About Robust

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: 3149630033

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Webster Groves ›

notable wine list (55)
fit for foodies (45)
neighborhood gem (40)
See All
special occasion (26)
great for outdoor dining (20)
good for groups (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for lunch (17)
romantic (17)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience. Lots of shareable ap ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

A great experience. Lots of shareable appetizers and meals made it really fun to share! The wine flights were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every staff member we encountered was ve ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and seemed happy to be there. Spacious accommodation for a party of 7 and all service was prompt. Everything was delicious!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Robust experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

My first time visiting Robust . I enjoyed the Pear 75 and the Chef's Cheese sampler and Chef's Charcuterie Sampler, they're both a must!!!! We had a fabulous waiter, Joshua!!!! The Brick Chicken and The Sirloin Steak need work, neither was seasoned appropriately and the value just doesn't add up. I had a couple drinks and the bartender wasn't that great at making cocktails. I would say the food and drinks were very hit and miss. I would definately recommend the apple cobbler and salted caramel pot de creme as dessert options. This is a nice spot for indoor/outdoor dining. I would definately return to try other items and hangout. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I believe our servers name was Hannah. S ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I believe our servers name was Hannah. She was completely amazing! Left us alone when we needed it and also was able to recommend great choices in wine and food. We had a great experience and can't wait to return!!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friends, Great wines and wonderful food

Dined on April 7, 2016

A group of women met at Robust to reconnect and just catch up. We had terrific service including help in selecting wines that exceeded our expectations. The food was perfectly portioned and delicious. The ambiance was relaxed and yet we felt like we were "out on the town". Can't say enough good things about this lovely neighborhood wine bar and restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great server, yummy flight of red wine. ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great server, yummy flight of red wine. Goat cheese fonduta could have used more goat cheese, but was tasty. Shrimp and grits for dinner was delicious

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

dinner

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and our waiter was very patient with our difficult wine choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good time had by all

Dined on March 26, 2016

Robust is one of our "go to" places for good food, great wine selection and social comfort. I recommend it for all occasions. This last visit, our server, Hannah, was friendly, helpful and engaging. Great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food... small plates to share!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Wine list is excellent and servers are very knowledgeable... great neighborhood gem in Webster Groves

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine

Dined on March 10, 2016

A great neighborhood wine bistro. Servers very knowledgable and courteous.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine selection. Great atm ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great food and wine selection. Great atmosphere for a girls night out or date night. I have always had a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef is genius! We had a cheese pla ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The chef is genius! We had a cheese plate for an appetizer, shrimp grits and the dinner special as entrees for dessert we had the pretzel chocolate crunch. It was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

First and only

Dined on March 5, 2016

First time eating here and nothing to bring me back. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Atmosphere was terrible, we were seated in their wine shop area. Can't tell if its a restaurant or store. Food was just ok, the price was not worth it, assume they are pricing to meet the high rent of the area.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a great eveing

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Love stopping her for dinner before the Rep theater! Streak, butternut squash flatbread, scallops, and delicious cheese sampler board

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A great St Louis staple. Solid across the board.

Dined on March 3, 2016

When ever I return, I wonder why it has been too long. This is a very solid restaurant with a creative menu, great value, and an excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I was so glad to find this place. The fo ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

I was so glad to find this place. The food was excellent. Get the cheesecake! It's creamy and delicious. Loved the wine bar/cellar ambience. Great wine selection, and we both really enjoyed our wine flights. Our waitress was knowledgeable and delightful, and when we realized we were about to be late for our movie, our cheesecake and check came very quickly.

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food and wine but service poor

Dined on February 19, 2016

I was having birthday dinner with my girlfriends on a thursday evening. The waiter was knowledgeable regarding the menu, but after ordering our wine and appetizer, he pretty much disappeared. We wanted to order dessert, but waited so long for him to return that we just paid and left.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

The Valentine's Day menu was a bit under ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Valentine's Day menu was a bit underwhelming. Wine pairings didn't come out with food. Parts of dinner were over and under cooked.

food5
ambience4
service4

Good wine and excellent food. The duck c ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Good wine and excellent food. The duck confit was spectacular. Love the chowder.

food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Overly filled menu, uninspired dishes

Dined on February 14, 2016

The ambiance was nice and that was nice for an early Valentine's Day celebration but my wife and I really like good food. I don't think that we are to the point of being foodies but we have eaten at some spectacular places and grown to realize that price tag and outstanding cuisine don't always go hand in hand. We went with Robust's psudo fixed menu. We both had lobster bisque for starters, she followed with a duck dish and I had steak. I closed with creme brûlée and she with teramazu. None of the dishes were note worthy. We had the wine pairings and we both really liked the Chardonnay that was served with the soup. Also I quite enjoyed my old fashion, but that was about the highlight from a taste perspective.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The best part of Robust was the wine flights!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was good but oversalted and they didn't offer enough vegetables on the menu. Our server was not friendly. The wine selection is great with the option to choose one of their preselected wine flights or select your own.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, fun place

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit. Be ready to share your food as the plates are designed for that. Outstanding wine list with servers (We were served by Dorian and would really recommend you ask for him (not a dis to the other servers)) well versed in wine options which appeal to the customer's taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Your Average Wine Bar

Dined on January 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by the interesting wine flights and everyone chose a different tasting. I loved my Bubble Bath...sparkling wine flight and everyone enjoyed their choices. We all felt like the wine flights were a good value. We also ordered several plates for sharing. The mushrooms in the goat cheese were spectacular! We only wished we had more crostini to take advantage of the roasted garlic and onions--this was quickly remedied by our outstanding server. The risotto and scallops were also outstanding. Would definitely recommend this to a friend. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and delicious food

Dined on January 9, 2016

I've been here lots of times. It has always been great. Good service, great wine choices and very very good food. We always plan on coming back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great establishment!

Dined on January 9, 2016

I had heard of this restaurant but never had the opportunity to go there. I am very happy that we did go. I met my sister and her boyfriend there along with my wife. We had a great dinner and the food was very good, although it was just a little pricey for what you got. Still well worth it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great vibes.

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went to Robust for NYE and really enjoyed the food and wine. My only complaint would be that the server seemed very rushed and almost bothered if we asked for anything. I know things were busy because of the New Years crowds, but I felt like it hindered our dining experience, especially when you're paying this much for a nice meal. Overall, the food and atmosphere were great. I loved the photo booth outside for the special occasion and I would come back.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good New Year's Eve Dinner for Two

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was quite good, waiter was efficient and knowledgeable, New Year's Eve special was a good value at $50 pp. Ambiance is fine and what you'd expect from a nice neighborhood spot, although not extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Picked this restaurant for a long lunch ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Picked this restaurant for a long lunch with a few close friends. We will looking forward to exploring a few new wines and a relaxing atmosphere in which to share some time. This restaurant fit the bill. The multiple wine flight combinations offered choices for each person to try based on their preferences. The food portion sizes were appropriate and delicious. The servers were attentive. And the retail area with wine related gifts and bottled wine sales was a great surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb wines, attentive service

Dined on December 30, 2015

With excellent selections of wine flights and various size plates, this is a great place to enjoy time with family and friends, particularly if your group fully embraces "sharing" a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time!

Dined on December 22, 2015

It was an absolutely amazing time. The food was just as beautiful as it was delicious! Our waiter was Stephan, he was on top on everything! We had never been there before and he was so kind in how he guided us through the experience, but never in a pushy way. We were also restricted in time and he was so mindful of keeping the pace without rushing. We cannot wait to go back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food.

Dined on December 18, 2015

Good was great! Quaint space and great atmosphere. Service was mediocre. Server was not attentive and has to be tracked down on multiple occasions.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Helpful, knowledgeable server, delicious ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Helpful, knowledgeable server, delicious food, and great wine. A delightful evening!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, fabulous food

Dined on November 21, 2015

Went here for a ladies night out and it was wonderful. Many wine flights to choose from, server was very helpful. Be sure to save room for dessert, we really enjoyed the toffee pretzel chocolate mousse!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Webster gem

Dined on November 14, 2015

My hubs and I often find ourselves just wanting a glass of wine at thr end of the night and Robust is our go-to place. Great bartenders, super friendly staff in geNepal who genuinely care about their customers. Excellent food too and great for happy hour!! (Half price flights on Wednesdays!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Consistent & Very Good

Dined on November 14, 2015

This is our 3rd visit to Robust, Webster Groves this year. The food is consistently excellent, the wait staff is very professional, the experience keeps us coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Yum.

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was delicious but nothing compared to the wine. We had a lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy talk at happy hour

Dined on November 9, 2015

I met a girl friend for Happy hour, the service was outstanding and it was a great place to visit . The music was soft and We were able to have a conversation without yelling. We shared small plates and the food was excellent. Highly recommend for great wine and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent After Rep

Dined on October 25, 2015

We came here after the Repertory Theatre on Saturday night. It was about 7:15. We sat at the bar and had the baked Camembert and some wine (4 of us). Then it was no problem to get seated and we ordered several small plates and shared. It was so much fun that we ordered more wine(a good bottle). And another plate or two. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Good food when it finally arrives

Dined on October 21, 2015

We have dined at Webster Robust three times before going to the Rep in each of the last three years. On each occasion we have found the menu interesting, the waiter knowledgable and pleasant but on each occasion we found ourselves waiting far longer than we felt was reasonable for our dinners. We have always enjoyed the meal but we will not likely return on a night when we have an engagement afterwards. Being seated at 6:00 and having to rush roughly 2 miles to make the 8:00 curtain (with no dessert) is an excessively long meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service1

They lost my credit card. Really disappointing.

Dined on October 18, 2015

I paid with a credit card. It was not returned to me with the bill - only the slip. They said they really couldn't help me. I canceled the card. At midnight, they called and left a message that they found my credit card. Really? The cash register was about 10 feet from my table. Seems odd that it was lost in those 10 feet and then mysteriously discovered.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.