Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

NostranaNostrana
(1503)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 72 times today
Portland City GrillPortland City Grill
(5044)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown, Portland
Booked 131 times today
AndinaAndina
(5558)
$$$$
Peruvian | Pearl District, Portland
Booked 120 times today
ImperialImperial
(1729)
$$$$
Northwest | Downtown, Portland
Booked 55 times today
The Woodsman TavernThe Woodsman Tavern
(1038)
$$$$
American | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 13 times today
RenataRenata
(683)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 28 times today
Departure Restaurant and LoungeDeparture Restaurant and Lounge
(2282)
$$$$
Asian | Downtown, Portland
Booked 100 times today
Little BirdLittle Bird
(1969)
$$$$
French | Downtown, Portland
Booked 49 times today
Bar AvignonBar Avignon
(542)
$$$$
Contemporary European | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 4 times today
Le PigeonLe Pigeon
(1452)
$$$$
French | NE Portland, Portland
Booked 38 times today
HeadwatersHeadwaters
(394)
$$$$
Northwest | Downtown, Portland
Booked 33 times today
LeChonLeChon
(582)
$$$$
South American | SW Portland, Portland
Booked 44 times today
Bamboo Sushi SWBamboo Sushi SW
(261)
$$$$
Sushi | SW Portland, Portland
Booked 30 times today
3 Doors Down Cafe and Lounge3 Doors Down Cafe and Lounge
(702)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 9 times today
AccantoAccanto
(994)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 12 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Roe

Roe is a Modern American seafood restaurant.

We have shut the doors of our SE Portland location, and are excited to announce construction has begun on our new, larger space in the heart of the downtown area across the river.

Upon reopening this summer, we will continue to offer two ever-evolving prix fixe menus weekly from Wednesday - Saturday: a five-course Petite Tasting Menu and a seven-course Chef's Tasting Menu. Caviar service and wine pairings will be offered as optional supplements to either menu. Roe will also features a full bar with beer, spirits, and sake.

Please explore our website for continued updates on our progress, and for links to our social media accounts.

3113 SE Division
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - Close

Cross Street:
SE 31st Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 232-1566

Website:
http://www.roepdx.rest/

Executive Chef:
Trent Pierce & Patrick Schultz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Wine

Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was excellent. The wine was excellent. The price was excessive. I do not think that any dinner is worth over $400 for 2. I'm glad I went but it will be a long time before we return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

For me and my wife this was our second visit at Roe and just like the first one - it was spectacular. The food, the service, the wine - everything here is perfect. If you consider yourself a foodie and want to try fine dining, than dinner at Roe is a must! We will be coming back again and again (for our special occasions). The price is high but the food is worth every penny!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had the 7 course with wine pairing option. Each dish was deliciously new and wonderful! I found that our server took pride in serving each dish and describing each wine pairing. It was my husband's birthdayand the restaurant food and atmosphere made for a memorable evening. I can't say enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

It's pricey but for a special occasion it was intimate and most of all a flavor celebration for one's mouth. Course after course of the most amazing, lovingly crafted , creative, delicious and artistic food served by knowledgeable and attentive wait staff. Superb!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Roe is clearly one of the top 25 restaurants in United States. I think Portland is overhyped has a restaurant city because most of the restaurants that do well in Portland could never do well in bigger cities like New York or Los Angeles or Chicago. However Roe could hold its own with any top
restaurant In any city . Trent and his team are literally fish geniuses

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My meal at Roe was one of the best meals of my life, right up there with a revelatory meal at Chez Panisse in the early 90s. I was worried that it would be overly precious and fussy, but the quality of each dish overcame any concerns. We had the 7 course tasting menu instead of the 5 course, and although I was incredibly full, I was happy I tried everything. Service was impeccable. Roe deserves all the accolades it receives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Definitely one of the best seafood restaurants in the U.S. The food is creative and delicious, service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was the best meal that we have had in a long time. They seated us in time and they were very attentive. The meal is a fixed price and we had the 5 courses. Each one is perfect and a good size. Overall we left not stuffed but full. The food was impeccably served and of the highest quality.
Overall a great place to go!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The BEST restaurant ever. Beautiful tasteful and delicious food. the staff is excellent and thoughtful..lovely room(I know they are moving). On time I came with a friend who announced she had a shellfish allergy and the chef was very made it work for her. My favorite restaurant in the world.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I have been lucky enough to enjoying the tasting menus at some of the best restaurants in the country such as the French Laundry in Yountville, Del Posto in NYC and most pertinently, the now closed Aqua in SF. Roe is the equal to any of them. The wine pairings were superb (not an easy feat with only white wine in my experience.) The food was sensational. Precisely executed innovation without pretense. Sadly not the kind of place I can go to on a regular basis, but if you are looking to experience the art of cooking, I highly recommend Roe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

First experience but now my favorite restaurant in PDX. Excellent attention to details from the moment you enter. Wonderful service, great food and wine parings in an intimate dining space. A uniquely personal experience like no other in Portland.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My favorite restaurant by far in Portland! Except for dessert, the entire menu is seafood, so if you are not a seafood lover, it is probably not worth visiting. But if you like seafood (and don't mind your fish on the raw side), it is an extraordinary dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Most amazing meal and evening we have had in years. A really wonderful way to spend a special evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our second time at Roe, and it did not disappoint! Out of all of the amazing restaurants in Portland, Roe is still the best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Best seafood and best cooking in town, simply

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I absolutely adore this place for date nights that you want to go the extra mile or just trust that you will have a wonderful time. My partner is pesceterian so it's tricky to find a great place for both of us but is no problem here. I recommend the wine pairings and if you can afford it the caviar is fantastic.
Working in the industry myself I really value great food with great service while also feeling inspired and cared for and Roe has never let me down. Worth every penny.
I'm excited to see how the new location expands the menu!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Almost indescribable. I can still taste everything I had when I close my eyes...which is subsequently how my boyfriend ate most of his meal, he loved it so much. One of he most beautiful experiences we have ever had with food. Wonderful atmosphere, service, drinks, lighting- wouldn't change a thing. Going to save up all year to take us for our anniversary and make it a tradition.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We spent a delightful evening at Roe. Everything was superb from the champagne and caviar to the decaf coffee following our meal. We had the four course meal with the wine pairings and everything was spot on and beautifully presented. It was a treat we will long remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is probably my new favorite restaurant in Portland. Hard to find, but the meal was a delicacy, especially the caviar tasting. We absolutely loved everything about our experience at Roe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A wonderful meal with really wonderful service. A great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Unbelievable. Everything was 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful food; excellent service. A must for special occasions. A Portland genm

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, an incredible experience. We have dined here on multiple occasions with guests and as a couple . I really can't add more to previous posts, apart from dishes and service just keeps getting even more refined. Friendly, never pretentious, and ever-so-slightly Jeeves-like service. Chefs are some of the most thoughtful and caring I have ever met.
Great wine list, superb flavors, beautiful environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Roe made our birthday dinner very special- the food was outstanding and the wine pairings were exquisite. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I'm not sure what I loved more, the exquisite food or the most lovely staff I've encountered in any restaurant in Portland. We started with the trio of caviar and I'm so glad we did, all 3 were heavenly. Then the real games started, we ooooed and awed our way through each of the 4 courses of dinner, not a beat was missed, in fact, Roe truly beats to it's own drum. The dishes all had a risk factor (frozen foie gras?) and all delivered their own spectacular flavors and beautiful presentation. This was our by far our biggest hit in Portland so far...and we have hit all the must-go-to spots. A big part was the atmosphere and the staff. Maybe I'm getting old (not that old though) but I swear many of the best restaurants are so loud you can't even have a conversation without screaming, it's exhausting. Roe was inviting and warm, Mark and Salvador felt like family. We couldn't have had better experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The meal was superb, very creative and beautifully presented.The wine parings were excellent as well. The server went out of his way to assure our needs were addressed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was my third time at Roe. As with the previous times, the seafood-focused dishes were all inventive and delicious. My friend and I each got different dishes and shared them, which gave us an eight course tasting menu with wine pairings. The service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service were amazing! One disappointment was that while we were there, they must have been frying some stuff because our clothes smelled like fried food when we walked out :-(... maybe they should look into better ventilation?

Regardless, everything else was great. We've been there a few times and would definitely come back (hopefully not smelling like fried food afterwards!)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

An absolutely incredible dining experience. The food was meticulously prepared and visually stunning. The unusual, creative food tastes and combinations were unique and delicious. The service by the staff was so professional. They explained the dishes very articulately as well as the wines. Just a fabulous place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not quite sure what to expect after reading reviews, except that food would be amazing,...and it is! It is an "experience in dining" like no other in Portland. We did the 4-course meal with wine pairings and that was perfect for us. Your waiter, or guide for the evening, is' key' and ours was phenomenal and so very nice. This is where you would take someone from out of town if you really want to "knock their socks off!" The bill might do the same, but worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Traveled around the world a few times and have tried cuisine from A to Z. I would say I'm rather adventerous and open to new ideas. But I find Roe tries too hard to be "creative" and they overkill the good ingredients.
Plate display is a little on the weak side.
We had high expectations after watching the video and I have to say, we were disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fabulous and innovative food which looks like works of art. Wine pairing was sophisticated and great. This is truly one of the best restaurants in the US.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great concept, great menu and helpful wine curator. Perfect wine!
Probably one of the best meals you can have in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been to Roe twice now and have been very impressed with both visits. The food is exceptional. My wife and I both love seafood and Roe provides terrific combinations of top quality ingredients with smart flavor combinations. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is right for a quiet evening for a couple or small group of friends.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We looked forward to our dinner at Roe with a great deal of anticipation, but left with little to say. We were hoping fish preparations that demonstrated the range of the chefs' skills, as well as a variety of tastes and textures. All preparations were either raw or rare--which I don't mind in a dish or two--which made all three fish selections approximately the same soft texture. Sadly lacking was the umami flavor, even in the cheese dessert. We knew it was going to be expensive, but $350 for the two for the four courses, a half-ounce caviar service (which was very nice) and two glasses each of champagne seemed more than the meal was worth.

4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely the best meal I have eaten in Portland! The chef is a true artist. I have eaten at restaurants all over the world and Roe is in my top five favorite places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Our waiter was amazing. The food phenomenal. Just do it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful place: delicious, creative cuisine; warm and knowledgeable staff; impeccable service; and intimate room separate from the bar. Excellent value and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

excellent seafood tasting menu, service, ambience - highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.