About Ron of Japan - Chicago

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Vegetables
  • Grilled Lobster Tails
  • Fried Rice
  • Junmai Ginjo Sake
  • Shogun Dinner
  • Lobster & Shrimp with Yolk Sauce
Grilled Vegetables
Grilled Lobster Tails
Fried Rice
Junmai Ginjo Sake
Shogun Dinner
Lobster & Shrimp with Yolk Sauce

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (18)
special occasion (17)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
romantic (10)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nothing special. Food was ok but lacked ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nothing special. Food was ok but lacked seasoning. I was hoping for showmanship from the table chef as I've experienced from other hibachi restaurants but it was nonexistent here. I also noted on my reservation that we were celebrating my sons birthday and it was never acknowledged. I was disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

They spilled a cup of hot butter all ove ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

They spilled a cup of hot butter all over my shirt, pants and arm. They offered my a coupon to come back but wouldn't replace my cloths for $70. Really!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Segundo is the best cook! The food is am ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Segundo is the best cook! The food is amazing. I've been coming here since I was 7 years old and brought a friend who has never been here before...she Loved it and can't wait to return. No one can beat their Shrimp and Lobster..let's not forget the Salad Dressing! People in the "know" come here. How people go to Benihana is a mystery to me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Have visited Ron's annually for many yea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have visited Ron's annually for many years, and we're never disappointed. Food is delicious! EGG SAUCE ON EVERYTHING :-)

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This has been our family's favorite for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This has been our family's favorite for many years. We've dined with our sons who are now adults with their own families and now we bring our grands. The food is always delicious and consistent after all these years and service is always really good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The first time I and my wife attended th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The first time I and my wife attended this restaurant was 27 years ago, on our one year anniversary of dating , on the 7/11/16 was our 24 year anniversary of marriage. We made it a habit of attending every year on our anniversary and I have to say it's always a great experience it makes our day extra special.

Thank you to all the chef's you guys are awesome.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced, waiter was rude and scre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Way overpriced, waiter was rude and screwed up our order. Absolutely no interaction with the chef. Also, hot oil was splashing off the grill. Will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great restaurant for a large group. Very ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great restaurant for a large group. Very kid friendly as well. We had a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I went here while on a stay- ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I went here while on a stay-cation in the city. We were extremely excited by the thought of a hibachi place right around the corner from where we were staying. As we were seated our waiter was extremely short with us and didn't bring us drinks for over 20 min. Once the chef came out we didn't see our waiter for a while to get refills either. The biggest issue was the prices. We walked out of there spending over 80$ and were still hungry. Compared to other hibachi places this is unheard of. The food was bland and over priced. We will never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The chef was nice; however, the food was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The chef was nice; however, the food was sub par. The soup was chicken noodle, the salad dressing tasted like mayo, and the vegetables were undercooked. There was no show which had the kids disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

My husband and I were celebrating a late ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating a late Father's Day. This was the first time either one of us had visited this establishment. I had heard good reviews from other people and decided to give it a try since we were staying in the Downtown area. We were seated with another couple and their young son, along with an older couple, our waiter came out and took our order. After which the chef came and begin to prepare our meal. The soup and salad was decent next, was the entrees we had ordered; I ordered the shrimp and steak and my husband ordered the chicken and shrimp. It was horrible!! the food lacked both taste and proper seasoning. I felt so bad for my husband because after all, this was suppose to be a nice celebration for him. After dinner my husband and I went to Dunkin Donuts and then 711 for snacks after spending over $100.00 for a disgusting dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Terrible all around

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Terrible all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is a great restaurant for an energe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This is a great restaurant for an energetic and entertaining dining experience! The scallops cannot be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unsavory Birthday Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I brought a group of my friends here for a birthday celebration but it wasn't a very pleasant experience. In particular, we thought the service was very subpar and unenthusiastic with the waiting staff and the chef. For example, we weren't offer any water the entire time we were seated. One of my friends had to ask the chef to bring some water since the waitress barely attended or checked on us. The food itself was okay but we didn't think the portion size and flavor were worth the price. It actually took us awhile to even understand the prices on the menu given the confusing layout (and again this could've been easily resolved if the waitress offered to help us). I was super excited about coming to the establishment but I left fairly embarrassed since the birthday guest was unhappy. The staff did sing a birthday song but they presented some type of fake pineapple with candles that wasn't even a dessert. We weren't quite sure what to make or do with that presentation since it was poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This place is not worth the money! I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place is not worth the money! I've been to much better hibachi restaurants that cost a lot less. Our entire party of 5 paid extra for "fried rice". Our rice was white with some ground beef and egg added in. No soy sauce or flavor of any kind. Oh, except for black pepper. Our chef was very heavy handed on the black pepper. You would think for the price you are paying that the chefs would at least perform a little like at most hibachi restaurants with the twirling knives, volcano onion, etc., but no. I wouldn't have minded that part so much if the food was better. They only gave teriyaki sauce with meal, no soy or ginger. Very disappointing! No option for the garlic topping for shrimp, another disappointment. Our server was attentive but almost overly so. Just because you keep saying "no rush" doesn't mean you are not rushing us. My daughter was still eating when take out boxes were brought over and server came back for check every 2 mins after it was left on the table. No time to relax after your meal. I guess they needed the table! We would never return to this restaurant. Save your money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Consistently good but pricey

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my second visit to the Chicago Ron of Japan. For Mothers' Day the menu was limited and slightly more expensive than usual. Service was pleasant but not exceptional. Our chef looked Turkish and said very little. My party of three shared a table with another mother/father/son and conversation was good. The food is consistently good, but overpriced (which should be expected given the neighborhood).

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Just Go

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Loved this restaurant in Chicago. Special shout out to Cook Segundo!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. It's always a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food. Great service. It's always a pleasure to dine at Ron of Japan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I had some special request when I made the reservation. And they were able to accommadate me. Really enjoy the food and ambiance of the restaurant. Can't wait to come again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time :)

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The whole experience was amazing! I loved going for my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My ten year old daughter loves the showm ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My ten year old daughter loves the showmanship of the cooks. Our chef excelled as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

very overrated

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I have wanted to go to this restaurant for awhile - since I live close by. I was very dissatisfied with the seating arrangement (a curved booth with 5 strangers), the food (mediocre at best), the service (we felt very rushed), and the menu (which was unimaginative and did not seem like a Japanese restaurant). In addition, the prices, for what was offered, were very high. I can't think of any reason to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was overpriced for quality. No seas ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was overpriced for quality. No seasoning on food. Overall a big disappointment chef did not social with table at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This is a famous cook-at-your-table Japa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

This is a famous cook-at-your-table Japanese steak house. However, while quite expensive, the food was bland, all of the food was served very quickly (e.g., shrimp and beef were served just after the salad, giving us no time to eat the salad without letting the hot food get cold). The typical "show" of clanking knives, cutting veggies, making an onion volcano, etc., did not exist. Our sense was that this was the first time our cook ever cooked, but there was no show at any of the tables. As for ambience, loud rock music was playing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Our waiter didn't realize her table (our ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Our waiter didn't realize her table (our group) had been seated for about 25 minutes. When she realized the mistake, she seemed genuinely horrified and was very apologetic. Otherwise provided great service thereafter. Food as always was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Things have changed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been going to Ron of Japan for more than 20 yrs and we agreed that while the food quality is still good, the portions are getting smaller. Out of the eight people at the table, two didn't want mushrooms in their vegetables. The table chef omitted mushrooms completely from the stir fry. I asked why and he didn't answer me. We agreed that we probably won't be going back anymore.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Ron of Japan is awesome!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I've been coming to Ron of Japan since I was a little kid with my parents I am now 32, the service and food still taste as great as I remember. I've had the pleasure of meeting different cooks seguendo, Charles and lee all very friendly and great at what they do. I love this place and will continue to dine here always. I recommend the shogun dinner, try the egg yolk sauce it's the best creation ever! I love the atmosphere of it all you sit with others and Iget to talk to different people every time while watching the cooks cook in front of you. The waitresses are kind and the bartenders are very friendly as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I came here for Valentine's Day because they had a "Special" menu that they didn't publish online. Turns out, this "special menu" consisted of half of the original menu in an effort to keep their costs down for Valentine's Day. Don't worry though guys, they made sure to include the $100 steak dinner.

ALL prices were jacked up. ~$4 for a bowl of white rice?

When my date asked for spicy tuna rolls, they said they couldn't deviate from the menu and only can make non-spice tuna rolls. I was ready to leave after sitting at the cooking table for 20 minutes before the chef came out.

Won't return here, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Enjoyed my dinner but not the group

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I know they we sit with strangers but this group i wasn't to happy about. A girl with a fake baby was at the table I understnad it may have been for school but that was not the time and place. Wasn't too happy with the two men couple who was sitting with us. Dinner as always was great just not happy with the group sit down.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wasn't sure about this place after rea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I wasn't sure about this place after reading some of the negative reviews, but I'm glad I gave it a shot. My fiancé is a Japanophile, and this was my Valentine's Day present to him. The service was efficient, which I really appreciated -- though I never felt rushed. The food was wonderful, and the chef was friendly without being intrusive. The waitress did mess up my initial sake order, but she corrected it with the next bottle. That egg sauce is addictive-- I wanted it on everything!! Overall, this is a great place for a double date or a group of friends. Also, the proportions were just right-- not too much, but enough to fill you up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is WAY better than similar hiba ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is WAY better than similar hibachi places like Benihana's. Chefs are there to cook great food, not do tricks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The King Crab was excellent.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

The King Crab was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Stay Far Away from this place .

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Ron of Japan is the worst of the worst restaurant in all of Chicago. Terrible food, dark gloomy old atmosphere and really poor ventilation. Left there very hungry and clothes smelled like cheap cooking oil. Avoid at all cost!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Our chef, Lee, was personable and pleasa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Our chef, Lee, was personable and pleasant! He made us feel very comfortable & involved in the whole teppenyaki experience! Our waiter, Ben, was also wonderful. He checked on us frequently and was attentive to my allergy issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Solid at best

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

I'm huge on Japanese steakhouses. I absolutely love them. I was not a huge fan of the food here. Service was awesome. Ambient is nice. Food is overrated. Small portions for a big buck. Fried rice with beef seemed americanized. Not great on flavor. Vegetables were good. Chicken shrimp and steak were okay. Not my top 10 steakhouses though.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Server

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Our sever provided adequate service to us, but was noticeably short and not nearly as pleasant with the other couple at our table. It was awkward to witness, as any request made by the other couple was perfectly reasonable.

Food was great. Atmosphere was great. Really enjoyed everything else.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Amazing time

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We have been here several times before and have the food has always been amazing, and we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each time. We usually reserve this restaurant for special occasions, this last time was our 30th anniversary. Would definitely go back again and again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome As Always

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I have been coming to Ron for the past 35 years. It has had very minimal changes since the 1980s. The waitress's used to wear traditional Japanese dress. But now you will be taken very good care of by one of the very attentive servers in a black shirt and tie. The food as always is fantastic . It is as good or better then the first time. Every employee is happy and smiling ! We have celebrated many family birthdays here as well as date nights for two. I highly recommend it to all !

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food masterfully prepared befo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Excellent food masterfully prepared before your eyes. More showmanship with cooking knives, as is typical in other hibachi restaurants, would have have made it even better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have written numerous reviews for this r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Have written numerous reviews for this restaurant - have dined here numerous times and will continue to do so!

BEYOND OUTSTANDING FOOD

BEYOND OUTSTANDING QUALITY

BEYOND OUTSTANDING AMBIENCE

BEYOND OUTSTANDING SERVICE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.