About Roma Ristorante

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Entertainment:
During the weekend we will have live music with a variety that goes from classical to jazz.

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Indiana
Neighborhood Gem
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
5 More
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Carmel / Westfield ›

neighborhood gem (46)
fit for foodies (44)
special occasion (32)
See All
romantic (30)
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place. It is as good as ...

Dined 6 days ago

This is a great place. It is as good as many restaurants in Italy. It is not a speghetti and meatball place or for young kids. If you want authentic Italian food done with fresh ingredients, this is the place. The staff is friendly and knowledgable. The Chef makes the rounds to make sure you are pleased with your meal. Wine list is good and not overpriced. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service by Paula. The food wa ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service by Paula. The food was outstanding

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food, service & ambiance. Owner stopped by our table; nice touch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

Dined on May 3, 2016

Have dined at Roma many times, and it's always great. Excellent food and service. Highly recommend the tortino appetizer and the scallops. The bacon-wrapped prunes are also yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I only gave 3 stars for overall because ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I only gave 3 stars for overall because one of my guests wanted to substitute pasta for potatoes and the server informed us that the chef never substitutes. In my opinion that isn't very customer friendly. Might be the reason we hesitate to return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another phenomenal dinner at Roma Ristor ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Another phenomenal dinner at Roma Ristorante

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food quality of this res ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

The service and food quality of this resturant is always outstanding. This is about my seventh visit and have never been disappointed!!

food3
ambience3
service5

Too noisy tonight Could not hear each ot ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Too noisy tonight Could not hear each other speak. Food was good

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Meh

Dined on April 23, 2016

Four of us dined at Roma. We had 3 different dishes and all were OK. Just OK. Pasta with Filet and red wine sauce was tasteless. Risotto was gummy. Wine list overpriced. Not a great value for the money.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wasn't as great as we were expecting

Dined on April 23, 2016

We've thought about going here several times, but never got there. So, I decided to make a reservation for my husband's birthday. Server was nice but not very attentive. Pasta dishes were extremely salty, and I am a "salt person". So coming from me, it was definitely too much.

food1
ambience2
service4

My husband and I had dinner at Roma Apri ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at Roma April 22, 2016. I ordered pasta and requested extra sauce. The waitress came back to the table to inform me Chef Lucio Romani would not add extra sauce because that's not "the way it's done". I ordered a small dinner salad instead. After we finished Chef Luciano came by as asked how dinner tasted. I expressed my displeasure with the his inflexibility. He said I should eat elsewhere....and I will.

food2
ambience2
service4

Very unassuming from outside but nice fe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very unassuming from outside but nice feel inside - cozy & romantic , feels very Italian! We had a woman help us find an excellent Italian wine , wine selection good. Appetizer good, caesar salad ok & our pasta wasn't as exciting as I had hoped since they make all the pasta homemade . I think the red sauces would maybe be better .. We had the mushroom & sausage cream sauce , too Rich. Shrimp was good. Overall a little disappointed but would maybe try again .

food5
ambience5
service5

Pasta is the best in town.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Pasta is the best in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit this restaurant!!!!

Dined on April 9, 2016

We randomly ran across this restaurant while searching for a new place to eat dinner on Saturday night with my husband's family. Italian food is a staple for this Italian family, so we decided to try it. Let me tell you how pleased we were with EVERYTHING. From the adorable quaint atmosphere and decor, down to the food and outstanding service. Emily, our server, was super cute and bubbly. She greeted us and got our drinks. We had the Sangiovese wine and it was delightful. We started with the Salmon and Goat Cheese appetizer, it was AMAZING, like melt in your mouth amazing. We also got salads and some homemade pasta. Every dish was outstanding. We ended with the Cannoli and I am pretty sure it was the best Cannoli I have ever eaten! The pricing was reasonable and the food was delectable. Don't miss out on this gem!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh Pasta was Amazing!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Loved the fresh pasta (had papardelle). We each had it with a different sauce and they were both awesome. Appetizer of smoked salmon with paper-thin sliced zucchini was wonderful and so different from the usual! Wine list was simple and good, and our waitress (sorry, missed catching her name) was friendly and also very helpful in telling us about the area (which was why we were in town, to explore). Even though it is on the more expensive side, it was worth every bite. A little hard to find, but we did find it! Definitely want to go back there someday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Roma Ristorante, it's a gem of a find!

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is delicious, the atmosphere is lovely, and the staff treat you like family- we'll definitely be back! We had our daughter's baptism dinner at Roma, which was excellent. Recently, we went there to celebrate our niece's 16th birthday- she even received a birthday card :). Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Roma

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food, great service. The goat cheese appetizer is like dessert. The bacon-wrapped prunes are also very tasty. My scallops were very tender and lightly-seasoned. Julie and Catello took good care of us. This is a great place for authentic Roman dishes and homemade pasta. We dine there often. It's tucked away in the back of Monon Square shopping center on Rangeline. Well worth hunting for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best Italian food in Indy....

Dined on March 31, 2016

Homemade pasta, an excellent wine list- everything is spectacular once inside Ristorante Roma.......

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Kind of hard to find if you don't know where your going, but you shouldn't be disappointed - nothing spectacular but everything was good and the pasta itself was exceptional for anything else that we've had around central Indiana. My only complaint is that for the life of me - I don't understand why they don't have an out door patio on the west side of their building for an outdoor dining area that can see and be seen on the adjoining Monon trail - that would be great !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Carmel gem

Dined on March 12, 2016

I hope others in Carmel discover this great Italian Restaurant just off the Monon Trail. The atmosphere is truly Italian complete with wonderful music in the background. The salmon is my favorite, but the other dishes from pasta to salads are equally good. Hot bread is served almost immediately, and the wine list will fit any pocket book. This would be a wonderful place for an anniversary or birthday dinner. Evidently, some have discovered Roma Ristorante because there were no tables empty by 7:00 on Saturday night.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best date night place

Dined on March 11, 2016

The restaurant is wonderful. The wait staff is extremely sweet. The food is marvelous (as is the wine). It was such an amazing experience. :+1:

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden treaure

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service and food are excellent, and food and music took us back to Rome. Our server, Emily, was attentive and interesting and helped make this a special experience. We will go back again and again to try all the different menu options. What a treat to see 4 fish/seafood options in addition to the variety of homemade pasta and gnocchi. Coffee was also excellent. Wine choices offer authentic Italian and quality California wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fabulous!

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

The food, the staff, the ambiance- all top-notch; never disappointed. Whether dining for a special occasion- or for an early dinner before a performance at The Center For the Performing Arts in Carmel- always a pleasure to dine at Roma.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Roma before the concert

Dined on February 26, 2016

Service was excellent. Ambiance - excellent. Good value. Only caveat: trout dish, with thyme and lime. Far too much thyme. Overpowered the fish and almost overpowered the table. It was my wife's order. She left half uneaten. Very uncharacteristic of her. She is very appreciative of great good, but also very knowledgeable of appropriate ratios of ingredients. The thyme was out of proportion.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When in Roma, you will be well-fed

Dined on February 23, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at this neighborhood eatery tucked away in the Monon Square shopping center on Rangeline Rd. The new tortina di noci appetizer is fabulous. You could order it for dessert. As always, the service was friendly and attentive. Roma is a great place to dine in Carmel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The Trout was outstanding! Everything he ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

The Trout was outstanding! Everything here is always so good. Paula was our server and was wonderful. They make you feel like family

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The same excellence the third time. Gre ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

The same excellence the third time. Great food, not hurried but fine service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

This is a very nice restaurant tucked aw ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant tucked away in Carmel. The food is very good. There is something about the food that is just short of the greatest Italian restaurants however. I feel it is overall the best Italian restaurant in Carmel. Very caring and respectful staff with a romantic atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service

Dined on February 16, 2016

Very authentic Italian food, the service was great and the atmosphere relaxing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentine dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Genuine Italian fare, beautifully presented in an intimate, stylish and romantic setting. Service is attentive. Ambiance included lovely piano music.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Quaint little Italian place

Dined on February 14, 2016

Granted my experience was based on a fixed menu for a valentine day dinner, so my rating if value and variety in this would not be comparable to the regular menu. Tasty food and quaint atmosphere. Service is good to very good. The temperature of the restaurant was quite chilly but it could of just been that particular night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Way over priced valentine's day meal

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Way over priced valentine's day meal

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cafe Roma is awesome!

Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best authentic Italian restaurants in the Indianpolis area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a hidden gem this is!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding! Would highly recommend for anyone looking for authentic Italian. This is a hidden gem for sure!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for regular date night!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and have been to Ristorante Roma 4 times in the past few months and have loved every meal we've had there. The wait staff is very personable and fun. We've taken friends with us the past couple times and everyone has enjoyed their experience! The authentic Italian pasta dishes are my favorite... all of them!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Whatever you do DO NOT GO THERE. Please ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Whatever you do DO NOT GO THERE. Please don't. I'd prefer it stay my personal restaurant. From the service to the appetizer to wine to entree to dessert - AWESOME. Cannot recommend the Bocconcini Di Prugne Secche enough - melts in your mouth and the Gorgonzola sauce - awesomesauce. The Salsiccia E Mandalore and the Pancetta E Funghi Al Rum were exquisite. The pasta and sauces are homemade daily and cooked to perfection. The BEST Tiramisu in Indy topped off the night. The server (John?) was very knowledgeable and did a fantastic job. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good time wth friends

Dined on February 6, 2016

We met three friends for dinner. The atmosphere is lovely, our food excellent and the service attentive, but not rushed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Only negative was t ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Food was very good. Only negative was that our entrees took a very long time to be brought to our table.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting from Utah and house hun ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

We were visiting from Utah and house hunting and didnt know where to eat. We selected Roma vased on the good reviews and proximity to where we where. From the outside, I would not have known what to expect. Being in a strip mall and all. But we were very impressed when we got inside and seated. It was clean, quiet and elegant. The food was delicious. Service was attentive without being too frequent. Excellent wine choices. The server recommended the lamb entrée and it did not disappoint. My husband tried the gnocchi (off menu special) and he was pleased. We didn't try the desserts, but we will next time we return. And we will return!

food5
ambience4
service5

I always enjoy dining at Roma. My boyfr ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

I always enjoy dining at Roma. My boyfriend selected to have his birthday dinner here as he's only been to Roma one other time and loved it. We started with my favorite , the calamari and polenta appetizer. I was not getting a pasta for dinner so I ordered a half order of gnocchi in marinara that he and I both shared...it is exactly as my grandmother and mother make and just yummy. The half order to share was just right as a second appetizer too. He fully enjoyed the bolongese with the parpadelli pasta. I went for something I never had..oxtail with a sauce that had pine nuts and dark chocolate. ..to die for. We both ate half of our entrees to get the tiramisu dessert. Best in town. Shared one and had to get another. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the table as it was close to the door. I have a fault that when I have reservations made far in advance that I feel I should have a little better seat. It want cold but it detracted from the ambiance. Overall , I will always go back for the best and most authentic Italian food in the area.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.