About Rooster's A Noble Grille

380 Knollwood St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
View Larger Map

North Carolina chef and restaurateur, Jim Noble founded Rooster’s: A Noble Grille with the intention of being relevant without being trendy and to impress without being pretentious. That commitment has carried us through two decades and continues to lead us on today.

Knowing that simple food is harder to execute given there is nowhere to hide the flaws, we go to great lengths to source quality ingredients from local farmers and purveyors. We then take all the time necessary to develop their flavors —using both European and modern techniques—always working from scratch.

Our menu features tried and true staples like our spit­-roasted chicken cooked over open fire as well as progressive daily​ specials and elevated bar bites featuring Executive Chef John Bobby’s latest experiments inspired by the seasons and regional ingredients.

At Rooster’s, you’ll always find something new served with an honest commitment and consistently warm care.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Mediterranean, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thruway Shopping Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 777-8477

Website:
http://www.roosterskitchen.com/locations/a-noble-grille-winston-salem/

Catering:
For information on catering and sales please contact Nick Allen at nick@noblesrestaurants.com or (336) 777-8477.

Parking Details:
They offer designated spaces in front of the restaurant as well as covered deck with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
John Bobby

Private Party Contact:
Nick Allen: 3367778477x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Smoked Turkey Sandwich W/ bacon, Granny Smith apples herb mayo  and cheddar on country white  - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Fried flounder - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Arugula Salad - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Rack of Lamb - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Calimari Appetizer - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Gnocchi - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Cheese Plate - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Pork Chops - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Mesclun Salad - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Elderflower Martini - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Scallops w/ Carrot And Pea Gnocchis - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Short Rib Pappardelle - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Wild Boar - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Fried Calamari - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Black Russian Cocktail - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Caesar Salad - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Christmastini - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Domaine Lefage Cote D'est Catalenes 2009 - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Local Buttercrunch Lettuce Salad - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC
Lamb - Rooster's A Noble Grille, Winston-Salem, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's A Noble Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (19)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We planned a pleasant dinner with new ne ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

We planned a pleasant dinner with new neighbors, as we just moved. When our neighbors joined us, no one brought menus for our guests. The service was unbelievably slow and inattentive. With each course, our plates sat empty in front of us long after we finished eating. Even receiving the check and paying the bill took forever.

The food did not live up to the price. The calamari appetizer was minuscule in portion and rubbery in consistency. I was not informed my Caesar salad would contain black olives. My "medium" steak was "rare" at best, and not a very good piece of meat.

For the price, my dinner at Rooster's was a huge disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was excellent, holiday margarita wa ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent, holiday margarita was very good. Could not taste any alcohol in the Old Fashion . Place was so busy, just didn't seem like there was a good time to send back as no one came back after drinks until meal was brought. Overall, meal was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Patrick was an excellent waiter, and I w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Patrick was an excellent waiter, and I will ask for him again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and food. Very att ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Always great service and food. Very attentive to the details of your order and taking care of your needs while you enjoy your meal. Food is always delicious! We have enjoyed several special events...birthdays, anniversaries as well as New Years Celebrations. These have always been special, noteworthy experiences. One of your favorite places in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being going to Noble's for many years & ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Being going to Noble's for many years & this was not one of our better visits. Every thing except service was just fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Good food but very limited options. Ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good food but very limited options. Service is decent but really should be better for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a treat! Nice atmosphere, wine se ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a treat! Nice atmosphere, wine selection and local ingredients.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some of the best food in Winston-Salem, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Some of the best food in Winston-Salem, although much of it still seemed a bit over-priced. However, we were surprised to see the size of the gnocchi small plate - easily enough to be an entree.

The professionalism and efficiency of the hosts and greeting process did not seem to be of the same caliber of the rest of the service. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was the most delicious meal I've ever ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was the most delicious meal I've ever eaten. It was a little too dark.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I used to eat at Noble's sev ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My wife and I used to eat at Noble's several times a year and we were always impressed with the quality of the meals. All I can say is that a lot changed when the restaurant was rebranded as Roosters. There are TVs in the bar area and the food simply is not as good as it once was: the bread was hard, the calimari was heavily breaded and deep fried, salmon was overcooked to the point of being dry and it was presented with a bland rice. The side of 'grilled beets' was clearly not grilled and while the Trigger Fish was very good, the dessert was not. The restaurant claims they buy meats and produce from local farmers but it didn't seem like it. If I tried this restaurant again, I think it would be for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food and wonderful experience for t ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Good food and wonderful experience for their Burger Bash! Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service needs to improve!! Food and atm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service needs to improve!! Food and atmosphere were decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food and service was amazing !!

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food and service was amazing !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and the service was g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was great. Will return again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere were both great. It' ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and atmosphere were both great. It's a little overpriced.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was overrated. My steak was $48 and i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was overrated. My steak was $48 and it came out undercooked and under flavored. It was decent but not worth the price. My $8 side was better than the steak. I probably will not go back because I can get a better steak at a lot of restaurants around town. However the service was great!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Everyone in our party enjoyed their food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Everyone in our party enjoyed their food and the service was excellent. The wait staff was very accommodating and friendly. The menu had something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best service in town! Our favorite weekl ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Best service in town! Our favorite weekly " date night". Food.. Staff.. Are friendly, knowledgable .. And always professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was excellent, dessert was not up t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Meal was excellent, dessert was not up to par. Bread pudding once was wonderful, now, not so much.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bring back nobles! Was excited to go si ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Bring back nobles! Was excited to go since I haven't been there since it became rooster. Overall I was very disappointed. I ordered salmon and my husband had the duck. Salmon was tasteless and had bones. Duck was chewy and also tasteless. I also tried the pizza thinking they had a pizza oven. It was awful. Looked and tasted like a frozen pizza If they are going to charge those prices the food should be edible. Won't be returning any time soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server was wonderful, however was no ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our server was wonderful, however was not impressed with the food. I had the salmon, it was good, but I prefer fresh, not farm raised fish. Also it was served on a small serving of rissotto and no vegetables, most restaurants serve a vegetable when you order a main course. All of the sides are ala carte and 10.00 for asparagus, where are they getting it from?? The menu is confusing and it feels like the restaurant does not have a focus on who the are. The atmosphere is very nice, but I felt it was expensive for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Roosters, Noble Grill was such a disappo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Roosters, Noble Grill was such a disappointment. We went for a fine dining experience with friends for our anniversary. The first thing we saw was a TV at the bar. The dining room décor lends itself to fine dining. Beautiful. So I think the owner/owners need to decide "are we a sports bar or a nice restaurant?" Three of the entrees were fresh tuna. It was 1/2 the thickness of your usual fine dining restaurant portion. All four entrees were barely room temperature.

It was a Tuesday evening so I cannot say they were too busy. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very small plates and expensive.

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very small plates and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The service at our table did not begin u ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The service at our table did not begin until we had sat there for 18 minutes! Then, we were offered water without apology for delay. Food was delicious and Susan provided delightful assistance to our server. Next time, we'll ask for Susan!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I would recommend this restaurant. Open ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant. Open space so could be very loud if it were crowded. Good for business or family but not a very intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We live in Bethlehem, NC. We love to go ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We live in Bethlehem, NC. We love to go to Nobles when we are in the Winston-Salem area. This particular day we were coming home from a ball game in Chapel Hill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Organic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were fantastic with perfect char ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Steaks were fantastic with perfect char and sides of fries, butter beans & pan-fried corn great! Only miss was the coffee (weak/watery) & creme brûlée (too much egg/tasted close to flan & bland). Otherwise good woulda been 5-stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always good at Nobles / Roosters ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food is always good at Nobles / Roosters. Service lagged on this visit - server delivered the wrong wine, and was absent for very long periods of time during the meal and after. Restaurant was busy, but not exceptionally so. New menu is a little confusing in that appetizers / small plates are not clearly defined.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I want so badly to like this place. I h ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I want so badly to like this place. I have now been here three times and each time there were either problems with food, real service issues, or in the latest case, just very mediocre food. They rebranded themselves and really had hoped they brought in either a new chef or something different, but alas, it made no difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Roosters...aka Nobles Grille has always ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Roosters...aka Nobles Grille has always been the go-to place for great food and service. Ideal and impressive for business lunch or date night!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rooster's always has wonderful food, and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Rooster's always has wonderful food, and it is always an enjoyable experience. The only down side this time was that a loud party was seated right next to us in an almost empty dining room. So it was a loud, but enjoyable meal. The service is always impeccable, and this meal was no exception. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Interesting Ala Carte menu.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Interesting Ala Carte menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

overall food good not as good as rooste ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 1, 2016

overall food good not as good as roosters in charlotte the brownie dessert was a shock could have had a larger brownie from costco TERRIBLE ruined the quality of dinner

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good and so was the service ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was good and so was the service but the menu is just unusual and a bit hard to understand. I like my menu a little more straightforward. Everything appeared to be ala carte. It's hard to understand what are appetizers, salads, soups, entrees, etc. In the end, the waiter said they could pretty much do anything on the menu so I had a piece of salmon on a rather plain salad. Would love to have had some sugared pecans and strawberries on it too. We have eaten there when it was just plain Nobles and felt it was a much more enjoyable experience from a menu standpoint. My husband had wanted to try it since it became Roosters but I don't think it will be on the top of our restaurant list unless they change the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the dishes was very heavy with sa ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of the dishes was very heavy with salt to the point it burned the tongue. Server left us without beverages for over 20 minutes during the meal. Menu organization was confusing to our guests as relates to trying to plan courses. Too few entree choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The very best restaurant in NC.. The Foo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The very best restaurant in NC.. The Food, service, ambience are all exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a nice dinner with business colle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a nice dinner with business colleagues. The bar has a nice selection. Good wine list. The food is very good. My only two complaints would be that the menu is confusing and the meat offerings weren't very appealing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have lived in Winston Salem for nine y ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have lived in Winston Salem for nine years. We have some great restaurants, and this was the first time I had been to Roosters. It was by far the best meal I have ever had in this city! Absolutely sublime. Also, it has a phenomenal wine list and excellent, friendly, warm service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy going to Noble's as it is one o ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We enjoy going to Noble's as it is one of the best restaurants in the area. The menu is eclectic, but a bit short if you are picky. We don't eat shellfish but there are enough choices. The service is excellent; couldn't be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rooster's is playing off the name of "No ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Rooster's is playing off the name of "Noble's" name but it is nothing like it. We knew right away when we walked in on a Saturday night and the place was 3/4 empty. We asked for a quiet table for 2, and it was, until they sat a table for 8 with 4 small children next to us. Our waiter was terrible with a bad attitude and complained the entire time about how bad business was, so therefore he wasn't making any money. The ambiance is totally gone. The dinner was rushed and calculated like a chain restaurant. Just when the light outdoors faded and the restaurant became ambient, the staff raised all the shades to brighten it back up. The menu is limited, although the food was fairly good. The worst thing is that the new management apparently thinks you can have an average place and charge the same high prices as Nobles did. We will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.