About Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

901 W. 48th Place
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Rosso is a relaxed restaurant and bar with an elegant feel. We offer modern Mediterranean-influenced cuisine incorporating innovative techniques and flavor, set atop beautiful Hotel Sorella, a refined, urban boutique hotel adjacent to the Country Club Plaza. Our wine list is one of the most comprehensive in the city with all selections carefully chosen by our sommelier to enhance your experience with us. The views of Sunset Hill and Ward Parkway from the rooftop dining room and bar is unmatched in Kansas City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch and Dinner (dinner hours as follow)

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Roanoke Pkwy & W 48th Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 437-8420

Website:
http://www.hotelsorella-countryclubplaza.com/rosso.htm

Entertainment:
Solo guitarist, Jayson Kayne, plays Thursday nights in Bar Rosso from 9:00 pm to Close.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet - Enter ONE-WAY off of Roanoke

Executive Chef:
Steve Tracy

Private Party Facilities:
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza offers 4,000 square feet of Banquet space for any occasion.

Rosso offers dining and drinking space, in two semi-private dinning areas or alongside our large poolside terrace for al fresco occasions. With a full bar and tantalizing menu, this is the chic destination for any event or occasion.

Enjoy great celebrations, networking or just gathering with good friends for a cocktail and an exceptional meal at our Restaurant and Bar in Country Club Plaza.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Borghardt: 816-437-8426x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Romantic
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Scenic View (28)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a lovely meal and evening.

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a lovely meal and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a great surprise. I wondered if the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

What a great surprise. I wondered if the view from the 7th floor restaurant would be as good as the food. The extensive wine list was above my fine wine budget. There was a good selection of wine by the glass which I choose.

So now for the good stuff. I was going for a house salad but instead chose the special Caprese salad with local heirloom tomatoes. I rate it a ten. Next I choose two small plates. The calamari fries were just the right spicy, not over fried and the sauce delicious. Then I had the crab cake on spinach. I know ordering seafood in a landlocked state should be done with caution, but not here. The crab cake was full of crab meat and not filler. It was a ten, oh I forgot the served warm bread with room temperature butter that was lightly salted. Yes yes yes. I was not going to have dessert until the told about the home made sorbet and gelato. I went for for the chocolate gelato.

Overall the food, service, and view were a ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The flatbread pizza was good !

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The flatbread pizza was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Rosso was outstanding! All ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food at Rosso was outstanding! All of us selected something different from the menu and everyone was happy with their meal. The chocolate flourless cake and house made gelato were to die for! We will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first trip to Rosso. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was not our first trip to Rosso. This restaurant has a limited menu, that includes some nicely thought-out recipes. After we ordered, our server reported that one of the entrées was not going to be available that night. By the time we were able to select a different entrée, there was much delay. When the two entrées came out, the beef tenderloin was beyond well done but had been ordered medium rare. Obviously the beef tenderloin had been sitting around overcooking while a substitute entrée was being prepared. Why would a sous chef or a server not recognize this problem before bringing out the shoe leather steak. Many apologies and then we sat around even longer while our food was recooked. A nice atmosphere and a great prospect for fine dining, but serious, basic execution problems on a night when the place wasn't that full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our second visit to Rosso's. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Rosso's. We thought the first time was terrific but, this visit was even better. Our reservations were early in the evening so the restaurant was very quiet. It quickly filled but still remained quite intimate and comfortable.

The food was excellent and perfectly prepared. Nothing was over-seasoned or unnecessarily over-presented. Certainly not simple but, obviously the chef is comfortable letting the food speak for itself instead of trying to dress it up too much.

Definitely ask for one of the curved couches. The very best way to get close to the one your with and make it a very romantic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great table that offered a fant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a great table that offered a fantastic view to the southwest. Our server was excellent and very accommodating to our needs.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the food was good the service l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Although the food was good the service left a lot to be desired. Ordered an excellent bottle of wine and after the first pour we were forgotten. I had to go to another table where our bottle was left and pour the rest for your party. Service would have made this place special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food and outstanding view of the ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome food and outstanding view of the Plaza - tenderloin was great and crab cakes very tasty

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

gorgeous view - delicious contemporary t ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

gorgeous view - delicious contemporary take on Italian.

very comfortable dining room with a spectacular view of the Plaza and Sunset Hill.

the food is as delicious as it is beautiful.

one of the best values in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in KC and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in KC and love to go there. The atmosphere is great and the view is amazing. We enjoyed our dinner and wine. They came around the perfect amount to fill water. The staff seemed interested in our happiness. One minor complaint is that they do not need so many people to ask how we liked the food. We don't need interrupted at this place as we love the food, so that is a too much for three separate people to stop in on us. We have found the cook to be wonderful various visits and will return. We love the round seating and cozy but modern space. The colors and decor are comfortable and have a good vibe for all. I especially like the floor length windows for the view and just realized this time they have a pool side area for the bar / lounge. They did have a large crowd in the bar, which was very festive and perhaps too loud for my liking so close to our table. Next time I will request a seat farther in. The best part of our dinner was being with my husband of over 22 years at a place that is close to home and a sure thing!! He is amazing to me and seems to like it here too even though I think a bar with a sports game on tv would be his all-time favorite place to go. We will come again and Thank Rosso for bringing us a new favorite. They consistently make our special dates, which can be too few and far between sometimes, very memorable and elegantly tasty. We also love the underground parking for Rosso and free validation as parking at the Plaza can be hard to find. I hope to stay at the Hotel Sorello sometime in the future for an even more fun experience. Maybe for our anniversary 7/30? That might be even more fun than just dinner. Either way, we will come again and eat and drink at Rosso for sure. Thanks for making our visit delicious, our time together special and the night a better night than when we came. It takes a lot to impress me, so I hope this review shares enough to show how much I love Rosso.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here on a Friday night for an ear ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We ate here on a Friday night for an early anniversary celebration. Everyone with whom we came in contact was very welcoming and professional. Service was excellent. Their salads are delicious and well-presented. My companion had the scallops and i had the monkfish and we each enjoyed our dish very much. We had a complimentary dessert because of our anniversary and it was an assortment of small tastes. Very good. We enjoy the urban view from the dining area. Parking is either valet or in an attached garage and is pretty easy - as long as you know where you are going. It was a very nice evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

could be better

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

While the view, ambiance, service were very good, the food did not knock my socks off

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dined on a quiet Memorial Day evening

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

A non-busy night for Rosso but excellent treat. View is great, waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, and food preparation and taste were excellent. The chef does an outstanding job in both appearance and then taste to back up his work. Booths are very comfortable and lends themselves to easy conversation with your party, not to mention the great view. Do not miss the flour-less dessert

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service Very Romantic Atmosphere

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We had the place to ourselves in the restaurant, was late to our reservations but they still welcomed us, its just a chill spot, not kid friendly but defiantly date worthy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Hidden Gem

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a delightful evening, with a wonderful view and superior service. There had been an extra sardine appetizer prepared so the waiter brought it to us, gratis. Smoked sardines with a garlic-butter endive root garnish. It was like small smoked trout and delicious. I had the Bibb salad and it was garnished with the best cranberries I have ever had in a salad. We were told they are blanched in balsamic vinegar and Merlot. My wife had the Beet salad and she said it was marvelous.

We went light on the entrees but were not disappointed. Scallops with Risotto and Crab cakes had excellent garnish and sauces.

The Chocolate Dome desert was exceptionally decadent and it was beautiful! We had to take a picture, and the fruit with it was seemingly just picked.

Overall, great service, awesome ambiance and sensational food. We will be back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A splendid evening and dining experience ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

A splendid evening and dining experience! Great food and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful anniversary dinner

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary at the restaurant and had a wonderful time. The staff was thoughtful, view was wonderful, food was delicious, the sommelier was amazing and we felt like it was a very special evening. Truly memorable evening that makes me smile just thinking about it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service, ambiance, and overall look was ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service, ambiance, and overall look was great. Food was something to be desired. Going for drinks I recommend but food not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wow!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were very well taken care of and had a great dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table right next to the window ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a table right next to the window overlooking the country club area. The ambience is fantastic, the meal imaginative, and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This meal was outstanding, as was the se ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This meal was outstanding, as was the service. The monkfish was done to perfection and beautifully sauced. We also enjoyed the calamari (tender, not rubbery) and the gnocchi, both of which also sported exquisite sauces. We look forward to returning soon.

We also recommend the bar for the splendid cocktails and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was great, 10/10 ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Food was great, service was great, 10/10 would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely restaurant with a delightful vi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

A lovely restaurant with a delightful view... This time of a thunderstorm rollin through! Great elegant Mothers Day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect except table service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's day brunch, and the food and service at the buffet were absolutely outstanding!! We felt a little ignored by table service, even when they weren't really busy. Upscale atmosphere, first class food. We'll go back and try the dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great experience, great food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

One of the most unique culinary experience we've had in a long time. Both of our entrees, drunken meatballs and the salmon, came with an unexpected combination of ingredients. For instance the meatballs were presented on polenta rather than a traditional pasta. Unexpected but very tasty. Nice selection of wines too.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Rosso was terrific

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Rosso. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable, and it was quiet enough that we could talk to each other and be heard. The chef, Charles d'ablaing (who used to be at Chaz) came by the table and promised that interesting changes are in store. We plan to return soon for another fabulous meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely afternoon at Rosso

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Rosso was chosen as a "new" place to celebrate my two daughters' birthdays, an annual event.

Everything about the day was lovely--easy parking, lovely ambiance in the hotel and restaurant, excellent service and good food. Because it was a birthday celebration with gifts to open, we were able to linger as long as we liked--never was rushed. Josh was an excellent host/server to our threesome and brought the celebrants a complimentary dessert. We all ate the scallops, which I thought were excellent, but had to lower the grade slightly on that dish, as I thought the risotto was too al dente. I prefer a softer, creamier risotto. All in all, it was a great experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Retirement Dinner for my Wife

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I requested a special table which we were seated against the windows looking out over the city with the fireplace behind us. The service was exceptional as well as the food and presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server less attentive than previously. Food ok.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The service in the past has been extraordinary. This time, not as much. The server removed our wine menu and I had to retrieve one from the front desk after we sat and waited for awhile, just because when she first come to the table to ask about wine we hadn't looked yet. Also, when I made the reservation I said it was a special occasion, and they acknowledged that in a phone call but the server knew nothing of it.

We always get the caesar salad, and it didn't seem as tasty this time. We just had the salads and appetizers, then left. I love sardines and rarely see them on a menu. I ordered the sardine appetizer and it was both tasty and interesting. The gelato dessert with berries was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Outstanding in every way

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of KC

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We went for a nice night out and had heard good things from friends before making a reservation. The experience from start to finish was the best we've had in Kansas City. The view was by far the best around and the service was excellent. The food was amazing. Our server told us about the new chef, and he must be doing something right. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We were at Rosso on a Monday night so was quiet. Good drinks, fair service but food was very salty and expensive for what it was. Go for a drink and eat somewhere else!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

pretty place, good food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We were visiting Kansas City for the big 12 tournament. We wanted to have a nice dinner to celebrate a birthday while there. Rosso had a panoramic view of the park bordering country club plaza. There was also a lovely fireplace behind us and the restaurant/bar connected to the rooftop pool deck.

The menu was unique with both small plates and entrees. We enjoyed everything that we ordered and the ambiance was wonderful. The only thing that I can say that we didn't like was the dessert. Rosso brought a surprise birthday dessert and neither of care for banana. It was pretty though.

The service matched the food--excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wednesday evening

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

We went to Rosso for dinner on a Wednesday evening and it was not busy. The bar area was busier than the restaurant and thankfully we were in a nice quiet table by the east windows.

Service was prompt and cordial but never overpowering. The food presentation was first class and the flavor was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

CEO

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

This was the best meal I ever had in Kansas City. I actually order something that was slightly different in preparation as I am gluten free. I had the Salmon, which was prepared to my request.

My guest had the Osobuco which I would recommend. We then ordered tow gluten free deserts one of which was a "Chocolate Bomb".

So good we went back the next night with our clients who were in town. This place should be on everyone's bucket list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best date place I've been to in Kansas C ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Best date place I've been to in Kansas City. Everything was easy from valet to menu suggestions. Incredible seating with a view and soft jazz playing in the background. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely place to celebrate Valentines Day.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had been to Bar Russo a few times, so decided to try the restaurant for Valentine's Day. Perfect! Thanks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dessert. Excellent service.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great dessert. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wife's birthday celebration

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

She wanted someplace new and special, and Rosso fit the bill. The decor is modern and classy, the staff was attentive and professional, the food was beautiful and overall very good. My wife had the salad and ravioli small plate which she thoroughly enjoyed. The only damper on an otherwise great evening was the sometimes deafening outbursts from the large group just off the main dining room, which of course is not something that the restaurant staff can easily control. We were forced to request a different table after 10 min or so because we couldn't even hear our server. They quieted down after a bit and the rest of the evening was great. Be sure to ask for a table at the window!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.