About River Stone Chophouse

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
~Monthly Wine Tastings.

~Raw Bar
-Sushi at the Raw Bar

~DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights-
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

~Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.-
25% off selected apps
(raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website for additional information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak
Ribeye Steak

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Ambiance
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Romantic
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
1 More
Special Occasion
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Suffolk ›

special occasion (57)
romantic (43)
notable wine list (24)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (17)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal !! The food was incredib ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent meal !! The food was incredible , the service perfect . Our server Drew went above and beyond . The recommendation for wine and dessert , perfect .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great service. Just bring ple ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food great service. Just bring plenty of money because it's very pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We won a gift card to Riverstone Chophou ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We won a gift card to Riverstone Chophouse at my husbands Christmas party. We live in Virginia Beach so we would not have driven all the way to Suffolk for dinner had we not had the gift card. It was our anniversary so we figured it was a good time to use the card. At the beginning of our meal, the waitress brought out 3 hollowed out cherry tomatoes that had a smokey flavor which were stuffed with pickled watermelon rind just for us to try. They were quite good and it was an unexpected, nice start to our meal.

My son and husband each ordered the filet and requested it medium well. The inside was the correct just-a-little-pink color but the outside of half of my husband's steak was charred black and hard. (that's the reason for the 4 stars on the food) I ordered the shrimp (grilled) and they were 6 of the largest shrimp I've seen in a long time. My shrimp were terrific. My son also ordered the mac and cheese as a side and it was quite good. We split the vanilla bean creme brulee for dessert. That was fabulous as well.

We'd go back if it were closer but there are equally nice restaurants in Va Bch that will meet our special occasion needs just as well without the 45 minute drive.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second time dining at River ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our second time dining at River Stone. It was a marvelous experience. Great selection of meats, poultry and fish/seafood. The food is exceptionally well prepared., among the best I've had anywhere in the world. Great, attentive staff. Even the background music was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, what a phenomenal meal. We were loo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wow, what a phenomenal meal. We were looking for something outside the usual chain restaurants and this was way beyond expectations. Soft shell crab tacos? Great food, ambiance etc. got there late so they sold out of a few items but no problem. Have already mentioned to several people in our travels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I selected this restaurant for our 22nd ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I selected this restaurant for our 22nd wedding anniversary and it was a perfect enjoyable evening. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I filled out a review card. Obviousl ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I filled out a review card. Obviously the waiter did not turn it in to you guys. I hated my experience. I believe if you are going to enjoy a lovely meal everything should not be a la cart. To spend 141.00 on a meal aND leave hungry is ridiculous. I have alot more to say, so please do call. 757.652.7727

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Service impeccable, food hit or miss. Fi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service impeccable, food hit or miss. Filet was excellent and cooked to perfection; 18oz Kansas City at $39 was tough, sinewy, undercooked, and flavorless. Bread not good, asparagus delicious. Key lime cheesecake good, papaya sorbet inedible and slimy. Celebrating anniversaries with friends who we had invited to dinner - their meals were average - scallop puff and crabcakes - not one of the four of us would return. Very disappointing. We don't mind spending $300 on a dinner for four if it is memorable in a positive way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We have been eating here for years. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We have been eating here for years. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well, the cook is not the best. The foo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Well, the cook is not the best. The food was very salty and poorly season.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

River Stone always delivers a quality me ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

River Stone always delivers a quality meal. It was a slow weeknight in the main restaurant but we still had a 20-min wait for our table in spite of our reservation on a not-busy weeknight. Once seated, there were times I felt forgotten by our server, so much time elapsed between courses or visits to our table. Next time, I will dine in the lounge and try their sushi.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This was our 3rd visit to River Stone an ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to River Stone and it was good. We had our favorite, Sirloin Bites, and as usual they were great. I ordered the Fish and Chips and though the portion of the meal was very large and tasty, the fish was very greasy. My daughter tried the Salmon Rangoon and she said they were greasy as well. When we go again, we've decided we will probably only get the Sirloin Bites and a dessert.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience! Amazing food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great experience! Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great time. Celebrated Father's Day. No ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great time. Celebrated Father's Day.

Nothing else to say. One of my favorite places to eat dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Medium cooked steaks were overlooked and ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Medium cooked steaks were overlooked and had to be sent back only to get the next stak near rare. Had to return once again to get it right . At this time appetite was lost and had to be bagged to bring home. Quality of restaurant has gone down since last year. Waiter was okay. There was also a large party there and they were extremely loud.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The ambiance and the service was great! ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance and the service was great! The food was very good, but not the best that I have had.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was extremely friendly & knowl ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The staff was extremely friendly & knowledgeable! The managers customer service/ resolution was commendable when there was a minor issue with one steak order (cold). We will definitely be back! Loved our overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this place numerous times ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to this place numerous times a few years ago. I recently decided to bring my wife there again since it had been 4-6 years since we last went. The service was amazing as always. The Blue Point Raw Oysters were amazing as Blue Points always are. However, that is where the good ended. I ordered the aged Ribeye and my wife got the NY Strip. They were cooked to order however they tasted like a lower quality piece of meat. Mine had absolutely no taste, except for a weird greasy spoiled taste. My wife's NY strip looked like a scrap piece of meat for the dog. This was no where near their usual quality. Was truly disappointed with this visit. Not sure if I will ever go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

We always have a great time when we dine ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We always have a great time when we dine at River Stone Chop House.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food. Since it was o ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service great food. Since it was our anniversary the owners through into glasses of champagne it was fantastic!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Personalized service

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were impressed that our server knew our name from the reservation, and repeated addressed us by name.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I had a really nice dinner here with my best friend who now lives in Texas last Friday. I wanted to bring her somewhere nice and we had an excellent experience in a nice quiet booth by the bathrooms.

We started off with the salmon rangoons which were really good. Crispy and hot with a drizzle of honey mustard sauce. YUM. I chose the wedge salad and 8 oz. filet while my friend went with the lobster at market price (2 lbs).

We shared sides of sautéed mushrooms and macaroni and cheese.

It was a very large amount of food and we shared between each other - her lobster was phenomenal (it should've been at $33 a lb) and my steak was perfectly cooked.

We split the key lime pie for dinner and I thought it was very good. It was light and sweet but not too tart.

Our server was professional and knowledgeable about the menu - a few times we deferred to him on what to go with when we couldn't decide between two (salmon rangoons and key lime) and we were not disappointed.

We were slightly overwhelmed with all the options and the steak cuts when you're first introduced to the restaurant but we really enjoyed our meal.

It was over 2.5 hours spent eating there and I spent around $225 for the two of us including the tip.

It's expensive and takes a very long time for service and such. You just have to not be in any kind of hurry or have any plans later.... but highly recommend for special occasions or rare date nights.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Service was outstand ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. The appetizer, salad, and main course came out with perfect timing and our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must have been an off night--other times ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Must have been an off night--other times much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

nice ambiance

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Nice atmosphere and wonderful service. The food was not the best for the price.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome Service

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This will be my second experience here at The River where it will not be my last.

After making a reservation, and changing it multiple times due to my son's baseball game, I had reached my limit. Even with extending that time, we were late to our reservation. And then we received a very unexpected call expecting the worse (closing time is at 10:30). It was the restaurant asking if would still make it. As we were seated at the table, we were informed that the kitchen closed at 9:30 (it's 9:35) however, the chef was nice enough to keep the kitchen opened just for us. I'm not implying that they do this all the time. We just don't get a chance to go out often. Overall...everything was GREAT!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River Stone Chophouse is a handsome subu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

River Stone Chophouse is a handsome suburban restaurant with the strengths and hesitations that go with that category of dining place. But we thought it was considerably better than most of that ilk of restaurant. The service was superb, the entrees were what they need to be in order to make it in a suburban setting, that is, large and meaty, but there were a large number of creative appetizers and sides and the chef is willing to go beyond the predictable, including with the entrees. The decor is sophisticated and the seating allows for lots of privacy. It's possible to have a conversation without having to raise your voice. On the whole a great place for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine selection is marvelous and ther ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The wine selection is marvelous and there are always good choices in any price range. The bar drinks are smooth and never overpowering. I especially enjoy the special chef selections; there is so much creativity in their kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bought my date to celebrate her birthday ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Bought my date to celebrate her birthday. Excellent service, food & ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had the colassal shrimp. Way over coo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I had the colassal shrimp. Way over cooked. Service ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our first time and we were celebrating ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our first time and we were celebrating my husbands birthday. He, as well as my daughter and myself, love a good steak and good food. The atmosphere, service, and food was awesome! We like dining where there is great service and wonderful food and great atmosphere! Thank you for providing such a wonderful place and wish Franklin, Va., had some place like Riverstone Chop House! We plan to return in the future!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and the food was reall ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent service and the food was really delicious and presented well. Will definitely go back to fine again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Premier steakhouse

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, great service. Everything you expect in a top tier restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent maybe the best sa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent maybe the best salmon ever. The service was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience every time!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We visit Riverstone Chop House for special occasions. We've enjoyed every visit to date. The service and food are always outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Was seated promptly at my reservation time. Wait staff were very courteous and efficient. Lobster stew was served piping hot. It was very tasty. Steak was a little cold, but also very good. Salad had a bit too much dressing for my taste, but was satisfying overall. Very pleasant dining experience. Highly recommended if in the area.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Found this place by accident on the web but it was a great find. This spot and location was everything I had hoped for because I was bringing a friend there to celebrate his birthday and the food had to be perfect. Especially when they have Celiac disease. The server was very knowledgeable of the ingredients and how various dishes were prepared. He had the shark and of course I couldn't resist a steak. She also kept our glasses filled with our favorite Mascato and was very pleasant each time she came to the table. We had such a great time, I can't wait to come back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a pricey place

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was fine, but the prices are a bit high for the quality of the product. My filet was cooked medium as ordered though was the toughest I'd ever had (not so tough I couldn't eat it, just noticeably tough for a filet) . Took quite a long time to place orders and get the check (though if you needed any water at all, they were filling up your glass). We had kids with us so a little less waiting around would've been nice.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I took my wife here for her birthday, we ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday, we both had the steak and lobster. The steak was mostly tough and inedible and I left 3/4 of it on my plate and my wife left most of hers. They were supposed to be medium rare and were not. The quality was not there and the lobster was overcooked and was tough and rubbery. I did like the butter. I will not return, I think the atmosphere was good but the food was not up to my quality expectations and the chef did not do the fare justice.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Service is exceptional, restaurant is ve ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Service is exceptional, restaurant is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.