About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: 757-422-5654x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters Rockafeller
Bacon Wrapped Bbq Shrimp
fish tacos
Hushpu
rum cake
Smoked Tuna with vegetables
Tidewater Steamer
Steamed Shrimp
Great Dismal Black Ipa
Crab & Shrimp Hushpuppies
Crabcakes
Salmon
Martini
Ceasar Salad

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Scenic View (105)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Groups (47)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Kid-friendly (40)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Waterfront (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Casual (17)
Romantic (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Fun (9)
Family Style (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Cozy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We booked the reservation for 8 PM. When ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

We booked the reservation for 8 PM. When we arrived at the restaurant at 7:50 , the greeter checked the computer, read our name off and then entered it on the wait list at the bottom along with everyone else was already there. I assumed that my reservation would've been put on the list as soon as I received confirmation of it, not when I showed up. If that is the policy, then why would anyone use this service?

I was also told we wouldn't be seated at eight because the kitchen was backed up. Which begs the question, if the kitchen was backed up, why was the restaurant still taking reservations?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great local restaurant. Food is excelle ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great local restaurant. Food is excellent and service once seated is good. HOWEVER......reservations do not seem to take precedence over walk-ins.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you can get past the incredibly grump ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

If you can get past the incredibly grumpy old guy at the door without turning around and leaving then the server was great and the food good. Seriously, we had a reservation and when we arrived on time I gave our name and said so to the hostess. This man descends and says it will be ten minutes and we can wait at the bar. When I mentioned we had a reservation he still very abruptly said it would be ten minutes and how did he know we had a reservation. Friendly greeting would not be in his vocabulary. When we opted to wait on the bench outside our table only took a couple of minutes. Won't be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really enjoyed Rockafellers for date nig ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really enjoyed Rockafellers for date night with my wife. Food was amazing! Ambiance lacks a little something... mostly music. Great views of Rudee's inlet and fun to watch boats moving in and out of the harbor. Would recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

fun place to go wish you still had the l ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

fun place to go wish you still had the lobster omletd

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really pleasant first time experience. W ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really pleasant first time experience. Went for Sunday Brunch. Good value. Good quality. Nice drink specials. Pleasant staff. Would definitely go back and recommend to others. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Good atmosphere. Loved the v ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Good atmosphere. Loved the valet parking.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I were on vacation and this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation and this was the best seafood dinner we have ever had. We travel to Va. every year and We would definitely go back the Rocketfellers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good. However, the broi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was good. However, the broiled shrimp were over cooked and the noise level was very load. I couldn't hear the person across the table from me. Everything else on the plate was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent as well as the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was excellent as well as the menu choices and the food. Although we were freezing and it was very noisy and that was probably because there were too many people in such a small space.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rockafeller's Restaurant was perfect for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rockafeller's Restaurant was perfect for accommodating a large "fussy"group of kids

& adults. The menu had a variety of great food! We were there celebrating our daughters engagement, September 17, 2016.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rockafellers never disappoints and they ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rockafellers never disappoints and they have some really good early bird specials.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed the crab cake and bacon wrapped ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed the crab cake and bacon wrapped barbecue shrimp and it was delicious. Husband ordered the seafood trio, the scallops and shrimp were very small although everything tasted delicious.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went with a group of 8 and had an outsta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went with a group of 8 and had an outstanding meal. All food was great, especially the fresh catch seafood. Good selection of seafood options, fresh oysters and beer. Wait service was very good. Easy parking. Great view of the waterfront.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Average food

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We went for the Lobster Special. Might ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went for the Lobster Special. Might have been the best lobsters we've ever eaten. Done to perfection! Would go back next Thursday if we were still in Virginia Beach.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Look forward ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Look forward to dining here whenever we vacation in VA Beach

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great ! They handled ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant was great ! They handled the special order of flowers very professionally.

The food and drinks were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here with friends because it was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We ate here with friends because it was only steps away from a pirate cruise we were taking. Good food, nice outdoor seating and decent service. It's a little pricey.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family looks forward every year to e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our family looks forward every year to eat at Rockafellers Restaurant. Good food , reasonalble prices and good view of the bay. The management is very friendly.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner there on our last nig ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great dinner there on our last night of vacation. Seafood was cooked just right and my wife loves the Oysters Rockefeller. Little noisy because still a lot of vacationers but lots of locals as well. Usually eat there when we visit Va. Beach and Sandbridge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went on a Friday evening and the place w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Went on a Friday evening and the place was very overcrowded and noisy. We had requested a table by the window. When the guy showed us to our booth he just dropped the menus without a word or a glance over his shoulder. I went back to the desk to ask about the window table and was told it would be awhile if we wanted to wait. We sat in the booth. The service was good considering the crowd in there. We waited quite some time for our appetizer and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Sitting outside on the deck is a must. O ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sitting outside on the deck is a must. Overlook the marina and enjoy the nice breeze. Mojito's and Waterman's Trio was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on a Thursday for the Lobster sp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We went on a Thursday for the Lobster special and weren't told they were out of lobsters until after we were seated. I think we should have been told before waiting that that was the case. We wound up having the drink we ordered and then left. Normally it's a very good/fun place to eat. Maybe next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was fantastic. Little on the pricey ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was fantastic. Little on the pricey side, but it was worth it. Great choice of fresh seafood. The restaurant itself was chaotic with large parties and we had to speak loudly across the table. I must say the management and staff worked very hard to control the chaos. We will definitely go back and hope it's not as crazy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food and views. Service was good, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and views. Service was good, they were extremely busy this night because of something that was in town.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The food was disappointing, especially t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was disappointing, especially the She-Crab soup, which was not especially flavourful, and was way too thick and made with too much roux, and tased floury. The seafood itself, for example the steamed shrimp, was over-seasoned.

Too bad, because the location and ambience are nice, and the service was friendly.

Pro Tip: waiters, please clear plates when EVERYONE at the table has finished.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Good local seafood and some limited chic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Good local seafood and some limited chicken and steak options. The ribs were good, but if you have a large appetite, the full rack will be necessary to satisfy you. The deck seating overlooks the harbor and inlet which is quite scenic and great for watching the boats and sea life. The staff was friendly and very attentive. Our only complain was the typical hazard of dining out...who gets seated next to you. We had a couple with two small children on one side of us and the woman was wearing an excessive amount of perfume which we do not find pleasing...but the children were well behaved. On our opposite side we have a table full of drunk adult and unruly kids; the collective effect was a distraction to our meal, but we managed to enjoy ourselves nonetheless. Enjoy the fare and views from the deck. Also be aware the only way to park is valet; not a big issue, but the valets work for tips only, so you pay them however much you desire and be sure to bring adequate cash.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service! Kids love ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and great service! Kids loved watching the boats!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lobster dinner was excellent and it ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The lobster dinner was excellent and it paired nicely with the seafood medley we ordered and split! Great food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was on vacation and this restaurant was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Was on vacation and this restaurant was recommended by a local individual.

My family enjoyed the food and atmosphere

Waitress was friendly and efficient

Food was very good.

Would go back if ever in Virginia Beach again

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in the size of t ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I was very disappointed in the size of the Oysters on the half shell After bringing us to the owners attention he offered me 2 oysters and i felt that was unacceptable.

Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was nothing spectacular - I alw ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was nothing spectacular - I always base my favorable reviews on the side dishes. If your food is good at only the entree level then your meal is only average. The sides for the BBQ shrimp and crab crab cake was steamed broccoli, green beans and carrots - very bland and boring. How about making an effort to improve the sides? Great view of the marina, but I can get better food closer to home and have almost as good view

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We had a pleasant time the server was ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a pleasant time the server was excellent..

My Lobster pasta was ok, for the 40.oo dollars I paid it was so bland.

the plates are pricie and very little food.

Other than those small issues everything was good.

I would go back anytime and recommend it to family and friends.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

the happy hour specials are great, food ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

the happy hour specials are great, food was very good, fast seating, service was quick and informative

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very very slow service. Got seated right ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very very slow service. Got seated right away but we placed a reservation early in the day. Small portions, some entrees claim crab cakes but the crab was in a small casserole dish. Itty bitty shrimp. Small scallops. The fried fish was large and plentiful. Side dish is not optional unless u want to pay more. Loud, noisy, could not talk to each other. Will not come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My initial thought were that this place ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My initial thought were that this place was a great local restaurant. However upon arrival it was apparent there were either staffing issues or that you needed to be a local to receive good service. Our server (who wasn't awful) was slow bringing drinks and getting orders. My wife's food was not brought out with everyone else's and it's to be assumed that it just wasn't rung in. We watched as the manager table touched everyone around us but did not once check on us. Not a bad place to eat but definitely not worth the money, and not somewhere my family and I will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Place was very busy, table for two was n ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Place was very busy, table for two was not good. Two close! I will come again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

The Mahi Mahi Fish meals were exceptiona ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Mahi Mahi Fish meals were exceptional (nice and thick and perfectly cooked). So was the Crab Norfolk

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was poorly cooked and very bland. O ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was poorly cooked and very bland. Overpriced for what it is

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.