Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.74mi

About River Stone Chophouse

From the team that brought the celebrated and award winning Vintage Tavern to Suffolk comes River Stone Chophouse. Featuring steaks and fresh seafood in a beautifully designed traditional craftsman-era architecture. Join us for a cocktail lounge and raw bar, then have dinner by the stone fireplace. River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is excited to be the first Chophouse in Hampton Roads. River Stone features Hereford beef, a raw bar, fresh lobster and an extensive wine list to compliment the cuisine. Centrally located in Northern Suffolk, only minutes from five surrounding cities.
Late night dining is available in the bar as well as a lighter fare menu in the lounge. Happy Hour specials Monday to Friday 3-7pm. Reservations are recommended.

8032 Harbour View Boulevard
Suffolk, VA 23435
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday Bar and Raw Bar 3:00pm - Until
Monday-Saturday Dining Room 5:00pm - Until
Closed Sundays Evenings- Visit our sister restaurant Vintage Tavern on Sunday's.

Private Dining available for Group Luncheons and Dinners-with advanced notice.

Cross Street:
College Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 638-7990

Website:
http://www.riverstonechophouse.com/

Catering:
Four private dining rooms are available for groups from 6 to 150 to accommodate all your meeting or special occasion needs. In addition to corporate meetings and dinners, we are the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, career milestone, anniversary or family celebration. Please see the private dining section for additional information.

Parking Details:
Private parking lot with over flow parking in the adjacent office building lot.

Executive Chef:
Chris Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Wine Tastings.

Raw Bar
Sushi at the Raw Bar

DOD and Military Discount Wednesday Nights
10% of food bill with the purchase of an entree.

Appetizer Specials Mon - Fri from 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
25% off selected apps (raw bar items are excluded)


Please visit our website and Facebook for additional information.

Private Dining

River Stone demonstrates a unique commitment to providing special dining experiences to patrons and is exclusively prepared to host any type of private event, from corporate meetings to family gatherings and celebrations.

River Stone Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (28)
Special Occasion (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Cozy (15)
Fireplace (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

The service and food was excellent as always. We had our wedding reception dinner there and had our first anniversary dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fun, Great Beer, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

It was great food. The ambience is lovely and peaceful. Staff was professional and polite. You should go. I'm tired of writing. 2000 characters though

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

First time diner at Riverstone Chophouse. The ambiance was nice, although a little dark which made it hard to read the Wine list. Server was great, courses were well spaced, server was appropriately attentive. Food was amazing. I would recommend this venue to friends and family.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter Andrew was awesome! We had reservations but still had to wait a bit, that's the only reason I did not give the dining experience 5 stars.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

We visited to celebrate our anniversary, which happened to fall during restaurant week. Despite noting on our reservation that it was our anniversary, we were seated at a wide booth that was less than intimate and made conversation difficult. We ordered Delmonico steaks from the $40 restaurant week menu; quite a bargain for a 3 course meal. However, the substandard cut of meat did not make the savings wothwhile. The meat, cooked to our desired temperature, was tough and full of gristle. Our celebratory evening was saved at the end of the meal when the waiter sered us complimentary champagne and grapes and was kind enough to snap a photo of us on our special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The atmosphere and service were very good. The steaks and dessert were fabulous but the side dishes were a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal and service. The filet was cooked to perfection, and as tender as can be. The Porterhouse was excellent, also. We had a few sides - the sweet potato casserole was delish, and the zucchini and squash casserole was to die for. While this is a pricey establishment, it is WELL worth what you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The meal was just not up our expectations. It was made worse by a truly annoying sound level brought on by too loud background music (could barely hear the server) and a very loud table of four adjacent to our table. I know that you could be in that situation wherever you choose to eat but I expected more at this venue. It seemed that as the meal went on the noise level got higher as other tables had to speak louder just to be heard at their own tables. Overall a disappointing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was slow and our steaks were over cooked. The desserts were terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our second time going to Riverstone Chophouse. Our previous experience was awful so we decided we'd give it a second chance. My spouse had a steak. He said it was good but more reasonable at Ruth's Chris Steak House. I had linguini with scallops. They put cracked pepper on it and I was unable to finish it due to the flavor. We ordered mushrooms for an appetizer and whatever liquid they were in was not pleasant. My dessert was incredible - Reeses cake. My spouse ordered the carrot cake bread pudding. He didn't care for it, saying that the "carrot" part of it was like a garnish vs. being baked in. The service was lacking. In the beginning we had a lot of attention but it fell off and the guys that were supposed to help the waiter came by with water but failed to notice my spouse's coffee cup was empty. Well, we gave the restaurant a chance but for close to $200 we'll be sure to take our money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Savanah our waitress was great and did a great job explaining the cooking process of specialty meats to us. It was our first time and won't be the last. Enjoyed the Bison and lobster very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Dry aged Ribeye was to die for and the Kansas City Strip was very flavorful. The sides are large and can be shared between two diners. They also have an extensive wine list.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our second time at the restaurant. The food and service was amazing. However, the table across from us was drunk and loud. One of the gentlemen was saying some of the rudest and most inappropriate things. It really ruined the ambiance in the restaurant and did nothing but annoy my husband and I.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was greatly overpriced for the quality. I do not mind overpaying for a great meal but this one fell much short of great. I ordered the signature t-bone,it was slightly overcooked with little to no flavor. The only flavor came from the charred portions. My guests lobster was slightly rubbery which leads me to believe it was overcooked or sat under a light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always very impressed with the food and service at this restaurant. We ordered steak and chicken and it was cooked to perfection. The atmosphere was very cozy and appropriate for our celebration Richard, our service, exemplified impeccable customer service skills. He recalled some of the events that I mentioned to him several weeks ago and asked about the outcome of such. Certainly, the River Stone Chophouse is highly recommended and has become our favorite for an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I always enjoy River Stone Chophouse! The customer service is outstanding and so is the food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was the best I have ever had. Extremely polite but not too "over the top" and the servers did not bug you. The menu is simple, yet complex enough to have a variety of options. My husband and I went as a birthday/late valentines date night. Highly recommended. While prices are a bit on the high end, it is worth every penny plus some!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been to River Stone many times. Each time is delicious. Service is great and the food is even better!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had an outstanding waitress. Our food was good but nothing special. We had to wait a long time for it ;about an hour. The ambience was great. I was disappointed in the value for our money. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ordered my porterhouse medium but was served rare. Paid $42 dollars. Side of crab was not worth $8, was seved on a 4 oz ramekin that was not even filled to the top. Definitlety came out of a can.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary on the 14th of February 2017. Appetizers, salad, entrees, desert and cocktails were exceptional. Our server was very accommodating and his suggestive selling was superb. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and were greeted by several personnel acknowledging our anniversary. Hospitality throughout the evening made us enjoy our special day and we will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I ordered a ribeye with strawberry balsamic glaze. The steak was drowning in vinegar and was inedible. Way too bitter and I couldn't taste the meat at all. It took us an hour and a half to receive our food. My husband ordered the seafood special and all that was on his plate was a small lobster tail, 3 clams, and four mussles. With the cost of the plates we were very disappointed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always great service. The food is top notch, great for anniversaries, birthdays, special occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a lovely dinner here. The food was delicious, and my steak was cook perfectly. I definitely recommend this restaurant. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing service , food was beyond expectations, quick service ! Overall great experience !

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good experience, pricy for the quality of food, very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant was slammed. Yet, the staff was capable and attentive, the food was properly prepared and presented. Given the crowd, we were presently surprised.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. Service was very good. My wife's steak was over cooked. Server said the manager would bring out a properly cooked steak. Ended up the server brought out the steak for us. I guess the manager of a so called "premier" local steak house didn't think it was an issue when they cooked their steak wrong.

My steak was cooked correctly but was very bland. I've made better at home. The cut of beef wasn't anything special.

I have been here before and I don't remember it being so mediocre. I will not go back or recommend. For the price I would expect perfection when it comes to the streak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was the second time in 5 recent visits that we were disappointed. There is a lot of activity with hosts and wait staff moving around but not much attention to our table (we are not high maintenance diners either). Water and beverages take too long to get to the table. Food was served lukewarm and 1 meal came out way later than the rest of the table, which was awkward for the other diners. The first 3 dining experiences were fun and delicious, but last 2 were disappointing. It will be awhile before we try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Went on a Thursday evening with friends. The bar scene was live when we arrived, so it must have been Happy Hour. However we sat in the dining area. The service was prompt and just right. Our server let us know he was paying attention while not seeking attention or interrupting. The food is pricey but we understood we paid for the service and the experience, not the food. We were allowed to stay until closing without being forced out. Good time overall.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. Overall had a good experience. Would recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The place ambiance was pretty nice. The food presentation was excellent. I ordered a NY Strip with Smashed Potatoes and Sherried Skillet Mushrooms. The potatoes and mushrooms were outstanding but the NY Strip had no seasoning whatsoever. My wife ordered a Point Judith “Salt & Pepper” Calamari and Philly Cheese-Steak Spring Rolls which were really good. She also ordered some dish with sweet potatoes which tasted scorched. Service could have been better as we notice that our waitress was more attentive with other tables than ours but it was a busy night. I will probably give it another try as the place looked very nice and it was a nice crowed which lets me know that other people like it. I guess we will see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Nice place. Cozy, warm, comfortable atmosphere with a very attentive service staff. Enjoyed the timing of the food courses, allowing for a very relaxed dining experience. --- My husband and I arrived 15 minutes early for our reservation and were seated right away... server greeted us by name as the hostess seated us at the lovely, private booth we requested. Our waitress was extremely attentive, yet never hovered... helped us with wine choices, answered all of our menu/entree questions and assisted us again with dessert selections. And her timing was impeccable. Appetizer (deviled crab dip... perfect), salads (fresh and not overdressed), steak entrées and dessert... Each course came out in quick succession without us ever having to wait, yet again, there was never a rush. As for the food, it was very tasty.... I had the filet, medium rare, cooked to perfection, while hubby had the aged Ribeye, also cooked to a perfect medium rare. Both were delicious. The ONLY complaint was the toughness of the steaks, and an excess of fat and gristle on the bone-in ribeye... made for some pretty awkward fighting moments between knife and beef. (Must admit, beef won in the end as hubby grew tired) Thankfully the good flavor of the steaks and the overall positive experience overrode the negatives. To cap off the evening, the lemon meringue cheesecake was to-die-for. Will return for that alone! - An overall nice experience... though, the $220 price tag will keep us from making this a regular stop, we will return... but next time for the seafood. (... and that cheesecake!)

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

On a positive note the service and atmosphere was outstanding the only issue I had was meal i.e. Steak I expected more and was disappointed little to no flavor and was cold , almost felt like it was left over from the day before. If we ever go again I would try something else , my wife was happy with her meal that was the fish.

Tags: Great Beer, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great restaurant! It was the first time my wife and I were there. The service, food, ambiance was awesome! The staff was attentive and took our dining experience to the next level. We will definitely be back again. Keep up the outstanding work you do!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Ashton was our waitress and she was the best. The food was very delicious and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had fantastic time. Our server was great and the food and staff were outstanding! Great Date night overall!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Awesome experience! Our waiter was very sweet and helpful! The food was awesome! Over all a wonderful experience on our 7th wedding Anniversary!

Thank you river stone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to The Riverstone Chophouse many times.. It has always been a good place but this past time was just not good at all.. the soup was very blah.. the bread was salty.. the steak I ordered was a 24oz porterhouse and it was super thin and very fatty (not what I expected at all).. The sautéed spinach was salty and the broccolini was blah.. I expected better considering the hefty prices on the food.. Riverstone has always been a top choice for me but it has declined big time..Very disappointing

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.