About Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis

609 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

In 1984, Rosa Mexicano set a new standard for Mexican cuisine when it first opened in New York City. Playing a leading role in defining what was then a "new" cuisine to American diners, Rosa Mexicano delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible, stylishly festive atmosphere. Rosa Mexicano's menu features a range of award-winning signature dishes, including our Guacamole en Molcajete, in a traditional lava rock mortar. Described by Time Out New York as "green ecstasy in a stone bowl," it is prepared table side and served with house made chips, warm corn tortillas and condiment salsas. Rosa Mexicano is also known for the Frozen Pomegranate Margarita, as well as the modern and festive ambiance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
6th and Hennepin (City Center)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-7144

Website:
http://www.rosamexicano.com/

Entertainment:
On special occasions, we have guest musicians and/or mariachis present to heighten the festive atmosphere. Please contact the restaurant directly with questions.

Catering:
Regardless of your party size, Rosa Mexicano is the perfect venue to offer your guests a creative, upscale experience that few restaurants can match. We offer a full range of catering options: buffet stations, pre fixe menus, family style menus, passed hors d’oeurvres, etc. We also offer off-premise catering for groups of all sizes. For Large Party Reservations, please contact Special Events Manager at 612.656.7144

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $9 after 5pm daily.
612.656.7144

DRIVING North: Take highway 35w south to Washington Ave turn right, left on Hennepin Ave. South: Take highway 35w north to downtown exits take the 11th street exit, right on Hennepin Avenue. East: Take highway 94 west to the 11th street exit, right on Hennepin Avenue. West:Take highway 394 east to the Dunwoody exit, Dunwoody turns into Hennepin Avenue.

Public Transit:
PUBLIC TRANSIT:Take the Light-Rail to Fifth & Hennepin Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Mauricio Legorreta

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
LUNCH
Serving authentic, regionally inspired Mexican Cuisine since 1984
11:30am - 4pm, Daily

DESDE 1984 MENU - $23 Lunch | $25 Dinner
Guacamole, Queso Fundido or Nachos for the Table
Diner's Choice of any Entree
Churros or Tres Leches

HORA FELIZ
Happy Hour | Daily, 4 - 7 PM at the bar
$ Dos Tacos
$5 Quesadillas
Cocktail Specials & Pitchers
Bottomless Guacamole

EL MENU DE CANTINA
Authentic Mexico City Cantina Fare
Served all day at the bar
$8 Quesadillas
$8 Antojitos
$8 Dos Tacos

Restaurant Photos

Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Budin de Pollo - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Taco Feast - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Sopa De Tortilla - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Quesadillas De Pollo - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Guacamole En Molcajete - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Cilantro-Mint Short Grain Brown Rice - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Chicken Flauta - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Epazote-Jalapeño Refried Black Beans - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Salsa Norteña - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Mexican Corn (Elote) - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Frozen Pomegranate Margarita - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Crab Tostada - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Fresh Crab Enchiladas - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Medium Guacamole  - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Chicken Tortilla Pie - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Pork Belly And Scallop Taco With Citrus Habanero Sauce - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Pomagranite Margarita - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Chicken Tacos - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Frozen Pomengrante Margarita - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis
Tampiquena Con Camarones - Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Rosa Mexicano's dramatic spaces are designed for affairs of all types, from large dinner parties and cocktail receptions to the most intimate of gatherings. To start planning your next event, please contact Sara Prutzman.

Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Romantic (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (1)
Casual (1)
Waterfront (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friday nights seem a bit busy for them. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 10 hours ago

Friday nights seem a bit busy for them. We tried to start at the bar first. A nice couple let us have their seats bc they hadn't received any service in 15 mins. My husband and I waited for 5 before checking into our table. The best thing about the service was the host stand. The ladies were very efficient and helpful in the dining room. Our server did not come to greet us for 10 mins. Our drinks took another 20 mins. We were out of water, chips and salsa before a host, Cheryl, noticed it and refilled us. When our server finally came he seemed less than sincere with his apology, but the food arrived shortly after. Once we got them the food and drinks were great. The restaurant is clean and comfortable. Overall the experience was a 3, but I'm willing to give it another go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice place. Wait staff was slow until ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place. Wait staff was slow until manager got wind of wait and things went into high gear. Not a bad place for dinner or a fun group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent service and food. We had a Gre ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and food. We had a Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was great atmosphere and déco ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Restaurant was great atmosphere and décor. Service was outstanding. Food was excellent...freshly made-in-front-of-you guacamole. Only complaint is both the beef and chicken enchiladas had pulled-style meat which our group did not care for, would prefer ground style.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant several ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times. My partner enjoys the house margaritas (on the rocks ) - they pack quite a punch in a not super big size, and the cheese enchiladas. The frozen house margarita is delicious and potent too. I always order the skillet chicken tacos, which are essentially fajitas. Both entrees are flavorful and not your average Mexican restaurant fare. The enchiladas are not greasy which is pretty rare for that dish, and the sauce is just spicy enough without overwhelming your tastebuds. The chicken for the skillet tacos is moist and not rubbery like some fajitas can become, and is presented on top of a salty melted cheese - excellent idea. I usually prefer a homemade flour shell with fajitas, but the soft corn shell here is perfect with the flavors of the chicken. The chips and salsa is unique and notable. The salsa tastes fresh with chunks of tomatoes and veggies and is a little sweet not spicy, while the chips are thick and salty.

Besides the excellent food and drinks, we also visit this restaurant because it is never too busy or loud. The service is spotty. On one visit the waiter is super attentive and friendly, and then the next time we visit the hostess is stand offish and the waiter is barely around. Nevertheless, this is one of our favorite places to enjoy Mexican food, especially after Masa on Nicollet Mall closed.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Delicious food and outstanding service. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food and outstanding service. When I am in Minneapolis I always take my clients to Rosa Mexicano. The service we receive is always superb and the same can be entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server i had she was awesome that is ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The server i had she was awesome that is the only reason i stayed. She did her best to try and fix everything but i just feel it was not her job to do everything .. I asked for my food well done even burn it and it still came out med well i spent 25 dollars on that dish to go to waste. My drink i order was trouble and had to reorder it. I was very upset cause it was a first date and the food was not great at all. I can't believe i recommended to go there for our date :(

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

I had the fish tacos. The fish was way ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I had the fish tacos. The fish was way overdone. The amount of mayo on the elotes was overkill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great food, the table-side guac i ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always great food, the table-side guac is a must have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really bad service and food quality. Def ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really bad service and food quality. Definitely would not recommend to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Server dropped one of our meals. We shou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Server dropped one of our meals. We should have been given a reduction on our bill but were given nothing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

I easily reserved group for my 30th birt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I easily reserved group for my 30th birthday party via open table with modifying options to keep group updated.

They seated our group in a round booth which is a pain to slide in and out for a large group.

Rosa was dead for 7pm group reservation but I was expecting great service which was far from what we had. Our server was switched twice.

To start, I ordered the signature guacamole but after our second order they removed the starter without our consent and stacked our finished entrees on top of our fresh guacamole. Did this happen to anyone else?

Our entrees arrived separately with multiple servers dropping off individual orders. There was no continuity nor did they remember whom ordered what. If I wanted this experience, I would've gone to 'Ol Mexico or El Loro; at least we could've eaten authentic Mexican food. The portions were to be expected palm sized to small plates.

I did enjoy the soft fresh corn tortillas.

After dinner, I felt the servers rushed us despite the restaurant being completely dead for a Friday night. The tres leches was disappointing. The cake crumbled like it was previously frozen or a few days old. The fruit on the cake was thawed and was clearly frozen blackberries and strawberries. The only thing on the dessert that I could recognize as possibly fresh was the milk on the bottom of the plate.

I would never recommend Rosa Mexicano for any groups nor special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Yeah. Not authentic. Not exciting. A cha ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Yeah. Not authentic. Not exciting. A chain that acts like a chain. Can't even do an enchilada right. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was very average. Service ,was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very average. Service ,was ok but not outstanding and it was not busy. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Table side guacamole is a must!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Table side guacamole is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent guacamole ! Best part of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent guacamole ! Best part of the meal! Sat outside on a hot night in MN and it was wonderful. Also tecimmend the pomegranate margarita

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very discriminatory practice not giving ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very discriminatory practice not giving dinner customers happy hour drink prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

They only had one server on for a late S ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They only had one server on for a late Saturday afternoon. There was a large party (maybe 12 people?) seated in the restaurant, so the one server was completely occupied with them. We waited unreasonably long for any service of any kind, at which point some random person - maybe a manager or kitchen help - finally asked us if we wanted guacamole service. After again, a REALLY long time, we asked a cleaning person to get a server so we could order food. It was an engagement celebration for our son, but was honestly very disappointing.

We have been there before and raved about it, but now feel embarrassed about choosing it for this occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was slow, but very friendly, my ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service was slow, but very friendly, my food was not finished cooking....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Guacamole prepared tableside was excelle ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Guacamole prepared tableside was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, cool ambience, and great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful food, cool ambience, and great drinks. Service wasn't great and it was not overly busy but will certainly not preclude me from returning

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was not very good. Bland and greas ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was not very good. Bland and greasy. The server acted like he would rather be doing anything but serving us. Prices were high so I expected better food and service. We won't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Service was amazing. Food was a little s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was amazing. Food was a little spicer than I care for, but very good. I was a bit disappointed that paid $15 for table side preparation and it was not done at our table.

I would understand if they were busy, but it was early and only 3 table taken in the dining room.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed dinner on the fourth of July. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We enjoyed dinner on the fourth of July. We sat on the patio which was a very nice spot to watch people and enjoy the day. The frozen Pomegranate Margarita was wonderful! Highly recommend. Their specialty is the guacamole which is made fresh. Good and chunky. Nice flavor. The entrees were excellent as well. Well prepared and seasoned. Made fresh. Upper scale Mexican fare and worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was nice and attentive. Tableside ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Waiter was nice and attentive. Tableside guac was good but lacking flavor...ordered it to be medium, was very mild. Could have used some lime or salt too. Empanadas we not good, very greasy. Fajita like dish was very good. Chicken well seasoned. Best food of the night was the tres leche for dessert. Would definitely get again.

As for drinks, margaritas are small and weak flavored. Red wine sangria was not good..tasted mostly like brandy and lacking flavors considering it had fruit, wine and juice in it.

a bit pricy for the quality you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

The ambiance is great. The value of the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The ambiance is great. The value of the food for what you get is good. I went with 2 food allergies and made it very clear what I could NOT have and still, the waiter brought my food with the allergens. I do not see why it is so hard to check with the chef and make sure the food is as ordered. He never checked and therefore I was sick for 4 days. I have previously eaten at this restaurant and with competent waitstaff, I did not get sick as the waiter made sure what I ate would work for me. Being sick for 4 days because of gluten and dairy issues makes it hard to recommend this restaurant but I know the food is good when the wait staff is competent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was outstanding. The selection ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was outstanding. The selection of tequilas was exceptional. Our only negative side was that there didn't seem to be enough table help. Our server was good, but we could see that he was having to serve a number of tables, and there just weren't many other servers there to help. They need more servers to be excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've eaten at the Rosa Mexicano in NYC, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We've eaten at the Rosa Mexicano in NYC, and was pleasantly surprised to find the quality was just as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The margaritas are a must!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The margaritas are a must!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not good for kids, pretty spending for w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Not good for kids, pretty spending for what you get, food was so-so not a lot of flavor in my dish and it was recommended by the waitress. Service was very good and so was the table side lady that made the guacamole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful. Service was horrible ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was wonderful. Service was horrible and it wasn't even busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Loud overpriced and unfriendly waiter... ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loud overpriced and unfriendly waiter... food was decent but I can get better at other mexican restaurants for cheaper.

The decor was pretty and fun to look at but I wouldn't recommend this to groups or people looking to enjoy themselves.

I wish I could say something better about this popular place but I'm struggling to find something.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great spot! Food was goood but too expen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great spot! Food was goood but too expensive for the amount.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It has declined in quality and service o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It has declined in quality and service over the years. We are at a point where other options are likely better. The food is alright but unexciting. Couple that with errors on orders its just not on our goto list any longer. Too bad considering the prime location.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Everything was pretty good. The service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was pretty good. The service was not as great as expected for the price. We had to continually ask for more drinks or more salsa or more chips. Our Guacamole was made for us and then set on the table. There were no chips left so we had to wait for them to come around and order more chips for the Guaca .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was amazing! I've traveled Mexico m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was amazing! I've traveled Mexico my whole life and this was very authentic and amazing Mexico food! Tequila / Margarita's were amazing! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was great. food was good. Ambiance was great. Good fun overall

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately empanadas were not good, f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Unfortunately empanadas were not good, fish tacos and guacamole was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Good atmosphere. Food very good. Servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good atmosphere. Food very good. Service very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Portions were very small, price was very high

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good, although for the price I expected better, and more of it. Also the place was very noisy with the seating next to other tables very close. All in all it was fairly good mexican food at a premium price in a noisy, un-special atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.