Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

River House Seafood

4.1
600 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(912) 234-1900
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Gladys Young
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Barnard Street Ramp
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
What 600 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The overall experience was average at the best. Our waitress did not deliver 2 items that had been ordered, which was cancelled due to our entrees arriving. Food was good but overall service, mediocre. The experience was not what we expected.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food was subpar

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Waitress was good natured at first but seemed to be annoyed that we asked for food to be returned because it was overcooked. She never asked us if we wanted dessert. In retrospect, we think we over tipped her.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We were given a delicious fried green tomato appetizer on the house. Every item we ordered was delicious. I had the lobster tails and my husband had the filet. YUM YUM! Service was excellent as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Everything was great and not too terribly priced. Oysters Savannah was a first time and they were pretty good. Would like to try the Rockefeller next time though... The Grouper was really good and paired well with the grits, tomatoes and spinach!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We had a very enjoyable dinner here during our week long vacation to Savannah.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Loved our lunch at Riverhouse. Food was great and service was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I have been here years ago. This time I took my daughter and one of her college friends to celebrate the end of their 3rd year of college.

So the Southern oysters were really good and the oysters were incredibly creamy and the dash of hot sauce really brought out the smoky bacon and savor greens.

The signature soup was good but came out just above room temp. The strip steak was prepared wonderfully and had a beautiful texture and moisture that made it melt up contact. The Grouper florentine was quite complex in flavor and texture but just had a lot going on and it drowned out the star--the Grouper. The black and bleu salmon salad was incredible. Well balanced in eye appeal and flavors...a real treat for salmon lovers!

Lastly the River House Bourbon Tea is stone cold MUST!! If you like long islands this is a sophisticated version in a short glass with real mint. The mint is the real star for me...there is something about bourbon and fresh mint that just make you feel southern.

Bon appetit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We went for our 20th Anniversary and it was phenomenal! My husband has the shrimp and crawfish étouffée and I had the filet mignon. Both were wonderful!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Food was good, service was good, price was about going rate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Whenever we stop in Savanah we usually eat at least once at River House. As usual, the food and service are top notch. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great food. Not just your average fried seafood restaurant. Get the Savannah Paella!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Good food. Service was ok not a very friendly waitress.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great meal, superb watermelon margaritas and good service!! Pretty view of the river!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

All in all I was a little disappointed by this restaurant. Had a reservation for a Sunday night. Arrived on time to a mostly empty restaurant, but was promptly seated in a dark corner. We requested to move and they did, but you would think a decent restaurant would save that table for a crowded night and not force anybody to sit there. They were perfectly nice about moving us, but it just seemed like an attention to detail issue that left a bad taste in my mouth.

Unfortunately, that wasn't the only bad taste left in my mouth. Some of the food was very good. For instance, I was impressed with the Etoufee. But the pasta dish is the kind you get from a local takeout place, and the sides were bland and just not good. The grits seemed tasteless. The creamed spinach was flooded with cream and unseasoned. We left most of the sides untouched.

I'm not saying the food isn't edible by any stretch, but I would've thought that the location and the pricing would result in a much nicer experience. Alas, the experience probably explains why the place was mostly empty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Very pleasant - first time and will be back !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent food, atmosphere, service. Third time. We travel from Edisto Beach just to have lunch. It is that good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Had the shrimp platter and it was very good. Best pecan pie I’ve tasted in a long time. Overall 2 thumbs up. I’ll definitely be back. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

menu has a great variety...service is excellent and the food is absolutely marvelous!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Grouper Oscar was excellent. Blackened Mahi so-so. Priced as expected for waterfront dining in a tourist spot. Meal delivered as ordered, timely. Dined early (5p).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Always enjoy our meal here, today was no different. Love the bisque, my favorite! Enjoyed the filet sliders for the first time today, will definitely order them again... so tender and a delicious horseradish sauce that just hit the spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The scored whole flash fried flounder was fantastic. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

On vacation wonderful spot

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We enjoyed the wahoo dinner however it was slightly overdone. The flavor was excellent but texture slightly dry. The service was very good but a bit rushed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

River House Seafood is a restaurant located among many fine restaurants in Savannah. We both chose Wahoo for our entrees, and the dish was absolutely wonderful. A big piece of fish perfectly cooked and brought to the table hot, moist and delicious.
A great choice for fish lovers like us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Had the shrimp and grits as recommended by my server, disappointing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Very disappointing, service was marginal at best, food was not particularly good. We did not get one of the items we ordered. would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great spot for seafood as well as other options. Food is flavorful. The ambiance was great with a waterfront view from most tables. Staff was very attentive, friendly, and helpful. Reservations recommended as it is popular and located on River Street.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Wanted to try this out while we were in Savannah. Very great food! We will definitely go back on our next trip!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Very disappointing food - mashed potatoes were cold, asparagus hardly cooked, steak raw and then when re-cooked totally burnt. The manager did credit our party for the poorly prepared foods, but almost everyone left hungry because most everything was not edible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Good food and fresh. Want to go back. Serve top notch!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Based on other reviews we thought we would try River House. The atmosphere is nice. Our server was friendly and generally attentive. The crab/lobster bisque was tasty. That’s where it ends. My husband and I ordered the crab stuffed flounder. To say it was overdone and dry is an understatement. It almost seemed like it had been cooked earlier in the day and reheated. My daughter ordered the grouper Oscar. It was tasteless and also dry. Our check with tip was $175. The price definitely did not match the quality of food. We will not be back nor will we recommend this place to friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Dinner was very average. Expected so much for the price. Had to send back my wife's dinner because the steak was cooked well and she ordered medium. She ended up eating alone. The waitress didn't tell us it was happy hour when ordering drinks. Its located on the river but no outside seating and couldn't see a view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Our first dinner in Savannah. Excellent service, great food and really good margaritas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We've been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. A great setting for special occasions as was ours with relatives visiting the area. The food is great and the presentation excellent. Our server did a great job!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

When in Savannah, very good option for pleasant dinner/lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

our server was terrific, attentive pleasant. believe her name was Superva. probable massacred the spelling. the lobster bisque was terrific the crab cake just okay, muscles were very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The service was efficient...except for the bar. Bar tender did not appear interested in his job and drinks were very slow coming to the table. Waiter was pleasant and helpful. Food was very good. Overall a good experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Flounder stuffed with blue crab was overly salty. Caesar side salad was soggy. It had obviously been dressed long before it was served to us. Overrated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

My wife and I were in town for our 25th Anniversary. River House Seafood was great food in a great location. We would definitely visit there again. The blue crab stuffed flounder was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15