About River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant

2285 River Road
Tahoe City, CA 96145
View Larger Map

Located on the banks of the Truckee River between Truckee and Tahoe City, this rustic old Tahoe lodge has been a Tahoe dining favorite for many, many years. Choose between a cozy table in our Fireplace Dining Room or along the river in our River View Dining Room. In the summer, dine on our patio that overlooks the river. Enjoy great food and drink that is creative and interesting while being delicious and familiar. The menu changes seasonally to ensure use of the most available sustainable, fresh ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Casual BBQ lunch daily in the summertime at 11:30 a.m. Dinner nightly from 5:30 p.m. Inside Bar open nightly

Cross Street:
Alpine Meadows Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-4264

Website:
http://www.riverranchlodge.com/dining

Catering:
The River Ranch has a special large party menu for dinner parties upt to 50 guests. appetizer and buffet menus are available for large parties or weddings on our patio in the warmer months for up to 175 guests.

Executive Chef:
Michael Trapula

Private Party Facilities:
For an intimate setting the River Ranch's Fireplace Room, featuring a beautiful river rock fireplace, provides a warm and festive atmosphere for private dinner parties, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, family reunions, company parties and holiday festivities.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: (866) 618-2579

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mirror Pond Pale Ale - River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant, Tahoe City, CA
  • Cool Bar - River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant, Tahoe City, CA

Report a photo problem

Mirror Pond Pale Ale - River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant, Tahoe City, CA
Cool Bar - River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant, Tahoe City, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

24 hour cancelation policy. Reservations canceled less than 24 hr of reserved time we will bill $20.00 per person to the card on file. Reservations more than 15 minutes late will be un-seatable and will be billed
NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE MADE!
Only our Special Valentine's day menu will be available

River Ranch Lodge & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Waterfront (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Romantic (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Four of us had an 8:15 dinner on New Yea ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Four of us had an 8:15 dinner on New Years Eve. We had a wonderful table overlooking the river. The food came quickly for such a busy evening, and we enjoyed ourselves a great deal. The only issue we had was with my husband's filet mignon, which was not prepared to his request of "medium" and was still quite rare even after it was sent back. The elk was said to be delicious, as was the duck and scallops.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year Eve. Table ready on time, waitr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year Eve. Table ready on time, waitress very friendly, service was good and for New Year Eve prices was good.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had wanted to visit before and finall ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had wanted to visit before and finally made it happen for New Year's Eve 2016! The ambiance was wonderful and our server was very attentive. We'll be back in the spring and summer in order to experience the patio dining and the regular expanded menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a very pleasant dinner. All menu ite ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a very pleasant dinner. All menu items were very tasty and well executed. The service from our waitress Kate was outstanding - she was really friendly & upbeat, and gave very helpful feedback on all the menu options.

River Ranch is a charming and cosy place with honest and straightforward but very well prepared food. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a great place to have a fun evening ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Just a great place to have a fun evening with great steaks! Hasn't changed much over the years because it doesn't need to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view of the river, outstanding ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful view of the river, outstanding service! The only thing I noticed was the entree portions are not really meant for sharing, which my sister and I were trying to do. Our server was awesome, professional, friendly. I recommend the truffle fries and chicken!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner on Christmas Eve. We dine at RR ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Dinner on Christmas Eve. We dine at RR with a fair degree of regularity and are generally happy there. Service was a bit slow on Xmas Eve but that was fine as we were in no hurry. The menu was special for the holidays with a nice selection. It wasn't prix fixed and the choices were good.

Thanks

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We used to love this place. One of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We used to love this place. One of the w

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

I can't say enough wonderful things to d ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I can't say enough wonderful things to describe the ambiance and food quality at this lodge. We have dined here many times over the last 30 years and still enjoy the River Ranch as one of our favorite restaurants. We were recently there to celebrate a special occasion with our family. The view was spectacular, the food was amazing and our server was really nice and accommodating. I love the architecture of the building too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to RR for Thanksgivin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My wife and I went to RR for Thanksgiving dinner. We were greeted warmly, led to a good table, the wait staff were pleasant and professional. We ordered the special turkey dinner. I had the squash soup, my wife had a salad with dressing on the side as she requested. For dessert I had the pumpkin pie, my wife had the bread pudding. All in all, enjoyable food and service for a very reasonable price.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Thanksgiving meal. Plate was a litt ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good Thanksgiving meal. Plate was a little crowded. But good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice rustic ambiance with lighted view o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice rustic ambiance with lighted view of the Truckee River.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My wife and I ate dinner here 2 nights a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner here 2 nights and loved it! One night was our wedding anniversary. Best find in the area. Our server Greg was very good and remembered us well when we came back a few nights later. Many tables have a gorgeous view of the Truckee River. The dining area has a wonderful lit ambiance during the night. The food was well prepared and delicious. We will definitely stop by in the future when in the Tahoe City area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Not many people there due t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great place. Not many people there due to time of year. Very good. Great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great Tahoe ambiance any time of ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Such a great Tahoe ambiance any time of year! Menu has something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful riverside table. enj ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a wonderful riverside table. enjoyed the duck and special hamburger pulled pork sandwich.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was very slow. Duck dinner was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Service was very slow. Duck dinner was unimpressive

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Nice location along the river near Tahoe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice location along the river near Tahoe.

Portions were large and we ended up taking some home.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I celebrate a 25 Anniversary ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I celebrate a 25 Anniversary. Our reservation had "anniversary" listed and they acknowledged it and sat us right at the window overlooking the Truckee River. Great setting. Love the rustic feel. Food is pretty darn good. Not over the top good. The only thing that was just a little bit bothersome was that the whole dining area is adjacent to the bar.....the seating for dining sort of does a 180 around the bar area. That is only an issue perhaps if, like in our case, some dude was rather loud at the bar. Not obnoxious....just 2-3....maybe 5 drinks loud and non stop talker. Did not ruin the dinner....just say'n. I'd go back for sure and you should try it out.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Ally is professional, attenti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our server Ally is professional, attentive, witty and pleasant. Food is delicious. Atmosphere can't be beat. Summer or winter, River Ranch is a gem.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Ranch is back-, after a couple of y ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Ranch is back-, after a couple of years looking for a good chef--Very good food at value prices, for a high season Tahoe restaurant--Pressed Chicken @ 20.00 was very flavorful, and Halibut was fresh and tender….The Fried Green Tomatoes are a old RR standard,as good as ever---In summer,with nice weather, book a table on the patio,adjacent to the Truckee River,along side the wall.===J. (Wine Buyer--You offer great wines BTG,,,,But don't serve the red wines @ room temp .)------.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view at River Ranch of the river is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The view at River Ranch of the river is beautiful. The food was great and all servers were very attentive and friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately we were attacked by bees d ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Unfortunately we were attacked by bees during our dinner... one of the people in our party was stung. The food was good but we had two dogs in our party and the hostess continued to seat people next to us even though the place was practically empty.. didn't make much sense. I don't think I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We enjoyed our meal, the waitress was a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We enjoyed our meal, the waitress was a delight, service efficient, food delicious. This non hurried evening was very satisfying and enjoyable. Our waitress was familiar with the wines available, knew the specials, and helped with our choices of food and beverages . The view of the Truckee River below us, babbling away, was marvelous. We celebrated the return of the flow. Last years wet cobblestone path has become a river again. Wonderful evening, complements to the chef.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined inside, and celebrated a birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We dined inside, and celebrated a birthday and wedding anniversary. The lighting created a warm atmosphere and we had a great view of the river. Service was excellent. The only criticism was of the calamari, that the table shared as an appetizer - it was chewy and we all agreed we'd eaten better. Thankfully the 7 of us really enjoyed the variety of entrees that we ordered and desserts. We took full advantage of the half price Thursday wine list and 'strong' cocktails - which were terrific! We will be back the next time we're in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The lamb chops were tough and dry. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The lamb chops were tough and dry. The duck was very good except the asparagus was over grilled. The chicken and trout were over cooked, bland, and didn't have much taste. We wanted to sit in the middle of the dining area by the window but the hostess moved us next to the noisy kitchen. There were several empty tables to choose from. After the initial pouring of the wine, the waitress never came by for additional pours; she didn't serve the table again until we finished. The dessert peach bread pudding with blueberry ice cream and the Thursday wine special were their saving grace! Overall, we left feeling unsatisfied and would not recommend this restaurant to our friends and family.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We had great service and the food was 5 ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had great service and the food was 5 star. It was a relaxing beautiful evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great birthday dinner out on th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great birthday dinner out on the patio. Very enjoyable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I have dined at River Ranch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and I have dined at River Ranch for many years and have enjoyed tables that border the Truckee River and also the charm, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I took a business colleague and our spou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I took a business colleague and our spouses for dinner. We enjoyed a beautiful evening by the river. The service was attentive and the waiter's suggestions were welcome and accurate. Three of us had the halibut special and loved it. I had the beef and it came rare as ordered. There was a pretty good wine list. Part of the patio was segregated for a larger event with live, acoustic music playing but the patio was spacious enough that the event did not intrude on our dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stopped in based on Open Table reviews. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Stopped in based on Open Table reviews. My wife had heard of a restaurant with a great river view, but couldn't remember the name. This was it! We ate outside. Just before the sun went behind the trees. They have outdoor heaters, and we needed ours.

I had trout, and my wife had the duck (no appetizers). Both meals were terrific! The sledgehammer Zinfandel was REALLY good- you can get it by the glass. The bread was terrific- only minor criticism was that we had to ask for it and it arrived just before our main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Enjoyed the river setting, great service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Enjoyed the river setting, great service, very good food and nice choices for the area. We were pleased to find a nice restaurant in the area just a few minutes away from Squaw Valley.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful dinner on their outsi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner on their outside patio along the river. I ordered the fish fry and my husband the pork chops. Both were delicious! The service was great too. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really poor service from our server. Eve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really poor service from our server. Everyone else was great but he had a terrible attitude and was not at all friendly. I understand it's a busy long weekend, but you're in the service industry! We were very friendly + relaxed. When we asked if our shrimp cocktail would be out soon (it took half an hour which seems outrageous for 5 shrimp), he just responded "probably" as he walked away!! We inquired about a bottle of wine, knew what we were looking for and he couldn;t even say if they had that kind of wine on the menu or not. And rather than offer to send someone over with some wine knowledge, he just said "I'll get a menu" and left us to it. I live locally and was bringing friends for dinner and was extremely disappointed that the service was so unacceptable especially when spending that kind of money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

This is a restaurant we know well but wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a restaurant we know well but wanted to try it under new ownership/Mgmt. Food was fabulous. Servers were enthusiastic and young - they will become smoother with time. Wedding reception blocked off outside seating. It had loud music but gave off a fun vibe. Would definitely go back and would recommend as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very slow service; bread basket was neve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Very slow service; bread basket was never brought or suggested to our table, as opposed to other tables; no grilled peach with the duck, as mentioned on the menu; took them a year to prepare a simple dessert. Overall disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great time Greg our waiter wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a great time Greg our waiter was super and very patient and accommodating to our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been going to River Ranch for years ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 25, 2016

I've been going to River Ranch for years. It's consistently delicious and I've never had a bad meal there ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect getaway for friends to catch ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 23, 2016

The perfect getaway for friends to catch up over a nice dinner. We were seated at a window table overlooking the flowing river at our reservation time- though there were only 3 other tables occupied at the restaurant. Our server was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Wine choices were quite varied as was the menu. Salads were fresh and large, onion soup was excellent. The elk was very tender and flavorful. he large pork chops were fair- a bit overcooked and dry, and the chicken dish was very flavorful and moist. Taking advantage of their 50% off entrée deal made the meal reasonably priced. Will go back again to take advantage of a similar offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great time on a "tough" night!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Going from Reno to San Jose, I-80 closed due to May snow storm, remember reading advertisement that the RR has prime rib Friday Nights! Stopped in at 8:15, bar was buzzing with numerous groups, and was seated with a beautiful river view. very good prime rib and Caesar salad, great service by Avery, and then down to the Lake to go over I-50 to California. Thanks to the crew for the wonderful time in a fun location at the last minute! Will be back to eat on the patio!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.