About Roofers Union

2446 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Roofers Union celebrates laid back dining in the heart of Adams Morgan with a contemporary American menu as envisioned by James Beard nominated Chef Marjorie Meek-Bradley. With floor to ceiling windows in the main dining room and a breathtaking rooftop bar, Roofers Union offers epic views of DC’s most vibrant neighborhood. Beverage Director and General Manager Dave Delaplaine offers a rotating selection of 22 beers ranging from simply refreshing to intriguingly weird. More than beers, Roofers jams with live music, craft cocktails, frozen adult slushies, and punch bowls. Perfect for groups of all sizes including large parties and first dates.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday/Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 232-7663

Website:
http://www.roofersuniondc.com/

Public Transit:
Metro: Redline - Woodley Park/Adams Morgan/Zoo stop.

Executive Chef:
Marjorie Meek-Bradley

Private Party Facilities:
Three levels provide a spacious, comfortable place to gather with friends or neighbors for any occasion. The first level of Roofers Union has a separate space for private events with its very own entrance and bar, which can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Delaplaine: 8444080914

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Roofers Union Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
People Watching (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Fun (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Scenic View (7)
Great Beer (7)
Casual (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wish my flat bread was a bit hotter but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Wish my flat bread was a bit hotter but it was tasty nonetheless . Service was attentive without being annoying so well done at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome service and food! My neighborhoo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome service and food! My neighborhood go to place! The staff makes you feel welcome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like chicken livers, you must hav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

If you like chicken livers, you must have this chicken liver mousse before you die. Make it a bucket list item. You will not regret it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not impressed. We ordered a starter and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Not impressed. We ordered a starter and entrees both came at the same time. My husband ordered the ribs. They were very fatty, the baked beans and cole law were bland. I had the hanger steak not much flavor and fries which were really soaked in oil. The mac and cheese was really good. The waitress started off being attentive then disappeared for periods of time when drinks or the bill was needed. I'd go back for drinks which were really delicious. The night went was trivia night. Very loud with people talking,music blaring , and trivia host talking.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Our waitress was very attentive even aft ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive even after the place got pretty busy. That apple crisp for desert was a little weird and slow to come. The house Chardonnay was excellent. All round a very nice time. Didn't like paying $15 to park for two hours though.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Bottomless mimosas with a beautiful wall ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Bottomless mimosas with a beautiful wall of windows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

After reading about the Michelin recomme ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

After reading about the Michelin recommendation of Roofer's Union, it seemed like a good opportunity to try out. The menu was not as impressive as I expected, but everything we ate was phenomenal-- pretty inspired takes on even every day things like burgers and brussel sprouts. The stand-out dish was the pan-seared red snapper on jasmine rice with coconut milk-- it was delicious! Strange to see it nestled among the burgers on the menu, but definitely well-thought out and impeccably executed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The side salad is often just an aftertho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The side salad is often just an afterthought that takes a back seat to the entree. However, the portion was more than expected and quite tasty. A nice surprise.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The waiter was awful. It took a long tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The waiter was awful. It took a long time to even get our order in. Our meals were brought out extremely staggered. We ordered donuts, when we were almost finished and had not received them we asked the waiter to take them off the bill. He said he would bring them out at no charge. We really didn't want them at that point but we weren't paying for them and we didn't eat them. They were on our bill. I would never go back. Overpriced, food is not that great, and the menu is not very diverse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

I don't know by what egregious oversight ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I don't know by what egregious oversight no one is talking about the INSANE biscuits with gravy. I DON'T EVEN LIKE BISCUITS AND GRAVY. So so good. Eggs benedict hit the spot: perfect amount of hollandaise, crispy canadian bacon and perfect seasoning.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was literally the most bizar ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was literally the most bizarre thing in the world. The waiter asked 3 times what we wanted and came back twice to confirm our orders. Our friend who came late put in an order, and she got her food an hour later. When he described a ginger beer-type drink and we asked to order it later, he looked at us if we were crazy. He said he never talked about a ginger beer-type drink and walked away.

Like really, WTF?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I have enjoyed this spot more on previou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have enjoyed this spot more on previous visits. The options for vegetarians and pescatarians were less interesting on this visit than previous visits, though another at our table had the snapper and it was excellent. One lesson from tonight: peaches don't belong on pizza/flatbread. The other lesson: waitstaff should not go on ad naseum about their political beliefs. I really did not need to hear a 10-minute screed about the virtues of Trump. I literally had to ask the waiter to stop talking and leave the table. Otherwise, he was a very nice guy and a great, attentive waiter. Just needs a bit more training about what is appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Dining upstairs has awesome view out ont ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dining upstairs has awesome view out onto street from huge windows. Craft cocktails were great, the Peruvian chicken was fantastic as was the dessert with the pistachio sponge cake and greek yogurt topping.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Out of town visiting dc with a child. Un ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Out of town visiting dc with a child. Unexpected ambience relaxed atmosphere! Service outstanding! Thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is on a trendy nice neigh ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The restaurant is on a trendy nice neighborhood. Food is good and so is ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Asides from a very noisy ambience roof t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Asides from a very noisy ambience roof top and bar - the food was spectacular.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

We went for Restaurant Week. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. The food was really tasty. We had the red snapper, which was prepared with coconut milk and a spicy pesto. The server was very attentive without being annoying. The space upstairs is roomy enough for kids to move around a bit without disturbing other guests. The dining room has a nice view of Adams Morgan and its street life. I want to go back to try other items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Second visit - the success of the first ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second visit - the success of the first brought us back for more. Good for us - this time we all tried the Peruvian chicken and were emphatically impressed (and delighted) by the the perfectly grilled chicken and its brilliant and piquant cilantro-infused salsa verde. Conversation momentarily ceased and each of us simply savored the fantastic dish. Our waiter was smart, attentive and efficient but it was the deft culinary hand in the kitchen that made this visit memorable. While the menu is hardly French, the experience was not unlike that of visiting an unknown bistro in Paris and being rewarded with am exceptional, memory worthy meal. The food here seems to be prepared not only with care but with intelligence and knowledge. A constellation of stars!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great experience despite the tra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a great experience despite the transformer blowing and plunging us in darkness. The food and service was excellent. The manager apologized, the servers apologized, but we all got our food and drinks. The food was fantastic! The ribs were falling off the bone, the stuffed sausages were hearty in flavor, and the Peruvian chicken was juicy and tender. I would love to come back here for a normal dining experience. Glad they did well under stress. Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for a Saturday brunch and were v ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for a Saturday brunch and were very impressed with the food and service. We rate the Calamari as among the very best we've ever had. We sat in the main dining room on the second floor of Roofers' Union, but on a day not as hot as when we went the rooftop terrace looks loike a lot of fun. Nice selection of brews and interesting ingredients for the food with a very nice presentation.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OK, the bad part first (really not so ba ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

OK, the bad part first (really not so bad). The restaurant was not very crowded, but once we finished dinner, the waitress gave us the dessert menu. She was then relentless about asking us every few minutes if we were ready to order. It was totally annoying. Does waitstaff get paid based on how fast them empty a table? Did any of us smell? I know some roofer's and they can be tough, but not as tough as this waitress on dessert duty.

That said, it's a perfectly fine place. The calamari was very nice and my ribs were good. Nice looking place, very airy and open.

Liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Pleasant enough but priced high for cock ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pleasant enough but priced high for cocktails and entrees. My entree of grilled veggie kebab with Israeli couscous was a tiny portion of veggies cut into small pieces. Tres petite, and I am not a big eater. Left un-satisfied. Burgers and sandwiches were a better option. And less expensive. Great beer selection.

Roof terrace was basic. Could use some TLC and charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Inattentive staff, overall disappointing ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Inattentive staff, overall disappointing. Not horrible, but wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

We had the Fried Chicken Thigh Sandwich, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had the Fried Chicken Thigh Sandwich, Hamburger, and Lamb Burger (with GF bread). Two of us got the mixed greens option, and one of us got the fries. The salad was pretty boring-- literally just mixed greens with a couple beet slices and very light dressing. The sandwiches were tasty, but my friend was very underwhelmed by the GF bread. (It was just typical sliced bread instead of a bun.) Nice that they had the option, though.

There was a private party on the rooftop, and they had a "bouncer" telling people that only the dining room was open. She was kind of rude when we arrived and was eager to tell us we couldn't go up there even though we didn't even want to... I guess a lot of people go here just for the rooftop, though, so perhaps she was used to turning people away?

Beautiful ambiance and view in the dining room, anyway. Nice exposed ductwork.

They reported to OpenTable that I didn't show up for my reservation even though I was there on time and told them I had made a reservation. The error was fixed, though.

I'd recommend that the restaurant add a more exciting salad option and more sandwich-appropriate GF bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went here for a birthday and they wer ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went here for a birthday and they were amazing. One of the people had a food allereges and the staff created a meal just with here and walked her the dishes. The food was to die for. The drinks were amazing. Make sure to sit near the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soooooo good!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Soooooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience at Roofers Union! I lov ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience at Roofers Union! I love coming here because I am a fan of Marjorie's from Top Chef. Great menu variety, awesome draft list and be sure to try her Top Chef famous dessert- Breaking The Curse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went last weekend for a date. We starte ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went last weekend for a date. We started with the burrata which was really good; I'm not a big cucumber fan, but they made it work really well. My date had the sunflower pesto pizza dish which was really good. I had the swordfish dish, served with arugula and chickpeas. It was fantastic.

Roofers Union is more of a bar so prepare for some noise. My water glass ran a little low for the second half of the meal, but overall the service was good too.

I would recommend this for foodies, a group dinner, or a more casual dinner date. Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Thank you Lindsey and staff was exceptio ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Thank you Lindsey and staff was exceptional. Furthermore the food was a great melody of flavors that pair well with a variety of beverages. Thank you for an all around perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere on the roof would have be ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The atmosphere on the roof would have been great if it hadn't been so hot. Our service was not very good and the veggie burger was very sub-par. The cocktail menu was also limited, but the atmosphere would be fun for a beer and french fries with friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Great beer menu; food was delicious. Ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great beer menu; food was delicious. Very young (20-somethings) crowd, which was fine. Bouncers were respectful and professionals. Roof deck looked good, but very crowded.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is always amazing and they alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is always amazing and they always have a speedy service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought this was going to be much fanc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I thought this was going to be much fancier then it was. It was a bar with food. Out of a mega weekend of dining, this was our least favorite place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was terrible. Waitress visited o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was terrible. Waitress visited out table twice and I had to go find her to get our check. She was not friendly at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We’ve just returned to Washington after ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We’ve just returned to Washington after an absence of nearly thirty years. One outstanding improvement is the presence of the Roofers Union. Our first evening in DC was also a family-and-friends birthday celebration and we arrived with no expectations. And the upshot? The evening simply got better and better. Our table offered a glorious view of 18th Street. Our server was patient with so large a group, friendly and helpful throughout the evening, as were other staff members who reinforced her service.

I longed for the steak frites, but in the sprit of truly casual fare went for the hamburger and fries. Truth be told: it was the best hamburger I’ve ever had. Period. Honestly, it was deliciously messy (my fault) and perfectly cooked. I could not have been more enraptured. The fries were outstanding and required vigilance as neighboring guests stole fries with abandon. The beer selection was clearly well-curated, broad and excellent. I had a rye beer that was inspired. And for dessert the pistachio sponge cake with saffron poached oranges was as splendid on a warm evening as it must be in the depths of winter. Other guests chose lighter fare as well, and the mussels seemed to entrance those who ordered them. The nature of the evening precluded nonstop food commentary (it was a boisterous family celebration) but the empty plates and eager sharing of dishes suggested everyone was pleased. I did try the slated caramel gelato, and in an era where everyone is offering salted caramel concoctions, the one at the Roofers Union would qualify as the hands down winner. The main 2nd floor dining space is extremely pleasant, the service professional, warm and attentive, and the food is truly rewarding. The intelligent conception and skilled execution of the menu’s offerings, I’d say (now that we're living in the neighborhood again) that Roofers Union would be our first choice for an evening with all the comforts of home and all the culinary joys of great cooking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a really nice ambience. The servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a really nice ambience. The service was great & the food was really good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is a regular stop for me when I am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2016

This is a regular stop for me when I am in town. The beer list can not be beat and the general atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a special beer event during brunch h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a special beer event during brunch hours which made it busier. Still good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I had dinner on the roof, so expected it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had dinner on the roof, so expected it to be more high energy as it is also a roof bar, but it was a bit less well kept than I expected - particularly given that we were there on the earlier side of the evening. Noise was high - but again, I expected that. I had a steak that was tougher than expected. My friend had mussels that she really liked. The fries were excellent and there is a nice beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

hip, great view, slightly pricey

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful and hip dining area with a great view out of the window onto the vibrant adams morgan bar/restaurant street. The food was casual and delicious although slightly pricey. The beer selection was fun and adventurous and focused mostly on sour beers. Loved our waitress- she had great suggestions for both beer and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.