About River Roast

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

River Roast’s Thanksgiving spread will feature gourmet “chef’s tables” piled high with mouthwatering favorites. Stations will include a variety of salads, savory entrées, traditional carved meats and an abundance of sides and appetizers. The cost is $55/person.

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (100)
Scenic View (96)
Great for Outdoor Dining (94)
See All
Casual (55)
Good for Groups (53)
Comfort Food (50)
Fun (49)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (41)
People Watching (34)
Business Meals (33)
Great for Lunch (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (22)
Live Music (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Romantic (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Great Beer (17)
Healthy (17)
Seasonal (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Cozy (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
1099 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Made a reservation since the reviews showed this place as an exceptional experience. We sat outside and the view was the highlight of the whole brunch time. I reserved here due to live Jazz on Saturdays but unfortunately we didn't hear anything... assuming we were outside and it was also calling for rain. The food was average and not expensive for the location. I wouldn't come back for the food but for cocktails at the bar or on the patio is recommended. As well, the service was excellent from the beginning until the end。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

We were fortunate enough to get a seat on the outdoor patio overlooking the river on a busy Friday night. Service was attentive and friendly. We ordered a round of drinks to start our meal. The server informed us about their menu and what they were know for (whole roasted chicken).

The menu was interesting but stuck with their recommendation of the chicken. Also had the rabbit appetizer, and spinach for the side. The chicken was uninspired and poorly prepared. If you roast the entire bird, and especially if you do it upright (like beer can chicken), then it need to be properly trussed so that the white meat doesn't overcook before the dark meat does. But... it's also meant so that no one part of the bird is exposed to too much heat during the process. Well, that's exactly what happened. Several parts of the chicken were basically burnt. The skin and meat became jerky. The parts that were not burnt were grossly underseasoned. It felt like it needed some sort of pan jus or sauce to give it some life.

That being said, the rabbit was tender and tasty, although the plating left a lot to be desired. It's decent sized portion that was served in a woefully small creme brule type dish. Didn't affect the taste though.

Best part of the meal though was their berry cobbler. It was a huge portion (although at $16, it definitely should have been) and was very tasty. Berries tasted fresh, nice balance with the cobbler crust, and a simple vanilla ice cream.

The location, atmosphere, and service are worth going for... the food may be hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

What great place. I keep coming here whenever I’m in town. The food is great and the view of the river is splendid!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Excellent food, atmosphere and service, especially the band; everything was great !! Highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Amazing food. Maybe the best chicken I’ve ever had. Too bad it was rainy, would have lived to have eaten on the terrace.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at River Roast. Our server was excellent--very attentive and answered all of our questions. Four of us split the roast chicken and an 8oz roast beef with some sides. I appreciated that the noise level of the restaurant was not overly loud--you could hear the people at your table talking and didn't have to shout to be heard.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Probably my favorite tables in the Chicago Loop area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Great food great service. 3 of us shared the roasted chicken with a side of carrots and dirt (carrots with goat cheese). Everything was great, especially the roasted potatoes with the chicken.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We visited this restaurant after I ran the Chicago marathon! They helped me celebrate and were very accommodating! We will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent food. We had the chicken and the carrots with dirt, outstanding!! Highly rec0

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Nice atmosphere and very good food with local ingredients.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very disappointed in service. If you want bread be sure to ask for it. Our waiter didn't offer bc we didn't mention it but gave to everyone around us Disappointed in roast beef Brussels sprouts and scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The restaurant itself is in a great location and has a great atmosphere, but soon as it took 10 minutes for our server to come by I knew the experience wasn't going to be good. Once our server finally came by we ordered drinks which took 15 mins to arrive and when it did my beer was warm. I then asked what was in the bloody mary and our server had no idea and basically told us the usual stuff. So I ordered an appetizer and after 25 minutes I asked where it was and he said he would check and then returned with our lunch dishes instead, which one of us asked what was in something, the server said it had beef and it came with pork.... Instead of apologizing or trying to make it right says we won't be charged for the appetizer. Really? Thanks for not charging us for something that was never given to us.. Overall the service was below par and the fact the server had no clue what was going on made it not enjoyable at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious Branzino and Roasted chicken. Out of town friends throughly enjoyed. Our server was knowledgeable, polite and efficient. We have always liked and know two more are fans!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Unique way to present food for family style eating. Food is tasty and well prepared. A bit overpriced. Very overpriced wine list. We did not get one of our appetizers. Then we did not get an itemized bill, realized this too late.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We went to River Roast while in Chicago for sightseeing. A friend recommended it and had given us a good recommendation for San Fran. Too bad this isn't baseball. .500 would be HOF. Sadly, River Roast was underwhelming. We were seated next to a screen that was supposed to divide the dining area from a private party. Screens do nothing for noise. And that party wanted to make sure EVERYONE knew they had a birthday. Over and over again. A private party isn't really private when only a screen or curtain separates them from the rest of the dining room - bad design. The server quickly took our orders. The food arrived within minutes. The couple next to us had the same server who very attentively plated their meals and spent extra time finding out about their weekend plans, etc. For us, he was no where to be found when the food arrived or for some time after. The platter with the fish was plopped on the table by a different server who disappeared in the blink of an eye. Finally, I plated the meal for my wife and me. Despite the speed in which the meal arrived, the fish was, at best, lukewarm. I'm guessing it was prepared earlier in the day and hadn't been warmed up enough. Speed is great as long as the food doesn't suffer. In this case, it did. I hope the couple next to us gave the server a great tip. His tip from me reflected our experience. The bottom line - - super-noisy, inattentive service (to us), lukewarm food and (for the quality) high prices. That's four strikes. I won't give River Roast a second opportunity to burn me.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waiter and their service was excellent. Great views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The food was delicious. Service was not good :(. I would try it again and hope for better service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

River Roast has the best fried chicken my family and I have ever eaten. Also, I love the casual dress code in a prime downtown restaurant. It's unpretentious and comfortable with a great view.
Although, I was a little bummed the menu changed and was not able order some of the food offerings I saw photos of online. . . . . I was really looking forward to Chicken Pot Pie. You can bet I'll return to River Roast when it's back on the menu. YUM!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The specialty is roasted entrees. Well cooked, good sides and reasonable prices. The waiters are a little over the top with their description of how the food is prepared. It is unnecessary for diners who have been there before. Good for families with children.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Looking for lunch on sat and roast was a good combination of brunch and lunch. We had a party of 5 so we were able to try a few. Out of 5, Crab toasts 3, whole fish was a 3 but 42$ which moved it from a 4 , rabbit and waffles also a delicious 4 @14$, the Oktoberfest board @ 18$ 2 because of the cost, lamb pastrami, which was more like a salad and also one of the winners with a 4 and at steel at $12. Very surprising. Rabbit, fish and pastrami were the best. Cocktails were standard fare but good. Overall very good meal. Would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great food, family-style comfort food in an elegant setting !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

This was my second time to dine there in several years, as my colleagues and I travel to Chicago every other year for a convention. The first time was fantastic and the food was excellent. Two years later, the experience was just as good.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2017

sitting on the river is a great place to be
service was outstanding
pleasant waiter
second visit in a week
wish they would guarantee outside seating when making the reservation
visitors from out of town love the outside seating
patricia piacente

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had brunch with the family there. The carving board chicken and beef were great. The boat load of veggies missed the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

They forgot to text us or get us for our table. Then when seated no one came to our table for at least 15min. Had to flag down bus boy to ask. Serve terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Went to dinner with the girls. Waited an hour for a table on the patio, and walked along the river walk while we waited. It was totally worth the wait, the weather was beautiful, as was the view and the ambience. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, and very attentive to food allergies in our group. And of course, the food was delicious. We ordered a few salads to get us started, and then had the whole chicken and the fish. It was more than enough food for the 6 of us... And we even had leftovers to take home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Had an excellent experience at River Roast. Staff was very welcoming, service excellent and great ambience outside on the patio overlooking the river.

Then there's the food--we ordered the special fried chicken. It was seriously the BEST we've ever had. Crispy. Moist. Tasty. Delicious.

The only complaint is that the fried chicken is a special and we were told that it may not be on the menu after September. We highly recommend River Roast!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Perfect weather to sit outside and view was relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Perfection. The food was great and the restaurant is perfect for sitting outside (weather permitting). The service is excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food and great view. Will recommend and come back!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was very good, but some veggies were slightly salty. But, the rest of the goodness exceptional. The Sea Bass was great!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Quick Bite, Healthy, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Live Music, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a great night and great meal. I'll definitely be adding river roast to my list of good venues

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great for meat and potatoes offering. Wonderful chicken with awesome smokey flavor. Best I've ever had. Appetizers are elevated which is more my foodie style.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Brought a friend travelling to the US; he loved it!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Took a client to dinner at River Roast in Chicago.

Wanted a casual restaurant but one offering good food.

Menu was limited either to "roasts" to be shared - beef, chicken, pork, fish - with only a couple of dishes offered for individual dining.

Ordered buratta and tomato salad and scallops with greens salad as appetizers. The burrata was served "smashed" rather than whole; not as I had expected and somewhat unappetizing presentation. The scallops were tasty but got lost mixed in with all of the greens.

Our branzino was prepared "fire-roasted" and was plated without any accoutrements save for some large fried "somethings".

Waiter, while attentive, seemed like he wanted to be somewhere else.

All in all, a somewhat forgettable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Salad was perfection! Lightly dressed, savory and delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Being right on the river was very nice. We had to sit inside or wait 30 minutes. The appetizers were very small and just fair. The meats were delicious but none of the sides were very good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Me and my wife travel all over, this was one of the best experiences we have had. The food was amazing the service awesome. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very good experience! Thank you for everything! We had two small kids and accommodations were made last minute to make room for highchairs with no problem. Great service! Great food! Great views! One of my favorite places for brunch. Get there right when they open to get a seat on the patio.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.