Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Rockafeller's Restaurant

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: (757) 422-5654

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (65)
Scenic View (42)
Casual (42)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fun (15)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Family Style (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The food was amazing and our waiter very alternative. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We arrived for the early bird dinner. The selection was fantastic and specials were just 14.99 and included salad and dessert. The service was top notch and the food excellent.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful service, view, and location. The food is spectacular at a great value.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great restaurant, attentive staff, and delicious food. I went to dinner with my brother, nephew, and parents. We had an excellent time! Chesapeake Bloody Mary, tomato and basil risotto dish and shrimp dish were extremely tasty. Cornbread served is also top of the line; and as a cornbread connoisseur of sorts, I highly recommend it. Definitely dine at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It's just an okay place. The food was good, but it wasn't $100 for a soup, appetizer, and one meal good. There was nothing special about it. It has a great view and the service was good, but it's a tourist spot, at best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were seated promptly, our table was a great view of the water and the harbor of boats. Our waiter gave us a very good detailed explanation of the specials. When asked questions he was very thorough with his answers. The food was phenomenally great. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very busy but well organized with tables just a bit tight. Service was very good despite the numbers and turnover. Mainly seafood but with options who prefer not to try the fish. A great casual dining venue.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Poor service. Server appeared annoyed. Food was ok. Exploring local, unlikely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent overall, lobster special a great deal and reason to go Thursdays!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great dinner great dinner great beer selection why do you make me write 50 characters

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The drinks, apps, and entrees were great. The complimentary cornbread was also very good and plentiful. Not sure about the desserts because we all passed.

Our service was outstanding, our server Shannon was their anytime we needed her. She was very personable, with a great attitude and a great communicator!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had birthday dinner there upstairs outside looking over the bay. Beautiful view. The oysters rockefeller were awesome. Should have had more. The seafood was excellent and the server were great. A bit expensive and the furnishings are not fancy but good for a seafood place on the water. Very happy with the choice

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Awesome spot on Rudees inlet. Great service, Great food

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always try to go to Rockafellers while visiting Virginia Beach. We love it!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

the cocktails and brunch food was awesome. Been awhile since I've been there and hope to be back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Felt rushed.food needed to be heated up again.noisy,valet parking for spaces next to restaurant seemed a bit much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I brought out of town guests who wanted a nice seafood dinner. We were not disapponted. My ex niece in law and her boyfriend said they had the best crab cakes they ever had. My great nephew devoted his crab Norfolk. My great niece had a wonderful pasta fish and my sister and I had the Mahi with a tomatilla sauce. Every bite of mine was heavenly.

Service was great as well. Our waiter was especially kind to my young great nephew helping him make the best food choice. Even the guys doing the valet parking were great.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of our favorite places to go when we are in Virginia Beach. We have never been disappointed with the service, ambiance or food. The staff goes out of their way to make certain that you have a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We drive 8 hours to eat here remembering how great it was.
This time the food was just okay and the service was blah
We ate many other places this week that surpassed Rockefelller's. We will not be back after 20 Years of eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food wasn't as good as past experiences there. Felt rushed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We came with our 2 kids for our first night out for seafood after moving back to the East Coast from CA. We made reservations and were told when we got there (slightly early) they'd try to get us in ASAP. No worries, we were early. Time goes by, they come out yelling the names of other patrons for their tables but no one was around. So my husband piped up, and the hostess went in, checked with her boss(?) and came back out and said "we're just going to seat you now". And then whispered something that seemed inappropriate about us to the other hostess as we walked by. Finally seated, we wait 5 mins before meeting our waiter. We order 2 bloody Mary's and oysters. We then wait and wait and wait. Finally the waiter comes back and asks "what kind of Bloody Mary was it?". Good lord...it was brutal. We then wait longer for the drinks to finally arrive and then wait even longer for oysters...which are raw, so why the long wait? Now I will say the oysters were amazing. Maybe it's because we've missed east coast oysters, but they really were phenomenal. Our food then arrives, and my husbands was cold (crab cakes and BBQ shrimp) and mine was super hot (crab and shrimp pasta). Now, the menu says the pasta comes with with either Alfredo or marinara. I preferred marinara but was not asked by our waiter, so ended up with watered down Alfredo. Now I was sidetracked with my daughter, and we felt rushed to order. But again, I was not asked. I feel this is the waiters job to ask when there are options available. At this time, as our food arrived, my husband ordered one beer. So we move on, I ate my pasta, he ate his food...all the while waiting for that beer. By the time it arrived, it was time for our check. So disappointing to spend most Of your main course with no drink. We then proceed to ask for the alcohol to be put on a separate tab (meals are paid through job) and that was misrung, so more waiting while they fixed that. So never again, and if you go...be prepared to wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I used to love this place -we vacation in VA Beach every year. Last time, I chalked it up to a bad day with our mediocre food and service. This time, just not very good. Our poor waiter was also expected to tend the bar and was clearly frazzled. Great guy but that is too much for one person. Too many other people standing around not willing to pitch in. Won't be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was ok, server was good, very uneventful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

They sat us upstairs the atmosphere was horrible the service was pathetic waiter forgot one order and was just plain rude . Only sit downstairs in main dinning room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Not impressed with food. There on vaca with my family recommended by a local.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was fair to good but the service was excellent and the food arrives quickly. The "spectacular view" was disappointing as it just included a boat dock. The valet service is totally unnecessary with such a small parking lot (we could have walked 5 feet to our car but had to use the valet to retrieve our car).
I wouldn't say this is a bad place to eat, just underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fresh fish/catch of the day was delicious! I would definitely get the salmon again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great meal!!! We really enjoyed our visit on our annual family vacation. Plan to return when we vacation again.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was mediocre to bad. Exception was the She Crab soup. Otherwise the restaurant is surviving on its past reputation.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Couldn't decide what to order and our sever made suggestions that were perfect... beer selection lacking needs some porters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We have eaten her since 2011 when we first started coming to VA Beach. It has always been absolutely delicious with fantastic service. Our waiter was extremely rude and not helpful. The ac was blowing directly on us and we asked to move one table down. He was rude and made fun of us! We always go for the early bird salmon special and it has always been fantastic. It can out burnt to a crisp, potatos were cover in sat and Caesar salad was soggy. We asked for a new piece of salmon and the waiter laughed again at us! He asked why, we showed him and he said what's wrong with it. Next piece was good ok on one side and the other was not cooked. We asked him about and he laughed again and said why. By this time, we were done!! He through our check on the table and not even a thank you!! We have eaten here over 30 times and have never been treated like this or had food like this!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Best Oysters Rockafeller I've ever had! The crab cakes were very good, too, as were a number of the drinks, including the Relaxer. It's a loud place, though, so not where you'd want to go for a romantic dinner for two. Friendly service. The manager did a great job explaining to us why our table for 15 wasn't quite ready when promised, but we didn't have to wait too terribly long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fresh seafood prepared just right!

Sampler platter was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice place friendly. Only thing, the hostess said we had to share menu because they ran out of menus

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Thursday night lobster night sold the wife on this one. Got a nice table upstairs on the balcony overlooking the harbor. Great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 15, 2017

Greatwe ate there a lot because it is the best place in Virginia Beach for lobster on Thursday nights you cannot beat us anywhere

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was the perfect place for our date night while on vacation. View was great and so was the good.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great meal, started with Oysters Rockefeller followed by the stuffed flounder special. Sunday is a nice,quiet night there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I made an online reservation like at 8:00 for 8:30 and was seated by 8:30. Loved the atmosphere and the food was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.