About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Misoyaki Butterfish - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Mango Mojito - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Jalapeno margarita - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Sunrise At Haleaka Rol - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Pineapple Upside Down Cake - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Edamame Cayenne - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Maguro Sashimi - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Big Island Ahi Poke - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Hamachi Sashimi - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
French Onion Soup - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Chocolate Lava Cake With Ice Cream - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp On Grits - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Sweet Potato Cheesecake - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Apple Tarte Tartin - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Pineapple martini - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Shrimp Lumpia - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Pork Belly On Biscuit - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Grilled Lobster With Lobster Rice - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Rosemary Rack Of Lamb With Fingerling Potatoes And Green Beans - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Crab Bisque - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD
Parmasean Crusted Hake With Lump Crab Risotto - Roy's Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Private Room (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the few places you can go during ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the few places you can go during restaurant week where each course is worth it and the value, quantity and quality is adhered to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In general we were disappointed by our e ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

In general we were disappointed by our experience at Roy's. We went there to celebrate my birthday which happened to fall on a Monday during restaurant week. When we were seated there was a nice card on the table and some flower petals; naturally we thought we were in for a special night of celebrating. That is where things took a turn...

We were obviously given a food runner for our server as they were short staffed; you could clearly make the distinction as all the servers where wearing tan shirts and our server was wearing all black as were all the food runners. He was unfamiliar with menu, service and general customer service. It is important to note that the young man was very nice and friendly, but clearly unprepared to be put on the front lines.

After taking our drink orders and us placing an order for sushi we then waiting almost fifteen minutes before placing our main order. It also felt very odd that we were ordering off of a "Fall Pre Fix" menu (some of us decided not to order from the restaurant week menu) inside the menu in January; I questioned if we had the correct menus and was told they have just never updated their menu. As he was taking our food order the sushi arrived which made for an awkward exchange of menu, plates, etc.

As soon as we took the last bite someone was there to clear the plates even though the table had not finished their course. In one instance all of our sushi plates and chopsticks were cleared and there was still a piece of sushi on the table which had to be eaten with a fork over a napkin. This happened at the end of our main course as well.

The food was very good. I enjoyed the short ribs which were fork tender. The matcha shrimp were also excellent.

After the card on the table on the table there was no further mention of our birthday celebration. The card was a photo frame and a picture was never offered. We ordered dessert and again nothing....

Bottom line is we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Just needed to get out after a rainy wee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Just needed to get out after a rainy week - We are fans of Roy's Place and it was a reasonable drive into Baltimore. It was during the "Bunch" time slot, and I was glad to see a few options that didn't fall into the typical bunch fare. Only suggestion I have, is there weren't many people at the time we came and the music could have been much "softer" for my taste.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner with friends was delicious. Serv ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Dinner with friends was delicious. Service was wonderful and everyone was very nice. The steak and ribs were delicious, the two seafood dinners were good but not anything special. Disappointed in the Mac and Cheese side, sounded better than it tasted. Great wine list. We would recommend and return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ryan Jones and Amanda took amazing care ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Ryan Jones and Amanda took amazing care of us and made for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roy's was a wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Roy's was a wonderful dining experience with top notch staff. The food was outstanding, as the braised beef just melted in your mouth. Sharon the manager shared my sister's birthday experience and it made it all the more fun. Thank you Roy's.

Charlene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a wonderful time celebrating our bro ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful time celebrating our brother's 15 year Anniversary. Staff was amazing and food was excellent! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly. Service was fri ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We were seated promptly. Service was friendly and courteous. Knowledgeable about the menu. Food was delicious and appealing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My All-Time favorite spot for a romantic ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

My All-Time favorite spot for a romantic evening...Service is top notch and food is exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the best service.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Not the best service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

My family took me there for the first ti ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My family took me there for the first time. Everyone was FANTASTIC, Friendly, and accommodative. I will continue to go there, over and over again...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I used to lov Roy's and have not been th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I used to lov Roy's and have not been there in a couple years. I found the cocktails watered down and the food not as tasty or as special as I remembered. Desserts were great though. I was really disappointed and would not go back due to low value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Server was not on par with quality of re ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Server was not on par with quality of restaurant. Way overpriced for portions. I fed 6 people in manhattan last week at tommy bahama restaurant for same price as 2 tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We're a regular at Roy's but that night ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We're a regular at Roy's but that night we had a new server, peter who seemed rattled and disorganized. He needs more training, communicate with customers better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So my experience with Roys was a bit dif ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So my experience with Roys was a bit different mainly because we went on New Year's Eve. I didn't realize that there would be a prefixed menu, so our choices were very limited. We chose from maybe 3-4 appetizer choices, 3 choices of a soup or salad, and maybe about 6 entrees that included fish, chicken, steak, shrimp. My husband is allergic to seafood, so when I looked at the menu prior to booking, the regular menu gave more options. So it was a little disappointing to be so limited. The food was pretty good, but not fulfilling as the portions were small.

Overall I had a nice time. I would prob try Roys on a regular night with a full menu.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Bar, seated right on time. New Years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fun Bar, seated right on time. New Years Eve, crowded yet service was still great. Yellow fin tuna and Wagu steak was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are fans of Roy's. Have been to his r ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We are fans of Roy's. Have been to his restaurants in Hawaii, Las Vegas. Excited to try this one, since we happened to be in the area.

Very attractive place. Wait staff was attentive. My Salmon was overlooked and dry! This has never happened😂😂 chicken egg rolls were yummy. Salad was tasty. My DH enjoyed his short ribs pineapple upside down cake was delicious he said.

Learned from our waiter this restaurant is under new management. Roy has sold most of his restaurants. maybe this will hit the news.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Has been my favorite restaurant for seve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Has been my favorite restaurant for several years, but was off this visit when we took 9 people there to celebrate a milestone birthday for one of the guests.

No edamame, lighting was down much lower than normal (maybe it was nap time?) almost to the point of not being able to see the menu. Special occasion but their digital camera was broken.

With a party of 9 we had many different things from the menu, including a canoe for nine to sample the unique offerings. Everyone liked their meal, when my prior personal experience has been that people usually RAVE over their meals.

Food was good - but seemed to lack the right out of the kitchen hot despite it being a slow night.

This has been a fantastic restaurant, and I do hope that the experience just happened to be a one time lackluster event. We did have several people that had never been there before, and I don't think they will be racing back there for their next meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Roy's always provide top notch service a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Roy's always provide top notch service and high quality food. The staff are prompt and professional. Great choice near Baltimore Inner Harbor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of a few places open for Holidays Wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

One of a few places open for Holidays

Would have wanted more lunch options

and some turkey options too

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall an enjoyable evening with good f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall an enjoyable evening with good food like we have come to expect at Roy's. One criticism is that you evidently now have to ask for the Edamame to be brought to the table. Seriously? That's kind of what Roy's is known for! This needs to go back to the way it was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

18th birthday celebration. Roys provided ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

18th birthday celebration. Roys provided a nice card for our son. Initially they seated our 4some next to an extremely noisy bunch of cackling hens. We asked to move. We could still hear the commotion on the other side of the room. Wagyu NY strip was excellent, sushi very good, Rib Eye tasted like saw dust, Roys trio was lousy, shrimp teppanyaki was good. Very very expensive for sub par food in an extremely noisy room. Delia our server was wonderful. Probably will not go back as it is not a good value. I'll stick with Capital Grill, Ruth's Chris , or Prime Rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Roy's has always been a favorite. The sh ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Roy's has always been a favorite. The short ribs never disappoint!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Lobster over cooked, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent service.

Lobster over cooked, second time. Do not order.

Sushi and other meals were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food, great service - excell ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Enjoyed the food, great service - excellent location for a small team.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been a big fan of Roys but last t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I have been a big fan of Roys but last two visits (Las Vegas and Baltimore) have been just okay. Given the price unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Roy's is an upscale, fine dining spot wi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Roy's is an upscale, fine dining spot with great food and excellent service. The bar scene was full and boisterous as we passed it going to the adjacent dining room. Half the dining room was filled, and loud conversation and laughter carried overwhelmingly over the section barriers making conversation a bit difficult. Service was outstanding, professional, courteous and not intrusive. Our dinner selections were great, even though from 4-course special deal menu. Otherwise it would be pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

ROYS HAS NOT BEEN THE SAME SINCE WHEN IT ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

ROYS HAS NOT BEEN THE SAME SINCE WHEN IT FIRST OPENED. THE FOOD WAS ONCE SPECTACULAR BUT FOR THE PAST FEW EYARS, HAS NEVER REBOUNDED. I DONT KNOW IF THEY CHANGE CHEFS OR SOME OTHER INCONSISTENT VALUE BUT ROYS WILL NEVER BE THE SAME IT ONCE OTHER. I GO ONLY BECAUSE MY SPOUSE ENJOYS ONE PARTICULAR PLATE AND DESSERT.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent meal, great service, well wort ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent meal, great service, well worth the visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We responded to a promotion. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We responded to a promotion. The food was good. Service was good. Way overpriced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had bought a value deal on line for $ ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had bought a value deal on line for $59.99 for 2 at Roys, but the deal was not specific that you could only order from a very selected menu. My husband and I are not particularly limited to what we like, but the choices were few. The food was very tasty with a variety of flavors. The portions were on the smaller side, but we still had plenty to eat. I would have preferred at least 2 choices for salad and dessert, but again we were satisfied with the only option available. Our waitress was attentive and efficient. Overall Roys was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The pineapple upside down cake was a lit ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pineapple upside down cake was a little dry, but otherwise a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I like Roys.. excellent service and deli ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I like Roys.. excellent service and delicious food. A bit expensive though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening with excellen ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with excellent food and great friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All great food, just the sorbet tasted l ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

All great food, just the sorbet tasted like water-ice, they should eliminate that.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for the Thanksgiving prix fixe m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for the Thanksgiving prix fixe meal. Very good. Teriyaki turkey breast, moist, tender and tasty. The sides were semi-tradotional and well-prepared.

Roy's is dependably good. The wine list is a little pricey, but the house wines are decent and not outragrous. The service is always good, and valet parking makes it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was just average. I was expect ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was just average. I was expecting a bit more, since they are in the heart of the East Harbor. I shrimp dish my husband had was salty. I'm glad we did the 2 for $59.00 from Travel Zoo, so I wasn't too upset over the price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the food here. I wish the lunch men ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Love the food here. I wish the lunch menu would include more items even from the bar menu. Please update the carpet, replace burnt out lightbulb and spruce the place up a bit. I love the food here but the location is starting to look dated/shabby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is consistently good at Roy's. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food is consistently good at Roy's. Great seafood options. Amazing chocolate soufflé dessert and Hawaiian martinis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a lunch in celebration of a mil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was a lunch in celebration of a milestone birthday. We had not been there for several years and, while we enjoyed ourselves, it did not meet our expectations based on prior experience. My own food and that of some other guests was quite good. Others reported that it was mediocre. Also, the service couldn't have been more pleasant but it was quite slow and they were not able to provide a proper utensil for one of the deserts. Odd to say the least. Still and all, I would give it another try perhaps not for brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.