About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll
Mango Mojito
Jalapeno margarita
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé
Sunrise At Haleaka Rol
Pineapple Upside Down Cake
Edamame Cayenne
Big Island Ahi Poke
Maguro Sashimi
Hamachi Sashimi
French Onion Soup
Shrimp On Grits
Apple Tarte Tartin
Chocolate Lava Cake With Ice Cream
Sweet Potato Cheesecake
Pineapple martini
Shrimp Lumpia
Parmasean Crusted Hake With Lump Crab Risotto
Grilled Lobster With Lobster Rice
Crab Bisque
Rosemary Rack Of Lamb With Fingerling Potatoes And Green Beans
Pork Belly On Biscuit

Promotions

Promotions

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (40)
good for groups (30)
See All
romantic (21)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (10)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (5)
notable wine list (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friends and I got together for dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

My friends and I got together for dinner during Baltimore Restaurant Week and decided to go to Roy's. The spare ribs were excellent. I truly enjoyed it. The server, Michael, was enjoyable and friendly. I'd go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good cannot say outstanding ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was good cannot say outstanding. I had one of the signature cocktails, Hawaiian Martini. It was very good. I didn't recognize much on the wine list. It was my first time there. The biggest issue I had was that the décor was very dated.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was abysmal and the food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was abysmal and the food was very poor. Much different experience than the one we had with our kids a few months prior.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The menu selection is unbeatable at Roy' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu selection is unbeatable at Roy's. The food quality is great as well. The service is slow. By the end of our dinner, we just wanted to go home and go to bed. When the service is faster, they will be great all around.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Too loud to hear the other people at the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Too loud to hear the other people at the table talk. Scallops under-cooked and fish overcooked. Not the standard I have come to expect from Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was exquisite. A bit on the pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was exquisite. A bit on the pricey side but this is a dining experience, not just a meal. The ahi tuna was among the best that I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Awesome apps

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food. Awesome apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always outstanding. Our B ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service is always outstanding. Our Butterfish and steak were perfectly cooked and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's did a fantastic job. Food and Ser ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Roy's did a fantastic job. Food and Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the noise level was quite high ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Although the noise level was quite high and had to talk loud with my guests to hear and be heard, the restaurant itself is AWESOME

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've always had a good experience at Ro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've always had a good experience at Roy's every time we've visited. The service was lacking this time from our main waiter. The service from the other waitstaff (water, those who brought out the food, etc.) was great. After getting our drinks, the waiter didn't come back for quite a while. There was a concert that night, so I think they got busy all at once because of that (we arrived just before the big crowd came). We will definitely go back, but weren't that happy with the service this time around.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Sorry very disappointed with Roys. They ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sorry very disappointed with Roys. They did not know how to make a cosmopolitan. The sea bass was overpriced. You can get sea bass anywhere and it's a lot cheaper. Very loud. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

We were very disappointed at our last vi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were very disappointed at our last visit to Roy's, and from what I observed at surrounding tables that night and have read in other reviews, our experience wasn't an isolated incident. It took about 50 minutes to receive our appetizers - 3 pieces of sashimi and 2 pieces of beef nigiri. Our entrees were not served until 90 minutes after we were seated. The prices have gone up and the service and portions are no longer up to par. Our server was attentive and apologetic. There were very few staff in the kitchen considering the number of people in the restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Roy's came recommended to me by a person ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Roy's came recommended to me by a personal friend who had been there years ago and enjoyed the "Fusion" cuisine. For my family, Roy's cuisine disappointed us a bit -- we would not characterize the food as outstanding. It seemed quite overpriced to us. For high-end dining -- the "Rusty Scupper" which we visited a few months before and had been panned to me by friends as a "tourist trap" -- for us delivered comparatively speaking a much higher quality experience in the form of culinary experience and food presentation. I do not anticipate going back to Roy's.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is in an unbelievable location in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is in an unbelievable location in Harbor East, offering some of the best food I've had in awhile. The portion sizes are a little small, but just about right. The Short Ribs, Scallops, and the lobster dumplings were all fantastic. Couldn't decide what I wanted in the menu cause everything looked so go ahold. Service was also primo, and the only knocks were it's a little pricy and the wine pours were about 3 to maybe 3.5 sips. Will definitely be going back, as the food is the part that matters most and Roy's really crushes it in that aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been a fan of Roys for years. S ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been a fan of Roys for years. Sometimes we would enjoy their fine dining for special occasions. Many times, we would just go there and sit at the bar, for their fantastic hamburgers,.

Recently, the restaurant greatly increased their prices at the bar. The hamburger increased from a very friendly $9.95 to $14.95. All of the other bar area lite fare items also increased, greatly.

We will still go to Roys, but we will be restricting our visits to only special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

I was stunned at how exquisite the meal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was stunned at how exquisite the meal was. We regularly eat at top restaurants and were very, very pleased with our entire meal. The sushi was particularly and exceedingly outstanding as was the fish trio and beef rib. We definitely plan to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Roy's often. It used to take 3 ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We eat at Roy's often. It used to take 30-40 minutes for the kitchen to deliver food, now it takes 50-70 minutes, regardless of the time or day of the week. The quality of food has moved from very good to just good, which no longer makes Roy's a good cost to quality value. The service has changed from very good on most occasions to hit or miss, with a few servers acting more like rookies training at a diner than a higher quality restaurant. I really hope management turns this place around, we really have enjoyed eating here over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent meal! Everything was perfect.. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent meal! Everything was perfect... Drinks, food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to this Roy's for yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been going to this Roy's for years, and it has always been a pleasant experience. The food is never bad, but can range from average to good to excellent, depending on what you order. Our biggest complaint with the direction this restaurant is going is the prices. This is certainly a nice restaurant, but not true fine dining. Nonetheless, on our last visit we paid over $400 with tip for a party of 3 adults and 2 kids. Most of the entrees were over $40, including a very small portion of Chilean sea bass and an uninteresting ribeye that you might expect to find at a chain family restaurant. Had the bill been in the $200s I likely would not be writing this review, but for the prices they charge I expect something extraordinary, not a Polynesian Applebees.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Food is always great.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Individual service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service very personal. Not like the typical chain restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed with slow service. Ordered ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Disappointed with slow service. Ordered the teppanyaki shrimp and it was cold and the fried rice was hard. Place was pricey for the type of meal and amount of food. Will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food was soo yummy! It was a memorable meal.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We loved everything about our meal, I keep thinking about how wonderful the seafood was. The curry sauce was light but flavorful. All of the seafood was cooked perfectly.

We also had a side of the macaroni and cheese, it was to die for and the soufflé was definitely worth waiting for. I can't wait to go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not very filling

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had the mahi for lunch. It was very good but with a small salad I was hungry within a couple of hours. It also came with cookies which were very good. Just an average lunch in Harbor East. Not alot of good appetizers to choose from.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food and great drinks, perfect even ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Good food and great drinks, perfect evening to eat outside watching the Harbor East crowd😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roy's will always please!!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Been to Roy's all over the world and the Baltimore restaurant was as good as all the others!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great. Service was slower than usua ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food great. Service was slower than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent Food

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was outstanding. The service was very slow, but it didn't bother us as we sat outside on a wonderful night with a light breeze. The tuna was perfectly seared. I highly recommend the short ribs appetizer. The molten lava cake was outstanding as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Very good. Food was great.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very good. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been eating at Roy's for years a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been eating at Roy's for years and this visit was as expected with very good food and service. One complaint...for $16 a glass of wine should have a decent pour and not only be 1/4 full. I swear it was around 4oz and the smallest amount I have received at any restaurant in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Avoid

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Roy's has slipped. Not too many years ago, their food and service was superb. Now, they are neither. The food was mediocre at best, the service condescending. Our waitress was extremely uptight and should be on medication. With four dinners and no liquor, our bill was $160 before tip. There are better alternatives in the vacinity. Avoid!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Having often wanted to try Roy's, we wer ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Having often wanted to try Roy's, we were finally motivated by a coupon to come in on a rainy Friday night. The restaurant was busy and we were seated in a booth next to a wedding party. Whether it was the acoustics or the happy revelers, it was difficult for us to talk to each other. Food was beautifully presented and delicious, but expensive. Our waitress was attentive until toward the end of the evening when she disappeared for a long time. The prix fixe meal is the best value: $39 for appetizer, entree and dessert (a tart of exotic fruit which was so-so).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Long standing guest of Roy's, food needs attention

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service staff is still outstanding & knowledgeable, but the food lacks the attentiveness for the price point they want to command. We are long standing guests of Roy's and the food has normally been of the utmost quality. However, this most recent outing shows how the food execution with newer BOH staff needs improvement.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

overpriced

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been here a couple of time with mixed reviews. This time it was Mother's Day, and was disappointed that they did NOT offer their full menu. Limited offerings. Who would pay $40 for pancakes? I got the prime rib, which I thought was pretty good. My wife got the crab cakes, and was disappointed with the quality. The main reason we come is that they make the best Mai Tai in Baltimore (in my wife's opinion.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Roy's is always very good to excellent. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Roy's is always very good to excellent. Had a good dinner but service was a little slow. 4 stars normally 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It started off on a bad note. The hoste ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It started off on a bad note. The hostess was sitting us at a six top in the back room. We asked the hostess since we have 2 children that it would be nice if we could take an open booth. She said let me check and came back and said it was reserved for another party. No other party sat there except for a family that came in with children 30 min later and had the same request but was accommodated at that table. My father had to ask three time for his coffee before it finally came. One lady brought out the food for our party of six and had to come back three times before all our food was served. One of my mothers eggs in her crab benedict didn't have a yolk and they had to bring out another egg. My fathers and I prime rib came out looking like it was under a heat lamp for over an hour. My father requested his medium well and it came out medium rare and had to have it sent back. When you spend almost $300 on a mother day bunch you expect better service, food and experience which we unfortunately didn't have. I wanted to share my experience so hopefully it is corrected for your next special occasion at that Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Not what is was

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This used to be my go-to for special occasions in Baltimore. The service was fine but the food quality has gone down. Our dishes were not very inspiring and tasted pretty bland. Will not be going back.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was delicious. One of my best ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious. One of my best meals ever. The service was perfect; prompt, but we never were rushed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. We ordered the Mahi Mah ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was great. We ordered the Mahi Mahi, Blackened Ahi, Steak and Shrimp and all cooked to perfection. Our server was Aaron and he gave us excellent service. He also gave my Mom a hug and wished her a Happy Mothers Day which I thought was so sweet. All staff were very nice and provided top notch service. The only negative I have is the noise level was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.