Disappoints! I love this chain( which doesn't seem like a chain at all) and am always pleased with the outstanding food, beautiful presentations, and excellent service. The mani-mahi is superb as are the many other delicious items.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service was excellent, I'll be ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was excellent, I'll be back. Our waitress was amazing I sadly do not recall her name.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a year or two since my last ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It had been a year or two since my last dinner at Roy's and this one didn't disappoint. Roy's creative menu had an abundance of new options in addition to the iconic old favorite, the Misoyaki Butterfish. All four of my guests were new to the Roy's experience and they were all profuse in their compliments.

My only complaint would be regarding our server, whose attention alternated between long periods of neglect interrupted by occasional moments of aggressive efforts to clear plates that still were unfinished without asking permission. Her accent was almost impossible to understand so it didn't matter that she didn't offer any menu item descriptions or suggestions.

(Also, although not under restaurant control, it's worth mentioning that the valet parker made me cool my heels for ten minutes upon arrival, and then upon departure persistently tried to hit me up for an additional $6 for "more than 3 hours" although I had arrived at 7:18 pm (almost 7:30 by the time he took the car) and came out at 10:08 to face that unpleasant dispute.)

Still, no matter. It's all about the wonderful, truly unique cuisine and that makes up for everything else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

In Chicago on a getaway. My son told me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

In Chicago on a getaway. My son told me to go to Roy's. The Staff and the food is Great.

Will go back next time in Chicago.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So disappointing, honestly, the worst me ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

So disappointing, honestly, the worst meal we have had in years! I wish the waitress would have mentioned how large the appetizer was that we both ordered. The poke bowl was very tasty but so large, we felt terrible wasting so much food, we both ordered one. I ordered sushi as an entree, it was like grocery store sushi, definitely premade, cold rice, refrigerated, could not eat it. The lobster fried rice did not have any lobster in it. Black cod was tasty but the rice thing on the plate was no doubt the worst tasting thing I have ever put in my mouth. Skipped dessert. It would have been nice if our waitress had taken the time to describe the prix fixe dinner the waiter was descibing to the table behind us, it sounded great but she didn't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Amazing food and service. We took many ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Amazing food and service. We took many people from our company to celebrate the hard work at a tradeshow. It was simply magnificent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to eat. Did not blow me away. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Nice place to eat. Did not blow me away. Service was very good. Good quality also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing our server was amazing they took ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing our server was amazing they took really good care of our allergies and it was amazing thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our dining experience at Roy's, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Enjoyed our dining experience at Roy's, service was excellent, food was fresh, beautifully prepared and delicious. Restaurant is nicely set and easy to have conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Thanksgiving with a delici ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving with a delicious meal, no cooking and no clean-up. Even though we could have selected something other than the traditional turkey dinner, we decided to give it a try, and it was so tasty! This is the first year Roy's was open for Thanksgiving; it may become our go-to spot for this holiday!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious. We especially ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Everything was delicious. We especially were impressed with the miso butter fish and the chocolate soufflé. They also are kids friendly with a very nice kids menu (3 courses!!)

Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were a couple of issues, but our s ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

There were a couple of issues, but our server and manager went above and beyond to make sure our experience was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always excellent food, good choice in wi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always excellent food, good choice in wines. And this review must be 50 characters long.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think they had a bad night. Didn't see ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I think they had a bad night. Didn't see server for 20 minute stretches. Seemed like kitchen was short staffed. Food was overcooked but served at room temperature. Thankfully, they realized how bad it was and comped a significant portion. Service was friendly and they were stretched way too thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Roy's is very good but very expensive. N ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Roy's is very good but very expensive. Not a good value for the money. Everything is a la carte and entrees easily reach $40+ which, to me for the overall experience is out of balance with the ambiance and service style. Portions are abundant, however. My problem was that they have prix fixe menus where you can order anything off the menu in each restaurant but I bought a prix fixe voucher on Travelzoo that was only good for a limited and uninspired menu. So I was disappointed that I could not taste some of my favorite items. This menu was never clearly stated through Travelzoo so we ended up being disenchanted with the restaurant as a whole. Do ask for Marlin as a server. He was truly outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great found and very attentive service!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great found and very attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality of food was disappointing and pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Quality of food was disappointing and presentation certainly lacked. The service was fine and our server tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was delicious! The drinks were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious! The drinks were great and the ambiance was cool for a Friday night. The Shrimp dish with the fried rice was delicious and recommend it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

outstanding 31st anniversary dinner on a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

outstanding 31st anniversary dinner on a friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and eager to try new drinks and foods. The reviews were spot on! The lobster bisque soup is the best anywhere, lots of lobster!! The calamari rings were huge but tender with a unique sauce for dipping. The presentation of the food and paradise passion drink in a bronze pineapple shaped container were exceptional.

Will go back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quality, particularly the ahi tuna, was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Quality, particularly the ahi tuna, was down a notch from many previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

reliable, always fantastic. try the hawa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

reliable, always fantastic. try the hawaiian martini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have had many wonderful experiences di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have had many wonderful experiences dining at Roy's. The food is always amazing. Dining outside is lovely in warm weather. Their Aloha Hour is a great value with discounted drinks & appetizers.

The only reason Roy's didn't receive 5 Stars today was for long wait times for drinks & food. I have NEVER experienced this here before. I assume there was some problem in the kitchen this particular night. But the staff was upbeat and comped champagne & dessert. They handled the situation professionally which I greatly appreciated. I will continue to be a faithful Roy's diner!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We spent our anniversary at Roy's and it ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We spent our anniversary at Roy's and it was a fantastic evening. The food and service were excellent. We were well taken care of and all the staff went out of their way to make our night memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a good dinner but the ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall it was a good dinner but the service was not the best and we felt more like an annoyance to our server. Kids menu was good, food was good but nothing memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Many years ago, we were in Hawaii and as ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Many years ago, we were in Hawaii and asked the hotel desk about a good local restaurant. They directed us to realize and we madly fell in love with the food, we were always very happy with the fact that boys opened up a branch in Chicago and we go there several times a year. Pneumatic what your water it's impossible to be disappointed with his always very good case the well-prepared and although somewhat unique, it is never so exotic that it might frighten more timid, conservative diners their ribs are among the best Asian anywhere. Fish dishes are always outstanding. Most often go with a group – and never disappointed. Strongly recommended.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Canoe appetizers were very good and plen ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Canoe appetizers were very good and plenty to share. Quality seafood options. Carne Asada wasn't as spicy as waiter made it out to be. Service was unattentive. Had to call him over twice for help.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

This is one of my favorite spots to eat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots to eat in the city!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely time at our annual celeb ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had a lovely time at our annual celebration at Roy's where we come every year to celebrate two birthdays. Great food (the ribs are a must!) and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We're regular diners here but our guests ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We're regular diners here but our guests were first time diners here. Service was horrible at this visit which was embarrassing for us who talked about how great this place was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Went for their late summer TravelZoo spe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went for their late summer TravelZoo special. Nothing bad, but me-thinks they dulled-down the Roy's flavors for the masses . Have always liked Roys a lot, both here and in Hawaii. Nice crisp pan-Asian flavors, excellent fish (especially the butterfish...), and a great atmosphere. In the travelzoo special, only the dessert - soft-chewy brownie-like cake - stood out. Almost as good as their regular menu lava cake.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I have fond memories of Roy's, both in C ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have fond memories of Roy's, both in Chicago and several Hawaii locations; so was quite disappointed this visit. While my husband's butterfish was quite good, and my sushi roll was nice, the tuna (a house specialty) and lobster potstickers were disappointing. However, the real low point was the service. I can't imagine returning with all the excellent options in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was sub-par and Service was horribl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was sub-par and Service was horrible. Manager gave us a free drink but that does not make up for an hour and half of poor service. I would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Too many bugs inside the restaurant. Cou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Too many bugs inside the restaurant. Couldn't enjoy the food. used my hands to keep away the bugs rather than feeding myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

I hosted a birthday celebration at Roy's ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I hosted a birthday celebration at Roy's. We could not have had a better experience. The service is outstanding and the menu is very diverse. In addition the staff are willing to accommodate any health issues or food preferences. Our meals were excellent. Could not have improved upon our various choices. Definitely will keep Roy's on my list. One slight issue was a significant delay what is retrieving the car on the valet service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The appetizers in the bar area were the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The appetizers in the bar area were the best part of the meal. The main meal was okay at best. The sauces that accompany the fish have changed and are not as good as they used to be. The Chocolate Lava cake was overcooked and when this was mentioned to the server his attitude is that this happens quite often. He did take it off the bill. This was one of our favorite restaurants to go to anytime we were downtown. Now it is overpriced average food for an average experience. We'll be looking for a new favorite restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

It was too hot in the restaurant and the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was too hot in the restaurant and the service was really slow. Food was great but overall experience was bad because we were hot and uncomfortable the entire 2.5 hours

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I have dined here several times in the p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here several times in the past. First time having the Cod fish. It was a bit over cooked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our waiter, Marlin, was very attentive a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Marlin, was very attentive and great at celebrating our special occasion (my husband's birthday) in a low-key way since my husband didn't want a big fuss. The only improvement I could suggest was when my husband didn't want some of the sides because he is on the Paleo diet. He asked for more veggies rather than starches and they really didn't include any more of them than I received with my dinner. But that is a small criticism compared with all the things they did right. Service was great and the food was delicious. I had the Seafood Sampler and my husband had the halibut special; we had the molten chocolate cake for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.