About Rocky Point Restaurant

36700 Highway 1
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

This Big Sur icon has been a dining and drinks tradition for over 60-years (est. 1947) Located just off the famous “Scenic California Highway-1" (12 minutes drive from Carmel-by-the-Sea) Rocky Point Restaurant is located a short 2 hrs. South of San Francisco. It is the ideal stop for tours originating from Los Angeles or San Francisco heading up or down the Coast. A Feast for All The Senses -Great food and Spectacular Views- Spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean as you sit perched cliff-side; either inside through panoramic windows next to a cozy fireplace or outside on our open-air deck. Catch a glimpse of playful sea-otters, dolphins, seals, and even whales. Some have even spotted large fins cutting the waves, as great-white sharks cruise the kelp beds. We invite you to pay us a visit and enjoy Californian hospitality! The freshest seafood (right out of Monterey Bay), Steaks, Salads & Fresh Vegetables (grown locally), Full Bar and Award Winning Monterey County wines.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Hours of Operation: Daily 11:00am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rocky Point Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 624-2933

Website:
http://www.rockypointrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional Acoustic Sets

Catering:
Please contact the restaurant

Parking Details:
Rocky Point has its own parking lot supporting our patrons. Free Parking

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or making an impression for a corporate event, Rocky Point Restaurant can accommodate your private dining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8666817508

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Rocky Point Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
Monterey / Carmel
2 More
Great for Lunch
Monterey / Carmel
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

scenic view (41)
great for outdoor dining (36)
special occasion (28)
See All
romantic (25)
great for lunch (22)
great for brunch (11)
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (8)
kid-friendly (6)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

It was overcast but still a gorgeous vie ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was overcast but still a gorgeous view and excellent food!

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Go for the view

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Skip the food. Have a nice drink and drink in the view.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spectacular views, excellent food and if ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Spectacular views, excellent food and if you dine outdoors they are dog friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best view ever, to includ ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Absolutely the best view ever, to include travels to the Caribbean and beyond.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Sunday Brunch on our Big Sur coastline drive....

Dined on May 15, 2016

Go to Rocky Point Restaurant for the view! It is spectacular! The restaurant sits high up on a hill and overlooks the water and the cliffs. The view is absolutely breathtaking! The service is very good... and the food is good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Stunning views & great food!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Stunning views & great food!

food4
ambience5
service5

The view is exceptional. Service was pro ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The view is exceptional. Service was prompt and curteous. Food is very good and reasonably priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dine overlooking the waves of the Pacific Ocean

Dined on May 6, 2016

The drive to Rocky Point is spectacular. The remodeled restaurant has taken full advantage of its unique and rare location. The views are simply breathtaking. Dine inside watching the waves, marine life and landscaped setting through walls of glass or sit outside close to the sites and sounds. Service was attentive and friendly. Food was excellent and beautifully presented.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Stunning View

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived and they honored my request for a window view. Spectacular vista and sunset. Food, eh! Not one at our table of four were thrilled with dinner. I'd probably have the hamburger if I returned. That seems to be the best value. (Had that for lunch the first time I came. )

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was out of this world! The view ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was out of this world! The views of Big Sur were just spectacular. The wait staff could not have been better. So sorry we live on the East Coast and Rocky Point is on the West Coast. Everyone in the Monterey/Carmel/Big Sur area Must go to Rocky Point.

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service, View, and Food

Dined on April 3, 2016

Love everything about this place. Service was spectacular. The minute you walk in, everyone takes care of you at this restaurant. There was nothing that was missed. The view was breathtaking. Drinks were great and food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Austin was incredible! We had such a nic ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Austin was incredible! We had such a nice birthday dinner, and will definitely be back. Wow!!!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Changed

Dined on March 30, 2016

Having been to Rocky Point many times I as dissapointed in the feelingg of the restaurant. The views are great but the staff seem to not pay attention to details or to the customers. I realie the restaurant as sold a shoert hile ago but I miss the old feel and the classiness that used to be part of the eperience. The uality of the food was good but not as great as it used to be.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique setting and much improved food

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

We were very impressed with the new menu and quality of the food and of course the setting is spectacular. The service was super friendly rounding up a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on March 19, 2016

This place had phenomenal service and superb food. Nothing but scenic beauty a definite bucket list must do.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Not only is the view spectacular, but th ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Not only is the view spectacular, but the food is terrific. Our server, Austin was very knowledgeable about the wine selection and had some right on recommendations for our meal. He was very attentive but gave us all the time we wanted to relax and enjoy the view with our meal. Every single worker there was fantastic. If you're not ready for a full meal, head out to one of the two decks for drinks and some appetizers! Love this place, and will be back soon!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Such a beautiful setting with great service

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Am so glad this restaurant is open again. It truly is lovely. Food was very good with a great staff. We had seafood salads, house wine, local beer. The new owners deserve to have a full house as often as possible. We went there on the last day of a Carmel trip. Had we known earlier would have gone several times.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 21, 2016

Beautiful setting, scenic views, good food, friendly service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Waves Aren't Enough

Dined on February 21, 2016

This restaurant has a stunning view, but the service and food are lacking. Waiter didn't get our order right and didn't seem to care. Fish and chips had poor quality fish. I understand the new owner is investing in the restaurant and intends to improve it. I hope he does because the setting is spectacular.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 16, 2016

The setting on this rocky point of the coast is unique. The weather was perfect for outdoor seating at a table out of the direct sun. We are a senior couple and the prices were somewhat higher than we would normally try to find, but worth it for the unique experience. This was our first visit since the restaurant changed ownership some time ago and we noticed a distinct improvement in the quality of the cuisine. Very enjoyable overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No Better View on the Coast!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We've been to Rocky Point many times, mostly because of the spectacular location & view. We were pleased this time to see that the food & service have greatly improved.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday Lunch at Rocky Point

Dined on February 7, 2016

Loved the crab sliders. Took our grandson (18) who enjoyed the club sandwich and then climbing on the rocks below. Awesome views and friendly service

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved our visit!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We hiked at Pt. Lobos and then drove the 8 miles down to Rocky Point for a late lunch (3:00) It was a gorgeous day, even in February! - so we chose to be outside on the patio- good choice! Beautiful view, warm breeze, sun-- very relaxing and lovely. Our server was Austin- what a terrific server! He was so good we had to find the manager on our way out to compliment him for being so good. Fun, lively and did a great job. Food was excellent- burgers and sandwiches all were great. Perfect location to relax after a hike, on your way South on Highway 1 or for a special treat. We've been before, and we will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Ambiance. Great food. Awesome views.

Dined on February 1, 2016

Ambiance. Great food. Awesome views.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Richviews

vip
Dined on January 25, 2016

Price wines, with great views. Good food..large quantities.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Solid place for lunch

Dined on January 21, 2016

The views from this good restaurant are beautiful. The rocks below catch waves and do wonderful things with them. The food is getting better. The lunch menu is interesting and diverse. The quality was mixed but still quite acceptable. From the food perspective, it is a little expensive, but the setting makes it worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

Incredible cliffside views

Dined on November 8, 2015

Food is good, not great. The views are amazing overlooking the Pacific. There is a cattle ranch next door, with cattle grazing. We pulled up before 5pm along Highway 1 above the ranch and watched the sunset with some wine and then went into the restaurant for a 5:30pm reservation. Worked out really well. There is a "rocky point" outside the restaurant along with a green area to walk and enjoy the views from outside. Worth the price of admission!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

. Would definitely return and recommend to others

Dined on November 6, 2015

One of the best views worldwide. Really enjoyed the patio dining. Highlights of our trip to CA. We arrived over an hour prior to our reservation and they were able to seat us. Food was good with nice presentation. Prime rib and fish and chip entrees tastes delicious! Really enjoyed visit and conversation with head chef at our table. Server was on point and very professional . Would definite return again and recommend to others.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3

Oceanfront Dining

Dined on November 3, 2015

Unsurpassed 180 degree ocean views. It was a sunny day and looking at the ocean was like looking at a vibrant water color painting; bright layers of blue, green and grey!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Great View

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

This restaurant has a great view and sitting out on the patio on a sunny day can't be beat. The food is good, not great. It's worth a visit, just understand it's not gourmet food. It's decent food with a million dollar view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing

Dined on October 30, 2015

Chef was so personable. Milkshakes just put on the menu were unreal. This place makes you feel like you are in a magazine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3

I had the lobster bisque and steamed mus ...

Dined on October 28, 2015

I had the lobster bisque and steamed mussels. Bisque was decent. In other places there are a few lobster morsels in the velvety bisque. Not here. Flavor was good. Mussels: excellent ! Bread could have been better.

food3
ambience4
service4

Come for the view

Dined on October 25, 2015

The view is what you come for. A bit pricey and the food decent. Make reservations (but not too crowded so might not need them) for 30mins before sunset. Come early and grab a drink on the expansive patio or take a walk on the rocks/cliffs. Or eat a little early and watch the sunset with dessert or a nightcap.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Great view and food.

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Great view and food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience

Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was amazing. Fairly priced, especially when you consider the high quality and generous portions. You cannot find a more romantic setting, the views are stunning. Service was terrific as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant for ANY occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on October 19, 2015

Lucky us. My husband and I live only twenty minutes away from Rocky Point. With all the restaurants in Carmel by the Sea, you would think we would find a favorite closer to our home. None can compare to Rocky Point. The food is great, but it is the ambiance created by "Mother Nature" herself that keeps us coming back. Whether a stormy day, watching the waves crashing on the steep cliffs or a sunny day, watching whales as they pass by, Rocky Point never disappoints.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Outstanding from the service ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

Absolutely Outstanding from the service by Austin to Chef Herman coming out to not only welcome us to Rocky Point but to describe his masterful food selections. We had the calamari and snow crab appetizers which were excellent follows by the roasted chicken and seared ahi entrees, also excellent and so tasty! Desert was a slice of pecan pie with a most delectable topping - scrumptious! The chef also provided my sister and beautiful hand decorated pen made by a family member. I have patronized Rocky Point for at least 15 years and this was by far the best dining and service experience EVER!

food4
ambience5
service5

We love coming to your restaurant. We w ...

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

We love coming to your restaurant. We were even able to see whales. Next time we r in the area we will be stopping by. Keep up the great service and most awesome food!!!!

food5
ambience5
service4

grest food and a great location .

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

Doesn't get any better on a sunny day. We had house guests from New York and they were impressed with the ocean, food and ambiance .

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3

Breathtaking views. Food is what you ex ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

Breathtaking views. Food is what you expect from a restaurant with these views, basic food but edible.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.