About Roe

3113 SE Division
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Roe is a Modern American seafood restaurant.

Discreetly hidden inside of the boisterous B&T Oyster Bar, Roe offers an ever changing menu to be enjoyed in four courses. One seven course Chef's Tasting is also offered nightly with advance reservation (please call for availability). Chefs Trent Pierce and Patrick Schultz prepare creative dishes, utilizing innovative and classic techniques from an open kitchen located directly in the dining room.

An optional wine pairing draws from the thoughtful beverage selection of the best of Oregon, sparkling, and seafood friendly white and red wines from around the globe. Roe also features a full bar with beer, spirits, and sake.

In order to serve you best, Roe requires notification of any food allergies, or dietary concerns at the time of reservation. An attempt will be made to prepare for all requests received with enough notice, though severe shellfish and dairy allergies can not be accommodated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday: 5:15pm - Close

Cross Street:
SE 31st Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 232-1566

Website:
http://www.roepdx.rest/

Executive Chef:
Trent Pierce & Patrick Schultz

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Roe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Food
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
11 More
Best Ambiance
Portland / Oregon
Fit for Foodies
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Seafood
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Portland
Best Food
Portland
Best Service
Portland
Best Ambiance
Portland
Fit for Foodies
Portland
Romantic
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (45)
special occasion (43)
romantic (32)
See All
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (4)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Michelin 3 star before ththe stars a awa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Michelin 3 star before ththe stars a awarded.... miss this place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous experience from start to end. A ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous experience from start to end. A great splurge for an occasion. Top notch attention to detail and superb food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. Truly a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible. We were blown away by how go ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Incredible. We were blown away by how good the food was, every course was just so unique, elegant, and obviously designed to make your palate very very happy. It was the most expensive meal either of us have ever had, but we both agree it was totally worth the splurge. We did the caviar and the wine pairings (because hey, we were on our honeymoon) and it really put the experience over-the-top. Dining room is very small, quiet and private; plus we had to go through another restaurant's back door. Felt very exclusive. Service was incredible - absolutely nothing went un-refilled and even when we had half a piece of bread left we were given another. We received detailed explanations of everything from our server. It was an amazing experience. They also gave us a complimentary glass of champagne w the caviar as a honeymoon gift which was very lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Over promised, under delivered

Dined on April 17, 2016

Flavors need to be better balanced; presentation lacks creativity.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service Knowledgable staff Amazing food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Roe went above and beyond to accommodate my dietary needs. Staff was courteous, friendly, knowledgable and kind. Chefs are inventive and brilliant- every course was amazing, kept getting better. We are lucky to have Roe in Portland. Highly highly recommend it for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

The meal was delicious and hugely inventive. The service was gracious and impeccable. The noise level was subdued, a good thing. All-in-all, a great meal in a relaxed setting. We will be returning again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was fantastic. Probably the bes ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our meal was fantastic. Probably the best dining experience we have ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of portland's best seafood places.

Dined on April 2, 2016

A trancencendant eating experience with the (sadly unusual for portland) focus on seafood. A must eat for me and a recommend for any who ask in the future. Tucked away in the secret supper room at the back of bt oyster bar. Intimate, delicious, unusual... who could ask f or more?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

another excellent meal at roe.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

really a favorite place to eat here in portland. the food and service is always solid.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A must for Seafood Lovers.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Creative, modern, full of flavor and innovation. Roe's 7 course dinner was a great showcase of seafood and cooking techniques. Plates were deconstructed, allowing flavors to be enjoyed separately and together. The place deserves more recognition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Treasure

Dined on March 18, 2016

Roe is the whole package: extraordinary creations, served by the most informed, competent wait staff, in a quiet, almost secluded, hide-away. This is a place for adults who love food, and for whom the entire experience is the measure of the restaurant. Every course was perfectly prepared, beautifully balanced, the kind of dishes that you want to slowly savor. It's not at all pretentious, but warm and friendly and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday @ Roe

Dined on March 18, 2016

A fantastic menu with interesting food combinations and incredible flavors. The room is quiet and very comfortable and the service is great. We had the wine pairing and felt very informed with each new glass. Prices seemed just slightly higher than they ought to be but otherwise had a phenomenal experiences.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enchanted

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The attention to detail -- remarkable. The unique preparations of the freshest fish -- superb. The lovely wine pairings -- worth the money. The enjoyment of the staff in their work -- obvious. What a lovable little realm of ec=nchantment. I look forward to trying in a different season when things will be different on the menu. Can't say enough how much we loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As advertised and so much more

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Both my girlfriend and are are a bit picky when it comes to seafood freshness and flavors. Roe exceeded our expectations in both departments. To top it off, the drink pairings were some of the best we have ever experienced. The 4 courses over a 3 hour period were just right. Great flavors and textures and just the right serving sizes, so you do not feel too full when you leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 11, 2016

I was in Portland for a conference and had heard of this "place within a place". My girlfriend and I decided to make reservations. It was a great decision. We both consider ourselves to be somewhat experienced 'foodies' and we were in agreement that this was the best culinary experience we have had yet! Definitely will be back the next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner. I was not disappointed.

Dined on March 10, 2016

Every dish was at least very good. Two dishes were among the best I have had in my life - the butter fish with foie gras shavings and the cheese dessert with beer pairing. If you are like me, there is a certain magic that happens with the perfect dish where your consciousness itself is transformed by the sensory experience. For me, it happens occasionally, and several times I have had expensive meals only to walk away feeling that I had a good meal, but I didn't have a transformative experience. Roe was one of those special experiences, and I am grateful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good ambience, quiet. The food is anythi ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Good ambience, quiet. The food is anything but. Great service, good for romantic dinners.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

over priced for what it is

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Good service and nice atmosphere. The food was beautiful but really only so-so taste wise. I did the wine pairings and they were not bad but not special either. I have no desire to go back. Dinner for two was $275 (only one of us did the wine). Portland has way better dining experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aptly named. Great Execution.

Dined on February 27, 2016

It's great to experience a spot that knows what it is and doesn't try to hit all the notes. The freshest seafood prepared with minimal manipulation. The accompanying flavors are bright and acidic, where the fat is usually supplied by the fish or an occasional butter poach. Occasionally an ingredient pairing is a reach, but most dishes are well thought out. The Menu Prix Fixe has four courses and optional wine pairing. Only 18 seats in a small (and slightly claustrophobic) space in the back of Block & Tackle. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite

Dined on February 21, 2016

Roe is my favorite restaurant PERIOD. I found each course to be delicious and memorable, and I have no delusion that I could replicate the dishes at home. These are the qualities that make Roe so freaking special. The service is amazing, the ambiance is great....it's like being in on the best secret ever when dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Trent Pierce & Somm Salvador orches ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Chef Trent Pierce & Somm Salvador orchestrate some of the best fine dining in Portland in our opinion. I have been enjoying the restaurant for about a year now and on each visit (3 total) it gets more exciting and offers greater value. Wine list is comprehensive without needing an hour to browse. Sal offers tasting pours to accompany the four course menu which is heavily weighted in the shellfish-seafood department. Produce is always exquisite. Fresh, vibrant and exciting international flavors and spot-on techniques.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly, among the finest meals we've ever had

Dined on February 13, 2016

The wife and I are real foodies. We eat out at nice restaurants often, even seeking out the best rated place in any towns we travel to. And our meal at Roe easily goes in the top 5 meals ever. The subtlety with which the flavors are combined, along with the utter perfection of the cooking time and temperature, were incredible. Only downside: be prepared to spend big $$$$$.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely Fantastic

Dined on February 13, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Portland, easily (assuming you really love fish). After living in Japan for a few years, it's nice to know there are places here with such great quality fish, though you certainly have to pay top dollar for it! I absolutely cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on February 11, 2016

Awesome service and great food. What a cool experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night!

Dined on February 5, 2016

Service was welcoming and professional, the food was OUTSTANDING and the space was upscale.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious seafood and amazing service

Dined on February 4, 2016

Roe is one of a kind, my wife and I loved the small but very well crafted menu of 4 courses. It very much reminds me of restaurant Beck near Newport which offers similar concept. The small space had a great ambience and everyone was refreshingly quiet with their conversations. The service was as spectacular as the food served. We'll most definitely be back to Roe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For special occasions

Dined on February 4, 2016

Excellent food and service. One of a kind experience. Expensive, so save it for your special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impressive cooking and great service

Dined on January 28, 2016

I took my boyfriend to Roe for this 31st birthday and for two adventurous eaters and committed amateur chefs, it was an amazing experience. I've visited fine dining restaurants in many major cities and this was one of the top five meals I've ever had. The secluded nature of Roe inside B&T makes it feel especially special and exclusive, and the service was friendly and knowledgeable. In addition to the impeccable main courses, the bread service with house-made flavored salts was an unexpected highlight. My favorite dish was a tuna carpaccio over brioche toast with avocado and oyster spread. The fish was perfect and the preparation was such a lovely complement. The cooking seemed to shine best in the more innovative dishes -- the Dungeness crab risotto was perfectly fine, but it lacked the jaw-dropping wallop of our cold-smoked salmon, for example. It was a delightful feel and a fun way to celebrate our special day. They also had a very stylish playlist of Radiohead and Belle & Sebastien going, the ambiance is very nice. Overall a wonderful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best

Dined on January 22, 2016

I've never been disappointed here. If I could afford it, I'd eat here every week. This is what I hope a high end restaurant experience will be, but am likely disappointed in some aspect or another. They barely blink an eye at my informing them (in advance) of being celiac, which is a Huge relief for me. We marvel at every bite and sip, and try to not embarrass ourselves with too loud moans. We are Already saving up for next time...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on January 22, 2016

I went here for a date night with my girlfriend while visiting out of town. The restaurant is exclusive, behind a curtain in the rear of amother restaurant. The food is spectaculat, best seafood I have ever had and my girlfriend agreed. It's pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Roe Roe Roe your boat down to 31st and Division

Dined on January 17, 2016

We have eaten at some of the finest restaurants in San Fran, Chicago, London and Paris. Roe is right up there with them. The food is VERY creative as one might expect in Portland with a Japanese veneer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you wish for fish...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Another fantastic experience at Roe! The food and service are some of the best in Portland, hands down. They really do everything well, and it's worth a visit to experience one of the best meals available in Portland right now.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best PDX restaurant

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Simply the best restaurant in Portland, seafood, vegan or carne-centric. Trent and Patrick are 4* chefs without a doubt.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fish I have ever eaten.

Dined on December 27, 2015

I have had a lot of very good fish all over the world. This was the most exquisite preparation of fish I have ever eaten.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best salmon I've ever eaten

Dined on December 18, 2015

Everything was on point! Great service, amazing food. Everything was incredibly fresh. The standout was the salmon. SO GOOD. Flavor, preparation, juicy texture.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Four course seafood meal with caviar

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

This is a great place for a special occasion. We went tonight after my husband returned from a lengthy stay in Korea. The staff greeted us at the door of Block and Tackle (B&T) by name. We were taken through B&T to the back room which is Roe. The service is excellent. They have a wine pairing or you can order the drink of your choice. The seafood was fantastic. We had the caviar sampler which was amazing. The King crab dish was amazing as was the salmon dish. We will definitely go back ad will also try B&T.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service I've ever experienced.

Dined on November 15, 2015

Without a doubt, Roe was the best restaurant I've ever been to. From the incredible service, to the delicious food, to the perfectly timed courses... there was nothing that they could have done any better. Also, be sure to do the wine pairings with each dish - it takes the experience from an incredible one to an unbelievable one. I left Roe joking that I would never eat again - nothing will ever taste that wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Roe continues to produce fantastic food, ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Roe continues to produce fantastic food, in a great space, with excellent service. This was the first time I was back in about a year, and I think they've gotten even stronger since my last visit.

food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals in Portland

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Food was amazing, especially the King Crab. There was a fusion of lots of different flavors and textures that worked together beautifully. You had choices for each of the courses. We got one of each so we could try most of the menu. Waitstaff was very knowledgeable. Great experience. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.