About River Stone Chophouse

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
~Monthly Wine Tastings.

~Raw Bar
-Sushi at the Raw Bar

~DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights-
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

~Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.-
25% off selected apps
(raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website for additional information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak - River Stone Chophouse, Suffolk, VA

Report a photo problem

Ribeye Steak - River Stone Chophouse, Suffolk, VA

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fireplace (11)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ashton was our waitress and she was the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Ashton was our waitress and she was the best. The food was very delicious and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had fantastic time. Our server was great ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 7 days ago

Had fantastic time. Our server was great and the food and staff were outstanding! Great Date night overall!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Our waiter was very ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome experience! Our waiter was very sweet and helpful! The food was awesome! Over all a wonderful experience on our 7th wedding Anniversary!

Thank you river stone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to The Riverstone Chophouse ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to The Riverstone Chophouse many times.. It has always been a good place but this past time was just not good at all.. the soup was very blah.. the bread was salty.. the steak I ordered was a 24oz porterhouse and it was super thin and very fatty (not what I expected at all).. The sautéed spinach was salty and the broccolini was blah.. I expected better considering the hefty prices on the food.. Riverstone has always been a top choice for me but it has declined big time..Very disappointing

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was our 2nd visit to the chop house ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was our 2nd visit to the chop house. It was outstanding on both occasions. The food is so enjoyable and our server ,Falon, was great. Just the right amount of attention and very nice. We always tell friends and family it's one of the best meals you'll ever have

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Paid over 120$ for dinner and thought we ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Paid over 120$ for dinner and thought we took our leftover steaks home. Open it up the next day to find mashed potatoes that we never ordered. Hope someone else enjoyed our steaks. Other than that. Nice place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Perfect food and service! Falon was grea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Perfect food and service! Falon was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avoid Riverstone Chophouse in harborview ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Avoid Riverstone Chophouse in harborview. We went last night. We waited 15 mins for drinks. 15 more just for our order to be taken. 45 for our food to come. Most of the food was average at best. Overcooked and fatty steak,overdressed salad, overcooked lobster. The seafood mac and cheese was $50 and child size and full of burnt and dry noodles and scallops. 20 mins to get our bill. And since it was for my husbands birthday they brought him "dessert". The waiter called it vanilla gelato with some fancy name. Nope it was crappy freezer burned vanilla ice cream with sprinkles. And the worst part? Our $100 gift card didnt touch the $270 bill! Worst place ever. They try to market as fine dining and really its just overpriced food with average at best wait staff. Drive 2 mins up the road to Texas Roadhouse. This place was a waste of money. Awful to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We have been to Chop House many times an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been to Chop House many times and feel that there is a systemic problem there. They can't seem to get the food out in a reasonable time. The wait staff is always good, but the bar (which is usually crowded) seems to take priority over the dinning area. We ordered oysters and it took almost two hours to get them. This in turn held up the meal. I tend to lose interest in dining after nine o'clock. We wish the overall dinning experience is a good as their sister restaurant Vintage Tavern, but it rarely is. More than one oyster shucker would be a good first start.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

We had our one year anniversary dinner h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had our one year anniversary dinner here a Riverstone Chophouse. The food and service were outstanding. Steaks came cooked just the way we ordered them. Portions were large but well presented. The shrimp cocktail was fresh and delicious! I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere was wonderful & the waits ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful & the waitstaff very friendly but the food did not live up to the value.

My husband got that day's fish special, grouper for $38. The piece he received was small & over-salted. I ended up sharing my meal with him since his was so small.

I ordered their signature ribeye, which claimed to have been dry-aged 28 for $47. It tasted no different than higher quality steaks we purchase at the grocery store and grill ourselves. And it said it was 22 oz but looked smaller.

It's a very cozy setting and they have a nice outside patio off of the bar area. That evening they had a fire going out there in the fire pit which looked inviting. Perhaps it's more the kind of place to go and hang out at the bar and share appetizers but I will not be going back for a special occasion & sitting in the dining room.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Great experience for New Years Eve dinne ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience for New Years Eve dinner.

We had the lamb that was cooked to perfection and my boyfriend said it was the best he's ever had. I had the Flounder; the crust was crispy and the fish was very flaky and delicious

It had been several years since our last visit and we were glad that the quality was still the same

We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak and seafood are most excellent and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steak and seafood are most excellent and the portions are more than ample.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Wonderful ambiance. But p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great service. Wonderful ambiance. But paying 50 dollars for a 28 day aged ribeye, I expect it to be perfect. The cut was very grizzly, numerous tendons and too much fat. Ordered it medium rare, it came out rare and cold in middle. Wife ordered filet mignon with a crab cake and bernaise sauce, sauce was cold and she ordered steak medium, no pink in her steak at all, over cooked. Disappointed in the meat considering it's a chophouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were outstanding. Smok ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Smoked bone in strip steak was one of the best steaks I have eaten at a restaurant. Dessert special was creative and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It was great !!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was great !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I had been there not long ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My husband and I had been there not long after it was opened. The place was fabulous! Picked out our own steak and the ambiance was great! Food even better. Went back for romantic Christmas date on 12/2016, place was loud and we had to wait even though we had reservations. They were out of the wine I wanted, ok thats fine.We ordered and waited OVER 40 minutes for our food. The manager came over and apologized and gave us free shrimp cocktail. Ok,our meal comes lobster great but steak.... My husband ordered well done it was pink inside. I ordered med rare it was burnt on outside and a little pink and very dry. We were on a romantic date.we coukd not even hear each other talking. Ambiance. ..there was NONE!!!!! It was like a glorified Ruby Tuesdays. In fact ive had better steak there!!! For $150.00 dollar meal... not impreesed how they changed ... Won't go back.... Very disappointing! !!!😢😢😢

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

My wife and I took a work colleague and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My wife and I took a work colleague and her husband to dinner for Christmas. We found the noise to be unbearably loud and intrusive. Our waiter needed three trips to get our initial bar order correct, two cocktails and the bottle of wine we had at the bar waiting on our table. We were told not to worry, it would be brought to us, they just didn't mention what a pain it would be.

It seemed to take a very long time before our waiter came back to take our orders. Long story short.... we ordered three steaks, two medium rare and one rare and lamb chops. We got two appetizers, the stuffed mushrooms were very good. The Philly Chesse Steak Egg Roles were nasty. One of the medium rare steaks was medium at best. The other medium rare could only be described as "well done". My steak, which was ordered rare was medium plus. At $45-$50 a steak, I expected them to have a cook that knew what they were doing.

Sides were a nightmare. They are served "family style", which means that you are expected to share, even though others at the table may have no interest in what you ordered.. Sides were $8-$10 a piece!

I do NOT send food back, unless it is a matter of health. I don't trust returned food. My solution is to never, ever, ever go back to a place like this. One round of drinks, dinner and thankfully no desert came to over $350 before tip.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Service here is very slow. We had to se ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service here is very slow. We had to send back our food because it came out cold. The waiter rarely came to check on us. We had to get people to run him down. The restaurant is pricey and I would not go back because of the service and the food is not high quality to go with the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Love it! Will visit again. Truly enjoyed ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love it! Will visit again. Truly enjoyed my birthday

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always an amazing experience. The knowle ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always an amazing experience. The knowledge of the servers and the flavor of all the dishes make the prices worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaraunt!! It is the meaning ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Love this restaraunt!! It is the meaning of classy and tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there celebrating my wife's Birt ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were there celebrating my wife's Birthday. The food was good and reasonably priced. The cold soba noodle and kale salad was oily and not good, however My wife did enjoy her crab cakes. Otherwise we will return.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The overall experience was awesome! Food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The overall experience was awesome! Food was great and atmosphere was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Outstanding food a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent experience. Outstanding food and service!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter and friendly staff. The am ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great waiter and friendly staff. The ambience was nice. The food left much to be desired. I expected better flavor profiling at a chophouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We were very impressed from beginning to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were very impressed from beginning to end. That asked us if we were celebrating a special day and we told them our anniversary. Every staff member we saw told us Happy Anniversay! WOW! I had ordered a porterhouse. Our waiter came out and apologized and said they just ran out of these so I chose another steak. It was really no big deal.It was one of the best steaks we have ever had. When they brought us the check we realized they did not charge us for my steak. It was a $50 steak that we got for free. I was dumbfounded. I didn't think restraints did that anymore. I will continue going from now on. It was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was very good. We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall experience was very good. We had a reservation at 8:15, arrived at 8:18, and the table was still being set, which made for the hostess to take us into the dining room and then walk us back out to the lobby. We had two appetizers and the signature steak with sides. The steak was so so but the appetizers were great. It was a nice paced, romantic dinner for two. We'd come back to try the other dinner entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We brought our kids for a nice dinner, b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We brought our kids for a nice dinner, both my son and I ordered the NY and was a little disappointed in the flavor.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere! Food was really great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere! Food was really great and service was awesome!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pros: Classy, nice ambiance, good food. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Pros: Classy, nice ambiance, good food. Cons: Service was mediocre (waitress & Hostess). Not family friendly-no kids menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was amazing along with the serv ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing along with the service. This was my wife and I's first time dining at the River Stone Chop House and it won't be the last. If you are looking for a great dinner atmosphere this the place. Our server Rich was knowledgeable, prompt and courteous. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good but ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food and service were very good but unfortunately we were only 2 people sat next to a table of 16 very loud shrieking people and quite honestly could not hear the waitress when she first spoke to us and we were unable to have much of a conversation as we had to shout at each other to be heard.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoy the chophouse very much. The st ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We enjoy the chophouse very much. The staff is great and the food is amazing'

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! We made a res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Everything was wonderful! We made a reservation. Our table was ready on time. Our wait staff was very professional and friendly. To our delight, it was restaurant week in Suffolk. Our meal was not only exceptional, but priced at a great value as well. We will definitely make River Stone Chophouse a regular choice when dining out.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was really nice. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Overall experience was really nice. The wait staff was very attentive the overall atmosphere was very inviting and the food quite good. My only complaint would be that the bread served before dinner lacked taste and was cold. The macaroni and cheese had a very distinct sweet taste. The noise coming from the bar was very distracting and not conducive to a romantic evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

When they prepared the table it was stil ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

When they prepared the table it was still wet--had to dry it off.

Also--bread had mold--mgr quickly swapped it.

Overall still good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

River Stone, as always, was terrific. A ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 7, 2016

River Stone, as always, was terrific. A real surprise was we visited during Restaurant Week to a pre-set three course option.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going during Restaurant week made it an ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Going during Restaurant week made it an exceptional value. Food is fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.