Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (8)
Organic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort by
S
1497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Great service, steak was amazing! Overall great spot when in Solvang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We were there for a birthday dinner and had the friend chicken. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Outstanding food with great service. Vietnamese Short ribs were delicious. A special birthday chocolate cake was decadent. Very pleasant surroundings. Enjoyed it emmensely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner on New Year's Eve. It was perfect as we were able to order off the menu which had wonderful selections. When I made the reservation I requested a booth as my husband is hard of hearing. The request was honored and we were able to visit with our friend without raising our voices. We were also delighted to learn "Pink" had recently joined the culinary team!!! Thank you so much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Chef Pink is a star. What she brings to dinning in Santa Ynez Valley is an elevated experience of guality foods and unique preparation. A new favorite place to eat out in Solvang.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Chef Pink created a magnificent meal! Baby fried artichokes, pasilla pepper mashed potates, insane fried chicken, snickerdoodle skillet cookie with vanilla ice cream. Ahhhhhhh,

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Old reviews by some others faulted root 246 for service . That , if true, is certainly no longer the case. Our recent visit was characterized by both excellent food and service in a pleasant atmosphere where one can hold a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

excellent food and service Black Forest cake was fantastic

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

The restaurant was so very good! everything was cooked to a tee, and the ambiance was delectable. We went to celebrate an early Christmas dinner and we wee very satisfied, overall the food, service, and experience was amazing! We would 100% recommend this spot!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Healthy, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Spicy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Scenic View, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Hadn't been in a long while. Was very exited to see that local "celebrity" chef, Chef Pink, formerly of Bacon & Brine, is their new head chef! Food was great and very creative. We look forward to going back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2017

What happened with the restaurant menu? Previously,It was our favorite restaurant with the Fine food ,BEST in Solvang . We celebrated my birthday in December 2017.The menu changed,no more fish, lamb, only ribs,steak,beef. The food quality wasn't good,as it was before. The desserts are very poor. Hamburgers and French Fries it's a wrong way to go for up scale restaurante?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2017

No fish on the menu. The chicken was not cooked through so I sent it back (unbelievable- who does this!) plus the presentation of the plate was amateur hour for a chef at a restaurant like this. (cold mashed potatoes, 4 pickles, and 2 pieces of fried chicken- and the thigh piece was uneatable.) Desert was poor, apple tart did not even come with ice cream unless you paid extra, Smoores cake tasted bland. Rososto was a soup!
Next time I get a gift certificate for a place I am not familiar with I am going to re-gift.
Don't eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

Food is bad, the bone marrow is too oily, the fillet mignon is over cooked on one side and under cooked on another for a medium rare beef, but the mash potatoes is really good. The sauce for the new york steak is way too salty, the steak itself is really burnt. Overall plating is not really presentable. The service is not bad. I mention it's my boyfriend's birthday but they didnt do anything about it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We've been to Root 246 a few times and the food is always good but it's usually crowded. This time there were fewer people, which should've made it awesome, right? Well it didn't. Our server was nothing special, luckily the food was. We had the short rib grilled cheese to start. The meat was tender and the cheese was not overwhelming but the amount of onions were. I picked most of them off and it was much better that way. I had the filet and it was cooked perfectly (medium). The roasted cauliflower had the right amount of char. My husband had the short rib bolognese and it was consumed quickly, which means it must've been good. We had a caramel cookie with ice cream which would totally be worth ordering again. The cookie was warm and soft and the salted caramel drizzled on top was a perfect accent. Now... as good as the food was, it was also pricy. But we know that's part of going there (that's why we don't go every trip). Also, we were there for our anniversary and I included that tidbit in my reservation. There was never any acknowledgement of it, nor where we asked if we were celebrating anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Food extremely overpriced and not much of it. Had to ask for water and bread/butter numerous times. There were only three other tables, so it wasn't busy. Not very good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant in the past and were looking forward to dinner based on their menu on their website. Apparently they have a new chef and nothing was the same on the new menu. The food was so mediocre, and that is being generous. Huge disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We were in town for Wine Tasting and were in the mood for a nice meal. Everything was delicious, from butternut squash risotto to filet mignon to an wedge salad and seasonal craft cocktails. Finished the meal with an apple dessert. Service was excellent, highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Root 246 is the perfect place for date night! Fiancee and I were visiting for the weekend and came across this place and could not have been more impressed. Service was great and food was immensely flavorful and cooked perfectly. Would recommend this place highly!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2017

I love this restaurant, the menu is interesting and different. It is also beautiful, a great compliment to the hotel.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Here's the bottom line. Several hits and several misses. Wonderful service but really uncomfortable sitting. My sweetheart and I had dinner just after Thanksgiving. I had the filet and my husband had the scallops. Irrespective of other reviews, the scallops were fantastic as was my steak. We shared a truffle mac and cheese that had almost no truffle flavor and slightly underdone noodles as an appetizer. My filet was served with mashed potatoes and cauliflower. The cauliflower was very bland and unappealing on the plate (white on white on white plate). Serious miss. My husband's plate was lovely with beet puree and small beautifully diced beets. However, beets are sweet and scallops are slightly sweet. The dish could have used a spice or acid element. All in all a good meal but should have been great.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Drunk golfers were very distracting in the dining area, food was not hot, warm at best. Noted in the reservation was a Birthday, it was not recognized. Besides this, the food was good not great but still one of the best places to eat in Solvang and I will go again. The service is good, the price for 2 and a glass of wine after tip was $150.00, not cheap.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Perfect spot for the romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

My sister visited from the Bay area and my daughter from the Central Valley. We enjoyed a fabulous Thanksgiving dinner. It could not have been better!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Food, ambiance, staff, drinks = Phenomenal

I had oysyers, filet mingon, and a martini called the girl next door. I am super picky with food and this place is one of the top 10 places I've eaten.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Our dinner was both delicious and unique...in fact we both felt the salad and lamb were exceptional. Great ambiance too!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Beautiful interior with warm ambiance, good food and friendly attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Good not great. Arrived on time for my reservation and still had to wait almost a half hour for a table. Came for a date and I could barely hear her over the noise. In addition the food was just okay. It was good but not worth the price. It is possible that we just got the wrong foods. Overall, it wasn't that bad and I recommend you try it for yourself, but it came highly recommended and I was disappointed. I'll probably go back sometime and give it another shot though.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Quick summary, I will be coming here again. Rib eye steak was fantastic. Flat bread appetizer was really good.

The not quite so good. Caesar salad was served using whole romaine leaves (including the nasty end parts) drizzled with caesar dressing. Dressing was good, I don't like having to cut up a salad before I eat it. Plus the whole romaine leaves don't make it look very appetizing. I will probably pass on this item next time I visit.

Chairs are a bit awkward, but comfy.

Our waiter Daniel was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2017

IT WAS OUR FIRST VISIT TO ROOT 246 BUT A PLEASANT CHANGE OF FOOD IN THE SOLVANG COMMUNUITY WHICH HAS MOSTLY DANISH FOOD. LOCATION NEXT TO THE HOTEL CORQUE IS VERY CONVENIENT. WE WILL RETURN ON ANOTHER VISIT.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2017

We had a wonderful server, who we can’t remember the name of. I’m so sorry but it was her birthday and she was friendly and helped us with some ideas on where to go for our trip.
Food and drinks were lovely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2017

The farm-to-table food was excellent. There are a limited number of menu items, made with seasonal ingredients, so I think the chef can concentrate on doing a few dishes well instead of making numerous dishes in a mediocre way. The service was very good. Our group of 7 was in a private room and the service hit the sweet spot of being attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Great Sunday brunch on the patio with family. Beautiful day great food and good service. Will definitely go back for dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Beautiful restaurant wonderful food however, the restaurant is in a hotel and everybody brings their children down to this really beautiful nice restaurant instead of eating in the other area. So if you’re trying to have a very nice meal and they have a beautiful menu it’s going to be noisy because they’ve allowed children inside. The night we had dinner it was unfortunate because it was so noisy with kids and I have four of my own so it’s not like I’m childless I know the difference and I think it’s wrong for them to let kids into the fine dining room sid of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2017

I had made a reservation for a party of 10. The staff at Root 246 provided us our own room, which was nice and personal. The wait staff was excellent and did not rush us through our meal. The food and drinks were excellent. Root 246 allowed my wife to have an excellent birthday dinner with our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Everything was fabulous! Amazing food, service and ambience. Very gluten free friendly and accommodating. Our whole table had the tomato soup and lamb lollies. All GF 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Meh. Everyone was very nice and professional, but the food was extremely overpriced for the quality. Both our dishes lacked flavor and were very uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2017

They had great ratings but all of that was totally undeserved - Service was so slow 25 min from clearing salads to entrees! The veggie spaghetti entree looked miserable when it arrived. The entire dish was covered with sauce that looked like it had been baking under a heat lamp for the entire 25 min and when you got into the pasta we discovered a fettuccine noodle that was way past aldente, i.e., mush. My wife’s flatbread was brown on the bottom but raw dough inside. We sent both entrees back and didn’t want to reorder. The waiter sent the resturant manager over - he ultimately comped our entire bill. The manager admitted that the new chef had made the pasta and obviously hadn’t perfected it yet! Nice to know that now but too late to salvage our night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Enjoyed our lovely booth, friendly, attentive service and delicious dinner. Interesting, tasty craft cocktails, delicious cheese plate, great sword fish and rib eye. Would go back again when visiting wine country. Fresh and current.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We love eating at Root 246 in the little Danish town of Solvang. Excellent appetizers, food, and desserts... plus a very, VERY good wine list. They give you free, delicious, warm bread and butter, but I try to steer clear of it and save room for my favorite main course: the Shake & Bake chicken. It is SO good... tender, juicy chicken with a crisp skin and tasty mashed potatoes. YUM!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We had an excellent meal and service at Root 246. Each dish we ordered was fresh, unique, and very high quality. The service was excellent. We were here for a birthday and they wrote happy birthday on the dessert plate in chocolate sauce which was a sweet touch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.