About Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant

2258 S. Kinnickinnic Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53207
View Larger Map

Whether you are planning on dinner for 1, or for 100, Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant offers a casual, and comfortable dining experience. Relax in our cozy booths, or sit next to the palm trees; while tasting the most traditional and authentic of mole sauces. Choose a wine to accentuate the flavors, a mango Mojito, or a coconut Margarita to accompany your meal. Request a sample of our fresh, daily offerings which may consist of Sesame Seed Mole, or Pumpkin Seed Mole, Almond Mole, Peanut Mole, or Mole Oaxaca, or perhaps start with the coconut shrimp tapas. We invite you to disconnect from the world for a brief period of time to fully enjoy your dinner. Savor each ingredient, and enjoy each visit, at Riviera Maya Restaurant, in Bay View, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 294-4848

Website:
http://www.riviera-maya-milwaukee.com/

Entertainment:
Classic guitar player, or solo singers, on advertised weekends.

Catering:
Call Manager to discuss details in advance. 414-294-4848

Parking Details:
Street parking with meters until 6:00 p.m. City Lot in the back of the restaurant with meters on until 9:00 p.m. Free street parking behind the restaurant, on Allis Street.

Public Transit:
Bus stops a half block away, at corner of Kinnickinnic and Lincoln Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Jose Gilberto Botello

Private Party Facilities:
Banquet Room available for private parties. Call Manager to discuss details in advance.

Private Party Contact:
Ask for the Manager: 4142944848

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant, Milwaukee, WI
Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant, Milwaukee, WI

Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Spicy (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I remember Riviera Maya having a larger ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I remember Riviera Maya having a larger selection. I think they have scaled their menu back. The good was all fine, but it was stand-out. It was reasonably priced and the service was quick and friendly.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food just average fish tacos were bad. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food just average fish tacos were bad.

I had been this restaurant one other time the evening and had a good experience but had gone down hill since then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great authentic Mexican cuisine and a fo ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great authentic Mexican cuisine and a focus on Moles, which you don't often see north of the Border. A word of warning, though - although the whole menu is extremely reasonably priced, the portions are enormous, which makes it even better value. Service was very friendly and the restaurant is in a fun part of town, a bit off the usual beaten track.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Delicious and one you should not miss.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Delicious and one you should not miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good for large parties. Very attentive w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good for large parties. Very attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The price for the drinks and food was de ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The price for the drinks and food was definitely geared more toward the yuppies. Nothing about the restaurant screamed authenticity other than the accent of the waiter. We did not receive chips and salsa, nor did any of the plates I wanted come with rice AND beans. The shrimp chimichanga was good. But for the price I would have expected a LOT more. However, that is my fault for not looking at the price beforehand. Overall, I would not recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget or is frugal. Taquerias around the city are much more filling and affordable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was really good but the menu w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was really good but the menu was a little confusing. Our waiter recommended the chips and salsa sampler. It was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

FUN EXPERIENCE

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We dined here after the Milwaukee Ballet performance of Alice in Wonderland so we were high from that experience. The restaurant was lively and busy already at 4:30 on a Sunday afternoon. The food was good. Would like to try a full meal. We enjoyed the tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the Mole!

 
 (London)·Dined on May 16, 2016

We live in Evanston IL and try to find excuses to drive up to Milwaukee several times a year to experience the incredible chocolate mole created in this lovely restaurant. They also cater nicely to my vegan needs, switching the fabulous opening soup to vegetable broth, eliminating cheese on top and other accommodations. Gracious servers; wonderfully consistent and delicious dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!! Always friendly staff!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food!! Always friendly staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great off the radar Mexican

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is a gem. It has more refined Mexican fare, with a great variety of moles and other higher end Mexican, but at very reasonable prices. Not the place if you are in the mood for greasy chimichangas, but if you want to try upscale Mexican, you have to go here. The tortilla soup is insane!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch menu offers traditional Mexican b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch menu offers traditional Mexican breakfast choices such as tortas, burritos, omelettes and egg dishes. Pancakes and french toast (with a twist!) are also offered. Reasonable prices for quite a bit of food, including a serving of the tortilla soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had the chicken Nachos...excellent...eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Had the chicken Nachos...excellent...everyone in our party of 12 seemed happy with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Not your average Mexican Restaurant

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is unexpected and exciting. I love how there is a different twist on everything and that it is all delicious! The atmosphere is inviting for anyone and the spot is lower lit and chill yet not stuffy or pretentious. I vibe is laid back and not loud. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the food and drinks and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2016

We really liked the food and drinks and the service was very good. Nice for a low key dinner out to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Welcome discovery

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Always looking for good Mexican restaurants outside the usual National Avenue area. Excellent, friendly service, good margaritas, but the star is the food! Signature moles are a refreshing change from the common salsa fare. Enough variety of menu items to satisfy multiple dining tastes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. The margaritas w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was very good. The margaritas were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2016

This is by far the best Mexican restaurant in Milwaukee! Excellent service and food quality!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for Mexican food

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 3, 2016

When you first walk in, the aroma, ambiance, fill your senses immediately.

This is the best Mexican restaurant that I have found in southeast Wisconsin. My family and I have dined here half a dozen times now and none of us have ever left disappointed. From the 3 shot house margaritas to the tortilla soup to the main courses, all authentic, all flavorful.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A Surprisingly Delightful Experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2015

I towed in a party of 8 and the server had the tables all ready for us. It was daughter's suggestion to try the Riviera Maya and she knows Mexican food! We were impressed by the portion sizes, which were not too huge, for a change and the quality of the food was amazing! It was flavorful food, and was light. There did not seem to be much oil or grease in it to notice, which is really nice to discover for those of us trying to eat healthy. I am vegetarian and most of the party I brought in is not, so I was very happy that the vegetarian options were delicious too. One of us was also gluten intolerant and for once that never posed any difficulty.

The drinks were delightful and the meal was served in a timely manner. We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good But Not Great

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2015

Took a friend to Riviera Maya for the first time. I had been there once before, several years ago, and I enjoyed it. Since then, things seem to have changed a bit.

Portions are now considerably smaller than they used to be. The food was still good, but it's the only Mexican restaurant I've been to that requires you to pay for chips and salsa. Nothing complimentary here!

The service was slow. My dining companion ordered a second margarita and it didn't come. The waiter stopped to ask how everything was and we reminded him of the margarita order. He admitted he had forgotten about it and brought it, advising that it would not be on our bill, which we appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Very Good Mexican Restaurant

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2015

It is a little difficult to review the restaurant, since my visit was during a snow storm. The service was very good. The waiter explained the lunch menu and even thought they don't have combonation plates, they do offer small plates, so you can order a variety of items.

We both enjoyed our selections and even though I can't remember the name, they offer a combination meat that is very tasty and should be tried.

I'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My order came out wrong. The food was n ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 14, 2015

My order came out wrong. The food was not as good as it has been in the past. Have to pay for chips and salsa which is crazy at a Mexican Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Amazing!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2015

The food was delicious and the service was spot-on! Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner Review

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 17, 2015

We had a great time here and were appreciative that they didn't hold back on the amount of margarita that you get in one pitcher, great value!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall good experience. Their moles are ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Overall good experience. Their moles are the best !

The tamarind margarita was really good

Portion sizes are pretty good, we were stuffed and couldn't have any desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Okay, bit trendy

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2015

I was disappointed, did not offer chips or salsa, believe you pay for that. I ordered a quesadilla and it was a bit greasy and what they call pico de gallo was just lettuce and tomatoes.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Authenticity at its finest

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2015

Been dining at Riviera for years and never disappoints. Grab some friends for lunch or dinner, there's lots of seating and you must have a margarita and queso fundito.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Service!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Great food, great service, my server was very articulate as he explained the menu and history of some of this dishes. He can easily be working at a very high scale restaurant! my husband was very impressed he almost offered him a job, lol.

Love it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy coming here - the servic ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2015

We always enjoy coming here - the service and food is great and we never spend too much time waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 23, 2015

Food was terrific. Service outstanding. Atmosphere is very casual.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Friendly Service & Amazing Food!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 27, 2015

Our server was fantastic & her recommendations were spot on!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great find on Open Table!!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Used open table to find a place that could accommodate a reservation for 16 ppl for a Saturday afternoon luncheon to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday. We live in the Green Bay area, but most of his relatives live in the Milwaukee area, his son lives in Chicago & so we were looking for an easy to get to place for this celebration. My husband actually grew up in Bay View so selected this restaurant without ever having visited it before. So as to reviewing it, couldn't have been happier with our selection!!!

Thank you to the staff of Riviera Maya for a great afternoon! They had one table set up for us in the main dining area, but then quickly offered us the opportunity to use a separate side room to give us room to visit & socialize, they took drink orders as we mingled, and then had a great and delicious lunch off the menu. Everyone enjoyed the food & I personally loved the lunch special I ordered with fish tacos and coconut shrimp. We ordered sampler plates of the various moles & they explained them all, the meals came with soup which by the way was also delicious. They topped off the afternoon by bringing out a birthday dessert on the house, including a candle & a shot of Jose Cuervo!! THANK YOU! It was a a great find, and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. Hope I get to return here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the usual Mexican fare

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 28, 2015

The moles and weekend specials are the attractions that keep me coming back. My favorite Mexican eatery in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mole sampler is a must! Beautiful pr ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2015

The mole sampler is a must! Beautiful presentation and tasty fun! Margaritas are powerful and delicious. Want a quiet dinner? Go on a week night. Looking for more action? Saturdays are much more lively and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Riviera Maya is a special gem

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2015

Riviera Maya does Mexican food with an upscale twist. The moles are a perfect. The flavors are excellent, and the presentation is good. Great drinks are also available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pre-vacation get-together

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 21, 2014

This was perfect for our purpose of getting together with a small group for a Christmas outing. We wanted a pleasant Mexican atmosphere with good food and Margaritas. We were all impressed with the variety of sauces. The service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious and authentic Mexican brunch e ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Delicious and authentic Mexican brunch experience. Check it out!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mole

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 1, 2014

The mole sampler was very good. Food was good, ambiance was nice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The expanded dining area made this a per ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 19, 2014

The expanded dining area made this a perfect place for an impromptu group dinner. The food was as delicious as ever. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.