About RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge

140 North Fourth Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

RIVUE, Louisville’s upscale restaurant and lounge, is unlike anything you have seen before. It features breathtaking panoramic views, sophisticated décor, and twin revolving floors that let you drink it all in. The contemporary cuisine is just as amazing. RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge has views to dine for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lounge opens at 5:00pm, Monday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Galt House Hotel, RIVUE Tower, 25th Floor

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 568-4239

Website:
http://rivue.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday - Tim Murner, pianist

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking and Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Dustin Willett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
RIVUE Holiday Lunches, every Tuesday - Friday, December 2nd - 30th! Put a new spin on your lunch for the holidays with RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge’s Holiday Lunches. It’s a perfect way to show your appreciation for clients, vendors, associates and employees. The menu includes starters and soups, a variety of entrees and desserts. Try our new $30 special including a RIVUE salad, choice of one of four entrees, and a holiday dessert! For reservations, call 502.568.4239. (closed 12/24/14)

Restaurant Photos

  • Bananas Foster Pancakes
  • Bluegrass Benedict
  • Ky They're Off Derby Kick Off Luncheon
  • Bluegrass Brewing Co Bourbon Barrel Stout
  • Kentucky Hot Brown
  • Blackened Shrimp Linguini
Bananas Foster Pancakes
Bluegrass Benedict
Ky They're Off Derby Kick Off Luncheon
Bluegrass Brewing Co Bourbon Barrel Stout
Kentucky Hot Brown
Blackened Shrimp Linguini

Private Dining

At RiIVUE, we offer panoramic views of the city. We have a contemporary, upscale facility that is perfect for Wedding Receptions, birthdays, and more!

RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Louisville
1 More
Special Occasion
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

scenic view (118)
special occasion (106)
romantic (87)
See All
great for brunch (48)
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (27)
hot spot (13)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

What an awesome view!!! Bout tha best pa ...

Dined 6 days ago

What an awesome view!!! Bout tha best part of tha date...food was not very good in my honest opinion..probably will never go again..

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything I loved about this place!The ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything I loved about this place!The food wasdelicious. The best steak. We will go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a great dining experience. Such a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a great dining experience. Such a beautiful view of the city. Service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and delicious food! ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious food! I highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was not good. The crab cakes w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was not good. The crab cakes were good. The bread was stale. The duck was not good. The risotto was not good. My daughter got the wedge salad which was nothing special. A restaurant with a view this spectacular should have great food.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Greatly enjoyed our dining experience. ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Greatly enjoyed our dining experience. Service timely, but unhurried. We had the scallop app., salmon, duck, rack of lamb, lamb bolognese, and creme brulee. All well prepared and delicious. Will be back next time in Louisville.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With a view such as is found at RIVUE Re ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

With a view such as is found at RIVUE Restaurant they would not need to have great food to draw a crowd. However, their food is outstanding. Their scallop appetizer was spectacular. The salads we had were crisp and flavorful. Our dessert was just the right size with a wonderful taste. I would have like the crème brulee top to be a little harder but other than that we had no complaints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I really enjoyed our time at Rivue. I to ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I really enjoyed our time at Rivue. I took my husband for his birthday and it was the first time we both had a good time in a long time. Our food was great, the place was beautiful, the skyline was our view, and we walked on the river afterward.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great brunch spot, my favorite ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always a great brunch spot, my favorite in town actually. Great view, courteous staff, good food. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere for a Sunday brunch. Lo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great atmosphere for a Sunday brunch. Loved the music and the food/service was amazing. Best view in town thanks to the spinning restaurant. Can't wait to do it again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent and service was rem ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Dinner was excellent and service was remarkable. The atmosphere was very relaxing which enhanced the excellent views of the river. This was more than dinner, it was truly an amazing experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My wife and I were celebrating our 5th a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary. We had tickets to the Phantom of the Opera and the staff ensured our dinner and pace was appropriate to make the event without being late. The staff was attentive and courteous. The attraction of the restaurant was the view and thought to be fantastic food. The view was great, the food was not. We both had salads and New York Strip and no alcoholic drinks. The steak was prepared per order and was acceptable for quality. Our total bill with 20% tip was $140. The value for quality of food was poor. For $140, I would expect food which was outstanding and amazing, not just mediocre.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome evening

Dined on June 10, 2016

The rivue has Beautiful view, excellent service...great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the wait

Dined on June 8, 2016

I have waited over 20 years to dine here with my wife as I am not local. Our experience was well worth the wait. The menu offered many options, and our selections were beautifully presented and delicious. The wait staff was attentive and friendly. I look forward to our next visit to Louisville and return to Rivue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food way too expensive. Won't come back for dinner

Dined on June 7, 2016

We had to forego entrees and order appetizers because it was so expensive. Please put some reasonably priced entrees on the men

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak and the service was top notch!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

I would go back to Rivue any time that I was in Louisville. It is a bit pricey but the steak is simply phenomenal and the service was great. A friend got the risotto dish and said it was the best risotto he had ever had. The view from the revolving part of the restaurant was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

I love Sunday Brunch at the Rivue. My wife and steal away every now and then to grab a meal and a seat near the window.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was AMAZING!!!

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my first time! My Mom decided that for my birthday we would do dinner and a show at the Kentucky Center for the Arts. I was absolutely blown away, the ambience, the view and oh the FOOD!!! It was the best birthday! I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice atmosphere

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I went to Rivue for brunch to celebrate our anniversary. We enjoyed the variety of foods and the view on a beautiful day. The piano player was a nice touch. Believe this to be the best of the higher end brunches in town.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced for a brunch that was not great!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Ambience was great and staff were professional. Food was good not great with the exception of the omelet station. My husband ordered scrambled eggs with cheese. Now this sounds like a regular offering but when my husband returned to our table I could see steam coming from the eggs. I tasted the eggs and they were hot with an abundance of cheese that was wonderfully melted and not scorched. Best eggs I have tasted in a restaurant setting. The dessert table was lackluster in both display and variety of offerings. For $27.00 a person I expected more...to be wowed and I was not.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and the staff was amazing. We really enjoyed our time at Rivue and will always remember how great our 35th anniversary was. Thanks to all of those at Rivue who waited on us.

food5
ambience5
service5

We almost didn't go here because of some ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We almost didn't go here because of some other reviews, but honestly, we had a wonderful time. Our servers Curt and Mark were awesome. The food was amazing. The restaurant was clean. The surprise complimentary candy bar was such a unique idea. Well done.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful View and Great Customer Service

Dined on May 27, 2016

I visited Rivue during a recent visit to KY. What wonderful experience. The view was amazing. The rotating floor gave ample views of the bridge and areas of Louisville. The food was delicious and so were the drinks. Our server Kate was great. She was super friendly and very attentive to our group. The restaurant was also accommodating as we were super late due to traffic. I would definitely come back and recommend to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the atmosphere great view, food wa ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Loved the atmosphere great view, food was awesome! Very romantic ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch, worth the price

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great brunch with a plethora of options both breakfast and lunch. Great dessert bar and of course a wonderful view. Nice piano playing as ell.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We went to the Rivue for my husbands 50t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Rivue for my husbands 50th birthday. The views were great and the ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner. We enjoyed the sunset while eating dinner. We both ordered the bone in ribeye and both felt it was just ok, the meat was a little tough, for the price we were a little disappointed. Everything else we had was very good and the service was great. We will definitely be back to give it another chance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good View, High Price and Average Food

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was my first time eating at Rivue. It has a very good scenic view overlooking the OH river in downtown Louisville. The food was fine, but the prices are on the high side. $50+ steaks are something I would expect in NYC. Overall I had a good time, the staff was friendly and the food was fine, but nothing to write home about. I could come back in the future, but it won't be my first choice...it will likely take an event at the Galt House or area nearby to get me there. Overall it was C+, which is the restaurant equivalent of what I grade Harp Lager.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Rotating restaurant mea ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good food. Rotating restaurant means you will get a good view once in a while, except when it is foggy as it was when we were there😔.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

I was in town for business and met co-workers here. It is a beautiful view and nice atmosphere. Food was very tasty, service was good except one person in our party of 5 did not get their food until the rest of us were done. Manager did comp her meal after we asked server about that. They were very good about accommodating my special request related to my meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The ribeye was so tough that I couldn't ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ribeye was so tough that I couldn't cut it with a steak knife. The server was not knowledgable about the menu. The restaurant was extremely hot. We frequent upscale restaurants and we were very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Night Out

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

During our recent visit to Louisville we heard about the scenic view from Rivue. It was worth the trip. Excellent view....but the food, service, and ambiance made it a special night out for us. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What an AMAZING experience. I have bee ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

What an AMAZING experience. I have been fortunate to dine a lot of places across both the US and globe. This restaurant is one of my favorites. A jewel hidden in Louisville, and with it's rotating dining rooms, a fantastic place to unwind and enjoy dinner. My wife and I had the bone in filet and Ahi Tuna for our dinners. Expertly made. For starters we had Oysters and Tuna Tartare. We had an absolutely fantastic bottle of Krug champagne, and a perfect Panna Cotta for our dessert, dressed with rose petals as a garnish. Would not hesitate, for an instant, to recommend Rivue as a dining venue! Kudos to the chef and staff, and thanks so very much for our special night!

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

High cost for mediocre food and poor service

Dined on May 11, 2016

Out of our party of 5, only 2 were happy with their meal taste. Service was horrible despite our waitress having only 1 other table. Took 25 minutes to bring the 1 desert ordered. View was good, but seating area was very chilly. Despite our complaining about that upon arrival, no action was ever taken to improve our comfort.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoy our time at Rivue. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My family and I enjoy our time at Rivue. The food was outstanding, the view was glorious. It was storming at the time, but even then, we were amazed at the beauty from atop the Galt House of this amazing experience. The color of the sky, the lighting, the way the rain rolled in from Indiana, it was a sight to see. The service was beyond and over the top. They made my twins 17th birthday so special. They had place cards when they arrived, celebrating their special day. Our waiter brought us special treats from the chief, the food was AWESOME! My family and I cannot wait to return to this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Website featured a wine special. Our ser ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Website featured a wine special. Our server tried to say they no longer had it. She then returned to table with working list of wines (not a menu) for the special. She couldn't tell us anything about the listed wines and it didn't occur to her to go find out or bring help to the table. Food was ok but not as good as prior visits.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fantastic view.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the first time my wife and I attended the Kentucky Derby. We had brunch at Rivue to celebrate Mothers' Day. The food is fantastic, the service is excellent and the panoramic view of Louisville from the 25th floor is impressive while the restaurant rotates continuously 360 degrees. It is worth the value. We would recommend the restaurant to our friends.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was alright but not worth taking my mother to on Mother's Day at $50 per person. I wouldn't recommend just due to slow service and the waiter took my mothers drink and never brought it back. We had to ask another waiter if he could find ours because he was nowhere to be found even though we saw him at the bar a couple of times. It wasn't busy and the view was great but won't go back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Mother's Day Brunch 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've enjoyed celebrating Mother's Day with a nice brunch at The Revue many times. Given that this year it was the day after the Kentucky Derby, I expected that their team would be on top of their game and deliver the experience I've grown to expect. The food was it's usual excellent quality, with the chef's manning the omelet and waffle stations being extra friendly. However, table service was extremely below expectation. After we were seated, many servers passed by our table (and others around us), without paying any notice. 15 minutes later, after asking one of them to ask our server to stop at the table, returned and greeted us as if she had just seen us at the table. None of the server team helped each other keeping drinks filled and/or tables cleared. I was lucky to have gotten two cups of coffee during our meal. Just not the top experience/service I've received in the past. We'll be back again and hope that the service issue is resolved.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second Mother's Day Brunch ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second Mother's Day Brunch at the Revue. Our expectations were met once again, both in food selection and outstanding service. However, we were not aware that the Revue offers a brunch every weekend. Your restaurant will now be added to our regular rotation and we will visit at least once every 90 days. We live in Frankfort, so it is a 90 mile round trip drive, a little much for a weekly visit. Wish we lived closer. The views of the Ohio River and surrounding area are exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What a remarkable place, both the restau ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

What a remarkable place, both the restaurant and the Galt House! Classy, elegant and comfortable surroundings. Exceedingly friendly and professional service (these folks really care!). Our food was delicious, and the drinks were lovely. To "top" it all off, this 25th floor restaurant revolves to give you an exhilarating view of this great city! Yes, it is pricey; save up and splurge, it's totally worth it

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.