About River Roast

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Restaurant Photos

  • River Roast
  • River Roast
  • River Roast
River Roast
River Roast
River Roast

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (191)
Scenic View (174)
Good for Groups (122)
See All
Fit for Foodies (105)
Great for Lunch (88)
Special Occasion (81)
Great for Brunch (57)
Romantic (46)
Hot Spot (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Kid-friendly (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Late-night Find (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sort By:
Newest
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time here and it was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 hours ago

This was our second time here and it was great again. The Big Fish and Pork were fabulous. Our service outstanding and the views were perfect. You can't get any better view from the Chicago River than River Roast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance at the river is the biggest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance at the river is the biggest draw. Service was friendly. With very few exceptions, the dishes are for sharing. Whole chicken, two person size rib etc. Not great when dining alone. The steak was okay, not great and the mushrooms very salt. I always add salt to everything but had to rinse the mushrooms with water to make those eatable. Suitable for groups who want to share and where the quality of the food isn't the key driver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This a great pre theater place. We wal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This a great pre theater place. We walked over from the Goodman theater and took about 5 minutes. We went on a Sunday and selected our food from their brunch menu. The food was terrific. The salads were fresh and the burger was cooked perfectly. We all enjoyed the music too. I will definitely come back for dinner!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved everything! Recommend... The pork( ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved everything! Recommend...

The pork( from super tender to crunchy all on one cutting board)

Carrots and Dirt (tables fave veggie dish)

Ice Cream Sandwich (cookies to die for)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful evening as we sat outside over ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful evening as we sat outside overlooking the river and watched the sun go down as the city lights came up. Seared bay scallops were a great start and the pork roast for two (carved table-side) was outstanding. Crusty on the outside, juicy on the inside. Sides included the mushrooms with brioche, very good, and the RR potatoes, exceptional. Carrot cake for dessert was a fitting finish to a fine experience. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant, the food is wonder ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant, the food is wonderful. We sat inside due to weather and a band was playing. The music was good but way to loud for such a small place. It was hard to have a conversation with our friends and also to hear our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Lunch with Co-Workers and we a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went for Lunch with Co-Workers and we all had a great meal. We all love the Miniature frying basket and BBQ Chips. We will be coming back soon to try the Roast Chicken. We hope to have more time there and not rush to get back to the office.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful view of the river......food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful view of the river......food was delicious. Servers were excellent!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place! We enjoyed the food and the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great place! We enjoyed the food and the outdoor seating was beautiful. We will definitely come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything is solid though nothing is a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything is solid though nothing is a big WOW. Love the simple and straightforward options of meat + sides, and also a good number of vegetable options. Great place for big groups and with a great view on the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

If you like chicken, you won't find any ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

If you like chicken, you won't find any better than this. The meat is always tender and juicy, and the skin crispy and delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was overpriced and lacked flavor

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was overpriced and lacked flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

We enjoyed our dinner at the wonderful o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at the wonderful outdoor dining balcony. The delicious food was inventive without being outlandish. We will be definitely return!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a huge disappointment. Had River R ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a huge disappointment. Had River Roast on my list of places to check out and went here for a celebratory brunch, with family from out of town, due to location on the river. We arrived early, and waited at the bar for our reservation time. This was the highlight of the visit. Our bartender, (didn't catch his name) was wonderful, kind, good-spirited and up-beat. Even took time to make a special drink, even though there were very busy. Fantastic bloody mary! The meal itself was good but not the best brunch I have ever had. Maybe because we didn't order the fancy roast meats, there was less attention paid to our meal. Great location, great bar staff, good food, but execution needs a lot of work....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Beautiful patio view of the river and th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Beautiful patio view of the river and the the beauty of our fair city. Food is very good but it dies have a limited menu. Veggie plate is disappointing but the chicken, and roasted potatoes are fantastic. Wine list a bit lacking on the higher end.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Poured with rain so after sitting on the ...

 
 (Acapulco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Poured with rain so after sitting on the terrace for a while getting splashed gave up and went inside, perhaps a better awning covering the entire terrace would be better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good food, and great view

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good food, and great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What's not to like! Great fish n chick ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

What's not to like! Great fish n chicken!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a great time at River Roast. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a great time at River Roast. The outside seating is spectacular. The food is really good, though the menu takes some getting used to in terms of figuring out portion sizes etc. definitely a recommendation!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing beats patio seating on a nice su ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Nothing beats patio seating on a nice summer evening in Chicago. While they noted a patio table wasn't guaranteed when I made a reservation, when I got there, it was only a 20-30 minute wait. We sat at the bar and when the table was ready, we were swiftly seated.

The view was great and the food better than expected. Two of us split the zucchini blossoms, crab and avocado toast, roast beef, potatoes, and Mexican corn - everything was yummy and I'd order it all again.

The service was also good. Attentive, but not overbearing, as well as patient. As we were finishing our meal, my brother showed up and ordered more food and drinks. This extended our time at the table, but the waiter didn't bat an eye, even when we became one of the last tables to leave. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great lunch with a friend. We watched t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great lunch with a friend. We watched the river traffic as we dined outside and enjoyed delicious salads. Suggestion, get a few umbrellas so there is a little shade along the riverside tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for our wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary and the blues brunch. We had reservations for 11:00 AM and we were able to sit in the shade outside. It gets very warm there in the sun with not alot of breeze and no umbrellas. Many people who originally sat in the sun moved after a period of time. The food was very good but not as spectacular as I remember. Not sure if it was our server (who seemed to be more interested in turning the table than explaining things) or being outside. Whatever the case, we had a good time and would go back with some minor modifications to our time spent there.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very accommodating for those with dietar ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very accommodating for those with dietary restrictions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great outdoor river view but limited men ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great outdoor river view but limited menu, mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

One of the nicest dinners we have had re ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

One of the nicest dinners we have had recently was at River Roast. We dined there prior to attending a play and were very impressed with the ambiance, menu, and service. Julio was our waiter (kudos to him for excellent service!) and described everything to us in detail. We ordered the chicken and 2 orders of the beef, all carved table side which added to the experience. The food is everything we expected and more: tender, flavorful and abundant. Along with a shared salad and sides, the four of us were stuffed by the end of the meal! But of course, we decided to share 2 desserts, which really topped off our experience. Dark Chocolate mousse/pudding and a cherry dessert in a mason jar were absolutely delicious! We are happy to find this wonderful establishment, right on the river at LaSalle, and will be sure to return for another great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took clients for lunch - made a great im ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Took clients for lunch - made a great impression! Had the pork and chicken roast as well as the fish and veggies. Everything was great. Definitely recommend if your client is a meat eater!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As I said to my brother as we were leavi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

As I said to my brother as we were leaving River Roast on friday - this is a good place. We had the meatball sandwich and the chicken salad. Both were tasty and well portioned for a lunch. Try to get a table along the river - the amount of river traffic these days is amazing. also the water taxi drops off and picks up at River Roast!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh healthy food. Great to share. Outd ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fresh healthy food. Great to share. Outdoor view of Chicago River and Wacker Drive buildings. Friendly, knowledgeable service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was fantastic and attentive. Beau ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Server was fantastic and attentive. Beautiful view when you sit outdoors and overlook the river. Sandwich and salad were delicious. Very good bloody mary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend for her birthday lunch a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I took a friend for her birthday lunch and although the food was good, we cut it close with us both being on our lunch breaks in terms of when the food came. I had been there prior with my daughter and it was delicious for both of us. However, I had the fish sandwich and my friend had the burger and for the prices they were both smaller than we expected. They were both good, but nothing to really brag about. Last time I had the special roast BLT and my daughter had the Ceaser's salad with beef. She loved it and I loved mine too. We also cut it close for me to go back to work. We sat outside and liked the ambience. My last visit we sat inside per my friend's request. I would go back and try it one more time. There were 2 items on the menu with an * and were somewhat distinguished by themselves. We asked our waiter and he said he did not know why they were like that. If I recall, one of the sandwiches was something like the phillie steak sandwich. Anyways had the same waiter both times. He was super nice. Would love to come after work to try some of the cocktails.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

River Roast was amazing! 5 of us ladies ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

River Roast was amazing! 5 of us ladies came together for a night of fun in the city. We picked River Roast because it was close to the hotel. We let the staff know that it was my mom's 70th birthday and my aunt's retirement celebration. NOT ONE THING WAS SHORT OF AMAZING! They brought a champagne toast on the house. The appetizers were delish. The salad and all of the entrees (MUST ORDER THE PORK) were delish. We enjoyed our time IMMMENSELY. They even brought out 2 small cakes for dessert (again--on the house!)

Daniel, our server, was lovely. Attentive but, not annoying.

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND A DINNER AT RIVER ROAST while downtown!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River Roast's brunch in the summer along ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

River Roast's brunch in the summer along the river with the live blues music is one of my favorites, I highly recommend it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Jordan was very friendly and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server, Jordan was very friendly and gave us a great long list of suggestions for Sunday brunch. In addition to the service and delicious food, we really enjoyed the amazing view of the river from our seats that were perched right above the scenic river walkway.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My parents were in town from Michigan fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My parents were in town from Michigan for the weekend and I was so excited about dining here for my mom's birthday brunch. I specifically chose this place because of the amazing river views and it was such a beautiful summer day. Upon arrival we were told that the outdoor patio was full and could not accommodate our party of 4. We were very disappointed as the entire reason for coming here was to sit outside, but we sat inside since that's all they said they had available. When the hostess took us down to our table, we saw out the window at least 2 tables outside that were empty! When we asked if we could sit at one of them, she told us they were being left open for larger parties than ours, and refused to seat us at one of them. However, a few minutes after we were seated, we saw a party of 4 being escorted outside to one of those tables! We thought maybe they were waiting for more people to arrive, but no. Through their entire meal, no one else ever showed up. Why was that 4-person party allowed to sit outside and we weren't?! We were all very upset about it, and it put a shadow over what was supposed to be a lovely birthday brunch for my mother. Despite having amazing food and service otherwise, I don't think I'll ever be coming back to this rude place again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Very Disappointed.. My wife and I were ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very Disappointed..

My wife and I were there for Saturday lunch. I ordered the omelet special from the brunch selections based on the waiter's descriptions. I was served a small overcooked omelet that had so many hot peppers and green chili sauce that I found it inedible. Alongside the omelet was a mound of over spiced and over cooked fried potatoes. Also with it was what was described as "air dried flank steak" which was nothing but a miniscule portion of dried shaved beef. We were seated on their lovely patio but our table was fifteen feet away from the very loud jazz band...we could not carry on a conversation. Management did the proper thing and comped my meal. There are many better placed than this on the Riverwalk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Perfect place for outdoor dining! Great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Perfect place for outdoor dining! Great sharables, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice spot to dine outside on the Chicago ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Nice spot to dine outside on the Chicago River. The chopped salad was very fresh and had a lovely dressing. Although the menu doesn't mention it, we were able to add chicken and salmon to the salad. A little pricey, but I guess that is the area. Two salads and two glasses of wine were $70.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

sat on the river, great food, ambiance b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

sat on the river, great food, ambiance but VERY LOUD & NOISY (boats, horns, etc.)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was great, if not a little expe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was great, if not a little expensive but with the view of the river and decor I'd say it was well worth it! The staff was very friendly and attentive...except our waiter who seemed very distracted by his larger party which is understandable to an extent, but I think that could have been managed better either by him on a personal level or by the management at a table assignment level. Despite that I would highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a very pleasant time. We arrived ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a very pleasant time. We arrived early for our reservation and we were seated immediately with our choice of inside or out. Due to the extreme humidity we chose an indoor window seat. We had a great view and cool air.....two important things. :) We received water and menus right away. Our waiter and water person was very prompt and polite. We enjoyed all the food. The Scotch Egg was wonderful! And the whole chicken was as we read on other review......very juicy, filled with wonderful flavors and way more than two people could eat. My husband described it as chicken flavored butter because it just melted in his mouth. We took home some lovely leftovers. :) The live singer during the brunch hour was very good. The volume was fine for us because we were inside, but I can see how it would be quite loud if you were sitting on the patio. Overall, we would love to come again and next time I'd love to have the shrimp po boy sandwich. I saw it delivered to another table and it was a huge portion especially for the price & it looked delish!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.