Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

About Rocky Point Restaurant

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (866) 681-7508

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (45)
Waterfront (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Romantic (20)
Casual (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall it is a good place to take a break after exploring west coast along the Highway 1 and being a bit tired. Food quality and price are okay ($90 for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids). Crab sliders may be the best value, but the prime rib sandwich is not bad. One concern is that many flies were seen near the tables inside the restaurant. Not sure it is unavoidable, but clearly it is not a favorable scene. Coast view outside the restaurant is good but not very different from other view points nearby.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Great to visit if you want an amazing view. My Rocky burger was delicious but my husband said his crab sliders were average. My daughter had fun playing outdoors on the grass. The inside of the restaurant is pretty tight. Very busy place so make sure to book a reservation!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful views of Big Sur coastline, great food as well as service. Super location for watching whales.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The only thing missed was that I noted that it was my daughter's birthday, and they failed to make note or acknowledge it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Can't say enough about Rocky Point!! Wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Best view in Big Sur. Open early for lunch or brunch. Plenty of parking off highway 1.
Good for indoor or outdoor dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Of all the times we visited Rocky Point and had an excellent experience, this was horrible , worse because we brought out of town guests! We were seated at the only outdoor table without a view for all to enjoy - even with requesting outdoor on our reservation. Our server was the slowest and very forgetful. Took several attempts to get everyone in our party of 7 a drink. Later, our silverware was removed after appetizers and then we waited a very long time with our entres sitting in front of us to get new silverware. Our server attempted apologizes claiming short staff, if that is the case shame on management ! PS even the quality of the food was not up to par from our past experiences. It could be the case that the closure of Route 1 is impacting even those establishments which are able to remain open to do business... Perhaps there should be a warning provided so we all have expectations in ck.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

You're paying for a view not service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Waitstaff was the best yet. Food is very good, but a touch pricey. But the view is amazing so it all evens out!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My wife and I discovered this restaurant about three years ago but did not have dinner. Since we were in Carmel for a few days, we decided to return for dinner and we were not disappointed. The view is nothing short of spectacular and even though there was an outdoor wedding, the service was still very good. I had the salmon and it was very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My mother and I went to your beautiful restaurant for my birthday.What a treat. Everyone who has seen the photos I took of your restaurant all want to know where I went. It was a wonderful birthday. Thank you again for everything. I'll be back.

Natalie Mavromatis :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 5, 2017

What an adventure in dining! While the view is unbeatable the food equals it easily. My vegetarian daughter declared this her new favorite. Our fish dishes were expertly prepared and delicious but her vegetarian dish was the highlight. It was creative, well thought out and delicious.
We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My daughter and I celebrated our birthday's (6/1 and 6/2) with a Delightful lunch and a Fantastic view. Our server was professional and there at all the right moments. My daughter is Vegan and she was delighted with the menu choices. She will be bringing her husband back for his upcoming birthday.
Thank you again for a great start for our weekend birthday celebration. Rocky Point understands how to hit all the right notes.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Amazing, amazing views. No cell service at restaurant so gives a great opportunity to disconnect and enjoy the scenery. Loved the experience we had here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food not worth the price. You are paying for the view, which is actually Spectacular. But the food not so much. Probably would not return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Go for the view. It's spectacular!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The view is the reason to go to Rocky Point, its perfect. The food is good basic food nothing special. Stick with the burgers. Go and enjoy the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always a beautiful drive to scenic Rocky Point and never disappointed by the food or service. This trip served up the Baratta Salad and The French Dip style steak sandwich both extraordinary as was our waiter Steve! Who also recommended we see the 1965 film, The Sandpiper which was also delightful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch at Rocky Point. It's a beautiful setting and the food was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was tasteless and bland and VERY expensive i.e. $65 for lunch for two. $26 for Fish and Chips is excessive. I will not recommend or return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing location and view. Worn reception from staff, very popular and busy spot so they just run you through. Location, however, is worth it and the food is passing fair.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was great. The view of Monterey Bay fantastic. The service was friendly and professional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Beautiful view. Good food. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went here for lunch after spending the morning at Point Lobos. The food is average, but come for the view! The service was fantastic too!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Family Style, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and outstanding view of rocky coast just north of Big Sur.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server was so accommodating...my chicken was bland so they brought me the salmon kale salad instead.

spectacular view and delicious prawn cocktail

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fireplace, Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food and view of the Pacific (especially the sunset) was great. Service by our server was terrible. I did let the manager know that but think it should be watched a bit closer by management during the meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our 40th wedding anniversary!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

View was spectacular, service was fantastic. I enjoyed the food, but the real draw is the scenery

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great place. We make the effort every time we r in or around Carmel. Highly recommend!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our wonderful waiter, Robert (?) helped us choose food! All staff were very attentive.
My burger was a bit bland and boring but the fries were to die for... crispy/crunchy with flavor. Mom had the crab cake sliders and could only eat one. Brother had chicken "burger" and loved it.
The day could not have been more beautiful--- sun, sun, sun- large ocean view...awesome! (Wait! Of course the restaurant couldn't control the weather and views--- but what a great place.
I was with family but live / romance could have happened that day!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to lunch on a beautiful, sunny day. The view was spectacular but the food was not. The portions were small, priced higher than most other restaurants of the same caliber. We would recommend going here for drinks and the view.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was beautiful. Views of ocean spectacular

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Casual, Waterfront, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server, Austin, was outstanding! Very friendly and funny, gave great recommendations, and very timely service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic view, friendly staff. Bad sewer smell unfortunately but you can move away. A must see when heading down the coast.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We loved our dinner and the service was amazing ! We will definitely come back again next time we are in California

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Anniversary lunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, neglectful service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellence food and service in a beautiful setting!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very disappointed in the quality of the food. However, the view may be worth the trip.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.