About Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis

609 Hennepin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

In 1984, Rosa Mexicano set a new standard for Mexican cuisine when it first opened in New York City. Playing a leading role in defining what was then a "new" cuisine to American diners, Rosa Mexicano delivers authentic Mexican cooking in an accessible, stylishly festive atmosphere. Rosa Mexicano's menu features a range of award-winning signature dishes, including our Guacamole en Molcajete, in a traditional lava rock mortar. Described by Time Out New York as "green ecstasy in a stone bowl," it is prepared table side and served with house made chips, warm corn tortillas and condiment salsas. Rosa Mexicano is also known for the Frozen Pomegranate Margarita, as well as the modern and festive ambiance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
6th and Hennepin (City Center)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 656-7144

Website:
http://www.rosamexicano.com/

Entertainment:
On special occasions, we have guest musicians and/or mariachis present to heighten the festive atmosphere. Please contact the restaurant directly with questions.

Catering:
Regardless of your party size, Rosa Mexicano is the perfect venue to offer your guests a creative, upscale experience that few restaurants can match. We offer a full range of catering options: buffet stations, pre fixe menus, family style menus, passed hors d’oeurvres, etc. We also offer off-premise catering for groups of all sizes. For Large Party Reservations, please contact Special Events Manager at 612.656.7144

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $9 after 5pm daily.
612.656.7144

DRIVING North: Take highway 35w south to Washington Ave turn right, left on Hennepin Ave. South: Take highway 35w north to downtown exits take the 11th street exit, right on Hennepin Avenue. East: Take highway 94 west to the 11th street exit, right on Hennepin Avenue. West:Take highway 394 east to the Dunwoody exit, Dunwoody turns into Hennepin Avenue.

Public Transit:
PUBLIC TRANSIT:Take the Light-Rail to Fifth & Hennepin Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Mauricio Legorreta

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
LUNCH
Serving authentic, regionally inspired Mexican Cuisine since 1984
11:30am - 4pm, Daily

DESDE 1984 MENU - $23 Lunch | $25 Dinner
Guacamole, Queso Fundido or Nachos for the Table
Diner's Choice of any Entree
Churros or Tres Leches

HORA FELIZ
Happy Hour | Daily, 4 - 7 PM at the bar
$ Dos Tacos
$5 Quesadillas
Cocktail Specials & Pitchers
Bottomless Guacamole

EL MENU DE CANTINA
Authentic Mexico City Cantina Fare
Served all day at the bar
$8 Quesadillas
$8 Antojitos
$8 Dos Tacos

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Rosa Mexicano's dramatic spaces are designed for affairs of all types, from large dinner parties and cocktail receptions to the most intimate of gatherings. To start planning your next event, please contact Sara Prutzman.

Rosa Mexicano - Minneapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

good for groups (51)
special occasion (37)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
romantic (26)
vibrant bar scene (24)
great for lunch (23)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (4)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service2

Not enough wait staff. Server was pleasa ...

Dined 2 days ago

Not enough wait staff. Server was pleasant but did not see much of him and did not bring requests. He was just too busy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant! Easily my favorite!

Dined 2 days ago

Awesome restaurant! Easily my favorite!

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Not impressed, but may give it another try

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We sat down and ordered the tableside guacamole. It took about 45 minutes before we received it! And this was after asking the waiter a couple of times and then having to go directly to the manager. You would think that maybe they would bring us some chips to keep us "happy" while we waited, but we were basically ignored; the waiter never stopped by to apologize for the delay or to ask if he could get us anything else in the meantime. Our food order took a long time, too, but still arrived before the guac! When I made the reservation, I allowed an hour for us to eat and still have time to get to the play. Unfortunately, it took so long to get any food and we had to gobble everything down as fast as possible so it was difficult to enjoy the food or the experience. The manager was apologetic and that is the only reason I would consider going back as he saved the day on this one. We told him that we realize they may be busy and he said that they weren't (it didn't appear that they were all that busy). He said there was no excuse for this long of a delay just for guacamole because they make it all day long. After we spoke to him, he brought out the guac within 1 minute. Hoping we will have better luck at this restaurant next time. We're willing to give it one more try as we did like the food and drinks once we got them!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Rosa Mexicano before seeing a Broadway show. Table-side guacamole was great as were the margaritas! One of us ordered the trio of enchiladas and one ordered the beef brisket tacos. Both meals were very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

They really like to push their made-at-y ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

They really like to push their made-at-your-table guacamole and seem mystified when you decline it. The drinks were better than the food. You can definitely fine better food for cheaper in the Twin Cities.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food is good, but prices are pretty stee ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food is good, but prices are pretty steep. I went during happy hour and ordered one margarita and guacamole with chips. With tip, the total was $36. Not really a happy hour value.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst service we have experienced at a r ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Worst service we have experienced at a restaurant in a long time. We arrived about 5:40. Told the server we had to be done as were headed to a 7:30 show. We ordered the guac and chips as we sat down as our husbands were parking the car. When the guys arrived it took the server over 20 minutes to come ask their drink orders and the guac had still not arrived. We finally had to ask to place our order. We all ordered the $25 app/entree dessert special. It was then we were told we could have a second appetizer....better late than never but we opted for none. By 7:05 we flagged down the server to get our desserts and tab. We realized we couldn't wait for our desserts and make the show so we ended up leaving. This was a huge disappointment and we didn't even get what we paid for. Thoroughly disgusting service. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived but filled up as we sat and waited and waited. Many were gone before we were.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great - friendly and helpful ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service was great - friendly and helpful. Table side guacamole is the best!!!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Odd experience - food okay.

Dined on May 8, 2016

There were big gaps between ordering and getting food. Only a few tables were used in the back restaurant area. Received 1 appetite, had to ask for second. Dinner was late. Had to ask for dessert. They discounted the bill about 20%.

food4
ambience3
service2

The food was good but it took 45min to g ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was good but it took 45min to get a main dish - and one of our party had to get theirs to go. We loved the fresh guacamole and I had the fish tacos, which were delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cinco de Mayo

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great 3 course meal! The atmosphere, wait staff and meal was a great experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Go for the ambience. Good guacamole and ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Go for the ambience. Good guacamole and margaritas. Entrees are average.

food2
ambience3
service4

It's good but expensive.

Dined on May 5, 2016

It's good but expensive.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

weird hostess

Dined on May 1, 2016

we had a 630 reservation and we arrived at 625. four groups came in with no reservations and were told 30-45 minutes so they all left. then, 2 more groups arrived with no reservations and were seated before we were seated! i inquired as to why the walk-ins were seated before us and was told it was because we arrived at 625. i need to mention that we were all parties of two. then, as we proceeded to our table, i noticed many empty tables and booths. i do not understand their reservation/walk-in/seating process. it makes one irritated when groups walk in off the street and are seated before one's own group who made reservations.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, poor service

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I have eaten at Rosa Mexicano several times, primarily over lunch. We decided to try them out for a weekend dinner before a concert. The service was beyond terrible. Although we were approached by a waiter shortly after being seated, our waiter disappeared for long periods of time. I waited almost 20 minutes for a drink, the waiter never returned to take my husband's drink order, and neither one of us was offered another drink during our meal. The waiter apparently forgot to put in an order for our of our food items, and we finally had to ask the host to check on our order. The table next to us left after not seeing a waiter for more than 10 minutes after being seated by the hostess. Although the food was good, the service was so poor, I could not recommend Rosa for dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Bartender didn't know how to make a martini...

Dined on April 29, 2016

And the waiter, who was clearly not old enough to drink, was making ludicrous beverage recommendations, claiming that Surly Furious isn't bitter because it is a light colored beer? Food was great, guacamole was excellent, and the service was prompt and courteous.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not impressed

Dined on April 28, 2016

We booked a reservation for a birthday party. It took 30 minutes to be greeted by our server, who also had another reservation table of 10 plus, he forgot drinks. It took 45 minutes and two reminders to get the birthday boy his Corona and then over an hour to take our order! For a 25$ a plate restaurant. This service was not to par! Wrecked the atmosphere of the party!

food5
ambience4
service3

Took a very long time to get drinks and ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Took a very long time to get drinks and a very long time for food. Great food, too long ....

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Meh.

Dined on April 21, 2016

We chose this restaurant to have some drinks and eat at before we saw Amy Schumer. 6:15 reservation, 8:00 show. Should be enough time, right? Host was very friendly! After we were seated, we didn't get greeted by our actual server for over 15 minutes. A wait assistant filled our waters a few minutes before this. From the get-go, the entire visit was just filled with anxiety for all of us. Every time we ordered another drink, it took at least 10-15 minutes to arrive. We didn't even get to order until we had been there for an hour!! We all ended up scarfing our food down because with how slow the service was, we were given 15 minutes to eat and pay before we had to leave to our show. We paid before our food even came because we knew it would take forever. The guacamole was amazing, but other than that, nothing made me want to return. One of my friends is now dealing with several transactions on her card, even though she only used it once to pay her portion of the bill. She's livid. What a mess. I have been serving for 12 years, so it's extra frustrating to experience this, knowing what service standards should be. I understand that you are extra busy when events are going on in town, but you should staff accordingly.

food4
ambience5
service4

Reliable spot for a casual business lunc ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Reliable spot for a casual business lunch. The salmon salad is quite good as are the beans & rice.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Well if you want happy hour drinks you s ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Well if you want happy hour drinks you should tell them when you walk in cause you have to sit in "special" area. Food was good but a bitover priced. Food is fresh chips& salsa,are delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service2

Slow service, took 15 minutes after my g ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Slow service, took 15 minutes after my guest arrived before the server came back to offer him a beverage. We were on the patio, so perhaps we were forgotten.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Over priced and under whelming

Dined on April 14, 2016

Title says it all. Had a get together with some friends. The service was great don't get me wrong. The tacos had no flavor and served on a gross mealy corn totilla. We had an app that was very similar to the tacos.... No flavor. Both were very expensive for small amounts of food. Margs were fine but again small and super expensive. If you're looking for a fun Mexican spot it's not here....

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was wonderful! I would recommend going for a birthday or girls night out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Terrible service and too expensive

Dined on April 8, 2016

It took 15 minutes for our waiter (whom I think was actually a bus boy filling in as a waiter) to come and take our order. Our food took about 40 minutes to arrive. I spoke with the hostess about the bad service and the fact that I had handed my credit card to him 10 minutes prior and he was not running it, but was stacking glasses. She had to go over and remind him to run it. It was a terrible way to spend an evening. I probable will not be going back.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Bland Mexican Food

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

If you like Mexican food that lacks flavor and spice the is the place for you. If you want Mexican food with flavor and spiciness then do not go here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tequila Mojitos, need I say more

Dined on March 30, 2016

The service was great, the dining room was beautiful and calming. The salsa was fresh with a little kick. I had the fish tacos. 3 large tacos with all the fixings. Very good portion. The tequila mojitos were the highlight. Best drink ever

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

Bad service, good food but very over pri ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Bad service, good food but very over priced

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food! Great service!!!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Nice food! Great service!!!

food3
ambience5
service3

A little on high on price for what you g ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

A little on high on price for what you get. Food is good, ambiance is amazing.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service and most of the food were excell ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Service and most of the food were excellent. Churros were too mushy and disappointing.

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

A miss for me

Dined on March 19, 2016

Expensive for the food. We received very poor service from our waitress. Cool atmosphere - but that was it for me.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious guacamole, skip the entrees

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our margaritas and guacamole were great. The entrees were not very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A new favorite

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

(3/16) This was my first visit to Rosa Mexicano. I loved it!! The service was excellent and the atmosphere and décor are great! The food was excellent as well. I will definitely return and am recommending it to my friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

First Visit, Not Great

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was fantastic! But the service left something to be desired. We had a reservation and were seated immediately. However, once seated, we waited at least 10 minutes before our waitress greeted us. The table side guacamole was wonderful but the woman making it was EXTREMELY rude, not speaking to us at all. Our waitress didn't come around much and we spent most of the meal waiting.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This was my birthday and I was looking f ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was my birthday and I was looking for a different place to dine. Rosa Mexicano is a great location in downtown Minneapolis. I have been curious about this restaurant for a while. I had an early (3:00pm) Sunday reservation. It was very quiet. The food was good however, I felt that the wait staff could use some more training. There were three people assisting us in our meal service. When clearing the table, one person did not ask if I had finished my drink (I had not), another person spilled a large amount of hot sauce, saw it and never returned to clean it up, and the last person who asked about boxing food, put all of the items together and there were three people dining. Wait service training would improve the dining experience. Overall, it was a good new place to visit and I would come again because I did like the food.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a girls night out. This was ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went for a girls night out. This was a great choice. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Food was phenomenal. The table side guacamole was some of the best. Desserts were too good. We ordered a second.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service!

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

This was our first time at Rosa Mexicano. Our server, Brian, was very helpful and gave excellent recommendations. Our meals were delicious-- and we loved the sundae for dessert. We will return!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GREAT first experience!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We went for the Restaurant Week $20 lunch. All of the food was FANTASTIC. The flavors were great, the presentation looked really high quality and you got so much for that price. Everyone was really professional and friendly. I'd definitely go back in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3

Went for dinner. The location and ambian ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Went for dinner. The location and ambiance was nice. Food was over priced and not worth the amount I spent. However, the made table side guacamole was delicious.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.