Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.10mi
  1. Distance: 5.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 5.10mi
  1. Distance: 5.10mi

About Rosa Mexicano - Puerto Rico

Right across the Atlantic Sea and Condado Lagoon, and just blocks away from hip Old San Juan and stylish Condado, Rosa Mexicano Puerto Rico delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible and festive atmosphere. The amazing views, will sit perfect while you enjoy our tableside Guacamole and our famous Frozen Pomegranate Margarita. Rosa Mexicano has been serving classic Mexican cuisine for over 20 years. The restaurant’s design creates a festive environment with bold, vibrant colors and features a dynamic water wall with a legion of Acapulco cliff diver figurines. We invite you to visit us and experience the flavors of Mexico.

Paseo Caribe, Avenida Muñoz Rivera
San Juan, PR 00918
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(939) 338-7344

Website:
http://www.rosamexicano.com/

Executive Chef:
Hedwill Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rosa Mexicano - Puerto Rico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (8)
Romantic (6)
Scenic View (6)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Saw this place advertised on line while last looking for something else and had to give it a try. We really enjoy original Mexican dishes and this was it. Coming from California this reminded me of some of the places back home. A high end Mexican restaurant in Puerto Rico. We both had the Enchiladas and they were great. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I've been a regular of the Rosa in NYC (both union Square and midtown west) and San Francisco, I was VERY disappointed by the service in San Juan. The food was decent but the waitor was so rude and drinks took so long that we were tempted to just walk out. If it wasn't for the high winds and heavy rain outside we would not have sat through such a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Unlike New York, it's dead here during the day. The famous RM water fountain they tell me here has been broken for months. The lighting is dark which makes it a bit depressing. The appetizers came out immediately and the food as consistently good as RM in NYC, although the margaritas come in much smaller glasses here. Not all of the staff speaks English which is OKAY, but just surprising.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Took way too long to be served. Had to make multiple requests of the server. Kept forgetting items and would then disappear. Wasn't even that busy. Unacceptable n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This is the third time we've eaten here and the food and drink are consistently good. This time we took friends on a day stop from a cruise ship. We had a great time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a splendid night at Rosa Mexicano...the staff was so helpful with us on a very special occasion ... i was giving her an engagement ring....everything was so perfect....they also bring champagne on the house....it was a great night!!

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic food, great service and incredible ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The whole experience was great in terms of food. The staff was extremely pleasant and polite. Would recommend without hesitation to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The lighting made it almost impossible to read the dull yellow descriptions on the black menu. A little too cool for school. Food was delish with unique selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

2nd time in restaurant. Excellent food and service. Guacamole not to be missed. Pomegranate margarita delicious. Short ribs fantastico

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Nice Scenic View, great tasting food. Perfect for Anniversaries.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We went to enjoy a Gustazo and have dinner. The Zmargaritas were good and the guacamole . The two kinds of tacos we ordered were not that good. We got a stamp on our ticket parking but they did not explain were to go to have the ticket validated for the free parking. We could not find it.
The best thing about the restaurant is where it is located( paseo caribe).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The occasion was New Years Eve. The food and drinks were terrible. We returned the food twice and the drinks once. The waitress said that due to the occasion (high volume of clients) some bartenders and cookers were hired just for the day. They also posted in Facebook that mariachis will be delighting the evening and they were not. I will not recommend this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We used a coupon for 4 margaritas, guac, and refried beans for $19. A great deal as the drinks are $10-12 each. We also ordered 2 entrees, the Churrasco and the short ribs. Place was about 90% full at 8pm on a Friday night. Service was fine but slow. The guacamole was not made table side, as was advertised, but it was delicious. The margaritas were delicious. We waited about 45 minutes after ordering for our entrees to be delivered. The food was completely unremarkable. The short ribs were flavorless. The Churrasco was fine, but the rice it was served with had way too much salt and was inedible. Total for just the 2 entrees, with tax, was over $64. Totally not worth the high price.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Horrible service. My daughter got her meal 25 minutes after we got ours because they made a mistake (and she ordered a salad!). It took 15 minutes for my drink to arrive. The food was mediocre. I have plenty of restaurants competing for my business. I guess I now have one less to consider.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I visited over Christmas week in 2015 and had a poor service experience but decided to return in December, 2016 with my family to try once again. I am very familiar with the NYC Rosa and know it is a well-run. Unfortunately, once again the servers here screwed up the order and were surly and disinterested after the errors were pointed out. The problem appears to be that table service is split between two waiters and their communication is poor resulting in mistakes that ruin the meal. I won't make return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was too slow.
Size of guacamole appetizer was inadequate for 3 people and did not have enough avocado.
Price was too expensive. We had visit Rosa Mexicano at other locations and ordered yhe same food for less money (about $30 or $20 less).

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ambience was modern with a great location.
Guacamole is a must, but the tacos were a bust.
Not the greatest value either.

Tags: Modern Decor, Spicy, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great apps but the fish tacos were so salty I couldn't eat them. The waiter nicely took them back and the new set were as salty and I still had to pay for them - he claimed I didn't like the rub - right, I didn't, it was TOO salty (and I like salty food).

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food very good but nothing extraordinary for the high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our first night in San Juan, we decided to try this restaurant since we have one back home in the DC area. As always, the guacamole made table side is delish. Our daughter had steak tacos, she said they Were good. My husband had slow braised beef, it was good but small portion. A little well done on the outside but once you hit the center... wow.
I had pork enchiladas... very good.
It wasn't super crowded but they st us next to a table of a large party with a few kids. They were there for a birthday party. May have been employees because it seemed everyone who worked there were at their table.

Service for a slower sat night was average.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The guacamole was good, but they forgot to put like in it. I ordered a chicken burrito and split it with a friend. Unfortunately, all the chicken Tinga was placed in only one end of the burrito and the rice on the other. So, not wrapped very well. But, it was tasty. Also, my friend ordered the pork belly tacos, but the restaurant ran out of pork belly. They substituted it for regular bacon, which was severely under-cooked and hard. The restaurant offered him no discount and only a cursory apology. If you have dined at a Rosa Mexicano on the mainland you will likely be disappointed with the quality of the food and attention to detail of the one in San Juan. I hope they train their kitchen staff and management properly and teach them that cutting corners is not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very romantic view & setting. Food was delicious. Guacamole is the best. Drinks were divine. Service was superb. We had a very special time. I went with a group of 6 to celebrate my daughter's new goal in having completed law school & having taken the Bar. Thank you for making it unforgettable!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Rosa Mexicano in Puerto Rico is a little rundown!!! Restaurant was dirty, a wall fountain that doesn't work. Some items in the menu were not available. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Not very s
Food allergy friendly as stateside. Daughter got extremely ill after eating quesadillas made with supposedly gluten free corn tortillas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, best I've had in a long time! Michelle, our sever was perfecto! Atmosphere was terrific and drinks were strong and tasty!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Ambiente familiar, buena comida+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place, Juan was very nice, but the price and the quantity and quality should improve.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was outstanding and the tableside guacamole was one of the best I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fancy Mexican at reasonable princing. I specially enjoy the tuna tartar and the guac made right at the table. Service was top notch. The margaritas were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Ambiente muy tranquilo y romántico. Un servicio espectacular. Probamos desde aperitivo hasta el postre. Incluyendo el café. Muy atentos y comida deliciosa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 20, 2016

I like the Restaurant, Services was good, the experience overall was good. It was a little expensive. The restaurant should make arrangements with the parking. we paid 13.20 way to expensive.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our dining experience was very pleasant (mother's day). The food and the service were far more than expected. I had heard bad comments from friends and acquaintances, but my experience was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was the only but a BIG downfall here.
Simply ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was really bad from the beginning. We made reservations but still waited1/2 hr. For the table even though some tables were empty. Attention was deficient. Seems like no training at all with respect to client service. Have to ask for spice sauce and lemons 3 times and didn't get it. A Margarita came like 20 mins
After and the apetizer never came.Food was really good but considering many other good choices and that there was no value added at all we do not recomend it. Other places sells an experience rather than just good food. We didn't get it. Hope it improve.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Slow to non-existent service, mediocre food, overpriced. Free valet parking is available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 7, 2016

I ordered charrasco that is suppose to come with chimichurri sauce according to menu. They told me pico de gallo was chimichurri and would not provide what the menu said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great location!!!! Awesome sunset view. Great food and the best Skinny Margarita Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2016

The write ups on this place were great, but we totally disagree after having dinner there. we we're excited for the table side guacamole but they make it way too salty. The main dishes were just ok. Nothing to boast about. The wait staff grunted at us frequently. The hostess was busy talking to a friend when we arrived. The divers on the wall were cool. But hardly reason to visit this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The recommendations from the servers was no-Mexican dishes. Guacamole is awesome. Burritos pretty good. Arroz Caldoso good but pricey. Tacos, ughhh. Do not try it. The place is beautiful. But you must be very selective with the dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.