Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice atmosphere and seating both inside and outside. Great menu. Superb food. Wonderful service. Very friendly, professional and attentive service really added to a great meal. Will definitely be coming back here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Best charcuterie!! Amazing wine. Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I was staying at Hotel Corque so I went in for breakfast. It was very nice with a comfortable and modern ambiance. Good service. Decided to go back for dinner and it was a disappointment. The restaurant was empty but the service was quite slow. The server seemed to be busy with other things.... I asked about the grilled avocado with ceviche.... she said it was good but there was no enthusiasm or talk about different appetizers that they might be known for..... when it came, the ceviche was tasteless and the avocado was hard. When the server finally came back I told her it was just completely underwhelming and to please pack the bottle of wine I had ordered as I was going to leave . A woman I believe may have been the manager did interact with me and was quite apologetic and let me know that she did appreciate my feedback. I went to another local eatery and was not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great atmosphere.
Food and drinks high quality.
One of best restaurants we have ever been to.
Could be in San Francisco or New York City and would be in top ten.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Best restaurant for dinner in Solvang, hands down.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Seated promptly. Drink and appetizer orders taken promptly. Shake and bake chicken was SO moist. Yummy mashed potatoes. Husband had 8oz sirloin, made your eyes roll back in your head, so good. Amazing wine selection. Signature cocktails were delicious; French Greyhound and Skinny Dip. Water glasses always filled. Reasonable prices.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was terrible. $42 flavorless ribeye that I had to eat smothered with A1 sauce to make palatable. Blue Cheese souffle seemed to be pre-prepared and refrigerated but tasted burnt! Our most expensive, yet worst, meal in Solvang. Avoid at all costs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely evening celebrating our anniversary! To top off great drinks, delicious local wines, and fabulous food, Root 246 presented us with a candle-lit piece of tiramisu decorated with their good wishes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great place for a date or any occasion. Fancy, make sure you dress up. Kids are welcome there but I personally wouldn't recommend to bring the little ones. Great service, super friendly. Super good food and drinks quality. Pricy but within overall prices in Solvang while you are getting a guaranteed best quality. If you are in Solvang for one night that's the place. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had dinner here before going to see "Newsies" at the theatre. 6:00 on a Thursday was a good, quiet time. We were cold in the more formal room and we're obligingly reseated in the bar room with comfy booth chairs. I can vouch for the poblano chile entree and the brussel sprouts and the compressed watermelon salad. All really delicious! Wonderfully accommodating service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Perfect spot for dinner after wine tasting...Simply delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Not our cup of tea. We finally tried it after reading all the great reviews (although the locals don't recommend it). The patio is lovely on a warm evening, and the cocktails were okay, not as good as others you can get in SYV. Service was not attentive despite a mostly empty dining room and patio. We ordered oysters to start, they were not great. They didn't have that right-from-the-sea flavor that makes you know you're eating a fresh oyster, and the liquid was cloudy and a little gummy. We left after the oysters and went to The Landsby. Not saying this rest doesn't have great nights, but this wasn't one of them. It was also very quiet and felt dead.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Need to do something about afternoon sun. If you are faced westward sun is directly in your eyes.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

4th time dining at 246. Food was good and as expected for this level of restaurant. Service is below required for this level of restaurant. It was not busy and service was slow every step of the way. We arrived 5:30 for a 2 hour dinner prior to walking to Solvang theater. We had to push wait staff to get to the check at 7:30. The restaurant was nearly empty - only two tables in our section at 7:30 and maybe one in the front section - on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Our waitress was very informative, friendly & really paid attention to detail when it came to
our experience there at the restaurant. Great service. Good food.
We would go back to this restaurant when in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had Sunday Brunch at Root 246...and it was fabulous! We were a party of eight and they set up a beautiful private room for us just off the main dining area. When we arrived, they had a gorgeous fruit platter set up, along with a platter of freshly baked cinnamon rolls, along with champagne & OJ. To be fair, we were all staying at the Hotel Corque which owns the restaurant, and after having a bit of an issue with one of our four rooms (someone in another room was smoking a cigar--illegally--on the next balcony and stunk up our room so they moved us), I think the Hotel manager had a hand in making our brunch something incredibly special! With that said, the food we ordered was delicious (between the 8 of us, we covered the whole menu) and everyone was pleased with their meal. After we finished, the chef/baker brought us all a freshly made donut, frosted with Nutella...all agreed, these were something special...not your everyday donut...truly delicious! Thank you Root 246..and Hotel Corque!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great restaurant! Quiet, very nicely decorated. Excellent service, outstanding food. Looking forward to eating there again.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a good meal but not as exceptional as we had experienced before.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Whenever we visit Solvang we dine at least once at Root 246. The food is always great, their outdoor patio is dog friendly, and the staff is always very well informed about the menu items. This time the wait time between ordering and eating seemed prolonged for no apparent reason. This is our favorite restaurant in Solvang and we will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I had my 10th year anniversary dinner here and the atmosphere was fantastic, food tasted great and the staff was fantastic. Great evening, fun but private with high back seating. We had a great time and we will return next time we are in town.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wedge salad and Caesars Salad were small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with friends and had an excellent meal and service. We left for a few hours and returned after 10pm to the hotel hoping to have a nightcap at the bar restaurant and were disappointed to find the bar closed so early.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We thought Root 246 was great and we'll definitely be back. Happy Hour was a treat. Food was wonderful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great restaurant in a convenient location next to Hotel Corque, and two blocks to the Solvang Theater.
Food was excellent, and atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Second timeveating here. Everything cooked to perfection from rack of lamb, short ribs, and rib eye steaks. Very attentive and personable waitress. A little on the pricey side but in my opinion worth the extra dollars.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent steak, nice wine list. Uncomfortable low table height for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Celebrated our 4th year anniversary and loved every moment about our evening at Root 246. Natasha was our server and she was very friendly. We will come back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is a restaurant we have loved and hated, now we less love and more hate. We made a reservation for Tuesday evening to celebrate our anniversary. We were seated promptly and then the wheels fell off. Granted, the restaurant was busy but we waited a significant amount of time to be greeted by our server and have our drink order taken. As we wanted a moment to enjoy our cocktails, we did not order dinner when they were delivered. This was a huge mistake. We did not see our server and our cocktails were empty before the manager came to take our dinner order at which time we requested a wine key to open the bottle we brought with us. She opened it promptly for us. The starters arrived in short order, however, the entrees took an extraordinarily long time to be served and were not particularly warm when they arrived. Had anyone taken the time to stop and see if we were ok, tell us they were understaffed or let us know that the kitchen was backed up, we would've been more understanding. The experience was more than disappointing. There are not many restaurants in Solvang but we will make other dinner arrangements next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is the 2nd year that I have taken my family there for 4th of July dinner before watching the fireworks in Solvang. Beautiful restaurant, amazing food and the staff is very sweet and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Over all good, the waiters very good--except management over booked the restaurant with ptv parties. Two large parties and one large table. Management didn't have the staff to handle the tables with reservations and didn't seem to care. We were seated, waited 15 mins for drinks, 40 mins for apps and 40 mins for main each time after plates had been taken. When you pay $450.00+ for a party of 5 you except more in service. It was good but the wait between each course was way to long. The food however was very good but not worth the wait. When we told them after the first course--they told us the had bad parties to tend too. Sorry that just doesn't cut it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I would like to thank you for making our 1 year anniversary a special one. Food and server was wonderful. The atmosphere was very pleasant. We definitely love Root 246 and can't wait to go back for date night 😁

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Decor is upscale and well put together. Hostess and server were nice. It was fairly quiet in the main dining area, but there was a bar that was packed and people having some fun.
Food was great and well executed. I had the spinach salad and the halibut.
I am not a drinker but they had a nice wine and spirits menu.

Overall a great experience, would nice for a date night or just a night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very cool interior inside. Upscale cozy vibe! Romantic date night/ get one of the high-back love seats and sit on the same side. Outdoor seating on the entrance patio is casual. Food: Proteins were under-seasoned, broccoli over cooked but the Wild Rice spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent! Dine outside in warm weather. Wines are reasonably priced, our waitress was very knowledgble, a part time vintner in fact! Location is convenient, near the center of town. Would return again and again if we lived nearby!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

There was plastic wrap in my soup, which i understand happens, but at an establishment like this one i felt as thought that level of negligence is a little absurd! I only discovered the plastic wrap after putting a spoon full of it in my mouth, yuck! I alerted staff of the plastic but it seemed no one much cared! But the oysters were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We all loved our experience at Root 246. Beautiful restaurant. Lot's of different seating areas including a private room and 2 bar areas. The food was delicious. I would recommend it to anyone. I can't wait to go back...

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Root 246. On a Thursday night in early June we were one of only 2 couples in the dining room. It's a very attractive room, as are the bar and lounge areas. The only disappointment was the Caesar salad we shared: the Romaine was a little limp. Our main courses were outstanding. The Halibut was perfectly cooked. Pork loin with mashed potatoes in a broth was very good. The chocolate pot de creme was outstanding; dense in texture and flavor with lemon zest creme anglais. Definitely worth the drive if you're on the Central Coast.

One quibble: OpenTable had the price range as $$. $$$ of $$$$ is more accurate. And worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Root 246 was able to accommodate my request of providing my family an area to sit away from others. It's not easy dining with a screaming 1 month old and a rambunctious 16 month old, but our waitress and hostess made it happen. We were able to enjoy our delicious meals with wine while our little ones acted their age. We didn't disturb any other guests and that made us comfortable. I'm sure other parents are able to relate. We recommend the short ribs and rib eye. Great service and good food. Thank you Root 246.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.