About Robust

227 W. Lockwood Ave.
Webster Groves, MO 63119
View Larger Map

It is our desire to light a spark of adventure within you and encourage you to explore and rediscover a passion for life through truly experiencing what wine, food and hospitality are all about.

When you experience wine, you experience life. Wine encompasses a world of history, food, travel, culture, and romance. Whether a novice wine drinker or expert, Robust wants to create an enjoyable and enriching experience that educates each guest to the next level.

Sip wines, sample our tasting plates and shop our wines and gifts. Our menu of artisan cheeses, charcuterie and unique gourmet tasting plates are inspired by our wine selection.

Wines are listed by Robust Factor™ - a friendly format to help you navigate through the vast world of wines. With more than 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, and a full bottle list, choose your favorites or our onsite sommeliers will be happy to accommodate you with a selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: Dinner 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rockhill Rd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 963-0033

Website:
http://www.robustwinebar.com/

Catering:
Featuring Chef Eric Brenner

From a small intimate party to a gala wedding, or corporate event, we can create something to remember. Try a cooking demonstration and wine seminar; small plates or buffet with a wine tasting; a coursed and plated dinner paired with the perfect wines and cocktails; or just a drop-off lunch for that important business meeting. We want to bring the Robust Experience to you.

For inquiries or to begin your planning process please contact Chef Eric Brenner at cheferic@robustwinebar.com

Parking Details:
Private Lot approx. 80 spaces on the West side of the Reliable Life Building. Also plenty of street 2 hour Webster parking in front and on East side of building.

Public Transit:
Bus Stop
Metro Link at Shrewsbury

Executive Chef:
Kris Janik

Private Party Facilities:
The Sommelier"s Table which is our back Dining Room closes off for a Private Room. Accommodates 32ppl sit down or 42ppl for Cocktail style with limited seating. Minimum Food and Beverage spending Mon - Thurs $1,500 Fri & Sat $2,500. During the day Min is $500.

Private Party Contact:
Stanley: (314) 963-0033

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Saint Angel, Rhone Alps, France - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Spanish chorizo - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Tenuta Monteti Cabrunio 2008 - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Halibut Reuben - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Seared Sea Scallops - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Sea Scallops, Basil Polenta & Crispy Pancetta - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Roasted Beet Salad - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Platinum Blonde Wine Flight - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Baked Camenbert - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Pork Tenderloin With Root Vegetable Gratin - Robust, Webster Groves, MO
Spinach Salad with Butternut Squash, Goat Cheese and Marcona Almonds - Robust, Webster Groves, MO

Robust Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (26)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Tapas (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (8)
Romantic (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pleasant experience. A little pricey- l ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Pleasant experience. A little pricey- lunch for 3 with one wine flight each was $120

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Made a reservation and they sat us in th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Made a reservation and they sat us in the bar area with the busy bartenders as our waiter. Really not a good place for date night. I would recomend happy hour .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First time here and loved it!! Food was ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

First time here and loved it!! Food was creatively prepared and delicious. Server was terrific. We will definitely eat at Robust again!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. The menu has wonde ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food as always. The menu has wonderful variety. The wine list is awesome! The service is friendly and fast. Great value! We can't go there enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Food, Wine & Atmosphere. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Service, Food, Wine & Atmosphere. I am looking forward to going back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly staff. Also have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and friendly staff. Also have a good wine selection with reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great wine list, nice selection of snack ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great wine list, nice selection of snack plates. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service including first rate wine ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great service including first rate wine education by Steve. The variety and quality of food makes for interesting food and wine pairings .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flat bread, clam chowder and red wine wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Flat bread, clam chowder and red wine was a perfect combination and just enough food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I rarely write restaurant reviews, but o ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I rarely write restaurant reviews, but our recent experience deserves reflection. The food at Robust is always solid. The ambiance is pleasant. Service is a different story. Robust is a wine bar/restaurant. We chose Robust for a business dinner (4 of us). Service was slow and the server was awkward. The disaster came when we ordered the wine. On THREE separate successive occasions, the server returned to the table with a bottle of wine that was either the wrong vintage or the WRONG WINE! Three times. In a row. Restaurants who serve wine as part of their "sell" often engage in the "bait and switch," but Robust takes this approach to a new level. A 2010 Bordeaux and a 2012 Bordeaux are very different wines. A 2013 Napa Cab and a 2014 Napa Cab are very different wines. Different quality. Different price. After the third attempt at getting me to accept a wine of a different vintage which I had not ordered, the server pointed to a small note written in italics at the very bottom of the wine list: "vintages are subject to change." VINTAGES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE!?!? YOU ARE A WINE A RESTAURANT!!!! On the few occasions when this has happened in a restaurant with a proper wine list, the sommelier will apologize and offer a better wine at the price of the wine ordered. Not Robust. On the fourth attempt they brought a second-rate red and, after 30 minutes of this, we accepted it just to get on with the meal. Discount? No. Apology? No. Better wine offered? NO. When the server brought us the bill I asked whether he felt he should do anything about the charge for the wine. He was not exactly thrilled with this suggestion. He took the check away, returned a few minutes later, and said "my manager took off a dessert." This is a sad experience reflecting a restaurant which does not care. Robust: (1) Update your wine list; (2) Train your servers; (3) Make the guest happy when you screw-up this badly. Everyone else: skip Robust. It's corked.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

This was at least our 4th visit over the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was at least our 4th visit over the years. The food is always great - creative combinations, quality ingredients. The wines are not vintners you find on most menus, but a wide variety is offered and we always find something new to try. Last night the server was not attentive which reduced our enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Our server was Stephan, the occasion my ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our server was Stephan, the occasion my parents' 63rd Anniversay, w my wife and sister. Service and suggestions were outstanding. Always an interesting menu. Robust is a long way from peaking. Great evening and we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Robust for lunch and dinner. Grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I love Robust for lunch and dinner. Great food, great service and great wine list. So glad it's close to me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service was wonderful. We w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, service was wonderful. We will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this place has the best wine! we got a r ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

this place has the best wine! we got a red wine sampler, called "roll out the red carpet we got to taste 3 different wines for $13. before we chose our glass we wanted (or you can go with a bottle lol). the atmosphere is subtle, cozy and romantic. the food was not what I am used to. I got some kind of beef, but it was more like really think pastrami. oh and I forgot to mention there cheddar cheese ! Holy smokes there cheese plate samplers will melt in your mouth, followed by a swig of red wine. one last thing, if you are planning on going on a weekend, make a reservation, or you won't get a table.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Yummy food, good wine. Waiter was helpfu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Yummy food, good wine. Waiter was helpful with the wine choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

So looking forward to dinner with friend ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

So looking forward to dinner with friends and Bubble Bath flights. The food and wine was great as always and the waiter was friendly and good except he kept disappearing. We ended up being there for three hours, not because we wanted to be, but because our waiter was so in demand? distracted? lazy? Not sure. We wanted dessert and coffees and I finally had to tell the manager we'd like our waiter to stop by. Never got a refill on the coffee and had to find the waiter again to get our checks. Then he was all helpful as we left the place. It didn't make up for the lousy service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Robust is really a wine bar that offers ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Robust is really a wine bar that offers food. It's a great neighborhood place in Webster that has a regular following. The one thing odd is that the food quality is somewhat uneven, still it's pretty good. The number of wines by the glass and wine flights is impressive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a Girls Night Out! We w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place for a Girls Night Out! We were not rushed and the tapas menu is fun way to try more items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We love this place! Good food, service a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We love this place! Good food, service and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Incredible Sommelier developed wine list ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Incredible Sommelier developed wine list. Knowledgeable and helpful sommeliers. One of the best wine experiences an aficionado can have.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food. Great selection ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Consistently good food. Great selection of wine and beer. Had lunch with my kids who were in town for the holiday. We got vastly different things and all went away satisfied. Solid.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I had a nice dinner at Rob ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My friend and I had a nice dinner at Robust. We loved the small plates we ordered—the asparagus and smoked chicken flatbread. The best part though was the cocktails. She ordered their twist on the margarita with sparkling wine, and I got the Love Potion. Both were light, refreshing, and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at Robust. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Robust. Our server was John and he was great!

We were celebrating a job promotion and a girls night out. The food was great. A little

on the pricey side but it was fun! Will definitely recommend to friends for a great night out and

very good wine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an excellent experience overall. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had an excellent experience overall. Most wine was dead on arrival but that is what you expect in a wine bar. Wish we could find wines from Anderson Valley, ca. Handley, Elke, Toulouse to name a few. I found an amazing wine from the take me to bed flight. We ordered three more glasses and they were corked. It's customary to taste a new bottle before you serve it to your customers. Our wonderful waiter, Joshua, brought our wine from another bottle. The food was amazing. Loved the charcuterie and the cheese dishes. My crab cakes were amazing and my wife's and her friends prefix was great. Deserts were better than most restaurants in STL. We are from SF Bay Area and paid 1990 Bay Area prices. Not bad but much higher for some of the dead wine we tasted. We will be coming back and looking forward to it. Keep up the good work and thanks for excellent service Joshua.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time visit and we were blown away. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time visit and we were blown away. Wait person was superb and took care of food allergy issues. Chef modified dishes to leave out garlic or put the sauce on the side. Wine list extensive and our selections were served at the right temperature. Food was excellent without exception. We went because it was near our theater and will absolutely visit again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Table off to the side as requested! Was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Table off to the side as requested! Was not super busy. Service decent. Good food. Wine was good selection.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Josh was excellent wait staff, noise lev ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Josh was excellent wait staff, noise level to high by a group that overtook the bar area. Was not conducive to enjoying a $150 dinner. Other patrons moved as soon as they heard the noise.

Management should have-could have ushered them into a different area. Food quality was superb. Will come again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Im not easy to impress when it comes to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Im not easy to impress when it comes to resturants and food. I'm very picky!!The food was amazing! I had scallops and they were perfect. Atmosphere was wonderful and the server was too. I will most definitely be going back. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable waiter; ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable waiter; awesome chef cheese board; loved our wine flights; the scallop entree was delicious!

Cons: slightly on the loud side; the flatbread was very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a great place to share items. I ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

This is a great place to share items. It has a varied and unusual menu. As we were new to the restaurant, the waiter was attentive throughout our visit. He carefully explained the unusual menu (the food was sandwiched in the wine and drink menu), which was very helpful. Each night has wine or wine flight specials. A section of the space is a wine shop, with some wines promoted with special prices there also. The food was good, particularly the snapper.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was quite good. The manager was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was quite good. The manager was pleasant and we were seated right away. But the service was terrible. The waiter did not come to our table until we'd been sitting for 10 minutes and it took an hour to get the food. We had a relatively simple order--a few small plates. He didn't check on us and didn't seem apologetic given the obvious delays in receiving our food. Then he accidentally charged our card for the table for 4 next to us, so that our card had 2 charges. Good food, terrible and slow service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Always a great stop before the Rep Theat ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always a great stop before the Rep Theatre....delicious specials and enjoyed our wine flights!

Tags: Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was quite knowledgeable on wi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server was quite knowledgeable on wines and beer even making suggestions based on our preferences. He was helpful in suggesting gluten free options that we could share and have a well rounded meal. Everything was delicious. Try the shrimp and grits despite any preconceived notions you have on grits!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Recent Saturday night dining. Placed at ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Recent Saturday night dining. Placed at bistro table in area of wine shop. A little tight spacing. My wife and I shared a few small plates, cheese and crab cakes, as well as each had a bowel of chowder. All were tasty. Enjoyed a moderately priced bottle of red wine as well. We have visited about a half dozen times and will continue to return, although high bistro seating is getting a little tougher for us 65+ seniors!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience--as usual!!! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was a great experience--as usual!!! I love this place!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! It gets crowded (bec ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I love this place! It gets crowded (because it is so good!) and all that customer traffic means everything's a little noisier, a tad slower. Worth any bother, though--the food is delicious every time, well-prepared, and well-presented! The wine pairings are good and the servers I've encountered there really seem to have a decent knowledge of wine and can discuss it meaningfully. The staff is always friendly and welcoming, from the front door to the back room. I consider it a little pricey yet I feel it was a good/very good value for weekend dining. The weekday pricing specials are a very good/excellent value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dining experience at one o ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Another great dining experience at one of our local favorites.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and eats but ☹️️too loud w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Great service and eats but ☹️️too loud we were placed next to very large noisy party should have seated us and other guests in another room

Was difficult to have dinner conversation

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.