About Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

901 W. 48th Place
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Rosso is a relaxed restaurant and bar with an elegant feel. We offer modern Mediterranean-influenced cuisine incorporating innovative techniques and flavor, set atop beautiful Hotel Sorella, a refined, urban boutique hotel adjacent to the Country Club Plaza. Our wine list is one of the most comprehensive in the city with all selections carefully chosen by our sommelier to enhance your experience with us. The views of Sunset Hill and Ward Parkway from the rooftop dining room and bar is unmatched in Kansas City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch and Dinner (dinner hours as follow)

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Roanoke Pkwy & W 48th Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 437-8420

Website:
http://www.hotelsorella-countryclubplaza.com/rosso.htm

Entertainment:
Solo guitarist, Jayson Kayne, plays Thursday nights in Bar Rosso from 9:00 pm to Close.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet - Enter ONE-WAY off of Roanoke

Executive Chef:
Steve Tracy

Private Party Facilities:
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza offers 4,000 square feet of Banquet space for any occasion.

Rosso offers dining and drinking space, in two semi-private dinning areas or alongside our large poolside terrace for al fresco occasions. With a full bar and tantalizing menu, this is the chic destination for any event or occasion.

Enjoy great celebrations, networking or just gathering with good friends for a cocktail and an exceptional meal at our Restaurant and Bar in Country Club Plaza.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Borghardt: (816) 437-8426

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Fireplace (15)
See All
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great meal. Great service. Cele ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a great meal. Great service. Celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary. Glad we came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a birthday celebration and R ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for a birthday celebration and Restaurant Week. The view was amazing and overlooked the Plaza. The decor is very modern and great for a special occasion. We ordered the she crab soup, very tasty, with lots of crab in it. We also ordered scallops, very fresh and the vegetables were well seasoned. For dessert we had the salted caramel cheesecake which was very tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was terrific and considerate for ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was terrific and considerate for our foursome. Food and wine equally wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been wanting to eat a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have been wanting to eat at Rosso since it open a couple of years ago and this year, during Restaurant Week, ended up being a great opportunity. Anxious to get back here to try their full menu, especially as the sun is setting on the Plaza.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I were there for restaura ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My husband and I were there for restaurant week lunch. It appeared that service was by host and hostess and were not able to serve the number of guest that were there. The menu showed

barbeque chicken which I ordered and it came as a barbeque chicken pizza. It was NOT listed as a pizza on the menu. I sent it back and got scallops. The table next to us got a dessert menu and we did not just the check. So, will not go back and will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was very enjoyable, food, our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was very enjoyable, food, our server, Brittany. We were celebrating a birthday - perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was spectacular and in a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The atmosphere was spectacular and in a city known for its excellence in steaks, their beef tenderloin is second to none. I was also impressed with the potato croquette and the caesar salad that came with a parmesan encrusted poached egg.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We have dined at Rosso several times and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have dined at Rosso several times and have always enjoyed the experience. They have an incredible wine selection and are very helpful in selecting something new if you're wanting to try something different. Visited during restaurant week and food was perfect. Our waiter Justin was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited during Restaurant Week and th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We visited during Restaurant Week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Service was right on and our meals could not have been better. I highly recommend Rosso and I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wait staff - very helpful with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent wait staff - very helpful with both drink selection and menu choices

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ok, I'm a pretty understanding consumer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ok, I'm a pretty understanding consumer about the demands placed on establishments on New Year's Eve ......But, when the lack of full tables is present, I question the inability of the operation to meet basic service requirements....

Here are the basic facts please feel free to determine your own opinion

1.Had to request water 3 different times from 3 different people.

2.Had to go to prep area myself to get salt and pepper.

3.Had to request silverware twice then finally went to prep area myself and got it.

4.Warmth of entree at delivery was acceptable but sides were cold .

5.Last but not least when leaving the restaurant and while driving away saw waiter 7 floors downstairs standing outside smoking.

You judge, but my decision has been made that when the basics of service are not met, it's a telling sign the management is severely disengaged in the operation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I booked Rosso for a New Years Eve dinne ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I booked Rosso for a New Years Eve dinner, our waitress was very nice. The place has a great atmosphere but was loud and the service was slow. Cocktail glasses sat empty on our table and in ordering another the delivery took about 7-10 mins. The cheese board had 4 cheeses for $18. The calamari was quite salty. I don't mind paying high prices for fine dining, but I don't consider this worth it. I was very disappointed in my visit and wished I would have booked elsewhere for New Years Eve.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Service was very good. Appetizers and de ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was very good. Appetizers and desert excellent. Entrees were ok, could have been seasoned more. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Caesar salad was terrific! Food was ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Caesar salad was terrific! Food was very good. Service was very slow and cocktails are teeny tiny at $12 each. The view is spectacular you just can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Lisa was so nice and attentive. When we ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lisa was so nice and attentive. When we made our reservation we asked for our favorite table and it was ready when we arrived. Chef came by before dinner and answered all our questions we had about items on the menu and made some very tasty recommendations. Never rushed and as always everything was delicious. This is our favorite Resturant on the plaza!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance and decor. Great plac ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decor. Great place to treat family or friends for a special dinner. We loved our server Josh! He was fun, informative, very professional and all that you could hope for in a server to make your evening special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot on the west Plaza. Bar area c ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great spot on the west Plaza. Bar area can be really loud but the dining room has some great views. Wait staff friendly and "pretty." Would recommend the food highly. Loved the Caesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our group of five (three adults, two you ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our group of five (three adults, two young people ages 8 and 12) had reservations for the early seating after the Nutcracker performance at the Kauffman Center. We were early and enjoyed drinks in front of the fireplace (including two special mocktails for the junior members of our party concocted based on what fruits they said they liked, which were both elegant and delicious according to both young ladies. The service was excellent and the warmth and ambiance of the glass fireplace and comfortable chairs were just what we needed on a very cold stormy winter evening. The dinner that followed was an event in itself. Our waiter was among the best I've had anywhere (I have eaten at enough 5-star restaurants to have a sense of what is merely good and what is above and beyond) and the food was fantastic. One of us took our waiter's recommendation for the seasonal main dish and it was simply lovely, we each tried something different for all the courses and shared tastes--including the elegant, delicious desserts. The girls were fascinated with all of it, this being their first time in a restaurant like this where the dining experience itself is an event. Our experience at the Rosso at Hotel Sorella was the perfect cap to a wonderful experience for all of us. I would definitely return for another special event and have already recommended it to my friends, as well.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and the portions la ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions large. The view was wonderful. I look forward to visiting again when there is snow, for that would be even more beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and e ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and experience to celebrate my wife's birthday. We opted for the tasting menu, and each plate was delicious. Our service was professional and friendly, and the view through the wall of windows made for a great backdrop. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My client and I had an amazing lunch at ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My client and I had an amazing lunch at Rosso. Josh is amazing and made us feel right at home. Will come back again and again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous setting. Staff was fantastic. A ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Gorgeous setting. Staff was fantastic. And the food was wonderful. We were there early on a Sun evening(5:30) so we were virtually the only diners there for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food incredible desserts excelle ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food incredible desserts excellent wine selection this is a must go to restaurant. Can't wait to return the very near future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Moms 70th bday. Beautiful! She loved it! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Moms 70th bday. Beautiful! She loved it! Good service and good food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had eaten at Rosso several times befor ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I had eaten at Rosso several times before, and was always pleased with the restaurant. However, this dinner was by far the best. We had an outstanding experience with an extraordinary waiter as well as fabulous food and wine. I had my college roommate visiting me, and she was wowed. I'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal and great service. Highl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic meal and great service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Thanksgiving evening here. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving evening here....very nice ambiance as usual. We did like the menu better before the most recent change to a French flair, (miss the Drunken Meatballs) but food was still good. Service was very slow though and we sat a long time waiting to order even drinks...but the (manager?) stepped up, noticed we hadn't been served, and comped us our first round of drinks and our dessert. So we left happy, as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Every employee that we encountered was l ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Every employee that we encountered was less than excited to take care of us. Just felt like - 'oh, you're here , ok, guess I'll take care of you'

The menu was odd. And the food was underwhelming. My salad was warm and a little droopy. My husband had the Caesar salad - which was bland and disappointing. I won't go through each item - but we spent $222 for the two of us. So you'd expect a little Wow. But it never happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent Special of the Day when we wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent Special of the Day when we were there Friday......Steak was perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list was among the most extensive I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wine list was among the most extensive I've seen. Upscale, intimate, modern, amazing menu. Well worth the extra cost.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at the restaurant and we ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our first time at the restaurant and we loved everything about the experience !

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently dined at Rosso fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at Rosso for our anniversary. We had a fantastic view of brush creek and were treated to a fantastic meal with excellent wine. I had the ribeye and she, the fried chicken special. Both were amazing. In addition to the entire staff, our server, Justin, was perfectly attentive and helpful regarding pairing options. We will most certainly dine at Rosso again very soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was excellent, the amb ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The tasting menu was excellent, the ambiance wonderful, the service outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary date... Super cool atmospher ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Anniversary date... Super cool atmosphere. Our server Steven was wonderful, and both the Scallops, and the Beef Bourguignon were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with some friends for our annive ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went with some friends for our anniversary . The food was not good and the desserts were comped because they were so aweful. It has an amazing atmosphere to bad the food doesn't go along with it. To many other restaurants with good food on the plaza. Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Great view. Ambiance superb. Service w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great view. Ambiance superb. Service was so-so. One person delivered the cheese plate but didn't know the cheeses that were being served. Another person spilled a drink on our table. The same person passed our table when I ordered a drink....I had to flag her back to the table. The scallops had an odd aftertaste. The presentation of the ribeye was....different. The chef cut out the middle of the steak??? Waitress said it was to maximize the cut of the steak by only giving you the "best pieces" of the ribeye, but why make the customer pay almost 50 bucks if you're not going to give us the entire steak? Finally, the waitress insisted on clearing our plates when we clearly weren't done - we just wasn't rushing through our dinner. For a pricey meal, it was meh. It was a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

We were there October 1st for our 21st w ...

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were there October 1st for our 21st wedding anniversary. The ambiance and food were wonderful. We were seated quickly and our waiter was excellent, very attentive and knowledgeable. The only downside to our experience was the two rude young men seated next to us who stayed in conversation ON THEIR SPEAKERPHONE! With a woman the ENTIRE time we were there. Over an hour! This was clearly ok with the restaurant staff, as the chef himself arrived and greeted the men, and the woman on the phone. (We could obviously hear every word, whether we wanted to or not). I'm not sure if they were reviewing the food or what, but it was exasperating for us, and completely ruined our evening at Rosso. I'm certain this was an isolated experience, but to be certain, should NEVER be allowed. We noticed another table of guests seated nearby also clearly bothered by the loud speakerphone conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For an upscale restaurant it was too lou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2016

For an upscale restaurant it was too loud. I thought it was a bit overpriced. It was good but overpriced. We liked our waiter.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great flatbread! Joshua is an awesome s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great flatbread! Joshua is an awesome server. Went beyond normal expectations. Will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great reception by the host, fantastic s ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great reception by the host, fantastic server with a smile and knowledgeable on the menu, prompt, very welcoming. The ambiance is modern and really comfortable. I would go back at my next visit. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.