About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown
Scallops
Au Gratin Potatoes
Roasted Chicken Wrap
Bollognese Venison
Wood Fired Pepperoni Pizza
Gnocchi
Chef's Salad
Wood Grilled Pork Chop
Pork Liver Mousse
Tile Fish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (88)
good for groups (44)
special occasion (43)
See All
notable wine list (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
hot spot (24)
great for lunch (24)
vibrant bar scene (23)
romantic (20)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious fresh food, attentive service. ...

Dined 5 days ago

Delicious fresh food, attentive service. Very convenient if you're attending a show at Blumenthal or Booth Playhouse. Portions are smaller which leaves room for dessert. Lemon Meringue pie is a must try as is the Coconut Cake. Coffee is excellent pairing!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit to this restaurant, exp ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

First time visit to this restaurant, experience was good. Excellent food and service in an upscale atmosphere. Looking forward to a return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As always, the food was wonderful. Ther ...

Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food was wonderful. There were 8 of us and we shared sides. French fries and mac and cheese are outstanding. My salmon was wonderful, perfectly cooked and flavorful. Fried oysters are the best in town. We always eat at Roosters before any event we attend at Blumenthal. We are never disappointed.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Even though I was a bit harried in that ...

Dined 7 days ago

Even though I was a bit harried in that I was meeting one of my childhood best friends after not seeing him for several years, I found it strange that I could not obviously find any chicken entrées other than the wing appetizers. The pork shoulder Carolina barbecue that I decided upon was not as tender and flavorful as I had imagined. With Roosters top 10 Charlotte restaurant's reputation, I expected to be somewhat impressed and came away a bit disappointed. This feeling was exacerbated by the next door parking garage's lack of signage with regard to entering and exiting the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We went early and they were out of every ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

We went early and they were out of everything at the bar waited 20 Min to finally get a drink and it was pure lime juice my stomach burned for the next 30 min. Took another 10 min to get our check and leave. Wasn't even that busy.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant! The ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant! The Duck comfit was delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Rooster's was a happy, fun restaurant. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Rooster's was a happy, fun restaurant. The waitstaff was friendly, energetic and helpful. The roasted vegetables came in a small, black, pot. They were tender and full of flavor. The pasta had a bolognese sauce containing 3 proteins, and was very flavorful. Warm bread came with the meal, a whole wheat bread, and added a nice balance to our spicier food. All in all, it was a great experience. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone interested in a varied, appealing menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! The wings are ridiculou ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Love this place! The wings are ridiculous

food4
ambience4
service5

The services was outstanding... The wait ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The services was outstanding... The wait staff was attentive but not patronizing. We'll be back!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was very, very disappointing. The t ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was very, very disappointing. The tomato mozzarella pizza was burnt, had barely any cheese on it, and was overall tiny.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place for dinner with a friend in f ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice place for dinner with a friend in from out of town. The food and the service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good, but server not very knowl ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food was good, but server not very knowledgeable about food. I would go again, but look for a different server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, waiter made great rec ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, waiter made great recommendations, food served very promptly. Short rib is amazing. Option to sit at the chef's counter and watch them in action is fun.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were going to the theater at Boothe P ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were going to the theater at Boothe Playhouse and tried Rooster's based on its convenience. We were thrilled that we did. Server was extremely well informed and the food was excellent. Try the short rib! We had a good time and had plenty of time to get to the show.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Mediocre food, high prices, and poor ser ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Mediocre food, high prices, and poor service. Server never told us her name. Food wasn't great, it was very pricey. Under-seasoned.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good service and good food as always

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Good service and good food as always

food5
ambience5
service5

The oysters were great!

Dined on June 4, 2016

The oysters were great!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Not very accessible

Dined on June 2, 2016

We went to this restaurant for a special dinner with my daughter and her fiancé. I was using a wheelchair, although I could with difficulty climb stairs. When we arrived, we were told we would be seated upstairs - really a third-floor level - and that no elevator was available. I struggled up the stairs, which put a strain on my energy level the next day. At the end of the meal, I found out there was actually an elevator (and an escalator, but that did me no good), but it was quite a distance away via another entrance to the building. Too bad I didn't know about this in advance, and too bad the woman at the front door didn't know about the elevator. Not a bad restaurant, but not one we'll return to.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Meal at Roosters

Dined on June 2, 2016

Very much enjoyed dining at Rooster's. The food was outstanding. We had the hanger steak and short rib - both were very flavorful and satisfying. We also enjoyed roasted carrots with a fantastic ramp aioli and excellent salads. Service was also spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 44th anniversary at Roosters. We had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Chef Noble has provided another excellent dining experience.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great selection of main courses as well ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great selection of main courses as well as side items to share. The food is amazing and the presentation is great. It's not sloppy but not overly done either. This place is great for groups or dates. There was a child in our group who enjoyed all the food as well. But I wouldn't recommend more than 2-3 kids at a time or wild ones. There is not a lot space so being well behaved is a must.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner on a late Saturda ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had an early dinner on a late Saturday afternoon before there was any crowd. The service was excellent and every course on our selection list was well prepared, professionally served and appetizing. Because it was early, the chef was explaining to the wait staff the specifics of the day's special menu items - a great touch to add for the customer's benefit. Well worth a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyable

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food. Great Service. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent and I can't wait ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was excellent and I can't wait to go back and try different dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Service and Food

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

First time visit to Rooster's, but definitely not the last. The service was excellent, along with the food. The menu might be a little confusing at first, but it only takes a minute to figure it out. Our waiter was very helpful in that regard and knew the food very well . Will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My steak was cooked perfectly! Everyone ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My steak was cooked perfectly! Everyone at the table cleaned up and after a bit of delay with the waiter getting started, service was perfect the rest of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yep, I'd do that again

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went out with family for a celebration. Everything was perfect. Our server anticipated our every need. The food was delicious and enough with out being too much. I rarely eat desert when I go out but tonight the food was light enough to indulge, that was fabulous too. Be aware the place is so relaxing and friendly you can easily spend hours eating, laughing and having an all around good time!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great lunch spot

Dined on May 5, 2016

Both my friend and I work at the bank & it's an easy & fast lunch date! Great service and always fun.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food, terrible service

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

On a recent site visit of Charlotte, the CVB recommended this location as our audience contains a good percentage of foodies and it's great to have recommendations to pass along. Our group tried a number of dishes, none of which our server was able to describe and/or provide suggestions about. Unfortunately, not being from the area/gphaving previous experience, this left us feeling unsupported. It was clear the server was more focused on trying to get the table turned and rush us through the evening vs. allowing us to enjoy the night. Everything we choose was delicious, from appetizers to main to dessert and I would recommend for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Roosters had an off night

Dined on May 1, 2016

I booked reservations at Roosters because my boyfriend has said many times it is his favorite restaurant and I was taking him out to celebrate a work accomplishment. I have only been once before, him many times. Well so many things went wrong it was almost comical. Started good. I called to changed my reservation by 15min due to traffic and road closure for some bike race. Change was accommodated and we were seated right away. At a table near the kitchen. Even though my reservation requested AWAY from the kitchen. We sat down and noticed food ALL over the floor. We moved ourselves to the next table over. Same floor condition. Hostess came to move us to another table even closer to kitchen. Manager approached and I mentioned my table request. She quickly seated us away from kitchen. Great table. That had been available. New menu style is very confusing and hard to understand. Seriously please reconsider this menu style. Manager could not explain 'Larder'. At all. Ordered an appetizer and it came same time as entrees. Food was very good not great. Good presentation. Ordered dessert which was bread pudding with peanut butter gelato. It came with vanilla gelato.... when we asked waiter he stated they were out of the other ..I feel we should have been told that and offered to possibly choose a different dessert. . he clearly was not going to take it off the bill until he could tell we were very irritated ... He then removed the appetizer too. Acting like he'd already removed these things. He hadn't. And we certainly werenot irritated by any ONE or even two of these happening. But this was a lot all together. At one point the house lights came all the way up. So bright. And then they were turned completely off. Seriously we are thinking we're being punked by this time ;-) We then waited 20+ minutes after dessert for the check. Anyways , there's my feedback. The restaurant has gone downhill. Reservations were very easy to get. You have a lot of competition.

food4
ambience2
service5
value2

We'll be back

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service nice- not rushed. Waiters should not address customers as "you guys." How about just "you." Menu hard to understand- no distinction between appetizers and mains. Drop the background music-- too noisy. We prefer conversation rather than texts. Food was good. Too bad the duck I wanted was gone. Sides were generous portions. Had we known, we would have split one.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our dining experience at Rooster's!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Made the reservation on a whim - my husband and I were looking for a restaurant for Saturday night after the Hornets game. Rooster's had an opening and we decided to book it. So happy we did! What a great place. Service was very good. Food was outstanding! Really good wine list. Next time we need to save room for dessert! We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best go to place in Charlotte

Dined on April 23, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in town, always great food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a group in for a conference and f ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a group in for a conference and found Rooster's on OT. None of us was in the mood for an entree so we ordered a load of appetizers and small plates to share. We had a blast and the food was excellent. The wings and chicken liver pate were great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service

Dined on April 19, 2016

I was a little doubtful because of the name of the place. When the waiter walked up he looked like he was 17 and I thought that there was no way he would know the menu and wine list well. He was awesome, he knew everything as if the restaurant has a college and he earned a masters degree. He picked out the meat and cheese appetizer which was excellent. He was attentive, polite, unpretentious and professional. The manager was walking around making sure the customers were happy. The food was excellent, innovative, fresh and well prepared. It is difficult for any restaurant to get everything right and they did it seamlessly. I live in Atlanta and it would be worth a trip to Charlotte just for this place. I will definitely return. Obviously, I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty but expensive

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food and the service was excellent! It was a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Server was very friendly and knowledge. ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Server was very friendly and knowledge. Food was delicious - great wood fired wings. Kids both loved their pimento cheese grilled cheese and the mac& cheese as well. The pork bahn-mi sandwich had a great flavor. Salads were very fresh and nicely dressed. The only disappointment was the flatbread pizza - grilled chicken tasted like it was cooked yesterday and had no wood fired/smoky flavor; mushrooms were left off the pizza; but the crust was nice and cooked correctly with just a bit of charred edges like you want with wood-fired type crust. Roasted corn was awesome. Will definitely be back

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my first time for dinner at this location and it was a wonderful experience. The service was perfect. I decided on the Beef Cheeks with some encouragement from our server - Jennifer. I'm so glad that I did because it was fantastic. Everything about the place was a little different than your run of the mill restaurant. We got plenty of attention and just enjoyed the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The short ribs and bread pudding were aw ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The short ribs and bread pudding were awesome! Great casual dinner spot with a diverse menu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We went to Rooster for dinner before attending a performance at the Knight Theater. What a wonderful treat. The service was perfect, and our food was amazing. I'm still dreaming about my kale caesar and fabulous fish. My husband had the pork chop and was delighted. I did think the bread pudding was a bit overly sweet, but we ate every bit of it. A truly enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.