About Roy's Baltimore

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Healthy (8)
Waterfront (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined a day ago

Slow service from the kitchen and high noise level but food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Great lunch. Good hospitality Ryan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

1 out of 4 dishes was excellent [sushi rolls was best of order). Pork chop was cooked well but lacked appreciable taste. Sides were excellent for this dish. Rockfish was cooked well but nothing special. Shrimp carbonara pasta was not flavorful, especially since was to have lobster base cream sauce.
Price points high for end product.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious meal as always at Roy's. we only go for special occasions, but are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was good, but portions were small and, considering the cost, expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best time ..the atmosphere,the food,drinks dessert..this was our 3rd date it was most enjoyable.can't wait to return

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthday and the staff was super friendly

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Popped in for the first time last night for a late dinner and I was impressed by the food!! My salmon was perfect but the truffle bacon Mac and Cheese really made the experience! It was sooooooooo good. Wasn't impressed by having to wait so long for acknowledgement that we opted to sit at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Roy's has always been a favorite of ours to celebrate special events, but this time was the first disappointing time we have had. According to our waitress management has changed hands, and you could certainly tell, and not for the better. The complementary edamame, instead of bread, is no more. The service was extremely slow and many items that we had ordered just never arrived. And most disappointing of all is that the blackened ahi tuna has always been my favorite dish and exceptional, and just was not very tasty this visit. Our waitress did a good job of trying to correct the situation as gave us gift cards to come back and took my son's dish off the bill as a birthday gift, as she knew that this dinner was not what we were used to.

Honestly with so many other restaurants to visit in Baltimore I am not sure that the gift cards will be used, as just was so very disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

For the price, we expected much better food and service. The cushion on the bench seat we were set at was torn. The Ambiance was really average, and it was a bit louder than I like for this type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Roy's was absolutely delicious and perfect for a nice birthday lunch! Some of the dishes were a not pricey for the quantity of food, but overall you're not going to break the bank. They definitely have some very interesting band worthwhile fusion styles. If highly recommend checking this place out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The menu is open enough that there's something for everyone. All dishes are prepared with what taste like fresh produce. Great service from hostess to wait staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food and wine was as always great. Never been a disappointment

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've been to Roy's several times and have never been disappointed. Definitely try the short ribs!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The ambiance of Roy's is nice for a special occasion. One person loved the macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi. Two others had the trio and found the Misoyaki butterfish to be too rich and salty; at least there were other options on the plate. Everyone loved their desserts. One person ordered a Polynesian Passion drink and said it was good. The Bailey's/Rum/Coffee after dinner drink was very strong and it didn't seem to have coffee at all. The birthday person's dessert was "on the house" and a photo of the party was provided for the birthday person only.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Sharon, my wife and I, invited her father to Roy's on March 26th, for his birthday.

I ordered the three fish dinner, but the waitress suggested that I upgrade to their four fish dinner. This was a great suggestion. My dinner was fantastic. I also shared sushi with our guests. Normally, her dad is difficult to please when it comes to food. His reaction to Roy's was unusual. He raved about his dinner.

The waiters and waitresses at Roy's always provided good service. The waitress, that we were lucky to have that evening, goes by the name Mo. She provided us with great service. Also, she had a very nice voice, in her rendition of 'happy birthday'. You can tell that Mo is a people person. I plan on requesting to be seated at Mo's table, on our future visits to Roy's.

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food and good service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. I had the rock fish, my husband had the tappanyaki shrimp. We shared crab fried rice and baby bok choy. We can't wait to return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Ribs were amazing and so was the Mahi Mahi!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food but not nearly enough staff to handle clientele.
We had a nice table in the main section of the restaurant but there was only ONE server per 10-12 tables including one very large table. We arrived early but guests that arrived later were waiting 15-20 minutes for their orders or food. It was embarrassing to watch.
Big fail by management not too have nearly enough staff to provide adequate service levels in a busy Thursday evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had a great meal at the bar. Great service too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What a great meal! Food was great. Server was fun and made us laugh.
Not a quick dinner but it was nice to sit back and enjoy the group we went with. It was pretty expensive so I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a cheap date.
Splurge a little and have some fun! Yum!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A good time was had by all. The food was just ok this time around. I have had better items on previous visits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Thank you for making my 30th Wedding Anniversary even more special! We had a fabulous time and highly recommend Roys!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service as always. It is one of our favorites

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Enjoyed Roy's Baltimore for a business dinner while attending a conference. Was pleasantly surprised by the service, ambiance and, of course, the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There are a numer of good restaurants in Harbor East. Roy's is not one of them.We spent over $100 for a dinner for two and walked away hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Roy's didn't seem to pay much attention to the OpenTable reservation, and we weren't seated until about 8pm on a 7:15 reservation. Next time, we'll contact the restaurant directly, to hopefully be seated near the time reserved. Sorry OT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation time which is good enough for me on a busy Saturday night. Service was excellent and food was awesome. I'd go back anytime. The lobster potstickers were my favorite of the 3 apps we tried. The shellfish sampler is easily shareable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have been going to Roy's for years and Saturday was the first time that we have been disappointed.

The service was slow and somewhat inattentive and the portions noticeably smaller.

I understand the management has changed.

I hope this is not a trend but we noticed that most the their staff had turned over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I thought the service was good, not great. The server was quite attentive, and kept interrupting out conversations without waiting for us to acknowledge her which I considered rude.
The food was quite good.
We like the Roys on the islands much better. Better ambience, more relaxed service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and they were so sweet to have a card and flowers as well a delicious dessert to end the meal! It was a fantastic meal and service was spot on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had the fish trio which was amazing. The tuna was perfectly cooked (rare) as was the salmon. We've eating at Roy's a number of times and the food is consistently awesome.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I was very disappointed in my visit to Roy's. The restaurant was very loud and noisy. The food is extremely over priced. Our waitress was terrible. We had to get up from our table and ask the hostess for a fork. In addition, I had to asked three times for an additional glass of ice tea. It seemed like after we placed the order for our entrée, our waitress disappeared until it was time to pay the bill. The ladies room was disgusting. Toilets did not work, paper towels laying all over the floor. This is my first and last visit to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous food; great atmosphere and service. Plenty to choose from on the menu, with excellent variety.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall ~ Disappointed - The food was good.. Sushi was great, I had the Rockfish and thought it was OK my husband liked it more than I. Noise level was horrible, we went with friends and could barely hear one another to have a conversation. Service was not the greatest, at one point the server apologized for not being attentive said she had a big party. Then when the check came -- WOWZER -- $330 for 4 people and only 5 drinks. I would not mind paying this if the food and overall experience had been outstanding. Nothing spectacular here for a lot of $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'd read some good reviews and wanted to try a new place that had both steak and seafood, so I settled on Roy's. It's in a very busy area, which might be a turn off for some, but we often dine downtown and the valet service was convenient and fairly quick. We often skip eating out for Valentine's Day because of the crowds, but we didn't face a long wait and it was kind of sweet to see all of the other couples having a day out together. The Valentine's menu was great, with lots of good options. I was actually surprised at the price - I feel like the amount and quality of the food we got made this almost a bargain, as far as fine dining restaurants go. He got the lobster potstickers, I got the spicy tuna roll, we both got lobster bisque and ribeye, he got the lime dessert and I got the red velvet cake, all delicious. The place was busy and crowded, as expected, but the service was on point, with friendly, helpful and quick staff. Unfortunately, I broke a tealight on my way out, and the woman who came to pick up the pieces was so sweet, it helped me feel slightly less embarrassed haha. We were given a $20 gift card for our next visit, and we will DEFINITELY be back. My husband and I were both pleased, and while I think it's probably not the most "romantic" of places, I think it's good for either a date night or a meal with a group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was solid, service was the worst service I have received at a restaurant in a very long time. We waited 45 minutes for our appetizers, waitress forgot to bring the wine with the food, and forgot that we had ordered dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Go to Roy's when in Baltimore for a good and peaceful meal. This time was a little disappointing. Ordered entrée only to be told 10 minutes later it had sold out. Two couples were very intoxicated and very, very loud at a nearby table; management did nothing about it. Will give them another try; will be going to Roy's at Waikiki in the spring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.