About Roma Ristorante

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Entertainment:
During the weekend we will have live music with a variety that goes from classical to jazz.

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Indiana
Fit for Foodies
Indiana
Neighborhood Gem
Indiana
6 More
Italian
Indiana
Best Value
Indianapolis
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Carmel / Westfield ›

fit for foodies (34)
neighborhood gem (32)
special occasion (31)
See All
romantic (26)
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have eaten here many times, and it's alw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Have eaten here many times, and it's always a pleasure. Excellent food and service. And now you can cap your dinner with some truly fantastic gelato! You gotta go to Roma!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good neighborhood eatery. Friendly staff ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Good neighborhood eatery. Friendly staff. Greeter was quite hospitable. Service was too slow; restaurant had a good but manageable crowd. So wait service should have been quicker.

Pasta is home made and really wonderful. That is a plus.

We ordered the burratta bruschetta appetizer - but the portion was quite small . Not enough bread. One entree - the seafood pasta chef special - barely had seafood, and I have ordered that meal all around the country. That is not acceptable. Having said that, we would return. I travel enough so everyone deserves a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Intimate, nicely decorated, authentic It ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Intimate, nicely decorated, authentic Italian fare suitable for a special occasion, but affordable enough for a quick bite on the spur of the moment. Wait staff is friendly, attentive, helpful. Wide selection of entrees and wines. We've had many different dishes and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Genuine Italian food , fresh ingredients ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Genuine Italian food , fresh ingredients , great wine selection and Lucio is a PRO !!! c

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have never been disappointed at Roma. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We have never been disappointed at Roma. The food was again excellent as was the service. The wine list was good and featured a number of nice selections at reasonable prices. Good job.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

pasta is excellent, very authentic, nice ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

pasta is excellent, very authentic, nice quiet restaurant, waiter was a bit slow on start, but came on well

I go back kind of place

, private and excellent food

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just happened to discover Roma while run ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just happened to discover Roma while running errands. It had good reviews so we gave it a try. Took the family (adult children) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The home made pasta was very good. All of the sauces were flavorful and well balanced. The server was friendly and took time to explain the menu and other options. The atmosphere is quiet, and tucked away in the back of Monon Square shopping center. We plan to eat there again in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this resturant and highly recomme ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love this resturant and highly recommend....the service is impeccable and the chef is spot on!! I went once just to check out...and have been back 4 more times!!! I love love it!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and of high quality. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was very good and of high quality. Service was attentive and not overly intrusive.

The décor and noise could use a little work. Rate the food very high, less so on the ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was surprisingly a great find. Our ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was surprisingly a great find. Our new favorite Italian restaurant. The staff was very helpful and the wine selection was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service was excellent, as was the at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent, as was the attitude of the staff. The hostess greeting us was very pleasant and friendly. And the chef came out to our table to ask how we enjoyed the meal. The food (the pasta bolognese and trout dish)was excellent as well. There are two potential negatives, however. One would be that they do not serve hard liquor (beer/wine only), but I knew that going in, so it was not an issue for me, but may be for someone else. The second, which had more of an impact, is the noise level/acoustics. The place was about 1/2 occupied, and it was so loud/noisy, that I had difficulty hearing my companion across the table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This place just keeps getting better. No ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place just keeps getting better. Now they have added yummy gelato to the dessert menu. If you don't feel like a full meal, you can hit the gelato stand outside. Roma e' molto delizioso!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our new favorite Italian restaurant!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

What a find! The pasta is prepared by a genuine Italian chef in the kitchens daily, and the desserts and bread are also made on the premises. The Tortino al Salmone appetizer was

outstanding. We enjoyed two pasta dishes, the Gorgonzola Funchi e Tartufo and the Zucchine e Vongole. Italian cuisine is our favorite, but our meals at Roma Ristorante were unlike any

that we've had before. Our service was excellent, and the chef frequently visited with the guests. We will definitely return, and look forward to trying other items on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Found this place when visiting soho cafe came back for dinner a couple weeks later. So glad we did. Lovely locally owned place with chef/owner on site. Food was delicious, new takes on classics (filet in a sauce over gnocchi...amazing!). Definitely worth checking out for dates and

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for great food and wi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

If you are looking for great food and wine at a good value, and combined with exceptional, personalized (we always ask for Emily) service, Roma's is unbeatable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place with fantastic food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very friendly and the service was great. This is a great find. The food has been fantastic every time we have been there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place. It is as good as ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is a great place. It is as good as many restaurants in Italy. It is not a speghetti and meatball place or for young kids. If you want authentic Italian food done with fresh ingredients, this is the place. The staff is friendly and knowledgable. The Chef makes the rounds to make sure you are pleased with your meal. Wine list is good and not overpriced. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service by Paula. The food wa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service by Paula. The food was outstanding

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food, service & ambiance. Owner stopped by our table; nice touch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Have dined at Roma many times, and it's always great. Excellent food and service. Highly recommend the tortino appetizer and the scallops. The bacon-wrapped prunes are also yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I only gave 3 stars for overall because ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I only gave 3 stars for overall because one of my guests wanted to substitute pasta for potatoes and the server informed us that the chef never substitutes. In my opinion that isn't very customer friendly. Might be the reason we hesitate to return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Another phenomenal dinner at Roma Ristor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Another phenomenal dinner at Roma Ristorante

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food quality of this res ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service and food quality of this resturant is always outstanding. This is about my seventh visit and have never been disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too noisy tonight Could not hear each ot ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Too noisy tonight

Could not hear each other speak.

Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Meh

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Four of us dined at Roma. We had 3 different dishes and all were OK. Just OK. Pasta with Filet and red wine sauce was tasteless. Risotto was gummy. Wine list overpriced. Not a great value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Wasn't as great as we were expecting

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We've thought about going here several times, but never got there.

So, I decided to make a reservation for my husband's birthday.

Server was nice but not very attentive. Pasta dishes were extremely salty, and I am a "salt person". So coming from me, it was definitely too much.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I had dinner at Roma Apri ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Roma April 22, 2016. I ordered pasta and requested extra sauce. The waitress came back to the table to inform me Chef Lucio Romani would not add extra sauce because that's not "the way it's done". I ordered a small dinner salad instead. After we finished Chef Luciano came by as asked how dinner tasted. I expressed my displeasure with the his inflexibility. He said I should eat elsewhere....and I will.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Very unassuming from outside but nice fe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Very unassuming from outside but nice feel inside - cozy & romantic , feels very Italian! We had a woman help us find an excellent Italian wine , wine selection good.

Appetizer good, caesar salad ok & our pasta wasn't as exciting as I had hoped since they make all the pasta homemade . I think the red sauces would maybe be better .. We had the mushroom & sausage cream sauce , too Rich. Shrimp was good. Overall a little disappointed but would maybe try again .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Pasta is the best in town.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Pasta is the best in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visit this restaurant!!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We randomly ran across this restaurant while searching for a new place to eat dinner on Saturday night with my husband's family. Italian food is a staple for this Italian family, so we decided to try it. Let me tell you how pleased we were with EVERYTHING. From the adorable quaint atmosphere and decor, down to the food and outstanding service. Emily, our server, was super cute and bubbly. She greeted us and got our drinks. We had the Sangiovese wine and it was delightful. We started with the Salmon and Goat Cheese appetizer, it was AMAZING, like melt in your mouth amazing. We also got salads and some homemade pasta. Every dish was outstanding. We ended with the Cannoli and I am pretty sure it was the best Cannoli I have ever eaten! The pricing was reasonable and the food was delectable. Don't miss out on this gem!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh Pasta was Amazing!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Loved the fresh pasta (had papardelle). We each had it with a different sauce and they were both awesome. Appetizer of smoked salmon with paper-thin sliced zucchini was wonderful and so different from the usual! Wine list was simple and good, and our waitress (sorry, missed catching her name) was friendly and also very helpful in telling us about the area (which was why we were in town, to explore). Even though it is on the more expensive side, it was worth every bite. A little hard to find, but we did find it! Definitely want to go back there someday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Roma Ristorante, it's a gem of a find!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is delicious, the atmosphere is lovely, and the staff treat you like family- we'll definitely be back! We had our daughter's baptism dinner at Roma, which was excellent. Recently, we went there to celebrate our niece's 16th birthday- she even received a birthday card :). Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine at Roma

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, great service. The goat cheese appetizer is like dessert. The bacon-wrapped prunes are also very tasty. My scallops were very tender and lightly-seasoned. Julie and Catello took good care of us. This is a great place for authentic Roman dishes and homemade pasta. We dine there often. It's tucked away in the back of Monon Square shopping center on Rangeline. Well worth hunting for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Italian food in Indy....

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Homemade pasta, an excellent wine list- everything is spectacular once inside Ristorante Roma.......

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Kind of hard to find if you don't know where your going, but you shouldn't be disappointed - nothing spectacular but everything was good and the pasta itself was exceptional for anything else that we've had around central Indiana.

My only complaint is that for the life of me - I don't understand why they don't have an out door patio on the west side of their building for an outdoor dining area that can see and be seen on the adjoining Monon trail - that would be great !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Carmel gem

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I hope others in Carmel discover this great Italian Restaurant just off the Monon Trail. The atmosphere is truly Italian complete with wonderful music in the background. The salmon is my favorite, but the other dishes from pasta to salads are equally good. Hot bread is served almost immediately, and the wine list will fit any pocket book. This would be a wonderful place for an anniversary or birthday dinner. Evidently, some have discovered Roma Ristorante because there were no tables empty by 7:00 on Saturday night.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best date night place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The restaurant is wonderful. The wait staff is extremely sweet. The food is marvelous (as is the wine). It was such an amazing experience.

:+1:

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden treaure

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Service and food are excellent, and food and music took us back to Rome. Our server, Emily, was attentive and interesting and helped make this a special experience. We will go back again and again to try all the different menu options. What a treat to see 4 fish/seafood options in addition to the variety of homemade pasta and gnocchi. Coffee was also excellent. Wine choices offer authentic Italian and quality California wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fabulous!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The food, the staff, the ambiance- all top-notch; never disappointed. Whether dining for a special occasion- or for an early dinner before a performance at The Center For the Performing Arts in Carmel- always a pleasure to dine at Roma.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Roma before the concert

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Service was excellent. Ambiance - excellent. Good value. Only caveat: trout dish, with thyme and lime. Far too much thyme. Overpowered the fish and almost overpowered the table. It was my wife's order. She left half uneaten. Very uncharacteristic of her. She is very appreciative of great good, but also very knowledgeable of appropriate ratios of ingredients. The thyme was out of proportion.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.