Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ron of Japan - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Casual (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Insane prices for what you gef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have been going for 25 years, it has been awhile since my last visit but the food is just as good as I remembered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Oh! How I LOVE Ron Of Japan! I have been going there since I was a child! Unbelievable how consistant the experience remains: friends expert staff, high quality food, excellent cocktails but I was disapointed that they have reduced the selection of house specialty cocktails. I bet if I had asked the bartender he could have made one of favorites. Next time!
My entire family loves RofJ as well. I hope we will be back soon and it never shuts its doors.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The experience here was not what I remembered it to be from years past. The "grill chef" pretty much just cooked the food. We asked to have the tails cooked (as I usually do) and he basically just let them crisp on the grill vs seasoning them etc. What happened to the show? To entertaining? Food was okay overall, but there was so much oil used on the grill all of our glasses had grease spatter on them when we left. $500 for 7 of us... I was hoping for something more entertaining and enjoyable then we got. Benihana and Rokbonki offered a better experience for the money if you ask me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. From steak to seafood, you can't go wrong. Tip: When the chef asks if you want egg sauce on your shrimp, say YES! You can thank me later. :)

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fun evening but not as good as it used to be.... Not a very good value for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ron is a standard in the Chicago area for teppanyaki dining. Don't expect the full table-side show, but the food is still excellent if extremely pricey for what you get. I ordered a steak very rare and I am extremely picky about this and they did a lovely job. The cut was very good and the preparation was spot on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A flavorless meal. Very forgettable
Would never suggest it to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great fun! If you want a quiet table for 2 this is NOT the place. Order the super Duper mai tai.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was just okay. The restaurant needs to be updated, the booths are a horrible fit. If one person needs to use the restroom everyone needs to get up. All tables would be better. The cooks are not interactive. The food is just okay. I'd rather spend my money elsewhere. I miss the Beni-Hana restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The hostess was extremely rude to us. The service up until the end was very good. She made our departure extremely bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food and service was good, the opening seating was horrible. The other person at the table complained and complained , she ruined the dinner for my son's birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great Birthday dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My sister, brother in law, and their three young daughters were in town for the weekend. Everyone loved it! Especially the six year old. I'm used to hibachi grills having the larger rectangular table but this was a much more intimate setting. The table easily sat the six of us with room for one more. They didn't do as many "tricks" as some hibachi grills, but the kids didn't know the difference so everyone left happy and entertained.
The food was good, although I wish I had asked for chicken fried rice since their standard is beef fried rice which I wasn't the biggest fan of.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Is was a good choice for monthly Mommy/Daughter day out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Server was very attentive to your every need. He did a great job of checking back on the table multiple times he was engaged but not intrusive. The chef prepared the meal perfectly and I appreciated the limited communication, as we got to enjoy watching a skilled chef prepare a wonderful meal of the freshest high quality ingredients. The shrimp appetizer is amazing, I know it is not heart healthy, but it is totally worth the risk!!

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is great but we were seated 25 minutes after reservation and the service was terrible. Had to chase a waiter down for the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good food, great service but overpriced. For two people, spending $150 with just two drinks is a bit high. The wait with reservations was about a half hour.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ron of Japan is my Five star Restaurant it is the best oriental Restaurant in the world to me and my friends... Thank you ROJ

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Organic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Way over priced for what you get. Spent $75 on a lobster dish that was just too much at this type of restaurant. Also slow to receive food. Not a great birthday dinner experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I've been here quiet a few times & some how it seems to get better each time! The hostesses were super friendly, I feel like I'm home each time. I came in Saturday night it was obviously busy. My friends & I had a couple Mai Tais at the bar (the best🍹😋) We were approached by one of the managers, a friendly hey how's everything, you'll be seated within 2mins. By then we had already made friends with the bartenders lol. Our chef was amazing as well as the food, our server was also awesome considering he had to take care of 9 of us! Thanks for always showing us a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food and chef are always excellent. Michael are served was absolutely terrible. This is the second time in a row we had him and he is the worst! He is extremely slow, inefficient and inattentive. He really hurts the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of my all time favorites! Been a favorite of mine for over 20yrs plus!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Historic, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat. Best food. You will pay for it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Simply the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The the wait time was almost an hour even though I had reservations, the waiter was good, the cook didn't put on a good show nor did he seem like he wanted to be there,he kept walking away form the grill while he was preparing the food, he didn't season the food at all, he just put it on the grill and cooked it, I ordered the shogun special and while my steak was very tender, it along with my lobster had no taste at all, since he did not season the food, I had to ask for salt to season my food once it was done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overpriced for the quality. Waiter was flustered most of the night. Not great for a date

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was great, cook was very pleasant enjoyed my date night

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

we sat with a very nice couple named Matt the car dealer and his wife. Segundo the chef was excellent! his food was tasteful and interacted well with us. The portions were very filling we had extra to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It lacked the entertainment value that you get at most Hibachi steakhouses. The cook wasn't very engaging. We had a track down a waiter to get our order started and get drinks after sitting there for quite some time. For as much as it costs compared to other Hibachi steakhouses, Ron's should have been the best in all these categories, especially on a Saturday night on Valentines weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and service. A fun spot for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had a great time. The food was very good. My only complaint would be that for about the first 20min of being seated, the people we were seated with each had multiple/very loud telephone conversations going. They had people on speaker phone and even FaceTime. I would have loved to have been able to move my seats. However after they got all of their "business" out of the way it was ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok, service was sub par. I told my waiter it was my wifes birthday and they said cool we will come by and sing happy birthday, Never showed up. I enjoyed the cook though very nice and entertaining. The steak didn't have any flavor though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Did not meet my expectations. Food was not tasteful, very bland.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We waited approx 30 mins after our reservation time to be seated. It appeared that it didn't really seem to matter if you had a reservation or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is always delicious but it is a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I enjoy this place every time I come. The food is the best.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been dining at Ron of Japan for over 15 years and it never disappoints. I highly recommend it for a great place to eat some delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been going to Ron of Japan for many years. Hasn't changed in over 20 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.