About River Stone Chophouse

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
~Monthly Wine Tastings.

~Raw Bar
-Sushi at the Raw Bar

~DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights-
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

~Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.-
25% off selected apps
(raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website for additional information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak - River Stone Chophouse, Suffolk, VA
Ribeye Steak - River Stone Chophouse, Suffolk, VA

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Virginia
Notable Wine List
Virginia
Romantic
Virginia
4 More
Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Most Booked
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Suffolk ›

Romantic (27)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fireplace (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Casual (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent experience. Outstanding food a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent experience. Outstanding food and service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter and friendly staff. The am ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great waiter and friendly staff. The ambience was nice. The food left much to be desired. I expected better flavor profiling at a chophouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We were very impressed from beginning to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were very impressed from beginning to end. That asked us if we were celebrating a special day and we told them our anniversary. Every staff member we saw told us Happy Anniversay! WOW! I had ordered a porterhouse. Our waiter came out and apologized and said they just ran out of these so I chose another steak. It was really no big deal.It was one of the best steaks we have ever had. When they brought us the check we realized they did not charge us for my steak. It was a $50 steak that we got for free. I was dumbfounded. I didn't think restraints did that anymore. I will continue going from now on. It was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was very good. We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall experience was very good. We had a reservation at 8:15, arrived at 8:18, and the table was still being set, which made for the hostess to take us into the dining room and then walk us back out to the lobby. We had two appetizers and the signature steak with sides. The steak was so so but the appetizers were great. It was a nice paced, romantic dinner for two. We'd come back to try the other dinner entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We brought our kids for a nice dinner, b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We brought our kids for a nice dinner, both my son and I ordered the NY and was a little disappointed in the flavor.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere! Food was really great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere! Food was really great and service was awesome!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pros: Classy, nice ambiance, good food. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Pros: Classy, nice ambiance, good food. Cons: Service was mediocre (waitress & Hostess). Not family friendly-no kids menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was amazing along with the serv ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing along with the service. This was my wife and I's first time dining at the River Stone Chop House and it won't be the last. If you are looking for a great dinner atmosphere this the place. Our server Rich was knowledgeable, prompt and courteous. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good but ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food and service were very good but unfortunately we were only 2 people sat next to a table of 16 very loud shrieking people and quite honestly could not hear the waitress when she first spoke to us and we were unable to have much of a conversation as we had to shout at each other to be heard.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoy the chophouse very much. The st ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We enjoy the chophouse very much. The staff is great and the food is amazing'

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! We made a res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Everything was wonderful! We made a reservation. Our table was ready on time. Our wait staff was very professional and friendly. To our delight, it was restaurant week in Suffolk. Our meal was not only exceptional, but priced at a great value as well. We will definitely make River Stone Chophouse a regular choice when dining out.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was really nice. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Overall experience was really nice. The wait staff was very attentive the overall atmosphere was very inviting and the food quite good. My only complaint would be that the bread served before dinner lacked taste and was cold. The macaroni and cheese had a very distinct sweet taste. The noise coming from the bar was very distracting and not conducive to a romantic evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When they prepared the table it was stil ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

When they prepared the table it was still wet--had to dry it off.

Also--bread had mold--mgr quickly swapped it.

Overall still good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

River Stone, as always, was terrific. A ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

River Stone, as always, was terrific. A real surprise was we visited during Restaurant Week to a pre-set three course option.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going during Restaurant week made it an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Going during Restaurant week made it an exceptional value. Food is fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third time coming to this restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My third time coming to this restaurant and as always the service across the board never disappoints!! Five stars!! Definitely will be coming back for my next special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding food. The waiter was also ou ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding food. The waiter was also outstanding. Best dinning I've been too in the Hampton Roads

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iwas beyond pleased. There was portion ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Iwas beyond pleased. There was portion of food, that was very will prepared, and full of flavor. Our filet migmon was so tinder that we could almost cut it with a fork and the sauce/gravy over the steak was a big hit. The sweet potato cass. was large enough to share and i have to say this was the best I have ever tasted. I make this dish at home, which I thought was good,does not come close to mine. Much, much better.

The service was so good. I feared that type of service was no more. Very happy.

The decor was so nice. It was so cosy and romantic. Very well done.

We will be back. The sooner the better.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. The dry aged rib eye is worth every penny. Always a great experience here, you will enjoy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the power went out from the hurricane... ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

the power went out from the hurricane...The staff was more than pleasant considering the circumstances...We tried to help out to get generator to start to no avail..I will definitely eat here again....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My steak was awesome as were others. Onl ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My steak was awesome as were others. Only on complaint scallops were under cooked noted a friend after the meal. Appetizers were awesome!

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place for special occasions. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Wonderful place for special occasions. took parents for 50th anniversary. Staff was great!! Food was amazing!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as I remembered it! Hadn't been he ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Just as I remembered it! Hadn't been here in a number of years, but the experience was as before, simply Outstanding!!! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, the menu selections, and the excellent hospitality extended to us by the staff. It was memorable and one that we will seek to enjoy again a lot sooner than we did this time. Well done!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Healthy, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I treated my parents to a dinner at this ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I treated my parents to a dinner at this fine restaurant because they deserve the very best. They were treated very kindly and professional by the staff. They especially liked their waiter/server he was very professional, knowledgeable and kind. The food was excellent and the aged steak was a favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time back in six years... Great bi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time back in six years... Great birthday gift... Drew our server was fantastic. Got a great greeting from the manager and of course, the meal was exquisite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and waiter, Charlie, pr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great experience and waiter, Charlie, provided top notch service

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the price doesn't allow this to a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 31, 2016

While the price doesn't allow this to a frequently visited location, the food and professional waitstaff and management make it a place to go for special occasions. Never had a bad experience there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great time I have lived in th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was a great time I have lived in the area for a while and never stopped in the atmosphere was wonderful and the waitstaff was amazing surf and turf for 2 was cooked and presented perfectly this is now my number 2 special place to spend the evening with someone special

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high expectations based on Yelp re ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I had high expectations based on Yelp reviews, but apparently none of them have ever had a meal better than crapplebee's. My filet was not good. Period. I've had much better steaks at Waffle House. For the area, if you want a nice steak, go to Flemings and avoid this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great service, food and value! This was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great service, food and value! This was our first time visiting, but we are certain to return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I waited almost 45 minutes for my food w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I waited almost 45 minutes for my food which was luke warm and not what I asked for. The waitress was outstanding and tried to comfort us as best as she could however, I was disappointed with my meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great meal, very pricey but worth every ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great meal, very pricey but worth every penny! Very knowledgeable staff and the decor was nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 12-year wedding annive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated our 12-year wedding anniversary at the River Stone Chophouse and were pleased with their food and level of service. Our waiter, Drew, went out of his way to make sure we received great service; he took his time answering our questions; he also delivered a few anniversary treats to our table! Very kind!

We would definitely recommend River Stone Chophouse to friends for any occasion. Their menu options are reasonable and delicious! I can't think of a time that I've had a better filet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked the fact that I could book my re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I liked the fact that I could book my reservation through Open Table. No stress at all. It was a party of 8 (separate bills) and the staff were very accommodating. We had an early dinner (6pm) so it wasn't busy at all. Our waitress Ashley was phenomenal as we received excellent service from her. I just love the dry aged ribeye there. A friend and I had to share it as it was on the bigger side (22oz). Definitely a great experience and will recommend to all my friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprised my wife for her birthday. Grea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Surprised my wife for her birthday. Great atmosphere and friendly service. For was pricey but still more affordable than some contenders I considered. Had a great time and it was worth the cost. But I would save it for special occasions or business travel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was very informative, helpf ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waitress was very informative, helpful and attentive. Food was cooked great. This place is worth a return trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second trip to Riverstone, ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our second trip to Riverstone, and I have to say it was better than our first, we were seated in a reasonable amount of Time and our Server was very helpful with dinner selections. She was at the top of her game for service too. Not overbearing, not distant, it was just right. The menu is very good and offers a wide choice for your dining pleasure. the only downside is that there was a rather large party, who for some reason had to yell everything they said to each other, It was almost like a competition, but the food and service were both super

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing! Can't wait go back! The server ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Amazing! Can't wait go back! The server was very knowledgeable and friendly. It clean and the atmosphere was lovely!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal have ever eaten. I will de ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The best meal have ever eaten. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.