About Roy's Baltimore

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Delight in Easter brunch at Roy's. We will be open early at 9AM offering a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom with an irresistible brunch at Roy's! All locations will be open early and feature a 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat dad to a brunch he'll love! Roy's will be open early on Father's Day with a very special 2-course brunch menu, starting at just $36.

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Romantic (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Waterfront (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Good food and good service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Ribs were amazing and so was the Mahi Mahi!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food but not nearly enough staff to handle clientele.
We had a nice table in the main section of the restaurant but there was only ONE server per 10-12 tables including one very large table. We arrived early but guests that arrived later were waiting 15-20 minutes for their orders or food. It was embarrassing to watch.
Big fail by management not too have nearly enough staff to provide adequate service levels in a busy Thursday evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What a great meal! Food was great. Server was fun and made us laugh.
Not a quick dinner but it was nice to sit back and enjoy the group we went with. It was pretty expensive so I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a cheap date.
Splurge a little and have some fun! Yum!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Thank you for making my 30th Wedding Anniversary even more special! We had a fabulous time and highly recommend Roys!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service as always. It is one of our favorites

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Enjoyed Roy's Baltimore for a business dinner while attending a conference. Was pleasantly surprised by the service, ambiance and, of course, the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

There are a numer of good restaurants in Harbor East. Roy's is not one of them.We spent over $100 for a dinner for two and walked away hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Roy's didn't seem to pay much attention to the OpenTable reservation, and we weren't seated until about 8pm on a 7:15 reservation. Next time, we'll contact the restaurant directly, to hopefully be seated near the time reserved. Sorry OT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation time which is good enough for me on a busy Saturday night. Service was excellent and food was awesome. I'd go back anytime. The lobster potstickers were my favorite of the 3 apps we tried. The shellfish sampler is easily shareable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have been going to Roy's for years and Saturday was the first time that we have been disappointed.

The service was slow and somewhat inattentive and the portions noticeably smaller.

I understand the management has changed.

I hope this is not a trend but we noticed that most the their staff had turned over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I thought the service was good, not great. The server was quite attentive, and kept interrupting out conversations without waiting for us to acknowledge her which I considered rude.
The food was quite good.
We like the Roys on the islands much better. Better ambience, more relaxed service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and they were so sweet to have a card and flowers as well a delicious dessert to end the meal! It was a fantastic meal and service was spot on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had the fish trio which was amazing. The tuna was perfectly cooked (rare) as was the salmon. We've eating at Roy's a number of times and the food is consistently awesome.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I was very disappointed in my visit to Roy's. The restaurant was very loud and noisy. The food is extremely over priced. Our waitress was terrible. We had to get up from our table and ask the hostess for a fork. In addition, I had to asked three times for an additional glass of ice tea. It seemed like after we placed the order for our entrée, our waitress disappeared until it was time to pay the bill. The ladies room was disgusting. Toilets did not work, paper towels laying all over the floor. This is my first and last visit to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous food; great atmosphere and service. Plenty to choose from on the menu, with excellent variety.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall ~ Disappointed - The food was good.. Sushi was great, I had the Rockfish and thought it was OK my husband liked it more than I. Noise level was horrible, we went with friends and could barely hear one another to have a conversation. Service was not the greatest, at one point the server apologized for not being attentive said she had a big party. Then when the check came -- WOWZER -- $330 for 4 people and only 5 drinks. I would not mind paying this if the food and overall experience had been outstanding. Nothing spectacular here for a lot of $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I'd read some good reviews and wanted to try a new place that had both steak and seafood, so I settled on Roy's. It's in a very busy area, which might be a turn off for some, but we often dine downtown and the valet service was convenient and fairly quick. We often skip eating out for Valentine's Day because of the crowds, but we didn't face a long wait and it was kind of sweet to see all of the other couples having a day out together. The Valentine's menu was great, with lots of good options. I was actually surprised at the price - I feel like the amount and quality of the food we got made this almost a bargain, as far as fine dining restaurants go. He got the lobster potstickers, I got the spicy tuna roll, we both got lobster bisque and ribeye, he got the lime dessert and I got the red velvet cake, all delicious. The place was busy and crowded, as expected, but the service was on point, with friendly, helpful and quick staff. Unfortunately, I broke a tealight on my way out, and the woman who came to pick up the pieces was so sweet, it helped me feel slightly less embarrassed haha. We were given a $20 gift card for our next visit, and we will DEFINITELY be back. My husband and I were both pleased, and while I think it's probably not the most "romantic" of places, I think it's good for either a date night or a meal with a group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was solid, service was the worst service I have received at a restaurant in a very long time. We waited 45 minutes for our appetizers, waitress forgot to bring the wine with the food, and forgot that we had ordered dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Go to Roy's when in Baltimore for a good and peaceful meal. This time was a little disappointing. Ordered entrée only to be told 10 minutes later it had sold out. Two couples were very intoxicated and very, very loud at a nearby table; management did nothing about it. Will give them another try; will be going to Roy's at Waikiki in the spring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An amazing time, great food and service. Server was very helpful and attentive. Will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Though my guest and I were late beyond our reservation time, we were greeted and treated very well. My time at Roys is always pleasurable! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was not happy that my wife's lobster Bisque soup was served Luke warm instead of hot like it should have been. Then after her meal she had a cup of coffee served cold and waiter took forever to come back and check on us. Not what I expect from Roys

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner for my wife and cost $200.
2 entrees
2 deserts
1 iced tea

Food was pretty good but not that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful as usual!! Food is out of this world. Be sure to have the "Butterfish". Service is attentive without being intrusive. Very special evening.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I have eaten at Roy's restaurants in Hawaii, Arizona, and Baltimore. Dining exoerience is always unique with excellent food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

You can't go wrong with what you can order here, but we had the pork ribs & chicken spring rolls for starters. For dinner, I had the braised short ribs and my fiance had the rockfish. Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had a fabulous experience this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As usual, Roy's did not disappoint. The food and surrounding were exquisite, and the service was expedient, though I got the impression that , given how quiet the night was (a 7:45 seating on a Thursday night) our server, while polite, cordial, professional and very knowledgeable, seemed miffed by the fact that we did not order a bottle of wine and a fancy dessert. All taken in all, the experience was a positive one. Kudos to the chef de cuisine AND chefs de partie - an outstanding job was given by all. I am also happy to report that the 3 locations I have visited - Las Vegas, Desert Ridge (Arizona) and Baltimore - have demonstrated themselves to be consistently exemplary. I cannot think of another "chain" of restaurants that can make the same claim (I have dined at a few...).

Tags: Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous. The best meal I've had in years. The service was stellar. Peter made us feel special even though the restaurant was very busy. I recommend highly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful time! Drinks and food were delicious!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were at Roy's for a Friday evening dinner, and, as usual the food was wonderful. I did find the service to be a little less attentive as usual. But overall a very nice experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Not as good as it used to be. Disappointed. Used to be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was outstanding, wait staff was also great after a minor problem at beginning. We picked from the value menu, portions were small but very good.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was very crowded, noisey and waiter was very stressed by what he was dealing with. He really wanted everyone to quickly order as he was being so over worked. It was so noisey it was almost impossible to hear from across the table. Even though the food remains good, it's quite expensive and portion sizes are small. After many years of going to Roy's, the value of eating here is being trumped by the cost. It's becoming that it's not a good value for what you get and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We came here for restaurant week in Baltimore and loved the portions and the taste of each of the courses!

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Flavors are always phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was great and the food was OK, but it was so loud in the dining room. When you have to practically scream across the booth so they can hear you, not good. Also took the valet about 20 minutes to get our vehicle after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had not dined at Roy's for a few years. We had an exceptional time, the food, service, and drinks were all fantastic. We didn't get the restaurant week special, however it looked great. Pur party of four enjoyed our meals. Apps, salads, rolls, and entrees all ordered.
Wait staff very attentive and friendly , along with the manager .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.