About River Rock Kitchen-Westin Wilmington

818 Shipyard Drive
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Welcome to the River Rock Kitchen at the Westin Wilmington. Chef David Lattomus invites you, your family and friends to join us in our warm and comfortable surroundings with our fabulous Modern American Sharing concept. Feast on these tasty and exquisite menu selections prepared fresh every day from local farmers. His sharing concept is one to bring families and friends closer as they pass selections around the table, as if you were home dining together. Come join us; we will leave you smiling and fulfilled.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast- 6:00am-11:30am
Lunch- 11:30am-5:30pm
Dinner-5:30pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
inside the Westin Hotel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 397-5518

Website:
http://www.riverrockkitchen.com/

Entertainment:
Coming Soon!!

Catering:
Chef Dave Lattomus has created several banquet options to choose from

Parking Details:
The Hotel is surrounded by free parking lots. There is ample parking.

Executive Chef:
Dave Lattomus

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Special 3 course Dinner for 2 for Valentine's Day . Visit us on Facebook" River Rock Kitchen"

River Rock Kitchen-Westin Wilmington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (6)
great for lunch (3)
special occasion (3)
See All
romantic (3)
good for groups (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

My family of 4 dined there for Father's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My family of 4 dined there for Father's Day hoping to try a new place for a special day. We were seated in a nice area, and it wThe waiter took our drink order, I said aloud that I was not able to drink alcohol so let Dad make his order of a gin and tonic, and I ordered club soda and lime. When the drinks were delivered, I got vodka and club and had to send it back. We ordered first courses and the beet salad that I got was so salty that it was inedible, so I sent it back. My family seemed to like the soups and appetizers that they ordered but were not outstanding. Our main courses were ok, except that the medium rare steak that I ordered was very rare, so I let my son eat it. Desserts took over 20 min to arrive, and the manager came over and offered a free portion of their strawberry short cake dessert. By then we were full, but appreciated the gesture and thought it was good. The salad was left and the bill, and I thought it was odd to have also been charged $3 for a club soda........ overall an underwhelming experience.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Ordinary, not exceptional food.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was good, not exceptional. You have your choice of small plates for a tapas-like experience, or large single entree plates. Two small plates would be enough for most people. Fish and steak were rather salty. Vegetables were ordinary. Dining area is immediately adjacent to the hotel's lobby, which was particularly noisy during our visit (Friday evening). Thus restaurant is more suitable for groups. If you are looking for a quieter dining experience, this is not the place. Host and wait staff were friendly and accommodating.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was interesting, flavorful, and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was interesting, flavorful, and beautifully prepared. The lava dessert was a perfect end to a great meal. Our server was very friendly and checked on us enough, and not too much. The only slight negative was the time from ordering to getting our entrees, but the delicious fresh bread helped!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

DIsappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

TAble was ready but not prepared per our request. Long wait for attention, 15 minutes easy. I have the same complaints docmnted on Trip Advisor dated 204. Good food, nice resturant but lousy service. The entrees were brought out separatly, snapper was last to be served, 10 minutes after the last entree. This occurred on Mothers Day an the resturant was not busy. Poor service prevents me from returning or recommending.

food3
ambience4
service4

Great location. Great Decor. Would go ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great location. Great Decor. Would go back for happy hour or during lunchtime. Drinks were very very small for the prices.

food5
ambience3
service4

Food exceeded expectations for a hotel r ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food exceeded expectations for a hotel restaurant hosting mostly business travelers. The small plates are well assembled and thoughtful so satisfied. I loved the crab cake, a single burger sized cake that's entirely local large lump meat, no filler and no shells. The potato soup was hearty. Healthy kids meals, too.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden gem

Dined on April 19, 2016

My friend and I went on a Tues evening so it was QUIET in there. Our server, Dominique, was excellent. She answered questions, made good recommendations and was attentive without being intrusive. I had the steak frittes. The steak was slightly under cooked from what I ordered (it was pretty rare and I had ordered medium) but I didn't send it back b/c I realized I would be taking most of it home and re-heating it at a later date so it should be perfect then. I ate the ends and it was delicious. I swapped out the fries for the au gratin fingerling potatoes. They're served in their own cast iron dish and were delicious. My friend ordered the snapper. She did not realize it would come out WHOLE (it's head with eyes and tail intact) so she was surprised. Our server recognized the situation and offered to take it back to have the head and tail cut off. Whew! She didn't say much about the snapper. I think she was overwhelmed with the bones in. She also had the brussel sprouts and said they were delicious. My friend had the s'mores dessert. She didn't seem to like it but I've dined with others here before who loved that dessert. It's served in a small cast iron dish with graham crumbs on the bottom, a layer of chocolate and a layer of toasted marshmallows.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very eclectic menu, great service.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was fantastic- my picky boys (12 and 15) chose the chicken tenders and the truffle-oil and parmesan fries, and wouldn't try anything else for dinner, but breakfast the following morning was perfect. The recommendations were appreciated, and the food we ordered as a result was amazing! Wilmington wasn't a chosen destination- we were there for a wedding- but as a result of our stay, we've decided we just may be back!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Date Night

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

I found this place through Yelp, and WOW did it not disappoint. From the moment we walked in,to when we left, the staff was super nice and helpful. The cocktail menu was diverse and exciting, lots of fun twists on your favorites and some house crafted options too. The menu had a variety of options (gluten free too!) and the food we ordered was delicious. We will for sure be back with friends!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner was lovely in every way. The menu offered a variety of selections with daily specials. Our food was delicious with a quite interesting presentation. The music was audible but not loud, current and not pop. The wait staff was knowledgable and friendly, present when needed but not hovering. I hope more people find this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

overall was good, however, one meal came ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

overall was good, however, one meal came out after everyone else had finished their meals. We were told that it was not prepared correctly and they had to re cook the meal. We were compensated, however, this was not the best experience.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service1

Work Party - Bust

Dined on December 14, 2015

We had our Christmas work party at River Rock on Monday, 12.14.15. Some of us got there a little early like 4:30 and the lobby bar wasn't opened yet. The bartender was taking a survey so we waited for about 15 minutes before we got a drink. Then we went to our table around 6:30, there were 8 of us. We asked if there was some sort of Christmas music that could be played but there wasn't. The waiter bought us a steel bin from the kitchen so we could play pandora on iphone and it could be heard at our table. The food came out 2 at a time, the 2 turkey clubs first, 10 mins later a burger and chicken sandwich (which was returned bc it was so hard she couldn't cut it) again 10 minutes later the 2 tuna small plates which were okay but had a sandy like texture, and then 10 minutes later the lamb chops and sirloin. We had over a $400 bill would have expected a little better service and better food quality. We picked River Rock over Harry's and I will have to say on behalf of myself and the other 7 people we should have gone to Harry's.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great pre-theater meal

Dined on December 2, 2015

Arrived at 5:30 and we had 7:00 PM tickets at DTC. Waiter was attentive and efficient. We had a nice meal and made it to the show on time. Will return for sure. Menu was interesting and had enough choices for the two vegetarians in the group to be comfortable. The mushroom raviolis were delicious in a VERY rich Alfredo sauce. The kale salad with preserved lemon was a real hit and big enough for 4 people.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service5

Great for couples for Thanksgiving

Dined on November 26, 2015

One of the few places in town where you can get a great meal without having an expensive Holiday buffet. It was quiet, small adult groups or couples, great service, very good food. Was so pleased to have chosen to eat here for Thanksgiving.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience
service3

Nice lunch in an empty restaurant. Reaso ...

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

Nice lunch in an empty restaurant. Reasonable value.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, good ambiance and our server ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food, good ambiance and our server was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

River Rock Kitchen Rocks!

Dined on November 10, 2015

I've eaten here twice. Once with my husband and once with a group just 3 days ago. Great experience both times. Tapas size portions to share is their specialty and you will not be disappointed. The menu is full and varied in your choice of small plate options that are delicious and the portions were generous. This is a hidden little gem not yet discovered by the mainstream. Atmosphere was modern upscale with a city vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1

Disappointed

Dined on October 3, 2015

Had drinks on their drink menu that they did not have the alcohol for. The portions were so small that I had to go home and eat again. The service was SLOW; there was scarcely anyone in the restaurant and it took close to 3 hours to eat. Will not be going back.

food3
ambience3
service3

Good, but . . .

Dined on September 26, 2015

The food was good, but not much choice for vegans, and, unfortunately, one of our party is allergic to garlic, and just about everything on the menu contains garlic. It was a nice place to eat - clean, modern, low noise level, good server.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service3

Fine dining

Dined on September 26, 2015

This was my second trip to River Rock. The food was great and I love the upscale feel at affordable prices. The only major issue was that they didn't have a couple of things that we ordered. Also, we didn't see much of our server once the entrees arrived. I would still return here, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on September 6, 2015

We live in the Wilmington, DE area and wanted to try this new spot. My Wife and I absolutely love the decor. It's very contemporary. The food was excellent. I didn't give the food 5 stars because the plates/portion size was on the small side. Our Waiter, who was equally as excellent, warned us on the small portion sizes. But the quality of the hangar steak and truffle oil palm frites was amazing. I enjoyed that smaller steak more than I did a larger steak at a fancier restaurant! Desert was fantastic! I get the feeling that everything is made fresh, and they have placed a lot of thought into the quality and presentation. We definitely will be back. Great for date nights since the ambiance is beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Should be more popular than it is

Dined on September 2, 2015

I was there for lunch on a Wednesday in late Summer, and was one of only four tables that were seated during that time. The food was delicious and plentiful, the prices reasonable, the location perfect; I'm not sure why so few people are taking advantage of this very nice restaurant. Admittedly, the direct access to the hotel lobby - and possibly the location inside the hotel itself - play against the ambiance, but the look and feel is very modern and attractive. I personally found the bolster in the booth-like table at which we were seated to be somewhat uncomfortable, but everyone has their own body shape and comfort preferences. The servers were attentive, responsive, and knowledgeable about the menu. There is plenty of free parking right outside the building and a well-tuned selection of entrees on the menu. I'd go back again without hesitation.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

The staff greeted us upon arrival. They ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

The staff greeted us upon arrival. They were prompt, and we were seated right away, ahead of our reservation time. Our servers came right away to start us off. As this was our first visit, we saw many items on the menu to try. The cream of crab soup was good, however it did not have any solids in it and for a cream soup it was on the thin side for a cream/bisque type soup for me... When I inquired as to why, our server said she would check with the chief and be right back. She came right back and said that is the way the chief prepared it, after making the soup they, then blend it to a smooth texture.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We would return

Dined on May 29, 2015

We were in town for the Univ. of Delaware commencement and we decided to make reservations at River Rock Kitchen mostly out of convenience since we were staying at the Westin Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the service. The smaller portions allow you to try different items on the menu as they have Small Plate/Large Plate options for most items. Prices are reasonable. I wouldn't say its cheap, but its not too expensive either.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service1

Very disorganized and long waits to take ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2015

Very disorganized and long waits to take our order and get food even though they weren't busy.

food1
ambience2
service4

Disappointing

Dined on May 2, 2015

We visited River Rock Kitchen on a Saturday evening, expecting to find it rocking. Instead, we found ourselves in a virtually empty establishment. The highlight of our experience was a friendly, attentive server who extolled the quality of every dish on the menu. Alas, most of our dinner was generally disappointing and overpriced. For example the Caesar Salad was soggy, the artichoke dip too heavily creamed ( though the accompanying toast points were excellent, as was the olive bread and olive oil pre-course). Likewise, the mushroom ravioli turned out al dente and drowned in a heavy sauce. The beef brisket was overwhelmed by clove. The scallops (2 for $17) were tasty but overpriced. The restaurant is new, and it's concept---either a tapas, tasting experience or a full-sized entree with a diverse menu---can work but only if the quality of the food is refined and the pricing scaled down.

food4
ambience4
service4

Erin

Dined on April 30, 2015

Went for an office meeting/celebration lunch. All really enjoyed the food. The service was very good and it was in a good location. Would return again for lunch or maybe try out their dinner menu.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

LoveGoodFood

Dined on April 23, 2015

My first time there and the food was delicious. Service was excellent. I will certainly be back. We went for lunch and we were back at our desks in no time. Way to go for downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

The food was good but I didn't care at a ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2015

The food was good but I didn't care at all for the atmosphere. Furnishing are very stark, tables are wide across so you feel like your dinner companions are too far away to talk without talking loud. Feels more like a hospital cafeteria, not my idea of a "nice" evening out.

food5
ambience4
service5

Misinformation

Dined on April 5, 2015

When I booked the Easter brunch I was told that the full breakfast menu would be available and would include the brunch. This is the information I relayed to my adult guests. However, when we arrived, we were advised that this was not the case. A little disappointing. Overall, the experience was a good one even though the "breakfast" menu was limited.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice experience

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

Our group of 4 adults visited the River Rock Kitchen for Easter brunch. A lovely experience. The buffet included grilled asparagus with shaved parmesan, smoked salmon (some of the best I've had) and fresh berries. In addition we ordered brunch entrees - three of us had eggs benedict with smoked salmon and tomato based hollandaise; one brioche French toast. All were nicely prepared and very tasty. Our server, Christina, was knowledgeable, cheery and efficient. We really enjoyed our morning at the restaurant and recommend it highly.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service4

Delicious spins on dishes, but bumps along the way

vip
Dined on March 28, 2015

Although the food we did receive was very good, we had two dishes get ruined before they made it to our table. The back-up dish selections were very pretty as well as yummy though - the chef does some exciting things. We'll go back to try the ones we originally wanted. Only other disappointment was the atmosphere which just has to do with being in a hotel I guess. We were hoping for a more romantic setting but there were groups of people eating in sweatpants and a toddler running around the place playing with knives from tables (including coming over to sit by us and grab those knives). It was a little off-putting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3

Pretty but lacking

Dined on March 28, 2015

We were a group of 4 and were excited to eat here after looking at the menu on Open table. Unfortunately, the menu was not up to date. Several of the items we wanted to try were not on the "New " one. There were not many choices for us so we had same apps and a round of drinks, paid the bill and left. Nice place for drinks and a snack.

food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

Dined on March 17, 2015

The food was very good, but there was so little of it, it is hard to review. Paying $22 for barely a handful of dinner is not my idea of a good meal. I was wondering why the place was empty at 7:00, but after getting my meal I realized why. We will NOT be returning.

food1
ambience2
service5

Disappointing

vip
Dined on January 8, 2015

I had eaten dinner here in the summer and it was fine. Went for lunch with five girlfriends and was really let down. First I had a burger with fries and the fries were cold. They brought me another batch, hot but clumped together. Two gals had the lobster roll and it had no flavor. Three gals had the grilled cheese and tomato soup and lo and behold, one gal found a rubber band in her soup! The server was great and apologetic, two managers came by and they comped her meal and our ice teas but really? Gor a Westin this was really a surprise, especially sine there were only 7 other diners in the place. Not going back anytime soon. Sorry!

food4
ambience4
service4

Good Breakfast at Wilmington Waterfront

vip
Dined on January 4, 2015

The River Rock Kitchen inside the Westin Hotel at Wilmington's Waterfront is a nice find. The service is attentive and food is prepared tastefully. The menu has something for everyone for breakfast and many healthy choices also. We dined twice here for breakfast while staying at the hotel and definitely will return again. It would great to try their menu for dinner or lunch as it had many offerings. The communal table setup is unique and offers good views of the outside setting.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

We were staying at the Westin and decide ...

vip
Dined on December 6, 2014

We were staying at the Westin and decided to try the River Rock Kitchen - what a pleasant surprise. A tapas menu with delightful choices is offered, and all of our selections were wonderful. Try the warm mushroom salad and the tuna. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3

We had to be seated in the bar area as t ...

Dined on December 4, 2014

We had to be seated in the bar area as the total dining room was reserved for a private party.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2

Dinner for two after a movie

Dined on November 22, 2014

When we entered the restaurant at about 6pm, we noticed it was pretty empty. we assumed it was relatively new. The host was welcoming. The decor was very nice, however we were sat next to the kitchen even though it was very empty. There was a couple next to us who warned us about ordering from the menu: it is more of a tapas style and they bring things out right away (apps and dinner very quickly). Our waitress read us the specials, and our fellow diners next to us asked the waitress why she did not go over the specials with them. Clearly she was inexperienced, as was most of the wait staff based on what we observed for the night. We ordered two drinks: a mimosa that was below average, and a watermelon martini. The martini was on the menu but i was told they were out of watermelon, so I ordered a pom martini. The martini was average. For apps we tried the apple fennel bisque which was very good, as well as the flatbread which was average and the kale salad (which was great). We also ordered the brie grilled cheese which was good and came with fries that we ok. Dinner entrees were the scallops and pork belly. The scallops were chewy and not very good. The pork belly was very thick and a little overcooked. The pork belly came with whipped potatoes that were also below average. Our pork was credited after I complained about it (i appreciated the credit), and we decided not to try any desert. When we left there was no host and no customary "have a good night" or "thanks for dining with us," which we thought said a lot about the place. We won't be coming back here again.

food4
ambience2
service5

Great food, weird ambiance

Dined on November 9, 2014

Service was excellent (minus the host - she was ok) & the food was great. Ambiance was weird - it could stand to be a little warmer since the brick walls and hard furniture give off a warehouse feel. Wasn't too pleasant to see the guests in the hotel coming and going at the elevator bank outside of the resturant - especially when a guest in her cotton PJ's came down to get take out. It took away from the experience. Aside from that the food was good enough that id definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.