About RN74 - Seattle

1433 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

RN74, named after Route National 74, the major thoroughfare passing through the heart of France’s Burgundy region, is an urban wine bar and restaurant by Michael Mina, Rajat Parr, and David Varley.

RN74 features modern interpretations of redefined American and regional French cuisine with an extensive wine list highlighting the Burgundy region of France, as well as featuring boutique wine producers from Washington and Oregon.

Chef David Varley’s cuisine at RN74 aims to be a perfect complement to the wines- creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors, all executed with an original twist.

RN74 offers more than 40 wines by the glass and an extensive collection of half bottles, hand selected by Washington Wine Commission’s Sommelier of the Year, Jeffrey Lindsay-Thorsen.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Pike Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 456-7474

Website:
http://michaelmina.net/restaurants/locations/rnwa.php

Catering:
For inquiries:
Contact Dominique Calle
Event Sales and Marketing Manager
dcalle@rn74.com
206.456.7612.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available starting at 5pm Monday - Saturday for $10.

Executive Chef:
David Varley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Luncheon bookings, buyouts and private event space is available. Please contact our Event Manager, Dominique Calle (dcalle@rn74.com) for pricing and availability.

RN74 Happy Hour - Monday from 3pm to close, Tuesday through Thursday from 3pm to 7pm, Friday from 3pm - 6pm and Saturday from 4pm to 7pm. Offer includes $6 house white, $6 house red, $6 well cocktail and $5 - $8 bar snacks including Heritage Bacon Deviled Eggs, Burgundy Beef Sliders, and Ahi Tuna Poppers. Happy Hour available in the bar and lounge only. No Reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Hand Cut Beignets
Seared Foie Gras On Doughnut With Huckleberry Reduction Sauce
Pimm's 74
Duck Fat Frites With Bacon Deviled Eggs
Happy Hour Beef Sliders
Kit-Kat
Oregon Fallow Venison
Seafood Platter
Filet Mignon
Roasted La Belle Foie Gras Doughnut
Hand Cut Beignets- Mccallan 12 Yrs Butterscotch
Smoked Coho Salmon
New Old Fashioned Cocktail
Lots Of Oysters
Braised Pork Cheeks
Mini Pizza
Beef Tartare
Garlic Potato Soup
Grilled Octopus
House-Made Sorbet
House White Wine
John Holgate
Painted Hills Beef Burger
Foie Gras Sliders
Beef Bourguignon
Steak Skewers
Beignets
Lemon Pudding
Lamb Merguez With Cassoulet
Chef's Selection Canapes
Burger
Duck Fat French Fries
Scallops
House-Smoked Salmon Blt
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Scappy's Old Fashion
Falafel bites
Bone Marrow
Halibut
Beet Salad
Scallops And Pork Belly
Ice Cream
mac n cheese
Raspberry fig crostata
Creme Brulee
Duck Croquette
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly
Grilled Cheese "Fondue"
Mussel
Foie Gras Slider
Tomato Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwich"
Rainbow Trout
Steamed Lemon Pudding
salade lyonnaisse
Scrappy's Old Fashioned
Foie Gras With Pear Compote
Bone Marrow With Jam
Chestnut Soup
Tuna Tartare
steak tartare
Pear Tart
Spiced Duck
Lobster Pot Pie
Maitake mushroom tempura
Drink du jour
Grey Goose martini w/ 3 olives
Pork Loin With Beluga Lentils, Honey Crisp Apple
Roasted Tomato Soup
Hot Toddy
Lamb Shank Cassoulet
Charred Country Toasts
Neah Bay Halibut
Charred Country Toast With Short Rib Ragout, Bone Marrow & Horseradish
Dandy Brandy Lemonade
T.D.H.
Tomato Fondue Soup
Boullabaisse
Cauliflower royale, black truffle vinaigrette
Painted hills beef bourguinon
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Grilled Lamb Chop
Tomato soup fondue
Steak
Chicken!
Melon Sorbet
Peaches And Cream Panna Cotta
Grilled Breast of Liberty Farm Duck
Pork belly with scallops
Beignets with Salted Caramel
Black Cod
Ginger Beef Bowl
Grilled Filet Mignon
Escargots 3 Ways
Waldorf Salad
Cheesecake
Salmon
Grilled Hanger Steak
Downtown Donkey
Yukon Gold Puree
Crispy Fried Red Snapper

Promotions

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour 3:00pm to 7:00pm. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Mar 4, 2016 - Jul 4, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour 3:00pm until the bar closes. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Mar 4, 2016 - Jul 4, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

RN74 is an urban wine bar and restaurant designed by acclaimed New York City design & concept firm, AvroKo. The cuisine at RN74 is a perfect complement to the wines – creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors.

RN74 - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (96)
notable wine list (87)
special occasion (76)
See All
good for groups (47)
romantic (40)
vibrant bar scene (34)
great for lunch (33)
hot spot (27)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service5

This is not the same RN74 as it was a ye ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This is not the same RN74 as it was a year or two ago. The menu has changed and so has the atmosphere. The lights seemed brighter and the music loud. I was so taken back by the new menu I thought I'd order small plates to try things out. The Bacon deviled eggs were very small and tasted like something from a potluck-not bad but for $9 and two eggs, I expected much more. The foie gras was another story. This dish made no sense at all. It was layered on top of a soggy phyllo, crepe wedge of some kind. The foie itself was stone cold slimy. I've had foie gras many times and understand how it's to be cooked but this was not ideal. The only saving grace from this dining experience was the service. Our waiter was wonderful, warm and accommodating. I have dined at RN74 several times in the past. I recall it being unapologetically expensive but with a promise of unapologetically amazing food which made the price and wait worthwhile. I feel it is now just expensive with an unimaginative menu to appeal to the masses and an atmosphere that takes away from what this place once was.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

RN74 is a bustling place with quite a no ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

RN74 is a bustling place with quite a noise level. On the other hand our waiter was very attentive with a wide knowledge of wine and advised well on the food. All was vey good with some over the top seasoning.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a very good overall experience he ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a very good overall experience here. All of the dishes that we've ordered were delicious and the cocktails were strong without sacrificing taste. I would say that the ambiance is more for special occasions vs romantic dinner dates because the noise level was moderately loud. The servers were knowledgeable and took their time to explain the dishes as they're serving it. I would definitely go back here and recommend this to friends.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Bad start. My wife and I arrived a half ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Bad start. My wife and I arrived a half hour early to have a drink at the bar. We waited 30min and asked 3 people for a cocktail but still never got one until we sat at our table- bizarre. Once we sat down everything was fine. Our server was great as was the food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Careful where you are seated! We enjoye ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Careful where you are seated! We enjoyed our food at RN74. The favorite was the crab salad and the fresh baked dinner rolls with honey. Our fish was good. We liked that they serve wine flights. Our complaint is that our two top table was so close to the two tables on either side of us that we felt like we were having dinner with them. To our left the guest cussed profusely and bragged about his wine knowledge and to our right we felt like we were on a date with them. To get out of my seat my husband had to push our table up against the one next to us and I am a small individual. If you get these tables ask for a different location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Sub standard Michael Mina restaurant.

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

No attention to detail. Food just ok, nothing special. Service was nice but very informal. Expected better so disappointment was my overall feeling. Won't return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met & exceeded expectations. Great service!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Both my dinner companion & I had never been to RN74. We both were delighted with our food, wine & the service. We went prior to a play at Act Theater so we had a little bit of a time constraint. Our waitress was marvelous, fun, and very efficient. We made it to our play easily. I will certainly return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, quiet and comfor ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food and service, quiet and comfortable ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining Perfection

Dined on May 28, 2016

We booked at RN74 for a graduation dinner and were not disappointed. The service was top-notch...every attention to detail was maintained throughout the meal. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and really made the dining experience special. Even with a large group, everyone was served their meal at the same time and not a single issue with any dish (appetizers and desserts included) was noted. The drinks service was impeccable, with the servers and Sommelier paying particular attention to each person's wine choice and providing non-alcohol options for others. This was such a memorable experience...we almost returned the second night we were in Seattle! Will definitely return on future visits. Highly recommended for any occasion! The French Onion Soup, Mussels, and Beignets were the most commented orders at our table...just delicious through and through! Thank you for making our dinner so remarkable!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, order the last bottle!

Dined on May 17, 2016

This restaurant is a great location and menu. Some of the best food I have ever had! If you like crab, spring for the pot pie!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at RN74. A ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at RN74. Also enjoyed the decor. Service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious and our waiter ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was delicious and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. We had salads, appetizers, entrees and deserts. The crab pot pies were out of this world. Loved it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

High touch service, but not intrusive

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server and manager came around A LOT, but apart from refilling water glasses and pouring wine (we got a whole bottle) they weren't all up in our business. We asked for assistance from the sommelier who was very helpful, asking about our tastes and preferences and spending as much time on the 2 digit bottles as he did on the 3 figure ones. Food was excellent and the service was well paced. We got cheese instead of dessert and the small plate was still more than enough for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Tini portion, huge price

Dined on May 8, 2016

RN74 is great for a cocktail and bar nosh after work. For dinner, go anywhere else. Prices are exorbitant, $68 for a crab pot pie with three pinky size pieces of crab. Beef bourginon was half fat. Beet salad was nice and strange at the same time. We looked forward to a great meal but we're sadly disappointed. The service was great. The tables in the back are so close together that the host has to move the table to provide access to the chair, not great for an intimate meal. Totally meh, grab a drink in the front of the restraurant/bar and go elsewhere for dinner.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for birthday celebration

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was decadent, the staff were incredibly helpful with coordinating and working with our dietary restrictions for a party of 11 (one Celiac, one vegan, one pescatarian, picky eaters, etc.). The staff were very attentive and the sommelier chose a great Riesling to pair with appetizers. We made a reservation the day before and didn't get exactly the time we wanted, but that's to be expected with so many people on such a short notice. Our table loved the maitake mushrooms and bacon deviled eggs appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Underwhelmed

Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu seems over priced for what is offered. It took nearly 40 minutes from when we ordered to when our dinner arrived. Food quality was very good. The wine list, while expensive, is extensive and terrific. The waitress we had was outstanding with a thorough understanding of the wine list and menu.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just wonderful, great atmosphere and food

Dined on May 1, 2016

After seeing a show at the 5th Ave, wanted to try a new place for dinner. So happy I found this place. The menu has something for everyone and everything look delicious. Being our first time there, we opted to go with the 'tasting menu', with the wine pairing also. Great service and wonderful dining experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Seattle Restaurant Week menu was excellent.

Dined on April 22, 2016

We met friends for dinner and we all enjoyed the food. It was a busy Friday evening and the restaurant was busy but we had excellent service. I was disappointed with my cocktail, a Martini that wasn't served in the proper glass but was not made well. However we all loved the desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My fiance and I visited this restaurant ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

My fiance and I visited this restaurant for lunch during restaurant week. While we love the ambience and the general feel of the restaurant, we left feeling disappointed with the restaurant's timing and service. We had made a reservation for 12:15pm, but we ended up leaving at 1:45 because of how long it took for our food to be served. (For example: our appetizers arrived at 12:45pm. Absolutely not an exaggeration. Why did it take 30 minutes to get our appetizers? That's ridiculous.) Service was slow throughout our entire meal. The waiter, who seemed curt, was often nowhere to be found. He didn't check up on us at all. The food was only okay. We enjoyed our appetizers (the eggs and the soup); however the main entrees were average. The grilled tuna was somewhat bland and the vegetables were underseasoned. The fish and chips was nothing extraordinary. Between the wait and the lackluster service, I don't think we'd be coming back... which is shame because it seems like a nice place for a date.

food2
ambience1
service1

We will not return. Neither the meal nor ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We will not return. Neither the meal nor the service met expectations or price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine list, delicious food and flav ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Great wine list, delicious food and flavors. Great pick for restaurant week.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on April 20, 2016

I am a fan of Michael Mina's restaurants and this one is as wonderful as others I have dined in. The food is excellent and menu selections are great. The service is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent value

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had a delicious lunch during Seattle Restaurant Week. The menu options were good. Our salad and main course were both excellent and interesting. We chose to share a dessert, even though we were full, and it was well worth it. Our waiter was professional and friendly. We were very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food and wine pairings were excellent. It was a great value. Nice atmosphere, courteous waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not as good as before

Dined on April 15, 2016

I've been here once before when it first opened and couldn't wait, years later, to go back. Unfortunately, not a good restaurant week trip. Server was great. Food was meh for the cost. Salad was too salty, which is weird, risotto was under cooked and way too hot. Tuna was, according to my date, "unremarkable and not worth the cost of admission." Beignets were good and profiteroles were too crunchy- not doughy enough. Don't think we will be back, as we've discovered other gems that are more with it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seattle Restaurant Week

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was delicious! Our waiter was very tentative and contributed to the wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Mixed bag

Dined on April 15, 2016

Three of us went for a pre-concert dinner. Appetizers were so-so. Fro the entree my son and I both had the seared tuna, which was excellent. The other diner had octopus, which had been recommended highly by the waiter, but the diner thought it was mediocre compared to lots of other octopus he's had in many places. My dessert was quite unappealing (I had not anticipated that a main component of it would be salty crackers (I don't even add salt to my food). I did have a bit of my son's beignets, and they were delicious. I would not come back to this place.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not coming back!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was not good as all. The appetizers were really salty while the Main entrees were really dry and plain! Really disappointed when coming to enjoy our first French dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Steak Frites in town

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The duck fat fries are absolutely sublime - crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, and seasoned perfectly too. The steak was cooked to my specifications. If you are looking for an authentically French steak frites, this is the place

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Just alright

Dined on April 13, 2016

Had a good time here. The food was good, some dishes on the tasting menu seemed strange or flavors were out of place. Service was amazing though. Definitely would come back for a few drinks and appetizers probably not a full on meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for beautiful food

Dined on April 13, 2016

Sadly the tomato soup with grilled cheese croutons is not on the dinner menu but it is still an amazing menu and everything that comes out from the kitchen is delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Just the Ticket

Dined on April 13, 2016

The suggestive ambience of a train station prepares one for a short journey away from the bustle of the big city to a provincial restaurant in France. Attentive, careful service is matched by attention to food and wine flavors--all nicely balanced. On this, our first visit, the assistant manager circulated among the tables, checking briefly with diners while servers executed their ballet around her. "How is everything?" "The soup should be a little warmer." "Thank you. I'll let the kitchen know." Don't hesitate to ask for the services of the sommelier before the server takes the food order; for Seattle, the wine list per glass, demi, and bottle is extensive and balanced between old and new worlds. Wine pairings with the prix fixe menu were appropriate and pleasing. The Happy Hour grenache at the bar was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Four of us had a wonderful lunch for Seattle Restaurant week on Monday. Excelled food, service and all. We are all looking forward to going back for a happy hour sometime soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food

Dined on April 3, 2016

The boeuf bourguignon was incredible. Service was spot on. The room felt a little Steampunkish, but did not alter the pleasure of dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the restauran ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was excellent and the restaurant was able to accommodate very varied tastes, from my 11 year old who is a meat and potatoes man to my vegan daughter. The pot pie (both vegan version and crab version) was excellent. We were able to pick a wonderful Bordeaux off the changing wine list posted by the bar. And our server was outstanding! He went the extra mile and found a way to get my cell phone charged while we ate.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent place for a Friday night dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent place for a Friday night dinner! There is a great bar where you can get a nice cocktail or two before dinner. Actually also a fun place to just have cocktails before or after dinner. Dinner choices are great and different in a good sense. The chef uses fresh ingredients and creates great flavor experiences with attention to detail. It makes for a great night out! Servers are very friendly and knowledgeable. They are attentive yet leave you to eat your meal at your pace which is nice if you want to have a conversation over dinner. All in all a must to go eat

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We loved the food and ambiance, even my 18 year old son was impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and benefits for frequent diners

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

I have eaten at RN74 Seattle fairly regularly over a number of years. My last dinner there was amazing for the detail that the whole staff of RN74 brought to my dining experience. They remembered that I had an aversion to dairy and suggested modification of a dish without my asking. They know I like sparkling water. The executive sous chef brought out an appetizer himself, and later came back to ask how I liked it. And this is on top of excellent food! Wow! While I've eaten at a number of Seattle restaurants as often as at RN74, nowhere has nearly the level of attention to detail as RN74. Kudos to the entire staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Seattle

Dined on March 23, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Seattle. The waitress reminded me of Drew Barrymore, her face, voice, and personality. She was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. We all loved our dishes - hamachi and mussels. The fried mushrooms were bland. The sturgeon wrapped in swiss chard was fantastic. It was surrounded by turnips, beets, and lots of little gems. The crab pot pie was rich and decadent. The lamb chops with white beans and eggplant were terrific. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.