About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
Burger - River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL
River Roast, Chicago, IL

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (84)
Waterfront (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Comfort Food (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Casual (32)
Great for Lunch (30)
Family Style (26)
Live Music (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Fun (23)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (18)
People Watching (16)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Cozy (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (11)
Great Beer (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Seasonal (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Private Room (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
 (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After a rough start, we wound up having ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

After a rough start, we wound up having an incredibly good time at River Roast. Despite having an 8 pm reservation, we weren't seated until 8:30. Naturally that put us in a bad mood about the place.

But our night improved once we got to our table. We had a great view of the river and our server was prompt and answered all of our questions.

We got the roasted chicken with a side of brussel sprouts. Everything was bursting with flavor. The chicken, side potatoes and brussel sprouts were seasoned and prepared perfectly. I can't recall a meal more perfectly prepared.

For dessert we shared an ice cream sandwich, which is ice cream between two large fresh chocolate chip cookies. Wow is all I can say. Delightful.

Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the pleasure to be served by Oscar, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the pleasure to be served by Oscar, he was fantastic. The food was also great!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My young adult children and I had a wond ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My young adult children and I had a wonderful meal and visit at the Saturday Brunch. Each of us enjoyed a delicious meal with live music. Service was excellent and we had a lovely city river view. Crafted beer and cocktails were enjoyed as well. I definitely plan to return to River Roast!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A $29 chicken better be special. RR chic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

A $29 chicken better be special. RR chicken was Very good. Maybe not special. Potatoes could have been better and more. Great Brussels sprouts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This was a very nice dining experience! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a very nice dining experience! Highly recommended.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef John puts together some to the fine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Chef John puts together some to the finest gastronomic delights you could ever imagine. I confess that last Saturday I went for some simple comfort food for Brunch. Biscuits and gravy.

Never have I imagined that B's and G could be divine. You're probably saying, "c'mon now, really?" But it is so. It's all good. You can't go wrong at the River Roast !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. It came very quick but th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was good. It came very quick but the restaurant wasn't very busy. We had good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My family loved the blues brunch at Rive ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My family loved the blues brunch at River Roast. The food was outstanding, and the music was perfect. Get the sweet potatoes side - as our server said, phenomenal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. Service and food were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant. Service and food were both great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for thanksgiving. Food was fine bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for thanksgiving. Food was fine but not spectacular or imaginative...pretty mundane. Service was professional and attentive...better than the food. Good location with nice views but at their prices it's no value

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to River Roast for Thanksgiving din ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went to River Roast for Thanksgiving dinner and it was great!! The food was amazing! The buffet was not huge but what was offered was fantastic. We will definitely go back next year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Thanksgiving buffet!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third thanksgiving feast wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our third thanksgiving feast with River Roast. They do not disappoint. Everything was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from out of town and picked Riv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Visiting from out of town and picked RiverRoast for our Thanksgiving celebration! It was perfect buffet family style dining! Never disappointed when I go...will keep coming back !

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great Thanksgiving lunch with f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great Thanksgiving lunch with family at friends. Great space, awesome food and A class service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best mashed potatoes ever

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best mashed potatoes ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. I was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. I was very impressed with the quality of the food at the buffet, as buffets are very hard to do and keep the food quality high. I look forward to a visit to try their regular menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One major issue- the restaurant concept! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One major issue- the restaurant concept!! We were a party of 5. Very confusing when you "have to" a the guidance of the menu and server purhcase meals for two and if one of you doesn't want what the other wants makes it very difficult! Also the sight of a whole chicken upside down for us was a bit disconcerting! The vege/pumpkin dish came highly recommended, and looked great but was a bit too firm and the whole thing just did not come together as a combined dish. Average wine bottle prices too high, need a wider range of prices.

Sorry, we really wanted to love it, but have cancelled our Christmas booking. Positives were the location on the river and ambience, fish was excellent, service excellent but concept is missing something to make it as special as we thought it would/could be! Meals options for one would be a great start!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

After a great dining experience about a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

After a great dining experience about a year ago, we found he whole chicken overcooked, the beef order MR was delivered Medium and the boat of vegetables was very skimpy, too many grape tomatoes, not enough brussels, squash, etc. Disappointing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were there for the Sunday Blues Brunc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were there for the Sunday Blues Brunch. Great music. Loved our waiter. Food was fantastic. I started with a bloody mary with a skewer which was a meal by itself. Then we all shared the beet salad, roast chicken, hogan's peas and my youngest daughter ordered a cheeseburger. More than enough for 4. Best chicken we ever had. Would love to enjoy the riverside outdoor space in warmer weather.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Must go for the cubano; however, the cub ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Must go for the cubano; however, the cubano is not available on the weekend brunch menu :(. Went on the weekend and chef agreed to accommodate the request. - thanks so much!! They went above and beyond on this request. Weekend brunch has live blues music which is extremely relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a great place to share food and tr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It is a great place to share food and try different things. We shared the fish and the beef and both were delicious. The sides were great too. The salad special was amazing, made with shaved Brussel Sprouts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm a vegan, and my husband is not. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I'm a vegan, and my husband is not. We both enoted the roasted, charred, smoke-sweet flavor of the vegetables. He passed on the whole roast chicken, but is already looking forward to trying it on our next visit. He had the golden gobblers of fried chicken instead, and said they were excellent. The service was responsive and Emma, our server, was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We've already booked our next reservation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brussel sprouts were a standout. Loved ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Brussel sprouts were a standout. Loved the patio on warm November day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Best roast chicken anywhere

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best roast chicken anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great brunch menu with great cocktail op ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great brunch menu with great cocktail options. the service was amazing as well! Swift and friendly

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a lot of healthy choices for brunch. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Not a lot of healthy choices for brunch.

Opted for the omelet of the day with beef, oven roasted cherry tomatoes, and 5 year aged cheddar. It tasted great but there was hardly any meat in the omelet. It came with house oven roasted rosemary potatoes which came out over done and dry with no sign or flavor of rosemary.

As I final note, I was expecting the restaurant would bring a candle and dessert for the birthday celebration I mentioned in the reservation. I specified in the reservation notes it was a birthday and would like a table next to the window with a pretty view of the Chicago River. They did give me a nice table but no candle to finish the meal or bubbly on the house :(

So many restaurants have done for me in the past I am spoiled now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

This was my second time to River Roast a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second time to River Roast and enjoyed another great meal and equally great service. Will recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening. We had an excell ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. We had an excellent server... Very knowledgeable . It was a bit loud, but understandable since it was a Saturday night. The food portions were large so we were able to share. I'm sure we will be back.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great grilled meat and great grilled veg ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great grilled meat and great grilled vegetables.

Good beers on draft.

Very good service and nice location.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place for business lunch and famil ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great place for business lunch and family dinner. Very nice ambiance and great service. Everything from appetizer thru salad and entree was delicious. Definitely, I will come back there very soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food concepts! Innovative, ru ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Delicious food concepts! Innovative, rustic, winderg flavors and presentation. Well worth trying once. You'll come back often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came just for the ambience right on the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came just for the ambience right on the river and was blown away by the food. Brunch was fantastic. Got the croque Madame and ate the whole thing. Must try the crab toast and advocating. To die for. Fabulous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I was in town for the weekend, and River ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was in town for the weekend, and River Roast was a must. We sat on the patio in the November sunshine and enjoyed the Roast Chicken with peas. Delicious food, great ambiance with the live blues band. I would always recommend this place.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We're repeat visitors to River Roast (th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We're repeat visitors to River Roast (this was our fourth time), so we thought it would be fun to celebrate a duo-birthday there for Sunday brunch. Unfortunately, we experienced really poor service this time (most other times has been above average). For example, our server came back and offered refills on mimosas for half of our table but didn't check in with the rest of the table, so our birthday boys had no beverages. No one asked how our food was tasting. We had to ask a bus person to find our server to get the check, and then she asked us if we wanted dessert but didn't have the check with her (so we waited another 5 minutes after waiting 15 before). The bus service was very good, but our service experience was poor. I can't remember the last time I wanted to tip 15% in a restaurant, but since we were a large group, our service charge was preset. Maybe that's why we didn't get the attention we deserved. Kind of embarrassing when you're the person who makes the reservation for a special occasion. Our There were a few other things as well but no need to get into petty details. I guess we'd recommend it for a smaller group in the future (assuming poor service was due to our table size), but that's a bummer since getting the Roasts to share as a group are a big part of the fun. The location is great, especially if you want to sit outside on a warm fall day (we weren't able to due to group size and a reported 1 hour 45 min wait).

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Awesome service and even better food! M ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome service and even better food! Much better for a group of four or more due to size of the roasts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed the food and atmosphere ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have enjoyed the food and atmosphere at River Roast on multiple occasions but hit the jackpot with out-of-town friends last weekend. Qualities of the restaurant did not disappoint (the roasted chicken over potatoes is particularly outstanding!), but being able to enjoy each other's company at an outdoor riverside table on an early November evening in Chicago was a bonus. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family-style dining option was perfect c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Family-style dining option was perfect choice for small group. Roasted meats carved tableside and delicious vegetable dishes provided something for everyone to enjoy. Great riverside location.

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of new favorites. The fish is amazin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

One of new favorites. The fish is amazing and I additionally like the chicken appetizer, chicken entree, and the pork entree.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great spot for a quick dinner! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Always a great spot for a quick dinner! Chef John & his staff do a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.