About Roy's Baltimore

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Specials

Specials

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Cozy (6)
Waterfront (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent! We really enjoyed the food. They were a bit late to seat us but comped our starters as an apology. Nice! Food fresh and delicious. Chocolate cake amazing. Only complaint was the noise level and that's prob because there was a large group next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Thank you to a wonderful dining experience for my family especially personal touch to celebrate our brother's birthday.
Special thank you to Craig who was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food and wine list and conveniently located in the circle at Harbor East. Only drawback was our unusual waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Restaurant is a bit noisy even when fairly empty. However, food is superb. Ever since Hawaii we have been looking for someplace that makes good Poke and this was a winner. We had the classic four sampler and it was all good -- but the butterfish was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice. Waitstaff was attentive and ensured that all my questions were answered. The Hawaiian Martini was delicious! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Had a friend come to DC for work and asked to have dinner short notice, and we picked Roy’s for it’s proximity to the water. Obviously it’s pricey, but I’d say it was well worth it. Our server let us know that if we ordered a filet or ribeye, it would come with a free lobster tail. I think it was just because of the time of night, and they probably would throw out old shellfish. But it was still a nice touch.

Appetizers, entrees, and wines were perfect. Definitely would go again. Try the lobster potstickers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great service and interesting appetizers which are a twist on traditional Asian items. Wine selection was also good. Bring an appetite if you are into appy/salad/entire.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Fabulous happy hour drinks and menu items. Loved the mango mojito and island time sangria!
Travelzoo deal was used and we ordered additional items. Would definitely fine here again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I chose Roy's for a recent Friday night date, looking for unique dining experience with authentic food and atmosphere. Based on the majority of the reviews I had read, it seemed like Roy's would meet those criteria. I would have to say that my experience at Roy's was right on the mark. The atmosphere is vibrant. The service was excellent, and the food was authentic and delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

I purchased a VIP voucher through Travelzoo that promised a "$120 dinner value for two for $59" Their "$120" value consisted of an appetizer (menu price $10), 2 salads ($11 each), 2 entrees ($30 value) and a dessert ($10). In my book that adds up to $102. In addition the salads at $11 each were just some greens, shaved carrots and baby tomatoes - horribly over priced to begin with - and to be frank with a pretty lousy vinagrete. There was a choice of two apps (both cheap ones), no choice on the salads, choice of 5 entrees (cheap ones - salmon, crusted whitefish, roasted chicken and one was a BURGER), two choices on the dessert but one they ran out of so we got a very dry brownie instead. In addition, the waitstaff seemed "glum" - did they expect us to be cheap or something? A huge disappointment and not a way to gain customers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Everything was fantastic as usual . Everyone in our party really enjoyed all that was ordered

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a delicious dinner and Alfred, our server, could not have been more accommodating !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The decor and ambience was very nice. Service was friendly and effectient. The cuisine featured inventive takes on a number of dishes that were delightful. All in all, an excellent restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great Food - Great Service - Great Location - What else do you want?

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Roy's never disappoints. The butterfish was exceptional. The restaurant was unusually quiet for a Friday night - albeit we had a late seating. We dined via a restaurant special whereby the entrees were half priced with the purchase of a bottle of wine - therefore the value was outstanding. Our server, Beth, was attentive and pleasant. The ambiance at Roy's was very nice, and the surrounding area is very safe and upscale. I was surprised that valet parking was $9 (it used to be complimentary). Although we both had butterfish, all the menu items appeared very appealing. I've eaten here several times and the meals have always been delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Went for date night using a Travelzoo 4-course meal deal offered for a limited time by Roy's.

Service (by our waiter, Justin) was top-notch. He was attentive, accommodating, informative, and friendly.

The food was fantastic! Each course was served in a timely fashion.

We sat inside at a table by the window, opposite a large work party. What might have been a normally quiet table wasn't very quiet because of the party. Despite that, it was an enjoyable dinner.

We opted to have dessert at their outside seating area. It's a great view of the round-about road where the cars flow, and there's plenty of people watching for entertainment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Chose this restaurant for the name as we were celebrating my son's Roy 16th birthday. It did not disappoint! The service, the location, the food...amazing! Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waiter spilled water on my girlfriend--paid for a round of drinks which was kind of him. Food is very pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Ryan, the manager, and Alfred, our waiter, were absolutely great to work with and helped make our parent's 50th wedding anniversary very special. I will definitely consider Roy's for any future special events. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was so loud that we were not able to hear each other at the table. It took over an hour to get the food and then some of our party was sick that night. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent service. Our waitress was friendly and professions. The managing partner stopped by to ensure our satisfaction. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and he gave us a free desert and after meal drinks. The food was excellent. Everything about it was a joy, including the valet parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Fun bar scene. The Maitre-D, Peter, makes sure you are enjoying the experience and is very attentive. Always a good choice!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The entree and dessert was delicious. The service was a little lackluster this time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

My girlfriends and I had a girl's night out and we had a great time. We are all moms of two little ones and we definitely picked a great place to have dinner together. We will be back because the service was wonderful and the food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I've been a fan of Roy's for well over 10 years. The food is always a 10, however the service was mediocre the last visit. The manager on duty was very attentive, and was able to make up for it lack of attention to detail from our server. Roy's is still my all time favorite. I suggest requesting the edamame, the ribs, and the Chocolate souffle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As usual, the "family" at Roys were friendly and welcoming. Staff are always trying to do their best. On this night, it seemed that the wait staff was working short, but still a wonderful experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We loved the service and attention to detail. The choices on the menu were amazing. The food was fantastic and our server was very knowledgeable. Definitely get the chocolate dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Managing Partner Ryan Jones and server Ryan were awesome! From the semi-private room, to the excellent attentive service, to the special Happy Birthday desserts, on-the-house I might add, it all made my daughter's 5th Birthday celebration special & memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The brunch was amazing! Great variety on the menu and service was great. We even got a picture of our family in a little card. Definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food, impeccable service. Reasonably priced menu. I had a great time. It's nice to be able to go out for dinner and not have to scream to hear the other person. It was a nice casual quiet atmosphere. I highly recommend

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Second time going to Roy's; first time at the Baltimore location. The location is just a tad too far from the water to be scenic, but the ambiance is great, the food was delicious, and the servers were very friendly. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

There was a family with two kids who were just unruly . There was running , screaming , and even some climbing into my booth. Never have i endured so much nonsense while spending good money to dine. We couldn't enjoy our conversation or meal. No one , not the wait staff nor management ,
Tried to quell the situation or rectify the disaster. When we expressed disdain to the staff they laughed and chalked it up to kids being kids. Really? I did it Pay to watch a talent show not to babysit someone else's child while they enjoyed their meal. One child, approximately 18 months old wandered into the actual kitchen and was brought back by cook staff.
I frequent this establishment but will have to consider Fleming's Steakhouse or somewhere else from this point forward

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Bachelorette party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I dined with two friends and we each enjoyed our appetizers and entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our first Roys experience was in Hawaii and just because their isn't palm trees in Baltimore doesn't mean it's not the same! Amazing food reminded us our honeymoon

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Extremely good food. Restaurant is in a great place for people watching if you are outside. Very good atmosphere and service. But ... a bit over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Ask for Mo! She is the best server. She made the night.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We were a party of 4 adults and 1 toddler. We were seated promptly. Our first time at Roy's and looking forward to the experience. However, the waiter was a nuisance. *I should add, the restaurant was not busy. It was a random Monday night.* It took him 20 minutes to approach our table and ask if we wanted a beverage. We should have known to leave at that point, but we were hungry. It took an additional 20 minutes for him to take our order. 40 minutes into dinner and still no food. We requested simple dishes but asked an ingredient be taken out. Waiter replied not a problem. 30 minutes later and we see all 4 dishes sitting in the kitchen waiting to be delivered. (At the time we were unsure if they were our dishes.) *I should add only 2 of the dishes were main courses, the other 2 were appetizers.* He mixed up orders, delivered dishes without taking out specific ingredients (allergies) of which were specifically requested not be in the dish at time of ordering. Only then did the manager approach our table. Deliver the correct dish and that was it. No apology for inconvenience, nothing. Overall, ambience was mediocre. Food was mediocre. Waiter was incompetent. For the price of food, I would go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service from beginning to end. Annie had the short ribs and Inhad the filet mignon . Both excellent. We had the sushi for appetizer which was fantastic. Super pricy but you know that going in. would certainly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food and service. Will visit again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.