About Rocky River Grille

Located in the Embassy Suites Charlotte-Concord Golf Resort and Spa

Dining out should be a distinctive and memorable experience. Indulge in the dynamic atmosphere of Rocky River Grille where providing welcoming service is our passion. Using local Carolina ingredients whenever possible we endeavor to revolutionize the way you feel about hotel dining. Menu signatures feature the finest in Certified Angus Beef, Pork, Seafood and in-season Fruits & Vegetables. Rocky River Grille is diverse, original and habit forming.

5400 John Q Hammon Drive NW
Concord, NC 28027
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Main Dining Room
Dinner only, Mon–Sat, 5pm–10pm

Lounge Dining
Lunch Daily, 11am–3pm Bar menu Daily, 11am-11pm


Beverage Service
Mon–Thurs, 11am–Midnight
Fri–Sat, 11am–1am
Sun, Noon –Midnight

Cross Street:
I-85 Exit 49 - Bruton Smith Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 454-1725

Website:
http://rockyrivergrille.com/

Entertainment:
Lounge @ Rocky River Grille

A local favorite. Cozy yet spacious. Casual yet elegant. The Lounge at Rocky River Grille is more than a place for cocktails. Daily drink specials, outdoor seating and a charged atmosphere, guests and locals mingle while enjoying premium spirits, casual dining and an experienced, friendly staff. Make the Lounge your own personal haven and hideaway during your visit to Concord.

Catering:
Botanica Dining Rooms can be reserved for events. In a dinner set-up Botanica I can accommodate up to 40 guests, while the smaller Botanica II can accommodate up to 30 guests. With additional features including 50" TV’s and access to a complete collection of event technologies, these rooms can be used to host a variety of events such as a full sit-down dinner or just cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. Whatever your event and budget dictates, our well-versed staff can provide catering options, set the room to your liking and provide the technology you need to ensure your event is a success.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Parking

Executive Chef:
Desmond kiser, Kitchen Chef / James Hettinger Executive Chef

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us on Easter Sunday Brunch Buffet on April 5th!

Come join us on Mother's day Brunch Buffet on May 10th!

Reservations required. Please call for reservation times.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

We have 2 private dining rooms to host a variety of events such as lunch, dinner or just cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. You can also rent the entire restaurant for events such as wedding receptions and Christmas parties. Prices and availability vary and are available upon request.

Rocky River Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.8

ambience

3.5

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

42% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (2)
See All
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice setting, good service but they were not busy. Food was good but over priced. My steak was cooked to order but was pretty thin given the $30 entree price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Clean your restaurant. This place has potential. The waitress's are wonderful! The chef needs to be more particular with food. Messy and old (like it's been sitting out)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We came for our Anniversary. Waitress was wonderful. Table/floor was dirty. Salad (soggy and bad lettuce) was not pleasant nor the salmon (overlooked) The chef tried to hard with making a design in the plate with the Ceaser dressing. (Made the entire dish overrated) waitress was WONDERFUL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were there to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. He really enjoyed himself. The food was good. The appetizer came out warm and was delicious. The meal was good. The banana bread pudding was also good. The only reservation I had was that our waitress did not come back to our table to check on our drinks. In fact, I had to ask another waiter to find her for us! Not good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The place was empty but for one other couple the entire time we were there. We both ordered the "Surf and Turf", which consisted of a 6oz. steak, 4 boiled jumbo shrimp, and we chose the sides of garlic carrots and mashed potatoes. The steak had an unpleasant taste and was overdone, and the carrots were nearly raw. In addition, for some reason they were playing two different styles of music from different speakers, which was annoying. We definitely won't be returning to this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dinner for 4 with Friends, we were there for
2 hours enjoyed a relaxing atmosphere to dine and talk.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food and atmosphere was excellent. Service was a little slow but we were in no hurry so it was fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was a little slow for the amount of guests there. Food was good but portions did not match the pricing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wanted something different and decided to try this on a Saturday night. Buffett was offered. Food was very good and fresh. Server was very attentive. We will do this again. Note: Buffett is not offered every Saturday. Hotel was hosting a competition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Buffett option was nice!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great service. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Well, the steak filet was great. The salad, that's a no. The dessert, also a no. The rolls tasted like they were store bought. Atmosphere was acceptable. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Some of the worst food and service I've ever had. Dinner took 2.5 hours and the place wasn't even busy. I would highly recommend avoiding this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a very good valentines dinner at this place! Service and food were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service here is absolutely amazing, however, we wished the food was equally amazing! The food pairings didnt seem to go together as well as they could have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went for restaurant week and it was not at all worth the money we paid. No privacy, food was not good and our waitress didn't know very much. Will not be going back. Way over priced!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to the Rocky River Grille for the Charlotte Queens Feast with two other couples. We should have gotten a clue, when we were the only ones in the restaurant. The service was decent, but the food was awful. The chef undercooked and overcooked several of the entrees steak/lamb, which had to be sent back three times to be re-done. My steak was over done and tasteless. In the end, the restaurant discounted only the one person ($5) who had to send their lamb back three times! I will never return to eat here again. What a waste of $70!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food here is always excellent. The noise level from the bar next door was extremely loud, but no way to avoid it since it is an open area. My companion would have enjoyed larger portions of his rack of lamb, for the price.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Went here for restaurant week. We got a couple of classics from the menu. The redfish was AMAZING. We also tried a special for the evening, rack of lamb. It was cooked perfectly. I would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife was very impressed with the service and the food, very hard to satisfy her with a rare steak and the cook delivered. The meal was outstanding! Thank you Charlotte Restaurant Week!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Did not know this restaurant was located inside a major chain hotel when I made our reservation but went in with an open mind inspite of that. Service was good but the food was very average. This should be enough info to guide you...if not go taste and judge for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Have been here twice. Although it's out of the way (live in South Charlotte), it's worth a stop by if you're in the Concord area. Better than most of the chain restaurants near the mall. The food we have had (Delmonico steak, sea bass, stuffed chicken, French onion soup) were all tasty. It's a fair price for a hotel. Sometimes they offer a buffet (for $20, I think), but on this night there were not enough guests to warrant it. In fact, the main dining room had the lights out and was empty so we had to sit in the bar area, but it's not too bad, and they offer a supplemental menu with less expensive items such as sandwiches, burgers, etc. Plenty of TVs for sports, but a fairly quiet atmosphere. About half of the occupied tables (around 6 tables) had parents with children so it is kid-friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Weird convention with youth dressed a little bit there and foul language.
Has usually been quiet, nice ambiance and stellar food.

Disappointing, especially after bringing to other couple friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service and food very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I was hosting a business dinner with important clients and had a reservation. When we arrived the restaurant was closed and we were directed to eat in the bar area. Given the holiday season crowds and traffic, we had no choice but to accept this change. The food was good, but service and atmosphere did not meet my expectations. Their failure to notify me in advance of the change was not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great dining experience. The staff was great and very helpful! Will highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Reserved a table for a graduation dinner for a party of about 15. They were prepared for our arrival and were very accommodating. The food was excellent as well as the service. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Quick biz dinner. Sea bass was really good :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The time was early afternoon and we were famished after a lengthy trip down the interstate. My wife consulted Open Table and this place seemed nearby. We exited the highway and easily found it located inside a convention hotel near the race track. Since it was after the noon hour, it was more or less deserted and we walked in and got a table easily. Our staff person was right there and offered refreshment immediately. y wife optioned for tea while I just took water. The menu was very inviting and we decided to split a salmon sandwich on a toasted bun. The chips which were kettle fried came along with the sandwich on two plates.

I can honestly say that the experience was most delightful and a bit unexpected. The staff person was attentive and friendly. It was a great time there and we would return should we travel back in that direction.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was okay, average at best. Good group setting worked out well for my business dinner and thats about it. Nothing else in the area for a nice dinner. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Reservation was for Sunday afternoon. Very disappointed the restaurant does not open on Sunday, which was not on Open Table or their web site. Only the Lounge is open with very limited food choices. This should be plainly stated if you are accepting dinner reservations. After driving 40 miles to meet an out-of-town friend halve way, we both were very disappointed and will try somewhere else next time we get together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very good presentation and flavor. My only recommendation would be to add more sauce for the salmon as it was dry from the baking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Unfortunately, the last few times that we have eaten at Rocky River Grille our ribeye steaks have been overcooked and very tough. We always order medium, but several times now they have been delivered well done, which makes the meat very tough. We have raved about the food at Rocky River Grille to our friends, but have been let down the last few times we have eaten there. Considering the prices we pay, this is a shame. We will continue to eat there, but hope the chef gets better with his cooking. Sorry, we do not like to complain, but you asked.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Steak was sent back twice because of wrong temperature. They never got it right...even after three tries! Great service though. Excellent appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server didn't know the menu. Our server was overwhelmed with this other table, we had other servers and hostess and manager wait on us. The server then continued to blame the poor service on the one large table he had. He was the only service with this issue. Half our meal was comp'ed. The first waitress trying to seat us had a lot of attitude and tried to sit us at the smallest table in the restaurant next to the bussing station.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

A hidden winner. Good food. Only downside was lack of choices of sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Rocky Grille is a nice spot. However, I don't see it as a special location for Queen fest.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Average food at a high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our server, Aubrey, was attentive but laid back enough that we did not feel rushed and were able to relax. She went the extra mile helping me get better cell phone reception! The crab cakes were all crab and melted in your mouth. The petit filet was tender and the broccolini and potatoes and rice were cooked to perfection. The wine choices were good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.