About River Roast

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (66)
Scenic View (64)
Good for Groups (55)
See All
Casual (53)
Comfort Food (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Fun (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Live Music (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Family Style (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Brunch (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Business Meals (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Open Kitchen (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Modern Decor (19)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
People Watching (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Great Beer (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Private Room (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Healthy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Not so impressive for lunch.

Been here for dinner a couple times, both great, so I decided to try lunch. It was pretty average during lunch – nothing special – and if you want the roasted meat (their signature) you need to get a dinner size roast to share. Fine if you want the same meat as your guest or you have a batch of people … but not for two people with different tastes.

Also, the waiter, who was nice otherwise, was reluctant to let us swap out ingredients even though we were actually allergic to the ingredients.

Will certainly go back … but for dinner next time. And with a larger group.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Interesting food, great site, not too over priced. I enjoyed myself ,as did ,my wife , but parking was a bit of a problem

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

"Blues & Brews Brunch" is fantastic, Chicago style music, river front views, great food, fun!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, People Watching, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Casual, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a wonderful brunch. Great bloody Mary's . The bacon was the bomb! Get a side for sure. I had the French toast , friend had farm fresh eggs fabulous potatoes. The river front patio is where it's at but the wait is longer even with a reservation. They said 30 mins for patio or immediately for inside. However our reso was for 11:30 so it made sense that it was already full . I would love to go back for dinner . A big pricey but you get what you pay for, great view and delishious food!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

ALL WAS REALLY GOOD-EXCEPT SERVICE WAS POOR. IF THEY CAN GET A WAY TO HAVE BETTER SERVICE THIS WOULD BE A TOP PLACE TO GO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter was very attentive and helped make great decisions on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food here was truly delicious. I am usually not a fan of white meat on chicken, but theirs was moist and so flavorful!
Our water knew the menu inside and out, was super friendly, and didn't bat an eye at the various dietary restrictions of our table.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Waterfront, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Took my son here for a special night as I was visiting him in college from South Carolina. I can't say enough about the uniqueness of the experience! The food was impeccable. Presentation was unlike no other. I never knew carrots could taste that good! We took all of the waiter's suggestions and we can't say enough about the entire night! Thank you for such a great memory!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food and atmosphere is consistently excellent, as always!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

OK the good:
1.) Waiter was really nice kid.
2.) We sat outside in April and had the southern sun beating down on us. Sweet.
3.) Place puts off a good vibe, I could see it being cozy inside as well.
4.) Loved the river side location, watching people on the boats and walking along the waterfront.

Other notes:
1.) Started off typical outside city noise - there is a bridge which autos go over on both sides, but it wasn't distracting, then WAAH ?%%! pile driving or jack hammering and it was hard to hear.
2.) I didn't ask the two guys I was with what they thought of their food, one is on a diet and got a salad that he polished off, the other had a chicken sandwich and cleaned his plate - but I got the roast beef, and it wasn't good, I was hoping for slow roasted cut with a fork, but it was a bit tough and had too much fat. If it was slow roasted it would have melted away. I would not order it again, but I loved the potatoes croquettes that came with it.

Bottom line - Would love to come back for another lunch outside in the sun, maybe add in some beers.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Selected this location for live blues. Very disappointing for out of town guests that there was no live music as advertised.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our dinner started out very well, our server took the time to explain the menu and how many mains we should order for our group and some recommendations. I expected it to take a little longer than normal to get our mains and it did, when they came out they looked and smelled amazing. The food was wonderful. However the service at the end stunk. We waited a long time to have our plates cleared, then again to get the dessert menu, then again to get our bill. All told I would guess it took about 30 minutes from when we finished eating until we paid our bill. We didn't order dessert. We were one of three tables in the main dinning room at the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I never take the time to write reviews. We were so disappointed by our experience at River Roast. I took the time to make a reservation ahead of time, assuming that we'd be seated outside. Reservations should make clear that outside seating is first come first serve, it is not made clear in the process. There was an 1.5 hour wait for the outside seating, even though we asked several times to make an exception. We were seated in front of windows inside, and stared at at least 5 empty tables for more 30-45 minutes before people started to be seated. We asked again once more as soon as we sat down if there was any way we could sit outside- my mom was visiting and we were celebrating Easter. The female host told us she was trying to get people who were being paged seated, and couldn't do anything for us. I understand that people who are ahead in line get seated first, but a 45 minute delay in seating people -- when restaurant goers are there and begging to be seated outside, is ridiculous. Our drinks came minutes before our meal was served, and the waiter made the paying process incredibly uncomfortable...he made it seem like we were putting him out when my mom and I both tried to pay. He rolled his eyes at his co-worker in front of us. We will not be coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fabulous Beet Salad, highlighted with smoked salmon. Views are great, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had a very good meal. Family was in town and we wanted to meet for lunch. They accommodated us in a private room (we had several children with us), which was great for both us and other customers. The food was excellent, as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great ambiance. Great food. Would highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very inattentive waitress.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I came to River Roast with a group of friends for brunch this past weekend. Since it was over 60 degrees I expected the patio to be open but when I arrived I was disappointed to find out it was closed. I ordered a bloody mary for $13, which turned out a little smokier than I like. I also ordered the croque madame which was delicious. All of my friends were happy with their choices as well except for one couple who decided to share the chilaquiles. The chips were not softened like traditional chilaquiles but were more like nachos. Overall, it was a good experience and I would come back to try their famous roasts with a couple friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best chicken I've ever had!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The restaurant was excellent. The food was great as well as the ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Gorgeous river view combine with delicious food to make a very satisfying midweek lunch. Roast chicken, carved tableside, delicious along with potatoes and Brussels sprouts. Somewhat pricey for lunch, but worth it for a step up from typical Loop midday grub. Daytime chat level minimal; a nice bonus for conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was horrendous. Waiter was clueless. We informed the waiter that we had theater tickets and needed to be out at a certain time Drink orders , appetizers were wrong. Pork came raw and waiter didn't think there was anything wrong with that. They made a new one which took 1/2 hr and didn't have time to eat it. Asked for manager and he took his time coming and was annoyed that we were i satisfied Would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Enjoyable restaurant in great location. Good for sharing food or individual orders. Roast pork and veggie boat are yummy. Scotch egg is excellent- better than in Edinburgh

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love the Sunday Blues and Brunch! We had friends in town visiting and this place definitely delivered a true Chicago vibe!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love the ambiance and the beef roast is to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My GF was reluctant to go here but by the end she was thrilled with it.

The concept and menu is a bit unusual but it really works and is worth a try.

We had the fish, and this is not a fish place, and it was outstanding (as were the side dishes).

The space is pretty great too...especially in the summer when you can sit outside.

My only complaint was the service. It was not bad but not great either. More like the server ticked the boxes and only then just barely.

That said already made my next reservation to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Unbelievably disappointed, primarily with server, but even the food did not live up to the hype. The waiter asked if it was our first time visiting, we said yes, and that was the end of that. No explanation of restaurant's unique menu, options available, suggestions, NOT one word. We asked for bread (because I had read a review to do so) and were treated to burnt pieces of toast, and I mean burnt black. No explanation of what the spread was, no apologies when it was obvious we couldn't eat more than half of the pieces (we left them burnt side up on our platter). Our appetizer of toast/avocado/shrimp was good, but nothing spectacular. We ordered the roast chicken and balsamic carrots. The chicken was fine, but I told my husband that it would be difficult to tell the difference between a local grocery store rotisserie chicken and this one, I'd be hard pressed. The carrots were by far our favorite thing, but even they were hit and miss. Some were left way too thick and were not cooked all the way through. The server never asked how things tasted, if we needed anything such as refills, not one ounce of attention. Once our plates had been cleared, he actually tossed a few dessert menus on the table and said "in case you're hungry for dessert" and then left. I kid you not. Please don't think I am over-dramatizing this. It was the rudest service I've ever experienced. We went on a Sunday evening, many empty tables around us so I know it was not an issue of a server being slammed with too many tables. Needless to say, we did not order dessert, and on our way out explained our dissatisfaction with the hostess. Was really hoping it would be as great as "Check Please" and other shows made it out to be so that we could bring friends back. Not a chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was good. The music amazing. The ambiance was great but our experience horrible. Our service from the start wasnt able to answer our questions about the tea and coffee selections on the menu. I waited for over 45 minutes for a second beverage which by then we decided to leave. He never came by to see if we needed anything except once soon after our meal arrived. The table next to us came in after us got better service multiple check ins, beverages and they were demanding rude and a young couple. Other servers seemed great at other tables. We left to find anothervenue to spend our sunday . Very disappointed by the service of Thierry. Wont reconnend this venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food is great but I think it's over priced!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've been here several times for apps and drinks. It's a great place with friends and great blues or jazz music. This time I brought my spouse for a full dinner before a performance elsewhere; and I was a bit disappointed. We shared the roasted chicken with the vegetable platter. And a bottle or wine. The food was plentiful and overall good. But for the prices we really wanted to taste savory chicken that was worthy of a Tony Mantuano. The chicken was tender and juicy but it lacked flavor otherwise. The vegetable medley roasted in a butternut squash had a nice presentation. The flavor was just ok. The roasted potatoes with the chicken were very flavorful.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Saturday brunch~ music was great, food was ok, service was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Barbacoa special was great! Digging this place.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food, great service. Live blues music on Saturday and Sunday for brunch was awesome. Great views of the river and city.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Awesome place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

6 friends got together for dinner. Saw this restaurant on WTTW channel 11 on Check Please. It came highly recommended so my husband and I wanted to try it and thought a group outing would be best so we could try several items. The pork was amazing juicy and tender. The duck was flavorful and crispy skin. The beef was good but not the cut we prefer. The salads were good and the beet salad was awesome with goat cheese and micro greens. The Brussels cauliflower and turnip gratin were all delicious. Fun night with friends and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Bloody Marys were AWFUL! The food was ok - just the sauces were funky and not great.
Server was good and atmosphere is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was surprised by the menu that offered the pork for a serving of 1 for $22 and got the bill for $43. The waiter offered a very heartfelt "Sorry about that" smirk :( To top it off the food was not that good - the pork was tough not tender and the cornbread was hard. You're paying top dollar to have it cut tableside for food that is subpar. If I go back I would try the chicken but considering it's just a rotisserie chicken cut beside your table you might find a better deal at Boston Market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good, space is beautiful but service was very slow and inattentive during Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Terrific location viewing the Chicago River. Food was tasty and unusual in it's presentation. Good variety of roasts. Best for dining with like-minded tastes due to sharing of large portion of the main dish. Great service. A fun dining option downtown.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Family Style, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Waterfront, Casual, Historic, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The roasts are the best in town. The at table presentation is an excellent touch. Be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.