About Roe

3113 SE Division
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Roe is a Modern American seafood restaurant.

Discreetly hidden inside of the boisterous B&T Oyster Bar, Roe offers an ever changing menu to be enjoyed in four courses. One seven course Chef's Tasting is also offered nightly with advance reservation (please call for availability). Chefs Trent Pierce and Patrick Schultz prepare creative dishes, utilizing innovative and classic techniques from an open kitchen located directly in the dining room.

An optional wine pairing draws from the thoughtful beverage selection of the best of Oregon, sparkling, and seafood friendly white and red wines from around the globe. Roe also features a full bar with beer, spirits, and sake.

In order to serve you best, Roe requires notification of any food allergies, or dietary concerns at the time of reservation. An attempt will be made to prepare for all requests received with enough notice, though severe shellfish and dairy allergies can not be accommodated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday: 5:15pm - Close

Cross Street:
SE 31st Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 232-1566

Website:
http://www.roepdx.rest/

Executive Chef:
Trent Pierce & Patrick Schultz

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Roe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Food
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
7 More
Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Portland
Best Food
Portland
Best Service
Portland
Best Ambiance
Portland
Fit for Foodies
Portland
Romantic
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The meal was superb, very creative and b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The meal was superb, very creative and beautifully presented.The wine parings were excellent as well. The server went out of his way to assure our needs were addressed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my third time at Roe. As with ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was my third time at Roe. As with the previous times, the seafood-focused dishes were all inventive and delicious. My friend and I each got different dishes and shared them, which gave us an eight course tasting menu with wine pairings. The service was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were amazing! One d ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service were amazing! One disappointment was that while we were there, they must have been frying some stuff because our clothes smelled like fried food when we walked out :-(... maybe they should look into better ventilation?

Regardless, everything else was great. We've been there a few times and would definitely come back (hopefully not smelling like fried food afterwards!)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our first time at this amazing restauran ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our first time at this amazing restaurant, & we will definitely return as soon as we can after such a deliciously memorable experience! Each of the dishes of our four course prix-fixe dinner was toe-curling perfection, including the desserts. The artistry of the co-chefs in creating such unique, balanced, & irresistible preparations of a range of marine critters is world-class, including desserts. That evening's wine pairings, which are individually chosen for each dish, were lovely accompaniments. A bonus was that even though we felt completely satisfied at the end of our meal, we had very comfortable, happy tummies, unlike the the way we often feel after having other fine-dining meals which have been meat-based.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quite possibly one of the best meals I'v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Quite possibly one of the best meals I've ever had. The food was thoughtfully prepared with a degree of attention and care you don't see often. Highly recommend the wine pairings because they really bring out the already amazing flavor of the dishes.

Very private with only a few tables. The chef prepares your food in the dining room I think so he can see your expression as you eat. It's a little pricey for a normal dinner but I think it is underpriced for what you get.

Incredible food, incredible service. Absolutely a gem in Portland's fine dining scene.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely incredible dining experien ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

An absolutely incredible dining experience. The food was meticulously prepared and visually stunning. The unusual, creative food tastes and combinations were unique and delicious. The service by the staff was so professional. They explained the dishes very articulately as well as the wines. Just a fabulous place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not quite sure what to expect after read ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not quite sure what to expect after reading reviews, except that food would be amazing,...and it is! It is an "experience in dining" like no other in Portland. We did the 4-course meal with wine pairings and that was perfect for us. Your waiter, or guide for the evening, is' key' and ours was phenomenal and so very nice. This is where you would take someone from out of town if you really want to "knock their socks off!" The bill might do the same, but worth it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Probably the best meal that we have ever ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Probably the best meal that we have ever had! Thank you Roe!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveled around the world a few times an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Traveled around the world a few times and have tried cuisine from A to Z. I would say I'm rather adventerous and open to new ideas. But I find Roe tries too hard to be "creative" and they overkill the good ingredients.

Plate display is a little on the weak side.

We had high expectations after watching the video and I have to say, we were disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous and innovative food which looks ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fabulous and innovative food which looks like works of art. Wine pairing was sophisticated and great. This is truly one of the best restaurants in the US.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great concept, great menu and helpful wi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great concept, great menu and helpful wine curator. Perfect wine!

Probably one of the best meals you can have in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Roe twice now and have b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have been to Roe twice now and have been very impressed with both visits. The food is exceptional. My wife and I both love seafood and Roe provides terrific combinations of top quality ingredients with smart flavor combinations. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is right for a quiet evening for a couple or small group of friends.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We looked forward to our dinner at Roe w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We looked forward to our dinner at Roe with a great deal of anticipation, but left with little to say. We were hoping fish preparations that demonstrated the range of the chefs' skills, as well as a variety of tastes and textures. All preparations were either raw or rare--which I don't mind in a dish or two--which made all three fish selections approximately the same soft texture. Sadly lacking was the umami flavor, even in the cheese dessert. We knew it was going to be expensive, but $350 for the two for the four courses, a half-ounce caviar service (which was very nice) and two glasses each of champagne seemed more than the meal was worth.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Dining at Roe was an all around wonderfu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dining at Roe was an all around wonderful experience. The service was incredible with the staff being so friendly and knowledgeable and the ambiance being comfortable, yet chic. The star of the night was definitely the food, though! The combinations created flavors unlike anything I've ever tasted- especially from seafood, which was so fresh. I already want to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal I have eaten in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely the best meal I have eaten in Portland! The chef is a true artist. I have eaten at restaurants all over the world and Roe is in my top five favorite places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual. Our waiter was am ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding as usual. Our waiter was amazing. The food phenomenal. Just do it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful place: delicious, creative c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A wonderful place: delicious, creative cuisine; warm and knowledgeable staff; impeccable service; and intimate room separate from the bar. Excellent value and highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent seafood tasting menu, service, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

excellent seafood tasting menu, service, ambience - highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland's own seafood-oriented French L ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Portland's own seafood-oriented French Laundry. Spring for the caviar! Totally worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was wonderful, as always...The wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was wonderful, as always...The wine list is innovative, the service is very professional. This is our "go-to" place for any special occasion...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my husband's birthday on our ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday on our last night in town and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Indulged in an additional caviar course to start our evening and it was served with wonderful potato blinis and the appropriate sides. The dinner courses were so delicious. Very impressed. We have traveled quite extensively and were so satisfied with our evening at Roe. The chef and staff exhibited the utmost professionalism. Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exquisite flavors and presentations! We ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exquisite flavors and presentations! We did the 4 course options. They were attentive to my allergy issues and paid attention to my friend's birthday. Attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was superb, very unique. Definitely ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was superb, very unique. Definitely a Michelin worthy experience. Liked the speakeasy entrance. The courses could come a little sooner--5 courses took 3 hours. Wine pairings were great. Would do it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best seafood based meals I ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

One of the best seafood based meals I have ever had. Each dish was mind blowingly picture worthy and delicious. Absolutely fantastic and special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, expert wine pairings, all ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing food, expert wine pairings, all in an intimate, quiet location with attentive service. It was the perfect place to celebrate a special night with the love of my life. Thanks, Roe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service is impeccable! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food and the service is impeccable!

Definitely one of the best places I've dined at in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The artistry and skill of the chef were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The artistry and skill of the chef were amazing. The caviar dish to start was yummy and memorable--the perfect way to enjoy caviar. Each dish was exquisite, although one was over the top rich. Be sure to go hungry. It's a lot of food, even with the 4 course menu. A lot of waiting time between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is clearly one of Portland's select ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is clearly one of Portland's select set of restaurants that is competitive in the global gourmet tier of dining. Make sure you unclutter your mind before entering this restaurant and intellectually focus on just one thing during your stay: fish and the many ways this chef can imagine to prepare it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every bite is amazing. Worth every penny ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Every bite is amazing. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amaaaaazing and totally bey ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amaaaaazing and totally beyond my expectations. Every course was overwhelmingly delicious and service was spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hyped myself up so much I expected to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I hyped myself up so much I expected to be underwhelmed. But everything about Roe was perfect. Service was impeccable, the wait staff were friendly and available but not overbearing.

We were not able to get the chef's tasting menu but being able to choose dishes for the four-course set was genius. We were able to taste each other's chosen dishes. Every single dish had amazing complexity of flavors that makes you want to savor each bite.

We ended up ordering a bottle of French Riesling instead of the wine pairing. Decently priced and worked very well with the dishes.

Lastly, I did not expect to walk out of there feeling full. But we did, in a good way. It's the best +$300 you'll spend on food. You have to go to Roe if you're in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite possibly one of the best meals I'v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Quite possibly one of the best meals I've ever had. Food, service, presentation. Over the top

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Portland. Trent's go ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best restaurant in Portland. Trent's got a wonderful touch for taking simple fish and seafood, and making them just complex enough to be interesting...fascinating...but not overwhelming. Service was smart, attentive, helpful but not over the top. Being so close to the kitchen, but tucked away from the main restaurant was fun.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best seafood we've ever had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Some of the best seafood we've ever had and we've been to French Laundry and Per Se. I'm being a bit nit picky here but only reason Service was not Outstanding was they brought salts and butter but forgot the bread. Also forgot to bring a wine (we had wine pairings) with one of our courses. They also ran out of Osetra caviar (odd for a Saturday night) so we had the America which was still very good. Aside from the minor missteps above, my wife loved a sake that came with one of courses and she asked and received multiple glasses and they did not charge for it. It was so good we made a reservation on our way out for the 7 course tasting menu at a later date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hands down the best dining experience i' ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience i've had in Portland. The food, drink, hospitality and ambience was seamless. It's easy to get a good to great meal in Portland but Roe stands as a reminder of just how beautiful the dining experience can be when everything is in harmony.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After many visits to Roe over the past y ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

After many visits to Roe over the past year this was probably the finest. First-rate reception, service, delivery of dishes and wine recommendations. Incredible flavors and textures from some of the most beautiful and freshest fish available. Chef Trent leads one of the finest restaurant teams operating in the USA.

Bravo Roe, and Thank You, again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal, truly memorable. Love ev ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic meal, truly memorable. Love everything about the experience, worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb and the wine pairing ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was superb and the wine pairings were exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal that we had the privelage of en ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meal that we had the privelage of enjoying was nothing short of spectacular and the service met the same high level. We are looking forward to our return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Katie

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was amazing! We had an eight course meal with a wine paring. The chef was most incredible. Every bite excited your tastebuds. The waiter was extremely attentive and knowledgeable about the dishes and wines. We ate everything that was served with much delight. The only downside was the intoxicated lady seated next to us was very disrespectful and loud, and we couldn't sit next to each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.