Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

JJ's RestaurantJJ's Restaurant
(233)
$$$$
American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 7 times today
Gram & DunGram & Dun
(2130)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 45 times today
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas CityCooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Kansas City
(1755)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Booked 23 times today
The Capital Grille - Kansas CityThe Capital Grille - Kansas City
(1927)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 10 times today
Eddie V's - Kansas CityEddie V's - Kansas City
(325)
$$$$
Seafood | Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Booked 18 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - Kansas City - Country Club PlazaBRIO Tuscan Grille - Kansas City - Country Club Plaza
(587)
$$$$
Italian | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 13 times today
The Melting Pot - Kansas CityThe Melting Pot - Kansas City
(2786)
$$$$
Fondue | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 18 times today
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Kansas CityMcCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Kansas City
(4492)
$$$$
Seafood | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 32 times today
Seasons 52 - Kansas CitySeasons 52 - Kansas City
(2852)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 8 times today
Plaza III, The Steakhouse - Kansas CityPlaza III, The Steakhouse - Kansas City
(1843)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 6 times today
Kona Grill - Kansas CityKona Grill - Kansas City
(851)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 10 times today
Zocalo Mexican Cuisine & TequileriaZocalo Mexican Cuisine & Tequileria
(578)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 7 times today
The OliverThe Oliver
(341)
$$$$
American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 8 times today
Chaz on the PlazaChaz on the Plaza
(1531)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Plaza / Brookside, Kansas City, MO
Booked 3 times today
Buca di Beppo - Kansas CityBuca di Beppo - Kansas City
(1280)
$$$$
Italian | Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
Booked 7 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About 901 West

A relaxed restaurant and bar with an elegant feel. We offer modern Mediterranean-influenced cuisine incorporating innovative techniques and flavor, set atop beautiful Fontaine Hotel, a refined, urban boutique hotel adjacent to the Country Club Plaza. Our wine list is one of the most comprehensive in the city with all selections carefully chosen by our sommelier to enhance your experience with us. The views of Sunset Hill and Ward Parkway from the rooftop dining room and bar is unmatched in Kansas City.

901 W. 48th Place
Kansas City, MO 64112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Open for Lunch and Dinner (dinner hours as follow)

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Roanoke Pkwy & W 48th Place

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 437-8420

Entertainment:
Solo guitarist, Jayson Kayne, plays Tuesday nights in Bar from 4pm to 7pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet - Enter ONE-WAY off of Roanoke

Executive Chef:
Charles d'Abaling

Private Party Facilities:
Fontaine Hotel Country Club Plaza offers 4,000 square feet of Banquet space for any occasion.

Restaurant offers dining and drinking space, in two semi-private dinning areas or alongside our large poolside terrace for al fresco occasions. With a full bar and tantalizing menu, this is the chic destination for any event or occasion.

Enjoy great celebrations, networking or just gathering with good friends for a cocktail and an exceptional meal at our Restaurant and Bar in Country Club Plaza.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Borghardt: (816) 437-8426

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 8:00PM - 10:00PM

901 West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fireplace (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were very impressed with the wine selection, and the food was outstanding. I highly recommend the beet salad, the calamari, and the Seabass was great as well. Make sure and ask about their specials. The atmosphere was posh but it wasn't overly expensive .

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Tapas, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Really enjoyed our anniversary dinner, food was amazing! Only disappointment was the absence of creme brûlée on the dessert menu. Will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Incredible as always. They somehow knew what my preferred drink was even and asked if I would be have it. Highly recommend this place for a date or an evening with a special someone.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had high hopes for an amazing Easter brunch, but this restaurant did not deliver. I called ahead and the restaurant said the cost was $30pp only to find out when we got the bill it was $40pp. The food was very disappointing. My kids are not picky eaters, but they had a hard time finding some food they liked. The brunch was very light on breakfast food (omelet and yogurt) and very heavy on seafood. It was all a little too fancy for a traditional Sunday brunch. I did call ahead for a menu, but never got a response. Service was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Beautiful views of the city & romantic modern atmosphere. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding rooftop restaurant with fabulous food, great service and beautiful contemporary decor. This restaurant is somewhat out of the way because it is on the rooftop of The Hotel Sorella but it is definitely in a class of its own and will not disappoint. I highly recommend it and will make it a point to dine again at the Rosso the next time I'm in Kansas City.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The waitress Britney was awesome! She bought my dessert and was very relaxed and polite.
The overhead music was nice. I really enjoyed myself.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Chanel was absolutely amazing. Would return simply for her service. The food was amazing. Atmosphere was great. We first tried to sit inside but there was a fireplace going that made the dining room extremely hot since it was in the 70's outside. Chanel happily moved us outside to the deck/pool area which was not even part of her section. If you go, be sure to request her. Probably the best service I've had in over a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were seated next to an open area where a party was held. It was very loud and distracting. I will ask for a different table the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was very impressed with Bar Rosso, living in Kansas City this is one of the few places I never had tried. Was the perfect weather to sit outside next to the pool overlooking the the South west corner of the plaza.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A little hard to get to but well worth the trail there. Hostess was very friendly and set us where we asked for. We got more than we bargained for. A very nice round booth with the Plaza out the window and very nice fireplace behind us. The service was excellent as well as the food. We tried the apple crust for dessert that had little taste but the waiter exchanged it without even thinking about it to the Carmel cheesecake that was a knock out. This place is a well kept secret and I would recommend making a reservation. We will be back. Great job!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. This offered a good experience of the kitchen's range and everything was well prepared. The wines that are listed with this menu online were said to be not available so our waiter made selections from current stock. These proved to be good matches but not as exotic as those listed online. Still a good value and an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is an incredible experience and certainly worth the visit. The food is expertly prepared and delicious. The atmosphere and environment is the best in K.C. The bar is one of the coolest bars in the entire Plaza area. Don't miss this great restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Executive chef delightful. Food magnificent. Best meal we've had in a decade!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was a fun place for lunch! However, the service was poor. The waitresses were nice, but they seemed under staffed. The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't amazing either. I would definitely go back. I think it would be a cool place for drinks before dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service was excellent, our server even "gifted" us a crab cake, which was delicious. The decor and ambiance are very nice , especially the fireplace. I was disappointed with the dessert of creme brulee, it was a little dry, overdone tasting, not as creamy as it should have been.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for restaurant week and were pleasantly surprised! Beautiful restaurant with great view. The food was amazing! Will go back for sure!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a great meal. Great service. Celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary. Glad we came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great restaurant week find. Relaxed with very attentive but private dining experience with a wonder decor and view. Scallops were seared to perfection to wonderful tenderness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration and Restaurant Week. The view was amazing and overlooked the Plaza. The decor is very modern and great for a special occasion. We ordered the she crab soup, very tasty, with lots of crab in it. We also ordered scallops, very fresh and the vegetables were well seasoned. For dessert we had the salted caramel cheesecake which was very tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was terrific and considerate for our foursome. Food and wine equally wonderful

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My wife and I have been wanting to eat at Rosso since it open a couple of years ago and this year, during Restaurant Week, ended up being a great opportunity. Anxious to get back here to try their full menu, especially as the sun is setting on the Plaza.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My husband and I were there for restaurant week lunch. It appeared that service was by host and hostess and were not able to serve the number of guest that were there. The menu showed
barbeque chicken which I ordered and it came as a barbeque chicken pizza. It was NOT listed as a pizza on the menu. I sent it back and got scallops. The table next to us got a dessert menu and we did not just the check. So, will not go back and will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was very enjoyable, food, our server, Brittany. We were celebrating a birthday - perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The atmosphere was spectacular and in a city known for its excellence in steaks, their beef tenderloin is second to none. I was also impressed with the potato croquette and the caesar salad that came with a parmesan encrusted poached egg.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have dined at Rosso several times and have always enjoyed the experience. They have an incredible wine selection and are very helpful in selecting something new if you're wanting to try something different. Visited during restaurant week and food was perfect. Our waiter Justin was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We visited during Restaurant Week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Service was right on and our meals could not have been better. I highly recommend Rosso and I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent wait staff - very helpful with both drink selection and menu choices

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ok, I'm a pretty understanding consumer about the demands placed on establishments on New Year's Eve ......But, when the lack of full tables is present, I question the inability of the operation to meet basic service requirements....
Here are the basic facts please feel free to determine your own opinion
1.Had to request water 3 different times from 3 different people.
2.Had to go to prep area myself to get salt and pepper.
3.Had to request silverware twice then finally went to prep area myself and got it.
4.Warmth of entree at delivery was acceptable but sides were cold .
5.Last but not least when leaving the restaurant and while driving away saw waiter 7 floors downstairs standing outside smoking.
You judge, but my decision has been made that when the basics of service are not met, it's a telling sign the management is severely disengaged in the operation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I booked Rosso for a New Years Eve dinner, our waitress was very nice. The place has a great atmosphere but was loud and the service was slow. Cocktail glasses sat empty on our table and in ordering another the delivery took about 7-10 mins. The cheese board had 4 cheeses for $18. The calamari was quite salty. I don't mind paying high prices for fine dining, but I don't consider this worth it. I was very disappointed in my visit and wished I would have booked elsewhere for New Years Eve.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was very good. Appetizers and desert excellent. Entrees were ok, could have been seasoned more. Would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Caesar salad was terrific! Food was very good. Service was very slow and cocktails are teeny tiny at $12 each. The view is spectacular you just can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lisa was so nice and attentive. When we made our reservation we asked for our favorite table and it was ready when we arrived. Chef came by before dinner and answered all our questions we had about items on the menu and made some very tasty recommendations. Never rushed and as always everything was delicious. This is our favorite Resturant on the plaza!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the ambiance and decor. Great place to treat family or friends for a special dinner. We loved our server Josh! He was fun, informative, very professional and all that you could hope for in a server to make your evening special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great spot on the west Plaza. Bar area can be really loud but the dining room has some great views. Wait staff friendly and "pretty." Would recommend the food highly. Loved the Caesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Loved it! Great place for a special occaaion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our group of five (three adults, two young people ages 8 and 12) had reservations for the early seating after the Nutcracker performance at the Kauffman Center. We were early and enjoyed drinks in front of the fireplace (including two special mocktails for the junior members of our party concocted based on what fruits they said they liked, which were both elegant and delicious according to both young ladies. The service was excellent and the warmth and ambiance of the glass fireplace and comfortable chairs were just what we needed on a very cold stormy winter evening. The dinner that followed was an event in itself. Our waiter was among the best I've had anywhere (I have eaten at enough 5-star restaurants to have a sense of what is merely good and what is above and beyond) and the food was fantastic. One of us took our waiter's recommendation for the seasonal main dish and it was simply lovely, we each tried something different for all the courses and shared tastes--including the elegant, delicious desserts. The girls were fascinated with all of it, this being their first time in a restaurant like this where the dining experience itself is an event. Our experience at the Rosso at Hotel Sorella was the perfect cap to a wonderful experience for all of us. I would definitely return for another special event and have already recommended it to my friends, as well.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food was amazing and the portions large. The view was wonderful. I look forward to visiting again when there is snow, for that would be even more beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Rosso provided an outstanding meal and experience to celebrate my wife's birthday. We opted for the tasting menu, and each plate was delicious. Our service was professional and friendly, and the view through the wall of windows made for a great backdrop. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

My client and I had an amazing lunch at Rosso. Josh is amazing and made us feel right at home. Will come back again and again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.