About River Roast

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (81)
Scenic View (78)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
See All
Good for Groups (54)
Fun (49)
Good for a Date (46)
Casual (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Comfort Food (40)
Great for Brunch (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Live Music (38)
Special Occasion (33)
Family Style (30)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Bar Seating (19)
People Watching (19)
Romantic (19)
Authentic (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Cozy (12)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Private Room (10)
Healthy (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Seasonal (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Great Beer (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
922 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Wedding Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Smoked food is terrific, the whole chicken amazing and apps were delicious

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

While we had a reservation through OpenTable, we had to wait an extra half hour. It was no different than walking in off the street. Very frustrating and especially with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Fathers Day buffet meal -- food was fantastic-- but so disappointed with our service. It was warm outside in the patio-- just beautiful-- but we had to continually ask for our water glasses to be refilled. And, we had to remind our server, Eibar?, several times of our drink requests. Guess that is what happens when gratuity is automatically added because of the holiday. Too bad because it was otherwise a terrific experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

We had our reservations for over a month, I got a confirmation call on Tuesday saying there was a special menu in honor of Father's Day, fine, went to the website and there was no special menu listed until later in the week, we decided to keep the reservation it were disappointed in having to pay $55 dollars a person for what we got...no beverages included, limited options, and no one to serve the ice cream they had on the menu. The food was ok but typical with buffets certain items were picked over and gross looking like the shrimp and grits....they had a dish of grits with all the shrimp on top, two trips up and not shocking other patrons had scooped up the shrimp and there was nothing but grits. Sure the regular brunch is good but we wouldn't know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Made Father's Day res. Arrived at restaurant and they told us they had changed the menu to only brunch buffet menu. Online there was no mention of this. My kids and my niece and nephew barely ate anything. We thought we were ordering off of the menu. Kind of a scam on the restaurants part. They said they called to inform us. I had a missed call at 816pm the night b4 with no message. Spent almost $500 For mi ima food and had to bring the kids out to eat afterwards. Ugh!!!!!! Waiter was nice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I've previously had 2 nice experiences but this most recent visit (on a summer Friday night) was extremely disappointing. Average to mediocre food (overcooked meat) and really disappointing service (20mins to get a drink?!). I did have a few good meals here previously, but this last visit was truly sub-par. I guess my experience was either a one-off or a sign of a restaurant in decline. Not sure I'm going to go back to find out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

I actually flew up from Austin for my daughter's 21st birthday with my family and specifically choose River Roast for this one in a lifetime event, I spent almost 700.00 for 5 people and it was miserable. To be fair, the 'big fish' was very good but the roast beef was over done, and the pork was bland and aweful. I'm not sure if it was their desired intent but the sauce the market as an apple something or other tasted like burnt carmel. I cannot and will not recommend this restaurant to anyone, actually I'll actively go out of my way to make sure anyone I know in the Chicago area or traveling to it avoids this place like the plauge.

As an aside, the server couldn't get his brain together, kept claiming we were someone elses table but noone else ever showed and thinking about it neither did he unless I GOT UP to track him down.

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible, Horrible! If you have a loved one and are looking for a special event, go anywhere else. Zed451, Signature Room (where we went for other meals and actually enjoyed).

Great location, so long as you don't mind wasting a special event on a terrible quality restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My only area of constructive feedback would be that we arrived on time for our 12:00 noon reservation and waited 20 minutes to be seated

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

May be we felt The American lunch,simple and direct. That's good,from Japanese.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

What a fantastic, innovative restaurant. Great Food! Unique presentation and delivery. Terrific cocktails. Right on the river, but up and away enough to make it really enjoyable. Don't miss this place!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner sitting outside overlooking the river!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Love this place for dinner, but not so much for lunch with slow service and high noise level.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I liked the menu. All sorts of good roast meat entrees, but we had the "boatload of roast vegetables" . Family style serving is fun. The two of us split an appetizer, a salad, and the entree.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The Bloody Mary is delicious! Be sure to add the skewer as it is a great appetizer!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The music for Blues Brunch was not good and was not blues. The food was just so so. Would not recommend brunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The experience was awesome. Me and my girlfriend sat outside the view was amazing and watching all the boat traffic was fun as well. Also the manager on duty was a great guy and gave us some suggestions for my girlfriends 30th bday.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We shared the roasted chicken which arrived standing on its head...haha... or where its head used to be. Juicy and delicious. We also shared the roast beef. Which was tasty but not quite the star that the chicken was. Sides of carrots and dirt, as well as green beans were very good and plenty for the four of us. We had a table outside, right next to the river which I would recommend. The city lights and the boats going by made for a wonderful background. Service was attentive but not omnipresent. We will go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Enjoyable experience. Best to make a reservation. I did.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were greeted efficiently and seated promptly . The view of the river and reflected lights with boats passing by was romantic.
The wait staff was courteous but clumsy when replacing and removing plates and flatware. Of the two main courses the pork was juicy and flavorful; the branzino was salty and other flavorings over powered the taste of the fish. The sides of beans and mushrooms were ordinary.
Overall the experience did not match our expectations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food, limited menu. All main "roasts" are to-share items suitable for 2-3 adults. Well prepared food with a British and masculine styled menu and decor, with a river front location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Although we're always pleased with River Roast, this time was a bit of a letdown. We started with cocktails at the bar. Even though the bar was fairly empty it seemed nearly impossible to get a bartender's attention. Our waiter, Gonzalo, was great. Food was fair; chicken not very moist, pork undercooked, cauliflower much too hard, shishedo peppers sprinkled with too many spices. Roast beef was good and carrots wonderful, and thank goodness it was a gorgeous night!
We were also disappointed that the Mexican corn was removed from the menu!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Beautiful river view! Very accommodating for larger party. Burgers great; chicken sandwich very thin and underdone. Wine by the glass tasted old and flat. Restaurant gave us free desserts and took off some $$. Possibly return, but only for a burger and the view. Restaurant very busy inside, so maybe my experience was not the norm.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

while the lunch menu offers a variety of good sandwiches (especially the Cuban), the dinner menu is very short on options. Besides sides (I strongly recommend the mushrooms), you essentially are limited to roasted chicken, beef, fish, or pork. We ordered the chicken and the pork. The chicken was great, very juicy, and a decent value (considering Chicago pricing). However, the pork plate (Ribs, Loin, and Brisket) undoubtedly was NOT cooked "low and slow" (it was neither flavorful nor remotely tender).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went for the Blues Brunch which we really enjoyed the music. Ordered the brunch skillets which were just ok. Would rather had ordered the roasted chicken which we've had before and is amazing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Love the setting have been before my shrimp po boy was good but my husbands chic sand was skimpy .. too much bread.. potatoes were good .server really good!
Very noisy glad when the band started as it drowned out the screaming babies! Too hot outside to dine so sadly we had to eat inside .. river setting:unbeatable!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a pre-theater Saturday lunch here and sat outside on the river.
Started with the Bloody Mary, which was outstanding/refreshing.
For lunch shared the Roasted Chicken and asparagus. Everything was flavorful and plentiful. Would highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food and presentation, friendly staff...worth visiting when in Chicago!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Carnivore-friendly restaurant on the river, with great riverfront seating in the summer where one can watch the boats passing by. Feature is carved-at-the-table meats. There are also small plates before the dinner hours. Higher than normal prices because you're paying for the location.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Dry chicken. EXTREMELY salty artichoke.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Overall was good! The food are excellent.
We ask for table outside and they try to accommodate us after we talk to manager because the girl on front desk was very rude and unpleasant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

While the food was excellent, my husband and I were disappointed with our waiter and overall experience. Servers at tables around us seemed to take a greater interest in their guests, explaining the selections and concept of the restaurant (meat carved at table, most popular dishes, etc), while our waiter seemed rather uninterested in us. This was particularly disappointing, as we selected this restaurant to celebrate our 25th anniversary, which I included in the reservation notes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was great. The food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was excellent. It was well seasoned, flavorful and portions were approach size. The menu is a little limited in selection but overall a good place. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The mushrooms were a wonderful addition to our steak that was served tableside. It is right on the river so it has great views. I just wish that it was nice out so we could have enjoyed the meal outside.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My business guests were very impressed with the fabulous meal. Our server was the best!!

Thank you for the free desserts! They were amazing!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I don't know what I was expecting but this place was really great. I was looking for a place that did not fry their entrees to accommodate an employee's diet restrictions. The roast beef was good........really good. Everyone liked what they ordered.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent venue
Roast chicken was exquisite

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Really enjoyed this venue...roasted meats of sufficient variety to meet anyone's tastes. Served family style, great portions to assure you Don't leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Took a team from work for dinner. Perfect for sharing. Service was fantastic along with the food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Delicious lamb to share with nice app options. Riverfront dining is great when weather is nice, but needed to move inside when started to rain.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.