About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (98)
good for groups (82)
great for outdoor dining (77)
See All
fit for foodies (69)
special occasion (50)
great for lunch (42)
great for brunch (40)
romantic (29)
hot spot (27)
neighborhood gem (24)
vibrant bar scene (20)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (7)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was good (food, service, ambi ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everything was good (food, service, ambience). When we got our bill I felt that it was a bit pricey for what we received. I can get the same meal and great service in othe areas of Chicago and suburbs for about 30-40% less. Having said that, though, when you come to River Roast, you're partly paying for what I assume to be high rent for a great location and probably some sort of extra taxes for downtown dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Citizen of the world

Dined 4 days ago

Great and convivial dining experience. Excellent roasted food that can be shared. The roasted branzino and chicken were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great opportunity for valet parking righ ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great opportunity for valet parking right at the front door! The service was impeccable and Courtney was a charm! The food was excellent 🍷

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Chicken!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I love River Roast. I have been here a number of times and the food is consistently tasty. The service is great and very pleasant and friendly staff. I would have liked to sit outside but it would have been a 30-40 minute wait. Next time I would definitely request a table outside--weather permitting. We started with the house pickles which were so delicious. For dinner (2 of us) split the chicken. We finished it it was so good. I love that they carve it table side and it just has such a great taste. The potatoes with it were also delicious. Highly recommend River Roast and I hope to dine there again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3

Poor waiter.. back of house left us han ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Poor waiter.. back of house left us hanging, sending out wrong dishes and taking 25 minutes for drinks. Such weird service again. Been there 5 times now, 2nd bizarre service experience. Love the food. But the back of the house is a mess. Tell me why I should come for trip number 6? Because I need a reason to. Your restaurant was on our short list to have our wedding but not so much any more.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I attended a large dinner a few years ba ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I attended a large dinner a few years back and the food was really good. When I made my dinner plans a month ago I remembered being here and after looking at their full menu made my reservation. The four of us had a wonderful meal with plenty to eat! The service was great and I'll be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was good would've liked sandwich be ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good would've liked sandwich better without gravy. Outdoor nice but music is loud so more of a listening adventure rather than visiting

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an amazing experience. Great pla ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Always an amazing experience. Great place for a business dinner, our guests really enjoyed themselves!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here with a group not from Chicago ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Went here with a group not from Chicago looking for a river view while eating and drinking. River Roast was a perfect fit for business casual feel while the staff was outstanding at handling our 10 person reservation. This was a recommendation from a server at another restaurant on Randolph street when I had asked about an excellent spot on the river that wasn't too stuffy. This did not disappoint and the food was excellent. These folks from Texas and Baltimore absolutely loved it and wanted to stay there all night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely meal on the river.

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a lovely lunch of oriental chicken salad out on the patio. Although the LaSalle St. bridge was up, the clanging stopped early during the lunch and it was not distracting. Waiter was friendly and not obtrusive. Salad was fresh.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River Roast is wonderful. We booked a ta ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

River Roast is wonderful. We booked a table for ten, and they took the reservation without hesitation. Our party straggled in with multiple children in tow. The staff assisted along the way and made for a happy and efficient process. The food was phenomenal. We sampled 2/3 of the dishes on the menu. All of them were excellent and easily shared. The roast beef and chicken was succulent and perfectly cooked. The croque Madame was so good that we had to order another. The drinks perfectly matched the meal. The staff was courteous and one step ahead of us providing service before we needed to ask. And I haven't even mentioned the view. It is one of the best in Chicago. Overall, a wonderful experience. Oh, and the head chef actually works there and interacts with guests! Oh, and they had live blues, and the performers were exceptionally good. We are definitely returning multiple times over.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The service was a little slow and there ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was a little slow and there were a couple times when I had to go get someone because the server was nowhere to be found, but when she was there she was pleasant. Besides that everything, I mean everything was top notch. The spinach that the rabbit was on top of was excellent, I will not forget that dish!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Friendly staff and while they weren't ve ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Friendly staff and while they weren't very busy, waiters were just not very attuned to their guests needs. I will attribute that to poor training by the management , not the fault of the staff. The food was edible, just not very creative, I rarely have a poor dining experience, sadly, this was one of them. I hope others have better luck.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to River Roast. ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

This was my second visit to River Roast. My wife and I were spending some vacation time in Chicago so we wanted to hit a few restaurants I knew would be special. River Roast did not disappoint. We tried several menu items to share but had the Roast Beef as our primary entrée, it was excellent. Our server was attentive and provided excellent service without being too visible. A great Chicago gem, I encourage you to try it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Mothers Day Lunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food here is always amazing. I am addicted to the chicken and roast potatoes. This time we made it to dessert too. They were fab. They make their own soft serve. Sunday was Key lime pie. It was mothers day and I thought it would be rushed, but it was relaxed and lovely as always. There was a couple singing jazz and blues. It was billed to start at 12 noon but they only arrived at 11.55 am and spent a lot of time setting up and didn't really get going until nearly 12.30 pm. It was a nice touch but wish they had started on time as our table was at 11.45 am. That was the only slight down side. But we still enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting of eating good food outside ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The setting of eating good food outside looking at the new river walk in the heart of downtown Chicago is tough to beat. Can't go wrong with the mussels and the big fish(crispy or roasted). Solid beer and mixed drink offerings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food on the river

Dined on May 6, 2016

A group of four came by, and we were able to have an amazing vegetarian feast, split between us all. The boatload of veggies + 2 sides ( + the shishito peppers to start) were all really tasty and enough for a lunch. Food came out really quickly--no complaints! The patio looked amazing but we didn't have time to stay for the extra wait time. Next time, though...seemed like it could be worth it.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

On the positive side, great food in a be ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

On the positive side, great food in a beautiful open space. On the negative side the staff is too pushy to let you have a conversation. You'll also end up with way more food than you can enjoy if you go with the flow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for group

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Go to place for ease, price and location for a group. Most recent experience, 9 women shared 3 of their delicious chickens, 2 salads and several sides. The private room overlooking the river which allowed us to talk and still hear the blues band in the main room was a major bonus. Perfect evening and everyone raved. The chicken is the best of the roasted group we think and 3 or 4 can share with some sides.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

More than I expected

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I went to River Roast because it seemed like a safe pick for an eclectic group including a couple of people with less than adventurous tastes. However, the quality of food was far better than I expected. The meats were exceptionally well prepared and the service was excellent. I was very glad this "safe" pick made even the foodies happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for a work celebration lunch

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a group of 8 for a work celebration. We shared the group meals and they were fantastic. The vegetables were amazing, and the chicken was fantastic. I recommend this place for a celebration or work lunch. If the weather was nicer I would have asked for a seat outside on the river.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a regular

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I rarely write reviews, but I felt compelled to because I love this place. I work a block away and have had multiple lunches, after-work drinks, and dinners there. I've introduced a bunch of people to it and every one has raved. Great cocktails, fantastic and unique food (esp. for non-veggie folks), awesome view (esp. outside in summer), friendly staff. Go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great view, fantastic blues band, pretty good food

Dined on April 24, 2016

- Croque Madame was just ok and didn't come with potatoes or anything else - Hubbies potatoes and shrimp po boy were excellent - Bloody Mary's had the right amount of spice but the skewer wasn't worth the extra $ - Made reservation 2 weeks in advance.. Was disappointed that this did not get us patio seating for an anniversary date on a rare gorgeous April day in Chicago; had to settle for a window seat - Our server was extremely friendly but over-extended and therefore not attentive enough

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Blues Brunch in the City

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Came here with girlfriends who were visiting from out of town -- what better way to show them the true Chicago than have brunch outside along the river, listening to live blues/jazz music while sipping on a bloody mary with a side car. The service was fantastic and the menu was out of this world - we wanted to order one of everything. The hash is great and the Rabbit and Waffles were the best I've ever had! Definitely going back soon to eat everything else on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Chicago's most underrated restaur ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

One of Chicago's most underrated restaurant's! Chef John has a great operation.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

River Roast

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful restaurant/bar right on the Chicago river. Food was good and there's a nice variety on the menu. Service was also very good. Our waiter was friendly and attentive

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Popover delight

Dined on April 22, 2016

I really enjoy going here... never a disappointment. My friend said this was the best dinning experience we've had together... and we've been friends for over 15 years and we've dined every well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Decent for last night in Chicago

Dined on April 20, 2016

The protein carving for two is more suitable for three people. The chicken was good, but I would not call it outstanding. Neither the chicken nor the cocktails were worth the prices being charged in my opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

On secod thought ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Making mistakes is easy. Making apologies is hard. I just got a very heartfelt apology from management at River Roast. Any company that cares that much about the perception of its clients must care about pleasing them each and every day so I must chalk up my experience that evening to a bad day when anticipated staffing was not equal to the unanticipated beautiful evening. I will give River Roast another try if only to experience what looks like the best perch on the Chicago River.

food3
ambience4
service4

Disappointed that we made a reservation ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Disappointed that we made a reservation and when we arrived there were a number of outside tables available for our size group but were told it would be an hour wait. Not sure what the value of a reservation is at this place. Also since the music was outside which was our reason for going (good brunch and live music) you couldn't really hear the music which defeated the point. Food was good as was service but this was disappointing experience.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

That's some chicken

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food at River Roast was all very good. We had the whole roasted chicken, roast beef, fish, and peas. The only downside was the service. Unfortunately, we were seated in a small area next to a huge TV at table-level. We asked to turn the TV off, and that was not a problem. Our server was a bit inattentive, especially regarding the au jus and pop-over (which was otherwise good).

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Eh

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was OK. Location (outside on river) was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Date Night

Dined on April 16, 2016

My fiance lives out of state and came in to visit. We had an amazing time, the food was great and the ambiance of the place was just perfect for our short weekend together.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time, excellent service, excellent m ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

2nd time, excellent service, excellent menu, excellent experience overall. ... we've had the.pork for two, the chicken for two...fried rabbit and mussels as an appetizer......

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

On a cold and wet Sunday came to River Roast for brunch. Great atmosphere with a Blue bands playing, and the food did not disappoint. As a Brit, it was great to experience the American version of a traditional roast.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Salty Beef

Dined on April 9, 2016

Don't get the beef! Not worth it. Ours was especially salty. Their Free bread was the only thing I enjoyed. Wish I ordered the fish or chicken instead.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun Time

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

River Roast had a good selection of food which was very interesting. The service staff was a lot of fun and kept us interested.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice birthday dinner

Dined on April 5, 2016

The duck terrine appetizer and the beef roast were spectacular. Our server had some great recommendations for desserts to order. When I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday, he brought out a red velvet cake, which had been one of dessert choices we were considering but ended up not ordering. It was very good.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't know river roast had a live band ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Didn't know river roast had a live band for brunch on the weekend. Place was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Get the roast pork incredible

Dined on April 2, 2016

Get the roast pork incredible

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.