About River Roast

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (62)
Waterfront (56)
Casual (49)
See All
Comfort Food (48)
Good for Groups (45)
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Fun (29)
Family Style (28)
Business Meals (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Live Music (24)
Cozy (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Romantic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Authentic (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Great Beer (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
People Watching (11)
Private Room (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Wood Oven (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (4)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The Bloody Marys were AWFUL! The food was ok - just the sauces were funky and not great.
Server was good and atmosphere is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I was surprised by the menu that offered the pork for a serving of 1 for $22 and got the bill for $43. The waiter offered a very heartfelt "Sorry about that" smirk :( To top it off the food was not that good - the pork was tough not tender and the cornbread was hard. You're paying top dollar to have it cut tableside for food that is subpar. If I go back I would try the chicken but considering it's just a rotisserie chicken cut beside your table you might find a better deal at Boston Market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good, space is beautiful but service was very slow and inattentive during Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Terrific location viewing the Chicago River. Food was tasty and unusual in it's presentation. Good variety of roasts. Best for dining with like-minded tastes due to sharing of large portion of the main dish. Great service. A fun dining option downtown.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Family Style, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Waterfront, Casual, Historic, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The roasts are the best in town. The at table presentation is an excellent touch. Be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The bar and bartender were great- would go back to hang there.
Dinner- it was okay, but will probably not go for the roast beef.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch was awesome. The whole chicken never disappoints. The blues adds a ton of value to the dining experience as does chef John, he's the man and can sing.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I came here for a girl date with a good friend and we laughed and talked while drinking $6 peach bellini's and the live jazz band was a hit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Chef Hogan and team made us feel at home at the chef's table! The charcuterie, cocktails, wine recommendations, oysters, delicious roasted entrees (outstanding fish and what a chicken!) were all prepared perfectly. Service was informative and fun and never intrusive. The splendid desserts made everyone smile! HOME RUN!!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Live Music, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was a great place with beautiful views of the city and river.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Family Style, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Very good bar area! Like the valet parking too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Music was great. Brunch food was OK at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Live jazz at Sunday Brunch is just too much. Couldn't hear my friends, the music was way too loud for my hangover, and unfortunately, the brunch options were lacking too. I don't need formal service at brunch. I need good food. And bread on the table. Had to ask for bread 3 times even though we were right next to the side table where it was being toasted. I could have stepped over and gotten it myself without anyone noticing. And why did they have to pollute perfectly good butter with mushy over-sautéed onions? Also, you don't have to toast sourdough, but please don't over toast it. It was too hard to eat without smearing it in butter, which as previously mentioned, was ruined with mushy caramelized onions. Heard really good things about this place, but they must have been talking about dinner. Hard pass on the brunch.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

For good blues and good food, river roast does it. prices are a bit high, but are mitigated by the fun factor. enjoy!

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Beautiful view on the river front. Nice presentation for the meat selections. Sides were so so.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We love the chicken and potatoes perfect for sharing!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a great server named Kyle. The roast chicken and rack of pork were amazing. We also really loved the peas. YUM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We've been to River Roast several times and we just keep coming back. The food is just delightful: superior main courses and very innovative side dishes. Any of the main dishes will easily feed two - so order with that in mind, or plan on leaving with a big carry-out bag!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First time and not the last. Love this place, Scottish Egg was amazing, great wine, live music that was not so loud you could not talk without yelling.

I'm not a craft beer person but they work with me until we found something that did not taste like "crap beer ".

Can't wait to get back

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I was trying to take my date to a dress casual foodie Chicago hotspot and I procrastinated so I couldn't get a reservation at the girl and the goat. I did some reading and this seemed like it was going for a similar, "fantastic food first" dining experience. Wasn't too crowded but the reservation got us an awesome table looking out on the river. The food was really exceptional, everything was prepared marvelously and portions were really quite hefty. I was expecting something really pricey based on the asthetic but really the food was dished out generously enough to leave us both stuffed, and to be honest they could easily charge much more than they do and still be in business. They had oysters Rockefeller as a special and it was the best seafood I've had since leaving the west coast. Really an awesome restaurant with a fantastic location, ambiance and a cheff that has really worked some magic into their menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This was the 2nd time I've been here. Two of us split the pork and it was solid. However, it was not as good as the roast, which we had last time (and is awesome). Wait staff is good - they pay attention to you but don't rush you out or bother you non-stop. It's a little expensive for how little else you get with the meat, but it's a good choice overall. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always terrific....

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place for valentines, will be back when they open their outdoor dinning next to the river walk

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very impressed! Homestyle food, that's top quality, delicious, and nice presentation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Blues and Brews brunch was great! Relaxed atmosphere, a good blues band and very nice brunch offerings. We will certainly return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for the Blues Brunch was fun and relaxing we were not rushed . Food was very good . Next time we will try appetizers or share a entree.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overalll the experience was ok however the entree seemed over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great roasted chicken and season potatoes where awesome. Wonderful atmosphere on the river, very modern and welcoming

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food in a very comfortable setting! Great value!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service is great and very attentive. Drinks were great. Food was WAY too salty. And roasted beets were too sweet and greasy. Too bad that roasted food comes with all that oil/ fat
Dining options for singles / individuals are fairly limited.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good was good, service good, entertainment was great. Bloody Mary was not good. Please simplify your recipe, was so earthy and organic that I had to send back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was very good. The wait staff was very friendly and provided excellent service, especially Julio. We took out my son and his college friends for dinner. They all had a good time and really enjoyed the meal as did we.

Tags: Waterfront, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service here are always great. Great place for groups since you can try a variety of things that usually serve 2-3 people.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I ordered the "restaurant week" special which was a mistake. there was too much food and none stood out. I started with the chicken that had way too much breading and needed some dipping sauces. the salad was fine, but he beef I ordered was tough and not cut table side which our waiter should have mentioned. to his credit, he insisted on bringing out another steak which was just as tough as the first one. the red velvet cake tasted stale and dry and was under-whelming at best. really disappointed in the food especially for how much we spent. no need to ever go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The view and ambience were top notch. The roasted vegetable sides were fantastic. The server was nice but was rushing us a bit. Not sure why, it wasn't extra busy. The rack of pork was good, but nothing really special. Will be back to try more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were very disappointed in the food and service at River Roast. For Restaurant Week, 3 of the 4 of us ordered the pork chop and it was not cooked the way we expected - it was tough. The red velvet cake was very dry. Although there seemed to be enough wait staff on the floor, service was poor - it took 2 hours for 4 courses to be served. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

You won't find roasted meat like this anywhere else!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.