Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan Steakhouse is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan Steakhouse to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan Steakhouse is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:45pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Ron of Japan Steakhouse - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Casual (8)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Horrible food. Save your money!! I wish I could've gotten a refund. I'd rather had Benihanas, Chi-hung, or hamadas....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service.

Delicious steak.

Fun environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I usually go to the Ron Of Japan on Northbrook even though i live a mile from the downtown location. Why? Because downtown is boring. Food is great , service is very good but nothings going on. Always put in a table with only my date. The chef rarely speaks. Just cooks the food, says thank you and leaves. Where is the fun? At Northbrook location the chef is very engaging and funny. Has fun cooking food. Tables are full and strangers sit next to each other. Just a better place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Ron of Japan is my favorite restaurant!! The best food I have ever had!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I took my wife for the first time. She was thoroughly pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I have been going to Ron of Japan for forty years. Their food quality and atmosphere has been consistent. I have never been disappointed and always look forward to the next time I can return,

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have to agree with other reviewers that the place seems dated. Went there in the 70's and 80's and it hasn't changed one bit, except they did add a big screen tv which is a huge distraction . The teppan service was by Juan. Good cook, but not very talkative or entertaining . Food was very good except my tuna roll was not up to par. Tuna was warm and mushy. I don't think we'll be back. They did bring out a pineapple with sparklers for son's and daughter's birthdays, while daughter was in ladies room!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

I have been a customer of Ron's since 1972 and still look forward with anticipation to my next visit. Our chef expertly handled the dynamics of the meal with its preparation and delivery. He identified himself as Mr. Lee and aside from cooking a delicious meal, he was also an enjoyable conversationalist that enhanced the whole experience for me and my guests. Kudos, too, to the wait staff that were both polite and attentive to our needs. I must admit that with each visit I experience sticker shock to view the ever skyrocketing cost of menu items. If I have one gripe, it is the absence of the pot of green tea which for 35 to 40 years was complementary to the meal. For what Ron's charges these days, it really should be included without charge. Nonetheless, a great time was had by all.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Went for my parents 25th anniversary. Food was good but quite overpriced. Service was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

This was the worst dining experience I've ever had. We had a reservation and waited over a half hour for our table- keep in mind there were plenty of tables available. This is a hibachi grill and the exhaust in the whole restaurant was not working so everyone was basically choking on dirty smoke. I've been to this hibachi and many others before and everyone knows the cook is supposed to put on a little show- our guy didn't even light the grill on fire- he just turned it on. The food was awful- we weren't even given the rice that we ordered but 3 people at our table were served rice and we were not. I've been here before and the two experiences were night and day. It was so bad we left before our dessert arrived. There are so many restaurants in this area, there is no room for horrible service/ food/ atmosphere, etc. I will never go back there and hope you think twice before you do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great fun night celebrating birthdays. Good food, great drinks and our server Segundo never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was top notch and the food was delicious!*

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Casual, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing as always! I've been coming here since I was a kid. I hadn't been back to
Chicago in a couple of years and thankfully the restaurant has stayed the same. Thank you for always providing an amazing dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have dined at different hibachi restaurants and generally the chef attempts to entertain the guests by doing "tricks" and etc. In this case it was pretty much straight cooking and serving. Slightly disappointed with that experience or rather the lack of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Hands down worst meal in a long while. Seated at a table with another couple who shared the same oppinion. Ingredients were of subpar quality and overcooked. Protein was dry and flavor less and the vegetables were sad looking. Pre dinner soup reminded me of a worse version of Campbell's and the salad was inedible. Overall I've eaten better airplane meals. Upon bringing these complaints to the manager, and after the other couple who actually recieved wrong food also complained, we got $30 off of our $120 meal for two. Considering we barely ate anything it was a fantastically terrible value. Never again Ron, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was out of this world amazing!
Lee was amazing and made the experience incredible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We've been coming here for years for every family special occasion and it never disappoints. Great food, cool space, super nice employees - we love it!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was good. Typical Hibachi fare.

However, our Chef was TERRIBLE. He barely said 10 words to us, kept leaving the table, did not smile, did not make any eye contact and made no effort to out on the typical Hibachi show with his cooking. We had a very eager and excited 7 and 12 year old (one celebrating a birthday!) in our group who were SO VERY disappointed that he was not fun at all.

We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Needs remodeling bad. The old stale smell and the old carpet kills it for me. The food is good. The experience would be a lot better if they remodel

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was a little disappointed. I had not been for several years and took two friends for a special outing. The most notable thing was the change in the the famous egg yolk sauce. It is sweeter than it ever was. I liked the old recipe. I know we Americans like sweet, but sometimes if it is not broken, don't fix it. Bring back the old recipe. This was downtown. Last year's visit to the one in Northbrook was quite lovely...food was excellent.

The cook was very nice and friendly...I don't know his name. Seemed a bit confused over the orders, but did not spoil anything. Quantities are smaller now than in the past while prices have definitely gone up.

I would give it another shot, but if the egg yolk sauce has changed, I won't bother.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I've been coming here since I was 5 - so about 20 years and even with the change in ownership/management, we've continue to come. Last night was just extremely irritating. I ordered the Midori colada, as I've done many times, and I guzzled this down like it was juice. And to my surprise, it was! The bartender wasn't adding Rum and when I brought it to his attention he told me I was lying and there was no Rum in the drink. After showing him the menu, he was basically like the drinks you've already paid for aren't my problem. Seriously? You've been serving juice for the last few rounds and I'm not going to be compensated for it?! I just...can't. Also, I've noticed that one of the cooks, Yao, just gets tired at some point and the quality goes down. I've had him more than twice and I'm just never quite as happy as I am when I have other cooks like Sugundo. I'll continue to come here but I feel like now I have to be extremely specific and anal when it comes to quality. Inching the prices up annually without a change or increase of service isn't going to cut it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

No hype. I have been to many hibachi restaurants, no show here, the food was decent, but I thought the smaller tables and more intimate setting would be a better show....knives, fire, whatever. I wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Soon as we walked in,the smell of old fish was overwelming,the drinks for t we offer was$ 25.00,way,way over priced. The rice was taste-less,the lobster was over cooked and very rubbery. Vegetables were dry and overcooked. All in all,this placemail DUCKED BALLS. Im embarrassed to tell anyone I went here and payed for the garbage I was served. I finished none of my food. Rood them to throw it out,I didn't want to bring the cap home,much less stink up my car..$240.00 later. We left and got something to eat at Navy pier..Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Maybe it's because I was here on a Sunday night, but my experience doesn't seem to be similar to a lot of those on here. The food was overall passable and expensive. The waiter was nice and attentive, but the hibachi experience couldn't have been less "flairless." The chef prepared the food reasonably well, but with absolutely 0 pomp and circumstance aside from the mandatory oil flame at the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great fun, great meal! Special thanks to chef Juan for indulging us with extra egg sauce. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Will start by qualifying that we were the first table seated - right at 5pm as they opened. Having said that, they were still open. But, soup not ready and barely warm when it arrived. Brown rice not ready until long after our main course was prepared. Although the music playing was from my era, it was loud and did nothing to create a Japanese ambiance. Food was very good, but was prepared with no flair or even a hint of enthusiasm. Has to be a better Japanese steakhouse option in Chicago.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We recently came to Ron of Japan to celebrate a birthday and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. We were greeted warmly upon walking in and the lovely hosts directed us to the waiting area as they set up our table. There was just enough time to grab a delicious mai tai from the friendly bartender before we were promptly seated at our reservation time. Our server was very helpful in explaining the menu and provided consistently attentive and thoughtful service throughout our meal. I ordered the shogun dinner and the portion was so generous, I couldn’t even finish it! Chef Yao cooked the lobster tail and filet to perfection and the quality and freshness of the ingredients was unbeatable. At the end of the meal, the staff gathered with sparklers as they sang happy birthday, which was such a special surprise! On our way out, we actually met the managers and they were both extremely kind and professional. Overall, we had an amazing time here and the welcoming staff and outstanding food will definitely have us coming back again and again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had so much fun at Ron of Japan. It is a great Birthday Celebration spot. The staff was friendly, especially our hibachi chef. Food is delicious (although def not "healthy"), and cocktails were also great. We were nervous to sit at a communal table, but our neighbors were sweet and told us when to take out our phones for hibachi tricks!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband initially introduced me to this place 8 years ago . He loves this place and I grew to like it as well. My husband goes there so much to the point that the manager know him by name and also knows which chefs that he likes. On this day we took my son there for his graduation because he loves the egg sauce and all of our food was horrible. The chef was very nice but he just didn't cook the food good. The grill was too hot and and was not seasoned. Of coarse we did tell the manager and she just gave us 2 $20 gift certificates, our bill was over $340 not including the tip . We have spent thousands in this place and she didn't take nothing off the bill for the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great place, food and people. Always fun with family and friends.

Tags: Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The server didn't know the drink menu AT ALL!! Frustrating!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I use to love Ron of Japan. But that was my third time where my lobster tail was over cooked and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Overpriced for the quality of the food. I would definitely not recommend it to anybody

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Decent service. Not worth $115 for 2 without any beverages. Steak was marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good experience- waiter was Michael and cook was Juan. Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was good, service was great. Could offer a little more portion wise for the price. Overall enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food without the dramatics.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What I love so much about Ron of Japan is that just about every group has their own personal table and chef - you are not stuck with a bunch of people you don't know. This was a perfect setting for a birthday celebration.

I will say - they need to update their menu online. It didn't have the most up to date information - for instance I wanted to find out about valet parking. Also, the menu didn't match what was given in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I am 63 and started coming here when I was 19. Haven't been back for 20 years as I live out of town. I love the egg mixture but my friend did not like it on everything. The shrimp were a lot smaller than I remember, and the red king crab was very small. Used to love the miso soup, they now served chicken noodle that didn't have a lot of taste except for too much salt. Salad dressing is the same, liked it but too much on the salad. Liked it but a bit disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.