About River House Seafood

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: (912) 233-2901

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (30)
Historic (28)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Scenic View (20)
Cozy (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Music (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, has seating inside or outside. Service was great during the time of day we were there, food was very good. We went late afternoon when it was still lunchtime and prices were reasonable. By the way it's happy hour all day and they have good drink specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service and location

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Average place - menu was identical to the Shrimp House where we had dined for Lunch so a little disappointed when needing to pay $12 more for the same entree at dinner. Both place are great for Southern food Lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food. We eat there every time we visit Savannah.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Seated promptly. Good service. Good food. Wait for food was very long to point I inquired on status with of server. Manager stopped by to advise dinner would arrive shortly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The staff was too busy talking either one another. Although they looked at us a number of times we were ignored so we left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Waitress was friendly enough but was poorly trained and wouldn't allow us to swap out the fries for another side (have never experienced this before), didn't know what kind of oysters the restaurant was serving (e.g., where the oysters were sourced) and claimed never to have been asked this question before, charged us for an item we didn't order, and took away our plates before we were finished eating. It was abominable, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a very pleasant dining experience here. Food was well-prepared and some dishes were creative, but overall perhaps not quite in the outstanding category. Our server was friendly and helpful, but bar service was very slow and drink timing wasn't well coordinated with the meal. River House has a prime location that lifts the prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Table was ready nearly an hour after our reservation. Food was mediocre, two dinner entrees were served cold. Service was decent, but we were seated in a section with a trainee, despite noting when the reservation was made that we were we were celebrating a special occasion. Overpriced. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Tried this spot as a 'celebratory' dinner as part of a girls weekend in Savannah. Overall, the food was excellent, but my steak was overcooked and we weren't given much time to enjoy our appetizers before the entrees arrived at the table - they were put in the system at the same time, so not much time to enjoy our oysters, hummus, or crab dip. This seems to be a very popular spot on the weekend, so definitely make a reservation and plan to stay for a while. It's worth the wait and ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Slow and somewhat inattentive service. Food was only slightly warm; due to service issue and the fact we needed to eat we didn't want to wait another half hour to get it back. Won't return; food overrated anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Steak was perfectly cooked to our liking. Service,while friendly, was slow. Had to ask for bread 3 times after being told he was bringing it.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We sat outside and the waiter was never available. We did not see him because he had tables inside the restaurant . He forgot that he needed to check on the one table outside.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Five of our 7 entrees were delivered st once, the 6th person waited 10 more minutes for theirs, while mine came 20 minutes later! No excuse for such poor timing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our third time here. We liked it so much on vacation last year we came back. Although locally it was prom night the service still managed to be on point. The crab and lobster bisque was very good as were our fish dinners.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good appetizets. Quite good service. Lukewarm food not do good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a good experience here. The food was fine and just what we expected. Seafood is the specialty. Raw oysters were good. All in all, a good experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

When we lived in Savannah several years ago, this was one of the many restaurants where we would dine. Although it still has a nice atmosphere and the service was fine, both my wife and I felt the food was average at best. And it wasn't because we purchased unpopular items on the menu. In fact , our waitress said both were very good choices and 2 of her favorites. Thus, given the price of the food and quality, I wouldn't give this restaurant more than an average rating

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Casual, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice place. The food is okay, nothing so taste... The Chef should try his food.

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service was below average and the food was cold. The only redeeming quality was the rolls.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent service; Aaron was our waiter. He was so attentive and food was delivered at a comfortable pace. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The ambiance is lovely but the service is lacking. One of the members of our party didn't receive her meal until 15 minutes after everyone else, and it was shrimp and grits, their specialty from what they said. It's overpriced for what they offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

After reading some reviews, we were skeptical. However, it turns out we had a great experience. 3 in our party, and all enjoyed the meal, the temperature of food, and service. We had 2 appetizers, calamari, and boiled shrimp. I personally loved the calamari! I had grouper oscar, my husband had paella, and teenager had the fabulous crab cakes. We are going for a second dinner on our vacation this same week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great setting in old warehouse on the river. Can watch the freighters go by. Food was good and there is a good menu. Service was pleasant but slow and food for our table of five came out at three different times and was not that hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excited to dine here. Wife got the salad. She said it was "amazing" so we had high hopes. What followed was an exercise in how to ensure we don't come back. We got the bleu chips. They were cold. The wife got paella. Cold. I got the duck...it was the special. Of all the dumb things I've done, getting duck at a seafood restaurant was the dumbest. I guess. Anyway. It was warm. It was also well done. Horrible. The kids got burgers no bun. Lukewarm. Fries? Lukewarm. Just no. Not coming back. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The signature paella dish was disappointing. The chicken was dry, shrimp average but overall not a lot of flavor. The blackened Mahi was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had an awesome meal with fresh seafood! Just what we were looking for. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our waiter was inattentive and clumsy. Several of the entrees were cold.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Have dined at this restaurant twice now and both times the service has been excellent and food very good, would dine again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After my first visit I said I would never come back here again. I only decided to return do to the fact I had friends in my party that wanted to go and it was terrible! The shrimp cocktail was not good at all the temperature was off and the shrimp were most likely previously frozen. Our chowder was awful and the coconut pie was the worst I have ever had! I will not return here ever again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 3, 2017

By far one of my favorite restaurants in Savannah. A converted 18th century cotton warehouse overlooking the river. I always try to take visiting guest here. The fresh seafood is the best in town. The bluecheese butter on their hardrolls is amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The shrimp boil appetizer is great. Very tasty and done to perfection. Baked tilapia was crunchy and moisit. Also well done. However the signature dish savannah paella is too salty, rice was under cooked, chicken tastes like cardboard. The dish tasted like ingredients thrown together at the last minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great restaurant with good food, a good ambiance and great service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Nice quaint location in the Historic River Street District. The menu was priced very well and the food was quite good. The raw oysters were some of the best I've had in a very long time. The filet was extremely well seasoned and my lobster was cooked to perfection. They are making additional improvements to the dining area and it looks fantastic. The service was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Seated in Siberia. Crab cake over cooked to the point of burned exterior. Salad placed on warm plate makes for soggy lettuce. Got waiters choice for dressing as he didn't ask what we wanted. Bus tray sat 3 feet from our table stacked with dirty dishes during our entire meal. I know it's in a tourist area but everyone just seemed to phone it in. The whole staff needs to ask themselves why they are in the hospitality business. Highlight: fried green tomato app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time visiting Savannah. Great menu and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So where do I start? I think we must have offended our waiter by asking if a drink we saw was on the drink special list sitting on our table. He immediately took the list and placed it under the placard on our table. I'm guessing that meant we were not allowed to order any drinks at the special price. From that point on, the meal went downhill from there.

The food was okay. My wife ordered the fried chicken and I ordered the pecan salmon. It was edible but not memorable. Service seem to go in reverse. It was as if we were there to appease our waiter and not him trying to appease us. Oh well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was average . Really expected much better. I had the worse crab cakes I've ever eaten. My daughter ordered fettuccine it was watery and tasteless. Salads were limp

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We ordered steak and crab cake. The food came out lukewarm even cooler than that. They brought back the sides warmed. Tried the Creme Brûlée the top crust was non existent. The custard was border line eggy. They brought out a second one. Crust was thicker and the custard was creamer but I have had way better. I had high expectations per the reviews and the price of the food. Definitely a mistake to go to such a tourist food location.

They staff tried their best with the food given them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The bourbon and pecan crusted salmon with mashed sweet potatoes and collard greens was outstanding. Loved the fried green tomatoes. Ended the perfect meal with chocolate hazelnut bread pudding. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.