About Rockafeller's Restaurant

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: (757) 422-5654

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (30)
Scenic View (23)
Casual (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was so-so. Crab and cheese dip. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was so-so. Crab and cheese dip.appetizer was decent. Main courses both had crab, but you couldn't tell. Was more like the crab with a "k". Very little flavor and what flavor it had was more like potato. It was a nice place a couple years ago. I don't see myself going back again. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Enjoyed a delicious combination seafood ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a delicious combination seafood plater on Valentines day. The shrimp was succulent and cooked to pefection. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not as good as I remember. Seafood was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not as good as I remember. Seafood was decent but portions much smaller. Also, we sat upstairs and while we had a decent waterfront view of the docks, it was really hot up there. Coconut cake was still incredible though!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food and atmosphere. Had been ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Had been a while since my last visit, but we were very pleased with our meals and the service we received. Our server was AWESOME! She kept our beverages full, table clean and always had a smile on her face. She took very good care of our group and made our visit a pleasant one.. Kudos to her, she is an asset to the Rockafellers establishment. Will definitely be back..

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a late Sunday afternoon dinner wi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a late Sunday afternoon dinner with friends and loved the early bird specials and our waitress, the adorable Lauren. The food was excellent, the view beautiful and the ambiance was warm inside while escaping chilly temps outside.

We hope to return soon.

Tags: , Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch. French toast was deca ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for brunch. French toast was decadent. Eggs benedict would have been good if it werent for the fact there were too many vegetables added.....took away from the taste of the actual benedict....just spinach would have been much better.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time going for brunch; outstanding ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First time going for brunch; outstanding eggs Benedict & the service was great!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice atmosphere with the water as back d ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere with the water as back drop. Place was almost empty. Service was great but my steak was very fattie! It was the special! I was very disappointed but it was late in the night so I just dealt with it. My friends meals were great ( seafood platter & flounder). Like my wife said why go to a seafood restaurant and order steak. I was there years ago and my meal was fantastic so I will chalk this one up to the Chef's thinking " time to go home in less than 1 hour"

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and great service. We want to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service. We want to go back during daylight hours to get a better view of the surroundings.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Rockafellers many times ov ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been to Rockafellers many times over the years. This is the first time the service was not great. Even though it was New Years, I saw waiters standing around.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service and food was very good, much mor ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and food was very good, much more food than expected. She crab soup was excellent and also had the shrimp and crab pasta and was surprised by how much there was, a little peppery but as expected with a classic Alfredo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant, food and service! Tha ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great restaurant, food and service! Thanks again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were outstanding. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. The view at Rudee Inlet is beautiful. It is off the beaten path some it has that local charm

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best BarB que shrimp.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best BarB que shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We visit VaBeach a few times a year for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We visit VaBeach a few times a year for 25+ years. Rockafeller's was always a MUST to go to. Well...that has changed. Meals used to be fabulous, never disappointed, but we're done.

My mahi (the size of a deck of cards) was on a mountain of rice topped with salsa and pea shoots (that was the only "vegetable"). For $25 not worth it, and some of my mountain of rice was cold, I was leery of finishing this meal. My husband's salmon was okay.

My son had the Crab, Shrimp and Scallop Pasta with marinara sauce (looked like hardly any seafood at all, and their homemade blueberry soda. The next morning he asked us if we felt ok, well, on our 7+hr drive home, had to pull over at least 10 times for him to puke his guts out. I said maybe scallops - he said there weren't any. Now there's no guarantee that he had food poisoning, but the rest of us never got sick so I don't think it was a virus, and this is the 2nd time in the past 6 years that he got sick after being there.

After mediocre meals the past handful times, won't be back- plenty of others good places to choose from.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Family dinner on Christmas Eve. Service ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Family dinner on Christmas Eve. Service and food was fantastic!

A beautiful view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed good food and polite service in ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed good food and polite service in the company of close family members.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal at Rockefellers. The S ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a great meal at Rockefellers. The She Crab soup is a must and is absolutely delicious. The staff is friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience at this restau ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always a great experience at this restaurant. The food is amazing and the service is great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch and service!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great lunch and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well, we were seated immediately which w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Well, we were seated immediately which was a plus. Our waiter was great, also a plus. But there's where the plusses end. The Seafood sampler appetizer was just ok, not worth $24.99. The dinners were flavorless and overcooked. I got the Tuna special with carrot ginger puree and quinoa. The tuna was "char crusted" and had zero flavor. My husband had the Waterman's trio. The crab cake was mashed to the bottom of the dish and so overcooked it stuck to the dish and had to scrap it off with a knife. The rest of the "trio" was a couple of dried out shrimp and scallops on top of the crab cake. It was awful. The appetizer was served in a timely manner but then we waited for at least 30 minutes to get our yuck dinner. We eat out twice a week every week at restaurants all over the tidewater area. This was by far our worst meal yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food and service were great, love the oy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food and service were great, love the oyster Rockefeller

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent early bird specials. Nice at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent early bird specials.

Nice atmosphere.

Good food.

Good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat. Went for the Prime R ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great place to eat. Went for the Prime Rib mondays. Excellent food, awesome service. Will be going back. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were visiting from out of town and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and three of us had dinner on a busy Friday evening. We each ordered something different and we all liked our selection. We sat at a window with a view of the fishing boats right outside. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday here. We had a group of 12 and the restaurant accommodated us easily. Our server was great and the all the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Rockafeller's for years an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Been going to Rockafeller's for years and they are still serving the best seafood in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a delightful lunch with polite a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Enjoyed a delightful lunch with polite and prompt service while engaging in casual conversation with luncheon guest and watching activity in the marina on a sunny and crisp winter afternoon. I plan on returning to this location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant could use a make over the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The restaurant could use a make over the seating is relatively uncomfortable. The clams casino appy did not live up to standards (with a piece of bacon on top of each clam) was pre-prepared and nearly burnt (cooked too long in the oven?) The she crab soup had plenty of crab meat in it but had a spice I did not recognize which made the taste off for me at least. Kudos for the crab cake which lived up to the advertisement that it had no fillers, which it did not, so all crab meat but rather on the small side, though the waitress said it was 8ozm seemed more like 6oz or less.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Rockafeller's has been one of the many V ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Rockafeller's has been one of the many Virginia Beach gems. Because I'm a native VB'er, I only go during the off season....that said, the food, staff and vibe remain great!

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, ambiance and birthday sur ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, service, ambiance and birthday surprise dessert .....perfect!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, , Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crawlers initoally were not steamed,then ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Crawlers initoally were not steamed,then they were . Could not eat them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for our anniversary and was glad we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went for our anniversary and was glad we tried it. Had the Thurs night Lobster special plus 2 apps (bbq shrimp and crab/lobster rangoons) and desert (chocolate mousse). All were amazing! Lots of windows for seeing the water. Service was spot on and the owner or manager checked on all the tables and was greeting people as they came in and thanking them as they left which was nice to see. Haven't seen that in a long time. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: , Cozy, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Thursday for their 2 lobster ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We went on Thursday for their 2 lobster special for $26.99. Lobsters were cooked well. We wanted a window seat but unfortunately was not able to get one. My wife got a fried shrimp meal for an early dinner special. The shrimp was good but they were small shrimp.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience with the food, atmosphe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great experience with the food, atmosphere, and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the staff wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We went in with our 6 month old baby, and were quickly accommodated in a large open space with plenty of room for the stroller, and we learned a high-chair trick from our server. The ambiance is upscale casual, open, very comfortable and friendly, perfect for group dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The $22/meal was an outstanding value. W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The $22/meal was an outstanding value. We got the Oysters Rockefeller and Barbeque Shrimp as an appetizer - and although we both don't like Oysters, we loved the appetizer !!

The $26.99 Crab Cakes were the main course, and were almost too much to eat, but we suffered through.

We picked the Key Lime Pie and Carrot Cake for dessert. The pie was great, the Carrot Cake a trifle too dry for our taste.

All-in-all an exellent value for our $44 + tax.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good food. Very good service. Right ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very good food. Very good service. Right in the harbor...very nice ambience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the best seafood I've had. Well ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Some of the best seafood I've had. Well worth the wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.