Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

About Rocky Point Restaurant

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (866) 681-7508

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (54)
Waterfront (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
See All
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Romantic (23)
Casual (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Rocky Point has a great location with outstanding views. We watched whales while sitting on the patio. The dinner was good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous location, excellent food, makes this one of our favorite restaurants in the Monterey/Carmel area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced and not as delicious as it could have been. The best thing was the Cioppino. Other dishes were bland or fried and just pricey! Plus, the menu on open table is not updated, so prices are actually higher than we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is in carmel and has the most amazing location with ocean views. The only issue was parking and I would suspect that a lot of the people walking around using the restaurant parking were not coming to eat. There was a man on the gate and we had a reservation but he did not ask for names or anything else. Food and service were good and the views spectacular.
Access was good for all but the lower deck area as it has stairs and no ramps. Access was possible to the upper deck area and main restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has a VERY FABULOUS view of the Pacific coast!!!!!
Austin, our waiter was excellent. Friendly and efficient
The meal today was not as good as 2 weeks ago. However the French fries are DELICIOUS 🖒🖒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Rocky Point is worth the drive south from Monterey/Carmel. The views of the Pacific are beautiful and you can enjoy it from inside or outside depending on the weather. Food was good, the price is higher because of the location. Service was friendly and helpful, but seemed a bit disorganized the night we were there.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a cocktail and appetizers overlooking the Pacific Ocean, but service and main courses were barely fare.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have eaten at Rocky Point many times. The food is good, nice wine list and cocktails, and the service is sometimes slow, but good. Our waiters are usually super friendly, just very busy. Food is very pricey, which I hateThe real star of this restaurant, and the reason we bring friends here over and over, is the incredible view! It beats any view of any restaurant along Hwy 1 hands down. Seriously, breathtaking! Do yourself a favor and stop in for lunch. You will not regret it.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Je conseille le mexican mojito. Exceptionnel!
La vue est superbe. Et le service très cordial.
Vivement conseillé à qui se trouve dans le coin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Spectacular view. Absolutely love it. We were traveling west coast and wanted to stop for a dinner after exploring beautiful Carmel and around. I would recommend this place if you would like to have a romantic dinner with the best view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Beautiful view with good food. Did not disappoint!

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Calamari appetizer was amazing. It gets a lot of hype and I can see why. The swordfish was amazing and reasonably priced. You can't beat the view. Well worth the 10 minute drive from Carmel.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 10, 2017

They've greatly improved on their menu. And service. Everything was wonderful. One of the most beautiful places in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Amazing food, wonderful, attentive, personable service , unmatched views. We were there with two small kids, got the nicest service, kids loved it as well! Can't wait to be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I wish I could review the food/atmosphere but sadly I'm unable to because this restaurant was closed. I made a reservation days ahead and they didn't even have the courtesy to email or call to let us know they wouldn't be open. What a great way to do business and treat your patrons...big fail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We got there on time. The restaurant was closed. They had had an incident the day before and had ro close for 24 hours. But...no one called us to tell us that....
not very professionnal...

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Rocky pointe was the biggest disappoint of our week long vacation. I made reservations a week prior to our visit and they were confirmed. After a 3 hour drive we pulled in to Rocky Pointe only to find that it was closed for the day. They never had the common courtesy to let us know and they had my telephone number and email. How unprofessional. I had a party of 5. I also saw 4 more cars pull in for their reservations only to be greeted by a closed gate. So rude. I would not recommend this restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

The menu was not the same as online. They had a lot less in the restaurant. I told my allergy but there still was onion in my food. I asked only salt on fries but first got more spices on it. They did give me after that the right ones. I got sick from the onion allergy :-(. Its a great view but because of less choices on the menu and less on service and food not really great for the price.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Flawless. Our service from Awesome Austin was spot-on. Attentive, good personality, accurate. We love Rocky Point. Our friend drove 2 hours to meet us there for lunch and was not disappointed. The view and location of Big Sur is phenomenal from this restaurant. We will be back again and again. The prices are a bit high, but since the location is remote, it is warranted. Thank you for running a restaurant in that beautiful location so that we can enjoy it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were looking for the best place in the area to have dinner and watch the sunset. This was definitely it. A bit of a drive from Carmel, but a great seat by the window watching the waves while dining and having wine made up for it. Not touristy at all, mix of locals and visitors. Great service, with a smile. Food was very good. Well worth the price. I ate vegan and loved it. My wife had cioppino chocked full of fish. I'd recommend for that nice night out.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Stay in the parking lot. Look out over the beautiful ocean coast. Take a picture. Then leave and go to another restaurant. Service was mediocre. The food was the same. The cost was ridiculous ($8 for side of coleslaw). Unruly kids that seem to own the place. Bathroom was a mess. Just don't...

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Fabulous, casual, relaxing, Delicious!. Home away from home. Ultimate views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The restaurant in located on a cape with great views of Big Sur and one of the iconic Bridges. The hostess greeted us with a smile and helped us with our server choice. The food and the views were great. I really enjoyed the experience... Looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

View, view,view!!!!
Amazing food!
Creme brûlée is the best!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fabulosas vistas y excelente comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a great experience at Rocky Point. The food was excellent , the scenery was amazing, and Austin our waiter was great. I wish all of our waiters were as good as Austin was at providing great service. He was very informative about the menu and area and more than willing to take photos for us including a "drone shot". We tried a few different restaurants while on vacation and found Rocky Point to be the best of all of them. Well done Rocky Point Restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

great view but service was surly and the food was your average overpriced tourist destination food. we requested outside seating near a heater and was taken to a table in the shade. When we asked the server to please put on the heater, he said they don't work. go figure

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

View is beautiful but the food is poor and the service is inconsistent. They recently cut down their menu and left mostly just the boring stuff. You really can't beat the view, but that is about all the good that I can say about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent and quick service. Good, but expensive food. Nice hiking trails all around

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have visited this restaurant on other occasions and found it to be acceptable due to the view, but this time, the view could not overcome the poor, over priced food and wine. Would not recommend accept for a single drink to enjoy the view.
Feels like the restaurant may have changed hands

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful place and good food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have been to Rocky Point several times. The food is usually very good, sometimes great, but this last time was not up to snuff.. We ordered the end cut of prime rib. One makes a knowing sacrifice with the end cut, cooked more thoroughly than you would normally like, but has spices and flavor that make up for it. In this case, it was both dry AND not seasoned well. Others in our group ordered the roast beef sandwich and the seafood salad, both of which were good. The service was also very slow. Our waiter was overworked, and rushed with us. With a view of the ocean so wonderful, you almost don't care about the food. However, the whole experience was a bit of a letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was our second visit - view still spectacular, great, friendly service, delicious food. Came for my birthday last year and again this year- we'll be back next year for my BD🎂

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Incredible view - our second time there & we will go every time we get to the California Coast! Great service, delicious clam chowder, and fabulous prime rib sandwich!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The view can't be beat! Service was good. Food and drinks were very pricey and left a lot to be desired. I would recommend going for lunch and having a burger or sandwich.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was ridiculously expensive, even for Big Sur, but the food was poor to mediocre. The server was not particularly well informed about the menu. The crab sliders were particularly poor. The initial response was"sorry," but, to his credit, the server followed up and arranged to exchange the dish. This mostly redeemed the service, but not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Such a great view and great food and the most amazing wine list.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

There are plenty of better restaurants in the area. Definitely not worth the price. I would recommend taking in the view at one of the many vista points along Route 1, and then head back into Carmel-by-the-Sea for a quality dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The scenery was gorgeous. We were unaware their were some hiking trials that would of been magnificent to travel on. Besides the magnificent ocean view the place was beautifully decorated . The waiter Skip was excellent. The restaurant 's ambience was/is appealing. The displayed photography is great.

We wished the dinner menu was the same that we saw on line and truthfully were disappointed.
The food tasted fine, appealing to the eye, however the price verses taste did not match. We realize we were paying for the view.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The view is spectacular. Service slow. Food very overpriced and mediocre.best to stop only for view and a drink!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.