About Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Nestled in Gaylord Texan’s festive Riverwalk Market District, Old World Mexico meets modern Tex-Mex for a delicious dining experience. Riverwalk Cantina captures the charm of the San Antonio River walk in an open-air café setting featuring a delightful Koi stocked waterway, festive architecture, and colorful vegetation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $50 or more in Riverwalk Cantina will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Zeb Hartline

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love love this place for brunch. The fo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love love this place for brunch. The food is amazing and the service was top notch. Wonderful place for brunch and have been several times. Never had a bad experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I knew the Gaylord Texan would be an ent ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I knew the Gaylord Texan would be an entertaining and interesting place to visit, but was pleasantly surprised at the selection and quality of the food at the Riverwalk Cantina. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Ou ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our server was very attentive

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and Chef handled dietary rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and Chef handled dietary restrictions with perfection. Wonderful service by waitress as well. We love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes were very good. Excellent varie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dishes were very good. Excellent variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

hold onto your wallet

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A typical hotel restaurant with a seriously overpriced menu for marginal food and drink. I was enticed by the "riverwalk" and potential for a romantic setting but its a bit of a joke. and $25 to park for 2 hours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Holiday Treat

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

I have taken my family for Sunday brunch at the Riverwalk Cantina and the 'ICE' exhibit at the Gaylord for several years. We always enjoy it tremendously. As usual there is a wide variety of food and something everyone finds special. This year the fajitas were everyone's favorite. Only issue was I could never get anyone on the phone at the Gaylord to make special arrangements. We ended up working around that but it was kind of frustrating.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great for a special occasion

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The brunch on New Years Days was outstanding! So many options and the food was delicious. Our waitress was fantastic. It is very expensive but very neat experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Your Gaylord Texan, Representing TEXAS act like it

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I go to the Brunch at the riverwalk cafe on a regular basis, the food is always good with lots of variety. Over the years (note Years) i noticed the cost has gone up and service way down. When your paying 130 dollars for 2 people like we did on New Years Day, I do not expect that the glasses being served with drinks to build up on the table after there empty until I am setting them on concrete wall next to the table. We also had plates that continued to sit on the table after finishing them. At one point we had 9 plates stacked on table that we scrapped food from just so they would not fall over off the table and break. I picked them all up and took them to the waiters station myself because it was making it difficult to eat with out knocking them off. Ask for a manager, everyone looks lost when you do that....So for safety concerns that your staff is letting all that glass build up all around us and also preventing you from getting to the manager, there taking responsibility for mine and my wife safety, and we all know what happens when wait staff take responsibility and something happens, they run the managers tell you how sorry they are, even though they were not paying attention either or they would of been all over that wait staff to get tables cleaned off and service guest as well-so we wont be back for a long time after our last visit. If your into watching your own safety, than we could choose IHOP, But were not coming back to Gaylord!! I noticed Great Wolf Lodge on the way in!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was excellent but Very loud and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was excellent but Very loud and expensive. With tip and parking the cost was $ 200.00 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Serviceo for Christmas Brunch

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan for Christmas this year. We couldn't get seating for the $95 a person holiday buffet so we went with the $57 a person buffet at the Riverwalk Cantina. I can't imagine the holiday buffet had any more than this one: it was remarkable in terms of variety -everything from oysters of the half shell to prime rib. While it seemed overpriced, it really was a pretty good value. Not all the food was that great, but there was enough variety of find something all three of us liked. (The pancakes were bad but the biscuits and gravy, ahi tuna and eggs were great!) The bottomless mimosas were also a big hit with us. It's hard to handle a huge amount of people at holiday buffets like this but the staff did a great job. Our waitress (Kim from Osh Kosh) was fabulous!!! Her humor and responsiveness made for a great experience. We noticed all the staff seemed to be on their toes -- polite, fast and accommodating. Hope they all get big bonuses and decent wages for what they do!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Disappointing This Year!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We have eaten Christmas Dinner at the Gaylord Riverwalk Cantina (or ballroom, the year the Cantina was closed for remodeling) for many years. However, we don't plan to return. Although always a bit pricey, you expect that on Christmas. This year, though, the food selection on the buffet and the quality were significantly less than in prior years. The shrimp tasted like chewy rubber, the dessert selection was very poor and the rest of the options were about 60% of what they have been in the past. In addition, the staff seemed overwhelmed when trying to keep the items restocked even though there were a few more empty tables than normal this year. It's clear management is trying to cut cost and increase profits without considering whether the product they're offering is fair to the customer. Definitely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great Christmas Day Brunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food is great with bottomless mimosa. We will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to call the guy who was serving us for to

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

The ambiance was good for festive mood. The serving guy was not being attentive to my table of 6!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Not so good this year.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Service used to be better. We went for our anniversary and was ask if we would like to share a table with another couple........ah, no!, i made these reservations. Then, me and my wife got up to go back to the buffet and on our return our table was all cleaned off ready for another party to sit there! I informed the server and all we got was "I'm sorry, let me bring new drinks" I never got my orange juice, all I got was water after asking twice for orange juice. My wife luckily got her drink. I was very disappointed in this service this time. It's normally very well managed but for some reason, it wasn't a great experience this time. My wife and I still enjoyed our anniversary and the food was still excellent! We're not going to let this one bad experience keep us from going again next year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I will rate 10

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Excellent food.Very good service.I will recommend this to all my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

We ate here for the Sunday brunch. The restaurant is so cute ..... with tables in a large glass atrium next to a San Antonio style mini riverwalk. It was not very crowded so I was a little worried ... but the food was great and we were pleasantly surprised by the food quality. We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

No menu options for brunch other than $35 buffet.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Food selection was broad - but you need to be very hungry to get your $$ worth. Some food, such as carving station, was great. Other food just okay. Table service fair, not great; no follow-up except to bring us a check. For the price of the brunch I expected better service. The atrium at the Gaylord Texan adds atmosphere, and we had a pleasant time. The gentleman who was our host/greeter and the manager were both very customer service oriented and I really appreciated that.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

WAY OVERPRICED! Nothing special.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

WAY OVERPRICED! Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

One in5 ok

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

Only the beef fajitas were good, the others were sub par. Service was excellent, prices very high and food not up to local standards. Better Mexican foods are available at many,many local restaurants. We went hoping for authentic food, and left disappointed. Our guests were disappointed also. I had fis tacos, my wife ordered the chicken ,casadillas, poor, the burrito was of average quality as well.

Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Exceptional food!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Among the several places to eat at the Gaylord Texan, the Riverwalk Cantina is always a favorite. The food is exceptional! The taste, the portion size, the drinks and the cost of the meals can't be beat. And who wouldn't want to sit on the riverwalk and dine???

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as nice as before...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

I have been here several times, but this visit was not as good. Our wait staff was ho hum. I found myself getting my own chips and salsa refills (from the buffet) and wondering where our drinks were when we did not see our waiters for awhile. The food was okay. We had out of town guests with us. They were impressed with the hotel as a whole, but I know the Cantina has been better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Incredible Service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

We went to Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday. Eduardo, our waiter, was truly amazing. He we out of his way to make our whole family have a wonderful experience. Food and ambiance was great as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

I made a reservation and our table was ready when we got there. The food was great and atmosphere is awesome. We had a great time at the Gaylord!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

Best Sangria Marguarita I've ever had. White Queso was also amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I stayed at the Gaylord T ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 1, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Gaylord Texan for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it was wonderful!! We dined at the Riverwalk Cantina on Sunday night and just loved it. The food was hot and delicious, all of the staff (hostess, servers, etc) were so friendly and personable. The manager (Michael I believe) walked by our table and was so friendly and engaging. Overall wonderful experience!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food Service and ambiance was all amazing!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2015

There isn't anything I can say other than a beautiful wonderful fun place to dine while at the Gaylord. The wait staff was delightful, the food amazing and the cocktails divine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Open table pricing.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Prices need to be confirmed through restaurant. Open table had this restaurant priced under $30 and when we got our bill the meals were priced at $57. This was a brunch so it was all inclusive. (meal & beverages)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

sunday brunch!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

the Sunday brunch is exceptional. Just wish they would validate valet parking instead of just self park considering the price?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for Lunch Interview

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

I met someone here to interview over lunch as it is in a great area between Ft. Worth and Dallas. The food and atmosphere is great however the same couldn't be said for the service I recieved. It seemed my waiter was new to the job so I'm betting the service would have been better with a more experienced waiter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Good place to meet up for lunch before convention.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 23, 2015

Made reservations for my team so we could grab a bite to eat before our annual meeting. They have gluten free options (which were necessary for my manager). I personally had the chicken quesadilla and thought it was delicious. I don't like spicy food so it was mild enough for me and generous portions were provided. I couldn't even eat half of my food. If you are arriving to meet there for a large meeting or convention, I highly suggest making reservations ahead of time. I was glad I did; when we arrived there was a 30-40 min. wait for those without one so it was nice to just walk up and be seated.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Go off property!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

We waited for nearly 20 minutes for service and then another 20 for water and chips! Need I say more, this was a reflection of how the rest of our meal...we should have left at the first sign of bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent Experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Great service, great scenery, great food! Our waitress was Leesa and she was absolutely amazing! We loved her! She was fantastic! The scenery was great, everyone was so polite and fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Take a Mini Vacation to the Riverwalk

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 19, 2015

We met some friends there for dinner. It felt like we were on vacation in San Antonio with the river walk and atmosphere. The menu was a little thin but, the food was good. We had a great time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 10, 2015

Loved the atmosphere , felt like you were on the Riverwalk!.

We were looking forward to the " family special" …. 3 appetizer, several main dishes,

only to be told the website was outdated and that menu item had not been avail. for over

a year. Due to large # of guests at hotel, was offered their " limited menu". Chichen fajitas

were great. Service excellent. Would go back again.. just not at Spring Break.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This was my second time dining at this r ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

This was my second time dining at this restaurant. It is noteable for is atmosphere and location. Our waitress was not very timely, but otherwise we had a great table and experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

My wife and I had the Sunday Brunch, and it was excellent ! Our server was Wendy, and she was outstanding, and made our day and trip worthwhile ! Food buffet was great, with my omelet, her scrambled eggs and bacon choices, along with good selection of fruits and breads....Overall, a great experience !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They seemed to be desorginized

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We waited for almost 30 mins. before the waitress asked us what we wanted to drink and it took another 30 mins for our food. Very disappointed about this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

The food was horrible. We did not order drinks due to the expense of the food. There was a buffet but the waitress did not notify us of this option or we would have tried it. We will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Our family party of five went here for Christmas Day lunch. Brunch was advertised as ending at 2:00pm so we made a reservation for 3:00pm. Upon being seated we were told that we were only offered the brunch. I asked the price, $54/person. I had not planned on that. The crab claws were "funky" tasting. Our champagne glasses were filled with about 3 sips each. Our waiter let us know that we were only supposed to receive one champagne each. Ridiculous. I will never do that again. In the future I will make sure that I know exactly what time brunch is served. I felt like it was a complete rip off because it was Christmas Day. Oh well. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.