About Root 246 at Hotel Corque

420 Alisal Road
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

One of the most unforgettable dining experiences in Santa Barbara wine country featuring the ultimate in farm-to-table cuisine.

Local ingredients with world-class cuisine -American through and through. An innovative and artful cuisine, that comes with organic, local indulgence and connection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm(last seating 8:45pm)
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm (last seating 9:45pm)
Saturday & Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm
Lounge opens at 4:00pm Tuesday - Sunday
Lounge closes at 11:00pm Tuesday Wednesday Thursday and Sunday
Lounge closes at 12:00am Friday and Saturday

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 686-8681

Website:
http://www.root-246.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us Sunday Brunch Buffet 10:00am-2:00pm
$26.99 for Adults
Tax and gratuity not included

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Root 246 at Hotel Corque Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fireplace (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Valentine's Day was a shocker. When I ma ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's Day was a shocker. When I made reservations and checked the web site there was no indication of price tag and special menu at $70.00 per person. 4 course meal. The salad had less than a cup of spinach and was mainly feta/goat cheese and was poorly presented. The mushroom tart had less mushroom than would have liked, the lobster tail portion was small and tough, the cheesecake portion was small and poorly presented with dried chocolate on the bottom of plate- unusable. For $70.00 I would have expected more than what was served and if you are going to charge that much advertise on your web site please and make each plate with attention to detail

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We were tourists looking for relaxing di ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were tourists looking for relaxing dinner in an upscale restaurant. We found the perfect place- great atmosphere, extraordinary food, great service. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we made our reservation it was a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

So glad we made our reservation it was a great find!!! The food was superb, the staff was very attentive and the wines were great!! A must try in solvang!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like this place and it is right next ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We like this place and it is right next to our hotel making it a nice walking to place. The food has always been great and the atmosphere is great. Our wait person was attentive but not too much. Had the Lamb shank and husband had the special menu since it was restaurant week. Both loved our meals and the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the first time I've rated this r ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is the first time I've rated this restaurant and although the score is low, that does not mean I will not return or recommend for anyone else to go. Normally the food is outstanding and this particular time (for restaurant week) it was not up to par. I love their happy hour and the ambiance of this place in general and I look forward to going back and trying some other things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a reservation. Another couple wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had a reservation. Another couple walked in right before us without a reservation and they were sat in one of the booths. Why weren't we, having a reservation? That was disappointing to say the least. We were put at a table next to all the other tables. I should have specifically asked for a booth when the reservation was made. But we should have been put there regardless.

Also, a party of 26 was right in the middle of the dining area, so it was very noisy and service wasn't quite as good as it should have been. Again, disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We had dinner here on Tuesday night and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had dinner here on Tuesday night and were all blown away by the food and atmosphere. The service was excellent too. Definitely the best meal I've had in Solvang, and excellent by any standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and our server was ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food was delicious and our server was very attentive. Great place for a nice dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the kitchen and it was an incr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We sat in the kitchen and it was an incredible experience. Chef Shelby was incredible as well as the rest of her kitchen crew and serving team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We were given a gift certificate and had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We were given a gift certificate and hadn't heard of Root 246. We were very pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our dinner immensely. The wait staff was extraordinary. I would highly recommend Root 246 for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance is great. Rainy Saturday night, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ambiance is great. Rainy Saturday night, warm and cozy with a super friendly staff. My wife is vegetarian and wanted more options, but overall very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I chose Root 246 for our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My husband and I chose Root 246 for our anniversary dinner. We both have a lactose allergy. They were very accommodating with substitutions. The food and service made for a perfect evening. I would highly recommend this eatery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was a bit over cooked and dried out ...

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was a bit over cooked and dried out. I had the trout and it cad just ok. Soup was Luke warm

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Let me start by saying this was our seco ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Let me start by saying this was our second meal at Route 246 for a New Year's Eve dinner. The first one was good.. This one was borderline awful! Aside from the company of our friends, the cocktail and the wine we brought, the service and meal we not good.

I think the restaurant overbooked, by trying to do a 4 course meal while also trying to accommodate a wedding party. The food choices were slightly above Applebys, and they were out of key choices by the time we sat down at 8:45. The wait staff seemed harried and were not keeping with with the basics of service. Most of the food was cold and flavorless..

This restaurant could be a gem, and bills itself as a farm to fork leader in the Santa Ynez/Solvang region. For this to actually be valid, the chef, management and staff should slow down and focus on quality not how many table can be turned. Especially in New Year's Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

The ambiance of the restaurant was quite ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The ambiance of the restaurant was quite nice, and was definitely fitting for a New Year's Eve dinner. The waiter was quite attentive, and the bus boys were diligent in clearing tables and refilling water.

However, those were the only positives to this restaurant. When the food came to the table it was cold, even though it was a hot dish. The time between the appetizer and the main course was also ridiculously long. It took us 2 hours to get our main entree from our appetizer. The waiter did check on the kitchen, but it is irrational to have a customer wait 2 hours for their main dish.

Overall, the service was good, but the food was lacking. The hot food came out cold, and also not worth the wait.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

This was my third time dining at Root 24 ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was my third time dining at Root 246. My prior dining experiences were wonderful. Sadly this time I was sorely disappointed. I came here to celebrate Christmas with my husband but the food was so-so and overpriced at $70 per person (not including alcohol). The dressing for the brussel sprouts salad was too tart, the stuffed portabella mushrooms were undercooked, and the prime rib was overcooked and flavorless. The best parts of the meal were the cab franc I ordered and the tiramisu. Not sure what happened to Root 246 recently but I would recommend going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We had excellent service. It was Christm ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had excellent service. It was Christmas night, and the staff were all cheerful about it, and worked hard to make a perfect time for us. The food was pretty, it was fresh, but it lacked any outstanding flavor or style. I would recommend Root 246 with reservations about the food. the decor and staff are great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the 2016 Christmas Day price fixe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had the 2016 Christmas Day price fixe menu, which had a nice set of selections. The service was attentive and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to take my daughter for a speci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I wanted to take my daughter for a special Christmas dinner so

I chose Route 246 thinking that it would be a meal and experience to remember. Unfortunately it will be remembered but not fondly. The food was so mediocre and underwhelming. My daughter had to send her prime rib entree back because all the food on the plate was cold. When the plate came back the plate was hot enough to cook the bottom of the prime rib but everything was still cold. I think they probably just threw the whole plate back in the oven for a couple of minutes which only made the plate hot. I had the Cornish hen which was slathered in gravy and that made the skin rubbery and tough and the flavor was....eh, that's all that comes to mind when I try to describe it. My desert was described as Kahlua - Belgian chocolate fondue with holiday cookies. It came with 3 cookies that looked like they were pulled out of a bag and the chocolate had no Kahlua flavor at all. The presentation of every course was so bland and the food so average it could have been served at any run of the mill joint along the highway for a fraction of the cost which was $70 per person. Won't waste my money there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Our family went here for Christmas dinne ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family went here for Christmas dinner. It was great that they were able to accommodate diverse dietary needs. It was quite overpriced though.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful decor and ambience awaits you ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful decor and ambience awaits you once you enter this restaurant, but the first impression does not end there. The food is creative, tasty & well thought out for variety to appease every palate. We dined with a special holiday menu. Now, we're looking forward to returning for the regular offerings. Great job, Root 246!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Went there for Christmas Eve dinner. It ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went there for Christmas Eve dinner. It was full but the service was excellent. Food and wine superb. Took dessert home to enjoy later - hazelnut chocolate cake and the churro with eggnog sauce - and both were fantastic. I can't recommend this place enough if you want a special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. Elegant dining, refined ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was great. Elegant dining, refined cuisine. Bar was very noisy

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server, Jessica, was exceptional. Sh ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our server, Jessica, was exceptional. She was knowledgeable about the menu and offered insight into the dishes we were interested in. We started with the Vistadore charcuterie, which was amazing. My wife ordered the lamb shank which was carefully prepared to a delicious and tender finish. For myself, I enjoyed the filet. The filet was perfect, but the standout was the mushroom duxelle, Overall, a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service good, forgot the ham on my bened ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service good, forgot the ham on my benedict.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lackluster disinterested service. Bland ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Lackluster disinterested service. Bland under seasoned food. Braised lamb was roasted/ tough without seasoning. Steak underseasoned. Highlight was the espresso. This was our 5th visit and huge disappointment. We won't return for a 6th visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Changed Chefs. Not at all what it used ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Changed Chefs. Not at all what it used to be. Very sad, had a few of great meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Perfect dining experience, food is outst ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Perfect dining experience, food is outstanding, staff is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Thanksgiving dinner was really a dis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our Thanksgiving dinner was really a disappointment. Butternut squash soup was tasty but served lukewarm. Turkey entree was served over cold green beans and stuffing. The pineapple upside-down cake and chocolate pecan cake desserts tasted like they had been sitting in a cooler. The filet mignon was a perfect medium-rare but did not make up for the other courses. This was our third Thanksgiving dinner at Root 246 and probably our last.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner here ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner here as a family. Menu included other non-traditional holiday fare, which was a nice break from the usual! Great options from apps, through salad to dinner and dessert. Excellent Brunello to accompany the meal. Would do this again next year!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanksgiving dinner - great job. 6 of u ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner - great job.

6 of us and we all thought the meal was very good.

Thanks for making our time with you so special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had never dined here before, but had e ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had never dined here before, but had experienced the bar. Based on that experience, I decided to try the actual dining room. The food did not dissapoint, but the service did. From the moment we arrived, our server looked like she was in a bad mood. She never checked on us while dining. We had to ask the busboy for drinks, since she was nowhere to be seen. Apart from that, the food was very good. We had the duck breast, two kids pizzas, the trout, several appetizers and 3 desserts. We also had drinks from the bar. All very good...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Went there looking to do the brunch brea ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went there looking to do the brunch breakfast only to find out they no longer have it. Huge disappointment on the way they have things set up now. Sorry for the late review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Thanks to Open Table I was able to make ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Thanks to Open Table I was able to make my reservation online for our party of 9. Our outside table was ready which was great. Each section had heaters.

Our waitress was friendly and correctly put in our very good dinner. Had the sea bass with mash and it was light fluffy with good flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food in Solvang. My st ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Some of the best food in Solvang. My steak was of excellent quality and prepared perfectly. The sauce was well done - much better than you often find for steaks. My wife vegetarian dish was equally good. Appetizer portions are quite large, so you might want to share. Service was very good without being obtrusive. Well decorated and comfortable dining room. Definitely a good bet if you are in Solvang for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife said her Top Sirloin was a bit f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife said her Top Sirloin was a bit firmer than she would have liked but the flavor was excellent. My duck breast was tasty but I was a bit concerned about the pink center being poultry and all. I would have liked it cooked a little longer.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very unimpressed after the hype of high ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very unimpressed after the hype of high end unique marketing. Nothing special. I would not recommend this restaurant to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Our steak was delicious! Our server was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our steak was delicious! Our server was very attentive and polite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Root 246 was okay, but I was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food at Root 246 was okay, but I was a little disappointed after reading such good reviews. We arrived and were seated on the terrace where there is a giant TV. We asked to turn it off as we were the only ones there, except for another couple who also wanted it off. They wouldn't do that, but in the end, after having to speak to a second person, agreed to turn it down as it was loud. I was disappointed in the meal and the ambiance as it wasn't what I expected - I'd hoped for something special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

the menu left a lot to be desired. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

the menu left a lot to be desired. The porterhouse had excellent flavor, however, we asked for medium rare and it was probably on the extra rare side. the potatoes and asparagus were cold and the butternut squash was bland and cold as well. we won't be back to the restaurant. the bar has better food than the bar....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.