About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

  • River Roast
  • River Roast
  • River Roast
River Roast
River Roast
River Roast

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

great for outdoor dining (137)
scenic view (136)
good for groups (101)
See All
fit for foodies (89)
great for lunch (60)
special occasion (59)
great for brunch (50)
hot spot (39)
romantic (33)
neighborhood gem (31)
kid-friendly (19)
vibrant bar scene (17)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is what a really good restaurant do ...

Dined 4 days ago

This is what a really good restaurant does...It takes a limited menu of very good simple food and elevates it to a level that is fresh, tasty and different and keeps you wanting to come back again and again. Well Done!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a reservation but wanted to eat o ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation but wanted to eat outside on the patio by the river. Turns out that no reservation is required for that. Had the fire roasted fish and potatoes and both were really good. Interesting cocktails & wine/beer list. Good value as well considering the quality and quantity of food. We did not leave hungry.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Superb View of the River. If you want to ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Superb View of the River. If you want to dine on the river , this is one of the best locations. The menu is rather limited and pricey .

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

High prices for a selection of very heav ...

Dined 6 days ago

High prices for a selection of very heavy food. Food rathe unremarkable. We ordered charcuterie, cauliflower and the cheesey appetizer special, can't recall the name. Just would have preferred some lighter options.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live blues on a Saturday afternoon was a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Live blues on a Saturday afternoon was a real treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!!!

Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing!!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service were outstanding. Locat ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were outstanding. Location very good. Gerardo was very attentive.

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Good food and good service. First Come ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Good food and good service. First Come First serve for outdoor seating but inside was nice too!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat along the river and ate delicious fo ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Sat along the river and ate delicious food. Great attentive service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great time there! good service, t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It was great time there! good service, the food was very good, we had a good time!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service from the front door til de ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service from the front door til dessert. Brunch on Father's Day with family and really good food. All of us lived the brunch menu. Definitely will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved sitting on the outdoor patio dinin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved sitting on the outdoor patio dining on roast beef, asparagus, salad, and appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were spending the day on the river ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were spending the day on the river walk and decided to try River Roast. We made a 5pm reservation but decided we were hungry at 3pm. We showed up and they were in process of turning tables for dinner. The hostess was very welcoming and found a table for us. The menu was limited but fantastic! Excellent charcuterie board, fab pate, yummy moscow mule and nice scenery; too bad the jazz music stopped the minute we arrived (again, the change to dinner service). Would go back for full menu. Great service too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat on the deck on the river. It was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We sat on the deck on the river. It was perfect. Our server and his menu recommendations were excellent.

food5
ambience4
service4

Get the country fried rabbit!!!!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Get the country fried rabbit!!!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The night was great the only drawback wa ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The night was great the only drawback was the waiter was kind of rude I had eaten here many times and knew what I wanted. He kept on pushing me to pair my food differently and on the third request he became very standoff. Other than that it was great I truly love eating at River Roast

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious family style setting. Server ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious family style setting. Server pushed hard to order everything at once which is hard to really estimate for a larger group. Despite completing full order at once, side still showed up late after mains. Delicious food. Fought for table outside which is first come first served. Inside bar was very slow to recognize we were waiting for a beverage before table was available. Bartender/ was 100% focused on pre-cutting his drink accompaniments instead of customers.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. The service was great ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great experience. The service was great despite busy happy hour.

food1
ambience5
service3
value1

River roast is ???? I can't not say. Th ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

River roast is ???? I can't not say. The outside dining is amazing. It's right on the river. The view is great. But that's about it. Mr Levy, put your foot down!!! This place with a great chef could be one of the top in Chicago. The appetizers are so so. The salads are so so. The whole roasted chicken is so so (needs sause) the roast beef is ok if you like meat that is well done. Forget about med rare and I doubt it is prime. The fish is ok if you like breaded fish (non breaded option dose not look so good). The desserts are terrible. Btw. This place is expensive!!! That's my point. Everything is just so so. At not so so prices. Will I come back?? Probably. but just for the views. Definitely not for the food. (I did like the potatoes.)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing "date with my Dad" for Fa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Had an amazing "date with my Dad" for Father's Day. We got in late and made reservations on the way- were late for our reservation AND got there 30-45 Minutes before they kitchen closed and no one missed a beat- not one person was annoyed!! SOOO awesome! Delicious food and great service- we even had the entire back deck to ourselves.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I took my staff there for a business lun ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I took my staff there for a business lunch and the food was fabulous! The meal was well priced and I would definitely go there again.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went here specifically for the location ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Went here specifically for the location and outdoor seating. The view of the river and being able to watch the activity of the boats, tours, and kayaks was a lot of fun. And, the food was great as well! Everyone raved about the various chicken, pork, and fish that we sampled. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I couldn't wait to see what John Hogan h ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I couldn't wait to see what John Hogan had in store for this (maybe not very) new location. While his partners in this venture have their own nuances that they feature, this place is all about John's tastes. 11am reservation for Sunday Brunch was ready for us even though the line we had to get in was out the door and starting down the street at 10:55. The waitstaff handled the onslaught of the first rush expertly and were very good in taking care of our table. We ordered brunch items and not one disappointed. Rabbit and Waffles had my name written all over it. The rabbit breading was tasty itself and the rabbit quarter was succulent. Omelet of the day was Swiss Chard, Asparagus, Tomato Confit and Goat Cheese ordered by a real meat and potatoes kind of guy. We were surprised that he would order this type of omelet yet he finished the plate clean. Scotch eggs with house made sausage had to be a highlight for the ladies in the group as well as the shaved salad was perfect. A couple of Mimosa's, Beermosa's, and Bloody Marys rounded out the experience. Hot Rod Brown was just firing for the Blues Brunch crowd as we were leaving. We got to say hi to John and he graciously took a picture with us. I have been to many restaurants featuring the partners in this business and look forward to coming back to John's place - River Roast.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food pray for good weather. Gr ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food pray for good weather. Great meals to share.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were celebrating my son's engagement ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were celebrating my son's engagement and both the furure bride and groom were happy with everything. Thank you for making it special with a little cake and candle. Ryan, our bar tender was THE best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed with the food. Wasn't terri ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Disappointed with the food. Wasn't terrible but could have been better. Won't go back.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time visiting and it was as good as ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

2nd time visiting and it was as good as the first. Our waiter Thomas was fantastic. Chef John and the crew do a great job. Brunch and Blues is awesome!!!!! Rabbit and Waffles perfect mid-day meal.......... Hope to be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1

The food was decent. A little bland but ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was decent. A little bland but heavy seasonings. Our waiter was awful. The bus buy was fine but the waiter was very off putting. Whenever he would come to the table he would look past the three of us or down at the ground. He would not check up throughout the meal and was unresponsive to several requests. The outdoor atmosphere was nice in the summer, positioned right next to the river.

food4
ambience3
service4

Wonderful menu choices, great server, ni ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful menu choices, great server, nice jazz. We loved our dishes.

food4
ambience4
service1

Had to wait 20 minutes to be seated desp ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Had to wait 20 minutes to be seated despite having a reservation and there were open tables. Took another 10 minutes to take our drink order. Food was good, especially the shishito pepper and fried olive appetizers.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great birthday lunch at River R ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a great birthday lunch at River Roast! Sitting outside by the river was great, and the presentation of the food is very cool.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent time spent with my wife on our ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent time spent with my wife on our weekly date.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great scenary, food was mediocre for pricing.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We dined on the carved roast beef, oysters and street corn. The outdoor patio overlooking the river was pleasant enough, but the food itself was no more than mediocre. If going for more than an appetizer and drinks, I'd recommend another place. The meat itself was fatty and over salted.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and music. Service needs work

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Had a delicious brunch with friends--once we could get the attention of the wait staff. We were there at an off-peak time so we were disappointed to watch wait staff rushing by (and checking their phones) as we sat there with our menus.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3

Pork dish was excellent

Dined on June 4, 2016

Pork dish was excellent

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good Food! Nice view right on the river.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Good food & wait service. Although, a bit on the pricey side. Good for group lunches and/or special occasions. Nice view right on the river.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spiot for lunch

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Had lunch here with a friend and granted it was a spectacular day, but the food, atmosphere and service was really great. The outdoor deck near the river would be a good spot for tourist to enjoy the Chicago scene or residents to enjoy their own city.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service in a great location

Dined on June 2, 2016

Loved the view from the patio overlooking the river. Everything we ate was excellent...fried olives, fish, beef and all the sides. Going back for sure. Worth the wait for outdoor seating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good Food, Terrible Service.

Dined on May 31, 2016

Food was honestly very good, however our waitress was incredibly rude & demeaning, ruining our 1st year wedding anniversary dinner. Thusly, we will never be returning & will advise our family/friends not to eat here.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view in the city

Dined on May 29, 2016

I went on a date with my boyfriend on a beautiful weekend night. They take reservations, but not for outside--you still have to wait. But, it's worth it. Beautiful scenery. Drinks were great, price was moderate, food was delicious. We got the chicken roast--it can serve more than 2 people!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.