About Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa

224 Westglow Circle
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Come and join us for dinner at Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa a Relais & Chateaux property. Experience world-class culinary fare in our historic mansion, where the elegance of fine-dining can be rediscovered amid gracious hospitality and the comfort of home. Mountain views and romantic fireside dining create a magical setting where you can enjoy the flavors of new American cuisine prepared with a flare of Southern sensibility. Rowland’s features an indulgent menu with an array of eclectic dishes including fresh seafood, prime steaks and savory game meats. There is also a delicious gourmet spa menu for the health conscious. On the wine list, you will find bottles from all over the world, including rare wines and some little-known gems from North Carolina vineyards. Find out why Katherine Stefan of Charlotte Taste Magazine writes “no trip to Blowing Rock is complete for foodies” without a meal at Rowland’s.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 221 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 295-5141

Website:
http://www.westglowresortandspa.com/15/rowlands-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Enjoy lovely piano music played on our Steinway M baby grand piano. Offered Friday and Saturday nights from 6:00 until 9:00 (June through October, and special events).

Parking Details:
Handicapped parking available

Public Transit:
Private Transportation can be provided by Airhaven Limo.
Contact Dana at 828.963.0963

Executive Chef:
Tony Bates

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holidays, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Engagements, and Business Functions.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, Westglow Resort & Spa is a top-rated luxury destination spa where personal service is an honored tradition. Our elegant Greek Revival mansion is a perfect place to find renewal of the mind, body and spirit.

Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / Western North Carolina
4 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the moment we arrived to the last g ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

From the moment we arrived to the last good bye at the door, a perfect evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, ambiance, and food. M ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service, ambiance, and food. Made a special occasion a very special one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was fine. Beautiful, impr ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food here was fine. Beautiful, impressive setting and beautiful restaurant. Attentive staff. Host a bit smug. Menu was average and food was above par. This restaurant seemed way below the ratings that overs give it, probably because it is such a beautiful location. There are many places in the area where the food is better, definitely less expensive. Biggest gripe is that place has zero energy (on the night we were there). Probably would not return, since I left with no real reason for ever coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our hands down favorite restaurant in th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our hands down favorite restaurant in the Blowing Rock area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a perfect place to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Service was very good although they missed out on selling us more wine as the server was not as attentive to our table as she could have been. Food was very good. We were sorry to have the table next to us passing around their cell phone as they face timed with a small child. It was very disruptive in this small intimate venue. Our server was equally distressed but there wasn't much she could do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Beautiful place.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food. Beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We just loved this restaurant. A special ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We just loved this restaurant. A special gem in Blowing Rock. It was pricey but worth it. The food was wonderful and the mansion is beautiful. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a special evening. It has class and a genuine welcoming ambiance. The sunset out on the veranda is spectacular.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion for my wife. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a special occasion for my wife. I chose this restaurant because of the high ratings reported on OpenTable. The facility is attractive, with much better than average ambience. Service to the table was extremely poor, with water glasses going empty several times. The bread course was offered one time to our table, but multiple times to other surrounding tables. White staff was changed for our table at least twice. The staff appeared distracted. The food itself was wonderful, and I would highly recommend the chef. The apparent manager of the restaurant greeted us only as we were exiting the front steps to pick up our vehicle. I described our poor experience, and he said he was sorry and will discuss it with the serving staff. He returned to the restaurant. Overall, great food, poor service, inattention by the staff.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Mountain Gem. Gourmet Food atop a countr ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mountain Gem. Gourmet Food atop a country hilltop. Terrific service and great food

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. The wine list is amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rowland's continues to impress!

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Rowland's continues to impress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal at Rowland's was the best we ha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Our meal at Rowland's was the best we had during a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is a bit off the beaten path and well worth the drive. The setting, service and food preparation were really top notch. The wine list was extensive and surprisingly eclectic. They had a marvelous pinot noir from the Otago region in New Zealand that was close to the price I had paid right at the winery during a trip last January. Truly, a fine dining experience worthy of a visit for that special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive, but worth it. The ambience co ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Expensive, but worth it. The ambience compares very favorably to Best Cellar, The Gamekeeper, and Gideon Ridge; the food is in the same class and price range. If you're looking for a nice, quiet, and romantic night, this is the place.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful. Elegant. Very gourmet.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Beautiful. Elegant. Very gourmet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wonderful choice for a Special One's Bir ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful choice for a Special One's Birth Anniversary Celebration!!! Thanks Rowlands!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine, food/dinner was delicious and the ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wine, food/dinner was delicious and the setting was absolutely breathtaking....beautiful views of the mountains ranges of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A special place to celebrate or simply h ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A special place to celebrate or simply have an exceptional experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance while having drinks - Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Nice ambiance while having drinks - Great food and terrific service - attentive wait staff and nice celebration of my wife's 70th birthday.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding restaurant. Each ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. Each course, including a pre-appetizer course from the chef and two chocolate samplers after the dessert, was superb. The service was great and good wine selections were available and were well paired with the food. This is a pricey place; we were aware of this through a look at the menu before the visit. However, this restaurant is one of the top in the state and well worth the price for a special visit. The setting is quite unique and very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is worth the high price. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 25, 2016

This restaurant is worth the high price. Everything was 1st class. I would compare it with any

of the top restaurants in the Napa Valley for quality, flavors, service and ambience.

Was worth the drive to the top of the mountain.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey but worth it. Took another couple ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Pricey but worth it. Took another couple with my wife and I. Comment from the other couple, almost in unison, 1 of top 5 meals ever. High praise from folks that travel the world. I can't disagree. Outstanding!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5 stars start to finish. Amazing food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

5 stars start to finish. Amazing food - absolute MUST see/dining experience for anyone visiting the High Country. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous view. Fabulous service. Quiet l ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous view. Fabulous service. Quiet lovely setting.

Food by and large very overpriced and mediocre. Although one of us had a delicious mushroom soup and nice tomato salad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Beautiful Experience. The food was delic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful Experience. The food was delicious and and well presented. The service was very hospitable. I would highly recommend enjoying a glass of wine on the front porch and a walk around the grounds. Unforgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the great restaurants in the U.S. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the great restaurants in the U.S. Food is absolutely fantastic. Worth every penny!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally pampered. Great wine list. Nice ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Totally pampered. Great wine list. Nice variety of delicious entrees. Great for special occasions but equally fine for a lovely dinner. Loads of ambiance. Prices commensurate with quality. Absolutely worth a go!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rowland's have captured the essence of e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Rowland's have captured the essence of elegant dining. The appointments in the dining room are lovely and pleasing, the food is really good with a lot of imagination, and the service is impeccable. We always feel very pampered when we are there and enjoy it very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a very special dining experience. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Truly a very special dining experience. Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

From the time they greet you at the door ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

From the time they greet you at the door, take you to a perfectly set table and your server introduces himself, every detail is perfect. Then they present a fabulous menu with several selections to chose from, start by taking your drink order and then when you make your selection, it is prepared to perfection. Also, Gary will "pair" the wines with your food for you

making it a perfect dining experience. You eat with your eyes first, so what is placed before you is spectacular, and you will enjoy every bite....and the desserts are equally satisfying...

I cannot think of a more pleasant and satisfying dining experience than at ROWLAND'S

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service, carefully crafted co ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Impeccable service, carefully crafted cocktails, thoughtful menu. Amazing view from the front porch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had chosen this lovely restaurant fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had chosen this lovely restaurant for our anniversary dinner. We were seated between the bar and the kitchen which was high traffic and noisy. The side porch with open tables would have been ideal seating for this advance reservation. Wait staff was pleasant but not well informed about wine list. We felt rushed to order although the restaurant was not busy. Food presentation was beautiful and portions were adequate....though we did not swoon over flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Wonderful dining experience at a wonderf ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful dining experience at a wonderful venue. Spectacular. Took the entire family (3 children ages 8-15) and everyone had a blast. Would love to go back with just my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always try to dine at Rolands when in ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We always try to dine at Rolands when in the area. While it is a little more formal and a little more expensive, the meals are perfection. Wonderful menu (including healthy options), great wine list and cocktails, excellent service. Can't beat the location and views, but you come for the food and it doesn't disappoint. Save room for coffee and dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the elegant and relaxed feeling ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We loved the elegant and relaxed feeling of this restaurant. The menu is superb....everything has great appeal! The fois gras was incredible, and main course Tazmanian Salmon was perfectly prepared! We felt unhurried and relaxed with the service. Can't wait to go back to this beautiful spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent service amy was very helpful a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 17, 2016

excellent service amy was very helpful as was the manager. the tour of the facility for our first time guests was great as well. we love this place. food outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great experience at Row ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2016

We always have a great experience at Rowlands - it is consistently good, perfect ambiance and first rate service - fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was great overall ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2016

The dining experience was great overall as was the food, but the service was a bit slow.

No views which was disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was easily one of the best dining e ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was easily one of the best dining experiences I have every had. As we drove up to the restaurant, we were completely amazed by the beautiful property and building, which is a grand old mansion. The waitress seated us in the dining room which had only 6 tables, and she told us to take our time because the table was ours for the evening. We ordered a bottle of wine, which was well presented. The salad and entrées that followed were delicious and perfectly prepared. After dinner, we elected to have dessert on the patio and watch the sunset. Our waitress, Savanah, was absolutely outstanding. I was pleasantly surprised when I got the bill, as a bottle of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrées and 2 desserts cost well under $200. This is a memorable dining experience that I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

fine dining

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Rowland's ranks as the best special occasion restaurant in the high country because of the ambience. The food matches up with the best restaurants in the area as well as the salads are excellent and the sea bass entree is outstanding. Nicely done, enjoyable, and not ridiculously expensive when compared to Best Cellar, Gamekeeper, and the like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was a realy great find in Boone NC. We had great service an the food was amazing. The server was very helpful. I didn't know many of the foods and our patience server taught me every thing I needed to make the rite choices. The desert was so good I wish I had ordered it first.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.