Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan Steakhouse is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan Steakhouse to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan Steakhouse is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (15)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down worst meal in a long while. Seated at a table with another couple who shared the same oppinion. Ingredients were of subpar quality and overcooked. Protein was dry and flavor less and the vegetables were sad looking. Pre dinner soup reminded me of a worse version of Campbell's and the salad was inedible. Overall I've eaten better airplane meals. Upon bringing these complaints to the manager, and after the other couple who actually recieved wrong food also complained, we got $30 off of our $120 meal for two. Considering we barely ate anything it was a fantastically terrible value. Never again Ron, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was out of this world amazing!
Lee was amazing and made the experience incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We've been coming here for years for every family special occasion and it never disappoints. Great food, cool space, super nice employees - we love it!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was good. Typical Hibachi fare.

However, our Chef was TERRIBLE. He barely said 10 words to us, kept leaving the table, did not smile, did not make any eye contact and made no effort to out on the typical Hibachi show with his cooking. We had a very eager and excited 7 and 12 year old (one celebrating a birthday!) in our group who were SO VERY disappointed that he was not fun at all.

We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Needs remodeling bad. The old stale smell and the old carpet kills it for me. The food is good. The experience would be a lot better if they remodel

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was a little disappointed. I had not been for several years and took two friends for a special outing. The most notable thing was the change in the the famous egg yolk sauce. It is sweeter than it ever was. I liked the old recipe. I know we Americans like sweet, but sometimes if it is not broken, don't fix it. Bring back the old recipe. This was downtown. Last year's visit to the one in Northbrook was quite lovely...food was excellent.

The cook was very nice and friendly...I don't know his name. Seemed a bit confused over the orders, but did not spoil anything. Quantities are smaller now than in the past while prices have definitely gone up.

I would give it another shot, but if the egg yolk sauce has changed, I won't bother.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I've been coming here since I was 5 - so about 20 years and even with the change in ownership/management, we've continue to come. Last night was just extremely irritating. I ordered the Midori colada, as I've done many times, and I guzzled this down like it was juice. And to my surprise, it was! The bartender wasn't adding Rum and when I brought it to his attention he told me I was lying and there was no Rum in the drink. After showing him the menu, he was basically like the drinks you've already paid for aren't my problem. Seriously? You've been serving juice for the last few rounds and I'm not going to be compensated for it?! I just...can't. Also, I've noticed that one of the cooks, Yao, just gets tired at some point and the quality goes down. I've had him more than twice and I'm just never quite as happy as I am when I have other cooks like Sugundo. I'll continue to come here but I feel like now I have to be extremely specific and anal when it comes to quality. Inching the prices up annually without a change or increase of service isn't going to cut it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

No hype. I have been to many hibachi restaurants, no show here, the food was decent, but I thought the smaller tables and more intimate setting would be a better show....knives, fire, whatever. I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Soon as we walked in,the smell of old fish was overwelming,the drinks for t we offer was$ 25.00,way,way over priced. The rice was taste-less,the lobster was over cooked and very rubbery. Vegetables were dry and overcooked. All in all,this placemail DUCKED BALLS. Im embarrassed to tell anyone I went here and payed for the garbage I was served. I finished none of my food. Rood them to throw it out,I didn't want to bring the cap home,much less stink up my car..$240.00 later. We left and got something to eat at Navy pier..Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Maybe it's because I was here on a Sunday night, but my experience doesn't seem to be similar to a lot of those on here. The food was overall passable and expensive. The waiter was nice and attentive, but the hibachi experience couldn't have been less "flairless." The chef prepared the food reasonably well, but with absolutely 0 pomp and circumstance aside from the mandatory oil flame at the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great fun, great meal! Special thanks to chef Juan for indulging us with extra egg sauce. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Will start by qualifying that we were the first table seated - right at 5pm as they opened. Having said that, they were still open. But, soup not ready and barely warm when it arrived. Brown rice not ready until long after our main course was prepared. Although the music playing was from my era, it was loud and did nothing to create a Japanese ambiance. Food was very good, but was prepared with no flair or even a hint of enthusiasm. Has to be a better Japanese steakhouse option in Chicago.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We recently came to Ron of Japan to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. We were greeted warmly upon walking in and the lovely hosts directed us to the waiting area as they set up our table. There was just enough time to grab a delicious mai tai from the friendly bartender before we were promptly seated at our reservation time. Our server was very helpful in explaining the menu and provided consistently attentive and thoughtful service throughout our meal. I ordered the shogun dinner and the portion was so generous, I couldn’t even finish it! Chef Yao cooked the lobster tail and filet to perfection and the quality and freshness of the ingredients was unbeatable. At the end of the meal, the staff gathered with sparklers as they sang happy birthday, which was such a special surprise! On our way out, we actually met the managers and they were both extremely kind and professional. Overall, we had an amazing time here and the welcoming staff and outstanding food will definitely have us coming back again and again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had so much fun at Ron of Japan. It is a great Birthday Celebration spot. The staff was friendly, especially our hibachi chef. Food is delicious (although def not "healthy"), and cocktails were also great. We were nervous to sit at a communal table, but our neighbors were sweet and told us when to take out our phones for hibachi tricks!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband initially introduced me to this place 8 years ago . He loves this place and I grew to like it as well. My husband goes there so much to the point that the manager know him by name and also knows which chefs that he likes. On this day we took my son there for his graduation because he loves the egg sauce and all of our food was horrible. The chef was very nice but he just didn't cook the food good. The grill was too hot and and was not seasoned. Of coarse we did tell the manager and she just gave us 2 $20 gift certificates, our bill was over $340 not including the tip . We have spent thousands in this place and she didn't take nothing off the bill for the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great place, food and people. Always fun with family and friends.

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The server didn't know the drink menu AT ALL!! Frustrating!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I use to love Ron of Japan. But that was my third time where my lobster tail was over cooked and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Overpriced for the quality of the food. I would definitely not recommend it to anybody

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Decent service. Not worth $115 for 2 without any beverages. Steak was marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good experience- waiter was Michael and cook was Juan. Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was good, service was great. Could offer a little more portion wise for the price. Overall enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food without the dramatics.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What I love so much about Ron of Japan is that just about every group has their own personal table and chef - you are not stuck with a bunch of people you don't know. This was a perfect setting for a birthday celebration.

I will say - they need to update their menu online. It didn't have the most up to date information - for instance I wanted to find out about valet parking. Also, the menu didn't match what was given in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I am 63 and started coming here when I was 19. Haven't been back for 20 years as I live out of town. I love the egg mixture but my friend did not like it on everything. The shrimp were a lot smaller than I remember, and the red king crab was very small. Used to love the miso soup, they now served chicken noodle that didn't have a lot of taste except for too much salt. Salad dressing is the same, liked it but too much on the salad. Liked it but a bit disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great Japanese steakhouse. We love the egg sauce on the shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our chef, Lee was amazing. The server could use a softer touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome experience! Friendly staff & great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I got sick off the food after eating at Ron of Japan. Waited 45 minutes for a table from my original reservation time..

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It was great, food, service, people were friendly would recommend it to anyone

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant is always great. Best food of this type anywhere!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've been coming to Ron of Japan for the last 20 years....The egg yolk sauce NEVER disappoints!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Ron of Japan was great as usual. The food is always great, quantity good and prices reasonable. We have been going there since the mid 70's and make sure we always go when in Chicago.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

First time here & will definitely be back! Delicious food & very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was very good. Wish the server made sure we had the dipping sauce in our doggy bag. :(

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Insane prices for what you gef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I have been going for 25 years, it has been awhile since my last visit but the food is just as good as I remembered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Oh! How I LOVE Ron Of Japan! I have been going there since I was a child! Unbelievable how consistant the experience remains: friends expert staff, high quality food, excellent cocktails but I was disapointed that they have reduced the selection of house specialty cocktails. I bet if I had asked the bartender he could have made one of favorites. Next time!
My entire family loves RofJ as well. I hope we will be back soon and it never shuts its doors.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The experience here was not what I remembered it to be from years past. The "grill chef" pretty much just cooked the food. We asked to have the tails cooked (as I usually do) and he basically just let them crisp on the grill vs seasoning them etc. What happened to the show? To entertaining? Food was okay overall, but there was so much oil used on the grill all of our glasses had grease spatter on them when we left. $500 for 7 of us... I was hoping for something more entertaining and enjoyable then we got. Benihana and Rokbonki offered a better experience for the money if you ask me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.