About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Weekdays at 11AM
Open Weekends at 4PM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Enjoy the best Father's Day at Roy's! Open early at 10am - we'll be serving Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Treat dad to the best seafood, steak and sushi in town.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

special occasion (54)
fit for foodies (46)
romantic (32)
See All
good for groups (28)
vibrant bar scene (20)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (11)
notable wine list (10)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Long standing guest of Roy's, food needs attention

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The service staff is still outstanding & knowledgeable, but the food lacks the attentiveness for the price point they want to command. We are long standing guests of Roy's and the food has normally been of the utmost quality. However, this most recent outing shows how the food execution with newer BOH staff needs improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been here a couple of time with mixed reviews. This time it was Mother's Day, and was disappointed that they did NOT offer their full menu. Limited offerings. Who would pay $40 for pancakes? I got the prime rib, which I thought was pretty good. My wife got the crab cakes, and was disappointed with the quality. The main reason we come is that they make the best Mai Tai in Baltimore (in my wife's opinion.)

food2
ambience3
service2

It started off on a bad note. The hoste ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It started off on a bad note. The hostess was sitting us at a six top in the back room. We asked the hostess since we have 2 children that it would be nice if we could take an open booth. She said let me check and came back and said it was reserved for another party. No other party sat there except for a family that came in with children 30 min later and had the same request but was accommodated at that table. My father had to ask three time for his coffee before it finally came. One lady brought out the food for our party of six and had to come back three times before all our food was served. One of my mothers eggs in her crab benedict didn't have a yolk and they had to bring out another egg. My fathers and I prime rib came out looking like it was under a heat lamp for over an hour. My father requested his medium well and it came out medium rare and had to have it sent back. When you spend almost $300 on a mother day bunch you expect better service, food and experience which we unfortunately didn't have. I wanted to share my experience so hopefully it is corrected for your next special occasion at that Roy's.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Not what is was

Dined on May 8, 2016

This used to be my go-to for special occasions in Baltimore. The service was fine but the food quality has gone down. Our dishes were not very inspiring and tasted pretty bland. Will not be going back.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. One of my best ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious. One of my best meals ever. The service was perfect; prompt, but we never were rushed.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. We ordered the Mahi Mah ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great. We ordered the Mahi Mahi, Blackened Ahi, Steak and Shrimp and all cooked to perfection. Our server was Aaron and he gave us excellent service. He also gave my Mom a hug and wished her a Happy Mothers Day which I thought was so sweet. All staff were very nice and provided top notch service. The only negative I have is the noise level was awful.

food2
ambience3
service3

Haven't been to this restaurant in a few ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Haven't been to this restaurant in a few years. Doubt I will be coming back anytime soon. My husband and I spent $120.00 on a meal that was average at best. We started with the calamari. It had no seasoning! The only flavor came from the dipping sauce. We returned it. Our entrees were ok, but the food was lukewarm. My husband ordered the grilled ribeye and I ordered the grilled filet (after being told that the lamb they had listed on my menu hasn't been available for months). You know how at Ruth's Cris or Flemings your steak comes out piping hot? Well, don't expect that here at Roys. To top it all off, their dessert options were undesirable. If considering this restaurant maybe try them at lunch so you won't be disappointed with the price you are paying for average food.

food1
ambience1
service1

It was honestly the worst food I've eate ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

It was honestly the worst food I've eaten in years.

food3
ambience3
service4

Food wasn't as great as it used to be. N ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food wasn't as great as it used to be. Not sure what is happening at Roy's these the past couple of years... It's just not as good as it used to be. Our waiter tonight was excellent though. However, the hostess was so miserable and very uninviting. The edamame was old/overcooked. They were out of a house Pinot noir because it was "busy". The food was just "ok".

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a really wonderful experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff at the front when we walked in was welcoming and friendly. That started our experience on a high note which stayed high the entire time. We were happy that we got seated at a table in the rear room since it was not as noisy. The menu was eclectic and very interesting -- if only we could have had some of each item on the menu! We had noted on the reservation that it was our anniversary and we had a framed congratulations note in English and Hawaiian waiting for us. My wife and I shared the Lobster roll as an appetizer which was wonderful. My wife ordered the macadamia nut encrusted Mahi Mahi and I ordered the Asian Seabass with lobster on top. Both of these dishes were absolutely superb -- We highly recommend both of them. My wife had the Key Lime Tart and I had the Fruit Tart both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. I have to comment specifically on the Fruit Tart which was the most interesting fruit tart I ever had -- Zebra Fruit and Star Fruit made the tart interesting and special along with the delicious shortcake base. And finally, if you like strong drinks and enjoy the flavor of chocolate, order the Kono Cocoa which is topped with slivers of chocolate. The rum and chocolate liqueurs made a really fine after-dinner drink. Overall, we highly recommend the restaurant for its attentive staff and fine food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll waitress was terrific. I believe he ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I'll waitress was terrific. I believe her name was Mary Jane and she is going into social work. Please give her a raise. She went out of her way to accommodate.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for celebrating birthdays

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great menu offers a variety of things for every taste, great cocktails and wines too. Servers are energetic, friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1

Server brought the wrong order and then ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Server brought the wrong order and then we waited a long time to get the right order of blackened Salmon and it was undercooked

food5
ambience5
service5

Our service and food were great! Service ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Our service and food were great! Service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Did not get bank for the buck

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

So so. At this price of the menu, I would expect a better service and a good amount of food. Had to ask for water to fill the glass and then had to wait a while to get water.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Experience

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Exceptional Experience

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Go to another Roy's

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Usually an evening at Roy's is a fantastic experience but this location does not have their act together. Slow and unattentive service, our appetizer never arrived, overall a totally disappointing evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service, and atmosphere were a ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere were all excellent! We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A family tradition

Dined on March 24, 2016

We celebrate my husband's birthday at Roy's Harbor East every year and it is never a let down. The food is outstanding and the service is typically amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was outstanding, as I would exp ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food was outstanding, as I would expect from Roy's. This is the fifth Roy's restaurant that I've been to. The service was deplorable, however. The appetizers and main course took forever to come out. That was tolerable. However, the waiter gave me the chocolate souffle even though I clearly did not order it. He then had the audacity to charge me for it. I didn't feel like argueing, so I just paid the bill and left. Again, the food was superb and we didn't let the poor service ruin the evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick Service, Outstanding Food

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Quick Service, Outstanding Food

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Meh

Dined on March 13, 2016

Seemed more like the kind of food one would find at a commercial chain. Not unlike Red Lobster.

food4
ambience4
service5

The food and service here are excellent, ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food and service here are excellent, though I do miss some of my favorite dishes from the previous chef. The chocolate soufflé remains a must-have dessert! The place can get crowded on Friday/Saturday nights, and unfortunately gets pretty loud. Still, it's one of my favorite places in Baltimore and I always look forward to my next excuse to eat here.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

MrGoodPour

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had a $50.00 gift certificate good for food only. We wanted to keep the food around that level and spend extra for drinks. The entrees were so outrageously expensive for what we were seeing on plates around us that we had to settle for a salad that we split and two sushi options. The food was very good although one of the sushi items was fried; something the menu failed to disclose. We sat at the bar and enjoyed the vibrant scene.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Although our entrees were very good, som ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Although our entrees were very good, some were too salty. Unfortunately,the cheesecake dessert was a ridiculously small portion.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Appreciate the birthday wishes -

Dined on March 8, 2016

food was good not extraordinary... Nice tribute to birthday celebration at table. Good for special occassions

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Accommodating To Allergies (Gluten ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Very Accommodating To Allergies (Gluten Free)

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Outstanding

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Consistently Outstanding

food5
ambience4
service5

Roy's Baltimore is rated as a top five R ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Roy's Baltimore is rated as a top five Roy's in the USA.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

4 stars

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Short version: Very good - we have been to other Roy's around the country. Yes we would go back. Longer version: We travel extensively, and have been to numerous Roy's across the country and have found them to be a great "go-to" chain that delivers very good to excellent cuisine and service depending on the location. This was our second time to the Baltimore location and overall it was Very Good. My companion had the macadamia nut cod (they were out of Mahi Mahi), and I had the filet with shrimp. Both very good. Our server was "new" so service was OK - he was learning. Forgot a few things, but those are minor gripes. This outing was nothing to do cartwheels in the aisle about, but again a consistent very good experience.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Adequate

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Had the opportunity to dine here after a Weather-related cancellation on Valentine's Day. Our server was engaging and perspicacious. I didn't feel the food had its usual panache and flair? I know that there have been some management changes. I just wonder if there has been a head Chef Change Also?

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

This place seems tired

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

At this old time chain, you hope for the atmosphere you might find in Hawaii or some Polynesian Island, but in the Baltimore edition, that is sadly lacking. Decor is drab and functional, service is slow and the food just passable. Other variations of the restaurant in other cities fare far better. Good point: the Polynesian drinks (Mai Tai's) are excellent.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Dinner experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

Overpriced. Slow service. I ordered shellfish sampler and it was a joke. The shrimp and lobster were over cooked, tough and rubbery. This is a tourist trap.

food1
ambience4
service5
value2

NEVER AGAIN

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

ordered the special thinking whatever chef makes for the special will be excellent. pork chop: very tough and unable to chew. my dogs appreciated the chop as i took the entire chop home just for them as not to waste. the roasted vegetables were unnoticeable! i had not clue what i was eating as all were charred black. must say, there have been some poor meals in the past but this one takes the prize. only saving grace was the most excellent waitress. she was awesome and the best of all through previous dinners at roys. i do believe this meal put the final nail in the coffin. save your money and go elsewhere, there are so many choices in baltimore that are not chains. i should have taken a picture of my meal. the chef would be ashamed that something of this caliber was sent out of the kitchen.

food3
ambience5
service4

I love this restaurant. Overall the expe ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

I love this restaurant. Overall the experience was good. I tried something I had never had before (crab cake sliders) and they were very salty so I ended up sending them back. The waiter was kind and quick in getting me another entree to go. I will definitely be back

food4
ambience5
service5

The menu selection is always amazing. th ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The menu selection is always amazing. the service staff are incredible. Had a great night with a good friend. Will definitely come back again :-)

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dishes. Long waiting time even ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Delicious dishes. Long waiting time even with reservation but it was worth the wait.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Valentine's Day menu Very bu ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice Valentine's Day menu Very busy so service was a little slow. Jalepeno margarita was excellent. Staff attentive. Food excellent

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

During holiday's they offer a "special" ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

During holiday's they offer a "special" menu, which does not reflect their everyday serving.

food4
ambience3
service3

Great dinner!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great dinner!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.