About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Roy's - Chicago
Edamame W Peanut Dipping Sauce - Roy's - Chicago
Chocolate Lava Cake - Roy's - Chicago
Salted caramel cheesecake - Roy's - Chicago
Seared Sea Scallops - Roy's - Chicago
Lobster Dim Sum - Roy's - Chicago
Coconut Shrimp - Roy's - Chicago
Crab Cakes - Roy's - Chicago
Hawaiian Short Ribs - Roy's - Chicago

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Thanksgiving Day to celebrate with your friends and family. We will be open from 11am-8pm with a very special traditional 3-course Thanksgiving menu for $39.95 per Guest. A selection of Roy's Classic dishes will also be available.

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of my favorite spots to eat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots to eat in the city!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely time at our annual celeb ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We had a lovely time at our annual celebration at Roy's where we come every year to celebrate two birthdays. Great food (the ribs are a must!) and great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We're regular diners here but our guests ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We're regular diners here but our guests were first time diners here. Service was horrible at this visit which was embarrassing for us who talked about how great this place was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Went for their late summer TravelZoo spe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went for their late summer TravelZoo special. Nothing bad, but me-thinks they dulled-down the Roy's flavors for the masses . Have always liked Roys a lot, both here and in Hawaii. Nice crisp pan-Asian flavors, excellent fish (especially the butterfish...), and a great atmosphere. In the travelzoo special, only the dessert - soft-chewy brownie-like cake - stood out. Almost as good as their regular menu lava cake.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I have fond memories of Roy's, both in C ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have fond memories of Roy's, both in Chicago and several Hawaii locations; so was quite disappointed this visit. While my husband's butterfish was quite good, and my sushi roll was nice, the tuna (a house specialty) and lobster potstickers were disappointing. However, the real low point was the service. I can't imagine returning with all the excellent options in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was sub-par and Service was horribl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was sub-par and Service was horrible. Manager gave us a free drink but that does not make up for an hour and half of poor service. I would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Too many bugs inside the restaurant. Cou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Too many bugs inside the restaurant. Couldn't enjoy the food. used my hands to keep away the bugs rather than feeding myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

I hosted a birthday celebration at Roy's ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I hosted a birthday celebration at Roy's. We could not have had a better experience. The service is outstanding and the menu is very diverse. In addition the staff are willing to accommodate any health issues or food preferences. Our meals were excellent. Could not have improved upon our various choices. Definitely will keep Roy's on my list. One slight issue was a significant delay what is retrieving the car on the valet service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The appetizers in the bar area were the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The appetizers in the bar area were the best part of the meal. The main meal was okay at best. The sauces that accompany the fish have changed and are not as good as they used to be. The Chocolate Lava cake was overcooked and when this was mentioned to the server his attitude is that this happens quite often. He did take it off the bill. This was one of our favorite restaurants to go to anytime we were downtown. Now it is overpriced average food for an average experience. We'll be looking for a new favorite restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

It was too hot in the restaurant and the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was too hot in the restaurant and the service was really slow. Food was great but overall experience was bad because we were hot and uncomfortable the entire 2.5 hours

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I have dined here several times in the p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here several times in the past. First time having the Cod fish. It was a bit over cooked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our waiter, Marlin, was very attentive a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter, Marlin, was very attentive and great at celebrating our special occasion (my husband's birthday) in a low-key way since my husband didn't want a big fuss. The only improvement I could suggest was when my husband didn't want some of the sides because he is on the Paleo diet. He asked for more veggies rather than starches and they really didn't include any more of them than I received with my dinner. But that is a small criticism compared with all the things they did right. Service was great and the food was delicious. I had the Seafood Sampler and my husband had the halibut special; we had the molten chocolate cake for dessert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Medicore at best. Drinks terrible- air c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Medicore at best. Drinks terrible- air conditioning broken. Fish dry- one desser not good

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The personalized attention we received w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The personalized attention we received while dining at Roys in Chicago recently, was greatly appreciated. The food and service is always wonderful! By noting that we were celebrating 2 special occasions when our reservations were made, we were given lovely 40th anniversary and 60th birthday greetings with orchids on our table, along with complimentary desserts and 2 gift cards for a future visit by each of the 2 couples dining that evening. So appreciated and will be mentioned and recommended to family and friends!! Thank you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for surf and turf eaters; wish the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great for surf and turf eaters; wish they had more vegan options (decent vegetarian menu), but what they did have tasted really good. Y'all need a vegan desert, and not sorbet or a fruit plate. Also, be careful if you get an Outback card with points from a service; some of them do NOT include Roy's in the group. We learned that the hard way, but the dinner was still really good. Our waiter was very patient and his staff were very good too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive. Food was decent. Host kept us ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Expensive. Food was decent. Host kept us waiting for our table well after our reservation time, even though the restaurant had empty tables. Odd that they don't serve bread with the salads. The waiter was the correct level of attentive and unobtrusive. Was pretty good but there are better options for less money all over Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything was awesome!! I wish I could ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was awesome!! I wish I could remember our server's name but in any case all were helpful and friendly in her absence. The food was also terrific, from appetizer to dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice interior. Good food and service, bu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice interior.

Good food and service, but to expensive .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We've eaten at Roy's several times... an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've eaten at Roy's several times... and enjoyed it. But the last couple of times have been disappointing... Service over the past year, has gotten progressively worse. "Yes," it was Saturday night... And the waiters apologized for the service... because it was" too busy..." ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!??? And I live across the street...

Unfortunately, the occasion was a large family dinner... 11...

Won't trust Roy's with a large family dinner any time soon...

Tags: Kid-friendly
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall quality and service down since l ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall quality and service down since last visit. Swordfish overcooked and then undercooked. Server appearance a little ragged

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Used to come here often and it was wonde ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Used to come here often and it was wonderful. We were terribly disappointed with the quality of the food. The service was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Although the food was good given the pri ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Although the food was good given the price range one should expect memorable. We frequent the Roy's in Bonita Springs Florida and find a much better value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always great food. Took a little long f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always great food. Took a little long for the valet to park the car. It's a bit loud, but the service was good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I've been going here with my wife for sp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I've been going here with my wife for special occasions for over 10 years. We went to Roy's on Kauai for our honeymoon in 2002 and had a wonderful experience. Since then we have been coming back to Roy's Chicago for out wedding anniversary almost every year. It was great for a few years and service was impeccable. I've noticed in the last 2-3 years that the food quality has come down as well as the service level. The menu has also shrunk and become more limiting. The final straw for me was the chocolate lave cake in our most recent visit. It was over-cooked and had no oozing chocolate upon cutting into it. That is unacceptable on your formerly legendary dessert. We will likely be celebrating our anniversary elsewhere going forward. Too bad. I have great memories from Roy's.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I ordered the variety grill. They have ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I ordered the variety grill. They have a unique sauce and side to go with each type of fish. Unique tastes and cooked well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

My wife and I have celebrated our past f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our past four anniversaries at Roy's. Each year they do a wonderful job of making it feel like a special occasion. Every member of Roy's staff that visits our table makes a point to wish us a happy anniversary, they decorate the table and go above and beyond for making it a celebration. The food is not out-shown by the wonderful service. It is creative and delicious. There has never been a meal at Roy's that hasn't impressed and we haven't thoroughly enjoyed. We love Roy's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was horrible. Seemed like 10 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was horrible. Seemed like 100 servers just running around but not really doing anything.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Will never recommend this restaurant. We ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Will never recommend this restaurant.

We had a horrible experience and would never consider coming back.

We booked a table for six earlier in the day Saturday 7:30 Open Table

We arrived on time and the table wasn't ready. They bought us

Prosecco (Thanks) One half hour later we were seated.

Waiter took drinks and appetizer order. Drinks came and then

we waited and waited.

Waiter took our dinner order.

Two hours later no appetizers, no main course.

Excuses from the Manager. "These things happen"

I am thinking if so why would anyone come here.

Still no appetizers. Manager says food will be coming out.

Main Course, no appetizers. No good excuses. "Things happen"

We are aware tables around us are also not getting food. Two walked out.

Our main course arrived and the saving grace was the food was great.

We told the Manager we didn't expect to pay and there was a lot of push back.

Finally we were told they would pick up the tab.

So the fireworks we were planning to go to were over and we stopped at

Eataly for Gelato the place was packed.

Never again at Roys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible experience will never return to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible experience will never return to Roy's again. I went to Roy's for a business dinner and I have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past 10 years. We had the worst service I could remember having in many years, and certainly for an expensive highly rated restaurant in Chicago. We had to wait 15 minutes to even get a glass of water and another 10 minutes to get napkins and another 15 minutes to get drinks. We finally ordered appetizers after 40 minutes after we complained that no one was waiting on us. The waiter came and said that we were not his table and he left to find out waiter then finally came back and said "oh well I guess I have to wait on you!!" and all of this when the restaurant did not look very busy. He assured us the food we ordered would be out quickly, at least some of it. After 25 minutes with no further attention, we stopped the waiter and asked for more drinks and to find out where our food was. He came back with our hot appetizer which was lukewarm at best and the beef and chicken both tasted like they had been previously cooked and then reheated, they were chewy and flavorless. The sushi we ordered was mediocre at best, and it was very difficult to get soy sauce or chop sticks, we had to ask 2 people. We didn't dare ask for extra ginger! The best thing we ordered was the Wedge Salad which was very good. None of the signature items were good, extremely disappointing food. The waiter was so bad he didn't even bother asking us if we wanted dessert or coffee, he just dropped off our check. It was the first time in over 20 years that my friend left ZERO tip because the service was that bad. Neither of us will ever go to Roy's again. It was an extremely disappointing evening despite the good company.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was very tasty, my SO and I enj ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very tasty, my SO and I enjoyed some sushi and entrees. The outdoor dining service needs some work. Our service was just slow, but we saw other tables that were seated after us wait 15+ minutes before even being approached by a server. If they can get this aspect fixed I would heartily recommend a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food is very good. Service exceptional. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food is very good. Service exceptional. Main course portion a bit spare. Sides were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a get to gather with friends from t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Just a get to gather with friends from the east coast. I wanted a sure thing for food and service. Everyone had fish. Butterfish was great!! Now off to the fireworks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten at Roy's a few times over the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've eaten at Roy's a few times over the past 10 years in different locations including Lincolnshire and Maui. The first we went was really great all around. The next few not so much. The food is good, but not creative or very special, and too expensive for what it is. We've had poor service on more than one occasion, this time I think our server was just inexperienced, but for the price you expect your order to be correct, the service to be attentive, and for goodness sakes at least the extra place settings removed from the table. . The ambience is nothing special. This is the last time we'll go there, that first great experience stuck with me, but now I'll remember it just doesn't have it anymore, the whole place seems tired. . There are too many great choices in Chicago to waste another meal here.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

This was second time I visited Roy's and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was second time I visited Roy's and it was just as amazing as the first!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My order was incorrect but was immediate ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My order was incorrect but was immediately corrected. The staff cared about getting it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I loved our experience. My clients did t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I loved our experience. My clients did too. Thank you. And our server was amazing. I do not remember her name, but I appreciated her professionally, knowledge of the menu and just pleasant presence. I will be back and I just referred a colleague.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrew gave great service. Good recommen ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Andrew gave great service. Good recommendations too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My daughters are gluten intolerant we di ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My daughters are gluten intolerant we did not feel the waiter nor sushi chef were actually familiar as they should be on gluten. We were afraid to stay for dinner and left. Gluten friendly is not the same as having siliac. They can get very sick if the food is not prepared on a dedicated surface.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fabulous fresh fish and a good selection of wines, including by the glass

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ate in their outside seating that was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I ate in their outside seating that was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.