Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

About Rocky Point Restaurant

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (866) 681-7508

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

76% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (53)
Waterfront (46)
Worth the Drive (35)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Ok. So on the open table menu. It says 10 oz prime rib And twice baked potato. Well we get their only 14oz No baked potatoes or twice baked potato. Instead mashed potatoes that were awful and dry. So we called over the manager to discuss. OMG. Very incompetent. Actually a goofball. Totally did not get it. He said he had been their 6 months. I would have thought 6 hours. No grasp of the issues. Just said the owners had not updated websites
I Would Recommend this Tourist Trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good service, food yummy and location d best! Just a lil bit pricey. But over all very good

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We went primarily for the view (it is fantastic--sunset in to the pacific) but the food was very good. I was very pleasantly surprised. Our server Arron was excellent. On his suggestion, I tried the flat iron steak and arugula and found it was very flavorful. The paired wine made a great combination.
It was worth the drive and very enjoyable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Gorgeous setting- amazing views!
Good menu- good food!
Sit outside!!
Had crab sliders- fresh and very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Although the view was beautiful, and the hostesses were so nice, we were disappointed by the hectic nature of the restaurant, the abrupt server, and the high corkage fee. It needs to be dressed up a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Incredible views with either indoor and outdoor seating! We both loved our drinks and entrees - my grass fed burger was perfectly cooked and delicious while my husband's prime rib sandwich was the best he ever had. It was so tender that it "melted in his mouth"! Our server Austin was fun, polite, courteous and didn't rush us at all. This was a perfectly memorable lunch experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We were extremely disappointed overall with Rocky Point. The view, of course, was spectacular however the service was mediocre, the food was fair and the ambiance was quite lacking.
Unfortunately, Rocky Point has changed from a romantic restaurant with fabulous service and ambiance to a tourist trap.
We are locals and would like to support local restaurants but this one is overly expensive and not what it used to be.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

9/25/2017 Celebrated Two birthdays. Prime rib sandwich fries and desserts were outstanding. Seafood salad was overpriced and a bit disappointing: not enough lettuce, only 1/2 egg, only 1 prawn. The salad was very good though. Overall, an experience not to be missed. Absolutely gorgeous setting, gardens, great trails to walk. Will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food and cocktails were average at best. View is amazing, but the food is just ok.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We took a close look at the menu presented on OpenTable before we arrived, so we were ready to order when we were seated—only to find out that the menu had changed and prices had been raised a bit at least several months ago. Strike one. Our appetizer was dropped off hastily by someone other than our official server—and neither he nor our server had noticed that we had no silverware nor napkins. Strike two. When I said, "Excuse me, sir..." as another server walked past carrying some silverware (and our food was getting cold), he turned and looked right at me, then just looked away and kept on walking. Strike three. When our mixed drinks arrived (delivered by yet another server), one was fine but the other literally tasted like it had zero alcohol. Strike four.

This place serves delicious food and features a spectacular coastal view. It's really sad that our former favorite date place just can't seem to get its act together. I don't think we'll be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Restaurant offers stunning scenic views in a relaxing environment. Lovely grounds. Something on the menu to please everyone. Highly recommend! Would love to go back there again someday while vacationing in Monterey/Carmel.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great for drinks and apps only. Dinner was below average, no flavor and not hot. Good service and the views are a slice of heaven. Also poor desert options. Thanks.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Of course, you cannot beat the location overlooking the Pacific. That's their claim to fame because the service at lunch was quite spotty, and the food was mediocre, and very much over-priced. It's the location, location, location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This restaurant is incredible! Austin was a wonderful waiter. This is by far one of the most beautiful places to eat, and the views are breathtaking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great food, service with a fantastic view! We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I went to Rocky Point Restaurant with a group of six on Saturday September 16, 2017. It was a gorgeous day, and we were able to sit outside. Our server, Austin, was top-notch. He was effervescent, friendly, and knowledgeable about the menu and drink selection. The food came out quickly and correctly, and everyone finished their meal. It was delicious! I would recommend Rocky Point Restaurant to anyone in the Carmel-Monterey-Big Sur area. It's definitely worth the drive. The views of the Pacific are spectacular!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This is one of the few restaurants in the Carmel area that actually has an ocean view - and it's a fabulous one! On a 1-10 scale the food is about a 4 but the view is off the charts. Stick to the basics with your food order but sit outside and take in the cliffs, the Pacific, and with any luck the passing whales and it's an unforgettable dining experience!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Having lived in Carmel Valley several years back and Rock Point being at the top of the list, my wife and I could not wait to return. We knew something was wrong when we found a vacant parking lot. No need for a reservation, almost empty. Waiter friendly, he said baby back ribs will fall off the bone. Working with knife and fork to make them fall off. I then found you could not chew the. Luke warm, not even hot. My wife's steak looked it came out of the microwave. Sad visit. NOT CHEAP!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great views and good food. A bit pricey but well worth it for the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Everything is absolutely perfect and our waiter is amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing views and opportunity to sit inside or outside. Great scampi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have been dining at Rocky Point for years. The service and view are second to none. They have recently updated their food preparation and menu and it pains me to admit the food was just plain terrible. It has been outstanding in the past, however it was almost uneddible .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Service was slow, food was not good half of what's on the menu was not available, my daughter just settles for mashed potato that is so bland, dry, no butter, no cream really bad. There were 5 flies in the windows we were sitting next to (gross). We decided to sit inside because it was windy, place was dingy!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Off the charts for the ocean front view! Great little hike outside too if you're feeling adventurous - we saw lots of people taking selfies or just amazing shots of the water. Careful not to trip and fall over though.

The cocktails were large and generous but the food just ok. Husband had the French dip (yummy) and I had the skirt steak (just ok). We're definitely coming back and bringing friends to enjoy the view but will probably just do appetizers and drinks and eat our meal over in Carmel.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful restaurant on the big sur overlooking the rocky shore and sea. Beautiful scenery and great tasting food too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have visited this restaurant since 1991. We were so disappointed with the quality of food and service. This was our favorite place. One of the reasons to visit California. We will not return nor recommend to anyone. Sad, sad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The service was horrendous. We went up to the bar twice. After not even being acknowledged the first time, we were finally acknowledged on our second visit but still never ordered. We were literally the only one at the bar. The bartender just kept his head down and continued making drinks for tables until we left due to our table being ready. They were short staffed and so the hostess who was so sweet had to take our order after we sat there with no service for a very long time. When we finally did order they had to come back to notify us that they were out of what we ordered. Other customers got fed up and left after sitting without service for so long. When we asked to talk to a manger the manager literally messed around with the cash register in front of us for at least 10 minutes before he would even look up to speak to us. We told him about our experience at the bar and how others were also upset and leaving because the service was so bad and he could have cared less. The setting is so beautiful but outside of that it was one of the worst dining experiences we have ever had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience. Well worth every penny.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Best view off big sur! Worth the drive from Carmel.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food tasted like the instant kind you heat up quickly in tourist trap restaurants which is exactly what this place is. The only thing this place has going for it is the view. I suggest saving your money for another restaurant on the coast with good, fresh food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Chose this place for the view and the reviews. Getting there along Hwy. 1 is worth the drive for sure! The place was very lovely. There were a couple of families, several couples, a few groups of friends and a single table or two. The overall atmosphere is very, very nice but not over the top. We saw people dressed quite casually but also some dressed up. We dressed "business casual" . It was overcast when we arrived but the clouds cleared in time for us to see a beautiful sunset. My friend had the ROCKY POINT SEAFOOD CHOWDER and SCAMPI and declared it "excellent". I had the SEAFOOD LOUIE and GRILLED FRESH FISH (which was sword fish) with rice pilaf, and steamed veggies. Mine was excellent as well, though I think my veggies could have been steamed a bit more - I could not cut the carrots without a knife (?). We shared a creme brule which was SO GOOD. My friend had LA MERIKA pino grigio and I had FOLKTALE rose - both local wines and both very nice. Yes, would Highly recommend this place. Absolutely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved the view, the food and the service. Part of Big Sur was closed so we came here and I'm glad we did!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had a wonderful wedding dinner! Our server was absolutely amazing and even offered to take our picture over looking the ocean bc it was such a beautiful sunset that evening! Loved every min!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We booked dinner to coincide with sunset for our 46th anniversary. We ordered crab cakes and swordfish. Neither was the best we have ever had, but both were good. The seasonal vegetables with the swordfish were excellent. Service was also excellent. It was a Monday night, and the restaurant was not very busy. The view is unparalleled. After dinner, we sat outside and watched the remainder of the sunset. It was a special evening. We highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Rocky Point has a great location with outstanding views. We watched whales while sitting on the patio. The dinner was good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous location, excellent food, makes this one of our favorite restaurants in the Monterey/Carmel area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Overpriced and not as delicious as it could have been. The best thing was the Cioppino. Other dishes were bland or fried and just pricey! Plus, the menu on open table is not updated, so prices are actually higher than we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This restaurant is in carmel and has the most amazing location with ocean views. The only issue was parking and I would suspect that a lot of the people walking around using the restaurant parking were not coming to eat. There was a man on the gate and we had a reservation but he did not ask for names or anything else. Food and service were good and the views spectacular.
Access was good for all but the lower deck area as it has stairs and no ramps. Access was possible to the upper deck area and main restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This restaurant has a VERY FABULOUS view of the Pacific coast!!!!!
Austin, our waiter was excellent. Friendly and efficient
The meal today was not as good as 2 weeks ago. However the French fries are DELICIOUS 🖒🖒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Rocky Point is worth the drive south from Monterey/Carmel. The views of the Pacific are beautiful and you can enjoy it from inside or outside depending on the weather. Food was good, the price is higher because of the location. Service was friendly and helpful, but seemed a bit disorganized the night we were there.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.