About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Edamame W Peanut Dipping Sauce
Chocolate Lava Cake
Salted caramel cheesecake
Seared Sea Scallops
Lobster Dim Sum
Coconut Shrimp
Crab Cakes
Hawaiian Short Ribs

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was too hot in the restaurant and the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was too hot in the restaurant and the service was really slow. Food was great but overall experience was bad because we were hot and uncomfortable the entire 2.5 hours

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I have dined here several times in the p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have dined here several times in the past. First time having the Cod fish. It was a bit over cooked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our waiter, Marlin, was very attentive a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter, Marlin, was very attentive and great at celebrating our special occasion (my husband's birthday) in a low-key way since my husband didn't want a big fuss. The only improvement I could suggest was when my husband didn't want some of the sides because he is on the Paleo diet. He asked for more veggies rather than starches and they really didn't include any more of them than I received with my dinner. But that is a small criticism compared with all the things they did right. Service was great and the food was delicious. I had the Seafood Sampler and my husband had the halibut special; we had the molten chocolate cake for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Medicore at best. Drinks terrible- air c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Medicore at best. Drinks terrible- air conditioning broken. Fish dry- one desser not good

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The personalized attention we received w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The personalized attention we received while dining at Roys in Chicago recently, was greatly appreciated. The food and service is always wonderful! By noting that we were celebrating 2 special occasions when our reservations were made, we were given lovely 40th anniversary and 60th birthday greetings with orchids on our table, along with complimentary desserts and 2 gift cards for a future visit by each of the 2 couples dining that evening. So appreciated and will be mentioned and recommended to family and friends!! Thank you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for surf and turf eaters; wish the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great for surf and turf eaters; wish they had more vegan options (decent vegetarian menu), but what they did have tasted really good. Y'all need a vegan desert, and not sorbet or a fruit plate. Also, be careful if you get an Outback card with points from a service; some of them do NOT include Roy's in the group. We learned that the hard way, but the dinner was still really good. Our waiter was very patient and his staff were very good too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive. Food was decent. Host kept us ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Expensive. Food was decent. Host kept us waiting for our table well after our reservation time, even though the restaurant had empty tables. Odd that they don't serve bread with the salads. The waiter was the correct level of attentive and unobtrusive. Was pretty good but there are better options for less money all over Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was awesome!! I wish I could ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was awesome!! I wish I could remember our server's name but in any case all were helpful and friendly in her absence. The food was also terrific, from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice interior. Good food and service, bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice interior.

Good food and service, but to expensive .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We've eaten at Roy's several times... an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've eaten at Roy's several times... and enjoyed it. But the last couple of times have been disappointing... Service over the past year, has gotten progressively worse. "Yes," it was Saturday night... And the waiters apologized for the service... because it was" too busy..." ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!??? And I live across the street...

Unfortunately, the occasion was a large family dinner... 11...

Won't trust Roy's with a large family dinner any time soon...

Tags: Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall quality and service down since l ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall quality and service down since last visit. Swordfish overcooked and then undercooked. Server appearance a little ragged

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Used to come here often and it was wonde ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Used to come here often and it was wonderful. We were terribly disappointed with the quality of the food. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Although the food was good given the pri ...

vip
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Although the food was good given the price range one should expect memorable. We frequent the Roy's in Bonita Springs Florida and find a much better value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great food. Took a little long f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great food. Took a little long for the valet to park the car. It's a bit loud, but the service was good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I've been going here with my wife for sp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I've been going here with my wife for special occasions for over 10 years. We went to Roy's on Kauai for our honeymoon in 2002 and had a wonderful experience. Since then we have been coming back to Roy's Chicago for out wedding anniversary almost every year. It was great for a few years and service was impeccable. I've noticed in the last 2-3 years that the food quality has come down as well as the service level. The menu has also shrunk and become more limiting. The final straw for me was the chocolate lave cake in our most recent visit. It was over-cooked and had no oozing chocolate upon cutting into it. That is unacceptable on your formerly legendary dessert. We will likely be celebrating our anniversary elsewhere going forward. Too bad. I have great memories from Roy's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I ordered the variety grill. They have ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I ordered the variety grill. They have a unique sauce and side to go with each type of fish. Unique tastes and cooked well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

My wife and I have celebrated our past f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our past four anniversaries at Roy's. Each year they do a wonderful job of making it feel like a special occasion. Every member of Roy's staff that visits our table makes a point to wish us a happy anniversary, they decorate the table and go above and beyond for making it a celebration. The food is not out-shown by the wonderful service. It is creative and delicious. There has never been a meal at Roy's that hasn't impressed and we haven't thoroughly enjoyed. We love Roy's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was horrible. Seemed like 10 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was horrible. Seemed like 100 servers just running around but not really doing anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Will never recommend this restaurant. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Will never recommend this restaurant.

We had a horrible experience and would never consider coming back.

We booked a table for six earlier in the day Saturday 7:30 Open Table

We arrived on time and the table wasn't ready. They bought us

Prosecco (Thanks) One half hour later we were seated.

Waiter took drinks and appetizer order. Drinks came and then

we waited and waited.

Waiter took our dinner order.

Two hours later no appetizers, no main course.

Excuses from the Manager. "These things happen"

I am thinking if so why would anyone come here.

Still no appetizers. Manager says food will be coming out.

Main Course, no appetizers. No good excuses. "Things happen"

We are aware tables around us are also not getting food. Two walked out.

Our main course arrived and the saving grace was the food was great.

We told the Manager we didn't expect to pay and there was a lot of push back.

Finally we were told they would pick up the tab.

So the fireworks we were planning to go to were over and we stopped at

Eataly for Gelato the place was packed.

Never again at Roys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible experience will never return to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible experience will never return to Roy's again. I went to Roy's for a business dinner and I have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past 10 years. We had the worst service I could remember having in many years, and certainly for an expensive highly rated restaurant in Chicago. We had to wait 15 minutes to even get a glass of water and another 10 minutes to get napkins and another 15 minutes to get drinks. We finally ordered appetizers after 40 minutes after we complained that no one was waiting on us. The waiter came and said that we were not his table and he left to find out waiter then finally came back and said "oh well I guess I have to wait on you!!" and all of this when the restaurant did not look very busy. He assured us the food we ordered would be out quickly, at least some of it. After 25 minutes with no further attention, we stopped the waiter and asked for more drinks and to find out where our food was. He came back with our hot appetizer which was lukewarm at best and the beef and chicken both tasted like they had been previously cooked and then reheated, they were chewy and flavorless. The sushi we ordered was mediocre at best, and it was very difficult to get soy sauce or chop sticks, we had to ask 2 people. We didn't dare ask for extra ginger! The best thing we ordered was the Wedge Salad which was very good. None of the signature items were good, extremely disappointing food. The waiter was so bad he didn't even bother asking us if we wanted dessert or coffee, he just dropped off our check. It was the first time in over 20 years that my friend left ZERO tip because the service was that bad. Neither of us will ever go to Roy's again. It was an extremely disappointing evening despite the good company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was very tasty, my SO and I enj ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very tasty, my SO and I enjoyed some sushi and entrees. The outdoor dining service needs some work. Our service was just slow, but we saw other tables that were seated after us wait 15+ minutes before even being approached by a server. If they can get this aspect fixed I would heartily recommend a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is very good. Service exceptional. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food is very good. Service exceptional. Main course portion a bit spare. Sides were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a get to gather with friends from t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Just a get to gather with friends from the east coast. I wanted a sure thing for food and service. Everyone had fish. Butterfish was great!! Now off to the fireworks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten at Roy's a few times over the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've eaten at Roy's a few times over the past 10 years in different locations including Lincolnshire and Maui. The first we went was really great all around. The next few not so much. The food is good, but not creative or very special, and too expensive for what it is. We've had poor service on more than one occasion, this time I think our server was just inexperienced, but for the price you expect your order to be correct, the service to be attentive, and for goodness sakes at least the extra place settings removed from the table. . The ambience is nothing special. This is the last time we'll go there, that first great experience stuck with me, but now I'll remember it just doesn't have it anymore, the whole place seems tired. . There are too many great choices in Chicago to waste another meal here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This was second time I visited Roy's and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was second time I visited Roy's and it was just as amazing as the first!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My order was incorrect but was immediate ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My order was incorrect but was immediately corrected. The staff cared about getting it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I loved our experience. My clients did t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I loved our experience. My clients did too. Thank you. And our server was amazing. I do not remember her name, but I appreciated her professionally, knowledge of the menu and just pleasant presence. I will be back and I just referred a colleague.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew gave great service. Good recommen ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Andrew gave great service. Good recommendations too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My daughters are gluten intolerant we di ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My daughters are gluten intolerant we did not feel the waiter nor sushi chef were actually familiar as they should be on gluten. We were afraid to stay for dinner and left. Gluten friendly is not the same as having siliac. They can get very sick if the food is not prepared on a dedicated surface.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection of wines, including by the glass

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ate in their outside seating that was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I ate in their outside seating that was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was haphazard as our waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was haphazard as our waiter was busy with other tables. Our drinks were forgotten until we reminded. Not the standard we would expect at a place like this. Food was average. The alcoholic drink tasted bland like a cocktail. We were very disappointed given that it was supposed to be Father's Day celebration for my dad and husband.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

The butterfish (black cod) was amazing, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The butterfish (black cod) was amazing, melt-in-your-mouth good! Service was lacking, but we enjoyed sitting outside on a beautiful night. All the food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great mainstay in Chicago. Wonderful fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great mainstay in Chicago. Wonderful food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We ate at around 9pm on a Friday evening ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We ate at around 9pm on a Friday evening so I'm sure the dinner rush was over when we arrived. Our server was wonderful and the food was delicious. When our server found out we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, when we ordered dessert, he had the chef use the chocolate and raspberry sauces from our dessert to write an anniversary congrats on our shared dessert plate and the server took our picture, and presented us with a framed picture before we left. Very nice touches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Roy's Chicago at least 50 times ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Been to Roy's Chicago at least 50 times over the years--food execution has dramatically declined. Maui Wowie salad tasted like it was made hours earlier and put in the fridge. Salmon was over-sauced (could be that it should have been on a plate instead of in a bowl) and butterfish was poorly cooked. And I won't even start about removing lobster dim sum from the menu. We won't be back until I hear it has dramatically changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Aloha continues to be alive and well at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Aloha continues to be alive and well at Roy's Chicago location. The food offerings were well prepared and delicious, and the wait staff friendly as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From California and come here whenever I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

From California and come here whenever I'm in town. Never disappoints. Food is excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Roy's many times to cele ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Roy's many times to celebrate our anniversary. We have recommended Roy's many times to others. This Sunday we dined at Roy's and for the first time we left and said "that was not worth the money." I had the butterfish, it was flavorless, small portioned and very expensive. My husband had the sea bass, it was excellent but small portioned and even more expensive. When you go to Roy's your expect to be wowed but the ambiance and the food. I have to admit, the carpets look drab, the attendance was low and the food was not deserving of the money paid. I have nothing against paying good money for good food but to spend $220 a person and to leave feeling that the food was just so-so is really frustrating.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Very good, but pricey

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our 2nd visit and we did enjoy our meal. But, overall I think that it was a bit overpriced for the experience. The food is very good, I just don't think it warrants the pricing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.