About Ross' Grill

237 Commercial Street
Provincetown, MA 02657
View Larger Map

Ross’ Grill is Provincetown’s most talked about dining experience. Located on the second floor of Whaler"s Wharf, just steps from Commercial Street, Ross’ Grill offers breathtaking harbor views with a European bistro atmosphere. Our guests enjoy an intimate, inviting, and first-class dining experience. It’s no surprise that Ross’ Grill was rated “excellent” by Zagat’s Dining Guide. With over 75 different wines served by the glass, guests can enjoy a wine that suits the palate as well as compliments their menu selection. Ross’ Grill also has a full liquor license with a variety of signature cocktails. Elevator access to second floor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Monday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 487-8878

Website:
http://www.rossgrillptown.com/

Parking Details:
Just minutes from McMillan parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Omar Neil

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties and weddings.

Private Party Contact:
César Gerena: 5084878878x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ross' Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Food
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
4 More
Best Value
Cape Cod and the Islands
Scenic View
Cape Cod and the Islands
American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Most Booked
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Provincetown ›

Scenic View (74)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Romantic (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Notable Wine List (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely setting. Great food and choices. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely setting. Great food and choices. A bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The salmon was incredible

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

The salmon was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service here was wonderful. The food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service here was wonderful. The food was good, but not great. The view of the ocean and open air made up for it though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual another terrific dining experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As usual another terrific dining experience. Attentive & friendly wait staff and excellent food. If you want to get your cheese on order the French onion soup, it's the cheesiest you'll ever have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our waiter and busboy and that' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We loved our waiter and busboy and that's an odd way to begin a review for one of the better meals we've had all year -- but they were that good. We sampled 5 plates and every item on every plate was perfectly executed with seasonal ingredients. The Statler chicken was perfect as were the littleneck clams with a spicy an doulas sausage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food, location, service, atmosphere ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food, location, service, atmosphere and friendly staff make Ross' Grill a place not to miss while in Provincetown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent choice for finer dining withou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent choice for finer dining without formality in Provincetown

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this restaurant and you can't beat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love this restaurant and you can't beat the view. Like every restaurant in Provincetown it was teeming to the brim with people. Noise is always an issue in places like this but our food was good, not great. In general I'd say that we have been here in past years and have been really wow'ed. Every restaurant in P'town now seems noisy and crowded - good for business I suppose.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sit outside on the most beautiful deck o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Sit outside on the most beautiful deck over looking the most beautiful harbor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Ordered a special ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent as always. Ordered a special app and entree which were delicious, the steak app which was great, and the fisherman's stew which I order religiously when at Ross' Grill. Staff and owner were incredibly attentive and accommodating and interactions with staff and the other guests made the experience so welcoming. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and wonderful view

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great service and wonderful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere Great food Exceptio ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere

Great food

Exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time to Ross'. This ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my second time to Ross'. This place just jumped up to my top 3 restaurants in P-Town. Every single thing we had to eat was dynamite. You also won't find a better drink pour in town. Cheers!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Take away the view and you have a very m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Take away the view and you have a very mediocre restaurant with an utterly unimaginative menu offering food produced without any spirit. Wine list is good. But overall, an underwhelming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Seafood and views were amazing. We had a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Seafood and views were amazing. We had a very attentive server that provided great customer service. I would highly recommend this location in Provincetown as one of its best restaurants.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and the views of t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was fabulous and the views of the beach breathtaking. The soft shelled crabs were perfectly seasoned.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always had a great meal, lunch a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have always had a great meal, lunch and dinner. Always exceptionally prepared and a fabulous wait staff who always remembers us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the meals in town in some time. E ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the meals in town in some time. Every dish we ordered was superb . Will be returning again and again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Cowboy rib-eyes were to die for! A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Cowboy rib-eyes were to die for! A gorgeous waterfront view for drinks on the balcony then a romantic table for two for dinner. Would definitely go again next time in Provincetown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and awesome service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My risotto was fantastic and I know good ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My risotto was fantastic and I know good pasta and the seafood was stew was delicious. Great place for foodies...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting menu attracted me. Swordfish ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Interesting menu attracted me. Swordfish with a white bean Raghu special was delicious. Calamari Appetizer was excellent. Nice & crispy batter. Nice views but the Windows needed cleaning. Server was a local, very attentive. Would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We waited over an hour for our entrees a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We waited over an hour for our entrees and we had two five-year olds with us who were more patient than the adults. The restaurant was not overly crowded so there was no excuse. Also, there should be more wait staff. Our waiter was apologetic but what could he do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Spectacular view and awesome seafood ris ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Spectacular view and awesome seafood risotto as well as other terrific menu items. One of our first destinations when we arrive in Provincetown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and Ambiance. Caesar has ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love the food and Ambiance. Caesar has done a fantastic job of keeping the place fresh and reliable. Love the views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and view. My husband and I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amazing food and view. My husband and I look forward to visiting Ross' Grille just as much as we love the Cape. Caesar has great taste in wine and the food (especially the yellow fin tuna) never disappoints! A must visit restaurant on anyone's list when in Provincetown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. So much flavor.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was amazing. So much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I originally wanted to go for dinner for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I originally wanted to go for dinner for our daughters 21st bday. We had a table of 6. When I made my reservations with Open Table, wanting 6pm there was nothing available. I tried 5. Kept changing and the only time I could get was 2:30! Well, that's not dinner, that's lunch. I had 2 items already planned for dinner. We we got there, the waiter was so-so personable. Perhaps he was upset, rightfully so, that we came in because as he told us, the kitchen closes at 2:30 to prepare for the 5pm dinner menu. We were sort of rushed to decide. I think Open table or the restaurant need to adjust their times. No wonder 2:30 was available. As time went on, the waiter seemed to warm up to us and became friendlier. Even gave us some tips of things to do while visiting Provincetown. The menu wasn't to my personal liking but the food was very good. I was disappointed at not being able to have my dinner choices. I loved the decor and scenic view. I would go back, but you HAVE to make reservations, in season anyway, WAY in advance and not 3 days like I did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The good was fabulous and the waitress w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The good was fabulous and the waitress was great. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Cowboy ribeye special was phenomenal as ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Cowboy ribeye special was phenomenal as was the seafood stew. The onion soup was the best I've had anywhere (sorry Capital Grill). Our waiter was friendly and full of good recommendations. We usually come here once or twice a year. Also save room for the peanut butter pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. Attentive wit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, great service. Attentive without being intrusive. Food well worth price. Great in the of PTown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It didn't hurt that it was a beautiful e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It didn't hurt that it was a beautiful evening and the view can't be beat, but the staff made it a lovely night with perfect service and great food. Thank you! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ross Grill is a very good place for dini ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Ross Grill is a very good place for dining and drinking. the porch overlooking the bay is especially desirable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In a resort town one often gets mediocre ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

In a resort town one often gets mediocre food passed off as gourmet...not so here. We were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent preparation of the appetizers (soft shell crab - done to perfection) and the seafood entrees. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and knew which of two wines was drinking better. (We had a chance to find out as we drank the other bottle the next night at a different restaurant.) He was right on the money! The view added to our experience and our waiter was friendly without crossing the line of professionalism.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ross' is our favorite restaurant in P-to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ross' is our favorite restaurant in P-town. We try to go there several times during our week-long, annual visit. Everything is tops and the owner and his staff are just terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I make it to P-town once a year and Ross ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I make it to P-town once a year and Ross' Grill is a must for dining when visiting. The view of the water is so romantic, especially if you are fortunate to sit out on the balcony area. I ended up eating there for dinner and then lunch the very next day. The fish and chips are to die for....light and flakey. Never to disappoint...I have been coming to this restaurant for over 7 years and will continue every year I am able to visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at Ross' Grill is always one of t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Eating at Ross' Grill is always one of the highlights of my many trips to Provincetown. Caesar always makes you feel like you are a special guest. The hand selected wines, the outstanding menu and professional service are all enhanced by the spectacular view of the harbor. It's the whole package!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and server were outstanding -- ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and server were outstanding -- the view was incredible -- but that is pretty much where it stopped.

I made the reservation prior to even arriving in Ptown, making sure we were going to have a GREAT final meal in town. I researched and menu-shopped, and found the perfect place! I arrived in Ptown, and told everyone of our find. After a week of waiting, we arrived.

My first issue is that though we made reservations days in advance, we were not treated any more special than anyone else. We were given a crammed table, under a fan that didn't work. Though, I saw other folks walk up WITHOUT reservations, and they were seated in water-front seats. May I suggest: if someone takes the time to COMMIT to your restaurant prior to even arriving in your town, you would at least give them a LITTLE bit of respect in actually reserving a decent table.

My second issue -- the heat! There is no AC! It was 90F INSIDE the restaurant, since the restaurant is very poorly ventilated. I had to go to the rest room multiple times ONLY to dry off, since it was so hot and sticky. And, again, the ONLY source of relief available was a ceiling fan -- but it was broken, stuck on the low setting. So, while I was watching other folks walk in, sit at the water-front, window seats, all having fans that are on high speed -- we, were treated like 2nd class, stuck in the middle of a cramped room, with ZERO air.

It was absolutely miserable! If you are going to be open during the summer, you should either post that you have NO AC on your website -- so that people can actually dress appropriately and not wear coats and ties, slacks; OR, better yet, with the $250 bill we (over) paid, you should consider fixing the ceiling fans, or maybe even buying an AC.

Either way, the food was incredible, and our server was great -- but sweating in my food, while sweat was running down my arms, while I even felt faint for a bit -- due to the heat -- this place will never again be on my list of places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

The food did not match the great setting ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food did not match the great setting overlooking the water. I had the grilled romaine which was more like wilted romaine and topped with a dressing that tasted like bottled. For an entree, I had the Tuscan Kale. It was extremely salty, served on top of spinach and mashed potato, and everything was sitting in some kind of salty broth. My dining partner ordered the gazpacho, which he said was the worst he ever had. For his entree, he had the paella, which turned out to be oily and salty rice with some seafood. Definitely not worth the high prices to enjoy a view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.