About Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051
View Larger Map

Nestled in Gaylord Texan’s festive Riverwalk Market District, Old World Mexico meets modern Tex-Mex for a delicious dining experience. Riverwalk Cantina captures the charm of the San Antonio River walk in an open-air café setting featuring a delightful Koi stocked waterway, festive architecture, and colorful vegetation.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Traditional Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Dinner: Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests who spend $50 or more in Riverwalk Cantina will receive a complimentary self-parking validation for the resort garage.

Executive Chef:
Zeb Hartline

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

Sunday Brunch at Riverwalk Cantina

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Promotions

Sunday Brunch at Riverwalk Cantina

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details
Join us for an incredible brunch every Sunday from 11 am-3 pm. Price $39 adults, $19 kids 5-12, 4 and under free. Bottomless mimosas for each adult diner. $3 upcharge for Margaritas or Bloody Mary's, max of 2. Excludes Tax and Tip. Our buffet menu selection varies weekly, contact restaurant for details. Special valid Mar 6, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

Riverwalk Cantina at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (7)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
See All
good for groups (6)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
fit for foodies (2)
hot spot (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Ou ...

Dined 7 days ago

We all enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our server was very attentive

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and Chef handled dietary rest ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and Chef handled dietary restrictions with perfection. Wonderful service by waitress as well. We love this place!

food5
ambience4
service4

Dishes were very good. Excellent varie ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Dishes were very good. Excellent variety

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

hold onto your wallet

Dined on February 14, 2016

A typical hotel restaurant with a seriously overpriced menu for marginal food and drink. I was enticed by the "riverwalk" and potential for a romantic setting but its a bit of a joke. and $25 to park for 2 hours

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Holiday Treat

Dined on January 3, 2016

I have taken my family for Sunday brunch at the Riverwalk Cantina and the 'ICE' exhibit at the Gaylord for several years. We always enjoy it tremendously. As usual there is a wide variety of food and something everyone finds special. This year the fajitas were everyone's favorite. Only issue was I could never get anyone on the phone at the Gaylord to make special arrangements. We ended up working around that but it was kind of frustrating.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for a special occasion

Dined on January 1, 2016

The brunch on New Years Days was outstanding! So many options and the food was delicious. Our waitress was fantastic. It is very expensive but very neat experience for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

Your Gaylord Texan, Representing TEXAS act like it

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I go to the Brunch at the riverwalk cafe on a regular basis, the food is always good with lots of variety. Over the years (note Years) i noticed the cost has gone up and service way down. When your paying 130 dollars for 2 people like we did on New Years Day, I do not expect that the glasses being served with drinks to build up on the table after there empty until I am setting them on concrete wall next to the table. We also had plates that continued to sit on the table after finishing them. At one point we had 9 plates stacked on table that we scrapped food from just so they would not fall over off the table and break. I picked them all up and took them to the waiters station myself because it was making it difficult to eat with out knocking them off. Ask for a manager, everyone looks lost when you do that....So for safety concerns that your staff is letting all that glass build up all around us and also preventing you from getting to the manager, there taking responsibility for mine and my wife safety, and we all know what happens when wait staff take responsibility and something happens, they run the managers tell you how sorry they are, even though they were not paying attention either or they would of been all over that wait staff to get tables cleaned off and service guest as well-so we wont be back for a long time after our last visit. If your into watching your own safety, than we could choose IHOP, But were not coming back to Gaylord!! I noticed Great Wolf Lodge on the way in!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent but Very loud and ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was excellent but Very loud and expensive. With tip and parking the cost was $ 200.00 for two people.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Serviceo for Christmas Brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

We stayed at the Gaylord Texan for Christmas this year. We couldn't get seating for the $95 a person holiday buffet so we went with the $57 a person buffet at the Riverwalk Cantina. I can't imagine the holiday buffet had any more than this one: it was remarkable in terms of variety -everything from oysters of the half shell to prime rib. While it seemed overpriced, it really was a pretty good value. Not all the food was that great, but there was enough variety of find something all three of us liked. (The pancakes were bad but the biscuits and gravy, ahi tuna and eggs were great!) The bottomless mimosas were also a big hit with us. It's hard to handle a huge amount of people at holiday buffets like this but the staff did a great job. Our waitress (Kim from Osh Kosh) was fabulous!!! Her humor and responsiveness made for a great experience. We noticed all the staff seemed to be on their toes -- polite, fast and accommodating. Hope they all get big bonuses and decent wages for what they do!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Very Disappointing This Year!

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We have eaten Christmas Dinner at the Gaylord Riverwalk Cantina (or ballroom, the year the Cantina was closed for remodeling) for many years. However, we don't plan to return. Although always a bit pricey, you expect that on Christmas. This year, though, the food selection on the buffet and the quality were significantly less than in prior years. The shrimp tasted like chewy rubber, the dessert selection was very poor and the rest of the options were about 60% of what they have been in the past. In addition, the staff seemed overwhelmed when trying to keep the items restocked even though there were a few more empty tables than normal this year. It's clear management is trying to cut cost and increase profits without considering whether the product they're offering is fair to the customer. Definitely not worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Christmas Day Brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

The food is great with bottomless mimosa. We will go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1

Had to call the guy who was serving us for to

Dined on November 26, 2015

The ambiance was good for festive mood. The serving guy was not being attentive to my table of 6!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service2

Not so good this year.

Dined on November 8, 2015

Service used to be better. We went for our anniversary and was ask if we would like to share a table with another couple........ah, no!, i made these reservations. Then, me and my wife got up to go back to the buffet and on our return our table was all cleaned off ready for another party to sit there! I informed the server and all we got was "I'm sorry, let me bring new drinks" I never got my orange juice, all I got was water after asking twice for orange juice. My wife luckily got her drink. I was very disappointed in this service this time. It's normally very well managed but for some reason, it wasn't a great experience this time. My wife and I still enjoyed our anniversary and the food was still excellent! We're not going to let this one bad experience keep us from going again next year!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I will rate 10

Dined on November 1, 2015

Excellent food.Very good service.I will recommend this to all my friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

We ate here for the Sunday brunch. The restaurant is so cute ..... with tables in a large glass atrium next to a San Antonio style mini riverwalk. It was not very crowded so I was a little worried ... but the food was great and we were pleasantly surprised by the food quality. We will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food3
ambience3
service2

No menu options for brunch other than $35 buffet.

Dined on July 19, 2015

Food selection was broad - but you need to be very hungry to get your $$ worth. Some food, such as carving station, was great. Other food just okay. Table service fair, not great; no follow-up except to bring us a check. For the price of the brunch I expected better service. The atrium at the Gaylord Texan adds atmosphere, and we had a pleasant time. The gentleman who was our host/greeter and the manager were both very customer service oriented and I really appreciated that.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service4

WAY OVERPRICED! Nothing special.

Dined on July 19, 2015

WAY OVERPRICED! Nothing special.

food2
ambience3
service5

One in5 ok

Dined on July 16, 2015

Only the beef fajitas were good, the others were sub par. Service was excellent, prices very high and food not up to local standards. Better Mexican foods are available at many,many local restaurants. We went hoping for authentic food, and left disappointed. Our guests were disappointed also. I had fis tacos, my wife ordered the chicken ,casadillas, poor, the burrito was of average quality as well. Would not recommend or return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food!

Dined on July 12, 2015

Among the several places to eat at the Gaylord Texan, the Riverwalk Cantina is always a favorite. The food is exceptional! The taste, the portion size, the drinks and the cost of the meals can't be beat. And who wouldn't want to sit on the riverwalk and dine???

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Not as nice as before...

vip
Dined on July 2, 2015

I have been here several times, but this visit was not as good. Our wait staff was ho hum. I found myself getting my own chips and salsa refills (from the buffet) and wondering where our drinks were when we did not see our waiters for awhile. The food was okay. We had out of town guests with us. They were impressed with the hotel as a whole, but I know the Cantina has been better.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Service

Dined on June 28, 2015

We went to Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday. Eduardo, our waiter, was truly amazing. He we out of his way to make our whole family have a wonderful experience. Food and ambiance was great as well.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

Dined on June 20, 2015

I made a reservation and our table was ready when we got there. The food was great and atmosphere is awesome. We had a great time at the Gaylord!

food5
ambience5
service5

Yum!

Dined on June 5, 2015

Best Sangria Marguarita I've ever had. White Queso was also amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I stayed at the Gaylord T ...

Dined on June 1, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Gaylord Texan for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it was wonderful!! We dined at the Riverwalk Cantina on Sunday night and just loved it. The food was hot and delicious, all of the staff (hostess, servers, etc) were so friendly and personable. The manager (Michael I believe) walked by our table and was so friendly and engaging. Overall wonderful experience!!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food Service and ambiance was all amazing!

Dined on April 8, 2015

There isn't anything I can say other than a beautiful wonderful fun place to dine while at the Gaylord. The wait staff was delightful, the food amazing and the cocktails divine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Open table pricing.

Dined on April 5, 2015

Prices need to be confirmed through restaurant. Open table had this restaurant priced under $30 and when we got our bill the meals were priced at $57. This was a brunch so it was all inclusive. (meal & beverages)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

sunday brunch!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

the Sunday brunch is exceptional. Just wish they would validate valet parking instead of just self park considering the price?

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service2

Great Place for Lunch Interview

Dined on March 26, 2015

I met someone here to interview over lunch as it is in a great area between Ft. Worth and Dallas. The food and atmosphere is great however the same couldn't be said for the service I recieved. It seemed my waiter was new to the job so I'm betting the service would have been better with a more experienced waiter.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Good place to meet up for lunch before convention.

Dined on March 23, 2015

Made reservations for my team so we could grab a bite to eat before our annual meeting. They have gluten free options (which were necessary for my manager). I personally had the chicken quesadilla and thought it was delicious. I don't like spicy food so it was mild enough for me and generous portions were provided. I couldn't even eat half of my food. If you are arriving to meet there for a large meeting or convention, I highly suggest making reservations ahead of time. I was glad I did; when we arrived there was a 30-40 min. wait for those without one so it was nice to just walk up and be seated.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1

Go off property!

Dined on March 22, 2015

We waited for nearly 20 minutes for service and then another 20 for water and chips! Need I say more, this was a reflection of how the rest of our meal...we should have left at the first sign of bad service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

Dined on March 21, 2015

Great service, great scenery, great food! Our waitress was Leesa and she was absolutely amazing! We loved her! She was fantastic! The scenery was great, everyone was so polite and fun!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Take a Mini Vacation to the Riverwalk

Dined on March 19, 2015

We met some friends there for dinner. It felt like we were on vacation in San Antonio with the river walk and atmosphere. The menu was a little thin but, the food was good. We had a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Nice atmosphere!

Dined on March 10, 2015

Loved the atmosphere , felt like you were on the Riverwalk!. We were looking forward to the " family special" …. 3 appetizer, several main dishes, only to be told the website was outdated and that menu item had not been avail. for over a year. Due to large # of guests at hotel, was offered their " limited menu". Chichen fajitas were great. Service excellent. Would go back again.. just not at Spring Break.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2

This was my second time dining at this r ...

Dined on February 22, 2015

This was my second time dining at this restaurant. It is noteable for is atmosphere and location. Our waitress was not very timely, but otherwise we had a great table and experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday Brunch

Dined on February 15, 2015

My wife and I had the Sunday Brunch, and it was excellent ! Our server was Wendy, and she was outstanding, and made our day and trip worthwhile ! Food buffet was great, with my omelet, her scrambled eggs and bacon choices, along with good selection of fruits and breads....Overall, a great experience !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1

They seemed to be desorginized

Dined on February 14, 2015

We waited for almost 30 mins. before the waitress asked us what we wanted to drink and it took another 30 mins for our food. Very disappointed about this visit.

food1
ambience4
service4

The food

Dined on January 4, 2015

The food was horrible. We did not order drinks due to the expense of the food. There was a buffet but the waitress did not notify us of this option or we would have tried it. We will not return.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2

Disappointed

Dined on December 25, 2014

Our family party of five went here for Christmas Day lunch. Brunch was advertised as ending at 2:00pm so we made a reservation for 3:00pm. Upon being seated we were told that we were only offered the brunch. I asked the price, $54/person. I had not planned on that. The crab claws were "funky" tasting. Our champagne glasses were filled with about 3 sips each. Our waiter let us know that we were only supposed to receive one champagne each. Ridiculous. I will never do that again. In the future I will make sure that I know exactly what time brunch is served. I felt like it was a complete rip off because it was Christmas Day. Oh well. I will not go back.

food4
ambience4
service1

Food was really good, waiters service lacking.

Dined on December 23, 2014

Food was good, however waiter was not attentive, no personality for a family friendly environment was surprising. He stated out of sangria, asked for small plates 3-4 times, asked for a drink menu twice, messed up my husbands order, when advised him of it not being correct made a rude remark. With that being said I would still recommend this restaurant to others since it was primarily waiter related issues, just hope of we ever go back that gentleman is not our waiter!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Just okay

Dined on December 22, 2014

You don't go here for a great meal; the menu is quite limited and way too expensive, but do you expect for the Gatlord Texan?

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.