About Rooster's A Noble Grille

380 Knollwood St.
Winston-Salem, NC 27103
View Larger Map

The elegant open design of Rooster's A Noble Grille was inspired by the restaurants of Napa Valley, where Chef Noble was first inspired to follow his dream and become a gourmet. A delicious French-Mediterranean menu features clean, light cuisine carefully cooked over a wood-fired oven, grill and rotisserie to bring out its natural flavors. That way, you can savor the taste of the food, no overly heavy sauces and crusts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Mediterranean, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Thruway Shopping Center

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 777-8477

Website:
http://www.roosterskitchen.com/locations/a-noble-grille-winston-salem/

Catering:
For information on catering and sales please contact Nick Allen at nick@noblesrestaurants.com or (336) 777-8477.

Parking Details:
They offer designated spaces in front of the restaurant as well as covered deck with handicap access.

Executive Chef:
John Bobby

Private Party Contact:
Nick Allen: 3367778477x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rooster's A Noble Grille
Smoked Turkey Sandwich W/ bacon, Granny Smith apples herb mayo  and cheddar on country white
Bread Pudding
Fried Chicken Sandwich
Caramel Cake
Fried flounder
Arugula Salad
Rack of Lamb
Calimari Appetizer
Gnocchi
Cheese Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Pork Chops
Mesclun Salad
Elderflower Martini
Scallops w/ Carrot And Pea Gnocchis
Short Rib Pappardelle
Wild Boar
Fried Calamari
Black Russian Cocktail
Caesar Salad
Christmastini
Domaine Lefage Cote D'est Catalenes 2009
Local Buttercrunch Lettuce Salad
Lamb

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Rooster's A Noble Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the dishes was very heavy with sa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 2 days ago

One of the dishes was very heavy with salt to the point it burned the tongue. Server left us without beverages for over 20 minutes during the meal. Menu organization was confusing to our guests as relates to trying to plan courses. Too few entree choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The very best restaurant in NC.. The Foo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The very best restaurant in NC.. The Food, service, ambience are all exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a nice dinner with business colle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a nice dinner with business colleagues. The bar has a nice selection. Good wine list. The food is very good. My only two complaints would be that the menu is confusing and the meat offerings weren't very appealing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have lived in Winston Salem for nine y ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have lived in Winston Salem for nine years. We have some great restaurants, and this was the first time I had been to Roosters. It was by far the best meal I have ever had in this city! Absolutely sublime. Also, it has a phenomenal wine list and excellent, friendly, warm service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy going to Noble's as it is one o ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We enjoy going to Noble's as it is one of the best restaurants in the area. The menu is eclectic, but a bit short if you are picky. We don't eat shellfish but there are enough choices. The service is excellent; couldn't be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rooster's is playing off the name of "No ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Rooster's is playing off the name of "Noble's" name but it is nothing like it. We knew right away when we walked in on a Saturday night and the place was 3/4 empty. We asked for a quiet table for 2, and it was, until they sat a table for 8 with 4 small children next to us. Our waiter was terrible with a bad attitude and complained the entire time about how bad business was, so therefore he wasn't making any money. The ambiance is totally gone. The dinner was rushed and calculated like a chain restaurant. Just when the light outdoors faded and the restaurant became ambient, the staff raised all the shades to brighten it back up. The menu is limited, although the food was fairly good. The worst thing is that the new management apparently thinks you can have an average place and charge the same high prices as Nobles did. We will not be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

excellent server, very knowledgeable, pa ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

excellent server, very knowledgeable, passionate about food sourcing and prep/// Prices very reasonable, liked the small plate offerings.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We walked out on a Monday night after wa ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We walked out on a Monday night after waiting over an hour for our first course that never came. The restaurant had a private event that clearly overwhelmed the kitchen and our servers, who paid little attention to our table. Very disappointing experience since we have dined here often, but it'll be a while before we try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The steak burger was well seasoned and s ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The steak burger was well seasoned and so juicy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Home cooking upscaled

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A great restaurant for home cooking taken to a new level. The chicken is tender and moist, and like everything we have tried on the menu, seasoned perfectly. Waitstaff is well informed about the wine and menu options, and attentive at the right level. It costs more to eat your meat and veggies here than at the corner diner, but this is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rooster's Noble Grille

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance were outstanding as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was a great guy who had gradu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Our waiter was a great guy who had graduated Wake Forest and we were celebrating graduation. He gave us great service and good advice on selections. Overall excellent lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always - great food & service! My gro ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

As always - great food & service! My group all said they enjoyed the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends night out!

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Met my friend at our favorite local restaurant and they never disappoint. The food is always delicious, but we love the atmosphere, the staff that knows you by name and we love our Sweet Mart Martini! Thank you for another great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some confusion when we were led to our t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Some confusion when we were led to our table, which was very near the bar and a loud group of people who were drinking after work. We had to request olive oil for the bread. The menu configuration was difficult to maneuver. Therefore our entry and first few moments set the tone. Food was good, not exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Robert took good care of us. calamari was meh, duck was divine, coconut cake calls me back, espresso just right; succotash succulent; we had a really good time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best meals in a long time. Lo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

One of the best meals in a long time. Loved everything. The pork belly with ramps was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Confusing Menu

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We have been here many times over the years and have never seen such a confusing menu as the new one. Starters are mixed in with entrees and salads. If you want any thing to come with your "protein" you must order a shareable side dish not necessarily an item that the chef would pair up with a "protein". The waitress was as frustrated at explaining things as we were with ordering although she did a superb job. Would we go back? Probably not even though the food was excellent. Too much work to sort things out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our local favorite. Period.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Our local favorite. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time there and last. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first time there and last. Service wasn't bad but the food was horrible. My husband and I both ordered filet mignon and it was honestly around 3 or 4 ounces. They were the smallest steaks we've ever seen. I also told the waiter they could butterfly it since I eat it Med/well and he said they didn't need to and it came out under cooked. Very overpriced for quality. We will stick with Ruth's Chris or GVG where we never have bad meals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Wouldn't go back

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Over priced for the quality of food. Watery salad.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not up to par....

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The menu is confusing and everything is ala carte and can be very expensive.

Why would a chef think it is a good idea for quest to put together a meal from his/her menu, that's what we pay them for.

This fine restaurant has tv screens in the bar area and there was a ball game on, which led to a really noisy meal. I never thought of Noble's as a place to go watch sports with a beer, I think of them as fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Noble's

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Great food great service. Taylor was our server and did an excellent job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This is one of the only consistently good places in town for service, food, and rotating menu. They make really great (but expensive) classic cocktails, also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

I visit this restaurant almost weekly. The menu changes on a daily basis, so one can expect something new with each visit.

They are willing to mix each cocktail possible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to Detail

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Overall, a pretty good experience.

The good:

I noted in my reservation that we had two small children and requested a specific table that I knew would work. Not only were we accommodated, but the table was pre-prepped with a coloring sheet and crayons. Seriously, amazing attention to detail in the prep work.

Our food was fantastic. Simply put. Whatever you're doing to your food now, keep it up - it's so much better than it was a few years ago - you've got your groove back.

The nitpicking:

At this price point, attention to detail is what matters.

We dined at 5:30 on a Saturday evening and by 6:30 the place was packed and clearly understaffed. The table bussers just couldn't keep up. Our entrees were served before the bread and charcuterie accoutrements were removed from the table. Service ran slowly enough that we bailed on dessert.

Additionally, they could have used one more wait staff - I sat with an empty glass for nearly 15 minutes.

Yes, these are all nit picky things - but at this price point, I expect impeccable service - and it fell a little short - and you lost out on about $25 additional revenue from us bailing on dessert - that would have more than covered the additional table staff needed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Waitress Susan was very knowledgable and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Waitress Susan was very knowledgable and helpful with menu and wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice experience

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Enjoyable meal as always here. Wait staff is on top of everything. Extensive wine list and diverse menu of fresh items. Drawbacks for this experience were that the tables were too close together creating a crowded feeling and we were next to the band playing, which made it difficult to hold a conversation at the table

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Noble's Grill

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and I went out on a date night to Noble's Grill. We had heard good things and had very high expectations. The food was great, the wine selection was good, and our server, Kate, was the most professional server I we have ever had. She was very knowledgeable, made perfect recommendations and was a true fine dining service professional. Our high expectations were exceeded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nobles

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Eclectic menu, with some local favorites. This is where the rich white people eat. Wine list is pretty extensive. Classic appearance- where many ppl done in business attire. Great for special occasions...

Our waitress was knowledgeable- and helpful with the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Disappointed

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

I am always confident that the food will be outstanding when I dine at Nobles . It's a great place to bring out-of-town guests, have a romantic dinner with my husband or just hang out at the bar. The atmosphere is always welcoming and the staff constantly strives to make certain everything is perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad I finally tried it!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I finally visited Noble's when my in-laws came to town because they had heard great reviews. I am glad they suggested it, because the food was great and it was a cool place inside, different than expected. It was also nice to hear how the owner takes serving REAL food so seriously. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great unusual but tasty food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Always enjoy Noble's. They have the longest list of vegetables in town. Had the lamb burger and asparagus, both prepared to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricey for what it is at lunch

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

We have been fan of Noble's since Jimmy had the first one in High Point. So will continue to go, but have to say the lunch we had was not particularly special, and was very pricey for what it was. A friend had the salmon salad, and the portion size of the salmon was almost comical - so tiny on this large bed of arugula. And priced at about $16. Much better salmon salads to be had in Winston Salem. Another friend and I shared the Grill Cheese, because we aren't large eaters. But again, half was so small, that I could have eaten the whole thing. Also wish it were served on an interesting bread, instead of just white bread. Fortunately we each had ordered a cup of soup. The Tomato Bisque is always very good. It's a pretty restaurant, but parking is horrible. The spaces are so narrow I have no idea how larger adults get in and out of cars. So you may need to park away and walk over.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful meal; superior service

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. First, my husband and I shared a small plate of grilled octopus. We had last eaten octopus in Italy and were excited to find it on the list of specials that night. It was marvelous! Tender and delicious! My entree of grilled grouper was also outstanding. Our server, Patrick, was attentive, and knowledgeable. Altogether a great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noble's Grille

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

As always, we enjoyed our dinner at Noble's Grille on January 6th. Food was outstanding. We will definitely return soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was my birthday and we were seated ne ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

It was my birthday and we were seated next to the kitchen to start with. I asked to be moved which they did very graciously.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dining experience! I just happene ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Great dining experience! I just happened upon Nobles via Open Table. I liked the reviews and the menu so I took a shot at it. The reviews were spot on. I will definitely eat there again and recommend it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nobles always delivers !

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Nobles always delivers... John Fulp and his staff do a tremendous job of making you feel right at home. Our waiter on our most recent visit was Robert and of course he did not disappoint upholding the Nobles standard of excellence !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noble's Reveiw

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Great food and great service. Love to dine at Noble's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.