HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

River Stone Chophouse

4.3
1365 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 638-7990
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Jones
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
College Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Monthly Wine Tastings.

Raw Bar
Sushi at the Raw Bar

DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
25% off selected apps (raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website and Facebook for additional information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

View Private Dining Details
What 1365 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined 13 hours ago

Our waitress was great, but we didnt receive our food until an hour and a half after we'd arrived.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Jacksonville)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was amazing!

Report
Helpful
BrianD 
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

Brunch buffet is subpar and overpriced . A buffet should not be the one and only option at a fine dining restaurant . It seems that the staff considers this a day off as does the kitchen . My advice is to pass on this one.

Report
Helpful
Robin (New York Area)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Brunch was outstanding and service was great. Will definitely recommend

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff was nice, but the food overall wasn’t as good as it has been in the past. My pork chop was over cooked and difficult to cut. Mu husband’s steak was very bland. We were both disappointed in our entrees. The only reason why we did not complain was because it was 10:30pm at night. Definitely marking Riverstone off our list.

Report
Helpful
JoshuaH 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Best dinning experience I have had in a long time. The wait staff was amazing. They we're able to make amazing recommendations. The food was perfect. Every you would expect from such a prestigious restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

We love Riverstone Chophouse. We had the dinner for 2 with filet Minot and lobster. Our waitress Ashton was awesome. She made sure we were well taken care of all night.

Report
Helpful
ChrisJ 
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

I'll start by saying I was recommended this place in comparison to Ruths Chris. I made reservations for 8:15 PM. I arrived 5 minutes early. Upon me and my wife walking into the restaraunt there were 2 staff members in the greeting area. 1 was talking to a customer( appeared to be small talk of nothing important as far as providing services) the other woman was just staring at the other men talk. Meanwhile my wife and I were just awkwardly standing there waiting and beginning to wonder if we're supposed to seat ourselves. After 2 minutes of that we were finally greeted by the woman who seem us standing there the entire time. We were told our table would be available shortly. That took almost 15 minutes. So that was unpleasant. We were seated and everything went smooth after that, up until the lobster came out. My wife's favorite meal might I add. Half of the lobster was burnt and charred, the charred portion was breakiing off and falling into the mashed potatoes, she was trying to save whatever meat was left. We're not the type to complain about our food on most cases so we just chalked it up as potentially a one time experience with this restaurant. Everything aside from that stuff was nice. Our server was very nice as well.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

The food (Parmesan Garlic potato’s wedges, filet mignon, and fries) was all absolutely delicious, and the waiters were amazing. The restaurant is beautiful and romantically lit. We were sit at a table for 4, even though it was the two of us. But their was lots of space between our table and others. We were sat on time. The steak was cooked perfectly. The portion sizes for the sides were “family style”... I will say I thought they were small for a family, but definitely more than a single serving... and regardless after the steak and appetizer we didn’t have much room for any more! Overall I would totally recommend this restaurant and eat here again. I did leave my purse, and one of the staff members was kind enough to meet me the next morning before they opened to return it to me, which was very much appreciated!

Report
Helpful
DellaF 
4.0  Dined 7 days ago

Overall it was a nice dinner date as we celebrated my husband’s 50th Birthday. The meal Jeff had was good, he said he enjoyed it. My dinner on the other hand was just okay. I have had much better Crab Cakes. It was pan seared too hard and it had lots of shell it in. Seems like every other bite I took I felt shells. This was our 7th time there and I know we will be back but I will definitely order something else besides the Crab Cakes!!

Report
Helpful
vipMax3 (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Extensive wine list. Wonderful food. Server Kevin was knowledgeable and attentive, but not intrusive.
Great for foodies!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charlotte)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Took almost 2 hours to get our food. Unacceptable, even for a holiday.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Service was the worst ever for our several past visits. We had to ask for the wine ordered 3 times. It took more than 30 minutes to get the wine to the table. Had to ask for the beer order 2 times. They forgot the salad. Took our utensils and cut our food with a butter knife. Asked for hot sauce with the oysters and never got it. May not be the place to come for a special holiday occasion.

Report
Helpful
LarryB (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent food and service. Great romantic atmosphere. I choose this place for my Valentine's Date and to ask my girlfriend to marry me! She said yes!

Report
Helpful
Alberta (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We celebrated Valentine's Day. This was our 2nd visit. My husband had a high school celebration in 2017 for first visit and the menu was preordered. I was expecting more of the steak from a steakhouse but assumed it was due to the party size and preordered menu and I vowed to give it another try. The service was great but the steak was still not what I expected in comparison to Byrd and Baldwin steakhouse in Norfolk. Overall I will still rate our evening a 4 out 5. We had a nice time.

Report
Helpful
Aone (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The service was amazing Danielle our server was attentive witty warm and friendly also helpful. Food was first rate. It is pricey but worth it

Report
Helpful
AmandaM (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Our host, bartender, and waitress were all fabulous. All were friendly and efficient, and our bartender was especially terrific at engaging us in conversation as we waited for our table to be ready. Being able to take a seat at the bar rather than standing around the entrance while waiting was a huge factor in making the restaurant feel high class and fancier without it feeling stuffy. The music, lighting, and space between tables (some places are too close together and you feel like you can't have a conversation at your own table without disturbing the people who are seated very close. This restaurant gives you plenty of space.) created an ambiance like I've never experienced before. It was absolutely perfect.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
2.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

We had the Sunday Buffet. The choices were very limited, not replaced frequently, so not fresh and they ran out of Prime Rib after about 1 hour (noon) during a brunch that goes until 3pm. Eggs and bacon are not worth $25.00 from a buffet.

Report
Helpful
TomS 
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

My wife and I were celebrating our 37th anniversary and I wanted a special place to take her. Riverstone Chophouse is now our special occasion "Go To" place! Thanks to the staff for making a wonderful evening even better.

Report
Helpful
SobiW (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

We brought our friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary. They thoroughly enjoyed their evening. We were there for over 3 hours!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
69