About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: (757) 422-5654

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Oysters Rockafeller - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Bacon Wrapped Bbq Shrimp - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
fish tacos - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Hushpu - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
rum cake - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Smoked Tuna with vegetables - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Tidewater Steamer - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Steamed Shrimp - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Great Dismal Black Ipa - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Crab & Shrimp Hushpuppies - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Crabcakes - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Salmon - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Martini - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Ceasar Salad - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (37)
Casual (23)
Scenic View (23)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service. We want to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service. We want to go back during daylight hours to get a better view of the surroundings.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Rockafellers many times ov ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been to Rockafellers many times over the years. This is the first time the service was not great. Even though it was New Years, I saw waiters standing around.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service and food was very good, much mor ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and food was very good, much more food than expected. She crab soup was excellent and also had the shrimp and crab pasta and was surprised by how much there was, a little peppery but as expected with a classic Alfredo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant, food and service! Tha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great restaurant, food and service! Thanks again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were outstanding. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. The view at Rudee Inlet is beautiful. It is off the beaten path some it has that local charm

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family dinner on Christmas Eve. Service ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Family dinner on Christmas Eve. Service and food was fantastic!

A beautiful view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed good food and polite service in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed good food and polite service in the company of close family members.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal at Rockefellers. The S ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a great meal at Rockefellers. The She Crab soup is a must and is absolutely delicious. The staff is friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience at this restau ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always a great experience at this restaurant. The food is amazing and the service is great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch and service!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great lunch and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well, we were seated immediately which w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Well, we were seated immediately which was a plus. Our waiter was great, also a plus. But there's where the plusses end. The Seafood sampler appetizer was just ok, not worth $24.99. The dinners were flavorless and overcooked. I got the Tuna special with carrot ginger puree and quinoa. The tuna was "char crusted" and had zero flavor. My husband had the Waterman's trio. The crab cake was mashed to the bottom of the dish and so overcooked it stuck to the dish and had to scrap it off with a knife. The rest of the "trio" was a couple of dried out shrimp and scallops on top of the crab cake. It was awful. The appetizer was served in a timely manner but then we waited for at least 30 minutes to get our yuck dinner. We eat out twice a week every week at restaurants all over the tidewater area. This was by far our worst meal yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food and service were great, love the oy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food and service were great, love the oyster Rockefeller

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent early bird specials. Nice at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent early bird specials.

Nice atmosphere.

Good food.

Good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat. Went for the Prime R ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great place to eat. Went for the Prime Rib mondays. Excellent food, awesome service. Will be going back. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were visiting from out of town and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and three of us had dinner on a busy Friday evening. We each ordered something different and we all liked our selection. We sat at a window with a view of the fishing boats right outside. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday here. We had a group of 12 and the restaurant accommodated us easily. Our server was great and the all the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Rockafeller's for years an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Been going to Rockafeller's for years and they are still serving the best seafood in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a delightful lunch with polite a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Enjoyed a delightful lunch with polite and prompt service while engaging in casual conversation with luncheon guest and watching activity in the marina on a sunny and crisp winter afternoon. I plan on returning to this location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant could use a make over the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The restaurant could use a make over the seating is relatively uncomfortable. The clams casino appy did not live up to standards (with a piece of bacon on top of each clam) was pre-prepared and nearly burnt (cooked too long in the oven?) The she crab soup had plenty of crab meat in it but had a spice I did not recognize which made the taste off for me at least. Kudos for the crab cake which lived up to the advertisement that it had no fillers, which it did not, so all crab meat but rather on the small side, though the waitress said it was 8ozm seemed more like 6oz or less.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Rockafeller's has been one of the many V ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Rockafeller's has been one of the many Virginia Beach gems. Because I'm a native VB'er, I only go during the off season....that said, the food, staff and vibe remain great!

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, ambiance and birthday sur ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, service, ambiance and birthday surprise dessert .....perfect!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, , Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crawlers initoally were not steamed,then ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Crawlers initoally were not steamed,then they were . Could not eat them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for our anniversary and was glad we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went for our anniversary and was glad we tried it. Had the Thurs night Lobster special plus 2 apps (bbq shrimp and crab/lobster rangoons) and desert (chocolate mousse). All were amazing! Lots of windows for seeing the water. Service was spot on and the owner or manager checked on all the tables and was greeting people as they came in and thanking them as they left which was nice to see. Haven't seen that in a long time. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: , Cozy, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Thursday for their 2 lobster ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We went on Thursday for their 2 lobster special for $26.99. Lobsters were cooked well. We wanted a window seat but unfortunately was not able to get one. My wife got a fried shrimp meal for an early dinner special. The shrimp was good but they were small shrimp.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience with the food, atmosphe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great experience with the food, atmosphere, and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the staff wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We went in with our 6 month old baby, and were quickly accommodated in a large open space with plenty of room for the stroller, and we learned a high-chair trick from our server. The ambiance is upscale casual, open, very comfortable and friendly, perfect for group dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The $22/meal was an outstanding value. W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The $22/meal was an outstanding value. We got the Oysters Rockefeller and Barbeque Shrimp as an appetizer - and although we both don't like Oysters, we loved the appetizer !!

The $26.99 Crab Cakes were the main course, and were almost too much to eat, but we suffered through.

We picked the Key Lime Pie and Carrot Cake for dessert. The pie was great, the Carrot Cake a trifle too dry for our taste.

All-in-all an exellent value for our $44 + tax.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good food. Very good service. Right ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very good food. Very good service. Right in the harbor...very nice ambience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the best seafood I've had. Well ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Some of the best seafood I've had. Well worth the wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait staff is incredible. We had two ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The wait staff is incredible. We had two small children in the party and our waiter went out of his way to make sure they were happy and enjoyed their meals. He was very patient with all of us as we were very busy talking and trying to catch up with each other. Even with all of our distractions, we were well taken care of.

The food was excellent.

And always save room for the rum cake!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My grilled tuna was very good and since ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My grilled tuna was very good and since it was the early bird special the key lime pie was included - which was also good, as was my wife's complimentary dessert of chocolate mousse. However, my wife ordered the shrimp pasta and it was terrible. The shrimp tasted very strong - as if they were raw and weren't grilled and the noodles were tasteless. I would recommend this place with hesitancy . . all the dishes are not as good as others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Greeted immediately Seated quickly....dr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Greeted immediately

Seated quickly....drinks were very good..food was excellent..enjoyed very much,..would definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were very pleased with the service, f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We were very pleased with the service, food and atmoshere. Service was very quick. The food was excellent and we had a very pleasant time. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked the reservation for 8 PM. When ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We booked the reservation for 8 PM. When we arrived at the restaurant at 7:50 , the greeter checked the computer, read our name off and then entered it on the wait list at the bottom along with everyone else was already there. I assumed that my reservation would've been put on the list as soon as I received confirmation of it, not when I showed up. If that is the policy, then why would anyone use this service?

I was also told we wouldn't be seated at eight because the kitchen was backed up. Which begs the question, if the kitchen was backed up, why was the restaurant still taking reservations?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great local restaurant. Food is excelle ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great local restaurant. Food is excellent and service once seated is good. HOWEVER......reservations do not seem to take precedence over walk-ins.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you can get past the incredibly grump ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

If you can get past the incredibly grumpy old guy at the door without turning around and leaving then the server was great and the food good. Seriously, we had a reservation and when we arrived on time I gave our name and said so to the hostess. This man descends and says it will be ten minutes and we can wait at the bar. When I mentioned we had a reservation he still very abruptly said it would be ten minutes and how did he know we had a reservation. Friendly greeting would not be in his vocabulary. When we opted to wait on the bench outside our table only took a couple of minutes. Won't be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great. We were party of 10> Eve ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great. We were party of 10> Everyone left full and happy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed Rockafellers for date nig ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Really enjoyed Rockafellers for date night with my wife. Food was amazing! Ambiance lacks a little something... mostly music. Great views of Rudee's inlet and fun to watch boats moving in and out of the harbor. Would recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

fun place to go wish you still had the l ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

fun place to go wish you still had the lobster omletd

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.