Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Roma Ristorante

Welcome to Roma's Ristorante. The food at Roma’s is an interesting blend of both traditional and innovative Italian cuisine and serves the freshest ingredients possible, many imported directly from Italy. Executive Chef, Lucio Romani, takes great pride in his homemade sauces and his ability to acquire the freshest ingrediants available. Each course is made to order and requires accurate preparation time. Roma is a slow-dining establishment; so come for romance, or for an important business dinner. Roma will accommodate private dining with prix-fixe menus for any special occasion. Italy is known for more than just the cuisine, which is why Roma also offers the finest Italian wines to compliment the food. Along with regular wine selections, a Reserve List is available for those wine enthusiasts with a taste for something special. Reservations are recommended.

620 S. Rangeline Rd
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, International

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
126th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 848-4600

Website:
http://www.ristoranteromaindy.com/

Executive Chef:
Lucio Romani

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Roma Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Romantic (16)
Authentic (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first visit after hearing numerous positive comments from friends.
It was a wonderful evening spent with a good friend. Saw many other friends.
The food was excellent and well priced for the quality.
You were kind enough to divide the 2 entrees we choose so we could share.
The lamb chops were outstanding.
Thank you for offering a wonderful dining experience in a small friendly neighborhood setting.
I will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a special evening at Roma. Lucio's current fish special is wonderful - The service staff is friendly, knowledgeable- just the correct amount of attention - even on a busy night. Make reservations- they are full even during the week. Lucio, the chef/owner says hello to each table even when busy. High value for the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here before a concert at the Palladium. The food was excellent, and the wine list is very approachable. Our waitress was very nice, efficient, and made good recommendations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This restaurant was one of the best I've been to. Authentic Italian like I've never had. The owner is from Rome which was pretty neat. The server knew everything about the menu. The food was served in a traditional Italian way with each course seperate. A bottle of wine, appetizer, pasta plate, 2 meat plates , and dessert was $140 but the prices are definitely reasonable for what you recieve. The lamb was perfect. I don't have a single complaint about the restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Amazing homemade noodles! The sauce was delectable and the perfect place for date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

This place is amazing its nice little restaurant . the food was outstanding the service was great an the prices were not to bad . we are so gonna go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Great neighborhood asset that is worth the drive even if you don't live in the neighborhood. Attentive service without being overbearing. GREAT FOOD! Plenty of choices on the menu plus the daily specials. Personal service with the chef/owner in the dining room when possible. Nice wine list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Every meal I've ever had at Roma has been delicious -- fresh and flavorful. It's hands-down the best Italian food in the Indianapolis area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2017

After this visit, we told ourselves that we would not wait so long for the next visit! Really enjoyed this cozy, locally owned place. The food was really well prepared and server friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great Food, authentic, very nice reasonable wine , a bit out of the way , so it’s quiet, good parking nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Our meal was absolutely Fantastic! We started dinner with some Antipasti. The octopus was done to perfection and dried plums wrapped in bacon were delicious. For entrees, my friend had the the oxtail and claimed it was the best he has ever tasted. My wife had the stuffed pork tenderloin and thought it was outstanding. I had the Boscaiola and it was done to perfection. What a great night! Absolutely enjoyable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 16, 2017

The restaurant is as consistent as they come with food and service. Others have noted the strip mall and blah atmosphere. I will say that the good outweighs any of those 4:1. The only criticism I have is that the specials are uninspired for the range of the menu. I would love to see the chef get out of his comfort zone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The Tortino al Salmone to die for. The oxtail is divine. Cuisine fresh, clean, and lovingly prepared. BUT beware! The cannoli is not as presented on their website. Was hard, dry and chalky. We will return nevertheless.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Awesome food & awesome people. It is a fantastic, authentic restaurant and we love visiting every time that we can.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Fabulous! Went to Roma for our 27th anniversary. The food was fantastic and our waiter was awesome - his recommendations were perfection! We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food at Roma is always good. Its noisy but the food is excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 2, 2017

This is authentic Italian cuisine, freshly homemade pasta with terrific options.
A wonderful place, with a giant Rome scene mural! Almost like actually dining in Italy, but right here in Carmel. Superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Insanely delicious, terrific and personable staff, and absolutely wonderful wine list. All at a very reasonable price for what you get. I'm someone who never finishes their meal, especially when it comes to filling dishes like pasta, but I put it all away. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We have been here on at least 5 other occasions, and as usual, the food is outstanding. Service is also very good. Tonight we had the ox tails (to die for), and a pasta special of shrimp and scallops in white wine sauce with pumpkin (who would have thought). Both were very good. As pointed out in my previous reviews, there are 2 downsides to dining here. One is the noise level. As has been the case in the past, it was extremely noisy; to the point of having a difficult time hearing the person across the table from me. The second downside is that they do not have a full bar, so you are restricted to beer (and there are only 2 to choose from) and wine (they have an extensive wine menu). Finally, I will say that they probably have the best bread in town, for what that's worth. We had 2 servings, and could have had a third, but we didn't want to seem like gluttons.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2017

4 of us ate at this restaurant for the first time prior to the Chris Botti performance at the Palladium. The place was quiet when we arrived at 5:45 and about 1/3 full. By the time we left it was about 3/4 full and the noise from diners and the background music was moderate. Not at all disruptive to conversation. The interior decor is old worldly; the exterior is 70's shopping strip center. Our food was delicious. 3 of us had pasta, two the bolognese sauce, 1 with fettuccine and 1 the gnocci. I had the fettuccine with the FRUTTI DI MARE AL PESTO: shrimp, scallops, fresh grape tomato in a basil pesto sauce ,which was excellent. Our 4th diner ran late due to an accident on the road and the restaurant accommodated her shortened time to dine before we had to leave for the concert which was fortunately just around the corner. She had the jumbo shrimp with butter lemon sauce which came with a fried potato concoction and broccoli. The shrimp were beyond jumbo, about 3/5 the size of langoustines! She said it was delicious. No time for desert this visit. We all agreed we would be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We love the food and the ambiance! Perfect for a date or special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Always have a good meal here. I try not to overeat, but I can never resist trying one of the interesting -- and filling -- appetizers. The service is always excellent, and there is plenty of free parking. Support this independent eatery!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Carmel's best hidden gem! Delectable appetizers and entrees. We had the Red Snapper on cedar plank.
All dishes were very creative and not your average dinner. A must in Carmel!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a difficult time finding the restaurant. GPS was not accurate.
Once we arrived, the staff was very congenial and so was our waitress. We started our dinner with calamari which I thought was pretty tasteless. Caesar salad was average but
my main course was very tasty. I had the sweet
sausage and mushroom pasta entree. My husband had the mussels and mushroom pasta entree.
We were too full for dessert so am unable to
make any personal comments but I've heard the lava cake is delicious!
Overall service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fantastic! My wife and I had dinner there on Friday night. It was exceptional. The waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. And the service was great! Highly, highly, highly, recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Outstanding as always! Love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Nice little mom and pop Italian restaurant. Not much seating and it is a small venue, so it gets loud quickly. The host sat us right away and server came shortly after to explain the wine and dinner menu. They have a Sommelier that works at the restaurant, and he was helpful explaining the wine list. Food was excellent! Only complaint is the portion was small, I probably could have had two. 4/5 overall 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Service is good. Could be a bit more knowledgeable on wine selections. Specials should be special therefore not read from a sheet. Be confident in your ability to make the food come to life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The only reason I gave a three for ambiance was because of the noise level. It wasn't Roma's fault as a large party with large voices came in after we were eating. After more people and drinks they stayed pretty loud. Service (John) was top notch right amount of attentiveness without hanging around. Food was prepared very well and the flavors mixed very nicely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fabulous as always we eat here every time we are in Indy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

So happy to find his restaurant! Food & service was wonderful! We will definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was plain; nothing exciting here. Definitely not a special occasion meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very much enjoyed our pasta. Great wine list. Cozy restaurant just off monon. Will definitely be back, now an Italian restaurant favorite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Enjoyable evening at Roma Ristorante. Outstanding service. Food always first rate and made onsite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Enjoyed my dining experience. I would recommend Roma to friends and family. Insalata Caprese was excellent! Homemade paste, very good. The volcano cake was decadent!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was attentive. The menu is limited but does have adequate variety. The prices of food and especially wine are reasonable. Everyone enjoyed their food that included 3 types of pasta, seafood and meat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was bummed they were out of the oxtail (it's amazing),but I had the porchetta and my husband had a sausage and mushroom pasta. The pasta is hand made and delicious. Would highly recommend Roma. So good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A bit noisy, but the food is always fabulous! The waiters and waitresses are always friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I have been here several times and always enjoy the food and service. The food is authentic Italian and always excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great food, ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.