Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Social Kitchen and BarSocial Kitchen and Bar
(277)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 5 times today
220 Merrill220 Merrill
(351)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 26 times today
Rugby GrilleRugby Grille
(419)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 15 times today
Toast BirminghamToast Birmingham
(351)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 5 times today
Tallulah Wine Bar and BistroTallulah Wine Bar and Bistro
(384)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 11 times today
PhoeniciaPhoenicia
(61)
$$$$
Middle Eastern | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 12 times today
Forest GrillForest Grill
(113)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 12 times today
The StandThe Stand
(288)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 6 times today
The Bird & The BreadThe Bird & The Bread
(294)
$$$$
European | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 9 times today
Mitchell's Fish Market - BirminghamMitchell's Fish Market - Birmingham
(1249)
$$$$
Seafood | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 7 times today
Cameron's Steakhouse - BirminghamCameron's Steakhouse - Birmingham
(685)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 28 times today
Bistro Joe'sBistro Joe's
(243)
$$$$
Global, International | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 9 times today
Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MIFleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI
(555)
$$$$
Steak | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 3 times today
Big Rock Chop HouseBig Rock Chop House
(625)
$$$$
American | Birmingham, Detroit
Booked 1 time today
Eddie Merlot's - Bloomfield HillsEddie Merlot's - Bloomfield Hills
(904)
$$$$
Steak | Bloomfield Hills, Detroit
Booked 14 times today

About Rojo Mexican Bistro - Birmingham

250 E. Merrill
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Coming Soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(248) 792-6200

Website:
http://www.rojomexicanbistro.com/

Sort By:
S
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service--nice ambiance

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Rojo's is a nice place for a dinner or drinks and apps. The menu selection is appealing. We tried the delicious Chicken Tortilla soup and shared a tasty Rojo Signature Salad. Our shared Chicken and Steak Fajitas arrived steaming and this dish was also a winner.

The ambiance is suitable for couples dining, dinner with friends or even family outings. The tables are nicely spaced, the service is excellent and the red chandelier décor offers a kind of exotic bent to what might have been just another sports bar. Live music is available on Saturday night. In the summer months, outdoor seating is available.

If you're in the mood for Mexican, the Birmingham Rojo is a nice choice. We saw the table side guacamole being prepared for another table. This is a nice touch and we'll try it next time we return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was extremely friendly and a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The manager was extremely friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great night out for my wife and I

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Looking for somewhere to go Saturday night. Everything around Birmingham had long lines and waits. Reserved a table through Open Table - easy and fast.

They had a nice little table ready for us - a little tight, but cozy. Acoustic guitar player created a nice ambience. Crowd was having a nice time.

Food was great. Our only possible complaint is that it is a bit pricey for Mexican fare. We spent almost $100 for two of us (including tip).

Our server was Tina and she was great. There are many daily specials to knock the cost a bit.

Overall, we had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Date Night with my Hubby!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2016

This place was excellent! My husband and I were running late and Laura called to make sure we were still going to be able to make it before they gave our reservation away!

We also really enjoyed the live entertainment! Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2015

The service is always excellent at the Birmingham location. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A MUST VISIT

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2015

Had a wonderful time at Rojo, I will definitely make it back there. This may be my new taco Tuesday spot, great food and the staff was outstanding.

The only sad thing about finding this GEM is that I will be leaving soon. Guess when I come back I know where my first place to eat will be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter enjoyed her chicken burrito, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 28, 2015

My daughter enjoyed her chicken burrito, but my burrito bowl would have been better with either Mexican rice, brown rice or quinoa White rice added nothing. Chips were fresh and tasty. I would order a different dish next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It was a lovely time shared with friends ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2015

It was a lovely time shared with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Dinner with Toddler

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Great for Friday night out with the children. we did have one issue with our food but the manager and waitress went out of their way to rectify it and it really reflected well on the establishment.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

waiter criticized your chicken

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2015

My date wanted a chicken dish and the waiter said to get get it because the chicken was dry and tough! Why would he say that???? He recommended steak! Why so he could get a bigger tip?? My date had wanted chicken until he spouted off! Wrong!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The two-story beef taco was great. Didn' ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 27, 2015

The two-story beef taco was great. Didn't care for the classic chicken taco; the meat had no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not for conversation

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2015

I have dined here at lunch at other locations and it was fine. On a Saturday night, at a hot spot like Birmingham, it is not a place to go if you are over 50 or if you want to have a conversation where you don't have to shout at one another. The service could not have been better - our waitress and others were attentive and very helpful. The place itself was extremely warm, owing, I think, to the fact that the weather has been variable and the A/C probably was not on. The food was average, which surprised us, because our lunches (Rochester, Novi) have always been very good. The music level was above average, but doable. We were unaware that live entertainment was available on the weekend and once that started, around 8:00, we could not hear ourselves speak and left quickly. We had asked for a quiet table when we reserved and were accommodated for that, but not sure any table would have been quiet. All in all, I would not return - at least not on a weekend night, and not when it was so busy. Maybe that is what affected the food prep.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Solid Mexican in an Upbeat environment

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Freshly done chips, tasty food, and the excellent service make this a solid choice for the flavors of Mexico. Each time we have been we have seen a range of diners, from families with small children to seniors to young professionals, a tribute to both the ambiance and food. I had the Portobello Mushroom Fajita, and it was plentiful and very flavorful. The only thing I missed was the traditional Guacamole normally served with fajitas. My son is a vegetarian, who cannot enjoy any onions. Roxy, the server, was reassuring that the food would be exactly as he wanted, and it was. I also like a restaurant where the manager stops at every table to make sure the food is to the customer's liking. A nice touch at Rojo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Mediocre

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Food was ok, nothing special. There are better choices in Birmingham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Southwestern cuisine done right

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 7, 2015

We have been missing the food we get in Arizona 6 months of the year- what a wonderful reminder this restaurant was- we enjoyed the margaritas, tableside guacomole and fajitas supreme. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as great as before

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 21, 2015

I ordered the Shrimp Diablo/ Diabla - not the first time to order this. It was not at par with the previous times I ordered it which I remember to be more 'fresh. The shrimp and sauce didn't look as 'freshly' prepared compared to the previous times. The place was not busy, pretty quiet when I came, one table by the bar area, 2 others where I was and a couple outside were occupied.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Perfect meal

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2015

Rojo Birmingham is great! I love Fajita Wednesday and shrimp fajitas! My husband loves the shrimp Diablo. The margaritas are excellent, especially the Perfect Margarita made with1800 which is truly perfect! I Highly recommend the Birmingham MI location for their great food and service. It gets better each time that we dine there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food Issues

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2015

We liked the atmosphere, but the food wasn't that good. The chips are just OK. The salsa has a smoky taste to it -- not my favorite. But the real problem was my chille relleno dinner -- the batter wasn't cooked through all the way, so there were clumps of white four and starch throughout. It was also really greasy. I don't recommend it. Also, there were a lot of kids running around. My husband called it a "romper room." This obviously isn't the restaurant's fault. Parents, please remember that your children aren't cute to everyone. Keep them under control so they aren't ruining other people's nights out.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Bad Guacamole server

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2015

We ordered Guacamole by the tableside. The server did not do a good job because she did not mince it enough. There were chucks and after telling the server, they did not credit the item.

Other branches of Rojo seem to do a better job and provide better service. Too bad that the have too many restrictions with weekend Opentable reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great Downtown Birmingham Restaurant

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 31, 2015

A great location in Downtown Birmingham, with an option to eat outside! The inside of the restaurant was decorated, as described by the name, with lots of red. However it had a good style to it. Our waitress was very attentive and we received our food quickly after ordering. There was even live music while we were there! And this is all at a not-so-steep price, especially for Birmingham. I would definitely recommend Rojo!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Was really good except for the fact that ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Was really good except for the fact that we all ordered rice and no beans - and we all got beans. And the guys sitting next to us were obnoxious and loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great again!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 30, 2015

Retruned to Rojo on a whim. It was great! Shrimp Diablo was uber spicy but good. My friend ordered the wet burrito and found it most delicious. Our server, Anthony was superb and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

holly the server is outstanding...we were there f

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2015

Holly was great....the thrursday value night is awesome. Recommend to everyone we know. We have been going for two years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Hideous. Just hideous. Let's start with ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Hideous. Just hideous. Let's start with the good: the space is very attractive, the servers are pleasant and the broth with the mussels appetizer is excellent. Now the bad: everything else, starting with the mussels. Fishy and awful. I know it's a reasonable price point, but the quality of all the ingredients is wretched. Note to management: if you're going to bake the crummy piece of meat for my carne asada, you need to sear it so it doesn't show up all pale and, well, baked looking. The salsa is bland, and the table side guacamole wasn't mixed so that all the salt and chiles were in one half and the other was tasteless. The margaritas were warm deapite being 3/4 ice. How is that possible? Honestly, the food at Chilis is better. This is a place that must be trying to keep their food costs at about 18% of the menu price and it shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great Food! Great Time!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2015

My husband and I have been to Rojo several times and usually order much of the same thing. This time we added chicken empanadas to our list and oh my were they tasty! Overall, our experience was great as the service staff were exceptional. They were kind and attentive. As an added bonus, we had the pleasure of hearing a solo artist who delighted us with his guitar and vocal abilities. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our visit.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Our server was very nice and was attentive. He was accommodating and made a flavored lemonade drink even though it was not listed on the menu. He replenished our salsa and chips without having to be asked and kept our drink glasses full. The food portions were generous and were piping hot and very tasty. All staff were friendly. We would eat here again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jumbo Margaritas!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 13, 2015

My friends and I came here Friday night and enjoyed tasty jumbo margaritas and yummy food! We enjoyed ALL our food, from the tacos to the burritos to the shrimp fajitas and the tableside guac. Very nice decor and very friendly staff. Not sure why ratings arent very high here but we will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT SERVICE!!!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2015

I enjoyed the atmosphere & the service was AWESOME

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Taco Tuesday!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2015

This is my go to for Tuesday night dinner w/my 8yo son. He loves it!

My co-workers and I frequent for lunch as well.

We always enjoy a Rojo meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Taco Tuesday - great day to go. Make reservations!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2015

Went on a Tuesday. They have special pricing on their tacos. It gets really busy, so make a reservation. Had a regular taco with chicken, a regular taco with beef, and their portabella taco. I enjoyed all of them. The table side guacamole is fantastic. I really liked their red rice. Cooked perfectly, great flavor.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

About what you would expect from a chain rest.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Lots of menu options for food and drinks, decent ambiance and good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

reservation cancelled

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Be careful when you check in. Rojo at Birmingham MI has cancelled my reservations by mistakes. Fortunately, OpenTable was able to credit the points to my account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Although I did not like what I ordered t ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 12, 2014

Although I did not like what I ordered this time (the fajita burrito) I would go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

A Hit!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 6, 2014

Everything was wonderful from the menu choices, atmosphere, service,food, drinks,etc.

Chips arrived immediately for our party of three with individual bowls of salsa . Chips were crispy with the right amount of salt and a little spice. We had two servers working our table who were fantastic! Food was excellent and served promptly. I had the fajita salad with chicken and would come back and order again and again. My other party members had a shrimp dish and another had the enchiladas. We all walked away with doggy bags as the portion sizes were plentiful. I will definitely be back again and so will my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rojo No

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Rojo is a moderate price Mexican cuisine chain restaurant. We went there after a show and found the to be unacceptable. The guacamole was bland - even though made table side. The tacos contained about 2 ounces of filling. The quesadilla was the same, all shell. Too many other moderately priced restaurants around the Birmingham area to dine at, avoid Rojo.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Mediocre

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2014

Lots of choices on the menu and if you are interested in tequila they have an extensive menu. However the food was a disappointment. I ordered fish tacos and the amount of fish was way too limited for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

great week night deals

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2014

this is a great place during the week because they offer many deals depending on the night of the week (1 dollar tacos on Tuesdays, etc.)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

DiningDiva

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2014

Great atmosphere, good for lunch meetings and large groups.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

dinner on monday

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 29, 2014

Niceambience, quickly seated. Food was ok, server forgot all about a drink order until too late

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

terrific neighborhood dining

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2014

The food is consistently good and service friendly and efficient. Happy hour is great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.