About River Roast

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (50)
Scenic View (47)
Comfort Food (42)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Groups (32)
Special Occasion (30)
Fun (27)
Business Meals (26)
Casual (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (16)
Live Music (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Romantic (14)
Great Beer (13)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

River Roast has a beautiful spot on the river. We went for Sunday lunch and we're happily surprised with a live blues band playing in a big dining room with high ceilings, tall windows, and great natural light. Server was very friendly and helpful with explanations of menu items and recommendations. Bar was slow due to staffing, but the drinks were good when we finally got them. Food was meaty but not heavy. This is a great spot for friends and family get-togethers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The wait staff need a manageable amount of tables. On a busy night, they are unable to attend to all tables, which will ruin your occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Really nice, pleasant place for dates or friends who love food. Service was excellent and knowledgeable and liquor selection was perfect. High quality place to eat in a fabulous location!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vegan, Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

We are making this our wedding reception venue. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great comfort food, and the whole chicken is a must have! Portions are big and very shareable. Cozy setting, awesome view of the river, and we never felt rushed...the service was top notch from the moment we walked in the door. We can't wait to go back when it's warm enough to enjoy the outdoor dining area!

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Always nice to stop in here. Don’t come here too often, mainly because we don’t like to have their well-known roast chicken too often. It is delicious though. It wasn’t crowded at all for a Thursday night; probably because of the cold weather or people might still be on holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2018

The roast chicken is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

This was my first time at River Roast and I will definitely be back soon! The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We had reservations for NYE and the ambience and atmosphere was perfect for our group of six. There was a live band playing. River Roast staff gave out festive NYE top hats, tiaras, and noise makers and had a photo area set up for taking New Year themed photos with your group. Great time, great food and great service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Live Music, Scenic View, Fun, Great Beer, Healthy, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

The charcuterie was fantastic and the view was perfect. Can't wait to go back in the summer to eat on the patio

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

We were in Chicago for New Years Eve, from London. We were very excited to find a place that specialises in roast dinners, as they are a tradition for us. We ordered a whole roast chicken, which came with roast potatoes, carrots with goats cheese and brussel sprouts. My friend and I had never eaten as fast! The roast potatoes were very burnt which was a let down (especially as they are my favourite part of a roast dinner). There was plenty of food for the two of us. After a break we ordered desert. Wow, talk about massive portions! The slice of carrot cake was big enough for 3 people and the s’mores could have easily feed 2 people.
Although it was NYE, they regularly have a blues band in the afternoons. It was perfect music to accompany the food. It was a little disappointing that they finished at 11:30pm on NYE. Yet those who were still in the restaurant for midnight were give champagne out by the river for the count down (even though it was one of the coldest NYE on record). Overall, it was a really good evening for a random find. I would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2017

River Roats is relaxed but trendy with river view and great food selection. The staff is very polite and had great knowledge of the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Great food. Nice location on the river. Little pricey but that doesn’t stop me from going there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Fantastic food and great service in a comfortable atmosphere. Whole fish was tremendous!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2017

The rabbit is excellent. Had a great birthday dinner for my son. Duck was unbelievable and pork is always good. Service excellent as always!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Food great. Burrata portion could have been a bit bigger. High ceiling acoustic make noise level a little high. Overall Wonderful meal. Roast chicken and potatoes were lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Went in for brunch. I ordered the chilaquiles, which are meant to be shared but still really expensive for what it was. The restaurant itself is in a very cool location with a view of the river and is beautiful inside. The service was good. The noise level was extreme for a Sunday morning - live music at 11 a.m. was a bit much. Glad I tried it but not sure I’d go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

This is the third time I have been here and it gets better every time I try one of the other options on the menu that I didn't try previously.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2017

I ate there in summer for outdoor dinner and loved the assortment of veggies as appetizers. This time was sat brunch and prions were less enticing. Music was only Ok and too loud. Good view though even from inside

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Very nice experience. Enjoyed the crab and shrimp toast with the golden nuggets! We then enjoyed the pork and veggie roast. Pricey but high quality food! The veggies consisted of acorn squash, Brussel sprouts, carrots, sweet potatoes and the filler topped with arugula. The pork and their special sauce was delightful.
Would come back with a group! On Saturday they had live music which was an unexpected terrific surprise!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We tried River Roast with another couple for a holiday dinner. All in all, we were underwhelmed by the food. We started with the pork meatballs which we found rather bland. And while the roast chicken was tender, it, too, didn't have much flavor. Lastly, the wine we ordered was unavailable. For the prices charged, we didn't feel it measured up.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The perfect place for comfort food on a cold night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Had the pork, carrots, mushrooms and cornbread. Delish. Great local beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2017

The food is great and stays within the company rules! We ordered 3 roasts for 6 people and it worked great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Nice place on the river, I'm sure more fun during warmer weather when you can sit outside. Food was very good, service was great too. If you buy the main roasted foods it comes to the table and the server slices it up for you right there. A bit loud on Sat Sun when they have live music, so be ware. I'd go back again.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

This was the fourth visit to River Roast, and it will be the last. We always had found the food delicious--well-prepared, good variety. This time, we both ordered the Boatload of Veggies, with cauliflower side. I didn't bother to order the brussel sprouts side, as brussel sprouts were, in the past, included in the Boatload. (Yes, I am a vegan and my husband doesn't care whether he eats meat or not. That we used to enjoy River Roast is a testament to the previous quality of the vegetables.) The boatload consisted of parsnips, carrots and sweet potatoes. No beets, no brussel sprouts, no other potatoes or root vegetables, not even onions. And, this is root vegetable season! Some of the vegetables were cooked al dente, and some were just hard. The cauliflower side was barely roasted, and had insufficient sauce. The sauce under the boatload of veggies was scant, which is a shame, since it had been really tasty in previous trips. The martini I ordered to have an olive and a twist arrived with a twist only, and was too lemony, so I sent it back. The cabernet sauvignon choice by the glass was too fruity; it was the first time I've had a fruity cab, which should be dry. Service was poor. Our server was slow and only seemed to notice us when it was time for the check. It's sad to see such a good restaurant deteriorate in a rapid time period.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Fun presentation. The beet salad is amazing. I wish I would have ordered chicken or fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Unique offerings of whole roasts provide options yet opportunity to share at the table family style. We had the chicken, pork and whole fish and all were delicious. Excellent sides, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We were there for brunch and were pleasantly surprised! Attentive waitress made excellent recommendations and each one of them were very delicious!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Overall everything was very excellent. We had the monthly special which was the duck and it was out of this world. Would highly recommend this restaurant including the service which was very good. Coming from Milwaukee I was also impressed that they had Schlitz on tap. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

We got the roasted chicken and potatoes for two. The chicken had very good fire roasted flavor and the potatoes were crispy just the way I like him. It was outstanding. It came out faster than we thought. Which worked out well because we had theater tickets. So we have plenty of time to get there. With the valet parking on LaSalle Street made it very convenient and stress-free

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Server made great suggestions for ordering just enough food for a party of 5 to share without over selling. Loved "family style" dining - allowing us to taste many different amazing meats in one dinner. Great views of the river - go early if you want a more quiet atmosphere, it gets busy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Food was great from appetizers to venison loin and all the meats and fish, very creative drinks menu. Desserts yummy.

Private party service was poor to terrible. 10 ppl and we saw Waiter 6 Times from welcome to payment. Apps came before drinks, never checked on drink refills two different times when he should have, collected bill and disappeared, we would have opened a new drink tab and he could have made a fortune on us. Lucky for us we won’t have a hangover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Best roast chicken EVER. All meat dishes were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Was not overly impressed with the breakfast. We have been there in the past but this is the first time we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

My family and I went here for thanksgiving buffet. I don’t feel it was a “buffet” very small selection in food. If you don’t eat meat you are going to starve. The food was dry and selections were very very limited. When you are spending a minimum of 55.00 per person you would think you would have a little more food and better quality. Needless to say this was the lowest point to our thanksgiving day with the family and to have dinner be the low point of thanksgiving is a real let down. You would think a restaurant would take pride in providing an amazing feast since a big part of thanksgiving is about families coming together to eat.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Reservation was for 4:45; we arrived at 4:35 and were told they were clearing tables and one would be ready soon. At 4:50 we were still waiting, so my husband asked and again they told him they were clearing tables and one would be ready soon. We were seated after 5:00. Tables were packed together and no one got much service - we had to wait for everything, but so did everyone around us. It was a serve yourself chef-station meal, and our plates were cleared efficiently. However, they should not accept more reservations than they can handle for each hour.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving buffet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great tasting food, prepared very well. Had Thanksgiving dinner, it was buffet style and everything was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went to celebrate Thhanksgiving as a family. We were seated in the back of the lower level and after one hour Still did not have a server. We watched two waiters argue in front of us over whose table it was. We asked 3 different people to please get us a server. The buffet spread for Thanksgiving was always out of every dish and half the food was burnt or over cooked. We would not recommend this to anyone. It cost us over $450.00 and was terrible.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great concept. Chefs table was so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.