About Ron of Japan - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Vegetables - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Grilled Lobster Tails - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Fried Rice - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Junmai Ginjo Sake - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Shogun Dinner - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Lobster & Shrimp with Yolk Sauce - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Report a photo problem

Grilled Vegetables - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Grilled Lobster Tails - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Fried Rice - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Junmai Ginjo Sake - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Shogun Dinner - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Lobster & Shrimp with Yolk Sauce - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Casual (12)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overpriced. Inattentive service. Good ch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Overpriced. Inattentive service. Good chef Yao

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Went with friends who like this concept. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Went with friends who like this concept. I live in the area so I know what to expect for prices. Other than the bartender, I found the servers and cooks really were just going through the motions. The grills were not well vented so my daughter who lives in a smoke free world was bothered by this. I usually take the "suck it up, we could be in a bar in Wisconsin attitude," but it was bad.

My companion who picked the place and also lives in the area does not let this stuff go, complained, but again she picked the place and the kids were moderately happy. The cook was ok, but did not do any of the cute kid friendly stuff we have seen at other habachi restaurants. Her last straw was when she asked for both the check and dessert at the same time because her youngest was getting crabby after an over two hour meal. This simple request became an argument.

We were six, a group of two, and her group of four. Then the separate checks came with the service charge added, now my family had a high end Italian restaurant so this is one of my major peeves. Custom in Chicago is service charge is added at parties of eight, and then the server needs to make this absolutely clear to the guests verbally when putting the checks on the table that the service charge was added. Nothing. I think this was revenge for the dessert issue. Paid it, left tip as the service charge because when you try to do the double tip thing hoping I cannot or an too drunk to read, fine that is what you get. Otherwise, I'll round up to a solid 20%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This place is very over rated the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This place is very over rated the food was not that good. Find some place cheaper and with better food it will not be hard in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

the staff was fun and accommodating

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the staff was fun and accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Best place ever

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing. Best place ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place ever!!!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best place ever!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

this place is a shadow of its former sel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2017

this place is a shadow of its former self. went here several times over the years and always had good time, no more. unfriendly staff felt rushed food un impressive, what happened to the cooking fun stuff? I suspect the younger generation took over and down the tubes it goes. not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Bull* hit food.. No noodles this suppos ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Bull* hit food.. No noodles this suppose to be an hibachi restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food and service. Did not apprecia ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. Did not appreciate the holiday surge pricing/special menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

This is my third visit to Ron of Japan. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my third visit to Ron of Japan. Each time, I ve never been disappointed. The restaurant staff was very accommodating to our large and late party. We ran late by about 15 mins and they still acoomodated us. I would definitely recommend this for a group. Noise level is moderate because you're sitting so close. The noise level didn't bother our party.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In a word-ick Oily food Oily atmosphere ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

In a word-ick

Oily food

Oily atmosphere

Clothes reeked of oil

There are much better places to go in chicago where you can spend $75 per person

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food is good. We do not care for the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is good. We do not care for the fried rice. They make it with beef. The food is less portions than it used to be. A little over priced for the amount of food you get, very little vegetables. We go to many Japanese steak houses, we don't usually leave not feeling full. The service is very slow. We had to go to the bar for every drink we ordered, a server never came around to take our drink order. Every time we visit this restaurant, we find ourselves going to the bar to get our drinks. We had to wait a long time before a cook was available. Once you have a cook, it moves pretty quickly. Overall, we keep coming back because of the memories we had growing up, not the service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The Food was very good and good comforta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Food was very good and good comfortable chairs and not that loud. The man cooking our food was very cation and could control the fire and the food.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

food was good, Service was great goid fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

food was good, Service was great goid for any type of occasion, I was there with my boyfriend kept thinkng it would have been better if we could have been in our own booth vs shared sitting.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time. food was great a bit e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a great time. food was great a bit expensive but good. Plum wine was flowing..

Tags: , Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and service.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been owing to Rons for 35+ year ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have been owing to Rons for 35+ years. Secuondo (sp?), has been a favorite chef of ours and always provides us with the best experience. From valet, managers, bartenders, servers and chef, all top notch. This is my husbands favorite "special occasion" go to place. Lobster dinner with a lobster appetizer. Nothing better. I love the shrimp. A little crisp with egg yolk deliciousness on top. Thanks Rons for many years of great memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was not great at all. I had the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was not great at all. I had the filet and you could really tell it was not a good grade of meat. The chicken soup was horrible-the chicken was dry which was weird because it was in a soup. My lobster was good. And the beef fried rice was awful it tasted like hamburger in rice. I was very disappointed with the food and this is not my first time dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

It was ok but they need proper ventilat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was ok but they need proper ventilation. My hair and clothes smelled ! They reeked ! They use too much oil . The 7up tasted weird . The seating is too close and way too smokey with flames too close for comfort ! If that your kind of thing then by all means go there .If you have any type of respiratory issue I would stay away ! Not for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

I love Ron of Japan and will 100% be bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I love Ron of Japan and will 100% be back as soon as I can! The only edit I would make is to ensure the guest is aware that when the server is suggesting the post-meal included ice cream, the pineapple they suggest is a literal quartered pineapple not pineapple ice cream. Which was confusing for the three people at the table who ordered pineapple off of the server's ice cream flavor suggestions. That conversation was as follows:

Server: "Are you guys ready for some ice cream?"

Table [emphatically]: "Yeah!"

Server: "Okay, we have vanilla, chocolate, Rocky Road, mint, and pineapple."

Much to our wandering eye should appear - two chocolate ice creams, one vanilla ice cream, and three quartered pineapples! Don't get me wrong, the pineapple was quite delightful, and easy to eat, but it was like expecting a chocolate chip cookie and getting oatmeal raisin - still delicious, but not what you were going for.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is the original restaurant of two ( ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is the original restaurant of two (the other is in Northbrook). It has been in business since the 1970s, and for good reason. The atmosphere is cozy and unique. The food is great. The portions are generous. It's a dark restaurant where you sit around a hibachi with six people or so and the food is prepared to order in front of you. They have great seafood and steak. They are famous for their egg sauce, which will not disappoint. The chef will make a big flame for your entertainment. The staff is polite and welcoming. Mrs. Snodgrass and I live nearby and they know us by name. The bartender has our drinks ready as soon as we sit down. Definitely worth coming back to. Most of the people we meet there are also regulars even if they have to drive in from the suburbs.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, , Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the place and will continue to go. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love the place and will continue to go. No other place can do better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at many Japanese Hibachi rest ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've eaten at many Japanese Hibachi restaurants and love the concept. However, this restaurant is not ideal in that you are seated at low booths or tables (vs normal high tables) and there was little to no showmanship that is customary. Service (e.g. drinks etc.) also was not up to my standards and not very attentive. Food was okay, but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I love the food..never have I had a bad ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I love the food..never have I had a bad experience there...

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to Ron of Japan many times ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We have gone to Ron of Japan many times and I couldn't have been more disappointed! They did away with any of the fancy knife skills and tricks. The veggies came out pre-cut, the rice had ground beef in it and tasted only of salt. Our chef was completely inpersonable. We will never go back. What a shame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Segundo is the best

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Segundo is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been dining at Ron of Japan for ye ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We've been dining at Ron of Japan for years at their Northbrook location and always have a great time. I have also dined that this specific location over a dozen times and this was by far the WORST experience we ever had. The chef threw the food on the flat top and would walk away. LOADED the food with salt. No interaction, no tricks. No one bussed our table at all. Salad bowls, empty glassware, everything still sitting on the table when dessert came. It was a friend's birthday and a server (not even our server) threw the sparkler down on the grill and it slid across almost falling over onto my friend. When we spoke with the manager he said they don't do tricks. When we said we've been coming to their Northbrook location for over 25 years and they always do them. He then tried telling us he works closely with the managers there and they don't do them. When we told him how much salt the chef put on the food he said... Well they cook to their own taste. As a restaurant operator that is CRAP! Normally we wouldn't complain because we are all in the service industry, but this entire experience with the exception of the host stand was HORRIBLE! Next time we will be sure to take our business elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is good and the staff is nice. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food is good and the staff is nice. There just isn't the showmanship once seen at these places. No tricks like at Benihana. So at the end you are wondering why you ate at a grill (and smell like a grill) if there is no entertainment value.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Ron of Japan is always a great place to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Ron of Japan is always a great place to go - consistent and delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early reservation, 6 PM, becau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had an early reservation, 6 PM, because we have small children and as of 6:45 still had not been served. We did not leave until close to 8:30. Overall, I thought everything took way too long.

Otherwise, food was good and we all enjoyed. We just got home too late!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been to this location many times ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to this location many times. It had been several months since we ventured back and left this time a little disappointed. Our server was new, which was ok, but for a very slow Sunday afternoon, the service was slow. The food was as spectacular as in the past. Our filet was salty and it seemed the portions were smaller even though the prices went up. Slightly disappointed but would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were expecting more sushi, since I se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were expecting more sushi, since I searched open table for sushi, but realized it was a hibachi steakhouse when I got there. The server was excellent, and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

We always have a great time!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We always have a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There was so much grease on the food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

There was so much grease on the food and all over--the menus, everything...the nature of cooking right up close, but at other Japanese styled restaurants with a similar theme, I've not seen so much grease. Perhaps better ventilation or different plates will help. We will not be returning to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The other guests we sat with did not tak ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The other guests we sat with did not take the hint we wanted to keep conversations to ourselves - they were very intrusive asking questions and didn't take our hint we wanted to be left alone. It was the most uncomfortable RoJ dinner we've had in 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

Emily was great with my many changes. Mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Emily was great with my many changes.

Mo the cook was outstanding great service.

Waiter can remember his name tall and handsome he was great as while

The bar tender was perfect great customer service.

Overall great!'!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expensive and not as good as I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was expensive and not as good as I expected for money, other than the lobster and shrimp. The Lobster and Shrimp was better than expected.

The overall experience was good, but I wouldn't come back to this place unless I had clients who really wanted go. I may go on a special occasion and I was mood for Japanese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While Ron of Japan is a Chicago mainstay ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

While Ron of Japan is a Chicago mainstay, it is way over priced for the food quality. The dining room could benefit from a remodel/update; it feel long in the tooth.

I really don't like going places where I leave smelling like the food.

The person who prepared our food did a perfunctory job; not good, not bad; little excitement for the role; just going through the motions.

I really don't like the soy cream goo that they put on the shrimp; what is that stuff?

We came here for our family back to school dinner with our high schoolers. My daughter just really wanted to come here because she loves that the food is prepared at the table.

For me, RoJ would never be in my short list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Granddaughter's 15th birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Granddaughter's 15th birthday celebration. She loves the place.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been going here for 45 years. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been going here for 45 years. This was by far the worst service ever. Dirty table not wiped up, dishes not removed, smoke in face.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.