About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll
Misoyaki Butterfish
Mango Mojito
Jalapeno margarita
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé
Sunrise At Haleaka Rol
Pineapple Upside Down Cake
Edamame Cayenne
Maguro Sashimi
Big Island Ahi Poke
Hamachi Sashimi
French Onion Soup
Chocolate Lava Cake With Ice Cream
Shrimp On Grits
Sweet Potato Cheesecake
Apple Tarte Tartin
Pineapple martini
Shrimp Lumpia
Pork Belly On Biscuit
Grilled Lobster With Lobster Rice
Rosemary Rack Of Lamb With Fingerling Potatoes And Green Beans
Crab Bisque
Parmasean Crusted Hake With Lump Crab Risotto

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Thanksgiving Day to celebrate with your friends and family. We will be open from 11am-8pm with a very special traditional 3-course Thanksgiving menu for $39.95 per Guest. A selection of Roy's Classic dishes will also be available.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

Special Occasion (46)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Romantic (23)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi was out of t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

The macadamia nut Mahi Mahi was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pricey menu, but it is so delicious ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very pricey menu, but it is so delicious that it is worth it. Good for dates and special occasions.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service could be better. Food is wonder ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Service could be better. Food is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food as usual, just initial signs ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food as usual, just initial signs of complacency. Edamami only on request, server spread too thin, medium delivered as rare for both meals. But still worth a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. The restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. The restaurant had a musty smell inside which my husband thought it was because of being dirty. We didn't notice anything other than the smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went on Sunday for brunch. The dining ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went on Sunday for brunch. The dining room itself only had 4 tables filled, but they also had a large party in the separate room, so service was extremely slow (almost an hour to get food). We actually argued over whether we should just leave. Our server felt bad about this and gave us gift cards. At the same time, she also kept telling us the food was on the way when it clearly was not on the way. If they are understaffed, they should probably close the OpenTable reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was outstanding. Outdoor seatin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Service was outstanding. Outdoor seating was lovely on a beautiful evening. Food was very good. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We've been to Roy's on numerous occasion ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We've been to Roy's on numerous occasions. We've always enjoyed the atmosphere and food.

Our last visit was the second time we had a 45-60 min wait past our reservation time. This was frustrating given we'd made a reservation and we're celebrating a birthday.

Roy's did compensate our wait with a few free appetizers and picked up our bar bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love their eclectic menu. Excellent cus ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love their eclectic menu. Excellent customer service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Never can't go wrong with their cuisine, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Never can't go wrong with their cuisine, food and the service were outstanding. I love their Misoyaki Butterfish, highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's always a favorite spot for special ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Roy's always a favorite spot for special occasions !

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great. The food was pretty ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was great. The food was pretty good but the braised beef was a very small portion. I'm a small eater and it still seemed a bit like an appetizer. My wife had the salmon and she said it was good but not near her top five or anything. Decor was ho-hum. All-in-all, it was a decent, but less than inspiring meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was extremely slow. We waited w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Service was extremely slow. We waited way too long at every stage of the meal. Server did not heed our multiple requests to check on us more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The noise level was horrible. It was so ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The noise level was horrible. It was so loud that it gave me a headache. This is my favorite place to eat in Baltimore but this night it was off.. The other main concern was the kitchen was extremely slow. Almost an hour for entrees to arrive. I did complain to the manager and she said she would talk to the kitchen staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This restaurant is usually very good. G ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This restaurant is usually very good.

Good bar menu.

We mainly dine here after pre-purchasing special specials.

$$$ 1/2 price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as it was a few years ago. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Not as good as it was a few years ago. The canoe appetizer was disappointing. The kitchen was slammed so it was too long between appetizer and entree. Food was good but very pricey. Wait staff was very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful as always!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Roy's!! I nearly always get the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We love Roy's!! I nearly always get the butterfish and it is never a disappointment. On this visit the buttery whipped potatoes caught my eye---don't ever call potatoes 'fabulous' but there is no other word to describe them. Our waiter, Josh, was friendly, helpful and professional. We do not live near Roy's but when in town, we will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to many Roy's and this one ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to many Roy's and this one many times but Sat night it was awful! Rib appetizer came as dinner so we were charged full dinner, rice side dish was gummy. Too many good dining choices in Baltimore to ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We celebrated at our 25th anniversary at ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated at our 25th anniversary at Roy's of Baltimore,. It seemed appropriate since we were married in Hawaii. Let my start by saying that overall it was a good experience, and our server Kayla, did a wonderful job. Loved her. . We received a warm greeting of "Happy Anniversary" from the staff. We sat in the bar after checking in. The Hawaiian Martini was fabulous ( I had 2 that evening). Our table had a small placard with a very nice anniversary message from Roy's(see photo). My husband got the 3 course special with the pork chop, which he enjoyed very much. I got the lobster trio and substituted extra shrimp in place of the crab cake, because I don't eat imported pasteurized crab meat from Singapore (I'm a native Marylander!) My dinner came and the undercooked lobster tail was limp and slid off the shell when I cut the first bite. Yuk. The shrimp was perfect however, and the Mac and cheese outstanding! I returned the lobster tail and they brought me another, this time over cooked and dry. Disappointed but hungry I ate it. They were nice enough to comp my dessert, chocolate soufflé which was amazing. My only other issue was that they seated us at a booth next to the busy kitchen and servers alley and I saw several two top tables in the quieter area of the adjoining dining room. So that was avery disappointing. When I made my reservation the week prior I did tell them it was our anniversary, and so I expected a better table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

So appreciative of the varied and delici ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

So appreciative of the varied and delicious vegan menu. It is what brings us back to Roy's anytime we are in Baltimore. Service was top-notch as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 2nd time we have been to Roy ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have been to Roy's and gotten poor service. We were told they no longer bring out Edamame unless requested because they got brown and would be hot when we requested them. We did request them and they came out cold and overcooked. Very disappointed in the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and overall experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food, service and overall experience was top shelf. Highly recommend. Great time we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch with family. Menu seemed ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch with family. Menu seemed limited. The restaurant was not busy so they had 1 server running to each table. Server wasn't bad but he had trouble staying prompt. Food took about 50 min until served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious food, fabulous service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food, fabulous service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had lunch at Roys. Please note that on t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had lunch at Roys. Please note that on the weekend they have a limited lunch menu, which we didn't know about beforehand. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and we had a table by the window which overlooks a neighborhood circle. Nice for people watching.

The server was knowledgeable and offered good suggestions. My spouse had the salmon and I got the sushi, both were very good. The bill was somewhat high for lunch but we both had 2 cocktails, which amounted to about 1/3 of the bill. If you want a high end lunch on a budget, you could skip the drinks and do well at Roys.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Roy's is a chain, so start there.... The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Roy's is a chain, so start there.... The food is very good, but the portions leave a lot to be desired. The cost is up there as well. Make sure to bring your "fat" wallet. All and all, I like Roy's, but it is definitely for special occasions only (at least for me).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

decided to try roys one more time for re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

decided to try roys one more time for restaurant week. food was marginal. service good. not the restaurant it once was

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I found the food quality and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I found the food quality and the service to be excellent at Roy's. The drinks were tasty as well. When we mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary, our server came back with a digital camera and asked if she could take our picture, and we said yes. When we were served dessert, she presented us with a print of the photo she took in a frame with fresh flowers. That was a nice touch! We were also given our dessert for free - another really nice gesture.

Overall, we had a great experience, until we saw the bill. Four drinks, two appetizers, and two entrees, when tax and tip were included, came to over $222.00!!! We were shocked that everything added up to such a high amount. Although the quality of the food and service were very good, we did not leave feeling that enything had blown us away, and for that price, we feel like it should have. I would recommend Roy's for their happy hour, when you can sample the food and drinks for much more reasonable prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

I have been in Love with this place sinc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been in Love with this place since I first stepped foot in it, back in 2012! My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner there, and have been coming back ever since. I actually go every year for my birthday. It is our favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The menu changes regularly, but maintains some excellent staples (the braised beef short ribs, yum!). The Hawaiian Martinis are excellent! I could go on and on, but I love Roy's and would recommend it for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I WAS THERE FOR THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I WAS THERE FOR THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA AND RESTAURANT WEEK

THE FOOD AND SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING ESPECIALLY THE FEISY MARTINI WHICH MADE ME AND MY FRIEND COME BACK THE NEXT EVENING FOR DINNER AND DRINKS AGAIN CRAIG WAS A GREAT WAITER AND PLEASANTWE HAD HIM ON BOTH EVENINGS

THANK YOU,

PATRICK D

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I got together for dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My friends and I got together for dinner during Baltimore Restaurant Week and decided to go to Roy's. The spare ribs were excellent. I truly enjoyed it. The server, Michael, was enjoyable and friendly. I'd go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I look for this restaurant every year fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I look for this restaurant every year for Restaurant Week. The butterfish melts in your mouth and the lime tart was amazing. Service was a little slow, but it was a busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good cannot say outstanding ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was good cannot say outstanding. I had one of the signature cocktails, Hawaiian Martini. It was very good. I didn't recognize much on the wine list. It was my first time there. The biggest issue I had was that the décor was very dated.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was abysmal and the food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was abysmal and the food was very poor. Much different experience than the one we had with our kids a few months prior.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The menu selection is unbeatable at Roy' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu selection is unbeatable at Roy's. The food quality is great as well. The service is slow. By the end of our dinner, we just wanted to go home and go to bed. When the service is faster, they will be great all around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Too loud to hear the other people at the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Too loud to hear the other people at the table talk. Scallops under-cooked and fish overcooked. Not the standard I have come to expect from Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was exquisite. A bit on the pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was exquisite. A bit on the pricey side but this is a dining experience, not just a meal. The ahi tuna was among the best that I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Awesome apps

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food. Awesome apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always outstanding. Our B ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service is always outstanding. Our Butterfish and steak were perfectly cooked and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.