Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About River Stone Chophouse

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings.

Raw Bar
Sushi at the Raw Bar

DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
25% off selected apps (raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website and Facebook for additional information.

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (21)
See All
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (14)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fireplace (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Our favorite restaurant for special occasions. You are not rushed and the food is always cooked to perfection. You can talk to those in your party without competing with music, noise or the wait staff. Great for a special occasion such as anniversary or milestones.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was awesome except the steaks. Sides and appetizers were great and so was the service. Steaks were just didn't live up to the expectations. Would surely go back and try another dish.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my mother, wife, step father, niece, nephew and step daughter for Mothers Day dinner. The food was outstanding as usual. The server was helpful and attentive. The bottled water was a concern only because everyone in my family drinks bottled water only. Been that way for years. We could taste the chlorine, but other than that, everything else was fine. They should switch to bottled water.

Tags: Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Authentic, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We arrived for a 630pm reservation and were immediately seated. It went downhill from there. The restaurant was barely half full and it still took close to 90 minutes to receive our meals. The fried shrimp and crab cakes were pretty good, but their signature steak, the Delmonico bone in ribeye, was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, we love Riverstone. We were there for Mothers Day brunch. The only complaint I have is that the eggs we were served were overdone and my bacon was burnt (which I don't usually mind but this was too far gone). The rest of our meals were delicious and our server was awesome!

This won't stop us from coming back for our special occasion meals!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was great, but there was a table with about 10 people that were so loud that other tables had to talk louder to hear the people at their own table. Larger parties should be place in private rooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a NY strip (medium well), it was decent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The River Stone Chophouse is what it always is, a great restaurant with great food and people. Ken, the manager, has put together a wonderful wait staff serving outstanding food selections in a warm and inviting atmosphere. We ate in the dining room on this visit, but also have eaten in the bar area where the atmosphere is a bit livelier, but the food and the good folks presenting it to you is/are every bit as good as in the dining room.

I have been to the Chophouse many times and plan to return many more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had heard wonderful things about this restaurant from several colleagues but unfortunately, my date and I did not have a wonderful experience. Initially when we arrived for our reservation, the hostess answered multiple phone calls with us standing there waiting to be seated. She was pleasant but continued to answer calls regarding Mother's Day reservations. Our reservation time was at 6:30 pm and our food was not served until shortly before 8:00pm. We only had salads for appetizers. The sides for our meal came out cold and were replaced but disappointing after waiting as long as we had waited. The steaks were good but not hot just luke warm. The ambiance was great and our server was polite and apologetic as well as the manager. I'm just not sure for the cost that we will be in a hurry to book again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Overall, the Riverstone Chophouse is a nice experience for a special occasion. Some of our sides were over salted and the steak was over cooked, so for the value for the quality didn't quite match up. I've seen prices like these at nice restaurants in NYC or Vegas, but it's a little hard to swallow in Suffolk, Va.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Excellent steaks and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wonderful service-good food -priced for a special occasion not everyday for us
We didn't go to the bar area but it looked nice

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were passing through the area on our way to a wedding in NC. We enjoyed our evening. We were seated near the kitchen entrance - at a 4 top - so not too cozy, but not too loud either. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable - but stumbled over the specials and the ingredients. (not a big deal) My husband enjoyed a Shrimp Cocktail and the Filet - while I got the Scallops. Both items were very good. The steak was cooked to the proper doneness - and the Scallops were delicious. I wasn't sure what was in the Orzo - maybe olives/beans/?? - but it had a unique flavor and was VERY GOOD. We went to the bar (a little cozier) for some after dinner drinks and ended up having dessert there as well. A very nice evening at a nice restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Steak was not. Had the signature steak there about a year ago. It was the best cut of meat I ever tasted. This time not so much. First one that came out was a gristley mess. Manager agreed and chef made another steak which was then overcooked. Did not have that butter flavor of an aged steak like last time. I'm pretty sure it was just not as good a cut of beef. Manager would not let me pay for it although I insisted. Don't know what happened since last time. I will try again and hope for the best. Maybe chef was having an off night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

AWAYS a great meal & excellent service! Enjoyed a birthday dinner for my husband and best friend. Our server Charlie took great care of us & ensured my hubby and friends special day was acknowledged.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I like to go out to a nice restaurant for date night every once in a while and we always choose Riverstone! Everything is great and it never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service were exceptional. Charlie is one great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to River Stone before and enjoyed our experience. However, this time was extremely disappointing! It appeared the waitress had way too many tables to handle because we waited quite awhile before she got to us to take our drink order. Then after another long while she returned to take our brunch order. From that point on I knew it was going to be rough... A gentleman came by after SOME time with some Itty bitty banana nut bread muffins ( 1 for each of us). I know how that is normally the case but I'm diabetic and I was really getting hungry. Finally, our food came out and I was truly disappointed! I ordered the French Toast which came with a fruit cup on the side and Applewood smoked bacon. The toast was 3 triangles that were height wise so big I could barely get bites into my mouth. As if that mattered because it was so very tough even with syrup. I feel that the height of the bread didn't allow it to hold any flavor as well which was another problem. I only ate one piece. The bacon was okay. The fruit was covered/ marinated with I couldn't figure out what only because someone had gotten heavy handed with the chopped mint!!! It was horrific!!! Many people come to a fancy restaurant and are embarrassed to complain because they don't want to look like they aren't cultured enough to appreciate "good food". However, I spent several years in the restaurant industry when I was younger and am very cognizant of service and quality. I hope they will take this comment and turn it into a positive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

the food was excellent and service was fantastic. Would recommend this restaurant to any of my friends or out of town guest. My wife and I visit frequently because of the excellent cuisine!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had an amazing experience in a beautiful restaurant. Danielle the server was such a pleasure and we couldn't be happier with her service. The menu was great with enough to choose from without being overwhelmed. It was also nice to hear they rotate items on the menu every three months with more options to choose from. The manager came to our table several times to ensure we were happy with our experience as first timers and even he was a pleasure. Couldn't be happier with our experience and looking forward to our next visit to their other restaurant the Vintage Tavern. Thanks for making this an enjoyable date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent time for my wedding anniversary. I'd definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Highly recommend! Seafood was delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Absolutely great place for a special occasion. The staff was welcoming and tentative to our needs. The food was excellent and the wine list had a wide variety of choices. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 6, 2017

One of our favorite venues. Great food and superb service. Our server, Charlie, was excellent and made it a great family meal. Not inexpensive in any sense - but you get what you pay for! And large portions. Family took plenty home! Highly recommend for that special occassion

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went with another couple. The restaurant is beautiful and the service was outstanding. Drinks/wine were great. Oyster appetizer was great, potato wedge app was okay, house salad was great, special was okay, ribeye was excellent, filet was a little over-cooked and light on the sauce, but tasty. Mac and cheese was outstanding. Overall, it was a great experience and we'll return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service and food was excellent as always. We had our wedding reception dinner there and had our first anniversary dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fun, Great Beer, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It was great food. The ambience is lovely and peaceful. Staff was professional and polite. You should go. I'm tired of writing. 2000 characters though

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First time diner at Riverstone Chophouse. The ambiance was nice, although a little dark which made it hard to read the Wine list. Server was great, courses were well spaced, server was appropriately attentive. Food was amazing. I would recommend this venue to friends and family.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our waiter Andrew was awesome! We had reservations but still had to wait a bit, that's the only reason I did not give the dining experience 5 stars.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We visited to celebrate our anniversary, which happened to fall during restaurant week. Despite noting on our reservation that it was our anniversary, we were seated at a wide booth that was less than intimate and made conversation difficult. We ordered Delmonico steaks from the $40 restaurant week menu; quite a bargain for a 3 course meal. However, the substandard cut of meat did not make the savings wothwhile. The meat, cooked to our desired temperature, was tough and full of gristle. Our celebratory evening was saved at the end of the meal when the waiter sered us complimentary champagne and grapes and was kind enough to snap a photo of us on our special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The atmosphere and service were very good. The steaks and dessert were fabulous but the side dishes were a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal and service. The filet was cooked to perfection, and as tender as can be. The Porterhouse was excellent, also. We had a few sides - the sweet potato casserole was delish, and the zucchini and squash casserole was to die for. While this is a pricey establishment, it is WELL worth what you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The meal was just not up our expectations. It was made worse by a truly annoying sound level brought on by too loud background music (could barely hear the server) and a very loud table of four adjacent to our table. I know that you could be in that situation wherever you choose to eat but I expected more at this venue. It seemed that as the meal went on the noise level got higher as other tables had to speak louder just to be heard at their own tables. Overall a disappointing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was slow and our steaks were over cooked. The desserts were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our second time going to Riverstone Chophouse. Our previous experience was awful so we decided we'd give it a second chance. My spouse had a steak. He said it was good but more reasonable at Ruth's Chris Steak House. I had linguini with scallops. They put cracked pepper on it and I was unable to finish it due to the flavor. We ordered mushrooms for an appetizer and whatever liquid they were in was not pleasant. My dessert was incredible - Reeses cake. My spouse ordered the carrot cake bread pudding. He didn't care for it, saying that the "carrot" part of it was like a garnish vs. being baked in. The service was lacking. In the beginning we had a lot of attention but it fell off and the guys that were supposed to help the waiter came by with water but failed to notice my spouse's coffee cup was empty. Well, we gave the restaurant a chance but for close to $200 we'll be sure to take our money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Dry aged Ribeye was to die for and the Kansas City Strip was very flavorful. The sides are large and can be shared between two diners. They also have an extensive wine list.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Savanah our waitress was great and did a great job explaining the cooking process of specialty meats to us. It was our first time and won't be the last. Enjoyed the Bison and lobster very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our second time at the restaurant. The food and service was amazing. However, the table across from us was drunk and loud. One of the gentlemen was saying some of the rudest and most inappropriate things. It really ruined the ambiance in the restaurant and did nothing but annoy my husband and I.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was greatly overpriced for the quality. I do not mind overpaying for a great meal but this one fell much short of great. I ordered the signature t-bone,it was slightly overcooked with little to no flavor. The only flavor came from the charred portions. My guests lobster was slightly rubbery which leads me to believe it was overcooked or sat under a light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.