About RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge

140 North Fourth Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

RIVUE, Louisville’s upscale restaurant and lounge, is unlike anything you have seen before. It features breathtaking panoramic views, sophisticated décor, and twin revolving floors that let you drink it all in. The contemporary cuisine is just as amazing. RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge has views to dine for.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Lounge opens at 5:00pm, Monday - Saturday.

Cross Street:
Galt House Hotel, RIVUE Tower, 25th Floor

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 568-4239

Website:
http://rivue.com/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday - Tim Murner, pianist

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking and Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Dustin Willett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch

Special Events & Promotions:
RIVUE Holiday Lunches, every Tuesday - Friday, December 2nd - 30th! Put a new spin on your lunch for the holidays with RIVUE Restaurant & Lounge’s Holiday Lunches. It’s a perfect way to show your appreciation for clients, vendors, associates and employees. The menu includes starters and soups, a variety of entrees and desserts. Try our new $30 special including a RIVUE salad, choice of one of four entrees, and a holiday dessert! For reservations, call 502.568.4239. (closed 12/24/14)

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat Dad to Father's Day brunch, 25 stories up, with panoramic views of downtown and the waterfront!

Private Dining

At RiIVUE, we offer panoramic views of the city. We have a contemporary, upscale facility that is perfect for Wedding Receptions, birthdays, and more!

RIVUE Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Louisville
2 More
Special Occasion
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

scenic view (152)
special occasion (138)
romantic (123)
See All
great for brunch (54)
good for groups (47)
fit for foodies (47)
notable wine list (23)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (19)
great for lunch (19)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the atmosphere great view, food wa ...

Dined 2 days ago

Loved the atmosphere great view, food was awesome! Very romantic ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch, worth the price

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great brunch with a plethora of options both breakfast and lunch. Great dessert bar and of course a wonderful view. Nice piano playing as ell.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We went to the Rivue for my husbands 50t ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Rivue for my husbands 50th birthday. The views were great and the ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner. We enjoyed the sunset while eating dinner. We both ordered the bone in ribeye and both felt it was just ok, the meat was a little tough, for the price we were a little disappointed. Everything else we had was very good and the service was great. We will definitely be back to give it another chance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good View, High Price and Average Food

Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time eating at Rivue. It has a very good scenic view overlooking the OH river in downtown Louisville. The food was fine, but the prices are on the high side. $50+ steaks are something I would expect in NYC. Overall I had a good time, the staff was friendly and the food was fine, but nothing to write home about. I could come back in the future, but it won't be my first choice...it will likely take an event at the Galt House or area nearby to get me there. Overall it was C+, which is the restaurant equivalent of what I grade Harp Lager.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Rotating restaurant mea ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good food. Rotating restaurant means you will get a good view once in a while, except when it is foggy as it was when we were there😔.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

I was in town for business and met co-workers here. It is a beautiful view and nice atmosphere. Food was very tasty, service was good except one person in our party of 5 did not get their food until the rest of us were done. Manager did comp her meal after we asked server about that. They were very good about accommodating my special request related to my meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

The ribeye was so tough that I couldn't ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ribeye was so tough that I couldn't cut it with a steak knife. The server was not knowledgable about the menu. The restaurant was extremely hot. We frequent upscale restaurants and we were very disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Night Out

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

During our recent visit to Louisville we heard about the scenic view from Rivue. It was worth the trip. Excellent view....but the food, service, and ambiance made it a special night out for us. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What an AMAZING experience. I have bee ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

What an AMAZING experience. I have been fortunate to dine a lot of places across both the US and globe. This restaurant is one of my favorites. A jewel hidden in Louisville, and with it's rotating dining rooms, a fantastic place to unwind and enjoy dinner. My wife and I had the bone in filet and Ahi Tuna for our dinners. Expertly made. For starters we had Oysters and Tuna Tartare. We had an absolutely fantastic bottle of Krug champagne, and a perfect Panna Cotta for our dessert, dressed with rose petals as a garnish. Would not hesitate, for an instant, to recommend Rivue as a dining venue! Kudos to the chef and staff, and thanks so very much for our special night!

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

High cost for mediocre food and poor service

Dined on May 11, 2016

Out of our party of 5, only 2 were happy with their meal taste. Service was horrible despite our waitress having only 1 other table. Took 25 minutes to bring the 1 desert ordered. View was good, but seating area was very chilly. Despite our complaining about that upon arrival, no action was ever taken to improve our comfort.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I enjoy our time at Rivue. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My family and I enjoy our time at Rivue. The food was outstanding, the view was glorious. It was storming at the time, but even then, we were amazed at the beauty from atop the Galt House of this amazing experience. The color of the sky, the lighting, the way the rain rolled in from Indiana, it was a sight to see. The service was beyond and over the top. They made my twins 17th birthday so special. They had place cards when they arrived, celebrating their special day. Our waiter brought us special treats from the chief, the food was AWESOME! My family and I cannot wait to return to this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Website featured a wine special. Our ser ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Website featured a wine special. Our server tried to say they no longer had it. She then returned to table with working list of wines (not a menu) for the special. She couldn't tell us anything about the listed wines and it didn't occur to her to go find out or bring help to the table. Food was ok but not as good as prior visits.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fantastic view.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the first time my wife and I attended the Kentucky Derby. We had brunch at Rivue to celebrate Mothers' Day. The food is fantastic, the service is excellent and the panoramic view of Louisville from the 25th floor is impressive while the restaurant rotates continuously 360 degrees. It is worth the value. We would recommend the restaurant to our friends.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was alright but not worth taking my mother to on Mother's Day at $50 per person. I wouldn't recommend just due to slow service and the waiter took my mothers drink and never brought it back. We had to ask another waiter if he could find ours because he was nowhere to be found even though we saw him at the bar a couple of times. It wasn't busy and the view was great but won't go back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Mother's Day Brunch 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've enjoyed celebrating Mother's Day with a nice brunch at The Revue many times. Given that this year it was the day after the Kentucky Derby, I expected that their team would be on top of their game and deliver the experience I've grown to expect. The food was it's usual excellent quality, with the chef's manning the omelet and waffle stations being extra friendly. However, table service was extremely below expectation. After we were seated, many servers passed by our table (and others around us), without paying any notice. 15 minutes later, after asking one of them to ask our server to stop at the table, returned and greeted us as if she had just seen us at the table. None of the server team helped each other keeping drinks filled and/or tables cleared. I was lucky to have gotten two cups of coffee during our meal. Just not the top experience/service I've received in the past. We'll be back again and hope that the service issue is resolved.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second Mother's Day Brunch ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second Mother's Day Brunch at the Revue. Our expectations were met once again, both in food selection and outstanding service. However, we were not aware that the Revue offers a brunch every weekend. Your restaurant will now be added to our regular rotation and we will visit at least once every 90 days. We live in Frankfort, so it is a 90 mile round trip drive, a little much for a weekly visit. Wish we lived closer. The views of the Ohio River and surrounding area are exceptional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What a remarkable place, both the restau ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

What a remarkable place, both the restaurant and the Galt House! Classy, elegant and comfortable surroundings. Exceedingly friendly and professional service (these folks really care!). Our food was delicious, and the drinks were lovely. To "top" it all off, this 25th floor restaurant revolves to give you an exhilarating view of this great city! Yes, it is pricey; save up and splurge, it's totally worth it

food5
ambience5
service3

The food was amazing.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was amazing.

food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was great

Dined on April 29, 2016

The wait staff was wonderful. The desserts were average. The salad was fresh but nothing exciting. The bread was warm and the flavored butters were very good. I ordered the ribeye cooked medium and it was done to my liking however, the steak was dry and chewy. There was gristle in every bite but not much flavor. This seemed very strange for what should have been a high quality steak. The side of mushrooms and the asparagus were average. We were seated in the rotating dining room as requested and enjoyed the view as always. The chef's complimentary sweets at the end of the meal were good. We love the cashew brittle.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food but too cool for comfort

Dined on April 18, 2016

This was an enjoyable evening celebrating my wife's birthday. Great It was exceptional except for the room temperature. It was like a meat locker! We asked for the temperature to be turned up but to no avail. When we come back we will all wear sweaters. Very frustrating..................

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on April 16, 2016

The scenic views are amazing. Ambiance was great with the piano playing. The food was excellent. The prime rib was superb. The only thing is I would've liked a window seat. I didn't know you had to request a window when making the reservation. The view is obstructed when you sit in the middle. Overall a great place for date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wonderful and our server was amazing!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We were there for a wedding and I took my husband to dinner, just the two of us, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our server what very knowledgeable and suggested some wonderful items to try and the wine was so good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Steak well done

Dined on April 12, 2016

I ordered my steak well done it took three times before they send it out well done of course they apologized and my meal was free but if you asked for steak well done no pink it should come out that way the first time so you can eat with the rest of your party and enjoy the friendship and your meal

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank You Rivue

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was the first time my best friend and her family from Eastern Kentucky had visited The Ri vue I heard only positive remarks from all. Thank you Rivue! Ken Follis

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Changed Format

Dined on April 10, 2016

Sunday brunch has been changed since our last visit. The RIVUE now offers local items on the brunch bar. The lunch items have had the bar raised as well, with more options and more upscale dishes. Had a wonderful time, good service, good food and a better value than before.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food...service not so much

Dined on April 8, 2016

Good portions were large and tasted very good. The view was great! The server seemed rushed and even inconvenienced by us throughout the meal. It seemed as though he was trying to have us finish our meal and leave as soon as possible. He acted in this manner with each course. Good food...service was not good!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch, beautiful view!

Dined on April 3, 2016

We have lived at the Galt House for a year and never had brunch at RIVUE. We were looking for a beautiful place to host our wedding blessing reception in June so decided to have brunch at RIVUE. It was perfect. Food was delicious and beautifully presented, service was impeccable and the art deco style décor was well done. The view is gorgeous. Definitely the perfect spot for brunch, date night or like we will, an intimate celebration with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant to celeb ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversaries. We are never disappointed. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable

Dined on April 2, 2016

I enjoyed celebrating my husband's birthday. Mark was an excellent server and did a wonderful job!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Easter Brunch not recommended

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was nothing remarkable. The buffet food was very unremarkable. It was much more a venue to feed a lot of people as quickly as possible, and nothing more. Typical weekend evening meals are a much more favorable setting, quality of food and service. We were really disappointed in the Easter buffet. Never again.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were extremely disappointed that they had not changed their brunch price for Easter and they served the exact same food as their normal brunch. We were shocked to have gotten our check and it was over $120 for 2 people. We will not be back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food. But tables packed in together. Tables too close together. We could hear every word that both couples said on both sides of us. It was like we were dining with two other couples. The Easter Brunch Buffet was great. Food quality was high. Food selections were wonderful. Service was great.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very friendly service, great food and vi ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Very friendly service, great food and views to die for. We highly recommend RIVUE!

food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined in most of the upscale res ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We have dined in most of the upscale restaurants in town, and this one rates at the top. A great place for a night out.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner! The restaurant has wonderful views of the city, the service was excellent and the food was outstanding - the scallops appetizer was especially notable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 19, 2016

So happy we came here. Great view and excellent food. The live piano music was nice. Wait staff were very attentive. Would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3

It was good but not great. Of course, th ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was good but not great. Of course, the view is nice but for the price the food was ok but the fit and finish of the actual restaurant needs some work. Tears in seats, chipped table decorations, spotted glasses and stained and worn through menus is not fine dining. Not deal breakers overall but if you're charging an average price entree price around $40 I expect much more polish. Waiter was nice but definitely not fine dining level. Not upset we went but no reason to go back.

food5
ambience2
service5

The food and service were excellent and ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and service were excellent and were complimented by songs from a grand piano...unfortunately the air conditioning system kept us too cold for comfort. Dress in layers or call ahead to see if they have fixed the problem.

food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived 30 minutes early for our rese ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We arrived 30 minutes early for our reservation and was still seated immediately. The wait or was very attentive without being over bearing. Everything was wonderful!

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't go!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Expensive food with horrible service. Waitperson said she didn't know anything about the menu. Staff milling about. Go to the other restaurant in the hotel, Jeff Ruby's. Food itself was just barely OK. Place needs a good cleaning.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.