Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today
Special offers available. See details

Roy's Baltimore

4.4
1795 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 659-0099
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matt Ellis
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
President Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

What 1795 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

The appetizers and sake were perfect. Our steaks were not good. They were over cooked twice. The manager was very accommodating but we waited nearly an hour for the remade steaks. It ruined our overall experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Go for the fish. My friends all got fish dishes and every single one was excellent in its own way. I got giant prawns over udon, and the entire thing was soaked in sauce, unappealling, and way, way oversalted (the only veggies were mushroom and a ton of edamame peas, so the texture stayed mushy/overlysauced/wet, with no contrast at all). If I had not tried my friends' dishes, I would never eat here again.

They still get three stars because the staff was super responsive and cheerful/friendly, and the ambiance was quite nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Everything was awesome as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Celebrated my mom's birthday and it was quite the celebration because Ashley and the service team did an outstanding job providing it! We had a great time and the food was delicious. My parents rarely go out for nice dinners and they loved the Roy's experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

First time to this restaurant. The service from entry was very good. Menu was replete with a variety of healthy options. The chef delivered his special of the day to our table which we appreciated.
Back room is very quite but could use some updating on ambiance.
We will go back for sure in the near future.
Much appreciate the great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Always great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The Mahi Mahi and the Butterfish entrées were incredible... Flavorful and worth it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

excellent food great service, the best sushi place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great date night... great menu and drink options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Booked here to celebrate my wife's birthday. This was an unusually superior experience for us. Everybody went out-of-their-way to makes us feel welcome, and our server went above & beyond.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Overrated. We went on my birthday and found the food to be nice, but nothing memorable. It certainly was expensive.
We did come in to a lovely card on the table wishing me happy birthday.
I had read the menu online ahead of time and good thing I did because I wanted a sake flight, but it wasn't on the menu. They were able to provide me with a fixed one of regular/silver, cloudy coconut and cucumber. The cucumber was our favorite.
I had the Lakanilau Roll ( Wagyu Beef - Snow Crab - Tempura Asparagus - Avocado - Sesame Miso Truffled Greens). The wagyu beef had been cooked lightly with a torch. It tasted of the fuel. The asparagus was nice, the avocado sparse. I wasn't fond of whatever sauce was on it.
Sunrise at Haleakala Roll: Tuna - Yellowtail - Salmon - Avocado - Crispy Asparagus. Like a rainbow roll w/asparagus. Very good. I would order this again.
Classic Four: Hibachi Grilled Atlantic Salmon – Misoyaki “Butterfish” Blackened Island Ahi – Roasted Macadamia Nut Mahi Mahi . Small portions (a couple of bites) of each, my husband enjoyed them, but I didn't taste anything I'd order again.
I had the Canoe for Two for my entrée (Szechuan Ribs – Spicy Tuna Roll – Lobster Potstickers - Crispy Chicken Spring Rolls). The spicy tuna rolls and chicken spring rolls were ok. The ribs were sticky and tender, quite nice! The lobster potstickers were my favorite, which is unusual, because I'm not a lobster seeker (I much prefer blue crab!).
Oddly, they did not bring out a dessert with a candle for us, even though several other patrons received such treatment. I didn't make a fuss over it and took my birthday card home.
We won't be going back as I feel we can spend that much money elsewhere and get better food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 27, 2018

I took my family to Roy's for my daughter's 29th birthday. It was a long wait before our server took drink orders and they were slow to arrive. The drinks however were great, the best part of the dinner. After placing the drink orders, I wanted to order appetizers but by the time I attempted to do so our server had left the table. When he returned probably 15 minutes later, we ordered apps and placed our meal order. The apps were brought to our table in a reasonable amount of time but the entrees took forever. The apps were good but nothing special. When the entrees finally came, no one asked if we needed more drinks nor did they take our dessert order. The entrees had mixed reviews but no one liked the sides. We had fries that were nothing special and macaroni and cheese that was tasteless and extremely dry. When one of the assistants cleared our table, we tried to order dessert but were told it would take 20 minutes. We ordered dessert anyway and it did take every bit of 20 minutes. It was however very good.

Bottom line, the service was terrible, the food was average and I will not be returning to Roy's ever again. I would have ordered more drinks but no one was there to take the order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Sunday afternoon lunch was not very busy, but the food and service was very good. There was a slip up in ou order which was quickly corrected. All the food was prepared as described and our beef was cooked to exactly the correct temperature.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great food & fabulous location, but bring your wallet

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

My wife and I have been to many restaurants in Baltimore and this was one we were curious about. Most of the locally owned restaurants are great, but of the "chain" restaurants are lower in quality. Roy's unfortunately falls into the chain category.

The menu looks great and the staff is friendly, but the food doesn't measure up. The calamari was over cooked, the crab fried rice side dish had so much onion we were forced to send it back. We never send food back but this was that bad. Overall the food was okay but not to the level of the pricing.

It was okay, but in the end we will likely never return based on the price and quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Dinner was nice but really really overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Fantastic, as always! And, very accommodating and understanding when we got stuck in friday rush hour/accident traffic and were VERY late for our reservation. Service was outstanding, per usual. Many thanks for another great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Went to Roy's Harbor East on The Charm'tastic Mile for lunch after morning meeting with Baltimore Magazine. Lunch as always was amazing. I tasted some fabulous fried oysters as an appetizer. The Spicy U 6-8 shrimp were out of the world with mixed salad and perfectly cooked French fries. A 5-star lunch. Chef Matthew is always on his game. My waiter for the 3rd straight time was Craig he was friendly and professional. Roy's is indeed a nice place to have a business lunch on "The Mile".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food and service were outstanding, we would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The service was great. Good dining selection. We enjoyed the cocktails and each course was prepared well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The Caymus Wine Dinner was a great event. Chef Matthew and General Manager Ryan put together a fantastic pairing of food and wine. The 5 course dinner was highlighted by the Sea Scallop and Foie Gras. The Alaskan Black Cod with the Caymus Napa Cabernet 2015 melted in your mouth. The Wagyu Beef Short Rib with Emmolo Napa Merlot 2015 was also amazing. The entire staff contributed to a special night one that I will always remember. Thank you Roy's -Baltimore on The Charm'tastic Mile!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Pretty good food. Nice ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

I was there on Monday, took my friend to celebrate her birthday and all i can say is Wonderful!! The food was awesome and my server was great. He constantly check up on us to see how we're doing and he even brought a little chocolate deserts for my girlfriend because of her birthday. All i can say is that my friend and i are very pleased with the restaurant and the food. I will go back there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We were celebrating a birthday and anniversary this evening. The service and food were excellent. I'll definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Roy's Baltimore in Harbor East on The Charm'tastic Mile is a superb place to have a business lunch. The Wagyu Burger and Signature Roy's Private label Cabernet made for a great combo. This was second time there in a week. The staff from the hostess to the servers, bartenders & managers are friendly and professional Chef Mathew is a real pro and makes great dishes. I highly recommend Roy's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

We had a lovely dinner from seating through dessert. The Canoe for 2 appetizer consisting of sushi, pork rib, egg roll and pot stickers was delicious. For entree’s we ordered the fish trio and the fillet and lobster which all were perfectly cooked and flavorful. The chocolate soufflé was the icing on the cake. Very enjoyable meal at a good value by using our on line $25.00 coupon from Roy’s. Our server was very pleasant and delivered excellent and attentive service. Looking forward to our next outing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

I love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

I love Roy's and have never been disappointed. Choice, service and variety is outstanding. It's one of go to places in Baltimore.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Sushi apps were style over substance (too much sugar and added stuff - like mayo rather than showcasing the fish). Fried chic sandwiches and burgers good, seared ahi entree bland.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

High prices for average food and service! We had a coupon and went but the prices were still very high. Years ago we would come here often but haven't in the past several years. We were not impressed with the wait staff training and the quality of food. The pricing is very high for all of the above!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Fell in love with Roy's cuisine and dining experience repeatedly in Hawaii. Unfortunately, after multiple tries to fall back in love with Roy's closer to home, it's time to move on. After previous dining experiences my expectations from Roy's are now to dine is a beautiful atmosphere while paying obscene prices for sub-par food at best and terrible service. I recommend dining at one of the many other establishments in this area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Went to Roy's in Harbor East on The Charm'tastic Mile for a business lunch and enjoyed the Beef Short Rib Lunch Plate for $20.00 per person you can indulge in the "Brand Slam Business Plate" Entrée with Soup, Salad, Pineapple Fried Rice & Cookies. It has to be one of the best lunch deals in the city. The staff was friendly, attentive & professional. Craig was down-to-earth but very professional I will recommend him again as my waiter. Ask for tables #15 or #25 they are the best tables in the house.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Awful experience. A three course prefix meal took THREE HOURS. Food was left under heat lamps for so long my sauce had a film on it. My dessert was completely raw on the inside (no, it wasn’t the soufflé), and no one acknowledged any of the problems. Glasses of wine took forever to get, our server avoided us given the uncomfortably long wait for food, and though we told the server it was a birthday, no candle was put in the dessert.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Not sure what happened in kitchen... been waiting over an hour for our dessert. Everyone around us got theirs... I never complain about anything... waiter very nice but kitchen in chaos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great food. Great service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This is probably the 25th or so time we have eaten at a Roys, including Oahu and Maui. We have eaten at Roys Baltimore about 5 times but it has been several years. The menu was fantastic and the food presentation was beautiful. While the taste was good, it lacked the subtle greatness that it once had. It was all there but not quite what it was. Never thought we would say we were disappointed at a Roys but it was like having a great chefs recpes but not the chef. The exception seemed to be “the canoe” appetizer plate. There were three of us. There were three of us and among us we had the NY Strip with mushroom reduction and lobster Mac and cheese, the Misoyaki Butterfish and teh Classic Four. We had the Melting Soufflé for dessert. It was all very good but not quite what it was. BTW, our WaitStaff “Mo” was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Roy's has incredible food, and you pay the price for it. However, beyond the food... the service is impeccable. Not in the sense of a pretentious experience, but in authentic genuine service. Even the busboy knew the menu inside and out. I'd say this was the best service we've had in a decade. Everyone in our party of six remarked separately that our waiter was the best waiter we've ever had. The food was excellent as well. Unlike a lot of upscale steak houses where the price is simply a markup for branding and a clientele on a business Amex... this is truly pricing which translates to food quality. The duck app was a bit chewy, if you want me to prove I can be critical. But the entrees were flawless. Good job, Roy's.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The service was great, however the food was mediocre at best. I’ve been here before years ago twice & was pleased with the food but this time I ordered a shellfish plate & my lobster was over cooked & scallops were undercooked! My husband ordered a Caesar salad that had barely any dressing & his stuffed chicken was bland. The only thing I enjoyed was my lobster bisque & mango mojito.. but overall for those prices, I won’t be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

A late Valentine’s Day for us. This has been a favorite for years. We came early for the happy hour and enjoyed the Hawaiian Martini and Mai Tai. Great as were the potstickers and sushi roll. Main course was the Moroccan Swordfish which was so delicious. Many layers of flavor but not over the top. Lava cake completed it. Great job by servers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

An unforgettable evening for our son's 2nd birthday. The entire team, led by Ryan Jones, surpassed even my highest expectations for hospitality. From the delicious amuse bouche to the birthday lava cake for my son to the attentive service, the experience was incredible. Bravo Roy's.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
45