About Rocky Point Restaurant

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (866) 681-7508

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (20)
Waterfront (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
See All
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fireplace (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Austin, our server, was awesome! Very in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Austin, our server, was awesome! Very informative & had a great Valentine's date with great food & dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to Rocky Point about half a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Rocky Point about half a dozen times now and were generally quite pleased with the food, service, and very pleased with the scenic view. This time, we found that the menu had changed eliminating two of our favorites (szechuan beans and cheesy bread). Our waiter indicated those had been dropped in December 2016 and that many customers requested them but the new cook did not want to continue offering them. I guess it is the cook's preference that wins over the customer's! When we arrived ahead of our reserved time, they indicated no problem, that they assumed everything before the sunset to be the first rotation so our 5:45 pm reservation was in the first seating group. They then proceeded to take us to the room with the bar in it which is very noisy and cold due to the open door for serving those patrons dining outside on the deck. We requested something in the middle two rooms. They then tried to seat us directly across from the waiter station! We finally got a table in the center room but also got a lot of attitude from the hostess. Great scenery as usual but next time, we will go about 5 miles further south and try out some of the dining options there, all with the same great views but reported to have better food and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food is a bit pricey, but it is good and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is a bit pricey, but it is good and servings are generous. The view is fabulous. Well worth the time to come here. Can be noisy inside, but outside that is not a concern. Service is usually very good, but some times it gets a bit sketchy. The last few times it has been excellent. Come here every few months as the view is one of the best along the California Coast.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a nice restaurant, just the fact t ...

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It is a nice restaurant, just the fact that they added $10.- to my bill to increase the tip without my knowledge is unacceptable to me and is like stealing.

After calling them they said they thought that the tip amount is not enough so they increased it to 22%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Sunset dining at Rocky Point was breatht ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Sunset dining at Rocky Point was breathtaking!

I usually cannot get past the crab and shrimp Louie; but wasn't in the mood for a salad. I ordered the Lamb Tenderloin garnished with baby red potatoes, corn and sautéed greens in a Cabernet wine sauce with a glass of Justin Cabernet Sauvignon. It was amazing.

My husband orders braised Short Ribs with Butternut Risotto, very tender and delicious.

Generous proportions.

House made bread pudding with vanilla ice cream completed our experience.

Definitely need reserves on the weekends and during the day.

The views of the ocean, central coast and PCH 1 are not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was our first visit to this restaur ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant, what a great treat. Food was very good, service excellent, waiters recommendations were spot on. The view was magnificent. A very enjoyable experience. Wine selection was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! We visited on a week d ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great experience! We visited on a week day in January, granted we came early for the 5:15pm sunset but had an amazing view of lovely big sur and the ocean. It seemed like the bar may have been closing shortly following our departure but it did seem like it was due to the early sunset and slow traffic following. Regardless, I had the short ribs and risotto and literally have never left more pleased. Definitely a scenic gem supported by the most kind service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant is without doubt, the mo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This restaurant is without doubt, the most magical setting for a date or wedding. However, both the service, (not the waiting staff as much as the kitchen) and the wine list should be carefully reviewed by the owners. This is my second time to this restaurant in 3 years and I can say with bittersweet certainty that this restaurant needs to find a way to shorten the waiting times from order to plating. I sat for 45 min after my appetizer for my main to arrive, by which time the sun had set, and the chill of the coastal winds had saturated my body. However, the food doesn't disappoint. The meal was phenomenal if it had come out of the kitchen in a timely manner I would have been over the moon with this review apart from the wine. I had a dreadful merlot to start the evening with (kinda a heavy red to start with) but for being the most expensive red by the glass I expected a new world treat to accompany the delicious spare ribs I had order for my main (they were out of this world, freshly hot and succulent as they fell off the bone). However I was greatly disappointed this wine had tasted as though it had been opened 3 days ago and was obviously not of quality to begin with. I order a Zinfandel to take its place( a big fruity zinny just as the waiter had advertised, delectable) and after discussing with the waiter he kindly removed that dreadful merlot from my tab. So in review. A magical setting above the wild pacific with absolutely luscious food. However the wait times from kitchen to table where definitely to be desired and the wine list need a run through by a California wine expert (they source everything local, wines included) to revamp their selection. Overall 6/10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great views. Food was good but not brea ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great views. Food was good but not breathtaking. Server was excellent.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has an amazing panoramic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant has an amazing panoramic view of the ocean. It has a beautiful outside area. If you go, make reservations and ask to be seated by the window. The food is delicious and dessert as well! The staff was nice and accommodating as we showed up early to our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Let's get one thing straight here, you a ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Let's get one thing straight here, you are paying for the location and view. Absolutely gorgeous panoramic view of Big Sur / Point Lobos. The high points about this restaurant ends there. The food, I mean to be honest, is overpriced. Don't get me wrong - I don't mind paying top dollar for a delicious and well presented meal with exception service. This place is mediocre at best in all three areas. You know a restaurant need to work on its service if you need to ask to have your drink refilled twice. But then again, you ARE paying for the VIEW. Jumbo prawn cocktail, more like, jumbo SHRIMP cocktail was $18.00 for 4 pieces of crustacean around a goblet with slices of avocado, filled with chopped romaine hearts smothered in cocktail sauce. The Nantucket scallop dish was way too salty and hard to appreciate. To be fair, the scallops were huge and filling with a serving of 3, but its overbearing saltiness cancels that out. The Rocky Point Restaurant is the kind of place that you have to swing by once to see, and then move along. I wouldn't dine here again because I feel the food did not reflect its commanding cost. All in all, 2 dishes of Nantucket Scallops, 1 jumbo shrimps (not prawn) cocktail, 1 soup of the day (lobster bisque), 1 mousse cake, 1 Moscow mule, 1 Firestone IPA and 1 Rocky Point Espresso rang up the bill to about $175, tax/tip included. We had a fabulous steak dinner at the Whaling Station in Monterey at a little over what we paid here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

They charged 29.00 for a salad with salm ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 30, 2016

They charged 29.00 for a salad with salmon added. The salmon was cold, dry and seemed like it was out of a can. Waiter didn't care about our table either.

Go for the drinks and view but skip the food. Not good at all and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We love Everything about Rocky Point res ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love Everything about Rocky Point restaurant:) we come with friends, family, and recommend this Great restaurant to Everyone!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Rock ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Rock Point - best Ciopinno ever!

Wonderful welcome with a view to die for!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We went for Christmas Eve dinner. Had a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve dinner. Had a great table with view. Really liked the calamari straps. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My husband and I enjoyed lunch at Rocky ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed lunch at Rocky Point on Christmas Eve . It was one of those " .. you had me at hello..." days; blue sky, crashing waves on the rocks, etc.

Our lunch was perfectly cooked and we enjoyed the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So happy we came across this restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

So happy we came across this restaurant on our road-trip back from SF. The view was amazing and the outdoor seating with heaters was perfect for watching the sunset.

It was more expensive than we thought it was going to be, but really worth going!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went thinking this was going to be all a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Went thinking this was going to be all about view with ok food - it is all about the view but the food is fantastic!!!! Fresh and well prepared. Server was helpful and attentive. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food , great server in KEVIN ! Lun ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food , great server in KEVIN ! Lunch special of Alaskan Halibut sandwich was outstanding as was my wife's' Louie Salad . Highly recommend as a stop on scenic California Coastline . Tom and Teri from Boston !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was outstanding and the view breath ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food was outstanding and the view breathe taking. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited on the Sunday after Thanksgiv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We visited on the Sunday after Thanksgiving. We sat outside and enjoyed the fried squid and cheese platter for appetizers. The honey on the bread with the cheese board was excellent. We all enjoyed our meals - definitely recommend French dip and fish tacos. Our waiter Austin was attentive and in the holiday spirit. Looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner at this reclusi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at this reclusive yet not that far away restaurant which offers a wide variety of dishes. Overlooking the rocky shoreline, the views are tremendous even after sunset. Well worth the drive for a tranquil lunch or dinner with friends.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Open Table only allowed a 5:30 reservati ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Open Table only allowed a 5:30 reservation. Hrre actuslly were plenty of tables open st 6:30 (while we were still here). More importantly, KUDOS to the staff for securing the credit card I left behind. I was able to pick it up the next morning. We had a nice evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

service was excellent -- views amazing f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

service was excellent -- views amazing food good but prices where extremely high and there was a very limited menu.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We picked this location for a sunset din ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We picked this location for a sunset dinner. Unfortunately, it was very foggy. We still went, and were 1 of a few full tables. The food was outstanding and the staff was great. A sunset would have made it even more perfect. A bit overpriced, but compared to the limited options in the area, i dont think it was bad. You pay for what you get. And in this case, like many in Big Sur, you pay for location. I was just happy the food was amazing.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dine here whenever possible and it nev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I dine here whenever possible and it never disappoints! The food was fantastic, our waiter was great, and of course we always enjoy the gorgeous view!!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoy the outdoors with a to die for vie ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Enjoy the outdoors with a to die for view if you are there in the daylight. Friendly service and a cheeseboard that is a meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The view was outstanding and the ideal s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The view was outstanding and the ideal seating would be to sit outside, but the temperature was too cool for our evening. The interior is more than a few years past the need for an update. The food did a great job of making up for the dated interior. Two of us had the prime rib and the other two had the halibut special. All four of us enjoyed our best meal of the week! It is definitely worth the visit. I suggest arriving about an hour before your reservation and taking the path down to the water. Return to the top in time to enjoy a drink while watching the sunset and then have your dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The view south down the coast was except ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The view south down the coast was exceptional. Very good food and service. We definitely recommend Rocky Point Restsurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our first time to make the driv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time to make the drive to this restaurant for dinner. Wife and I both had the halibut on top of risotto. Lovely presentation and great tasting. The view is spectacular as expected. The fly problem noted by some recently was minimal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was delicious! We loved the amb ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food was delicious! We loved the ambiance and the decor. Our dining experience fantastic and the view spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

View was spectacular and the food was di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

View was spectacular and the food was divine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and coastline were breathtaking ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The view and coastline were breathtaking. We Were seated right away, and along the window. Strange people dining there that particular evening. Our waiter Said "Just let

me know if theres anything I can get for you"

BUT was never around when we did need him! Water, butter, another drink...! Salads

were quite boring, and tastless! Shrimp cock-

tail was good but sloppily presented! My cou-

sin ❤️ed her Halibut, but my lobster so so Won't come rushing back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This is a must stop restaurant for lunch ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a must stop restaurant for lunch or dinner if you are in the Pebble Beach/Carmel area. The views are spectacular. Weather permitting, ask for an outside table. The food was also excellent!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view overlooking the ocean. Howeve ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great view overlooking the ocean. However interior of restaurant in serious need of updating. Food was good, but prices reflect the ocean view.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Breathtaking views! The food, drinks, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Breathtaking views! The food, drinks, and service were good, but the view was spectacular. I would definitely go again, if for nothing other than the beautiful landscaping and views.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Stunning ocean view, South of Carmel. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Stunning ocean view, South of Carmel. The best crab/shrimp louie I have ever had. We sat in the bar area, more casual, and there was a large group in the dining room. Lots of nice tables outside too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

You are paying a big premium for an amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

You are paying a big premium for an amazing view. The service is good but the food is just OK. Portion sizes are very reasonable and the restaurant is quiet and romantic.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I loved the location, and the view of Bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I loved the location, and the view of Bixby Bridge near Big Sur. The server was very friendly, and the view was amazing! The food was nicely presented, but not the forte of my experience there, this time around. Will be back again for certain.

Calamari were some of the best I've had in the area, but at quite a premium. Flat Iron steak great although a bit over cooked, chimichurri was quite authentic. Requested to taste the sauce for one of the desserts prior to ordering it, and was denied flat out, according to the server, by the restaurant chef. Being on a date, did not want to push it, just ordered a different dessert. Creme brulee was great, and quite substantial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Magical views, well prepared entrees, gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Magical views, well prepared entrees, great drinks. Just go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.