About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Roasted Chicken Wrap
Bollognese Venison
Scallops
Wood Fired Pepperoni Pizza
Au Gratin Potatoes
Gnocchi
Chef's Salad
Wood Grilled Pork Chop
Pork Liver Mousse
Tile Fish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (92)
good for groups (46)
special occasion (43)
See All
notable wine list (31)
great for lunch (25)
neighborhood gem (25)
romantic (20)
hot spot (16)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I found half of a bug in my salad, and h ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined a day ago

I found half of a bug in my salad, and half a bug in my mouth. It was disgusting. They only took the salad off the bill. The manager said "that is what happens when you get local produce". I will not be going back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful and service impeccabl ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was wonderful and service impeccable. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get the chicken, it's really the only th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Get the chicken, it's really the only thing good that we ordered. Nice setting , but food didn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Everyone in our party had a different en ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everyone in our party had a different entrée and all raved about their meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Chris was awesome! Food was great. Ambia ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Chris was awesome! Food was great. Ambiance, always spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place downtown Charlotte. Perf ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing place downtown Charlotte. Perfect ambiance casual or classy. Great menu allowing you to pair to your palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hubby and I had been here 2 weeks prior. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Hubby and I had been here 2 weeks prior. The restaurant became very busy, very quickly, and I think they were understaffed. We were going to a show that night, and were time-crunched. When the manager, Tammy W, realized our dilemma, she took our name and address and sent us a Gift Certificate to apply to our next visit.

Next visit was just delightful. Tammy even recognized us and came to our table to see how everything was going. The food is always delish here. The service is always 5 star. Of course, we will be back, and we encourage all of our friends to dine here whenever they are in downtown CLT.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is conveniently located ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This restaurant is conveniently located in the Bank of America Building. I was surprised that, early on a Tuesday evening, a single person without a reservation was given the option of sitting at the chefs bar or going downstairs to the regular bar for dinner. They were that booked! Thank goodness, we had a reservation.

The food was excellent, but the a la carte menu made the meal an expensive venture, one I wouldn't repeat too often. The fire roasted beets were the best ever. My friend doesn't like beets, but she enjoyed those as much as I did. With a couple of large groups to keep him busy, our waiter still managed to give us very good service. I just wish I could have finished my coconut cake for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Everyone was friendly from the host staf ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everyone was friendly from the host staff, bar tenders, wait staff and all kitchen staff. Group worked really well with each other and always looked like they were enjoying themselves. Food was fantastic!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything on the menu is "extraordinary ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything on the menu is "extraordinary"...!!! I have had the wings, wings and more wings hanger steak, short ribs (very tender), roasted chicken, mac and cheese, fingerling potatoes,

au gratin potatoes, bread pudding with ice cream and coconut cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly service and good food.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Friendly service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Roosters has become our "go-to" place wi ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Roosters has become our "go-to" place with friends after our show at Belk Theater. The food and service are phenomenal. We love it!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love Roosters food. Great veggie ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always love Roosters food. Great veggies. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. Salmon, chicken, kale salad, and other veggies. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had an enjoyable dinner pr ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I had an enjoyable dinner prior to attending a show. Our dinners were good; the sautéed mushrooms were phenomenal! The server was very pleasant and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great, but I really didn't ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was great, but I really didn't expect to spend 20 on a chicken bbq sandwich with fries and a diet coke for lunch. The food was great, the price was not for a lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Chic industrial decor with upbeat atmosp ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Chic industrial decor with upbeat atmosphere. The booth seating can be intimate but with the open feel, I love this place for lively chatter and visiting with friends. The service and wait staff knowledge of the menu are awesome. We were pressed for time to make another engagement and the waiter worked with our limitations but never made us feel rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The choices for entrees was appealing. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The choices for entrees was appealing. The service was very responsive to our need to get to the theater. The location was very convenient for the occasion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food, wait staff was accurate as des ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food, wait staff was accurate as described in the on-line Google reviews. So glad we had the same excellent experience. The BBQ chicken-succotash- potatoes was a delicious meal.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious (hanger steak and sal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was delicious (hanger steak and salmon), service was pretty good (seemed we were asking for the waitress a few time when a little more attention could have prevented it, like refilling drinks. . . .), sides were large and recommended to share (could be good or bad depending on how other tastes at the table run), convenient for dinner before play or performance at Bluementhal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our group was very pleased. I have a sea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our group was very pleased. I have a seafood allergy, and our server was very attentive to that, including coming back and making alternative suggestions to prevent possible contamination. Great with service times, the food was excellent, and my colleagues said the beer and wine choices were very good as well. They were delighted to try local breweies. A location I would be glad to take business guests to anytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, well prepared and nice p ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food, well prepared and nice presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ordered a few of the wood-fired pizza ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ordered a few of the wood-fired pizzas and a side to split and it was great! Cute restaurant with a good vibe, good food, and friendly staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious fresh food, attentive service. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Delicious fresh food, attentive service. Very convenient if you're attending a show at Blumenthal or Booth Playhouse. Portions are smaller which leaves room for dessert. Lemon Meringue pie is a must try as is the Coconut Cake. Coffee is excellent pairing!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time visit to this restaurant, exp ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

First time visit to this restaurant, experience was good. Excellent food and service in an upscale atmosphere. Looking forward to a return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the food was wonderful. Ther ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

As always, the food was wonderful. There were 8 of us and we shared sides. French fries and mac and cheese are outstanding. My salmon was wonderful, perfectly cooked and flavorful. Fried oysters are the best in town. We always eat at Roosters before any event we attend at Blumenthal. We are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Even though I was a bit harried in that ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Even though I was a bit harried in that I was meeting one of my childhood best friends after not seeing him for several years, I found it strange that I could not obviously find any chicken entrées other than the wing appetizers. The pork shoulder Carolina barbecue that I decided upon was not as tender and flavorful as I had imagined. With Roosters top 10 Charlotte restaurant's reputation, I expected to be somewhat impressed and came away a bit disappointed. This feeling was exacerbated by the next door parking garage's lack of signage with regard to entering and exiting the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went early and they were out of every ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went early and they were out of everything at the bar waited 20

Min to finally get a drink and it was pure lime juice my stomach burned for the next 30 min. Took another 10 min to get our check and leave. Wasn't even that busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant! The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant! The Duck comfit was delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rooster's was a happy, fun restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Rooster's was a happy, fun restaurant. The waitstaff was friendly, energetic and helpful. The roasted vegetables came in a small, black, pot. They were tender and full of flavor. The pasta had a bolognese sauce containing 3 proteins, and was very flavorful. Warm bread came with the meal, a whole wheat bread, and added a nice balance to our spicier food. All in all, it was a great experience. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone interested in a varied, appealing menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! The wings are ridiculou ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Love this place! The wings are ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The services was outstanding... The wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The services was outstanding... The wait staff was attentive but not patronizing. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very, very disappointing. The t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was very, very disappointing. The tomato mozzarella pizza was burnt, had barely any cheese on it, and was overall tiny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice place for dinner with a friend in f ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice place for dinner with a friend in from out of town. The food and the service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good, but server not very knowl ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was good, but server not very knowledgeable about food. I would go again, but look for a different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service, waiter made great rec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, waiter made great recommendations, food served very promptly. Short rib is amazing. Option to sit at the chef's counter and watch them in action is fun.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were going to the theater at Boothe P ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were going to the theater at Boothe Playhouse and tried Rooster's based on its convenience. We were thrilled that we did. Server was extremely well informed and the food was excellent. Try the short rib! We had a good time and had plenty of time to get to the show.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Mediocre food, high prices, and poor ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Mediocre food, high prices, and poor service. Server never told us her name. Food wasn't great, it was very pricey. Under-seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good service and good food as always

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Good service and good food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The oysters were great!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The oysters were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not very accessible

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We went to this restaurant for a special dinner with my daughter and her fiancé. I was using a wheelchair, although I could with difficulty climb stairs. When we arrived, we were told we would be seated upstairs - really a third-floor level - and that no elevator was available. I struggled up the stairs, which put a strain on my energy level the next day. At the end of the meal, I found out there was actually an elevator (and an escalator, but that did me no good), but it was quite a distance away via another entrance to the building. Too bad I didn't know about this in advance, and too bad the woman at the front door didn't know about the elevator. Not a bad restaurant, but not one we'll return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.