Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Rockafeller's Restaurant

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: (757) 422-5654

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
Scenic View (27)
Casual (25)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (13)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Before we get to the great food and service I'd like to mention parking. Had looked at the area on Google Maps and was afraid I would need to drop my wife off and then go find parking somewhere. To my delight the valet opened my wife's door and helped her out and then came around to get my key and give me my parking voucher. When we came out he recognized us and brought our car over to us. Our server, Courtney, was prompt, friendly and kept an eye out for us. My NY Strip was cooked a perfect medium-rare and the veggies (baby potatoes and green beans) were tasty. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her six Rockafeller oysters, blackened mahi and rice.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and quality service. Definitely would recommend to friends and family

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Best place to eat!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious, but the waiter was friendly, however not knowledgeable. I told him we've never eaten there before...leaving us guessing on what to order. I would return, hopefully different waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great. The food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great Service could not ask for a better server she was extremely friendly and made sure that we had everything we wanted.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

While the food wasn't bad, it wasn't stellar, either. Most of the hot dishes were served at room temperature or cold. I was very disappointed in the lack of healthy eating options for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service with the waitress and upper management were outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I love a place that has the ability to fix food the way you like. Example: Salmon can be fixed in about 5 different ways which will accommodate anyone's palate. In my case I needed poached with no seasonings. It was excellent. Everyone else enjoyed their seafood combinations. The view of the boats and water with an added rainbow set the early night hour.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Ordered the market salmon. It was cooked well but underseasoned. Also , I felt the side portions should have been bigger . Also, it would be nice if they would let you chose sides. Also , bathrooms are small and not suitable for changing a child. There is no changing table.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Crab Stuffed Fresh Flounder was amazing!
Delicious and a very generous portion.
Watermans trio
The crabcake and scallops were tender and flavorful. The the shrimp dry.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Came here to treat my mom to dinner. Our server was nice but not very attentive especially compared to the other servers. He looked young so I'll write it off as him being new. The food was awesome. We both had a cup of she crab soup which was the best I've had. And for dessert we had the mousse which was to die for. Kind of expensive considering the casual dining atmosphere but the view is so peaceful

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service! Visited Rockafeller's Restaurant for mother's day. We had a party of 6 but had a few people running behind. Our table was ready and they let us order drinks and appetizers while we waited for the rest of our party to arrive. My boyfriend ordered a bloody mary and I ordered the raspberry mimosa. The drinks had mostly alcohol that I wasn't expected for brunch. We tried the calamari as an appetizer. The calamari was not as crispy as I was expecting. We were very happy with our entrees. I ordered the crab cakes with tarragon relish and was very happy. The crab had no filler and tasted so fresh. My boyfriend had the shrimp and grits and he was very happy with his entree as well. We also split the she crab soup, by far the best she crab soup I've had. If you are looking for a nice spot for a group this is the place to go. The crab cakes are a must try!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mother's day brunch. Great food and service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love the setting, service and most of what we ordered. The eggs Benedict were great as usual. The seafood omelet was tasteless. And we were disappointed with the poor coffee. Not restaurant quality. Wouldn't return if it weren't for the atmosphere/setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We go several times a month always a great time thanks

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really enjoyed. First timer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I was underwhelmed. The food was under seasoned . Burger very dry. Crabmeat on the burger was extremely bland. Missing acidity. Crab and shrimp quesadilla was pretty tasty but the cream cheese is slightly overboard and not enough crab. The shrimp and crab hushpuppies had very little of either and the cornbread was sweet. I won't necessarily have to visit again. The service was on the high end of the lower side. Overall, I wasn't impressed and not sure I will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went for Mother's Day and had an amazing meal. The crabcakes and crab dip were great. Our waiter was on top of everything and very accomodating with children's requests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food and service was awesome! I believe our Server's name was Yoko! She was so friendly and knowledgeable about the menu! We will def be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and environment. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was OK, not great. There was not a smaller choice for the fried food option, perhaps a shrimp platter, fish and shrimp, etc. When we finished eating, we felt as if we were being rushed to leave. The waiter first took our glasses, returned and took our silverware, he even came back a third time and took our napkins. A clear indication that he wanted us to leave. I understand that it was graduation night, and maybe they needed the seating, but we were made to feel as if we needed to leave immediately. I was in town to visit friends, and the visit was tarnished by the experience. We will not return, nor recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We arrived only 5 mins before our reservation, I wanted to set up our table before the rest of the party came because I was going to ask my cousins to be junior bridesmaids. The guy at the front was either the manager or the owner but he was and older white haired man made it seem that we were not important like the other bigger tables. He said that we were 1 small group out of larger parties( which none were there yet and arrived hours after us). He promptly told us that we should wait for the rest of our party but I told him I called in advance and asked the girl who answered phone if we could set up special gifts before and she said we could. The man rolled his eyes and put our table together. The fact we were less than 5 mins before our reservation and they seemed like they were not ready for us, it was kind of sad. On a higher note our waitress Lolita (sp?) was awesome! She was attentive and quick! Food and cocktails were great. It was super loud and hard to talk to the person sitting next to me... may come back but perhaps only for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's graduation from ODU with 16 people in the upstairs room. Food was great, atmosphere was awesome and the server was excellent...very accommodating!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was really good although it was not enough for the pricing. Our server could have been more friendly but the view of the water made up for her attitude. I would try this place again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Rockafellers is always one of our top choices for seafood and a pleasant meal. The fish tacos are a favorite. Would definitely recommend for any occasion. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were in town for the weekend. It was recommended by the person checking us in at our hotel. The she crab soup was good, and I really enjoyed the blueberry soda. Very refreshing! Our server was pleasant. My husband and I both ordered the trio that contained shrimp, crab, scallops, green beans, and potatoes. The food was good, but I wish I could've chosen my sides. The green beans and potatoes were mediocre, and of course we were served huge portions of that.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This place has great food and treats customers right. I love coming here. The rum cake is delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was our second time dining there- food was excellent both times!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good food, good people. We take customers there at least two times a year.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday and Easter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

the food was delicious.......server was on the ball......good service. love to look at the water no matter how many people in group.....People at Rockefellers........considerate....and treat us like gold........thank you..........

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Waterfront, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. I ordered the amaretto vanilla infused French toast. It was deep fried and had none of the flavor it promised. The egg dishes and service for very good. Location is very nice. They just need to cook the French toast on a griddle vs deep fry!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a very nice Easter Sunday Brunch. Although it's not a large menu, all of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The uptown shrimp & grits was one of the best shrimp & grits I have ever tasted. The next time we are back in Virginia Beach, we will definitely pop in for a meal again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

went there with the family and the food was very good. they didn't offer everything but what they have is excellent

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was overcooked and generally sub-par. Service left much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very nice ambience. Took the family there in a vacation to VA Beach. A little pricey but definitely worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good god and service

Tags: Waterfront, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was my first time visit and I truly enjoyed myself. Love to return back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.