Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About RN74 - Seattle

RN74 - Seattle, named after Route National 74, the major thoroughfare passing through the heart of France’s Burgundy region, is an urban wine bar and restaurant by Michael Mina.

RN74 - Seattle features modern interpretations of redefined American and regional French cuisine with an extensive wine list highlighting the Burgundy region of France, as well as featuring boutique wine producers from Washington and Oregon.

Chef Thomas Griese's cuisine at RN74 - Seattle aims to be a perfect complement to the wines- creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors, all executed with an original twist.

RN74 - Seattle offers more than 40 wines by the glass and an extensive collection of half bottles, hand selected by Washington Wine Commission’s Sommelier of the Year, Jeffrey Lindsay-Thorsen.

1433 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm to 6:00pm

Bar
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm to close


Cross Street:
Pike Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 456-7474

Website:
http://michaelmina.net/restaurants/locations/rnwa.php

Catering:
For inquiries:
Contact Emily Enomoto
Events Manager - 206.456.7612
events-seattle@rn74.com

Parking Details:
There is a lot located just north of our restaurant on Pike & 4th Ave and just south of us on Union and 4th. Please contact restaurant for parking suggestions if you need additional assistance.

Public Transit:
4th & Pike

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Godwin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


RN74 Happy Hour - Monday through Friday 4pm to close, Saturday from 5pm to 6pm. Offer includes $7 house white, $7 house red, $7 well cocktail and $4 - $20 bar snacks. Happy Hour available in the bar and lounge only. No Reservations.

Specials

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Fridays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Specials

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Fridays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour 3:00pm to 6:00pm. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Aug 4, 2017 - Dec 4, 2017 on Fridays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Enjoy Thanksgiving at RN74! The restaurant is offering a 3 Course Prix Fixe Menu for $75 per person. The regular dinner menu will not be offered.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Enjoy Christmas Eve at RN74. The restaurant will be offering the regular dinner menu.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Enjoy a special five course tasting menu for $115 per person with optional wine pairings ($65 and $85) and optional additional courses and supplements. The regular dinner menu will not be offered this evening.

Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Happy Hour 3:00pm until the bar closes. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Aug 4, 2017 - Dec 4, 2017 on Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Private Dining

RN74 - Seattle is an urban wine bar and restaurant created by Michellin-Starred Chef Michael Mina. The cuisine at RN74 - Seattle is a perfect complement to the wines – creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors

RN74 - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Romantic (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome food, service and atmosphere! Creative menu, nice vibe and friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second time I have been to the restaurant and was less than impressed. When having a glass of wine and munchie at the bar I have been impressed but dinner was just not great. 4 people and 3 of us were underwelmed with our dishes. Mine was so salty that my lips were stinging and the waitress was so slow to return that I didn't have a chance to tell her about the pasta sauce being salty until after I had eaten all the protein in the dish (I was hungry and there was nothing wrong with the chicken). She did her best to make it right but my goodness it shouldn't have gone out like that. The steak my friend got was sauced and eaten in before she returned so he could tell her medium wasn't "rare" and needed it more cooked. I will go back to the bar but I won't eat in the restaurant for dinner again. Side note the endive salad was FANTASTIC!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

All our items were superbly prepared. Pink Lady apple salad, the mussels, the black cod, and the steak were wonderful. And Paul helped us choose the perfect wine for our dinner. Such a great place to dine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our server was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I have known one of the business partners in RN 74 for 20 years and the way I was treated was rude, arrogant and down right disrespectful. We had an 8pm reservation, the hostess knew we had a 9:30 event to attend. She noted to grab a drink at the bar and it would be 15 - 20 minutes. Not only were we ignored or have my reminding her we had a commitment being dismissed we didn't get seated until 8:45. We immediately ordered the "quickest" item on the menu with no appetizers. The waiter was aware of the rush order. By 9:20 the order was still not ready despite my reminding the waiter of our need to depart. We got up and left. My only regret was cashing out at the bar.
If you want over priced wines, mediocre menu choices and rude, arrogant staff - be prepared to wait over an hour for your reservation,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food and place... but it took forever for our food to come to the table..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Best French onion soup I've ever had is here. Great atmosphere. Stylish and comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2017

We were welcomed for our anniversary with a lovely card signed by all the employees and a glass of bubbly on the house. Service was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2017

While on a recent trip to Seattle, enjoyed our dinner at RN74. Exceptional waitstaff and sommlier. We appreciated his excellent and spot-on suggestion for wine. Entire meal was delightful and the quality unsurpassed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The only thing better than the food was the service. Thank you again RN74 for another stand out meal. The last bottle board is the best!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Fantastic service, great food. Wine price rather steep, but fabulous selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Loved the 5 course tasting menu and wine pairing. Fabulous food, relaxed atmosphere and not noisy. Great choice for a fun evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great service and wonderful presentation. A lot of thought involved in giving the customer a unique experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food was lovely, service was poor; we were neglected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Overall it was ok. The tomato salad was amazing. The salmon was very disappointing. Very small potion and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful meal! The service from everyone in the restaurant was perfect. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Went there for our anniversary while visiting Seattle. We did the tasting menu. Food was great. Wine pairings excellent. Our waiter did a great job. The hostess/front of the house seemed a bit of a mess and confused but overall a very strong experience and we'd recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great atmosphere and very fine dining. Enjoyed Burgendy white wine flight which was superb. King salmon solid. Foie gras was rich and creamy and tasty. French onion soup good as always. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

One of the best wine lists in Pacific Coast. Great bistro atmosphere, friendly efficient service

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service very slow. We waited 5 minutes for the Maitre'd to arrive at the front of the house, and then waited 20 minutes for our drinks. The restaurant was only about half full, but our waiter rarely came by, unless we asked for him. They also have a wonderful "last bottle" ticker board, which shows a list of 12-15 wines that the cellar is on the last bottle of (once the last of a particular kind is purchased, the ticker changes), but we only found this out after inquiring what the board meant - which was a shame, as we had already ordered a different bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My BFF and I spend one weekend in Seattle every September and the Tasting Menu at RN74 is an absolute MUST for us every year. The food and the service is outstanding! Do not miss this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Had the halibut, a little over salted. Server was rushing us through a litttle but for a Tuesday night. Sommelier was helpful but the first recommendation wasn't great.

Nice place, decent food.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2017

They usually have super fresh oysters, this time they didn't. The entrees were spectacular as usual, so were the Mezcal based cocktails.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Rather pricey, but the food was VERY good. Also seemed to me that a restaurant so wine - focused would serve only 5oz glasses. And at rather high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was great, I had a vegetarian meal and it was so good! Really nice attentive wait staff.
The bar staff recommended a really nice drink.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2017

New lunch menu is too small, and they have done away with some old favorites like the Salmon BLT. I had a caesar salad with salmon. The piece of salmon, while tasty, was extremely small. My guest referred to the salmon as a "nugget." Certainly not a value dining experience. I won't go back for lunch. Maybe the dinner menu is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Date night at a place neither of us have tried. Most of the food was great! We received bread plates but the pre-dinner bread never showed up. Tuna tartare and the duck breast entree are highly recommended! The steak...not so much. I don't like butter on my steaks so I asked them to hold it, which they did. It seemed they let it sit too long after it was ready. It was done how I like it but the outside was dry. I haven't had that issue with other places when I ask for no butter on my steak. Definitely not worth close to the $50 price tag. Service was really slow. One appetizer, two entrees and the desserts and we were there for just under three hours. What I did appreciate was that one of the Managers noticed our wait time and removed our desserts from our bill without either my girlfriend or I having voiced a single frustration. All in all....is try it again as the worst part was the service but it didn't appear to consistently be that way across the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This restaurant used to be such fun: good food, service, and energy. I've been there twice in the last month and it's obvious that the servers (even then sommelier!) are NOT enjoying what they are doing. There is a snobby, weird vibe there now that doesn't fit with Seattle. We had the same crappy server both recent visits (unfortunately). He seemed nervous, didn't bring us bread, seemed to be rushing us out, and it was just uncomfortable. The menu is SO small now. The tuna tartare was amazing but the chicken...meh. Of course, it is chicken... Not coming to this restaurant anymore.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

the food was amazing, from the butter lettuce salad to a chef modified halibut boullaibase (shellfish allergy) to desert and coffee. Chef came out to discuss my allergy and didn't disappoint with his personal recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We went as a group of 4 with a few Travelzoo vouchers so expectations with a prix fixe menu were not crazy high but man did they manage to disappoint. Our waitress constantly forgot to put in our orders for drinks and extra appetizers, never refilled our waters or checked in on us and when the time came for us to get going she was nowhere to be found for 20 minutes.

The food was meh. I was particularly excited about the beignets and the waitress told us to be careful as they were very hot....ummmm not even close lady. Mine as a fried dough brick. I had these before and they were so good we got seconds but not tonight that's for sure.

A disappointment unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (London)·Dined on August 16, 2017

First impression was really good, friendly and professional front of house staff had the reservation ready and I was promptly seated. Service was fair - my Gin and Tonic did not arrive until after my starter and the waiter was trying to be overly funny which did not work for me (however this is just personal preference). The starter of Tuna Tartar was alright, however the chicken as main course was disappointing - the sauce was very oily and salty and so strong that I couldn't take anything else and needed a couple of glasses water to rehydrate. Otherwise the ambience is nice and the restaurant has a good layout. Prices were a little high for the quality of food, so I would not recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The ambience and drinks at this location were absolutely stellar. Would wholeheartedly recommend the black cod and truffle macaroni and cheese. Personally I ordered the gnocchi dish, and while the accompaniments were delicious, the gnocchi itself was a bit bland. However I would love to return for brunch to give some of their other dishes a try.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved every bite. Rich French cuisine. Nice touch with complementary champagne for our anniversary. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Really great. Superb service, good quality food, talented chef, amazing ambience throughout the night. Great value (<200 only for two adults with one glass of wine). Great wine in great price. Super nice staff, caring and attentive and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have long been regulars and fans of RN 74. However we have seen some times when the menu or Chefs not at their best.
NOT anymore!! Chef Thomas Greisie is simply AMAZING! The food was creative and delicious. His passion for his work and the artistry by which he does it was evident.
We left happily stuffed as we just wanted to keep eating his amazing creations!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Have now had dinner and lunch at RN74. Both were excellent and we will likely return.
Only negative is the hostess and wait staff could smile a little more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The chef came out and discusssed our meals with us always a nice feature. They have a one bottle left board that updates like a train station board and we had a steal on that! The food was creative, tasty, and local. The service was excellent the waitress even treated us to a port afterwards. The desserts were imaginative. One of our party had a giant macroon that had chocolate cream and raspberries Totally yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had an incredible experience at RN74. The Wine program is amazing. Hard to find treasures from all over. Jeff is an amazing wine steward. We also had superb locally sourced tomatoes and outstanding steaks. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Outstanding French food. Relaxed atmosphere whether you are dressed well or in Jeans. Foie Gras , baked or spread is "to die for". Escargots....some of the best ever. Dessert : Chocolate Pot De Crème is a standout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

If you haven't been to RN74 you truly are missing out. This local gem was a place my husband and I frequented often...before children. Our daughter just turned two recently so we decided to go back , with her ( keep in mind she is well behaved and we were prepared to leave if need be). They have not skipped a beat! Although probably not the normal for small children, they treated our daughter and us like gold. The food was as good, if not better. The details and the care this restaurant takes with the food and their customers is unparalleled. Probably the best steak we have had in forever. (We usually do the Met) but this was mouthwatering delicious! We have had several items and it has NEVER disappointed. The manager, Ashley, is a class act! Can not wait to go back. Thank you RN74, you made our night soooooo special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.