About Robust

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: (314) 963-0033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (31)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (11)
Tapas (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Modern Decor (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious menu that changes regularly. Wine flights are a great way to sample. A bit noisy when it's crowded, but delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Not a good value for the price; wine flights unevenly poured, food bland or not as described on menu (mushroom gratin with a glob of melted cheese on top and served on bread???), some of the dishes are just old and worn (cheese tray with one cheese, sprinkling of nuts, and a couple slices of dried apricot and fig - been done to death). Foie Gras was disgusting and slimy and served on some kind of apple danish which was way too sweet. Meatballs had odd taste and served in such a small bowl that you could easily overlook the grits on the bottom. Sundried tomatoes (talk about tired old menu items!!) and spinach flatbread was flabby and bland - not crisp at all.

We started with a nice table but then Robust decided to shove 5 grown ups at the 4-top next to us so everyone suffered with the crowding - way too rude for the money we were paying to be at Robust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The knowledge of wine and service are both outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Great wine and cheese. Not many non-meat options. But the cauliflower was great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

AMAZING! Ourserver'Jenny'was top of the line. The taste pour helped us decide on a blend...and the small plates were wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was great! Our group of friends were treated like kings and we were happy and full when we left. Thank you for a fabulous night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We went on a Monday evening and three out of the four dining ordered the sirloin. They were out of the sirloin. I think the menu is limited. When we got our bill we were charged for one of the sirloin dinners we never received. The food we had was delicious but small portions and pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Several years ago, I visited Robust in Webster and were really impressed. Living downtown, we were happy when Robust opened on Washington Ave. The ambiance at the downtown Robust far outweighs the Webster location. I thought the food was pretty good, but I'm not sure it will be on my top lists of places to frequent. For a wine bar, the selection was just OK. I think it would be good for those who are new to wine as it give you many options for tasting. They had a nice selection of cheese. We shared a few small plates, but in my opinion, was good, but not great. If you haven't been, I'd recommend trying it at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I've been going to Robust since it opened. Their wine selection is outstanding, and their servers are very knowledgeable. I've ordered lots of things and have never been disappointed. My friend loved the crab stuffed trout. The desserts are sensational!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I don't recommend the sirloin, but the remainder of the meal was great. Wine pairings suggested by our waiter, Josh, were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great small plates to share and wine flights to experiment with

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my favorite wine bar and night out spot! However I went for dinner with friends on Saturday, Feb 5th. The service was terrible..:...the worst. We had a table of 6 and had reservations for 5 pm (so they weren't busy). He got us drinks right away and then an hour or so went by and we still hadn't seen him and were starving. We had to flag the first person we saw to. Get him so we all could order dinner. Same thing happened when we wanted dessert and again when we wanted our bill. Our dinner turned into an all night ordeal. Not the same place I know and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was truly outstanding. The wine was superb. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service & food was excellent, and I would highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Pleasant experience. A little pricey- lunch for 3 with one wine flight each was $120

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Made a reservation and they sat us in the bar area with the busy bartenders as our waiter. Really not a good place for date night. I would recomend happy hour .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time here and loved it!! Food was creatively prepared and delicious. Server was terrific. We will definitely eat at Robust again!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food as always. The menu has wonderful variety. The wine list is awesome! The service is friendly and fast. Great value! We can't go there enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Service, Food, Wine & Atmosphere. I am looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and friendly staff. Also have a good wine selection with reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great wine list, nice selection of snack plates. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service including first rate wine education by Steve. The variety and quality of food makes for interesting food and wine pairings .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Flat bread, clam chowder and red wine was a perfect combination and just enough food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I rarely write restaurant reviews, but our recent experience deserves reflection. The food at Robust is always solid. The ambiance is pleasant. Service is a different story. Robust is a wine bar/restaurant. We chose Robust for a business dinner (4 of us). Service was slow and the server was awkward. The disaster came when we ordered the wine. On THREE separate successive occasions, the server returned to the table with a bottle of wine that was either the wrong vintage or the WRONG WINE! Three times. In a row. Restaurants who serve wine as part of their "sell" often engage in the "bait and switch," but Robust takes this approach to a new level. A 2010 Bordeaux and a 2012 Bordeaux are very different wines. A 2013 Napa Cab and a 2014 Napa Cab are very different wines. Different quality. Different price. After the third attempt at getting me to accept a wine of a different vintage which I had not ordered, the server pointed to a small note written in italics at the very bottom of the wine list: "vintages are subject to change." VINTAGES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE!?!? YOU ARE A WINE A RESTAURANT!!!! On the few occasions when this has happened in a restaurant with a proper wine list, the sommelier will apologize and offer a better wine at the price of the wine ordered. Not Robust. On the fourth attempt they brought a second-rate red and, after 30 minutes of this, we accepted it just to get on with the meal. Discount? No. Apology? No. Better wine offered? NO. When the server brought us the bill I asked whether he felt he should do anything about the charge for the wine. He was not exactly thrilled with this suggestion. He took the check away, returned a few minutes later, and said "my manager took off a dessert." This is a sad experience reflecting a restaurant which does not care. Robust: (1) Update your wine list; (2) Train your servers; (3) Make the guest happy when you screw-up this badly. Everyone else: skip Robust. It's corked.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was at least our 4th visit over the years. The food is always great - creative combinations, quality ingredients. The wines are not vintners you find on most menus, but a wide variety is offered and we always find something new to try. Last night the server was not attentive which reduced our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our server was Stephan, the occasion my parents' 63rd Anniversay, w my wife and sister. Service and suggestions were outstanding. Always an interesting menu. Robust is a long way from peaking. Great evening and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I love Robust for lunch and dinner. Great food, great service and great wine list. So glad it's close to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, service was wonderful. We will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

this place has the best wine! we got a red wine sampler, called "roll out the red carpet we got to taste 3 different wines for $13. before we chose our glass we wanted (or you can go with a bottle lol). the atmosphere is subtle, cozy and romantic. the food was not what I am used to. I got some kind of beef, but it was more like really think pastrami. oh and I forgot to mention there cheddar cheese ! Holy smokes there cheese plate samplers will melt in your mouth, followed by a swig of red wine. one last thing, if you are planning on going on a weekend, make a reservation, or you won't get a table.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Yummy food, good wine. Waiter was helpful with the wine choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

So looking forward to dinner with friends and Bubble Bath flights. The food and wine was great as always and the waiter was friendly and good except he kept disappearing. We ended up being there for three hours, not because we wanted to be, but because our waiter was so in demand? distracted? lazy? Not sure. We wanted dessert and coffees and I finally had to tell the manager we'd like our waiter to stop by. Never got a refill on the coffee and had to find the waiter again to get our checks. Then he was all helpful as we left the place. It didn't make up for the lousy service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Robust is really a wine bar that offers food. It's a great neighborhood place in Webster that has a regular following. The one thing odd is that the food quality is somewhat uneven, still it's pretty good. The number of wines by the glass and wine flights is impressive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place for a Girls Night Out! We were not rushed and the tapas menu is fun way to try more items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We love this place! Good food, service and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Incredible Sommelier developed wine list. Knowledgeable and helpful sommeliers. One of the best wine experiences an aficionado can have.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Consistently good food. Great selection of wine and beer. Had lunch with my kids who were in town for the holiday. We got vastly different things and all went away satisfied. Solid.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My friend and I had a nice dinner at Robust. We loved the small plates we ordered—the asparagus and smoked chicken flatbread. The best part though was the cocktails. She ordered their twist on the margarita with sparkling wine, and I got the Love Potion. Both were light, refreshing, and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Robust. Our server was John and he was great!

We were celebrating a job promotion and a girls night out. The food was great. A little

on the pricey side but it was fun! Will definitely recommend to friends for a great night out and

very good wine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent experience overall. Most wine was dead on arrival but that is what you expect in a wine bar. Wish we could find wines from Anderson Valley, ca. Handley, Elke, Toulouse to name a few. I found an amazing wine from the take me to bed flight. We ordered three more glasses and they were corked. It's customary to taste a new bottle before you serve it to your customers. Our wonderful waiter, Joshua, brought our wine from another bottle. The food was amazing. Loved the charcuterie and the cheese dishes. My crab cakes were amazing and my wife's and her friends prefix was great. Deserts were better than most restaurants in STL. We are from SF Bay Area and paid 1990 Bay Area prices. Not bad but much higher for some of the dead wine we tasted. We will be coming back and looking forward to it. Keep up the good work and thanks for excellent service Joshua.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time visit and we were blown away. Wait person was superb and took care of food allergy issues. Chef modified dishes to leave out garlic or put the sauce on the side. Wine list extensive and our selections were served at the right temperature. Food was excellent without exception. We went because it was near our theater and will absolutely visit again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Table off to the side as requested! Was not super busy. Service decent. Good food. Wine was good selection.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Josh was excellent wait staff, noise level to high by a group that overtook the bar area. Was not conducive to enjoying a $150 dinner. Other patrons moved as soon as they heard the noise.

Management should have-could have ushered them into a different area. Food quality was superb. Will come again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Im not easy to impress when it comes to resturants and food. I'm very picky!!The food was amazing! I had scallops and they were perfect. Atmosphere was wonderful and the server was too. I will most definitely be going back. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable waiter; awesome chef cheese board; loved our wine flights; the scallop entree was delicious!

Cons: slightly on the loud side; the flatbread was very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is a great place to share items. It has a varied and unusual menu. As we were new to the restaurant, the waiter was attentive throughout our visit. He carefully explained the unusual menu (the food was sandwiched in the wine and drink menu), which was very helpful. Each night has wine or wine flight specials. A section of the space is a wine shop, with some wines promoted with special prices there also. The food was good, particularly the snapper.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was quite good. The manager was pleasant and we were seated right away. But the service was terrible. The waiter did not come to our table until we'd been sitting for 10 minutes and it took an hour to get the food. We had a relatively simple order--a few small plates. He didn't check on us and didn't seem apologetic given the obvious delays in receiving our food. Then he accidentally charged our card for the table for 4 next to us, so that our card had 2 charges. Good food, terrible and slow service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always a great stop before the Rep Theatre....delicious specials and enjoyed our wine flights!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was quite knowledgeable on wines and beer even making suggestions based on our preferences. He was helpful in suggesting gluten free options that we could share and have a well rounded meal. Everything was delicious. Try the shrimp and grits despite any preconceived notions you have on grits!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.