About Roma Ristorante

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Entertainment:
During the weekend we will have live music with a variety that goes from classical to jazz.

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Food
Indiana
Best Service
Indiana
11 More
Neighborhood Gem
Indiana
Romantic
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Indianapolis
Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Carmel / Westfield ›

Neighborhood Gem (36)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a real gem---- It's location is ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a real gem---- It's location is not the best but the food is incredible and we will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our dining experience was very good. It ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our dining experience was very good. It was a little noisey while we were there thus made it hard to hear the waiter with communications.

Food was amazing and atmosphere very quaint.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Italian cuisine. Locally owned ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent Italian cuisine. Locally owned and operated by an Italian family. The trout entree was delicious! The lemon Gelato for dessert was tops! We will certainly return to dine at Roma Ristorante.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really great pasta ! Didn't know that e ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Really great pasta ! Didn't know that existed in the Indianapolis area. A real treat and a surprise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Limited menu, but everything on it is am ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Limited menu, but everything on it is amazing. The homemade pastas are to die for. Picky eaters may want to confirm they will eat something before they go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food! Excellent service! #1 Ita ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous food! Excellent service! #1 Italian Restaurant in Indy/Carmel area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great dinner!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Another great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roma is our favorite Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Roma is our favorite Italian restaurant in our area. The food is always excellent no matter what we order. We like the small, quaint atmosphere and that we are starting to know the staff well because we visit regularly. We highly recommend Ristorante Roma.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From fresh fish to fresh handmade pasta ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

From fresh fish to fresh handmade pasta to homemade gelato and cannolis - the quality of the food is amazing! The location, decor, and acoustics make this more of a fun casual place than a romantic date night setting.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It was so loud that you couldn't hear yo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was so loud that you couldn't hear your own friends at your own table. The food was just average and definitely not worth the price. Would I go back? No. There are too many really reasonable and great places to go back to someplace that is mediocre and pricey on top of it. The four of us were unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything anyone tried, they loved from ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything anyone tried, they loved from appetizers all the way to the Gelato dessert. Definitely planning to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here a few times. The food i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I have been here a few times. The food is to die for, changes all the time, the food and service is excellent. Very pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was good and even better than it ha ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

food was good and even better than it has been. Creative, fresh with true Italian flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

wonderful food always. love to eat ther ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

wonderful food always. love to eat there. great owner & employees. food hot. great atmosphere. love garlic balls with sauce. one of my favorite resturants

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic, local Italian food with great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Authentic, local Italian food with great wine in a quaint neighborhood setting- good service, genuine people. One of our favorites.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times and never had ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Have eaten here many times and never had a bad meal. Recently, the pasta with beef filet and salmon in a pistachio crust were both excellent entrees. And the gelato is delicious. The service at Roma has always been good; Paula took great care of us. Portions at Roma are not huge -- but we always leave feeling full. This is not chain restaurant dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had dinner here many times and ne ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have had dinner here many times and never been disappointed !! I tried the chocolate gelato for desert tonight and it was out of this world!! I Iove supporting this family owned Resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing - service was excellent ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was amazing - service was excellent. Dined on a Saturday night and the noise level was so loud we had difficulty carrying on a conversation at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just came from a trip to Italy.....found ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Just came from a trip to Italy.....found this foodie experience on par with my experiences in Italy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very much enjoyed the homemade pasta dis ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very much enjoyed the homemade pasta dish. Service was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is definitely homemade pasta. The por ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It is definitely homemade pasta. The portion size on both the bread and pasta dishes were very small, especially for 24.00 a dish. It didn't blow us away and probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Second time. Both were great experience ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Second time. Both were great experience and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! The lamb and swordfish were out of ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wow! The lamb and swordfish were out of this world. We came for a special occasion--birthday--but the food was so good I could see us eating here all of the time. Super ambiance and service as well. Don't skip the gelato.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good authentic Roman cuisine with honey- ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good authentic Roman cuisine with honey-made pasta and special entrees. Service is good with friendly staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love going back to this restaurant! Yo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I love going back to this restaurant! You never know when the chef will pop out to greet you. And the food is very special! Last time, my date had pasta with sweet Italian sausage, porchini mushrooms and spinach in a light cream sauce. He loved it! I had gnocchi with red sauce and crushed almonds. It was fabulous! We will return! Next time: gelato!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times, and it's alw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Have eaten here many times, and it's always a pleasure. Excellent food and service. And now you can cap your dinner with some truly fantastic gelato! You gotta go to Roma!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good neighborhood eatery. Friendly staff ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good neighborhood eatery. Friendly staff. Greeter was quite hospitable. Service was too slow; restaurant had a good but manageable crowd. So wait service should have been quicker.

Pasta is home made and really wonderful. That is a plus.

We ordered the burratta bruschetta appetizer - but the portion was quite small . Not enough bread. One entree - the seafood pasta chef special - barely had seafood, and I have ordered that meal all around the country. That is not acceptable. Having said that, we would return. I travel enough so everyone deserves a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Intimate, nicely decorated, authentic It ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Intimate, nicely decorated, authentic Italian fare suitable for a special occasion, but affordable enough for a quick bite on the spur of the moment. Wait staff is friendly, attentive, helpful. Wide selection of entrees and wines. We've had many different dishes and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Genuine Italian food , fresh ingredients ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Genuine Italian food , fresh ingredients , great wine selection and Lucio is a PRO !!! c

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have never been disappointed at Roma. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We have never been disappointed at Roma. The food was again excellent as was the service. The wine list was good and featured a number of nice selections at reasonable prices. Good job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

pasta is excellent, very authentic, nice ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

pasta is excellent, very authentic, nice quiet restaurant, waiter was a bit slow on start, but came on well

I go back kind of place

, private and excellent food

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Just happened to discover Roma while run ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just happened to discover Roma while running errands. It had good reviews so we gave it a try. Took the family (adult children) and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The home made pasta was very good. All of the sauces were flavorful and well balanced. The server was friendly and took time to explain the menu and other options. The atmosphere is quiet, and tucked away in the back of Monon Square shopping center. We plan to eat there again in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this resturant and highly recomme ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love this resturant and highly recommend....the service is impeccable and the chef is spot on!! I went once just to check out...and have been back 4 more times!!! I love love it!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and of high quality. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was very good and of high quality. Service was attentive and not overly intrusive.

The décor and noise could use a little work. Rate the food very high, less so on the ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was surprisingly a great find. Our ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was surprisingly a great find. Our new favorite Italian restaurant. The staff was very helpful and the wine selection was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service was excellent, as was the at ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent, as was the attitude of the staff. The hostess greeting us was very pleasant and friendly. And the chef came out to our table to ask how we enjoyed the meal. The food (the pasta bolognese and trout dish)was excellent as well. There are two potential negatives, however. One would be that they do not serve hard liquor (beer/wine only), but I knew that going in, so it was not an issue for me, but may be for someone else. The second, which had more of an impact, is the noise level/acoustics. The place was about 1/2 occupied, and it was so loud/noisy, that I had difficulty hearing my companion across the table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This place just keeps getting better. No ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place just keeps getting better. Now they have added yummy gelato to the dessert menu. If you don't feel like a full meal, you can hit the gelato stand outside. Roma e' molto delizioso!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our new favorite Italian restaurant!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

What a find! The pasta is prepared by a genuine Italian chef in the kitchens daily, and the desserts and bread are also made on the premises. The Tortino al Salmone appetizer was

outstanding. We enjoyed two pasta dishes, the Gorgonzola Funchi e Tartufo and the Zucchine e Vongole. Italian cuisine is our favorite, but our meals at Roma Ristorante were unlike any

that we've had before. Our service was excellent, and the chef frequently visited with the guests. We will definitely return, and look forward to trying other items on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Found this place when visiting soho cafe came back for dinner a couple weeks later. So glad we did. Lovely locally owned place with chef/owner on site. Food was delicious, new takes on classics (filet in a sauce over gnocchi...amazing!). Definitely worth checking out for dates and

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for great food and wi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

If you are looking for great food and wine at a good value, and combined with exceptional, personalized (we always ask for Emily) service, Roma's is unbeatable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.