Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Roma Ristorante

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed my dining experience. I would recommend Roma to friends and family. Insalata Caprese was excellent! Homemade paste, very good. The volcano cake was decadent!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was attentive. The menu is limited but does have adequate variety. The prices of food and especially wine are reasonable. Everyone enjoyed their food that included 3 types of pasta, seafood and meat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was bummed they were out of the oxtail (it's amazing),but I had the porchetta and my husband had a sausage and mushroom pasta. The pasta is hand made and delicious. Would highly recommend Roma. So good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A bit noisy, but the food is always fabulous! The waiters and waitresses are always friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I have been here several times and always enjoy the food and service. The food is authentic Italian and always excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Have dined here many, many times and it is always a pleasure. Friendly and prompt service. Great wine. Limited, but authentic, menu. Park for free practically on the doorstep. Not a chain restaurant. If you don't want to drive all the way to Mass Ave for an interesting, delicious meal, go to Roma. We will keep coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fine locally-owner establishment
Great food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was on point. The calamari appetizer was among the best I've ever had. The homemade pasta selections was delicious.
Noticeable was the lack of patrons during peak hours on a Friday evening. The noise level was avove average.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

What a hidden gem. The former Mohawk Shopping Center changed hands and was remodeled over the last couple of years. I read about Roma Ristorante online and the reviews were very good. After a few disappointing meals at Convivo in Carmel, my sister and I decided to give Roma a try. We shared a couple of main dishes, as well as a bottle of wine. The food was excellent and the wine was great. The server was knowledgeable about our wine selection, as well as the dinner choices. We will definitely go back. Would like to see table cloths and uniforms to give it more ambiance, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

First time visit. Menu was limited. They had a special Salmon with some kind of an onion sauce over it. I asked for it to come without the sauce. They said no, can't do that. What? Zero flexibility. My daughter ordered the kids pasta. It was $19.95. I asked if this was a mistake as it was $2.00 less than my meal. They said no. Wow. There are many other places for good Italian food with more flexibility and reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

After a much earlier disappointing experience here, we gave Roma Ristorante another try and were glad we did. Our server was charming, efficient and knowledgeable; the house-made pastas were a standout, and the ability to mix and match pastas and sauces a plus; and the appetizers were especially inventive and tasty. The location, in a dying strip mall, is unfortunate, but at least parking is plentiful and close to the door. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very nice and quiet restaurant serving homemade pasta and sauces. Great restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food, service, and experience. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We went to Roma for an anniversary dinner, and were surprised at the few people in the restaurant on a weekday evening. Weekend business is much stronger on weekends. The service was attentive and excellent. Generally, the food was very tasty, but the presentation was lacking - our main courses were the campagnola and a similar daily special including chopped filet in sauce - both dishes were delivered with a pile of food with all ingredients completely mixed; how much better it would have been with the meat and sauce presented on a bed of the homemade pasta with some garnish sprinkled on top or placed on the side of the dish. The dinner menu was a la carte and seemed overpriced for the meals we had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Spectacular! Great service and wonderful, authentic food! I had the Lamb in cream sauce and my wife had the Clam Gnocchi. Fabulous!

Highly recommended,

Erikk & Gina Lee

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had tickets for an event at the Palladium in Carmel and our 5:45 reservation was perfect for a relaxing dinner with wine and a leisurely walk from the restaurant to the Palladium along the Monon Trail for our 7:30 event. The food was wonderful and the wine list was endless. I would recommend this to everyone even if you aren't going to the Palladium! We plan to be back soon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was outstanding from gnocchi appetizer to gelato dessert, and som amazing entrees in between. Service was excellent and the sommelier was very helpful! We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What a delightful surprise! Good food and excellent service. We'd return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine. Having just returned from Portugal, we found Roma Ristorante a delight and reminder of a neighborhood Restaraunt in your typical neighborhood. Don't let the fact the establishment is nestled in an older strip mall stop you from checking it out. I'd drive 30-40 minutes to dine here!

Menu is many of the standards. However you can't fake or mimic taste. Roma Ristorante is the real deal!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have dined here many times. Always enjoy it. Friendly and attentive staff. Excellent food. I love the porchetta del papa, also the Greek mousse dessert and the tiramisu. Casual atmosphere but quality dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This was a dinner before a show at the Palladium. Our waiter, John was very attentive, however busy. Dinner came and it was excellent. The house made pasta was outstanding as was the overall experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is by far the best Italian restaurant in the area. My husband is an Italian from NY so is very critical of authentic Italian food & he absolutely loves Roma. We will definitely be making this one of our regular go-to restaurants. Amazing food!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great authentic dishes. Not typical but everything made there ,even gellato. Manager is the perfect host. We go there weekly. Just as you would get in Rome but you dont have to go as far to get it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Rosemary steak is the best I've ever had, I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Paula served our table and very attentive. She made us feel very welcomed. The appetizer were extremely tasty and our food was very welled prepared. Don't leave without experiencing the chocolate volcano cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was wonderful. For a restaurant of this caliber I would have expected better service. For example dirty silverware was handed back to us. Clean silverware should be provided between courses. Additionally, our server would grab our plates without asking if we were done. Several times we were not. The wine pours were also very small.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

this restaurant is really cute and cozy. our server was excellent. my mother had pasta with shrimp and scallops and it was delicious homemade pasta. I had the pork chop special. the chop was very undercooked in the center. The potato cake that came with it had very little flavor. sweet chili sauce on the pork was fantastic. I loved the avocado Benedict with the egg in it but the bacon wrapped around it was raw. if I go again I will order one of the items off the regular menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

First time at Roma Restorante. Cute little Italian restaurant that is known for making their own pasta. They offered Fettuccine or Pappardelle noodles or Potato Gnocchi with a number of different toppings/sauces. I had the Bolognese with Gnocchi which I found to be average....have had better Bolognese and have had worse. The Gnocchi were very good and very filling. My wife had the Pappardelle noodles with Salsiccia Mandorle which is a combination of mild Italian sausage, pancetta and almonds in a tomato sauce. She found this to be quite good and was very pleased with her selection. The best thing we had was the appetizer....Tortino Al Salmone (baked smoked salmon and goat cheese blend wrapped with grilled zucchini). To die for!!
Their wine list was quite extensive and a very nice selection. The service was great. I would definitely go back and try something different the next time. Would also recommend this restaurant for anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Roma is a great addition to the very lacking Carmel restaurant scene. The pasta was outstanding as was the smoked salmon/goat cheese appetizer. Service was efficient and friendly and the wine list was adequate and well priced. Our only suggestion for improvement would be regarding the restaurants' ambiance. The interior of the restaurant is blah and not notable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The food offerings were unique and just delicious with excellent service and extensive wine selection. We will be back! BEST Italian restaurant in Carmel. it's on our top 3 list overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good - will go again - a little pricy but well worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Menu was small food was well over priced for what you received Plus if you wanted a ingredient left out they won't accommodate. Would not recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great neighborhood find. Authentic Italian! .... I really don't think you should require the review be a set length. Sometimes short and sweet is better than being verbose

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food is exceptional ! I would recommend going to anyone that loves Italian food .

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We found this restaurant on Goggle maps while in the area, and we now plan to make it our special event restaurant. The food was excellent and we topped off our dinner with gelato. I asked the brand, and was told it's made in house
It was the best I've ever tasted. My only complaint is the noise level. We could hear it from outside, and we considered not going in. Perhaps some acoustical tiles would help. Overall one of the best restaurant experiences of my life. Thank you, Roma, for a lovely evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

THE best pasta for miles around....service is always delightful and the entire staff is very welcoming. Highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food and the service were exceptional. The seating was fine and the restaurant is very clean. The noise level was a little loud for my taste. They have some very unique dinners and a good wine selection.
We will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Another fine dinner at Roma, with excellent, attentive service. New menu features a number of interesting appetizers and entrees. The octopus appetizer is not like fried calamari; very mild, with a vegetable mix for topping. The Barbera d'Alba wine was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My pasta dish was stuck together and not that tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.