About River Stone Chophouse

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
~Monthly Wine Tastings.

~Raw Bar
-Sushi at the Raw Bar

~DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights-
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

~Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.-
25% off selected apps
(raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website for additional information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak
Ribeye Steak

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Suffolk ›

Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1075 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had high expectations based on Yelp re ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had high expectations based on Yelp reviews, but apparently none of them have ever had a meal better than crapplebee's. My filet was not good. Period. I've had much better steaks at Waffle House. For the area, if you want a nice steak, go to Flemings and avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great service, food and value! This was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, food and value! This was our first time visiting, but we are certain to return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I waited almost 45 minutes for my food w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I waited almost 45 minutes for my food which was luke warm and not what I asked for. The waitress was outstanding and tried to comfort us as best as she could however, I was disappointed with my meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great meal, very pricey but worth every ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great meal, very pricey but worth every penny! Very knowledgeable staff and the decor was nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 12-year wedding annive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated our 12-year wedding anniversary at the River Stone Chophouse and were pleased with their food and level of service. Our waiter, Drew, went out of his way to make sure we received great service; he took his time answering our questions; he also delivered a few anniversary treats to our table! Very kind!

We would definitely recommend River Stone Chophouse to friends for any occasion. Their menu options are reasonable and delicious! I can't think of a time that I've had a better filet!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked the fact that I could book my re ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I liked the fact that I could book my reservation through Open Table. No stress at all. It was a party of 8 (separate bills) and the staff were very accommodating. We had an early dinner (6pm) so it wasn't busy at all. Our waitress Ashley was phenomenal as we received excellent service from her. I just love the dry aged ribeye there. A friend and I had to share it as it was on the bigger side (22oz). Definitely a great experience and will recommend to all my friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprised my wife for her birthday. Grea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Surprised my wife for her birthday. Great atmosphere and friendly service. For was pricey but still more affordable than some contenders I considered. Had a great time and it was worth the cost. But I would save it for special occasions or business travel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was very informative, helpf ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waitress was very informative, helpful and attentive. Food was cooked great. This place is worth a return trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second trip to Riverstone, ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our second trip to Riverstone, and I have to say it was better than our first, we were seated in a reasonable amount of Time and our Server was very helpful with dinner selections. She was at the top of her game for service too. Not overbearing, not distant, it was just right. The menu is very good and offers a wide choice for your dining pleasure. the only downside is that there was a rather large party, who for some reason had to yell everything they said to each other, It was almost like a competition, but the food and service were both super

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing! Can't wait go back! The server ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Amazing! Can't wait go back! The server was very knowledgeable and friendly. It clean and the atmosphere was lovely!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal have ever eaten. I will de ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The best meal have ever eaten. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Our waitress gave us an e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service. Our waitress gave us an excellent presentation of the menu and she was very knowledgable. Unfortunately, we did have to leave early and had to take our food to go. The food was very bland and over cooked. I do understand that being in the containers they can continue to cook slightly however I ordered my food medium and it was well done. I ordered the lamb and not only was it bland but it had a strong off putting metallic taste to it. My sister had the steak and said the same thing. Great service. Not so great food. The food was much better when I came last year. I do believe there was a different menu as well. I will not be returning here. Too expensive for lackluster food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding dining experience and some o ...

 
 (Switzerland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding dining experience and some of the best steak options out there. The sides were large and very sharable. Every appetizer was also very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal !! The food was incredib ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent meal !! The food was incredible , the service perfect . Our server Drew went above and beyond . The recommendation for wine and dessert , perfect .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service. Just bring ple ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food great service. Just bring plenty of money because it's very pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We won a gift card to Riverstone Chophou ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We won a gift card to Riverstone Chophouse at my husbands Christmas party. We live in Virginia Beach so we would not have driven all the way to Suffolk for dinner had we not had the gift card. It was our anniversary so we figured it was a good time to use the card. At the beginning of our meal, the waitress brought out 3 hollowed out cherry tomatoes that had a smokey flavor which were stuffed with pickled watermelon rind just for us to try. They were quite good and it was an unexpected, nice start to our meal.

My son and husband each ordered the filet and requested it medium well. The inside was the correct just-a-little-pink color but the outside of half of my husband's steak was charred black and hard. (that's the reason for the 4 stars on the food) I ordered the shrimp (grilled) and they were 6 of the largest shrimp I've seen in a long time. My shrimp were terrific. My son also ordered the mac and cheese as a side and it was quite good. We split the vanilla bean creme brulee for dessert. That was fabulous as well.

We'd go back if it were closer but there are equally nice restaurants in Va Bch that will meet our special occasion needs just as well without the 45 minute drive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the Chophouse and are always mor ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love the Chophouse and are always more than pleased with the service and the food. What people don't know is that the chef always prepared a pre-order "nibble" to get your taste buds awake.

Tonight was a smoked cherry tomato with pesto... And I tell you, I could've eaten 100. Delicious!!! What a fantastic way to start our evening.

Thanks to the entire team for always making our visits memorable and tasty. Can't wait to get back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining at River ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our second time dining at River Stone. It was a marvelous experience. Great selection of meats, poultry and fish/seafood. The food is exceptionally well prepared., among the best I've had anywhere in the world. Great, attentive staff. Even the background music was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, what a phenomenal meal. We were loo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wow, what a phenomenal meal. We were looking for something outside the usual chain restaurants and this was way beyond expectations. Soft shell crab tacos? Great food, ambiance etc. got there late so they sold out of a few items but no problem. Have already mentioned to several people in our travels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I selected this restaurant for our 22nd ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I selected this restaurant for our 22nd wedding anniversary and it was a perfect enjoyable evening. Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I filled out a review card. Obviousl ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I filled out a review card. Obviously the waiter did not turn it in to you guys. I hated my experience. I believe if you are going to enjoy a lovely meal everything should not be a la cart. To spend 141.00 on a meal aND leave hungry is ridiculous. I have alot more to say, so please do call. 757.652.7727

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Service impeccable, food hit or miss. Fi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service impeccable, food hit or miss. Filet was excellent and cooked to perfection; 18oz Kansas City at $39 was tough, sinewy, undercooked, and flavorless. Bread not good, asparagus delicious. Key lime cheesecake good, papaya sorbet inedible and slimy. Celebrating anniversaries with friends who we had invited to dinner - their meals were average - scallop puff and crabcakes - not one of the four of us would return. Very disappointing. We don't mind spending $300 on a dinner for four if it is memorable in a positive way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We have been eating here for years. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have been eating here for years. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well, the cook is not the best. The foo ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Well, the cook is not the best. The food was very salty and poorly season.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

River Stone always delivers a quality me ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

River Stone always delivers a quality meal. It was a slow weeknight in the main restaurant but we still had a 20-min wait for our table in spite of our reservation on a not-busy weeknight. Once seated, there were times I felt forgotten by our server, so much time elapsed between courses or visits to our table. Next time, I will dine in the lounge and try their sushi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This was our 3rd visit to River Stone an ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to River Stone and it was good. We had our favorite, Sirloin Bites, and as usual they were great. I ordered the Fish and Chips and though the portion of the meal was very large and tasty, the fish was very greasy. My daughter tried the Salmon Rangoon and she said they were greasy as well. When we go again, we've decided we will probably only get the Sirloin Bites and a dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience! Amazing food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great experience! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great time. Celebrated Father's Day. No ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great time. Celebrated Father's Day.

Nothing else to say. One of my favorite places to eat dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Medium cooked steaks were overlooked and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Medium cooked steaks were overlooked and had to be sent back only to get the next stak near rare. Had to return once again to get it right . At this time appetite was lost and had to be bagged to bring home. Quality of restaurant has gone down since last year. Waiter was okay. There was also a large party there and they were extremely loud.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The ambiance and the service was great! ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance and the service was great! The food was very good, but not the best that I have had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was extremely friendly & knowl ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The staff was extremely friendly & knowledgeable! The managers customer service/ resolution was commendable when there was a minor issue with one steak order (cold). We will definitely be back! Loved our overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this place numerous times ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to this place numerous times a few years ago. I recently decided to bring my wife there again since it had been 4-6 years since we last went. The service was amazing as always. The Blue Point Raw Oysters were amazing as Blue Points always are. However, that is where the good ended. I ordered the aged Ribeye and my wife got the NY Strip. They were cooked to order however they tasted like a lower quality piece of meat. Mine had absolutely no taste, except for a weird greasy spoiled taste. My wife's NY strip looked like a scrap piece of meat for the dog. This was no where near their usual quality. Was truly disappointed with this visit. Not sure if I will ever go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We always have a great time when we dine ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We always have a great time when we dine at River Stone Chop House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food. Since it was o ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service great food. Since it was our anniversary the owners through into glasses of champagne it was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Personalized service

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were impressed that our server knew our name from the reservation, and repeated addressed us by name.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I had a really nice dinner here with my best friend who now lives in Texas last Friday. I wanted to bring her somewhere nice and we had an excellent experience in a nice quiet booth by the bathrooms.

We started off with the salmon rangoons which were really good. Crispy and hot with a drizzle of honey mustard sauce. YUM. I chose the wedge salad and 8 oz. filet while my friend went with the lobster at market price (2 lbs).

We shared sides of sautéed mushrooms and macaroni and cheese.

It was a very large amount of food and we shared between each other - her lobster was phenomenal (it should've been at $33 a lb) and my steak was perfectly cooked.

We split the key lime pie for dinner and I thought it was very good. It was light and sweet but not too tart.

Our server was professional and knowledgeable about the menu - a few times we deferred to him on what to go with when we couldn't decide between two (salmon rangoons and key lime) and we were not disappointed.

We were slightly overwhelmed with all the options and the steak cuts when you're first introduced to the restaurant but we really enjoyed our meal.

It was over 2.5 hours spent eating there and I spent around $225 for the two of us including the tip.

It's expensive and takes a very long time for service and such. You just have to not be in any kind of hurry or have any plans later.... but highly recommend for special occasions or rare date nights.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Service was outstand ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. The appetizer, salad, and main course came out with perfect timing and our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must have been an off night--other times ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Must have been an off night--other times much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

nice ambiance

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice atmosphere and wonderful service. The food was not the best for the price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.