About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: 757-422-5654x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

rum cake
Smoked Tuna with vegetables
Oysters Rockafeller
Tidewater Steamer
Steamed Shrimp
Great Dismal Black Ipa
Crab & Shrimp Hushpuppies
Crabcakes
Salmon
Ceasar Salad
Martini

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Virginia
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

scenic view (63)
special occasion (34)
good for groups (33)
See All
neighborhood gem (31)
fit for foodies (26)
kid-friendly (25)
great for lunch (24)
great for brunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (20)
hot spot (6)
romantic (6)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quiet lunch with superb service and food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Quiet lunch with superb service and food. Great views as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

on vacation easy to find great food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

on vacation easy to find great food and drinks,great scenic views love Virginia beach love their specials

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the crab cakes and scallops. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I ordered the crab cakes and scallops. The scallops were too chewy for me but the crab cakes were good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was wonderful! The staff w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful! The staff was professional. The food exceptional! The host was very energetic, etc. Wonderful experience. Thank you!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place! Best Hushpuppies I hav ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic place! Best Hushpuppies I have ever eaten! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband raved about the grilled mahi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My husband raved about the grilled mahi mahi but my dish with crab, shrimp and scallops was dry and unappealing. The view was nice with the boats docked outside the restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were fortunate to have a table by the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were fortunate to have a table by the windows and really enjoyed watching the boats and activity on the water. The food was wonderful, and we really enjoyed our evening at Rockafeller's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, highly professional service. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, highly professional service. Great atmosphere. Everything was perfect :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of those old but steady and dependab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

One of those old but steady and dependable shore restaurants. Food is good - nothing fancy. Service very good. Nice water view. Easy to get by bicycle.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Seafood was good. My mom loved the crab ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Seafood was good. My mom loved the crab cakes. Shrimp hush puppies were great. Cramped bathroom if you have any physical disabilities.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been to this restaurant several ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times. The service and food continue to be very good. Our last visit was for brunch on a beautiful day and we were not disappointed. Everything on the menu looked so great it was hard to decide what to order. Will definitely eat there again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal, great service, experience en ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great meal, great service, experience enhanced by views of boats and inlet. Highly recommend the Bacardi Orange Mojito-Refreshing drink on a hot day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! The atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything was great! The atmosphere was very laid-back and enjoyable. This was my first time at Rockafeller and will ensure that it's not my last either!!!!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a romantic spot for ou ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I was looking for a romantic spot for our first weekend away. I had read many things about Rockafeller's. There were positive reviews coming from tourists as well as the locals. This spot did NOT disappoint! Although it was packed when we came in (7 PM Friday reservation) I never felt like our table and our time together were bombarded with the noise around us. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and allowed us to take the night at our pace. The food was amazing; from the fresh, still moist cornbread to perhaps the best crabcakes we had ever eaten. The beer and wine selection is vast and there is something for everyone on the menu.

From the moment we valet-parked the car to the time when we drove away, we could not have had a more enjoyable experience. I'd highly suggest Rockafeller's to anyone traveling to Virginia Beach.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the food bland. Edible, but bla ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We found the food bland. Edible, but bland. Nice server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The food and our server were great! How ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and our server were great! However, you are required to do valet parking and the gentleman in charge of that, was quite arrogant and rude! This won't stop us from eating here again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried the Rockefeller Oyster Appetizer a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Tried the Rockefeller Oyster Appetizer and it was wonderful. We were a party of six including 2 children - we all got different meals and all were excellent. What a relief! Only restaurant in Virginia Beach area (we had been there 5 days) that I would recommend to ANYONE!. We had a fish entrée, two different shrimp dishes, a chicken dish, and a pasta dish - along with chicken tenders - everyone was happy with their meals. The service was great - a overall wonderful experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has turned into one of my favorites in V ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Has turned into one of my favorites in Virginia Beach.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome, like always. Service w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was awesome, like always. Service was very quick, and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire staff was outstanding, we cel ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The entire staff was outstanding, we celebrated my wife's retirement after 37 years

with Va Beach Schools, things could not have been better. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My parents love this spot and the Thursd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My parents love this spot and the Thursday lobster deal. Was my first time, certainly won't be my last. Thanks Rockafeller's!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved my lobster dinner (an ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I absolutely loved my lobster dinner (and thankfully I came on Thursday unaware of the great special they offer for two 1 lb. lobsters, 26$). It was cooked perfectly and I really enjoyed sharing it with my 8 year old daughter because there was so much I could spare. It was a memory to watch her try to crack it and she felt very proud. The view is great of the harbor and the marina...really gave me another view of Virginia Beach. I loved being able to make reservations online (so convenient!)

When we arrived the host & manager were so friendly and even thanked me with a handshake for coming in. As a family of four we can't afford to eat at places such as this very often, but it makes you feel good to be treated so kindly and makes you want to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Out Server was good although she did fai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Out Server was good although she did fail to mention the evenings specials. Food was Excellent. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and the service was g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was great and the service was good. The price was good for the amount and type of food that was served.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our Server who was William was excellent ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our Server who was William was excellent & patient

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was so accommodating and prov ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter was so accommodating and provided wonderful service. Everything was great. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful wster view , away from the hu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful wster view , away from the hustle and bustle. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for birthday dinner for two. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

First time for birthday dinner for two. The waiter seemed robotic, running off a script memorized that afternoon. But, nice enough. The food was great, good selection of local brews and a good view of the inlet slips. It did seem to get a bit noisy but, not so bad as to not be able to have a conversation.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior to reservation time and got seated immediately. The wait staff was fast and courteous. The food was very good and portions were generous. Prices were in tune with other restaurants in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Arrived approximately 10 minutes prior to reservation time and got seated immediately. The wait staff was fast and courteous. The food was very good and portions were generous. Prices were in tune with other restaurants in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The hostess and manager were extremely f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The hostess and manager were extremely friendly. Our waiter seemed nervous, so I'm not sure if he was new or not. We chose this restaurant because my daughter is a vegetarian. The site stated they have vegetarian and gluten-free options, but when I asked the waiter what the options were, he stated the only vegetarian option they had was a salad. While the view of Rudee's Inlet was great, the food was just okay and we most likely will not eat here again.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The restaurant was nice, and the menu lo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant was nice, and the menu looked great--lots of great combinations such as ribs and BBQ bacon wrapped shrimp and the Waterman Trio, but the taste was lacking in flavor. We ordered the hush puppies which looked promising and amazing, but fell flat. They need something more, some onion or jalapeno or something. They were very bland. I'd say almost everyone's meal was bland and could have been much better with a few minor tweaks. Even my side of broccoli was under cooked and kind of dry. My family ordered: kids fried shrimp (seemed out of a box), shrimp and crab Alfredo (decent but nothing special or wow inducing), Waterman Trio- had seasoning but did not taste like it, She Crab soup--good but was all cream sherry and crab, very rich and kind of boring.

I don't think anyone in my family was particularly impressed or felt this place was worth the money we paid for it.

We were also annoyed that you have no choice but to use valet parking. Totally unnecessary as there was plenty of parking (at lunch on Father's Day though the restaurant was full) and it all seemed close and easy to do yourself.

This place could be fantastic with a better head chef and some minor flavor tweaks to the food as the menu selections were great.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic place time and time again . fo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic place time and time again . food service and atmosphere are great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place place always delivers great s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place place always delivers great service and food!!! Another great fathers day dinner was had by all...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our favorites. We often ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of our favorites. We often dine here for special occasions, when people are visiting us or if we are at the oceanfront.

The food is always outstanding, the service great and the scenic view awesome (even in winter).

My husband and I were celebrating our 33rd anniversary and were not disappointed. Our waiter was fantastic and we thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mostly fried fare and pricey. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was mostly fried fare and pricey. A lot of kids and families so lots of noise. Makes it hard for any kind of meaningful conversation... to say the least. I do not recommend this place if you a looking for romantic or classy atmosphere. I will not come back.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Very fine establishment! Well managed a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Very fine establishment! Well managed and staffed!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations at Rockefeller's to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I made reservations at Rockefeller's to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our server, Chris, was fantastic, as was the food and the atmosphere. My husband loved his dinner as well as a new local beer . We had a perfect view of the harbor. We were thoroughly impressed and will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Virginia Beach. The kitchen knows how to cook seafood!! Everything is well prepared and tasty. Oh, and save room for one of the many homemade desserts! The view of the marina and Rudee Inlet are exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Dorset)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.