About Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa

224 Westglow Circle
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Come and join us for dinner at Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa a Relais & Chateaux property. Experience world-class culinary fare in our historic mansion, where the elegance of fine-dining can be rediscovered amid gracious hospitality and the comfort of home. Mountain views and romantic fireside dining create a magical setting where you can enjoy the flavors of new American cuisine prepared with a flare of Southern sensibility. Rowland’s features an indulgent menu with an array of eclectic dishes including fresh seafood, prime steaks and savory game meats. There is also a delicious gourmet spa menu for the health conscious. On the wine list, you will find bottles from all over the world, including rare wines and some little-known gems from North Carolina vineyards. Find out why Katherine Stefan of Charlotte Taste Magazine writes “no trip to Blowing Rock is complete for foodies” without a meal at Rowland’s.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 221 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 295-5141

Website:
http://www.westglowresortandspa.com/15/rowlands-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Enjoy lovely piano music played on our Steinway M baby grand piano. Offered Friday and Saturday nights from 6:00 until 9:00 (June through October, and special events).

Parking Details:
Handicapped parking available

Public Transit:
Private Transportation can be provided by Airhaven Limo.
Contact Dana at 828.963.0963

Executive Chef:
Tony Bates

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holidays, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Engagements, and Business Functions.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, Westglow Resort & Spa is a top-rated luxury destination spa where personal service is an honored tradition. Our elegant Greek Revival mansion is a perfect place to find renewal of the mind, body and spirit.

Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
5 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (32)
Scenic View (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pricey but worth it. Took another couple ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pricey but worth it. Took another couple with my wife and I. Comment from the other couple, almost in unison, 1 of top 5 meals ever. High praise from folks that travel the world. I can't disagree. Outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5 stars start to finish. Amazing food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

5 stars start to finish. Amazing food - absolute MUST see/dining experience for anyone visiting the High Country. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous view. Fabulous service. Quiet l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous view. Fabulous service. Quiet lovely setting.

Food by and large very overpriced and mediocre. Although one of us had a delicious mushroom soup and nice tomato salad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Beautiful Experience. The food was delic ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful Experience. The food was delicious and and well presented. The service was very hospitable. I would highly recommend enjoying a glass of wine on the front porch and a walk around the grounds. Unforgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the great restaurants in the U.S. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the great restaurants in the U.S. Food is absolutely fantastic. Worth every penny!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally pampered. Great wine list. Nice ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Totally pampered. Great wine list. Nice variety of delicious entrees. Great for special occasions but equally fine for a lovely dinner. Loads of ambiance. Prices commensurate with quality. Absolutely worth a go!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rowland's have captured the essence of e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Rowland's have captured the essence of elegant dining. The appointments in the dining room are lovely and pleasing, the food is really good with a lot of imagination, and the service is impeccable. We always feel very pampered when we are there and enjoy it very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a very special dining experience. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Truly a very special dining experience. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

From the time they greet you at the door ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

From the time they greet you at the door, take you to a perfectly set table and your server introduces himself, every detail is perfect. Then they present a fabulous menu with several selections to chose from, start by taking your drink order and then when you make your selection, it is prepared to perfection. Also, Gary will "pair" the wines with your food for you

making it a perfect dining experience. You eat with your eyes first, so what is placed before you is spectacular, and you will enjoy every bite....and the desserts are equally satisfying...

I cannot think of a more pleasant and satisfying dining experience than at ROWLAND'S

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service, carefully crafted co ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Impeccable service, carefully crafted cocktails, thoughtful menu. Amazing view from the front porch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had chosen this lovely restaurant fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had chosen this lovely restaurant for our anniversary dinner. We were seated between the bar and the kitchen which was high traffic and noisy. The side porch with open tables would have been ideal seating for this advance reservation. Wait staff was pleasant but not well informed about wine list. We felt rushed to order although the restaurant was not busy. Food presentation was beautiful and portions were adequate....though we did not swoon over flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful dining experience at a wonderf ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful dining experience at a wonderful venue. Spectacular. Took the entire family (3 children ages 8-15) and everyone had a blast. Would love to go back with just my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the elegant and relaxed feeling ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved the elegant and relaxed feeling of this restaurant. The menu is superb....everything has great appeal! The fois gras was incredible, and main course Tazmanian Salmon was perfectly prepared! We felt unhurried and relaxed with the service. Can't wait to go back to this beautiful spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent service amy was very helpful a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

excellent service amy was very helpful as was the manager. the tour of the facility for our first time guests was great as well. we love this place. food outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at Row ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We always have a great experience at Rowlands - it is consistently good, perfect ambiance and first rate service - fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was great overall ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The dining experience was great overall as was the food, but the service was a bit slow.

No views which was disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was easily one of the best dining e ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was easily one of the best dining experiences I have every had. As we drove up to the restaurant, we were completely amazed by the beautiful property and building, which is a grand old mansion. The waitress seated us in the dining room which had only 6 tables, and she told us to take our time because the table was ours for the evening. We ordered a bottle of wine, which was well presented. The salad and entrées that followed were delicious and perfectly prepared. After dinner, we elected to have dessert on the patio and watch the sunset. Our waitress, Savanah, was absolutely outstanding. I was pleasantly surprised when I got the bill, as a bottle of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrées and 2 desserts cost well under $200. This is a memorable dining experience that I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fine dining

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Rowland's ranks as the best special occasion restaurant in the high country because of the ambience. The food matches up with the best restaurants in the area as well as the salads are excellent and the sea bass entree is outstanding. Nicely done, enjoyable, and not ridiculously expensive when compared to Best Cellar, Gamekeeper, and the like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was a realy great find in Boone NC. We had great service an the food was amazing. The server was very helpful. I didn't know many of the foods and our patience server taught me every thing I needed to make the rite choices. The desert was so good I wish I had ordered it first.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience . Viewing ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A wonderful dining experience . Viewing the sunset from the porches and lawn area was spectacular . The dining experience was superb . Wonderful service and food.... a great wine selection and a helpful and friendly staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Randomly found Rowland's online when loo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Randomly found Rowland's online when looking for a place for a graduation dinner. Had an amazing experience. Wait staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing from the garden salads, to the entrees (I had the lamb), to the delicious dessert. Even their sweet tea was amazing. Would recommend to anyone looking for a dining experience that goes above and beyond.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great options on the menu with innovativ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great options on the menu with innovative preparations. Outstanding wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegance personified Staff is first cl ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Elegance personified

Staff is first class. Loved the announcement of the "glow" gathering to watch the sunset. Food was incredible and we met the sous Chef who was handling the kitchen. The house is magnificent and let's you step back to elegance in dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible. Everything was over ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was incredible. Everything was over the top excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special place

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredible view, superb food and service. Very pricey not for everyday dining. We had Mother's Day Brunch and everything was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best of the West(ern North Carolina)

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The setting was breathtaking. The facility, the view, the service and the ambiance were all wonderful. For a romantic, intimate get-a-way with someone special, Rowland's at Westglow is a perfect choice. The menu selections were both excellent and adventurous. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of the evening at Rowland's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If it wasn't for desert....

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This was one of the best meals we have enjoyed at Rowlands. Amuse bouche (mini lamb burger), appetizers (mushroom soup and pork belly) and main courses (freshly made taghliatelle and seabass) were all very good and nicely presented.

Then came desert...A tart cherry clafoutis, which consisted of burnt cherries and a inedible thick crust of caramalized sugar. It didn't even look like a clafoutis. The other desert was local cheeses. NC has some great local cheeses, goat and cows milk etc. However, these were a few flavored pieces of cheddar or Gouda style (?) and a piece of French (!) camembert without rind. That's like blue cheese without the blue veins. Needless to say, quite disappointing. Next time we'll stick to ice cream or sorbet. Staff was friendly as always.

Of note, after many years, the restaurant starts to look a little tired and a renovation or freshening up seems overdue. Cutting the bushes (around the sunroom ) would be a good idea. They block the phenomenal view to the gorge. However, it remains a romantic place and good spot for a special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Elegance on the mountain top

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Highly recommended for that special occasion. One hundred year old manner house on a mountain top between two valleys. Outstanding views particularly at sunset, hence the name "Westglow". Foodies delight. Elegantly prepared meals beautifully presented. Service is professional and helpful. Personable Sommelier to assist with wine and drink selection. Come early to enjoy the view and ask for a tour of the main floor. Valet service provided.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter brunch at Rowlands. Yum!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter brunch at Rowlands. The food was delicious and ingenious. I had duck confit huevos rancheros and my wife had a lobster monte cristo. The service was very good, prompt attention to our needs without interrupting the conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered drink @ 12:00 East. Sun brunch.R ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Ordered drink @ 12:00 East. Sun brunch.Reminded waiter 2x & bartender 1x. Drink never served.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Incredible Service

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

To say the service was incredible is an understatement. When I confirmed our 7 pm reservation for two, I mentioned we might be a few minutes late - "Not a problem" was the casual response. We were a bit late because the lovely mountain setting was socked in heavy fog that night. We decided to splurge and use valet parking because we weren't sure we could find the parking lot in the fog. We were told "No need to move your car. You are our only guests tonight, so it can stay where it is."

THEY STAYED OPEN JUST FOR OUR RESERVATION!

Every aspect of the service was extreme. A welcoming card for my wife's birthday, a special taste of something from the kitchen, courses cleared away quickly but without any sense that there was a rush.

Bottom line: Best restaurant experience in many, many a year!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good representative of Relais & Chateau dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Rolands (and WestGlow) are the only Relais & Chateau establishments in western North Carolina. The closest R&C "cousin" is Fearrington House, near the triangle.

We had an excellent meal, with very fine food (nicest piece of bison I've every had) and some nice service flairs (four plates set down practically simultaneously). Look for Il Borro wine by the glass or by the bottle. It comes from another R&C property and is special, tasty, and not available at your local grocery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bravissimi

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

After years of hearing about the exquisite experience of dining at Rowland's, we too enjoyed a superb meal. Our entrees were not simply excellent; they were works of art. Outstanding food and wine, extraordinary service, and the elegant ambiance of Westglow contributed to our memorable anniversary celebration. Can't wait to return . . . Grazie mille.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful setting in the hills near Blowing Rock

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I went to the 2:00 PM sitting for the Thanksgiving buffet. The building, grounds and view are wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and the service was super. The food was omly good. Perhaps I am being too critical since it was all traditional Thanksgiving fare. We just expected more. The wine list is very good and reasonably priced. We will try it another time to see if the food is what we expected.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Rowlands: A Rare Treat

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

This is the place for that special dinner: to celebrate a birthday, drink to an anniversary or just enjoy your loved one's company. More like dining in a stately home from years past, diners are spread out among a number of rooms. We had the "library" area; cozy, romantic and lively. Food was quite good. Service was exceptional. All the right touches one should expect when enjoying that special occasion out: a floor stand to hold your handbag so it will not touch the floor, finishing salts on the table, well-versed servers and extra touches from the kitchen: an amuse bouche from the chef to begin your evening and homemade truffles to sweeten its ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Simply elegant

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

Dining at Rowland's at Westglow is always a pleasure! The intimate library bar area is a great place to unwind while waiting for your dinner partners. The wine list is carefully selected, well thought out and contains some real gems. The food is outstanding, presentation excellent and service is professional. Small touches include an assortment of salts with explanation of the differences, always fresh flowers on the table, fine china and elegant place settings. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful views

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Rowland's is a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting. The food was nothing special however. I had the duck which was the special for the evening. It was cooked perfectly but was bland. My partner had a beef entre and it was fine but again not exceptional. The dessert was the high light of the evening. It was a chocolate dish that I would highly recommend. we chose a brut to drink and it was delicious also. This was a fairly expensive meal so it was a little disappointing. We will not be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Resturant

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The best restaurant in the Boone-Blowing Rock area. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed dining here. A beautiful place, the lamb course was the star, though the Bison short rib rigatoni and dessert were excellent as well. The only drawback is the expense, but it definitely qualifies as a special occasion spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Definitely n ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Excellent food and service. Definitely not the quality one would expect to find in the NC mountains. We both had the Sea Bass, which was incredible. The entire experience was well worth it. Savannah our server was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.