About Roy's Baltimore

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hours:
Early: Daily: 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Late: Monday - Thursday: 9:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday: 9:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Good for Birthdays (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Romantic (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Casual (14)
Fun (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Authentic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
People Watching (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Waterfront (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Scenic View (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service from beginning to end. Annie had the short ribs and Inhad the filet mignon . Both excellent. We had the sushi for appetizer which was fantastic. Super pricy but you know that going in. would certainly go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service. Will visit again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Waited 10 minutes before server asked for our drink order. Brought our check before we were halfway through our meals, glad we didn't want desert. It used to have great service, I probably won't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Had a great time before the Ravens game ...the sevice was outsatanding during the continuation of Baltimore Restaurant week

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Deliciously perfect in every way! Service (Amanda) was superb!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall - I was disappointed. This was a dual birthday celebration for my wife and her friend - and the service was slow - not the server as such- but well over 30 minutes for the appertizers, the main course was equally slow, and the meals "OK". Cathy returned her steak since it was certainly more raw than medium - and no one at our table - said "hey that was great". We have enjoyed Roy's many times in the past - no so much this past Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ate here for the second time in one day. After being away from the area for four years, we finally came back and spending the weekend right next to the resturant. We can't get enough of great food, chocolate souffle, and exceptional service by Justin (our AWESOME server and management team here). Thank you Roy's Team for the memorable night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always pleasant to dine here. Justin, our server is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and service. Beautifully served dishes. We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

There is no really better restaurant in Harbor East. The food is fresh and excellently prepared. The taste of the preparations are always above and beyond the expected. The hostesses, serving staff, and managers are friendly, kind and well versed in showing true customer service. Dining at Roy's is far superior to many other restaurants in Harbor East. In comparison, for instance, to the Charleston, Roy's ranks without doubt superior. Baltimore is most fortunate to have a place like this.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We liked the ambiance and the open air look. Depending where you sit ... there is a view of the fountain. You can see into the food preparation area and watch them make your meal. We had a nice bottle of pinot noir and immensely enjoyed the food. We had the braised short ribs (beef), roasted macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi, sautéed mushrooms, steamed asparagus, and the truffled bacon mac n cheese. Needless to say we did not have room for dessert. Worth it but be prepared to open the wallet if your drinking wine.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing food....very consistent..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Enjoyed a few of the bar bites during Aloha Hour (from 3 to 7)! The house chardonnay was good. The Szechuan Spiced Pork Ribs were excellent and also enjoyed the Lump Crab Fried Rice. The only item I wouldn't order again was the lobster potstickers, tasted like all pork and no lobster. Enjoyable food and good service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Wonderful experience. My 1st visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was amazing! Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were supposed to get flowers on the table and free desert, but nobody even mansion it... We expected something special, but didn't want to ask for that... Food was good, but I don't think you have to offer something if you are not even planning to do that...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The menu lacked imagination. The sushi was clunky, not delicate or easy to eat. The pu-pu platter was tasty but not special given the reputation of the chef or its price tag.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always an excellent experience eating at my wife's favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and the restaurant week menu is a great way to introduce someone to the restaurant. I would recommend especially if you want to try something that isn't the usual American or Italian places.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was very good and menu choices would accommodate many tastes. Services was ok, but could have been more attentive given the price point of the restaurant. Prices went way up since we were there last (perhaps a year or two ago). Portions were adequate, but not "take home" plentiful. Enjoyed our evening at Roy's, but will not rush back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Delicious food. Nothing disappoints from appetizers to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Roy's has trouble competing with the other high end steakhouses in the area. The service, cocktails, and food quality are all just slightly inferior. It's still good, but you might as well go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I specifically mentioned I wanted a romantic table in my reservation. They seated us in a back unattractive dining room next to a table with kids. Not my idea of romance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was pricey but delicious. We tried many dishes and weren't disappointed by any. Our server, whose name eludes me, was wonderful! Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

a budding new concept restaurant - Hawaiian Fusion. Not cheap but i consider it a treat as i live in NOVA and have Sunday only Orioles season Tix - so I treat myself after a game. Cost for a meal (meat plus side) and alcoholic drink or dessert plus tax and tip is $60-$70 per person, but you can easily fins a $20 off cert to lessen the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Dinner of four was great. Outstanding cuisine and excellent service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2017

A home run, every time.
A little expensive, but worth it.
Great food and great service.
They have a three fish entree that for an additional $5, becomes a four fish dish.
Pretty good sushi.
Mowie wowy salad is great to split.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The waiter was exceptional. We were working from out of town and were told to check the place out. We were really looking forward to some items on the dinner menu. The waiter checked with the head chef and they accommodated everything we wanted and with a pleasant smile. The food was fresh, unique, and delicious. I highy suggest it and look forward to an opportunity to dine here for dinner.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Amazing lunch!
Great service & food!
Ryan, Thank you for your hospitality! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The entrees were awesome, but the lobster pot sticker app and salads were just sad. Hoping it was an one-off night for one of my favorite spots in the city, but considering the staff seemed unconcerned about the untouched food, perhaps Roy's is sounding it's own death knell.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food and service we're both outstanding. I look forward to visiting Baltimore knowing that I can eat at Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have a wonderful time every time I come to Roy's. The service was beyond amazing and the food was absolutely delicious. The lobster potstickers are my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was terrific - very creative. I thought the restaurant was a little loud, making conversation difficult at times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This restaurant was VERY loud, we could hardly hear our waitress. We were dining on a Groupon with a fixed menu not very exciting, salmon was average, my husband and daughter enjoyed their pork chop, my son got the burger which also was very average. I will say the sushi was pretty good. We were never offered any drinks other than water. Our waitress was very sweet, but didn't heather name it was so loud. We were also there from 7:30-10pm just eating. Very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Server was nice, food was good, unfortunately the wait time for the food was ridiculous. We sat down at 6:00pm and waited almost an hour for the one appetizer we ordered (sushi roll). They did credit us the app. After the app taking so long, you figured the food would come out quickly. The food arrived at 7:30pm. In addition, we had a 4 year old and a 10 month old and the long wait made the whole experience unenjoyable. The manager delivered the app and the food and really had nothing to say. I'm hoping this was a one off experience, because I've enjoyed my visits to Roy's in the past. I understand things happen, but the manager offered no explanation, which I thought was weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The management seems to always check and make sure everything is as expected! My service, each time I go, is quick, fabulous and cheerful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Alfred was very attentive and the dinner was delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Another great meal at Roy's. Just stopped in for a quick bite. It didn't disappoint.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Terrible service and a misleading menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This is a great place to celebrate birthdays, they offer a complimentary dessert with a candle and message on the plate, just special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.