Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Great looking restaurant but it did not meet our expectations for the food.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a 7 pm Sunday reservation, got right in and had a wonderful dinner. Excellent in every respect. The only thing that annoyed us was when we tried to get a final drink before heading home at 9:15, the bartender said he was closing. What? That seem pretty early to close a bar in a high-end restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Very interesting venue; clearly designed for the "wine tasting" crowd. Food was good, not exceptional. Service was attentive and very pleasant. Seating arrangements were a little uncomfortable, but meant to "be cozy and romantic???" I certainly would recommend it as a place to try!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant with very good service and good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very nice for Mother's Day. Wish there had been one more choice of a seafood on the menu. Very nice service. Will be back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family took me here for Mother's Day brunch. We've dined here before for brunch and dinner and had excellent food and service. This time as a bit different. First off, we were seated in some banquet room in the back with all families with young kids (we were all adults) and the restaurant area itself didn't seem full. We were a party of 6 seated at a large table for 8, so that made conversation difficult. After being seated, it was quite a long time before we ever saw our server. He seemed to be rushing around so I wonder if the restaurant was adequately staffed. For the first time, they charged extra for mimosas when they normally have a champagne brunch. The price for brunch was fair compared considering it was a holiday. However, some of the food warmers were low on food and I didn't see anyone coming to refill them. Overall, I would not return on a holiday but perhaps for a regular meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Only offered buffet... The server DANA WAS AWESOME !!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Root 246 has a great open atmosphere yet at the same time can be cozy and intimate. The menu has options for almost every palate. Service is always exceptional. We have been for brunch and dinner multiple times and will return again.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Organic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

we took first the soup of the day, tri-tip. Well it was not a soup but a meal.Than we split a plate, way too much after that tri-tip chills !
This restaurant used to be better few years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We were here for a short stay in Solvang, ended up having dinner here twice! service exceptional and our meals were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Service amazing. Wine selection is excellent. Staff very knowledgeable. The charcuterie and cheese plate was perfect. Only issue is the chairs and low tables. Would not have wanted to have a full dinner at those seats.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We dined here on Saturday evening, 4/22/17. We had extraordinary service by Jessica. Fabulous brussels sprouts; lovely chicken cooked two ways; delicious short ribs! Fabulous vanilla bean ice cream, and fresh pear sorbet and blood orange sorbet. There are several different rooms to choose from; we sat in a very comfy booth in what appeared to be the most formal of the rooms (although it really wasn't formal), just really lovely. Outdoor seating with heaters and cool lights also looked nice upon our exit. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

All around outstanding dining experience! The room offered a modern yet warm feel. We were seated in a booth which gave us plenty of privacy. It was early and not crowded yet so I can't comment on noise level if the room was full. But with the few tables occupied it was great. The two of us chose a salad, soup, appetizer, entree and dessert to split. Our server and the kitchen gladly split everything and delivered it all with impeccable timing. The plating and presentation was great and the server as well as bus staff all timed their stop-ins perfectly. Really impressed and highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice place and atmosphere. We will come back and try dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was marvelous. Excellent food, good service, and a comfortable but elegant environment made for a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch should have provided Mimosas. We would not have had brunch there if we would've known that was not included. Disappointed.
Food was good & service was ok but will only go for Happy Hour next time we are in Solvang.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family had Easter brunch and it was outstanding. The eggs Benedict is the best I've ever had. Plenty of choices to accommodate kids and parents equally. We all had a fantastic meal, delightful service and cool decor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

except for a couple who they seated next to our table, when there were many other vacant tables in the restaurant, our experience was great and will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Root 246 was perfect. My husband and I had a quiet booth near a window. Our server was good; giving us time to relax and not rushing us. The drinks were very well made; The charcuterie plate was sooo tasty with the candied bacon and other meats, the Harvest salad delicious, and the rib eye was cooked just right with great flavor. We would definitely go back to Root 246.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We have dined here before and have always found the meal satisfactory. Tonight we started with the seafood soup - crab, lobster and halibut - very delicious. The harvest salad was also very good. The short ribs were disappointing; quite dry, and the green beans and baby carrots tasted like leftovers, also very dry. Overall not as good as in the past. Have to rate our overall experience as just average.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very nice overall. Restaurant is nicely decorated and has very interesting seating. Great wines to choose from. Food was great, had a nice grilled corn appetizer, but it is a somewhat limited menu. Filet was cooked to my order and their garlic mashed potato was outstanding. Good dessert menu and creme brûlée did not disappoint and home made ice cream too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went to Root 246 for dinner for the first night of a bachelorette party, and it was perfect! The ambiance was really nice. Our server, Jansen, was so funny and helpful. She did a great job recommending food and wine. We had a couple of pescatarians, and every single person loved their food. We were having a great time and when the food arrived, we became so quiet because we were so focused on eating. Spectacular experience from start to finish!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We've eaten here 3 times and I like it more each time we go. Menu changes as things come into season. My husband was able to customize his dinner (changed his side dishes with his entree). Staff is very friendly and the restaurant is beautiful. I look forward to visiting again soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food and terrific service. A little pricey, but still one of the best restaurants in the valley.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Nice and friendly staff ..great food .. very nice atmosphere ..venture out of the usual is worth while as far as the food selection goes!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Waited about 5-10 minutes before someone showed up at front desk to seat us.
We were early for our reservation, & wanted to go to Happy Hour first, but missed it
by about that 5-10 minutes, and was not given Happy Hour prices. Waitress not
that helpful or friendly. Once we went to our booth for dinner, we ended up having
same waitress, and she was a bit more friendly at that time. The food was so/so
boring, and not that flavorful. For the high prices, I will not return, nor will I recommend it.
The only good thing about the evening is that they remembered my husband's birthday
with a beautiful strawberry short cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lovely evening with friends. Each of our dinner choices were wonderful. Wine seemed a bit expensive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

FOOD AND SERVICE WERE GREAT. WE BROUGHT AN EXCELLENT BOTTLE OF WINE FROM PASO ROBLES AND BECAUSE IT WAS CONSIDERED LOCAL, THEY WAIVED THE CORKAGE CHARGE. SWEET!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Diner was fantastic. Lamb shank and filet mignon. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great experience and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely delicious. A great extensive local wine list. Dishes utilizing ingredients from the area. Excellent seasonality

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was delicious, great service. Only drawback, tables were a bit close together so we could hear our neighbors very clearly

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

food was excellent although slightly pricey. the ambiance, staff, service exemplary. would recommend to friends who can afford a $30.00 entree. my 12 year old is a vegetarian and there were a few options on the menu (only a few) that she could eat. would like to see a more vegetarian/vegan options but in the middle of danish country - might be difficult. would go there again for a special occasion like an anniversary/birthday, etc.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day was a shocker. When I made reservations and checked the web site there was no indication of price tag and special menu at $70.00 per person. 4 course meal. The salad had less than a cup of spinach and was mainly feta/goat cheese and was poorly presented. The mushroom tart had less mushroom than would have liked, the lobster tail portion was small and tough, the cheesecake portion was small and poorly presented with dried chocolate on the bottom of plate- unusable. For $70.00 I would have expected more than what was served and if you are going to charge that much advertise on your web site please and make each plate with attention to detail

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were tourists looking for relaxing dinner in an upscale restaurant. We found the perfect place- great atmosphere, extraordinary food, great service. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

So glad we made our reservation it was a great find!!! The food was superb, the staff was very attentive and the wines were great!! A must try in solvang!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We like this place and it is right next to our hotel making it a nice walking to place. The food has always been great and the atmosphere is great. Our wait person was attentive but not too much. Had the Lamb shank and husband had the special menu since it was restaurant week. Both loved our meals and the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is the first time I've rated this restaurant and although the score is low, that does not mean I will not return or recommend for anyone else to go. Normally the food is outstanding and this particular time (for restaurant week) it was not up to par. I love their happy hour and the ambiance of this place in general and I look forward to going back and trying some other things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had a reservation. Another couple walked in right before us without a reservation and they were sat in one of the booths. Why weren't we, having a reservation? That was disappointing to say the least. We were put at a table next to all the other tables. I should have specifically asked for a booth when the reservation was made. But we should have been put there regardless.

Also, a party of 26 was right in the middle of the dining area, so it was very noisy and service wasn't quite as good as it should have been. Again, disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had dinner here on Tuesday night and were all blown away by the food and atmosphere. The service was excellent too. Definitely the best meal I've had in Solvang, and excellent by any standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.