Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About River Stone Chophouse

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings.

Raw Bar
Sushi at the Raw Bar

DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
25% off selected apps (raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website and Facebook for additional information.

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (23)
Quiet Conversation (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We dine in every wedding anniversary, and usually have the same server (Fallon). We have eaten at many fine restaurants throughout the East Coast and I rate The Chophouse very highly because of the atmosphere, great service, location and the efforts of the staff to make sure that we have a great experience. Fallon spoiled us in a way that we will return soon for wine tastings and other occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A nice place to eat and a nice dining experience. Excellent service.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The service was exceptional, and the waitress provided excellent recommendations. The lobster stew is delightfully delicious. Creative cocktails, tastey crab cakes and fantastic peach & blueberry cobbler. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

By far one of the best experiences I have ever had. The staff was great and the meals were plentiful and great. A return visit is almost a given.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Poor service from waiter...time between interaction with us was way too long and they took too long to close out the bill

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have eaten at river stone many of times, however this time the food was cold and it took 15 min for somebody to come over and asked if me and my husband had order anything yet. Overall the food is good just wish they will be more mindful of Making sure it's hot, for how much money you spend there.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service at Riverstone Chophouse was excellent. Some of the best service I've ever had. I brought my wife here for her birthday. I looked at the menu prior to going, and had my mind set on the $47 22oz dry-aged prime cut ribeye steak. I have to say I was highly disappointed with the steak. I've had much better choice cut ribeyes from the grocery store and cooked on my charcoal grill at home. I ordered medium-rare. It came out cooked right on one half, but the other half was closer to well done. The amount of char was overwhelming. Completely covered up the beef taste. I couldn't taste any seasoning or beef flavor at all. And it was dry. All of the other food that we ordered was great though. The mashed potatoes, vegetable meddley, flounder, we're all great. I was just very disappointed with the steak.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I wanted a quiet romantic place to end Father's Day! River Stone fulfilled our desires. For the inviting decor to the quality of food and service, we were thoroughly impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We chose River stone to celebrate Fathers day and it was a poor choice. Their were gnats flying around and on our food. About 7-10 gnats were sitting on the wall of our table. They were not small gnats but medium sized. The waitress moved us to another table and brought new sides. It was a little better until a gnat flew into our drink. I was highly disappointed and disgusted. I would expect this at waffle house but not a fine dining EXPENSIVE restaurant like River stone ChopHouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was good but a little expensive for the amount you get. Ruth Chris' is better in quality and quantity and cost the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

3 of us were out for Father's Day. My husband and I shared the roasted grape salad which was huge and delicious. Our son had a wedge salad and said his was great too. My husband and I shared the ribeye steak and the jumbo shrimp dinners. The shrimp were tremendous and we each had 4 and the steak was very tasty and already sliced for us to share. We each had a glass of wine which we both enjoyed. For dessert our son had a brownie concoction, husband had the cobbler and I had a scoop of coconut gelato. We loved everything and service was wonderful. We will return again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I went to River Stone Chophouse for his Father's Day dinner. We LOVED it!!!!! The Oyster's Rockefeller didn't stand a chance!! All of the wait personnel worked together as one cohesive well-oiled machine! Our main wait-person, Mariah, was an absolute joy!!! Thank you, Mariah and River Stone Chophouse, for making our dinner one to truly remember!!!! We will certainly return!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always go to Riverstone Chophouse for special occasions. The service and food are the best in the area. Highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the service was wonderful!! My wife's dinner was great (fish). However, I got your aged 24oz ribeye for $47. I've had been Ribeye's for $20. I'm not sure exactly why, but it was just ok. I expected a lot better steak for that price. I expected "Ruth Chris Steak" quality.

Other than that, it was a great experience. I don't regret it at all, just wish I had ordered something else.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Everything was lovely. Made my fiancé feel special for his birthday. I appreciate them bringing his gift to him. And the ice cream at the end with a candle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Had not been to River Stone in a while, yet the place has not changed much. Lively bar scene with a sushi station up front. The meal was good and up to high-end steakhouse standards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Have eaten here many times and it's great every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service. Highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Our favorite restaurant for special occasions. You are not rushed and the food is always cooked to perfection. You can talk to those in your party without competing with music, noise or the wait staff. Great for a special occasion such as anniversary or milestones.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was awesome except the steaks. Sides and appetizers were great and so was the service. Steaks were just didn't live up to the expectations. Would surely go back and try another dish.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my mother, wife, step father, niece, nephew and step daughter for Mothers Day dinner. The food was outstanding as usual. The server was helpful and attentive. The bottled water was a concern only because everyone in my family drinks bottled water only. Been that way for years. We could taste the chlorine, but other than that, everything else was fine. They should switch to bottled water.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We arrived for a 630pm reservation and were immediately seated. It went downhill from there. The restaurant was barely half full and it still took close to 90 minutes to receive our meals. The fried shrimp and crab cakes were pretty good, but their signature steak, the Delmonico bone in ribeye, was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, we love Riverstone. We were there for Mothers Day brunch. The only complaint I have is that the eggs we were served were overdone and my bacon was burnt (which I don't usually mind but this was too far gone). The rest of our meals were delicious and our server was awesome!

This won't stop us from coming back for our special occasion meals!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Everything was great, but there was a table with about 10 people that were so loud that other tables had to talk louder to hear the people at their own table. Larger parties should be place in private rooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a NY strip (medium well), it was decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The River Stone Chophouse is what it always is, a great restaurant with great food and people. Ken, the manager, has put together a wonderful wait staff serving outstanding food selections in a warm and inviting atmosphere. We ate in the dining room on this visit, but also have eaten in the bar area where the atmosphere is a bit livelier, but the food and the good folks presenting it to you is/are every bit as good as in the dining room.

I have been to the Chophouse many times and plan to return many more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had heard wonderful things about this restaurant from several colleagues but unfortunately, my date and I did not have a wonderful experience. Initially when we arrived for our reservation, the hostess answered multiple phone calls with us standing there waiting to be seated. She was pleasant but continued to answer calls regarding Mother's Day reservations. Our reservation time was at 6:30 pm and our food was not served until shortly before 8:00pm. We only had salads for appetizers. The sides for our meal came out cold and were replaced but disappointing after waiting as long as we had waited. The steaks were good but not hot just luke warm. The ambiance was great and our server was polite and apologetic as well as the manager. I'm just not sure for the cost that we will be in a hurry to book again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Overall, the Riverstone Chophouse is a nice experience for a special occasion. Some of our sides were over salted and the steak was over cooked, so for the value for the quality didn't quite match up. I've seen prices like these at nice restaurants in NYC or Vegas, but it's a little hard to swallow in Suffolk, Va.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent steaks and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful service-good food -priced for a special occasion not everyday for us
We didn't go to the bar area but it looked nice

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were passing through the area on our way to a wedding in NC. We enjoyed our evening. We were seated near the kitchen entrance - at a 4 top - so not too cozy, but not too loud either. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable - but stumbled over the specials and the ingredients. (not a big deal) My husband enjoyed a Shrimp Cocktail and the Filet - while I got the Scallops. Both items were very good. The steak was cooked to the proper doneness - and the Scallops were delicious. I wasn't sure what was in the Orzo - maybe olives/beans/?? - but it had a unique flavor and was VERY GOOD. We went to the bar (a little cozier) for some after dinner drinks and ended up having dessert there as well. A very nice evening at a nice restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Steak was not. Had the signature steak there about a year ago. It was the best cut of meat I ever tasted. This time not so much. First one that came out was a gristley mess. Manager agreed and chef made another steak which was then overcooked. Did not have that butter flavor of an aged steak like last time. I'm pretty sure it was just not as good a cut of beef. Manager would not let me pay for it although I insisted. Don't know what happened since last time. I will try again and hope for the best. Maybe chef was having an off night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

AWAYS a great meal & excellent service! Enjoyed a birthday dinner for my husband and best friend. Our server Charlie took great care of us & ensured my hubby and friends special day was acknowledged.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I like to go out to a nice restaurant for date night every once in a while and we always choose Riverstone! Everything is great and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. Charlie is one great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to River Stone before and enjoyed our experience. However, this time was extremely disappointing! It appeared the waitress had way too many tables to handle because we waited quite awhile before she got to us to take our drink order. Then after another long while she returned to take our brunch order. From that point on I knew it was going to be rough... A gentleman came by after SOME time with some Itty bitty banana nut bread muffins ( 1 for each of us). I know how that is normally the case but I'm diabetic and I was really getting hungry. Finally, our food came out and I was truly disappointed! I ordered the French Toast which came with a fruit cup on the side and Applewood smoked bacon. The toast was 3 triangles that were height wise so big I could barely get bites into my mouth. As if that mattered because it was so very tough even with syrup. I feel that the height of the bread didn't allow it to hold any flavor as well which was another problem. I only ate one piece. The bacon was okay. The fruit was covered/ marinated with I couldn't figure out what only because someone had gotten heavy handed with the chopped mint!!! It was horrific!!! Many people come to a fancy restaurant and are embarrassed to complain because they don't want to look like they aren't cultured enough to appreciate "good food". However, I spent several years in the restaurant industry when I was younger and am very cognizant of service and quality. I hope they will take this comment and turn it into a positive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

the food was excellent and service was fantastic. Would recommend this restaurant to any of my friends or out of town guest. My wife and I visit frequently because of the excellent cuisine!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had an amazing experience in a beautiful restaurant. Danielle the server was such a pleasure and we couldn't be happier with her service. The menu was great with enough to choose from without being overwhelmed. It was also nice to hear they rotate items on the menu every three months with more options to choose from. The manager came to our table several times to ensure we were happy with our experience as first timers and even he was a pleasure. Couldn't be happier with our experience and looking forward to our next visit to their other restaurant the Vintage Tavern. Thanks for making this an enjoyable date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent time for my wedding anniversary. I'd definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.