About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday
Lounge closes at 11:00pm Tuesday Wednesday Thursday and Sunday
Lounge closes at 12:00am Friday and Saturday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Restaurant Photos

Scallops
Grilled chateau sirloin
Fried Calamari
Ahi Sashimi
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Pappardelle Pasta with Braised Beef Short Ribs
Babe Farms organic lettuce salad
mac n cheese
Sugared Donut Holes
Bread
Cheese Plate
Shake N Bake Jidori Chicken
King Salmon
Grilled Figs
zeppole
Filet Mignon
Pork Belly
Fig Flatbread
Jambalaya
Chili-Cocoa Rubbed Filet
Chicken
Roasted Corn Soup
Oysters 4 Ways
Ribeye Steak
Scallops with Grapefruit Fizz
Pudding and Ginger Snap Cookie
Crispy Pork Belly and Egg Rolls
Chocolate Cake
Morro Bay Oysters
Local Red Grouper, Spaghetti Squash,Sauteed Shrimp, Cara Cara Orange Sauce
Fresh House Made Pickles
Seared Day Boat Scallops, Corn And Balck Quinoa Ristotto, Sweet Corn Nage
House Made Ricotta Crostini, La Qiercia Prosciutto, Lemon, Olive Oil, Fine Herbs
House-Made Charcuterie Board
3 Bean Salad, Pomegranate Mole, Cotija Cheese And Pickled Nopales
Wagyu Top Sirloin, Potato Puree, Wild Mushrooms, Petite Bloomin' Onions, And Sauce Bordelaise
Basil Gimlet
Tomato and Watermelon Salad
Calamari

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Solvang ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Romantic (19)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely restaurant, walking distance from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lovely restaurant, walking distance from all hotels in Solvang village. Rustic on the outside but classy and elegant on the inside. Great food, service & wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, would go back. The food was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice place, would go back. The food was good. Nice bar area next door too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at the Chef's Table - it was an u ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We ate at the Chef's Table - it was an unbelievable experience! Fantastic food that he presented and explained in detail, and he gave us extra portions to taste (for free) including house made lemoncello and orangecello and mutliple sorbets. HIGHLY recommend doing it and selecting the "tasting menu" (which is essentially whatever you want), especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third trip to Root 246, and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This was our third trip to Root 246, and it never disappoints us. We were there on August 14th for a special shared birthday celebration and family dinner. The food was perfect and our waitress was wonderful, attentive but not intrusive. She witnessed, without being told, that it was a birthday celebration for my husband and brought out the lovely wooden service board decorated with birthday cake. However, she was unaware that it was also the birthday for my son-in-law's mother in attendance with us, so I told her and she quickly brought out a duplicate celebratory cake! The table area offered just the right amount of subdued lighting as well as the toned down noise level making it easy for our group of five to visit. Perfect evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time here. They hav ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second time here. They have consistently good food and service. It isn't cheap but the food holds up. They have a good wine list. The decore is a bit modern but comfortable. I am sure we will go back. Make sure to have some wine and cheese on their front patio. Great place to people watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was good, peppercorn sauce on the s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was good, peppercorn sauce on the sweet side. Calamari was slightly under done and sauces were unique. The thing that bothered me were the dirty walls in the booth we sat at. Please wipe them down. Server almost seemed unsure of menu. Overal an ok experience but at those prices attention to detail is of utmost importance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall a fantastic experience. My only ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall a fantastic experience. My only little complaint is that the caprese salad was not good. It had refrigerator cold heirloom tomatoes. And barely any Burrata cheese, a main component of the recipe. I would have expected a restuarant with Bradley Ogden attached to it would produce a dish better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic drinks and food. Chocolate Te ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic drinks and food. Chocolate Terrine desert was beyond exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great. Only slight issue ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was great. Only slight issue was we were there for over 2 hours. I don't want to be rushed but also don't want to sit too long either. Waitress was really good but toward the end the gaps between her coming to the table to check on us became longer. Otherwise we enjoyed it thoroughly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant many times and unfortunately had an entree that was not as we expected. The manager promptly took care of this problem and was very accommodating ! We definitely will return due to her positive response to our concerns. Overall, the rest of the meal was very good and a very pleasant experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was great and so was the servic ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was great and so was the service. It was our 25th anniversary and they made us feel very special

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was recommended for Sunday Br ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Restaurant was recommended for Sunday Brunch. Very minimal wait staff was present and while it was 11 a.m., they did not seem prepared to seat diners, and service/responsiveness was only fair-good. That said, the food was well-prepared. Guessing that regular lunch and dinner experiences will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent kitchen 90 minutes to first co ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent kitchen

90 minutes to first course and 120 minutes to main course

Pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Very good and creative food, well execut ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good and creative food, well executed. We go there every time we're in the area and we're never disappointed

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food! Will defini ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service and food! Will definitely return again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second Visit. Seating not very comforta ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Second Visit. Seating not very comfortable in the main dining room.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although best restaurant in Solvang , fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Although best restaurant in Solvang , food was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were celebrating our 46th anniversary, staff was very attentive, but not standing over us. They could explain all the menu and specialty cocktails. They menu had something for everyone. We had never seen such a busboy; he kept our bread plate and water glasses full always with a big smile. We would go back again and recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service, however we wante ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food and service, however we wanted artichokes and the cook said it would be 15 minutes. Well after 15 they still weren't ready so we decided on something else.. But all in all it was cool.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the atmosphere, the special d ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere, the special drinks selection, the food. Our server had some trouble understanding that we were ordering "Carpaccio" instead of gazpacho soup for an appetizer to be shared. I did feel that the staff that was bringing the food out should look cleaner in appearance even though they were very polite and efficient.

Dishes were taken away as each of us finished our food (excellent !!)

Both the Carpaccio and the gazpacho soup are "repeats". The halibut was good with a little "bite" to it but my husband liked it - for me, a little too spicy , I think it was the "sauce" on it.

Wine list - good selection and affordable -

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was good, but not great. Our s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was good, but not great. Our server was excellent. We just weren't that impressed for the price we paid.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Root ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Root 246. The presentation of each course and the flavor was delicious! Sadly our friend's filet was overcooked and yet it was replaced and perfectly cooked the second time. Our waitress was great and we loved the quiet booth!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fine family dining. Service was very fr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fine family dining. Service was very friendly. Kitchen tho was slow and with an infant in tow that was difficult for us. Some of the food was quite good, other dishes were mediocre.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

We were disappointed in the food this ye ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were disappointed in the food this year. We found it quite expensive. The fish was a bit overcooked and the steak had excessive fat (both @ $39/ meal so we expected a better dinner). The seating in the booths is quite nice, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I was somewhat disappointed. It just se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed. It just seemed off somehow. Not many people and no energy. The specialty drinks we ordered were good. My salmon was OK, but it was actually cold. I did not feel that the meal we received was worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Ford read great but restaurant was empty ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Ford read great but restaurant was empty so we ate at the bar. Expected to see much more people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Another wonderful dinner here in Solvang ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Another wonderful dinner here in Solvang. What makes this one special beside the outstanding food and service is that Root 246 is part of Hotel Corque, and sometimes in my experience the hotel restaurant isn't the best restaurant, depending on location of course. This restaurant stands on its own as one of the best in town. The watermelon salad was to die for, and the signature cocktails were outstanding. Daniel was our waiter and did an outstanding job.. If you can impress my partner in love, life and wine then you deserve a gold star. Kudos to Root 426 and kudos to Daniel. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A group of 6 of us had a fabulous dinner ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

A group of 6 of us had a fabulous dinner. We had excellent service and delicious food. The only thing I would change in the future is make sure I am seated in the dining room rather than the bar. It was a little difficult eating at a low, narrow table with giant chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fathers Day brunch was disappointing. Ev ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day brunch was disappointing. Everything was cold and the presentation was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a party of 8 on a Saturday night. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a party of 8 on a Saturday night. 3 of the 8 meals arrived cold - not lukewarm, but cold. A "medium" steak was served rare. However, the chicken was very good as was the scallops. Too inconsistent for us to want to return.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My daughter & I loved everything about o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

My daughter & I loved everything about our experience except the undercooked chicken. I was too full to eat it but it was pink with pink juices running out of it. Not appetizing at all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

wait about 30 minutes for food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

wait about 30 minutes for food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Ambiance was lovely, easy to hear my swe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Ambiance was lovely, easy to hear my sweetheart talk, great seating inside but outside was also lovely..tho a bit cool for us. Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! Ambiance is wonderfu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was delicious! Ambiance is wonderful. We sat on the patio with live music. The bar is also very nice. Our server, however, seemed annoyed and did not hesitate to hide it. Our order was taken and requests seemed to put her off. We were served and never had contact again until we got the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great Night

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I was my birthday and my wife and I had an exceptional night. the service was excellent, the food was well prepared and presented and they gave me a terrific dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recomm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recommend for special events, their booths are very private and cozy.

Try the rack of lamb.

They don't have a great beer selection but a very good wine list. Try the Cabernet by Justin, for about $50 per bottle, it was a great buy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Keeps Getting Better

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful meal and service and a special treat for my birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We enjoyed the meal. Ambience is very n ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed the meal. Ambience is very nice and pretty value. Skirt steak was garlicky and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The ambience, service and food was excel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambience, service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.