About Roy's Baltimore

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

We will be open early at 9AM. Join us for a 3-course brunch starting at just $36, or treat Dad to dinner with a special Chef's menu created for the occasion available from 3-CL.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (20)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (5)
Waterfront (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place and we frequent it every year on special occasions. I did have a problem with my entree and the manager could not have been nicer and more responsive in getting me a corrected meal. Clearly they value their customers.
And the chocolate souffle is to die for!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall we were very pleased with our dinner and overcame our negative feelings we had from our first visit many years ago. We arrived very early (5:15) on a Friday evening to avoid the crowds and noise. We both ordered seafood -- the seared scallops and the Trio with an add-on of mahi-mahi. All the fish/seafood was well prepared and had flavorful accompaniments. One minor complaint was the still-too-crunchy and difficult to chew brussel sprouts with the scallops. We were too full to order dessert but will try one another time. We had excellent service and did not have to wait terribly long for our entrees. Since we did not order appetizers, having a small gratis item to munch on would have been a nice touch but was not greatly missed. We think that the very high prices are the greatest drawback to Roy's with entrees priced about $10 higher than comparable quality at other restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Last night was not their night. Service was slow, food was not as good as previous experiences
My wife had to send back her lobster bisque because it was not appealing. Our maincourse took over an hour to come out. It was not a good night for Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was mothers day so I think this affected the food and wait time between courses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Given that it was Mother's day and very crowded, the food and service were very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

we love the food, but this was the second time we've been here while the service was very slow. both times, one hour passed between ordering and arrival of our food. not acceptable for a sunday mother's day brunch or birthday dinner on a weeknight. hope they correct this soon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been here several times, seems as though the food has gone down hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is our 3rd time at this location & the whole staff went out of our way to make us feel special as we were celebrating our anniversary! They took care of our parking & surprised us with a very nice dessert! We have been to Roy's at different locations (including the original on Oahu), but, the Baltimore Roy's is all around the best!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was average, the service was slow. Took 15 minutes to get water. Ordered a Manhattan and received a glass of bourbon. I would recommend looking around for alternative places to dine .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The service was great. Drinks were very good. I had the mahi-mahi which was absolutely delicious. My friend ordered the short ribs, when they came they were burnt and she had to send them back. There was no problem with that and the second dinner came out quickly and was very good.
It was a very noisy atmosphere and a little hard to talk at times. There was a group of men at the bar whose voices seemed to carry throughout the restaurant and then when they were seated for dinner right behind us. I don't know if this is the norm for this restaurant to be noisy or not.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had eaten there before and it was very good but they failed the other night on all levels. Sent my drink back twice, kitchen very slow and waitress had major attitude when asked about it. So noisy I could barely hear the people I was dining with. we waited over 30 minutes for the valet to return our car and when I spoke with the restaurant manager his response was "that's a different company". To top it off while waiting for my car I overheard another party leaving. One gentleman said to the other "didn't you leave a 20% tip? To which he replied "yes, why?" The first gentleman then responded "why were we given attitude when we left?" No idea who that server was but it certainly summed up our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Noisy. Initially seated near large party.Was able to be reassigned to new seating. Waited over 2 hours for meal. Our party of 4- 2 meals satisfactory, 2 meals over cooked-1 sent back to kitchen inedible. Manager apologized, took that meal off bill. And took 2 percent off bill for long wait. Will never return. Very disappointing. Long valet wait too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were using the new Groupon that we just bought and thought to be a very good deal. Roy's is noted for its seafood and upon arriving we saw that the Groupon had a very restricted menu and the only fish option was FARMED salmon! Really? The manager apologized and gave us the option of using the Groupon as a $60 coupon toward the regular menu. I chose the Macadamia Nut encrusted Mahi Mahi. The fish itself would have been good but didn't care for the nut crust which gave the fish a mushy texture. The manager was very nice though and compted us on the desert and coffee. We still ended up spending considerably more than expected. The dining area was very loud and we had to yell to hear each other. Service was slow, about a 3 hr experience, but otherwise really good. My biggest disappointment was the incredibly restrictive menu for the Groupon that only had a fish option of FARMED salmon. That was insulting.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, People Watching, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the area. And that is saying something since there are plenty near the inner harbor. I loved the food, clean crisp linen and the clean bathrooms. Classy, family friendly and fabulous food catering to those of use who have food restrictions. Mo - our server was amazingly knowledgeable and really looked after us, and it was mush appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was horrible and we'll never go back. The restaurant was not busy on Sunday evening at all, but we were there for close to 2.5 hours. The waiter couldn't get our bottle of wine for about 20 minutes because the bartender was in the bathroom. The kitchen sent out a snack between our appetizers and dinners bc our food was taking so long. The food wasn't hot and some of the orders were wrong. Definitely our first and last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to many high end restaurant in the in the area,and Roy's it's on the bottom of the list..
Good wait staff service
Food was way overpriced
Not enough on the plate and tasteless.had to add Lots of salt and pepper.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This restaurant was just ok. The food was average but expensive. Again for date night it was just ok. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A nice birthday dinner (mine) punctuated by an unexpected complimentary dessert and a photo card. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Friend birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had a little hesitation when our wedge salad was a little lacking on blue cheese dressing but was quickly remedied with a little added dressing being promptly brought to our table. Our table ordered a little of everything, steak, seafood , short ribs and there were absolutely no complaints from anyone. Service was prompt and courteous.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great atmosphere. Terrific service. Waiter was very attentive and friendly

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Slow service from the kitchen and high noise level but food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great lunch. Good hospitality Ryan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

1 out of 4 dishes was excellent [sushi rolls was best of order). Pork chop was cooked well but lacked appreciable taste. Sides were excellent for this dish. Rockfish was cooked well but nothing special. Shrimp carbonara pasta was not flavorful, especially since was to have lobster base cream sauce.
Price points high for end product.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious meal as always at Roy's. we only go for special occasions, but are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was good, but portions were small and, considering the cost, expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best time ..the atmosphere,the food,drinks dessert..this was our 3rd date it was most enjoyable.can't wait to return

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthday and the staff was super friendly

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Popped in for the first time last night for a late dinner and I was impressed by the food!! My salmon was perfect but the truffle bacon Mac and Cheese really made the experience! It was sooooooooo good. Wasn't impressed by having to wait so long for acknowledgement that we opted to sit at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Roy's has always been a favorite of ours to celebrate special events, but this time was the first disappointing time we have had. According to our waitress management has changed hands, and you could certainly tell, and not for the better. The complementary edamame, instead of bread, is no more. The service was extremely slow and many items that we had ordered just never arrived. And most disappointing of all is that the blackened ahi tuna has always been my favorite dish and exceptional, and just was not very tasty this visit. Our waitress did a good job of trying to correct the situation as gave us gift cards to come back and took my son's dish off the bill as a birthday gift, as she knew that this dinner was not what we were used to.

Honestly with so many other restaurants to visit in Baltimore I am not sure that the gift cards will be used, as just was so very disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

For the price, we expected much better food and service. The cushion on the bench seat we were set at was torn. The Ambiance was really average, and it was a bit louder than I like for this type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Roy's was absolutely delicious and perfect for a nice birthday lunch! Some of the dishes were a not pricey for the quantity of food, but overall you're not going to break the bank. They definitely have some very interesting band worthwhile fusion styles. If highly recommend checking this place out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The menu is open enough that there's something for everyone. All dishes are prepared with what taste like fresh produce. Great service from hostess to wait staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food and wine was as always great. Never been a disappointment

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've been to Roy's several times and have never been disappointed. Definitely try the short ribs!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The ambiance of Roy's is nice for a special occasion. One person loved the macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi. Two others had the trio and found the Misoyaki butterfish to be too rich and salty; at least there were other options on the plate. Everyone loved their desserts. One person ordered a Polynesian Passion drink and said it was good. The Bailey's/Rum/Coffee after dinner drink was very strong and it didn't seem to have coffee at all. The birthday person's dessert was "on the house" and a photo of the party was provided for the birthday person only.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Sharon, my wife and I, invited her father to Roy's on March 26th, for his birthday.

I ordered the three fish dinner, but the waitress suggested that I upgrade to their four fish dinner. This was a great suggestion. My dinner was fantastic. I also shared sushi with our guests. Normally, her dad is difficult to please when it comes to food. His reaction to Roy's was unusual. He raved about his dinner.

The waiters and waitresses at Roy's always provided good service. The waitress, that we were lucky to have that evening, goes by the name Mo. She provided us with great service. Also, she had a very nice voice, in her rendition of 'happy birthday'. You can tell that Mo is a people person. I plan on requesting to be seated at Mo's table, on our future visits to Roy's.

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food and good service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. I had the rock fish, my husband had the tappanyaki shrimp. We shared crab fried rice and baby bok choy. We can't wait to return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Ribs were amazing and so was the Mahi Mahi!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.