About Rocky Point Restaurant

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8666817508

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Cozy up by the fire for our seasonal menu.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for Christmas Dinner by the ocean!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate the last day of 2016 by the ocean!

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Scenic View
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Scenic View (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Waterfront (17)
Romantic (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fireplace (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was outstanding and the view breath ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food was outstanding and the view breathe taking. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We visited on the Sunday after Thanksgiv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We visited on the Sunday after Thanksgiving. We sat outside and enjoyed the fried squid and cheese platter for appetizers. The honey on the bread with the cheese board was excellent. We all enjoyed our meals - definitely recommend French dip and fish tacos. Our waiter Austin was attentive and in the holiday spirit. Looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dinner at this reclusi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at this reclusive yet not that far away restaurant which offers a wide variety of dishes. Overlooking the rocky shoreline, the views are tremendous even after sunset. Well worth the drive for a tranquil lunch or dinner with friends.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Open Table only allowed a 5:30 reservati ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Open Table only allowed a 5:30 reservation. Hrre actuslly were plenty of tables open st 6:30 (while we were still here). More importantly, KUDOS to the staff for securing the credit card I left behind. I was able to pick it up the next morning. We had a nice evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

service was excellent -- views amazing f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

service was excellent -- views amazing food good but prices where extremely high and there was a very limited menu.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We picked this location for a sunset din ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We picked this location for a sunset dinner. Unfortunately, it was very foggy. We still went, and were 1 of a few full tables. The food was outstanding and the staff was great. A sunset would have made it even more perfect. A bit overpriced, but compared to the limited options in the area, i dont think it was bad. You pay for what you get. And in this case, like many in Big Sur, you pay for location. I was just happy the food was amazing.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dine here whenever possible and it nev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I dine here whenever possible and it never disappoints! The food was fantastic, our waiter was great, and of course we always enjoy the gorgeous view!!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoy the outdoors with a to die for vie ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Enjoy the outdoors with a to die for view if you are there in the daylight. Friendly service and a cheeseboard that is a meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The view was outstanding and the ideal s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The view was outstanding and the ideal seating would be to sit outside, but the temperature was too cool for our evening. The interior is more than a few years past the need for an update. The food did a great job of making up for the dated interior. Two of us had the prime rib and the other two had the halibut special. All four of us enjoyed our best meal of the week! It is definitely worth the visit. I suggest arriving about an hour before your reservation and taking the path down to the water. Return to the top in time to enjoy a drink while watching the sunset and then have your dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The view south down the coast was except ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The view south down the coast was exceptional. Very good food and service. We definitely recommend Rocky Point Restsurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our first time to make the driv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first time to make the drive to this restaurant for dinner. Wife and I both had the halibut on top of risotto. Lovely presentation and great tasting. The view is spectacular as expected. The fly problem noted by some recently was minimal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was delicious! We loved the amb ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The food was delicious! We loved the ambiance and the decor. Our dining experience fantastic and the view spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view and coastline were breathtaking ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The view and coastline were breathtaking. We Were seated right away, and along the window. Strange people dining there that particular evening. Our waiter Said "Just let

me know if theres anything I can get for you"

BUT was never around when we did need him! Water, butter, another drink...! Salads

were quite boring, and tastless! Shrimp cock-

tail was good but sloppily presented! My cou-

sin ❤️ed her Halibut, but my lobster so so Won't come rushing back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This is a must stop restaurant for lunch ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is a must stop restaurant for lunch or dinner if you are in the Pebble Beach/Carmel area. The views are spectacular. Weather permitting, ask for an outside table. The food was also excellent!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view overlooking the ocean. Howeve ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great view overlooking the ocean. However interior of restaurant in serious need of updating. Food was good, but prices reflect the ocean view.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Breathtaking views! The food, drinks, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Breathtaking views! The food, drinks, and service were good, but the view was spectacular. I would definitely go again, if for nothing other than the beautiful landscaping and views.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Stunning ocean view, South of Carmel. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Stunning ocean view, South of Carmel. The best crab/shrimp louie I have ever had. We sat in the bar area, more casual, and there was a large group in the dining room. Lots of nice tables outside too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

You are paying a big premium for an amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

You are paying a big premium for an amazing view. The service is good but the food is just OK. Portion sizes are very reasonable and the restaurant is quiet and romantic.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I loved the location, and the view of Bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I loved the location, and the view of Bixby Bridge near Big Sur. The server was very friendly, and the view was amazing! The food was nicely presented, but not the forte of my experience there, this time around. Will be back again for certain.

Calamari were some of the best I've had in the area, but at quite a premium. Flat Iron steak great although a bit over cooked, chimichurri was quite authentic. Requested to taste the sauce for one of the desserts prior to ordering it, and was denied flat out, according to the server, by the restaurant chef. Being on a date, did not want to push it, just ordered a different dessert. Creme brulee was great, and quite substantial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Magical views, well prepared entrees, gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Magical views, well prepared entrees, great drinks. Just go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to stop along Hwy 1 a truely ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great place to stop along Hwy 1 a truely " hidden gem" !!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately this restaurant is not wor ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Unfortunately this restaurant is not worth it. You are basically paying for the view which you can get elsewhere and we were fogged in. Food is mediocre and WAY overpriced. We had a glass of wine each and fish tacos costing 100 american. (fish tacos were $28 each!) get your view elsewhere, there is MUCH better restaurants in Carmel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Well, you go there for the view and just ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Well, you go there for the view and just for the view (that's the second point at my overall rating). Definitively you don't go there for the quality of the food or a spectacular dining experience. Service tepid. During the whole time being there, we have not been asked once if the food was o.k. Had a Cesar's Salad for $16 (!), no extras, and they 'forgot' the anchovis. No sorry for that, just got 2 anchovis in a small plastic cup and 'Here are your anchovis!'.... Our main course was accompagnied by a salad with plenty of withered and yellow leaves. Nobody in the kitchen - nor our waiter - seemed to bother about this. Waiter took the plate with all the yellow leaves back without a word. You definitively go there for the views which are spectacular (but you can enjoy the same views in the Nepenthe Restaurant, and there, the waiters care a little bit more about their one-time-customers).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Outstanding experience… We will go again ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Outstanding experience… We will go again for sure! Maybe the best view I've ever seen in a restaurant. The food and service were both outstanding. Well worth your time effort and money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible, million dollar view and wond ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Incredible, million dollar view and wonderful meal!! Don't miss it!! A must stop on the PCH to relax for a bit and soak in the beauty!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant despite the drive. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Very nice restaurant despite the drive. The food was pretty good but expensive. Protions were normal, not large. Nice view.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really fun place! :) Pretty beautiful vi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really fun place! :) Pretty beautiful view. We sat on the bar side it seemed -interesting folks at the bar. Unique experience almost have to go just for the insane view lol!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been going to Rocky point for years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I've been going to Rocky point for years, and that view never ceases to amaze me, it's simply stunning. Food is excellent, the service is top drawer, and they have a dog-friendly patio as well.

The cozy Decore has been updated, and is elegant casual. The patio is beautiful, with lots of seating and beautiful flowers.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worst food ever should of gone to mcdona ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Worst food ever should of gone to mcdonalds. Ihad crab benadiks my wife had the tuna my food was mostly crab shells

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Seated in the smaller outdoor patio with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Seated in the smaller outdoor patio with spectacular views of the ocean. Fresh crab eggs Benedict was delicious and the paella was good although a bit on the spicy side. Service was attentive. Prices higher but worth the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Rocky Point several times, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I've been to Rocky Point several times, the food is fantastic, the service is excellent, and the view cannot be beat! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Rocky Point. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our third visit to Rocky Point. This restaurant continues to please in so many ways. Excellent food, nice ambience, and a fabulous view. Our waiter, Justin, who we have had twice now, is exceptional and helped to make our evening very enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We called for reservations and notified ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We called for reservations and notified the person answering the phone it was a special occasion and we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We also told our server and she wished us a Happy Anniversary but we were disappointed that a small dessert was not provided in honor of our special celebration (like most nicer restaurants do). We also couldn't remember if the restaurant had told us prior to getting there if they provided a little something to celebrate.

The restaurant was a bit disappointing in this regard.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We enjoyed our dinners at Rocky Point re ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinners at Rocky Point recently where three of us ordered your cioppinos and one ordered the salmon on linguini. Everyone enjoyed the food and the drinks of lemon drops, whiskey sour and crown royale with ginger. The only reason I dropped a star for service is because we had to ask for bread after our entrées had already arrived.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food and service. The sea bass ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. The sea bass was very fresh and delicious, and the Aioli pasta dish was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good varied menu. Fantastic location wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Good varied menu. Fantastic location with breathtaking views so daytime recommended. The drive was pretty hairy so would definitely not be going at night. Service was friendly but a little too relaxed ! Would go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Entire experience was superlative. Views ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Entire experience was superlative. Views of California pacific coast like you read about and unlike other restaurants where the view is excellent and the food average, the food was great as well. Really enjoyed the meal and the walk to the rocks afterwards. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall, we enjoyed our experience. My ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed our experience. My husband's Rib Eye steak was not very tasty, but the ribs I ordered were good and plenty for us both to enjoy. Loved the beautiful view and had fun walking around the property after dinner. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The view doesn't get any better of the g ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The view doesn't get any better of the gorgeous California coastline than from Rocky Point. That alone would be worth the visit here. However, the food quality and service live up to this breath taking location also. Every portion of the meal was perfect and our waiter couldn't have been nicer or more knowledgeable. If you want a night to remember, this is your place. If someone were to ask me what my favorite place to dine is, I would have to say, Rocky Point.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried to cancel this reservation but ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We tried to cancel this reservation but couldn't get make a connection either through Open Table or by calling directly. There was a wildfire burning nearby somwe thought they might be closed. Sorry we didn't get to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.