About Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

901 W. 48th Place
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Rosso is a relaxed restaurant and bar with an elegant feel. We offer modern Mediterranean-influenced cuisine incorporating innovative techniques and flavor, set atop beautiful Hotel Sorella, a refined, urban boutique hotel adjacent to the Country Club Plaza. Our wine list is one of the most comprehensive in the city with all selections carefully chosen by our sommelier to enhance your experience with us. The views of Sunset Hill and Ward Parkway from the rooftop dining room and bar is unmatched in Kansas City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch and Dinner (dinner hours as follow)

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Roanoke Pkwy & W 48th Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 437-8420

Website:
http://www.hotelsorella-countryclubplaza.com/rosso.htm

Entertainment:
Solo guitarist, Jayson Kayne, plays Tuesday nights in Bar Rosso from 4pm to 7pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet - Enter ONE-WAY off of Roanoke

Executive Chef:
Charles d'Abaling

Private Party Facilities:
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza offers 4,000 square feet of Banquet space for any occasion.

Rosso offers dining and drinking space, in two semi-private dinning areas or alongside our large poolside terrace for al fresco occasions. With a full bar and tantalizing menu, this is the chic destination for any event or occasion.

Enjoy great celebrations, networking or just gathering with good friends for a cocktail and an exceptional meal at our Restaurant and Bar in Country Club Plaza.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Borghardt: (816) 437-8426

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Fireplace (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chanel was absolutely amazing. Would ret ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 hours ago

Chanel was absolutely amazing. Would return simply for her service. The food was amazing. Atmosphere was great. We first tried to sit inside but there was a fireplace going that made the dining room extremely hot since it was in the 70's outside. Chanel happily moved us outside to the deck/pool area which was not even part of her section. If you go, be sure to request her. Probably the best service I've had in over a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A little hard to get to but well worth t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A little hard to get to but well worth the trail there. Hostess was very friendly and set us where we asked for. We got more than we bargained for. A very nice round booth with the Plaza out the window and very nice fireplace behind us. The service was excellent as well as the food. We tried the apple crust for dessert that had little taste but the waiter exchanged it without even thinking about it to the Carmel cheesecake that was a knock out. This place is a well kept secret and I would recommend making a reservation. We will be back. Great job!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the tasting menu with wine pairin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. This offered a good experience of the kitchen's range and everything was well prepared. The wines that are listed with this menu online were said to be not available so our waiter made selections from current stock. These proved to be good matches but not as exotic as those listed online. Still a good value and an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an incredible experience and cer ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is an incredible experience and certainly worth the visit. The food is expertly prepared and delicious. The atmosphere and environment is the best in K.C. The bar is one of the coolest bars in the entire Plaza area. Don't miss this great restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Executive chef delightful. Food magnific ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Executive chef delightful. Food magnificent. Best meal we've had in a decade!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a fun place for lunch! However, ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was a fun place for lunch! However, the service was poor. The waitresses were nice, but they seemed under staffed. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't amazing either. I would definitely go back. I think it would be a cool place for drinks before dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

The service was excellent, our server ev ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was excellent, our server even "gifted" us a crab cake, which was delicious. The decor and ambiance are very nice , especially the fireplace. I was disappointed with the dessert of creme brulee, it was a little dry, overdone tasting, not as creamy as it should have been.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for restaurant week and were ple ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for restaurant week and were pleasantly surprised! Beautiful restaurant with great view. The food was amazing! Will go back for sure!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a great meal. Great service. Cele ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a great meal. Great service. Celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary. Glad we came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant week find. Relaxed wit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great restaurant week find. Relaxed with very attentive but private dining experience with a wonder decor and view. Scallops were seared to perfection to wonderful tenderness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration and R ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration and Restaurant Week. The view was amazing and overlooked the Plaza. The decor is very modern and great for a special occasion. We ordered the she crab soup, very tasty, with lots of crab in it. We also ordered scallops, very fresh and the vegetables were well seasoned. For dessert we had the salted caramel cheesecake which was very tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was terrific and considerate for ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was terrific and considerate for our foursome. Food and wine equally wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been wanting to eat a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My wife and I have been wanting to eat at Rosso since it open a couple of years ago and this year, during Restaurant Week, ended up being a great opportunity. Anxious to get back here to try their full menu, especially as the sun is setting on the Plaza.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I were there for restaura ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My husband and I were there for restaurant week lunch. It appeared that service was by host and hostess and were not able to serve the number of guest that were there. The menu showed

barbeque chicken which I ordered and it came as a barbeque chicken pizza. It was NOT listed as a pizza on the menu. I sent it back and got scallops. The table next to us got a dessert menu and we did not just the check. So, will not go back and will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was very enjoyable, food, our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was very enjoyable, food, our server, Brittany. We were celebrating a birthday - perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was spectacular and in a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The atmosphere was spectacular and in a city known for its excellence in steaks, their beef tenderloin is second to none. I was also impressed with the potato croquette and the caesar salad that came with a parmesan encrusted poached egg.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We have dined at Rosso several times and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have dined at Rosso several times and have always enjoyed the experience. They have an incredible wine selection and are very helpful in selecting something new if you're wanting to try something different. Visited during restaurant week and food was perfect. Our waiter Justin was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited during Restaurant Week and th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We visited during Restaurant Week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Service was right on and our meals could not have been better. I highly recommend Rosso and I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wait staff - very helpful with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent wait staff - very helpful with both drink selection and menu choices

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ok, I'm a pretty understanding consumer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ok, I'm a pretty understanding consumer about the demands placed on establishments on New Year's Eve ......But, when the lack of full tables is present, I question the inability of the operation to meet basic service requirements....

Here are the basic facts please feel free to determine your own opinion

1.Had to request water 3 different times from 3 different people.

2.Had to go to prep area myself to get salt and pepper.

3.Had to request silverware twice then finally went to prep area myself and got it.

4.Warmth of entree at delivery was acceptable but sides were cold .

5.Last but not least when leaving the restaurant and while driving away saw waiter 7 floors downstairs standing outside smoking.

You judge, but my decision has been made that when the basics of service are not met, it's a telling sign the management is severely disengaged in the operation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I booked Rosso for a New Years Eve dinne ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I booked Rosso for a New Years Eve dinner, our waitress was very nice. The place has a great atmosphere but was loud and the service was slow. Cocktail glasses sat empty on our table and in ordering another the delivery took about 7-10 mins. The cheese board had 4 cheeses for $18. The calamari was quite salty. I don't mind paying high prices for fine dining, but I don't consider this worth it. I was very disappointed in my visit and wished I would have booked elsewhere for New Years Eve.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Service was very good. Appetizers and de ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was very good. Appetizers and desert excellent. Entrees were ok, could have been seasoned more. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Caesar salad was terrific! Food was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Caesar salad was terrific! Food was very good. Service was very slow and cocktails are teeny tiny at $12 each. The view is spectacular you just can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Lisa was so nice and attentive. When we ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lisa was so nice and attentive. When we made our reservation we asked for our favorite table and it was ready when we arrived. Chef came by before dinner and answered all our questions we had about items on the menu and made some very tasty recommendations. Never rushed and as always everything was delicious. This is our favorite Resturant on the plaza!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance and decor. Great plac ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decor. Great place to treat family or friends for a special dinner. We loved our server Josh! He was fun, informative, very professional and all that you could hope for in a server to make your evening special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot on the west Plaza. Bar area c ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great spot on the west Plaza. Bar area can be really loud but the dining room has some great views. Wait staff friendly and "pretty." Would recommend the food highly. Loved the Caesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our group of five (three adults, two you ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our group of five (three adults, two young people ages 8 and 12) had reservations for the early seating after the Nutcracker performance at the Kauffman Center. We were early and enjoyed drinks in front of the fireplace (including two special mocktails for the junior members of our party concocted based on what fruits they said they liked, which were both elegant and delicious according to both young ladies. The service was excellent and the warmth and ambiance of the glass fireplace and comfortable chairs were just what we needed on a very cold stormy winter evening. The dinner that followed was an event in itself. Our waiter was among the best I've had anywhere (I have eaten at enough 5-star restaurants to have a sense of what is merely good and what is above and beyond) and the food was fantastic. One of us took our waiter's recommendation for the seasonal main dish and it was simply lovely, we each tried something different for all the courses and shared tastes--including the elegant, delicious desserts. The girls were fascinated with all of it, this being their first time in a restaurant like this where the dining experience itself is an event. Our experience at the Rosso at Hotel Sorella was the perfect cap to a wonderful experience for all of us. I would definitely return for another special event and have already recommended it to my friends, as well.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and the portions la ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions large. The view was wonderful. I look forward to visiting again when there is snow, for that would be even more beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and e ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and experience to celebrate my wife's birthday. We opted for the tasting menu, and each plate was delicious. Our service was professional and friendly, and the view through the wall of windows made for a great backdrop. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My client and I had an amazing lunch at ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My client and I had an amazing lunch at Rosso. Josh is amazing and made us feel right at home. Will come back again and again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous setting. Staff was fantastic. A ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Gorgeous setting. Staff was fantastic. And the food was wonderful. We were there early on a Sun evening(5:30) so we were virtually the only diners there for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food incredible desserts excelle ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food incredible desserts excellent wine selection this is a must go to restaurant. Can't wait to return the very near future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Moms 70th bday. Beautiful! She loved it! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Moms 70th bday. Beautiful! She loved it! Good service and good food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had eaten at Rosso several times befor ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I had eaten at Rosso several times before, and was always pleased with the restaurant. However, this dinner was by far the best. We had an outstanding experience with an extraordinary waiter as well as fabulous food and wine. I had my college roommate visiting me, and she was wowed. I'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal and great service. Highl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic meal and great service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Thanksgiving evening here. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving evening here....very nice ambiance as usual. We did like the menu better before the most recent change to a French flair, (miss the Drunken Meatballs) but food was still good. Service was very slow though and we sat a long time waiting to order even drinks...but the (manager?) stepped up, noticed we hadn't been served, and comped us our first round of drinks and our dessert. So we left happy, as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Every employee that we encountered was l ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Every employee that we encountered was less than excited to take care of us. Just felt like - 'oh, you're here , ok, guess I'll take care of you'

The menu was odd. And the food was underwhelming. My salad was warm and a little droopy. My husband had the Caesar salad - which was bland and disappointing. I won't go through each item - but we spent $222 for the two of us. So you'd expect a little Wow. But it never happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent Special of the Day when we wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent Special of the Day when we were there Friday......Steak was perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list was among the most extensive I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wine list was among the most extensive I've seen. Upscale, intimate, modern, amazing menu. Well worth the extra cost.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at the restaurant and we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our first time at the restaurant and we loved everything about the experience !

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.