About Roy's Baltimore

720 B Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
View Larger Map

Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.

We invite you join us at Roy's Baltimore located in the heart of Harbor East amid great shopping, theaters and hotels. Enjoy our exciting exhibition kitchen and Chef’s Counter, spacious dining rooms and two beautiful private rooms for your special event.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Sushi, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily at 11AM

Aloha Hour 4-7PM
Dinner 5PM - Close

Cross Street:
President Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 659-0099

Website:
http://www.roysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $8 per car with validation. Special parking at Legg Mason garage & Exeter Street garage for $5 with validation.

Public Transit:
MTA bus stop a half block away. Charm City Circulator stops across the street. We also offer our own complimentary shuttle to & from all city centers & hotels

Executive Chef:
Matt Ellis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Wedding Receptions, Rehearsal Dinners, Bridal Showers, Bachelorette/Bachelor Parties, Special Occasion Reservation Treatment, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar, Cooking Classes and Wine Dinners.

Restaurant Photos

Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Roy's Baltimore
Auntie Lei's Aloha Roll
Misoyaki Butterfish
Mango Mojito
Jalapeno margarita
Flourless Chocolate Soufflé
Sunrise At Haleaka Rol
Pineapple Upside Down Cake
Edamame Cayenne
Maguro Sashimi
Big Island Ahi Poke
Hamachi Sashimi
French Onion Soup
Chocolate Lava Cake With Ice Cream
Shrimp On Grits
Sweet Potato Cheesecake
Apple Tarte Tartin
Pineapple martini
Shrimp Lumpia
Pork Belly On Biscuit
Grilled Lobster With Lobster Rice
Rosemary Rack Of Lamb With Fingerling Potatoes And Green Beans
Crab Bisque
Parmasean Crusted Hake With Lump Crab Risotto

Private Dining

Known for our Pacific Rim Cuisine, our vast array of unique, seasonal menus are sure to please even the most discerning guests. Roy's contemporary Asian furnishings and original Hawaiian artwork provides the perfect backdrop for your next lunch or dinner event. Full buyout also available.

Roy's Baltimore Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Seafood
Baltimore
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Harbor East ›

Special Occasion (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Groups (31)
See All
Romantic (22)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful as always!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Roy's!! I nearly always get the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love Roy's!! I nearly always get the butterfish and it is never a disappointment. On this visit the buttery whipped potatoes caught my eye---don't ever call potatoes 'fabulous' but there is no other word to describe them. Our waiter, Josh, was friendly, helpful and professional. We do not live near Roy's but when in town, we will definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to many Roy's and this one ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to many Roy's and this one many times but Sat night it was awful! Rib appetizer came as dinner so we were charged full dinner, rice side dish was gummy. Too many good dining choices in Baltimore to ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We celebrated at our 25th anniversary at ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We celebrated at our 25th anniversary at Roy's of Baltimore,. It seemed appropriate since we were married in Hawaii. Let my start by saying that overall it was a good experience, and our server Kayla, did a wonderful job. Loved her. . We received a warm greeting of "Happy Anniversary" from the staff. We sat in the bar after checking in. The Hawaiian Martini was fabulous ( I had 2 that evening). Our table had a small placard with a very nice anniversary message from Roy's(see photo). My husband got the 3 course special with the pork chop, which he enjoyed very much. I got the lobster trio and substituted extra shrimp in place of the crab cake, because I don't eat imported pasteurized crab meat from Singapore (I'm a native Marylander!) My dinner came and the undercooked lobster tail was limp and slid off the shell when I cut the first bite. Yuk. The shrimp was perfect however, and the Mac and cheese outstanding! I returned the lobster tail and they brought me another, this time over cooked and dry. Disappointed but hungry I ate it. They were nice enough to comp my dessert, chocolate soufflé which was amazing. My only other issue was that they seated us at a booth next to the busy kitchen and servers alley and I saw several two top tables in the quieter area of the adjoining dining room. So that was avery disappointing. When I made my reservation the week prior I did tell them it was our anniversary, and so I expected a better table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

So appreciative of the varied and delici ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

So appreciative of the varied and delicious vegan menu. It is what brings us back to Roy's anytime we are in Baltimore. Service was top-notch as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 2nd time we have been to Roy ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have been to Roy's and gotten poor service. We were told they no longer bring out Edamame unless requested because they got brown and would be hot when we requested them. We did request them and they came out cold and overcooked. Very disappointed in the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food, service and overall experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food, service and overall experience was top shelf. Highly recommend. Great time we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch with family. Menu seemed ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went for brunch with family. Menu seemed limited. The restaurant was not busy so they had 1 server running to each table. Server wasn't bad but he had trouble staying prompt. Food took about 50 min until served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious food, fabulous service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food, fabulous service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had lunch at Roys. Please note that on t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had lunch at Roys. Please note that on the weekend they have a limited lunch menu, which we didn't know about beforehand. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and we had a table by the window which overlooks a neighborhood circle. Nice for people watching.

The server was knowledgeable and offered good suggestions. My spouse had the salmon and I got the sushi, both were very good. The bill was somewhat high for lunch but we both had 2 cocktails, which amounted to about 1/3 of the bill. If you want a high end lunch on a budget, you could skip the drinks and do well at Roys.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Roy's is a chain, so start there.... The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Roy's is a chain, so start there.... The food is very good, but the portions leave a lot to be desired. The cost is up there as well. Make sure to bring your "fat" wallet. All and all, I like Roy's, but it is definitely for special occasions only (at least for me).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

decided to try roys one more time for re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

decided to try roys one more time for restaurant week. food was marginal. service good. not the restaurant it once was

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I found the food quality and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I found the food quality and the service to be excellent at Roy's. The drinks were tasty as well. When we mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary, our server came back with a digital camera and asked if she could take our picture, and we said yes. When we were served dessert, she presented us with a print of the photo she took in a frame with fresh flowers. That was a nice touch! We were also given our dessert for free - another really nice gesture.

Overall, we had a great experience, until we saw the bill. Four drinks, two appetizers, and two entrees, when tax and tip were included, came to over $222.00!!! We were shocked that everything added up to such a high amount. Although the quality of the food and service were very good, we did not leave feeling that enything had blown us away, and for that price, we feel like it should have. I would recommend Roy's for their happy hour, when you can sample the food and drinks for much more reasonable prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

I have been in Love with this place sinc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been in Love with this place since I first stepped foot in it, back in 2012! My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner there, and have been coming back ever since. I actually go every year for my birthday. It is our favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The menu changes regularly, but maintains some excellent staples (the braised beef short ribs, yum!). The Hawaiian Martinis are excellent! I could go on and on, but I love Roy's and would recommend it for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I WAS THERE FOR THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I WAS THERE FOR THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA AND RESTAURANT WEEK

THE FOOD AND SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING ESPECIALLY THE FEISY MARTINI WHICH MADE ME AND MY FRIEND COME BACK THE NEXT EVENING FOR DINNER AND DRINKS AGAIN CRAIG WAS A GREAT WAITER AND PLEASANTWE HAD HIM ON BOTH EVENINGS

THANK YOU,

PATRICK D

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I got together for dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My friends and I got together for dinner during Baltimore Restaurant Week and decided to go to Roy's. The spare ribs were excellent. I truly enjoyed it. The server, Michael, was enjoyable and friendly. I'd go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I look for this restaurant every year fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I look for this restaurant every year for Restaurant Week. The butterfish melts in your mouth and the lime tart was amazing. Service was a little slow, but it was a busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good cannot say outstanding ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was good cannot say outstanding. I had one of the signature cocktails, Hawaiian Martini. It was very good. I didn't recognize much on the wine list. It was my first time there. The biggest issue I had was that the décor was very dated.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was abysmal and the food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was abysmal and the food was very poor. Much different experience than the one we had with our kids a few months prior.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The menu selection is unbeatable at Roy' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu selection is unbeatable at Roy's. The food quality is great as well. The service is slow. By the end of our dinner, we just wanted to go home and go to bed. When the service is faster, they will be great all around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Too loud to hear the other people at the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Too loud to hear the other people at the table talk. Scallops under-cooked and fish overcooked. Not the standard I have come to expect from Roy's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was exquisite. A bit on the pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was exquisite. A bit on the pricey side but this is a dining experience, not just a meal. The ahi tuna was among the best that I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Awesome apps

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food. Awesome apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always outstanding. Our B ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service is always outstanding. Our Butterfish and steak were perfectly cooked and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roy's did a fantastic job. Food and Ser ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Roy's did a fantastic job. Food and Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and fast lunch. Manager Ashley i ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great and fast lunch.

Manager Ashley is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Although the noise level was quite high ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Although the noise level was quite high and had to talk loud with my guests to hear and be heard, the restaurant itself is AWESOME

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've always had a good experience at Ro ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've always had a good experience at Roy's every time we've visited. The service was lacking this time from our main waiter. The service from the other waitstaff (water, those who brought out the food, etc.) was great. After getting our drinks, the waiter didn't come back for quite a while. There was a concert that night, so I think they got busy all at once because of that (we arrived just before the big crowd came). We will definitely go back, but weren't that happy with the service this time around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Sorry very disappointed with Roys. They ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sorry very disappointed with Roys. They did not know how to make a cosmopolitan. The sea bass was overpriced. You can get sea bass anywhere and it's a lot cheaper. Very loud. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

We were very disappointed at our last vi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were very disappointed at our last visit to Roy's, and from what I observed at surrounding tables that night and have read in other reviews, our experience wasn't an isolated incident. It took about 50 minutes to receive our appetizers - 3 pieces of sashimi and 2 pieces of beef nigiri. Our entrees were not served until 90 minutes after we were seated. The prices have gone up and the service and portions are no longer up to par. Our server was attentive and apologetic. There were very few staff in the kitchen considering the number of people in the restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Roy's came recommended to me by a person ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Roy's came recommended to me by a personal friend who had been there years ago and enjoyed the "Fusion" cuisine. For my family, Roy's cuisine disappointed us a bit -- we would not characterize the food as outstanding. It seemed quite overpriced to us. For high-end dining -- the "Rusty Scupper" which we visited a few months before and had been panned to me by friends as a "tourist trap" -- for us delivered comparatively speaking a much higher quality experience in the form of culinary experience and food presentation. I do not anticipate going back to Roy's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Roy's is in an unbelievable location in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Roy's is in an unbelievable location in Harbor East, offering some of the best food I've had in awhile. The portion sizes are a little small, but just about right. The Short Ribs, Scallops, and the lobster dumplings were all fantastic. Couldn't decide what I wanted in the menu cause everything looked so go ahold. Service was also primo, and the only knocks were it's a little pricy and the wine pours were about 3 to maybe 3.5 sips. Will definitely be going back, as the food is the part that matters most and Roy's really crushes it in that aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been a fan of Roys for years. S ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been a fan of Roys for years. Sometimes we would enjoy their fine dining for special occasions. Many times, we would just go there and sit at the bar, for their fantastic hamburgers,.

Recently, the restaurant greatly increased their prices at the bar. The hamburger increased from a very friendly $9.95 to $14.95. All of the other bar area lite fare items also increased, greatly.

We will still go to Roys, but we will be restricting our visits to only special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

I was stunned at how exquisite the meal ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I was stunned at how exquisite the meal was. We regularly eat at top restaurants and were very, very pleased with our entire meal. The sushi was particularly and exceedingly outstanding as was the fish trio and beef rib. We definitely plan to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Roy's often. It used to take 3 ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We eat at Roy's often. It used to take 30-40 minutes for the kitchen to deliver food, now it takes 50-70 minutes, regardless of the time or day of the week. The quality of food has moved from very good to just good, which no longer makes Roy's a good cost to quality value. The service has changed from very good on most occasions to hit or miss, with a few servers acting more like rookies training at a diner than a higher quality restaurant. I really hope management turns this place around, we really have enjoyed eating here over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent meal! Everything was perfect.. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent meal! Everything was perfect... Drinks, food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to this Roy's for yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been going to this Roy's for years, and it has always been a pleasant experience. The food is never bad, but can range from average to good to excellent, depending on what you order. Our biggest complaint with the direction this restaurant is going is the prices. This is certainly a nice restaurant, but not true fine dining. Nonetheless, on our last visit we paid over $400 with tip for a party of 3 adults and 2 kids. Most of the entrees were over $40, including a very small portion of Chilean sea bass and an uninteresting ribeye that you might expect to find at a chain family restaurant. Had the bill been in the $200s I likely would not be writing this review, but for the prices they charge I expect something extraordinary, not a Polynesian Applebees.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Food is always great.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Individual service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and service very personal. Not like the typical chain restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed with slow service. Ordered ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Disappointed with slow service. Ordered the teppanyaki shrimp and it was cold and the fried rice was hard. Place was pricey for the type of meal and amount of food. Will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.