About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

  • River Roast
  • River Roast
  • River Roast
River Roast
River Roast
River Roast

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

great for outdoor dining (172)
scenic view (158)
good for groups (117)
See All
fit for foodies (99)
great for lunch (81)
special occasion (73)
great for brunch (57)
hot spot (45)
romantic (38)
neighborhood gem (36)
kid-friendly (19)
vibrant bar scene (19)
late-night find (11)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice spot to dine outside on the Chicago ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice spot to dine outside on the Chicago River. The chopped salad was very fresh and had a lovely dressing. Although the menu doesn't mention it, we were able to add chicken and salmon to the salad. A little pricey, but I guess that is the area. Two salads and two glasses of wine were $70.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

sat on the river, great food, ambiance b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

sat on the river, great food, ambiance but VERY LOUD & NOISY (boats, horns, etc.)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a very pleasant time. We arrived ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very pleasant time. We arrived early for our reservation and we were seated immediately with our choice of inside or out. Due to the extreme humidity we chose an indoor window seat. We had a great view and cool air.....two important things. :) We received water and menus right away. Our waiter and water person was very prompt and polite. We enjoyed all the food. The Scotch Egg was wonderful! And the whole chicken was as we read on other review......very juicy, filled with wonderful flavors and way more than two people could eat. My husband described it as chicken flavored butter because it just melted in his mouth. We took home some lovely leftovers. :) The live singer during the brunch hour was very good. The volume was fine for us because we were inside, but I can see how it would be quite loud if you were sitting on the patio. Overall, we would love to come again and next time I'd love to have the shrimp po boy sandwich. I saw it delivered to another table and it was a huge portion especially for the price & it looked delish!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice place, we enjoy food, the palc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice place, we enjoy food, the palce and the view.

Decorations and details are also very nuce

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chicken and fish weren't good very bland ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Chicken and fish weren't good very bland. The carrots were the best part of the meal. Turnips were not tasty and the food was underwhelming. Beautiful restaurant though and service was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Love River Roast! Every time that we're ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love River Roast! Every time that we're in Chicago, we make it a point to stop there for dinner. Service is unbeatable. Food is fantastic, and the presentation is excellent. Wine selection could improve, but beer selection is solid.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for brunch on Saturday with f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went there for brunch on Saturday with friends. It was too warm to eat outside, but restaurant was comfortable and the food was tasty!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OK, this is your basic carnivore place b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

OK, this is your basic carnivore place but the salads and veggies are also very good! Our waiter was also very good about special food needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were a party of 6. Small compared to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were a party of 6. Small compared to other groups in the room. We were placed at a higher table in a high volume walkway next to a large concrete column. I asked for a lower table Near a window. Well u got the lower table but this one was also next to a column. It was a family gathering for my sister's birthday. There is a lovely view from the restaurant but we only saw it coming and going. The food was great. The service was attentive. Overall a good night out.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Excellent food! Beautiful river seating!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent food! Beautiful river seating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

River Roast has a terrific ambience, but ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

River Roast has a terrific ambience, but the rest is really just OK. The service was rather slow and un attentive. For example, all 3 of us at our table had to ask about 3 times each to get our beverages or any additional requests. Apart from the gazpacho , the food was just okay. I had the lobster burger - I'm not sure how that could fall anything short of fabulous, but it was kind of bland and boring. All three entrees were unmemorable - but the gazpacho was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

There was a lot of confusion on who was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There was a lot of confusion on who was our server----- we did not see a server until 15 min after we were seated. The food was just so, so. Seemed like there was a lot of disorganization.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Came here to celebrate a birthday with m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Came here to celebrate a birthday with my boyfriend and his parents. We were given the choice of inside or outside - we opted for outside because there was a very loud band playing inside and were seated with half the table in direct sunlight. We asked if we could move in the shade. One of the hostesses said no because "other people were waiting." Watched the shaded tables sit open for quite some time after people got up - I really don't understand why we were not allowed to move over to one. Disappointing. On top of being uncomfortable in the sun, there was a blues band playing inside that was just way too loud. We had to yell to have a conversation even outside. I will say the food is very good (had the chicken, pork and boatload of veggies), but I would only go back when they do not have the live music that is being played way too loud - if it was being played at more of a "background" volume it would probably be enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food and service - perfect for a f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and service - perfect for a fun, casual night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

HAD DINNER HERE WITH FRIENDS. FOOD WAS ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

HAD DINNER HERE WITH FRIENDS. FOOD WAS ABOVE AVERAGE, BUT PRICEY. THEY HAD GREAT VIEWS OF THE CHICAGO RIVER WITH OUTDOOR DINING THAT WAS NICE. THE BIG DOWNER WAS THE SERVICE. THE WAITER WE HAD WAS COMPLETELY INCONVENIENCED BY OUR BEING THERE. MADE SNIDE COMMENTS TO QUESTIONS WE ASKED AND WAS OVERALL JUST NOT SERVICE MINDED WHICH I HAND DOWN TO MANAGEMENT AND TRAINING.

WE ALSO HAD A MEAT CARVER THAT CAME TO OUR TABLE AND WAS EQUALLY UNINSPIRED BY OUR BEING PAYING CLIENTELE.

WE ASKED HIM TO CARVE THE MEAT INTO SMALLER PORTIONS FOR US BECAUSE WE WERE SHARING AS A GROUP. INSTEAD OF COMPLYING HE SAID THAT WAS THE WAY THEY SERVE IT. WE FIRMLY ASKED AGAIN WHICH HE COMPLIED. THE WAITER THEN CAME BY AND SAID TO THE CARVER, WHY ARE YOU DOING THAT, YOU SHOULD BE ON TO THE NEXT TABLE. THE CARVER LET HIM KNOW THAT WE REQUESTED IT TO WHICH HE PROMPTLY REPLIED "LET THEM CUT IT THEMSELVES" NEEDLESS TO SAY THE 18% FIXED TIP WAS NOT APPRECIATED AND REALLY INFURIATED US.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Took forever to seat us outside on the d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Took forever to seat us outside on the deck even though there was seating available. The hostess seemed overwhelmed and grumpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Portion size is great for sharing. The c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Portion size is great for sharing. The chicken was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Third time we've been there- this time t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Third time we've been there- this time terrible.

Thursday night, early. Band outside and music was piped

into restaurant so there was limited talking to be done

between the 4 of us We could not wait to leave. Not sure

if we will return considering it was so unpleasant.

Hostess needs some training- she was handing us menus

with the exclamation "Here" and put the menus down on

the table. Service was very inattentive !!!

Too bad for us since we initially like the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was fantastic. View gorgeous. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was fantastic. View gorgeous. The only problem is the high price for draft beer. It's a high price for a full draft, the problem is it's a 1/2 beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was live music, which can make it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

There was live music, which can make it difficult to have a conversation. The food was good and the service was great, but the value isn't really there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Unfortunately, it was a day of torrentia ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Unfortunately, it was a day of torrential rains. Arrived at the restaurant on time, but had to wait for extra 20 minutes before we could be seated, because so many people had walked in before we arrived nothwithstanding our reservation in advance. Chose one of the remaining tables in the patio by the river. Due to the rain the awnings were raised resulting in poorly lit ambience in the patio. The service was overall poor. The food was good in general, but nothing spectacular. It was my daughter's Birthday, but couldn't enjoy it fully because of unattentive service and the overall gloomy atmosphere that night. Ironically, I had a better dinning experience in the same restaurant about 6 months ago. If you are dinning here skip the dessert. They don't worth the money you pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our evening started off with a server la ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our evening started off with a server lacking so in personality and moving so slowly, i knew we were in trouble. He was so dull and offered nothing. When the oysters were put down, without anyone offering which was which variety, we asked and he pointed somewhere in the direction of the tray to say the larger were something and the smaller were something. Nice job, they all were the same size...Meal took WAY too long. Ordering took too long. Drinks, some apps, and main dishes. No way were we staying for dessert. Although we were entertaining for business, we still did not need to spend 2 1/2 hours there, when we were promptly seated! Food is uninteresting at best. Small menu.

Super expensive for really so so evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Just love your place- delicious with gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Just love your place- delicious with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came on a Sunday. The inside wasn't too ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Came on a Sunday. The inside wasn't too busy but the patio was packed. The appetizers were good, but nothing compared to the main dish. The chicken roast was amazing! The potatoes that came with it are so crispy and flavourful as well. We also ordered the Mexican street corn which was delicious. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent. We enjoyed both ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was excellent. We enjoyed both the roasted chicken and beef. The zucchini blossoms were very good although the portion was not large.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing view from the patio, and the roa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing view from the patio, and the roast chicken is excellent. Sides were nothing special, and my cocktail was average. Excellent service at all levels. Great for out of town guests.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The chicken!!!!!! OMG that chicken!! To ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The chicken!!!!!! OMG that chicken!! To quote the lady next to us, I wanted to suck on the carcass. Also, the potatoes that come with it are so deliciously crispy and spiced and accentuated by the juice of the chicken. We will be back for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went early 5:30 and set outside by th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We went early 5:30 and set outside by the river. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was timely. Food well presented. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was timely. Food well presented. I asked for undressed salad with dressing on side...it came dressed. Fortunately not overdressed so we kept it. Our children surprised us and prepaid. We were not given choice of dessert and thought It was what they ordered only to find out it was not. Waiter was just ok. Would not request him again or anything and would not say no to him. He recommended a good bourbon. Bus staff was on it!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I went with my parents who were visiting ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I went with my parents who were visiting from out of town. River Roast were accommodating in terms of moving us from outside to inside, but they were not aware of our gluten intolerance even though we indicated this on the OpenTable reservation. Initially they told us that most items were not gluten free before later clarifying with the chef. The waiter was also generally aloof and walked away in the middle of taking our order.

The food was good but just would not highly recommend based on the experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved it!! This was out 2nd visit and it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved it!! This was out 2nd visit and it was just as good as the first. That doesn't always happen because restaurants seem to get too comfortable with their reputation but it seems River Roast and their staff still want to make your dining experience a memorable one ..... And it was!! We'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time and certainly will be back. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Second time and certainly will be back. Cubano sandwich was outstanding. Service was very prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stopped in for a business lunch, and wer ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Stopped in for a business lunch, and were thrilled to score a table on the stunning patio on the river. Service was friendly, attentive and we were in and out in under an hour to head back to the office. Tried the steak salad with arugula - best salad I've had in an age. Perfect pairing with the fresh horseradish dressing, and just a hint of blue cheese!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional, food and drinks ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Service was exceptional, food and drinks were fantastic and the outdoor river seating was a nice surprise!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but the food is excelle ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A little pricey, but the food is excellent! There wasn't anything we ordered that we didn't like. Some of the boats on the river can be a little noisy, but really nice ambience. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The best roast chicken and potatoes anyw ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best roast chicken and potatoes anywhere! Wonderful setting on Chicago's Riverwalk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had to wait nearly an hour for our ta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had to wait nearly an hour for our table even though we had a reservation. The hostess was rude and accounting. We had a drink in the bar while we waited, the bartender was short and unfriendly. He seemed bothered by people being at the bar. Our server was inattentive and forgot to put our appetizer in so it came out after our food. The food was just ok. Overall the experience was very disappointing, we definitely will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Great portion size, great outdoor patio, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great portion size, great outdoor patio, great window seats-- never tried bar.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good & Fun We took our 11 year old Grand ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Good & Fun

We took our 11 year old Grandson here and he was in Heaven.

Love the beef and corn side and not really a carrot eater, but he finished them off.

Ate it all up and finished with the Popover.

A fun evening for us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything about my experience was great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything about my experience was great. Our waiter was a little bogged down (he had a large 14-top party and a few others), but he was training a newbie and overall was excellent given the situation. Also, my girlfriend are both veggie people (I'm a vegetarian and she is a vegan) and they had lots of options for both of us and offered to modify most of the items if we wanted, which we declined to avoid being high-maintenance during peak after-work hours. It was a little chilly the day we went, so we sat inside, but next time I would definitely want to check out the patio by the river. Foodwise, we ordered the Boatload of Veggies, the Curried Cauliflower, and the Shaved salad to share. There was not a single dish that disappointed. Excited to go back and try some of the other items that looked amazing!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.