Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan

Nestled in Gaylord Texan’s festive Riverwalk Market District, Old World Mexico meets modern Tex-Mex for a delicious dining experience. Riverwalk Cantina captures the charm of the San Antonio River walk in an open-air café setting featuring a delightful Koi stocked waterway, festive architecture, and colorful vegetation.

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $50 or more in Riverwalk Cantina will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Zeb Hartline

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Romantic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Special Occasion (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The surroundings are amazing! The food was replenished regularly on the buffet and tasted fresh. Will definitely recommend the experience to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This restaurant and the food was amazing. Yes a little pricey, but since it was in a hotel, I can understand. I did have one issue. The omelette station, the person got busy and made me a horrible omelette. I eat very healthy, so I ordered an egg white omelette with a bunch of vegetables. The man handling this then proceeded to douse all my vegetables in oil. Then plated the omelette, greasy mess and everything falling out of it. I was aghast and said I would never eat it that way and he moved onto the next guest. Luckily another chef came over and fixed it exactly the way it should have been made and it was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our visit was great, as always. The buffet at the Cantina has different selections if you are there for the breakfast only, breakfast/lunch combo (the best!), or dinner only. I liked the breakfast/lunch combination to get to sample all of the buffet foods from prime rib to fajitas to traditional American breakfast foods. They also had full salad bar with fresh berries, make your own omelette bar, kid's bar, and tables just for topping french toast, waffles, or pancakes. There is something for everyone here and it fits many occasions. Plus, they validate parking at the various establishments at the Gaylord. Some require a $50 purchase and some a $25 purchase. You can't go wrong at the Gaylord.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I dined for his first father's day. It was a bit pricey as we spent $99.00 on both he and I as we literally only ate from the breakfast selection. If we had it to do over we would have dined for breakfast only as the brunch was overrated for the price of 40 bucks per person plus 18% gratuity on what appeared to be average menu choices. It wasn't worth a 100 bucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent brunch for Mother's Day. Very diverse food offerings. It is a bit pricey but is truly an excellent experience if you can afford it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sunday brunch always good. Great place to make Mom feel even more special. Food and Henri service well worth it. Endless mimosas and Bellinis. If I could change anything let me have crab claws hot and reduce price on valet for those just coming out to eat. $31 for 3 hrs of valet ouch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day buffet was wonderful. Don't use the valet parking. Way too expensive and no discount for eating there. Bring your wallet! $62 each for the buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

easter brunch great food was fantastic will be back

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Terrible, cold food in a loud freezing-cold restaurant with poor service.
My family and I are there last year for Easter and enjoyed it. This year was terrible and outrageously over-priced. Will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Beautiful place but way overpriced for not so tasty food. Very disappointed on the price we paid for food we all picked at. It was a buffet style and there was nothing that was really good to us. We had more of the fruit and pastries rather than the food. My 7 year old literally had three bites of food and a few fries and it was close to $30 just for him and $120 for three adults, plus an additional $30 service charge, plus tip. Our server was great, which is the only reason I left an additional tip. We were celebrating our anniversary so we really wanted a nice lunch but left disappointed. Had the food been amazing I wouldn't mind the ticket price. Never returning or recommending.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Met a friend here for Sunday Brunch and was pleasantly surprised at the selection, the service and the ambience. It was a great choice and I would highly recommend this for Sunday Brunch. There was a nice selection of breakfast and Latin options for lunch. There were other non-breakfast, non-Latin options but we only focused on those two. It was a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was ok, the attention also, but the server overcharged a lot and Although I already call to the restaurant for this inconvenience, I still waiting for the response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Gaylord always has a nice Sunday brunch. Plenty of selections, all very tasty. I do think they "game" the reservation system though. There were supposedly only 4 slots at noon time but there were plenty of tables available when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It has become a family tradition to do the Sunday brunch buffet during the holiday season and then take in the ICE exhibit. Once again, the whole family really enjoyed the buffet. One of my daughter's has some stringent dietary restrictions so she enjoyed the vast array of foods that she could have. Quality and variety of food was excellent as always and service was very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Doesn't seem fair that teenagers who can't drink are charged the same buffet price as an adult who drinks the bellinis and mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Horrible ambience and service for an overrated hotel. Seriously disappointed with the value for money. Seating was next to a loud speaker blaring music where I had to shout to my family members to be heard. After an hour of eating, we were told that the food would be taken away. So much for a leisurely brunch paying $65. They wouldn't validate my parking either which costs another $25 for valet. I will never return here again. I'll opt for an upscale restaurant in Dallas next time. Absolutely horrible..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It is always beautiful out at the riverwalk cantina, but this year the food wasn't as good as it usually is. The price was more also and the quality of food for the price was poor. I had the prime rib it was cold and tough. I wasn't that impressed as I was in years before. I felt also that for $156.00 I should at least get a slice of cake not petifores.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas Day, and it was great. My husband said it was the best buffet he's ever been to, and he's made his mark on many a buffet, believe me! They had both breakfast and traditional Christmas dinner items plus much more. The cantina offers an atmosphere much like San Antonio plus there was live music for this occasion. A very pleasurable experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was a special Christmas celebration and we were not disappointed. The food was great and service was excellent. The Gaylord is decorated so beautifully and thus the ambiance was very nice. Would definitely recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

OVERPRICED...charged $80 per person for a buffet...ARE YOU KIDDING ME! And then slapped 18% gratuity...for self service! I'm embarrassed for Marriott!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is really good. The atmosphere is lovely. It's buffet only, so if you don't eat a lot, it's not an economical option, because it is PRICEY.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We arrived 20 minutes early and were seated within 5 minutes- great with a toddler!
Food was outstanding - everyone had plenty of their favorites to choose from, no matter what the dietary preference.
Cost was pretty high - since this was the Christmas Ice celebration the price of the Sunday buffet was increased about $10.00 and you could not order off the menu, only buffet was available - but since this was a once a year event it was worth it!!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have been to this restaurant several times. I had called ahead to confirm my reservations and specifically asked if we would be able to order from a menu for this particular date and time and I was guaranteed that "yes" we could. I was trying to be considerate to one member in our group who only has a part-time job and would think the usual buffet price would be a little more than what she would want to pay. When we arrived to check in, I told the hostess we were expecting to be able to order from a menu and she informed us that never could you order from a menu on a Sunday. This was a little embarrassing because we had driven quite a distance to bring an out of town guest to eat there plus a few others including the friend with the part time job. She of course was not anticipating paying that price for her meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place has amazing brunch and now, bottomless mimosas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful place and great brunch buffet! It was on the pricey side, but the food choices were varied and there was so much to pick from and enjoy. The only complaint was the charge of gratuity for four of us and we hardly saw our server to refresh drinks. That really should be earned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The fajitas and margaritas were excellent. Overall service and food are great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Experience was great until the bill came-$300.00 for 6 people for brunch seems extravagant. Will not be going back soon.

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love love this place for brunch. The food is amazing and the service was top notch. Wonderful place for brunch and have been several times. Never had a bad experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love the brunch here. They recently took away the chocolate fondue fountain, which was very disappointing, but other than that, everything else was great. Please bring back the chocolate fondue fountain to make the value worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I knew the Gaylord Texan would be an entertaining and interesting place to visit, but was pleasantly surprised at the selection and quality of the food at the Riverwalk Cantina. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our server was very attentive

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and Chef handled dietary restrictions with perfection. Wonderful service by waitress as well. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dishes were very good. Excellent variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We attended the Easter buffet and enjoyed it very much. The food was delicious, but the setting was not the best. Instead of having this in the ballroom, we were in the sun under the glass roof. It was hot with no shade. The waiter was friendly and helpful. We will not repeat the sun experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2016

A typical hotel restaurant with a seriously overpriced menu for marginal food and drink. I was enticed by the "riverwalk" and potential for a romantic setting but its a bit of a joke. and $25 to park for 2 hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 3, 2016

I have taken my family for Sunday brunch at the Riverwalk Cantina and the 'ICE' exhibit at the Gaylord for several years. We always enjoy it tremendously. As usual there is a wide variety of food and something everyone finds special. This year the fajitas were everyone's favorite. Only issue was I could never get anyone on the phone at the Gaylord to make special arrangements. We ended up working around that but it was kind of frustrating.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I go to the Brunch at the riverwalk cafe on a regular basis, the food is always good with lots of variety. Over the years (note Years) i noticed the cost has gone up and service way down. When your paying 130 dollars for 2 people like we did on New Years Day, I do not expect that the glasses being served with drinks to build up on the table after there empty until I am setting them on concrete wall next to the table. We also had plates that continued to sit on the table after finishing them. At one point we had 9 plates stacked on table that we scrapped food from just so they would not fall over off the table and break. I picked them all up and took them to the waiters station myself because it was making it difficult to eat with out knocking them off. Ask for a manager, everyone looks lost when you do that....So for safety concerns that your staff is letting all that glass build up all around us and also preventing you from getting to the manager, there taking responsibility for mine and my wife safety, and we all know what happens when wait staff take responsibility and something happens, they run the managers tell you how sorry they are, even though they were not paying attention either or they would of been all over that wait staff to get tables cleaned off and service guest as well-so we wont be back for a long time after our last visit. If your into watching your own safety, than we could choose IHOP, But were not coming back to Gaylord!! I noticed Great Wolf Lodge on the way in!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The brunch on New Years Days was outstanding! So many options and the food was delicious. Our waitress was fantastic. It is very expensive but very neat experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan for Christmas this year. We couldn't get seating for the $95 a person holiday buffet so we went with the $57 a person buffet at the Riverwalk Cantina. I can't imagine the holiday buffet had any more than this one: it was remarkable in terms of variety -everything from oysters of the half shell to prime rib. While it seemed overpriced, it really was a pretty good value. Not all the food was that great, but there was enough variety of find something all three of us liked. (The pancakes were bad but the biscuits and gravy, ahi tuna and eggs were great!) The bottomless mimosas were also a big hit with us. It's hard to handle a huge amount of people at holiday buffets like this but the staff did a great job. Our waitress (Kim from Osh Kosh) was fabulous!!! Her humor and responsiveness made for a great experience. We noticed all the staff seemed to be on their toes -- polite, fast and accommodating. Hope they all get big bonuses and decent wages for what they do!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.