Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Roy's - Chicago

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (13)
Casual (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and selection. Five of us had dinner and everyone lived their meal. I recommend the short ribs and my wife thought her salmon was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

was looking forward to eating at roys and was very disappointed
food was very heavy and not what i expected back service was excellent but front service was just fair
no one seemed to care if we were enjoying our food or our evening
and we were not
would not return or recommend Roys

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

We very much enjoyed our dining experience - great food, efficient & friendly service & enjoyable atmosphere! The chocolate soufflé was worth waiting for & a delicious way to end our meal! Convenient location,too! It took us back to our vacation in Hawaii!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always enjoy Roy's. Was somewhat surprised and disappointed by the number of fruit flies in the bar and restaurant areas. I always equate that with a lack of cleanliness and would have mentioned it to the manager had he stopped by our table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice menu selections. I especially loved the seafood choices. Portions arte perfect size wise. Service was very good and servers were knowledgeable about the menu. Very nice atmosphere and they surely do not rush you. Make you want to return. Groupon that we used gave you nice options really. A great deal!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We began our Roy's experience in New York in the Financial District, pre 9/11, and have since met Roy Yamaguchi twice, once in Chicago and again in Arizona. We have also dined at locations in Orlando, Poipu and Waikiki, Hawaii, San Diego and Las Vegas and our comments on these restaurants would also be reflective of this review.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fun environment, aloha hour has incredible alcohol deals!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

As always Roy's was excellent. The reason for the 4 star is because I was not a fan of the Wagyu Burger. Way too bloody and the egg could of been cooked a tad bit more. The spider roll, lobster pot stickers and pork sliders were perfect.

Service is excellent as is at every Roy's

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Roy's was a great place to celebrate our wedding anniversary! The food was excellent, the service was attentive, and the drinks were nice and strong. We really enjoyed ourselves and will return soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food; friendly and attentive service and nice ambiance. Will definitely return and recommend it to others

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Gotta say... worst Roys expierence we've ever had. So t go back to thus location. Servers were fighting and arguing with kitchen personal first course took over 40 minutes & the restaurant was dead 5 tables max off peak time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food, drink and service. I will continue to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food poor
Quality not close to what Roys use to be
Service Kurt and no passion for the work, embarrassing to entertain colleagues never again.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had lunch together Saturday afternoon. It was quiet and the restaurant was not very full. We ordered off the brunch menu and had a couple of rollers which were good but nothing astounding. The wagyu Burger was good but may have been a bit better if there were some lettuce and tomato. The entire lunch cost about 60 bucks. A bit expensive but the quality of the ingredients was good.Service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had high hopes for Roy's but it was just average. Food was good but expensive and overall experience was just ok. Service lagged and wasn't very personable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Have only been to Roy's in Hawaii. This did not disappoint. Incredibly fresh flavors and the seafood was perfect. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The server seemed to have difficulty keeping our water glasses filled. That was probably the only disappointing thing of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great Service with great prices. We sat outside and tried multiple cocktails, all were fantastic. Will be back for sure!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything about our experience for a Mother's Day dinner with my wife and her Mom was awesome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Perfect evening for Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very overpriced for the overall quality and portion sizes. Granted it was Mothers Day and a limited menu, but inconsistent quality and plates served lukewarm.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful, tasty food with a beautiful presentation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I really like Roy's the food is wonderful, but the service leaves something to be desired....This is the second time and still had to wait forever for the food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food is consistently very good, ahi tuna entree is my favorite and the chefs favor of edamames.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The worst salmon I've ever had. Dried out & no flavor. The waitress came over to check after everyone else had almost finished & asked if I wanted something else...my grandsons salmon was horrible too...but it was too late. A big $200 disappointment after we had bragged to our friends how good the food was at Roy's in Florida!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our overall experience was great. The food was delicious! Our server, David, was great. We sat in the bar before dinner and it took a while to be noticed by the bartenders even though we were the only ones seated at the bar. They ran out of one of their entrée options which unfortunately we wanted to order.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was very impressed with Roy's. We had passed that corner many times and always said we have to try it. The food was very good, nice variety and portions. Service was good and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Roy's is reliable. My wife always gets the butterfish which really is the best but I still like to try new things. The soft shell crab was delicious although two small ones are still small. You should always get the soufflé every time you come. We do.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Infants should not be allowed. Children OK, if they are behaved.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always go to Roys when we travel to one of their locations. I think this was our 8th.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I would highly recommend this for a special date night or birthday/anniversary dinner. The food was wonderful, and the service was impeccable. While it is pricey, we found it to be well worth what you pay.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch. The food was delicious and our server, William, was welcoming and very attentive. He gave us great menu recommendations! It was a special Easter menu, so am not sure if what we had is on the regular menu. But we would highly recommend the shrimp and lobster omelette. It was wonderful and a perfect portion size!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our service was outstanding. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. After seating us, we were handed two complimentary glasses of champagne to help us celebrate. Both of us felt our meals - my husband the swordfish and myself the Mahi Mahi - were some of the best we had at Roy's. We absolutely loved our meals. For dessert, we received a complimentary key lime dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the plate. We had our picture taken by Roy's and it turned out very nice. Overall we had just a perfect anniversary dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter Marlon was so nice and very accomidating to our meal. He answered all our questions and made sure we made the perfect food choices. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very nice, high quality!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Couldn't make up my mind. Dillion's creativity is always worth exploring. With our server help Maria, I decided to try wedge salad, Tempura-Crusted Ahi Roll, Aloha Roll, premium wine flights and Roy's Trio fish. Everything spot on. Thanks Dillion and Maria!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Very enjoyable. Great food, service. Made our daughter's birthday celebration special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great dinner, as usual at Roys. Had the short ribs preceded by calamari, which was excellent. The service, ambience and quality have always been wonderful here and this dinner was no different. My wife had the coconut crusted Mahi and it too was fantastic. I would recommend Roys to anyone wanting a memorable dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorites. When visiting other cities and there is a Roy's in town and we are visiting for a few days, Roy's is always a consideration for one of our evening meals.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Very, very good ford and service! We will be back!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.