About Ron of Japan - Chicago

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (14)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (6)
Family Style (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and chef are always excellent. Michael are served was absolutely terrible. This is the second time in a row we had him and he is the worst! He is extremely slow, inefficient and inattentive. He really hurts the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my all time favorites! Been a favorite of mine for over 20yrs plus!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Historic, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorite places to eat. Best food. You will pay for it though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The the wait time was almost an hour even though I had reservations, the waiter was good, the cook didn't put on a good show nor did he seem like he wanted to be there,he kept walking away form the grill while he was preparing the food, he didn't season the food at all, he just put it on the grill and cooked it, I ordered the shogun special and while my steak was very tender, it along with my lobster had no taste at all, since he did not season the food, I had to ask for salt to season my food once it was done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overpriced for the quality. Waiter was flustered most of the night. Not great for a date

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was great, cook was very pleasant enjoyed my date night

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

we sat with a very nice couple named Matt the car dealer and his wife. Segundo the chef was excellent! his food was tasteful and interacted well with us. The portions were very filling we had extra to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It lacked the entertainment value that you get at most Hibachi steakhouses. The cook wasn't very engaging. We had a track down a waiter to get our order started and get drinks after sitting there for quite some time. For as much as it costs compared to other Hibachi steakhouses, Ron's should have been the best in all these categories, especially on a Saturday night on Valentines weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had a great time. The food was very good. My only complaint would be that for about the first 20min of being seated, the people we were seated with each had multiple/very loud telephone conversations going. They had people on speaker phone and even FaceTime. I would have loved to have been able to move my seats. However after they got all of their "business" out of the way it was ok.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was ok, service was sub par. I told my waiter it was my wifes birthday and they said cool we will come by and sing happy birthday, Never showed up. I enjoyed the cook though very nice and entertaining. The steak didn't have any flavor though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Did not meet my expectations. Food was not tasteful, very bland.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We waited approx 30 mins after our reservation time to be seated. It appeared that it didn't really seem to matter if you had a reservation or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is always delicious but it is a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I enjoy this place every time I come. The food is the best.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Spicy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I have been dining at Ron of Japan for over 15 years and it never disappoints. I highly recommend it for a great place to eat some delicious food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Have been going to Ron of Japan for many years. Hasn't changed in over 20 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I have had two extraordinary experiences here at Ron of Japan, the first time it was in celebration of my boyfriend's birthday and he enjoyed it so much that this time he brought his daughter for her birthday and she loved it as well.

Next visit will be for my daughter's birthday and I am sure she will enjoy it as well.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was a wonderful time. the food was great as well as the staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Having a TV in the middle of the dining room ruined the ambiance, although it was good as we had to wait for service before the cooking and after the chef was done. The grill was on very high and the food was overdone. With the overhead fan not working, a lot of the smoke from the grill went into my wife's face - she smelled tasty, but she wasn't happy. You get a lot of food, which was a good thing. We would be challenged to go back there. Don't mind spending $150+ on a good dinner, but it won't be here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was a favorite restaurant for a long time, but after this experience we will never be back.

The service was slow. The food quality seems to have diminished over the last couple of years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Not bad. A little dated looking, the food was above average for hibachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Very disappointing in almost every respect. I first dined here 40 years ago. It has been going downhill ever since. The service was atrocious and unfriendly to boot. The food was of poor quality, including tough steak and medocre scallops. Preparation was desultory, lacking the "showmanship" of a top tier Japanese steakhouse. Only one type of sauce was provided. The house wine (a Cabernet) sucked, although the hot sake was OK. Add in the fact that the whole meal was overpriced. I/we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Overpriced. Inattentive service. Good chef Yao

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Went with friends who like this concept. I live in the area so I know what to expect for prices. Other than the bartender, I found the servers and cooks really were just going through the motions. The grills were not well vented so my daughter who lives in a smoke free world was bothered by this. I usually take the "suck it up, we could be in a bar in Wisconsin attitude," but it was bad.

My companion who picked the place and also lives in the area does not let this stuff go, complained, but again she picked the place and the kids were moderately happy. The cook was ok, but did not do any of the cute kid friendly stuff we have seen at other habachi restaurants. Her last straw was when she asked for both the check and dessert at the same time because her youngest was getting crabby after an over two hour meal. This simple request became an argument.

We were six, a group of two, and her group of four. Then the separate checks came with the service charge added, now my family had a high end Italian restaurant so this is one of my major peeves. Custom in Chicago is service charge is added at parties of eight, and then the server needs to make this absolutely clear to the guests verbally when putting the checks on the table that the service charge was added. Nothing. I think this was revenge for the dessert issue. Paid it, left tip as the service charge because when you try to do the double tip thing hoping I cannot or an too drunk to read, fine that is what you get. Otherwise, I'll round up to a solid 20%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place is very over rated the food was not that good. Find some place cheaper and with better food it will not be hard in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the staff was fun and accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing. Best place ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best place ever!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2017

this place is a shadow of its former self. went here several times over the years and always had good time, no more. unfriendly staff felt rushed food un impressive, what happened to the cooking fun stuff? I suspect the younger generation took over and down the tubes it goes. not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Bull* hit food.. No noodles this suppose to be an hibachi restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service. Did not appreciate the holiday surge pricing/special menu.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my third visit to Ron of Japan. Each time, I ve never been disappointed. The restaurant staff was very accommodating to our large and late party. We ran late by about 15 mins and they still acoomodated us. I would definitely recommend this for a group. Noise level is moderate because you're sitting so close. The noise level didn't bother our party.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

In a word-ick

Oily food

Oily atmosphere

Clothes reeked of oil

There are much better places to go in chicago where you can spend $75 per person

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food is good. We do not care for the fried rice. They make it with beef. The food is less portions than it used to be. A little over priced for the amount of food you get, very little vegetables. We go to many Japanese steak houses, we don't usually leave not feeling full. The service is very slow. We had to go to the bar for every drink we ordered, a server never came around to take our drink order. Every time we visit this restaurant, we find ourselves going to the bar to get our drinks. We had to wait a long time before a cook was available. Once you have a cook, it moves pretty quickly. Overall, we keep coming back because of the memories we had growing up, not the service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The Food was very good and good comfortable chairs and not that loud. The man cooking our food was very cation and could control the fire and the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

food was good, Service was great goid for any type of occasion, I was there with my boyfriend kept thinkng it would have been better if we could have been in our own booth vs shared sitting.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had a great time. food was great a bit expensive but good. Plum wine was flowing..

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have been owing to Rons for 35+ years. Secuondo (sp?), has been a favorite chef of ours and always provides us with the best experience. From valet, managers, bartenders, servers and chef, all top notch. This is my husbands favorite "special occasion" go to place. Lobster dinner with a lobster appetizer. Nothing better. I love the shrimp. A little crisp with egg yolk deliciousness on top. Thanks Rons for many years of great memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was not great at all. I had the filet and you could really tell it was not a good grade of meat. The chicken soup was horrible-the chicken was dry which was weird because it was in a soup. My lobster was good. And the beef fried rice was awful it tasted like hamburger in rice. I was very disappointed with the food and this is not my first time dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was ok but they need proper ventilation. My hair and clothes smelled ! They reeked ! They use too much oil . The 7up tasted weird . The seating is too close and way too smokey with flames too close for comfort ! If that your kind of thing then by all means go there .If you have any type of respiratory issue I would stay away ! Not for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I love Ron of Japan and will 100% be back as soon as I can! The only edit I would make is to ensure the guest is aware that when the server is suggesting the post-meal included ice cream, the pineapple they suggest is a literal quartered pineapple not pineapple ice cream. Which was confusing for the three people at the table who ordered pineapple off of the server's ice cream flavor suggestions. That conversation was as follows:

Server: "Are you guys ready for some ice cream?"

Table [emphatically]: "Yeah!"

Server: "Okay, we have vanilla, chocolate, Rocky Road, mint, and pineapple."

Much to our wandering eye should appear - two chocolate ice creams, one vanilla ice cream, and three quartered pineapples! Don't get me wrong, the pineapple was quite delightful, and easy to eat, but it was like expecting a chocolate chip cookie and getting oatmeal raisin - still delicious, but not what you were going for.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is the original restaurant of two (the other is in Northbrook). It has been in business since the 1970s, and for good reason. The atmosphere is cozy and unique. The food is great. The portions are generous. It's a dark restaurant where you sit around a hibachi with six people or so and the food is prepared to order in front of you. They have great seafood and steak. They are famous for their egg sauce, which will not disappoint. The chef will make a big flame for your entertainment. The staff is polite and welcoming. Mrs. Snodgrass and I live nearby and they know us by name. The bartender has our drinks ready as soon as we sit down. Definitely worth coming back to. Most of the people we meet there are also regulars even if they have to drive in from the suburbs.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love the place and will continue to go. No other place can do better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've eaten at many Japanese Hibachi restaurants and love the concept. However, this restaurant is not ideal in that you are seated at low booths or tables (vs normal high tables) and there was little to no showmanship that is customary. Service (e.g. drinks etc.) also was not up to my standards and not very attentive. Food was okay, but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I love the food..never have I had a bad experience there...

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We have gone to Ron of Japan many times and I couldn't have been more disappointed! They did away with any of the fancy knife skills and tricks. The veggies came out pre-cut, the rice had ground beef in it and tasted only of salt. Our chef was completely inpersonable. We will never go back. What a shame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Segundo is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.