About Rockafeller's Restaurant

308 Mediterranean Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
View Larger Map

When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Winston Salem Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 422-5654

Website:
http://www.rockafellers.com/

Parking Details:
Rockafeller's offers ease of parking via full time complimentary valets in season (May-September) as well as peak days off season. Free self parking is available all other days. Rockafeller's is easily accessible from the oceanfront and pedestrian/bike traffic is always welcome and just a short walk/ride from the Virginia Beach oceanfront.

Public Transit:
Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Mel Claiborne

Private Party Facilities:
At Rockafeller's, we're all about serving up the local flavor. Bring your appetite and the whole gang to our little slice of heaven at the end of Mediterranean Ave and Winston-Salem Avenue (5th Street), just minutes from the oceanfront. Corporate and office parties, family get togethers, and customer appreciation..no matter what the occasion, Rockafeller's banquet services let you shine while your guests dine! We can accommodate groups from 9-90 with private banquet facilities available upstairs!

Private Party Contact:
Brian Sutton: 757-422-5654x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oysters Rockafeller - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Bacon Wrapped Bbq Shrimp - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
fish tacos - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Hushpu - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
rum cake - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Smoked Tuna with vegetables - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Tidewater Steamer - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Steamed Shrimp - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Great Dismal Black Ipa - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Crab & Shrimp Hushpuppies - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Crabcakes - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Salmon - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Martini - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA
Ceasar Salad - Rockafeller's Restaurant, Virginia Beach, VA

Rockafeller's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (47)
Waterfront (46)
Casual (31)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (11)
Family Style (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were great, love the oy ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were great, love the oyster Rockefeller

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent early bird specials. Nice at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent early bird specials.

Nice atmosphere.

Good food.

Good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat. Went for the Prime R ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great place to eat. Went for the Prime Rib mondays. Excellent food, awesome service. Will be going back. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were visiting from out of town and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and three of us had dinner on a busy Friday evening. We each ordered something different and we all liked our selection. We sat at a window with a view of the fishing boats right outside. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday here. We had a group of 12 and the restaurant accommodated us easily. Our server was great and the all the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Rockafeller's for years an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Been going to Rockafeller's for years and they are still serving the best seafood in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant could use a make over the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The restaurant could use a make over the seating is relatively uncomfortable. The clams casino appy did not live up to standards (with a piece of bacon on top of each clam) was pre-prepared and nearly burnt (cooked too long in the oven?) The she crab soup had plenty of crab meat in it but had a spice I did not recognize which made the taste off for me at least. Kudos for the crab cake which lived up to the advertisement that it had no fillers, which it did not, so all crab meat but rather on the small side, though the waitress said it was 8ozm seemed more like 6oz or less.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Rockafeller's has been one of the many V ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Rockafeller's has been one of the many Virginia Beach gems. Because I'm a native VB'er, I only go during the off season....that said, the food, staff and vibe remain great!

Tags: Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service, ambiance and birthday sur ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, service, ambiance and birthday surprise dessert .....perfect!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crawlers initoally were not steamed,then ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Crawlers initoally were not steamed,then they were . Could not eat them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for our anniversary and was glad we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Went for our anniversary and was glad we tried it. Had the Thurs night Lobster special plus 2 apps (bbq shrimp and crab/lobster rangoons) and desert (chocolate mousse). All were amazing! Lots of windows for seeing the water. Service was spot on and the owner or manager checked on all the tables and was greeting people as they came in and thanking them as they left which was nice to see. Haven't seen that in a long time. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Thursday for their 2 lobster ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We went on Thursday for their 2 lobster special for $26.99. Lobsters were cooked well. We wanted a window seat but unfortunately was not able to get one. My wife got a fried shrimp meal for an early dinner special. The shrimp was good but they were small shrimp.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great experience with the food, atmosphe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great experience with the food, atmosphere, and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the staff wer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We went in with our 6 month old baby, and were quickly accommodated in a large open space with plenty of room for the stroller, and we learned a high-chair trick from our server. The ambiance is upscale casual, open, very comfortable and friendly, perfect for group dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The $22/meal was an outstanding value. W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The $22/meal was an outstanding value. We got the Oysters Rockefeller and Barbeque Shrimp as an appetizer - and although we both don't like Oysters, we loved the appetizer !!

The $26.99 Crab Cakes were the main course, and were almost too much to eat, but we suffered through.

We picked the Key Lime Pie and Carrot Cake for dessert. The pie was great, the Carrot Cake a trifle too dry for our taste.

All-in-all an exellent value for our $44 + tax.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good food. Very good service. Right ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very good food. Very good service. Right in the harbor...very nice ambience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some of the best seafood I've had. Well ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Some of the best seafood I've had. Well worth the wait.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait staff is incredible. We had two ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The wait staff is incredible. We had two small children in the party and our waiter went out of his way to make sure they were happy and enjoyed their meals. He was very patient with all of us as we were very busy talking and trying to catch up with each other. Even with all of our distractions, we were well taken care of.

The food was excellent.

And always save room for the rum cake!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My grilled tuna was very good and since ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My grilled tuna was very good and since it was the early bird special the key lime pie was included - which was also good, as was my wife's complimentary dessert of chocolate mousse. However, my wife ordered the shrimp pasta and it was terrible. The shrimp tasted very strong - as if they were raw and weren't grilled and the noodles were tasteless. I would recommend this place with hesitancy . . all the dishes are not as good as others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Greeted immediately Seated quickly....dr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Greeted immediately

Seated quickly....drinks were very good..food was excellent..enjoyed very much,..would definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were very pleased with the service, f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We were very pleased with the service, food and atmoshere. Service was very quick. The food was excellent and we had a very pleasant time. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked the reservation for 8 PM. When ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We booked the reservation for 8 PM. When we arrived at the restaurant at 7:50 , the greeter checked the computer, read our name off and then entered it on the wait list at the bottom along with everyone else was already there. I assumed that my reservation would've been put on the list as soon as I received confirmation of it, not when I showed up. If that is the policy, then why would anyone use this service?

I was also told we wouldn't be seated at eight because the kitchen was backed up. Which begs the question, if the kitchen was backed up, why was the restaurant still taking reservations?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great local restaurant. Food is excelle ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great local restaurant. Food is excellent and service once seated is good. HOWEVER......reservations do not seem to take precedence over walk-ins.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you can get past the incredibly grump ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

If you can get past the incredibly grumpy old guy at the door without turning around and leaving then the server was great and the food good. Seriously, we had a reservation and when we arrived on time I gave our name and said so to the hostess. This man descends and says it will be ten minutes and we can wait at the bar. When I mentioned we had a reservation he still very abruptly said it would be ten minutes and how did he know we had a reservation. Friendly greeting would not be in his vocabulary. When we opted to wait on the bench outside our table only took a couple of minutes. Won't be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great. We were party of 10> Eve ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great. We were party of 10> Everyone left full and happy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed Rockafellers for date nig ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Really enjoyed Rockafellers for date night with my wife. Food was amazing! Ambiance lacks a little something... mostly music. Great views of Rudee's inlet and fun to watch boats moving in and out of the harbor. Would recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

fun place to go wish you still had the l ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

fun place to go wish you still had the lobster omletd

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really pleasant first time experience. W ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really pleasant first time experience. Went for Sunday Brunch. Good value. Good quality. Nice drink specials. Pleasant staff. Would definitely go back and recommend to others. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food. Good atmosphere. Loved the v ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Good atmosphere. Loved the valet parking.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I were on vacation and this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation and this was the best seafood dinner we have ever had. We travel to Va. every year and We would definitely go back the Rocketfellers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good. However, the broi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was good. However, the broiled shrimp were over cooked and the noise level was very load. I couldn't hear the person across the table from me. Everything else on the plate was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent as well as the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was excellent as well as the menu choices and the food. Although we were freezing and it was very noisy and that was probably because there were too many people in such a small space.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rockafeller's Restaurant was perfect for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rockafeller's Restaurant was perfect for accommodating a large "fussy"group of kids

& adults. The menu had a variety of great food! We were there celebrating our daughters engagement, September 17, 2016.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rockafellers never disappoints and they ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Rockafellers never disappoints and they have some really good early bird specials.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed the crab cake and bacon wrapped ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Enjoyed the crab cake and bacon wrapped barbecue shrimp and it was delicious. Husband ordered the seafood trio, the scallops and shrimp were very small although everything tasted delicious.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went with a group of 8 and had an outsta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went with a group of 8 and had an outstanding meal. All food was great, especially the fresh catch seafood. Good selection of seafood options, fresh oysters and beer. Wait service was very good. Easy parking. Great view of the waterfront.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Average food

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We went for the Lobster Special. Might ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We went for the Lobster Special. Might have been the best lobsters we've ever eaten. Done to perfection! Would go back next Thursday if we were still in Virginia Beach.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Look forward ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Look forward to dining here whenever we vacation in VA Beach

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great ! They handled ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant was great ! They handled the special order of flowers very professionally.

The food and drinks were wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.