About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Bollognese Venison - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Chicken Wrap - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Scallops - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Wood Fired Pepperoni Pizza - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Au Gratin Potatoes - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Gnocchi - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Chef's Salad - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Wood Grilled Pork Chop - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Pork Liver Mousse - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC
Tile Fish - Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown, Charlotte, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (20)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Open Kitchen (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great Beer (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We experienced great customer service. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We experienced great customer service. Our wings were charred too much and the manager adjusted our bill accordingly. We did not lobby for our bill to be adjusted. My wife made a comment and the manager agreed with her assessment and took the initiative. Great, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately this was one of the worst ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Unfortunately this was one of the worst experiences we have ever had at a restaurant. The staff was friendly and the food good, but the service was appalling to the point that we were aggravated and very unsatisfied by the time we left. It took us a half hour to get our check, and then a lengthy time before it was brought back to us, so the whole experience didn't sit well at all. I grew up in the restaurant industry and standards should be a lot higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Food was very good, but the server was r ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was very good, but the server was rude and pushy. Lighting could/should have been dimmer for a 7pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We went for dinner before the symphony a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for dinner before the symphony and went here for our first time. Our salmon cakes were excellent, very tasty and most. The decor is rustic and modern. Service was prompt and friendly. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed dinner here for my friend and I ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Enjoyed dinner here for my friend and I before a show at Booth Playhouse. Servers and receptionist here are exceptional! Dinner, as always, was excellent, but a little slow getting to the table.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing hand rubbed wings, and collard g ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

amazing hand rubbed wings, and collard greens were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic service and food. Went there f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Went there for a date night and then a show at Blumenthal. Our waiter was so good and gave us great advice on what and how to order. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pricey, but tasty food and great se ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very pricey, but tasty food and great service. Atmosphere is good. Server was very knowledgable of the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was phenomenal! Rooster's is perfec ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Rooster's is perfectly placed for dinner before a show, sitting between the parking deck and Founder's Hall (Booth and Belk Theatres). I highly recommend them for food quality, service, price, and ambience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Roosters! We always meet here befor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love Roosters! We always meet here before a Hornets game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations for 6:30, before a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We made reservations for 6:30, before a 7:30 show. Due to major traffic in uptown, we were running very late, after 7:00. Stopped in to apologize for missing our reservation due to the crazy traffic, and they told us that they would seat us still. We said we didn't have time due to the show in less than a half hour. They said "come on in, we promise to get you out on time". They sure did!! They told us what options would be best for the limited time, we got the wood fire pizzas, and a side of the pan fried corn (which is always absolutely amazing, don't go without getting this!!). They rushed our food ahead of others, got us the bill and ran our credit card as the food came to us, and we were in and out in about 20 minutes. The food here is always great, and we have always had good service, but this was absolutely above and beyond. Highly recommend Rooster's at Uptown before any show at the Belk Theater, they are well prepared to make sure to get you to your show on time, and we have never had a bad meal or service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and casual place to eat. Onl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food and casual place to eat. Only negative was when waiter was cleaning the table he dropped sauce over myself and another diner at my table. Little was done by him to rectify that situation other than a dirty wet rag from the kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

A great meal before the show. The servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

A great meal before the show. The service was timely and the food was excellent. A nice selection of beers as well. All four members of our group would go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gracious staff, amazing roasted chicken, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Gracious staff, amazing roasted chicken, delicious Prosecco, and yummy after-dinner drinks...what is not to like?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Energetic ambiance, excellent BBQ chicke ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Energetic ambiance, excellent BBQ chicken, underwhelming potatoes au gratin, attentive wait staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The ambiance of the place was fantastic. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The ambiance of the place was fantastic. Just as much as the main course and the Mac and cheese blew my mind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Dinner pre-theater and to celebrat ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great Dinner pre-theater and to celebrate a birthday. Fifth visit in a year to Rooster's. Never disappointed and always good food. Menu is great and very interesting. Service excellent and they strive to please and accommodate their patrons.

Great wines. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at Roosters and pi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Roosters and picked it because of the wood-fire grill and craft beer selection. The food was pretty good and they served large portions. I did have two issues with the service. The first was that even though we had reservations, we had to wait almost 30 minutes for our table. It was a fairly late (7:45 reservation) on a week night so was disappointed they didn't have the timing down better. The other complaint was that although they emphasize that they are a craft beer place and have a lot of options, our server knew nothing about the beer specials or any of the beer types. This is ultimately a training issue and reflects poorly on management. For craft beer lovers (the kind of people you want to frequent a place like this) it was really a turn off. Hey-we like to talk about beer and try new styles.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding food! 2nd visit and it was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Outstanding food! 2nd visit and it was excellent just like the first.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Waiter and managers suggestions were spo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Waiter and managers suggestions were spot on. Very courteous service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great dining spot with friend ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a great dining spot with friends before concert at Blumenthal! Every dish we tried/shared was fantastic. Will definitely return to this great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites, food and service ar ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of my favorites, food and service are always top notch!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitstaff was great, as was the hostess/ ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waitstaff was great, as was the hostess/host staff. We added 4 people to our reservation late in the day and they were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious - well worth the p ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food is delicious - well worth the price. Great decor with an open kitchen. We will definitely go back. Try the tomato basil bisque!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the food, service and atmosphere. G ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Love the food, service and atmosphere. Great place to eat before an evening out in Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good; menu was difficult to nav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was good; menu was difficult to navigate; server on task.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was passable, nothing spectacular. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food was passable, nothing spectacular. Waitress was pleasant, helpful but she had too many tables (or people) to serve.

Place was noisy which seems to be the new standard in restaurants but we could not carry on a conversation across a small table.

Perhaps just a bad night. We will try them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

My favorite place to meet up with two pr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 18, 2016

My favorite place to meet up with two precious gems I've worked with years ago and still keep in touch with. Even though the Southpark location is right around the corner from me, and I work from home, always excited to scoot to the uptown location. The three of us always order the same three appetizers (I try to change it up and have dinner) and never disappointed. Absolutely love the food. I just meet another friend at Southpark for dinner vs. just appetizers. My happy place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Waiter was unarticulate and nobody could ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Waiter was unarticulate and nobody could hear a word he said. Scallops and asparagus were ice cold. Salad was terrible. At those prices...shame on you. Never coming back. Left hungry and not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The whole dining experience was a pleasu ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The whole dining experience was a pleasure, from our server to the desert. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food. The duck and duck breast ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food. The duck and duck breast were very tasty. The pumpkin spice cream was too good for words and the chocolate mousse was excellent too. And the side dishes were tasty and worth the money! Will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great Beer, Spicy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food. Really enjoyed ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great service and food. Really enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I always dine there when we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife and I always dine there when we are in Charlotte - this time we took friends with us who had never been there - they loved it! (as we thought they would). Great atmosphere, great wine list and outstanding food - they haven't disappointed us yet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First and foremost was our server, Jimmy ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First and foremost was our server, Jimmy. Can't say enough about him. Attentive, warm, knowledgable about wines...and on and on. He should be the "poster child" for servers. Food was great if you don't want the hefty price. Had the Brisket Burger and fries which were over the top. Juicy with that "hot-off-the-outdoor grille" taste. Same for the roasted beets. My wife ordered the hangar steak which she loved. However, the $25 price tag is definitely over-priced for what it is. In fact I think our $81 bill (pre-tip) was high for a burger, a small plate of sliced steak, 2 glasses of wine and a side of beets.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

The waitress was almost non-existent all ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The waitress was almost non-existent all night. Did not give us much information about the specific plates that were available. This is not the norm though. Usually they are very friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Went to Rooster's for lunch with a large ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Went to Rooster's for lunch with a large group of 12. Service was excellent as was the food. I had the Vietnamese Pork Sandwich which I highly recommend. There are no bad options on the Rooster's menu!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accommodated our party of 10. Excellent ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Accommodated our party of 10. Excellent service, delicious menu. Waitress was fantastic, friendly. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great! We kept losing our ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was great! We kept losing our server but other than that we had a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband and I dined here before atten ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I dined here before attending Saturday night's Charlotte Symphony on September 30, 2016. While Sara, our server, provided very good service and recommended the perfect Pinot noir for my food choices, we were very disappointed in our food. The calamari was too greasy to finish, and my sautéed scallops, while perfectly cooked, were too highly seasoned to enjoy the aioli sauce. Our two sides, the asparagus and the roasted fingerling potatoes, were also too heavily seasoned to compliment my scallops and my husband's duck confit. By the end of our meal, we understood why there was no salt and pepper on the table--we had more than enough spices than necessary. I would visit Roosters again for the professional and friendly staff, but just to have a glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Don't go if you are hungry. Portions are ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Don't go if you are hungry. Portions are micro size. It's the kind that commercials make fun of. Example: Three people in my party ordered Salmon. If you combined all the servings you would half a fish. It's extremely over priced for what you get. Example: $10 for mac and cheese. Plus the menu gives no description on it's items. Example: it does not tell you if the shrimp is grilled, fried, boiled or anything. Therefore we had to ask the server about many of the items. Which brings me to the service. The impression he gave me was that we were a waste of his time. Plus he should have told me that when I ordered one of the appetizers as my meal that the portion was the size of a biscuit and recommend me to choose something else. In conclusion all five of us agreed it was the worst meal for the money we ever ate. All of us regretted going. Plus we were starving when we left and afterwards we went somewhere else to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.