Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi

About Robust

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: (314) 963-0033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

NotableWineList (27)
NeighborhoodGem (19)
PrePostTheatre (17)
See All
CreativeCuisine (17)
TastingMenu (16)
SpecialOccasions (15)
Foodies (15)
GoodForDates (15)
BarSeating (14)
Tapas (13)
Cozy (12)
OutdoorDining (9)
Birthdays (9)
Anniversaries (9)
Romance (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
PeopleWatching (7)
HappyHour (7)
WorthTheDrive (7)
QuickBite (6)
VibrantBarScene (6)
Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
HotSpot (5)
BusinessMeals (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
Groups (4)
QuietConversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Brunch (3)
LiveMusic (3)
SundayLunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
PrivateRoom (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
ScenicView (2)
DisabledAccess (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
GreatBeer (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
GlutenFree (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
LateNightFind (1)
Vegan (1)
ComfortFood (1)
Sort By:
S
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Easy, delicious, pleasant. Great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We were there for Paella on the Patio, but it was so crowded that the paella sold out quickly. I am hoping they do it again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Dinner on the patio, quiet and enjoyable. First time with new menu so we tried new things. Food was good, wine was great! Service was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

To call Robust a "wine bar" doesn't do it justice. Yes, the wine selections and wine flights are well chosen, but the food (whether snack or meal) is pretty outstanding, as well.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We enjoy Robust & dine there a couple times a year. We enjoy the Mediterranean style menus & the wine list/tasting menu. Wait staff is knowledgeable about wines & menus. Relaxing venue.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2017

It was fantastic! Food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My daughter recommended the restaurant. My friend & I were very pleased with the food & service. Robust created a very nice presentation of food and service.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great service & fun wine flights! Food was great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Amy was awesome. SHe gave us great selections on everything we ate and drank and everything was wonderful!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had a great meal before the Opera Theatre-the change in the menu was nice from our last dining experience in 2016

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I'd say ambience is good too even though we sat outside. Food was good, and presented nicely. Very friendly server, splitted our shared potion into two dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful spot with well-planned menu and Thursday night live music appropriate for the location!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Server was very mixed up. never went over menu or special for the day, also had bills wrong at end. I think they were short handed. Considering it was Mother's Day they should've had a back up plan. Food and wine was good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service. The staff really know their wines well. Food was also very good. Try the scallops dish and the duck bacon dish. You won't be disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very relaxing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was excellent, service was about average. However, the kitchen is not properly ventilated so a lot of the smoke escapes into the dining area irritating ones eyes. A very unpleasant experience due to this!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our server was the best we had while in St. Louis. Food was great and hot! My son experienced a nice tasty meal!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Menu hasn't changed much over the years. Would like to see more variety of entrees and appetiziers.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The onion soup and turkey presse sandwich were amazing at Robust! Fresh, rich, and just the right textures to every bite. For a lunch spot that wasn't too crowded the service is a tad slow but if you can take a little time the food is worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a great place for wine lovers They offer several different flights of wines, 3 glasses of same variety

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great spot for girlfriends lunch. Try the wine flights...great way to sample.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Reliable service, excellent food with some seasonal changes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Love the selection of wine flights. Nice patio, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Robust is a quiet, cozy place to enjoy a special dinner with friends or a night out for wine. The wine selection is fantastic as is the knowledge of the servers. The baked Camembert cheese is my favorite.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We went for lunch but the food took forever. By the time we got it it was almost dinner. We were one of three tables so it wasn't even busy. This is the second time in a row I have gone with terrible service. What is happening g to Robust?!?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

What a perfect night for our 25th wedding anniversary. Our waitress Sarah was fun, knows her food, and very helpful for wanna be foodies and wine enthusiasts. All plates were delicious, unique and perfectly prepared.

We were seated during a busy time, so we decided to order all of our plates at the beginning asking them to pace the plates. The servers brought the last 3 plates (including the 2 main entrees) at once. We politely told the servers that we wanted them paced, and they immediately, without us asking, took the 2 entrees back and the chef's prepared new entrees and served us 15 minutes later. What a class act!

We shared 5 plates, 4 glasses of wine, and chocolate lava cake with expresso ice cream for $140 which included 20% tip. Expensive night, but we splurged for our anniversary and have no regrets. One of our best St Louis dining experiences yet. It was fun. We will be back.

They could improve the ambiance by stocking the wine in racks instead of the cardboard boxes.

Other than the boxes, this wine bar is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great service from start to finish. Very kind and knowledgeable staff! Will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

As first time visitors we were very impressed by the ambiance and the food. We only ordered appetizers but they were excellent. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Went there before going to the Rep. Great food choices, LOTS of wine choices, perfect for a pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

First time. Went for quick lunch before theater. Will go back..for dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food is excellent. Sitting outside on a lovely spring evening was nice. The check took my breath away, very expensive for what were essentially 3 appetizers and 3.5 glasses of wine -- almost $88 including the tip, for two people. Won't be doing that again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We always enjoy the tapas and wine at Robust. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is relaxed. My only complaint is that, even though we had a reservation, we were seated at a high table that was sort of pushed up agains some boxes of wine & we were interrupted a couple of times during our meal by servers who had to get some of the wines. Perhaps those spots could be kept for people without reservations or people just having a drink while waiting for a table. Otherwise, it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent quality food. Great selection of wines by the glass and the various flight configurations they have really offer a great wine experience. Wonderful food. Tapas style so lots of sharing of great tasting food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Robust is always delightful! Wonderful food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is our second time there and both times have delightful! Great atmosphere and their French Onion soup is spectacular!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Everything was great! Wine list was very extensive. Only odd thing was there charcuterie platter's were truly only the meet. If you wanted any crackers or cheese etc. it was all separate. They were cheese plates that were truly only cheese. I guess it's their way of getting you to spend eight to $10 on a cheese platter and then another eight to $10 on a meat platter. I thought that was interesting that there was nothing combined....each was separate for a wine bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious menu that changes regularly. Wine flights are a great way to sample. A bit noisy when it's crowded, but delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not a good value for the price; wine flights unevenly poured, food bland or not as described on menu (mushroom gratin with a glob of melted cheese on top and served on bread???), some of the dishes are just old and worn (cheese tray with one cheese, sprinkling of nuts, and a couple slices of dried apricot and fig - been done to death). Foie Gras was disgusting and slimy and served on some kind of apple danish which was way too sweet. Meatballs had odd taste and served in such a small bowl that you could easily overlook the grits on the bottom. Sundried tomatoes (talk about tired old menu items!!) and spinach flatbread was flabby and bland - not crisp at all.

We started with a nice table but then Robust decided to shove 5 grown ups at the 4-top next to us so everyone suffered with the crowding - way too rude for the money we were paying to be at Robust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The knowledge of wine and service are both outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great wine and cheese. Not many non-meat options. But the cauliflower was great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.