About Rooster's A Noble Grille

380 Knollwood St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
View Larger Map

North Carolina chef and restaurateur, Jim Noble founded Rooster’s: A Noble Grille with the intention of being relevant without being trendy and to impress without being pretentious. That commitment has carried us through two decades and continues to lead us on today.

Knowing that simple food is harder to execute given there is nowhere to hide the flaws, we go to great lengths to source quality ingredients from local farmers and purveyors. We then take all the time necessary to develop their flavors —using both European and modern techniques—always working from scratch.

Our menu features tried and true staples like our spit­-roasted chicken cooked over open fire as well as progressive daily​ specials and elevated bar bites featuring Executive Chef John Bobby’s latest experiments inspired by the seasons and regional ingredients.

At Rooster’s, you’ll always find something new served with an honest commitment and consistently warm care.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Mediterranean, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thruway Shopping Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 777-8477

Website:
http://www.roosterskitchen.com/locations/a-noble-grille-winston-salem/

Catering:
For information on catering and sales please contact Nick Allen at nick@noblesrestaurants.com or (336) 777-8477.

Parking Details:
They offer designated spaces in front of the restaurant as well as covered deck with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
John Bobby

Private Party Contact:
Nick Allen: 3367778477x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Rooster's A Noble Grille
Smoked Turkey Sandwich W/ bacon, Granny Smith apples herb mayo  and cheddar on country white
Fried flounder
Arugula Salad
Rack of Lamb
Calimari Appetizer
Gnocchi
Cheese Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Pork Chops
Mesclun Salad
Elderflower Martini
Scallops w/ Carrot And Pea Gnocchis
Short Rib Pappardelle
Wild Boar
Fried Calamari
Black Russian Cocktail
Caesar Salad
Christmastini
Domaine Lefage Cote D'est Catalenes 2009
Local Buttercrunch Lettuce Salad
Lamb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's A Noble Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
5 More
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service at our table did not begin u ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service at our table did not begin until we had sat there for 18 minutes! Then, we were offered water without apology for delay. Food was delicious and Susan provided delightful assistance to our server. Next time, we'll ask for Susan!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I would recommend this restaurant. Open ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

I would recommend this restaurant. Open space so could be very loud if it were crowded. Good for business or family but not a very intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We live in Bethlehem, NC. We love to go ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We live in Bethlehem, NC. We love to go to Nobles when we are in the Winston-Salem area. This particular day we were coming home from a ball game in Chapel Hill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Organic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were fantastic with perfect char ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Steaks were fantastic with perfect char and sides of fries, butter beans & pan-fried corn great! Only miss was the coffee (weak/watery) & creme brûlée (too much egg/tasted close to flan & bland). Otherwise good woulda been 5-stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always good at Nobles / Roosters ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is always good at Nobles / Roosters. Service lagged on this visit - server delivered the wrong wine, and was absent for very long periods of time during the meal and after. Restaurant was busy, but not exceptionally so. New menu is a little confusing in that appetizers / small plates are not clearly defined.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I want so badly to like this place. I h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I want so badly to like this place. I have now been here three times and each time there were either problems with food, real service issues, or in the latest case, just very mediocre food. They rebranded themselves and really had hoped they brought in either a new chef or something different, but alas, it made no difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Roosters...aka Nobles Grille has always ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Roosters...aka Nobles Grille has always been the go-to place for great food and service. Ideal and impressive for business lunch or date night!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rooster's always has wonderful food, and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Rooster's always has wonderful food, and it is always an enjoyable experience. The only down side this time was that a loud party was seated right next to us in an almost empty dining room. So it was a loud, but enjoyable meal. The service is always impeccable, and this meal was no exception. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Interesting Ala Carte menu.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Interesting Ala Carte menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

overall food good not as good as rooste ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

overall food good not as good as roosters in charlotte the brownie dessert was a shock could have had a larger brownie from costco TERRIBLE ruined the quality of dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good and so was the service ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was good and so was the service but the menu is just unusual and a bit hard to understand. I like my menu a little more straightforward. Everything appeared to be ala carte. It's hard to understand what are appetizers, salads, soups, entrees, etc. In the end, the waiter said they could pretty much do anything on the menu so I had a piece of salmon on a rather plain salad. Would love to have had some sugared pecans and strawberries on it too. We have eaten there when it was just plain Nobles and felt it was a much more enjoyable experience from a menu standpoint. My husband had wanted to try it since it became Roosters but I don't think it will be on the top of our restaurant list unless they change the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the dishes was very heavy with sa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of the dishes was very heavy with salt to the point it burned the tongue. Server left us without beverages for over 20 minutes during the meal. Menu organization was confusing to our guests as relates to trying to plan courses. Too few entree choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The very best restaurant in NC.. The Foo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The very best restaurant in NC.. The Food, service, ambience are all exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a nice dinner with business colle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a nice dinner with business colleagues. The bar has a nice selection. Good wine list. The food is very good. My only two complaints would be that the menu is confusing and the meat offerings weren't very appealing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have lived in Winston Salem for nine y ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have lived in Winston Salem for nine years. We have some great restaurants, and this was the first time I had been to Roosters. It was by far the best meal I have ever had in this city! Absolutely sublime. Also, it has a phenomenal wine list and excellent, friendly, warm service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy going to Noble's as it is one o ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We enjoy going to Noble's as it is one of the best restaurants in the area. The menu is eclectic, but a bit short if you are picky. We don't eat shellfish but there are enough choices. The service is excellent; couldn't be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rooster's is playing off the name of "No ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Rooster's is playing off the name of "Noble's" name but it is nothing like it. We knew right away when we walked in on a Saturday night and the place was 3/4 empty. We asked for a quiet table for 2, and it was, until they sat a table for 8 with 4 small children next to us. Our waiter was terrible with a bad attitude and complained the entire time about how bad business was, so therefore he wasn't making any money. The ambiance is totally gone. The dinner was rushed and calculated like a chain restaurant. Just when the light outdoors faded and the restaurant became ambient, the staff raised all the shades to brighten it back up. The menu is limited, although the food was fairly good. The worst thing is that the new management apparently thinks you can have an average place and charge the same high prices as Nobles did. We will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

excellent server, very knowledgeable, pa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

excellent server, very knowledgeable, passionate about food sourcing and prep/// Prices very reasonable, liked the small plate offerings.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We walked out on a Monday night after wa ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We walked out on a Monday night after waiting over an hour for our first course that never came. The restaurant had a private event that clearly overwhelmed the kitchen and our servers, who paid little attention to our table. Very disappointing experience since we have dined here often, but it'll be a while before we try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The steak burger was well seasoned and s ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The steak burger was well seasoned and so juicy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Home cooking upscaled

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A great restaurant for home cooking taken to a new level. The chicken is tender and moist, and like everything we have tried on the menu, seasoned perfectly. Waitstaff is well informed about the wine and menu options, and attentive at the right level. It costs more to eat your meat and veggies here than at the corner diner, but this is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rooster's Noble Grille

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance were outstanding as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was a great guy who had gradu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Our waiter was a great guy who had graduated Wake Forest and we were celebrating graduation. He gave us great service and good advice on selections. Overall excellent lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always - great food & service! My gro ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

As always - great food & service! My group all said they enjoyed the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends night out!

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Met my friend at our favorite local restaurant and they never disappoint. The food is always delicious, but we love the atmosphere, the staff that knows you by name and we love our Sweet Mart Martini! Thank you for another great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some confusion when we were led to our t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Some confusion when we were led to our table, which was very near the bar and a loud group of people who were drinking after work. We had to request olive oil for the bread. The menu configuration was difficult to maneuver. Therefore our entry and first few moments set the tone. Food was good, not exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Robert took good care of us. calamari was meh, duck was divine, coconut cake calls me back, espresso just right; succotash succulent; we had a really good time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best meals in a long time. Lo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

One of the best meals in a long time. Loved everything. The pork belly with ramps was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Confusing Menu

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We have been here many times over the years and have never seen such a confusing menu as the new one. Starters are mixed in with entrees and salads. If you want any thing to come with your "protein" you must order a shareable side dish not necessarily an item that the chef would pair up with a "protein". The waitress was as frustrated at explaining things as we were with ordering although she did a superb job. Would we go back? Probably not even though the food was excellent. Too much work to sort things out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our local favorite. Period.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Our local favorite. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there and last. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first time there and last. Service wasn't bad but the food was horrible. My husband and I both ordered filet mignon and it was honestly around 3 or 4 ounces. They were the smallest steaks we've ever seen. I also told the waiter they could butterfly it since I eat it Med/well and he said they didn't need to and it came out under cooked. Very overpriced for quality. We will stick with Ruth's Chris or GVG where we never have bad meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Wouldn't go back

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Over priced for the quality of food. Watery salad.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not up to par....

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The menu is confusing and everything is ala carte and can be very expensive.

Why would a chef think it is a good idea for quest to put together a meal from his/her menu, that's what we pay them for.

This fine restaurant has tv screens in the bar area and there was a ball game on, which led to a really noisy meal. I never thought of Noble's as a place to go watch sports with a beer, I think of them as fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Noble's

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Great food great service. Taylor was our server and did an excellent job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of the only consistently good places in town for service, food, and rotating menu. They make really great (but expensive) classic cocktails, also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

I visit this restaurant almost weekly. The menu changes on a daily basis, so one can expect something new with each visit.

They are willing to mix each cocktail possible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to Detail

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Overall, a pretty good experience.

The good:

I noted in my reservation that we had two small children and requested a specific table that I knew would work. Not only were we accommodated, but the table was pre-prepped with a coloring sheet and crayons. Seriously, amazing attention to detail in the prep work.

Our food was fantastic. Simply put. Whatever you're doing to your food now, keep it up - it's so much better than it was a few years ago - you've got your groove back.

The nitpicking:

At this price point, attention to detail is what matters.

We dined at 5:30 on a Saturday evening and by 6:30 the place was packed and clearly understaffed. The table bussers just couldn't keep up. Our entrees were served before the bread and charcuterie accoutrements were removed from the table. Service ran slowly enough that we bailed on dessert.

Additionally, they could have used one more wait staff - I sat with an empty glass for nearly 15 minutes.

Yes, these are all nit picky things - but at this price point, I expect impeccable service - and it fell a little short - and you lost out on about $25 additional revenue from us bailing on dessert - that would have more than covered the additional table staff needed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Waitress Susan was very knowledgable and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Waitress Susan was very knowledgable and helpful with menu and wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice experience

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Enjoyable meal as always here. Wait staff is on top of everything. Extensive wine list and diverse menu of fresh items. Drawbacks for this experience were that the tables were too close together creating a crowded feeling and we were next to the band playing, which made it difficult to hold a conversation at the table

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noble's Grill

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and I went out on a date night to Noble's Grill. We had heard good things and had very high expectations. The food was great, the wine selection was good, and our server, Kate, was the most professional server I we have ever had. She was very knowledgeable, made perfect recommendations and was a true fine dining service professional. Our high expectations were exceeded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.