About Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa

224 Westglow Circle
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
View Larger Map

Come and join us for dinner at Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa a Relais & Chateaux property. Experience world-class culinary fare in our historic mansion, where the elegance of fine-dining can be rediscovered amid gracious hospitality and the comfort of home. Mountain views and romantic fireside dining create a magical setting where you can enjoy the flavors of new American cuisine prepared with a flare of Southern sensibility. Rowland’s features an indulgent menu with an array of eclectic dishes including fresh seafood, prime steaks and savory game meats. There is also a delicious gourmet spa menu for the health conscious. On the wine list, you will find bottles from all over the world, including rare wines and some little-known gems from North Carolina vineyards. Find out why Katherine Stefan of Charlotte Taste Magazine writes “no trip to Blowing Rock is complete for foodies” without a meal at Rowland’s.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
HWY 221 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 295-5141

Website:
http://www.westglowresortandspa.com/15/rowlands-restaurant/

Entertainment:
Enjoy lovely piano music played on our Steinway M baby grand piano. Offered Friday and Saturday nights from 6:00 until 9:00 (June through October, and special events).

Parking Details:
Handicapped parking available

Public Transit:
Private Transportation can be provided by Airhaven Limo.
Contact Dana at 828.963.0963

Executive Chef:
Tony Bates

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holidays, Birthdays, Anniversaries, Engagements, and Business Functions.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, Westglow Resort & Spa is a top-rated luxury destination spa where personal service is an honored tradition. Our elegant Greek Revival mansion is a perfect place to find renewal of the mind, body and spirit.

Rowland's Restaurant at Westglow Resort and Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

special occasion (13)
romantic (12)
scenic view (12)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (4)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Randomly found Rowland's online when loo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Randomly found Rowland's online when looking for a place for a graduation dinner. Had an amazing experience. Wait staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing from the garden salads, to the entrees (I had the lamb), to the delicious dessert. Even their sweet tea was amazing. Would recommend to anyone looking for a dining experience that goes above and beyond.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great options on the menu with innovativ ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great options on the menu with innovative preparations. Outstanding wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegance personified Staff is first cl ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Elegance personified Staff is first class. Loved the announcement of the "glow" gathering to watch the sunset. Food was incredible and we met the sous Chef who was handling the kitchen. The house is magnificent and let's you step back to elegance in dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible. Everything was over ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was incredible. Everything was over the top excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A very special place

Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredible view, superb food and service. Very pricey not for everyday dining. We had Mother's Day Brunch and everything was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best of the West(ern North Carolina)

Dined on April 29, 2016

The setting was breathtaking. The facility, the view, the service and the ambiance were all wonderful. For a romantic, intimate get-a-way with someone special, Rowland's at Westglow is a perfect choice. The menu selections were both excellent and adventurous. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of the evening at Rowland's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If it wasn't for desert....

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This was one of the best meals we have enjoyed at Rowlands. Amuse bouche (mini lamb burger), appetizers (mushroom soup and pork belly) and main courses (freshly made taghliatelle and seabass) were all very good and nicely presented. Then came desert...A tart cherry clafoutis, which consisted of burnt cherries and a inedible thick crust of caramalized sugar. It didn't even look like a clafoutis. The other desert was local cheeses. NC has some great local cheeses, goat and cows milk etc. However, these were a few flavored pieces of cheddar or Gouda style (?) and a piece of French (!) camembert without rind. That's like blue cheese without the blue veins. Needless to say, quite disappointing. Next time we'll stick to ice cream or sorbet. Staff was friendly as always. Of note, after many years, the restaurant starts to look a little tired and a renovation or freshening up seems overdue. Cutting the bushes (around the sunroom ) would be a good idea. They block the phenomenal view to the gorge. However, it remains a romantic place and good spot for a special dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegance on the mountain top

Dined on April 3, 2016

Highly recommended for that special occasion. One hundred year old manner house on a mountain top between two valleys. Outstanding views particularly at sunset, hence the name "Westglow". Foodies delight. Elegantly prepared meals beautifully presented. Service is professional and helpful. Personable Sommelier to assist with wine and drink selection. Come early to enjoy the view and ask for a tour of the main floor. Valet service provided.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter brunch at Rowlands. Yum!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter brunch at Rowlands. The food was delicious and ingenious. I had duck confit huevos rancheros and my wife had a lobster monte cristo. The service was very good, prompt attention to our needs without interrupting the conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Ordered drink @ 12:00 East. Sun brunch.R ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ordered drink @ 12:00 East. Sun brunch.Reminded waiter 2x & bartender 1x. Drink never served.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Service

Dined on February 23, 2016

To say the service was incredible is an understatement. When I confirmed our 7 pm reservation for two, I mentioned we might be a few minutes late - "Not a problem" was the casual response. We were a bit late because the lovely mountain setting was socked in heavy fog that night. We decided to splurge and use valet parking because we weren't sure we could find the parking lot in the fog. We were told "No need to move your car. You are our only guests tonight, so it can stay where it is." THEY STAYED OPEN JUST FOR OUR RESERVATION! Every aspect of the service was extreme. A welcoming card for my wife's birthday, a special taste of something from the kitchen, courses cleared away quickly but without any sense that there was a rush. Bottom line: Best restaurant experience in many, many a year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good representative of Relais & Chateau dining

Dined on January 2, 2016

Rolands (and WestGlow) are the only Relais & Chateau establishments in western North Carolina. The closest R&C "cousin" is Fearrington House, near the triangle. We had an excellent meal, with very fine food (nicest piece of bison I've every had) and some nice service flairs (four plates set down practically simultaneously). Look for Il Borro wine by the glass or by the bottle. It comes from another R&C property and is special, tasty, and not available at your local grocery.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravissimi

Dined on January 1, 2016

After years of hearing about the exquisite experience of dining at Rowland's, we too enjoyed a superb meal. Our entrees were not simply excellent; they were works of art. Outstanding food and wine, extraordinary service, and the elegant ambiance of Westglow contributed to our memorable anniversary celebration. Can't wait to return . . . Grazie mille.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

A beautiful setting in the hills near Blowing Rock

Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife and I went to the 2:00 PM sitting for the Thanksgiving buffet. The building, grounds and view are wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and the service was super. The food was omly good. Perhaps I am being too critical since it was all traditional Thanksgiving fare. We just expected more. The wine list is very good and reasonably priced. We will try it another time to see if the food is what we expected.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Rowlands: A Rare Treat

Dined on November 14, 2015

This is the place for that special dinner: to celebrate a birthday, drink to an anniversary or just enjoy your loved one's company. More like dining in a stately home from years past, diners are spread out among a number of rooms. We had the "library" area; cozy, romantic and lively. Food was quite good. Service was exceptional. All the right touches one should expect when enjoying that special occasion out: a floor stand to hold your handbag so it will not touch the floor, finishing salts on the table, well-versed servers and extra touches from the kitchen: an amuse bouche from the chef to begin your evening and homemade truffles to sweeten its ending.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply elegant

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

Dining at Rowland's at Westglow is always a pleasure! The intimate library bar area is a great place to unwind while waiting for your dinner partners. The wine list is carefully selected, well thought out and contains some real gems. The food is outstanding, presentation excellent and service is professional. Small touches include an assortment of salts with explanation of the differences, always fresh flowers on the table, fine china and elegant place settings. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful views

Dined on October 30, 2015

Rowland's is a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting. The food was nothing special however. I had the duck which was the special for the evening. It was cooked perfectly but was bland. My partner had a beef entre and it was fine but again not exceptional. The dessert was the high light of the evening. It was a chocolate dish that I would highly recommend. we chose a brut to drink and it was delicious also. This was a fairly expensive meal so it was a little disappointing. We will not be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Resturant

Dined on October 24, 2015

The best restaurant in the Boone-Blowing Rock area. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on October 21, 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed dining here. A beautiful place, the lamb course was the star, though the Bison short rib rigatoni and dessert were excellent as well. The only drawback is the expense, but it definitely qualifies as a special occasion spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. Definitely n ...

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Excellent food and service. Definitely not the quality one would expect to find in the NC mountains. We both had the Sea Bass, which was incredible. The entire experience was well worth it. Savannah our server was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Selection of food was outstanding only t ...

Dined on October 14, 2015

Selection of food was outstanding only to be outdone by service!

food5
ambience5
service5

HIghly recommend

Dined on October 4, 2015

Food was superb (!!!), service perfect and very romantic. We even asked to enjoy our dessert fireside in the other room. Perfect spot for a special celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1

Bad dining Experience & OVERCHARGED

Dined on September 4, 2015

The maitre d took us to our table, turned around and left the room, did not even pull out chair for my wife. We had to move table so I could get into corner chair. Not a good start. Ordered a bottle of wine from the wine list, that was a bunch of loose sheets on a clipboard. Wine came, not what we ordered, and no explanation, when we questioned it we were told that what we ordered was not available so they just substituted. When we got the check The wine price was $10 more than we expected from the original list. THEN WE WERE OVERCHARGED ON CREDIT CARD! They charged us over $10 more than the total of our check! Excuse was that a glass of wine was put on our check by mistake. Do not know how that could happen as we had a total on our check. The waitress had disappeared by then. The person who was in charge said he would credit us for the wrong charge! Last time I checked I have been charged for both the charge and overcharge! No credit. Sad to see a place go down hill like this. It was so good in the past!

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance, disappointing cuisine

Dined on August 29, 2015

Gorgeous setting, impeccable service, quality of the cuisine is disappointing. The amuse Boucher was anything. The $48 lobster entree was pedestrian the quinoa bland, the pesto bitter, the vegetables flat, and none of the favors worked together. The $46 filet mignon was over cooked, and again the sides were uninspiring.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect evening

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

We wanted to accomplish two things: celebrate my birthday and connect with an old friend. Roland's helped make our plans an event. We experienced unmatched personal service which appears to be standard fare for Roland's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

a slice of heaven

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

I can't say enough about this fabulous restaurant. Every morsel was divine and beautifully served. I highly recommend this special occasion spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was Great. Service was Great. I lik ...

Dined on August 15, 2015

Food was Great. Service was Great. I like to start with a beer before my wine with dinner. There is only four CRAFT Beers to choose from. I like a Lager. I can go just about anywhere in the world and get a Lager beer like a Heineken or Stella Artois. I dealt with it and thirty minutes later another table comes in and I hear a Gentleman ask for a light beer also and after hearing his choices he skipped a beer and let the ladies have wine. Again, food and service was great but I enjoy a beer to start and my wife enjoys a champagne to start, we all have our preferences. I mentioned my concern and was told due to minimum space, they could only have a small quantity on site.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

special place

Dined on August 3, 2015

Rowland's restaurant is special place. It is so elegant and the location is so scenic. Come early so you can walk the grounds. The food is fantastic. Going there is an event!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Special evening

vip
Dined on August 2, 2015

The food was adventurous and outstanding. The server was knowladgeable and attentive. The setting is elegant and comfortable. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday celebration

Dined on July 1, 2015

Chef Michael prepared a wonderful meal, our server was attentive and the sommelier recommended a perfect bottle of wine. A great experience for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Elegant atmosphere and notable wines

Dined on July 1, 2015

Rowlands has always been a family favorite of ours. We enjoy having a wine before dinner in their elegant parlor with views overlooking the majestic mountains. My wife and I enjoyed the roasted duck which was prepared perfectly. We were both a little disappointed in the kale that was served as a side, almost rubbery. My son and his wife enjoyed the rib eye which is prepared medium rare only. At our request they did cook my daughter-in-laws a bit longer which had no effect on the taste or quality of the dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Seek and find

Dined on June 28, 2015

experience of lifetime and meant for special occasion Aaron made our evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Rowland's consistently provides an exqui ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2015

Rowland's consistently provides an exquisite dining experience. The ambiance, with a pleasant sun porch and a lovely view of the mountains, is most impressive. All of the first courses were excellent, though the soups are the most impressive. Any seafood entrée will prove delightful. The service is quietly efficient. We return annually to Blowing Rock and Rowland's is one of the reasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Raising the bar!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2015

A new chef has re-energized the menu, and Rowlands is climbing to new heights - food is sublime, and the wait staff couldn't be better - we especially appreciated their special recognition of our long standing loyalty to this extraordinary spot !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

History and romance at its best

Dined on May 30, 2015

took my wife there for our 23rd wedding anniversary. It has a very romantic feel to it and a lot of history in the mansion where the restaurant is located. The service was excellent and the staff was very hospitable. We arrived early before our reservation but the staff was great, they gave us a tour of the mansion and served us tea on the porch. The mountain views were beautiful. This was the first time for me and my wife dining at Rowland's so we weren't sure what to expect but the food was delicious. The Bonnie heirloom tomato salad was great for starters and my wife loved the shrimp and grits even the special touch of color in the grits. The pan roasted duck was delicious as well served with cream rice and vegetables. And we finished it off with desert. I had the strawberry shortcake which was simply mouthwatering and my wife had the house made ice cream trio, the rose flavored ice cream taste like a rose pedal smells. They really go all out to make you feel welcomed and enjoy your dinning experience at Rowland's, since it was our anniversary they even had us a card and rose pedals in the shape of a heart on our table when we arrived. I will definitely be going back and I would definitely recommend Rowland's at Westglow

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely atmosphere. Excellent service.. A ...

Dined on May 6, 2015

Lovely atmosphere. Excellent service.. A truly beautiful place,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best experiences that we have ...

Dined on April 19, 2015

One of the best experiences that we have ever had. The food was exceptional and the service was as well. I felt like a queen.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful 38th anniversary celebration

Dined on April 18, 2015

We celebrated our 38th anniversary at Rowlands. The staff was outstanding! When we arrived, they greeted us personally and offered us cocktails on the outdoor porch overlooking the mountain views. When we completed our cocktails, we were escorted to our table. A heart was fashioned out of rose petals on the table and a card with Happy 38th Anniversary, printed in gold lettering, along with the Rowland's logo was presented to my wife. Inside was a beautiful message congratulating us on our 38th anniversary. The meal was fabulous and the attention from the General Manager, Gary Brown to our waitress, Jessica was outstanding! Gracious, attentive, never rushing us - they gave us as much time to relax and enjoy our cocktails on the porch as well as our dinner. Just a wonderful and most memorable experience. Our thanks to Gary, chef Nick, Jessica and all the staff! Looking forward to celebrating more occasions at Rowlands!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A Gem in the Mountains!

Dined on April 18, 2015

This restaurant is just a little way from the town of Blowing Rock, NC. While Blowing Rock is a cute village with lots of fine restaurants, they are often crowded and we were looking for something a little special. Rowland's was the answer! It sits atop a hill overlooking the most gorgeous mountain scenery. The restaurant is in an old estate home that has been elegantly restored. I believe there is a B&B on the property also. After drinks on the wide front porch, overlooking a serene mountain vista, we had a truly fabulous gourmet dinner inside this lovely restaurant. The foie gras was amazing, the rack of lamb was melt in your mouth tender, and the homemade strawberry shortcake dessert was fantastic. My husband had a wonderful NC shrimp appetizer and a perfect duck l'orange. The lemon tart was a good as any I've made at home or eaten anywhere. We will definitely return to this lovely and romantic restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best view in NC

vip
Dined on April 15, 2015

This restaurant is a wonderful surprise, the staff is amazing and very attentive. The food is excellent and the view can not be beat. It gets my absolute best recommendation

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.