About Roma Ristorante

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good and authentic. Kids pasta ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good and authentic. Kids pasta with butter and parmesan was a bit pricey at $19.95.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It continues to improve. The service is ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It continues to improve. The service is good, the food is even better, the ambiance can use some improvement, but overall the place is quite enjoyable. I am hoping dinners in Carmel and surrounding areas will go there frequently and not just on weekends. As the restaurant becomes more profitable it also improves and this area needs privately owned restaurants.

Luccio, the owner/chef of this restaurant is quite talented, hard working and very committed to continues improvement.

Try it, you will like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

the food at Roma is good and pretty cons ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

the food at Roma is good and pretty consistent. Interesting combinations that change frequently. the front of house is not so good. several times including this time the wait staff seems less than friendly and this time didn't even introduce herself or welcome us despite my saying hello to her twice. The wine selection is good and fairly priced. the gelato was not so good despite high praise from the waitress.

i will return for the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I was looking for a new place to take my ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was looking for a new place to take my Mom for her 89th birthday . Roma did not disappoint! I asked for a quiet table and mentioned that this was a special occasion when I made the reservation. The hostess greeted my Mother with a "happy birthday" and there was a card waiting on the table. We were seated in a corner booth. Though the restaurant is not quiet, we had no trouble hearing each other during our meal. The food and the service were excellent. Each of us ordered a different meal and they were all perfectly prepared, beautifully served and delicious. The deserts were all good too! Roma is more expensive than the places we dine routinely, but it was well worth it. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The special New Year's Eve dinner might ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The special New Year's Eve dinner might have been the best dinner I've had at a restaurant!! I wish they had Osso Bucco on the menu every night. What a great Italian restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely phenomenal New Years Eve Dinn ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal New Years Eve Dinner! The food and the service was quite remarkable. This will be our New Years Eve destination in the future!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far the best Italian restaura ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is by far the best Italian restaurant in Indiana.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Italian Restaurant in Carmel. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Italian Restaurant in Carmel. Their $26 bottle of Merritt is excellent for the price and likely the cheapest.red.on the menu. Dried dates wrapped in bacon appetizer is sweet and delicious. Considered getting it again for dessert! Caesar salad was excellent and can get anchovies with if if desired. Seafood pasta - homemade pasta was excellent but only 1 large shrimp and bay scallops were small. Other entree of sweet sausage and pappardille pasta in cream sauce was excellent. Gelato was OK but not outstanding for an Italian restaurant. Attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were were very disappointed. Food was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were were very disappointed. Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Recommendation of this restaurant from a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Recommendation of this restaurant from a friend, skeptical at first judging from the outside façade of the restaurant but as soon as my date and I went inside we were pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere. The wait staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The good came out in a timely manner and was even more delicious than I had heard. Definitely will be coming back.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We liked the fact that our reserved tabl ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We liked the fact that our reserved table was waiting. The menu fairly broad. My wife and I both thought our pasta dishes were a bit dry, could have had more sauce. Next time we would ask for extra sauce.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

An excellent dining experience. One of o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

An excellent dining experience. One of our favorites!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thanks to other reviews of this restaura ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Thanks to other reviews of this restaurant, we made a reservation. So happy we did. Don't let the strip mall location fool you. Inside you will experience a quaint Italian restaurant. Great food, great service, and wonderful ambiance. House made pasta really does make a difference!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fabulous!!! A new favorite!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always fabulous!!! A new favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Roma. The foo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our first time at Roma. The food was delicious, and it came out quickly. The wines were great, and the tiramisu was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of a kind, small cozy place with gre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of a kind, small cozy place with great food. Located in an old shopping center but very close to the Palladium.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was good. Service not great. Wine l ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was good. Service not great. Wine list excellent. The restaurant is small and with so many people and tables close together ito was very noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and wine was great. Every table wa ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food and wine was great. Every table was full due to an event at the Paladium

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was very good..authentic food...not over ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

was very good..authentic food...not overpriced and quality food...we enjoyed dining there and will be back

Tags: Authentic, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Rack of lamb was done just as asked and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rack of lamb was done just as asked and was delicious. The pasta dish was also exceptional. Wine was suggested and was perfect with our meals. Quaint and comfy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely Carmel restaurant close to the pe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lovely Carmel restaurant close to the performing arts center.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The most delicious gnocchi I have ever e ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The most delicious gnocchi I have ever experienced: light, fluffy, authentic. The lamb chops were exquisite: perfect flavor and tenderness, plus the meal comes with a hearty serving. The service was timely and polite. This is the best Italian restaurant in Carmel. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a terrific meal. Our guest was Ital ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had a terrific meal. Our guest was Italian and an excellent cook. Roma chef came out to our table and was pleased to discuss our experience... mostly in Italian😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great hidden gem in Carmel! Homemade pa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great hidden gem in Carmel! Homemade pasta and cute atmosphere. So glad we found it. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So disappointed that a true Northern Ita ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

So disappointed that a true Northern Italian wine was not on the wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved the ambiance. It's a comfortabl ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I loved the ambiance. It's a comfortable atmosphere. The food was very good (although I would have preferred a tomato sauce as an option for my gnocchi). I think it's a hidden treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful people there. The c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Absolutely wonderful people there. The chef has come out to greet us both times we've gone

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful creative food and presentation ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful creative food and presentation, but not over the top like Emeril. Linguine with mussels was actually loaded with mussels (as promised by our waitress, Emily)...at least one with every bite...unusual for such a dish at other restaurants...as in never. Mussels were plump and tasty; as good as the ones we had on Prince Edward Island. Loved the food and service. Great experience. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here...the food ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time here...the food was wonderful and the service was helpful and friendly

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

For the most part, the reviews are an ac ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

For the most part, the reviews are an accurate reflection of Roma. We had our first visit to Roma on Saturday 10/29/16. The restaurant is well appointed with an Italian grandmother's home decor. Our hostess and server were both great. I ordered a salad and the bolognese, both were excellent. The pappardelle pasta was perfectly cooked and the bolognese sauce while not the best that I've tasted was certainly well prepared. The wine we ordered - was superb Piedmont region of Italy so not widely popular but excellent. It had a healthy markup on price - which is to be expected but 3X is a little healthy but the wine was at least something that was not as easy to get in Indiana. My wife ordered the pasta special but asked if she could have shrimp on the side. Our server who was very good let us know that the chef would refuse because in a traditional Italian meal the pasta course is not served with meat. I am not sure if that is true or not but it certainly made the reviews on the unaccommodating chef more believable. My wife did enjoy the pasta. We had the Tiramisu for dessert - very good. Overall - great food, great service but a little noisy and an unaccommodating chef. I am not sure if we would revisit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Such a great find. It's tucked away at t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Such a great find. It's tucked away at the end of a strip mall type place -- don't let that keep you from going. The food is amazing -- the chef comes out to make sure you're happy with your food. The wait staff is friendly and very attentive. Ambiance is great -- lights down lower and nice low-volume music playing.

I've been here twice with my wife and it's quickly moved up toward the top of our favorite places to eat in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite Italian place. Great fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our new favorite Italian place. Great food, cozy, ambiance, can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant itself was very nice, nea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The restaurant itself was very nice, neat with a friendly atmosphere. Staff were very attentive and helpful with the menu.

Food was good, but prices very high for what you get. Entrees did not come with salad, very limited soft drink menu and typical Italian food items were not on the menu.

The cost was too much for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Always a great dinner at Roma. Signor Ro ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always a great dinner at Roma. Signor Romani works hard to give you authentic Italian cuisine. The calamari appetizer is delicious, as are the bacon-wrapped prunes. Freshly-made pasta, yummy entrees, fabulous tiramisu...and terrific service. No wonder we keep going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time here and we enjo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our first time here and we enjoyed it. The chef visited our table to get a specific food request from our 13 yr old daughter and accommodated her with the meal she was looking for not offered on the menu. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fresh and delicious. The se ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fresh and delicious. The service was friendly and attentive. This was our first time, and I look forward to a follow up trip soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food is great and getting better. th ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

the food is great and getting better. the staff is excellent and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed or pre-dinner show at the ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Really enjoyed or pre-dinner show at the restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a delightful pre-theatre dinner h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a delightful pre-theatre dinner here. The pork chop special (huge pork chop stuffed with spinach and cheese) was especially delicious; the wine list wasn't huge but had a nice selection at reasonable prices. Our server was forthright and attentive. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Emily and the food were awesome as alway ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Emily and the food were awesome as always! Roma's is the best authentic Italian in central Indiana, and for a bonus you can get a decent bottle of wine for a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.