Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 47 times today

RN74 - Seattle

4.5
2127 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
RN74 - Seattle, named after Route National 74, the major thoroughfare passing through the heart of France’s Burgundy region, is an urban wine bar and restaurant by Michael Mina.

RN74 - Seattle features modern interpretations of redefined American and regional French cuisine with an extensive wine list highlighting the Burgundy region of France, as well as featuring boutique wine producers from Washington and Oregon.

Chef Thomas Griese's cuisine at RN74 - Seattle aims to be a perfect complement to the wines- creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors, all executed with an original twist.

RN74 - Seattle offers more than 40 wines by the glass and an extensive collection of half bottles, hand selected by Washington Wine Commission’s Sommelier of the Year, Jeffrey Lindsay-Thorsen.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, French, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm to 6:00pm

Bar
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm to close


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 456-7474
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Thomas Griese
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For inquiries:
Contact Emily Enomoto
Events Manager - 206.456.7612
events-seattle@rn74.com

icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pike Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is an easily accessible parking garage located just north of our restaurant on Pike between 3rd & 4th Ave and just south of us on Union and 4th. Please contact restaurant for parking suggestions if you need additional assistance.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
4th & Pike
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Happy Hour: Mon-Sat 4pm-6pm in the bar and lounge only. Offer includes $4-$9 drinks and $1.50 - $15 bar snacks. No Reservations.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

RN74 - Seattle is an urban wine bar and restaurant created by Michellin-Starred Chef Michael Mina. The cuisine at RN74 - Seattle is a perfect complement to the wines – creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors

View Private Dining Details
What 2127 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Special food and wine to match. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was my grand daughter's birthday dinner. From the moment we arrived until we left, it was a wonderful experience, We did the 5 course tasting menu with the wine pairings. The food was outstanding. Not all palates are the same, but the presentations of the plates, and the high consistency on the food was beyond expectations. The expertise of the staff, in regard to knowledge, timing, service was extraordinary . I've dined in many fine dining restaurants. This is on my top ten list. Really great thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

RN74 never disappoints. The restaurant always goes out of its way to make sure our experience is great. The food, service are outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

If you love wine and French comfort food with an elegant Pacific Northwest twist, search no further. Make sure your wallet is generously padded, as the prices are upscale but in line with other excellent dining choices in Seattle. We paired their duck-fat French fries with Champagne and the seared King Salmon with several reds from Burgundy. I recommend their Beignets with a side of crème caramel which was heavenly with a glass of Tokajji Aszu. Note to New Orleans Cafe du Monde beignet fans: this version is a bit lighter and not as sweet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We chose RN 74 after hearing good things about it. We found a Travelzoo "deal" for the restaurant and decided to give it a try prior to enjoying a show at the Triple Door located just a few blocks away. We enjoyed attentive, friendly service from the moment we walked through the door. We were seated at a two top table that felt as if it had been placed in what would generally be the "casual bar area". One felt a bit on display which made for a less than relaxing setting. The restaurant appeared to have an extensive wine list and a vastly varied selection of specialty cocktails. Because of our Travelzoo "deal" our starter and entree selections were very limited. My husband and I made the same meal selections - Caesar Salad and Chicken. The Caesar Salad was quite nice...not overly dressed. The Chicken was far too salty. I cannot comment on the full menu as I never did see it. There did appear to be a nice Happy Hour Menu. As mentioned, our table was located in the center of two casual, sofa style seating arrangements, where people appeared to be enjoying Happy Hour - which seemed to have its own menu. Overall I was not impressed with my experience. The one exceptional piece of the evening was our service. The wines by the glass were expensive - short pours and our meals left much to be desired. Perhaps the full menu experience would be better?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food and drinks were absolutely fantastic. We were early and sat at the bar for about 30 minutes before being seated at our table. At the. At the bar, my colleague was looking for something light and “Summery” and the bar tender knew exactly what to make - my colleague was impressed!

Great spot with excellent food and probably one of the best wine lists in Seattle - we’ll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was beautifully prepared and presented. The staff was friendly and attentive. My only concern was that my plate was a bit salty. It may have been what I ordered and our server told us that it might be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I really loved this place, I took my girlfriend for prom here for dinner and their food was amazing. I thought the feel of the place was also fun as well. Overall the experience was pretty awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food, wine and service were exceptional. We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 24, 2018

I travel and dine out frequently at great restaurants in NY, SF, London etc.....and this was certainly NOT one of them. I can honestly say it was THE most disappointing meal I have had in the last 5 years. I was in Seattle for a very special occassion with my graduating daughter and we are both big foodies. We chose RN74 because we had heard great things about it and were both looking forward to the meal. We started with the Ricotta Gnudi....the mushroom cream sauce was very good, but the gnudi were hard and dry....it seemed like they were leftover from the weekend. We then order two filets with duck fat fries and a side of the Truffled Macaroni and Cheese........Our steaks arrived about an hour after we had ordered them, stone cold. The Truffle Mac and Cheese were basically overcooked noodles in a watery broth of nothing with bits of broccoli thrown in ......it was the worst pasta dish I have ever eaten. It was overcooked pasta in pasta water with broccoli....not creamy, no cheese to be found and certainly no truffle to be found. I will say that the duck fat fries were excellent - crispy and warm. After eating half of our cold steaks and a tablespoon of the horrible pasta in pasta water with broccoli, we decided to give dessert a miss and paid our outrageously expensive bill (we included a very nice tip, as we assumed it was the kitchen and management's issue and not our server). We then called the Four Seasons and asked our concierge for a dinner reservation at a nice local restaurant and were luckily able to make an 8 o'clock somewhere else for our celebratory meal.

Signed,
Beyond Disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food was excellent. Our whole party was satisfied and pleased. Our waiter knew the menu, flavors while being wonderfully personal. The wine experts we approachable, truly helpful and had good suggestions for what we wanted. The wine was Excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We came here for Seattle Restaurant Week, and had the Chilled Pea Veloute+Steak Tartare, Duck Confit+Mushroom Gnudi, Crunchy Profiteroles+Beignets. The appetizers were great, and the steak tartare was one of the best I've ever had. However, the meal went a bit downhill after the initial round of appetizers. The duck confit dish had two tiny chunks of dry duck that were each smaller than the size of a dollar coin. Though I will admit the accompanying vegetables were fresh and palatable. I have never had gnudi before and thought it would be similar to gnocchi, but it had an odd flavor that I couldn't quite put my finger on, but I guess it might be an acquired taste. Both entrees were very small portion sizes that were honestly the same size as the appetizers that were served (probably due to SRW?) For dessert, the crunchy profiteroles were astonishingly bad with ice cream that was icier than generic grocery store branded ice cream. The beignets were alright, nothing good and nothing bad.

The service was great, with servers explaining the dishes as they came out. However, they did mess up our check and gave us a $0.00 bill, which took a while for our server to come back and fix.

I did notice some drinks that sounded interesting, so perhaps this might be a better place for happy hour as opposed to a full meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

It was very disappointing too have a mediocre meal at RN74, which I have loved in the past. Many of the same items on the menu, but new chef and preparation showed a different level of culinary experience or authenticity. Too bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Absolutely delicious food and fabulous service. A perfect restaurant experience. Not cheap, but worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

It was a busy night so it started off slow waiting almost 20mins from order for salad and soup but the waiter quickly made up time between courses efficiently. Service was great and the food was delicious. Will I be back? You bet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We enjoyed our night at the ACT Theater. We took advantage of Restaurant Week to experience RN74. We were not disappointed.

In fact, we had an amazing meal that was delicious with spot on wine pairings.

Thank you, Jackie, for making this such a memorable evening. Your service was top-notch!

We look forward to going to RN74 again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

A little hit and miss. The starters, especially the foie gras, were terrific, as were the desserts. But the duck confit main course was a miss. It did not resemble classic French duck confit in any way and was a huge step down. Too salty, not enough duck, more like a "duck pot pie" without the "pot pie" (i.e., the best part).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Amazing food and great ambiance. The servers were very friendly. Its a nice place for a fancy date or celebrating romantic occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent food and service. The place was very loud but expected on a busy Saturday night. My only complaint was the seating arrangement. I have been here several times and feel like every time, I am always seated extremely close to the people at the next table. It doesn’t make for a very pleasurable experience when you are trying to have a conversation with the person you are actually there with and all you can hear are the people next to you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Excellent food and service and fantastic wine menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Dined at RN74 before attending show at 5th Ave Theatre. Jim was amazing! He recommended and explained the course options. Plus he effortlessly tailored my meal to accommodate my dietary needs. This was our first visit and it was fantastic. Thank you Jim! Katie, Joanna & Geneva

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Excellent decor on the casual side, a perfect match for Seattle. Extensive wine list. Excellent server who paid attention to our time constraints. Salad, soup, main courses tasty and not overwhelming. Dessert the only disappointment. Beignets and profiteroles just OK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Everything was great for the most part. Attentive waitstaff, good wine, great bread, loved the butter lettuce salad, my steak and veggies were fabulous, as was my daughter's duck confit. Dessert was great but really needed more coffee refills.
Would definitely return. 🙂

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent food and fabulous service. Best chicken we have ever had .

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Unmatched wine list. If you are a fan of Burgundy wine, this is the place. Waiting staff are very nice and well trained. They take care of you very well. All the starters are great! Main course is really bad. Main course ruined my dinner. It was below average. Cheese plate as well, really bad. Not sure what happen there, but after having great champagne and wine with starters, our experience went down badly when we got main courses.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My daughter and I were out celebrating after enduring a particularly difficult week. They were able to seat us early and from beginning to end the entire experience was fantastic. Ian, our waiter, was attentive and fun. While a little spendy, it was worth the experience and the fabulous food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The food was remarkably so-so, particularly Restaurant Week’s duck confit. The gnudi was tasty, however, but the entree portions were comically small. Such wonderful service and a nice atmosphere, though. Just don’t go for the food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

I have always wanted to try this restaurant pre theater, however, my theater ticket are on Sunday. Sadly, but understandably, RN 74 is closed on Sundays. I just happen to get the opportunity to visit and it was during restaurant week. Interestingly they were creative with their menu for that venue and even allowed a couple of choices from their standard menu with a reasonable additional price. I had the vegetable salad which consisted of paper thin slices of vegetables with a refreshing salad dressing. I opted for the salmon which was delicious and not overcooked. Finally, my desert consisted of profiteroles with salted caramel ice-cream . They were just the right size and not too heavy.Their wine menu is fabulous and to complement our meal we had a Movia Sauvignon Blanc. Absolutely delicious and a wonderful evening. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Bar was busy and loud for a Wednesday night, imo. I ordered the Travelzoo $39 deal and chose butter salad and salmon on a bed of leeks. The salad was fine. The lens were fine. The orange colored sauce was fine. The salmon tasted fishy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Our server Vinny was amazing. He really went out of his way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. He was attentive without being intrusive.

The menu was amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We went to RN74 for their restaurant week menu. Between the three of us, we all tried to sample different items from the menu. Our waiter was attentive, courteous, and quick. The beef tartare appetizer was very good, high quality meat that was seasoned well. The dessert was really where I think they shone on this menu. The coconut panna cotta was flawless and the beignets and profiteroles were equally delicious. If you are looking for a restaurant that caters more towards classic cuisine, with a warm, lively atmosphere, I would recommend RN74.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

As a Michael Mina restaurant, they are facing a high bar. Any other restaurant I would give a 4 or 5 star rating, but they have some work to do to live up to the other MM restaurants. The hostess was less than friendly and accomodating and the food food delivery was not as good as it should have been. On the other hand the wine selection and recommendations were superb. I will certainly go back in anticipation that they improve their service delivery.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great food if a little expensive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Service was good, libation choices are excellent. Happy hour menu is limited. Bring back chicken brings to happy hour please!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

This restaurant is starting to show wear. A sure sign of its popularity. It needs to be refurbished. It has a large, quality wine list containing fairly reasonably priced, hard to find, French and other wines.

We were there on a slow night, so the noise level was hushed. But I suspect that things get noisy when the bar fills.

All-in-all, a very good quality, reliable business restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were celebrating our son’s birthday. He loves and works in Seattle and this as his choice. We decided to do the tasting menu but despite the many courses we had to add another. Things started with a palate cleanser of cucumber and yogurt purée with a spring of dill followed by some incredible French bread with melted Brie. The first course was a crab Caesar salad. The romaine lettuce covered the Belgian endive with whole Dungeness crab legs. The dressing was not overdone-an excellent salad. We love escargot so we added their appetizer. Perfect balance of garlic, butter and parsley. This was followed with an elegant piece of King Salmon. Wonderful sauce and perfect cooked salmon that melted in your mouth. We then enjoyed a pasta dish with shredded rabbit. Again absolutely excellent flavor and a perfect small serving. The final meat was lamb shoulder with another excellent purée and vegetables. To top the meal the presented a fruit topped Panna cotta. It was very good, but I could think of several better “French” dessert choices. We did bring our own French wine from our cellar that was not well received since their wine list is 87 pages long and quite expensive. I was reprimanded for bringing 3 wines since they typically limit corkage to only 2 bottles.

Certainly not a night to be on a budget but definitely an outstanding dinner as every course was perfectly executed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

There were a number of basic problems with the food. the lobster bisque was dark brown, tasted of beef and had crab (no lobster) in it. The tuna tartare had no soy sauce, acid, or citrus and though the fish was incredibly fresh, it tasted bland. we had to ask for a lime and soy sauce to make it edible. The prawns were underwhelming, redeemed only by the basic cocktail sauce. At these prices, I shouldn't have walked away saying "well the fries were good."

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I took my wife and daughter here after seeing a show. I strongly encourage the tasting, multi course with wine paring experience. It was amazing all around. It was not cheap but still a good value. Definitely get what you pay for. The chef introduced himself and is a pleasure to talk with, very down to earth. My daughter wants to book here for her 16th birthday dinner she loved it so much!!
We will be returning.
Evan C

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I hadn't been to RN74 in at least a couple of years. I had always liked them; just hadn't had the opportunity to go. They used to be good to very good. Now they're just flat-out great.

My wife and I were there for our anniversary and they couldn't have done a better job of recognizing it. Romantic booth seating, a handwritten card on our table, and complimentary Champagne to start.

I had the seared foie gras and it was melt-in-your-mouth spectacular.

Once I saw they had duck fat fries on the menu, I knew I'd be ordering the steak frites. The ribeye was outstanding. The fries were out of this world. I mean, top three fries I've ever had in my life.

If I had to, had to, had to say one tiny little thing they got right, so you don't think I'm a shill, I'd say that I miss the foie gras sliders. We'd have them with a glass of tokaji and it was a little slice of heaven. But having seared foie on the menu made up for the loss.

I don't know how you could go wrong with RN74.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great food, service good

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
54

Tweets by RN74 - Seattle