About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: 757-422-5654x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Virginia
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

scenic view (49)
special occasion (32)
good for groups (24)
See All
great for lunch (22)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (17)
fit for foodies (16)
romantic (16)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

Online menu was not the same. Prices were not the same. Small portions for the price. I expected more based on the online marketing and limited reservations. Food was good but not for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. we will be coming back bef ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was great. we will be coming back before the summer is over

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The 2 things that could have been better ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The 2 things that could have been better was the space for waiting. The bar up stairs was closed due to weather, and because of that, not enough waiting space, inside bar too small. Outside waiting too small. Worth the wait though! Good was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

Great food. Good service. Was a little l ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food. Good service. Was a little loud but not terrible

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Virginia Beach Restaurant

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Besides for its special view of Rudy's Inlet, this is a superb restaurant for fresh, well prepared seafood. The staff is super friendly and the servers are courteous and prompt. Whenever we are in VA Beach we mak certain to go to Rockefellers

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoy nice Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place if crowded sit by bar!!!! Bartender great, food great, Oysters Rockefeller to Die For!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service-Great Food-Great Price.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Service-Great Food-Great Price, Great Location. What else could you ask for

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

I was very disappointed for Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was very disappointed for Mother's Day Brunch. For a place that is known for rather fine dining, I was surprised at the lack of choice on the menu. There were roughly 8-10 dishes you could choose from and 4 of those were seafood variations of Eggs Benedict. Which is heaven if you like Eggs Benedict, but if you don't you're left with a very abbreviated IHOP-like menu.

food1
ambience3
service3
value3

We've been there for dinner and dinner h ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We've been there for dinner and dinner has always been great. This was our first time for brunch and we were very disappointed. We even brought another couple with us this time because we always brag about the place. They weren't too pleased with brunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, first time that I had been ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place, first time that I had been there. Family & friends enjoyed as well. Great wait staff!! Will be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group was treated great; very friendly staff!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came as a large group for my son's graduation at ODU for afternoon lunch. We were seated well to see the view, and we were treated great by very accomodating and friendly staff. We enjoyed the food very much, the menu has plenty of choices for everyone, and it was an all-around good experience. The beautiful harbor scenery and the friendly easy going 'mom and pop' atmosphere was very comfortable for the kids we had with us; the one bar drink we had (besides beer) was very potent and fun and tasty. Thank you so much!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood is so good and so fresh! The ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The seafood is so good and so fresh! The homemade mac and cheese was also delicious but non-pork beware - it contains Canadian bacon.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

I called to get a table reserved for my mothers 80. birthday and wanted to request a table at the window. I was told that reservations are only possible if the party is 6 or more. Then I went online and through OpenTable I was actually able to do a reservation even we had only a party of 3. When we got to the restaurant however, the reservation wasn't been taken and no window table was open. We had to sit somewhere else. Luckily some other couple just finished their meal and we were able to sneak over to that table at the window. That was a nice table. The AC was blowing a little too much I think but that was not really a problem. The reservation however was a little disappointing, especially when we got there at 6 PM, the restaurant was not busy anyway and a reservation really should have been possible. But overall, the restaurant is great and the food was awesome. Had the stuffed flounder with crab meat. Great place.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

service was great! Food (we had Thuna mo ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

service was great! Food (we had Thuna mostly) was ok, the oysters for starters were terrific!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great visit

Dined on April 16, 2016

we have been going here for more than 5 years . we love the food and the wait staff is always friendly .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great seafood for the price!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I live in Philadelphia but came back to Virginia Beach for a visit. The seafood is so much better here. Great service and friendly atmosphere. We were seated right by the water and it was quite nice.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointed...not like it used to be.

Dined on April 13, 2016

Group of us locals went for lunch after not having been there for a couple of years. Prices up and seafood ok.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good seafood

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very good food with a fantastic view. I highly recommend it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Easter brunch fail

Dined on March 27, 2016

Apparently if you're not rich this establishment is not for you! Several tables were seated in front of us, the manager ran into my 3 yr old daughter and didn't even say sorry, we waited an hour for our food only for it to be cold and hard, and the valet was terribly unfriendly. As locals, this was our first time here and definitely our last!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The valet parking was fantastic.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was terrific and the place was packed. Once seated, service was super.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Royal Sampler was too small. The ser ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Royal Sampler was too small. The service and view was fantastic. Just your average restaurant on all other parts.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

The waitress was wonderful and very deta ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The waitress was wonderful and very detailed. The food was delicious. We will return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Freshest seafood platter ever!

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I were looking for the best seafood platter we could find and we were not disappointed. We had great fast service and also loved the sampler platter of desserts you could take home....we will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

We were in town for a celebration and found Rockafeller's by chance. We had a party of 8 with reservations. Seating was immediate which was nice since many places don't truly honor reservation times. The appetizers were great. I ordered the stuff flounder off the special board. It wasn't the best I've had, but pretty decent. Everyone else enjoyed their dinner. The waiter was obviously new to the business, but did a good job. I would recommend Rockafeller's and will probably eat there when a come to town again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

The food was just OK. Nothing to get ex ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was just OK. Nothing to get excited about. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were reheated many times. The green beans were way over cooked. The crab was acceptable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding as usual.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always have an exceptionally great time when we do go to Rockafellas we have taken several friends and always our expectations are met and exceeded by the service and the food

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Valentines Day early Birds

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had reservations for 4:30 on Valentines day. We were treated to a table by the window with a great view. The place was packed and bustling - but the service was great and the food was too. They did not up their prices for the special day like some of the other places, in fact the waiter pointed out the list of early bird specials which were 3 course dinners for under $15.00. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

awesome

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and staff is amazing I love it never have any complaints.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2016 Valentines Date

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a buzzy night but the staff was quick and we where never rushed. My glass never ran out great job and a great group on staff

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner. Food was great. Service was good considering how busy. Prices moderate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentines Day Dining Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

The staff was friendly and service was exceptional. The appetizer, a stuffed crab cake, was delicious, but for $9, the quantity nor quality didn't justify the cost. The blue berry specialty drink was quite pleasing and my wife enjoyed her cocktail. The cornbread, was crumbly, but was moist without falling apart before you got it to your mouth. My wife had a pasta dish with assorted seafood, shrimp and oysters if I recall, that she enjoyed. It was $20, and she took half of it home because she couldn't finish it. I had the specialty dish for the evening, a bacon wrapped steak, with a vegetable medley and cheesy mashed potatoes. I am lactose intolerant and they had an alternative of red potatoes for me. The food was good, but a bit cold, like it had sat under a heating lamp for a little while. I have food service experience and can tell when something has sat waiting to be used and when was just cooked. It cost nearly $30, and for the quality and even quantity, was not justified. I have heard great things about the restaurant, so I would like to eat there on another evening and try their other entree's before writing it off. It is not an upscale establishment, but when I say that I refer to the customers who patron there. Most of the people eating there couldn't be bothered to put on a collared shirt, let alone take off their fishing hats long enough to eat dinner on Valentines Day, but came in like they were lounging in hooded sweatshirts and rumpled t-shirts. Some patrons did wear some nice clothes though, dressing up for the occasion. The view was nice, but you have to have a seat near or by the window to appreciate it.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Did not rock our socks off.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Really busy Valentines weekend there... It appeared that our waitress was doing double duty as the bartender as well. That being said, it took quite a while to get our food, and when we did receive it, it was cold. Sadly disappointed as I have heard great things about this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING -- the drinks, th ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING -- the drinks, the food, the view and the server !! We would definitely recommend this place !!

food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Disappointed

Dined on February 1, 2016

Not as fancy as I expected. Almost a jeans and tshirt place. Service was great and food was ok.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Anniversary Lunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

I wanted to take my husband somewhere special for our 26th anniversary. My husband loves Oyster Rockafella so when I saw them on Rockafeller's menu, Rockafeller's was a no-brainer. Although the weather was rather nasty, we had a really good meal. I was really disappointed when our waitress, Maggi, came back to inform me that they were out of scallops. I decided to get the broiled flounder. I was concerned about getting the steamed broccoli because I have braces, but Maggi assured me that she would ask the chef to steam them a little longer so that I wouldn't have a problem chewing them. Maggi and the chef did a great job!!!! My husband hummed the entire time he ate his Oysters Rockafella! He also ordered the fried shrimp with fries and coleslaw with an order of hushpuppies. He enjoyed all elements of his meal except the hushpuppies. They were very dense and not very enjoyable so Maggi took them off of our bill. All in all, my choice to take my husband to Rockafeller's for our anniversary was a very good one!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was well prepared and tasty, and th ...

Dined on January 4, 2016

Food was well prepared and tasty, and there was plenty. We had good views and the service was excellent. We'll certainly come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Rockafellas after New Years Rush

Dined on January 2, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was pretty good. But one person in our group inquired about craft beers and our waiter just said he didn't know. He didn't check or offer to check. The guest ended up getting up to speak to the bartender himself. (And yes, they do have local craft beers). The waiter should have been more proactive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

She crab soup is the best around! 😊 I ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

She crab soup is the best around! 😊 I ordered a cup, because the bowl of soup is big enough to swim in, and a dozen Oysters Rockefeller, and it was the perfect meal! Great service, too.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great old Virginia Beach dig

Dined on December 24, 2015

Rockafellers is a great old place for me, have been going there for many , many years. Great food, good service and great servers, plus a scenic view.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.