Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant

4.4
64 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for Groups
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Whether you are planning on dinner for 1, or for 100, Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant offers a casual, and comfortable dining experience. Relax in our cozy booths, or sit next to the palm trees; while tasting the most traditional and authentic of mole sauces. Choose a wine to accentuate the flavors, a mango Mojito, or a coconut Margarita to accompany your meal. Request a sample of our fresh, daily offerings which may consist of Sesame Seed Mole, or Pumpkin Seed Mole, Almond Mole, Peanut Mole, or Mole Oaxaca, or perhaps start with the coconut shrimp tapas. We invite you to disconnect from the world for a brief period of time to fully enjoy your dinner. Savor each ingredient, and enjoy each visit, at Riviera Maya Restaurant, in Bay View, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates, Latin / Spanish
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 294-4848
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jose Gilberto Botello
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Banquet Room available for private parties. Call Manager to discuss details in advance.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ask for the Manager: (414) 294-4848
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Call Manager to discuss details in advance. 414-294-4848
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lincoln Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking with meters until 6:00 p.m. City Lot in the back of the restaurant with meters on until 9:00 p.m. Free street parking behind the restaurant, on Allis Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stops a half block away, at corner of Kinnickinnic and Lincoln Avenues.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Classic guitar player, or solo singers, on advertised weekends.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 64 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Just plain great food. I had the Friday seafood special with fish tacos and coconut shrimp. Tortilla soup. Excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at Riviera Maya. The moles were all excellent and the mole de la dia was exceptional - it was a combination of chiles. We enjoyed the mole sampler. The peanut, chocolate, pumpkin seed moles were all wonderful, fresh, and tasty.

We liked the small plate concept because it allowed us to sample a wide variety of plates. The platanos stuffed with cream cheese were great, and using some of the mole on them made them even better.

We tried enchiladas with mole, shrimp with mango sauce, and other dishes and everything was fresh, subtle and tasty.

Service was good. The margarita was good. The menu is a little limited, but everything we had was grate. And that's better than a menu that has everything and does nothing well.

We enjoyed Riviera Maya and will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and friends thinks the margaritas are some of the best in town !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 19, 2016

I remember Riviera Maya having a larger selection. I think they have scaled their menu back. The good was all fine, but it was stand-out. It was reasonably priced and the service was quick and friendly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 1, 2016

Food just average fish tacos were bad.
I had been this restaurant one other time the evening and had a good experience but had gone down hill since then.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 6, 2016

Great authentic Mexican cuisine and a focus on Moles, which you don't often see north of the Border. A word of warning, though - although the whole menu is extremely reasonably priced, the portions are enormous, which makes it even better value. Service was very friendly and the restaurant is in a fun part of town, a bit off the usual beaten track.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 23, 2016

Delicious and one you should not miss.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2016

Good for large parties. Very attentive wait staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 30, 2016

The price for the drinks and food was definitely geared more toward the yuppies. Nothing about the restaurant screamed authenticity other than the accent of the waiter. We did not receive chips and salsa, nor did any of the plates I wanted come with rice AND beans. The shrimp chimichanga was good. But for the price I would have expected a LOT more. However, that is my fault for not looking at the price beforehand. Overall, I would not recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget or is frugal. Taquerias around the city are much more filling and affordable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was really good but the menu was a little confusing. Our waiter recommended the chips and salsa sampler. It was great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 22, 2016

We dined here after the Milwaukee Ballet performance of Alice in Wonderland so we were high from that experience. The restaurant was lively and busy already at 4:30 on a Sunday afternoon. The food was good. Would like to try a full meal. We enjoyed the tapas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2016

We live in Evanston IL and try to find excuses to drive up to Milwaukee several times a year to experience the incredible chocolate mole created in this lovely restaurant. They also cater nicely to my vegan needs, switching the fabulous opening soup to vegetable broth, eliminating cheese on top and other accommodations. Gracious servers; wonderfully consistent and delicious dining!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food!! Always friendly staff!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

This place is a gem. It has more refined Mexican fare, with a great variety of moles and other higher end Mexican, but at very reasonable prices. Not the place if you are in the mood for greasy chimichangas, but if you want to try upscale Mexican, you have to go here. The tortilla soup is insane!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch menu offers traditional Mexican breakfast choices such as tortas, burritos, omelettes and egg dishes. Pancakes and french toast (with a twist!) are also offered. Reasonable prices for quite a bit of food, including a serving of the tortilla soup!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2016

Had the chicken Nachos...excellent...everyone in our party of 12 seemed happy with the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2016

The food is unexpected and exciting. I love how there is a different twist on everything and that it is all delicious! The atmosphere is inviting for anyone and the spot is lower lit and chill yet not stuffy or pretentious. I vibe is laid back and not loud. Love this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2016

We really liked the food and drinks and the service was very good. Nice for a low key dinner out to talk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Always looking for good Mexican restaurants outside the usual National Avenue area. Excellent, friendly service, good margaritas, but the star is the food! Signature moles are a refreshing change from the common salsa fare. Enough variety of menu items to satisfy multiple dining tastes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was very good. The margaritas were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

This is by far the best Mexican restaurant in Milwaukee! Excellent service and food quality!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

When you first walk in, the aroma, ambiance, fill your senses immediately.
This is the best Mexican restaurant that I have found in southeast Wisconsin. My family and I have dined here half a dozen times now and none of us have ever left disappointed. From the 3 shot house margaritas to the tortilla soup to the main courses, all authentic, all flavorful.
Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2015

I towed in a party of 8 and the server had the tables all ready for us. It was daughter's suggestion to try the Riviera Maya and she knows Mexican food! We were impressed by the portion sizes, which were not too huge, for a change and the quality of the food was amazing! It was flavorful food, and was light. There did not seem to be much oil or grease in it to notice, which is really nice to discover for those of us trying to eat healthy. I am vegetarian and most of the party I brought in is not, so I was very happy that the vegetarian options were delicious too. One of us was also gluten intolerant and for once that never posed any difficulty.

The drinks were delightful and the meal was served in a timely manner. We will be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2015

Took a friend to Riviera Maya for the first time. I had been there once before, several years ago, and I enjoyed it. Since then, things seem to have changed a bit.

Portions are now considerably smaller than they used to be. The food was still good, but it's the only Mexican restaurant I've been to that requires you to pay for chips and salsa. Nothing complimentary here!

The service was slow. My dining companion ordered a second margarita and it didn't come. The waiter stopped to ask how everything was and we reminded him of the margarita order. He admitted he had forgotten about it and brought it, advising that it would not be on our bill, which we appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2015

It is a little difficult to review the restaurant, since my visit was during a snow storm. The service was very good. The waiter explained the lunch menu and even thought they don't have combonation plates, they do offer small plates, so you can order a variety of items.
We both enjoyed our selections and even though I can't remember the name, they offer a combination meat that is very tasty and should be tried.

I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 13, 2015

My order came out wrong. The food was not as good as it has been in the past. Have to pay for chips and salsa which is crazy at a Mexican Restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2015

The food was delicious and the service was spot-on! Will definitely be going back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2015

We had a great time here and were appreciative that they didn't hold back on the amount of margarita that you get in one pitcher, great value!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 10, 2015

Overall good experience. Their moles are the best !

The tamarind margarita was really good

Portion sizes are pretty good, we were stuffed and couldn't have any desserts

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 11, 2015

I was disappointed, did not offer chips or salsa, believe you pay for that. I ordered a quesadilla and it was a bit greasy and what they call pico de gallo was just lettuce and tomatoes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2015

Been dining at Riviera for years and never disappoints. Grab some friends for lunch or dinner, there's lots of seating and you must have a margarita and queso fundito.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 1, 2015

Great food, great service, my server was very articulate as he explained the menu and history of some of this dishes. He can easily be working at a very high scale restaurant! my husband was very impressed he almost offered him a job, lol.

Love it!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 27, 2015

We always enjoy coming here - the service and food is great and we never spend too much time waiting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2015

Food was terrific. Service outstanding. Atmosphere is very casual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2015

Our server was fantastic & her recommendations were spot on!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2015

Used open table to find a place that could accommodate a reservation for 16 ppl for a Saturday afternoon luncheon to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday. We live in the Green Bay area, but most of his relatives live in the Milwaukee area, his son lives in Chicago & so we were looking for an easy to get to place for this celebration. My husband actually grew up in Bay View so selected this restaurant without ever having visited it before. So as to reviewing it, couldn't have been happier with our selection!!!

Thank you to the staff of Riviera Maya for a great afternoon! They had one table set up for us in the main dining area, but then quickly offered us the opportunity to use a separate side room to give us room to visit & socialize, they took drink orders as we mingled, and then had a great and delicious lunch off the menu. Everyone enjoyed the food & I personally loved the lunch special I ordered with fish tacos and coconut shrimp. We ordered sampler plates of the various moles & they explained them all, the meals came with soup which by the way was also delicious. They topped off the afternoon by bringing out a birthday dessert on the house, including a candle & a shot of Jose Cuervo!! THANK YOU! It was a a great find, and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. Hope I get to return here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2015

The moles and weekend specials are the attractions that keep me coming back. My favorite Mexican eatery in the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2015

The mole sampler is a must! Beautiful presentation and tasty fun! Margaritas are powerful and delicious. Want a quiet dinner? Go on a week night. Looking for more action? Saturdays are much more lively and fun.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2015

Riviera Maya does Mexican food with an upscale twist. The moles are a perfect. The flavors are excellent, and the presentation is good. Great drinks are also available.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2014

This was perfect for our purpose of getting together with a small group for a Christmas outing. We wanted a pleasant Mexican atmosphere with good food and Margaritas. We were all impressed with the variety of sauces. The service was great.

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by Riviera Maya Mexican Restaurant