Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About RN74 - Seattle

RN74 - Seattle, named after Route National 74, the major thoroughfare passing through the heart of France’s Burgundy region, is an urban wine bar and restaurant by Michael Mina.

RN74 - Seattle features modern interpretations of redefined American and regional French cuisine with an extensive wine list highlighting the Burgundy region of France, as well as featuring boutique wine producers from Washington and Oregon.

Chef Benjamin Godwin's cuisine at RN74 - Seattle aims to be a perfect complement to the wines- creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors, all executed with an original twist.

RN74 - Seattle offers more than 40 wines by the glass and an extensive collection of half bottles, hand selected by Washington Wine Commission’s Sommelier of the Year, Jeffrey Lindsay-Thorsen.

1433 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, French American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour
Monday 3:00pm to 9:30pm
Tuesday – Friday 3:00pm to 6:00pm

Bar
Monday – Friday 11:30am to Close
Saturday 5:00pm to Close

Cross Street:
Pike Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 456-7474

Website:
http://michaelmina.net/restaurants/locations/rnwa.php

Catering:
For inquiries:
Contact Jin Park
Event Sales and Marketing Manager
jpark@minagroup.net
415.625.5453

Parking Details:
There is a lot located just north of our restaurant on Pike & 4th Ave and just south of us on Union and 4th. Please contact restaurant for parking suggestions if you need additional assistance.

Public Transit:
4th & Pike

Executive Chef:
Benjamin Godwin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Luncheon bookings, buyouts and private event space is available. Please contact our Event Manager, Jin Park (jpark@minagroup.net) for pricing and availability.

RN74 Happy Hour - Monday from 3pm to close, Tuesday through Thursday from 3pm to 7pm, Friday from 3pm - 6pm and Saturday from 4pm to 6pm. Offer includes $7 house white, $7 house red, $7 well cocktail and $4 - $20 bar snacks. Happy Hour available in the bar and lounge only. No Reservations.

Specials

Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Monday Happy Hour

Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Happy Hour 3:00pm until the bar closes. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Apr 3, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 on Mondays from 3:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

Mid-Week Happy Hour

Tuesdays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour 3:00pm to 6:00pm. Drink and snack specials starting at $6!. Excludes Tax and Tip. In our Bar and Lounge only. Cannot be combined with additional offers. Special valid Apr 3, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 on Tuesdays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

RN74 - Seattle is an urban wine bar and restaurant created by Michellin-Starred Chef Michael Mina. The cuisine at RN74 - Seattle is a perfect complement to the wines – creative, modern, but simple interpretations of regional French cuisine punctuated with seasonal, fresh ingredients and bold flavors

RN74 - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (44)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Romantic (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Casual (13)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and overall service! I've been there three times and never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a bad Mother's Day experience. Our waiter told us that they're not usually open for brunch so they were struggling. It showed. A blatant money grab from the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had an amazing Mothers Day. Great brunch and good service.

Thank you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Total experience was not worth the money. Service was ok, but when I mentioned that my fish was raw in the middle I got a look of disdain and no other form of acknowledgement. Seemed mad that I complained. Food was nothing special and the price was way high for the quality.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good, portions were ok, selections ok, kinda noisy, kinda spendy

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

New spring set menu was springy and excellent. Shhhhh.... they do sous vide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Love RN74 Great food wonderful ambience. The service is exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our group appreciated every aspect of our visit: from the service to the food to Jeff's expert advice on wines. We'll be back to try different parts of the menu, or perhaps to try the tasting menu and paired wines.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

A little spendy but really great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Group of 11, we were well-served, excellent food, all meals and temperatures came out as requested. A bit noisy for conversation, but normal. The one constructive comment would be that we were about an hour into bread and drinks before salads arrived, but main course was timed perfectly after. Wine list was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic. Service, food, and drinks were that of a Michelin star. Very reasonable pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Overall, my wife and I had a positive experience. The service was very friendly, but the food was not over-the-top awesome. Honestly, I had expected a better seasoned steak as it was relatively bland. That being said, our booth seating was wonderful, as was our server, Jackie. Generally, it was a positive experience. However, with the number of amazing restaurants in Seattle, I don't know that I would go to this one again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The first time I dined here I had a great experience, tonight however was a disappointment. I myself am a server so I have the upmost respect for how difficult it is to execute service perfectly. However tonight missed the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Pros: - Food was great and our waiter was very friendly. Everyone in our group liked the dishes they ordered and I really like the dessert in the end. 5/5 for food.
- Upscale and pretty good ambience.
Cons:
- There was a large group seated near us and all the staff were busy providing them service. So scalability is a problem.
- Slow service - We rolled in at 7 PM and we got our table after 10 mins of waiting. We got served our food nearly after 2 hours. There was a fire alarm in between which kept beeping for an hour, I wouldn't blame the restaurant for that though. But our food arrived after 2 hours. The starters were served late and then the main course was late too. All the while the waiters were catering to the large group seated behind us. We ended up leaving the place at around 10:15.The delay could have been due a legitimate reason(s), but there was no feedback or update.
It was a combination of bad service and murphy's law. I won't go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Good cocktails, had the escargot and the combination seafood plate which we shared. Finished with two salads

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had not yet dined in a Michael Mina locale and thought in seeing the menu that it would be a strong experience. Started with escargot and found it to be dry and nearly bereft of any butter or garlic despite their menu description. The halibut was cooked perfectly but flavorless and the same could be said of the lamb. I was surprised that at 38 dollars the lamb portion was perhaps only 2 ounces. Overall while the service was top rate the lack of seasoning is something that will keep me away from rn74.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Booked table available 30 minutes late. Two menu offerings not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Loved the menu and vibe of this place. Very reasonably priced and fantasic quality. Wished this was a weekly outting for me but I don't live near enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This hip and modern steak and seafood venue did not disappoint. Great cocktails, extensive wine list and perfectly-sized menu make this place very approachable. You don't need to spend hundreds of dollars (though it's easily done) to have a decent bite either. You can enjoy an entree and a cocktail for $60 or less. However, if you are celebrating as we were, I highly recommend either of the steaks and a few oysters to start. Impeccable service with just the right amount of attention. Great people watching with mirrors all around which also help to make this intimate space feel larger than it is. We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Who ever heard of putting barbecue sauce on bone marrow - in a French restaurant yet? Gnocchi were inedible. Mussels good, frites very good. Halibut on the dry side. Loud past pleasantness and conversation.

Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We tried the RN74 experience 5 course meal with grand wine pairing for our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The food was fantastic, got me out of my comfort zone in food selection and introduced me to some fantastic choices. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've been to RN74 a few times and have always been blown away. This time was no exception.
The service is some of the best i have had anywhere and the food is always tasty. Not to mention the extensive wine list.
Thank you for helping us celebrate our wedding anniversary in style.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was fantastic, as was the service. Drinks were delish. Wish we'd known that you can only get happy hour menu/drinks in the bar because there were a few items we wanted to try off there. Next time, we will plan ahead, go early and sit in the bar instead of making a reservation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service, food, and sommelier!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We went for the restaurant week and the food was very good but I wouldn't pay the full price for it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Impeccable and friendly service. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and the wines were priced very well. The apps and dessert were excellent but I couldn't get past the blah entrees. This review is based off the restaurant week menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Enjoyable spot, with knowledgeable and helpful staff. Amazing wine list with accessible French food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The dining area was very nice. The food was very good. Service by Naomi was both professional/friendly. It was Seattle Restaurant Week Lunch. We were impressed.

Tags: ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The very best in service I have experienced in all the downtown restaurants I have visited lately! The staff seems to work seamlessly as a team, can't ask for better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is my second time for the Seattle Restaurant Week(s) and just as the last, it's amazing! I'm sad to hear the Beignets will be going away but I anticipate the Crullers they'll bring on.

Loved the food! For dinner, I had the Foie Gras Torchon, Roasted Chicken Thigh and Beignets. The Foie gras was silky smooth and buttery with a hint of that liver flavor that I personally enjoyed. When combined with the Onion jam and toast, it melds together so perfectly and nicely, like a small bite of rustic France. The Roasted Chicken Thigh was pan-seared on the outside, making the skin crispy and blending so well with the pesto it was served on. the Beignets were fluffy and sugary and the strawberry rhubarb preserves added a splash of tart to the affair.

For Lunch: Butter Leaf Salad, Confit Duck Leg and Beignets. I won't chat more about the Beignets TBH because they're delightful.
The Butter Leaf Salad was a nice start tot he meal, the leaves were crunchy and fresh while the acidic vinaigrette reminded me of the Hungarian preparation with style. The Confit Duck? To die for. The meat was tender and buttery, the skin crispy and crunchy and the saw was a little sweet and tangy to cut through the fat.

Not only am I going back but I'm bringing friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Restaurant Week! Good value menu and as always a good wine pairing. My favorite restaurant in Seattle does not disappoint. Very attentive service too.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

If the idea of Restaurant Week is an opportunity for restaurants to impress new customers, they missed the mark. I selected the restaurant from a list, and came dressed like many members of the tech industry would. Me and my guest were seated in the back. The staff was very attentive, and the ambiance was very intimate, but the food itself fell flat in terms of flavor.

The first issue was looking at the special menu. The event touts 3 courses for "thirty-ish" dollars, but one item in each category had an "up-sale" option of $5-$15 in addition. The server also offered sparkling water with no indication of it costing extra. Wether explicit or implicit, a cash grab feels like a cash grab to the customer.

As for the food, the beef tartare, with many ingredients, did not taste like much of anything, surprisingly. The chicken dish was much more flavorful, but you can still get a better dish at Crow in Queen Anne. The chocolate​ pot de creme was rich and cremes, but failed to "wow" with any type of originality. Serving sizes were European, which I personally appreciate, but I came hungry, and ordering a side order of duck fat fries to share was a good choice.

By the end, a meal that should have totaled at $75 for 2 ballooned to $110+ (sparkling water!!! And a cider) without the food or experience leaving a positive lasting impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I really enjoyed lunch at RN74 with former co-workers. The wait staff was wonderful; the food was different, delicious, and beautiful, and we were able to carry on a conversation without shouting! It's a lovely restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

From the minute we walked in the door, we were taken care of. My wife and I were in town from Portland, celebrating our 7th anniversary, and lucked into Restaurant Week, which offers three course meals for $32 at over 150 Seattle area restaurants. After carefully sorting through online menus, we chose RN74 and its French atmosphere and attention to detail.

They were able to accommodate a same-day reservation change that enabled us to be flexible on our little getaway, which was nice. Then, when we arrived and were shown to our table by the hostess, there was a "Happy Anniversary" card SIGNED BY EVERYONE on the staff, and hand-written with a lovely message. Great way to kick things off!

We each ordered a cocktail with a spring theme. My wife had the Spring Pimm's, which had gin, cucumber, and mint. I ordered the seasonal sour, which had a charred pineapple-rosemary syrup and 10 yr old scotch, with a perfect amount of shaken-egg white foam on top. These paired perfectly with the duck fat fries, which come with a pickled ketchup that we want to replicate.

To start, my wife ordered a garlic soup appetizer, which was made with leeks and had fried garlic as a garnish. I ordered the asparagus with sauce gribiche, puffed rice, and very thinly sliced radishes. It tasted like spring on a fork.

For dinner, my wife had gnocchi with walnuts, pesto, and parmesan. It was very light, but still filling and delicious. I ordered the "short rib" with dauphine potatoes and an onion sauce. I put the short rib in quotations, because it was boneless, and tasted like pot roast rather than short rib, but was delicious nonetheless. The carrots that arrived with it were a bit crunchy, but the presentation was on point, and I was too happy to be picky.

Dessert was a long time coming, but we needed the time to make room, anyhow. The chocolate pot de creme was rich in the best way, and the beignets with rhubarb were just enough. Overall, a perfect way to celebrate!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Getting seated was slow even with a reservation, service was also slow. Food was very tasty, especially the duck. Great value during Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I took my daughter to RN 74 to celebrate her success in school and as a last day out before went back to school. We chose items rom the Restaurant Week menu, but were surprised when we received our bill and were charged extra for the fries...we thought they were included. We ordered the soup, beef and the gnocchi, and beignets... and they were delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The restaurant was full and can only offer me a bar seat (which I actually prefer). food and service were great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Seated well after reservation time. Service was slow. Food was okay but not great for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Overall good experience at RN74. A friend and I dined here for Seattle Restaurant Week and didn't do any of the upgrades or additions to the menu because of the steep prices. The food arrived in a timely manner and the courses were timed well. I had the asparagus, chicken and pot de creme. The pot de creme was the stand out for me. The restaurant was rather loud with A LOT of people standing in the bar area (possibly waiting for tables?). Our server was nice but not particularly attentive. All in all I would return but likely only for a special occasion due to the price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were already familiar with the gastronomic delights at RN74; the reason we picked it for a birthday celebration. As usual, everything was high-quality. And that it happened to be Seattle Restaurant Week was a nice bonus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.