About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Burger - River Roast, Chicago, IL

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (53)
Scenic View (51)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Comfort Food (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Casual (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Family Style (26)
Business Meals (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fun (20)
Live Music (18)
Cozy (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great Beer (9)
Healthy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vegan (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for lunch. The salad was great but ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for lunch. The salad was great but the fish sandwich was way too deep fried, and didn't care for either the cole slaw nor the too-fried (again) chips that came with it. Would come again for dinner to try the chicken for two-- just too pricey for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our group of four had a 6 pm reservation ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Our group of four had a 6 pm reservation as we were going on to the goodman, so it wasn't exactly prime time. First table they took us to was next to a tv. We could do that at home. Second was next to a kitchen corridor. Finally, when asked about the four top next to the Window, we were seated and happy. Waitress was very perky and didn't push anything. We started with the shishito peppers -- pretty spicy -- and fried olives (yum). Of our two roasts-- branzini and pork-- the fish was particularly good, moist and flavorful. Dessert -- key lime soft serve and layered chocolate cake -- were okay but not exceptional. We liked it, but weren't sure we would rush bsck, simply because you basically have four entrees to choose from. recommend you have at least four people for this menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant and attentive service. Lov ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Very pleasant and attentive service. Loved the live music at brunch and excellent food. Really had a ball!

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River Roast is a warm, upscale casual sp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

River Roast is a warm, upscale casual space with very good food and service. They were very accommodating when we asked for a different table. Nice wine and beer list. Roast chicken for 2, shaved brussel sprout salad, and roasted mushrooms were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is amazing and the food is e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The service is amazing and the food is even better. It's a bit on the pricy side but it's excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good...but as someone that suff ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was good...but as someone that suffers from a severe gluten allergy I was told on the phone that there was a separate menu but didn't seem to have as much ease when ordering. I would have eaten ahead of time had I known.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Pricier than I was expecting (I didn't r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Pricier than I was expecting (I didn't read the menu closely before arriving), but all in all, it made for an enjoyable night with friends. It was nice to have the family style share plates where everyone got what they wanted. I don't think we wanted to pay that much, but we were all satisfied with the meal. A nice splurge.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. Nine of us from ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Nine of us from the office celebrated the new year and we were there for hours. The waiters were patient and respectful - there when we needed them and not when we didn't. The food was very good; we shared several large dishes plus starters and salads. Most of the desserts were good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The time that I had at River Roast was a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The time that I had at River Roast was amazing given to the fact I was with the love of my life there she enjoyed the food the crab salad bites are amazing & I than recommended RR to a buddy to take his girlfriend so we are booking a double date soon.....

The View of the river onto the south loop is amazing bet the patio seating better in the summer

Highly recommend this place for all folks.....

good service good food.... NO HASSLE ever

The houseslaw on the Cubano is amazing

The only thing I'll say is the BBQ chips were a little salty but all else was great & amazing

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Waterfront, , Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken was outstanding, the service ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The chicken was outstanding, the service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Private Room, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good view! Very beautiful. And food is d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good view! Very beautiful. And food is delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I visited a few nights ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My boyfriend and I visited a few nights ago. We had the Chicken with roasted potatoes, and the carrots and dirt. Everything was yummy and we will definitely go back when it warms up so we can sit outside and enjoy the river view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great server who was helpfully, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a great server who was helpfully, polite and willing. The concept of the 'roast' is very clever and was well received by our group of 7! I felt that the potatoes were over cooked as was parts of the chicken. Another challenge is from delivery then carving then eating the food gets cold.

Unfortunately we were seated next to the kitchen and not alongside the river as advised, so it was noisy and distracting st times.

Our overall experience was still good and we enjoyed our night out at River Roast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great chicken. Good flavor, crispy skin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great chicken. Good flavor, crispy skin, and tender and moist meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We wanted to try the lunch menu, as we h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We wanted to try the lunch menu, as we have had the roasted chicken carved tableside twice before. The appetizers were delicious as always. Our favorites are the shrimp and lobster toast and the stuffed olives.

The lunch entrees were good, but not great. The lobster burger was not very good, as it was extremely salty. The Philly cheesesteak was ok, as was the meatball hoagie, though the meat was seasoned oddly. The atmosphere and service were great, and we will definitely be back, though our menu selections will be different next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of River Roast was great! V ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The ambiance of River Roast was great! Very modern and rustic look. Our waitress was great! Constantly checked on us and made great drink and food suggestions. The food was absolutely amazing! Great experience. Will definitely recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was just outstanding and the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service was just outstanding and the food was awesome!

Tags: , Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to River Roast for our yearly ga ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went to River Roast for our yearly gathering of friends around Christmas time.

It was a perfect setting for great food, drinks, and conversation.

We ordered a ton of food and ate family style. It was ALL amazing. Do yourself a favor and don't skip the veggies!!! The brussel sprouts were so good, the carrots were amazing as well.

Just GO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rabbit is amazing, the shrimp and crab t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Rabbit is amazing, the shrimp and crab toast also was delicious. Best chicken I ever had hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place to enjoy delicious Sunday ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

A great place to enjoy delicious Sunday meals!

It is better than grandmas!

I can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a great Saturday morning brunch, lis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had a great Saturday morning brunch, listening to a wonderful blues band and overlooking the river. We had the omelet of the day, biscuits and gravy, quiche and a chicken sandwich. Everyone liked their food and said they would be back. To top it off we had the soft serve of the day, mocha, which was a large portion and we could all share. Was a nice time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time to the restaurant and both v ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Second time to the restaurant and both visits have been excellent. The Roasted Chicken for two is a great option. All the sides have excellent composition and flavor. Great wine and beer list too. River Roast is worth the visit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

After a rough start, we wound up having ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

After a rough start, we wound up having an incredibly good time at River Roast. Despite having an 8 pm reservation, we weren't seated until 8:30. Naturally that put us in a bad mood about the place.

But our night improved once we got to our table. We had a great view of the river and our server was prompt and answered all of our questions.

We got the roasted chicken with a side of brussel sprouts. Everything was bursting with flavor. The chicken, side potatoes and brussel sprouts were seasoned and prepared perfectly. I can't recall a meal more perfectly prepared.

For dessert we shared an ice cream sandwich, which is ice cream between two large fresh chocolate chip cookies. Wow is all I can say. Delightful.

Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the pleasure to be served by Oscar, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had the pleasure to be served by Oscar, he was fantastic. The food was also great!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My young adult children and I had a wond ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My young adult children and I had a wonderful meal and visit at the Saturday Brunch. Each of us enjoyed a delicious meal with live music. Service was excellent and we had a lovely city river view. Crafted beer and cocktails were enjoyed as well. I definitely plan to return to River Roast!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A $29 chicken better be special. RR chic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

A $29 chicken better be special. RR chicken was Very good. Maybe not special. Potatoes could have been better and more. Great Brussels sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This was a very nice dining experience! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was a very nice dining experience! Highly recommended.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef John puts together some to the fine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Chef John puts together some to the finest gastronomic delights you could ever imagine. I confess that last Saturday I went for some simple comfort food for Brunch. Biscuits and gravy.

Never have I imagined that B's and G could be divine. You're probably saying, "c'mon now, really?" But it is so. It's all good. You can't go wrong at the River Roast !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. It came very quick but th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good. It came very quick but the restaurant wasn't very busy. We had good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My family loved the blues brunch at Rive ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My family loved the blues brunch at River Roast. The food was outstanding, and the music was perfect. Get the sweet potatoes side - as our server said, phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Service and food were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Service and food were both great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for thanksgiving. Food was fine bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for thanksgiving. Food was fine but not spectacular or imaginative...pretty mundane. Service was professional and attentive...better than the food. Good location with nice views but at their prices it's no value

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to River Roast for Thanksgiving din ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went to River Roast for Thanksgiving dinner and it was great!! The food was amazing! The buffet was not huge but what was offered was fantastic. We will definitely go back next year.

Tags: , Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Thanksgiving buffet!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third thanksgiving feast wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our third thanksgiving feast with River Roast. They do not disappoint. Everything was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from out of town and picked Riv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Visiting from out of town and picked RiverRoast for our Thanksgiving celebration! It was perfect buffet family style dining! Never disappointed when I go...will keep coming back !

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great Thanksgiving lunch with f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great Thanksgiving lunch with family at friends. Great space, awesome food and A class service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best mashed potatoes ever

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best mashed potatoes ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. I was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. I was very impressed with the quality of the food at the buffet, as buffets are very hard to do and keep the food quality high. I look forward to a visit to try their regular menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One major issue- the restaurant concept! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One major issue- the restaurant concept!! We were a party of 5. Very confusing when you "have to" a the guidance of the menu and server purhcase meals for two and if one of you doesn't want what the other wants makes it very difficult! Also the sight of a whole chicken upside down for us was a bit disconcerting! The vege/pumpkin dish came highly recommended, and looked great but was a bit too firm and the whole thing just did not come together as a combined dish. Average wine bottle prices too high, need a wider range of prices.

Sorry, we really wanted to love it, but have cancelled our Christmas booking. Positives were the location on the river and ambience, fish was excellent, service excellent but concept is missing something to make it as special as we thought it would/could be! Meals options for one would be a great start!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.