About Roofers Union

2446 18th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
View Larger Map

Roofers Union celebrates laid back dining in the heart of Adams Morgan with a contemporary American menu as envisioned by James Beard nominated Chef Marjorie Meek-Bradley. With floor to ceiling windows in the main dining room and a breathtaking rooftop bar, Roofers Union offers epic views of DC’s most vibrant neighborhood. Beverage Director and General Manager Dave Delaplaine offers a rotating selection of 22 beers ranging from simply refreshing to intriguingly weird. More than beers, Roofers jams with live music, craft cocktails, frozen adult slushies, and punch bowls. Perfect for groups of all sizes including large parties and first dates.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 5:00pm - 2:00am
Saturday/Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 232-7663

Website:
http://www.roofersuniondc.com/

Public Transit:
Metro: Redline - Woodley Park/Adams Morgan/Zoo stop.

Executive Chef:
Marjorie Meek-Bradley

Private Party Facilities:
Three levels provide a spacious, comfortable place to gather with friends or neighbors for any occasion. The first level of Roofers Union has a separate space for private events with its very own entrance and bar, which can accommodate up to 50 people.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Delaplaine: 8444080914

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Roofers Union Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (37)
great for brunch (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
See All
vibrant bar scene (19)
fit for foodies (19)
scenic view (18)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (9)
special occasion (6)
kid-friendly (4)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We’ve just returned to Washington after ...

Dined 5 days ago

We’ve just returned to Washington after an absence of nearly thirty years. One outstanding improvement is the presence of the Roofers Union. Our first evening in DC was also a family-and-friends birthday celebration and we arrived with no expectations. And the upshot? The evening simply got better and better. Our table offered a glorious view of 18th Street. Our server was patient with so large a group, friendly and helpful throughout the evening, as were other staff members who reinforced her service. I longed for the steak frites, but in the sprit of truly casual fare went for the hamburger and fries. Truth be told: it was the best hamburger I’ve ever had. Period. Honestly, it was deliciously messy (my fault) and perfectly cooked. I could not have been more enraptured. The fries were outstanding and required vigilance as neighboring guests stole fries with abandon. The beer selection was clearly well-curated, broad and excellent. I had a rye beer that was inspired. And for dessert the pistachio sponge cake with saffron poached oranges was as splendid on a warm evening as it must be in the depths of winter. Other guests chose lighter fare as well, and the mussels seemed to entrance those who ordered them. The nature of the evening precluded nonstop food commentary (it was a boisterous family celebration) but the empty plates and eager sharing of dishes suggested everyone was pleased. I did try the slated caramel gelato, and in an era where everyone is offering salted caramel concoctions, the one at the Roofers Union would qualify as the hands down winner. The main 2nd floor dining space is extremely pleasant, the service professional, warm and attentive, and the food is truly rewarding. The intelligent conception and skilled execution of the menu’s offerings, I’d say (now that we're living in the neighborhood again) that Roofers Union would be our first choice for an evening with all the comforts of home and all the culinary joys of great cooking.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

It was a really nice ambience. The servi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a really nice ambience. The service was great & the food was really good also.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a regular stop for me when I am ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

This is a regular stop for me when I am in town. The beer list can not be beat and the general atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Had a special beer event during brunch h ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Had a special beer event during brunch hours which made it busier. Still good time

food3
ambience3
service3

I had dinner on the roof, so expected it ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

I had dinner on the roof, so expected it to be more high energy as it is also a roof bar, but it was a bit less well kept than I expected - particularly given that we were there on the earlier side of the evening. Noise was high - but again, I expected that. I had a steak that was tougher than expected. My friend had mussels that she really liked. The fries were excellent and there is a nice beer selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

hip, great view, slightly pricey

Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful and hip dining area with a great view out of the window onto the vibrant adams morgan bar/restaurant street. The food was casual and delicious although slightly pricey. The beer selection was fun and adventurous and focused mostly on sour beers. Loved our waitress- she had great suggestions for both beer and food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

High energy brunch

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Met friends here for brunch on a Saturday; food was excellent and the menu varied. Service very good as well. Only problem was that it was a bit difficult to "catch up" because the noise level was high in the 2nd floor dining room. I'm told the roof bar is nice, but it did not open until 3:30, and we were there earlier in the afternoon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch can experience! Food fresh ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great brunch can experience! Food fresh and prepared well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch was worth it!

Dined on May 28, 2016

I went for brunch my birthday, $15 bottomless mimosas, your can't beat that! Only one Negative- it was 90 degrees outside and it seemed like they didn't have AC, ask them to turn it on, and they said it was on.. Get that AC fixed and it would be perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Due to complete apathy or disdain from e ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Due to complete apathy or disdain from every member of the staff we left before being greeted, which was twenty minutes after being seated, with two other tables in restaurant. Decided we'd rather spend our money where we were wanted and valued.

food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Food is average, but wholesome. Atmosph ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food is average, but wholesome. Atmosphere is friendly. Vibe is loud and enjoyable. Extensive beer menu is worthy and attractive. Service is good; wait staff is really nice.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a table facing the windows, and t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a table facing the windows, and the view was incredible (overlooking U street corridor). The liver appetizer was to die for, as well as the apple cobbler! Loved everything!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5

Fun time--good band. We didn't eat, but ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fun time--good band. We didn't eat, but the bar service was good.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Happening Place

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and the service were very good. Little more noise than I like but not over powering. Server was very attentive and made our little request his priority. Be sure and make it to the roof top bar for a drink afterwards.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View & Delicious Food

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to the Roofers Union for Mother's Day because were looking for a nice meal and a great view. Located in the heart of Adams Morgan, you can't beat the view. We chose to eat in the Dining room because they serve a full menu there, although I was told that the roof top bar has much of the same dishes available. The dining room has a wall floor to ceiling glass windows and it was very entertaining to watch the goings on in Adams Morgan. There aren't a lot of items of the menu but everything we ordered was delicious. We were pleasantly surprised by how good deserts were, too. The price is moderate and the mood is fun and casual. GO!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Came in for brunch with a party of 6 peo ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Came in for brunch with a party of 6 people right around when they opened the restaurant. Even though all of the rest of my party was extremely late, they were very patient and pleasant with us throughout our visit. Our waitress was a delight, and even though she told us she was new, you couldn't tell! She was very helpful and answered all of our questions. Great beer selection and intriguing list of cocktails for future reference. Everyone loved their food, with stand-out items including the Chicken & Waffles, the Tofu Scramble, and the Black Bean and Quinoa Burger. Price was actually pretty reasonable, too, which was a pleasant surprise. Very happy overall with our experience here, and I definitely plan on coming back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant with a view

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a nice restaurant with a spacious second floor dining room. Seating is comfortable and not crowded, and the view of the busy street down below is the best in Adams Morgan. Food is not spectacular but good (try the house made sausages), ambience is casual and energetic, when full could be a bit noisy.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friday night with friends

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a very good experience here. The restaurant was busy and noisy, but the staff was attentive and their service was timely. The menu is short, but with major food items covered. We all tasted each plate, so I gained a good view of the menu. The lamb ribs was my favorite, since it was well prepared with complementary glaze, but the desired lamb flavor was right there. The beef and fish items were not only good, but prepared by a creative kitchen. The appetizers are carefully selected and loved by all. Helen, our server was exceptional. She paced the dinner well and weighed in without interfering. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor experience from start to finish

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I have never written and Open Table review before, but the experience at Roofers Union left a bad taste in our mouths. For whatever reason, all the tables are the same size rectangle (either set up for 4 or flipped for 2). As a party of two, we felt three feet from each other and asked if we could sit at a table set for 4 next to us. Our server was super accommodating, but the hostess gave us a disgusted stare. Our server was new and we were really trying to be easy patrons, but our drink orders were messed up twice, and it was finally corrected when we were almost done with our meal. The food was inconsistently cooked (steak well done on one side and medium rare on the other). While the prices are reasonable and the menu has potential, for a $24 steak frites cooked like that, I'd rather just go to Medium Rare and know it will be great. We had high hopes after seeing Marjorie on Top Chef, but will not dine here again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unexpected Gem

Dined on April 23, 2016

Having never had eaten here, I had always assumed Roofers Union was just another bar in AdMo that served food. After watching Chef Marjorie on Top Chef, I decided to try out the food. I'm pleased I was wrong. It did not disappoint! First, there was a nice drink list, with special cocktails, wine, and beer that accompanied a nice-sized regular list. Also, we were a little late for our reservation (ugh, parking in AdMo), and no one complained at all. There were two of us, so we decided to share two appetizers and one entree. Appetizers: We ordered the fried oysters and the charred octopus. The flavors of both dishes were perfect. The oysters were prepared perfectly, creamy on the inside and crispy on the outside. They were served with a smoky, slightly spicy dipping sauce. Excellent. And I loved the flavor of the octopus dish (olives, frisee, dill)--I give it a 4, though, because the octopus could have used a bit more of a char and was a TINY bit rubbery...probably just didn't get the grill quite hot enough. Entree: We shared the half smoked Peruvian chicken. It was delicious. The meat was good, the skin was crisp, and the salsa verde that accompanied it was perfect. The white meat was a tiny bit overdone (and was separated from the leg quarter and could have been cooked for a little less time), but the dark meat was perfect. I also really enjoyed the fava bean-onion side that came with it. Service: The waiter was great, and the host was very friendly. Only downside was that our food actually came a little too quickly. We were literally setting our folks down from the appetizers when the entree appeared. It was too hot to eat right away anyway, so it would have been nice to give us a little breather. Overall, I really liked this place and will be back. A 4.5 is probably more accurate...even though you have to go to Adams Morgan.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely time, not stingy with drinks

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Lovely time, not stingy with drinks

food4
ambience4
service1

The food and the atmosphere was great. T ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and the atmosphere was great. The hostess and our server on the other hand? They were all straight up rude. The hostess took our reservation and spoke with another hostess. They then started laughing and smirking and then looked at us with rude glares. Not sure what was going on there. But it definitely did not make me feel welcome and it felt like they were judging us for something. The waitress was inattentive. Took at least 10 minutes to get us water. Then it took her another 10 minutes to come back to get our drink order. And then another long period of time before we ordered our appetizers with our entree. The food took a reasonable amount of time to get to us, but when it did she never checked up on us. It took at least 15 minutes to flag down someone to simply get us ketchup for our fries. When we asked for the check, it also took forever to get to us. Overall it took us an hour and 45 minutes to finish dinner just because she couldn't do her job and attend to us. She was always looking around whenever she would talk to us, and it felt like she just didn't want to be there. The food was phenomenal, but this service, you guys really need to fix. Otherwise, I will definitely not be back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place to grab a meal and drink with friends

Dined on April 15, 2016

I just went here to catch up with some friends in the area. We each had dinner and one to two beers, it was perfect. It was a great time to go. It did not really seem like a late night place or a place to have a lot of drinks, more of an evening hangout vibe.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great menu covering compact but nice ran ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Great menu covering compact but nice range of seletions, including the house specialty sausages. Italian sausage was very good served with a mound of good fries. The octopus starter was one of the best I've had - generous portion perfectly grilled &served with pickled onion & light salad with a flavorful sauce to highlight flavor, along with fingerling potatoes &olives. Roasted half Peruvian chicken was excellent - crispy skin, moist chicken, well seasoned & served with killer green Peruvian dipping sauce & more of the potatoes &olives. Great cocktails at manageable prices. The room is fantastic& noise level was excellent until a trivia game took over the dining room - dopey& not fun and way too loud - it was the only off note but it detracted significantly from our enjoyment of discovering this gem of a restaurant. Keep the game in the downstairs bar!!!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Inconsistent seasoning. Mostly bland. Th ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Inconsistent seasoning. Mostly bland. The Peruvian style chicken was dry.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Adams-Morgan Find

Dined on March 26, 2016

Roofers Union lived up to the word of mouth we had heard. The menu is not huge, but packs a great variety with both old standards and interesting new things. Great service. Very casual, with a young crowd. Quite an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

So so experience

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

I have enjoyed roofer's Union in the past but this night was trivia night and WAY too LOUD and quite annoying .. It really cut into our enjoyment of the meal. I would not recommend this restaurant on trivia nights.. Whenever that is as the restaurant didn't warn us that it was trivia night. I will say our servers were excellent and expressed similar annoyance with the loudness of the trivia night.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

New menu items bok choy and lamb ribs.

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

New menu items bok choy and lamb ribs.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

great cocktails, lots of sausage

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Everything we had tasted good, but I wish there were more vegetarian and vegan options on the menu. The food was very heavy, good for a night of drinking, but not if you are trying to eat light. I got the "I yam what I yam" cocktail which was amazing. It's quite loud in the dining room, but the energetic atmosphere is great for weekend nights.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Came here for brunch with a few friends and really enjoyed it! No frills, but great food and friendly service. Our server was new but incredibly kind and consistent in his attention. The restaurant was a bit noisy, but it worked well for our mood. Bonus, someone stood on his chair and asked everyone to sing Happy Birthday to his 8-year-old son who had just beaten cancer. I loved that everyone sang along loudly and that it echoed for his boy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great waiter & delicious beer & brussel sprouts

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went to Roofer's Union for the first time this Saturday mainly because someone I knew was playing in a band performing that evening. My group sampled several good beers, and really enjoyed the brussels sprouts (our favorite of the food we tried). But I wanted to give a shout out to our awesome waiter. Our group occupied a table for a long time because we ate apps and drank while waiting a long time for the band to go on, and then stayed to see the band for an hour or so. This could easily have been annoying to the manager or waiter, but both were super accommodating. Even after the waiter knew what we were doing he continued to provide excellent service without seeming to mind that one of his tables wasn't turning over on a packed night, and when he had to close out, he offered to split up our complicated check. At some point the manager also checked on us (he was probably doing his rounds to all the tables, but it was a nice attentive touch). It gave me a very positive impression of RU. Thanks!

Tags: late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on January 31, 2016

A group of 9 of us visited Roofers Union for the first time on a Sunday at noon. 4 of us were utilizing a Travelzoo voucher, which turned out to be a great deal. They were quite busy and it took a little bit to get our drink order, but things quickly picked up from that point. Service was good, food was very creative and tasty. The restaurant is on the 2nd floor and overlooked the restaurant scene of Adams Morgan. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hip and airy place with good food

Dined on January 30, 2016

We came in to the first floor doorway and found ourselves in a bar area with no dining service. We then realized that we must have to go upstairs to find a table. It would be nice if there was a sign to indicate this. Once on the second floor, the is an open door but no sign or name. We wondered in there because that's where the noise was coming from and noticed a hostess table to the left. The staff was friendly and found us a nice table with a view. The place is lofty and customers were mostly in their 20's, which seems to be the demo in this neighborhood. The decor was of roofing and union items and photos and the space was somewhat cold and industrial, but large and open. Service and the food came quickly. My chicken sausage on pretzel with fries was great, although the pretzel bun could have been large enough to hold the sausage. I shared with my guest who let me taste the quinoa and black bean burger, which was good. Overall, this was a good dining experience and I would recommend the place to others. Just remember that the dining area is on the 2nd floor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Hits and Misses

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Apps and zerts are on point, but my sausage platter for Restaurant Week was a bit underwhelming and dry (though I did appreciate that our server brought by a pretzel roll to fill out an otherwise skimpy entree).

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

fun for bar-goers, not so much for diners

Dined on January 29, 2016

the space is loud, the bar is hopping, so that's good, but as far as dining, it's hard to have a conversation over the bar noise and the menu is a little too ambitious for the setting.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Brunch for Groups

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

delicious food, an energetic environment and great neighborhood location. This place has it all for a great brunch to impress or have a laid back afternoon with friends. They were kind to us even after they had not received my message that there would be more attendees that originally booked for. They quickly made the adjustment and made room for us on a busy Sunday AM. Much appreciated and the food was on point as always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot - like the Family Night deal

Dined on January 15, 2016

We like this restaurant a lot. Really good comfort food and always consistently good. Just learned about their Family Night special on Thursdays so came to see if the kiddos would enjoy it and they did! So we'll add Roofers Union into the rotation.

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a neighborhood bite

Dined on December 2, 2015

I had seen Roofer's Union for a number of months and thought I'd give it a try. I expected a basic selection of bar food. I was wrong. The menu is creative and everything we ordered was great. Rather than a typical meal, my friend and I ordered and shared lots of side dishes. The Brussels sprouts are awesome....we ordered a second one!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food, live music afterwards was pre ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Good food, live music afterwards was pretty good, too.

food3
ambience3
service2

Food fine. Service... Let me watch TV an ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Food fine. Service... Let me watch TV and get back to you. That's what they did.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.