Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ron of Japan - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fun (15)
Casual (14)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Family Style (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Music (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The hostess was extremely rude to us. The service up until the end was very good. She made our departure extremely bad.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was good, the opening seating was horrible. The other person at the table complained and complained , she ruined the dinner for my son's birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Birthday dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My sister, brother in law, and their three young daughters were in town for the weekend. Everyone loved it! Especially the six year old. I'm used to hibachi grills having the larger rectangular table but this was a much more intimate setting. The table easily sat the six of us with room for one more. They didn't do as many "tricks" as some hibachi grills, but the kids didn't know the difference so everyone left happy and entertained.
The food was good, although I wish I had asked for chicken fried rice since their standard is beef fried rice which I wasn't the biggest fan of.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Is was a good choice for monthly Mommy/Daughter day out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Server was very attentive to your every need. He did a great job of checking back on the table multiple times he was engaged but not intrusive. The chef prepared the meal perfectly and I appreciated the limited communication, as we got to enjoy watching a skilled chef prepare a wonderful meal of the freshest high quality ingredients. The shrimp appetizer is amazing, I know it is not heart healthy, but it is totally worth the risk!!

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is great but we were seated 25 minutes after reservation and the service was terrible. Had to chase a waiter down for the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good food, great service but overpriced. For two people, spending $150 with just two drinks is a bit high. The wait with reservations was about a half hour.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ron of Japan is my Five star Restaurant it is the best oriental Restaurant in the world to me and my friends... Thank you ROJ

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Organic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Way over priced for what you get. Spent $75 on a lobster dish that was just too much at this type of restaurant. Also slow to receive food. Not a great birthday dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I've been here quiet a few times & some how it seems to get better each time! The hostesses were super friendly, I feel like I'm home each time. I came in Saturday night it was obviously busy. My friends & I had a couple Mai Tais at the bar (the best🍹😋) We were approached by one of the managers, a friendly hey how's everything, you'll be seated within 2mins. By then we had already made friends with the bartenders lol. Our chef was amazing as well as the food, our server was also awesome considering he had to take care of 9 of us! Thanks for always showing us a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and chef are always excellent. Michael are served was absolutely terrible. This is the second time in a row we had him and he is the worst! He is extremely slow, inefficient and inattentive. He really hurts the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of my all time favorites! Been a favorite of mine for over 20yrs plus!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Historic, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat. Best food. You will pay for it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Simply the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The the wait time was almost an hour even though I had reservations, the waiter was good, the cook didn't put on a good show nor did he seem like he wanted to be there,he kept walking away form the grill while he was preparing the food, he didn't season the food at all, he just put it on the grill and cooked it, I ordered the shogun special and while my steak was very tender, it along with my lobster had no taste at all, since he did not season the food, I had to ask for salt to season my food once it was done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overpriced for the quality. Waiter was flustered most of the night. Not great for a date

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was great, cook was very pleasant enjoyed my date night

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

we sat with a very nice couple named Matt the car dealer and his wife. Segundo the chef was excellent! his food was tasteful and interacted well with us. The portions were very filling we had extra to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It lacked the entertainment value that you get at most Hibachi steakhouses. The cook wasn't very engaging. We had a track down a waiter to get our order started and get drinks after sitting there for quite some time. For as much as it costs compared to other Hibachi steakhouses, Ron's should have been the best in all these categories, especially on a Saturday night on Valentines weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and service. A fun spot for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had a great time. The food was very good. My only complaint would be that for about the first 20min of being seated, the people we were seated with each had multiple/very loud telephone conversations going. They had people on speaker phone and even FaceTime. I would have loved to have been able to move my seats. However after they got all of their "business" out of the way it was ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok, service was sub par. I told my waiter it was my wifes birthday and they said cool we will come by and sing happy birthday, Never showed up. I enjoyed the cook though very nice and entertaining. The steak didn't have any flavor though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Did not meet my expectations. Food was not tasteful, very bland.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We waited approx 30 mins after our reservation time to be seated. It appeared that it didn't really seem to matter if you had a reservation or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is always delicious but it is a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I enjoy this place every time I come. The food is the best.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been dining at Ron of Japan for over 15 years and it never disappoints. I highly recommend it for a great place to eat some delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been going to Ron of Japan for many years. Hasn't changed in over 20 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have had two extraordinary experiences here at Ron of Japan, the first time it was in celebration of my boyfriend's birthday and he enjoyed it so much that this time he brought his daughter for her birthday and she loved it as well.
Next visit will be for my daughter's birthday and I am sure she will enjoy it as well.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a wonderful time. the food was great as well as the staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Having a TV in the middle of the dining room ruined the ambiance, although it was good as we had to wait for service before the cooking and after the chef was done. The grill was on very high and the food was overdone. With the overhead fan not working, a lot of the smoke from the grill went into my wife's face - she smelled tasty, but she wasn't happy. You get a lot of food, which was a good thing. We would be challenged to go back there. Don't mind spending $150+ on a good dinner, but it won't be here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was a favorite restaurant for a long time, but after this experience we will never be back.
The service was slow. The food quality seems to have diminished over the last couple of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not bad. A little dated looking, the food was above average for hibachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very disappointing in almost every respect. I first dined here 40 years ago. It has been going downhill ever since. The service was atrocious and unfriendly to boot. The food was of poor quality, including tough steak and medocre scallops. Preparation was desultory, lacking the "showmanship" of a top tier Japanese steakhouse. Only one type of sauce was provided. The house wine (a Cabernet) sucked, although the hot sake was OK. Add in the fact that the whole meal was overpriced. I/we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Overpriced. Inattentive service. Good chef Yao

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Went with friends who like this concept. I live in the area so I know what to expect for prices. Other than the bartender, I found the servers and cooks really were just going through the motions. The grills were not well vented so my daughter who lives in a smoke free world was bothered by this. I usually take the "suck it up, we could be in a bar in Wisconsin attitude," but it was bad.

My companion who picked the place and also lives in the area does not let this stuff go, complained, but again she picked the place and the kids were moderately happy. The cook was ok, but did not do any of the cute kid friendly stuff we have seen at other habachi restaurants. Her last straw was when she asked for both the check and dessert at the same time because her youngest was getting crabby after an over two hour meal. This simple request became an argument.

We were six, a group of two, and her group of four. Then the separate checks came with the service charge added, now my family had a high end Italian restaurant so this is one of my major peeves. Custom in Chicago is service charge is added at parties of eight, and then the server needs to make this absolutely clear to the guests verbally when putting the checks on the table that the service charge was added. Nothing. I think this was revenge for the dessert issue. Paid it, left tip as the service charge because when you try to do the double tip thing hoping I cannot or an too drunk to read, fine that is what you get. Otherwise, I'll round up to a solid 20%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place is very over rated the food was not that good. Find some place cheaper and with better food it will not be hard in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.