About Roofers Union

2446 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Roofers Union celebrates laid back dining in the heart of Adams Morgan with a contemporary American menu as envisioned by James Beard nominated Chef Marjorie Meek-Bradley. With floor to ceiling windows in the main dining room and a breathtaking rooftop bar, Roofers Union offers epic views of DC’s most vibrant neighborhood. Beverage Director and General Manager Dave Delaplaine offers a rotating selection of 22 beers ranging from simply refreshing to intriguingly weird. More than beers, Roofers jams with live music, craft cocktails, frozen adult slushies, and punch bowls. Perfect for groups of all sizes including large parties and first dates.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday/Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 232-7663

Website:
http://www.roofersuniondc.com/

Public Transit:
Metro: Redline - Woodley Park/Adams Morgan/Zoo stop.

Executive Chef:
Marjorie Meek-Bradley

Private Party Facilities:
Three levels provide a spacious, comfortable place to gather with friends or neighbors for any occasion. The first level of Roofers Union has a separate space for private events with its very own entrance and bar, which can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Delaplaine: 8444080914

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Roofers Union Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Scenic View (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for Restaurant Week. The food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week. The food was really tasty. We had the red snapper, which was prepared with coconut milk and a spicy pesto. The server was very attentive without being annoying. The space upstairs is roomy enough for kids to move around a bit without disturbing other guests. The dining room has a nice view of Adams Morgan and its street life. I want to go back to try other items on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Second visit - the success of the first ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second visit - the success of the first brought us back for more. Good for us - this time we all tried the Peruvian chicken and were emphatically impressed (and delighted) by the the perfectly grilled chicken and its brilliant and piquant cilantro-infused salsa verde. Conversation momentarily ceased and each of us simply savored the fantastic dish. Our waiter was smart, attentive and efficient but it was the deft culinary hand in the kitchen that made this visit memorable. While the menu is hardly French, the experience was not unlike that of visiting an unknown bistro in Paris and being rewarded with am exceptional, memory worthy meal. The food here seems to be prepared not only with care but with intelligence and knowledge. A constellation of stars!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great experience despite the tra ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a great experience despite the transformer blowing and plunging us in darkness. The food and service was excellent. The manager apologized, the servers apologized, but we all got our food and drinks. The food was fantastic! The ribs were falling off the bone, the stuffed sausages were hearty in flavor, and the Peruvian chicken was juicy and tender. I would love to come back here for a normal dining experience. Glad they did well under stress. Will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for a Saturday brunch and were v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for a Saturday brunch and were very impressed with the food and service. We rate the Calamari as among the very best we've ever had. We sat in the main dining room on the second floor of Roofers' Union, but on a day not as hot as when we went the rooftop terrace looks loike a lot of fun. Nice selection of brews and interesting ingredients for the food with a very nice presentation.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OK, the bad part first (really not so ba ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

OK, the bad part first (really not so bad). The restaurant was not very crowded, but once we finished dinner, the waitress gave us the dessert menu. She was then relentless about asking us every few minutes if we were ready to order. It was totally annoying. Does waitstaff get paid based on how fast them empty a table? Did any of us smell? I know some roofer's and they can be tough, but not as tough as this waitress on dessert duty.

That said, it's a perfectly fine place. The calamari was very nice and my ribs were good. Nice looking place, very airy and open.

Liked it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Pleasant enough but priced high for cock ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pleasant enough but priced high for cocktails and entrees. My entree of grilled veggie kebab with Israeli couscous was a tiny portion of veggies cut into small pieces. Tres petite, and I am not a big eater. Left un-satisfied. Burgers and sandwiches were a better option. And less expensive. Great beer selection.

Roof terrace was basic. Could use some TLC and charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Inattentive staff, overall disappointing ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Inattentive staff, overall disappointing. Not horrible, but wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

We had the Fried Chicken Thigh Sandwich, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had the Fried Chicken Thigh Sandwich, Hamburger, and Lamb Burger (with GF bread). Two of us got the mixed greens option, and one of us got the fries. The salad was pretty boring-- literally just mixed greens with a couple beet slices and very light dressing. The sandwiches were tasty, but my friend was very underwhelmed by the GF bread. (It was just typical sliced bread instead of a bun.) Nice that they had the option, though.

There was a private party on the rooftop, and they had a "bouncer" telling people that only the dining room was open. She was kind of rude when we arrived and was eager to tell us we couldn't go up there even though we didn't even want to... I guess a lot of people go here just for the rooftop, though, so perhaps she was used to turning people away?

Beautiful ambiance and view in the dining room, anyway. Nice exposed ductwork.

They reported to OpenTable that I didn't show up for my reservation even though I was there on time and told them I had made a reservation. The error was fixed, though.

I'd recommend that the restaurant add a more exciting salad option and more sandwich-appropriate GF bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went here for a birthday and they wer ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went here for a birthday and they were amazing. One of the people had a food allereges and the staff created a meal just with here and walked her the dishes. The food was to die for. The drinks were amazing. Make sure to sit near the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soooooo good!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Soooooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience at Roofers Union! I lov ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience at Roofers Union! I love coming here because I am a fan of Marjorie's from Top Chef. Great menu variety, awesome draft list and be sure to try her Top Chef famous dessert- Breaking The Curse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went last weekend for a date. We starte ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went last weekend for a date. We started with the burrata which was really good; I'm not a big cucumber fan, but they made it work really well. My date had the sunflower pesto pizza dish which was really good. I had the swordfish dish, served with arugula and chickpeas. It was fantastic.

Roofers Union is more of a bar so prepare for some noise. My water glass ran a little low for the second half of the meal, but overall the service was good too.

I would recommend this for foodies, a group dinner, or a more casual dinner date. Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Thank you Lindsey and staff was exceptio ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Thank you Lindsey and staff was exceptional. Furthermore the food was a great melody of flavors that pair well with a variety of beverages. Thank you for an all around perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere on the roof would have be ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The atmosphere on the roof would have been great if it hadn't been so hot. Our service was not very good and the veggie burger was very sub-par. The cocktail menu was also limited, but the atmosphere would be fun for a beer and french fries with friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Great beer menu; food was delicious. Ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great beer menu; food was delicious. Very young (20-somethings) crowd, which was fine. Bouncers were respectful and professionals. Roof deck looked good, but very crowded.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food is always amazing and they alwa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is always amazing and they always have a speedy service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought this was going to be much fanc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I thought this was going to be much fancier then it was. It was a bar with food. Out of a mega weekend of dining, this was our least favorite place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was terrible. Waitress visited o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was terrible. Waitress visited out table twice and I had to go find her to get our check. She was not friendly at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We’ve just returned to Washington after ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We’ve just returned to Washington after an absence of nearly thirty years. One outstanding improvement is the presence of the Roofers Union. Our first evening in DC was also a family-and-friends birthday celebration and we arrived with no expectations. And the upshot? The evening simply got better and better. Our table offered a glorious view of 18th Street. Our server was patient with so large a group, friendly and helpful throughout the evening, as were other staff members who reinforced her service.

I longed for the steak frites, but in the sprit of truly casual fare went for the hamburger and fries. Truth be told: it was the best hamburger I’ve ever had. Period. Honestly, it was deliciously messy (my fault) and perfectly cooked. I could not have been more enraptured. The fries were outstanding and required vigilance as neighboring guests stole fries with abandon. The beer selection was clearly well-curated, broad and excellent. I had a rye beer that was inspired. And for dessert the pistachio sponge cake with saffron poached oranges was as splendid on a warm evening as it must be in the depths of winter. Other guests chose lighter fare as well, and the mussels seemed to entrance those who ordered them. The nature of the evening precluded nonstop food commentary (it was a boisterous family celebration) but the empty plates and eager sharing of dishes suggested everyone was pleased. I did try the slated caramel gelato, and in an era where everyone is offering salted caramel concoctions, the one at the Roofers Union would qualify as the hands down winner. The main 2nd floor dining space is extremely pleasant, the service professional, warm and attentive, and the food is truly rewarding. The intelligent conception and skilled execution of the menu’s offerings, I’d say (now that we're living in the neighborhood again) that Roofers Union would be our first choice for an evening with all the comforts of home and all the culinary joys of great cooking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a really nice ambience. The servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a really nice ambience. The service was great & the food was really good also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is a regular stop for me when I am ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This is a regular stop for me when I am in town. The beer list can not be beat and the general atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a special beer event during brunch h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a special beer event during brunch hours which made it busier. Still good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I had dinner on the roof, so expected it ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had dinner on the roof, so expected it to be more high energy as it is also a roof bar, but it was a bit less well kept than I expected - particularly given that we were there on the earlier side of the evening. Noise was high - but again, I expected that. I had a steak that was tougher than expected. My friend had mussels that she really liked. The fries were excellent and there is a nice beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

hip, great view, slightly pricey

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful and hip dining area with a great view out of the window onto the vibrant adams morgan bar/restaurant street. The food was casual and delicious although slightly pricey. The beer selection was fun and adventurous and focused mostly on sour beers. Loved our waitress- she had great suggestions for both beer and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

High energy brunch

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Met friends here for brunch on a Saturday; food was excellent and the menu varied. Service very good as well. Only problem was that it was a bit difficult to "catch up" because the noise level was high in the 2nd floor dining room. I'm told the roof bar is nice, but it did not open until 3:30, and we were there earlier in the afternoon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great brunch can experience! Food fresh ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great brunch can experience! Food fresh and prepared well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Brunch was worth it!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I went for brunch my birthday, $15 bottomless mimosas, your can't beat that!

Only one Negative- it was 90 degrees outside and it seemed like they didn't have AC, ask them to turn it on, and they said it was on.. Get that AC fixed and it would be perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Due to complete apathy or disdain from e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Due to complete apathy or disdain from every member of the staff we left before being greeted, which was twenty minutes after being seated, with two other tables in restaurant. Decided we'd rather spend our money where we were wanted and valued.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is average, but wholesome. Atmosph ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is average, but wholesome. Atmosphere is friendly. Vibe is loud and enjoyable. Extensive beer menu is worthy and attractive. Service is good; wait staff is really nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food, hectic for brunch. Better to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, hectic for brunch. Better to go up to the very top for nice views of Adams Morgan and a beer rather than a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We had a table facing the windows, and t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a table facing the windows, and the view was incredible (overlooking U street corridor). The liver appetizer was to die for, as well as the apple cobbler! Loved everything!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun time--good band. We didn't eat, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fun time--good band. We didn't eat, but the bar service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Happening Place

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and the service were very good. Little more noise than I like but not over powering. Server was very attentive and made our little request his priority. Be sure and make it to the roof top bar for a drink afterwards.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great View & Delicious Food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to the Roofers Union for Mother's Day because were looking for a nice meal and a great view. Located in the heart of Adams Morgan, you can't beat the view. We chose to eat in the Dining room because they serve a full menu there, although I was told that the roof top bar has much of the same dishes available. The dining room has a wall floor to ceiling glass windows and it was very entertaining to watch the goings on in Adams Morgan. There aren't a lot of items of the menu but everything we ordered was delicious. We were pleasantly surprised by how good deserts were, too. The price is moderate and the mood is fun and casual. GO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in for brunch with a party of 6 peo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Came in for brunch with a party of 6 people right around when they opened the restaurant. Even though all of the rest of my party was extremely late, they were very patient and pleasant with us throughout our visit. Our waitress was a delight, and even though she told us she was new, you couldn't tell! She was very helpful and answered all of our questions. Great beer selection and intriguing list of cocktails for future reference. Everyone loved their food, with stand-out items including the Chicken & Waffles, the Tofu Scramble, and the Black Bean and Quinoa Burger. Price was actually pretty reasonable, too, which was a pleasant surprise. Very happy overall with our experience here, and I definitely plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant with a view

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a nice restaurant with a spacious second floor dining room. Seating is comfortable and not crowded, and the view of the busy street down below is the best in Adams Morgan. Food is not spectacular but good (try the house made sausages), ambience is casual and energetic, when full could be a bit noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friday night with friends

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a very good experience here. The restaurant was busy and noisy, but the staff was attentive and their service was timely. The menu is short, but with major food items covered. We all tasted each plate, so I gained a good view of the menu. The lamb ribs was my favorite, since it was well prepared with complementary glaze, but the desired lamb flavor was right there. The beef and fish items were not only good, but prepared by a creative kitchen. The appetizers are carefully selected and loved by all. Helen, our server was exceptional. She paced the dinner well and weighed in without interfering.

Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Poor experience from start to finish

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I have never written and Open Table review before, but the experience at Roofers Union left a bad taste in our mouths.

For whatever reason, all the tables are the same size rectangle (either set up for 4 or flipped for 2). As a party of two, we felt three feet from each other and asked if we could sit at a table set for 4 next to us. Our server was super accommodating, but the hostess gave us a disgusted stare. Our server was new and we were really trying to be easy patrons, but our drink orders were messed up twice, and it was finally corrected when we were almost done with our meal. The food was inconsistently cooked (steak well done on one side and medium rare on the other). While the prices are reasonable and the menu has potential, for a $24 steak frites cooked like that, I'd rather just go to Medium Rare and know it will be great.

We had high hopes after seeing Marjorie on Top Chef, but will not dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Unexpected Gem

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Having never had eaten here, I had always assumed Roofers Union was just another bar in AdMo that served food. After watching Chef Marjorie on Top Chef, I decided to try out the food. I'm pleased I was wrong. It did not disappoint!

First, there was a nice drink list, with special cocktails, wine, and beer that accompanied a nice-sized regular list. Also, we were a little late for our reservation (ugh, parking in AdMo), and no one complained at all.

There were two of us, so we decided to share two appetizers and one entree.

Appetizers: We ordered the fried oysters and the charred octopus. The flavors of both dishes were perfect. The oysters were prepared perfectly, creamy on the inside and crispy on the outside. They were served with a smoky, slightly spicy dipping sauce. Excellent. And I loved the flavor of the octopus dish (olives, frisee, dill)--I give it a 4, though, because the octopus could have used a bit more of a char and was a TINY bit rubbery...probably just didn't get the grill quite hot enough.

Entree: We shared the half smoked Peruvian chicken. It was delicious. The meat was good, the skin was crisp, and the salsa verde that accompanied it was perfect. The white meat was a tiny bit overdone (and was separated from the leg quarter and could have been cooked for a little less time), but the dark meat was perfect. I also really enjoyed the fava bean-onion side that came with it.

Service: The waiter was great, and the host was very friendly. Only downside was that our food actually came a little too quickly. We were literally setting our folks down from the appetizers when the entree appeared. It was too hot to eat right away anyway, so it would have been nice to give us a little breather.

Overall, I really liked this place and will be back. A 4.5 is probably more accurate...even though you have to go to Adams Morgan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely time, not stingy with drinks

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Lovely time, not stingy with drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.