Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Roy's - Chicago

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Sunday - Friday: 4:30 PM - 7 :00 PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
2694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good. There were lots of fruit flies in the restaurant and a couple ended up in our wine. It had been a number of years since we had eaten at a Roys and I did not remember the pricing at $150/head with drinks and wine by the glass. All that being said we did enjoy ourselves and look forward to going back

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The Aloha special time 4:30-7 is a real value!! The excellent cocktails for $5 were outstanding & the value price for bar bites - had 6 to share w/ 4 people & were great! Outdoor seating is beautiful and bartender helpful in describing drinks. I'd go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My wife and I found the experience overall to be pretty good.
However, even though the food presentation was beautiful, the flavor was lackluster.
Service was superb.
The lime "cheesecake " style dessert was super.
For a pricey restaurant, we felt a bit the food was not commensurate with the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a travel zoo voucher. It was a four course menu. I would say all courses were a bit disappointing. I am not sure what has happened to Weiss but I think it has really been Diminished. I am not sure that the travel zoo voucher was a true value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a nice table by the window. Server was great but fruit flies were a problem. They were everywhere. Canoe for two appetizer very good. Lobster fried rice just OK. Take care of the fruit flies and it would be a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very disappointed in the entire dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The kitchen staff is a disaster. The first time I came, I ordered a steak medium rare. It came out well done. They went to make me a new one, it came out blue. The manager took it off our bill and gave us a $50 gift card and asked we give them another chance. I would not have returned otherwise, and honestly, almost didn't return even with the $50 gift card. I decided to give Roy's another chance. As we sat down, I heard the waiter apologizing for the poor experience the table next to us had. The man had sent back his dish for it not being adequately cooked. We asked for bread, it literally took 20+ minutes to come out. The waitress also told us not to order sushi because it was taking a really long time. The rest of the dinner went more smoothly. The waitress was good, the food good, and the ambiance too. The kitchen staff is either understaffed, or under experienced , or unorganized, or a combination. Roy's can be great, but it's far from it due to whoever is running that kitchen. I very likely won't be returning, as there are way too many great restaurants in Chicago to go to a place that provided 2 subpar experiences in a row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

What a great place to dine and be able to have senior level executives have good conversations. The food was AMAZING and by far the BEST place in Chicago for fresh sushi! The food on the menu is also great! You really can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I originally tried this restaurant in Hawaii. so when i saw their was a Roys in Chicago I had to go. The food was exactly the same as it was in Hawaii!! Delicious. Brought back many memories. My server David was very attentive and even went out of his way to make sure my experience was awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fruit flies flying all around us during dinner. Food was dry and over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Executives dined and enjoyed their meals and service! Great place for senior level meetings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our server was very friendly and attentive. He is the 5 star of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This used to be my fave place but now every time I try to give it a chance it fails miserably. Service was slow. I ordered the souffle during my main course. Still waited 35 min for it to arrive. Then another 15 for the other dessert. Totally unacceptable. Even their signature misoyaki butterfish was terrible. I can't even convince myself to give this place another try. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was excellent but virtually no customers. Only thing lacking was a need for better service from our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We loved eating at Roy's Restaurant. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The restaurant is one of my favorites. The menu prices are generally on the high side but they run specials which generally allow customers to get terrific food at reasonable prices. I had a question about a particular special and Andrew C the manager was very helpful in making sure I was taken care of. Kevin D. our waiter was very friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I was at Roys a few years and it was great. Unfortunately, they have cheapened things. They give you less, the portions are smaller and it is just not as nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server was prompt, helpful, and polite. I was able to have my first Poke since a Hawaiian vacation, and the fish entrees were fantastic. It was a wonderful experience and I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Order the Butterfish and was pretty disappointed. Was overcooked, the fish came our very well done. My wife did like her Macadamian Crusted Mahi Mahi. The Lobster Pot Stickers were very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were unhappy with our server. She only mentioned one of the specials and made no recommendations. We did not know that you need to ask for the edamame and that it is no longer brought to the table first thing. The server never mentioned it. Also the sauces with the trio were not very good . The server said we should have asked for a different sauce which we didn't know was an option.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The filet and lobster special was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were the only people dining for the whole hour and a half we were there for brunch, which was just weird. I don't think anybody know they serve brunch. They need a better website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a delicious meal. We had a great Groupon for 60$ pr couple for a set three course meal with a couple of options for each course. All the food was delicious. I especially enjoyed the Shanghai Sparerib. Service was a bit rushed although the restaurant was only half full. Even with cocktails we were done in a little under an hour on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I have historically been a big advocate for Roy's and have been to their restaurants in a number of cities. However, on this visit there was a definite downward step in my opinion. While the food is always good, the menu has not changed in a long time and it feels dated. Prices are high for the amount of food that you get compared to a number of nearby restaurants. In addition, the service was incredibly slow even though we were there at 6:30pm and there were only 4 tables filled in the restaurant. It took over 40 minutes before we even got our salads delivered. Roy's seems to be struggling in the face of the continual evolving dining scene in Chicago. There are a lot of newer restaurants that have appeared in the Chicago dining scene with fresh, innovative cuisine and Roy's is not staying in touch with changing tastes and expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a Groupon for Roy's and took advantage of the opportunity. Service was very good, and the food was outstanding. We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Very over rated! Second time there. Server was nice but service was slow. Appetizer was good and hot. The main courses were cold. Went there for Anniversary with my wife. She had the braised short ribs while I had the filet and lobster tail. Over priced for the portion size. Lobster was like rubber. We put an order in for the chocolate soufflé when we placed our meal order (Roy's suggests doing so as it takes 20 min). We ended up waiting 40 min. The server comped the desert, and that would have been ok except for the fact that because we were waiting on the soufflé longer than expected I ended up with a $60 ticket for being 3 min late!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My aunt the best birthday treatment. She felt like a true Hawaiian princess! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Roy's; my guest was celebrating a birthday and several people came over to wish her a Happy Birthday, which I thought was a really nice touch. We had an excellent and lovely server named Catherine. I thought it was great that she took my friend's photo and put in a little folder for her. Fun experience all around.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Superb dining experience! Polished service! Fresh seafood of very high quality!
Their Kona coffee is the best tasting coffee !
Get spoiled at Roy's.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Kevin's service for our table was excellent. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our server Merlin was a great and energetic, the butterfish and the short rib were excellent, but I can not say the same about the salmon

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Roys is my favorite happy hour spot! Lobster potstickers, truffle Mac and cheese, short ribs and sushi at 7 bucks plus great wine made everyone happy! I'll be back again...and again!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Another great Roy's experience, as expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A culinary masterpiece!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Took my mom to a pre-musical dinner. What a surprise experience. Decor was really nice. Hostess greeted us and seated us promptly. Waiter greeted us, inquired about any allergies before he even offered menu suggestions. Service was just outstanding. Timely, not rushed. Food was delicious. We were attended to for having our plates cleared, water and coffee filled, and frequently asked if we were doing all right or if we needed anything. I can't wait to go back, and I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food and selection. Five of us had dinner and everyone lived their meal. I recommend the short ribs and my wife thought her salmon was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Overall a good experience. A little overpriced.... maybe the reason for all the empty tables at 7:30 on a Saturday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

was looking forward to eating at roys and was very disappointed
food was very heavy and not what i expected back service was excellent but front service was just fair
no one seemed to care if we were enjoying our food or our evening
and we were not
would not return or recommend Roys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.