Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Roy's - Chicago

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close

Aloha Hours:
Sunday - Friday: 4:30 PM - 7 :00 PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food. Great birthday celebration. Roy's treated us like royalty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a favorite for special occasions. Service is excellent. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Roy’s is a classic and the pacific rim food is certainly deliciously different! It’s like taking a mini vacation on State St. We’ve been to several of the Roy’s in Hawaii and had high hopes. We were not disappointed - the butter fish was amazing as well as the macadamia crusted mahi-mahi. So savory. The appetizer ribs melted. And my dessert? Pineapple upside down cake made my mouth so happy. Our server was friendly, efficient, and attentive. Overall, a lovely dining experience!!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My husband and I had a most enjoyable experience. Our server was very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent (the fish we were served is flown in from Hawaii, ), and the atmosphere was great . I regret not trying the pineapple upside down cake (next time). Wish I could remember our server's name , from Sat. eve. Oct 7, he made it special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Roy's has been in our neighborhood for a long time but we just never got around to visiting. We've now had dinner there three times in the past couple months - Food has been consistently great. Nice place for dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Wonderful seafood options prepared in wonderful, different ways than your typical seafood restaurant. A bit of that Hawaiian flair I guess. We went for our anniversary and were treated very special. A card was on our table and they took our picture as a take home gift. Gave us a wonderful dessert also. All in all a great evening and with nice treatment like that you would always want to go back...

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great service, food, everything!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The butterfish is amazing! Very good service. Quiet space allows for good conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were very early for our reservation and they sat us down in a matter of minutes. Service was great, food was even better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Roy’s used to hold a special place in my heart, it was a Chicago restaurant that I could count on to have a great experience. Unfortunately, that has changed! My last two visits have not been anything special and for the price of their meals, that is disappointing. I miss the wait staff walking through the specials and the menu without being in such a hurry. I miss the chef walking the dining room and visiting with your table wanting feedback on the meal. I miss hot food. I miss the special attention you used to get when you visited this restaurant for a special occasion. I miss it being a relaxing restaurant without the hustle & bustle going on around you. I miss the old Roys☹️

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fantastic, fresh seafood!! Loved the butterfish and the seafood trio. The molten chocolate dessert is fabulous! Great service and wonderful dinner. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Roy's has always been a favorite of mine, while the restaurant has changed over the years, the food is good, but no longer fantastic. Consistency seems to be an issue, since I have been a huge fan of the butter fish, but even this has changed. Too bad since it used to be perfect. It's still good though. The edamame is also gone, but they still have the chocolate soufflé and that is still to die for.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I was there for a special wine tasting dinner and the food was not the regular menu, while I always enjoy Roy's, this menu was superb. Best scallop ever tasted. Unlike most wine tastings an d/or pairings, they kept refilling glass, I did not feel good the next day groan....but do recommend Justin Isosceles, gr8 wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This was the second special occasion-- we've celebrated a birthday and anniversary. Both times the welcome was warm, the staff was very attentive, the restaurant threw in some special surprises. And this was on top of a great meal and great service. Lots of wonderful fish and seafood options, prepared so you feel you're in Hawaii and not on a busy street in Chicago.
We're now thinking we'll do this every time we have a truly special occasion because the staff makes it a really memorable occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Been back for 3rd time now and the service was as always impeccable and the food delicious. I choose the 4 different fish entree which was devine. We went on a Monday and it was quite quiet hopefully this doesn't mean that the restaurant is less popular now as that would be a shame

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great food and exceptional service. We are always made to feel like valued guests. There are a wide variety of menu choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The lobster Ramon was tasteless and the lobster was rubbery. The male host acted intimidating
The ladies are much better and more welcoming

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This is nothing close to a Roys restaurant. Our experience at this restaurant was so poor that I conveyed to all of my clients and colleagues to avoid this Roys.
A loud noisy uninteresting space, manager and waiters were angry and the food was mediocre at best. Certainly, not Ahi Grade tuna. It was the worst dining experience I have ever had on my many business trips to Chicago. Too many great restaurants in Chicago to enjoy ... awful on every level. We went to Shaws Crab House the next night and it was truly superb. My clients commented that this made up for the dinner at Roy's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Kevin was a very knowledgable and super pleasant waiter!! He went out of his way to make our Anniversary dinner a very special one. The entire staff was warm and very hospitable towards us. Would recommend the waiter's suggestion as they were extremely accurate and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Outstanding space, very calming interior. We arrived early, but I like that you can sit at the bar, have some drinks and an app while we waited for our table. The customer service is excellent, from the bar, to the host and wait staff. Terrific. Note, they do have some dishes that contain MSG, so make sure you ask before ordering. We started with the Canoe for 2, and everything was tasty and delicious. For our entree, Butterfish and Four Square, which was a sample of their 4 most popular fish entrees. Excellent, nothing beats the Butterfish! Nothing! We finished with dessert and coffee, make sure you order the dessert when you order your entree as they make them hot and fresh. We went with the Pineapple Upside-down cake (pic added), wow! We also saw the Chocolate lava cake next to us, also looked amazing. I would say this is a "must go" place in the city, and considering our great dining scene, that says a lot!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent food! A great new appitizer- try the tempura rock shrimp, then if you like fish give the butterfish a try. If you like meat, give the short ribs a go of it! Have a couple of Hawaiian martinis while you are there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We were excited to eat at Roy's and were disappointed in most every way. It was pulling teeth to get them to put together 2 tables outside to seat 5 of us together. The waiter was very absent, forgot multiple things throughout the meal (i.e. it took 45 minutes to get some bread). The food was really average and not worth the money. The ceviche was bland and rubbery. The salad wasn't crisp. The sushi rolls were pretty good, but not $15 worth (each). Overall, we won't go back and I cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've dined at both your Chicago and Las Vegas locations, and I found both to be very good. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I took my fiancé to Roy's for our 5th-year anniversary. Everything was great. Since we went there for brunch, there were certain dishes we couldn't order from their regular menu. But that was understandable. So, we ordered: appetizer - Coconut Calamari Ceviche (regular menu), main - Roy's Original Blackened Ahí (brunch menu) and Grilled Filet Mignon & Butter Roasted Maine Lobster Tail (regular menu), dessert - Chocolate Torte (brunch menu), drinks - Drunken Mule and Charred Lemon Sour (regular menu).

Our server, Kevin, was very nice and attentive to our table. He surprised us with a complimentary dessert with the words "Happy Anniversary" written on the plate, along with two complimentary glasses of champagne, and a picture of us as a souvenir. Very sweet and thoughtful of Kevin. Thank you Kevin!!

The food, drinks, and customer service were all phenomenal. We will definitely go back for dinner next time (to order what we couldn't order lol) and will definitely recommend Roy's to our family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Was visiting Chicago. Been to other roy's so gave it a try. Was very good. Arrived during happy hour. Good deal/good appetizers good discount. Food and atmosphere warrant a good review. Worth a visit.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Started our Girls weekend with Roys aloha Hour and the drinks were wonderful! Enjoyed bar bites--delicious and such a value. They knew it was my granddaughters birthday and had a sign for her on our table. They took our photograph and gave us a 5x7 souvenir photo. Also gave her pineapple upside down cake with coconut ice cream !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Our waiter was very nice and food presentation was good, however taste was just ok. I don't think we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Roy's is a fine-dining restaurant beloved by the people in Hawaii. I been to Roy's in Hawaii many times since I lived in Hawaii for over 20 years. It was a beautiful Sat afternoon in Chicago with Hawaii-like weather and I missed home, so we decided to go to Roy's. We arrived at 1:45pm on a Sat afternoon. Only brunch menu was available with very limited selection. We ordered Karaage Chicken and Blackened Ahi. Both tasted good, but definitely not as good as Roy's Hawaii. Also...it was Chicken Katsu that they served, not Karaage Chicken. While both styles involve frying, the marination, breading and taste of each style is different. It was definitely misleading but now I know.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner on the outside patio. It was chilly so the heaters were on and it was just right.
The food exceeded our expectations and the service was wonderful.
Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were very disappointed to learn that Roys had further restricted their happy hour by not only getting rid of their late-night specials, but also eliminating it on Saturdays completely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Roy's has always been one of my favorite restaurants but I was very disappointed in the service and meal this past visit. The restaurant had a group of approximately 20 people and me. When the Hostess seated me she said my server would be right over. I sat for about 10 minutes and the hostess came back and asked if I wanted something to drink. She brought it and then I sat for another 10 minutes until she came back and asked if she could answer any questions. I asked about my server and she said she was "busy". The hostess took my order and while I specifically asked that they limit the number of capers in the dish when I received my meal all I could see were CAPERS!! While I tried to get the attention of someone...any one...I was not successful. After moving half of the capers from my salad, I ate my meal. My Server finally came to the table and asked if everything was OK. I explained about the capers and my disappointment with the fact that my request was ignored. I also explained that it takes away from the enjoyment of the meal when you have to pick thru your food to remove excessive ingredients. While I appreciate the fact that my check was adjusted, it would have been a much more enjoyable meal if they had paid attention to my request.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our wedding here. Our table was noted with a beautiful card ... Made special to commemorate the event. The food was fresh, delicious, and beautifully presented. It was nice that our waiter took pictures of us as a momento of the occasion. The special Anniversary dessert was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent! Aloha hour and ordered off pre-fixe menu. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was very good. There were lots of fruit flies in the restaurant and a couple ended up in our wine. It had been a number of years since we had eaten at a Roys and I did not remember the pricing at $150/head with drinks and wine by the glass. All that being said we did enjoy ourselves and look forward to going back

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The Aloha special time 4:30-7 is a real value!! The excellent cocktails for $5 were outstanding & the value price for bar bites - had 6 to share w/ 4 people & were great! Outdoor seating is beautiful and bartender helpful in describing drinks. I'd go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My wife and I found the experience overall to be pretty good.
However, even though the food presentation was beautiful, the flavor was lackluster.
Service was superb.
The lime "cheesecake " style dessert was super.
For a pricey restaurant, we felt a bit the food was not commensurate with the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We go to Roy's whenever possible when traveling and have been to numerous locations and have never been disappointed. This Chicago location was no exception. I highly recommended the Butterfish.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a travel zoo voucher. It was a four course menu. I would say all courses were a bit disappointing. I am not sure what has happened to Weiss but I think it has really been Diminished. I am not sure that the travel zoo voucher was a true value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a nice table by the window. Server was great but fruit flies were a problem. They were everywhere. Canoe for two appetizer very good. Lobster fried rice just OK. Take care of the fruit flies and it would be a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.