About Ross' Grill

237 Commercial Street
Provincetown, MA 02657
View Larger Map

Ross’ Grill is Provincetown’s most talked about dining experience. Located on the second floor of Whaler"s Wharf, just steps from Commercial Street, Ross’ Grill offers breathtaking harbor views with a European bistro atmosphere. Our guests enjoy an intimate, inviting, and first-class dining experience. It’s no surprise that Ross’ Grill was rated “excellent” by Zagat’s Dining Guide. With over 75 different wines served by the glass, guests can enjoy a wine that suits the palate as well as compliments their menu selection. Ross’ Grill also has a full liquor license with a variety of signature cocktails. Elevator access to second floor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Monday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 487-8878

Website:
http://www.rossgrillptown.com/

Parking Details:
Just minutes from McMillan parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Omar Neil

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties and weddings.

Private Party Contact:
César Gerena: 5084878878x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Ross' Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Food
Cape Cod and the Islands
6 More
Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Ambiance
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Value
Cape Cod and the Islands
Scenic View
Cape Cod and the Islands
American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Most Booked
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Provincetown ›

scenic view (42)
fit for foodies (36)
special occasion (32)
See All
romantic (21)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for lunch (13)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cowboy ribeye special was phenomenal as ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cowboy ribeye special was phenomenal as was the seafood stew. The onion soup was the best I've had anywhere (sorry Capital Grill). Our waiter was friendly and full of good recommendations. We usually come here once or twice a year. Also save room for the peanut butter pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It didn't hurt that it was a beautiful e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

It didn't hurt that it was a beautiful evening and the view can't be beat, but the staff made it a lovely night with perfect service and great food. Thank you! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ross Grill is a very good place for dini ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ross Grill is a very good place for dining and drinking. the porch overlooking the bay is especially desirable.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In a resort town one often gets mediocre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

In a resort town one often gets mediocre food passed off as gourmet...not so here. We were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent preparation of the appetizers (soft shell crab - done to perfection) and the seafood entrees. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and knew which of two wines was drinking better. (We had a chance to find out as we drank the other bottle the next night at a different restaurant.) He was right on the money! The view added to our experience and our waiter was friendly without crossing the line of professionalism.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ross' is our favorite restaurant in P-to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ross' is our favorite restaurant in P-town. We try to go there several times during our week-long, annual visit. Everything is tops and the owner and his staff are just terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at Ross' Grill is always one of t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eating at Ross' Grill is always one of the highlights of my many trips to Provincetown. Caesar always makes you feel like you are a special guest. The hand selected wines, the outstanding menu and professional service are all enhanced by the spectacular view of the harbor. It's the whole package!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and server were outstanding -- ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and server were outstanding -- the view was incredible -- but that is pretty much where it stopped.

I made the reservation prior to even arriving in Ptown, making sure we were going to have a GREAT final meal in town. I researched and menu-shopped, and found the perfect place! I arrived in Ptown, and told everyone of our find. After a week of waiting, we arrived.

My first issue is that though we made reservations days in advance, we were not treated any more special than anyone else. We were given a crammed table, under a fan that didn't work. Though, I saw other folks walk up WITHOUT reservations, and they were seated in water-front seats. May I suggest: if someone takes the time to COMMIT to your restaurant prior to even arriving in your town, you would at least give them a LITTLE bit of respect in actually reserving a decent table.

My second issue -- the heat! There is no AC! It was 90F INSIDE the restaurant, since the restaurant is very poorly ventilated. I had to go to the rest room multiple times ONLY to dry off, since it was so hot and sticky. And, again, the ONLY source of relief available was a ceiling fan -- but it was broken, stuck on the low setting. So, while I was watching other folks walk in, sit at the water-front, window seats, all having fans that are on high speed -- we, were treated like 2nd class, stuck in the middle of a cramped room, with ZERO air.

It was absolutely miserable! If you are going to be open during the summer, you should either post that you have NO AC on your website -- so that people can actually dress appropriately and not wear coats and ties, slacks; OR, better yet, with the $250 bill we (over) paid, you should consider fixing the ceiling fans, or maybe even buying an AC.

Either way, the food was incredible, and our server was great -- but sweating in my food, while sweat was running down my arms, while I even felt faint for a bit -- due to the heat -- this place will never again be on my list of places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

The food did not match the great setting ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food did not match the great setting overlooking the water. I had the grilled romaine which was more like wilted romaine and topped with a dressing that tasted like bottled. For an entree, I had the Tuscan Kale. It was extremely salty, served on top of spinach and mashed potato, and everything was sitting in some kind of salty broth. My dining partner ordered the gazpacho, which he said was the worst he ever had. For his entree, he had the paella, which turned out to be oily and salty rice with some seafood. Definitely not worth the high prices to enjoy a view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Never disappoints. This is my favorite ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Never disappoints. This is my favorite restaurant in Provincetown - best French Onion Soup in the WORLD...hands down. Be sure to make a reservation as it can be hard to get in during the summer season.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation a week in advance on op ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Made reservation a week in advance on open table. Called Ross's grill on day of reservation to change my 9:30 PM reservation to earlier time. Could only get 9:15 new time but when we arrived at 9PM, the restaurant was almost empty. Think I would have done better without a reservation.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

One of the best meals I've enjoyed in so ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best meals I've enjoyed in some time. Everything was perfect. Of special note was the blueberry peach pie...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our most favorite restaurant in Province ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our most favorite restaurant in Provincetown!! The food is outstanding, the staff is friendly and we are never disappointed!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, professional bartenders, ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great food, professional bartenders, servers. Cesar, the owner, runs a great place. Small, but not crowded. Great view of PTown harbor. Not cheap, but worth every dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent waitperson, Kathy, s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had an excellent waitperson, Kathy, she was attentive without being intrusive. Very knowledgeable about the food. The escargot was off the hook, garlicky and delicious. The grilled romaine with bacon and blue cheese, yummy. I had the seafood risotto, so creamy and delicious. The pork chop was exceptional. I would definitely put this on my must list for Provincetown.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view ever. Better before dark

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best view ever. Better before dark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant on Cape Cod! Never disap ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best restaurant on Cape Cod! Never disappoints. Food is fabulous, service is wonderful and the view spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soft shell crabs are to die for. Great s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Soft shell crabs are to die for. Great service excellent wine

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of my favorite spots in P T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was one of my favorite spots in P Town but now has a new owner and chef.

The small portion of mussels had an off taste and the stock was not reduced at all and had no taste. The seafood risotto was just OK. The tuna entree was a poor grade of tuna but was just OK. We didn't want to waste our money on a dessert after sampling the above.

Ross' s Bistro we will miss you. For $140.00 we can do a lot better in P Town.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our handful of favorite P'town re ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

One of our handful of favorite P'town restaurants. Creative menu and preparation - always properly seasoned, i.e., not overdone like so many restaurants these days. Excellent chowder, great risotto, perfect soft-shell crabs (special), nice halibut.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It seems to have gone a bit down hill. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

It seems to have gone a bit down hill. The tables were sticky. The filet had a thick brown gravy glaze that over powered the meat. The seafood stew had such a tiny amount of seafood. And what was in it was small. I get bigger mussels in RI. I had expected more by the water. We've always gone here when we visit PTown. Next time I'll skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

While I could have had the brussel sprou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

While I could have had the brussel sprouts at The Canteen for the forth time in four days (they were life changing), we decided to branch out to check out Ross' Grill. While I initially intended to dine with a friend, we had three more coming along. I conveyed this addition to the maitre d in person. As the restaurant was booked solid that night, I requested that she try to accommodate all five of us. When we got there, I politely inquired about the feasibility to sit us at a larger table. This was not plausible. No matter - we took a table that sat four - leaving one of us in the corner. However, as our meal proceeded, a table for six opened up. I acted on this vacancy and expressed our intent to move to our waiter. I'm guessing that the maitre d heard about the situation and came over.

She said, in a somewhat snarky tone, "I'm see you got your way in the end".

This, I felt, was extremely uncalled for as we had been nothing but nice throughout the evening. I had not demanded that she accommodate my last minute addition.

While the service was alright, and the food generous and hearty, make note that the unpleasant experience with the maitre d left a sour taste in my mouth. As the first point of interaction of an establishment, he or she sets the overarching mood of the dining experience. This was definitely not a great one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Ross Grill is an all time favorite in Pr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ross Grill is an all time favorite in Provincetown. Food is excellent, cocktails the best and staff is friendly and highly skilled.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cesar and his staff consistently offer g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Cesar and his staff consistently offer great good in a wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loud, but we could hear each other fine. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Loud, but we could hear each other fine. Nice lighting, warm ambiance, convivial. Highlight: Absolutely the best fried calamari we've ever had. Fresh, equal legs and rings, tempura-like, exquisitely seasoned, with a clear, dark dipping sauce, like fish sauce, but tarter and saltier. Perfect! And the dish is huge. Makes a meal. Fettuccine was a bit heavy and gluey, but good nevertheless. Service was young, earnest, competent.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. Will return ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will return to Ross' grill!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Bistro atmosphere, grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Love this place. Bistro atmosphere, great view, good food. The soft shell crab is excellent...

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grill never disappoints. Service was im ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Grill never disappoints. Service was impeccable and food plentiful and delicious. It's always hard to decide what to eat. You can't go wrong and recommend saving room for dessert. Key Lime Cheesecake is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another outstanding meal at Ross's Grill ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Another outstanding meal at Ross's Grill. Was great to see it continues the high level of food creativity and service. We look forward to dinner at Ross's each year when we visit Ptown. Cesar is warm and welcoming and doing things right . Ross's Grill is on the top-shelf of restaurants in Provincetown.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Ross's grill. I have been there ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We love Ross's grill. I have been there many times and it's always my number one place to recommend for dinner in ptown. It's the best view and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ross's Grill does not disappoint! We we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Ross's Grill does not disappoint! We went for an early dinner to celebrate a birthday party. The view overlooking Ptown Harbor is excellent. For the appetizer we split a Ceasar Salad which was very fresh. For dinner we each had the Rack of Lamb which was superb! Service was prompt, efficient, and very friendly. Excellent experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coconut shrimp appetizer was amazing and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Coconut shrimp appetizer was amazing and the burger is one of the best in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cape Cod Gem

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Overlooking harbour in the heart of Provincetown. Great food, cooked to perfection. Large portions. Great service. Good prices. Large deck overlooking harbour for after dinner drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome in every way! The view, service, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome in every way! The view, service, selection and food were all top notch. We both had the Tuscan Cod entree and felt it was one of the very best meals we have had. We dine out often and in many locations, this is definitely one of the high points. We ate at 5 places while visiting p-town and Ross' was definitely #1!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My partner and I go to Ross Grill a few ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My partner and I go to Ross Grill a few times per year. We love the friendly staff. The wine selection is extensive. The owner, Cesar, is very knowledgeable about all things wine and is a gracious host. Tapas is great. The view is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food Short ribs very tasty Pork cho ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Good food

Short ribs very tasty

Pork chop - perfectly cooked

Vegetable sides were delicious

The food at Ross grille is consistently satisfying

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great to see Ross's using Opentable.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great to see Ross's using Opentable. Before they did not do reservations at all. Dined here Friday PM with friends. Great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Freezing!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Starting with the good: the food was very tasty. I got the steak and my girlfriend got the chicken and they were both portioned well and delicious.

Now that we got all of the good out of the way, why did I rate the restaurant 2 stars? Well, because my girlfriend and I went to the restaurant on Valentine's day and it was 51 degrees in the restaurant. 51!!! That's freezing! We (as well as everyone else in the restaurant) were all sitting around in multiple coats and hats and shivering. They had multiple space heaters placed around the restaurant but they barely seemed to be doing anything.

The staff didn't offer any acknowledgement or apology for the temperature. In fact, despite there being plenty of staff on hand, the service itself was quite poor overall. My water was only refilled once the whole evening and my girlfriend only get 1 refill of her 'bottomless' coffee (which she order mostly for warmth and it wasn't even hot!)

While the food was good, I am/was pretty upset I spent my valentine's day at this restaurant. I'm sure we would have had a very different experience in warmer weather, I will not be returning and cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Good food, good service, freezing tempseratures

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had Valentine's dinner here and while the food was good and the service was fine, it was literally freezing in the restaurant. Many customers had their coats on eating dinner. Granted, it was cold outside but it really shouldn't have been that cold inside. I have had great meals here in the spring and summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Very cold dining night

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a little chilly because it was a below zero night but the food, drink & service more than made up for it.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Perfect

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Fantastic late January Sunday dinner. Great menu and wonderful service. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.