About River Stone Chophouse

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
~Monthly Wine Tastings.

~Raw Bar
-Sushi at the Raw Bar

~DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights-
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

~Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.-
25% off selected apps
(raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website for additional information.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Suffolk ›

special occasion (75)
romantic (60)
notable wine list (33)
See All
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (22)
fit for foodies (20)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

nice ambiance

Dined 5 days ago

Nice atmosphere and wonderful service. The food was not the best for the price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service

Dined 6 days ago

This will be my second experience here at The River where it will not be my last. After making a reservation, and changing it multiple times due to my son's baseball game, I had reached my limit. Even with extending that time, we were late to our reservation. And then we received a very unexpected call expecting the worse (closing time is at 10:30). It was the restaurant asking if would still make it. As we were seated at the table, we were informed that the kitchen closed at 9:30 (it's 9:35) however, the chef was nice enough to keep the kitchen opened just for us. I'm not implying that they do this all the time. We just don't get a chance to go out often. Overall...everything was GREAT!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

River Stone Chophouse is a handsome subu ...

Dined 6 days ago

River Stone Chophouse is a handsome suburban restaurant with the strengths and hesitations that go with that category of dining place. But we thought it was considerably better than most of that ilk of restaurant. The service was superb, the entrees were what they need to be in order to make it in a suburban setting, that is, large and meaty, but there were a large number of creative appetizers and sides and the chef is willing to go beyond the predictable, including with the entrees. The decor is sophisticated and the seating allows for lots of privacy. It's possible to have a conversation without having to raise your voice. On the whole a great place for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine selection is marvelous and ther ...

Dined 6 days ago

The wine selection is marvelous and there are always good choices in any price range. The bar drinks are smooth and never overpowering. I especially enjoy the special chef selections; there is so much creativity in their kitchen!

food5
ambience5
service4

Bought my date to celebrate her birthday ...

Dined 6 days ago

Bought my date to celebrate her birthday. Excellent service, food & ambiance.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I had the colassal shrimp. Way over coo ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I had the colassal shrimp. Way over cooked. Service ok.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time and we were celebrating ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our first time and we were celebrating my husbands birthday. He, as well as my daughter and myself, love a good steak and good food. The atmosphere, service, and food was awesome! We like dining where there is great service and wonderful food and great atmosphere! Thank you for providing such a wonderful place and wish Franklin, Va., had some place like Riverstone Chop House! We plan to return in the future!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the food was reall ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service and the food was really delicious and presented well. Will definitely go back to fine again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Premier steakhouse

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, great service. Everything you expect in a top tier restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent maybe the best sa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent maybe the best salmon ever. The service was excellent as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable experience every time!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We visit Riverstone Chop House for special occasions. We've enjoyed every visit to date. The service and food are always outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on May 3, 2016

Was seated promptly at my reservation time. Wait staff were very courteous and efficient. Lobster stew was served piping hot. It was very tasty. Steak was a little cold, but also very good. Salad had a bit too much dressing for my taste, but was satisfying overall. Very pleasant dining experience. Highly recommended if in the area.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

Dined on May 2, 2016

Found this place by accident on the web but it was a great find. This spot and location was everything I had hoped for because I was bringing a friend there to celebrate his birthday and the food had to be perfect. Especially when they have Celiac disease. The server was very knowledgeable of the ingredients and how various dishes were prepared. He had the shark and of course I couldn't resist a steak. She also kept our glasses filled with our favorite Mascato and was very pleasant each time she came to the table. We had such a great time, I can't wait to come back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Definitely a pricey place

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was fine, but the prices are a bit high for the quality of the product. My filet was cooked medium as ordered though was the toughest I'd ever had (not so tough I couldn't eat it, just noticeably tough for a filet) . Took quite a long time to place orders and get the check (though if you needed any water at all, they were filling up your glass). We had kids with us so a little less waiting around would've been nice.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Service is exceptional, restaurant is ve ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Service is exceptional, restaurant is very nice.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was great and atmosphere, more kid-friendly than I expected. Not special enough to eat here on a weekly basis, but great for special occasions. I would definitely recommend everyone to atleast try it once.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food quality and quantity

Dined on April 8, 2016

We were amazed at the quality and quantity of our entrees. The staff were attentive, friendly and very accommodating. Enjoyed the ambiance and decor; a classy place for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Food quality doesn't match the price.

Dined on March 26, 2016

I was fortunate to go to the chop house during restaurant week, where a 3 course meal was $30. The food was good but I've had better at a much more reasonable price. We had the meatloaf and the New York strip steak for our entree, which is normally $33 and $30 for the entree (sides are a la carte). I would never pay the normal price for what we got. I don't mind paying high prices for good food, but not for the standard steak I got that I could get at the store. It's a nice place with great service, but the prices don't match the food quality.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Dinners at RS- Especially r ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Always enjoy Dinners at RS- Especially restaurant Week. One of our favorites, especially when they have Pappy Van Winkle on hand!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for Restaurant Week! Deliciou ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Went here for Restaurant Week! Delicious Food Attentive Staff Wonderful Ambiance A great spot for date night Also there is a wonderful happy hour in the lounge from 3 to 6. We will definitely be returning!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Met friends during Suffolk restaurant week. Great menu selections with opportunity to upgrade. Mac and cheese creamy and so flavorful. Flat iron steak cooked to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Vintage Tavern better!

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was good, but not outstanding. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere is nice, but a little loud. Have been 3 times, and probably won't return. Gave it a fair try, but the food at Vintage Tavern is better and cost is about the same.

food3
ambience4
service4

We had the restaurant week menu. My wife ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

We had the restaurant week menu. My wife had a flat iron steak which tasted good, but was not visually appealing. My shrimp cocktail appetizer was very disappointing, the shrimp we're seasoned and the cocktail sauce basically consisted and tasted like ketchup and a little horseradish. My New York strip was good nothing to special. However, I felt for the price points listed($30-40 dollar steaks), all the food would be top quality. The server and ambiance were both very good though.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

s bit slow

Dined on March 20, 2016

We waited quite a bit between appetizer and entrée; even waited to order soda

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Other than waiting an extra 25min after ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Other than waiting an extra 25min after our reservation to be seated, the experience was wonderful. The personalized menu with requested note was awesome! Food...Amazing! Thanks again!

food3
ambience2
service5

I did not find the food to be special or ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I did not find the food to be special or innovative at all. Typical steakhouse fair which is what it claims. At those prices I did not expect plastic placemats with frayed edges. The service was excellent. I can't say I would return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great choice

Dined on March 11, 2016

I took my wife to riverstone for birthday and she absolutely loved it. Food was great, ambience was perfect, romantic setting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an enjoyable time!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visit River Stone Chop House for special occasions. We've dined here for our wedding anniversary, Mother's Day and this time for my birthday. A friend joined us for the occasion and enjoyed it tremendously. Our waiter, Dave was amazing and the food was excellent! We booked a reservation for Mother's Day (actually the day before) already!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always tasty

Dined on March 5, 2016

Had a reservation for dinner but always enjoy the energy in the bar, so we decided to skip the formal dining experience for a fun evening in the bar. The food is great, never disappointed. I wish there was a greater variety with their beer selection.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 22, 2016

One of the best birthday dinners I've ever had. Had the 2lbs lobster and the filet.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 21, 2016

it was a most amazing place to eat the food was great the service was awesome everyone had a smile and wanted to please I would definitely go back and refer this too many of my friends it is a little pricey but overall it was worth every penny

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and atmosphere was great. We had a ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food and atmosphere was great. We had a nervous waitress I think. Checked up on us a lot and we felt rushed at times when deciding on drinks and food. We wanted a relaxing time and just to take our time. She was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome, the lobster bisque ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was awesome, the lobster bisque, the main course to the dessert! Definitely worth it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, great service

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I are regular patrons of Riverstone Chophouse. As a result, it was our first choice for Valentine's Day dinner. The food was superb, and so was the service provided by Charlie who is always so personable. However, the manager for the evening was quite disappointing - although we are regular diners, he walked past our table several times failing to acknowledge us as he did other diners. This will definitely impact my decision to dine here again and recommend what was once my favorite restaurant to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Time, But COLD!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The dining room was too close to the front door. No separation. A cold draft flooded the dining room every time someone came in the building. Unless you were seated by the fireplace, you were subject to the freezing winds.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The River Stone Chophouse / Open Table

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I are regular patrons of The River Stone Chophouse. We were not disappointed on this last visit. The food was was prepared to perfection. There was no way it could have been better. I had the 28 day aged steak. My wife had the crab cakes. I am also pleased that this restaurant uses the "Open Table" on line booking. Many times I think about making a reservation after hours. And now that is no longer a problem!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Suffolk dining experience

Dined on February 11, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Somewhat expensive, but would definitely recommend it for a special night. Expect generous portions, particularly if you order the ribeye. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

The meatloaf was good.

Dined on February 6, 2016

The meatloaf was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely worth going back

Dined on February 6, 2016

We made online reservations and mentioned that we would appreciate a quiet table if possible as we were coming from a wake to have a late dinner. Immediately upon arrival, the host and manager expressed their condolences and sat us at a quiet booth away from the crowd. The waitress was attentive but allowed us to enjoy our meal quietly. The menu variety made it difficult to choose just one entree, the wine and cocktail list is extensive and the ambiance is pleasant and relaxing. Our meal was excellent. The chef sent sample hors d'oeuvres with his compliments and they were delicious. The chef's preparation of our meal was just as incredible; my Ahi tuna was perfectly seasoned and my husband's chicken was tender and moist. The Wild Berry Martini is amazing. The manager circulated the restaurant frequently interacting with the diners and once I saw him explaining a piece of artwork to an inquiring customer. You can bring a family, a group of friends, your date or business clients and it will always be an appropriate choice. We will certainly return again not only for ourselves but to entertain out of town guests and our own clients. Our thanks and gratitude to the Riverstone Chophouse staff for an uplifting ending to a difficult day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 5, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration. The service and food was awesome. The waiters and waitresses were so friendly and stopped at nothing to give us the greatest service. Definitely worth every penny. I've only lived in VA for 2 years and this is by far the best restaurant I've been to since being here. Riverstone will soon become a regular spot for me.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.