About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: 757-422-5654x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters Rockafeller
Bacon Wrapped Bbq Shrimp
fish tacos
Hushpu
rum cake
Smoked Tuna with vegetables
Tidewater Steamer
Steamed Shrimp
Great Dismal Black Ipa
Crab & Shrimp Hushpuppies
Crabcakes
Salmon
Martini
Ceasar Salad

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

Scenic View (88)
Good for Groups (50)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Kid-friendly (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a pleasant time the server was ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a pleasant time the server was excellent..

My Lobster pasta was ok, for the 40.oo dollars I paid it was so bland.

the plates are pricie and very little food.

Other than those small issues everything was good.

I would go back anytime and recommend it to family and friends.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Very very slow service. Got seated right ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very very slow service. Got seated right away but we placed a reservation early in the day. Small portions, some entrees claim crab cakes but the crab was in a small casserole dish. Itty bitty shrimp. Small scallops. The fried fish was large and plentiful. Side dish is not optional unless u want to pay more. Loud, noisy, could not talk to each other. Will not come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My initial thought were that this place ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

My initial thought were that this place was a great local restaurant. However upon arrival it was apparent there were either staffing issues or that you needed to be a local to receive good service. Our server (who wasn't awful) was slow bringing drinks and getting orders. My wife's food was not brought out with everyone else's and it's to be assumed that it just wasn't rung in. We watched as the manager table touched everyone around us but did not once check on us. Not a bad place to eat but definitely not worth the money, and not somewhere my family and I will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Place was very busy, table for two was n ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Place was very busy, table for two was not good. Two close! I will come again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

The Mahi Mahi Fish meals were exceptiona ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Mahi Mahi Fish meals were exceptional (nice and thick and perfectly cooked). So was the Crab Norfolk

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was poorly cooked and very bland. O ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was poorly cooked and very bland. Overpriced for what it is

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Tried this restaurant in Rudees inlet. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Tried this restaurant in Rudees inlet. All our meals just average and barely warm when served.

Perhaps it was a bad night in the kitchen. Server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Huge disappointment from the valet givin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Huge disappointment from the valet giving me a hard time for parking my own car, and then driving right by my wife and i and stopping 30 feet away from us when he retrieved it. To the dead soapy tasting lobsters that where served to us. The lobster was advertised as fresh live Maine lobster. The owner/manager told us that it was just delivered. Its over-priced and the servers are rude!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great, fresh food and very nice view of ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great, fresh food and very nice view of the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food took an hour to arrive, and arr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our food took an hour to arrive, and arrived cold. The steamers were sent back, and amazingly a new batch arrived hot very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Food and service was excellent . I will ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and service was excellent . I will be coming back to enjoy the lobster

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation, but were told upon ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a reservation, but were told upon arrival that it would be another 20 minutes. After we complained, they did seat us quickly, so it worked out, but ... The food was good, but it was overpriced for basic seafood. Our waitress was a delight and did the best she could, but the slow kitchen made her job hard. While our food was hot when we got it, it seemed to take forever. It took almost an hour to get our food after we ordered. It was extremely noisy which made it hard to have a conversation. Unfortunately, they're one of the few places in the area that will accept reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Downstairs dining has a great view howev ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Downstairs dining has a great view however the upper level is plain and boring, it feels like a separate restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The shrimp and crab hush puppies were th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The shrimp and crab hush puppies were the best I have ever had! Friendly staff from valet to hostess/wait staff. Nice relaxed atmosphere overlooking marina. I will definitely be back on my next trip to VA Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband & I go here every year to cel ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband & I go here every year to celebrate our anniversary & have never been disappointed. Service & food is great! Loved that we were able to come right in & be seated!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a wonderful lobster special and wor ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It's a wonderful lobster special and worth the visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Rockafeller's is normally a must-do visi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Rockafeller's is normally a must-do visit for us when we vacation in VA Beach every summer. However, we have noticed the pat two years or so, the quality of food has decreased. For example, the broiled crab cakes this time had way too much filler in them. Very disappointed. And, it is becoming very boring only having the same side choices of steamed veggies and red potatoes year in and year out. Come on, Rockafeller's...we expect more/better from you!! Also, as we were eating, the wait staff was using a long handled stick with a rag attached to it to wipe off condensation from the ceiling...yuck! People were eating right below that! And, the table seating inside is way too close. Barely room to move. On a positive note, the service was excellent and the view outside is hard to beat!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent meal. Recommend going early if ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent meal. Recommend going early if you have kids/family. Place filled up fast. Service was quick and accurate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was okay. A little expensive for the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was okay. A little expensive for the Quailty of food but nothing poor. Good views on the deck and the table was ready when we arrived. Parking is tough if you don't want to valet but not a real issue. Servers were kind and courteous but slow. In their defense we had a table of 15. We did only have one server but you have to remember it is a vacation town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We visit Rockafella's every time we come ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We visit Rockafella's every time we come to Va Beach but the food was not nearly as good as it normally is!! Our food took about an hour and it wasn't even hot when we got it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Took 80 minutes to get our food with no ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Took 80 minutes to get our food with no explanation. My crab cake and oyster dinner that I ordered didn't include a crab cake and they had to go back to the kitchens and get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

My first time using OpenTable, I request ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My first time using OpenTable, I requested a table overlooking the marina. To my surprise, that's exactly what I got!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good. Super busy so server wasn't a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good. Super busy so server wasn't able to provide great attention, but food and fish very fresh nicely done. Nice fun drinks available. View great and perfect for a fun evening at the beach.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our favorite restaurant in VA Beach. Bea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in VA Beach. Beautiful location, amazing food and local seafood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood staple with great seafood. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Neighborhood staple with great seafood. I've dined here in the past. On this particular outing, we had good food and service. The rum cake is the most surprising treat here. I loved every morsel.

However, on a subsequent Sunday early afternoon visit I ordered the broiled flounder. It was well-seasoned and tasty--even with the myriad of scales on it. I complained and the waiter gratiously took it back. I got a new entree only this time less seasoned fish with different veggies. Wasn't it the same chef??

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We go to Sandbridge every summer. This w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We go to Sandbridge every summer. This was our first time at Rockafellas and we will definitely go back again. They were very accommodating and the food was great. We are a large party so being able to reserve through Open Table was awesome.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent seafood dinner! View is specta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent seafood dinner! View is spectacular of Rudee Inlet and boats. Service was efficient and friendly. The Open Table online reservation is easy to use and made the evening pleasant for our party. No waiting or hassle. I make it a point to eat at Rockafellers every time I visit VA beach!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is very crowded and very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The restaurant is very crowded and very loud. The staff is friendly, and food was prepared and delivered fairly quickly. However, the food was mediocre at best. The shrimp that I had was overcooked, though the scallops were perfect. The crab was generous, but the cheese in the "norfolk" combo overwhelmed it. Whoever made the cornbread is not from the South. It was too sweet and had too much white flour. I rarely pass up cornbread, but I put this one down. The mixed vegetables were tasty. When my husband, who eats nearly anything, left a third of his plate alone, you can assume the meal was not great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We went here because the reviews on line ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We went here because the reviews on line were good but all of our meals were quite mediocre... A bit disappointing for the money spent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent seafood in an where cheap dish ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent seafood in an where cheap dishes are easy to find, but quality is rare. I will be recommending this place to friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Oyster Rockefeller appetizer was Out ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Oyster Rockefeller appetizer was Outstanding as were the Hush Puppies with Shrimp & Crab as recommended by our outstanding waiter/ Chris. The noise level was off the chart resulting in people hollering to be heard among their "own" table. To sum up this evening as we were seated inside: We were seated as reserved (slightly early), our waiter was exceptional, and our meal was OK.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Great location with nice view of marina, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great location with nice view of marina, canal to ocean. Food was just OK and we felt rushed with our appetizers, meals coming out so fast. Meals did not come out hot as expected. Expected Better

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were able to get a last minute reserv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were able to get a last minute reservation on a Saturday evening in July, and our table was ready when we got there. The place was hopping and full and given the day's heat and the number of folks in the restaurant it was a little warm inside. Our server was faster than either the kitchen or bar but that was OK. The shrimp hushpuppies were delicious and sweet. Our dinners (the mahi special and regular crab cakes) were excellent. I should add that the staff, including the manager, were excellent - hustling and accommodating all the way. We'll go back on another night when it's not so busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The food is satisfying, delicious corn b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food is satisfying, delicious corn bread. It's been around for a while and the food is something that your grandparents are probably used to. Certainly no innovative cooking, but plain solid cooking, I would almost say home style. The kitchen is consistent, so you get what you expect, a decent meal at a good price. Although it was a busy night, since we had made a reservation we were seated right away. There is a nice view of Rudee inlet and the boats. The service was quick even though they were very busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Not impressed. Would not recommend. An ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Not impressed. Would not recommend. And, too LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

This place was extremely loud, it was ne ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This place was extremely loud, it was nearly impossible to hear everybody talk. They were pretty busy, but the food was rather slow, and one plate did not come out so we were nearly done. It had a beautiful view, but was most definitely not worth the price. $140 for two adults and one six-year-old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

I had the Lobster special and it was fan ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had the Lobster special and it was fantastic. The drink special (cherry slushie?) was also fantastic. My fathers meal was not good. He sent it back as it was cold and flavorless. He got the grilled tuna. The meal was taken off of our check. Our waitor was also very attentive and understanding and offered to get him something else. Overall great experience but would likely only come back for the Lobster special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Other than the loud group next to us, we ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Other than the loud group next to us, we all enjoyed it a lot, including my grandparents who are very particular about restaurants. Oysters Rockefeller are to die for.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thursdays offer 2 one pound lobsters wit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Thursdays offer 2 one pound lobsters with two sides and great cornbread for$26.99.

Great deal. Ryan was our server. She was exceptional.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quiet lunch with superb service and food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Quiet lunch with superb service and food. Great views as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.