About Rocky River Grille

Located in the Embassy Suites Charlotte-Concord Golf Resort and Spa

Dining out should be a distinctive and memorable experience. Indulge in the dynamic atmosphere of Rocky River Grille where providing welcoming service is our passion. Using local Carolina ingredients whenever possible we endeavor to revolutionize the way you feel about hotel dining. Menu signatures feature the finest in Certified Angus Beef, Pork, Seafood and in-season Fruits & Vegetables. Rocky River Grille is diverse, original and habit forming.

5400 John Q Hammon Drive NW
Concord, NC 28027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Main Dining Room
Dinner only, Mon–Sat, 5pm–10pm

Lounge Dining
Lunch Daily, 11am–3pm Bar menu Daily, 11am-11pm


Beverage Service
Mon–Thurs, 11am–Midnight
Fri–Sat, 11am–1am
Sun, Noon –Midnight

Cross Street:
I-85 Exit 49 - Bruton Smith Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 454-1725

Website:
http://rockyrivergrille.com/

Entertainment:
Lounge @ Rocky River Grille

A local favorite. Cozy yet spacious. Casual yet elegant. The Lounge at Rocky River Grille is more than a place for cocktails. Daily drink specials, outdoor seating and a charged atmosphere, guests and locals mingle while enjoying premium spirits, casual dining and an experienced, friendly staff. Make the Lounge your own personal haven and hideaway during your visit to Concord.

Catering:
Botanica Dining Rooms can be reserved for events. In a dinner set-up Botanica I can accommodate up to 40 guests, while the smaller Botanica II can accommodate up to 30 guests. With additional features including 50" TV’s and access to a complete collection of event technologies, these rooms can be used to host a variety of events such as a full sit-down dinner or just cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. Whatever your event and budget dictates, our well-versed staff can provide catering options, set the room to your liking and provide the technology you need to ensure your event is a success.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Parking

Executive Chef:
Desmond kiser, Kitchen Chef / James Hettinger Executive Chef

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us on Easter Sunday Brunch Buffet on April 5th!

Come join us on Mother's day Brunch Buffet on May 10th!

Reservations required. Please call for reservation times.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

We have 2 private dining rooms to host a variety of events such as lunch, dinner or just cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. You can also rent the entire restaurant for events such as wedding receptions and Christmas parties. Prices and availability vary and are available upon request.

Rocky River Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
See All
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Romantic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was good, no real complaints there. The price was insanely expensive, $250 for drinks and dinner for four people; no appetizers, no dessert. Dining room was closed - had to eat in the bar paying an insane premium because it was past 5:00pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food (sirloin and filet), good service (warm and welcoming), great night!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel restaurant. Steaks were prepared well, service was prompt, and enjoyed the French onion soup as an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We really enjoyed the service and the food. I do wish it wasn't so close to the pool and bar area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful surprise! Had no idea such a gem was so close to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Too pricey not one of my favorite but okay with coupon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The meal was spot on! The service was terrible. Short staffed. Waiter had no idea what kind of rice was being served only that it was rice or potatoes so we got potatoes, no surprises there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We waited 20 minutes at a table. No one spoke to us or took our drink order. Left without anyone speaking to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was a special anniversary dinner for my husband and I and we were both so pleased. Our server could not have been more attentive and the food was delicious. We were visiting the area but will definitely come back if we find ourselves in the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Overall, it was an OK experience. When our dinners came out, they appeared to have been under a heat lamp for a little bit of a time. For the price, the meal was just OK. I do not think I would visit them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My friend and I were cheerfully greeted by the hostess and shown to our table. Our server, Tammy, came to our table in a matter of minutes. She was very welcoming and cheerful, explained the specials, and took our drink order (gin & tonic for my friend, margarita for me). Tammy brought our drinks, and took our food order (French onion soup, delmonico steak w/blue cheese, au gratin potatoes, and asparagus for my friend, and spinach salad, pork chop w/honey garlic sauce, au gratin potatoes, and asparagus for me). We enjoyed our drinks, one of the best margaritas I've had. My friend really enjoyed the soup, but the serving could have been larger, and my spinach salad was very large, and delicious! Both of our proteins were seasoned and cooked to perfection, potatoes were very flavorful, and the baby asparagus were wonderfully grilled. We shared the ciabatta bread pudding, and it was also very good and large enough for two people. I would definitely return to Rocky River Grille.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Nice find in Concord,NC. Great Sea Bass and Banana bread pudding.Awsome raspberry-lemon drop martini.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice setting, good service but they were not busy. Food was good but over priced. My steak was cooked to order but was pretty thin given the $30 entree price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Clean your restaurant. This place has potential. The waitress's are wonderful! The chef needs to be more particular with food. Messy and old (like it's been sitting out)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We came for our Anniversary. Waitress was wonderful. Table/floor was dirty. Salad (soggy and bad lettuce) was not pleasant nor the salmon (overlooked) The chef tried to hard with making a design in the plate with the Ceaser dressing. (Made the entire dish overrated) waitress was WONDERFUL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were there to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. He really enjoyed himself. The food was good. The appetizer came out warm and was delicious. The meal was good. The banana bread pudding was also good. The only reservation I had was that our waitress did not come back to our table to check on our drinks. In fact, I had to ask another waiter to find her for us! Not good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The place was empty but for one other couple the entire time we were there. We both ordered the "Surf and Turf", which consisted of a 6oz. steak, 4 boiled jumbo shrimp, and we chose the sides of garlic carrots and mashed potatoes. The steak had an unpleasant taste and was overdone, and the carrots were nearly raw. In addition, for some reason they were playing two different styles of music from different speakers, which was annoying. We definitely won't be returning to this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dinner for 4 with Friends, we were there for
2 hours enjoyed a relaxing atmosphere to dine and talk.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food and atmosphere was excellent. Service was a little slow but we were in no hurry so it was fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was a little slow for the amount of guests there. Food was good but portions did not match the pricing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wanted something different and decided to try this on a Saturday night. Buffett was offered. Food was very good and fresh. Server was very attentive. We will do this again. Note: Buffett is not offered every Saturday. Hotel was hosting a competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The Buffett option was nice!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Well, the steak filet was great. The salad, that's a no. The dessert, also a no. The rolls tasted like they were store bought. Atmosphere was acceptable. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Some of the worst food and service I've ever had. Dinner took 2.5 hours and the place wasn't even busy. I would highly recommend avoiding this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a very good valentines dinner at this place! Service and food were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service here is absolutely amazing, however, we wished the food was equally amazing! The food pairings didnt seem to go together as well as they could have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went for restaurant week and it was not at all worth the money we paid. No privacy, food was not good and our waitress didn't know very much. Will not be going back. Way over priced!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went to the Rocky River Grille for the Charlotte Queens Feast with two other couples. We should have gotten a clue, when we were the only ones in the restaurant. The service was decent, but the food was awful. The chef undercooked and overcooked several of the entrees steak/lamb, which had to be sent back three times to be re-done. My steak was over done and tasteless. In the end, the restaurant discounted only the one person ($5) who had to send their lamb back three times! I will never return to eat here again. What a waste of $70!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food here is always excellent. The noise level from the bar next door was extremely loud, but no way to avoid it since it is an open area. My companion would have enjoyed larger portions of his rack of lamb, for the price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Went here for restaurant week. We got a couple of classics from the menu. The redfish was AMAZING. We also tried a special for the evening, rack of lamb. It was cooked perfectly. I would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife was very impressed with the service and the food, very hard to satisfy her with a rare steak and the cook delivered. The meal was outstanding! Thank you Charlotte Restaurant Week!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Did not know this restaurant was located inside a major chain hotel when I made our reservation but went in with an open mind inspite of that. Service was good but the food was very average. This should be enough info to guide you...if not go taste and judge for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Have been here twice. Although it's out of the way (live in South Charlotte), it's worth a stop by if you're in the Concord area. Better than most of the chain restaurants near the mall. The food we have had (Delmonico steak, sea bass, stuffed chicken, French onion soup) were all tasty. It's a fair price for a hotel. Sometimes they offer a buffet (for $20, I think), but on this night there were not enough guests to warrant it. In fact, the main dining room had the lights out and was empty so we had to sit in the bar area, but it's not too bad, and they offer a supplemental menu with less expensive items such as sandwiches, burgers, etc. Plenty of TVs for sports, but a fairly quiet atmosphere. About half of the occupied tables (around 6 tables) had parents with children so it is kid-friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Weird convention with youth dressed a little bit there and foul language.
Has usually been quiet, nice ambiance and stellar food.

Disappointing, especially after bringing to other couple friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service and food very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I was hosting a business dinner with important clients and had a reservation. When we arrived the restaurant was closed and we were directed to eat in the bar area. Given the holiday season crowds and traffic, we had no choice but to accept this change. The food was good, but service and atmosphere did not meet my expectations. Their failure to notify me in advance of the change was not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great dining experience. The staff was great and very helpful! Will highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Reserved a table for a graduation dinner for a party of about 15. They were prepared for our arrival and were very accommodating. The food was excellent as well as the service. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Quick biz dinner. Sea bass was really good :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.