Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

River Stone Chophouse

4.2
1395 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 638-7990
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Jones
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
College Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Monthly Wine Tastings.

Raw Bar
Sushi at the Raw Bar

DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
25% off selected apps (raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website and Facebook for additional information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

View Private Dining Details
What 1395 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.4
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Is nice for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

I planned an evening out to a River Stone Chophouse for my fiancée’s birthday. The restaurant is beautiful. I booked a reservation ahead of time and let it be known that we were celebrating a birthday. When the server came to the table she greeted us and said “I hear we are celebrating, happy anniversary.” I politely corrected her, everyone makes mistakes, however she did not follow it up with an apology or even a happy birthday to him for that matter. Odd. Onto the drink order...my fiancée ordered a Stella (she seemed confused as to what it was and after some explaining it rang a bell for her) I asked her if she could recommend a sweet red wine, she responded with they didn’t have any sweet reds. Truthfully I felt she didn’t really know the answer and instead just gave us a no. An appropriate response would have been to check with the bartender if she wasn’t familiar with the wine list. Next we ordered our appetizers, I ordered a salad with no tomatoes, my fiancée ordered the crab stuffed mushrooms. His mushrooms came out and were delicious, my salad arrived along with the entrees and with tomatoes on top. Another employee brought these out, our server did not come back to check on us for a while so I ate around them, thankfully it’s not an allergy, just a preference. My fiancée ordered the RibEye and I ordered the sirloin bites as our enteees. I asked for mine well done/no pink, they arrived medium well. When I explained this to the server she seemed to have an attitude and brought them back to the kitchen. Later on she brought them back out on the same plate with the same cold onion strings. Not ideal. The overall experience was good, because of the atmosphere and quality of my fiancées RibEye. However, our meal cost $195, I felt that we could have gone to Outback Steakhouse where we are regulars, spent a third of the cost and would have received better service. The servers attitude and lack of attention to detail ruined it for us. We won’t return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This was a great experience. The service and the menu are at a top level. The meat is unbelievable...Ambiance cozy and good to have special event and/or business lunch/dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Outstanding service. Food was perfect. Our server, Rizzo, made our anniversary spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Consistently excellent preparation of beef in particular. Service is always strong. Recommend when in the area

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I was truly impressed by the atmosphere, food and overall experience. We will be back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

First visit for brunch and it was very delicious!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We loved every second of our experience. The minute we walked in we could tell this would be a special treat. Everything we had, from the handcrafted cocktails, appetizers, main course, sides and dessert was a cut above the ordinary food you find in the area. You could tell the great care taken in the kitchen to provide an extraordinary experience for us. Absolutely, hands down my favorite spot for upscale food in Suffolk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The atmosphere inspired awe and at the same time touches a gentler, more loving side in each of us. We gathered to say goodbye after a weekend of family fun. So many delicious dishes to choose. My only regret is that I could not sample them all. Everyone went their separate ways to travel home and what a way to say so long. This just might become a family tradition!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The hostesses were very nice, professional and made sure we were seated as soon as a table became available. Our appt was for 8:00 and at 8:01 they were apologizing for our wait (what wait! Lol) we were seated by 8:05. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and answered all our questions. The other servers were friendly as well. The food was amazing. The bread was hands down the best I’ve EVER had. Everything was perfectly cooked. The food came out times perfectly. Nothing took a long time and nothing came out too early. My one and only “complaint” would be that the Chocolate cake wasn’t great, kind of bland. But everything else was perfection. I strongly suggest the Scottish Salmon. The pomegranate mojito was really good also. OH! And the place is just gorgeous!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Smaller portions than expected.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Beautiful place with great opportunity but the food flavor is missing. Nothing we ordered had flavor or seasoning. Very disappointed and won't be back. Muscles we not cooked enough and watery filet mignon lacked flavor. Great wine list but check the price before you order and before you pay the bill. My wine went up 15.00. They did correct the bill but it was a weird situation. I hope they hire a head chef to oversee the food quality vs price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We came for Restaurant Week and, not only was the food delicious, it was very well-portioned for the $40 price. Both of us very much enjoyed our entrée choices. The staff was very friendly and our server, though handling quite a few tables, did an excellent job. We will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We were at the RiverStone for brunch and ,as usual, the selection was varied, the food was excellent, and the service was excellent as well. I highly recommend the Riverstone Chop House
for any occasion!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We have dined there many times but food and service were very lacking. One in our party had dietary restrictions and they were displeased with accommodating her. The other meals were high in price and not a good value for what we got. There are many other great restaurants out there that are more welcoming with better food. I will not be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The layout of the dining area where we sat had no "flow" so there seemed to be a lot of waiter activity running all around us. The Staff was very pleasant, but we had to remind our waiter a few times that he'd forgotten to bring the wine. While the food was quite good, I wouldn't necessarily go there except for a special occasion because the food was REALLY overpriced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Fine dining experience, the shrimp was over cooked, and the steak was under seasoned. The salt and pepper shakers were difficult to figure out how to use. Not very romantic that I had to bang on the top to get the salt out. We had the apple cinnamon pound cake desert, which was amazing. Our appetizer was the crab dip, which the flavor of the crab did not come through. Would not recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Wife’s steak had to be cooked 3 times. It was ordered medium but came out charred the first time. Waiter noticed, but still served it. Second came out looking good on the inside but rare in the middle. Heated it back up and finally came out good. Rock fish I ordered came out looking good, but also undercooked in the middle. Didn’t send it back, just choked it down not wanting to cause more drama for the server. App and desert was great. Manager comp’d the steak which was nice. But overall, who ever was working the broiler that night was not on point. Great atmosphere. But for the price, the food should have at least been cooked correctly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great service. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about all menu options/choices and was very engaging and attentive. Setting was nice although for just a couple, the tables felt a bit large. Plate presentations were all very nicely done and the steak was great; being exactly what it should for the temperature ordered. With most quality chop houses, I would discourage ordering anything past medium. Atmosphere was just right for conversations and not rushed in the least. Price wise it's close to a Ruth's Chris where you'll spend roughly about 150 for dinner for two with most dinner menu pairings. Wine choices are broad and higher end. Overall a very nice experience and one to keep in mind for visiting guests and other special occasions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Took my wife here for her birthday. I found this place after looking for a fine dining restaurant. My wife ordered the Crispy Duck Breast, but it wasn't crispy and it was also undercooked. She asked for medium but some of the pieces were barely rare. The meat was also fatty but I don't know if that's how duck meat is. However, she did enjoy the parsnip puree and cassis syrup. She did say that she would not order that again.

I ordered the Pan-Seared Scottish Salmon, made with fresh gnocchi with a lemon cream sauce. That dish was beyond delicious. The description mentioned something about horseradish, but that was clearly absent.

For dessert we had the Apple Cinnamon Pound Cake except it wasn't pound cake and there were no walnuts which the menu said was part of the dish. It was delicious, but wasn't as the menu had it described.

One of my gripes is that our server did not share the specials with us, or go over what a chophouse is. We overheard another server doing that and he was doing it like a pro. One of those dishes he described sounded great but I had already ordered, so it became a moot point. I had also made an online reservation and selected that we would be celebrating my wife's birthday. Granted, I didn't know what to expect but the only reason they figured it out was that I brought her gift along, and so our server put a candle in our dessert. So... what's the point in providing a reason?

My last, minor, gripe is that the website states a dress code of business casual in the main dining room. We were in the main dining room where all the other gentlemen were wearing short sleeve shirts, t-shirts and jeans. I suppose you're not going to refuse service to a paying customer, but then again... what's the point of advertising a dress code? Or maybe I don't know what business casual is, despite my jacket and tie.


Better luck next time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 13, 2018

The $49 house special dry aged ribeye was significantly over cooked. We were told that there was a “misunderstanding” between the waiter and the chief. So, stoping eating and waiting for the replacement is far from ideal. We were not offered anything to compensate, not even free desert. We don’t like paying full price for “misunderstandings”. This meal should have been at no charge.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I attended a Christmas part here last year. The food was great then, which is what brought me back. This trip was very disappointing and I regret suggesting to my friends. It started our great, a first class presentation. However, when our food arrived it was luke warm. My New York strip was tuff, so tuff there was a 2" section I could not even cut through with a steak knife. I don't mind paying a high price for a good meal, this was not it. Honestly, Longhorn chain is much better and a 1/4 of the price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

You have a dress code that seems to no longer be enforced. We saw many people in jeans and hoodies and men in hats. Why have a dress code if you don't enforce this? We also had to deal with a crying babies after we arrived and when they left another couple arrived with their loud toddler. We have been there as we have kids and understand how hard this is, but kids should not be taken EVERYWHERE. This can ruin a night for someone else quickly. It takes away the romantic ambiance we look for when coming here. Maybe you all should be families with small children in another area. Just a suggestion. This was our 18th wedding anniversary and lets just say while the food, the staff, and everything else was wonderful - our surroundings were terrible and made us feel like we were at an Apple Bees/Chilis/Red Robin or similar. We left shaking our heads - did we just pay $300 for that??!!? Yuck.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Excellent service. Delicious food. Very nice setting. Perfect for sharing an intimate occasion with someone special. Will return soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Waiter put our party under an AC vent when the outside temp was 50F. When we asked to move or change the temp, he put us under another AC vent. We waited forever to get served. A very expensive steak place. I won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Had to wait about even though I had a reservation , wait over an hour for main course to be served

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

It is a very nice restaurant, good food & nice atmosphere. The server was not so good. Her replies, or way of replying was not professional. The food took too long, and several items had to be reminded. She didn't bring the bread, had to ask a few times for the same drink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent service and delicious cuisine. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The kitchen needs to learn to clean the choke out of an artichoke before serving it to a guest we had a Grilled artichoke appetizer and as I come from one of the most famous artichoke growers in California I know a little something about artichokes.the artichoke was covered with cheese so I didn't think to look and as I tried to swallow it grabbed my throat and I had to cough it up and spit it out. The service seemed indifferent that I had not eaten my appetizer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Our waitress was great, but we didnt receive our food until an hour and a half after we'd arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Dinner was amazing!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Brunch buffet is subpar and overpriced . A buffet should not be the one and only option at a fine dining restaurant . It seems that the staff considers this a day off as does the kitchen . My advice is to pass on this one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Brunch was outstanding and service was great. Will definitely recommend

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The wait staff was nice, but the food overall wasn’t as good as it has been in the past. My pork chop was over cooked and difficult to cut. Mu husband’s steak was very bland. We were both disappointed in our entrees. The only reason why we did not complain was because it was 10:30pm at night. Definitely marking Riverstone off our list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Best dinning experience I have had in a long time. The wait staff was amazing. They we're able to make amazing recommendations. The food was perfect. Every you would expect from such a prestigious restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We love Riverstone Chophouse. We had the dinner for 2 with filet Minot and lobster. Our waitress Ashton was awesome. She made sure we were well taken care of all night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I'll start by saying I was recommended this place in comparison to Ruths Chris. I made reservations for 8:15 PM. I arrived 5 minutes early. Upon me and my wife walking into the restaraunt there were 2 staff members in the greeting area. 1 was talking to a customer( appeared to be small talk of nothing important as far as providing services) the other woman was just staring at the other men talk. Meanwhile my wife and I were just awkwardly standing there waiting and beginning to wonder if we're supposed to seat ourselves. After 2 minutes of that we were finally greeted by the woman who seem us standing there the entire time. We were told our table would be available shortly. That took almost 15 minutes. So that was unpleasant. We were seated and everything went smooth after that, up until the lobster came out. My wife's favorite meal might I add. Half of the lobster was burnt and charred, the charred portion was breakiing off and falling into the mashed potatoes, she was trying to save whatever meat was left. We're not the type to complain about our food on most cases so we just chalked it up as potentially a one time experience with this restaurant. Everything aside from that stuff was nice. Our server was very nice as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food (Parmesan Garlic potato’s wedges, filet mignon, and fries) was all absolutely delicious, and the waiters were amazing. The restaurant is beautiful and romantically lit. We were sit at a table for 4, even though it was the two of us. But their was lots of space between our table and others. We were sat on time. The steak was cooked perfectly. The portion sizes for the sides were “family style”... I will say I thought they were small for a family, but definitely more than a single serving... and regardless after the steak and appetizer we didn’t have much room for any more! Overall I would totally recommend this restaurant and eat here again. I did leave my purse, and one of the staff members was kind enough to meet me the next morning before they opened to return it to me, which was very much appreciated!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Overall it was a nice dinner date as we celebrated my husband’s 50th Birthday. The meal Jeff had was good, he said he enjoyed it. My dinner on the other hand was just okay. I have had much better Crab Cakes. It was pan seared too hard and it had lots of shell it in. Seems like every other bite I took I felt shells. This was our 7th time there and I know we will be back but I will definitely order something else besides the Crab Cakes!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Extensive wine list. Wonderful food. Server Kevin was knowledgeable and attentive, but not intrusive.
Great for foodies!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by River Stone Chophouse