About Roe

3113 SE Division
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Roe is a Modern American seafood restaurant.

Discreetly hidden inside of the boisterous B&T Oyster Bar, Roe offers an ever changing menu to be enjoyed in four courses. One seven course Chef's Tasting is also offered nightly with advance reservation (please call for availability). Chefs Trent Pierce and Patrick Schultz prepare creative dishes, utilizing innovative and classic techniques from an open kitchen located directly in the dining room.

An optional wine pairing draws from the thoughtful beverage selection of the best of Oregon, sparkling, and seafood friendly white and red wines from around the globe. Roe also features a full bar with beer, spirits, and sake.

In order to serve you best, Roe requires notification of any food allergies, or dietary concerns at the time of reservation. An attempt will be made to prepare for all requests received with enough notice, though severe shellfish and dairy allergies can not be accommodated.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday - Saturday: 5:15pm - Close

Cross Street:
SE 31st Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 232-1566

Website:
http://www.roepdx.rest/

Executive Chef:
Trent Pierce & Patrick Schultz

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Roe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Portland / Oregon
Best Service
Portland / Oregon
Seafood
Portland / Oregon
4 More
Best Overall
Portland
Best Service
Portland
Fit for Foodies
Portland
Special Occasion
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (38)
romantic (29)
See All
notable wine list (14)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
good for groups (2)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and the service is impeccable! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and the service is impeccable!

Definitely one of the best places I've dined at in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is clearly one of Portland's select ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is clearly one of Portland's select set of restaurants that is competitive in the global gourmet tier of dining. Make sure you unclutter your mind before entering this restaurant and intellectually focus on just one thing during your stay: fish and the many ways this chef can imagine to prepare it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every bite is amazing. Worth every penny ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Every bite is amazing. Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amaaaaazing and totally bey ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was amaaaaazing and totally beyond my expectations. Every course was overwhelmingly delicious and service was spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hyped myself up so much I expected to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I hyped myself up so much I expected to be underwhelmed. But everything about Roe was perfect. Service was impeccable, the wait staff were friendly and available but not overbearing.

We were not able to get the chef's tasting menu but being able to choose dishes for the four-course set was genius. We were able to taste each other's chosen dishes. Every single dish had amazing complexity of flavors that makes you want to savor each bite.

We ended up ordering a bottle of French Riesling instead of the wine pairing. Decently priced and worked very well with the dishes.

Lastly, I did not expect to walk out of there feeling full. But we did, in a good way. It's the best +$300 you'll spend on food. You have to go to Roe if you're in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite possibly one of the best meals I'v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Quite possibly one of the best meals I've ever had. Food, service, presentation. Over the top

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Portland. Trent's go ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best restaurant in Portland. Trent's got a wonderful touch for taking simple fish and seafood, and making them just complex enough to be interesting...fascinating...but not overwhelming. Service was smart, attentive, helpful but not over the top. Being so close to the kitchen, but tucked away from the main restaurant was fun.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best seafood we've ever had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Some of the best seafood we've ever had and we've been to French Laundry and Per Se. I'm being a bit nit picky here but only reason Service was not Outstanding was they brought salts and butter but forgot the bread. Also forgot to bring a wine (we had wine pairings) with one of our courses. They also ran out of Osetra caviar (odd for a Saturday night) so we had the America which was still very good. Aside from the minor missteps above, my wife loved a sake that came with one of courses and she asked and received multiple glasses and they did not charge for it. It was so good we made a reservation on our way out for the 7 course tasting menu at a later date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hands down the best dining experience i' ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Hands down the best dining experience i've had in Portland. The food, drink, hospitality and ambience was seamless. It's easy to get a good to great meal in Portland but Roe stands as a reminder of just how beautiful the dining experience can be when everything is in harmony.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After many visits to Roe over the past y ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

After many visits to Roe over the past year this was probably the finest. First-rate reception, service, delivery of dishes and wine recommendations. Incredible flavors and textures from some of the most beautiful and freshest fish available. Chef Trent leads one of the finest restaurant teams operating in the USA.

Bravo Roe, and Thank You, again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal, truly memorable. Love ev ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fantastic meal, truly memorable. Love everything about the experience, worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb and the wine pairing ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was superb and the wine pairings were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal that we had the privelage of en ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The meal that we had the privelage of enjoying was nothing short of spectacular and the service met the same high level. We are looking forward to our return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Katie

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was amazing! We had an eight course meal with a wine paring. The chef was most incredible. Every bite excited your tastebuds. The waiter was extremely attentive and knowledgeable about the dishes and wines. We ate everything that was served with much delight. The only downside was the intoxicated lady seated next to us was very disrespectful and loud, and we couldn't sit next to each other.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Roe is wonderful

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, wonderful, relaxed service, and an intimate atmosphere. The specialties are generally fish dishes and they couldn't be much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michelin 3 star before ththe stars a awa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Michelin 3 star before ththe stars a awarded.... miss this place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous experience from start to end. A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fabulous experience from start to end. A great splurge for an occasion. Top notch attention to detail and superb food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. Truly a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Incredible. We were blown away by how go ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Incredible. We were blown away by how good the food was, every course was just so unique, elegant, and obviously designed to make your palate very very happy. It was the most expensive meal either of us have ever had, but we both agree it was totally worth the splurge. We did the caviar and the wine pairings (because hey, we were on our honeymoon) and it really put the experience over-the-top. Dining room is very small, quiet and private; plus we had to go through another restaurant's back door. Felt very exclusive. Service was incredible - absolutely nothing went un-refilled and even when we had half a piece of bread left we were given another. We received detailed explanations of everything from our server. It was an amazing experience. They also gave us a complimentary glass of champagne w the caviar as a honeymoon gift which was very lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over promised, under delivered

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Flavors need to be better balanced; presentation lacks creativity.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent service Knowledgable staff Amazing food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Roe went above and beyond to accommodate my dietary needs. Staff was courteous, friendly, knowledgable and kind. Chefs are inventive and brilliant- every course was amazing, kept getting better. We are lucky to have Roe in Portland. Highly highly recommend it for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The meal was delicious and hugely inventive. The service was gracious and impeccable. The noise level was subdued, a good thing. All-in-all, a great meal in a relaxed setting. We will be returning again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal was fantastic. Probably the bes ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our meal was fantastic. Probably the best dining experience we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of portland's best seafood places.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

A trancencendant eating experience with the (sadly unusual for portland) focus on seafood. A must eat for me and a recommend for any who ask in the future. Tucked away in the secret supper room at the back of bt oyster bar. Intimate, delicious, unusual... who could ask f or more?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another excellent meal at roe.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

really a favorite place to eat here in portland. the food and service is always solid.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must for Seafood Lovers.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Creative, modern, full of flavor and innovation. Roe's 7 course dinner was a great showcase of seafood and cooking techniques. Plates were deconstructed, allowing flavors to be enjoyed separately and together. The place deserves more recognition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Treasure

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Roe is the whole package: extraordinary creations, served by the most informed, competent wait staff, in a quiet, almost secluded, hide-away. This is a place for adults who love food, and for whom the entire experience is the measure of the restaurant. Every course was perfectly prepared, beautifully balanced, the kind of dishes that you want to slowly savor. It's not at all pretentious, but warm and friendly and comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday @ Roe

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

A fantastic menu with interesting food combinations and incredible flavors. The room is quiet and very comfortable and the service is great. We had the wine pairing and felt very informed with each new glass. Prices seemed just slightly higher than they ought to be but otherwise had a phenomenal experiences.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Enchanted

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The attention to detail -- remarkable. The unique preparations of the freshest fish -- superb. The lovely wine pairings -- worth the money. The enjoyment of the staff in their work -- obvious. What a lovable little realm of ec=nchantment. I look forward to trying in a different season when things will be different on the menu. Can't say enough how much we loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As advertised and so much more

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Both my girlfriend and are are a bit picky when it comes to seafood freshness and flavors. Roe exceeded our expectations in both departments. To top it off, the drink pairings were some of the best we have ever experienced. The 4 courses over a 3 hour period were just right. Great flavors and textures and just the right serving sizes, so you do not feel too full when you leave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I was in Portland for a conference and had heard of this "place within a place". My girlfriend and I decided to make reservations. It was a great decision. We both consider ourselves to be somewhat experienced 'foodies' and we were in agreement that this was the best culinary experience we have had yet! Definitely will be back the next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner. I was not disappointed.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Every dish was at least very good. Two dishes were among the best I have had in my life - the butter fish with foie gras shavings and the cheese dessert with beer pairing.

If you are like me, there is a certain magic that happens with the perfect dish where your consciousness itself is transformed by the sensory experience. For me, it happens occasionally, and several times I have had expensive meals only to walk away feeling that I had a good meal, but I didn't have a transformative experience. Roe was one of those special experiences, and I am grateful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good ambience, quiet. The food is anythi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Good ambience, quiet. The food is anything but. Great service, good for romantic dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

over priced for what it is

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Good service and nice atmosphere. The food was beautiful but really only so-so taste wise. I did the wine pairings and they were not bad but not special either. I have no desire to go back. Dinner for two was $275 (only one of us did the wine). Portland has way better dining experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Aptly named. Great Execution.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

It's great to experience a spot that knows what it is and doesn't try to hit all the notes. The freshest seafood prepared with minimal manipulation. The accompanying flavors are bright and acidic, where the fat is usually supplied by the fish or an occasional butter poach. Occasionally an ingredient pairing is a reach, but most dishes are well thought out.

The Menu Prix Fixe has four courses and optional wine pairing. Only 18 seats in a small (and slightly claustrophobic) space in the back of Block & Tackle.

Great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My Favorite

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Roe is my favorite restaurant PERIOD. I found each course to be delicious and memorable, and I have no delusion that I could replicate the dishes at home. These are the qualities that make Roe so freaking special.

The service is amazing, the ambiance is great....it's like being in on the best secret ever when dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Trent Pierce & Somm Salvador orches ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Chef Trent Pierce & Somm Salvador orchestrate some of the best fine dining in Portland in our opinion. I have been enjoying the restaurant for about a year now and on each visit (3 total) it gets more exciting and offers greater value.

Wine list is comprehensive without needing an hour to browse. Sal offers tasting pours to accompany the four course menu which is heavily weighted in the shellfish-seafood department. Produce is always exquisite. Fresh, vibrant and exciting international flavors and spot-on techniques.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly, among the finest meals we've ever had

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The wife and I are real foodies. We eat out at nice restaurants often, even seeking out the best rated place in any towns we travel to. And our meal at Roe easily goes in the top 5 meals ever. The subtlety with which the flavors are combined, along with the utter perfection of the cooking time and temperature, were incredible.

Only downside: be prepared to spend big $$$$$.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely Fantastic

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Portland, easily (assuming you really love fish). After living in Japan for a few years, it's nice to know there are places here with such great quality fish, though you certainly have to pay top dollar for it! I absolutely cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Awesome service and great food. What a cool experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.