Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Roma Ristorante

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (25)
Authentic (23)
NeighborhoodGem (19)
See All
SpecialOccasions (19)
Romance (18)
NotableWineList (17)
Anniversaries (15)
PrePostTheatre (13)
CreativeCuisine (12)
Cozy (10)
Foodies (9)
WorthTheDrive (9)
Birthdays (9)
QuietConversation (7)
Casual (7)
BusinessMeals (5)
Fun (5)
ComfortFood (4)
TastingMenu (2)
LateNightFind (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
HotSpot (1)
Lunch (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
LocalIngredients (1)
ScenicView (1)
GlutenFree (1)
Waterfront (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
SundayLunch (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Sort By:
S
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

After a much earlier disappointing experience here, we gave Roma Ristorante another try and were glad we did. Our server was charming, efficient and knowledgeable; the house-made pastas were a standout, and the ability to mix and match pastas and sauces a plus; and the appetizers were especially inventive and tasty. The location, in a dying strip mall, is unfortunate, but at least parking is plentiful and close to the door. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food, service, and experience. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We went to Roma for an anniversary dinner, and were surprised at the few people in the restaurant on a weekday evening. Weekend business is much stronger on weekends. The service was attentive and excellent. Generally, the food was very tasty, but the presentation was lacking - our main courses were the campagnola and a similar daily special including chopped filet in sauce - both dishes were delivered with a pile of food with all ingredients completely mixed; how much better it would have been with the meat and sauce presented on a bed of the homemade pasta with some garnish sprinkled on top or placed on the side of the dish. The dinner menu was a la carte and seemed overpriced for the meals we had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Spectacular! Great service and wonderful, authentic food! I had the Lamb in cream sauce and my wife had the Clam Gnocchi. Fabulous!

Highly recommended,

Erikk & Gina Lee

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had tickets for an event at the Palladium in Carmel and our 5:45 reservation was perfect for a relaxing dinner with wine and a leisurely walk from the restaurant to the Palladium along the Monon Trail for our 7:30 event. The food was wonderful and the wine list was endless. I would recommend this to everyone even if you aren't going to the Palladium! We plan to be back soon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What a delightful surprise! Good food and excellent service. We'd return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine. Having just returned from Portugal, we found Roma Ristorante a delight and reminder of a neighborhood Restaraunt in your typical neighborhood. Don't let the fact the establishment is nestled in an older strip mall stop you from checking it out. I'd drive 30-40 minutes to dine here!

Menu is many of the standards. However you can't fake or mimic taste. Roma Ristorante is the real deal!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have dined here many times. Always enjoy it. Friendly and attentive staff. Excellent food. I love the porchetta del papa, also the Greek mousse dessert and the tiramisu. Casual atmosphere but quality dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This was a dinner before a show at the Palladium. Our waiter, John was very attentive, however busy. Dinner came and it was excellent. The house made pasta was outstanding as was the overall experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is by far the best Italian restaurant in the area. My husband is an Italian from NY so is very critical of authentic Italian food & he absolutely loves Roma. We will definitely be making this one of our regular go-to restaurants. Amazing food!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Rosemary steak is the best I've ever had, I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Paula served our table and very attentive. She made us feel very welcomed. The appetizer were extremely tasty and our food was very welled prepared. Don't leave without experiencing the chocolate volcano cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was wonderful. For a restaurant of this caliber I would have expected better service. For example dirty silverware was handed back to us. Clean silverware should be provided between courses. Additionally, our server would grab our plates without asking if we were done. Several times we were not. The wine pours were also very small.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Roma is a great addition to the very lacking Carmel restaurant scene. The pasta was outstanding as was the smoked salmon/goat cheese appetizer. Service was efficient and friendly and the wine list was adequate and well priced. Our only suggestion for improvement would be regarding the restaurants' ambiance. The interior of the restaurant is blah and not notable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. The food offerings were unique and just delicious with excellent service and extensive wine selection. We will be back! BEST Italian restaurant in Carmel. it's on our top 3 list overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good - will go again - a little pricy but well worth it for that special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Menu was small food was well over priced for what you received Plus if you wanted a ingredient left out they won't accommodate. Would not recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food is exceptional ! I would recommend going to anyone that loves Italian food .

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We found this restaurant on Goggle maps while in the area, and we now plan to make it our special event restaurant. The food was excellent and we topped off our dinner with gelato. I asked the brand, and was told it's made in house
It was the best I've ever tasted. My only complaint is the noise level. We could hear it from outside, and we considered not going in. Perhaps some acoustical tiles would help. Overall one of the best restaurant experiences of my life. Thank you, Roma, for a lovely evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food and the service were exceptional. The seating was fine and the restaurant is very clean. The noise level was a little loud for my taste. They have some very unique dinners and a good wine selection.
We will return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Another fine dinner at Roma, with excellent, attentive service. New menu features a number of interesting appetizers and entrees. The octopus appetizer is not like fried calamari; very mild, with a vegetable mix for topping. The Barbera d'Alba wine was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My pasta dish was stuck together and not that tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lucio's new Spring 2017 menu is marvelous; new bright dishes. Try the poached Octopus!
Always a pleasure dining @ Roma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful!!! Food is excellent, great wine choices! Very nice and relaxing evening.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Nice place for a great evening. Friendly employees, and Lucio the owner and chef is always around making sure everyone is happy.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My husband and I love this little hidden gem. The pasta and sauces are absolutely incredible and the most authentic Italian in the city. We are Mama Carolla fans but to be honest, Romas is rapidly approaching our favorite Italian place to go. Significantly less crowded and more romantic/quieter, Romas leaves you with a slice of Italy each and every time you go. Definitely recommend this locally owned place and they serve gelato outside in the spring and summer!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Outstanding food and knowledgable staff. Overall Fantastic experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food with ample choices. Wine selection was perfect for the meal. Portions were just right. Not too much or too little. Requested a different table and request was granted without a problem. Will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good food. The baked Tomato was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Dining at Roma has always been enjoyable and the food, friendliness of the chef and staff and excellent wine choices and authentic Rome cuisine keep us coming back. Kitchen performance is consistently spot on.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Staff was great. Met the chef. Nice wine selection. Swordfish steak to die for. A little taste of Rome.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Roma is fast becoming our favorite restaurant. Wonderful food, elegant but not stuffy atmosphere and -- here's the best part -- no TVs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our son gave us a gift certificate for Christmas, and we enjoyed a delicious meal that took us back to the time we spent in Italy. The food was fresh and authentic. The service was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

EVERYTHING that was ordered at our table was absolutely fantastic, top notch and prepared perfectly. The pace was definitely on the slow side so I would probably request an earlier reservation next time and wouldn't go on a night when we were pressed for time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were disappointed in the menu. It was very limited. No soups, only 1 salad dressing; none of the usual "comfort" foods of most Italian restaurants. We selected entrees we thought might be ok based on the menu description; we were both disappointed. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time and it was absolutely fabulous! Went with another couple for my wife's birthday and the waitor was great, great wine recommendation and really authentic Italian feel to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hidden in an older strip mall in the center of Carmel, Roma offers authentic Italian fare and a wide range of wines. Servers are very professional and attentive. Be sure to have one of their artfully prepared deserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant.... the food and service is always great. Great ambiance too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Roma!
Always delivers great meal with great service
Love the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Authentic, local, & creative dishes. Lucio has struck gold with Roma!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.