About Roma Ristorante

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (32)
Romantic (22)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful evening with beautiful music fantastic food and great service. We love this place and especially on a weeknight evening when we can relax and talk and enjoy the food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Our son gave us a gift certificate for Christmas, and we enjoyed a delicious meal that took us back to the time we spent in Italy. The food was fresh and authentic. The service was excellent. We will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

EVERYTHING that was ordered at our table was absolutely fantastic, top notch and prepared perfectly. The pace was definitely on the slow side so I would probably request an earlier reservation next time and wouldn't go on a night when we were pressed for time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were disappointed in the menu. It was very limited. No soups, only 1 salad dressing; none of the usual "comfort" foods of most Italian restaurants. We selected entrees we thought might be ok based on the menu description; we were both disappointed. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food great,service great but,the noise level is over the edge. It was so loud I could not talk to my wife across the table. We made a comment to our waitress and she even said its getting on my nerves also. This was a Friday night @ 6:15

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time and it was absolutely fabulous! Went with another couple for my wife's birthday and the waitor was great, great wine recommendation and really authentic Italian feel to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hidden in an older strip mall in the center of Carmel, Roma offers authentic Italian fare and a wide range of wines. Servers are very professional and attentive. Be sure to have one of their artfully prepared deserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant.... the food and service is always great. Great ambiance too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a group of 8 that they accommodated on Valentine's night. Was great for our crowd but would have been fine for just a couple. Very nice atmosphere and very authentic.

The food was fantastic and so was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Super authentic cuisine right in the center of Carmel! They even humor my broken and worsening Italian speech. Wine list is killer and affordable. We love this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Roma!

Always delivers great meal with great service

Love the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cozy. Great wine list and advice on wine. Food is delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I thought the food was excellent, the service was really good

We made a reservation for valentine's day and walked right in and we're seated.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Authentic, local, & creative dishes. Lucio has struck gold with Roma!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice Experience ,, just don't sit by the font door

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our second visit to Roma and we really enjoyed the food. It was a busy Saturday night, so quite noisy but not in an off-putting way. Service was very slow that night, and our food, when it arrived, wasn't as hot as it should have been. The pasta was a good bit more than al dente as well. I had the clams, my husband and our friend the Bolognese, and all of us were pleased with the flavor of our food. Our previous visit on a weeknight was more successful. We will definitely return, but probably on a week night rather than a weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Roma was GREAT! It's a hidden gem! The food is all made from scratch, in house! Everything!!!! My boyfriend ordered one of the specials of the night, which was a gnocchi in a cream sauce, with a touch of marinara, chopped filet, peas and cheese on top. The wonderful thing about this place is, you can pick your pasta. The regular menu offers two types of house made pasta. You can taste the difference. Gnocchi isn't on the regular menu, but it's something they clearly have on special for the day occasionally and it's hands down the best gnocchi I've ever put in my mouth. And I make my own homemade gnocchi, so that's saying a lot. If I was going to suggest anything, it would be to put the gnocchi on the everyday menu! Now, I ordered the herb crusted lamb chops with a balsamic reduction, which is on the everyday menu and it was superb. If you are going to order the lamb chops however, they must be ordered medium rare. My chops were cooked to perfection. The flavor was so amazing. When you order a meat or seafood, it comes with a roasted tomatoe the vegetable of the day and a piece of what looks like a potato casserole. To end my meal, I had the house made tiramisu. It was the best tiramisu I've EVER HAD! Last note...They don't have very many wines you can buy by the glass, so I suggest buying a bottle. If you like a smooth dry red, the Pecchenino, Dogliani is a must!!! Its by the bottle, however it pairs well with everything. The service was outstanding. The restaurant is small in size, but makes up for it in character. I would 100% recommend to everyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Good food ambiance and service. Liked our server. Only reason not 5 stars is because manager told our server not to spend too much time talking to us - did not think the restaurant was that busy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We have eaten here several times and the food quality is always excellent. Most of there food is prepared from scratch and is as close to Italian authentic as you can get. I had the lamb chops which were done to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food all fresh food best Italian meal in Indy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was exceptional but the noise level was so loud you could not carry on any type of conversation and the lighting was so poor that I had to use the light on my telephone to read the menu. Because of the lighting, when they brought the wine list, we ordered by pointing to the first one on the list thinking we were getting a house wine. Well, what a surprise when they brought the bill and the wine was almost 3/4 of the bill!! Sorry too say these things really put a sour taste in our mouths for this restaurant but I will again say the food was excellent. If you don't mind noise and darkness, this is the place for you.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Impeccable service, appetizers and entrees came quickly, Raphael gave spot-on recommendations for wine, and we were also given a Happy Anniversary card when they heard of the reason for our visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Have eaten at Roma many, many times. The food is always delicious and the service prompt and friendly. I've tried virtually everything on the menu, but I'm especially fond of the calamari and polenta appetizer, the bacon-wrapped prunes, the rack of lamb and the scallops. All of the desserts are very tasty. The place is small, so you might need to make a reservation on the weekends. Very convenient if you are attending a concert at the nearby Palladium. Roma is tucked into a back corner of the Monon Square shopping center, just off the Monon Trail. Don't miss it!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Restaurant offered no diet Coke or Pepsi.Only restaurant in central Indiana, that does not offer diet beverages.It was hard to carry on a conversation due to noise level.They need carpeting and fabric chairs to absorb noise.Pasta was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good food and service. Limited menu and a bit on the expensive side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food was good and authentic. Kids pasta with butter and parmesan was a bit pricey at $19.95.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It continues to improve. The service is good, the food is even better, the ambiance can use some improvement, but overall the place is quite enjoyable. I am hoping dinners in Carmel and surrounding areas will go there frequently and not just on weekends. As the restaurant becomes more profitable it also improves and this area needs privately owned restaurants.

Luccio, the owner/chef of this restaurant is quite talented, hard working and very committed to continues improvement.

Try it, you will like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

the food at Roma is good and pretty consistent. Interesting combinations that change frequently. the front of house is not so good. several times including this time the wait staff seems less than friendly and this time didn't even introduce herself or welcome us despite my saying hello to her twice. The wine selection is good and fairly priced. the gelato was not so good despite high praise from the waitress.

i will return for the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was looking for a new place to take my Mom for her 89th birthday . Roma did not disappoint! I asked for a quiet table and mentioned that this was a special occasion when I made the reservation. The hostess greeted my Mother with a "happy birthday" and there was a card waiting on the table. We were seated in a corner booth. Though the restaurant is not quiet, we had no trouble hearing each other during our meal. The food and the service were excellent. Each of us ordered a different meal and they were all perfectly prepared, beautifully served and delicious. The deserts were all good too! Roma is more expensive than the places we dine routinely, but it was well worth it. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The special New Year's Eve dinner might have been the best dinner I've had at a restaurant!! I wish they had Osso Bucco on the menu every night. What a great Italian restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal New Years Eve Dinner! The food and the service was quite remarkable. This will be our New Years Eve destination in the future!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is by far the best Italian restaurant in Indiana.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Italian Restaurant in Carmel. Their $26 bottle of Merritt is excellent for the price and likely the cheapest.red.on the menu. Dried dates wrapped in bacon appetizer is sweet and delicious. Considered getting it again for dessert! Caesar salad was excellent and can get anchovies with if if desired. Seafood pasta - homemade pasta was excellent but only 1 large shrimp and bay scallops were small. Other entree of sweet sausage and pappardille pasta in cream sauce was excellent. Gelato was OK but not outstanding for an Italian restaurant. Attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were were very disappointed. Food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Recommendation of this restaurant from a friend, skeptical at first judging from the outside façade of the restaurant but as soon as my date and I went inside we were pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere. The wait staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The good came out in a timely manner and was even more delicious than I had heard. Definitely will be coming back.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We liked the fact that our reserved table was waiting. The menu fairly broad. My wife and I both thought our pasta dishes were a bit dry, could have had more sauce. Next time we would ask for extra sauce.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 17, 2016

An excellent dining experience. One of our favorites!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Thanks to other reviews of this restaurant, we made a reservation. So happy we did. Don't let the strip mall location fool you. Inside you will experience a quaint Italian restaurant. Great food, great service, and wonderful ambiance. House made pasta really does make a difference!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always fabulous!!! A new favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was our first time at Roma. The food was delicious, and it came out quickly. The wines were great, and the tiramisu was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of a kind, small cozy place with great food. Located in an old shopping center but very close to the Palladium.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food was good. Service not great. Wine list excellent. The restaurant is small and with so many people and tables close together ito was very noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Food and wine was great. Every table was full due to an event at the Paladium

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

was very good..authentic food...not overpriced and quality food...we enjoyed dining there and will be back

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rack of lamb was done just as asked and was delicious. The pasta dish was also exceptional. Wine was suggested and was perfect with our meals. Quaint and comfy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Lovely Carmel restaurant close to the performing arts center.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The most delicious gnocchi I have ever experienced: light, fluffy, authentic. The lamb chops were exquisite: perfect flavor and tenderness, plus the meal comes with a hearty serving. The service was timely and polite. This is the best Italian restaurant in Carmel. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had a terrific meal. Our guest was Italian and an excellent cook. Roma chef came out to our table and was pleased to discuss our experience... mostly in Italian😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great hidden gem in Carmel! Homemade pasta and cute atmosphere. So glad we found it. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.