About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

  • River Roast
  • River Roast
  • River Roast
River Roast
River Roast
River Roast

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (186)
Scenic View (167)
Good for Groups (97)
See All
Fit for Foodies (94)
Special Occasion (83)
Great for Lunch (82)
Great for Brunch (51)
Romantic (46)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Waterfront (37)
Kid-friendly (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Comfort Food (16)
People Watching (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Live Music (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Family Style (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Cozy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my first time here. My 4 friends ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was my first time here. My 4 friends and I split 6 different items (Supper Club Mushrooms, Mexican Street Corn, Shrimp & Crab Toast, Pork Meatballs, Chicago Style Sashimi, & the Golden Gobbets) with our drinks. My sangria was delicious, the early fall weather was fabulous, and our waiter was kind and funny. I'll definitely be coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We started with the zucchini blossoms st ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We started with the zucchini blossoms stuffed with fontina in a tomato sauce. They were very good. We moved on to sharing the pork roast, which was delicious and plentiful--enough for us both to take home another meal. Accompaniments were peas with onions and the wonderful roasted potatoes. I'm anxious to go back and try the chicken I saw being served to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great! I thought some o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great! I thought some of the dishes looked amazing, but I didn't love the soup I ordered (probably my fault for doing that instead of the divine looking egg dishes). I thought we probably paid an uptick on the food for the view of the river, but otherwise would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had lunch with my out of town friends. W ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Had lunch with my out of town friends. We sat outside by the river. It is a wonderful Chicago experience. I had a salad and asked them to add roasted chicken and that was no problem. The salads are great, not too big, and the turnips au gratin style were amazing. Will be going back!

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a lovely business lunch at River Roa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Had a lovely business lunch at River Roast! All of the food was delicious and served very nicely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a sunny day lunch outside. Por ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great for a sunny day lunch outside. Pork was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What better way to enjoy a gorgeous summ ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What better way to enjoy a gorgeous summer night then sitting outside on the riverfront. It was out first time at RR. There were 4 of us and we decided to have 2 salads and the cold smoked chicken. That was plenty of food. The salads were fresh and light. My husband and I shared the grilled baby romaine salad. It was yummy. Our friends did the chopped salad with roasted red peppers. We all cleaned out plates. The chicken was juicy tender and flavorful. The smokiness was an overwhelming at all. It came with roasted potatoes which were soaking up the juice from the bird. Tables around us ordered the pork and the steak both which looked amazing. The service was just okay but the scenery and the meal compensated for the lack luster waitress. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The Riverview table was very nice on a S ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Riverview table was very nice on a Saturday afternoon while listening to some great Blues Band! The menu was a bit short but our food was very tasty. The Roasted meats were very good. The Po-Boy sandwhich was good although the bacon was still a bit underdone. Roasted potatoes were very good and a nice change from French Fries. I was happy at the Beer selection including the Draft micro-beers!

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

River Roast is a perfect example of a re ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

River Roast is a perfect example of a restaurant that focuses on a few things and executes perfectly. The menu is 1 page. It is built around 5 roasted choices: fish of the day, beef, chicken (whole), pork (several cuts) and a vegetable medley (it's a main course, not a side dish). The appetizers complement the roasted options and there are about 10 sides that you can order that are relatively simple, i.e., they are the ingredient without a lot of sauces or other distractions. We had the beef which came in 8-oz. increments. The whole roasted chicken at the table next to us looked perfect. I also saw the fish at another table which looked good. All meats come to the table in a single piece and are carved by the waitstaff at the table. Main courses are served on a wooden cutting board rather than a plate. Unfortunately, the cutting bards are warped and one allowed the juice to run freely off the board and onto my lap. Small price to pay for the quality of the food. Our server - Casey (?sp.) - could not have been better.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside and had a lovely view of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We sat outside and had a lovely view of the river and river walk across the way. The sun was behind a building for about the first 15 minutes, but then hit hard for the rest of the time, which was hot. Umbrellas or an additional awning would be a great addition. Our waiter was great and the rack of pork was superb, but they said it serves 2 and I think that number should be increased to at least 3 with leftovers, 4 with clean plates. It came with cornbread, which was delicious but they only give 1 muffin and when we asked for more, we received 1 more. Seemed a bit chinsy to me. The carrot and mixed bean sides were great and I would order them again. Overall, above average experience for me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We selected River Roast to "show off" ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We selected River Roast to "show off" our new city living to our suburban friends. We understood that the outdoor seating was first come, first served, and were delighted when we were seated outside by the river. The kind of Cajun style live music was great. The food was delicious, however, one in our party was disappointed the lobster special had already run out. We did not feel rushed as we continued conversation after finishing lunch. Excellent experience and great service.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outside seating is a great location. Tab ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outside seating is a great location. Tables and chairs are terrible for sitting and dining though. Maybe the worst Bloody Mary ever, even after I asked them to remake the first one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

River Roast never disappoints. Food an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

River Roast never disappoints. Food and service always spot-on.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is very nice, service is very ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The place is very nice, service is very good but the food was not great. It wasn't flavorful and none of us (4) were impressed. Also, it took a while before we were served. Overall, I wouldn't return. The food needs to be better to match such a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The roasting method that you employ resu ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The roasting method that you employ results in wonderful flavor. We took the waiter's suggestion and ordered the pork dish for two and a side of roasted veggies and loved the selection. We enjoyed our delicious meal at a waterfront table and this became a favorite memory from our most recent trip to Chicago. Thanks so much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ordered a couple of dishes and they all ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ordered a couple of dishes and they all seemed to have the same seasoning ( a mixture of herbs) along with way too much salt. The fish dish was meant for two people but seemed small for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Got lucky with the weather and were seat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Got lucky with the weather and were seated outside on the riverside patio. The food was delicious - got the roast pork, zucchini blossoms, and veggie boat all to share. Perfect amount of food for 3 people, but the bill was a little salty for my tastes considering the portion sizes. Ah also got the ice cream sandwich which was amazing; vanilla ice cream in between two giant chocolate chip cookies. Service was excellent, and wasn't too noise outside. Overall a really good experience!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

River Roast has a very strange menu. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

River Roast has a very strange menu. It is limited and odd. Sitting outside was the highpoint.

Service was inconsistent but the waiter was pleasant. There were 3 of us and it was pretty pricey. I haven't a problem with paying top dollar for a delicious meal with good service but I would not go back.

My cocktail was exceptional and along with the river view the only notable qualities of the restaurant .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The roasted chicken was the best I've ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The roasted chicken was the best I've ever had. Roasted vegetables were wonderful. Loved watching boats on the river.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok, the food was great - really deliciou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Ok, the food was great - really delicious. The presentation of a whole fish or chicken is fun, especially if you are part of a group. The side of mushrooms were crazy good - order for sure. Desserts were the weakest 'food' part of the meal and I might skip those. The room itself is lovely; it's large but still manages to feel 'cozy' and the location on the river makes for a nice view. However, our service was just not good. Our waiter was experienced and professional however I think he was just spread waaaayyyy too thin. There seemed to be other servers standing around chatting so I'm not sure if our guy was just overseated or had too many large tables? It was the experience we've all had at some point: having to flag down waiter to order another drink but then he runs from the table before anyone else can order; doesn't check back in to see if everything is ok when you really need a new fork because someone dropped theirs; no where to be seen when the 2nd drink you receive is made so differently from the 1st that it's not really drinkable; the waiting, waiting to order dessert and finally, to request the bill. I waited tables for many years and tend to be overly sympathetic to the waitstaff. We had a nice time but this was a drag and just gave the whole experience a bit of an 'off' feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

It began as a good experience with the h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It began as a good experience with the hostesses wishing our son happy birthday. But our server was indifferent to say the least. I don't think I have ever contacted a restuarant to complain but we did this time. We received a very nice response in a very timely manner inviting us to try the restuarant one more time on them, which I think we will take the offer as the food was good and it was great sitting out on the river.

River Roast has already received a note, I don't see any reason to go over this again with them.

Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We were here this past Sunday for brunch ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were here this past Sunday for brunch...we booked a table on opentable and wanted to sit outside so it was a bit longer of a wait. The bar though is very inviting and we had drinks in the bar area while we wait and there was plenty of room...bartenders very friendly and attentive and they make a great bloody mary. We were seated not long after being notified by text that our table was ready and were seated right by the water. Our waiter was very friendly. Only hitch was they didn't have the golden bites appetizer that we so wanted but we settled on the shaved salad and shared the Roast Pork for 2. All was just so very good. It was a bit hot being full on in the sun but occasionally received a nice breeze off the lake. Very good blues band playing as well and it wasn't overly loud and we could even maintain a good conversation at our table. Just a very pleasant atmosphere and highly recommended

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Omelet was heavenly. Bloody Mary was a b ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Omelet was heavenly. Bloody Mary was a bit too spicy for my taste but they were kind enough to replace it with an alternative without charge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

RIVER ROAST IS MOUTHWATERING DELICIOUS. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

RIVER ROAST IS MOUTHWATERING DELICIOUS.

A whole roasted chicken is delivered tableside piping hot. As your waiter is carving it you will delight in the smoky aroma & see the very crispy skin cooked to perfection. The chicken is as tender as it could be.

We tried the fried chorizo stuffed olives with cheese fondue: it was savory & bursting with flavor. Then we enjoyed the scotch eggs, what a treat.

The grilled baby romaine lettuce with bacon, grape tomatoes, radishes & blue cheese was scrumptious.

I wish we lived in Chicago as I would frequent this restaurant. We will definitely return on on next visit to Chicago.

The views of the river are gorgeous and can be seen anywhere in the restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited River Roast 3 times over ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have visited River Roast 3 times over the past 3 months. The experience has been off the charts every time. Personable, attentive wait staff and restaurant manager Charlie visible and always available for comments. For 2 of 3 visits we have had special requests made during meal and they delivered flawlessly. Food was great and outdoor seating provided a wonderful atmosphere. River Roast is and will always remain a favorite spot of ours.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was torn between good and very good bu ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I was torn between good and very good but I can only base it on what we ate. I noted that most other patrons were men and they were probably all eating roast chicken or beef and were probably very happy. It's one of the best views of the river and the staff is efficient if not overly friendly. We ordered the lobster burger and found out it was a chopped patty of lobster, shrimp and crab with what we think was a tarragon aoli, none of which was described on the menu. The flavorings totally overpowered the delicate seafood meat so it could have been any kind of fish because you only tasted the filler. It came with bbqd potato chips which were delicious. As much as we like the view we would only go back for drinks. I would recommend it to any meat eater to try and to enjoy the view but it's off my places to dine list.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a lovely pre-theatre dinner overlook ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Had a lovely pre-theatre dinner overlooking the Chicago River. Tried 3 appetisers, 1 salad and split the Roast Beef which was supposed to be for one, but easily fed two. The staff was very conscious of our time schedule and brought out a mini birthday cake for my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my girlfriend to River Roast to c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I took my girlfriend to River Roast to celebrate our anniversary as I wanted it to be a little more upscale and special. The patio seating on the river was fantastic. Food was top notch and delicious, you get what you pay for here. The fried olives, roast beef, and meatballs were great and plenty for two people. It was fun to watch the boats going by during the meal and the city backdrop was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the cozy, elegant, bluesy atmospher ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love the cozy, elegant, bluesy atmosphere. The crab avocado toast is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love love love this restaurant! Especial ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love love love this restaurant! Especially for brunch on a beautiful summer day. Sit overlooking the river front! On the weekends they have a band playing outside and THE BEST Bloody Mary's!!!

I suggest the restaurant get some umbrellas or a larger over hang because when the sun is out, it can be really hot! But not a big enough problem to keep me away :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On recent trip to Chicago to visit our d ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

On recent trip to Chicago to visit our daughter-> we were looking for Sunday jazz brunch and thought River Roast was it. This is NOT a live jazz brunch venue, in spite of being billed as such by River Roast. Service wasn't memorable; however the food was fantastic. We opted to share a whole chcken and added a plate of vegetables which was more than ample for three. Our daughter raved: "...this is the best roasted chicken ever!"

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Just an overall good value and great pat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Just an overall good value and great patio views. I'll be back!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There were 4 of us and we all had a grea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

There were 4 of us and we all had a great night. Great service, great food, great drinks, great atmosphere. This place is a must!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the Chicken, Fish and Pork for p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Ordered the Chicken, Fish and Pork for party of 6. It was just enough food. Chicken was supposed to be what they are known for but I don't know why. It was a little dry and plainly seasoned, if at all. I know neighborhood places that have much better chicken for a fraction of the price. Pork was over cooked and tough to chew. Would not try them again.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

This was our second time here and it was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our second time here and it was great again. The Big Fish and Pork were fabulous. Our service outstanding and the views were perfect. You can't get any better view from the Chicago River than River Roast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Chicago for college tours and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were in Chicago for college tours and decided to have dinner on the river front. What a great place to have a meal. Make sure you ask for a patio table, they are worth the wait. Just watching the traffic on the river is worth it. We aren't big meat eaters, but this is the place. Pork rib roast and the massive filet were served on cutting boards and sliced by the waiter. There is more than enough for two on each of the entrees. I'm usually wary of pork, because many places tend to over cook it, but it was done still pink in the middle and very succulent. I will go back again.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Overall great place to have lunch. The v ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Overall great place to have lunch. The views are amazing and the food is pretty good. Would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Terrific, healthy food options. This wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Terrific, healthy food options. This was my second time at Roast and I'm looking forward to going again. Maybe the brunch next time?

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sons and I were celebrating two birt ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My sons and I were celebrating two birthdays--mine and my son's girlfriend. River Roast was my first choice of restaurant, and it was wonderful! We sat on the terrace and enjoyed the Riverwalk and its fun atmosphere. Everything we ordered was delicious. We especially loved the roasted chicken and the pork, which were both juicy and tender. The roasted potatoes are beyond delicious! The cauliflower was tasty, with a bite to it, but not too fiery, just enough to make it interesting. My favorite dessert had custard, cherries, and whipped cream, but all the desserts, including the complimentary birthday selections, were great. I also enjoyed a glass of delicious sparkling brut with the meal. The servers were very attentive, and the only problem was that the live band made conversation very difficult during the time that they were playing. I would recommend River Roast anytime, whether on the patio in good weather or in the dining room. We'll all definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place to take out-of-town g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

What a great place to take out-of-town guests to showcase our city! The view along the river was spectacular. The food selections are really, really fun -- the whole roast chicken was delicious and such a fun, unusual presentation. We had the roasted fish too, and it was cooked perfectly and also was delicious. The sides were amazing -- we had the corn and the roasted carrots. Every single one of us was thrilled with the experience and there were foodies among us.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.