Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
(919)
Seafood | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Jack Dusty Coastal Cuisine and Crafted CocktailsJack Dusty Coastal Cuisine and Crafted Cocktails
(361)
Seafood | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Louie's ModernLouie's Modern
(802)
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Mediterraneo Ristorante ItalianoMediterraneo Ristorante Italiano
(411)
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Bijou CafeBijou Cafe
(145)
Continental | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Social Eatery & BarSocial Eatery & Bar
(528)
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Selva GrillSelva Grill
(1338)
Latin / Spanish | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Shore DinerShore Diner
(722)
American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
MADEMADE
(134)
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Clasico SarasotaClasico Sarasota
(48)
Contemporary American | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Mozaic RestaurantMozaic Restaurant
(1294)
Mediterranean | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Drunken Poet Cafe Thai Bistro & Sushi BarDrunken Poet Cafe Thai Bistro & Sushi Bar
(48)
Thai | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Cafe AmiciCafe Amici
(93)
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Salute! Ristorante - EnotecaSalute! Ristorante - Enoteca
(329)
Italian | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now
Columbia Restaurant - SarasotaColumbia Restaurant - Sarasota
(1445)
Spanish | Sarasota, Sarasota / Bradenton
Reserve Now

About Roast - Permanently Closed

1296 1st Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

Permanently Closed - Roast restaurant and bar is downtown Sarasota"s, newest destination restaurant, from chef owner Andrew Thompson. With multiple dining and drinking options, Roast offers something for everyone. Located in the heart of the performing arts district, guests can choose from a sumptuous and innovative 3 course meal in the transformed dining room, a casual cocktail upstairs with lite bites in the old world Floridian style lounge bar,, or a gathering of friends,libations and sharing platters in the gorgeous courtyard,adored with majestic palms and tropical plants. the courtyard features its own outside bar, fire pits and a purpose built rotisserie grill for weekend specials of whole roasted suckling pigs! We look forward to welcoming you to our exciting venue!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch; Mon - Sat: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9.00pm, Friday - Saturday til 10.00pm
Open for Lite Bites 2:30-5:00
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00-7:00pm

Cross Street:
Pineapple Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 953-1971

Website:
http://www.roastsarasota.com/

Entertainment:
We offer a selection of live entertainment, throughout the year. In the courtyard live one and two piece musicians play light blues, jazz and other vocal and instrumental genres. In the upstairs lounge bar, single vocalists entertain with a selection of genres to suit all tastes.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available as is valet, there is also a five story parking lot located at the back of the restaurant open seven days a week.

Public Transit:
Sarasota main bus terminal is a five minute walk from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Thompson

Private Party Facilities:
With four different dining and cocktail areas, Roast lends itself very well to private dining to suit all your requirements. From a lavish food and wine party to a simple lunch gathering, whatever your occasion our team at Roast will help plan the perfect event.

Private Party Contact:
April Thompson: 9419531971x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Roast - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (36)
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
special occasion (25)
romantic (23)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Closed due to stupid local govt. construction

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The restaurant was always a treat. Redoing the road during high season by the city led to its demise. If you can't make your money during high season then your in big trouble for the rest of the year. Sad and stupid by the city manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The service at Roast was friendly and excellent (two things that often don't go well together). The food was very good -- meats prepared exactly as ordered. The creamed spinach was a bit on the salty side, but the cauliflower side was wonderful. If you are in downtown Sarasota, this is an excellent choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another memorable evening at ROAST. Ter ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Another memorable evening at ROAST. Terrific menu choices, good wine list and yummy desserts. Not recommended for small children.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice Place

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Place was very quaint. I was a little surprised at portions of the steak, very small and lots of fat.

Nothing like photos on website. We will go for lunch and see how it goes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Best restaurant in Sarasota!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I visited Roast again, and were not disappointed!! From start to finish we had a great time and a wonderful meal. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made us feel so special as if we were the only customers in the place! The manager Blanca was very attentive and professional, we are extremely happy that she had returned, as we are locals. The entire staff at Roast are very friendly, especially the young ladies at the host stand, who greeted us with a warm welcome.

Oh and don't forget to order some sticky toffee pie, its my favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as excellent as usual

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went 7.00 pm on Mother's Day, food as usual was excellent , except for the banoffi pie which had very little toffee in it, the waiter apologized saying it was the last of the pie.(but we were still charge full price!) service was very slow. We have never had any problems before and it's still one of my favorite places to eat, I hope this was just a one off glitch

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was amazing, I took my Mum ther ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was amazing, I took my Mum there for Mother's Day. The Chef is English so we really enjoyed the menu, although there were enough choices to make everyone happy. Can't wait to go back again to try some of the other choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, service less than

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant, while the food was truly very good, the service was not. We even had to stop a passing server to refil our water glasses. Maybe an off day.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

out of roast beef

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went there the day before Mother's day as my wife does not like going out to dinner on special holidays.

The menu is ok , not fantastic. the appetizers were good.

My wife ordered the roast beef dinner, but they were out ( 7:30 ).

To make things worse the people at the next table had ordered it and it looked great and that party raving about it.

My steak was average at best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meals - everyone enjoyed their mea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great meals - everyone enjoyed their meals. The fish and chips I had was almost as good as my favorite place in London served. The batter on the fish was perfect! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Roast!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a great experience at Roast. Kyle, our server was outstanding, very attentive and polite. Have dined here before and will continue to return! Food is excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprisingly Bad

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant about a dozen times since they opened. I have previously reviewed this restaurant a couple of times and had made it one of our favorites in Sarasota. Our waiter was excellent 3 of the 4 meals ordered were up to the standards we expect at Roast. One of the orders was for pork sliders. There were 2 pieces of dried pork that the person who ordered it could not eat. She did not wish to order anything else. The waiter apologized and told us that the chef had also apologized. When the bill came we were amazed that this dish was still on the bill. We were told the manager refused to remove it. They have removed 4 loyal patrons by their actions. There are many wonderful restaurants in the Sarasota area, I am sorry we will not count this as one in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place to eat.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Martini's had little gin flavor. Martini's tasted like all ice and little gin flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had previously visited this restauran ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had previously visited this restaurant during the Holiday season when it was very slow, and had an excellent experience. This visit was was during a pre show rush, and was less enjoyable. First off, the tables in the restaurant are jammed so close together it was difficult to get to our table. The servers had difficulty making their way through as well. Service in general was somewhat haphazard and sloppy- not what you would expect at the prices charged. The food was still good although my salmon was slightly over cooked. Both our visits were pre theater visits, but I would avoid this restaurant if there is something going on at the opera house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Roast is one of the great downtown restaurants in Sarasota, FL. It is close to the Play venues and next to the Opera House. The food was exceptional...salmon, pot roast, and fish and chips. It was perfect to eat in the courtyard outside. Drinks were also good. I would take out of town guests to Roast and be guaranteed a good meal. I plan to return to taste some of the other entrees. Since we did not have time for dessert, I definitely would order one..they all sounded tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good cuisine

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food is repaired with excellent presentation. Oysters Rockafeller are super and the Creme Carmel is the best. Dining room is a bit cramped an can get noisy otherwise very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Only complaint.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I have already left a message on your website.

Yes, the food was wonderful and your garden is pretty and the service very good.

However, when I made the booking, I did specify that it was our wedding anniversary. Usually, restaurants offer congratulations, at the very least. Often a free dessert/drink, even a flower!

I was very disappointed that nothing was said or done by you, for our special evening.

It really wouldn't have taken much and would have been thoughtful. Otherwise why would I bother to write that it was a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

One of our favorites

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

One of our favorites and did not disappoint, food or service. Onion soup and mushroom appetizer were amazing. Daily roast was prime rib with Yorkshire pudding, again well done and generous cut of meat. Can be a bit loud but a little quieter now the snowbirds have flown north.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mixed wonderful

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The food is wonderful. The setting is the best patio in town. Tonight the service from the kitchen was so excessively slow that we were falling asleep before the entrees arrived.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Wonderful evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Went out with our friends for his birthday. Everyones meals were outstanding. The manager Blanco was wonderful and made sure we had the table upstairs as we wished. The server Eric was great and made sure we were taken care of at all times. This is a place that is a must for a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost 100% Success

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

There were eight of us for lunch and our waiter did an outstanding job with just the right about of attention. Everyone's food was delicious. One error was on the part of the kitchen. I ordered a salad without onions and the waiter did make note of the deletion. When the salad arrived it had onions so they took it away. Unfortunately, the returned salad was the original salad with the onions picked out and whomever did the picking did not get all the onions. I feel proper restaurant action should have been to prepare a new salad without onions. Otherwise everything was excellent as usual and we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Consistency

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

We have been to Roast 6 or 8 times and the food is consistently very good and the service excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was excellent -- great food, service and atmosphere. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a wonderful and adorable wai ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

We had such a wonderful and adorable waitress who really helped make the evening so special. Pork chops, ribeye steak, new york strip and salmon were all fabulous. Great spot for special occasions or any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great location and atmosph ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Amazing food, great location and atmosphere. Truly enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always good food and specials.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Always good food and specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great appetizers

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We went to the Roast because the menu had a lite and small bites menu as well as a nice selection of appetizers. Did not want a large entree centered meal. Cucumber gimlet was outstanding. Oyster Rockefeller couldn't be better. Finished meal with steak tartare and port. For us an outstanding evening.

Bob

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Freat Place

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent menu. Well thought out menu items. great food and excellent wait staff. Close to the Opera House which is convenient. Will visit again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for small group or couples

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Terrific evening out here. John RIngling's former HQ and men's club has its ambiance unchanged (to the point where his drawings are still on the walls of his former office). The food was great, the service as good as it gets. The prices are a tab above average but you get something very special here. They even have a small, quiet, romantic outdoor section with vines on the walls and the occasional violinist to provide atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Going Back

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The service was really terrible. She mostly ignored us although she knew we had opera tickets. An hour and a half ought to be enough time for a dinner, but by the time she served us it was too late for dessert or coffee. The food was mediocre, not good enough to make up for the bad service. I'll definitely not be back. There are many other better choices in Sarasota.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Pre-Opera Dinner

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Went here prior to going to the opera which is right next door. The location is very convenient and we had a good window table. For the cost I found it crowded with little privacy. Service was ok, but not as good as I would have expected. Food came quickly and was good but pretty average, nothing special. I'd go again for the convenece to the opera, but not for a special trip.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Small, cozy restaurant: make reservations.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Specializing in old fashioned roasted and broasted meals. Excellent meats, soups, and vegetables.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We so want to love Roast, but....

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We've been to Roast many times in the last several years since it opened, and we

want to love it, but, once again, the service was lacking. We were a group of six who arrived when Roast opened in the evening.

We needed to be finished in two hours and we barely finished in time. There was one overworked waiter and another helper, but it was still slow. Our grouper was delicious

and moist and I believe the others who had the roast beef and pot roast were quite

satisfied. The noise level in the upstairs bar room was louder than I remembered.

We will probably try Roast again...they are most congenial folks, but be prepared to wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent value overall.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food is always the best part. I had hoped to sit outside in the courtyard but the possibility of rain sent us indoors. Indoors noise level is high when crowded but the food and service are first rate. This was my third trip and I look forward to returning soon. Always reliable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great night out

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent steak house restaurant in venerable, elegant old Ringling offices

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Worth a visit

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

I chose Roast as a spot to meet friends for dinner based on the TripAdvisor reviews of the food. Our experience there was as pleasant as the food was good. Everything - food, service, atmosphere came together to make for a lovely evening. Several Tripadvisor reviewers had mentioned issues with service. It is hard for me to imagine this. From my first telephone contact for a reservation, the hosts and waitstaff could not have been more friendly and professional. We were greeted at the entrance with a smile, ushered to a lovely table without delay and the service throughout the meal was prompt and courteous. Although we were not a "high maintenance" group of four, no request seemed too much trouble for our waits person. Everyone's food was served promptly and was delicious The presentation was lovely. I would recommend Roast and return there myself with hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A surprise

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Roast was my first time dining in this restaurant. The food was good and service as well.

I living in Sarasota as a snow bird. I did not know that this building was owned by John Ringling and was a get hearing place for men and also his office. Lovely etching in the upstairs dining room. The courtyard is lovely as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Neighbourhood gem!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This restaurant is a true treasure in Sarasota. We have never been disappointed. The menu has many options to choose from and everything is delicious from the salmon tasting plate to the simple green salad. The roast of the day is plentiful and fantastic. We make sure we go to Roast every time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Had dinner with friends - we all came together in Sarasota from various places - we all totally enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the service was excellent. Portions were generous without being overwhelming and the food was beautifully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best foodie experiences in Sa ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

One of the best foodie experiences in Sarasota!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.