About Roy's Bonita Springs

26831 South Bay Drive
Suite 100
Bonita Springs, FL 34134
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you to join us at Roy's Bonita Springs located in the beautiful Promenade Shoppes, and features an exciting exhibition kitchen and expansive chef's counter.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close
Weekend Brunch 11AM

Cross Street:
Bay Commons Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 498-7697

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Full Service Offsite Catering

Parking Details:
No valet, self parking beside & behind restaurant

Executive Chef:
Jason Grasty

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next event of 10 to 250 guests. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Bonita Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Open Kitchen (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1033 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have not been to Roys Bonita in a few ye ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Have not been to Roys Bonita in a few years. While the decor has not changed much, thankfully their best dishes haven't either. After 18 years, the blackened tuna and butterfish, while no longer novel, are still delicious. And the first place we've ever had bok choy! Other mains were solid, salmon and grilled seafood trio, and the molten chocolate cake was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We walked in for our reservation at 9:30 ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

We walked in for our reservation at 9:30 & a gentleman behind the counter in the cooking area rolled his eyes like we were coming in as they were about to close & had very poor body language. I do recall they had later reservations than 9:30 that night. Considered walking back out of the restaurant due to his behavior. Our waitress didn't go over any specials until we asked for them & wasn't very welcoming/professional. Maybe reservations after 9 shouldn't be available if the workers are going to have such an attitude like they don't want to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Very good food. The butter fish is a rea ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food. The butter fish is a real treat. Love the bar and happy hour. At dinner recently, our waiter was brusque and dismissive. We never even got bread service. Though we asked him to hold our dinner orders back so we could enjoy our cocktails, our dishes were there in a flash - almost felt like they wanted us out of there. Not a great dining experience, tho we all liked our food. Should you be in and put of a nice restaurant in under an hour???

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Butterfish the best fish I have ever had ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Butterfish the best fish I have ever had. Reasonable wine prices available. Service was good, they didn't rush you. Room a little noisy, difficult for a conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great experience. Children's menu is the ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. Children's menu is the best in South FL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Roy's is always great, but we were there ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Roy's is always great, but we were there on Valentines Day and they were crowded. They added an extra seating and it looks like they added staff and perhaps tables to accommodate the dinners. That may have been the reason the Service was a little below Par for Roy's.

The room is a little to industrial for my liking and does need some up-dating, but the food as always was great. Dinner for two was approximately $160++

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Staff was clueless to our table being wo ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

Staff was clueless to our table being wobbly, twice. Overall experience good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our first visit to Roy's. It w ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit to Roy's. It will not be our last. Everything was better than expected. The service and food exceeded all expectations, these days, that doesn't happen often. The staff does anything and everything possible to give you the best possible dining experience. WOW!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening with family. We us ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another great evening with family. We used the Aloha hour to enjoy a glass of wine with appetizers outside on the patio before going straight to the entrees once we were seated. Five different dishes and everyone enjoyed their choice. Last time here had the macadamia encrusted mahi mahi which was fabulous but reverted back to my old favorite, butterfish, and I wasn't disappointed. The Prix Fixe nights are a great way to try Roy's for the first time at a reasonable price. Give yourself a treat real soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Appreciated the quiet! I have hyperacusi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Appreciated the quiet! I have hyperacusis, and it was wonderful not to have to use ear plugs to dine. Brunch menu is wonderful! Reasonable, interesting and absolutely delicious. This is now our go-to place for Brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked reservation for 6:30pm as last mi ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Booked reservation for 6:30pm as last minute, waited about 10mins for seating. Butterfish and Mahi specials were our choices, both excellent prepared and service was prompt and up to par. Recommend this venue if you like fish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was our anniversary and we had an ama ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was our anniversary and we had an amazing night! Dinner was fantastic, Kelly our waitress went above and beyond to make things special for us. Loved the free amazing dessert and photo that she took for us. Thank you so much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The butterfish is melt in your mouth! Gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The butterfish is melt in your mouth! Great service even though it was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time this year I have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is the second time this year I have been to Roys - the menu does not change. When I asked for medium rare tuna I got cold and when it came back it was well done. And the butter fish (a favorite of mine from way back) was not cooked through...I will not return.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First visit since change of ownership. M ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

First visit since change of ownership. Menu has been cut down significantly but old favorites remain. Our favorite server, head chef and manager are all gone. Food was comparable to before but portions are smaller. Overall, it was good, but just not the same as before. After visiting Roy's all over the country and Hawaii, this still is the best overall, just not quite as good as the past.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a wonderful dining experience. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was a wonderful dining experience. We were early for our reservation, but seated promptly upon arrival. Our waiter was very knowledgable and helpful with questions. He did not rush us, but rather allowed time for us to chat and enjoy our cocktail. Food courses were nicely spaced for our dining pleasure. Food was excellent. Nicely prepared and tasty. I tried whole fried snapper and was very pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to take apart and eat. It was delicious. We had the prix fixed dinner special and it was an excellent value. Everyone should try Roy's for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food us always good !

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food us always good !

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Roy's multiple times, bu ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been to Roy's multiple times, but this was the worse service we have ever received. Waited over 10 minutes to be greeted and another 10 minutes to get water. The waiter was unknowledged of the menu and wine list. I'm sorry but we won't be back till after season is over.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We schedule an evening at Roy's at least ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We schedule an evening at Roy's at least once a year. The food is always outstanding! The service is excellent and we are never rushed through our dinner, dessert or coffee.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Deeeeelicious....creative...sauces are o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Deeeeelicious....creative...sauces are out of this world. One of my all time fav restaurants. Fabulous calamari...salmon....my husband always orders the whole fish....outstanding...Roys is always a great dinner out

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have dined there in the past and we'r ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We have dined there in the past and we're always very pleased.

This time we were very disappointed ....waiter was not at all personable ... or attentive.... not very knowledgeable reguarding the menu ... we purchased a bottle of wine and he never returned to refresh our wine ... and had not placed it near enough our table for us to reach it without getting into the space of the table next to us.

Caesar salad was a big disappointment... not eaten... they did remove it from the bill. My husband ordered a small salad.. the server showed up with a salad for both of us and left so quickly we could not comfortably get his attention

To tell them we only wanted one. Neither of us ate it as it was drenched in dressing.

Our guest did ask to see the manager.... and was brought a menu.... at which point ... he was told they misunderstood his request. The manager did show up after a second request .By the way... he was a well spoken gentleman... not difficult to understand. After dinner drinks were requested on ice ... and showed up with no ice.

The meal itself was delicious... but was overshadowed by all the rest of the experience.

We have always considered it one of our favorite restaurants ..but I truly would hesitate to return with guests as I was so disappointed with the overall experience... at a cost of $260 for a meal... we left.... quite unhappy.

I might try again some day.... but would not bring guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Hawaiian accent. Small menu but good qua ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Hawaiian accent. Small menu but good quality and presentation. Seafood, veggiterian, sushi.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this Roy's many times an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We have been to this Roy's many times and always 5 star in all categories, but this time we were disappointed. Nothing major, but not the kind of presentation and service we have come to expect. Hopefully, next time will be the wonderful experience we are used to at Roy's.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always have a struggle with service thes ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Always have a struggle with service these days when eating in the dining room but the food never disappoints.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The fod is fresh and well prepared but i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The fod is fresh and well prepared but it is very expensive for what you gt. There are other upper end seafood/exotic restaurants in the area that are just as good and less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I am never disappointed at Roy's. The se ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I am never disappointed at Roy's. The server was friendly and helpful. She told us about the specials and made suggestions. We were seated immediately. The salad, entrees, and dessert were prepared perfectly. I was treated with a complimentary dessert for my birthday. We will be back soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

waitress was great nice time,,,, buildin ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 28, 2017

waitress was great nice time,,,,

building shows a lot of wear..

but nice time

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We have always had a great meal at Roy's ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have always had a great meal at Roy's. The staff is friendly and

knowledgeable about the menu. Our server was Houston---he is a new server.

He did an outstanding job and was very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our numbers and time changed at the last ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our numbers and time changed at the last minute and the staff worked quickly to accommodate our needs. Dinner was delicious and service prompt and helpful. The restaurant was busy but we were able to hear each other and didn't feel that we were disturbing anyone else. I would definitely recommend Roy's as a place to enjoy an evening out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Roy's is such a special place to celebra ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Roy's is such a special place to celebrate special occasions. This time it was a birthday. Never disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had and inside reservation for 15 thin ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I had and inside reservation for 15 thinking we could order off the Aloha menu till 7pm but found out it is only for the bar area. The staff quickly set two tables outside for us so we could take advantage of the lower pricing, not easy to do with a large party. It was a gorgeous night and we were able to talk without other inside noise. It turned out very well. Thank you !

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Roy's in Bonita Springs was great! ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The Roy's in Bonita Springs was great! The server's were fantastic, the food was wonderful, and the prices are pretty high, but that was not unexpected at Roy's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was ok. The salmon was a bit overlook ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was ok. The salmon was a bit overlooked. I opted to skip seafood entrée in lieu of wagu beef meatloaf. It was tasteless and at the very best, boring. Sunday the place was crazy and very loud. Clearly understaffed. A bit pricey, too. Interesting but probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The lobster bisque was outstanding and u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The lobster bisque was outstanding and unusual, with an Asian flare. The tomatoes in my salad butter leaf lettuce salad were I ripe and tasteless, and it was overdressed. The fish entree was drowning in its sauce, and it was hard to taste the fish itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We are frequent customers of Roys and th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We are frequent customers of Roys and this is the first time we have been disappointed. This was a very special occasion (60th wedding anniversary) and we were treating our friends. Our gentleman friend ordered a rib eye steak that was absolutely horrible. Being the nice guy he is he never mentioned it, until we noticed him struggling with it. It was extremely fatty and full of gristle. The food runner basically threw our dinners on the table, until we said something to him and then became more gentle saying he was just in a hurry. We ordered bread which Didn't come? One of our other guests could not finish her dinner and asked for a box, whichwe waited forever for and when we asked again we were told that they had accidentally thrown her leftover away. Unfortunately what should have been a happy. Special occasion turned into sheer frustration. As a side note, I am not usually a complainer, but this was a little much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Ordered butter fish- restaurant special, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Ordered butter fish- restaurant special, and it was poor compared to previous visits. My wife always loves it, said it was almost not edible. I ate it too, and found it almost not cooked through. We frequent a Roy's restaurant s many times, and considering this was also with friends and business people- I would not hurry back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

The chocolate molten cake was the best t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The chocolate molten cake was the best that I ever had there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Tasty and int ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a great experience. Tasty and interesting food presented well.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was absolutely delicious! Will ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's was a fantastic find. We have live ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Roy's was a fantastic find. We have lived in Bonita Springs now for a year and a half. We just discovered this restaurant. The food was delicious xcellent. Our waiter made great recommendations. It was a wonderful night out. We would highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.