About River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant

Located on the banks of the Truckee River between Truckee and Tahoe City, this rustic old Tahoe lodge has been a Tahoe dining favorite for many, many years. Choose between a cozy table in our Fireplace Dining Room or along the river in our River View Dining Room. In the summer, dine on our patio that overlooks the river. Enjoy great food and drink that is creative and interesting while being delicious and familiar. The menu changes seasonally to ensure use of the most available sustainable, fresh ingredients.

2285 River Road
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Casual BBQ lunch daily in the summertime at 11:30 a.m. Dinner nightly from 5:30 p.m. Inside Bar open nightly

Cross Street:
Alpine Meadows Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-4264

Website:
http://www.riverranchlodge.com/dining

Catering:
The River Ranch has a special large party menu for dinner parties upt to 50 guests. appetizer and buffet menus are available for large parties or weddings on our patio in the warmer months for up to 175 guests.

Executive Chef:
Michael Trapula

Private Party Facilities:
For an intimate setting the River Ranch's Fireplace Room, featuring a beautiful river rock fireplace, provides a warm and festive atmosphere for private dinner parties, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, family reunions, company parties and holiday festivities.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (866) 618-2579

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (12)
Scenic View (8)
Happy Hour (7)
See All
Kid-friendly (6)
Fireplace (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was terrific. The scenery is gorgeous! I highly recommend it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The River Ranch is a long-time favorite of ours. We always take new visitors to the Tahoe region to this restaraunt for a good classic Tahoe experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Beautiful setting
2 of the appetizers were sold out - this is not the first time this has happened - on a Friday night no less!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lovely spot with beautiful view of the Truckee River. Great outdoor as well as indoor dining.
Food is well prepared and interesting. The service was excellent. A lovely place for a special occasion or just a good meal out.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I dined here since we were staying in the Lodge. The service was great. I had the Elk which was delicious, but I do not recommend the Duck as my boyfriend said it was mostly fat and not worth the price paid for the amount of meat that is actually there. We would consider returning on a future visit and having the Elk.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service and food quality were a disappointment. They did not have the wine we requested & the waiter (purportedly the wine steward), recommend a wine that he claimed to be "buttery & oaky" -- it was no such thing, and not inexpensive. It was sharp and unpleasant to the point that we left the wine in our glasses and over half a bottle unpoured. Getting his attention for drinks was difficult at best. The caesar salad consisted of some large uncut leaves of romaine, a few shreds of parmesan and barely no dressing with a hint of lemon. The ribeye was sinuous and overcooked.
What a shame! We have been going to River Ranch for years. They must have changed the chef. Only worth the view of the beautiful Truckee and a drink at the bar. Seth is a wonderful, personable bar tender that makes great drinks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good food and great view. We had a two for one coupon, but it was not honored on the final check total. I did not notice this until we left restaurant. This is why I did not consider the meal a good value.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 30, 2017

What happened to the River Ranch we loved? We were on time for our reservation and left standing at the door even though there were plenty of tables. We were then led to a table next to the kitchen door; we were seated elsewhere after asking for another table. It was 25 minutes before our dinner order was taken and the food was passable at best - limp salad, overcooked meat, dried out polenta. But the whole atmosphere was a turn off - the table was sticky, no one could close the window beside our table, the servers gathered to chat loudly with some friends who were dining and it seemed clear that customers were not the focus at least when we were there. River Ranch is not on our dining list!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

This was a disappointing meal. They are in the middle of changing chefs and management and the food was not up to the pricing. The rib eye steak was below standard, tough, and dried it while it was ordered as medium rare. We sent it back only to send the second one back. The meat was gray and not hot enough to melt the blue cheese butter. The manager credited the steaks. The elk was Dtr and over cooked too. My husbands ravioli with prawns was excellent. We will try the restaurant again later this summer. Right now they don't seem to be ready for the season. Very disappointing but the view of the Truckee river was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This night was tough. The chef walked out halfway through dinner, so the food wasn't great. We sent a steak back twice because it was over cooked. The waitress was wonderful and took one meal and appetizer off the bill for the fiasco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 21, 2017

You can not find a better view anywhere in the Tahoe area...The river dances at your feet while you enjoy a perfect meal. You want to impress a date...go here.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I've never seen the Truckee River water level so high or the rapids so swift. All this you can if you get a table by the window, fantastic. The food is a little pricey, but very good. Our wait person was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

It was very quiet due to being off-season. Always love this place on the Truckee River. The river was wild and the food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Surprisingly busy for a Monday night but the service was great,
the food delicious, and the view
of the river was amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

4.0 star rating 4/8/2017
After skiing in Alpine Meadows during the day, my boyfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner since it was our last night in Squaw Valley. We decided on River Ranch Lodge after driving by the scenic spot on the Truckee River. When we arrived we were struck by the historic, comfortable and rustic surroundings and architecture. Since it was a Wednesday night there were just a handful of tables occupied in the main dining room. The host sat us immediately (we had a reservation as well) by the window overlooking the fast moving river and our server greeted us shortly with the specials for the evening. We chose the Prince Edward Island Mussels as a starter. Almost all the mussels were open and the broth was delicious. For our main my boyfriend had the bangers and mash with cabbage and I had the trout fillet with brussel sprouts and polenta. Both were exceptional and the trout fillet was the largest I'd ever eaten. Knowing the trout is not a meaty fish, I was surprised by it's size. We were quite full after our main so we did not have dessert. I think the service was excellent and our server was very friendly and amiable. I liked that the food was not salty. But, I would suggest to the chef to incorporate more herbs and seasonings. We hope to go back to experience the patio in warmer weather.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We come here a few times a year on ski trips. The food and service are consistently very good. I forgot when making our reservation this week to ask for the main dining room with a view of the river. We ended up next to a beautiful rock fireplace but with no view. We also ended up next to a table celebrating a child's birthday, which was not so great. I had a special dinner of halibut which was excellent. However, the garlic mashed potatoes with it were too garlicky for delicate halibut. That was my fault, I had forgotten how good and garlicky those potatoes were with the pepper steak!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service was slow but acceptable.
If it's cool outs bring a light jacket or sweater. I had the duck and it was wonderful. I tried the steak off another's plate and it too was nice.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Historic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The atmosphere with tables along the windows overlooking the Truckee River was very nice. Or server was very pleasant and worked busily through the night. Yet service was slightly slow. We weren't in a rush, so that was okay.

The food was excellent, and I was delighted to find a significant number of menu options that were Gluten-Free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I've been here many times for family meals and special events. The food and service are always consistently good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Super cool sitting in the historic lodge right alongside the river. Friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Been going to River Ranch for years. Decided to go there for my birthday. Had to wait 15 minutes for our table and then it took a while to get drinks and then dinner. Steak came partially cooked when I ordered medium rare. They fixed it but I had my dinner after everyone else was done. No concessions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Like most Lake Tahoe restaurants, the River Ranch is casual. There is a choice of bar seating or in a dining room with a fireplace. As we were seven, we ate in the dining room--taking advantage of their special on wines. The food was excellent from the salads, appetizers and entrees--and we tasted a lot of different dishes. Dessert also amazing--chocolate cake and berries. Our server was attentive without overwhelming. All and all just a great night out.
This is absolutely one of my all time favorites.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Great Beer, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service and food. Also it has an extensive menu, also a plus. I requested a quiet table and they gave us the dining room which is one of the quieter restaurants-yeah.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A very nice dinner with our family while we were in Tahoe.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

River Ranch is great for an every day meal or a special occasion. The ambience is amazing with the river rushing by. Food is really delicious and presented nicely

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Best food in the region. Portions are generous and ingredients are local and fresh. Try the sirloin or the trout.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Took the family there while on vacation. We have adult children. We all enjoyed the food. The drinks were good and the the service was above average. Nice seating right along the edge of the river. I recommend making reservations.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always our "go to" restaurant every ski vacation. The Elk is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was outstanding and it is beautiful. The food was good but the menu is a little tired. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves here!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Enjoyed it so much we're returning tonight.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My wife and I have eaten at The River Ranch over the years and have never been disappointed. We love the Elk and Buffalo meats and this place grills them to perfection. The waitstaff are very good and the view of the Truckee River roaring right out the window is a big bonus.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful meal on Saturday night! I ordered the trout (which was delicious) and my husband had the duck which he enjoyed. We have had lunch on the patio in the summer, but had never eaten in the restaurant. Very good service from our server, Avery.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Four of us had an 8:15 dinner on New Years Eve. We had a wonderful table overlooking the river. The food came quickly for such a busy evening, and we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The only issue we had was with my husband's filet mignon, which was not prepared to his request of "medium" and was still quite rare even after it was sent back. The elk was said to be delicious, as was the duck and scallops.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year Eve. Table ready on time, waitress very friendly, service was good and for New Year Eve prices was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had wanted to visit before and finally made it happen for New Year's Eve 2016! The ambiance was wonderful and our server was very attentive. We'll be back in the spring and summer in order to experience the patio dining and the regular expanded menu!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a very pleasant dinner. All menu items were very tasty and well executed. The service from our waitress Kate was outstanding - she was really friendly & upbeat, and gave very helpful feedback on all the menu options.
River Ranch is a charming and cosy place with honest and straightforward but very well prepared food. We will definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Just a great place to have a fun evening with great steaks! Hasn't changed much over the years because it doesn't need to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful view of the river, outstanding service! The only thing I noticed was the entree portions are not really meant for sharing, which my sister and I were trying to do. Our server was awesome, professional, friendly. I recommend the truffle fries and chicken!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Dinner on Christmas Eve. We dine at RR with a fair degree of regularity and are generally happy there. Service was a bit slow on Xmas Eve but that was fine as we were in no hurry. The menu was special for the holidays with a nice selection. It wasn't prix fixed and the choices were good.

Thanks

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.