About Rocky Point Restaurant

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8666817508

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

scenic view (50)
great for outdoor dining (39)
special occasion (31)
See All
great for lunch (27)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (10)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best meals we have ever had! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals we have ever had! Pasta with seafood was an A+. Best fish and chips as well. Eat dinner, paid bill, walked around outside to enjoy the gorgeous view then went back 45 minutes later for dessert. Again, Inforgetable!

We definitely have this restaurant on our list when we return to Monterey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The views and location are amazing. Unfo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The views and location are amazing. Unfortunately we came for dinner, and nobody was sitting outdoors. The interior feels more like a diner. It would've been nice to sit outside and have a casual lunch, but we came for dinner and it wasn't worth it - the views are amazing but the food was only OK, the ambiance was boring, and the prices were expensive.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Breathe-taking view of Big Sur. Food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Breathe-taking view of Big Sur. Food was good and price is modest. Service is so so, the place was not busy and despite many wait-persons walking up and down the hall, many of them avoid any eye-contact.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was outstanding! The whales ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was outstanding! The whales were an incredible sight and we watched them the entire time -- 3 hours!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Extremely unique view with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great view. Extremely unique view with a private cliff side walking path. Like most places with a view or a hot spot, the service and food are sub par.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

No doubt, the food is an accompaniment t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

No doubt, the food is an accompaniment to the views here, but the food was still very good (fresh sea bass for my wife, prime rib for me). Friendly, efficient service. Waves crashing against the rocks, whales spouting in the distance. Nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A must stop on the Big Sur!!!! Had lunch ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A must stop on the Big Sur!!!! Had lunch at Rocky Point. BBQ Ribs were the special that day, so we went with Ribs and they were very good. Quite tender. The view is stunning. After lunch we sat on the lower patio and drank our wine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find by my wife for our visit to M ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great find by my wife for our visit to Monterey/Carmel. Food was amazing and the service impeccable. Combine those with the amazing views and that's a good restaurant!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This used to be a fabulous restaurant wi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This used to be a fabulous restaurant with a great view. Now it's a great view with a good restaurant. Disappointing!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The views from this restaurant are beyon ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The views from this restaurant are beyond amazing. They actually made up for the mediocre food and slow service. The service was friendly but just rather slow. That was fine with us since we were enjoying the beautiful scenery. If this restaurant was located anywhere else I wouldn't recommend it because the food was just OK and the prices are quite high for the quality of the food. However, you aren't going to get a location like this anywhere else. Just beautiful. If they improved the food this would be an incredible restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We were a little skeptical after reading ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were a little skeptical after reading some bad reviews, but our experience was exceptional. The food was very good, the service was fine, and the view is spectacular!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic renovation and expansion! The ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fantastic renovation and expansion! The food and service was excellent, the views breathtaking as always. Damon was very accomodating and attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous location and the food was above ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fabulous location and the food was above average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The restaurant is situated on a cliff ab ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The restaurant is situated on a cliff above the pacific ocean near Big Sur, so the views from all the window tables are outstanding. That's the best part. The food was good, but not great considering the high prices for the entrees. My wife's split pea soup was watery and my Cesar salad did not have the anchovies that were shown on the menu. The service was good.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Awesome views! Was able to finally find ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Awesome views! Was able to finally find good escargot. Go at Sunset!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Under new management. Veryslowservice. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Under new management. Veryslowservice. Higher prices! Carbonateddrinkswereflat. Server was Not aware. Going downhill! .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

View is spectacular, a great overall exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

View is spectacular, a great overall experience, food was great and the wait staff did a great job on a busy Father's Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was all great. We had the cala ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was all great. We had the calamari appetizer, the Crosby sandwich, key lime pie and the rocky road pie. The service was however terrible. Our server had way too many tables and no support other than an occasional bus person. We were ok with slow service initially since it was a great view and we had an outside table on a picture perfect day. Our server brought us our check after we said we wanted dessert, so he had take that back and get the dessert menus. Then no sign of desserts. My wife thought she saw our desserts sitting inside waiting to be served. When they finally arrived her mud pie was melted. The server should have realized it and taken it back for another one. She decided to eat as we were ready to move on. The other big negative was that the wine was way over priced. Each glass was half the price of the bottle at retail, which means it was probably four times the wholesale price. Go for the food and skip the drinks.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Spectacular views - expected less from t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Spectacular views - expected less from the food but was pleasantly surprised by the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, Great service, and that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food, Great service, and that spectacular view! What's not to like?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service. Fantastic ocean ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and service. Fantastic ocean view!!

Was recommended by friends who dined there.

Glad made a special effort to pay this hidden place a visit!!

Have refereed two friends to eat there already!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced tourist junk food is the best ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Overpriced tourist junk food is the best way to describe it. Two bowls of lobster bisque and two glasses of wine came out to $54. But it wasn't the price that was the problem, we'd gladly pay for quality. Wine took nearly 15 minutes to get served, after the soup. The soup tasted bland and out of a can. The only reason to go is the view which you can experience without eating. Carmel is blessed with some incredible restaurants, this unfortunately is not one.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Superb dining experience. Views were phe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Superb dining experience. Views were phenomenal. Will go back and tell my friends about the experience. Relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you visit Carmel, be sure you take ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

When you visit Carmel, be sure you take a 12 mile drive down the coast and dine at Rocky Point.

The scenery is flat out beautiful with the ocean right in front of you. The food was tasty, the food excellent and the service excellent. My 5 Star rating says it all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service from the waiter was rude and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

the service from the waiter was rude and not attentive at all, he even said at one point "sorry for being rude" not that he meant it though because i was about to say it's our anniversary but he had already walked away and left me talking. Very disappointed but i must say that after expressing the rudeness of the waiter to the hostess she got us a new waiter who did what he could to save it. Service should have never been that rude.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We noted on Open Table that is was an 85 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We noted on Open Table that is was an 85th Birthday lunch. This was not recognized and even when we told the Hostess, she did not even acknowledge it.

We were served by the bartender, who then disappeared on us. We had to beg for a check.

The staff seemed to be having a good time, talking to each other. We made a big effort to drive to this scenic restaurant - it's a shame we received poor service and no recognition for the 85th Birthday.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Amazing view

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We found this restaurant through Yelp, and the reviews were spot on. Absolutely amazing view and away from the crowds. Almost drove right past the restaurant - it's down a driveway right next to the coast. It was a bit chilly for us, but it has charming deck seating to dine outside. Food was good, more of a casual dining menu. Service was friendly and timely. We'd definitely go back and the view was worth the drive out.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

On a cliff overlooking Pacific

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The restaurant boasts an unsurpassed view of the Pacific Ocean a few miles south of Carmel on Highway 1. But, they are not just a tourist spot with a good view, their food is great too. Their prime rib was the best I've had in a long time -- flavorful and tender. The full menu is served (maybe not the prime rib) for lunch and dinner with the full range from burgers to fish. Server was friendly and attentive and food arrived promptly. Great experience even with the June fog.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location, stunning views of the coa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Nice location, stunning views of the coast. Service is good, food is decent enough, but certainly the location is the major reason to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Amazing views. Terrible service.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing views. Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

It was overcast but still a gorgeous vie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

It was overcast but still a gorgeous view and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go for the view

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Skip the food. Have a nice drink and drink in the view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Spectacular views, excellent food and if ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Spectacular views, excellent food and if you dine outdoors they are dog friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely the best view ever, to includ ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Absolutely the best view ever, to include travels to the Caribbean and beyond.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch on our Big Sur coastline drive....

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Go to Rocky Point Restaurant for the view! It is spectacular! The restaurant sits high up on a hill and overlooks the water and the cliffs. The view is absolutely breathtaking! The service is very good... and the food is good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Stunning views & great food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Stunning views & great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is exceptional. Service was pro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The view is exceptional. Service was prompt and curteous. Food is very good and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dine overlooking the waves of the Pacific Ocean

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The drive to Rocky Point is spectacular. The remodeled restaurant has taken full advantage of its unique and rare location. The views are simply breathtaking. Dine inside watching the waves, marine life and landscaped setting through walls of glass or sit outside close to the sites and sounds. Service was attentive and friendly. Food was excellent and beautifully presented.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stunning View

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived and they honored my request for a window view. Spectacular vista and sunset.

Food, eh! Not one at our table of four were thrilled with dinner.

I'd probably have the hamburger if I returned. That seems to be the best value. (Had that for lunch the first time I came. )

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was out of this world! The view ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was out of this world! The views of Big Sur were just spectacular. The wait staff could not have been better. So sorry we live on the East Coast and Rocky Point is on the West Coast. Everyone in the Monterey/Carmel/Big Sur area Must go to Rocky Point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.