About Robust

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: 3149630033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saint Angel, Rhone Alps, France - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Spanish chorizo - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Tenuta Monteti Cabrunio 2008 - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Halibut Reuben - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Seared Sea Scallops - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Sea Scallops, Basil Polenta & Crispy Pancetta - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Roasted Beet Salad - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Platinum Blonde Wine Flight - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Baked Camenbert - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Pork Tenderloin With Root Vegetable Gratin - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Spinach Salad with Butternut Squash, Goat Cheese and Marcona Almonds - Robust, Webster Groves, MO

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Webster Groves ›

Notable Wine List (30)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Tapas (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible Sommelier developed wine list ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Incredible Sommelier developed wine list. Knowledgeable and helpful sommeliers. One of the best wine experiences an aficionado can have.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food. Great selection ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Consistently good food. Great selection of wine and beer. Had lunch with my kids who were in town for the holiday. We got vastly different things and all went away satisfied. Solid.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I had a nice dinner at Rob ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My friend and I had a nice dinner at Robust. We loved the small plates we ordered—the asparagus and smoked chicken flatbread. The best part though was the cocktails. She ordered their twist on the margarita with sparkling wine, and I got the Love Potion. Both were light, refreshing, and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at Robust. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Robust. Our server was John and he was great!

We were celebrating a job promotion and a girls night out. The food was great. A little

on the pricey side but it was fun! Will definitely recommend to friends for a great night out and

very good wine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an excellent experience overall. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent experience overall. Most wine was dead on arrival but that is what you expect in a wine bar. Wish we could find wines from Anderson Valley, ca. Handley, Elke, Toulouse to name a few. I found an amazing wine from the take me to bed flight. We ordered three more glasses and they were corked. It's customary to taste a new bottle before you serve it to your customers. Our wonderful waiter, Joshua, brought our wine from another bottle. The food was amazing. Loved the charcuterie and the cheese dishes. My crab cakes were amazing and my wife's and her friends prefix was great. Deserts were better than most restaurants in STL. We are from SF Bay Area and paid 1990 Bay Area prices. Not bad but much higher for some of the dead wine we tasted. We will be coming back and looking forward to it. Keep up the good work and thanks for excellent service Joshua.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time visit and we were blown away. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time visit and we were blown away. Wait person was superb and took care of food allergy issues. Chef modified dishes to leave out garlic or put the sauce on the side. Wine list extensive and our selections were served at the right temperature. Food was excellent without exception. We went because it was near our theater and will absolutely visit again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Table off to the side as requested! Was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Table off to the side as requested! Was not super busy. Service decent. Good food. Wine was good selection.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Josh was excellent wait staff, noise lev ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Josh was excellent wait staff, noise level to high by a group that overtook the bar area. Was not conducive to enjoying a $150 dinner. Other patrons moved as soon as they heard the noise.

Management should have-could have ushered them into a different area. Food quality was superb. Will come again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Im not easy to impress when it comes to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Im not easy to impress when it comes to resturants and food. I'm very picky!!The food was amazing! I had scallops and they were perfect. Atmosphere was wonderful and the server was too. I will most definitely be going back. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable waiter; ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable waiter; awesome chef cheese board; loved our wine flights; the scallop entree was delicious!

Cons: slightly on the loud side; the flatbread was very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a great place to share items. I ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is a great place to share items. It has a varied and unusual menu. As we were new to the restaurant, the waiter was attentive throughout our visit. He carefully explained the unusual menu (the food was sandwiched in the wine and drink menu), which was very helpful. Each night has wine or wine flight specials. A section of the space is a wine shop, with some wines promoted with special prices there also. The food was good, particularly the snapper.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was quite good. The manager was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was quite good. The manager was pleasant and we were seated right away. But the service was terrible. The waiter did not come to our table until we'd been sitting for 10 minutes and it took an hour to get the food. We had a relatively simple order--a few small plates. He didn't check on us and didn't seem apologetic given the obvious delays in receiving our food. Then he accidentally charged our card for the table for 4 next to us, so that our card had 2 charges. Good food, terrible and slow service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Always a great stop before the Rep Theat ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always a great stop before the Rep Theatre....delicious specials and enjoyed our wine flights!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was quite knowledgeable on wi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was quite knowledgeable on wines and beer even making suggestions based on our preferences. He was helpful in suggesting gluten free options that we could share and have a well rounded meal. Everything was delicious. Try the shrimp and grits despite any preconceived notions you have on grits!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Recent Saturday night dining. Placed at ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Recent Saturday night dining. Placed at bistro table in area of wine shop. A little tight spacing. My wife and I shared a few small plates, cheese and crab cakes, as well as each had a bowel of chowder. All were tasty. Enjoyed a moderately priced bottle of red wine as well. We have visited about a half dozen times and will continue to return, although high bistro seating is getting a little tougher for us 65+ seniors!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience--as usual!!! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was a great experience--as usual!!! I love this place!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! It gets crowded (bec ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love this place! It gets crowded (because it is so good!) and all that customer traffic means everything's a little noisier, a tad slower. Worth any bother, though--the food is delicious every time, well-prepared, and well-presented! The wine pairings are good and the servers I've encountered there really seem to have a decent knowledge of wine and can discuss it meaningfully. The staff is always friendly and welcoming, from the front door to the back room. I consider it a little pricey yet I feel it was a good/very good value for weekend dining. The weekday pricing specials are a very good/excellent value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dining experience at one o ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Another great dining experience at one of our local favorites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and eats but ☹️️too loud w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great service and eats but ☹️️too loud we were placed next to very large noisy party should have seated us and other guests in another room

Was difficult to have dinner conversation

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

The Foid was creative and very good. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The Foid was creative and very good. The atmosphere was fun and we had very good service.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out food and wine were wonderful. Our s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Out food and wine were wonderful. Our server was very rude. We had a large party but the place was not crowded as it was a Tuesday night. I have always loved this place but would not want to come back and risk getting that same server. He was completely rude and short with our entire party as if we were a bother to him. He needs more training and customer service skills.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Very nice restaurant. Food always good

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Food always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We did not enjoy our experience at Robus ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We did not enjoy our experience at Robust. Definitely won't be back for dinner. Possibly wine at the bar if someone asks us to meet there. Otherwise, no thanks. The host was more than pleasant and polite upon our arrival, unfortunately he was quickly interrupted and overpowered by our ridiculously rude waitress. She was inattentive and just plain rude from start to finish. We arrived a little before 5:30 and were one of about 3 or 4 tables in the whole place. However, we waited so long for everything that we didn't get to leave the place until 7:50! The food was nothing to go back for and specifically I was really disappointed when I ordered Robust Chowder with "rock shrimp" and it was served to me with AN overcooked Baby Cocktail Shrimp. That's false advertisement and not what we paid for....The place was a joke in my opinion

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We were pleasantly surprised. Robust is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. Robust is in a strip mall which is an iffy proposition in itself, but the dining experience far exceeded our expectations. They have an excellent wine list, feature local sources, and provide very good value. Next time we are in St. Louis we will return.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always spectacular wine and excellent se ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Always spectacular wine and excellent service. I will return over and over. The salted caramel dessert is the best dessert in town.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a friend out for a birthday lunch - ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Took a friend out for a birthday lunch - snagged a table on their lovely patio - the weather was gorgeous - food and entire experience was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and drinks were fine... Nothing spe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and drinks were fine... Nothing special. The servers were nice, but the hostess was rude and acted annoyed because we didn't want to sit at the bar to eat. They were busy and possibly overbooked(?). I would go back for a drink, probably wouldn't do the whole reservation/dinner again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Good food, wine, service and atmosphere. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Good food, wine, service and atmosphere. Had a good meal and a great time!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I had made a reservation more than a wee ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had made a reservation more than a week ahead of our dinner for 5 people. We ended up at a table for 4 with a chair stuck at the end of the table. Our server seemed more concerned with setting up a larger table than taking care of us. Wine was very good. Food was good but overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was timely, food was well prepar ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was timely, food was well prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite places for small pla ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2016

One of our favorite places for small plates and wine. Did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, had a nice dinner very enjoy ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal, had a nice dinner very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The 3 course menu offers a great selecti ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The 3 course menu offers a great selection at a great price. The menu has so many choices along with their wine selection.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a date. Good for conver ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a date. Good for conversation as the noise level was low. The food was good, be sure to check out the prie fixe menu which is a great value. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robust Wine Bar in Webster is a great pl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Robust Wine Bar in Webster is a great place for dinner. Nicely prepared and presented dishes expertly paired with wine suggestions from very good wait-staff. Good selection of small sharable plates along with few substantial selections for a full dinner. Very good attentive but not smothering waitress kept the selections moving along. Save room for deserts. Convienient free parkeing nearby. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robust has been a Webster gem for many y ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Robust has been a Webster gem for many years. The menu evolves with the seasons which gives the diner a unique taste every time they go there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always enjoy sitting outside and havi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always enjoy sitting outside and having a wine flight and the small plates to share. It is a fun way to visit with other wine loving friends that also enjoy experimenting with different foods.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have the best time at Robust!!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2016

I always have the best time at Robust!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server seemed not to care that we ne ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our server seemed not to care that we needed service. He was involved in a conversation at the bar. He was also drying glasses. I made eye contact with him, raised my hand and he nodded. He did not come to the table. My husband did the same thing with the same result. Finally, he came over and said he was involved in a conversation with someone at the bar that he couldn't get out of, no apology extended. From putting the menus and water glasses down, we had no contact with him for 20 minutes. What the heck.

That said, our food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.