About Roy's Baltimore

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (23)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
People Watching (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Waterfront (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Expensive and boring brunch menu.
Same good and price as Mother's Day brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrible Father's Day brunch. 3 course menu and never received the first course. The second course came out before our drinks. It took over 90 minutes and we were the ONLY people in the restaurant. Our two 7 and 9 year old sons got eggs that were extra brown. $165 without drinks for a family of 5 for overcooked eggs, slow service and missed food course was unacceptable. We will not be going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is good but a bit pricey especially given the size of my entry. I had the Hawaiian cod (butterfish) and my wife had the fish sampler. My entree was $39 and hers was $40. She received 4 pieces of fish, including the cod. My cod entree was the same size as hers, and quite small. I had a good house salad as a separate appetizer and left hungry

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good and our service was great (Sam was fantastic). Portions were inconsistent - especially given we had a few of sam meals - and some were down right rip off.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We took friends to this restaurant in order to have a nice conversation and catch up on past events. The food was good and the service was outstanding. Thank you Michael, our server. The problem was the noise level. There was a group celebrating a birthday near by and that totally over shadowed the evening. They were very loud and were never asked to tone it down a bit as others were also trying to enjoy themselves. I think the restaurant could/should have done something about the noise.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

It was amazing as usual. The food was delicious also as usual!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

• Food was marginally above average for NY or Philly & the check was still $175 for 2 people without wine!

• The hostess, the manager, and the waiter delivered HORRIBLE service. Especially the waiter

• I'll never return here again.

• Did I mention we had the Worst waiter in the history of waiters?

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Service was great, food was ok. Lobster tail a little under cooked. Went with children, menu for kids was just fair, they ended up ordering on the adult menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were in Baltimore for the weekend and just happened to walk by this place. We decided to go for dinner and it was definitely an excellent way to end the weekend. The selections on the menu made it hard to decide what we wanted but I believe everything is probably as delicious as what we chose. The portions were just right so we could enjoy a dessert and that was fabulous as well. And it doesn’t stop there, I can’t say enough about our server. I believe his name was Craig. He was by far the best server we had all weekend and my only regret is that I didn’t take the time to tell the manager. Roy’s has great food, great atmosphere, its in a wonderful location, and if you go I strongly suggest you ask for Craig. He definitely deserves the recognition. When we go back to Baltimore we will visit Roy’s again and I truly hope Craig is working.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Disappointed because it was too noisy for easy conversation. Full house on a Saturday night so service was slow. Waited 2x for drinks and food was not hot when served
On plus side the food is nicely presented and full of flavor

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lobster bisque wasn't very good.
It was also not hot enough.
Service is slow especially when it's crowded.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We usually love Roy's but this visit was disappointing. The food took a very long time and the portions were ridiculously small. We have celebrated our anniversary here for years and have loved the special touches in the past ( chocolate writing on your dessert plate along with a sparkler, snapshot in an anniversary card). We didn't receive any of that this time. The waitress was very nice but service was slow. We asked her about specials but she said there weren't any.... then we heard a waiter tell the table next to us about the special. I wonder if Roy's is going downhill and that's why I've seen them on Groupon and special offers on Travelzoo. Not sure we will go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This has gone way downhill. Very bad tasteless food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was our first visit to Roy's, but it won't be the last. The Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs and Misoyaki “Butterfish” are so flavorful and delicious -- a must try!! Make sure you save room for dessert. The Kaffir Lime Tart was like Key Lime Pie...but better!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had a nice birthday dinner. The short ribs were good and so were the mashed potatoes but there was the smallest portion of potatoes . It was more like a garnish than a side. The lobster bisque was good. Two of us had soup and the third person didn't order an appetizer. The soup was brought not by our waiter and it took a very long time to find him to ask for rolls for the one with no food. It was always hard to find him. It is too expensive but the food was good and the service should have been better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Impeccable service. Friendly, professional and catered to our every need. Love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was excellent, as always.
Our server, Mo was tremendous. She was very friendly and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Enjoyed the convenience of valet parking. Really nice evening out. The staff , everyone of them were especially welcoming and very pleasant. The hostess and receptionist were particularly charming. It was good to enjoy the aloha hour and to sit at the bar and watch the performances in the kitchen. Quite a production! The special 5 course dinner was very good. The meats were tender and nicely seasoned. The chocolate mouse dessert was exceptional. We must do this again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Roy's is absolutely my favorite restaurant. I have been to the Maui, Bonita Springs, FL and Baltimore.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We have dined here before and it has completely gone down hill. The server was poor and the food was tasteless - not the exceptional customer service that I am used to from Roy's. It took 20 minutes to receive our drinks, and that was after the bartender came over to clarify my sake order because the server had not. The food had no taste. The server never asked if we were interested in dessert. Overall, not worth the price. Unfortunately, we won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was excellent, though overpriced. Wasn't crowded, yet service was fair. Server didn't bring any bread to table until I asked for it after the entrée was served. Otherwise it was a nice evening....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great Dinner! Hostess remembered that I requested a special table for our anniversary dinner. We were greeted by a congratulatory card and pulmeria blossoms on the table. We ordered delicious cocktails, shared the special appetizer for two, and enjoyed seafood entrees and wines by the glass. Although we were tempted, we skipped dessert. Our seafood entrees (scallops and macadamia-crusted mahi mahi) were both superbly prepared. Our waiter, Justin, was friendly and attentive, and paced the dinner expertly. Since the tab came to almost $200 (including tax and tip), Roy's is not for everyday dining. But it's great for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Not pleased. The drinks were good. The apps were good then it went downhill from there. Everything was way too salty. It was just very disappointing. The waiter wasn't great. Used to go all the time it used to be so good.very sad

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

It was nice.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was my first time and I took my mom. It was the perfect 5 star experience from the ambiance to the expert customer service and the food was divine!!! Definitely will be going back again!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Menu changes and is always incredible!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We were there for hours, received apologies and a comped appetizer. Did not make up for ruining our daughters graduation dinner. Forgot to bring our dessert. The restaurant was not even full.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was a lovely restaurant. The service was impeccable, the food delicious, the environment quiet. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love this place and we frequent it every year on special occasions. I did have a problem with my entree and the manager could not have been nicer and more responsive in getting me a corrected meal. Clearly they value their customers.
And the chocolate souffle is to die for!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were celebrating our son's college graduation. The meal was awesome. Service great. Loved every minute of the evening

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall we were very pleased with our dinner and overcame our negative feelings we had from our first visit many years ago. We arrived very early (5:15) on a Friday evening to avoid the crowds and noise. We both ordered seafood -- the seared scallops and the Trio with an add-on of mahi-mahi. All the fish/seafood was well prepared and had flavorful accompaniments. One minor complaint was the still-too-crunchy and difficult to chew brussel sprouts with the scallops. We were too full to order dessert but will try one another time. We had excellent service and did not have to wait terribly long for our entrees. Since we did not order appetizers, having a small gratis item to munch on would have been a nice touch but was not greatly missed. We think that the very high prices are the greatest drawback to Roy's with entrees priced about $10 higher than comparable quality at other restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Last night was not their night. Service was slow, food was not as good as previous experiences
My wife had to send back her lobster bisque because it was not appealing. Our maincourse took over an hour to come out. It was not a good night for Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was mothers day so I think this affected the food and wait time between courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Given that it was Mother's day and very crowded, the food and service were very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we love the food, but this was the second time we've been here while the service was very slow. both times, one hour passed between ordering and arrival of our food. not acceptable for a sunday mother's day brunch or birthday dinner on a weeknight. hope they correct this soon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been here several times, seems as though the food has gone down hill.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our 3rd time at this location & the whole staff went out of our way to make us feel special as we were celebrating our anniversary! They took care of our parking & surprised us with a very nice dessert! We have been to Roy's at different locations (including the original on Oahu), but, the Baltimore Roy's is all around the best!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was average, the service was slow. Took 15 minutes to get water. Ordered a Manhattan and received a glass of bourbon. I would recommend looking around for alternative places to dine .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The service was great. Drinks were very good. I had the mahi-mahi which was absolutely delicious. My friend ordered the short ribs, when they came they were burnt and she had to send them back. There was no problem with that and the second dinner came out quickly and was very good.
It was a very noisy atmosphere and a little hard to talk at times. There was a group of men at the bar whose voices seemed to carry throughout the restaurant and then when they were seated for dinner right behind us. I don't know if this is the norm for this restaurant to be noisy or not.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had eaten there before and it was very good but they failed the other night on all levels. Sent my drink back twice, kitchen very slow and waitress had major attitude when asked about it. So noisy I could barely hear the people I was dining with. we waited over 30 minutes for the valet to return our car and when I spoke with the restaurant manager his response was "that's a different company". To top it off while waiting for my car I overheard another party leaving. One gentleman said to the other "didn't you leave a 20% tip? To which he replied "yes, why?" The first gentleman then responded "why were we given attitude when we left?" No idea who that server was but it certainly summed up our night.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.