Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan Steakhouse is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan Steakhouse to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan Steakhouse is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Romantic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

The visit started out slow. .. the greeters forgot us and we wanted 30 minutes before we were seated. Our server was lack luster in personality. The person I was with wasn't comfortable at the booth. Since we wanted for 30 minutes, the greeter could've asked our preference of table. Food was great.
The other guests at the table were nice. Price inflated for NYE.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Served me and father Tri tip sirloin not filet mignon with shogun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Our chef had been working for them for over 32 years. Great food, great service, great chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Long wait despite reservations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Meal was good. Service was rather slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2017

I picked this restaurant based on the reviews. Clearly, the people who had eaten here have no taste buds. The food is blane. My steak was cook well done. My beef fried rice (which had hamburger meat in it) was HORRIBLE. The egg sauce was not good. The drinks were great! Overall, I will continue to visit my 3 other Habachi options in Tinley, Orland and Merriville. Ron of Japan is for people who arent familar with Habachi! TWO THUMBS DOWN!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Over priced . Average food
Chef Hugo had an attitude and never smiled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Excellent place to spend a birthday. Great vibes and food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Ron of Japan is great! I wasn't too crazy about being seated with strangers, but eventually the ice was broken and it actually worked out in our favor because we got to watch everyone's dish be made right in front of us, because we all ordered something different. My favorite part was Chef Juan, HIGHLY recommended by the way! Smiled the entire time, interacted with us, and made sure we were satisfied. I couldn't believe the egg sauce was put on all the food! Obviously, you could opt out of it, but this is exactly what a new experience should be like. Overall, will be going back!
P.S. be sure to check out all the celebrities that sat in those same seats before you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Great Experience, the Chef was entertaining , food prepared perfectly , wait staff awesome

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Love the shrimp and egg sauce. It was amazing. Only place I have been able to find it is in Chicago area. Good food and service. Prices have gone up a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Service was very poor! It took forever to order and we couldn’t find the server to pay the bills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Have been going there for 30 years. Our chef Segundo is the best and it's my favorite Japenese restaurant however since going under new management for the last few years, the prices have sky rocketed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

Excellent all the way around, everything was top notch. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

After traveling to Japan, I sought to find authentic Japanese cuisine in Chicago. Ron of Japan has supassed any cuisine found in Japan itself, it features egg sauce, an ancient Japanese tradition. Highly recommend Rahm!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2017

I’ve been going to this restaurant every year for my birthday for 8 years in a row now. Sad to say that the service wasn’t as great this time. Service was slow and inattentive – had to wait a long time to get water refills, server never checked in on us, never asked if we needed anything. This visit was not up to par. Very disappointed as this used to be my favorite restaurant in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great food, great service and great asthetics. Have been there many times. Kids love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Tradition in our family to see the lights for the holidays and have an excellent meal at Ron’s! This year they didn’t disappoint! They even fitted us in a bit early!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

The egg yolk sauce steamed into the shrimp and lobster tail is great! The Super Duper Mai Tai’s are the best Mai Tai’s around.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We had a great time. Went out with a group of friends and enjoyed the atmosphere and energy. I've been to several Hibachi restaurants and this is definitely a top pick! Nice location too nestled near a lot of city nightlife.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Cancelled our reservation when we showed up 6 minutes late, half the staff left right at 9 pm (assume this is when they close?) we got there at 8:07 and didnt get food until 8:50 wasn’t our fault they were slow...

This place doesn’t do tricks and charges insane amounts for hibachi. Always hated it, always will. Will probably still come back seldomly when hibachi is needed until someone replaces them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We waited several minutes to have our own table. The hostess was very understanding about this and took care of us as soon as a table was open. The food was great and the chef we had was very polite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Totally Disappointed ! We went there to celebrate my boyfriends girls getting on the honor roll , I have not been in a long time and wow what a change. Our chef did not talk at all , and there was no engagement , the main part of the experience is the chef and the fire and some tricks. He was not even wearing a chef hat. Never again ..They used to be comparable to Benihana but now its just sitting at a table getting under cooked shrimp and overpriced rice. Terriable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

I have been going to the Northbrook location since 1985, then moved out of the state in 99. This downtown town location was not as nice, a bit smokey and run down. needs a facelift. But the service and food were great .We had a lovely time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Waited 15 minutes before anyone approached us for drinks. Then we waited 45 minutes for the Tableside Chef. We complained and they did provide a free round of drinks. Seabass, scallops, and, especially shrimp were great! $40 dollar ribeye tasted like a bad skirt steak. Had Chicken, Shrimp, and Steak Fried Rice and none of them were remarkable. Would not go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Amazing food!! The lobster and egg sauce are out of this world!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Ron of Japan never disappoints! It’s my go-to spot for an amazing meal cooked just the way I like it. And the drinks are just as good, too. I always leave happy and satisfied—what more could I ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Horrible food. Save your money!! I wish I could've gotten a refund. I'd rather had Benihanas, Chi-hung, or hamadas....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Excellent service.

Delicious steak.

Fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2017

I usually go to the Ron Of Japan on Northbrook even though i live a mile from the downtown location. Why? Because downtown is boring. Food is great , service is very good but nothings going on. Always put in a table with only my date. The chef rarely speaks. Just cooks the food, says thank you and leaves. Where is the fun? At Northbrook location the chef is very engaging and funny. Has fun cooking food. Tables are full and strangers sit next to each other. Just a better place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Ron of Japan is my favorite restaurant!! The best food I have ever had!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I took my wife for the first time. She was thoroughly pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I have been going to Ron of Japan for forty years. Their food quality and atmosphere has been consistent. I have never been disappointed and always look forward to the next time I can return,

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have to agree with other reviewers that the place seems dated. Went there in the 70's and 80's and it hasn't changed one bit, except they did add a big screen tv which is a huge distraction . The teppan service was by Juan. Good cook, but not very talkative or entertaining . Food was very good except my tuna roll was not up to par. Tuna was warm and mushy. I don't think we'll be back. They did bring out a pineapple with sparklers for son's and daughter's birthdays, while daughter was in ladies room!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I have been a customer of Ron's since 1972 and still look forward with anticipation to my next visit. Our chef expertly handled the dynamics of the meal with its preparation and delivery. He identified himself as Mr. Lee and aside from cooking a delicious meal, he was also an enjoyable conversationalist that enhanced the whole experience for me and my guests. Kudos, too, to the wait staff that were both polite and attentive to our needs. I must admit that with each visit I experience sticker shock to view the ever skyrocketing cost of menu items. If I have one gripe, it is the absence of the pot of green tea which for 35 to 40 years was complementary to the meal. For what Ron's charges these days, it really should be included without charge. Nonetheless, a great time was had by all.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Went for my parents 25th anniversary. Food was good but quite overpriced. Service was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was the worst dining experience I've ever had. We had a reservation and waited over a half hour for our table- keep in mind there were plenty of tables available. This is a hibachi grill and the exhaust in the whole restaurant was not working so everyone was basically choking on dirty smoke. I've been to this hibachi and many others before and everyone knows the cook is supposed to put on a little show- our guy didn't even light the grill on fire- he just turned it on. The food was awful- we weren't even given the rice that we ordered but 3 people at our table were served rice and we were not. I've been here before and the two experiences were night and day. It was so bad we left before our dessert arrived. There are so many restaurants in this area, there is no room for horrible service/ food/ atmosphere, etc. I will never go back there and hope you think twice before you do.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great fun night celebrating birthdays. Good food, great drinks and our server Segundo never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was top notch and the food was delicious!*

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing as always! I've been coming here since I was a kid. I hadn't been back to
Chicago in a couple of years and thankfully the restaurant has stayed the same. Thank you for always providing an amazing dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.