Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan Steakhouse is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan Steakhouse to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan Steakhouse is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Authentic (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband initially introduced me to this place 8 years ago . He loves this place and I grew to like it as well. My husband goes there so much to the point that the manager know him by name and also knows which chefs that he likes. On this day we took my son there for his graduation because he loves the egg sauce and all of our food was horrible. The chef was very nice but he just didn't cook the food good. The grill was too hot and and was not seasoned. Of coarse we did tell the manager and she just gave us 2 $20 gift certificates, our bill was over $340 not including the tip . We have spent thousands in this place and she didn't take nothing off the bill for the service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great place, food and people. Always fun with family and friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The server didn't know the drink menu AT ALL!! Frustrating!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I use to love Ron of Japan. But that was my third time where my lobster tail was over cooked and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Overpriced for the quality of the food. I would definitely not recommend it to anybody

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Decent service. Not worth $115 for 2 without any beverages. Steak was marginal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good experience- waiter was Michael and cook was Juan. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was good, service was great. Could offer a little more portion wise for the price. Overall enjoyed the atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food without the dramatics.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What I love so much about Ron of Japan is that just about every group has their own personal table and chef - you are not stuck with a bunch of people you don't know. This was a perfect setting for a birthday celebration.

I will say - they need to update their menu online. It didn't have the most up to date information - for instance I wanted to find out about valet parking. Also, the menu didn't match what was given in the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I am 63 and started coming here when I was 19. Haven't been back for 20 years as I live out of town. I love the egg mixture but my friend did not like it on everything. The shrimp were a lot smaller than I remember, and the red king crab was very small. Used to love the miso soup, they now served chicken noodle that didn't have a lot of taste except for too much salt. Salad dressing is the same, liked it but too much on the salad. Liked it but a bit disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great Japanese steakhouse. We love the egg sauce on the shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our chef, Lee was amazing. The server could use a softer touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome experience! Friendly staff & great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I got sick off the food after eating at Ron of Japan. Waited 45 minutes for a table from my original reservation time..

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was great, food, service, people were friendly would recommend it to anyone

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant is always great. Best food of this type anywhere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been coming to Ron of Japan for the last 20 years....The egg yolk sauce NEVER disappoints!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ron of Japan was great as usual. The food is always great, quantity good and prices reasonable. We have been going there since the mid 70's and make sure we always go when in Chicago.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

First time here & will definitely be back! Delicious food & very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was very good. Wish the server made sure we had the dipping sauce in our doggy bag. :(

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Insane prices for what you gef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have been going for 25 years, it has been awhile since my last visit but the food is just as good as I remembered.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Oh! How I LOVE Ron Of Japan! I have been going there since I was a child! Unbelievable how consistant the experience remains: friends expert staff, high quality food, excellent cocktails but I was disapointed that they have reduced the selection of house specialty cocktails. I bet if I had asked the bartender he could have made one of favorites. Next time!
My entire family loves RofJ as well. I hope we will be back soon and it never shuts its doors.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The experience here was not what I remembered it to be from years past. The "grill chef" pretty much just cooked the food. We asked to have the tails cooked (as I usually do) and he basically just let them crisp on the grill vs seasoning them etc. What happened to the show? To entertaining? Food was okay overall, but there was so much oil used on the grill all of our glasses had grease spatter on them when we left. $500 for 7 of us... I was hoping for something more entertaining and enjoyable then we got. Benihana and Rokbonki offered a better experience for the money if you ask me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. From steak to seafood, you can't go wrong. Tip: When the chef asks if you want egg sauce on your shrimp, say YES! You can thank me later. :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fun evening but not as good as it used to be.... Not a very good value for sure.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ron is a standard in the Chicago area for teppanyaki dining. Don't expect the full table-side show, but the food is still excellent if extremely pricey for what you get. I ordered a steak very rare and I am extremely picky about this and they did a lovely job. The cut was very good and the preparation was spot on.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A flavorless meal. Very forgettable
Would never suggest it to anyone

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great fun! If you want a quiet table for 2 this is NOT the place. Order the super Duper mai tai.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was just okay. The restaurant needs to be updated, the booths are a horrible fit. If one person needs to use the restroom everyone needs to get up. All tables would be better. The cooks are not interactive. The food is just okay. I'd rather spend my money elsewhere. I miss the Beni-Hana restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The hostess was extremely rude to us. The service up until the end was very good. She made our departure extremely bad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food and service was good, the opening seating was horrible. The other person at the table complained and complained , she ruined the dinner for my son's birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great Birthday dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My sister, brother in law, and their three young daughters were in town for the weekend. Everyone loved it! Especially the six year old. I'm used to hibachi grills having the larger rectangular table but this was a much more intimate setting. The table easily sat the six of us with room for one more. They didn't do as many "tricks" as some hibachi grills, but the kids didn't know the difference so everyone left happy and entertained.
The food was good, although I wish I had asked for chicken fried rice since their standard is beef fried rice which I wasn't the biggest fan of.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Is was a good choice for monthly Mommy/Daughter day out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Server was very attentive to your every need. He did a great job of checking back on the table multiple times he was engaged but not intrusive. The chef prepared the meal perfectly and I appreciated the limited communication, as we got to enjoy watching a skilled chef prepare a wonderful meal of the freshest high quality ingredients. The shrimp appetizer is amazing, I know it is not heart healthy, but it is totally worth the risk!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is great but we were seated 25 minutes after reservation and the service was terrible. Had to chase a waiter down for the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good food, great service but overpriced. For two people, spending $150 with just two drinks is a bit high. The wait with reservations was about a half hour.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ron of Japan is my Five star Restaurant it is the best oriental Restaurant in the world to me and my friends... Thank you ROJ

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Organic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.