About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Bollognese Venison
Roasted Chicken Wrap
Scallops
Wood Fired Pepperoni Pizza
Au Gratin Potatoes
Gnocchi
Chef's Salad
Wood Grilled Pork Chop
Pork Liver Mousse
Tile Fish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (62)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Casual (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We did have many options so we mostly ch ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We did have many options so we mostly chose things to share - meat and cheese plate and vegetables (corn and asparagus). These were excellent. The short ribs were tender but bland. The chicken dish was big enough to share and my wife said it was very good. The service pushed it up to four stars. It was very pricey, so I doubt I will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Roosters is always one of our favored pl ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Roosters is always one of our favored places to go. Always a great meal, good service and convenient to our office.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Roosters has become our pre- and post-th ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Roosters has become our pre- and post-theater "go-to" spot in Charlotte

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great Beer, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Previously, I have only eaten lunch at R ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Previously, I have only eaten lunch at Roosters South Park and loved it. This time, we went to Roosters Uptown for dinner on Saturday night. The food is above average but navigating the menu is hard. Nothing is described. I had to ask about a dozen questions to understand what ingredients were with each dish and how it was prepared. It was way too much work to figure out what to eat. The menu is trying to be trendy and to focus on the main ingredient but not helpful at all. Service was definitely average at best. Beware if you can't do stairs or escalators - dining room is on an upper level and an elevator trip pretty much takes you around the block, but the hostess on the first floor was fabulous and took us on our trip cheerfully.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and service was exceptional, explai ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and service was exceptional, explain how the menu works and made great suggestions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great, but over service c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server was great, but over service can do more. The food tasted good, but a tad bit too much salt on the stuff we ordered.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service before a show at t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good food and service before a show at the Belk make this a winning place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rooster's has very good charcuterie and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Rooster's has very good charcuterie and is always pretty good overall.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server was Grant. He was fantastic.. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was Grant. He was fantastic...food was amazing. We had the quarter chicken and salmon. Perfect. We'll be back for sure!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. Waitress seemed un ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was terrible. Waitress seemed uninterested.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent time

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our meal was delicious and service very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was delicious and service very good. Do not hesitate to dine at Roosters. We sat upstairs. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good overall. Server was charming but se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good overall. Server was charming but seemed to have more tables than she could really spend much time with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

ALways great food at good prices. Nice ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

ALways great food at good prices. Nice relaxed location to have a dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

It was good..,

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was good..,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

As usual extraordinary food from rooster ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

As usual extraordinary food from roosters. Will continue to frequent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I would highly recommend it to family, f ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I would highly recommend it to family, friends or anyone looking for a great meal. Food was over the top good especially the grilled zucchini and squash. Staff was very friendly and made great food and drink suggestions. Overall a great evening for my date and I in the heart of Charlotte at the Epicentre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

two of us ate pizza and it was soggy. T ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

two of us ate pizza and it was soggy. Two enjoyed their wings, one enjoyed the chicken.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time and our server was g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great time and our server was great! Will definitely be back soon. I strongly recommend the bread pudding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love this place. Everything is am ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always love this place. Everything is amazing. Salt level is too high, but always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and atmosphere the duck was f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great food and atmosphere the duck was fabulous. The service was excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Top shelf but casual restaurant.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Top shelf but casual restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter got tied down with a large gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter got tied down with a large group and we were in a hurry to catch a concert. We had driven from Blacksburg, VA (Virginia Tech) for the concert and did not want to miss any of it. We asked another waiter to take our order. He did. We were served. The original waiter got back to us. It was great that the waiters acted as a team and pitched in to help us get to the concert on time. We will return and have already recommended it to another couple.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed when I dine here ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I am never disappointed when I dine here. Don't change a thing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was fantastic. My family was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Everything was fantastic. My family was celebrating purchasing our first home and we really enjoyed ourselves. The waitress was just great and explained all the food in detail if we had any questions. Will certainly visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I found half of a bug in my salad, and h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I found half of a bug in my salad, and half a bug in my mouth. It was disgusting. They only took the salad off the bill. The manager said "that is what happens when you get local produce". I will not be going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful and service impeccabl ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was wonderful and service impeccable. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get the chicken, it's really the only th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Get the chicken, it's really the only thing good that we ordered. Nice setting , but food didn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Loved this place, great vibe & amazing f ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved this place, great vibe & amazing food. Looking forward to returning when I go back to Charlotte.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in our party had a different en ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everyone in our party had a different entrée and all raved about their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Chris was awesome! Food was great. Ambia ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Chris was awesome! Food was great. Ambiance, always spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place downtown Charlotte. Perf ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing place downtown Charlotte. Perfect ambiance casual or classy. Great menu allowing you to pair to your palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hubby and I had been here 2 weeks prior. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Hubby and I had been here 2 weeks prior. The restaurant became very busy, very quickly, and I think they were understaffed. We were going to a show that night, and were time-crunched. When the manager, Tammy W, realized our dilemma, she took our name and address and sent us a Gift Certificate to apply to our next visit.

Next visit was just delightful. Tammy even recognized us and came to our table to see how everything was going. The food is always delish here. The service is always 5 star. Of course, we will be back, and we encourage all of our friends to dine here whenever they are in downtown CLT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is conveniently located ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This restaurant is conveniently located in the Bank of America Building. I was surprised that, early on a Tuesday evening, a single person without a reservation was given the option of sitting at the chefs bar or going downstairs to the regular bar for dinner. They were that booked! Thank goodness, we had a reservation.

The food was excellent, but the a la carte menu made the meal an expensive venture, one I wouldn't repeat too often. The fire roasted beets were the best ever. My friend doesn't like beets, but she enjoyed those as much as I did. With a couple of large groups to keep him busy, our waiter still managed to give us very good service. I just wish I could have finished my coconut cake for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Everyone was friendly from the host staf ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everyone was friendly from the host staff, bar tenders, wait staff and all kitchen staff. Group worked really well with each other and always looked like they were enjoying themselves. Food was fantastic!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything on the menu is "extraordinary ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything on the menu is "extraordinary"...!!! I have had the wings, wings and more wings hanger steak, short ribs (very tender), roasted chicken, mac and cheese, fingerling potatoes,

au gratin potatoes, bread pudding with ice cream and coconut cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service and good food.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Friendly service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Roosters has become our "go-to" place wi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Roosters has become our "go-to" place with friends after our show at Belk Theater. The food and service are phenomenal. We love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love Roosters food. Great veggie ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always love Roosters food. Great veggies. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. Salmon, chicken, kale salad, and other veggies. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had an enjoyable dinner pr ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I had an enjoyable dinner prior to attending a show. Our dinners were good; the sautéed mushrooms were phenomenal! The server was very pleasant and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.