About Roe

3113 SE Division
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Roe is a Modern American seafood restaurant.

Discreetly hidden inside of the boisterous B&T Oyster Bar, Roe offers an ever changing menu to be enjoyed in four courses. One seven course Chef's Tasting is also offered nightly with advance reservation (please call for availability). Chefs Trent Pierce and Patrick Schultz prepare creative dishes, utilizing innovative and classic techniques from an open kitchen located directly in the dining room.

An optional wine pairing draws from the thoughtful beverage selection of the best of Oregon, sparkling, and seafood friendly white and red wines from around the globe. Roe also features a full bar with beer, spirits, and sake.

In order to serve you best, Roe requires notification of any food allergies, or dietary concerns at the time of reservation. An attempt will be made to prepare for all requests received with enough notice, though severe shellfish and dairy allergies can not be accommodated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday: 5:15pm - Close

Cross Street:
SE 31st Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 232-1566

Website:
http://www.roepdx.rest/

Executive Chef:
Trent Pierce & Patrick Schultz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Roe will be serving a six-course Chef's Tasting menu to all guests this evening. This six-course dinner is $115 per person, and we will be offering optional wine pairings for $75 per person. Please contact the restaurant directly with any questions or dietary concerns.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

In celebration of the new year, Roe will be serving a multi-course Grand Tasting menu to all guests this evening. This tasting menu is $200 per person, and we will offering optional wine pairings for $85 per person. Please contact the restaurant directly with any questions or dietary concerns.

Roe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Food
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
10 More
Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Portland
Best Food
Portland
Best Service
Portland
Best Ambiance
Portland
Fit for Foodies
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Almost indescribable. I can still taste ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Almost indescribable. I can still taste everything I had when I close my eyes...which is subsequently how my boyfriend ate most of his meal, he loved it so much. One of he most beautiful experiences we have ever had with food. Wonderful atmosphere, service, drinks, lighting- wouldn't change a thing. Going to save up all year to take us for our anniversary and make it a tradition.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We spent a delightful evening at Roe. Ev ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We spent a delightful evening at Roe. Everything was superb from the champagne and caviar to the decaf coffee following our meal. We had the four course meal with the wine pairings and everything was spot on and beautifully presented. It was a treat we will long remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best places to eat in Portlan ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of the best places to eat in Portland!! Love it every time. The menu and tastes are amazing and the service is exceptional. The flavors and textures are so unique and oh so yummy. Do yourself a favor and go! Oh and it's at the very back of another restaurant so the entrance is a little mysterious as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful meal with really wonderful s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A wonderful meal with really wonderful service. A great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Unbelievable. Everything was 100%

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Unbelievable. Everything was 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely the best meal I've ever had. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolutely the best meal I've ever had. Hands down, the best, by far. The best service, the best food, the best overall experience. We flew in from out of state specifically for this dinner, and I could not be more enthusiastically pleased, satisfied, even thankful for this meal. Expected the best, still blown away.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food; excellent service. A mu ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wonderful food; excellent service. A must for special occasions. A Portland genm

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, an incredible experience. We ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, an incredible experience. We have dined here on multiple occasions with guests and as a couple . I really can't add more to previous posts, apart from dishes and service just keeps getting even more refined. Friendly, never pretentious, and ever-so-slightly Jeeves-like service. Chefs are some of the most thoughtful and caring I have ever met.

Great wine list, superb flavors, beautiful environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Roe made our birthday dinner very specia ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Roe made our birthday dinner very special- the food was outstanding and the wine pairings were exquisite. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were amazed at the food at Roe. It w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We were amazed at the food at Roe. It was incredibly delicious and very well presented. The service was perfect. We did the 4 course meal and was afraid we would still be hungry afterward, but that was not the case at all. In fact, I couldn't finish my dessert which my boyfriend gladly finished for me. The only thing we weren't keen on was how close the tables were to each other. It's a very small restaurant so the tables are right next to each other and we could hear the couple's conversation next to us which made our conversation difficult. Not the most romantic for date night feeling like you are sharing a table with strangers, but the food and drinks made up for it. We would definitely dine at Roe again and highly recommend it. It's pricey, but for a special occasion, well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I'm not sure what I loved more, the exqu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I'm not sure what I loved more, the exquisite food or the most lovely staff I've encountered in any restaurant in Portland. We started with the trio of caviar and I'm so glad we did, all 3 were heavenly. Then the real games started, we ooooed and awed our way through each of the 4 courses of dinner, not a beat was missed, in fact, Roe truly beats to it's own drum. The dishes all had a risk factor (frozen foie gras?) and all delivered their own spectacular flavors and beautiful presentation. This was our by far our biggest hit in Portland so far...and we have hit all the must-go-to spots. A big part was the atmosphere and the staff. Maybe I'm getting old (not that old though) but I swear many of the best restaurants are so loud you can't even have a conversation without screaming, it's exhausting. Roe was inviting and warm, Mark and Salvador felt like family. We couldn't have had better experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best food I've ever had, wine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Easily the best food I've ever had, wine pairings were perfect. Ambiance was very nice, but struggled for intimacy and we had to kill a fruit fly or two. Hence 4 stars. Very, very expensive meal, that being the only reason it is difficult to label a good value.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The meal was superb, very creative and b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The meal was superb, very creative and beautifully presented.The wine parings were excellent as well. The server went out of his way to assure our needs were addressed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my third time at Roe. As with ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was my third time at Roe. As with the previous times, the seafood-focused dishes were all inventive and delicious. My friend and I each got different dishes and shared them, which gave us an eight course tasting menu with wine pairings. The service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were amazing! One d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service were amazing! One disappointment was that while we were there, they must have been frying some stuff because our clothes smelled like fried food when we walked out :-(... maybe they should look into better ventilation?

Regardless, everything else was great. We've been there a few times and would definitely come back (hopefully not smelling like fried food afterwards!)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our first time at this amazing restauran ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our first time at this amazing restaurant, & we will definitely return as soon as we can after such a deliciously memorable experience! Each of the dishes of our four course prix-fixe dinner was toe-curling perfection, including the desserts. The artistry of the co-chefs in creating such unique, balanced, & irresistible preparations of a range of marine critters is world-class, including desserts. That evening's wine pairings, which are individually chosen for each dish, were lovely accompaniments. A bonus was that even though we felt completely satisfied at the end of our meal, we had very comfortable, happy tummies, unlike the the way we often feel after having other fine-dining meals which have been meat-based.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quite possibly one of the best meals I'v ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Quite possibly one of the best meals I've ever had. The food was thoughtfully prepared with a degree of attention and care you don't see often. Highly recommend the wine pairings because they really bring out the already amazing flavor of the dishes.

Very private with only a few tables. The chef prepares your food in the dining room I think so he can see your expression as you eat. It's a little pricey for a normal dinner but I think it is underpriced for what you get.

Incredible food, incredible service. Absolutely a gem in Portland's fine dining scene.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely incredible dining experien ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

An absolutely incredible dining experience. The food was meticulously prepared and visually stunning. The unusual, creative food tastes and combinations were unique and delicious. The service by the staff was so professional. They explained the dishes very articulately as well as the wines. Just a fabulous place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not quite sure what to expect after read ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not quite sure what to expect after reading reviews, except that food would be amazing,...and it is! It is an "experience in dining" like no other in Portland. We did the 4-course meal with wine pairings and that was perfect for us. Your waiter, or guide for the evening, is' key' and ours was phenomenal and so very nice. This is where you would take someone from out of town if you really want to "knock their socks off!" The bill might do the same, but worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Probably the best meal that we have ever ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Probably the best meal that we have ever had! Thank you Roe!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveled around the world a few times an ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Traveled around the world a few times and have tried cuisine from A to Z. I would say I'm rather adventerous and open to new ideas. But I find Roe tries too hard to be "creative" and they overkill the good ingredients.

Plate display is a little on the weak side.

We had high expectations after watching the video and I have to say, we were disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous and innovative food which looks ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fabulous and innovative food which looks like works of art. Wine pairing was sophisticated and great. This is truly one of the best restaurants in the US.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great concept, great menu and helpful wi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great concept, great menu and helpful wine curator. Perfect wine!

Probably one of the best meals you can have in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Roe twice now and have b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been to Roe twice now and have been very impressed with both visits. The food is exceptional. My wife and I both love seafood and Roe provides terrific combinations of top quality ingredients with smart flavor combinations. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is right for a quiet evening for a couple or small group of friends.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We looked forward to our dinner at Roe w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We looked forward to our dinner at Roe with a great deal of anticipation, but left with little to say. We were hoping fish preparations that demonstrated the range of the chefs' skills, as well as a variety of tastes and textures. All preparations were either raw or rare--which I don't mind in a dish or two--which made all three fish selections approximately the same soft texture. Sadly lacking was the umami flavor, even in the cheese dessert. We knew it was going to be expensive, but $350 for the two for the four courses, a half-ounce caviar service (which was very nice) and two glasses each of champagne seemed more than the meal was worth.

3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Dining at Roe was an all around wonderfu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dining at Roe was an all around wonderful experience. The service was incredible with the staff being so friendly and knowledgeable and the ambiance being comfortable, yet chic. The star of the night was definitely the food, though! The combinations created flavors unlike anything I've ever tasted- especially from seafood, which was so fresh. I already want to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal I have eaten in ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely the best meal I have eaten in Portland! The chef is a true artist. I have eaten at restaurants all over the world and Roe is in my top five favorite places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual. Our waiter was am ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Our waiter was amazing. The food phenomenal. Just do it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful place: delicious, creative c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful place: delicious, creative cuisine; warm and knowledgeable staff; impeccable service; and intimate room separate from the bar. Excellent value and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent seafood tasting menu, service, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

excellent seafood tasting menu, service, ambience - highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland's own seafood-oriented French L ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Portland's own seafood-oriented French Laundry. Spring for the caviar! Totally worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was wonderful, as always...The wine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was wonderful, as always...The wine list is innovative, the service is very professional. This is our "go-to" place for any special occasion...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday on our ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday on our last night in town and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Indulged in an additional caviar course to start our evening and it was served with wonderful potato blinis and the appropriate sides. The dinner courses were so delicious. Very impressed. We have traveled quite extensively and were so satisfied with our evening at Roe. The chef and staff exhibited the utmost professionalism. Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exquisite flavors and presentations! We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exquisite flavors and presentations! We did the 4 course options. They were attentive to my allergy issues and paid attention to my friend's birthday. Attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was superb, very unique. Definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was superb, very unique. Definitely a Michelin worthy experience. Liked the speakeasy entrance. The courses could come a little sooner--5 courses took 3 hours. Wine pairings were great. Would do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best seafood based meals I ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2016

One of the best seafood based meals I have ever had. Each dish was mind blowingly picture worthy and delicious. Absolutely fantastic and special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, expert wine pairings, all ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food, expert wine pairings, all in an intimate, quiet location with attentive service. It was the perfect place to celebrate a special night with the love of my life. Thanks, Roe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service is impeccable! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and the service is impeccable!

Definitely one of the best places I've dined at in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The artistry and skill of the chef were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The artistry and skill of the chef were amazing. The caviar dish to start was yummy and memorable--the perfect way to enjoy caviar. Each dish was exquisite, although one was over the top rich. Be sure to go hungry. It's a lot of food, even with the 4 course menu. A lot of waiting time between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is clearly one of Portland's select ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is clearly one of Portland's select set of restaurants that is competitive in the global gourmet tier of dining. Make sure you unclutter your mind before entering this restaurant and intellectually focus on just one thing during your stay: fish and the many ways this chef can imagine to prepare it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.