About Rosalita's Roadside Cantina

180 RT 9 North
Englishtown, NJ 07726
View Larger Map

Rosalita's Roadside Cantina is Mexican restaurant and bar featuring fresh Mexican food with an extensive selection of tequila, beer and margaritas. Our fresh Mexican cuisine, once only available in Mexico City, now available in New Jersey.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:30pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Sandburg Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(732) 617-0099

Website:
http://www.rosalitasnj.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Rosalita's Roadside Cantina can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (732) 617-0099

Rosalita's Roadside Cantina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
See All
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
35 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall I had an okay experience at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Overall I had an okay experience at the restaurant. The thing that greatly impacted my experience was that we were seated at a table which was not cleaned off and had crumbs from a prior guest that was dining there. When the bus boy came to clean it off he carelessly wiped the table, spreading all of the crumbs into our laps. There was no silverware... and we were not given it until we asked for it after our main dish was brought out to us. Two of the drinks that were brought to us were made incorrectly. Definitely expected a little more attentiveness and care with the customer service. However, the food came out good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

For good Mexican food and vegetarian opt ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

For good Mexican food and vegetarian options, there is a lot on the menu. Drinks were good and plenty of choices with specials and Fresh Margaritas. I had the brisket burrito and my wife had the empanada sampler. The black bean soup was a tad under cooked, but some people like their beans al dente, so its a draw. Your plate arrives with plenty of rice and bans as well and your entree is generous. Appetizers were good and the chips and salsa above your standard Mexican restaurant for flavor and freshness. And the price was a good value. You'll like Rosalita's.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a good time at Rosie's!!! Best fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a good time at Rosie's!!! Best food and drinks around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was horrible and food was not go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service was horrible and food was not good, waitress mess up our order and we were missing one dish , by the time missing dish came other food was cold. Will not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

As always the food and service were fant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

As always the food and service were fantastic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed family get together. Great servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Enjoyed family get together. Great service,food and drinks!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great evening at Rosalita's. Fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Another great evening at Rosalita's. Food, service and ambiance were terrific. Very comfortable, no one rushed us. The sangria was plentiful and delicious. If you like Mexican food you'll love Rosalita's. Booking thru OpenTable was easy and there was no wait when we got there.

Tags: Spicy, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, kid friendly. Kids night on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great food, kid friendly. Kids night on Wednesdays (they eat free), definitely a great environment to bring your children to so you don't have to worry about them being too loud or disturbing anyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food. Casual atmosphere.Good servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good food. Casual atmosphere.Good service. Reasonably priced. Lots of vegetarian options

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed with our e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were a little disappointed with our experience this time. We have been several times but this time the service was not as good as previous times. We wanted separate checked but were told we were not allowed. They no longer provide that service. We had a party of 12 so this was totally inconvenient.

Also we ordered the 3 enchiladas and wanted 2 chicken and 1 shrimp by was told after going back and forth with the kitchen and waiter that they will do it but it will cost over $5 more.

We had some with us who needed gluten free chips and wraps and they did not like them at all.

Overall the food was good but I feel the customer service end is going down hill :-(. Don't know if we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good place to go with kids or just adult ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good place to go with kids or just adults. Food is plentiful may need to share your dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We went for a graduation celebration. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went for a graduation celebration. We had a waitress who was new - her second day. She completely messed up our order - repeatedly - she was horrible. She did not know what she was doing. Thank goodness the Manager came in and saved her. The Manager was wonderful, helped out and took care of us. I never had a bad meal here, never had a bad experience here until this night. If you find out you have a new waitress, request a new one - the female manager is wonderful, but the new waitress is a complete nightmare.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Simple go to place when feel like chips, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Simple go to place when feel like chips,alas and a burrito . food is always good and nice portions The cost is moderate .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great meal; food, drinks & serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a great meal; food, drinks & service were excellent. We were a party of 10, including a toddler and a seven-year-old and everyone was satisfied. Table was spacious with room around it for the kids to roam. Service was prompt, we never had to ask for anything....our server was attentive but not at all intrusive. Pitcher of sangria was full of wine & fruit, not just ice. Can't wait to return! Hint: The appetizers (shrimp & wings) and of course chips & salsa were delicious, but left little room for the main course.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible, terrible, terrible service. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Terrible, terrible, terrible service. We were there for 40 minutes before or order was taken. When I asked about ingredients, our waiter rolled his eyes at my special requests and grudgingly got answers for me. The food was way too spicy. I sent back my dish after one bite and I saw l later that I was charged for it anyway. We never got app plates. I had to get my own silverware from the waiters bin because dessert came with no forks and no one checked on us for 15 minutes after we received it. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Great food, very attentive waiter, barte ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food, very attentive waiter, bartenders not so attentive and the bar was not busy. Other then that, great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I love the food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food is excellent but the prices are up there. Maybe if the prices weren't so high i would come more frequently

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Rosalitas

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Sooo amazing and similar to jose Tejas, but I feel this place is so much better. My boyfriend and I had an amazing valentine's day because of this place. I'll always recommend dining at rosalitas (:

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New year eve

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We got an email with an invitation for new years eve celebration,the add said there was a family event with a 9 o'clock new years count for the kids and midnight champagne toast hats and whistles for the adults,i had a reservation for 15 people,everything was ok until the waiter told us the restaurant was closing at 11 pm ,we had to leave and go home and watch the celebration on tv,this is what i call false advertisament,the food was good ,that's all i have to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Love it

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Come all the time. We eat here at least 3 times amonth now even coming with friends...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great.. once we got it

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Our server was the absolute worst.. coming from another server, a front of house dining manager, and bartender, we couldnt believe the service she gave us!!! Beyond that, the food was delicious and fast, drinks were cold and yummy, and the bar had a DJ going do our late night dinner turned into an all night affair

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Good Mexican!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2015

Went for dinner last night on an all vegetarian fare with friends & family. The guacamole was ok I think On The Border has better Guac! Their Virgin Frozen Mango Margarita tasted weird but their Virgin Pomegranate Margarita was good. Had ordered Vegetable Combo Enchilada which was not bad and my friend had ordered Hot Tamales which he didn't like. Overall the food was ok, the restaurant was relatively empty for a weekday night. Will definitively give it try again in next 6 months. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Daughter's 35th birthday party at Rosalita's.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2015

We had my daughter's 35th birthday and everything was amazing from the service to the food. We will definitley be back for more fun times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh and tasty!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2015

The food was delicious and fresh. Our waitress was great. The only negative was the hostesses were not very friendly and the ac was kickin so bring a jacket!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

old friends getting together

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2015

The table was ready when we got to the restaurant. We had a party of six but two of the couples were running late. the hosts and hostesses kept staring at us as if we were taking up a table. the waitress was very polite and understood that we were waiting for others she provided great service and the food was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I give this place 10+

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2015

I love this place I want to thank Lee she is a wonderful person and also David and Nikki they really make you feel comfortable. There the best bartender in their.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

birthday partyly

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2015

took my whole family and had a wonderful time. the table was ready on time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

it was a nice riendly place and i enjoye ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2015

it was a nice riendly place and i enjoyed the food and the atomsphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2014

It was a very good atmosphere for a large group of people, very accommodating! Friendly service, good food and very good drinks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice mexican!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2014

The food was good, hot and the service was excellent!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not pleased at all

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Went here for Mother's Day with a group of 10. When we walked in, were advised we can't sit down until the whole party was there. We had reservations at 4pm and our whole table was all setup and was ready but they wouldn't seat is as per the managers direction. I ordered the churasco steak which tasted like a rubber band. The food was not that good. Drinks are weird as well. Staff was very nice. I would not recommend this place. Jose Tejas is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Really Not Good

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2014

Nachos with queso sauce out of a can, flavorless rice and black beans, flavorless pork, rubbery tortillas, flavorless beef. The drinks were good. The beer was cold. The server was super nice. Unfortunately the food was just plain awful. It's sad when Taco Bell has better tasting Mexican food than a real Mexican Restaurant. It's unfortunate because the decor is perfect and the drinks are good. Can't say that I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Good value!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2014

My daughter brought me to Rosalita's for Mother's Day and we had the loveliest time! The food and margaritas were good for the price and the service was prompt, professional, and pleasant. The decor is fun and the background music was perfect for the ambiance. We plan to return again soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2014

Enjoyed this restaurant so much - stopped in for lunch and went back two days later with a group of friends. Plan to visit often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful family restaurant. I don't kno ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2014

Wonderful family restaurant. I don't know that I would go here if I didn't have a rambunctious toddler. If you're really hungry and want something that is several steps above Taco Bell (and don't mind screaming children) this is the place for you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.