About Royal India

3901 Capital Blvd
Suite 103
Raleigh, NC 27604
View Larger Map

Located off Capital Blvd in Raleigh, Royal India Restaurant offers the highest quality Indian cuisine in North Carolina. Offering palatial Maharaja décor and pampered service, Royal India features exquisite North Indian food. Some of the menu items include seafood; chicken, lamb and goat dishes, a variety of vegetarian dishes; Hyderabadi biryanis and chaats. Royal India also offers Tandoori specialties and the finest Indian breads.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Indian, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Old Buffalo Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 981-0849

Website:
http://www.royalindiannc.com/

Entertainment:
Karaoke, Belly Dance, Sports on Big Screen.

Catering:
We can cater food for private parties or business meetings. We have capacity to cater food for 50 to 2,000 people. We can cater to North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and Georgia. We are fully insured for restaurant and catering requirements.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking is available in the spacious Tarry More Shopping Square.

Public Transit:
We are on the route for Raleigh Public Transportation.

Executive Chef:
Baba

Private Party Facilities:
We have partitioned dining area with seating capacity for 50 people. This includes projector with a screen and state-of-the-art sound system for private parties or meetings. We also offer Wi-Fi facility.

Private Party Contact:
Ram Tirath: 9197490707

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Royal India
Royal India

Royal India Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5

service

5

ambience

5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
See All
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
20 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Indian Restaurant in Raleigh

Dined on April 22, 2016

Went there for diner and was very pleased with the restaurant. Great customer service, inside is very quiet. Waitresses are very respectful and the food is AWESOME. I will go again and recommend who never went to consider this restaurant while in Raleigh.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3

Service slow but it was crowded. Ambianc ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Service slow but it was crowded. Ambiance in need of updating. Food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Royal India

Dined on February 13, 2016

My friend and I visited Royal India as part of our girls night out and we enjoyed ourselves! I called about an hour before my reservation time and the person that I spoke with assured me that we were fine to just come on in. Our service was great and the food was amazing we had a couple of appetizers and the royal feast so that we got the chance to try a few different menu items. I will definitely be going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food
ambience
service1

Service was awful. I could understand i ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Service was awful. I could understand if the place was busy and service was tight. However, it was empty. The waitress came over, gave us menus then sat down utilizing her mobile phone. We tried to get her attention, but neither she or the owner noticed. No water was bought to the table after waiting a while. We continued to wait and watched the owner have a lengthy conversation with the only other customers there - completely ignoring us. When we got up to leave then he came over. Really sad to have an establishment with awful attention to customer service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

Dined on December 23, 2015

The food here was exceptional. It just might be the best in Raleigh!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

The restaurant is beautiful so we looked forward to our meal. Everyone was unfriendly and the waitress would slam the used dishes into a container which made us jump each time she did it. The host ignored us and spent his time on the cell phone. The chef is the only one that seemed to care that we had a good experience.

food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it

Dined on December 12, 2015

Loved this place! We had a group of 9 and were very pleased with this restaurant. The waitstaff was courteous and professional, and the food was amazing!I would definitely recommend this place on the food alone. They even brought us complementary dessert! The only quibble I have is that the service was a bit slow. The restaurant was not crowded at all but there still was a noticeable wait for our entrees. It wasn't bad though, and I'll chalk that up to our group being large. It didn't tarnish our experience at all. Will definitely recommend to friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Horrible people

Dined on October 20, 2015

The manager or hired help was so nosy and unprofessional and kept harassing me and wife about how great the restaurant is and didn't allow us to have our own private time. The manager kept staring at my wife through out the time we were there. We felt very uncomfortable and do not recommend this place.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing Indian Cuisine in Raleigh!

Dined on September 11, 2015

We loved our reservation at Royal India. The menu was impressive and the food did not disappoint. Would recommend trying several of their naan (we loved the garlic and butter one) options. You can let them know the level of spice you're comfortable with, so their dishes are safe even for those worried about spiciness. Highly recommend folks give this place a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Good Indian Food

vip
Dined on August 27, 2015

Nice food.Decor is ok.Overall service is ok.Good for families.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Indian food with great service.

Dined on August 15, 2015

This was our first visit and we both had excellent meals. I had Shrimp Jalfrezi which is shrimp with vegetables. My wife had Shrimp Masala which she raved about. The shrimp were very large and tasty, I would estimate they were in the 15-20/lb. range. The naan was excellent. The portions were about the right size for both of us. The décor was appropriate for an Indian restaurant and the staff were friendly and efficient. While the location is in an older strip mall, that is true of most of Raleigh's restaurants- e.g. the Saint Jacques, one of Raleigh's best restaurants, is in an equally old strip mall. The only negative is that the prices are slightly high for Indian food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent Indian food

Dined on February 1, 2015

This was our first visit to Royal India. The food was very tasty and authentic. I recommended giving this restaurant a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Food, even for those new to the Indian Food

vip
Dined on December 13, 2014

We are frequent diners at Royal India. We took a couple of friends to dinner, who are new to Indian food. And they loved it. You can't go wrong, everything on their menu is great. You can even have them make it mild, medium or hot.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Indian

vip
Dined on November 6, 2014

This restaurant is a quaint and delicious place to eat. The owner is very attentive. Don't let the exterior fool you. It is located in a semi deserted strip mall, but the food is fantastic. The best Indian food we've found in Raleigh.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious

Dined on September 21, 2014

My only want would a spiciness level with the buffet food. That would make it so much easier with newbies and children.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service1

great authentic food

Dined on June 15, 2014

Great food, ambiance but poor service. Only 1 server during busy time (Father's Day)

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed dinner

Dined on February 15, 2014

The service was really good. Service was not prompt in the beginning making us wait for a longer time than usual. Rest of the dining experience was great. Staff were friendly and the food was delicious! Paneer Tikka, Mutter Mushroom - must try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great, and the

Dined on February 2, 2014

The food was great, and the chef's willingness to try new things -- like his take on Buffalo wings -- makes it even better!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Indian food we have had

vip
Dined on October 5, 2013

Best Indian food we have had in RTP since moving down from Boston. we are now fans!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

BEST INDIAN FOOD EVER. PERIOD

Dined on September 7, 2013

My wife really likes Indian food and it was her birthday, so we gave Royal India a try, and boy!!, what a treat we were in for!. The waiter suggested the Royal feast for two, so we get a sense of the Indian cuisine. Best decision ever!, the food was cooked to perfection, seasoned just right. All the dishes we tried were mouth watering!...the feast even included desserts (amazing), rice, naan (best I've tried so far) and a chai tea at the end...what a great night! Our waiter (who I believe is the owner as well) was very friendly and helpful. Word of advice, don't judge a book by its cover...on the outside it looks a little rough, and inside the decor is a little dated to our taste, but the food makes up for it big time!!! Highly recommend!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.