Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 36 times today

Rockafeller's Restaurant

4.3
1049 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
  • Good for a Date
When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 422-5654
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mel Claiborne
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Brian Sutton: (757) 422-5654
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Winston Salem Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1049 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

What a great restaurant and experience. We went for our anniversary. They were very accommodating and friendly. The food was great. We sat outside on the porch. A fantastic view of the fishing boats in the cove. We will go back to this restaurant every time we go to Virginia Beach. Thanks Ryan. You and the staff are great!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food, service, and ambiance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Father’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Good Service. Very friendly and attentive. I like the fact that they have valet parking. My eggs benedict were cooked perfectly. My sons loved their french toast. My friend ordered a veggie omelet but found a shrimp in it which he didn't care for. He doesn't eat seafood at all.
Otherwise, great setting. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great seafood meals. Sunday Brunch should have more non-seafood item.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Some of the food came to the table cool or warm. Our server, Greg, was knowledgeable of the menu and was able to offer suggestions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The hostess here was amazing and very accommodating. We started with drinks at the bar, with phenomenal bartenders. We sat outside on the water and had the tuna tataki, which I am still dreaming about. The seared Ahi Tuna was large and delicious. The shrimp and crab pasta was amazing. I think the portions were rather small for the price, as I was still hungry when we left. But the quality was 10/10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Best meal so far in Virginia Beach.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

We sat upstairs near the window, down near the bar, and our server was not the best. She stayed at the table about a half a second and didn’t even let us open your mouth hardly to ask a question. I felt that was borderline rude. She basically threw our appetizer on the table and walked away – didn’t make any remark like enjoy your food or anything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Anniversary.....Sat upstairs on 3rd floor balcony.Beautiful view,great food and service.....still having dreams about the crab hush puppies......delicious

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We chose this restaurant base on waterfront seating and the menu had fried shrimp with the gluten-free symbol. Therefore I figured they used a gluten-free mix and offered fried shrimp, as the menu was pretty clear or so I thought. However when I got there they said they don’t offer fried shrimp in that case they just give you boiled shrimp without any breading. Well no kidding… You have that all over the menu, why would you put the gluten-free symbol under fried shrimp then?

We had a nice view and it was beautiful during sunset actually, but the tables were small and we were sitting on plastic outdoor seats which was kind of uncomfortable. The food we ordered was subpar and my sons tater tot‘s were mushy versus crispy as he order the appetizer with cheese and bacon. Our waiter did not use a pen and paper and messed up my order and then blamed it on the food runner, when it was clear he just forgot to put it in. Ribs were ok. Overpriced for quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Perfect finish for my daughters graduation. Staff was very accommodating and managed our group of 12 with speed and precision.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent service. The waitress brought us free appetizer because she felt the entrees we’re taking long. Great atmosphere, wonderful view. Everything we had tasted great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent food and customer service as always!!! Delightful experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Overall everything was very nice. Established local restaurant that has this local's support.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Good food....however, even I had window table as part of my reservation, they wanted to seat us at a side table with no view. We ended up sitting at the bar area, good service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This place is overrated! management wasn’t a people person, charges 20% gratuity instantaneously even with awful service .. we will not recommend this place to anyone, or will ever go here again ..

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Terrible food at a bad price. Party of 8 and no one liked anything they got and they included a 20% gratuity automatically on check. Will not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We had confirmed with you our 6;30 reservations and didn't get seated until close to 7:30. Hostess kept saying it was prom night. Well why did you take our reservations if you knew this prior. Prom kids shld. Ave had to wait unless they had reservations . Will come back but will not recommend for a large group .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It's been a Long time favorite of ours and Always get Great Service with Awesome food. Love the view and the Barbeque Shrimp! Look forward to the next time we vacation at VA Beach as we dine here every time we are in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Oysters are superb and surprisingly the steaks are really good. I just wished there are other ways to serve the soft shell crab besides fried. The space is tight ‘though. Could use more elbow room. The view is what earned it 5 stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The Oysters Rockafellers are to die for and $1 ea during happy hour at the bar is great. Could make a dinner out of them and will do soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Wasn't the worst nor the best. Fish was over cooked. Over all, it was just ok. Don't think this place will win any awards.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Hadn’t been here in over 10years, but was happy I went. The dining area was very comfortable and clean. We requested a table with a view which they accommodated us. Our waiter was a little off his game, but it didn’t effect the food so we dealt with it. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will visit again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Food was bland and no taste. Seem like the crab meat had been sitting a long time and was dry. The boil had zero seasoning on it and we had to ask for old bay.
Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I own a vacation home in VA beach and have been going to Rockafeller's for years, and it never disappoints. The food and service were great. Our food took longer to get it, but they told me that they had a big wedding party earlier and the kitchen was backed up. No worries. We enjoyed the great view of Rudee inlet and the beautiful evening breeze.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I appreciate the implication of the owner. When confronted with a problem that was not his fault, he managed it the correct way.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Experience was generally very good! One of the few places that took a reservation for 12 on memorial day weekend! Food Including cocktails were very good and was definitely on the more reasonable side for a waterfront venue. The only improvement would’ve been on the service, our wait time to receive our appetizers was over an hour, and the waiter while he tried had difficulty trying to check back as often as I would’ve liked. I will chalk most of this up to the fact that it was memorial day weekend with several large parties and it was just generally max busy, but I would recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great food, great view, great time. We had a great meal while we were there. The server was extremely friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

My wife's soft shells were cooked properly. My local flounder was fresh and thick. A great Go-To spot when looking for good food, reasonable pricing, good service, and a view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We brought my mother here for her 75th Birthday. Everyone in our party enjoyed themselves. My mother said the crab cake was the best one she had in a very long time. Our waiter made her day extra special by bringing out a slice of her favorite pie-Key Lime! We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We really enjoyed our lunch at this restaurant. Would definitely come back again when in the area. The Mahi Mahi was excellent. Also the edamame, corn and pepper dish was great and good substitute for a vegan diet (ask for olive oil instead of butter.) EAT the cornbread... it is great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Nice place, good food. Enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My family and I went to this restaurant for Mother’s Day brunch. On the website, it stated that brunch was until 3 pm. Nowhere o. The website did it say, expect for holidays. We were disappointed especially since our reservation was at 2:15 pm. After we made our orders, we had a long wait without any explanation. Then, two entrees came out cold. My pescatore pasta was mostly pasta and very little seafood. I make better cornbread and I use Jiffy. The waitress was great, but she lost points for not notifying us about the wait and didn’t apologize. Additionally, didn’t know that they valet, but they didn’t give us the option to park ourselves when there was parking available. That should be on the website. Not sure if that was great service or a gotcha for a tip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mothers Day brunch and everything was excellent! Great value and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food is excellent, waiting time no good, service was kind and generous, food take 2 hours to be served

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was fabulous!! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I was very disappointed with my food, and about 1/2 of my party of 8 felt the same way. My crabcake tasted like it had been previously frozen. It had that "freezer burn" taste to it. I thought the scallops and shrimp tasted very blah. I had the calamari for an appetizer and wasn't impressed with it either. I've definitely had better at other local restaurants.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I am a local VB resident and was so disappointed! Had not been there in awhile and was shocked with quality of my meal. Fried oysters were not on menu however waiter said they serve them. They were the greasiest and tiniest that I have been ever been served .Green beans were overlooked and laden with oil or butter or prob margerine and boiled small red skin potatoes were hard and cold. With so many good restaurants in Virginia Beach I have taken Rockefeller's off my list! Guess they are now catering to tourists that will not be returning. Will say that service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Excellent lunch, excellent service, great water side view! Looking forward to returning for another lunch or dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27