About Ron of Japan - Chicago

230 E. Ontario
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

With your choice of Japanese favorites such as seafood, chicken, steak and vegetables artfully grilled on an iron plate, our phenomenal tableside cooking experience at Ron of Japan is truly an experience worth sharing.



For an evening you’ll never forget - whether you’re with a group or you’re seeking a taste of something extravagant - you’re never alone. Join us at Ron of Japan to celebrate an occasion with a unifying dining experience that emphasizes the Japanese element with a uniquely familiar sense of friendship and flavor.



Ron of Japan is distinguished by our highly trained chefs who put their culinary eccentricities on display while they blend their classic cooking technique into our bold flavors - giving you an invigorating and delicious teppan-grilled specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 644-6500

Website:
http://rojfordinner.com/

Parking Details:
Valet & Street Parking also available

Public Transit:
El Stop State & Grand

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Vegetables - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Grilled Lobster Tails - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Fried Rice - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Junmai Ginjo Sake - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Shogun Dinner - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Lobster & Shrimp with Yolk Sauce - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Grilled Vegetables - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Grilled Lobster Tails - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Fried Rice - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Junmai Ginjo Sake - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Shogun Dinner - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL
Lobster & Shrimp with Yolk Sauce - Ron of Japan - Chicago, Chicago, IL

Ron of Japan - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the place and will continue to go. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the place and will continue to go. No other place can do better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at many Japanese Hibachi rest ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've eaten at many Japanese Hibachi restaurants and love the concept. However, this restaurant is not ideal in that you are seated at low booths or tables (vs normal high tables) and there was little to no showmanship that is customary. Service (e.g. drinks etc.) also was not up to my standards and not very attentive. Food was okay, but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I love the food..never have I had a bad ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I love the food..never have I had a bad experience there...

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone to Ron of Japan many times ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We have gone to Ron of Japan many times and I couldn't have been more disappointed! They did away with any of the fancy knife skills and tricks. The veggies came out pre-cut, the rice had ground beef in it and tasted only of salt. Our chef was completely inpersonable. We will never go back. What a shame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Segundo is the best

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Segundo is the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been dining at Ron of Japan for ye ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We've been dining at Ron of Japan for years at their Northbrook location and always have a great time. I have also dined that this specific location over a dozen times and this was by far the WORST experience we ever had. The chef threw the food on the flat top and would walk away. LOADED the food with salt. No interaction, no tricks. No one bussed our table at all. Salad bowls, empty glassware, everything still sitting on the table when dessert came. It was a friend's birthday and a server (not even our server) threw the sparkler down on the grill and it slid across almost falling over onto my friend. When we spoke with the manager he said they don't do tricks. When we said we've been coming to their Northbrook location for over 25 years and they always do them. He then tried telling us he works closely with the managers there and they don't do them. When we told him how much salt the chef put on the food he said... Well they cook to their own taste. As a restaurant operator that is CRAP! Normally we wouldn't complain because we are all in the service industry, but this entire experience with the exception of the host stand was HORRIBLE! Next time we will be sure to take our business elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food is good and the staff is nice. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food is good and the staff is nice. There just isn't the showmanship once seen at these places. No tricks like at Benihana. So at the end you are wondering why you ate at a grill (and smell like a grill) if there is no entertainment value.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Ron of Japan is always a great place to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Ron of Japan is always a great place to go - consistent and delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early reservation, 6 PM, becau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had an early reservation, 6 PM, because we have small children and as of 6:45 still had not been served. We did not leave until close to 8:30. Overall, I thought everything took way too long.

Otherwise, food was good and we all enjoyed. We just got home too late!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have been to this location many times ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to this location many times. It had been several months since we ventured back and left this time a little disappointed. Our server was new, which was ok, but for a very slow Sunday afternoon, the service was slow. The food was as spectacular as in the past. Our filet was salty and it seemed the portions were smaller even though the prices went up. Slightly disappointed but would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were expecting more sushi, since I se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were expecting more sushi, since I searched open table for sushi, but realized it was a hibachi steakhouse when I got there. The server was excellent, and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

We always have a great time!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We always have a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

There was so much grease on the food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

There was so much grease on the food and all over--the menus, everything...the nature of cooking right up close, but at other Japanese styled restaurants with a similar theme, I've not seen so much grease. Perhaps better ventilation or different plates will help. We will not be returning to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The other guests we sat with did not tak ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The other guests we sat with did not take the hint we wanted to keep conversations to ourselves - they were very intrusive asking questions and didn't take our hint we wanted to be left alone. It was the most uncomfortable RoJ dinner we've had in 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

Emily was great with my many changes. Mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Emily was great with my many changes.

Mo the cook was outstanding great service.

Waiter can remember his name tall and handsome he was great as while

The bar tender was perfect great customer service.

Overall great!'!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was expensive and not as good as I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was expensive and not as good as I expected for money, other than the lobster and shrimp. The Lobster and Shrimp was better than expected.

The overall experience was good, but I wouldn't come back to this place unless I had clients who really wanted go. I may go on a special occasion and I was mood for Japanese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While Ron of Japan is a Chicago mainstay ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

While Ron of Japan is a Chicago mainstay, it is way over priced for the food quality. The dining room could benefit from a remodel/update; it feel long in the tooth.

I really don't like going places where I leave smelling like the food.

The person who prepared our food did a perfunctory job; not good, not bad; little excitement for the role; just going through the motions.

I really don't like the soy cream goo that they put on the shrimp; what is that stuff?

We came here for our family back to school dinner with our high schoolers. My daughter just really wanted to come here because she loves that the food is prepared at the table.

For me, RoJ would never be in my short list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Granddaughter's 15th birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Granddaughter's 15th birthday celebration. She loves the place.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been going here for 45 years. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been going here for 45 years. This was by far the worst service ever. Dirty table not wiped up, dishes not removed, smoke in face.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Dedication to customers needs. Vivian t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Dedication to customers needs. Vivian the manager was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great! Yao was our chef and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was great! Yao was our chef and he was fantastic ! The manager Sam is also great. The shrimp and beef fried rice our the best items on the menu and you have to have the egg sauce

Tags: Private Room, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too dark, too many televisions in the di ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Too dark, too many televisions in the dining area, overpriced. Not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The food was dry. And the service was te ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was dry. And the service was terrible. The manager was not accommodating and rude.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We come to Ron Of Japan for the egg sau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We come to Ron Of Japan for the egg sauce. The service was good. I did not appreciate the automatic gratuity added to my bill, the option was insisted upon itself. We will visit less often than usual.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The ambience was intimate, quiet, and ve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The ambience was intimate, quiet, and very stylish. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful...everything was fresh, delicious, and well-prepared. I'm told the at-table grilling was not quite as theatrical as Benihana, which suite me just fine. I absolutely love this place, and would go there again without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love Ron of Japan. Been going there for ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love Ron of Japan. Been going there for over 20 years. Huge lobster tail and their special sauce is one of a kind. Four of us split 2 "Shogun" dinners that consisted of filet and lobster. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very nice and attentive, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter was very nice and attentive, our personal chef was informative, entertaining, and his food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was nice and just how I remembers ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Dinner was nice and just how I remembers it ~25 years ago. Best thing in the menu is the shrimp with egg yolks. Super delicious. Saki was delightful and green tea ice cream is a must! Really enjoyed the evening however dinner for 4 was fairly pricy!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My friends and I have been coming to the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My friends and I have been coming to the Ron of Japan since they opened back in the early seventies. We come mainly for the steak and in particular the shrimp; with a one of a kind egg batter that is second to none. We've had many special occasions celebrated here and the food never disappoints. The only negative for me is that I miss the authentic Japanese traditional folk music that used to play in the background, it was part of the special ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nothing special. Food was ok but lacked ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Nothing special. Food was ok but lacked seasoning. I was hoping for showmanship from the table chef as I've experienced from other hibachi restaurants but it was nonexistent here. I also noted on my reservation that we were celebrating my sons birthday and it was never acknowledged. I was disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

They spilled a cup of hot butter all ove ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

They spilled a cup of hot butter all over my shirt, pants and arm. They offered my a coupon to come back but wouldn't replace my cloths for $70. Really!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Segundo is the best cook! The food is am ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Segundo is the best cook! The food is amazing. I've been coming here since I was 7 years old and brought a friend who has never been here before...she Loved it and can't wait to return. No one can beat their Shrimp and Lobster..let's not forget the Salad Dressing! People in the "know" come here. How people go to Benihana is a mystery to me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Have visited Ron's annually for many yea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Have visited Ron's annually for many years, and we're never disappointed. Food is delicious! EGG SAUCE ON EVERYTHING :-)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This has been our family's favorite for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2016

This has been our family's favorite for many years. We've dined with our sons who are now adults with their own families and now we bring our grands. The food is always delicious and consistent after all these years and service is always really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The first time I and my wife attended th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The first time I and my wife attended this restaurant was 27 years ago, on our one year anniversary of dating , on the 7/11/16 was our 24 year anniversary of marriage. We made it a habit of attending every year on our anniversary and I have to say it's always a great experience it makes our day extra special.

Thank you to all the chef's you guys are awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced, waiter was rude and scre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Way overpriced, waiter was rude and screwed up our order. Absolutely no interaction with the chef. Also, hot oil was splashing off the grill. Will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great restaurant for a large group. Very ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great restaurant for a large group. Very kid friendly as well. We had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I went here while on a stay- ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I went here while on a stay-cation in the city. We were extremely excited by the thought of a hibachi place right around the corner from where we were staying. As we were seated our waiter was extremely short with us and didn't bring us drinks for over 20 min. Once the chef came out we didn't see our waiter for a while to get refills either. The biggest issue was the prices. We walked out of there spending over 80$ and were still hungry. Compared to other hibachi places this is unheard of. The food was bland and over priced. We will never go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The chef was nice; however, the food was ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The chef was nice; however, the food was sub par. The soup was chicken noodle, the salad dressing tasted like mayo, and the vegetables were undercooked. There was no show which had the kids disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

My husband and I were celebrating a late ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating a late Father's Day. This was the first time either one of us had visited this establishment. I had heard good reviews from other people and decided to give it a try since we were staying in the Downtown area. We were seated with another couple and their young son, along with an older couple, our waiter came out and took our order. After which the chef came and begin to prepare our meal. The soup and salad was decent next, was the entrees we had ordered; I ordered the shrimp and steak and my husband ordered the chicken and shrimp. It was horrible!! the food lacked both taste and proper seasoning. I felt so bad for my husband because after all, this was suppose to be a nice celebration for him. After dinner my husband and I went to Dunkin Donuts and then 711 for snacks after spending over $100.00 for a disgusting dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.