About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday
Lounge closes at 11:00pm Tuesday Wednesday Thursday and Sunday
Lounge closes at 12:00am Friday and Saturday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
Grilled chateau sirloin
Fried Calamari
Ahi Sashimi
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Pappardelle Pasta with Braised Beef Short Ribs
Babe Farms organic lettuce salad
mac n cheese
Sugared Donut Holes
Bread
Grilled Figs
King Salmon
Cheese Plate
Shake N Bake Jidori Chicken
zeppole
Pork Belly
Filet Mignon
Fig Flatbread
Jambalaya
Chili-Cocoa Rubbed Filet
Roasted Corn Soup
Chicken
Oysters 4 Ways
Ribeye Steak
Pudding and Ginger Snap Cookie
Crispy Pork Belly and Egg Rolls
Scallops with Grapefruit Fizz
Chocolate Cake
House Made Ricotta Crostini, La Qiercia Prosciutto, Lemon, Olive Oil, Fine Herbs
Morro Bay Oysters
Fresh House Made Pickles
Seared Day Boat Scallops, Corn And Balck Quinoa Ristotto, Sweet Corn Nage
Local Red Grouper, Spaghetti Squash,Sauteed Shrimp, Cara Cara Orange Sauce
House-Made Charcuterie Board
Basil Gimlet
3 Bean Salad, Pomegranate Mole, Cotija Cheese And Pickled Nopales
Wagyu Top Sirloin, Potato Puree, Wild Mushrooms, Petite Bloomin' Onions, And Sauce Bordelaise
Calamari
Tomato and Watermelon Salad

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
2 More
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Solvang ›

special occasion (29)
fit for foodies (26)
romantic (20)
See All
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

Ford read great but restaurant was empty ...

Dined 4 days ago

Ford read great but restaurant was empty so we ate at the bar. Expected to see much more people

food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful dinner here in Solvang ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Another wonderful dinner here in Solvang. What makes this one special beside the outstanding food and service is that Root 246 is part of Hotel Corque, and sometimes in my experience the hotel restaurant isn't the best restaurant, depending on location of course. This restaurant stands on its own as one of the best in town. The watermelon salad was to die for, and the signature cocktails were outstanding. Daniel was our waiter and did an outstanding job.. If you can impress my partner in love, life and wine then you deserve a gold star. Kudos to Root 426 and kudos to Daniel. We will be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

A group of 6 of us had a fabulous dinner ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

A group of 6 of us had a fabulous dinner. We had excellent service and delicious food. The only thing I would change in the future is make sure I am seated in the dining room rather than the bar. It was a little difficult eating at a low, narrow table with giant chairs.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Fathers Day brunch was disappointing. Ev ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day brunch was disappointing. Everything was cold and the presentation was poor.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a party of 8 on a Saturday night. ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a party of 8 on a Saturday night. 3 of the 8 meals arrived cold - not lukewarm, but cold. A "medium" steak was served rare. However, the chicken was very good as was the scallops. Too inconsistent for us to want to return.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

My daughter & I loved everything about o ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My daughter & I loved everything about our experience except the undercooked chicken. I was too full to eat it but it was pink with pink juices running out of it. Not appetizing at all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

wait about 30 minutes for food

Dined on June 13, 2016

wait about 30 minutes for food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was lovely, easy to hear my swe ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Ambiance was lovely, easy to hear my sweetheart talk, great seating inside but outside was also lovely..tho a bit cool for us. Food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Food was delicious! Ambiance is wonderfu ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was delicious! Ambiance is wonderful. We sat on the patio with live music. The bar is also very nice. Our server, however, seemed annoyed and did not hesitate to hide it. Our order was taken and requests seemed to put her off. We were served and never had contact again until we got the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Night

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I was my birthday and my wife and I had an exceptional night. the service was excellent, the food was well prepared and presented and they gave me a terrific dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recomm ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recommend for special events, their booths are very private and cozy. Try the rack of lamb. They don't have a great beer selection but a very good wine list. Try the Cabernet by Justin, for about $50 per bottle, it was a great buy!

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Keeps Getting Better

Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful meal and service and a special treat for my birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the meal. Ambience is very n ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed the meal. Ambience is very nice and pretty value. Skirt steak was garlicky and delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience, service and food was excel ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambience, service and food was excellent.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere... Good food!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great layout to get there earlier, have a drink at the bar, enjoy good food. The wine list could be better quality wines and larger options.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

only miss bottomless mimosas at another ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

only miss bottomless mimosas at another favorite brunch? Another brunch has bottomless mimosas for $10 each person? maybe flavored mimosas or another brunch put orange juice on the table and poured bottomless champagne?

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really like Root.

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been here several times and have always had good experiences. One complaint. It was my spouse's birthday and I put that in the Open Table notes, but there was no recognition of it. We had some wine and I forgot to "re-tell" the server. So no birthday cake or acknowledgement. Oops. Dog house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Return visit

Dined on April 25, 2016

Went to Solvang to do some wine tasting and since this is one of the most recommended restaurants in the area decided to eat there on a Sunday night. (They are closed on Monday.) They were not too crowded and we got a nice quiet corner table. Their menu is somewhat limited but their special fish that night was sea bass, which we ordered. It was outstanding! That, a Caesar salad and a bottle of wine was a delightful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started eating at Root 246 a few year ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We started eating at Root 246 a few years ago. It's a must eat at place when we are in Solvang.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Worth a try

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was good, not tremendous. The elements are there and once they figure it out it will be better, it's worth trying. Our server did her best, but you could tell they had given her too many tables.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Root 246 has seen many changes over the years, but I think they finally have a winning combination with the new chef, menu and new management. The menu has many choices compared to before. The carpaccio was excellent for a starter, the chipotle Caesar salad was great with a little heat. Had the stuffed pablano for dinner and my wife had the see bass, both very unique and tasty. The waitress was very attentive to our needs and the manager came over to introduce himself and make sure our meal was acceptable. Will definitely be back to try more things on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved everything about our experience at Root246!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We dined while on vacation and stopped for happy hour twice and then again for dinner. Each experience was excellent from the food taste and composition to the wait staff and over-all vibe. We will return the next time we visit Solvang!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food in Solvang

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Great sea bass perfectly cooked but service was very slow for a slow off season Tuesday night. Maybe going somewhere else next time we visit Solvang...

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great option for wonderful food and ambi ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great option for wonderful food and ambiance. When we are Solvang next, this will be a sure stop. Not ideal for families or small children. Great bar scene.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our second time coming and the f ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

This is our second time coming and the first time we loved it, this time not so much. First of all it was empty and we asked to sit in a booth and the hostess wouldn't let us, said there were too many upcoming reservations to have a 2 top sit in a booth. Well while we were there only one other party of 4 came and sat in a booth and then a party of 2 was sat in a booth. Needless to say I was steaming. The food was not as good as a month ago. The server was good.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Needs updating

Dined on March 31, 2016

The dinning room is a bit boring and needs updating. Felt like 1960's room. Bar is great and every nice. Would recommend for happy hour

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & Service - excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

My vegetarian meal was fabulous which I cannot say about too many restaurants as it generally falls into the "I guess we have to feed them something" category. But their Poblano Pepper was definitely something to recommend to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Many locals poo poo the place because it ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Many locals poo poo the place because it's evidently casino-owned. But I have to say, I've always had good food and experiences here. Been probably 3 times and always really good. I'm sure there are great local places too, but we like it here.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing. We love their mar ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

The food was amazing. We love their martinis first off, they are huge! I had the shrimp and grits so tasty, delicious! My husband had the steak and it was very good also. We shared the watermelon salad very good and then shared this desert that was hard as a rock, cant remember the name, I think it was key lime and meringue something.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the New Approach

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

New chef and decor compliment an old favorite in Solvang. And the service and wine were also superb. A hit all the way around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite place to eat when we'r ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Always a favorite place to eat when we're up in this gorgeous area!

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

LA Pretension comes to Solvang

Dined on February 21, 2016

And the result isn't pretty. Oh, the food presentation is pretty, but that's about the only good thing I can say. The food was OK, but not $39 OK: I got the scallops (3 of 'em) which came with 3 tablespoons of a ragout of "wild" mushrooms, sundried tomatoes and potatoes in a sauce that reminded me of Chinese sweet and sour (too sweet and too salty for my taste) The scallops were tasty, but I would hate to know where they came from. I had asked about the salmon and was shocked to learn that a place that bills itself as "farm to table" is using Eastern Canadian Farmed salmon. There was no local fish on the menu, despite our vibrant local industry. If you have any type of appetite expect to need to supplement your entree with a couple of $6 sides or a $15 salad. Service was far below par for a place in this price range. They made a big show of changing the silverware out (which ironically looked like it came from a school cafeteria), but despite a wealth of servers ours was never around when we needed him and none of the others paid us the least bit of attention. The ambiance is I guess "modern cottage chic". The place is huge, but divided into multiple rooms. When I tried to make a reservation for 6:30 they showed as booked from 6:30 to 8:30, so I went for 6:00. Was surprised to see at least 30 empty tables when we arrived, less than half of which filled in by the time we left at 7:30. I don't know how they do their placement, but it was lousy. They seated us on a long stiff bench with a blank wall behind it and an opposing chair. Not exactly romantic to begin with, but despite having six empty tables to the right of us they put us within a foot of the only other couple that was stuck on the bench, forcing us to listen to each others. Meanwhile there were 4 more cozy looking booths that were empty. They play pop music in the background, which is ok, but in an hour and a half we had to listen to Adele's "Hello" at least three times. I won't be back.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Not Clear That it was a buffet brunch only.

Dined on February 14, 2016

When I booked this reservation no one mentioned that this would be a prix fix brunch only meal. I had been there before for a dinner and the food was great. This was disappointing. The restaurant seems very disorganized, the hot food was not really hot and the salads needed to be refreshed. We made the best of it but it was a disappointment all the way around.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Third Time, Always Great

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food and ambience never fails to delight. It is expensive but worth the price. It would be a great restaurant anywhere but in Solvang it is stupendous. There isn't anything else where you can get a great meal and good wine after 6PM. The sidewalks are rolled-up everywhere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Place for Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 1, 2016

Brought girlfriend here on a recent wine tasting trip. The food was very good. Service was excellent. It was her birthday and they provided a dessert with "Happy Birthday" and her name spelled out on the plate in chocolate. It was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Hit and miss

Dined on January 29, 2016

The continual changes in the kitchen make the quality of the meal a gamble. This time the salad was very gritty, the microgreens were not washed well and the vegan dish was simply not well prepared (pepper not well roasted, seed still all there, contents cool). It has a great ambiance and a very nice bar. I will stick to appetizers in the future.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant Week 2016

Dined on January 27, 2016

We ate at the bar in the front dining room. Prix Fixe menu and we both had the stuffed chile with side salad and lemon cream brulee. Great food and perfect portion. Wine list is extensive, something for any wine lover.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Brunch!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful selection of great food with nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, attentive staff, and an ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Delicious food, attentive staff, and an overall lovely experience. Wait time was a bit long to get our entrees, but the food was worth the wait. I would come back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding.

Dined on December 25, 2015

We highly recommend Root 246. We had Christmas Eve dinner there while staying at the Hotel Corque next door. It was wonderful. Food was perfect. Service was excellent. We couldn't have been more pleased. We'll be back.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.