About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Edamame W Peanut Dipping Sauce
Chocolate Lava Cake
Salted caramel cheesecake
Seared Sea Scallops
Lobster Dim Sum
Coconut Shrimp
Crab Cakes
Hawaiian Short Ribs

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

special occasion (37)
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (24)
See All
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (14)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My daughters are gluten intolerant we di ...

Dined 3 days ago

My daughters are gluten intolerant we did not feel the waiter nor sushi chef were actually familiar as they should be on gluten. We were afraid to stay for dinner and left. Gluten friendly is not the same as having siliac. They can get very sick if the food is not prepared on a dedicated surface.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection of wines, including by the glass

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

I ate in their outside seating that was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I ate in their outside seating that was perfect

food3
ambience3
service1
value4

The service was haphazard as our waiter ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was haphazard as our waiter was busy with other tables. Our drinks were forgotten until we reminded. Not the standard we would expect at a place like this. Food was average. The alcoholic drink tasted bland like a cocktail. We were very disappointed given that it was supposed to be Father's Day celebration for my dad and husband.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The butterfish (black cod) was amazing, ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The butterfish (black cod) was amazing, melt-in-your-mouth good! Service was lacking, but we enjoyed sitting outside on a beautiful night. All the food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great mainstay in Chicago. Wonderful fo ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Great mainstay in Chicago. Wonderful food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at around 9pm on a Friday evening ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We ate at around 9pm on a Friday evening so I'm sure the dinner rush was over when we arrived. Our server was wonderful and the food was delicious. When our server found out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, when we ordered dessert, he had the chef use the chocolate and raspberry sauces from our dessert to write an anniversary congrats on our shared dessert plate and the server took our picture, and presented us with a framed picture before we left. Very nice touches!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Been to Roy's Chicago at least 50 times ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Been to Roy's Chicago at least 50 times over the years--food execution has dramatically declined. Maui Wowie salad tasted like it was made hours earlier and put in the fridge. Salmon was over-sauced (could be that it should have been on a plate instead of in a bowl) and butterfish was poorly cooked. And I won't even start about removing lobster dim sum from the menu. We won't be back until I hear it has dramatically changed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aloha continues to be alive and well at ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Aloha continues to be alive and well at Roy's Chicago location. The food offerings were well prepared and delicious, and the wait staff friendly as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From California and come here whenever I ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

From California and come here whenever I'm in town. Never disappoints. Food is excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We have been to Roy's many times to cele ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Roy's many times to celebrate our anniversary. We have recommended Roy's many times to others. This Sunday we dined at Roy's and for the first time we left and said "that was not worth the money." I had the butterfish, it was flavorless, small portioned and very expensive. My husband had the sea bass, it was excellent but small portioned and even more expensive. When you go to Roy's your expect to be wowed but the ambiance and the food. I have to admit, the carpets look drab, the attendance was low and the food was not deserving of the money paid. I have nothing against paying good money for good food but to spend $220 a person and to leave feeling that the food was just so-so is really frustrating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good, but pricey

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our 2nd visit and we did enjoy our meal. But, overall I think that it was a bit overpriced for the experience. The food is very good, I just don't think it warrants the pricing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service were great!!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and service were great!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Roy's is Rockin'!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Roy's is obviously known for their seafood and that is understandable because they had some awesome selections on the menu. I ordered the seasonal spring trout and found it delightful, another person I was with had salmon and found it to be some of the best they've had. I am not a sushi person but I was with group who adores sushi so we got a starter plate of sushi and I actually think that it was some of the best sushi I've had. They also had some pretty good wine on the menu as well. It was a little pricy but would definitely repeat service to this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service from manager, Joanne, ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful service from manager, Joanne, servers Marlin and Cecil and the whole Roy's ohana! Once they heard that we were celebrating graduation from college they went all out to make it a memorable evening - from a card which converted into a picture frame for the pictures I took later on, to the orchids, the lava cake, special appetizer ... it just kept coming. Delicious food and great service; it was so much than what we had expected tonight.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy Roy's

Dined on May 29, 2016

Roy's is one of our favorite upscale chain restaurants. We always enjoy the food and drinks, the atmosphere and the service. This location is similar in decor to the others and the menu is standard Roy's (which is a good thing). The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the food and drinks were all prepared nicely. We would not hesitate to recommend this Roy's to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place, food and drinks very good. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place, food and drinks very good. Some of the servers were very good, wish they stayed with us the whole time. However great place to wine and dine.

food2
ambience2
service2

Food was mediocre. I feel like this rest ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was mediocre. I feel like this restaurant is past its prime. Better seafood choices elsewhere.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

There are much better restaurants

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Over the years I have made frequent trips to Roy's and after much experience with fine dining, I have to say that Roy's is now on the meh level. For drinks, I had the Pacific Cooler and it was very delicious and refreshing. So much so, that I almost ordered two, until I remembered that I was driving. I attended the Gold Coast food festival and fell in love with the Poke that Roy's presented because it was so fresh and naturally I kept coming back for more. Unfortunately, it was not so fresh at the restaurant. For my main course, I ordered the Misoyaki "Butterfish" and it was delicious with the right amount of flakiness. I also ordered a side of the lump crab fried rice and it was terrible! Very greasy and too much seasoning took away from the actual taste of the crab, but maybe that was the point. At any rate, after about three bites, I was done and sent the plate away. Against my better judgement, I ordered the infamous chocolate souffle and it has definitely lost it's appeal. Nonetheless, I still tore it up, but in hindsight, I could have saved the calories for a cookie from Whole Foods bakery department.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Everything was perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a late nite dinner after the fi ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for a late nite dinner after the final ballet performance. This was our first visit to Roy's in Chicago . We have visited Roy's LAand OC quite often. Food was fantastic, service was personable and expeditious. We even got one server to sing opera for us and everyone enjoyed The miniature concert Bravo all the way around

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic ahi tuna steak! Every time I'm ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic ahi tuna steak! Every time I'm near a Roy's I try to eat there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's no ka 'oi

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We first dined at Roy's on Maui back in the late '80s. Now, nearly 30 years later and it's still a fabulous menu with flavors so unique to the brand. We've covered 10 locations and loved every meal. Mahalo

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Really bad food

Dined on May 14, 2016

Once again, accountants should not be allowed near the food buying and preparation decisions of restaurants. Mushy seafood, frozen for months; cheap preparation; no quality control. Great service, beautiful room, nice ambiance. Terrible food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality Time

Dined on May 13, 2016

I took my son out for a mother-son dinner. As a parent, I believe it is important to expose kids to different types of cuisine. We had a great time, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

Besides the wonderful wait staff, the ma ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Besides the wonderful wait staff, the management was terrible. We waited over 30 minutes for the valet. When we went to tell the manager he seemed to not care at all and I walked away he mumbled under his breath, " don't have to be rude about it", towards us when we were polite as could be. After approaching said manager he decided to blame it all on us the guests. Our waitress and food were the only two reasons we stayed. The hostess was stand-off from the beginning and disrespectful when we asked the simplest of question. All I wanted was a great birthday dinner. We have dined at the Roy's in Hawaii many times. Instead of a great evening with family and friends we were patronized by the management.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

TERRIBLE

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been to Roy's several times over the last 10 years. We went there to celebrate Mother's Day expecting the same quality atmosphere, service and food. Turns out Roy's changed management recently. The new owners/managers should be embarrassed. They shouldn't be allowed to use the Roy's name because it is nowhere near the same restaurant. We waited over 10 minutes for a table at 5:30 p.m. (not a busy time on a Sunday night) despite having a reservation and despite the restaurant being only half-full. We should've turned around and left but didn't. When seated, we ordered within 10 minutes because we had hungry children. We asked that the kids' meals be brought out first, if possible. They weren't. We waited an hour for our meal. We had the least friendly waiter imaginable. No personality. No apologies for the delays. No explanation. Nothing. And then the food finally came. The butterfish preparation has been changed, and not for the better. It was fine but not what we had come to expect. No reason to go back to Roy's. . . ever.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Ended up waiting way too long and had to leave

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had booked a reservation for Mother's Day. After being there for 90 minutes, we had only each received our appetizer and one drink. Nobody ever came around to ask us if we wanted another drink even though our empty glasses were sitting there for about an hour - and when I tracked someone down to ask for coffee, it never arrived. When we finally got up and asked how much longer it would be for our meals, someone went to the kitchen to inquire and informed us that they were not even started yet. That would have put us at about 2 hours before even getting our entrees, and we had two small children with us who were getting restless after patiently sitting for an hour and a half already. We noticed that other tables around us were also getting annoyed at the slow service and long waits for food. Things seemed extremely unorganized even though the restaurant surprisingly wasn't as crowded as we would have expected. We decided it wasn't worth waiting any longer and told them we had to go. The manager was very apologetic and did comp what little we did receive during that time, but it wasn't exactly the Mother's Day we had expected.

food1
ambience1
service1

This restaurant will not be around much ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant will not be around much longer. Our Mother's Day was disastrous... Unless the restaurant had 15 no shows for help last minute, after 2 hours and 15 minutes, we walked out when the manager could not assure us our entrees would be coming out in 10 minutes. I will call in Monday to ask for an explanation...

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding main courses, the Mahi Mahi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding main courses, the Mahi Mahi is superb and the lobster dem dem is delicious. Can not say enough about the Butterfish!! Always outstanding service with great ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Solid

Dined on May 8, 2016

Eaten here 4 times. Tasty and a value for restaurants in that area of town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Poor value and btter Choices

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

I expect an excellent overall experience for the price. Seems like this restaurant is slipping or getting ready for an exit

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Repeat Visit to Icon

Dined on April 15, 2016

We enjoyed dining at Roy's on a return visit to Chicago. With its central location and great seafood, we were not disappointed in our entrees. Of particular delight was the lobster potstickers appetizer. Plenty for two people to share, a delicious way to start our meal. The beverage manager was very attentive and searched out a special bottle of wine that was not on the menu. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delish

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The salmon in ponzu sauce is amazing every time! Don't miss the lobster dim sum ! Wine list is very good and cocktails Delish.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst restaurant experience in a long time.

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had so many service issues that we left before we got our main course. Our appetizers took over an hour to show up. Management had no explanation for why we had the problems we did. We will never return to this location.

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Experience with Roy's may be different

Dined on April 6, 2016

I invited 3 quests for business dinner at this restaurant since my previous experience with Roy's was very good. However this time Roy's did not meet my expectations. Maybe because last night we had fantastic dinner at Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone CrabSalad, maybe because we ordered tasteless salad and soup that wasn't warm enough. Even the service was not good enough as we had to actively invite waiters to make our additional orders.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great time. Food is excellent. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great time. Food is excellent. Service is great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Taste of the Islands

Dined on March 17, 2016

The menu is locally modified from the original Roy's restuarant in Honolulu. Many of the original favorites are on the menu, while this location offers unique offerings. The food was well prepared and presented.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy Birthday Celebration!!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was awesome and their speciality dessert was even better!!! Please go you will love it!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliably good

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Celebrated our wedding anniversary at Roy's and enjoyed the ribs for an appetizer, snapper and Ono for the entrees. Service is excellent. Noise level low (this was on a Sunday evening) even though the dining room was almost full. Only surprise was the reconfiguration of the booths. They had been separated and pulled back, leaving them halfway in the walkway between the bar and dining room and halfway in the actual dining room. Not nearly as intimate a seating as before. Would be nice with a small partition added on the walkway side of the booth to reduce the feeling of nearly falling out or people walking in to us. This would still leave access between the booths but up the intimacy level!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.