About River Roast

Situated on the iconic Chicago River with stunning views of downtown, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place from James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan. The menu features contemporary American tavern fare with dramatic presentations of whole roasted chicken, whole roasted fish and slow roasted beef; all carved tableside. The food is handcrafted, yet rustic, with many plates designed for sharing. The bar offers a large selection of local beer, craft cocktails, beertails, and wine. With one of the best patios in Chicago, River Roast is a great place to enjoy dining outside on a hot summer afternoon or a crisp fall evening. River Roast Private Events offers six spaces, all with spectacular views, for parties from 10 to 1,000. Saturday and Sunday features our Blues and Brews Brunch with live Chicago Blues Musicians performing from 12PM-3PM. We are open daily for lunch and dinner.

315 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
MON-THU: 11:30am-10:00pm
FRIDAY: 11:30am-11:00pm
SATURDAY: 11:00am-11:00pm
SUNDAY: 11:00am-9:00pm
HAPPY HOUR MON-THU 4:30pm - 6:30pm BAR AREA
*limited menu offered from 3-5

Cross Street:
Kinzie

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 822-0100

Website:
http://www.riverroastchicago.com/

Entertainment:
Blues & Brews Brunch

(Saturdays & Sundays 12PM-3PM )
River Roast’s curated brunch menu by Chef John Hogan paired with his favorite live Chicago blues bands.

Executive Chef:
John Hogan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you are planning a grand affair for 1200 guests or an intimate dinner for eight, our experienced event team will work with you to create a memorable event. With six spaces to choose from, each paying tribute to our historical landmark building, the options for corporate and social events are endless.

Contact our Private Events Team by email or by phone, 312-527-1417.

Private Dining

With stunning views of the river and downtown, River Roast Private Events offers an impressive setting for your next party or meeting. Helmed by James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano and Executive Chef John Hogan, River Roast is a lively social house and gathering place.

River Roast Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (113)
Scenic View (99)
Great for Outdoor Dining (97)
See All
Good for Groups (60)
Good for a Date (55)
Fun (53)
Casual (53)
Comfort Food (51)
Special Occasion (50)
Great for Lunch (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Birthdays (38)
People Watching (36)
Business Meals (36)
Great for Brunch (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Live Music (26)
Romantic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Authentic (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Seasonal (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Family Style (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Cozy (11)
Great Beer (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous meal after Juan made great recommendations. Warm and inviting atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there on a Sunday afternoon - good food, music and sights. Great place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was wonderful, everything our server recommended was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed our dinner Saturday evening at Riv er Roast. Kalyn our server was great. The Mediterranean Sea Bass was excellent and we loved the River Roast Potatoes. Outdoor dining by the River was a real plus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved River Roast!!! A beautiful setting along the Chicago river with creative cocktails and delicious food. We especially enjoyed the roasted veggies, probabaly the best vegetable preparation we've ever had. The roast pork was delicious too. We thought we would have leftovers to take home but finished every bite! We will definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Tasty food, large family style portions, upbeat atmosphere. We had great service on a very busy nite, but would have had to wait 45 minutes for a river view table so opted for indoors (no view). As visitors to the city, we'd recommend River Roast!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our party of four shared the roast chicken and two vegetable side dishes, "dirty" carrots and peas. The chicken was moist with an agreeable smokey flavor.
The excellent potatoes that came with the chicken were crisp on the outside and creamy on the inside. Apart from the noise level, the only negative was the speed with which the chicken arrived to our table so quickly after placing our order.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fight the traffic and find yourself sitting outside enjoying the Chicago river. Great wait staff, attentive but never over bearing. Meatfest meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Hostess was not hospitable. Terrible impression at the door

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Well it started out when the waitress brought us clean plates but one of them had a piece of lettuce on it so it obviously wasn't clean. Then we ordered a beer and they brought a can of beer when was that not what we had ordered. Then I asked about the potatoes and she told me they were fried and I ordered a side but she didn't tell us that we all have potatoes on our sandwiches which did not show up on the menu so we ended up with a bunch of extra potatoes

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I loved the unique menu and the chicken was delicious!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great location. Our sever was nice and attentive. However, the food was s little disappointing, as well as the wine list. The roasted veggies were barely roasted and had no flavor. I had to ask for salt to continue eating them. The beet salad is just that - all beets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We felt that the experience was worth the trip to Chicago.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Shout out to Trent, our waiter. His personable demeanor and spot-on suggestions made our experience at River Roast terrific. Even though the restaurant claimed to not have our reservation (oops- we had 2 email Open Table conformations, how fast can you say--host/hostess stand needs some help!) Once we got to our table, Trent was a fabulous waiter and directed us to many great entrees and desserts. We ended up loving River Roast and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We are regulars at many of the great restaurants in Chicago. We've eaten at River Roast many times over the last few years, but hadn't in a number of months. We always order the roasted chicken and have always enjoyed it. The potatoes as the side have made it special. This evening the chicken was very ordinary, lacking flavor and very dry. The potatoes lacked flavor and their usual crispness. We mentioned this to our server and it seemed to go unnoticed. There are too many great restaurants in Chicago to waste an evening on average quality. The table on the river is always divine, a true great city experience. But, we won't be going back to River Roast any time soon, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good food and great atmosphere but the river is still a little stinky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The only issues I had was the chicken in my Roasted Chicken Salad was very skimpy but very tasty . Everyone else's lunch was very much enjoyed. Iced Tea tasted like Lipton tea. Would not order tea again. None of us liked the Iced tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Lovely in every way, but the food was the icing on the cake! Entrees and sides both outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food, we requested a spot on the patio and they were able to accommodate, even during the lunch rush!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food is fine but they really need to expand their lunch menu. Hadn't been there since they first opened and seems like the same selections. Pretty limited.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great seating along the Chicago river. Comfort food but healthy, fresh and roasted to perfection. Fun scene in River North!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food and enjoyable time. Servers were very helpful

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Sunday jazz brunch overlooking Chicago River was the highlight of our birthday weekend in the city. Delicious. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food and atmosphere were amazing! I can not wait to go back!

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great for vegetarians, too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great restaurant ...wonderful food. Location on River Walk can't be beat! Service was good!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely amazing restaurant. The restaurant decor is very comfortable and inviting. The cocktail list had some neat and inventive cocktails. The food was amazing. We started with the tomato and burata and an order of the meatballs. Both dishes were seasoned well and ingredients were fresh and flavorful. Our next course we had the roasted chicken and with cane and with the most amazing potatoes, the chicken was juicy and had a lot of flavor. We also had the green beans and asparagus. Both were cooked beautifully. We topped our meal off with a peanut butter chocolate mouse which was amazing. Can't wait to go back. Our waiter was very nice and helpful. Just an overall fantastic evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I had been to River Roast before and loved it so we came back again. The view was beautiful and the food was great again. Shortly after we sat down and ordered, the band started playing and it was so loud that we couldn't talk because we couldn't hear each other. Also, we ordered the pork, which was $22 for 12 oz. We were charged for the 24 oz bc they brought us out a larger portion, which we didn't order. Our waiter did make the correction, but whoa. I don't want to be charged for something I didn't order!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My husband, sister and brother in law went to River Roast on a Saturday for brunch. We were seated outside on the patio and our table was about 15 feet away from the band. It was so loud that it was laughable. None of us could hear each other without yelling. We ordered the pork platter to share, the chilaquiles with smoked chicken and elotes. The pork came out raw...not undercooked or medium rare, which we would've been ok with, but raw. Our server was apologetic and took it back. They cooked it more and upon it coming back to our table, it was still a raw, seeping pork blood onto the butcher board it was served on. The $25 chilaquiles had 3 tiny pieces of chicken on them. 3! Also, our elotes never arrived, so about 15 minutes into the meal we asked if they were coming out. The most disappointing part was that when our bill arrived, everything was still on it, including the inedible raw pork. That put us in an awkward position as we asked to speak to the manager to inform him of everything that had gone wrong. He was very kind and apologetic and removed the pork and elotes from our bill and thanked us for coming. Unfortunately, despite it being a great and lively location, none of us will be returning to River Roast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best spot in town for brunch. Request the patio and a mimosa.... perfect combination

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, great environment, great staff!! The whole chicken outstanding and moist!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our meal was delicious and the service was outstanding. Thank you for a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Second time with lower level result. Chicken and pork were dry. Server had no personality. Felt like we were being put through an automated system.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The ambience is very trendy and cool. Kind of industrial-chic. They have a good beer and cocktail menu. I felt the roast beef was tough and the horseradish was weak. Almost like mayonnaise. No heat. I will probably try it again, but I won't get the roast beef again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The Country Boil with shrimp and mussels, and the rack of pork were both awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

For as much as this restaurant charges I would expect toilet paper in the restroom? Just saying had to ask twice?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The fish roast was so delicious! The veggie options are also wonderful. Beautiful seating outdoors. The only thing that bothered me is there was meat/grease spilled on the fooor near me. Which is very gross.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food and service. Patio was beautiful with a great view of the river.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.