Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.08mi
  3. Distance: 2.09mi
  4. Distance: 2.39mi

About Robust

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: (314) 963-0033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (26)
Bar Seating (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Tapas (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a great place for wine lovers They offer several different flights of wines, 3 glasses of same variety

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great spot for girlfriends lunch. Try the wine flights...great way to sample.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Reliable service, excellent food with some seasonal changes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Love the selection of wine flights. Nice patio, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Robust is a quiet, cozy place to enjoy a special dinner with friends or a night out for wine. The wine selection is fantastic as is the knowledge of the servers. The baked Camembert cheese is my favorite.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We went for lunch but the food took forever. By the time we got it it was almost dinner. We were one of three tables so it wasn't even busy. This is the second time in a row I have gone with terrible service. What is happening g to Robust?!?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 31, 2017

What a perfect night for our 25th wedding anniversary. Our waitress Sarah was fun, knows her food, and very helpful for wanna be foodies and wine enthusiasts. All plates were delicious, unique and perfectly prepared.

We were seated during a busy time, so we decided to order all of our plates at the beginning asking them to pace the plates. The servers brought the last 3 plates (including the 2 main entrees) at once. We politely told the servers that we wanted them paced, and they immediately, without us asking, took the 2 entrees back and the chef's prepared new entrees and served us 15 minutes later. What a class act!

We shared 5 plates, 4 glasses of wine, and chocolate lava cake with expresso ice cream for $140 which included 20% tip. Expensive night, but we splurged for our anniversary and have no regrets. One of our best St Louis dining experiences yet. It was fun. We will be back.

They could improve the ambiance by stocking the wine in racks instead of the cardboard boxes.

Other than the boxes, this wine bar is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great service from start to finish. Very kind and knowledgeable staff! Will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

As first time visitors we were very impressed by the ambiance and the food. We only ordered appetizers but they were excellent. Definitely coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Went there before going to the Rep. Great food choices, LOTS of wine choices, perfect for a pre-theater dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

First time. Went for quick lunch before theater. Will go back..for dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food is excellent. Sitting outside on a lovely spring evening was nice. The check took my breath away, very expensive for what were essentially 3 appetizers and 3.5 glasses of wine -- almost $88 including the tip, for two people. Won't be doing that again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We always enjoy the tapas and wine at Robust. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. The atmosphere is relaxed. My only complaint is that, even though we had a reservation, we were seated at a high table that was sort of pushed up agains some boxes of wine & we were interrupted a couple of times during our meal by servers who had to get some of the wines. Perhaps those spots could be kept for people without reservations or people just having a drink while waiting for a table. Otherwise, it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent quality food. Great selection of wines by the glass and the various flight configurations they have really offer a great wine experience. Wonderful food. Tapas style so lots of sharing of great tasting food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Robust is always delightful! Wonderful food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is our second time there and both times have delightful! Great atmosphere and their French Onion soup is spectacular!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Everything was great! Wine list was very extensive. Only odd thing was there charcuterie platter's were truly only the meet. If you wanted any crackers or cheese etc. it was all separate. They were cheese plates that were truly only cheese. I guess it's their way of getting you to spend eight to $10 on a cheese platter and then another eight to $10 on a meat platter. I thought that was interesting that there was nothing combined....each was separate for a wine bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Delicious menu that changes regularly. Wine flights are a great way to sample. A bit noisy when it's crowded, but delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not a good value for the price; wine flights unevenly poured, food bland or not as described on menu (mushroom gratin with a glob of melted cheese on top and served on bread???), some of the dishes are just old and worn (cheese tray with one cheese, sprinkling of nuts, and a couple slices of dried apricot and fig - been done to death). Foie Gras was disgusting and slimy and served on some kind of apple danish which was way too sweet. Meatballs had odd taste and served in such a small bowl that you could easily overlook the grits on the bottom. Sundried tomatoes (talk about tired old menu items!!) and spinach flatbread was flabby and bland - not crisp at all.

We started with a nice table but then Robust decided to shove 5 grown ups at the 4-top next to us so everyone suffered with the crowding - way too rude for the money we were paying to be at Robust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The knowledge of wine and service are both outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great wine and cheese. Not many non-meat options. But the cauliflower was great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

AMAZING! Ourserver'Jenny'was top of the line. The taste pour helped us decide on a blend...and the small plates were wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was great! Our group of friends were treated like kings and we were happy and full when we left. Thank you for a fabulous night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went on a Monday evening and three out of the four dining ordered the sirloin. They were out of the sirloin. I think the menu is limited. When we got our bill we were charged for one of the sirloin dinners we never received. The food we had was delicious but small portions and pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Several years ago, I visited Robust in Webster and were really impressed. Living downtown, we were happy when Robust opened on Washington Ave. The ambiance at the downtown Robust far outweighs the Webster location. I thought the food was pretty good, but I'm not sure it will be on my top lists of places to frequent. For a wine bar, the selection was just OK. I think it would be good for those who are new to wine as it give you many options for tasting. They had a nice selection of cheese. We shared a few small plates, but in my opinion, was good, but not great. If you haven't been, I'd recommend trying it at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I've been going to Robust since it opened. Their wine selection is outstanding, and their servers are very knowledgeable. I've ordered lots of things and have never been disappointed. My friend loved the crab stuffed trout. The desserts are sensational!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I don't recommend the sirloin, but the remainder of the meal was great. Wine pairings suggested by our waiter, Josh, were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great small plates to share and wine flights to experiment with

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my favorite wine bar and night out spot! However I went for dinner with friends on Saturday, Feb 5th. The service was terrible..:...the worst. We had a table of 6 and had reservations for 5 pm (so they weren't busy). He got us drinks right away and then an hour or so went by and we still hadn't seen him and were starving. We had to flag the first person we saw to. Get him so we all could order dinner. Same thing happened when we wanted dessert and again when we wanted our bill. Our dinner turned into an all night ordeal. Not the same place I know and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was truly outstanding. The wine was superb. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service & food was excellent, and I would highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Pleasant experience. A little pricey- lunch for 3 with one wine flight each was $120

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Made a reservation and they sat us in the bar area with the busy bartenders as our waiter. Really not a good place for date night. I would recomend happy hour .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time here and loved it!! Food was creatively prepared and delicious. Server was terrific. We will definitely eat at Robust again!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food as always. The menu has wonderful variety. The wine list is awesome! The service is friendly and fast. Great value! We can't go there enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Service, Food, Wine & Atmosphere. I am looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and friendly staff. Also have a good wine selection with reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great wine list, nice selection of snack plates. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service including first rate wine education by Steve. The variety and quality of food makes for interesting food and wine pairings .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.