About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday
Lounge closes at 11:00pm Tuesday Wednesday Thursday and Sunday
Lounge closes at 12:00am Friday and Saturday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Food
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
4 More
Best Ambiance
Santa Ynez Valley
Fit for Foodies
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Most Booked
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Solvang ›

special occasion (25)
fit for foodies (21)
romantic (19)
See All
notable wine list (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for outdoor dining (9)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recomm ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! Highly recommend for special events, their booths are very private and cozy. Try the rack of lamb. They don't have a great beer selection but a very good wine list. Try the Cabernet by Justin, for about $50 per bottle, it was a great buy!

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Keeps Getting Better

Dined on May 21, 2016

A wonderful meal and service and a special treat for my birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the meal. Ambience is very n ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

We enjoyed the meal. Ambience is very nice and pretty value. Skirt steak was garlicky and delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience, service and food was excel ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambience, service and food was excellent.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere... Good food!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great layout to get there earlier, have a drink at the bar, enjoy good food. The wine list could be better quality wines and larger options.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

only miss bottomless mimosas at another ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

only miss bottomless mimosas at another favorite brunch? Another brunch has bottomless mimosas for $10 each person? maybe flavored mimosas or another brunch put orange juice on the table and poured bottomless champagne?

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really like Root.

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We have been here several times and have always had good experiences. One complaint. It was my spouse's birthday and I put that in the Open Table notes, but there was no recognition of it. We had some wine and I forgot to "re-tell" the server. So no birthday cake or acknowledgement. Oops. Dog house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Return visit

Dined on April 25, 2016

Went to Solvang to do some wine tasting and since this is one of the most recommended restaurants in the area decided to eat there on a Sunday night. (They are closed on Monday.) They were not too crowded and we got a nice quiet corner table. Their menu is somewhat limited but their special fish that night was sea bass, which we ordered. It was outstanding! That, a Caesar salad and a bottle of wine was a delightful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started eating at Root 246 a few year ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We started eating at Root 246 a few years ago. It's a must eat at place when we are in Solvang.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Worth a try

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was good, not tremendous. The elements are there and once they figure it out it will be better, it's worth trying. Our server did her best, but you could tell they had given her too many tables.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Root 246 has seen many changes over the years, but I think they finally have a winning combination with the new chef, menu and new management. The menu has many choices compared to before. The carpaccio was excellent for a starter, the chipotle Caesar salad was great with a little heat. Had the stuffed pablano for dinner and my wife had the see bass, both very unique and tasty. The waitress was very attentive to our needs and the manager came over to introduce himself and make sure our meal was acceptable. Will definitely be back to try more things on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved everything about our experience at Root246!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We dined while on vacation and stopped for happy hour twice and then again for dinner. Each experience was excellent from the food taste and composition to the wait staff and over-all vibe. We will return the next time we visit Solvang!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food in Solvang

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Great sea bass perfectly cooked but service was very slow for a slow off season Tuesday night. Maybe going somewhere else next time we visit Solvang...

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great option for wonderful food and ambi ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great option for wonderful food and ambiance. When we are Solvang next, this will be a sure stop. Not ideal for families or small children. Great bar scene.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

This is our second time coming and the f ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

This is our second time coming and the first time we loved it, this time not so much. First of all it was empty and we asked to sit in a booth and the hostess wouldn't let us, said there were too many upcoming reservations to have a 2 top sit in a booth. Well while we were there only one other party of 4 came and sat in a booth and then a party of 2 was sat in a booth. Needless to say I was steaming. The food was not as good as a month ago. The server was good.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Needs updating

Dined on March 31, 2016

The dinning room is a bit boring and needs updating. Felt like 1960's room. Bar is great and every nice. Would recommend for happy hour

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food & Service - excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

My vegetarian meal was fabulous which I cannot say about too many restaurants as it generally falls into the "I guess we have to feed them something" category. But their Poblano Pepper was definitely something to recommend to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Many locals poo poo the place because it ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Many locals poo poo the place because it's evidently casino-owned. But I have to say, I've always had good food and experiences here. Been probably 3 times and always really good. I'm sure there are great local places too, but we like it here.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing. We love their mar ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

The food was amazing. We love their martinis first off, they are huge! I had the shrimp and grits so tasty, delicious! My husband had the steak and it was very good also. We shared the watermelon salad very good and then shared this desert that was hard as a rock, cant remember the name, I think it was key lime and meringue something.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the New Approach

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

New chef and decor compliment an old favorite in Solvang. And the service and wine were also superb. A hit all the way around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite place to eat when we'r ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Always a favorite place to eat when we're up in this gorgeous area!

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

LA Pretension comes to Solvang

Dined on February 21, 2016

And the result isn't pretty. Oh, the food presentation is pretty, but that's about the only good thing I can say. The food was OK, but not $39 OK: I got the scallops (3 of 'em) which came with 3 tablespoons of a ragout of "wild" mushrooms, sundried tomatoes and potatoes in a sauce that reminded me of Chinese sweet and sour (too sweet and too salty for my taste) The scallops were tasty, but I would hate to know where they came from. I had asked about the salmon and was shocked to learn that a place that bills itself as "farm to table" is using Eastern Canadian Farmed salmon. There was no local fish on the menu, despite our vibrant local industry. If you have any type of appetite expect to need to supplement your entree with a couple of $6 sides or a $15 salad. Service was far below par for a place in this price range. They made a big show of changing the silverware out (which ironically looked like it came from a school cafeteria), but despite a wealth of servers ours was never around when we needed him and none of the others paid us the least bit of attention. The ambiance is I guess "modern cottage chic". The place is huge, but divided into multiple rooms. When I tried to make a reservation for 6:30 they showed as booked from 6:30 to 8:30, so I went for 6:00. Was surprised to see at least 30 empty tables when we arrived, less than half of which filled in by the time we left at 7:30. I don't know how they do their placement, but it was lousy. They seated us on a long stiff bench with a blank wall behind it and an opposing chair. Not exactly romantic to begin with, but despite having six empty tables to the right of us they put us within a foot of the only other couple that was stuck on the bench, forcing us to listen to each others. Meanwhile there were 4 more cozy looking booths that were empty. They play pop music in the background, which is ok, but in an hour and a half we had to listen to Adele's "Hello" at least three times. I won't be back.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Not Clear That it was a buffet brunch only.

Dined on February 14, 2016

When I booked this reservation no one mentioned that this would be a prix fix brunch only meal. I had been there before for a dinner and the food was great. This was disappointing. The restaurant seems very disorganized, the hot food was not really hot and the salads needed to be refreshed. We made the best of it but it was a disappointment all the way around.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Third Time, Always Great

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food and ambience never fails to delight. It is expensive but worth the price. It would be a great restaurant anywhere but in Solvang it is stupendous. There isn't anything else where you can get a great meal and good wine after 6PM. The sidewalks are rolled-up everywhere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Place for Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 1, 2016

Brought girlfriend here on a recent wine tasting trip. The food was very good. Service was excellent. It was her birthday and they provided a dessert with "Happy Birthday" and her name spelled out on the plate in chocolate. It was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Hit and miss

Dined on January 29, 2016

The continual changes in the kitchen make the quality of the meal a gamble. This time the salad was very gritty, the microgreens were not washed well and the vegan dish was simply not well prepared (pepper not well roasted, seed still all there, contents cool). It has a great ambiance and a very nice bar. I will stick to appetizers in the future.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Restaurant Week 2016

Dined on January 27, 2016

We ate at the bar in the front dining room. Prix Fixe menu and we both had the stuffed chile with side salad and lemon cream brulee. Great food and perfect portion. Wine list is extensive, something for any wine lover.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Brunch!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful selection of great food with nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, attentive staff, and an ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Delicious food, attentive staff, and an overall lovely experience. Wait time was a bit long to get our entrees, but the food was worth the wait. I would come back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding.

Dined on December 25, 2015

We highly recommend Root 246. We had Christmas Eve dinner there while staying at the Hotel Corque next door. It was wonderful. Food was perfect. Service was excellent. We couldn't have been more pleased. We'll be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

An excellent meal as always and Natasha ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

An excellent meal as always and Natasha was an excellent server - very friendly and knowledgeable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous experience! Best qu ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Absolutely fabulous experience! Best quality food and overall great dining experience in Solvang!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on December 11, 2015

My wife and I had dinner there last Thursday evening (12/10) and it was great. The atmosphere was nice, the server was very good and everything was tasty. The white bean soup was as tasty as a soup could get. The main course was also great. We would definitely go back. It is also in a great location, right next to the Corque hotel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5

WE MISS YOU BRADLEY

vip
Dined on December 7, 2015

This was my 2nd visit to Root. The first was outstanding in every way..thank you Bradley. But this visit last week was a disappointment. First let me say that the service is outstanding! The food...not so much. We started with the oysters which were wonderful. Next course was a Caesar Salad that was not edible. The dressing was watery and the anchovies were flopped on top of the salad. Next was our entre which was a bone in New York with peppercorn sauce served with sauteed spinach and a hasselback potato. The steak was grilled perfectly but the presentation was without imagination...not even on par with a back yard BBQ. The potato was RAW! We promptly sent it back. Next was desert...a very stale carrot cake...Not edible. We won't be back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice atmosphere and we were warm welcome ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Nice atmosphere and we were warm welcomed, they could not find our reservation with open table. But they found us a table and we could celebrate Thanksgiving. The wine selection was sufficient and we tried local one. Very tasty. We had all 3 menues for Thanksgivung and all dishes were excellent.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

We deserved better

Dined on November 27, 2015

This was out third visit to Root 246 for Thanksgiving dinner. The past two years we had a pleasurable enough experience to book the restaurant again. They blew it the third time. We will not be returning. Our waiter was practically nonexistent and harried and dismissive when she did show up. The hostess took our drink order 15 minutes after we had been seated. Drinks arrived 10 minutes later and our order was taken 10 minutes after that. Two of our party of three were missing spoons for the soup course. I had to get up to find someone who could get us spoons, and they did not provide soup spoons with the soup course. One dinner arrived room temperature cold. They brought another dinner, but we were not able to eat at the same time. Overall, food was mediocre compared to the two previous years. The dessert course could have come from a warehouse club.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the restaurant. Brunch was delicio ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Loved the restaurant. Brunch was delicious with many selections to choose from. Steak hash was great at brunch on the 15th of November. Will highly recommend this place for a leisurely brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Keeps Improving

Dined on November 15, 2015

We have eaten here many times but the last two times it has been the best. Great lamb and salmon. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

Food yes. Service?

Dined on November 14, 2015

Food and overall experience was good! Enjoyed some excellent apps.....oysters, carpaccio, grilled artichoke. Bread with butter and black lave salt very good. Crab cake just okay. Only issue was service. Had a drink in bar before dinner. Bar staff goofing off. Then waitress was very nice but unable to answer any specific questions we had about entrees

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

good food..a little pricey

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Good food. Some dishes I feel are little over priced and wines by the glass can be a little less pricier too.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.