About Rosa Mexicano - Puerto Rico

Paseo Caribe, Avenida Muñoz Rivera
San Juan, PR 00918
View Larger Map

Right across the Atlantic Sea and Condado Lagoon, and just blocks away from hip Old San Juan and stylish Condado, Rosa Mexicano Puerto Rico delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible and festive atmosphere. The amazing views, will sit perfect while you enjoy our tableside Guacamole and our famous Frozen Pomegranate Margarita. Rosa Mexicano has been serving classic Mexican cuisine for over 20 years. The restaurant’s design creates a festive environment with bold, vibrant colors and features a dynamic water wall with a legion of Acapulco cliff diver figurines. We invite you to visit us and experience the flavors of Mexico.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(939) 338-7344

Website:
http://www.rosamexicano.com/

Executive Chef:
Hedwill Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rosa Mexicano - Puerto Rico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
See All
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The guacamole was good, but they forgot ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The guacamole was good, but they forgot to put like in it. I ordered a chicken burrito and split it with a friend. Unfortunately, all the chicken Tinga was placed in only one end of the burrito and the rice on the other. So, not wrapped very well. But, it was tasty. Also, my friend ordered the pork belly tacos, but the restaurant ran out of pork belly. They substituted it for regular bacon, which was severely under-cooked and hard. The restaurant offered him no discount and only a cursory apology. If you have dined at a Rosa Mexicano on the mainland you will likely be disappointed with the quality of the food and attention to detail of the one in San Juan. I hope they train their kitchen staff and management properly and teach them that cutting corners is not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very romantic view & setting. Food was d ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very romantic view & setting. Food was delicious. Guacamole is the best. Drinks were divine. Service was superb. We had a very special time. I went with a group of 6 to celebrate my daughter's new goal in having completed law school & having taken the Bar. Thank you for making it unforgettable!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Rosa Mexicano in Puerto Rico is a little ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Rosa Mexicano in Puerto Rico is a little rundown!!! Restaurant was dirty, a wall fountain that doesn't work. Some items in the menu were not available. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Not very s Food allergy friendly as stat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Not very s

Food allergy friendly as stateside. Daughter got extremely ill after eating quesadillas made with supposedly gluten free corn tortillas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food, best I've had in a long time ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, best I've had in a long time! Michelle, our sever was perfecto! Atmosphere was terrific and drinks were strong and tasty!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, Juan was very nice, but the ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place, Juan was very nice, but the price and the quantity and quality should improve.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The service was outstanding and the tabl ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was outstanding and the tableside guacamole was one of the best I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fancy Mexican at reasonable princing. I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fancy Mexican at reasonable princing. I specially enjoy the tuna tartar and the guac made right at the table. Service was top notch. The margaritas were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I like the Restaurant, Services was good ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I like the Restaurant, Services was good, the experience overall was good. It was a little expensive. The restaurant should make arrangements with the parking. we paid 13.20 way to expensive.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A very pleasant evening

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our dining experience was very pleasant (mother's day). The food and the service were far more than expected. I had heard bad comments from friends and acquaintances, but my experience was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was the only but a BIG downfall ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was the only but a BIG downfall here.

Simply ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Good food but no client service at all.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was really bad from the beginning. We made reservations but still waited1/2 hr. For the table even though some tables were empty. Attention was deficient. Seems like no training at all with respect to client service. Have to ask for spice sauce and lemons 3 times and didn't get it. A Margarita came like 20 mins

After and the apetizer never came.Food was really good but considering many other good choices and that there was no value added at all we do not recomend it. Other places sells an experience rather than just good food. We didn't get it. Hope it improve.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow to non-existent service, mediocre f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Slow to non-existent service, mediocre food, overpriced. Free valet parking is available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I ordered charrasco that is suppose to c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

I ordered charrasco that is suppose to come with chimichurri sauce according to menu. They told me pico de gallo was chimichurri and would not provide what the menu said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great location!!!! Awesome sunset view. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great location!!!! Awesome sunset view. Great food and the best Skinny Margarita Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

What a let down : (

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

The write ups on this place were great, but we totally disagree after having dinner there. we we're excited for the table side guacamole but they make it way too salty. The main dishes were just ok. Nothing to boast about. The wait staff grunted at us frequently. The hostess was busy talking to a friend when we arrived. The divers on the wall were cool. But hardly reason to visit this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Great place. Not so great food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The recommendations from the servers was no-Mexican dishes. Guacamole is awesome. Burritos pretty good. Arroz Caldoso good but pricey. Tacos, ughhh. Do not try it. The place is beautiful. But you must be very selective with the dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great view and friendly service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Our discerning Mexican guest found the guacamole and pibil tacos good. The tequila Añejo was pricey but excellent. The view of Condado lagoon skyline is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

average food at best & expensive. disappointed.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

i was somewhat excited to find a rosa mexicana while visiting puerto rico. i have eaten at the one near lincoln center in new york, city & loved it. this one, was disappointing to say the least. though the menu offered a puerto rican food fair, it was not that great & very overpriced. if it weren't for the free marrgherita coupons our resort offered, our bill really would have been high! the service was not great, at one point our waiter laughed at us when my husband said to me - not even addressing him - that he we could sit here all night & enjoy the view. just kind of rude, overpriced food a good view at best. far better places to eat while visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wait staff blew this festive dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Rosa Mexicano is bright, loud and on New Year's had a mariachi band. We were seated just inside the restaurant which was distracting because of people lined up for reservations right next to us and the people coming out of the kitchen who had to struggle through there. The food was great but somewhere along the line our waiter disappeared. He missed part of my order and it took a while to get him back and by then my food was getting cold. By the time dessert rolled around I placed my order and he was gone without checking to see if anyone wanted anything else which they did. Our table was cleared and we sat there for quite a while waiting to get the check. I'm a 20% tipper almost always but that night I couldn't reward his service. Not fair to the others who get it right or try really hard.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Rosa Mexicana San Juan

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

This RM is similar to all the others. Dependably good food, though not a whole lot for non meat eaters. Servers were pleasant but service was S L O W. Although I have come to expect slow service in the Caribbean moreso than in the US, this seemed especially pokey. Nice atmosphere and a view of the water.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Entire family loved our meals. You must have the guacamole if you eat here. If you like mexican food, stop here if you are in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food/Good service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

The food was stupendous and our waiter was excellent. He was very knowledgeable of the menu and made wonderful recommendations for everyone. The service was prompt and the food was very tasty! Would definitely go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, nice ambiance

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

Well prepared and presented Mexican cuisine - table side guacamole a must.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Pretty setting on Condado Lagoon

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Rosa Mexicana looks out on the Condado Lagoon - a pretty setting at night with the restaurant lights reflected in the water. Our dinner started with the table-side preparation of fresh guacamole, served with crisp corn chips. Delicious! We tried the cucumber mojito, a very refreshing drink. Our entrees, the farmers market vegetable fajita and farmers market vegetable burrito, were artistically plated and very flavorful as well. Our waiter was very friendly, offered good suggestions about the dinner menu and served our meal quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

tasteless food bad drinks

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

the taste of the food was very poor everything seemed frozen and fried. drinks horrible worst traditional margarita i have EvER had and considering it is a traditional mexican restaurant awful house frozen pomegranate margarita only way to drink it its because its frozen...bad taste! service was ok not too friendly but helpfull and food time was ok considering the restaurant was empty ...later found out, maybe cause its not good!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Excellent service, food was absolutely delicious.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We enjoyed it very much. We were celebrating my best friends birthday. The service was excellent and the food delicious. Margaritas were awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food in San Juan

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

I took my boyfriend for a birthday dinner and we had a great time. We order the guacamole wich was delicious. He order Pollo Pibil and I order Ceviche Atún. It was very good! Will come back on a special ocassion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been there several times. Unfortunately, ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Been there several times. Unfortunately, the overall quality is going south. Need to improve and go back to what it was when they opened couple years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great view

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

I am a local resident and have been to this restaurant twice. Each time I ordered the guacamole which is excellent: made at the table adjusted to your taste - a nice concept. The view is spectacular, the Condado Bridge, lagoon etc. both day and night a beautiful scene. The service is excellent and the staff is well trained. I would recommend this restaurant for families and tourists in the area who like Mexican/American food. However, here in Puerto Rico we have very good Mexican restaurants that are more authentic and have better Mexican food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Excelent food

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

Great food, reasonable prices, beautiful place, scenic view. Guacamole live is a must. Free valet parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Love it!

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

Me encantó el servicio y el trato del personal. El guacamole exquisito el mejor que he probado. Los postre faltaba un buen cheesecake de chocolate.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went to Rosa Mexicano for lunch at Mo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We went to Rosa Mexicano for lunch at Mothers Day. I have to admit I was a little skeptical about going. Having been to both of their restaurants in NYC, I already had in mind a level of expectation. I was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is beautiful with a nice ocean view. The waitera very attentive and helpful. And the food was excellent. Definitely will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place, great service and reaso ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Excellent place, great service and reasonable prices. A must if you're near San Juan area. Brunch menu is light but flavorful. Full menu even better. Have to try churros or maybe a scoop of mexican chocolate ice cream for dessert. Enjoy !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and not as pricey as i thought

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

Arriving on a rainy night, my party was promptly seated and ordering commenced. Enjoyed the service, they were out of a certain accompaniment and manager came by and offered replacements that were acceptable and a round of frozen margaritas. Left stuffed with excellent food. Will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lamentablemente no quedamos satisfechos ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 2, 2015

Lamentablemente no quedamos satisfechos con el servicio. Fue nuestra primera vez en el lugar y el mesero no nos explicó los platos y al llegar lo que escogimos lo tuve que virar porque no me gustó. Es típica comida mexicana que pudieras fácilmente comer en otro lugar por mejor precio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Very good, would recommend to all.

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 31, 2015

Very good, would recommend to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too expensive for a pseudo Mexican Resta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

Too expensive for a pseudo Mexican Restaurant. At least it has a great view.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Glorified Chilis

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

I had to ask a server to find someone to take our drink order. Margaritas were pre-made using a margarita mix instead of real lemmons. Puerto rico has a lot of better choices when it comes to mexican food. Don't waste your time unless you have low standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

A must experience, while visiting Puerto Rico!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

The evening ambience is just perfect, whether your in the restaurant or outside. The restaurant overlooks the Condado Lagoon making a dreamy, watery scene. The food is phenomenal!! Some recommendations: Salmon Poblano, Baby Back Ribs, Skirt Steak, Tuna Tacos (whole tuna), Achiote Rice and Black Beans...etc. You just can't go wrong with anything you eat, at Rosa Mexicano!!! My wife and I have visited the one in Washington, D.C. and in New York. We have never been dissatisfied with the food or the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.