About Roy's Bonita Springs

26831 South Bay Drive
Suite 100
Bonita Springs, FL 34134
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Bonita Springs located in the beautiful Promenade Shoppes, and features an exciting exhibition kitchen and expansive chef's counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Weekend Brunch 11AM

Cross Street:
Bay Commons Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 498-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Full Service Offsite Catering

Parking Details:
No valet, self parking beside & behind restaurant

Executive Chef:
Jason Grasty

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Shellfish Sampler - Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Lobster Potstickers - Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL
Misoyaki Butterfish With Lemon Ginger Soy Beurre Blanc - Roy's Bonita Springs, Bonita Springs, FL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Bonita Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Southwest Florida
Best Overall
Bonita Springs
Best Food
Bonita Springs
3 More
Best Ambiance
Bonita Springs
Best Value
Bonita Springs
Most Booked
Bonita Springs
Best Restaurants in Bonita Springs ›

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have eaten at Roys often with friends an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Have eaten at Roys often with friends and enjoyed it. The TNT fish dish was cold with watery rice. The filet was also disappointing. Will not be going there again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Roy's has been a perennial favorite of o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Roy's has been a perennial favorite of ours since we first dined at one of his Hawaiian locations 10-15 years ago. We dine at the Bonita Springs restaurant annually, and like the others we have dined at, it consistently provides an exceptional dining experience across the board!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside. Nice and quiet but a lit ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We sat outside. Nice and quiet but a little dark. Wait staff was excellent and we ordered from a special menu they were advertising and it was excellent food and value

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We would have liked a traditional thanks ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We would have liked a traditional thanksgiving turkey meal with not just white meat and not a teriyaki glaze.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Eric did a great job. We were disappoint ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Eric did a great job. We were disappointed there was only a fix price menu but it was thanksgivinge so we understood. We'll try again. Constructive criticism. Teriake and turkey don't complement each other. Our fault, we didn't read the menu as carefully as we should have. We should have had the house specialty limited menu. Again, not your fault. We should have read more carefully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to par for Thanksgiving dinner, o ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not up to par for Thanksgiving dinner, our server was inattentive.

We dine at Roy's quite often, never had any complaints with service or food until Thanksgiving dinner. Maybe our waitress had a long day but our expectation for good service should not be ignored. We both ordered the prix fixe turkey dinner, grilled caesar salad meant un-cut long lettuce, quite a bit of self cutting...not very attractive as presentation and the grilled portion was very burnt. 4 slices of turkey meat actually tasted like ham. The sides and desserts were good. Not sure we will ever go back for any major holidays. Causal dinner should still be ok.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall, the food was very good except f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overall, the food was very good except for the lobster pot stickers as the filling tasted more like pork. Butter fish and tuna were our choices and they were perfect. However, there was a delay for the food. Was told there was some sort of group function which caused a backlog in the kitchen. Not impressed by that. If you can't handle a group function without causing delays for regular diners than you should not book them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Personalized and attentive service!! Gou ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Personalized and attentive service!! Gourmet presentation!

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AC was way too cold

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

AC was way too cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Excellent meal. The butter fish is the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent meal. The butter fish is the best as well as the meatloaf. Service was fantastic. One of my favorite spots.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as usual however the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good as usual however the service was absolutely horrible . Slow , inattentive . dishes were warm , not hot but took so long , didn't want to send back . They either need more help or better help . Roys has been high on our list since they opened in Bonita Springs . No longer . For pricey menu everything should be excellent .

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

We had a wonderful dining experience. We ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. We were seated promptly and the wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was creative, fresh, perfectly seasoned. We will be back many times in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We normally like Roys but this time, ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We normally like Roys but this time, service was slow and we actually left without getting the third course of the price fixed menu. Salmon dish was very good-Roys trio and grilled ceasar was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We have been to many Roy's locations pre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We have been to many Roy's locations previously. This special prix fixe meal was not up to their previous standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We love Roy's Butterfish. I don't know ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We love Roy's Butterfish. I don't know of anywhere else you can get this dish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual. Great service. Desse ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful as usual. Great service. Dessert to. Die for.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant. Best meal I've ever h ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great restaurant. Best meal I've ever had in the area (Roy's Trio). Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used a travelzoo voucher includes a 4 ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We used a travelzoo voucher includes a 4 course meal we were celebrating wife's 67 th birthday. Since dessert was included in meal nothing extra offered. A bit cheap when they charge $14 a martini. They put a bowl of edamame on the table. The ladies asked for bread. They were told the edamame is what they put instead of bread , but they would get some anyway. Just say I'll get you some and keep silent. Minor sore points in an overall nice meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First timers. It was great food and grea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 15, 2016

First timers. It was great food and great service. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

While very good it pales in comparison t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 10, 2016

While very good it pales in comparison to other restaurants in the area.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Before season dinning can be tricky. For ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Before season dinning can be tricky. For Roy's this evening was off. The famous butter fish was fishy, served with a hard rice puck with no flavor. One of us had the boat app and loved it, but out of 4 that was the only dish that got praise. Being a chain I can't be surprised but after such a great meal last year coming back with the same couple who loved it we all walked away saying we will try another place next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food. Great presentation. Nice amb ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food. Great presentation. Nice ambiance. A little pricey.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Quote from our friend, "This the one res ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Quote from our friend, "This the one restaurant, where I haven't chosen from the menu. One time, I actually said, 'Bring me a dinner.'" Everything is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Parents anniversary

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Parents anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's never disappoints. My only issue w ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Roy's never disappoints. My only issue with them is that the vast majority of their menu selections are very rich so you can't eat here often. But the food and service is still 5 star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Roys Bonita spring ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We have been going to Roys Bonita springs since it opened. Always consistent and good. The sauces that accompany each dish are outstanding

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry but the food was just too heavy wi ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Sorry but the food was just too heavy with sauces!My husbands sald was dressing with a bit of romaine. When we wanted to order desserts he waiter told us there's coconut ice cream, etc. and 2" desserts" that took 20 minutes. Guess he figured we didn't want to know what they were?! We shared the coconut ice cream which had a lousy presentation. I think our waited scooped 1 1/2 scoops in a bowl for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

At first, we thought this wasn't going t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

At first, we thought this wasn't going to be a great experience as the hostess tried to seat us right next to the kitchen when there were several open tables that would be much preferable. They were great accommodating our request for better seating and we enjoyed a delicious meal with superb service. We had roys combination of smaller portions of three different seafood entrees and all were excellent. We did not particularly like their version of pot stickers - just a little fried tasting. Loved the unlimited edamame and their seasoning, too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fun, Tapas, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little confused to start, they didn't ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 17, 2016

A little confused to start, they didn't recognize the birthday initially but corrected themselves after I reminded them of the occasion.

Food excellent, service very good! Definitely will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Absolutely LOVE this restaurant! The fi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Absolutely LOVE this restaurant! The fish is fresh and delicious, there are no other restaurants that even come close to the creativity and freshness of the seafood! The desserts are to die for, decadent and delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We often eat at Roy's and have always lo ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We often eat at Roy's and have always loved our meals and service. This past trip we were a bit disappointed in the service we received. When we sat down we were told we would be brought Edamame and it never came. We finished our appetizers and suddenly right before our dinner was to come out we were asked "Oh did you get your Edamame"? We said it was fine at this point. We felt we had to wait to be asked for another drink and when offered desert were only offered the chocolate lava and a pineapple upside down to be put in early. I love the berry cobbler and knew this was one that is often put in early and I had to ask and was told "oh yes you can get that". I just felt service was off on this particular night but no restaurant is always spot on so we are very forgiving being they are usually perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Not disappointed, good food nice experie ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Not disappointed, good food nice experience. Professional staff, did great job.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Poor. We have been a loyal custome ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Very Poor. We have been a loyal customer of Roy's from the it opened in 1997. We met Roy himself three times. We even have an engraved Name Plate in our name that is placed on the table when we visit them.

Roy's has gone downhill ever since Applebee's (or their Owner) bought them out. It's food quality is at best at par with mid-class restaurants. Service - very bad.

Had dinner on 10/10/2016. The second course (Main meal) arrived a good 45 minutes after we finished our Salad or appetizer. The dessert never came. It took us 2 1/2 hrs. For all this. The server was very good and apologized but the Manger showed, even after repeated requests.

I realize one customer's comments means little to the company- but it is a warning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Always a favorite spot for dinner. The ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Always a favorite spot for dinner. The food is wonderful and the service impeccable!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experance and the food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a great experance and the food was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Appetizer's and sushi rolls are outs ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The Appetizer's and sushi rolls are outstanding which may be the reason the main courses, while good, are a let down. Roy's has a nice wine list but markups are ridiculous nearing a 300% rate increase over a wine shop. I would go again with a group and just order rounds upon rounds of appetizers and drink either beer or hard alcohol.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

It is kind of run down, service and food ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 19, 2016

It is kind of run down, service and food were slow and just adequate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been fans of Roy's for several y ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We have been fans of Roy's for several years but our recent experience was disappointing. Apparently, there have been quite a few changes to the management and staff. Their wonderful head chef is no longer there and the management/owners have changed.

Our server was pleasant but had trouble keeping up with her tables and poured another tables wine into our glasses thus ruining our wine. In addition, many of the classic Roy's signature dishes are no longer on the menu. And last but not least, the prices have all been increased.

All in all a less than memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were disappointed that one of our fav ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were disappointed that one of our favorite restaurants has gone downhill. We have been to this restaurant many times and this time our meals were not up to par, and service was very uneven. We had to send food back because the fish wasn't cooked through. And it took forever be used the Manager decided to cook a new one entirely.

Bad decision.

What happened? New management? Chef?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

the menu and the food is truly outstandi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2016

the menu and the food is truly outstanding.......a real tread.

Service was a little slow the last time we went.....needs to improve.

The other negative thing is how your cloth smell after you leave, because of the open kitchen. Everything has to go to the laundry or dry cleaner.....but again the food is outstanding and we keep coming back for it.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.