About RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge

140 North Fourth Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

RIVUE, Louisville’s upscale restaurant and lounge, is unlike anything you have seen before. It features breathtaking panoramic views, sophisticated décor, and twin revolving floors that let you drink it all in. The contemporary cuisine is just as amazing. RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge has views to dine for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lounge opens at 5:00pm, Monday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Galt House Hotel, RIVUE Tower, 25th Floor

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 568-4239

Website:
http://rivue.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday - Tim Murner, pianist

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking and Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Dustin Willett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
RIVUE 5-Course Joel Gott Wine Dinner
Wednesday, October 26th, 2016
6:30pm
Guest Speaker: Steve Patton, Regional Manager at Trinchero Family Estates
65.00 Plus tax and gratuity per person

First Course
Seared Scallop with Smoked Jalapeno chimichurri, Savory Lemon Curd, Crispy Kale
Paired with Joel Gott Sauvignon Blanc

Second Course
Local Greens with Roasted Golden Beets, Orange Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese and Hazelnuts
Paired with Joel Gott Chardonnay

Third Course
Duck Confit Crepe with Cherry Gastrique, Crispy Shaved Vegetable
Paired with Joel Gott Merlot

Fourth Course
Grilled Lamb Ribeye, Roasted Colorful Potatoes, Eggplant Caponata, Blackberry-Cabernet Reduction
Paired with Joel Gott 12 Cabernet Sauvignon

Fifth Course
Dark Chocolate Cake, Macerated Strawberries, Cardamom Mousse, Caramelized Cocoa Nibs
Paired with Joel Gott Alakai Grenache

Private Dining

At RiIVUE, we offer panoramic views of the city. We have a contemporary, upscale facility that is perfect for Wedding Receptions, birthdays, and more!

RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (64)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Waterfront (42)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Business Meals (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Live Music (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (2)
Dancing (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Watching every table get a surprise visi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 hours ago

Watching every table get a surprise visit from the candy cart after their meals made me feel like a sucker after my waiter simply plunked down my bill & my doggy bag and walked away. Major letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Restaurant is really showing it's age. C ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant is really showing it's age. Could use a good cleaning and new paint. Food was good, but not great. We looked forward to having a special brunch with out of town company, but not the case. Teach your children how to behave in a nice restaurant or get a babysitter. Parents were totally oblivious to their antics - more into their mimosas than the other guests comfort around them. Running around like they were at McDonald's really spoiled our visit. Would have been nice to have the servers or Maitre D' say something to the parents or re-seat us. Will definitely give it another try.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Our food was amazing as always. We had ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was amazing as always. We had a reservation, but it was made fairly last minute (Sat morning for a Saturday evening dinner) and we were given a table for two which was not in the revolving part of the restaurant. We elected not to sit at our assigned table because we dont like the next table being 24 inches away from ours and it was not private at all. Due to our decision to move, we had to sit in the "open seating" area which is a nice area still but it appeared to be serviced by the bar tender instead of the typical wait staff. The service in this area was far less than we have come to expect when we eat at The Rivue and spend nearly $200. Several times we had to "find" our waiter to get an additional drink. If we were in the regular revolving dining room, this would have never happened.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Wonderful staff who took the time to mak ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful staff who took the time to make our anniversary feel special.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. 5 Stars * Some new/sharp steak knives would be a great idea ..... I will go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a revolving restaurant with a beaut ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It's a revolving restaurant with a beautiful view of Louisville and the Ohio bridges. Food and service was excellent! The risotto was superb . When thinking about dessert, keep in mind that at the end they come around with a candy cart and you can pick out 3 candies, which is plenty! Perfect for a special occasion or if you are a visitor to the city !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rivue was above and beyond my expectatio ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Rivue was above and beyond my expectations. They were on top of our Gluten Free needs, and made alternate suggestions for the appetizer. I must agree with our waiter the Sea Scallops were great. Too much good food to eat, and then they brought out the dessert cart afterwards. The views with the rotating floor were great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent as was the servic ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Our food was excellent as was the service! Our waiter did a wonderful job explaining the menu and recommending wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to brunch on 1/1/17. Great view. De ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to brunch on 1/1/17. Great view. Decent food. Decent service. Not worth the price of admission.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We loved the atmosphere! The staff was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved the atmosphere! The staff was wonderful (much praise to Peter!!!!). Thank you for a wonderful New Years Day Brunch experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We went for New Years Day brunch. The pr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Years Day brunch. The price was more that day, which we had not been made aware of, but there was less food. All of the food listed online for the normal buffet wasn't even there, but we paid more !

A simple mimosa was $10. Our brunch cost around $130 with tip. It was a totally outrageous price for the type of food that was available. We have paid that or double for a nice evening meal before, but for brunch food, it was too much. Other reviewers also commented on the quality of the food that day, they are correct, it was not the best.

The view was nice, but we would have asked for a table that did not rotate if we had known that it was going to chug along and grind a little. Kinda made you sick after a while.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Most of the food was very good. I only h ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Most of the food was very good. I only have a few small complaints.

  1. The bacon was over cooked

  2. The sausage tasted like something that would be served at red roof inn

  3. I enjoyed the pianist, but he was very loud. The music should be in the background.

I will try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had the surf and turf, Food quailty was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had the surf and turf, Food quailty was excellent but lacked flavor.

If your looking for private dinner this is not the place for you.

The desserts where outstanding! Cheesecake was the best ive ever had.

Value to the $ is 2 out of 5 at best.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I was actually disappointed! I expected ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was actually disappointed! I expected much more quality from such a establishment. I asked for blue rare on steak (had to explain to waitstaff what that meant) steak was cooked closer to medium rare. Instant potatoes were used instead of real. Total price of meal was around $250.00 so would have expected MUCH more in quality and service. Will not eat there again based on first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Excellent food, service and ambience!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience to sit in the turning ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great experience to sit in the turning room and spend the dinner overlooking the water.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First let me say it was New Years Eve an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First let me say it was New Years Eve and our dinner reservation was early, 545. The was a fabulous pre'fix menu that gave multiple options for a 3 course meal. Our server arrived promptly, delivered our menus, and took our drink orders. She brought our drinks right back . Opened my bottle of wine and poured a full glass without presentation or tasting. Then in the same trip she asked us to order. Less than 2 minutes later our salads arrived. Everything felt EXTREMELY rushed. My ReVue salad was delicious and I was sad when it was gone. 😞 We had barely put our forks down from the salad and our entrees arrived. Oh my goodness, it was perfection on 2 plates. My friend had Seared Tuna with Julienne vegetables and whipped potatoes. I had steak and lobster tail with whipped potatoes and Brocolini . Everything about both entrees was pure perfection. Half way through my steak the bread finally arrived. At this point, my date who ordered first a cocktail , the a beer had 4 glasses in front of her. No one ever came back to check our entrees. It wasn't a problem because of the perfection of our meal. As I took my last bite of my entree she finally swooped in and removed all of the glasses, and plates. I was just pouring my 2nd glass of wine. It was now only 6:20. 30 minutes. I ashes her to please wait on delivering the desserts. We both ordered crème brûlée which were also divine. All in all the food could not have been better. Service on the other hand felt very amateurish for a restaurant of this caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The dinner, ambiance and view were perfe ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The dinner, ambiance and view were perfect for celebrating New Year's Eve with family and friends. Everyone's dinner was as ordered and delicious. Our server was attentive but discreet, leaving us free to enjoy the view of the Ohio River, bridges and lights of Louisville and New Albany. Live piano music added to the festive evening. We will be back for future New Year's Eves!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary with our children and their spouses. The good was wonderful and the service was top notch. Overall it was the elegant experience with the best view in the city that we had hoped for, I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Peter, was outstanding! The ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our waiter, Peter, was outstanding! The atmosphere was relaxing, modern and elegant. The food was very good. We got to sit in the rotating section and that was really neat. The only negative was that it was very cold in the restaurant; I recommend taking a sweater or jacket. Overall, I would definitely give it a 5 star.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, as was the servi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. Sitting at the revolving seating area is a must, to really appreciate the river view. The complimentary desert was a added bonus.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were outstanding. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service and food were outstanding. Loved the decor and coziness. My sister and I spent 3 nights at the Galt House for Christmas and the restaurant was our treat. She was sad because she left her to go box at the table and couldn't have those lovely leftovers the next day. We would highly recommend the restaurant and will be returning soon. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue was the temperature in th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The only issue was the temperature in the room was extremely warm. Needed to cooler. But everything else was wonderful. Thank you

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love this place. It was our first time d ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love this place. It was our first time dining there on Christmas with my family. The food was delicious, the décor and ambiance was great. Service was excellent. I didn't realize how pricy the buffet was on Christmas day. but I'll definitely eat there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent $300+ dollars on Christmas Day ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We spent $300+ dollars on Christmas Day Brunch. It was terrible! ALL the food was cold. It was our first time there and I thought because of the price per person that it would be fantastic. I was embarrassed to have taken my parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Went here with my wife for our 13th anni ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went here with my wife for our 13th anniversary. Making a reservation was easy, as well as dropping off and picking up the car from the valet. Very ritzy. Known for it's rotating dining room. There are actually two dining rooms, one that gives you a view to the east and one to the west of the city. You don't get a full panoramic view of the entire city, but you get your money's worth. Food was great, and not too pricey for the quality you get. Very good for a romantic experience that you won't forget!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday celebration.... awesome experie ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Birthday celebration.... awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family met in Louisville for a coupl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our family met in Louisville for a couple of nights fun at Christmas. We stayed at the Galt House and had dinner one evening at the Rivue Restaurant. Our waitress, Katie, was so great. She handled our group of seven as if we were the most important part of the world. Our food was fantastic. The live piano music was delightful and just the right volume. The ambiance was so festive and the view perfect. Recommended for a special evening or a casual afternoon.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service and food were excellent. T ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our service and food were excellent. The waiter attended to our very need promptly. The decor was beautiful. Love the revolving restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience. All was good

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Very nice experience. All was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Going to UL game. Food was great as was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Going to UL game. Food was great as was service. Got us out on time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My sister and I took our daughters and m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My sister and I took our daughters and mom on a girl's night at the Galt House for the traditional Christmas festivities. We Made reservations for the roof top dining experience and we were all pleased! My 16 year old niece and 7 year old daughter loved the movement of the room- which was pleasantly smooth and almost unnoticeable while eating and talking. The steak was wonderful and the complimentary chocolate cart was a nice surprise.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my fiancé here for her Birthday. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I took my fiancé here for her Birthday. We were both well pleased. The food was wonderful and the service great. The view was breathtaking. This is a great place for specia occasions.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carl our waiter for brunch was a delight ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Carl our waiter for brunch was a delight. Food and ambience was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good service and food, atmosphere i ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very good service and food, atmosphere is terrific

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pork Belly Tacos were great as well as t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Pork Belly Tacos were great as well as the Ahi Tuna. Not a very impressive beet salad and had to ask for more beets.

The rotating rooms were cool and had some complimentary chocolates to top it off.

It was overall a great date night!

Pro Tip: Ask for a window seat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I took my boyfriend here for his birthda ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday. This restaurant was beyond what i ever imagined. My boyfriend was extactic. Peter was our server and and was very polite and great at making the experience wonderful. Also, the pianist was the cherry on top. Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the duck and also the aged ri ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We ordered the duck and also the aged ribeye and both were wonderful. I would definitely order the duck again but suggest asking for the mashed sweet potatoes on the side because it was under the duck and more of an garnish sweep across the plate. I would suggest skipping the desserts menu. The chocolate mocha and goat cheescake were delicious also, but a little small for the price. They came around with a wonderful free candy bar that even had chocolate strawberries. We went at Christmas and they had a gentleman playing a baby grand piano that was very good but when he was playing my friend had trouble hearing because of all the noise in the room. We truely really enjoyed the experience and the service was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noise level was only elevated because we ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Noise level was only elevated because we were sitting next to the piano player. He was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening with family for Christ ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wonderful evening with family for Christmas celebration, dinner was fabulous and service was great

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.