About Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis

609 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

In 1984, Rosa Mexicano set a new standard for Mexican cuisine when it first opened in New York City. Playing a leading role in defining what was then a "new" cuisine to American diners, Rosa Mexicano delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible, stylishly festive atmosphere. Rosa Mexicano's menu features a range of award-winning signature dishes, including our Guacamole en Molcajete, in a traditional lava rock mortar. Described by Time Out New York as "green ecstasy in a stone bowl," it is prepared table side and served with house made chips, warm corn tortillas and condiment salsas. Rosa Mexicano is also known for the Frozen Pomegranate Margarita, as well as the modern and festive ambiance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
6th and Hennepin (City Center)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-7144

Website:
http://www.rosamexicano.com/

Entertainment:
On special occasions, we have guest musicians and/or mariachis present to heighten the festive atmosphere. Please contact the restaurant directly with questions.

Catering:
Regardless of your party size, Rosa Mexicano is the perfect venue to offer your guests a creative, upscale experience that few restaurants can match. We offer a full range of catering options: buffet stations, pre fixe menus, family style menus, passed hors d’oeurvres, etc. We also offer off-premise catering for groups of all sizes. For Large Party Reservations, please contact Special Events Manager at 612.656.7144

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $9 after 5pm daily.
612.656.7144

DRIVING North: Take highway 35w south to Washington Ave turn right, left on Hennepin Ave. South: Take highway 35w north to downtown exits take the 11th street exit, right on Hennepin Avenue. East: Take highway 94 west to the 11th street exit, right on Hennepin Avenue. West:Take highway 394 east to the Dunwoody exit, Dunwoody turns into Hennepin Avenue.

Public Transit:
PUBLIC TRANSIT:Take the Light-Rail to Fifth & Hennepin Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Mauricio Legorreta

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
ICE CREAM FESTIVAL
August 1st - 31st
Taste our authentically flavored Ice Creams and Sorbet

LUNCH
Serving authentic, regionally inspired Mexican Cuisine since 1984
11:30am - 4pm, Daily

DESDE 1984 MENU - $23 Lunch | $25 Dinner
Guacamole, Queso Fundido or Nachos for the Table
Diner's Choice of any Entree
Churros or Tres Leches

HORA FELIZ
Happy Hour | Daily, 4 - 7 PM at the bar
$ Dos Tacos
$5 Quesadillas
Cocktail Specials & Pitchers
Bottomless Guacamole

EL MENU DE CANTINA
Authentic Mexico City Cantina Fare
Served all day at the bar
$8 Quesadillas
$8 Antojitos
$8 Dos Tacos

Restaurant Photos

Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Budin de Pollo
Taco Feast
Sopa De Tortilla
Quesadillas De Pollo
Guacamole En Molcajete
Cilantro-Mint Short Grain Brown Rice
Chicken Flauta
Epazote-Jalapeño Refried Black Beans
Salsa Norteña
Mexican Corn (Elote)
Frozen Pomegranate Margarita
Crab Tostada
Fresh Crab Enchiladas
Chicken Tortilla Pie
Medium Guacamole
Pork Belly And Scallop Taco With Citrus Habanero Sauce
Pomagranite Margarita
Chicken Tacos
Tampiquena Con Camarones
Frozen Pomengrante Margarita

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Rosa Mexicano's dramatic spaces are designed for affairs of all types, from large dinner parties and cocktail receptions to the most intimate of gatherings. To start planning your next event, please contact Sara Prutzman.

Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

good for groups (44)
special occasion (37)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for lunch (21)
vibrant bar scene (20)
romantic (18)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Table side guacamole is a must!

 
·Dined a day ago

Table side guacamole is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very discriminatory practice not giving ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very discriminatory practice not giving dinner customers happy hour drink prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

They only had one server on for a late S ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

They only had one server on for a late Saturday afternoon. There was a large party (maybe 12 people?) seated in the restaurant, so the one server was completely occupied with them. We waited unreasonably long for any service of any kind, at which point some random person - maybe a manager or kitchen help - finally asked us if we wanted guacamole service. After again, a REALLY long time, we asked a cleaning person to get a server so we could order food. It was an engagement celebration for our son, but was honestly very disappointing.

We have been there before and raved about it, but now feel embarrassed about choosing it for this occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Guacamole prepared tableside was excelle ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Guacamole prepared tableside was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, cool ambience, and great ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful food, cool ambience, and great drinks. Service wasn't great and it was not overly busy but will certainly not preclude me from returning

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was not very good. Bland and greas ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was not very good. Bland and greasy. The server acted like he would rather be doing anything but serving us. Prices were high so I expected better food and service. We won't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Service was amazing. Food was a little s ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was amazing. Food was a little spicer than I care for, but very good. I was a bit disappointed that paid $15 for table side preparation and it was not done at our table.

I would understand if they were busy, but it was early and only 3 table taken in the dining room.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed dinner on the fourth of July. ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We enjoyed dinner on the fourth of July. We sat on the patio which was a very nice spot to watch people and enjoy the day. The frozen Pomegranate Margarita was wonderful! Highly recommend. Their specialty is the guacamole which is made fresh. Good and chunky. Nice flavor. The entrees were excellent as well. Well prepared and seasoned. Made fresh. Upper scale Mexican fare and worth the visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was nice and attentive. Tableside ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Waiter was nice and attentive. Tableside guac was good but lacking flavor...ordered it to be medium, was very mild. Could have used some lime or salt too. Empanadas we not good, very greasy. Fajita like dish was very good. Chicken well seasoned. Best food of the night was the tres leche for dessert. Would definitely get again.

As for drinks, margaritas are small and weak flavored. Red wine sangria was not good..tasted mostly like brandy and lacking flavors considering it had fruit, wine and juice in it.

a bit pricy for the quality you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

The ambiance is great. The value of the ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The ambiance is great. The value of the food for what you get is good. I went with 2 food allergies and made it very clear what I could NOT have and still, the waiter brought my food with the allergens. I do not see why it is so hard to check with the chef and make sure the food is as ordered. He never checked and therefore I was sick for 4 days. I have previously eaten at this restaurant and with competent waitstaff, I did not get sick as the waiter made sure what I ate would work for me. Being sick for 4 days because of gluten and dairy issues makes it hard to recommend this restaurant but I know the food is good when the wait staff is competent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was outstanding. The selection ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was outstanding. The selection of tequilas was exceptional. Our only negative side was that there didn't seem to be enough table help. Our server was good, but we could see that he was having to serve a number of tables, and there just weren't many other servers there to help. They need more servers to be excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've eaten at the Rosa Mexicano in NYC, ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We've eaten at the Rosa Mexicano in NYC, and was pleasantly surprised to find the quality was just as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The margaritas are a must!!!!

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The margaritas are a must!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not good for kids, pretty spending for w ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not good for kids, pretty spending for what you get, food was so-so not a lot of flavor in my dish and it was recommended by the waitress. Service was very good and so was the table side lady that made the guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful. Service was horrible ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was wonderful. Service was horrible and it wasn't even busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Loud overpriced and unfriendly waiter... ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loud overpriced and unfriendly waiter... food was decent but I can get better at other mexican restaurants for cheaper.

The decor was pretty and fun to look at but I wouldn't recommend this to groups or people looking to enjoy themselves.

I wish I could say something better about this popular place but I'm struggling to find something.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great spot! Food was goood but too expen ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great spot! Food was goood but too expensive for the amount.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It has declined in quality and service o ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It has declined in quality and service over the years. We are at a point where other options are likely better. The food is alright but unexciting. Couple that with errors on orders its just not on our goto list any longer. Too bad considering the prime location.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Everything was pretty good. The service ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was pretty good. The service was not as great as expected for the price. We had to continually ask for more drinks or more salsa or more chips. Our Guacamole was made for us and then set on the table. There were no chips left so we had to wait for them to come around and order more chips for the Guaca .

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was amazing! I've traveled Mexico m ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was amazing! I've traveled Mexico my whole life and this was very authentic and amazing Mexico food! Tequila / Margarita's were amazing! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was great. food was good. Ambiance was great. Good fun overall

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately empanadas were not good, f ...

 
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Unfortunately empanadas were not good, fish tacos and guacamole was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Good atmosphere. Food very good. Servic ...

 
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good atmosphere. Food very good. Service very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Portions were very small, price was very high

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good, although for the price I expected better, and more of it. Also the place was very noisy with the seating next to other tables very close. All in all it was fairly good mexican food at a premium price in a noisy, un-special atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not enough wait staff. Server was pleasa ...

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not enough wait staff. Server was pleasant but did not see much of him and did not bring requests. He was just too busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Awesome restaurant! Easily my favorite!

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Awesome restaurant! Easily my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place has awesome guacamole!! All t ...

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This place has awesome guacamole!! All the food is very tasty and well made. I highly recommend this place for sitting outside in the nice weather. Great happy hour also!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Bad Service

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We sat down and ordered the tableside guacamole. It took about 45 minutes before we received it! And this was after asking the waiter a couple of times and then having to go directly to the manager. You would think that maybe they would bring us some chips to keep us "happy" while we waited, but we were basically ignored; the waiter never stopped by to apologize for the delay or to ask if he could get us anything else in the meantime. Our food order took a long time, too, but still arrived before the guac! I'm not sure how that can be when they make that guac all day long. When I made the reservation, I allowed an hour for us to eat and still have time to get to the play. Unfortunately, it took so long to get any food and we had to gobble everything down as fast as possible so it was difficult to enjoy the food. Also, it did take a while to get a drink, which went down pretty quickly, and one I was done with it I set it near the edge of the table where the waiter proceeded to buzz past it a number of times but never once stopped to ask if I wanted another. This was the worst service we've experienced in a very long time!

The manager was apologetic and that is the only reason I would consider going back as he saved the day on this one. We told him that we realize they may be busy and he said that they weren't (it didn't appear that they were all that busy). He said there was no excuse for this long of a delay just for guacamole because they make it all day long. After we spoke to him, he brought out the guac within 1 minute.

Hoping we will have better luck at this restaurant next time. We're willing to give it one more try as we did like the food and drinks once we got them!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great Meal

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Rosa Mexicano before seeing a Broadway show. Table-side guacamole was great as were the margaritas! One of us ordered the trio of enchiladas and one ordered the beef brisket tacos. Both meals were very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They really like to push their made-at-y ...

 
·Dined on May 15, 2016

They really like to push their made-at-your-table guacamole and seem mystified when you decline it. The drinks were better than the food. You can definitely fine better food for cheaper in the Twin Cities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food is good, but prices are pretty stee ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food is good, but prices are pretty steep. I went during happy hour and ordered one margarita and guacamole with chips. With tip, the total was $36. Not really a happy hour value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Worst service we have experienced at a r ...

 
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Worst service we have experienced at a restaurant in a long time. We arrived about 5:40. Told the server we had to be done as were headed to a 7:30 show. We ordered the guac and chips as we sat down as our husbands were parking the car. When the guys arrived it took the server over 20 minutes to come ask their drink orders and the guac had still not arrived. We finally had to ask to place our order. We all ordered the $25 app/entree dessert special. It was then we were told we could have a second appetizer....better late than never but we opted for none. By 7:05 we flagged down the server to get our desserts and tab. We realized we couldn't wait for our desserts and make the show so we ended up leaving. This was a huge disappointment and we didn't even get what we paid for. Thoroughly disgusting service. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived but filled up as we sat and waited and waited. Many were gone before we were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was great - friendly and helpful ...

 
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Service was great - friendly and helpful. Table side guacamole is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Odd experience - food okay.

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There were big gaps between ordering and getting food. Only a few tables were used in the back restaurant area. Received 1 appetite, had to ask for second. Dinner was late. Had to ask for dessert. They discounted the bill about 20%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was good but it took 45min to g ...

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was good but it took 45min to get a main dish - and one of our party had to get theirs to go.

We loved the fresh guacamole and I had the fish tacos, which were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Cinco de Mayo

 
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great 3 course meal! The atmosphere, wait staff and meal was a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go for the ambience. Good guacamole and ...

 
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Go for the ambience. Good guacamole and margaritas. Entrees are average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

It's good but expensive.

 
·Dined on May 5, 2016

It's good but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

weird hostess

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

we had a 630 reservation and we arrived at 625. four groups came in with no reservations and were told 30-45 minutes so they all left. then, 2 more groups arrived with no reservations and were seated before we were seated! i inquired as to why the walk-ins were seated before us and was told it was because we arrived at 625. i need to mention that we were all parties of two. then, as we proceeded to our table, i noticed many empty tables and booths. i do not understand their reservation/walk-in/seating process. it makes one irritated when groups walk in off the street and are seated before one's own group who made reservations.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food, poor service

 
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I have eaten at Rosa Mexicano several times, primarily over lunch. We decided to try them out for a weekend dinner before a concert. The service was beyond terrible. Although we were approached by a waiter shortly after being seated, our waiter disappeared for long periods of time. I waited almost 20 minutes for a drink, the waiter never returned to take my husband's drink order, and neither one of us was offered another drink during our meal. The waiter apparently forgot to put in an order for our of our food items, and we finally had to ask the host to check on our order. The table next to us left after not seeing a waiter for more than 10 minutes after being seated by the hostess. Although the food was good, the service was so poor, I could not recommend Rosa for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.