About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bollognese Venison - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Chicken Wrap - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Scallops - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Wood Fired Pepperoni Pizza - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Au Gratin Potatoes - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Gnocchi - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Chef's Salad - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Wood Grilled Pork Chop - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Pork Liver Mousse - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Tile Fish - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
See All
Wood Oven (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Casual (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great Beer (8)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fireplace (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fantastic as usual, great d ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fantastic as usual, great drinks, great service.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rooster's is our "go-to" place after att ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Rooster's is our "go-to" place after attending a Belk Theater performance Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken was waaayyyy to salty but our se ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Chicken was waaayyyy to salty but our server was outstanding. I spent the better part of my adult life as a fine dining server and I believe strongly that she deserves to be recognized.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Grant was our server and his service was ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

Grant was our server and his service was exceptional. Food is always great at Roosters. Disappointed that they discontinued the polenta cakes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is easily the most value you can ge ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is easily the most value you can get for tour $ for the best foodin Uptown!

Focus on seasonal and local food make thateven better.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dissapointed that the serving s ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We were dissapointed that the serving sizes for the side dishes appear to have shrunk. My friend and I used order our own entree and be able to share a couple of sides but the sides now look more like individual portions. So sorry to see this change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was excellent, except the Ho ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our service was excellent, except the Hostess did mention the exact time she would "need" our table even though we were 10 minutes early for our reservation. I started with a drink "Rye Me a River" and it was delicious (not too sweet). The scallops were good, the wedge salad was better than average because the blue cheese was extra special as was the bacon! The flank steak was flavorful, cooked perfectly & filling. The roasted fingerling potatoes were good and the macaroni & cheese was to die for...definitely share because it is so rich but very special. I had the spiced wings. I was a little disappointed. It was a dark rub (waiter described as a "4" on a 1-10 spicy scale, but I would describe as a "6,"and cooked perfectly but a little one dimensional for an entree. Might be better to order as an appetizer and share. We will definitely be back. We felt it was a very good value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Wood Oven, Casual, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Rooster's very much. The food ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

We enjoyed Rooster's very much. The food was excellent. The pan fried corn and butter wilted spinach were the best we have had. The scallops were well cooked and the shrimp was equally impressive. My wife normally gets a Seagrams and ginger ale when we eat out and she said it was perfect which is a rarity. She wished she had gotten one to go. We ordered the raspberry/apple bread pudding and it may have been the best dessert we have had anywhere. If you order the bread puddding make sure you tell your server early since it takes about a half hour to cook. We will definitely be going back. The location was great for our evening at the theatre.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I really love this place. Good clean foo ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

I really love this place. Good clean food, fresh and small plates. Not heavy even though its southern influenced. Compared to other local restaurants def value for your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food.

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great chef recommended charcuterie board ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great chef recommended charcuterie board, especially the duck ham and the lomo. Tasty bread on arrival. Good choice of entrees (loved my duck dish and short rib of beef, potato gratin big hit with friends) with good sized potions! Delicious desserts. Great friendly non patronizing service! Our second time and will go again for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

No waiting - we had reservations prior t ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

No waiting - we had reservations prior to theatre; excellent service, fantastic food (we had combination of veggies and flatbreads) Veggies are enough for two -even three to share.

Value is good, pleasant staff, nice extras like warm bread and specialty olive oils.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Simply outstanding service!

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Simply outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal. Lack of variety on ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Lack of variety on the menu but what they was done excellent. Staff and management was personable, friendly and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always get the potatoes au gratin.

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always get the potatoes au gratin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the absolutely perfect place to t ...

vip
·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was the absolutely perfect place to take my 10 yo daughter before the Nutcracker! We shared a salad, chicken tenders, and pizza, then walked to the show. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter explained the menu, gave us a ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our waiter explained the menu, gave us a couple of his favorites. We ordered a little bit of everything to try the menu. Overall great experience from the atmosphere to the food. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an excellent pre-theater dinner with ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Had an excellent pre-theater dinner with my mom and sons, 8&11. We all ordered off the "real" menu without a problem. The scalloped potatoes were excellent!!

Our waiter was great with the boys and their questions about the food and how it was prepared. (He is a high school music teacher by day - wish NC paid teachers better so he didn't need a second job).

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love roosters! The food is always amaz ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

I love roosters! The food is always amazing. The service could use a little work though (maybe it was just this one trip). Other then that I love bringing people here & coming here myself!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Awesome experience. Cant wait to come b ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome experience. Cant wait to come back! Food was great, waiter was wonderful and it made for a great B-day start for my wife. Thanks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and a fantastic mea ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had great service and a fantastic meal. We literally cleaned the plates with bread despite not being very hungry when we showed up. The Duck Gnocchi was particularly good. Light, fluffy Gnocchi with a really rich sauce.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic!!

vip
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious local food at good prices. Po ...

vip
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Delicious local food at good prices. Portions are great and reservations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine here. My 10 y ...

vip
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine here. My 10 year old loves it and was so happy to get her favorite meal here--short rib for her all the way! Was a busy night there but no problems with service. Will of course be back again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken was delicious. I wish there ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

The chicken was delicious. I wish there were more green options i.e. add-in to macaroni or half- size sides. The service was great at the beginning but got a little inattentive towards the end.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing! I've yet to have a bad experien ...

vip
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Amazing! I've yet to have a bad experience or meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crowdy Place no quick Service Terrible ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Crowdy Place

no quick Service

Terrible BBQ Sauce Spilled over Roasted chicken

Overdpriced Food and Drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food . Waiter was slow to come by a ...

vip
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Good food . Waiter was slow to come by and decided not to smile that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We had great food. Our reservation was f ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had great food. Our reservation was for 7:15, but they were out of many things, including some of the specialty drinks. The charcuterie was particularly good! Service was exceptional as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, wine and drink selection ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Excellent food, wine and drink selection, with a great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place and go hear very often ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

I love this place and go hear very often. I have yet to have a bad meal and the service has been fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was good, but the food was a ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

The service was good, but the food was amazing. The fish special was amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was very good, with the steak a ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was very good, with the steak and broccoli being most notable. The service was also excellent and friendly. The only downsides were: 1) the noise level was so loud at times I had a hard time hearing my dinner date speaking, 2) The cost of each individual item seemed overpriced for the overall quality. $10 for a simple green vegetable is a bit much.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We experienced great customer service. ...

vip
·Dined on November 22, 2016

We experienced great customer service. Our wings were charred too much and the manager adjusted our bill accordingly. We did not lobby for our bill to be adjusted. My wife made a comment and the manager agreed with her assessment and took the initiative. Great, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately this was one of the worst ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Unfortunately this was one of the worst experiences we have ever had at a restaurant. The staff was friendly and the food good, but the service was appalling to the point that we were aggravated and very unsatisfied by the time we left. It took us a half hour to get our check, and then a lengthy time before it was brought back to us, so the whole experience didn't sit well at all. I grew up in the restaurant industry and standards should be a lot higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Food was very good, but the server was r ...

vip
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very good, but the server was rude and pushy. Lighting could/should have been dimmer for a 7pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We went for dinner before the symphony a ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for dinner before the symphony and went here for our first time. Our salmon cakes were excellent, very tasty and most. The decor is rustic and modern. Service was prompt and friendly. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner here for my friend and I ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Enjoyed dinner here for my friend and I before a show at Booth Playhouse. Servers and receptionist here are exceptional! Dinner, as always, was excellent, but a little slow getting to the table.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing hand rubbed wings, and collard g ...

vip
·Dined on November 16, 2016

amazing hand rubbed wings, and collard greens were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic service and food. Went there f ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Went there for a date night and then a show at Blumenthal. Our waiter was so good and gave us great advice on what and how to order. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.