About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: 757-422-5654x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters Rockafeller
Steamed Shrimp
Crab & Shrimp Hushpuppies
rum cake
Smoked Tuna with vegetables
Tidewater Steamer
Great Dismal Black Ipa
Crabcakes
Salmon
Ceasar Salad
Martini

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Virginia
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

scenic view (54)
special occasion (31)
good for groups (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (25)
great for lunch (22)
fit for foodies (21)
great for brunch (20)
kid-friendly (18)
great for outdoor dining (14)
romantic (6)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great and the service was g ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was great and the service was good. The price was good for the amount and type of food that was served.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server who was William was excellent ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our Server who was William was excellent & patient

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was so accommodating and prov ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was so accommodating and provided wonderful service. Everything was great. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful wster view , away from the hu ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful wster view , away from the hustle and bustle. Great food and service.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

First time for birthday dinner for two. ...

Dined 5 days ago

First time for birthday dinner for two. The waiter seemed robotic, running off a script memorized that afternoon. But, nice enough. The food was great, good selection of local brews and a good view of the inlet slips. It did seem to get a bit noisy but, not so bad as to not be able to have a conversation.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior t ...

Dined 6 days ago

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior to reservation time and got seated immediately. The wait staff was fast and courteous. The food was very good and portions were generous. Prices were in tune with other restaurants in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior to reservation time and got seated immediately. The wait staff was fast and courteous. The food was very good and portions were generous. Prices were in tune with other restaurants in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The hostess and manager were extremely f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The hostess and manager were extremely friendly. Our waiter seemed nervous, so I'm not sure if he was new or not. We chose this restaurant because my daughter is a vegetarian. The site stated they have vegetarian and gluten-free options, but when I asked the waiter what the options were, he stated the only vegetarian option they had was a salad. While the view of Rudee's Inlet was great, the food was just okay and we most likely will not eat here again.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was nice, and the menu lo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was nice, and the menu looked great--lots of great combinations such as ribs and BBQ bacon wrapped shrimp and the Waterman Trio, but the taste was lacking in flavor. We ordered the hush puppies which looked promising and amazing, but fell flat. They need something more, some onion or jalapeno or something. They were very bland. I'd say almost everyone's meal was bland and could have been much better with a few minor tweaks. Even my side of broccoli was under cooked and kind of dry. My family ordered: kids fried shrimp (seemed out of a box), shrimp and crab Alfredo (decent but nothing special or wow inducing), Waterman Trio- had seasoning but did not taste like it, She Crab soup--good but was all cream sherry and crab, very rich and kind of boring. I don't think anyone in my family was particularly impressed or felt this place was worth the money we paid for it. We were also annoyed that you have no choice but to use valet parking. Totally unnecessary as there was plenty of parking (at lunch on Father's Day though the restaurant was full) and it all seemed close and easy to do yourself. This place could be fantastic with a better head chef and some minor flavor tweaks to the food as the menu selections were great.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place time and time again . fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic place time and time again . food service and atmosphere are great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This place place always delivers great s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This place place always delivers great service and food!!! Another great fathers day dinner was had by all...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorites. We often ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of our favorites. We often dine here for special occasions, when people are visiting us or if we are at the oceanfront. The food is always outstanding, the service great and the scenic view awesome (even in winter). My husband and I were celebrating our 33rd anniversary and were not disappointed. Our waiter was fantastic and we thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Food was mostly fried fare and pricey. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was mostly fried fare and pricey. A lot of kids and families so lots of noise. Makes it hard for any kind of meaningful conversation... to say the least. I do not recommend this place if you a looking for romantic or classy atmosphere. I will not come back.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fine establishment! Well managed a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Very fine establishment! Well managed and staffed!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations at Rockefeller's to ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I made reservations at Rockefeller's to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our server, Chris, was fantastic, as was the food and the atmosphere. My husband loved his dinner as well as a new local beer . We had a perfect view of the harbor. We were thoroughly impressed and will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

Dined on June 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Virginia Beach. The kitchen knows how to cook seafood!! Everything is well prepared and tasty. Oh, and save room for one of the many homemade desserts! The view of the marina and Rudee Inlet are exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

Online menu was not the same. Prices were not the same. Small portions for the price. I expected more based on the online marketing and limited reservations. Food was good but not for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. we will be coming back bef ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was great. we will be coming back before the summer is over

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The 2 things that could have been better ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The 2 things that could have been better was the space for waiting. The bar up stairs was closed due to weather, and because of that, not enough waiting space, inside bar too small. Outside waiting too small. Worth the wait though! Good was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food. Good service. Was a little l ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food. Good service. Was a little loud but not terrible

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Virginia Beach Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Besides for its special view of Rudy's Inlet, this is a superb restaurant for fresh, well prepared seafood. The staff is super friendly and the servers are courteous and prompt. Whenever we are in VA Beach we mak certain to go to Rockefellers

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoy nice Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place if crowded sit by bar!!!! Bartender great, food great, Oysters Rockefeller to Die For!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service-Great Food-Great Price.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Service-Great Food-Great Price, Great Location. What else could you ask for

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

I was very disappointed for Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was very disappointed for Mother's Day Brunch. For a place that is known for rather fine dining, I was surprised at the lack of choice on the menu. There were roughly 8-10 dishes you could choose from and 4 of those were seafood variations of Eggs Benedict. Which is heaven if you like Eggs Benedict, but if you don't you're left with a very abbreviated IHOP-like menu.

food1
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been there for dinner and dinner h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been there for dinner and dinner has always been great. This was our first time for brunch and we were very disappointed. We even brought another couple with us this time because we always brag about the place. They weren't too pleased with brunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, first time that I had been ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place, first time that I had been there. Family & friends enjoyed as well. Great wait staff!! Will be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group was treated great; very friendly staff!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came as a large group for my son's graduation at ODU for afternoon lunch. We were seated well to see the view, and we were treated great by very accomodating and friendly staff. We enjoyed the food very much, the menu has plenty of choices for everyone, and it was an all-around good experience. The beautiful harbor scenery and the friendly easy going 'mom and pop' atmosphere was very comfortable for the kids we had with us; the one bar drink we had (besides beer) was very potent and fun and tasty. Thank you so much!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood is so good and so fresh! The ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The seafood is so good and so fresh! The homemade mac and cheese was also delicious but non-pork beware - it contains Canadian bacon.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

I called to get a table reserved for my mothers 80. birthday and wanted to request a table at the window. I was told that reservations are only possible if the party is 6 or more. Then I went online and through OpenTable I was actually able to do a reservation even we had only a party of 3. When we got to the restaurant however, the reservation wasn't been taken and no window table was open. We had to sit somewhere else. Luckily some other couple just finished their meal and we were able to sneak over to that table at the window. That was a nice table. The AC was blowing a little too much I think but that was not really a problem. The reservation however was a little disappointing, especially when we got there at 6 PM, the restaurant was not busy anyway and a reservation really should have been possible. But overall, the restaurant is great and the food was awesome. Had the stuffed flounder with crab meat. Great place.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

service was great! Food (we had Thuna mo ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

service was great! Food (we had Thuna mostly) was ok, the oysters for starters were terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great visit

Dined on April 16, 2016

we have been going here for more than 5 years . we love the food and the wait staff is always friendly .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great seafood for the price!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I live in Philadelphia but came back to Virginia Beach for a visit. The seafood is so much better here. Great service and friendly atmosphere. We were seated right by the water and it was quite nice.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed...not like it used to be.

Dined on April 13, 2016

Group of us locals went for lunch after not having been there for a couple of years. Prices up and seafood ok.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good seafood

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very good food with a fantastic view. I highly recommend it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Easter brunch fail

Dined on March 27, 2016

Apparently if you're not rich this establishment is not for you! Several tables were seated in front of us, the manager ran into my 3 yr old daughter and didn't even say sorry, we waited an hour for our food only for it to be cold and hard, and the valet was terribly unfriendly. As locals, this was our first time here and definitely our last!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The valet parking was fantastic.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was terrific and the place was packed. Once seated, service was super.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Royal Sampler was too small. The ser ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Royal Sampler was too small. The service and view was fantastic. Just your average restaurant on all other parts.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The waitress was wonderful and very deta ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The waitress was wonderful and very detailed. The food was delicious. We will return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Freshest seafood platter ever!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I were looking for the best seafood platter we could find and we were not disappointed. We had great fast service and also loved the sampler platter of desserts you could take home....we will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.