About Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

901 W. 48th Place
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Rosso is a relaxed restaurant and bar with an elegant feel. We offer modern Mediterranean-influenced cuisine incorporating innovative techniques and flavor, set atop beautiful Hotel Sorella, a refined, urban boutique hotel adjacent to the Country Club Plaza. Our wine list is one of the most comprehensive in the city with all selections carefully chosen by our sommelier to enhance your experience with us. The views of Sunset Hill and Ward Parkway from the rooftop dining room and bar is unmatched in Kansas City.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch and Dinner (dinner hours as follow)

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Roanoke Pkwy & W 48th Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 437-8420

Website:
http://www.hotelsorella-countryclubplaza.com/rosso.htm

Entertainment:
Solo guitarist, Jayson Kayne, plays Thursday nights in Bar Rosso from 9:00 pm to Close.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet - Enter ONE-WAY off of Roanoke

Executive Chef:
Steve Tracy

Private Party Facilities:
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza offers 4,000 square feet of Banquet space for any occasion.

Rosso offers dining and drinking space, in two semi-private dinning areas or alongside our large poolside terrace for al fresco occasions. With a full bar and tantalizing menu, this is the chic destination for any event or occasion.

Enjoy great celebrations, networking or just gathering with good friends for a cocktail and an exceptional meal at our Restaurant and Bar in Country Club Plaza.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Borghardt: 816-437-8426x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Rosso @ Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Modern Decor (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fireplace (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Scenic View (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and e ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and experience to celebrate my wife's birthday. We opted for the tasting menu, and each plate was delicious. Our service was professional and friendly, and the view through the wall of windows made for a great backdrop. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My client and I had an amazing lunch at ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My client and I had an amazing lunch at Rosso. Josh is amazing and made us feel right at home. Will come back again and again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous setting. Staff was fantastic. A ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Gorgeous setting. Staff was fantastic. And the food was wonderful. We were there early on a Sun evening(5:30) so we were virtually the only diners there for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food incredible desserts excelle ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing food incredible desserts excellent wine selection this is a must go to restaurant. Can't wait to return the very near future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Moms 70th bday. Beautiful! She loved it! ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Moms 70th bday. Beautiful! She loved it! Good service and good food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had eaten at Rosso several times befor ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

I had eaten at Rosso several times before, and was always pleased with the restaurant. However, this dinner was by far the best. We had an outstanding experience with an extraordinary waiter as well as fabulous food and wine. I had my college roommate visiting me, and she was wowed. I'll definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Thanksgiving evening here. ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving evening here....very nice ambiance as usual. We did like the menu better before the most recent change to a French flair, (miss the Drunken Meatballs) but food was still good. Service was very slow though and we sat a long time waiting to order even drinks...but the (manager?) stepped up, noticed we hadn't been served, and comped us our first round of drinks and our dessert. So we left happy, as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic meal and great service. Highl ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic meal and great service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every employee that we encountered was l ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Every employee that we encountered was less than excited to take care of us. Just felt like - 'oh, you're here , ok, guess I'll take care of you'

The menu was odd. And the food was underwhelming. My salad was warm and a little droopy. My husband had the Caesar salad - which was bland and disappointing. I won't go through each item - but we spent $222 for the two of us. So you'd expect a little Wow. But it never happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent Special of the Day when we wer ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent Special of the Day when we were there Friday......Steak was perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list was among the most extensive I ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wine list was among the most extensive I've seen. Upscale, intimate, modern, amazing menu. Well worth the extra cost.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at the restaurant and we ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our first time at the restaurant and we loved everything about the experience !

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I recently dined at Rosso fo ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at Rosso for our anniversary. We had a fantastic view of brush creek and were treated to a fantastic meal with excellent wine. I had the ribeye and she, the fried chicken special. Both were amazing. In addition to the entire staff, our server, Justin, was perfectly attentive and helpful regarding pairing options. We will most certainly dine at Rosso again very soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was excellent, the amb ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

The tasting menu was excellent, the ambiance wonderful, the service outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary date... Super cool atmospher ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Anniversary date... Super cool atmosphere. Our server Steven was wonderful, and both the Scallops, and the Beef Bourguignon were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with some friends for our annive ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went with some friends for our anniversary . The food was not good and the desserts were comped because they were so aweful. It has an amazing atmosphere to bad the food doesn't go along with it. To many other restaurants with good food on the plaza. Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Great view. Ambiance superb. Service w ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great view. Ambiance superb. Service was so-so. One person delivered the cheese plate but didn't know the cheeses that were being served. Another person spilled a drink on our table. The same person passed our table when I ordered a drink....I had to flag her back to the table. The scallops had an odd aftertaste. The presentation of the ribeye was....different. The chef cut out the middle of the steak??? Waitress said it was to maximize the cut of the steak by only giving you the "best pieces" of the ribeye, but why make the customer pay almost 50 bucks if you're not going to give us the entire steak? Finally, the waitress insisted on clearing our plates when we clearly weren't done - we just wasn't rushing through our dinner. For a pricey meal, it was meh. It was a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

We were there October 1st for our 21st w ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were there October 1st for our 21st wedding anniversary. The ambiance and food were wonderful. We were seated quickly and our waiter was excellent, very attentive and knowledgeable. The only downside to our experience was the two rude young men seated next to us who stayed in conversation ON THEIR SPEAKERPHONE! With a woman the ENTIRE time we were there. Over an hour! This was clearly ok with the restaurant staff, as the chef himself arrived and greeted the men, and the woman on the phone. (We could obviously hear every word, whether we wanted to or not). I'm not sure if they were reviewing the food or what, but it was exasperating for us, and completely ruined our evening at Rosso. I'm certain this was an isolated experience, but to be certain, should NEVER be allowed. We noticed another table of guests seated nearby also clearly bothered by the loud speakerphone conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For an upscale restaurant it was too lou ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

For an upscale restaurant it was too loud. I thought it was a bit overpriced. It was good but overpriced. We liked our waiter.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great flatbread! Joshua is an awesome s ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great flatbread! Joshua is an awesome server. Went beyond normal expectations. Will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great reception by the host, fantastic s ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great reception by the host, fantastic server with a smile and knowledgeable on the menu, prompt, very welcoming. The ambiance is modern and really comfortable. I would go back at my next visit. Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about Rosso was amazing from ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Everything about Rosso was amazing from the decor to the wine list the wait staff and the charcuterie tray (which is one of the best I've ever had).

Five of us dined for $400 including tip. Not a place you want to go if you are on a budget. However; for those more budget conscience, the bar and happy hour would be a nice treat and not break the bank.

Rosso is located on the 7th floor and the view of Ward parkway from their floor to ceiling windows is really beautiful. This is an excellent spot for special occasions or just showing off KC to friends.

This restaurant got it right and I'll be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love to get a window table and enjoy ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love to get a window table and enjoy the view. Classy atmosphere and great service. Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal and evening.

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a lovely meal and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a great surprise. I wondered if the ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

What a great surprise. I wondered if the view from the 7th floor restaurant would be as good as the food. The extensive wine list was above my fine wine budget. There was a good selection of wine by the glass which I choose.

So now for the good stuff. I was going for a house salad but instead chose the special Caprese salad with local heirloom tomatoes. I rate it a ten. Next I choose two small plates. The calamari fries were just the right spicy, not over fried and the sauce delicious. Then I had the crab cake on spinach. I know ordering seafood in a landlocked state should be done with caution, but not here. The crab cake was full of crab meat and not filler. It was a ten, oh I forgot the served warm bread with room temperature butter that was lightly salted. Yes yes yes. I was not going to have dessert until the told about the home made sorbet and gelato. I went for for the chocolate gelato.

Overall the food, service, and view were a ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The flatbread pizza was good !

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The flatbread pizza was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Rosso was outstanding! All ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food at Rosso was outstanding! All of us selected something different from the menu and everyone was happy with their meal. The chocolate flourless cake and house made gelato were to die for! We will definitely go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first trip to Rosso. T ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was not our first trip to Rosso. This restaurant has a limited menu, that includes some nicely thought-out recipes. After we ordered, our server reported that one of the entrées was not going to be available that night. By the time we were able to select a different entrée, there was much delay. When the two entrées came out, the beef tenderloin was beyond well done but had been ordered medium rare. Obviously the beef tenderloin had been sitting around overcooking while a substitute entrée was being prepared. Why would a sous chef or a server not recognize this problem before bringing out the shoe leather steak. Many apologies and then we sat around even longer while our food was recooked. A nice atmosphere and a great prospect for fine dining, but serious, basic execution problems on a night when the place wasn't that full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our second visit to Rosso's. We ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Rosso's. We thought the first time was terrific but, this visit was even better. Our reservations were early in the evening so the restaurant was very quiet. It quickly filled but still remained quite intimate and comfortable.

The food was excellent and perfectly prepared. Nothing was over-seasoned or unnecessarily over-presented. Certainly not simple but, obviously the chef is comfortable letting the food speak for itself instead of trying to dress it up too much.

Definitely ask for one of the curved couches. The very best way to get close to the one your with and make it a very romantic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great table that offered a fant ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a great table that offered a fantastic view to the southwest. Our server was excellent and very accommodating to our needs.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Although the food was good the service l ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Although the food was good the service left a lot to be desired. Ordered an excellent bottle of wine and after the first pour we were forgotten. I had to go to another table where our bottle was left and pour the rest for your party. Service would have made this place special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food and outstanding view of the ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome food and outstanding view of the Plaza - tenderloin was great and crab cakes very tasty

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

gorgeous view - delicious contemporary t ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

gorgeous view - delicious contemporary take on Italian.

very comfortable dining room with a spectacular view of the Plaza and Sunset Hill.

the food is as delicious as it is beautiful.

one of the best values in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in KC and ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in KC and love to go there. The atmosphere is great and the view is amazing. We enjoyed our dinner and wine. They came around the perfect amount to fill water. The staff seemed interested in our happiness. One minor complaint is that they do not need so many people to ask how we liked the food. We don't need interrupted at this place as we love the food, so that is a too much for three separate people to stop in on us. We have found the cook to be wonderful various visits and will return. We love the round seating and cozy but modern space. The colors and decor are comfortable and have a good vibe for all. I especially like the floor length windows for the view and just realized this time they have a pool side area for the bar / lounge. They did have a large crowd in the bar, which was very festive and perhaps too loud for my liking so close to our table. Next time I will request a seat farther in. The best part of our dinner was being with my husband of over 22 years at a place that is close to home and a sure thing!! He is amazing to me and seems to like it here too even though I think a bar with a sports game on tv would be his all-time favorite place to go. We will come again and Thank Rosso for bringing us a new favorite. They consistently make our special dates, which can be too few and far between sometimes, very memorable and elegantly tasty. We also love the underground parking for Rosso and free validation as parking at the Plaza can be hard to find. I hope to stay at the Hotel Sorello sometime in the future for an even more fun experience. Maybe for our anniversary 7/30? That might be even more fun than just dinner. Either way, we will come again and eat and drink at Rosso for sure. Thanks for making our visit delicious, our time together special and the night a better night than when we came. It takes a lot to impress me, so I hope this review shares enough to show how much I love Rosso.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here on a Friday night for an ear ...

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We ate here on a Friday night for an early anniversary celebration. Everyone with whom we came in contact was very welcoming and professional. Service was excellent. Their salads are delicious and well-presented. My companion had the scallops and i had the monkfish and we each enjoyed our dish very much. We had a complimentary dessert because of our anniversary and it was an assortment of small tastes. Very good. We enjoy the urban view from the dining area. Parking is either valet or in an attached garage and is pretty easy - as long as you know where you are going. It was a very nice evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

could be better

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

While the view, ambiance, service were very good, the food did not knock my socks off

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dined on a quiet Memorial Day evening

 
·Dined on May 30, 2016

A non-busy night for Rosso but excellent treat. View is great, waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, and food preparation and taste were excellent. The chef does an outstanding job in both appearance and then taste to back up his work. Booths are very comfortable and lends themselves to easy conversation with your party, not to mention the great view. Do not miss the flour-less dessert

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service Very Romantic Atmosphere

 
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We had the place to ourselves in the restaurant, was late to our reservations but they still welcomed us, its just a chill spot, not kid friendly but defiantly date worthy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Hidden Gem

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a delightful evening, with a wonderful view and superior service. There had been an extra sardine appetizer prepared so the waiter brought it to us, gratis. Smoked sardines with a garlic-butter endive root garnish. It was like small smoked trout and delicious. I had the Bibb salad and it was garnished with the best cranberries I have ever had in a salad. We were told they are blanched in balsamic vinegar and Merlot. My wife had the Beet salad and she said it was marvelous.

We went light on the entrees but were not disappointed. Scallops with Risotto and Crab cakes had excellent garnish and sauces.

The Chocolate Dome desert was exceptionally decadent and it was beautiful! We had to take a picture, and the fruit with it was seemingly just picked.

Overall, great service, awesome ambiance and sensational food. We will be back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A splendid evening and dining experience ...

 
·Dined on May 23, 2016

A splendid evening and dining experience! Great food and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.