Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About River Stone Chophouse

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings.

Raw Bar
Sushi at the Raw Bar

DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
25% off selected apps (raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website and Facebook for additional information.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Romantic (16)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Fallon Rocks!!🤙🏻 Amy Rocks🤙🏻, I will be returning for more!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food quality and customer service. Made my friends 40th birthday a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our whole experience was excellent from the moment we walked in until we left. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the service was on point! The food was so flavorful and we enjoyed every last bite! I would highly recommend Riverstone Chophouse, especially if you are celebrating a special occasion! We were celebrating our 6th Wedding Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The staff made our special occasion very nice. It was our 22'nd anniversary. Our waiter was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Outstanding doesn't begin to describe River Stone! Highly recommended for romantic dinners, business dinners, or evening out with friends.

Immediately greeted at the door by friendly staff. Visited the cozy and causal bar area prior to dinner. Bar staff was awesome. We enjoyed some great appetizers along with a bottle of wine. Wine selection is amazing and affordable. Plenty of cocktails to select from as well.

Once seated in the dinning room, service continued to be exceptional. The atmosphere is relaxing, tastefully decorated, and the tables are semi-private and not crowded. The food was delicious. The manager, Ken, was on top of everything. My meal (steak of course!) was perfect in every aspect.

The drive is a quick 20 minutes from Oyster Point in Newport News. Well worth a visit!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Authentic, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Have visited Riverstone on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. Food and service always great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I drive from New Jersey to visit my sister in Chesapeake; and we always go to the Riverstone Chop House. This past Friday was no different! Wonderful dinner, drinks, and service. Mr Dodd; the Director of Operations is so nice and helpful! If you are close, you NEED to go!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant!
Morgan was a great hostess!
The food was good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We enjoyed the restaurant. Feel strongly need more choices on fish. The special was a fish we never heard of before. Great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

What a nice evening! We met up with some friends for an evening out. We started out at the bar, which was busy and fun...then moved to the dining room for delicious dinner...oysters rock, summer salad, scallops, strip steaks and pork chop. Sides were roasted cauliflower, broccolini, & spinach. Everything was perfectly cooked! We sure enjoyed it-Great place to enjoy an evening out either on a date or with friends! The staff always makes you feel comfortable and we will continue to remain loyal customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent ambiance and food. Everyone was prepared to serve us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Combo Date Night / Birthday celebration. Food and service was great. Just the right amount of attention, met our needs but not intrusive. Of course Riverstone is Chophouse is pricey, but unlike many restaurants you leave feeling you got your money's worth for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Lamb chops were fatty, coucos was cold. Fried shrimp had too much batter and was over fried.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Outstanding food, average service. For a chophouse at this price point, you would expect the server to be more engaging. From the very beginning, the maitre d' didn't pull the chair out for the lady to be seated. We asked if they serve prosecco by the glass. The waitress didn't know and had to go ask, although it was on the wine list by the glass. We were then told they were out of prosecco but didn't offer an alternative suggestion. We then ordered another sparkling wine but they brought a still wine. We had to ask for the Amuse-Bouche because it wasn't brought out with the wine and they had already started setting the table for the appetizer. We ordered the Grand Shellfish Plateau which was outstanding! We ordered a bottle of red wine with our main course. I think the red wine should have been opened when ordered so it can breathe before being served. Our wine was opened at the table and poured immediately. After the initial wine pour, our wine glasses were never topped off by the server. Once our main courses arrived, the vegetables were cold and the potatoes were forgotten. Once the warm vegetables arrived, we had finished our main course we we had to bring them home. After my wife ate one of her three lamb chops, she noticed a long black hair on her plate. No one in our party had black hair. Overall, the quality and taste of the food was outstanding! It's just a shame the evening was ruined by things that should have been caught by the server. There was no offer of adjustment to our $465 bill for the cold veggies or hair. The manager said "we gave you replacements to go" so it's still full price. Our first River Stone experience was completely flawless because we had Charles Rizzo as our server. The next two visits were with a different waitress and sadly disappointing. The overall lesson? Ask for Charles when you make your reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Way too dark. My wife is visually impaired & had trouble walking to the bathroom. Later, they dimmed the lights even more. Can't cook a steak. Ordered a filet mignon, medium rare. I ended up with a well done steak that was dry and quite chewy. Waiters were fine when they were at the table, but otherwise, hard to find. Friends with us also experienced food that was average. Alcohol content in our drinks was less then average. I couldn't detect alcohol in my drinks, nor my wife's. For dessert, my wife & a friend ordered the Chef's Choice, a Neapolitan Brownie cake. It boasted of Vanilla, Strawberry & Chocolate cream layers with a brownie bottom. My wife is a carb junkie & she only ate the brownie. The cream layers had a gelatin type movement with a foamy Vanilla, Strawberry & Chocolate appearance, but were difficult to cut through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The only critique is the breading on the calamari - there was a type of corn meal that was used that was a departure from traditional calamari preparation. It was a distraction and was not enjoyable. My wife and I did enjoy the sauce that accompanied the appetizer. Since there may be some diners who may like the corn meal breading, my recommendation would be to offer both a traditional breading and the corn meal breading as a choice for the diner. This option should not be beyond the ability of a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Like some of the other reviews I've read they are overpriced and trying to be something they are not,which is a true chophouse.My wife ordered the grape salad which was DROWNED in vinegar to the point you couldn't eat it.I have had many dry aged ribeyes (my favorite). This was the worst one ever,absolutely no seasoning at all. Our server was way more interested in chit chatting with other guests at a table behind us than doing her job.Very disappointing to say the least

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I love the ambience and the server was well versed and in depth of explaining the menu. The food overall was good. I loved the shrimp but do NOT recommend the meatloaf. The Chef's Chicken Breast Wontons should be on the menu because they were delish. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience. We look forward to our next opportunity for an elegant evening out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We chose the dining room and did not go into the bar. The music was very outdated.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 20, 2017

A must visit location when in the area. Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is not a 1st time visit. As compared to pur other visit, it was comparable. This is not a around the corner eatery. Prices are a little over the top but worth it. Our party had 1st timers and we allowed the run of the menu. They found the menu restrictive, without enough choices. They would have preferred more ala carte items. The surf & turf for 2 was more than enough for our birthday girl and myself. Our vegetarian dined on 2 different salads and was satisfied. The salmon was a little spicy but good. All in all we needed a meal and place out of the ordinary and Chophouse made the day. Quiet enough for conversation, but would recommend more lighting. Next visit will be for another special occasion. By the way having management walking the the dining area is a personable touch. Our servers were attentive. When they had to interrupt they were apologetic. All in all a pleasant experience.k

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We dine in every wedding anniversary, and usually have the same server (Fallon). We have eaten at many fine restaurants throughout the East Coast and I rate The Chophouse very highly because of the atmosphere, great service, location and the efforts of the staff to make sure that we have a great experience. Fallon spoiled us in a way that we will return soon for wine tastings and other occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A nice place to eat and a nice dining experience. Excellent service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The service was exceptional, and the waitress provided excellent recommendations. The lobster stew is delightfully delicious. Creative cocktails, tastey crab cakes and fantastic peach & blueberry cobbler. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

By far one of the best experiences I have ever had. The staff was great and the meals were plentiful and great. A return visit is almost a given.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Poor service from waiter...time between interaction with us was way too long and they took too long to close out the bill

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have eaten at river stone many of times, however this time the food was cold and it took 15 min for somebody to come over and asked if me and my husband had order anything yet. Overall the food is good just wish they will be more mindful of Making sure it's hot, for how much money you spend there.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service at Riverstone Chophouse was excellent. Some of the best service I've ever had. I brought my wife here for her birthday. I looked at the menu prior to going, and had my mind set on the $47 22oz dry-aged prime cut ribeye steak. I have to say I was highly disappointed with the steak. I've had much better choice cut ribeyes from the grocery store and cooked on my charcoal grill at home. I ordered medium-rare. It came out cooked right on one half, but the other half was closer to well done. The amount of char was overwhelming. Completely covered up the beef taste. I couldn't taste any seasoning or beef flavor at all. And it was dry. All of the other food that we ordered was great though. The mashed potatoes, vegetable meddley, flounder, we're all great. I was just very disappointed with the steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I wanted a quiet romantic place to end Father's Day! River Stone fulfilled our desires. For the inviting decor to the quality of food and service, we were thoroughly impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We chose River stone to celebrate Fathers day and it was a poor choice. Their were gnats flying around and on our food. About 7-10 gnats were sitting on the wall of our table. They were not small gnats but medium sized. The waitress moved us to another table and brought new sides. It was a little better until a gnat flew into our drink. I was highly disappointed and disgusted. I would expect this at waffle house but not a fine dining EXPENSIVE restaurant like River stone ChopHouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was good but a little expensive for the amount you get. Ruth Chris' is better in quality and quantity and cost the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

3 of us were out for Father's Day. My husband and I shared the roasted grape salad which was huge and delicious. Our son had a wedge salad and said his was great too. My husband and I shared the ribeye steak and the jumbo shrimp dinners. The shrimp were tremendous and we each had 4 and the steak was very tasty and already sliced for us to share. We each had a glass of wine which we both enjoyed. For dessert our son had a brownie concoction, husband had the cobbler and I had a scoop of coconut gelato. We loved everything and service was wonderful. We will return again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I went to River Stone Chophouse for his Father's Day dinner. We LOVED it!!!!! The Oyster's Rockefeller didn't stand a chance!! All of the wait personnel worked together as one cohesive well-oiled machine! Our main wait-person, Mariah, was an absolute joy!!! Thank you, Mariah and River Stone Chophouse, for making our dinner one to truly remember!!!! We will certainly return!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always go to Riverstone Chophouse for special occasions. The service and food are the best in the area. Highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the service was wonderful!! My wife's dinner was great (fish). However, I got your aged 24oz ribeye for $47. I've had been Ribeye's for $20. I'm not sure exactly why, but it was just ok. I expected a lot better steak for that price. I expected "Ruth Chris Steak" quality.

Other than that, it was a great experience. I don't regret it at all, just wish I had ordered something else.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Everything was lovely. Made my fiancé feel special for his birthday. I appreciate them bringing his gift to him. And the ice cream at the end with a candle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Had not been to River Stone in a while, yet the place has not changed much. Lively bar scene with a sushi station up front. The meal was good and up to high-end steakhouse standards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Have eaten here many times and it's great every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.