About Robust

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: 3149630033

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Saint Angel, Rhone Alps, France
Spanish chorizo
Tenuta Monteti Cabrunio 2008
Halibut Reuben
Seared Sea Scallops
Sea Scallops, Basil Polenta & Crispy Pancetta
Platinum Blonde Wine Flight
Roasted Beet Salad
Pork Tenderloin With Root Vegetable Gratin
Spinach Salad with Butternut Squash, Goat Cheese and Marcona Almonds
Baked Camenbert

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Webster Groves ›

notable wine list (48)
neighborhood gem (40)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
special occasion (27)
great for outdoor dining (26)
good for groups (14)
romantic (11)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for a date. Good for conver ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place for a date. Good for conversation as the noise level was low. The food was good, be sure to check out the prie fixe menu which is a great value. Extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robust Wine Bar in Webster is a great pl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Robust Wine Bar in Webster is a great place for dinner. Nicely prepared and presented dishes expertly paired with wine suggestions from very good wait-staff. Good selection of small sharable plates along with few substantial selections for a full dinner. Very good attentive but not smothering waitress kept the selections moving along. Save room for deserts. Convienient free parkeing nearby. Indoor and outdoor seating available.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robust has been a Webster gem for many y ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Robust has been a Webster gem for many years. The menu evolves with the seasons which gives the diner a unique taste every time they go there.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We always enjoy sitting outside and havi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We always enjoy sitting outside and having a wine flight and the small plates to share. It is a fun way to visit with other wine loving friends that also enjoy experimenting with different foods.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have the best time at Robust!!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I always have the best time at Robust!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server seemed not to care that we ne ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our server seemed not to care that we needed service. He was involved in a conversation at the bar. He was also drying glasses. I made eye contact with him, raised my hand and he nodded. He did not come to the table. My husband did the same thing with the same result. Finally, he came over and said he was involved in a conversation with someone at the bar that he couldn't get out of, no apology extended. From putting the menus and water glasses down, we had no contact with him for 20 minutes. What the heck.

That said, our food was delicious.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great wine list and flights with pairing ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great wine list and flights with pairing suggestions for food. Always enjoy eating here

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I love our date nights at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My husband and I love our date nights at robust! We are very find of their wine list and pairings. I highly recommend this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We both really enjoyed our dinner choice ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We both really enjoyed our dinner choices - I had the scallops and my husband had the chicken. Our server was filling in from the other location. It started off well but as dinner progressed, he was less attentive and someone else finally brought our check.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and wine outstanding. Our server, Hannah very nice and competent. Will definitely return .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a gem!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my girlfriend to Robust last Sunday evening and it was one of the best dining experiences we've had ever. We shared four plates - pate, salad, cheese and the scallops special, plus ordered a flight of 3 wines (Prosecco, Malbec and a Falanghina). Every single food item was prepared/presented expertly and was delicious in its own way. I don't know if I've ever had better scallops. We loved the wines so much we ended up buying a bottle of each to take with us. We will definitely go back and try some new things. Jenny C, who served us is very knowledgeable and helpful with the wine selection and is a delightful person. Full marks all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed ...the service was the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Very disappointed ...the service was the worst... This used to be a favorite 'Go To' but lately the food, staff and general ambiance is far lacking.... I anticipated that the Mission Taco food truck collaboration would be a hit, but it was a complete miss.... The service was horrible, the drinks were 1/2 the size and cost double.. Food was fair at best and not up to the quality it had been 1-2 years ago... Once again disappointed ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Love Robust!! Consistent yummy food, ser ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Love Robust!! Consistent yummy food, service & wine selection. Enjoyed outdoor dining with local live musician on beautiful Webster Groves evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great experience. Lots of shareable ap ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

A great experience. Lots of shareable appetizers and meals made it really fun to share! The wine flights were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every staff member we encountered was ve ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and seemed happy to be there. Spacious accommodation for a party of 7 and all service was prompt. Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Robust experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

My first time visiting Robust . I enjoyed the Pear 75 and the Chef's Cheese sampler and Chef's Charcuterie Sampler, they're both a must!!!! We had a fabulous waiter, Joshua!!!! The Brick Chicken and The Sirloin Steak need work, neither was seasoned appropriately and the value just doesn't add up. I had a couple drinks and the bartender wasn't that great at making cocktails. I would say the food and drinks were very hit and miss. I would definately recommend the apple cobbler and salted caramel pot de creme as dessert options. This is a nice spot for indoor/outdoor dining. I would definately return to try other items and hangout. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I believe our servers name was Hannah. S ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I believe our servers name was Hannah. She was completely amazing! Left us alone when we needed it and also was able to recommend great choices in wine and food. We had a great experience and can't wait to return!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friends, Great wines and wonderful food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

A group of women met at Robust to reconnect and just catch up. We had terrific service including help in selecting wines that exceeded our expectations. The food was perfectly portioned and delicious. The ambiance was relaxed and yet we felt like we were "out on the town". Can't say enough good things about this lovely neighborhood wine bar and restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great server, yummy flight of red wine. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great server, yummy flight of red wine. Goat cheese fonduta could have used more goat cheese, but was tasty. Shrimp and grits for dinner was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

dinner

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and our waiter was very patient with our difficult wine choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good time had by all

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Robust is one of our "go to" places for good food, great wine selection and social comfort. I recommend it for all occasions. This last visit, our server, Hannah, was friendly, helpful and engaging. Great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food... small plates to share!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Wine list is excellent and servers are very knowledgeable... great neighborhood gem in Webster Groves

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

A great neighborhood wine bistro. Servers very knowledgable and courteous.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine selection. Great atm ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great food and wine selection. Great atmosphere for a girls night out or date night. I have always had a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef is genius! We had a cheese pla ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The chef is genius! We had a cheese plate for an appetizer, shrimp grits and the dinner special as entrees for dessert we had the pretzel chocolate crunch. It was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First and only

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

First time eating here and nothing to bring me back. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Atmosphere was terrible, we were seated in their wine shop area. Can't tell if its a restaurant or store. Food was just ok, the price was not worth it, assume they are pricing to meet the high rent of the area.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Always a great eveing

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Love stopping her for dinner before the Rep theater!

Streak, butternut squash flatbread, scallops, and delicious cheese sampler board

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

A great St Louis staple. Solid across the board.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

When ever I return, I wonder why it has been too long. This is a very solid restaurant with a creative menu, great value, and an excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was so glad to find this place. The fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I was so glad to find this place. The food was excellent. Get the cheesecake! It's creamy and delicious. Loved the wine bar/cellar ambience. Great wine selection, and we both really enjoyed our wine flights. Our waitress was knowledgeable and delightful, and when we realized we were about to be late for our movie, our cheesecake and check came very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and wine but service poor

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I was having birthday dinner with my girlfriends on a thursday evening. The waiter was knowledgeable regarding the menu, but after ordering our wine and appetizer, he pretty much disappeared. We wanted to order dessert, but waited so long for him to return that we just paid and left.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The Valentine's Day menu was a bit under ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The Valentine's Day menu was a bit underwhelming. Wine pairings didn't come out with food. Parts of dinner were over and under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good wine and excellent food. The duck c ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good wine and excellent food. The duck confit was spectacular. Love the chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overly filled menu, uninspired dishes

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The ambiance was nice and that was nice for an early Valentine's Day celebration but my wife and I really like good food. I don't think that we are to the point of being foodies but we have eaten at some spectacular places and grown to realize that price tag and outstanding cuisine don't always go hand in hand.

We went with Robust's psudo fixed menu. We both had lobster bisque for starters, she followed with a duck dish and I had steak. I closed with creme brûlée and she with teramazu. None of the dishes were note worthy. We had the wine pairings and we both really liked the Chardonnay that was served with the soup. Also I quite enjoyed my old fashion, but that was about the highlight from a taste perspective.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

The best part of Robust was the wine flights!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was good but oversalted and they didn't offer enough vegetables on the menu. Our server was not friendly. The wine selection is great with the option to choose one of their preselected wine flights or select your own.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, great service, fun place

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit. Be ready to share your food as the plates are designed for that. Outstanding wine list with servers (We were served by Dorian and would really recommend you ask for him (not a dis to the other servers)) well versed in wine options which appeal to the customer's taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Your Average Wine Bar

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by the interesting wine flights and everyone chose a different tasting. I loved my Bubble Bath...sparkling wine flight and everyone enjoyed their choices. We all felt like the wine flights were a good value. We also ordered several plates for sharing. The mushrooms in the goat cheese were spectacular! We only wished we had more crostini to take advantage of the roasted garlic and onions--this was quickly remedied by our outstanding server. The risotto and scallops were also outstanding. Would definitely recommend this to a friend. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and delicious food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I've been here lots of times. It has always been great. Good service, great wine choices and very very good food. We always plan on coming back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great establishment!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I had heard of this restaurant but never had the opportunity to go there. I am very happy that we did go. I met my sister and her boyfriend there along with my wife. We had a great dinner and the food was very good, although it was just a little pricey for what you got. Still well worth it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great vibes.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went to Robust for NYE and really enjoyed the food and wine. My only complaint would be that the server seemed very rushed and almost bothered if we asked for anything. I know things were busy because of the New Years crowds, but I felt like it hindered our dining experience, especially when you're paying this much for a nice meal.

Overall, the food and atmosphere were great. I loved the photo booth outside for the special occasion and I would come back.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Good New Year's Eve Dinner for Two

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was quite good, waiter was efficient and knowledgeable, New Year's Eve special was a good value at $50 pp. Ambiance is fine and what you'd expect from a nice neighborhood spot, although not extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.