About Ron of Japan - Chicago

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Restaurant Photos

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (34)
special occasion (26)
romantic (15)
See All
fit for foodies (14)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This place is not worth the money! I've ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This place is not worth the money! I've been to much better hibachi restaurants that cost a lot less. Our entire party of 5 paid extra for "fried rice". Our rice was white with some ground beef and egg added in. No soy sauce or flavor of any kind. Oh, except for black pepper. Our chef was very heavy handed on the black pepper. You would think for the price you are paying that the chefs would at least perform a little like at most hibachi restaurants with the twirling knives, volcano onion, etc., but no. I wouldn't have minded that part so much if the food was better. They only gave teriyaki sauce with meal, no soy or ginger. Very disappointing! No option for the garlic topping for shrimp, another disappointment. Our server was attentive but almost overly so. Just because you keep saying "no rush" doesn't mean you are not rushing us. My daughter was still eating when take out boxes were brought over and server came back for check every 2 mins after it was left on the table. No time to relax after your meal. I guess they needed the table! We would never return to this restaurant. Save your money!

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Consistently good but pricey

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my second visit to the Chicago Ron of Japan. For Mothers' Day the menu was limited and slightly more expensive than usual. Service was pleasant but not exceptional. Our chef looked Turkish and said very little. My party of three shared a table with another mother/father/son and conversation was good. The food is consistently good, but overpriced (which should be expected given the neighborhood).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Go

Dined on May 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant in Chicago. Special shout out to Cook Segundo!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. It's always a ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food. Great service. It's always a pleasure to dine at Ron of Japan.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 27, 2016

I had some special request when I made the reservation. And they were able to accommadate me. Really enjoy the food and ambiance of the restaurant. Can't wait to come again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time :)

Dined on April 23, 2016

The whole experience was amazing! I loved going for my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My ten year old daughter loves the showm ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

My ten year old daughter loves the showmanship of the cooks. Our chef excelled as usual.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

very overrated

Dined on March 25, 2016

I have wanted to go to this restaurant for awhile - since I live close by. I was very dissatisfied with the seating arrangement (a curved booth with 5 strangers), the food (mediocre at best), the service (we felt very rushed), and the menu (which was unimaginative and did not seem like a Japanese restaurant). In addition, the prices, for what was offered, were very high. I can't think of any reason to go back.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was overpriced for quality. No seas ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was overpriced for quality. No seasoning on food. Overall a big disappointment chef did not social with table at all.

food2
ambience1
service2

This is a famous cook-at-your-table Japa ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

This is a famous cook-at-your-table Japanese steak house. However, while quite expensive, the food was bland, all of the food was served very quickly (e.g., shrimp and beef were served just after the salad, giving us no time to eat the salad without letting the hot food get cold). The typical "show" of clanking knives, cutting veggies, making an onion volcano, etc., did not exist. Our sense was that this was the first time our cook ever cooked, but there was no show at any of the tables. As for ambience, loud rock music was playing

food5
ambience4
service4

Our waiter didn't realize her table (our ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our waiter didn't realize her table (our group) had been seated for about 25 minutes. When she realized the mistake, she seemed genuinely horrified and was very apologetic. Otherwise provided great service thereafter. Food as always was outstanding.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Things have changed

Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been going to Ron of Japan for more than 20 yrs and we agreed that while the food quality is still good, the portions are getting smaller. Out of the eight people at the table, two didn't want mushrooms in their vegetables. The table chef omitted mushrooms completely from the stir fry. I asked why and he didn't answer me. We agreed that we probably won't be going back anymore.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ron of Japan is awesome!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I've been coming to Ron of Japan since I was a little kid with my parents I am now 32, the service and food still taste as great as I remember. I've had the pleasure of meeting different cooks seguendo, Charles and lee all very friendly and great at what they do. I love this place and will continue to dine here always. I recommend the shogun dinner, try the egg yolk sauce it's the best creation ever! I love the atmosphere of it all you sit with others and Iget to talk to different people every time while watching the cooks cook in front of you. The waitresses are kind and the bartenders are very friendly as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on February 15, 2016

I came here for Valentine's Day because they had a "Special" menu that they didn't publish online. Turns out, this "special menu" consisted of half of the original menu in an effort to keep their costs down for Valentine's Day. Don't worry though guys, they made sure to include the $100 steak dinner. ALL prices were jacked up. ~$4 for a bowl of white rice? When my date asked for spicy tuna rolls, they said they couldn't deviate from the menu and only can make non-spice tuna rolls. I was ready to leave after sitting at the cooking table for 20 minutes before the chef came out. Won't return here, very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed my dinner but not the group

Dined on February 15, 2016

I know they we sit with strangers but this group i wasn't to happy about. A girl with a fake baby was at the table I understnad it may have been for school but that was not the time and place. Wasn't too happy with the two men couple who was sitting with us. Dinner as always was great just not happy with the group sit down.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

I wasn't sure about this place after rea ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I wasn't sure about this place after reading some of the negative reviews, but I'm glad I gave it a shot. My fiancé is a Japanophile, and this was my Valentine's Day present to him. The service was efficient, which I really appreciated -- though I never felt rushed. The food was wonderful, and the chef was friendly without being intrusive. The waitress did mess up my initial sake order, but she corrected it with the next bottle. That egg sauce is addictive-- I wanted it on everything!! Overall, this is a great place for a double date or a group of friends. Also, the proportions were just right-- not too much, but enough to fill you up.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is WAY better than similar hiba ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is WAY better than similar hibachi places like Benihana's. Chefs are there to cook great food, not do tricks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

The King Crab was excellent.

Dined on February 10, 2016

The King Crab was excellent.

food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Stay Far Away from this place .

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Ron of Japan is the worst of the worst restaurant in all of Chicago. Terrible food, dark gloomy old atmosphere and really poor ventilation. Left there very hungry and clothes smelled like cheap cooking oil. Avoid at all cost!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Our chef, Lee, was personable and pleasa ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our chef, Lee, was personable and pleasant! He made us feel very comfortable & involved in the whole teppenyaki experience! Our waiter, Ben, was also wonderful. He checked on us frequently and was attentive to my allergy issues.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Solid at best

Dined on January 29, 2016

I'm huge on Japanese steakhouses. I absolutely love them. I was not a huge fan of the food here. Service was awesome. Ambient is nice. Food is overrated. Small portions for a big buck. Fried rice with beef seemed americanized. Not great on flavor. Vegetables were good. Chicken shrimp and steak were okay. Not my top 10 steakhouses though.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Server

Dined on January 27, 2016

Our sever provided adequate service to us, but was noticeably short and not nearly as pleasant with the other couple at our table. It was awkward to witness, as any request made by the other couple was perfectly reasonable. Food was great. Atmosphere was great. Really enjoyed everything else.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing time

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

We have been here several times before and have the food has always been amazing, and we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each time. We usually reserve this restaurant for special occasions, this last time was our 30th anniversary. Would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome As Always

Dined on January 16, 2016

I have been coming to Ron for the past 35 years. It has had very minimal changes since the 1980s. The waitress's used to wear traditional Japanese dress. But now you will be taken very good care of by one of the very attentive servers in a black shirt and tie. The food as always is fantastic . It is as good or better then the first time. Every employee is happy and smiling ! We have celebrated many family birthdays here as well as date nights for two. I highly recommend it to all !

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food masterfully prepared befo ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Excellent food masterfully prepared before your eyes. More showmanship with cooking knives, as is typical in other hibachi restaurants, would have have made it even better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Have written numerous reviews for this r ...

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Have written numerous reviews for this restaurant - have dined here numerous times and will continue to do so! BEYOND OUTSTANDING FOOD BEYOND OUTSTANDING QUALITY BEYOND OUTSTANDING AMBIENCE BEYOND OUTSTANDING SERVICE

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My favorite of the teppenyaki restaurants

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

I still enjoy the nostalgia of visiting these teppenyaki restaurants and Ron of Japan is much better than most. The shrimp appetizer is delicious with the egg topping, the steak is cooked nicely, and I love the fried rice. You may find more elaborate presentations at other teppenyaki restaurants, but you won't find better food.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

I was impressed with the quality of my m ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

I was impressed with the quality of my meals. I have been coming here for years and am glad to see the quality is not being compromised.

food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here more times I can remember ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

I've been here more times I can remember. Always always always such an exceptional experience! I recommend this place to anyone who wants excellent quality of food and even better service. Ambience, food and service are outstanding

food1
ambience4
service5
value1

The food was over priced and flavorless. ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food was over priced and flavorless. I think the restaurant needs to reevaluate the chefs that are cooking.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were here on Christmas night and the ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

We were here on Christmas night and the whole experience was amazing..the service in both the bar and when we were seated was fabulous..the chef was amazing and entertaining and the food was absolutely delicious! Love this place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love Ron of Japan - Egg sauce is absolut ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Love Ron of Japan - Egg sauce is absolutely amazing!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Preparation of the food

Dined on December 19, 2015

Preparation of the food

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not What It Used To Be

Dined on December 18, 2015

Let me start by saying I was never a big fan of the group table chop-chop show. Our kids used to like the flash of fire, the knife tricks and the personalities of the table chefs, so that made it a family event. We decided to go with our son and granddaughter. We thought she would get a kick out of the show. Well.....the only show was a huge burst of fire on the cooktop that was cool...but really hot! -actually so much fire it scared her! The table chef no long whips his flashy knives around, no longer jokes with the patrons and no magic volcano made out of onion stacked like a mountain. Just stir fry that is mediocre, too smokey and not fun at all! So disappointed! And the prices!!!!! For that I want the darn show please!

food5
ambience5
service5

PERFECT FOR FAMILY OR ROMANTIC EVENING O ...

vip
Dined on December 8, 2015

PERFECT FOR FAMILY OR ROMANTIC EVENING OR NIGHT OUT WITH FRIENDS! ALWAYS OUTSTANDING! I come here every year on my birthday and will continue to do so. My all time favorite restaurant! The food is delicious, the cook's show is amazing, and my overall experience every time is beyond outstanding. I always have such memorable exceptional experience. I've never left unsatisfied, this place is always exceeding my expectations. I recommend this place to everyone I know and meet! #1 true and loyal customer here. Will be back again and again. Thank you for unbelievable nights here!

food1
ambience2
service4

Not A Fan

Dined on November 21, 2015

This is my second time trying this place, and it was overpriced and awful. Nothing like paying a lot of money on food that is not worth more than $10. The only thing that I would EVER eat there is the fried rice. Everything else was horrid. The salmon was SUPER fishy and the steak had no taste. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service4

Egg Sauce

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

All egg sauce, all day, every day. I want that egg sauce on everything omg it is the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Our waiter was a bit rude and very inatt ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Our waiter was a bit rude and very inattentive. The food, however, was pretty good!

food3
ambience1
service1

Delicious food, but horrible service and ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Delicious food, but horrible service and forgetful waitress

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Great service! Always en ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent food! Great service! Always enjoyable meal at Ron of Japan

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.