About Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Nestled in Gaylord Texan’s festive Riverwalk Market District, Old World Mexico meets modern Tex-Mex for a delicious dining experience. Riverwalk Cantina captures the charm of the San Antonio River walk in an open-air café setting featuring a delightful Koi stocked waterway, festive architecture, and colorful vegetation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $50 or more in Riverwalk Cantina will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Zeb Hartline

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was ok, the attention also, but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was ok, the attention also, but the server overcharged a lot and Although I already call to the restaurant for this inconvenience, I still waiting for the response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

The Gaylord always has a nice Sunday bru ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Gaylord always has a nice Sunday brunch. Plenty of selections, all very tasty. I do think they "game" the reservation system though. There were supposedly only 4 slots at noon time but there were plenty of tables available when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It has become a family tradition to do t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It has become a family tradition to do the Sunday brunch buffet during the holiday season and then take in the ICE exhibit. Once again, the whole family really enjoyed the buffet. One of my daughter's has some stringent dietary restrictions so she enjoyed the vast array of foods that she could have. Quality and variety of food was excellent as always and service was very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Doesn't seem fair that teenagers who can ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Doesn't seem fair that teenagers who can't drink are charged the same buffet price as an adult who drinks the bellinis and mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It is always beautiful out at the riverw ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It is always beautiful out at the riverwalk cantina, but this year the food wasn't as good as it usually is. The price was more also and the quality of food for the price was poor. I had the prime rib it was cold and tough. I wasn't that impressed as I was in years before. I felt also that for $156.00 I should at least get a slice of cake not petifores.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Horrible ambience and service for an ove ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Horrible ambience and service for an overrated hotel. Seriously disappointed with the value for money. Seating was next to a loud speaker blaring music where I had to shout to my family members to be heard. After an hour of eating, we were told that the food would be taken away. So much for a leisurely brunch paying $65. They wouldn't validate my parking either which costs another $25 for valet. I will never return here again. I'll opt for an upscale restaurant in Dallas next time. Absolutely horrible..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

We went on Christmas Day, and it was gre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas Day, and it was great. My husband said it was the best buffet he's ever been to, and he's made his mark on many a buffet, believe me! They had both breakfast and traditional Christmas dinner items plus much more. The cantina offers an atmosphere much like San Antonio plus there was live music for this occasion. A very pleasurable experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special Christmas celebration ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was a special Christmas celebration and we were not disappointed. The food was great and service was excellent. The Gaylord is decorated so beautifully and thus the ambiance was very nice. Would definitely recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OVERPRICED...charged $80 per person for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

OVERPRICED...charged $80 per person for a buffet...ARE YOU KIDDING ME! And then slapped 18% gratuity...for self service! I'm embarrassed for Marriott!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We arrived 20 minutes early and were sea ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We arrived 20 minutes early and were seated within 5 minutes- great with a toddler!

Food was outstanding - everyone had plenty of their favorites to choose from, no matter what the dietary preference.

Cost was pretty high - since this was the Christmas Ice celebration the price of the Sunday buffet was increased about $10.00 and you could not order off the menu, only buffet was available - but since this was a once a year event it was worth it!!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is really good. The atmosphere ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is really good. The atmosphere is lovely. It's buffet only, so if you don't eat a lot, it's not an economical option, because it is PRICEY.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Food expensive

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food expensive

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Have been to this restaurant several tim ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Have been to this restaurant several times. I had called ahead to confirm my reservations and specifically asked if we would be able to order from a menu for this particular date and time and I was guaranteed that "yes" we could. I was trying to be considerate to one member in our group who only has a part-time job and would think the usual buffet price would be a little more than what she would want to pay. When we arrived to check in, I told the hostess we were expecting to be able to order from a menu and she informed us that never could you order from a menu on a Sunday. This was a little embarrassing because we had driven quite a distance to bring an out of town guest to eat there plus a few others including the friend with the part time job. She of course was not anticipating paying that price for her meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This place has amazing brunch and now, b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This place has amazing brunch and now, bottomless mimosas.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place and great brunch buffet! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful place and great brunch buffet! It was on the pricey side, but the food choices were varied and there was so much to pick from and enjoy. The only complaint was the charge of gratuity for four of us and we hardly saw our server to refresh drinks. That really should be earned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The fajitas and margaritas were excelle ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The fajitas and margaritas were excellent. Overall service and food are great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience was great until the bill came ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Experience was great until the bill came-$300.00 for 6 people for brunch seems extravagant. Will not be going back soon.

Tags: People Watching, Vegan, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Love love this place for brunch. The fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love love this place for brunch. The food is amazing and the service was top notch. Wonderful place for brunch and have been several times. Never had a bad experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the brunch here. They recently ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love the brunch here. They recently took away the chocolate fondue fountain, which was very disappointing, but other than that, everything else was great. Please bring back the chocolate fondue fountain to make the value worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I knew the Gaylord Texan would be an ent ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I knew the Gaylord Texan would be an entertaining and interesting place to visit, but was pleasantly surprised at the selection and quality of the food at the Riverwalk Cantina. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our server was very attentive

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and Chef handled dietary rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and Chef handled dietary restrictions with perfection. Wonderful service by waitress as well. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes were very good. Excellent varie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dishes were very good. Excellent variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We attended the Easter buffet and enjoye ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We attended the Easter buffet and enjoyed it very much. The food was delicious, but the setting was not the best. Instead of having this in the ballroom, we were in the sun under the glass roof. It was hot with no shade. The waiter was friendly and helpful. We will not repeat the sun experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

hold onto your wallet

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2016

A typical hotel restaurant with a seriously overpriced menu for marginal food and drink. I was enticed by the "riverwalk" and potential for a romantic setting but its a bit of a joke. and $25 to park for 2 hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Holiday Treat

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 3, 2016

I have taken my family for Sunday brunch at the Riverwalk Cantina and the 'ICE' exhibit at the Gaylord for several years. We always enjoy it tremendously. As usual there is a wide variety of food and something everyone finds special. This year the fajitas were everyone's favorite. Only issue was I could never get anyone on the phone at the Gaylord to make special arrangements. We ended up working around that but it was kind of frustrating.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Your Gaylord Texan, Representing TEXAS act like it

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I go to the Brunch at the riverwalk cafe on a regular basis, the food is always good with lots of variety. Over the years (note Years) i noticed the cost has gone up and service way down. When your paying 130 dollars for 2 people like we did on New Years Day, I do not expect that the glasses being served with drinks to build up on the table after there empty until I am setting them on concrete wall next to the table. We also had plates that continued to sit on the table after finishing them. At one point we had 9 plates stacked on table that we scrapped food from just so they would not fall over off the table and break. I picked them all up and took them to the waiters station myself because it was making it difficult to eat with out knocking them off. Ask for a manager, everyone looks lost when you do that....So for safety concerns that your staff is letting all that glass build up all around us and also preventing you from getting to the manager, there taking responsibility for mine and my wife safety, and we all know what happens when wait staff take responsibility and something happens, they run the managers tell you how sorry they are, even though they were not paying attention either or they would of been all over that wait staff to get tables cleaned off and service guest as well-so we wont be back for a long time after our last visit. If your into watching your own safety, than we could choose IHOP, But were not coming back to Gaylord!! I noticed Great Wolf Lodge on the way in!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

Great for a special occasion

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The brunch on New Years Days was outstanding! So many options and the food was delicious. Our waitress was fantastic. It is very expensive but very neat experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Serviceo for Christmas Brunch

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan for Christmas this year. We couldn't get seating for the $95 a person holiday buffet so we went with the $57 a person buffet at the Riverwalk Cantina. I can't imagine the holiday buffet had any more than this one: it was remarkable in terms of variety -everything from oysters of the half shell to prime rib. While it seemed overpriced, it really was a pretty good value. Not all the food was that great, but there was enough variety of find something all three of us liked. (The pancakes were bad but the biscuits and gravy, ahi tuna and eggs were great!) The bottomless mimosas were also a big hit with us. It's hard to handle a huge amount of people at holiday buffets like this but the staff did a great job. Our waitress (Kim from Osh Kosh) was fabulous!!! Her humor and responsiveness made for a great experience. We noticed all the staff seemed to be on their toes -- polite, fast and accommodating. Hope they all get big bonuses and decent wages for what they do!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent but Very loud and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was excellent but Very loud and expensive. With tip and parking the cost was $ 200.00 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointing This Year!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We have eaten Christmas Dinner at the Gaylord Riverwalk Cantina (or ballroom, the year the Cantina was closed for remodeling) for many years. However, we don't plan to return. Although always a bit pricey, you expect that on Christmas. This year, though, the food selection on the buffet and the quality were significantly less than in prior years. The shrimp tasted like chewy rubber, the dessert selection was very poor and the rest of the options were about 60% of what they have been in the past. In addition, the staff seemed overwhelmed when trying to keep the items restocked even though there were a few more empty tables than normal this year. It's clear management is trying to cut cost and increase profits without considering whether the product they're offering is fair to the customer. Definitely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Christmas Day Brunch

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food is great with bottomless mimosa. We will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to call the guy who was serving us for to

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2015

The ambiance was good for festive mood. The serving guy was not being attentive to my table of 6!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Not so good this year.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 8, 2015

Service used to be better. We went for our anniversary and was ask if we would like to share a table with another couple........ah, no!, i made these reservations. Then, me and my wife got up to go back to the buffet and on our return our table was all cleaned off ready for another party to sit there! I informed the server and all we got was "I'm sorry, let me bring new drinks" I never got my orange juice, all I got was water after asking twice for orange juice. My wife luckily got her drink. I was very disappointed in this service this time. It's normally very well managed but for some reason, it wasn't a great experience this time. My wife and I still enjoyed our anniversary and the food was still excellent! We're not going to let this one bad experience keep us from going again next year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I will rate 10

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2015

Excellent food.Very good service.I will recommend this to all my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 23, 2015

We ate here for the Sunday brunch. The restaurant is so cute ..... with tables in a large glass atrium next to a San Antonio style mini riverwalk. It was not very crowded so I was a little worried ... but the food was great and we were pleasantly surprised by the food quality. We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

No menu options for brunch other than $35 buffet.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Food selection was broad - but you need to be very hungry to get your $$ worth. Some food, such as carving station, was great. Other food just okay. Table service fair, not great; no follow-up except to bring us a check. For the price of the brunch I expected better service. The atrium at the Gaylord Texan adds atmosphere, and we had a pleasant time. The gentleman who was our host/greeter and the manager were both very customer service oriented and I really appreciated that.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

WAY OVERPRICED! Nothing special.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2015

WAY OVERPRICED! Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

One in5 ok

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2015

Only the beef fajitas were good, the others were sub par. Service was excellent, prices very high and food not up to local standards. Better Mexican foods are available at many,many local restaurants. We went hoping for authentic food, and left disappointed. Our guests were disappointed also. I had fis tacos, my wife ordered the chicken ,casadillas, poor, the burrito was of average quality as well.

Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Exceptional food!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 12, 2015

Among the several places to eat at the Gaylord Texan, the Riverwalk Cantina is always a favorite. The food is exceptional! The taste, the portion size, the drinks and the cost of the meals can't be beat. And who wouldn't want to sit on the riverwalk and dine???

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.