About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Weekdays at 11AM
Open Weekends at 4PM

Lunch 11AM - 4PM
Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll
Mango Mojito
Jalapeno margarita
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé
Sunrise At Haleaka Rol
Pineapple Upside Down Cake
Edamame Cayenne
Big Island Ahi Poke
Maguro Sashimi
Hamachi Sashimi
French Onion Soup
Shrimp On Grits
Apple Tarte Tartin
Chocolate Lava Cake With Ice Cream
Sweet Potato Cheesecake
Pineapple martini
Shrimp Lumpia
Parmasean Crusted Hake With Lump Crab Risotto
Grilled Lobster With Lobster Rice
Crab Bisque
Rosemary Rack Of Lamb With Fingerling Potatoes And Green Beans
Pork Belly On Biscuit

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

special occasion (42)
fit for foodies (38)
good for groups (22)
See All
romantic (20)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Roy's is in an unbelievable location in ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is in an unbelievable location in Harbor East, offering some of the best food I've had in awhile. The portion sizes are a little small, but just about right. The Short Ribs, Scallops, and the lobster dumplings were all fantastic. Couldn't decide what I wanted in the menu cause everything looked so go ahold. Service was also primo, and the only knocks were it's a little pricy and the wine pours were about 3 to maybe 3.5 sips. Will definitely be going back, as the food is the part that matters most and Roy's really crushes it in that aspect.

food4
ambience3
service4
value1

We have been a fan of Roys for years. S ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been a fan of Roys for years. Sometimes we would enjoy their fine dining for special occasions. Many times, we would just go there and sit at the bar, for their fantastic hamburgers,. Recently, the restaurant greatly increased their prices at the bar. The hamburger increased from a very friendly $9.95 to $14.95. All of the other bar area lite fare items also increased, greatly. We will still go to Roys, but we will be restricting our visits to only special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was stunned at how exquisite the meal ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I was stunned at how exquisite the meal was. We regularly eat at top restaurants and were very, very pleased with our entire meal. The sushi was particularly and exceedingly outstanding as was the fish trio and beef rib. We definitely plan to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1

We eat at Roy's often. It used to take 3 ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We eat at Roy's often. It used to take 30-40 minutes for the kitchen to deliver food, now it takes 50-70 minutes, regardless of the time or day of the week. The quality of food has moved from very good to just good, which no longer makes Roy's a good cost to quality value. The service has changed from very good on most occasions to hit or miss, with a few servers acting more like rookies training at a diner than a higher quality restaurant. I really hope management turns this place around, we really have enjoyed eating here over the years.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal! Everything was perfect.. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent meal! Everything was perfect... Drinks, food and service!

food3
ambience3
service5
value1

We have been going to this Roy's for yea ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been going to this Roy's for years, and it has always been a pleasant experience. The food is never bad, but can range from average to good to excellent, depending on what you order. Our biggest complaint with the direction this restaurant is going is the prices. This is certainly a nice restaurant, but not true fine dining. Nonetheless, on our last visit we paid over $400 with tip for a party of 3 adults and 2 kids. Most of the entrees were over $40, including a very small portion of Chilean sea bass and an uninteresting ribeye that you might expect to find at a chain family restaurant. Had the bill been in the $200s I likely would not be writing this review, but for the prices they charge I expect something extraordinary, not a Polynesian Applebees.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is always great.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Food is always great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Individual service

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service very personal. Not like the typical chain restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointed with slow service. Ordered ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Disappointed with slow service. Ordered the teppanyaki shrimp and it was cold and the fried rice was hard. Place was pricey for the type of meal and amount of food. Will not come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was soo yummy! It was a memorable meal.

Dined on June 10, 2016

We loved everything about our meal, I keep thinking about how wonderful the seafood was. The curry sauce was light but flavorful. All of the seafood was cooked perfectly. We also had a side of the macaroni and cheese, it was to die for and the soufflé was definitely worth waiting for. I can't wait to go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not very filling

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Had the mahi for lunch. It was very good but with a small salad I was hungry within a couple of hours. It also came with cookies which were very good. Just an average lunch in Harbor East. Not alot of good appetizers to choose from.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and great drinks, perfect even ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Good food and great drinks, perfect evening to eat outside watching the Harbor East crowd😊

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's will always please!!!!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Been to Roy's all over the world and the Baltimore restaurant was as good as all the others!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Food great. Service was slower than usua ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Food great. Service was slower than usual.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent Food

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was very slow, but it didn't bother us as we sat outside on a wonderful night with a light breeze. The tuna was perfectly seared. I highly recommend the short ribs appetizer. The molten lava cake was outstanding as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

Very good. Food was great.

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good. Food was great.

food4
ambience4
service4

We have been eating at Roy's for years a ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been eating at Roy's for years and this visit was as expected with very good food and service. One complaint...for $16 a glass of wine should have a decent pour and not only be 1/4 full. I swear it was around 4oz and the smallest amount I have received at any restaurant in years.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Avoid

Dined on May 21, 2016

Roy's has slipped. Not too many years ago, their food and service was superb. Now, they are neither. The food was mediocre at best, the service condescending. Our waitress was extremely uptight and should be on medication. With four dinners and no liquor, our bill was $160 before tip. There are better alternatives in the vacinity. Avoid!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Having often wanted to try Roy's, we wer ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Having often wanted to try Roy's, we were finally motivated by a coupon to come in on a rainy Friday night. The restaurant was busy and we were seated in a booth next to a wedding party. Whether it was the acoustics or the happy revelers, it was difficult for us to talk to each other. Food was beautifully presented and delicious, but expensive. Our waitress was attentive until toward the end of the evening when she disappeared for a long time. The prix fixe meal is the best value: $39 for appetizer, entree and dessert (a tart of exotic fruit which was so-so).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Long standing guest of Roy's, food needs attention

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The service staff is still outstanding & knowledgeable, but the food lacks the attentiveness for the price point they want to command. We are long standing guests of Roy's and the food has normally been of the utmost quality. However, this most recent outing shows how the food execution with newer BOH staff needs improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been here a couple of time with mixed reviews. This time it was Mother's Day, and was disappointed that they did NOT offer their full menu. Limited offerings. Who would pay $40 for pancakes? I got the prime rib, which I thought was pretty good. My wife got the crab cakes, and was disappointed with the quality. The main reason we come is that they make the best Mai Tai in Baltimore (in my wife's opinion.)

food5
ambience4
service4

Roy's is always very good to excellent. ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Roy's is always very good to excellent. Had a good dinner but service was a little slow. 4 stars normally 5 stars.

food2
ambience3
service2

It started off on a bad note. The hoste ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It started off on a bad note. The hostess was sitting us at a six top in the back room. We asked the hostess since we have 2 children that it would be nice if we could take an open booth. She said let me check and came back and said it was reserved for another party. No other party sat there except for a family that came in with children 30 min later and had the same request but was accommodated at that table. My father had to ask three time for his coffee before it finally came. One lady brought out the food for our party of six and had to come back three times before all our food was served. One of my mothers eggs in her crab benedict didn't have a yolk and they had to bring out another egg. My fathers and I prime rib came out looking like it was under a heat lamp for over an hour. My father requested his medium well and it came out medium rare and had to have it sent back. When you spend almost $300 on a mother day bunch you expect better service, food and experience which we unfortunately didn't have. I wanted to share my experience so hopefully it is corrected for your next special occasion at that Roy's.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Not what is was

Dined on May 8, 2016

This used to be my go-to for special occasions in Baltimore. The service was fine but the food quality has gone down. Our dishes were not very inspiring and tasted pretty bland. Will not be going back.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. One of my best ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious. One of my best meals ever. The service was perfect; prompt, but we never were rushed.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great. We ordered the Mahi Mah ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great. We ordered the Mahi Mahi, Blackened Ahi, Steak and Shrimp and all cooked to perfection. Our server was Aaron and he gave us excellent service. He also gave my Mom a hug and wished her a Happy Mothers Day which I thought was so sweet. All staff were very nice and provided top notch service. The only negative I have is the noise level was awful.

food2
ambience3
service3

Haven't been to this restaurant in a few ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Haven't been to this restaurant in a few years. Doubt I will be coming back anytime soon. My husband and I spent $120.00 on a meal that was average at best. We started with the calamari. It had no seasoning! The only flavor came from the dipping sauce. We returned it. Our entrees were ok, but the food was lukewarm. My husband ordered the grilled ribeye and I ordered the grilled filet (after being told that the lamb they had listed on my menu hasn't been available for months). You know how at Ruth's Cris or Flemings your steak comes out piping hot? Well, don't expect that here at Roys. To top it all off, their dessert options were undesirable. If considering this restaurant maybe try them at lunch so you won't be disappointed with the price you are paying for average food.

food1
ambience1
service1

It was honestly the worst food I've eate ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

It was honestly the worst food I've eaten in years.

food3
ambience3
service4

Food wasn't as great as it used to be. N ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Food wasn't as great as it used to be. Not sure what is happening at Roy's these the past couple of years... It's just not as good as it used to be. Our waiter tonight was excellent though. However, the hostess was so miserable and very uninviting. The edamame was old/overcooked. They were out of a house Pinot noir because it was "busy". The food was just "ok".

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a really wonderful experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff at the front when we walked in was welcoming and friendly. That started our experience on a high note which stayed high the entire time. We were happy that we got seated at a table in the rear room since it was not as noisy. The menu was eclectic and very interesting -- if only we could have had some of each item on the menu! We had noted on the reservation that it was our anniversary and we had a framed congratulations note in English and Hawaiian waiting for us. My wife and I shared the Lobster roll as an appetizer which was wonderful. My wife ordered the macadamia nut encrusted Mahi Mahi and I ordered the Asian Seabass with lobster on top. Both of these dishes were absolutely superb -- We highly recommend both of them. My wife had the Key Lime Tart and I had the Fruit Tart both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. I have to comment specifically on the Fruit Tart which was the most interesting fruit tart I ever had -- Zebra Fruit and Star Fruit made the tart interesting and special along with the delicious shortcake base. And finally, if you like strong drinks and enjoy the flavor of chocolate, order the Kono Cocoa which is topped with slivers of chocolate. The rum and chocolate liqueurs made a really fine after-dinner drink. Overall, we highly recommend the restaurant for its attentive staff and fine food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll waitress was terrific. I believe he ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I'll waitress was terrific. I believe her name was Mary Jane and she is going into social work. Please give her a raise. She went out of her way to accommodate.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for celebrating birthdays

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great menu offers a variety of things for every taste, great cocktails and wines too. Servers are energetic, friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1

Server brought the wrong order and then ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Server brought the wrong order and then we waited a long time to get the right order of blackened Salmon and it was undercooked

food2
ambience3
service3

It's not what it use to be. Very disappo ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

It's not what it use to be. Very disappointing food and the service could not be any more mediocre. The only highlight of the night was the molten lava cake. Spend your hard earned money at a fresh local restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our service and food were great! Service ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Our service and food were great! Service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Did not get bank for the buck

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

So so. At this price of the menu, I would expect a better service and a good amount of food. Had to ask for water to fill the glass and then had to wait a while to get water.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional Experience

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Exceptional Experience

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Go to another Roy's

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Usually an evening at Roy's is a fantastic experience but this location does not have their act together. Slow and unattentive service, our appetizer never arrived, overall a totally disappointing evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service, and atmosphere were a ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere were all excellent! We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A family tradition

Dined on March 24, 2016

We celebrate my husband's birthday at Roy's Harbor East every year and it is never a let down. The food is outstanding and the service is typically amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.