Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 140 times today

River Roast

4.6
1303 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Good for Groups
Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 822-0100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Hogan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kinzie
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

View Private Dining Details
What 1303 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great patio on the river.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

All good except service. Took awhile to get our drinks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Jay your manager was engaging and made every attempt to ensure I was comfortable.

I was however disappointed with the fried chicken app! It was extremely bland. And because of the apps being so-so I chose to have main courses elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Food and service extremely below bar. Slow service and all food and drinks just average. Would not go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Second time at RR and the food, ambiance, and service were first rate. We will be back when we come down to Chicago.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Was back for the 3rd year in a row! Wonderful staff, neat environment and fabulous food made for another great visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Had an unpleasant experience on Easter Sunday. Called and complained and the mgr Noah notated my complaint and said he would compensate me Next time I was in. Very pleased with the service I received today and I really appreciate Noah going above and beyond to compensate me. River Roast is one of my favs and we will be back

Thank you Noah!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Liked that we were not rushed. Very enjoyable lunch with old friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great food, attentive service in nice spot. Good for business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The lobster burger is absolutely delicious!!! The view is spectacular!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awesome service by Juan. All of our food was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Came for Mother’s Day Brunch - our seat was great and our server was very accommodating. I loved the live music but thought they were too loud. It was rather difficult to converse at times. Otherwise we had a great experience - the brunch buffet was excellent. I especially loved the Carrots in “dirt” (not entirely sure what the dirt part was, but I can’t get over how good they were!). Overall a really great experience - we’re definitely coming back when it’s a bit warmer and can sit on the verandah!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s day brunch. 4 food stations all filled and refreshed frequently remaining hot and plentiful. Often times buffet brunches have cold food or empty pans and this place did a great job avoiding this! Blues band was great, service attentive and friendly/playful, quick turnaround on valet parking. Cocktails were nice and creative but pricey. All in all a great experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mothers Day and were seated in an overflow room. Very disappointing. Also it was $55 per person and the spread was not worth that cost. Overall pretty disappointing for what was meant to be a special brunch for me and mother.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for a mother’s day brunch and you had to order off the buffet...they didn’t make this clear when booking. So we had to pay $55 per person and didn’t realize until we already sat down

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Beautiful dining space, great food, relaxed atmosphere. Server was friendly and very helpful. We loved sharing four plates!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Awesome! Awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Fun Blues Brunch. Smiley Tillman with Kate Moss was a great band

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food is always exceptional. The gobbets are amazing and...... they have outdoor seating next to the river.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

First time for all 5 of us. We were celebrating a birthday and the staff was wonderful. Food was great and sitting by the river was a plus. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

It was such a wonderful overall dining and social experience. Because we were in a group, we were able to take advantage of family- style menu features that allowed us to sample all their roasted items-fish, chicken, pork, beef, etc. We all agreed it was the best meal of our lives - with service & ambiance superb! Chef Hogan deserves his stature as best Chicago Chef!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food and service were top notch. Only draw back is the music is so loud you can’t hear any conversation at your table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Loved the ambiance & views, and the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We arrived at 11:10 our reservation was at 11:15. I wanted to sit outside and was told that it doesn’t open until 12 or 12:30p.m. We were seated inside and noticed at 11:30 a.m people were starting to sit outside. We asked our waiter who got it approved from the manager to move us outside. They were very accommodating. The service we received from Daniel was outstanding. I had the rabbit and waffle and it was amazing. My mom had the seasonal omelet she said it was good and spicy. My son has the biscuits and bacon. The bacon was really thick and tasty and his biscuit was buttery and savory and the honey made it sweet. I would definitely recommend this place for any occasion and will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Always a great time with great food and great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Service was fantastic and the food was very tasty. We had roast chicken, Brussels spouts and a few appetizers, all were great! Several drinks ordered and our server had nice beer recommendations and was very accommodating to our party. S’mores for dessert was the right choice!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Loved the salad and shrimp po boy but the potatoes need to be fresher....enjoyed the blues band? NIgel Mack-Especially like their rousing rendition of "Miss You" by the Stones-we had a young energetic waitress who was so sweet that she went outside with us to take a picture and then she was locked out....Sunday 12:30 Open Table reservation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Staff was friendly and courteous. Needs much better description of food that is on the menu, did not have any idea that a side of brussel sprouts would be spicy. The roast rack of pork with cornbread, is actually jalapeño cornbread that was very dense. The pork was terribly dry and needed seasoning, I had to ask for salt and pepper.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Favorite restaurant in all of Chicago. Have been many times and always impressed with the quality of service and food. Best Rotisserie Chicken On This planet!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Had another wonderful lunch at River Roast with my adult son. I enjoyed a beet salad with chicken. The chicken here is incredibly moist and flavorful. My son enjoyed the burger with a fried egg and a little Miller Highlife. 3 piece band added to the ambience and the view of the river is pretty--especially on a sunny day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Delicious restaurant that’s great for a group! Everything we had was delicious. The only thing was the band started early so it was tough to chat during dinner. The band was awesome, just made conversation a challenge. Will be back for sure! Large portions perfect for group sharing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Drinks and service was great. Chicken was tasty but potatoes under the chicken were dry. Brussel sprouts were great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Really enjoyed lunch here. We had a window seat overlooking the river. I had a half sandwich and soup. Both were delicious. It was a poblano soup with a hearty half of thinnly sliced prime rib with au jus. Both were extremely good. My friend had a hearty soup which is always on the menu and we shared roasted brussel sprouts. The whole roasted chicken looked fantastic I will be back for dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Love the family style, this visit carrots were a little under cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

River Roast had fantastic bloody Mary’s with extravagant skewers that costed $15. I ordered the hangover soup and they laid out toppings (limes, onions, radishes) on a beautiful wooden board and the soup comes in a cauldron you can pour yourself. The live music was great for Saturday brunch with a view of the river. Very great atmosphere overall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Really enjoyed the Sunday Blues & Brews on our visit to Chicago. Great location on the river, really good food & an awesome band playing. What more could you want?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Got lucky with this choice! Visiting Chicago for the first time. FANTASTIC food and great service. Very friendly. Too many choices to have in one meal so have to return for another fabulous food experience! Great desserts too. John Hogan is a superb chef and very creative with food choices. A must if you are in the city of Chicago!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our third time to RiverRoast and will always return. Food, atmosphere and team are awesome.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Met the girls for a late brunch. Loved the music! Food was delicious. Service could be improved. The server didn’t bring items we ordered, she didn’t even ring them in. She cleared plates with bacon on them (that we wanted). I came back from the restroom and she was taking my bloody mary away. I had to run after her to get it back. She INCLUDED GRATUITY for party of 5. Heads up on that policy, I cannot find that stated anywhere on open table or website.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
33

Tweets by River Roast