Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Wedge salad and Caesars Salad were small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary with friends and had an excellent meal and service. We left for a few hours and returned after 10pm to the hotel hoping to have a nightcap at the bar restaurant and were disappointed to find the bar closed so early.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We thought Root 246 was great and we'll definitely be back. Happy Hour was a treat. Food was wonderful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great restaurant in a convenient location next to Hotel Corque, and two blocks to the Solvang Theater.
Food was excellent, and atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Second timeveating here. Everything cooked to perfection from rack of lamb, short ribs, and rib eye steaks. Very attentive and personable waitress. A little on the pricey side but in my opinion worth the extra dollars.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent steak, nice wine list. Uncomfortable low table height for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Celebrated our 4th year anniversary and loved every moment about our evening at Root 246. Natasha was our server and she was very friendly. We will come back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is a restaurant we have loved and hated, now we less love and more hate. We made a reservation for Tuesday evening to celebrate our anniversary. We were seated promptly and then the wheels fell off. Granted, the restaurant was busy but we waited a significant amount of time to be greeted by our server and have our drink order taken. As we wanted a moment to enjoy our cocktails, we did not order dinner when they were delivered. This was a huge mistake. We did not see our server and our cocktails were empty before the manager came to take our dinner order at which time we requested a wine key to open the bottle we brought with us. She opened it promptly for us. The starters arrived in short order, however, the entrees took an extraordinarily long time to be served and were not particularly warm when they arrived. Had anyone taken the time to stop and see if we were ok, tell us they were understaffed or let us know that the kitchen was backed up, we would've been more understanding. The experience was more than disappointing. There are not many restaurants in Solvang but we will make other dinner arrangements next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is the 2nd year that I have taken my family there for 4th of July dinner before watching the fireworks in Solvang. Beautiful restaurant, amazing food and the staff is very sweet and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Over all good, the waiters very good--except management over booked the restaurant with ptv parties. Two large parties and one large table. Management didn't have the staff to handle the tables with reservations and didn't seem to care. We were seated, waited 15 mins for drinks, 40 mins for apps and 40 mins for main each time after plates had been taken. When you pay $450.00+ for a party of 5 you except more in service. It was good but the wait between each course was way to long. The food however was very good but not worth the wait. When we told them after the first course--they told us the had bad parties to tend too. Sorry that just doesn't cut it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I would like to thank you for making our 1 year anniversary a special one. Food and server was wonderful. The atmosphere was very pleasant. We definitely love Root 246 and can't wait to go back for date night 😁

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Decor is upscale and well put together. Hostess and server were nice. It was fairly quiet in the main dining area, but there was a bar that was packed and people having some fun.
Food was great and well executed. I had the spinach salad and the halibut.
I am not a drinker but they had a nice wine and spirits menu.

Overall a great experience, would nice for a date night or just a night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very cool interior inside. Upscale cozy vibe! Romantic date night/ get one of the high-back love seats and sit on the same side. Outdoor seating on the entrance patio is casual. Food: Proteins were under-seasoned, broccoli over cooked but the Wild Rice spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent! Dine outside in warm weather. Wines are reasonably priced, our waitress was very knowledgble, a part time vintner in fact! Location is convenient, near the center of town. Would return again and again if we lived nearby!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

There was plastic wrap in my soup, which i understand happens, but at an establishment like this one i felt as thought that level of negligence is a little absurd! I only discovered the plastic wrap after putting a spoon full of it in my mouth, yuck! I alerted staff of the plastic but it seemed no one much cared! But the oysters were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We all loved our experience at Root 246. Beautiful restaurant. Lot's of different seating areas including a private room and 2 bar areas. The food was delicious. I would recommend it to anyone. I can't wait to go back...

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We had an excellent meal at Root 246. On a Thursday night in early June we were one of only 2 couples in the dining room. It's a very attractive room, as are the bar and lounge areas. The only disappointment was the Caesar salad we shared: the Romaine was a little limp. Our main courses were outstanding. The Halibut was perfectly cooked. Pork loin with mashed potatoes in a broth was very good. The chocolate pot de creme was outstanding; dense in texture and flavor with lemon zest creme anglais. Definitely worth the drive if you're on the Central Coast.

One quibble: OpenTable had the price range as $$. $$$ of $$$$ is more accurate. And worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Root 246 was able to accommodate my request of providing my family an area to sit away from others. It's not easy dining with a screaming 1 month old and a rambunctious 16 month old, but our waitress and hostess made it happen. We were able to enjoy our delicious meals with wine while our little ones acted their age. We didn't disturb any other guests and that made us comfortable. I'm sure other parents are able to relate. We recommend the short ribs and rib eye. Great service and good food. Thank you Root 246.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great looking restaurant but it did not meet our expectations for the food.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a 7 pm Sunday reservation, got right in and had a wonderful dinner. Excellent in every respect. The only thing that annoyed us was when we tried to get a final drink before heading home at 9:15, the bartender said he was closing. What? That seem pretty early to close a bar in a high-end restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very interesting venue; clearly designed for the "wine tasting" crowd. Food was good, not exceptional. Service was attentive and very pleasant. Seating arrangements were a little uncomfortable, but meant to "be cozy and romantic???" I certainly would recommend it as a place to try! I most likely would not go again as there are many choices in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent restaurant with very good service and good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice for Mother's Day. Wish there had been one more choice of a seafood on the menu. Very nice service. Will be back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family took me here for Mother's Day brunch. We've dined here before for brunch and dinner and had excellent food and service. This time as a bit different. First off, we were seated in some banquet room in the back with all families with young kids (we were all adults) and the restaurant area itself didn't seem full. We were a party of 6 seated at a large table for 8, so that made conversation difficult. After being seated, it was quite a long time before we ever saw our server. He seemed to be rushing around so I wonder if the restaurant was adequately staffed. For the first time, they charged extra for mimosas when they normally have a champagne brunch. The price for brunch was fair compared considering it was a holiday. However, some of the food warmers were low on food and I didn't see anyone coming to refill them. Overall, I would not return on a holiday but perhaps for a regular meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Only offered buffet... The server DANA WAS AWESOME !!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Root 246 has a great open atmosphere yet at the same time can be cozy and intimate. The menu has options for almost every palate. Service is always exceptional. We have been for brunch and dinner multiple times and will return again.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Organic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we took first the soup of the day, tri-tip. Well it was not a soup but a meal.Than we split a plate, way too much after that tri-tip chills !
This restaurant used to be better few years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We were here for a short stay in Solvang, ended up having dinner here twice! service exceptional and our meals were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service amazing. Wine selection is excellent. Staff very knowledgeable. The charcuterie and cheese plate was perfect. Only issue is the chairs and low tables. Would not have wanted to have a full dinner at those seats.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We dined here on Saturday evening, 4/22/17. We had extraordinary service by Jessica. Fabulous brussels sprouts; lovely chicken cooked two ways; delicious short ribs! Fabulous vanilla bean ice cream, and fresh pear sorbet and blood orange sorbet. There are several different rooms to choose from; we sat in a very comfy booth in what appeared to be the most formal of the rooms (although it really wasn't formal), just really lovely. Outdoor seating with heaters and cool lights also looked nice upon our exit. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

All around outstanding dining experience! The room offered a modern yet warm feel. We were seated in a booth which gave us plenty of privacy. It was early and not crowded yet so I can't comment on noise level if the room was full. But with the few tables occupied it was great. The two of us chose a salad, soup, appetizer, entree and dessert to split. Our server and the kitchen gladly split everything and delivered it all with impeccable timing. The plating and presentation was great and the server as well as bus staff all timed their stop-ins perfectly. Really impressed and highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice place and atmosphere. We will come back and try dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was marvelous. Excellent food, good service, and a comfortable but elegant environment made for a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch should have provided Mimosas. We would not have had brunch there if we would've known that was not included. Disappointed.
Food was good & service was ok but will only go for Happy Hour next time we are in Solvang.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family had Easter brunch and it was outstanding. The eggs Benedict is the best I've ever had. Plenty of choices to accommodate kids and parents equally. We all had a fantastic meal, delightful service and cool decor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

except for a couple who they seated next to our table, when there were many other vacant tables in the restaurant, our experience was great and will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Root 246 was perfect. My husband and I had a quiet booth near a window. Our server was good; giving us time to relax and not rushing us. The drinks were very well made; The charcuterie plate was sooo tasty with the candied bacon and other meats, the Harvest salad delicious, and the rib eye was cooked just right with great flavor. We would definitely go back to Root 246.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We have dined here before and have always found the meal satisfactory. Tonight we started with the seafood soup - crab, lobster and halibut - very delicious. The harvest salad was also very good. The short ribs were disappointing; quite dry, and the green beans and baby carrots tasted like leftovers, also very dry. Overall not as good as in the past. Have to rate our overall experience as just average.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very nice overall. Restaurant is nicely decorated and has very interesting seating. Great wines to choose from. Food was great, had a nice grilled corn appetizer, but it is a somewhat limited menu. Filet was cooked to my order and their garlic mashed potato was outstanding. Good dessert menu and creme brûlée did not disappoint and home made ice cream too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.