About Rocky River Grille

5400 John Q Hammon Drive NW
Concord, NC 28027
View Larger Map

Located in the Embassy Suites Charlotte-Concord Golf Resort and Spa

Dining out should be a distinctive and memorable experience. Indulge in the dynamic atmosphere of Rocky River Grille where providing welcoming service is our passion. Using local Carolina ingredients whenever possible we endeavor to revolutionize the way you feel about hotel dining. Menu signatures feature the finest in Certified Angus Beef, Pork, Seafood and in-season Fruits & Vegetables. Rocky River Grille is diverse, original and habit forming.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Main Dining Room
Dinner only, Mon–Sat, 5pm–10pm

Lounge Dining
Lunch Daily, 11am–3pm Bar menu Daily, 11am-11pm


Beverage Service
Mon–Thurs, 11am–Midnight
Fri–Sat, 11am–1am
Sun, Noon –Midnight

Cross Street:
I-85 Exit 49 - Bruton Smith Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 454-1725

Website:
http://rockyrivergrille.com/

Entertainment:
Lounge @ Rocky River Grille

A local favorite. Cozy yet spacious. Casual yet elegant. The Lounge at Rocky River Grille is more than a place for cocktails. Daily drink specials, outdoor seating and a charged atmosphere, guests and locals mingle while enjoying premium spirits, casual dining and an experienced, friendly staff. Make the Lounge your own personal haven and hideaway during your visit to Concord.

Catering:
Botanica Dining Rooms can be reserved for events. In a dinner set-up Botanica I can accommodate up to 40 guests, while the smaller Botanica II can accommodate up to 30 guests. With additional features including 50" TV’s and access to a complete collection of event technologies, these rooms can be used to host a variety of events such as a full sit-down dinner or just cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. Whatever your event and budget dictates, our well-versed staff can provide catering options, set the room to your liking and provide the technology you need to ensure your event is a success.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Parking

Executive Chef:
Desmond kiser, Kitchen Chef / James Hettinger Executive Chef

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us on Easter Sunday Brunch Buffet on April 5th!

Come join us on Mother's day Brunch Buffet on May 10th!

Reservations required. Please call for reservation times.

Restaurant Photos

  • dessert buffet - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
  • Pizza - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
  • Thanksgiving Buffet - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
  • Breakfast - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
  • Salad Bar - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
  • Turkey And Pork Station - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
  • Coconut Cake - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
dessert buffet - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
Pizza - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
Thanksgiving Buffet - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
Breakfast - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
Salad Bar - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
Turkey And Pork Station - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC
Coconut Cake - Rocky River Grille, Concord, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

We have 2 private dining rooms to host a variety of events such as lunch, dinner or just cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. You can also rent the entire restaurant for events such as wedding receptions and Christmas parties. Prices and availability vary and are available upon request.

Rocky River Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quick biz dinner. Sea bass was really go ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Quick biz dinner. Sea bass was really good :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The time was early afternoon and we were ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The time was early afternoon and we were famished after a lengthy trip down the interstate. My wife consulted Open Table and this place seemed nearby. We exited the highway and easily found it located inside a convention hotel near the race track. Since it was after the noon hour, it was more or less deserted and we walked in and got a table easily. Our staff person was right there and offered refreshment immediately. y wife optioned for tea while I just took water. The menu was very inviting and we decided to split a salmon sandwich on a toasted bun. The chips which were kettle fried came along with the sandwich on two plates.

I can honestly say that the experience was most delightful and a bit unexpected. The staff person was attentive and friendly. It was a great time there and we would return should we travel back in that direction.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay, average at best. Good gro ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was okay, average at best. Good group setting worked out well for my business dinner and thats about it. Nothing else in the area for a nice dinner. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Reservation was for Sunday afternoon. Ve ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Reservation was for Sunday afternoon. Very disappointed the restaurant does not open on Sunday, which was not on Open Table or their web site. Only the Lounge is open with very limited food choices. This should be plainly stated if you are accepting dinner reservations. After driving 40 miles to meet an out-of-town friend halve way, we both were very disappointed and will try somewhere else next time we get together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very good presentation and flavor. My on ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very good presentation and flavor. My only recommendation would be to add more sauce for the salmon as it was dry from the baking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Unfortunately, the last few times that w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Unfortunately, the last few times that we have eaten at Rocky River Grille our ribeye steaks have been overcooked and very tough. We always order medium, but several times now they have been delivered well done, which makes the meat very tough. We have raved about the food at Rocky River Grille to our friends, but have been let down the last few times we have eaten there. Considering the prices we pay, this is a shame. We will continue to eat there, but hope the chef gets better with his cooking. Sorry, we do not like to complain, but you asked.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak was sent back twice because of wro ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Steak was sent back twice because of wrong temperature. They never got it right...even after three tries! Great service though. Excellent appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Our server didn't know the menu. Our ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server didn't know the menu. Our server was overwhelmed with this other table, we had other servers and hostess and manager wait on us. The server then continued to blame the poor service on the one large table he had. He was the only service with this issue. Half our meal was comp'ed. The first waitress trying to seat us had a lot of attitude and tried to sit us at the smallest table in the restaurant next to the bussing station.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great service and food!!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rocky Grille is a nice spot. However, I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Rocky Grille is a nice spot. However, I don't see it as a special location for Queen fest.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Average food at a high price.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Average food at a high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great Service

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server, Aubrey, was attentive but laid back enough that we did not feel rushed and were able to relax. She went the extra mile helping me get better cell phone reception! The crab cakes were all crab and melted in your mouth. The petit filet was tender and the broccolini and potatoes and rice were cooked to perfection. The wine choices were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

FirstTime

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We where both first time visitors to the restaurant and the food was amazingly good, the people/hostee was just as awesome, very accommodating. This spot is more than you could image it to be. Awesome place to Dine or just kick back for moment. Oh, did I mention reasonable, you must try the not on menu Buffet.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Horrible service. Don't go when you hav ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Horrible service.

Don't go when you have kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Service

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Service was exceptional buffet was good and the bonus was even better. Ambience was very good,quiet and wasn't doted on

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We ordered steaks medium rare, but they ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2016

We ordered steaks medium rare, but they came our medium well. Limited selection of "starches." We wanted baked potatoes, but they only offered mashed potatoes or rice. Not a place that I would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Have been here several times with no pro ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Have been here several times with no problems. This was not a good experience. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Go somewhere else

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Rocky River Grill is slightly ok for steak, but does not deliver food that is especially memorable. Any attempt they make at any other dish results in something drastically underwhelming. The service is slow and without personality. We were shuttled off into a room with several other couples, but it lacked any sense of ambiance whatsoever.

If you are at the Embassy Suites (where the restaurant is located), get Uber to take you somewhere else. If you think it sounds interesting on the OpenTable app, I recommend finding something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The food was good. Presentation was nice ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good. Presentation was nice but it was only warm not hot. I had seen this mentioned in other reviews and it's definitely true. Noise level was low. It was pleasant to be able to have a conversation and not feel like we had to yell at one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice Variety and Convenient Location

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We have been to Rocky River Grille 2 times now and enjoy the menu variety and the convenient location as compared to Charlotte uptown restaurants that come with parking headaches or valet costs. This restaurant is located inside the Embassy Suites in Concord, so the atmosphere suffers a little, but overall it is nice with good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Steaks! Yummy!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We were 5 people 4 of us had steaks. They were delicious but could have been hotter. My husband had the sea bass, which was only good. The service was great. The decor is fine. The wine list is extensive which is always nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

More like a cafeteria less like fine dining.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The ambience was more of a cafeteria style versus a romantic evening. We felt like we were dining in the hotel lobby. The ambience does not match the price. Also I ordered steak, potatoes and broccoli and my potatoes tasted stale. My husband order plantain stuffed pork which he liked. I'd say the food was ok (outside of the stale potatoes), but the ambience really contributed to my poor review of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Was expecting a loud crash

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Thought the food tasted okay, but it just didn't seem like it was prepared fresh. The peanut butter dessert was really good. The stuffed peppers were good. It felt like we were in a bowling alley, however. At no point would I have been surprised with that additional noise. Didn't know it existed prior to restaurant week and probably wouldn't go back. Staff was nice enough, but it took three attempts and about ten minuted for waters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the chocolate scallops-delicious! ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2016

I had the chocolate scallops-delicious! The waitress recommended them and the dish did not disappoint. The broccolini and sweet potato sides were also excellent. My husband took advantage of the buffet that was there for the Ichiban (anime) convention taking place in the hotel. Great people watching!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We went here for New Years Eve dinner la ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We went here for New Years Eve dinner last night and it was wonderful!!! My husband got the ribeye steak and I got the

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not busy and still very slow to take dri ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Not busy and still very slow to take drink orders. Had to walk to bar and pick up drinks ourselves after seeing another table do the same thing because of slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Awesome

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 26, 2015

I love this place. Food is Delicious . Beautiful place inside and outside dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

Terrible experience

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2015

The food was mediocre at best. Gnats flying around our table. Service was not what expected at a nicer establishment. Manager not willing to help to resolve issue. Not a place I would recommend or revisit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrific venue for small group

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2015

Our book club wanted a nice, festive spot with good food, yet quiet enough for group discussion. Rocky River Grille for an early December midweek lunch was perfect. Our waiter, Eric, was terrific & all staff members were welcoming and professional. The menu was varied and our choices, including desserts, were delicious. An attractive, clean facility. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice treat from an ordinary dinner

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2015

Wanted an "outside the box" dinner experience, something different from the usual chain places we visit. Brought my 8 yr old daughter to the Embassy Suites' Rocky River Grille & we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful surroundings. There was a very large convention in the hotel at the same time, so the dining room was extremely dead. Our server, Juan, was so polite and helpful with suggestions. The french onion soup was delicious, and I had the Delmonaco Ribeye as my entrée (daughter had the petite filet); both were delicious and perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was contemporary and clean, clean, CLEAN! Wine list was also reasonably priced. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Big disappointment.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Food was cold; service was unfriendly and less than satisfactory. I think every plate from beginning to end was still on the table by the time we finished our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Great menu, rustic ambiance. Will be bac ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2015

Great menu, rustic ambiance. Will be back for sure!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent Hotel Restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 26, 2015

This was an excellent restaurant with foods cooked just to our liking. From beef to salmon, all of us were quite pleased. The service was perfect and very attentive. I would return when in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had a super lunch soup and sandwich comb ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2015

Had a super lunch soup and sandwich combo...can only imagine how good the dinners must be. Outdoor patio is amazing !!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had an appetizer, soup and salad, but ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 5, 2015

We had an appetizer, soup and salad, but they were all very good. Excellent service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Salmon was very well prepared

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2015

We had been here before but this time the quality of the food was better than I remember from the other times that we visited the restaurant. Waiter was great. Just a very nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great hotel restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2015

This is an excellent restaurant. The salmon and the Filet were both well prepared and presented. The server, Juan, was very attentive. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quiet birthday celebration with friends

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 6, 2015

We invited another couple to join us for dinner and to celebrate my wife's birthday - low key. While our server (Shannon) likely suspected it was a special celebration, she did not push it , and my wife was very pleased as a result.

The crab dip in a bread bowl appetizer was excellent. The favorite entree was the prime rib. It was (un)cooked perfectly rare - exactly how we ordered it. The horseradish-encrusted salmon entree left us a bit wanting. The salmon was perfectly moist and flaky, however the horseradish topping added nearly zero flavor.

Our server (Shannon) was very attentive to our needs. She was pleasant, witty, and she made our evening more special. We will certainly return to this hidden gem that stands above the masses of chain restaurants in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice time at Rocky River Grille

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2015

I am very impressed with Rocky River Grille. The waiter was very courteous and friendly. The atmosphere was pleasant. The food was good too! I had the parmesan crust salmon. It was good. They were having a special on the prime rib and several members of our party chose the special. Out of our party of 9 no one had any complains about the meal. We were celebrating my son's 44th birthday and the waiter sang Happy Birthday in Italian to my son.

The chef also made us a special dessert sample that was very good!

One of the main things I appreciated about the restaurant was that I was able to make a reservation for a part y of 10 through Opentable within 5 days of my dining during Fathers Day weekend!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went for apps and drinks before a concer ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2015

Went for apps and drinks before a concert and everything was delicious. This is a nice find if you are going to PNC Pavilion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.