Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Rosa Mexicano - Puerto Rico

3.8
181 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Perfect For:
  • Scenic View
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Right across the Atlantic Sea and Condado Lagoon, and just blocks away from hip Old San Juan and stylish Condado, Rosa Mexicano Puerto Rico delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible and festive atmosphere. The amazing views, will sit perfect while you enjoy our tableside Guacamole and our famous Frozen Pomegranate Margarita. Rosa Mexicano has been serving classic Mexican cuisine for over 20 years. The restaurant’s design creates a festive environment with bold, vibrant colors and features a dynamic water wall with a legion of Acapulco cliff diver figurines. We invite you to visit us and experience the flavors of Mexico.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(939) 338-7344
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hedwill Martinez
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 181 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.9
service
4.1
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on August 3, 2017

The place was very confortable, but menu variety is poor. They serve the food cold. The employees are very nice people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 25, 2017

Súper bueno! Nos encantó!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Past visits had been very good. Imagine our disappointment that on this occasion the food was dry and clearly reheated. Tableside guac was yummy as always. But nothing else was very good at all. Dry. Chewy. Reheated. So sad.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 26, 2017

I was visiting Puerto Rico for vacation and had some time to spare before my flight back to New York so my friend and I stopped for a bit since we love the New York locations. I have to say I was disappointed. The service was extremely slow to a point I had to look for the waitress. The food was super salty. I ordered the Baja fish tacos and I could barely eat it. I also ordered the guacamole with chicharron which came with out the chicharron and had to ask the waitress for it again and the guacamole had way too much onions. The Mexican corn on the cob had no taste and the sauce was just poured on like a mess...not appealing at all. Lastly, the margarita was overly sweet. This was just not a great experience in Puerto Rico although I still love my New York locations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was good, we had the guac and chicken nachos and they were very good, frozen margaritas were nice and tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Always a great place to stop for guacamole, but the fountain (that works at every other Rosa Mexicano in the world) has been broken since it opened. On our visit, the pomegranate frozen margarita machine was broken, but we had lemon instead, which are always great, if too sweet. The staff at the bar was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waitress was enthusiastic and amiable! The food was good, though our guacamole could have been spicier. There is construction happening to the face of the building and the inside could be renovated. The chairs were a bit uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2017

We were a little disappointed in the service and the ambiance. Our waiter disappeared for quite a while and then came back with the wrong drink order. We drank it anyway because we were afraid we would never see him again.

Our table side guacamole was prepared in the kitchen and delivered to our table. I don't know how many avocados were used (since I was not able to watch) but it was not very many for $14.

Food was really good and plenty of it. Come here for the food, it was EXCELLENT.

Building was under construction/renovation so the water view was obstructed. The cliff diving waterfall artwork, had no running water.

Overall, not bad, but nothing spectacular for the money.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Good place to have fun and share with good friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Very fine!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2017

Saw this place advertised on line while last looking for something else and had to give it a try. We really enjoy original Mexican dishes and this was it. Coming from California this reminded me of some of the places back home. A high end Mexican restaurant in Puerto Rico. We both had the Enchiladas and they were great. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 6, 2017

I've been a regular of the Rosa in NYC (both union Square and midtown west) and San Francisco, I was VERY disappointed by the service in San Juan. The food was decent but the waitor was so rude and drinks took so long that we were tempted to just walk out. If it wasn't for the high winds and heavy rain outside we would not have sat through such a horrible experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2017

Unlike New York, it's dead here during the day. The famous RM water fountain they tell me here has been broken for months. The lighting is dark which makes it a bit depressing. The appetizers came out immediately and the food as consistently good as RM in NYC, although the margaritas come in much smaller glasses here. Not all of the staff speaks English which is OKAY, but just surprising.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2017

It's awesome!!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 23, 2017

Took way too long to be served. Had to make multiple requests of the server. Kept forgetting items and would then disappear. Wasn't even that busy. Unacceptable n

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2017

This is the third time we've eaten here and the food and drink are consistently good. This time we took friends on a day stop from a cruise ship. We had a great time!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a splendid night at Rosa Mexicano...the staff was so helpful with us on a very special occasion ... i was giving her an engagement ring....everything was so perfect....they also bring champagne on the house....it was a great night!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic food, great service and incredible ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

The whole experience was great in terms of food. The staff was extremely pleasant and polite. Would recommend without hesitation to anyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2017

The lighting made it almost impossible to read the dull yellow descriptions on the black menu. A little too cool for school. Food was delish with unique selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

2nd time in restaurant. Excellent food and service. Guacamole not to be missed. Pomegranate margarita delicious. Short ribs fantastico

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice Scenic View, great tasting food. Perfect for Anniversaries.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 12, 2017

We went to enjoy a Gustazo and have dinner. The Zmargaritas were good and the guacamole . The two kinds of tacos we ordered were not that good. We got a stamp on our ticket parking but they did not explain were to go to have the ticket validated for the free parking. We could not find it.
The best thing about the restaurant is where it is located( paseo caribe).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2016

The occasion was New Years Eve. The food and drinks were terrible. We returned the food twice and the drinks once. The waitress said that due to the occasion (high volume of clients) some bartenders and cookers were hired just for the day. They also posted in Facebook that mariachis will be delighting the evening and they were not. I will not recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2016

We used a coupon for 4 margaritas, guac, and refried beans for $19. A great deal as the drinks are $10-12 each. We also ordered 2 entrees, the Churrasco and the short ribs. Place was about 90% full at 8pm on a Friday night. Service was fine but slow. The guacamole was not made table side, as was advertised, but it was delicious. The margaritas were delicious. We waited about 45 minutes after ordering for our entrees to be delivered. The food was completely unremarkable. The short ribs were flavorless. The Churrasco was fine, but the rice it was served with had way too much salt and was inedible. Total for just the 2 entrees, with tax, was over $64. Totally not worth the high price.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Horrible service. My daughter got her meal 25 minutes after we got ours because they made a mistake (and she ordered a salad!). It took 15 minutes for my drink to arrive. The food was mediocre. I have plenty of restaurants competing for my business. I guess I now have one less to consider.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 29, 2016

I visited over Christmas week in 2015 and had a poor service experience but decided to return in December, 2016 with my family to try once again. I am very familiar with the NYC Rosa and know it is a well-run. Unfortunately, once again the servers here screwed up the order and were surly and disinterested after the errors were pointed out. The problem appears to be that table service is split between two waiters and their communication is poor resulting in mistakes that ruin the meal. I won't make return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was too slow.
Size of guacamole appetizer was inadequate for 3 people and did not have enough avocado.
Price was too expensive. We had visit Rosa Mexicano at other locations and ordered yhe same food for less money (about $30 or $20 less).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Ambience was modern with a great location.
Guacamole is a must, but the tacos were a bust.
Not the greatest value either.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 21, 2016

Great apps but the fish tacos were so salty I couldn't eat them. The waiter nicely took them back and the new set were as salty and I still had to pay for them - he claimed I didn't like the rub - right, I didn't, it was TOO salty (and I like salty food).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2016

Food very good but nothing extraordinary for the high prices

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Our first night in San Juan, we decided to try this restaurant since we have one back home in the DC area. As always, the guacamole made table side is delish. Our daughter had steak tacos, she said they Were good. My husband had slow braised beef, it was good but small portion. A little well done on the outside but once you hit the center... wow.
I had pork enchiladas... very good.
It wasn't super crowded but they st us next to a table of a large party with a few kids. They were there for a birthday party. May have been employees because it seemed everyone who worked there were at their table.

Service for a slower sat night was average.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 20, 2016

The guacamole was good, but they forgot to put like in it. I ordered a chicken burrito and split it with a friend. Unfortunately, all the chicken Tinga was placed in only one end of the burrito and the rice on the other. So, not wrapped very well. But, it was tasty. Also, my friend ordered the pork belly tacos, but the restaurant ran out of pork belly. They substituted it for regular bacon, which was severely under-cooked and hard. The restaurant offered him no discount and only a cursory apology. If you have dined at a Rosa Mexicano on the mainland you will likely be disappointed with the quality of the food and attention to detail of the one in San Juan. I hope they train their kitchen staff and management properly and teach them that cutting corners is not acceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2016

Very romantic view & setting. Food was delicious. Guacamole is the best. Drinks were divine. Service was superb. We had a very special time. I went with a group of 6 to celebrate my daughter's new goal in having completed law school & having taken the Bar. Thank you for making it unforgettable!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 9, 2016

Rosa Mexicano in Puerto Rico is a little rundown!!! Restaurant was dirty, a wall fountain that doesn't work. Some items in the menu were not available. Service was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2016

Not very s
Food allergy friendly as stateside. Daughter got extremely ill after eating quesadillas made with supposedly gluten free corn tortillas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, best I've had in a long time! Michelle, our sever was perfecto! Atmosphere was terrific and drinks were strong and tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2016

Ambiente familiar, buena comida+++

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice place, Juan was very nice, but the price and the quantity and quality should improve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was outstanding and the tableside guacamole was one of the best I have had.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5