Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Rockafeller's Restaurant

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: (757) 422-5654

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Hop into Rockafeller's with family and friends to enjoy our award winning brunch.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Bring your Mother's to Rockafeller's with family and friends to enjoy our award winning brunch.

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (32)
Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Casual (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Local Ingredients (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Authentic (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were in town for the National High School Wrestling tournament and took 6 wrestlers & 8 adults and had a wonderful meal and time. Going back next year for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and atmosphere. A little pricey but in line with other restaurants in the area. We'll be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was average. Nothing superb but not bad either. They shrimp and ribs combo tasted the sane cause the same bbq was applied to both main items. So I was disappointed about that. The she soup was ok. Supposed to be their speciality. The hush puppies was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Pricing was disappointing for the food. Clams were very tiny for clams casino..couldn't taste clam.Wanted baked potatoe..was on online menu but not when got there. All in all Rudees has better food and service. Id go back to Rockafellers if menu changed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great view - great service - greeted as we walked up the boardwalk - come on in 😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were in town for the Shamrock Half Marathon. Being lent, we always come to Rockafellas for seafood on Friday. We were not disappointed. Great food, service, and ambiance. It wouldn't be a trip to the area without eating you this restaurant. The weather for the race was disappointed noting but not the meal at Rickafellas. See you next year Virginia Beach.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This place was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was a great value service from Yoko was outstanding

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The French toast and eggs benedict with lump crabmeat are the menu items we go there for. My nephew is obsessed with the oyster bar.

Great restaurant!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I have eaten at Rockafellers for 30 years I am from NC and visit each time I'm in Va. Beach. Great food and staff. Phil Murphy rocks!

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Had a wonderful lobster meal. Our waiter, Sean, was the best! He helped me with my whole lobsters since I was a rookie. Delicious!!

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful! Good service and a beautiful view of the marina. Also... It was the best salmon I've had yet!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The atmosphere, customer service and food was definitely outstanding. I plan on returning back this weekend for my girlfriend's bday and girls nite out. I'm so glad my business associates recommended Rockafeller because I was pretty much over eating at these restaurants in Va. because of their inconsistency with the food. Thanks Rockafeller!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

There was 3 people in our party and we had the bacon wrapped shrimp and the crab cake. Both were excellent and the crab cakes don't have filler in them like some restaurants. One person had the crab Rangoons as an appetizer and said it was wonderful. The key lime pie and chocolate mouse was an added pleasure. Highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We will certainly be back. It was a light Tuesday night, everything was perfect. The drinks, seafood were top notch. And our server was attentive - she was also very thoughtful, we weren't rushed at all at the close, very accommodating for our non-stop talking.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Seafood was excellent, sides were ok, frozen corn/cob served w/out butter, very soft, water-logged

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Visited on a Sunday night after 6 and enjoyed the experience. Party of five and all enjoyed the food. They were appropriately staffed but a trio of large parties claimed more of the attention of the assigned servers. Found out carrot cake is seasonal and not available in the spring. While it was an unseasonably warm day, February is solid winter in my book. Good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservation for 7pm and so did 3 other parties and we all still had to wait over an hour to be seated. The food was not what I expected it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I was more than a little disappointed. I had heard good things about the food there. However each person in our party ordered seafood all different fish and all of the fish were very dry and bland cold vegetables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We made a reservation and were seated promptly. The waitstaff was appropriately attentive (just right). Oysters Rockafeller is the best I have ever experienced. The menu has many choices for everyone plus a good variety of specials. My wife's dinner and my dinner were excellent. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great meal. Pretty view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Average food. Good scenery during the day but not in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was so-so. Crab and cheese dip.appetizer was decent. Main courses both had crab, but you couldn't tell. Was more like the crab with a "k". Very little flavor and what flavor it had was more like potato. It was a nice place a couple years ago. I don't see myself going back again. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious combination seafood plater on Valentines day. The shrimp was succulent and cooked to pefection. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not as good as I remember. Seafood was decent but portions much smaller. Also, we sat upstairs and while we had a decent waterfront view of the docks, it was really hot up there. Coconut cake was still incredible though!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. Had been a while since my last visit, but we were very pleased with our meals and the service we received. Our server was AWESOME! She kept our beverages full, table clean and always had a smile on her face. She took very good care of our group and made our visit a pleasant one.. Kudos to her, she is an asset to the Rockafellers establishment. Will definitely be back..

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a late Sunday afternoon dinner with friends and loved the early bird specials and our waitress, the adorable Lauren. The food was excellent, the view beautiful and the ambiance was warm inside while escaping chilly temps outside.
We hope to return soon.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went for brunch. French toast was decadent. Eggs benedict would have been good if it werent for the fact there were too many vegetables added.....took away from the taste of the actual benedict....just spinach would have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First time going for brunch; outstanding eggs Benedict & the service was great!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Nice atmosphere with the water as back drop. Place was almost empty. Service was great but my steak was very fattie! It was the special! I was very disappointed but it was late in the night so I just dealt with it. My friends meals were great ( seafood platter & flounder). Like my wife said why go to a seafood restaurant and order steak. I was there years ago and my meal was fantastic so I will chalk this one up to the Chef's thinking " time to go home in less than 1 hour"

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service. We want to go back during daylight hours to get a better view of the surroundings.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have been to Rockafellers many times over the years. This is the first time the service was not great. Even though it was New Years, I saw waiters standing around.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and food was very good, much more food than expected. She crab soup was excellent and also had the shrimp and crab pasta and was surprised by how much there was, a little peppery but as expected with a classic Alfredo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great restaurant, food and service! Thanks again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. The view at Rudee Inlet is beautiful. It is off the beaten path some it has that local charm

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Best BarB que shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Family dinner on Christmas Eve. Service and food was fantastic!
A beautiful view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed good food and polite service in the company of close family members.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Had a great meal at Rockefellers. The She Crab soup is a must and is absolutely delicious. The staff is friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always a great experience at this restaurant. The food is amazing and the service is great!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.