About Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown

150 N College St
Suite 1000
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

A Consumption Revolution in Uptown, Charlotte. Rooster's Wood Fired Kitchen, A Jim Noble Restaurant, will redefine dining out. A food and wine bar featuring an a la carte menu of comfortable Spanish, French and Italian influenced selections prepared on a wood fired grill, rotisserie and imported Italian oven. Rooster's is high quality and affordable casual cuisine combined with a local Southern boy's culinary impartations. The open kitchen centered in the dining room allows the guest to view the crafting of cuisine while dining at the kitchen's antique granite countertop on a hand crafted pub bar stool. Finishes of Leather, antique stone, beautiful crafted woodwork and wrought iron parallels the artisan architecture and design with artisan, hand crafted styled cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Closed Saturday and Sunday
Dinner: Monday - Friday 3:00 pm - Until
Dinner:Saturday : 4:00 pm - Until
Dinner: Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
Corner of 5th and College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 370-7667

Parking Details:
One Bank of America Parking Deck.
$2.00 for two hours with validation.
Enter into 1 Bank of America parking deck through the College St. entrance directly next to Roosters street entrance. Take the elevator to level 6 and follow signs that take you towards Founders Hall. Once you reach the main lobby of 1 Bank of America, we are located on the right just down the stairs.

Public Transit:
One block north from Light Rail Transit Station stop.

Executive Chef:
Zack Renner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's Wood-Fired Kitchen - Uptown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (97)
good for groups (57)
special occasion (57)
See All
hot spot (36)
great for lunch (33)
notable wine list (32)
neighborhood gem (30)
vibrant bar scene (29)
romantic (24)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 44th anniversary at Roosters. We had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Chef Noble has provided another excellent dining experience.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early dinner on a late Saturda ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had an early dinner on a late Saturday afternoon before there was any crowd. The service was excellent and every course on our selection list was well prepared, professionally served and appetizing. Because it was early, the chef was explaining to the wait staff the specifics of the day's special menu items - a great touch to add for the customer's benefit. Well worth a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyable

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food. Great Service. Looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent and I can't wait ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was excellent and I can't wait to go back and try different dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Service and Food

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

First time visit to Rooster's, but definitely not the last. The service was excellent, along with the food. The menu might be a little confusing at first, but it only takes a minute to figure it out. Our waiter was very helpful in that regard and knew the food very well . Will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My steak was cooked perfectly! Everyone ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My steak was cooked perfectly! Everyone at the table cleaned up and after a bit of delay with the waiter getting started, service was perfect the rest of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yep, I'd do that again

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went out with family for a celebration. Everything was perfect. Our server anticipated our every need. The food was delicious and enough with out being too much. I rarely eat desert when I go out but tonight the food was light enough to indulge, that was fabulous too. Be aware the place is so relaxing and friendly you can easily spend hours eating, laughing and having an all around good time!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great lunch spot

Dined on May 5, 2016

Both my friend and I work at the bank & it's an easy & fast lunch date! Great service and always fun.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food, terrible service

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

On a recent site visit of Charlotte, the CVB recommended this location as our audience contains a good percentage of foodies and it's great to have recommendations to pass along. Our group tried a number of dishes, none of which our server was able to describe and/or provide suggestions about. Unfortunately, not being from the area/gphaving previous experience, this left us feeling unsupported. It was clear the server was more focused on trying to get the table turned and rush us through the evening vs. allowing us to enjoy the night. Everything we choose was delicious, from appetizers to main to dessert and I would recommend for the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Roosters had an off night

Dined on May 1, 2016

I booked reservations at Roosters because my boyfriend has said many times it is his favorite restaurant and I was taking him out to celebrate a work accomplishment. I have only been once before, him many times. Well so many things went wrong it was almost comical. Started good. I called to changed my reservation by 15min due to traffic and road closure for some bike race. Change was accommodated and we were seated right away. At a table near the kitchen. Even though my reservation requested AWAY from the kitchen. We sat down and noticed food ALL over the floor. We moved ourselves to the next table over. Same floor condition. Hostess came to move us to another table even closer to kitchen. Manager approached and I mentioned my table request. She quickly seated us away from kitchen. Great table. That had been available. New menu style is very confusing and hard to understand. Seriously please reconsider this menu style. Manager could not explain 'Larder'. At all. Ordered an appetizer and it came same time as entrees. Food was very good not great. Good presentation. Ordered dessert which was bread pudding with peanut butter gelato. It came with vanilla gelato.... when we asked waiter he stated they were out of the other ..I feel we should have been told that and offered to possibly choose a different dessert. . he clearly was not going to take it off the bill until he could tell we were very irritated ... He then removed the appetizer too. Acting like he'd already removed these things. He hadn't. And we certainly werenot irritated by any ONE or even two of these happening. But this was a lot all together. At one point the house lights came all the way up. So bright. And then they were turned completely off. Seriously we are thinking we're being punked by this time ;-) We then waited 20+ minutes after dessert for the check. Anyways , there's my feedback. The restaurant has gone downhill. Reservations were very easy to get. You have a lot of competition.

food4
ambience2
service5
value2

We'll be back

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service nice- not rushed. Waiters should not address customers as "you guys." How about just "you." Menu hard to understand- no distinction between appetizers and mains. Drop the background music-- too noisy. We prefer conversation rather than texts. Food was good. Too bad the duck I wanted was gone. Sides were generous portions. Had we known, we would have split one.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our dining experience at Rooster's!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Made the reservation on a whim - my husband and I were looking for a restaurant for Saturday night after the Hornets game. Rooster's had an opening and we decided to book it. So happy we did! What a great place. Service was very good. Food was outstanding! Really good wine list. Next time we need to save room for dessert! We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best go to place in Charlotte

Dined on April 23, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in town, always great food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a group in for a conference and f ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a group in for a conference and found Rooster's on OT. None of us was in the mood for an entree so we ordered a load of appetizers and small plates to share. We had a blast and the food was excellent. The wings and chicken liver pate were great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service

Dined on April 19, 2016

I was a little doubtful because of the name of the place. When the waiter walked up he looked like he was 17 and I thought that there was no way he would know the menu and wine list well. He was awesome, he knew everything as if the restaurant has a college and he earned a masters degree. He picked out the meat and cheese appetizer which was excellent. He was attentive, polite, unpretentious and professional. The manager was walking around making sure the customers were happy. The food was excellent, innovative, fresh and well prepared. It is difficult for any restaurant to get everything right and they did it seamlessly. I live in Atlanta and it would be worth a trip to Charlotte just for this place. I will definitely return. Obviously, I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty but expensive

Dined on April 19, 2016

The food and the service was excellent! It was a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Server was very friendly and knowledge. ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Server was very friendly and knowledge. Food was delicious - great wood fired wings. Kids both loved their pimento cheese grilled cheese and the mac& cheese as well. The pork bahn-mi sandwich had a great flavor. Salads were very fresh and nicely dressed. The only disappointment was the flatbread pizza - grilled chicken tasted like it was cooked yesterday and had no wood fired/smoky flavor; mushrooms were left off the pizza; but the crust was nice and cooked correctly with just a bit of charred edges like you want with wood-fired type crust. Roasted corn was awesome. Will definitely be back

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my first time for dinner at this location and it was a wonderful experience. The service was perfect. I decided on the Beef Cheeks with some encouragement from our server - Jennifer. I'm so glad that I did because it was fantastic. Everything about the place was a little different than your run of the mill restaurant. We got plenty of attention and just enjoyed the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The short ribs and bread pudding were aw ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The short ribs and bread pudding were awesome! Great casual dinner spot with a diverse menu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We went to Rooster for dinner before attending a performance at the Knight Theater. What a wonderful treat. The service was perfect, and our food was amazing. I'm still dreaming about my kale caesar and fabulous fish. My husband had the pork chop and was delighted. I did think the bread pudding was a bit overly sweet, but we ate every bit of it. A truly enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was good. The side dishes are e ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food was good. The side dishes are extraordinarily better than the main entrees so I would suggest ordering off the signature sides menu. We went on a Wednesday so I expected a little bit more attentive service but we were still taken care of.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food. Fantastic Location.

Dined on April 1, 2016

All of our food was incredible. Took my girlfriend. Really awesome place for any kind of date, lunch meeting, or just an excuse to get out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful experience at Rooster's ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Had a wonderful experience at Rooster's with friends/family! The food was "icing on the cake"! From the salmon to the duck confit. We chose an array of sides which are shareable! The potatoes au gratin are one of the best in Charlotte! The Brussels sprouts are delish with the bacon bits and balsamic and the fried corn was cooked to perfection!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Modern Southern Comfort

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place for modern southern comfort food. The rotisserie chicken was the best we've ever had! The macaroni & cheese was great as well arugula salad. Had daily special menu as well as sizable wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A fan of duck confit

Dined on March 18, 2016

We eat here bi-monthly before attending a symphony performance. I order duck confit and have never been disappointed. It's my favorite of your menu items. The servers and greeters are always smiling and friendly. Our waitress last Friday had brought friends for dinner...a great indication of customer/employee loyalty!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best

Dined on March 17, 2016

Ate dinner here with some colleagues while we were all visiting from out of town. Food was really good - one person said it was one of the best meals ever in any restaurant. Will definitely plan to return.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Service was a little disappointing

Dined on March 17, 2016

Rooster's is a cool-looking restaurant, and the cocktails and beer selection were great. The food was ok--calamari and scallops were good, beef ribs and bacon grits were fine. The thing that was most off-putting was the waiter. He seriously seemed not to care one bit about his job. Any time we wanted something we had to actively seek him out--or ask for help from someone else. In fact the front end manager could see we were a little frustrated because she made sure to check on us several times. Her knowledge, conscientiousness, and level of effort make me think our experience wasn't the norm for Rooster's...hopefully.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A+ Experience!

Dined on March 14, 2016

We had an A+ Evening at Rooster's! Excellent service, atmosphere and food! I greatly enjoyed the seared scallops, mixed greens salad and fried calamari. I highly recommend Rooster's for an amazing and relaxed dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good, not great

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had heard so many rave reviews of this place and had been wanting to try it for months. It was good. It wasn't AMAZING like I had heard from so many people. I'll definitely be back to give it another chance. Great meat and cheese board. Entree was just okay, sides were very good. Loved the atmosphere. Loved that they have an extensive GF menu, too.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roosters uptown is fantastic.

Dined on March 10, 2016

We moved to Charlotte almost a year ago. We first found out about Roosters on a "Food - Feast tour" (I think that was the name). Since then, we've been back 3 times on our own and a couple times with out of town guests. The food is always excellent and so is the service. I have been working my way through the menu and it's all good. But if you're going for the first time, I recommend the brisket burger or the spare rib or the meatballs (when they are available) and definitely get the corn. On my most recent visit, Gavin, our waiter recommended we order the bread pudding with ice cream ahead of time because it takes about 20 minutes. What a great suggestion! I must admit that the dessert was so good that it would have been well worth the wait if we had had to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ran out of the special

Dined on March 6, 2016

My only complaint would be that they ran out of the special for the evening, which was an aged rib eye, which is what I wanted, and I had to settle for something else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter,Gavin, was wonderful. Friendl ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our waiter,Gavin, was wonderful. Friendly & attentive but not too much. Helped me pick out a great wine. Food was very good. Lovely evening

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, small portions

Dined on March 4, 2016

Really liked the restarant, but Im not the kind of guy that likes to pay a lot for each thing on the plate in small portions. Food tasted great, but for the cost, we all left a little hungry.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I was late for my reservation and so tha ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

I was late for my reservation and so thankful I got seated and served quickly so I could make the play at Blumenthal. Staff was attentive and food was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Rooster's Uptown

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food here is fabulous and being able to watch the chefs in the open kitchen is really cool. We did not have a single dish that wasn't delicious. However, the service provided by our main waiter was pretty terrible. Everyone else we interacted with was quite pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was knowledgeable and attentiv ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was fun and delicious. And the whole evening was efficient and a great theater experience is right there next door.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinning experience!

Dined on February 23, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful! She gave great food & wine recommendations. My only complaint, it became very apparent that the entire staff was ready to go around 9:30. I'm still not sure what time the restaurant closes because it's not stated on the website. I can see if we were the only table but there was a large party in the restaurant as well. We asked a support team member what time they closed & he responded now. 9:45 is a strange time to close.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food - Waiter MIA

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

This was my first time at Rooster's. We chose it because of the excellent reviews and the close proximity to the Blumenthal. Although our food was very good, our service was less than attentive. We waited a long time to get our sticky table wiped down after a spill and we had to chase our waiter down just to get our check.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great dinner, bbq chicken was excellent. ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Great dinner, bbq chicken was excellent. Enjoyed the atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Landberg's

Dined on February 17, 2016

Good lunch selection. We weren't rush to finish and vacate the table. Attentive waiters. Convenient location. Will come back for dinner.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.