About Roy's - Chicago

720 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Chicago located at the corner of State and Superior.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday at 4PM
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11AM
Dinner: 5PM - Close
Aloha Hour: 4-7PM

Cross Street:
Corner of Superior and State Street.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 787-7599

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call to inquire.

Public Transit:
EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.

Executive Chef:
Dillion Graham

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Send inquiries to pdchicago@roysrestaurant.com or call the restaurant for details.

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Located in the bustling River North neighborhood, Roy’s offers a creative, personal, and unique private dining experience. Inspired by the Pacific Rim, our menus and private spaces are a perfect complement to any special occasion. An ideal location for groups with up to 175 guests.

Roy's - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Kid-friendly (0)
Vegan (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first visit to a Roy's was in Anaheim ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

My first visit to a Roy's was in Anaheim, CA a few months ago and I LOVED IT. I was excited to find there was one in Chicago (aka close to home) and immediately booked a birthday dinner. The food and service was equally amazing. I can't praise enough their sushi and specialty drinks. The ambiance was nice, although pales in comparison to Anaheim's. Super nice staff and SUPER DELICIOUS surprise birthday dessert with printed photo of our table. I will definitely return and continue to introduce friends.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My dinner at Roy's was one of the worst ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My dinner at Roy's was one of the worst "fine" dining experiences that I've ever had. My date and I were seated at 8:17pm and we got our entrees nearly two hours later. We got the check at 10:24pm, after just an appetizer and entree. We ordered everything at once, relatively soon after sitting down as we were both hungry. At no point had we been warned that the kitchen was behind or had an indication that there may be a long wait as the restaurant was at least 25% empty. During our wait, the manager did not introduce herself at all until we had been waiting over 90 minutes and went over to her to ask if our order had been lost. Several minutes later, after informing her of our wait, she came over and comped our entrees and a single drink. They still gladly charged us $3.50 each for our Diet Cokes even though that our waitress had not been keeping them full during the wait. I'm not even sure they would have even comped anything if we not affirmatively gone to complain. As my date used to work in the restaurant industry, we asked if kitchen staff unexpectedly had called off or something had happened that was slowing everything down so much. She told us that they were fully staffed, no unexpected call offs. As we were leaving, the other manager had to apologize to all of the tables around us (after they finally got their food). The restaurant was not packed, it was between 1/2 and 1/4 empty, so I'm horrified to think how the service might be on a busy night.

The food that we did get was lacking flavor, size, and inspiration. It would have been a $200 meal and we both left hungry. The lobster potstickers tasted about the same as regular potstickers from a China Buffet. The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi had no flavor and tasted like something you'd get from a Microwave dinner. My boyfriend's dish had cold potatoes and was equally underwhelming on taste.

To top it off, the bathroom didn't have paper towels for 2 hours. Noone cares here.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the best restaurants in Chicago a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Chicago and the best ahi tuna I have ever had anyplace. B

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good as expected. The server wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good as expected. The server was knowledgeable and the restaurant ambiance exactly what was expected for an upper scale restaurant. Definetley did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants in Chicago. This visit was as good if not better than the previous. The entire experience was exceptional. The poke appetizer, Seabass and Seafood Trio were all very fresh and wonderfully prepared. I could do without the TV's on the wall with undersized slideshow of Hawaii. Service was attentive and professional. At times we felt a little rushed. We were the first seating for a Saturday night so I am sure they were trying to stay on schedule and turn tables as quickly as possible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite of ours! We always ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a favorite of ours! We always have great food and a positive experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was amazing, AS USUAL! I had a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was amazing, AS USUAL! I had a bday dinner at Roy's in 2015, and I've loved the food, service and ambiance! I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Roy's is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. I've been to many locations. I took two of my friends there on this particular day so they could try it. Occasionally they do their "My Prix Fixe Mondays" where the entire menu is a set price and you get an appetizer, entree and dessert. It's the best way to try everything! The food was wonderful. We sat at the sushi bar and chatted with the chefs all night. Our waiter was only ok, but talking to the chefs made up for the lull in service.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing service, and great food . All th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing service, and great food . All the servers were very attentive and it was truly top notch service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server rushed us. Meat was tough. Fish w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Server rushed us. Meat was tough. Fish was oily, not memorable. This was very disappointing given our other visits were quite the opposite. Management has an attitude as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful family get together at one of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful family get together at one of our family favorites. Our kids were in town for Super Bowl and some of their friends joined us. Butterfish is our family favorite.

The short ribs are my favorite and I thought it was a little salty this time, a little disappointing. But the drinks appetizers and desserts made up for it.

We had a great time!!!! Will be back again and again!!!

Love you guys!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Each tine I go to Roy's I'm never disap ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Each tine I go to Roy's I'm never disappointed! The service is always good and the food/drinks better. We tried the filet and lobster and it was AMAZING! Also for something different try the SAKE SLING cocktail, truly handcrafting at its best! I can't wait for a reason to return...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for restarant week. I ordered a dif ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went for restarant week. I ordered a different prix fixe menu because it had the same entree option I wanted but a different dessert that I preferred. It was only $3 more.

The Cesar salad was delicious. I wanted to go home and grill some romaine lettuce lol. The bacon salmon was yummy. It had corn, spinach, and mussels in the special sauce. The bread pudding was good but would've been better warmed.

I look forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing ... we had three birthday ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was amazing ... we had three birthdays back to back and our server Marlon was the absolute best... the keylime pie was to die for💋😬

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kevin the server was excellent. Great pe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Kevin the server was excellent. Great personality friendly and helpful

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Roy's always know how to make us feel sp ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Roy's always know how to make us feel special. The food is always superb!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overall the dinner was good. most peopl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

overall the dinner was good. most people at our table enjoyed their dinner whereas mine was not as good as in the past but I will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent as always. This is my ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was excellent as always. This is my 2nd time recently. Both times, the service wasn't great. For the caliber of restaurant, servers should be more attentive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

New Year's Eve dinner

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

I love this place, but they totally botc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love this place, but they totally botched their new years prix fixe night. Poor service, uncooked fish (how they could mess up their signature butterfish is beyond me) and a meal that couldn't be served in 90 minutes despite ordering 3 minutes after seated. Love this place but they totally botched a big night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I love this place. I've had several thin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I love this place. I've had several things on the menu. With the truffled Mac and cheese with bacon being my favorite. The like tart is nice And fluffy -great after the flavorful entrees

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, , Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent. Service could be muc ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent. Service could be much better for the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Awful. Went on xmas eve, so expensive ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awful. Went on xmas eve, so expensive the food was awful and cold sent it back came back cold. Had party of 10 and all food was bad. Also smallest wine pour ever. After paying 39.00 for an entree that got nothing so disappointed. Will NEVER go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The food was very fresh and delicious. T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was very fresh and delicious. They were great accommodating our friend's food allergy as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The butterfish is amazing!! Great servic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The butterfish is amazing!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A special Gingerbread House event for ch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A special Gingerbread House event for children was taking place. I think this delayed our service. While orders were taken promptly by a pleasant server, the delivery took longer than any of us expected. The great taste of each of the dishes ordered saved the experience, and I will not hesitate to return. I will however ask if they have any special events/groups coming near/at the time of my reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Besides our table of four there was only ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Besides our table of four there was only one other table in use which is why we were surprised when every hot entree we ordered came out of the kitchen luke warm and needed to be sent back to be warmed up. This is unacceptable given the prices in this restaurant. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Roy's Never Disappoints! I love this ch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Roy's Never Disappoints! I love this chain( which doesn't seem like a chain at all) and am always pleased with the outstanding food, beautiful presentations, and excellent service. The mani-mahi is superb as are the many other delicious items.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ever since we happened by his place in ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Ever since we happened by his place in Hawaii, allay enjoyed food. Great tastes, good value and good service, its well worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and service was excellent, I'll be ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food and service was excellent, I'll be back. Our waitress was amazing I sadly do not recall her name.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a year or two since my last ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It had been a year or two since my last dinner at Roy's and this one didn't disappoint. Roy's creative menu had an abundance of new options in addition to the iconic old favorite, the Misoyaki Butterfish. All four of my guests were new to the Roy's experience and they were all profuse in their compliments.

My only complaint would be regarding our server, whose attention alternated between long periods of neglect interrupted by occasional moments of aggressive efforts to clear plates that still were unfinished without asking permission. Her accent was almost impossible to understand so it didn't matter that she didn't offer any menu item descriptions or suggestions.

(Also, although not under restaurant control, it's worth mentioning that the valet parker made me cool my heels for ten minutes upon arrival, and then upon departure persistently tried to hit me up for an additional $6 for "more than 3 hours" although I had arrived at 7:18 pm (almost 7:30 by the time he took the car) and came out at 10:08 to face that unpleasant dispute.)

Still, no matter. It's all about the wonderful, truly unique cuisine and that makes up for everything else!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

In Chicago on a getaway. My son told me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

In Chicago on a getaway. My son told me to go to Roy's. The Staff and the food is Great.

Will go back next time in Chicago.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So disappointing, honestly, the worst me ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

So disappointing, honestly, the worst meal we have had in years! I wish the waitress would have mentioned how large the appetizer was that we both ordered. The poke bowl was very tasty but so large, we felt terrible wasting so much food, we both ordered one. I ordered sushi as an entree, it was like grocery store sushi, definitely premade, cold rice, refrigerated, could not eat it. The lobster fried rice did not have any lobster in it. Black cod was tasty but the rice thing on the plate was no doubt the worst tasting thing I have ever put in my mouth. Skipped dessert. It would have been nice if our waitress had taken the time to describe the prix fixe dinner the waiter was descibing to the table behind us, it sounded great but she didn't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Amazing food and service. We took many ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Amazing food and service. We took many people from our company to celebrate the hard work at a tradeshow. It was simply magnificent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to eat. Did not blow me away. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Nice place to eat. Did not blow me away. Service was very good. Good quality also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing our server was amazing they took ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Amazing our server was amazing they took really good care of our allergies and it was amazing thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our dining experience at Roy's, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Enjoyed our dining experience at Roy's, service was excellent, food was fresh, beautifully prepared and delicious. Restaurant is nicely set and easy to have conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Thanksgiving with a delici ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving with a delicious meal, no cooking and no clean-up. Even though we could have selected something other than the traditional turkey dinner, we decided to give it a try, and it was so tasty! This is the first year Roy's was open for Thanksgiving; it may become our go-to spot for this holiday!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to go here for our 2nd weddin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We decided to go here for our 2nd wedding anniversary since it was close to our hotel, The Waldolf Astoria. We had an awesome time. They surprised us with a complimentary cheesecake and customized Happy Anniversary card for our table. The food was excellent. This was my 4th time dining there, my husband's first time. He is pretty picky when it comes to food, so I was pleased that he liked all his course. We will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. We especially ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Everything was delicious. We especially were impressed with the miso butter fish and the chocolate soufflé. They also are kids friendly with a very nice kids menu (3 courses!!)

Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.