About Roma Ristorante

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Indiana
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Carmel / Westfield ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (23)
Authentic (22)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Rack of lamb was done just as asked and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rack of lamb was done just as asked and was delicious. The pasta dish was also exceptional. Wine was suggested and was perfect with our meals. Quaint and comfy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

was very good..authentic food...not over ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

was very good..authentic food...not overpriced and quality food...we enjoyed dining there and will be back

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Lovely Carmel restaurant close to the pe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lovely Carmel restaurant close to the performing arts center.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The most delicious gnocchi I have ever e ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The most delicious gnocchi I have ever experienced: light, fluffy, authentic. The lamb chops were exquisite: perfect flavor and tenderness, plus the meal comes with a hearty serving. The service was timely and polite. This is the best Italian restaurant in Carmel. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a terrific meal. Our guest was Ital ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had a terrific meal. Our guest was Italian and an excellent cook. Roma chef came out to our table and was pleased to discuss our experience... mostly in Italian😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great hidden gem in Carmel! Homemade pa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great hidden gem in Carmel! Homemade pasta and cute atmosphere. So glad we found it. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved the ambiance. It's a comfortabl ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I loved the ambiance. It's a comfortable atmosphere. The food was very good (although I would have preferred a tomato sauce as an option for my gnocchi). I think it's a hidden treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful people there. The c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Absolutely wonderful people there. The chef has come out to greet us both times we've gone

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful creative food and presentation ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful creative food and presentation, but not over the top like Emeril. Linguine with mussels was actually loaded with mussels (as promised by our waitress, Emily)...at least one with every bite...unusual for such a dish at other restaurants...as in never. Mussels were plump and tasty; as good as the ones we had on Prince Edward Island. Loved the food and service. Great experience. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here...the food ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time here...the food was wonderful and the service was helpful and friendly

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

For the most part, the reviews are an ac ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

For the most part, the reviews are an accurate reflection of Roma. We had our first visit to Roma on Saturday 10/29/16. The restaurant is well appointed with an Italian grandmother's home decor. Our hostess and server were both great. I ordered a salad and the bolognese, both were excellent. The pappardelle pasta was perfectly cooked and the bolognese sauce while not the best that I've tasted was certainly well prepared. The wine we ordered - was superb Piedmont region of Italy so not widely popular but excellent. It had a healthy markup on price - which is to be expected but 3X is a little healthy but the wine was at least something that was not as easy to get in Indiana. My wife ordered the pasta special but asked if she could have shrimp on the side. Our server who was very good let us know that the chef would refuse because in a traditional Italian meal the pasta course is not served with meat. I am not sure if that is true or not but it certainly made the reviews on the unaccommodating chef more believable. My wife did enjoy the pasta. We had the Tiramisu for dessert - very good. Overall - great food, great service but a little noisy and an unaccommodating chef. I am not sure if we would revisit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Such a great find. It's tucked away at t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Such a great find. It's tucked away at the end of a strip mall type place -- don't let that keep you from going. The food is amazing -- the chef comes out to make sure you're happy with your food. The wait staff is friendly and very attentive. Ambiance is great -- lights down lower and nice low-volume music playing.

I've been here twice with my wife and it's quickly moved up toward the top of our favorite places to eat in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite Italian place. Great fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our new favorite Italian place. Great food, cozy, ambiance, can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant itself was very nice, nea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The restaurant itself was very nice, neat with a friendly atmosphere. Staff were very attentive and helpful with the menu.

Food was good, but prices very high for what you get. Entrees did not come with salad, very limited soft drink menu and typical Italian food items were not on the menu.

The cost was too much for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Always a great dinner at Roma. Signor Ro ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always a great dinner at Roma. Signor Romani works hard to give you authentic Italian cuisine. The calamari appetizer is delicious, as are the bacon-wrapped prunes. Freshly-made pasta, yummy entrees, fabulous tiramisu...and terrific service. No wonder we keep going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time here and we enjo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our first time here and we enjoyed it. The chef visited our table to get a specific food request from our 13 yr old daughter and accommodated her with the meal she was looking for not offered on the menu. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fresh and delicious. The se ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was fresh and delicious. The service was friendly and attentive. This was our first time, and I look forward to a follow up trip soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food is great and getting better. th ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

the food is great and getting better. the staff is excellent and friendly

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed or pre-dinner show at the ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Really enjoyed or pre-dinner show at the restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a delightful pre-theatre dinner h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a delightful pre-theatre dinner here. The pork chop special (huge pork chop stuffed with spinach and cheese) was especially delicious; the wine list wasn't huge but had a nice selection at reasonable prices. Our server was forthright and attentive. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Emily and the food were awesome as alway ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Emily and the food were awesome as always! Roma's is the best authentic Italian in central Indiana, and for a bonus you can get a decent bottle of wine for a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pastas were quite good and not the s ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The pastas were quite good and not the standard hum drum sauces. The service was friendly and efficient . The only negative is the insane noise level. My husband and I agreed that we would never come here with anyone else because there would be no point. We could not have a conversation. How about a little acoustic tile on the ceiling?

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The food is always fresh (homemade pasta ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food is always fresh (homemade pasta) and delicious. The quality of food is outstanding without being pretentious or overdone. The fig appetizer is excellent as are all the pasta dishes. The staff know the food well and make appropriate recommendations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the food....just like being in Ita ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Loved the food....just like being in Italy! Fresh pasta, light sauces.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A really lovely meal. The lamb was bey ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A really lovely meal. The lamb was beyond description....and that comes from someone in our party who knows good lamb. I so enjoyed the clams and zucchini. All the pastas are homemade and absolutely worth every calorie! The bolognese sauce was yummy too. Service was excellent, as it always has been before.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to dine at this restaurant - ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

First time to dine at this restaurant - Food was delicious, very authentic and full of flavor. Will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Found this restaurant based on location ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Found this restaurant based on location near the Palladium in Carmel. It is a hidden gem. Really liked the fresh made pasta and we will go back.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Most authentic Italian food in the India ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Most authentic Italian food in the Indianapolis area. The gnocchi reminded my wife of her time abroad in Rome! Brought her to tears!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a real gem---- It's location is ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was a real gem---- It's location is not the best but the food is incredible and we will certainly return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our dining experience was very good. It ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our dining experience was very good. It was a little noisey while we were there thus made it hard to hear the waiter with communications.

Food was amazing and atmosphere very quaint.

Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Italian cuisine. Locally owned ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent Italian cuisine. Locally owned and operated by an Italian family. The trout entree was delicious! The lemon Gelato for dessert was tops! We will certainly return to dine at Roma Ristorante.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A friend and I tried Roma Ristorante for ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

A friend and I tried Roma Ristorante for the first time. Set in a little strip mall, one doesn't assume that it will be very good, but we were very surprised and pleased. The server was friendly and efficient, and highly recommended their homemade pasta. The pasta with seafood and and pesto was delicious, and my friend thought his salmon was equally good. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great pasta ! Didn't know that e ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Really great pasta ! Didn't know that existed in the Indianapolis area. A real treat and a surprise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Limited menu, but everything on it is am ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Limited menu, but everything on it is amazing. The homemade pastas are to die for. Picky eaters may want to confirm they will eat something before they go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food! Excellent service! #1 Ita ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous food! Excellent service! #1 Italian Restaurant in Indy/Carmel area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another great dinner!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Another great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roma is our favorite Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Roma is our favorite Italian restaurant in our area. The food is always excellent no matter what we order. We like the small, quaint atmosphere and that we are starting to know the staff well because we visit regularly. We highly recommend Ristorante Roma.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From fresh fish to fresh handmade pasta ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

From fresh fish to fresh handmade pasta to homemade gelato and cannolis - the quality of the food is amazing! The location, decor, and acoustics make this more of a fun casual place than a romantic date night setting.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

It was so loud that you couldn't hear yo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was so loud that you couldn't hear your own friends at your own table. The food was just average and definitely not worth the price. Would I go back? No. There are too many really reasonable and great places to go back to someplace that is mediocre and pricey on top of it. The four of us were unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything anyone tried, they loved from ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything anyone tried, they loved from appetizers all the way to the Gelato dessert. Definitely planning to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.