About RN74 - Seattle

1433 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

RN74, named after Route National 74, the major thoroughfare passing through the heart of France’s Burgundy region, is an urban wine bar and restaurant by Michael Mina, Rajat Parr, and David Varley.

RN74 features modern interpretations of redefined American and regional French cuisine with an extensive wine list highlighting the Burgundy region of France, as well as featuring boutique wine producers from Washington and Oregon.

Chef David Varley’s cuisine at RN74 aims to be a perfect complement to the wines- creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors, all executed with an original twist.

RN74 offers more than 40 wines by the glass and an extensive collection of half bottles, hand selected by Washington Wine Commission’s Sommelier of the Year, Jeffrey Lindsay-Thorsen.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Pike Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 456-7474

Website:
http://michaelmina.net/restaurants/locations/rnwa.php

Catering:
For inquiries:
Contact Dominique Calle
Event Sales and Marketing Manager
dcalle@rn74.com
206.456.7612.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available starting at 5pm Monday - Saturday for $10.

Executive Chef:
David Varley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Luncheon bookings, buyouts and private event space is available. Please contact our Event Manager, Dominique Calle (dcalle@rn74.com) for pricing and availability.

RN74 Happy Hour - Monday from 3pm to close, Tuesday through Thursday from 3pm to 7pm, Friday from 3pm - 6pm and Saturday from 4pm to 7pm. Offer includes $6 house white, $6 house red, $6 well cocktail and $5 - $8 bar snacks including Heritage Bacon Deviled Eggs, Burgundy Beef Sliders, and Ahi Tuna Poppers. Happy Hour available in the bar and lounge only. No Reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Saturday Happy Hour

Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Saturday Happy Hour

Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour 4:00pm until 6:00pm. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Jan 31, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Saturdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
Mid-Week Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour 3:00pm to 7:00pm. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Mar 4, 2016 - Jul 4, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour 3:00pm until the bar closes. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Mar 4, 2016 - Jul 4, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

RN74 is an urban wine bar and restaurant designed by acclaimed New York City design & concept firm, AvroKo. The cuisine at RN74 is a perfect complement to the wines – creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors.

RN74 - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (106)
notable wine list (96)
special occasion (80)
See All
romantic (48)
good for groups (48)
vibrant bar scene (37)
hot spot (36)
great for lunch (36)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, order the last bottle!

Dined on May 17, 2016

This restaurant is a great location and menu. Some of the best food I have ever had! If you like crab, spring for the pot pie!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at RN74. A ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious dinner at RN74. Also enjoyed the decor. Service was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious and our waiter ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was delicious and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. We had salads, appetizers, entrees and deserts. The crab pot pies were out of this world. Loved it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

High touch service, but not intrusive

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server and manager came around A LOT, but apart from refilling water glasses and pouring wine (we got a whole bottle) they weren't all up in our business. We asked for assistance from the sommelier who was very helpful, asking about our tastes and preferences and spending as much time on the 2 digit bottles as he did on the 3 figure ones. Food was excellent and the service was well paced. We got cheese instead of dessert and the small plate was still more than enough for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Tini portion, huge price

Dined on May 8, 2016

RN74 is great for a cocktail and bar nosh after work. For dinner, go anywhere else. Prices are exorbitant, $68 for a crab pot pie with three pinky size pieces of crab. Beef bourginon was half fat. Beet salad was nice and strange at the same time. We looked forward to a great meal but we're sadly disappointed. The service was great. The tables in the back are so close together that the host has to move the table to provide access to the chair, not great for an intimate meal. Totally meh, grab a drink in the front of the restraurant/bar and go elsewhere for dinner.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great for birthday celebration

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was decadent, the staff were incredibly helpful with coordinating and working with our dietary restrictions for a party of 11 (one Celiac, one vegan, one pescatarian, picky eaters, etc.). The staff were very attentive and the sommelier chose a great Riesling to pair with appetizers. We made a reservation the day before and didn't get exactly the time we wanted, but that's to be expected with so many people on such a short notice. Our table loved the maitake mushrooms and bacon deviled eggs appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Underwhelmed

Dined on May 1, 2016

The menu seems over priced for what is offered. It took nearly 40 minutes from when we ordered to when our dinner arrived. Food quality was very good. The wine list, while expensive, is extensive and terrific. The waitress we had was outstanding with a thorough understanding of the wine list and menu.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just wonderful, great atmosphere and food

Dined on May 1, 2016

After seeing a show at the 5th Ave, wanted to try a new place for dinner. So happy I found this place. The menu has something for everyone and everything look delicious. Being our first time there, we opted to go with the 'tasting menu', with the wine pairing also. Great service and wonderful dining experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Seattle Restaurant Week menu was excellent.

Dined on April 22, 2016

We met friends for dinner and we all enjoyed the food. It was a busy Friday evening and the restaurant was busy but we had excellent service. I was disappointed with my cocktail, a Martini that wasn't served in the proper glass but was not made well. However we all loved the desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My fiance and I visited this restaurant ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

My fiance and I visited this restaurant for lunch during restaurant week. While we love the ambience and the general feel of the restaurant, we left feeling disappointed with the restaurant's timing and service. We had made a reservation for 12:15pm, but we ended up leaving at 1:45 because of how long it took for our food to be served. (For example: our appetizers arrived at 12:45pm. Absolutely not an exaggeration. Why did it take 30 minutes to get our appetizers? That's ridiculous.) Service was slow throughout our entire meal. The waiter, who seemed curt, was often nowhere to be found. He didn't check up on us at all. The food was only okay. We enjoyed our appetizers (the eggs and the soup); however the main entrees were average. The grilled tuna was somewhat bland and the vegetables were underseasoned. The fish and chips was nothing extraordinary. Between the wait and the lackluster service, I don't think we'd be coming back... which is shame because it seems like a nice place for a date.

food2
ambience1
service1

We will not return. Neither the meal nor ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We will not return. Neither the meal nor the service met expectations or price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine list, delicious food and flav ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Great wine list, delicious food and flavors. Great pick for restaurant week.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant

Dined on April 20, 2016

I am a fan of Michael Mina's restaurants and this one is as wonderful as others I have dined in. The food is excellent and menu selections are great. The service is outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent value

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had a delicious lunch during Seattle Restaurant Week. The menu options were good. Our salad and main course were both excellent and interesting. We chose to share a dessert, even though we were full, and it was well worth it. Our waiter was professional and friendly. We were very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food and wine pairings were excellent. It was a great value. Nice atmosphere, courteous waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Not as good as before

Dined on April 15, 2016

I've been here once before when it first opened and couldn't wait, years later, to go back. Unfortunately, not a good restaurant week trip. Server was great. Food was meh for the cost. Salad was too salty, which is weird, risotto was under cooked and way too hot. Tuna was, according to my date, "unremarkable and not worth the cost of admission." Beignets were good and profiteroles were too crunchy- not doughy enough. Don't think we will be back, as we've discovered other gems that are more with it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seattle Restaurant Week

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was delicious! Our waiter was very tentative and contributed to the wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Mixed bag

Dined on April 15, 2016

Three of us went for a pre-concert dinner. Appetizers were so-so. Fro the entree my son and I both had the seared tuna, which was excellent. The other diner had octopus, which had been recommended highly by the waiter, but the diner thought it was mediocre compared to lots of other octopus he's had in many places. My dessert was quite unappealing (I had not anticipated that a main component of it would be salty crackers (I don't even add salt to my food). I did have a bit of my son's beignets, and they were delicious. I would not come back to this place.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not coming back!

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was not good as all. The appetizers were really salty while the Main entrees were really dry and plain! Really disappointed when coming to enjoy our first French dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Steak Frites in town

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

The duck fat fries are absolutely sublime - crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, and seasoned perfectly too. The steak was cooked to my specifications. If you are looking for an authentically French steak frites, this is the place

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Just alright

Dined on April 13, 2016

Had a good time here. The food was good, some dishes on the tasting menu seemed strange or flavors were out of place. Service was amazing though. Definitely would come back for a few drinks and appetizers probably not a full on meal.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Just the Ticket

Dined on April 13, 2016

The suggestive ambience of a train station prepares one for a short journey away from the bustle of the big city to a provincial restaurant in France. Attentive, careful service is matched by attention to food and wine flavors--all nicely balanced. On this, our first visit, the assistant manager circulated among the tables, checking briefly with diners while servers executed their ballet around her. "How is everything?" "The soup should be a little warmer." "Thank you. I'll let the kitchen know." Don't hesitate to ask for the services of the sommelier before the server takes the food order; for Seattle, the wine list per glass, demi, and bottle is extensive and balanced between old and new worlds. Wine pairings with the prix fixe menu were appropriate and pleasing. The Happy Hour grenache at the bar was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Four of us had a wonderful lunch for Seattle Restaurant week on Monday. Excelled food, service and all. We are all looking forward to going back for a happy hour sometime soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food

Dined on April 3, 2016

The boeuf bourguignon was incredible. Service was spot on. The room felt a little Steampunkish, but did not alter the pleasure of dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the restauran ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was excellent and the restaurant was able to accommodate very varied tastes, from my 11 year old who is a meat and potatoes man to my vegan daughter. The pot pie (both vegan version and crab version) was excellent. We were able to pick a wonderful Bordeaux off the changing wine list posted by the bar. And our server was outstanding! He went the extra mile and found a way to get my cell phone charged while we ate.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent place for a Friday night dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent place for a Friday night dinner! There is a great bar where you can get a nice cocktail or two before dinner. Actually also a fun place to just have cocktails before or after dinner. Dinner choices are great and different in a good sense. The chef uses fresh ingredients and creates great flavor experiences with attention to detail. It makes for a great night out! Servers are very friendly and knowledgeable. They are attentive yet leave you to eat your meal at your pace which is nice if you want to have a conversation over dinner. All in all a must to go eat

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We loved the food and ambiance, even my 18 year old son was impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and benefits for frequent diners

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

I have eaten at RN74 Seattle fairly regularly over a number of years. My last dinner there was amazing for the detail that the whole staff of RN74 brought to my dining experience. They remembered that I had an aversion to dairy and suggested modification of a dish without my asking. They know I like sparkling water. The executive sous chef brought out an appetizer himself, and later came back to ask how I liked it. And this is on top of excellent food! Wow! While I've eaten at a number of Seattle restaurants as often as at RN74, nowhere has nearly the level of attention to detail as RN74. Kudos to the entire staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Seattle

Dined on March 23, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Seattle. The waitress reminded me of Drew Barrymore, her face, voice, and personality. She was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and the wine. We all loved our dishes - hamachi and mussels. The fried mushrooms were bland. The sturgeon wrapped in swiss chard was fantastic. It was surrounded by turnips, beets, and lots of little gems. The crab pot pie was rich and decadent. The lamb chops with white beans and eggplant were terrific. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

Disappointed :(

Dined on March 19, 2016

We were super excited to bring our friend from Manhatten. We've raved about the Foi Gras for the last month. Unfortunately, the two orders of Foi Gras were the only great plates. We ordered the deviled eggs, they felt like they were possibly getting old, fermentated feel to them. We also tried the escargot, it is not a traditional style and it was rather dry. The ambiance, selection and bartenders are fantastic. The reaction from the server when we politely informed him of our concerns was surprising, he truly was not interested in feedback for the chef. I know we will return for the Foi Gras....but, we will probably do dinner elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly recommended!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Great food and an outstanding wine list, notably French wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My expectations were off, it was not a Wow !

Dined on March 15, 2016

The Waiter John was excellent. And the diner went downhill from there. Buy some real Martini glasses...the ones we got were silly...more appropriate for punch or champagne at a wedding. We ordered the Tomahawk steak, presented at that table whole and then taken back to the kitchen and plated.....did I get the same steak you just showed me? Cut it at the table or let me do it. It was not a wow !! Our friends had the crab pot pie and it was very, very light on the crab....one side of the claw per person...I felt bad for them. It was over priced and not anything special.....sorry.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What pleasant surprise

Dined on March 13, 2016

A friend of ours gave us a gift card for RN74 and we had never heard of it. We went. We will go back. Fantastic. One word: go

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great place. I enjoyed everything here - drinks, apps, main course, dessert. Even the bread rolls were delicious! Drinks are both delicious and interesting - one had rum that was cut perfectly with juice and then had a dash of bitters. Brussels sprout side was one of the best I've had. Their A5 beef is phenomenal. And the macaron dessert was a treat. Would go back happily

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

RN74

Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a group of 10 for lunch on a Tuesday around 11:30. We love the Ambiance across the board! The appetizers french fries were amazing as well as grilled cheese tomato fondue. With that being said, the prix fixe courses took a really long time to arrive. One of our teammates had to leave after an hour and fifteen minutes. His meal hadn't arrived yet so we boxed it up for him and brought it to him later. Pretty disappointing as the server kept mentioning the desserts come ready to go, so we could get back to work. The rock fish was very fresh but the sauces & accompaniments were not that great, so the overall dish was so so. The Cassoulet was really dry and not the quality expected from RN74. The Steak-Frites was great. Small portion, no side vegetables, but great taste & quality. The burger was delicious. Desserts were delicious. Overall, we walked away with mixed feelings about the food based on who ordered what. Be sure to allow 2 hours for a larger group during lunch time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

When will they ever get it right??

Dined on March 6, 2016

We both had the sturgeon even though I tried to talk my wife out of it. I know that it is a bottom feeder and know that it takes a fantastic chef to make this fish seem close to palatable, (it was on the menu and fair game to critic). She, to say the least, did not like it and did not finish her meal. I did because the chef did an acceptable job of making it taste better than I have had it before. There was only one other fish or shellfish meal on the main entree list, which was a crab pot pie, and was not something that she likes as well. So left with a choice of two for meals for fish only meat eaters we were disappointed. This also goes to opentable.com, the online menu showed a number of other offerings which were not available and so I would not recommend your site as well for not providing better preservice information on the restaurant. The service was great and attentive and could find no fault in the presentation of the food. Last. . . yes this is a french restaurant and wine is very much part of the experience but I am not able to drink alcohol due to an allergic reaction. Can some of the finer cellars in the world start putting out fine bottles of juice?

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience immmaginable

Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was only outdone dy the beyond delicious food. This is a must experience restaurant for anyone looking for an amazing meal with fantastic service. The drinks were great as well. We will be back (hopefully within the week.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Mediocre food, overpriced & so-so service

Dined on February 21, 2016

Was excited to eat here after reading all the hype, but was pretty disappointed. Instead of going for the main dishes two of us shared 5 smaller plates, so we had quite a variety to taste and share. Although most were tasty, there was much too heavy a hand on the salt. The dishes were small (as expected), so the value certainly wasn't there. The price came to $130 for food and two small-pour glasses of wine, including tax & tip. Service started off friendly and efficient when we sat at 6:15pm, but it quickly deteriorated as the night went on and we were rushing to eat our food as we needed to leave at 7:45 for a show at Benaroya Hall. This even though we told them we needed to leave at 7:45 when we first sat down. Their wait staff saw we were rushing, and brought the bill as asked before we finished eating so we could leave on time for the performance. You would think that someone would have at least said "Sorry", not a word from anyone at RN74. Seattle has so many great restaurants, so sorry to say we won't be back. Hope your experience turns out better than ours!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Wine List

Dined on February 20, 2016

My friend and I ate dinner at RN74 before attending a play. The overall experience was very good. The wine stewart was very helpful in the selection of the French wine for dinner. I would of liked to see several more dinner entre options.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.