Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Roma Ristorante

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the food and the ambiance! Perfect for a date or special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Always have a good meal here. I try not to overeat, but I can never resist trying one of the interesting -- and filling -- appetizers. The service is always excellent, and there is plenty of free parking. Support this independent eatery!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Carmel's best hidden gem! Delectable appetizers and entrees. We had the Red Snapper on cedar plank.
All dishes were very creative and not your average dinner. A must in Carmel!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a difficult time finding the restaurant. GPS was not accurate.
Once we arrived, the staff was very congenial and so was our waitress. We started our dinner with calamari which I thought was pretty tasteless. Caesar salad was average but
my main course was very tasty. I had the sweet
sausage and mushroom pasta entree. My husband had the mussels and mushroom pasta entree.
We were too full for dessert so am unable to
make any personal comments but I've heard the lava cake is delicious!
Overall service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic! My wife and I had dinner there on Friday night. It was exceptional. The waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. And the service was great! Highly, highly, highly, recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Nice little mom and pop Italian restaurant. Not much seating and it is a small venue, so it gets loud quickly. The host sat us right away and server came shortly after to explain the wine and dinner menu. They have a Sommelier that works at the restaurant, and he was helpful explaining the wine list. Food was excellent! Only complaint is the portion was small, I probably could have had two. 4/5 overall 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Service is good. Could be a bit more knowledgeable on wine selections. Specials should be special therefore not read from a sheet. Be confident in your ability to make the food come to life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The only reason I gave a three for ambiance was because of the noise level. It wasn't Roma's fault as a large party with large voices came in after we were eating. After more people and drinks they stayed pretty loud. Service (John) was top notch right amount of attentiveness without hanging around. Food was prepared very well and the flavors mixed very nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fabulous as always we eat here every time we are in Indy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

So happy to find his restaurant! Food & service was wonderful! We will definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was plain; nothing exciting here. Definitely not a special occasion meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very much enjoyed our pasta. Great wine list. Cozy restaurant just off monon. Will definitely be back, now an Italian restaurant favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Enjoyable evening at Roma Ristorante. Outstanding service. Food always first rate and made onsite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Enjoyed my dining experience. I would recommend Roma to friends and family. Insalata Caprese was excellent! Homemade paste, very good. The volcano cake was decadent!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was attentive. The menu is limited but does have adequate variety. The prices of food and especially wine are reasonable. Everyone enjoyed their food that included 3 types of pasta, seafood and meat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was bummed they were out of the oxtail (it's amazing),but I had the porchetta and my husband had a sausage and mushroom pasta. The pasta is hand made and delicious. Would highly recommend Roma. So good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A bit noisy, but the food is always fabulous! The waiters and waitresses are always friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I have been here several times and always enjoy the food and service. The food is authentic Italian and always excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Have dined here many, many times and it is always a pleasure. Friendly and prompt service. Great wine. Limited, but authentic, menu. Park for free practically on the doorstep. Not a chain restaurant. If you don't want to drive all the way to Mass Ave for an interesting, delicious meal, go to Roma. We will keep coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fine locally-owner establishment
Great food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was on point. The calamari appetizer was among the best I've ever had. The homemade pasta selections was delicious.
Noticeable was the lack of patrons during peak hours on a Friday evening. The noise level was avove average.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

What a hidden gem. The former Mohawk Shopping Center changed hands and was remodeled over the last couple of years. I read about Roma Ristorante online and the reviews were very good. After a few disappointing meals at Convivo in Carmel, my sister and I decided to give Roma a try. We shared a couple of main dishes, as well as a bottle of wine. The food was excellent and the wine was great. The server was knowledgeable about our wine selection, as well as the dinner choices. We will definitely go back. Would like to see table cloths and uniforms to give it more ambiance, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

First time visit. Menu was limited. They had a special Salmon with some kind of an onion sauce over it. I asked for it to come without the sauce. They said no, can't do that. What? Zero flexibility. My daughter ordered the kids pasta. It was $19.95. I asked if this was a mistake as it was $2.00 less than my meal. They said no. Wow. There are many other places for good Italian food with more flexibility and reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

After a much earlier disappointing experience here, we gave Roma Ristorante another try and were glad we did. Our server was charming, efficient and knowledgeable; the house-made pastas were a standout, and the ability to mix and match pastas and sauces a plus; and the appetizers were especially inventive and tasty. The location, in a dying strip mall, is unfortunate, but at least parking is plentiful and close to the door. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very nice and quiet restaurant serving homemade pasta and sauces. Great restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food, service, and experience. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We went to Roma for an anniversary dinner, and were surprised at the few people in the restaurant on a weekday evening. Weekend business is much stronger on weekends. The service was attentive and excellent. Generally, the food was very tasty, but the presentation was lacking - our main courses were the campagnola and a similar daily special including chopped filet in sauce - both dishes were delivered with a pile of food with all ingredients completely mixed; how much better it would have been with the meat and sauce presented on a bed of the homemade pasta with some garnish sprinkled on top or placed on the side of the dish. The dinner menu was a la carte and seemed overpriced for the meals we had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Spectacular! Great service and wonderful, authentic food! I had the Lamb in cream sauce and my wife had the Clam Gnocchi. Fabulous!

Highly recommended,

Erikk & Gina Lee

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had tickets for an event at the Palladium in Carmel and our 5:45 reservation was perfect for a relaxing dinner with wine and a leisurely walk from the restaurant to the Palladium along the Monon Trail for our 7:30 event. The food was wonderful and the wine list was endless. I would recommend this to everyone even if you aren't going to the Palladium! We plan to be back soon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was outstanding from gnocchi appetizer to gelato dessert, and som amazing entrees in between. Service was excellent and the sommelier was very helpful! We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What a delightful surprise! Good food and excellent service. We'd return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Authentic Italian cuisine. Having just returned from Portugal, we found Roma Ristorante a delight and reminder of a neighborhood Restaraunt in your typical neighborhood. Don't let the fact the establishment is nestled in an older strip mall stop you from checking it out. I'd drive 30-40 minutes to dine here!

Menu is many of the standards. However you can't fake or mimic taste. Roma Ristorante is the real deal!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Have dined here many times. Always enjoy it. Friendly and attentive staff. Excellent food. I love the porchetta del papa, also the Greek mousse dessert and the tiramisu. Casual atmosphere but quality dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This was a dinner before a show at the Palladium. Our waiter, John was very attentive, however busy. Dinner came and it was excellent. The house made pasta was outstanding as was the overall experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is by far the best Italian restaurant in the area. My husband is an Italian from NY so is very critical of authentic Italian food & he absolutely loves Roma. We will definitely be making this one of our regular go-to restaurants. Amazing food!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great authentic dishes. Not typical but everything made there ,even gellato. Manager is the perfect host. We go there weekly. Just as you would get in Rome but you dont have to go as far to get it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Rosemary steak is the best I've ever had, I highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Paula served our table and very attentive. She made us feel very welcomed. The appetizer were extremely tasty and our food was very welled prepared. Don't leave without experiencing the chocolate volcano cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was wonderful. For a restaurant of this caliber I would have expected better service. For example dirty silverware was handed back to us. Clean silverware should be provided between courses. Additionally, our server would grab our plates without asking if we were done. Several times we were not. The wine pours were also very small.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.