About Ross' Grill

237 Commercial Street
Provincetown, MA 02657
View Larger Map

Ross’ Grill is Provincetown’s most talked about dining experience. Located on the second floor of Whaler"s Wharf, just steps from Commercial Street, Ross’ Grill offers breathtaking harbor views with a European bistro atmosphere. Our guests enjoy an intimate, inviting, and first-class dining experience. It’s no surprise that Ross’ Grill was rated “excellent” by Zagat’s Dining Guide. With over 75 different wines served by the glass, guests can enjoy a wine that suits the palate as well as compliments their menu selection. Ross’ Grill also has a full liquor license with a variety of signature cocktails. Elevator access to second floor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Monday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 487-8878

Website:
http://www.rossgrillptown.com/

Parking Details:
Just minutes from McMillan parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Omar Neil

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties and weddings.

Private Party Contact:
César Gerena: 5084878878x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ross' Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Food
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
3 More
Scenic View
Cape Cod and the Islands
American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Most Booked
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Provincetown ›

Waterfront (31)
Scenic View (30)
Bar Seating (24)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ross' Grill is easily the finest place t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Ross' Grill is easily the finest place to eat in Provincetown. It is small, so be sure to book in advance. Great food. Strong cocktails. Amazing wine list. Friendly, professional staff. You can't go wrong.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is charming and the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant is charming and the food was all delicious - appetizer to dessert. We had the braised beef ribs and seafood stew, which we both highly recommend. If you have room for dessert, try the Key Lime Pie Cheesecake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, wonderful ambiance, fantasti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, wonderful ambiance, fantastic service (Catherine!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After all these years--predictably good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

After all these years--predictably good and forever fun.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again, we had a delicious meal with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Once again, we had a delicious meal with friends at Ross' Grill. The cocktails were well-made and the wine list was bountiful. The butternut squash soup was a delectable start to our meal, not too sweet and perfectly spiced. The cod over spinach and white beans was a generous serving of flaky white fish over tender white beans and well seasoned spinach. The Asian inspired tuna was beautifully seared to a medium rare accompanied by jasmine rice, seaweed salad and ginger. Shared desserts of banana bread pudding and flourless chocolate cake were big hits. The service was friendly, knowledgable, and patient with our lively group. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Provincetown.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is amazing and our waitress was fan ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food is amazing and our waitress was fantastic. Very pleasant environment. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never a bad choice, make reservations ea ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Never a bad choice, make reservations early as they book up fast! Food is always perfect. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Highly recommend to check it out, again and again you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as usual. The food was delici ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent as usual. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was wonderful. Always a pleasure when I head to Ptown and have lunch or dinner here....

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was delicious. I've eaten there ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was delicious. I've eaten there several times and it keeps getting better and better.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 50th birthday. The restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was my 50th birthday. The restaurant was perfect: The atmosphere was elegant, Great view of the Provincetown Harbor, excellent service, great drinks and appetizers, and my salmon meal was delicious! I will definitely be going back to Ross's grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply not great food quality. Lunchtime ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Simply not great food quality. Lunchtime or dinner - sometimes it's good, sometimes fair. But consistently, the quality of the food is not up to standards.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Seafoodstew was amazing. Excellent and s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Seafoodstew was amazing. Excellent and special place. Paella is more rosotto like. Everything is good. Catherine is lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner with three couples. The wait ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had dinner with three couples. The waiter seemed like he didn't want to be there. Took our order and told us the specials from the far end of the table. Several times we had to ask him to come to our side of the table because we could not hear him over the noise and did want to yell across the table. He seemed annoyed anytime was asked for the smallest thing. Food was mediocre at best. We would not go out of our way to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Visited Ross' Grill on Saturday Eve, 10/ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Visited Ross' Grill on Saturday Eve, 10/22/16. Our group of 4 met a friend for drinks at the bar and then we moved to our table for dinner. Ambiance is wonderful. Dark features but really cozy and warm. Beautiful ocean water view. Being on the top level at the location (Whaler's Wharf), the ocean scenery is wonderful. Service was decent, bartender is fantastic, the waiter/service person was just "ok" (his personality was business like, not overly friendly, but he was doing his job and serving us). The food was outstanding. Gluten Free options available but you have to mention it to the staff. It's on the expensive side.........but well worth it! This is about our tenth visit to the Ross' Grill and there will be many more. It's become on of our favorite restaurants in P-Town.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Cozy, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We arrived 30 minutes early for our rese ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We arrived 30 minutes early for our reservation. We were told that our table was not available, but another was and we were seated immediately.

The French onion soup came highly recommended. It certainly did NOT disappoint! It could have been appetizer, dinner AND dessert...absolutely divine.

The soup d'jour was a mushroom bisque and was excellent, as well.

Our entrée choices were seafood paella and the glazed salmon. Both were expertly prepared.

The waitstaff was professional and attentive, but not hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The half duck with plum sauce on the Spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The half duck with plum sauce on the Specials menu was a tiny bit dry, but the paella was well done, as usual. One person in our party also enjoyed the seafood stew, which was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ross' Grill was recommended by a friend. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Ross' Grill was recommended by a friend. Staff was very attentive, my seafood risotto was creamy and amazing. My partner raved about her short ribs as the best she's ever had. Relaxing, romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Ross' Grill is reliably deli ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The food at Ross' Grill is reliably delicious and the cozy dining room has a beautiful view of the Provincetown pier and the water. A little pricey, but great for a special night out!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only criticism is that they did not hono ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Only criticism is that they did not honor our special request to be sat at the bar, but it was very popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was phenomenal. Service was quick, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Service was quick, friendly, and professional. Hostess was very warm and inviting. View was great. We came to this restaurant after scanning a few reviews. Very glad we chose this. Try the T-bone! So tender you don't even need a knife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going for years as it's consi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We've been going for years as it's consistently high quality, good service and the owner/bartender is a really great guy. In season it can be crazy--but in a good way. Lots of energy and good feeling, you share in the experience that people are happy to be there.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great dinner at Ross's. As alwa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We had a great dinner at Ross's. As always everyone is friendly and the service is fantastic. The risotto was out of this world and the venison special was great too. Nice wine list and good desserts. All in all an excellent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ross's grill is s very nice restaurant. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Ross's grill is s very nice restaurant. It is moderately expensive ,but the service is very good, the meals are delicious and it is quiet enough to enjoy a nice conversation. Definitely worth a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is outstanding. Had Clam Chowde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food is outstanding. Had Clam Chowder (fantastic) and for dinner Lobster/Shrimp/Scallop Risotto and Beef Short Ribs. Both meals were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view! Great Food! We love the chic ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great view! Great Food! We love the chicken pistachio pate appetizer. Three friends enjoyed the grilled salmon, scallops and the seafood risotto was wonderful. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Provincetown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was top notch. French onion soup wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was top notch. French onion soup was the best ever. Service was great. Will go back again for sure

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ross's has always been a must go to rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ross's has always been a must go to restaurant in P-Town, always great.

This time it was good, not great.

Service was ok but slow, not attentive, Not the usual at all.

We will be back and hope for the standard Ross which should be great, it always has been for us.

This was an off night

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Friendly and attentive wait staff, very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Friendly and attentive wait staff, very good food nicely presented, great waterfront location, lively place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a late seating and it was perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a late seating and it was perfect. No crowd, good view excellent service and amazing food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic, People Watching, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top places in Ptown. You can' ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2016

One of the top places in Ptown. You can't beat the view or the balcony. Best wine list in town. And some of the best service/people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently excellent food served by a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Consistently excellent food served by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. What more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay, overpriced, location is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was okay, overpriced, location is beautiful and the views gorgeous. Would not go back because of the cost, but it was a nice place for a very special occasion and if you don't mind a noisy venue.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent! Not pressured to eat quickly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent! Not pressured to eat quickly, very relaxed. Invisible, extraordinary service. Food (filet mignon, stuffed with crabmeat, asparagus, and potato) was perfectly prepared and presented. Very romantic setting with amazing harbour view. Bravo, Ross's Grille!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Disabled Access, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. We thought it was a litt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was great. We thought it was a little over priced. Nice deck, would like to see a few tables out there instead of couches. Would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The pork chop was fantastic!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The pork chop was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the Ross' Grill and whenever we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We love the Ross' Grill and whenever we are in P'town we have to go.

The ambience is relaxed with subtle lighting, and we especially enjoy dining at the bar. Caesar the owner is a charming and knowledgeable host, his choice of wines are superb and cocktail craftsmanship is one of the best in town. The French onion soup is worth travelling from the UK for alone, but the fillet mignon with mushroom demi-glaze is like nothing I've every tasted, so tender and mouthwatering that I am salivating just thinking about it. The steak is accompanied by a stack of the lightest and most delicious potatoes dauphinois and perfectly grilled asparagus. It is simple combination but is just heaven on a plate.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant on the planet!! Food is ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Best restaurant on the planet!! Food is amazing and the service is fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I showed up solo and was warmly welcomed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I showed up solo and was warmly welcomed and seated at the bar. I was attended to quickly. No noticeable disapproval when all I asked for was water to start. I ordered the lamb sliders - my first bite was a gastronomic O. The lamb was tender and extremely tasty, with just the right spice and heat to make my mouth tingle, complemented by cooling elements (minty yogurt, sweet red onion) on luscious fresh brioche. I left a very happy customer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Over rated. Average food. Noisy. Would ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Over rated. Average food. Noisy.

Would maybe return or recommend for a quick lunch but not with the expectation of a great meal. The view is the draw. Stick to simple " bar food". Wouldn't order a pricey item here. Just not worth it The bathroom alone ( filthy. Clearly not maintained ) is enough to keep me away

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

A must stop when in Ptown. Beautiful vie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

A must stop when in Ptown. Beautiful view to enjoy while having a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.