About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Misoyaki Butterfish - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Mango Mojito - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Jalapeno margarita - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Sunrise At Haleaka Rol - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Pineapple Upside Down Cake - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Edamame Cayenne - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Maguro Sashimi - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Big Island Ahi Poke - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Hamachi Sashimi - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
French Onion Soup - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Chocolate Lava Cake With Ice Cream - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp On Grits - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Sweet Potato Cheesecake - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Apple Tarte Tartin - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Pineapple martini - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp Lumpia - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Pork Belly On Biscuit - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Lobster With Lobster Rice - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Rosemary Rack Of Lamb With Fingerling Potatoes And Green Beans - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Crab Bisque - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Parmasean Crusted Hake With Lump Crab Risotto - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve! We will be offering our full menu and we will be open regular hours to celebrate the holidays with you and your loved ones.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

The start of a new holiday tradition! Join us on Christmas Day from 12-8PM for an exclusive 3-course holiday menu for only $59.95! We will also offer a Children's Menu and a limited version of our Classic Menu. Reserve your table today.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with a remarkable four-course menu, starting at just $55.
We will have extended hours until 1AM to ruing in the New Year with you!

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (9)
Private Room (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Waterfront (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Roy's is an upscale, fine dining spot wi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Roy's is an upscale, fine dining spot with great food and excellent service. The bar scene was full and boisterous as we passed it going to the adjacent dining room. Half the dining room was filled, and loud conversation and laughter carried overwhelmingly over the section barriers making conversation a bit difficult. Service was outstanding, professional, courteous and not intrusive. Our dinner selections were great, even though from 4-course special deal menu. Otherwise it would be pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent meal, great service, well wort ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal, great service, well worth the visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We responded to a promotion. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We responded to a promotion. The food was good. Service was good. Way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had bought a value deal on line for $ ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had bought a value deal on line for $59.99 for 2 at Roys, but the deal was not specific that you could only order from a very selected menu. My husband and I are not particularly limited to what we like, but the choices were few. The food was very tasty with a variety of flavors. The portions were on the smaller side, but we still had plenty to eat. I would have preferred at least 2 choices for salad and dessert, but again we were satisfied with the only option available. Our waitress was attentive and efficient. Overall Roys was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The pineapple upside down cake was a lit ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pineapple upside down cake was a little dry, but otherwise a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I like Roys.. excellent service and deli ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I like Roys.. excellent service and delicious food. A bit expensive though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening with excellen ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with excellent food and great friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All great food, just the sorbet tasted l ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All great food, just the sorbet tasted like water-ice, they should eliminate that.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for the Thanksgiving prix fixe m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for the Thanksgiving prix fixe meal. Very good. Teriyaki turkey breast, moist, tender and tasty. The sides were semi-tradotional and well-prepared.

Roy's is dependably good. The wine list is a little pricey, but the house wines are decent and not outragrous. The service is always good, and valet parking makes it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was just average. I was expect ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was just average. I was expecting a bit more, since they are in the heart of the East Harbor. I shrimp dish my husband had was salty. I'm glad we did the 2 for $59.00 from Travel Zoo, so I wasn't too upset over the price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the food here. I wish the lunch men ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Love the food here. I wish the lunch menu would include more items even from the bar menu. Please update the carpet, replace burnt out lightbulb and spruce the place up a bit. I love the food here but the location is starting to look dated/shabby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is consistently good at Roy's. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food is consistently good at Roy's. Great seafood options. Amazing chocolate soufflé dessert and Hawaiian martinis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a lunch in celebration of a mil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a lunch in celebration of a milestone birthday. We had not been there for several years and, while we enjoyed ourselves, it did not meet our expectations based on prior experience. My own food and that of some other guests was quite good. Others reported that it was mediocre. Also, the service couldn't have been more pleasant but it was quite slow and they were not able to provide a proper utensil for one of the deserts. Odd to say the least. Still and all, I would give it another try perhaps not for brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not bad, but nothing was memorable. Basi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Not bad, but nothing was memorable. Basically an overpriced chain restaurant selling "meh" food at inflated prices. We ordered three different entrees and several appetizers. The only person who enthusiastically liked her meal was the one who skipped the appetizers and loved her steak. Waiter must've had too many tables, because we barely saw him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Even with the reservation, we have to wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Even with the reservation, we have to wait 25 minutes... The food was great and our waiter was really fast and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We waited 1 hour for an appetizer. The m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We waited 1 hour for an appetizer. The manager apologized but only offered a refill on our drinks. Dinner took a total of 2 hours. We ended up being late to our show that tickets were already purchased for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Our group of five friends was welcomed a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our group of five friends was welcomed and escorted to our table without any wait. Our attendant was courteous and helpful and had a good knowledge of the menu. Service was good and the food was delicious and enjoyed by all. Ambiance was nice although a bit noisy. Definitely, a good time was had by all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second time at this restaur ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This was our second time at this restaurant. The food doesn't compare with the Roy's in Honolulu. I don't think that we will be back to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Discovered Roys near Naples this summer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Discovered Roys near Naples this summer and was delighted to find this one when we were in Baltimore. Would go back often if i could find one near my home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was really slow, their were ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The service was really slow, their were more people in there than usual, but not enough for them to be as slow as they were. They obviously wouldn't be able to handle a large crowd. I would say there must have been at least 7 tables and 2 servers, a hostess and a bar tender.

Despite the untimely service, the food was delicious. I had the braised beef ribs, which delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Kitchen is having trouble getting the fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Kitchen is having trouble getting the food out in a timely manner and is starting to make mistakes on the orders. Watch out, this restaurant may be starting to have trouble.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Roy's never disappoints! We usually com ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Roy's never disappoints! We usually come to Roy's for anniversaries or birthdays. Any time we go, we thoroughly enjoy the food, drinks, atmosphere, and service. We don't mind paying more for dinner when it is fresh and expertly prepared. On our latest outing at Roy's we brought friends who had not been there previously. They can't stop raving about the experience. You now have two new customers and we will be back, for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's is good, but not great. Perhaps th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Roy's is good, but not great. Perhaps they are experiencing a learning curve and will get up to speed but at this price point, I expect a bit more. The server was very well-meaning but needed more training, the sushi was bland and the lobster tail was overcooked. The place is attractive and they are trying, so they get points for that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

In one word - Great! The food, the ambia ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

In one word - Great! The food, the ambiance and every thing else made our that much more special. It was a very loud atmosphere, as some have said before, but it was not an issue for us.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a Roys fan and have visited many lo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I am a Roys fan and have visited many locations including this one, multiple times . Gotta say... going downhill on the food quality... salads ok, rolls ok, calamari less than ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was the first time I dined at Roy's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was the first time I dined at Roy's for lunch. While I still thoroughly enjoy the restaurant for dinner, I would not be excited to go back from lunch. It was underwhelming and the food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Best Roy's in the Mid-Atlantic.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Best Roy's in the Mid-Atlantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food and creative menu. We m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always good food and creative menu. We make the 1 hour drive and wish there was a location closer so we could enjoy the food more often.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They made a mistake with one of our entr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

They made a mistake with one of our entre's but were very apologetic and offered us dessert free

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service, great valet.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, great service, great valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Roy's for our 16th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My wife and I went to Roy's for our 16th anniversary. The service we received was amazing. The staff, service and the food was amazing. We were treated like royalty. I can't thank you guys enough for making this a great evening for us!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have frequented this restaurant on many ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Have frequented this restaurant on many special occasions and continue to love every thing we eat and drink. Wait staff is always friendly and food is always superb!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and Menu

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great Service and Menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too loud. Food v expensive. Long wait fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Too loud. Food v expensive. Long wait for table. Food and drinks not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Very nice restaurant. I have been here ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very nice restaurant. I have been here two or three times. I find it very pleasing and servers are very nice and considerate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I hadn't been to Roy's in ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I hadn't been to Roy's in years. When we returned it simply looked the same and a bit tired. A nice remodel is in order. The appetizers were great but the entrees were just average and overpriced. In a seafood state like Maryland, Roy's needs to do a better job here on the main course. The shrimp we ordered were nothing spectacular and the filet was just okay. If I went back I would stick to the apps and the drinks which were great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I could eat at Roy's everyday.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I could eat at Roy's everyday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dinner.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi was out of t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.