About River House Seafood

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

76% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (26)
Good for a Date (13)
Casual (12)
See All
Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Scenic View (11)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I met friends for a mid-week lunch. The atmosphere was great and our waiter, John, did a perfect job. The restaurant was clean and conversation was easy on the ears. Nice place that I will recommend to friends and co-workers.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was fine, food very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a cool spot on the river, but that's about all it was. I was underwhelmed by the food. None of it was flavorful and it did not seem fresh at all. The service was as medicore as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We came in late for dinner after a day of travel. I don't care for the type of bread/rolls they serve so I was pretty hungry. The salad I saw online had sliced hard boiled eggs in the photo. When the salad came out, there was only crumbled egg yolk. I would have preferred the extra whites bc shrimp isn't super hearty. The server was great, she is well quipped for fine dining in any restaurant. Drinks were great from the bar. The place was clean and nice ambiance for a date. Although they turned the lights off on the Christmas garland while we were there, I guess bc it was late. Nice experience in general.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2017

I must say this establishment was out of the box. We received above and beyond service and food. Please try this restaurant!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

The food was delicious! We both had shrimp and it was very fresh and fixed just perfectly. My son had a chicken dinner and the vegetables he had that went with it we're very good he said. I had saw in the shrimp and they were both delicious. There were a lot of french fries on the plate and I did not eat them. Not because they didn't look good but because I didn't want to eat the calories. We did not have to wait to be seated it was around 1:00 and we were a little early. All in all it was a wonderful experience. We would eat there again if we happen to be in Savannah.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Bland food with no taste or flavor. Disappointing...staff friendly, but doesn’t change the badly prepared food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Everything was great except the fish edges were tough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2017

We had read the reviews of this restaurant and it indicated the service was very good. Unfortunately, we did not have that experience. The server was not attentive and did not give us any recommendations from the menu. The meals we chose were nice but it was a special anniversary meal for us and we were disappointed in the service received. We were ready to leave after our main course.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Waiter was great. Food okay not outstanding, good.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Our meal was delicious here! The bread rolls were amazing!! Our server was great! Overall great experience!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Paella was terrible. Appetizers were just decent. Drinks were subpar. Our waiter just handed us the check without asking if we wanted coffee and dessert. I guess they wanted to get rid of us (gay, mixed race couple) very quickly. Terrible experience! They have a lot to learn from Pink House, including treating everyone with dignity and respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We were in Savannah for our 46 wedding anniversary. The meal was fabulous. The waitress was so helpful with the menu. My husband had the fried green tomatoes as a appetizer and said they were the best he had ever had. We will definitely eat there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Flounder was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Fun atmosphere with perfect Savannah style dining. Right on the River with the hustle and bustle of Savannah - great people watching. Excellent seafood - highly recommend!

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

While in Savannah celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, we decided to dine at The River House because we hadn't explored that area of town yet. We arrived 5 minutes before our reservation and still had to wait 15 for a table that was in an undesirable location. When we asked asked for a better table, we waited another 10 minutes for them to reset an already empty table. Our waiter, Marlin, poured the wine we had ordered for me to sample instead of pouring a sample for my husband, who had chosen the bottle. It's a seafood restaurant so I wanted seafood. When I inquired about the grouper, The waiter said the kitchen was backed up and he wouldn't recommend any of the fish entrees because they tended to come out dry. Needless to say, that made us wary of ordering anything. However we stayed to eat and finish the wine, which he had splattered on the tablecloth. The food was mediocre and not worth the price we paid. Our waiter checked on us once and never returned to pour more wine. He did hover though when it was time to pay. Overall it was the worst meal we had in Savannah and certainly would NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The staff was friendly. We were early so we sat at the Bar talking to bunch of friendly strangers. It was my hubbys 65th Birthday and we had a great dinner. Food was yummy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was fantastic. Recommend the shrimp and grits. Best ever. Met family and staff was excellent on accommodating a group of 6. Great service. Won't be disappointed if you eat here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Just okay seafood. My son got the specialty of the house paella and it was disappointing. My linguine with clams was okay but nothing special.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Best escargot was the best I have ever had! Crab soup to die for!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Lunch specials were exceptional.
Best shrimp & grits I've ever eaten.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Worst service ever! Food was not good. A complete disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2017

We were in Savannah for a conference. The location, right on the river, added to the rustic ambience of the restaurant. We went on a Wednesday evening - not too crowded. The food was delicious - decent variety of seafood. My husband ordered fried flounder - moist and tender; I ordered grouper oscar, at the suggestion of our server. We weren't disappointed. Also had a delicious dessert - peach cobbler (canned peaches but they were delicious!).

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

We had a late afternoon/early dinner the night before leaving town. We happen to be the only 2 in the dining area we were sitting in. The wait staff were not friendly at all. We had been in town for 6 days. This particular restaurant was definitely at the bottom of the list on places we ate at. The dessert was the best part of the meal. Would not recommend!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

As a party of three (my husband, our out of town guest and I), we enjoyed the River House Seafood Restaurant during a very recent Savannah visit. The decor and the ambience were inviting, the service was very professional, the food was pretty tasty, even if the meal was a little pricey. Food highlight: Fried Green Tomatoes appetizer!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

We were in Savannah for our wedding anniversary . We had a lovely dinner, good good, and a delicious bottle of Merlot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

For our last meal in town, we decided on lunch at River House. The food was amazing and the staff was very attentive.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was flavorless, not well prepared, thrown together, Bisque was cold, said Lobster or Crab no one in our party had a bit of either in their Bisque. Staff was unprofessional, though our Waitress was nice and on point.

It was not a pleasant experience. There were 6 in my group and NOT ONE Person enjoyed the food or the service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Although we had reservations, they had open seating. Still, we got shoved into a corner, 1/2 into a walkway. The food was Okay. Not fabulous. Especially not for the $$$ charged for a bowl of pasta & shrimp. Our server, Patrice was really good so that is a positive. If someone asks about it, I'll say "meh", but I would not recommend it enthusiastically.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food and service was good, not outstanding. We have not been in Savannah for many years and The River House is how we remember the city.

We would not hesitate to recommend the River House.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

My wife and I had an enjoyable evening. The restaurant wasn't crowded and the dinner music was nice. The food was great! We were in Savannah just for the night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2017

We chose this restaurant after reading reviews while visiting Savannah. We were given a coupon for a free fried green tomatoes appetizer which turned out to be two greasy patty s.
Our entrees of a red snapper special with crabmeat was dry, overcooked and apparently frozen and served without the crabmeat.
Probably one of the worst meals that we have had in years. Now we understand why there weren't many diners there only people at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Delicious Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our reservation was for 8.45 tables empty every yet they made us wait till 9pm and only after we asked., fish overcooked, rissoto dry and pasty. Overall a terrible dinner just as bad the service

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Excellent experience. Good service, excellent food, wonderful ambience. We plan to come back when we are back in Savannah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Best seafood of the three restaurants we tried during our trip.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Go for the booze, not the food.
Oysters were the size of quarters: six would have been three anywhere else, accompaniments in plastic cups.
Had to fight off the presentation of the main course grouper with the appetizers, not once but twice. grouper had an off taste, like it needed some refrigeration. Unsatisfactory although the sauce hid much of the taste. But this may be the best restaurant along the waterfront.
For better dining experiences, go inland!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Much better seafood in Charleston. Your red snapper special was not very good. We'very had better red snapper elsewhere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and I had a great time and were treated like family. The food was phenomenal!!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were visiting Savannah for the weekend! Food was wonderful and portions were plentiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.