Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi
  1. Distance: 3.04mi
  2. Distance: 3.59mi
  3. Distance: 8.00mi
  4. Distance: 8.07mi

About Rocky Point Restaurant

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (866) 681-7508

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (35)
Waterfront (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
See All
Romantic (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fireplace (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing location and view. Worn reception from staff, very popular and busy spot so they just run you through. Location, however, is worth it and the food is passing fair.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great. The view of Monterey Bay fantastic. The service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Beautiful view. Good food. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went here for lunch after spending the morning at Point Lobos. The food is average, but come for the view! The service was fantastic too!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and outstanding view of rocky coast just north of Big Sur.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our server was so accommodating...my chicken was bland so they brought me the salmon kale salad instead.

spectacular view and delicious prawn cocktail

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fireplace, Authentic, Seasonal, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food and view of the Pacific (especially the sunset) was great. Service by our server was terrible. I did let the manager know that but think it should be watched a bit closer by management during the meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our 40th wedding anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

View was spectacular, service was fantastic. I enjoyed the food, but the real draw is the scenery

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great place. We make the effort every time we r in or around Carmel. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our wonderful waiter, Robert (?) helped us choose food! All staff were very attentive.
My burger was a bit bland and boring but the fries were to die for... crispy/crunchy with flavor. Mom had the crab cake sliders and could only eat one. Brother had chicken "burger" and loved it.
The day could not have been more beautiful--- sun, sun, sun- large ocean view...awesome! (Wait! Of course the restaurant couldn't control the weather and views--- but what a great place.
I was with family but live / romance could have happened that day!!!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went to lunch on a beautiful, sunny day. The view was spectacular but the food was not. The portions were small, priced higher than most other restaurants of the same caliber. We would recommend going here for drinks and the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was beautiful. Views of ocean spectacular

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Casual, Waterfront, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our server, Austin, was outstanding! Very friendly and funny, gave great recommendations, and very timely service.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic view, friendly staff. Bad sewer smell unfortunately but you can move away. A must see when heading down the coast.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We loved our dinner and the service was amazing ! We will definitely come back again next time we are in California

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Anniversary lunch

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, neglectful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellence food and service in a beautiful setting!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very disappointed in the quality of the food. However, the view may be worth the trip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic view and friendly staff. This place is a must for dinner and drinks at sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Outstanding view and food is as good! It was windy outside so we sat at window and view was still wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It is all about the view, spectacular coastline rocky view and the food was good. Ciopino was very good as was the halibut sandwich and seafood salad. Go in the daytime or early evening for those views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely incredible in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Views are fantastic, food abd service were very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

If you want a fabulous view on one of the most scenic coasts in the world, then this is the spot to stop in for a drink or a meal. However, the food is not good and has gone down hill over the years. The last two dinners we have had have actually been bad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had a fabulous lunch with a stunning ocean view. Definitely worth the drive!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I haven't been to Rocky Point in many years. I have to say I was not disappointed when I suggested to my husband that we celebrate our Anniversary a week early here. We made a last minute reservation and enjoyed a very leisurely wonderful dinner. We start out with the calamari which was fried but not greasy and very flavorful. We also had the local cheese and fruit platter and the Justin Cabernet Sauvignon. For dinner I had the Nantucket Sea Scallops. They were pan seared perfectly! They were served with crispy polenta and sautéed mushrooms & spinach. My husband had the Lamb Loin cooked to a medium rare with roasted vegetables. He was more than pleased with his choice. Our waiter, Marco was very friendly and very capable and made our visit that much nicer. We sat out outside and we're treated to whales spouting and breaching. We could not have asked for a more wonderful dinner!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our server was new and shadowed by a waiter, but he did a great job! The food was average, the view outstanding, but the restaurant needs a serious renovation. For the money we paid it was expected to see updated decor and nice dining tables/chairs. Kind of disappointed

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This place was wonderful. Really great food & service, but even if the food was terrible it would be worth it for the view. Prettiest spot ever!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Well worth the drive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

View is one of the best in the United States! Service was excellent. Seafood was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fireplace, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Superb views from our table of Big Sur
Food was superb.
OK to come casual. There is both inside and patio seating.
Fire place was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Do not go to this restaurant! It's a long way to drive only to find the restaurant is not open. The entrance gate was locked when we arrived for our reservation! Calls to the restaurant only reached a fast busy tone. And since we were supposed to already be dining we could not change our reservation in OpenTable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Austin, our server, was awesome! Very informative & had a great Valentine's date with great food & dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been to Rocky Point about half a dozen times now and were generally quite pleased with the food, service, and very pleased with the scenic view. This time, we found that the menu had changed eliminating two of our favorites (szechuan beans and cheesy bread). Our waiter indicated those had been dropped in December 2016 and that many customers requested them but the new cook did not want to continue offering them. I guess it is the cook's preference that wins over the customer's! When we arrived ahead of our reserved time, they indicated no problem, that they assumed everything before the sunset to be the first rotation so our 5:45 pm reservation was in the first seating group. They then proceeded to take us to the room with the bar in it which is very noisy and cold due to the open door for serving those patrons dining outside on the deck. We requested something in the middle two rooms. They then tried to seat us directly across from the waiter station! We finally got a table in the center room but also got a lot of attitude from the hostess. Great scenery as usual but next time, we will go about 5 miles further south and try out some of the dining options there, all with the same great views but reported to have better food and service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food is a bit pricey, but it is good and servings are generous. The view is fabulous. Well worth the time to come here. Can be noisy inside, but outside that is not a concern. Service is usually very good, but some times it gets a bit sketchy. The last few times it has been excellent. Come here every few months as the view is one of the best along the California Coast.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It is a nice restaurant, just the fact that they added $10.- to my bill to increase the tip without my knowledge is unacceptable to me and is like stealing.
After calling them they said they thought that the tip amount is not enough so they increased it to 22%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Sunset dining at Rocky Point was breathtaking!

I usually cannot get past the crab and shrimp Louie; but wasn't in the mood for a salad. I ordered the Lamb Tenderloin garnished with baby red potatoes, corn and sautéed greens in a Cabernet wine sauce with a glass of Justin Cabernet Sauvignon. It was amazing.

My husband orders braised Short Ribs with Butternut Risotto, very tender and delicious.

Generous proportions.

House made bread pudding with vanilla ice cream completed our experience.

Definitely need reserves on the weekends and during the day.

The views of the ocean, central coast and PCH 1 are not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant, what a great treat. Food was very good, service excellent, waiters recommendations were spot on. The view was magnificent. A very enjoyable experience. Wine selection was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.