About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: (912) 233-2901

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (34)
Historic (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Cozy (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Scenic View (15)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Live Music (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Ok, so the food was great - no problem there. Pretty much four or five seafood choices on the menu at any given time. I've eaten here several different years and it doesn't change. Plan early, get a reservation and you're fine. I used Open Table to reserve. However, this time I was extremely disappointed in the service and not what you usually think. We got waited on just fine. I was offered a special menu like everyone else on a yellow, 8 1/2 X 11 paper in addition to the menu, as a chef's special. Immediately off the bat at only 7:30 in the evening, they told us they did not have the first item. Ok, I can take that. Then we ordered, both seafood entrees from the special menu, and after about 5 minutes, and drinks and appetizer, we were informed, ut oh, there's no more Sea Bass. Well, that's simply unacceptable. If quantities are limited, just as soon as you realize you have no more, stop offering the special menu. I saw them continue to offer the special menu to others. Not cool. I would go back, but I really don't like getting excited about a dinner selection and then having the rug pulled out from under.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

On a very very busy night for all of Savannah we had a great meal. Did not sit until 30 minutes after reservation time but service was very good and very helpful with meal selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

The experience was amazing! We enjoyed everything . The service was great and food very delicious. Love the rolls before dinner. This resteraunt was very calm and upper casual. I would recommend this resteraunt . I give it all five stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

For a $100 dinner for two I would have expected a atmosphere where young children were not allowed to run wild in the restaurant as well as not been seated in an addition to the restaurant in a shared hallway in their complex.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great.

Food seemed pre- prepared and heated up. Green beans out of a can?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our Valentines Day dinner was absolutely awesome from every aspect. Our waiter was helpful, friendly and attentive. The food was awesome and I loved the atmosphere. Well done! Will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant was great. The reason I put 4 stars for food is because of the crème brulé. I Love crème brulé but theirs wasn't what expected but overall great experience. Had an amazing time

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We absolutely loved our evening at River House. Everything from the atmosphere to the service to the food and drinks was phenomenal! The staff was courteous and attentive. The food was too much to choose from and it all sounded delicious and what we chose was amazing. Filet that can be cut with a fork and a crab cake that is so delectable. We are so pleased with our Valentine's choice and we will definitely be back as there are plenty of options we want to try! Thankyou so much for a memorable evening !

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding service from the moment I arrived in my limo...the hostess was very accommodating! And my waitress was extremely attentive. She even took pictures for me....she helped to make it a very memorable Valentine's night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This spot was a Valentine's day surprise for my sweetheart. I had made reservations there but arrive a hour to early. They were courteous about finding us a seat before our reservation time. The atmosphere in the place was calming, the tables was arranged beautifully and the service was prompt. The food was amazing and we really enjoyed our night. We did notice that they served bread when guest was being seated and our waiter forgot to give us our. I think he noticed it to when he served the table next to us. I guess since we didn't say anything about it he just continued as normal. Overall loved it. We are already making plans to return there in the near future.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We spent Valentines Day here and it was a very nice dinner and atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Paella was ok, not a lot of flavor and warm on temperature. The broth is a chicken instead of seafood there for lack of flavor . Also, if you like big chunks of onions, peppers and tomatoes then you might like this paella. Service a little slow especially trying to get your check.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was fabulous. We were looking for fresh seafood and there were multiple options. The ambiance was romantic and cozy. Truly an enjoyable experience

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dinner was very good, but appetizers came out the same time as the entrees. Need to wait awhile for drink refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a reservation but weren't told their is construction going on. It was hot inside. Our table was uneven and rocked the entire time. The food was ok, but nothing special. Our waiter was more interested in helping walk ups at the bar. We won't go back there on a return visit to Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 9, 2017

River House Seafood was as advertised, a very nice river front restaurant. Our first visit to this location in Savannah and we were impressed with the service and the food. The menu changes as availability of ingredients changes season to season. I had fresh oysters in the half shell to start and they were very tasty. I then had a seafood medley , three each, of shell fish and a snapper grilled to perfection with a mixed vegetable side. My wife had a 10oz. filet of beef cooked to perfection that she ate all of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for restaurant week, and the waiter told me they were out of the only entree that I liked on the special menu! It was obviously the most popular option due to how many times I heard the other wait staff say that same thing - I got there right after the restaurant opened for lunch, so I don't think they were "out" of my dish... I was stuck with a burger and fries because my wife wouldn't let us change restaurants.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wife and I went for an anniversary dinner. The staff were extremely nice and congratulatory. They gave us dessert on the house and had a happy anniversary sign on the table. Great experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were sat shortly after arriving, our server Dave, greeted us but then took a while to return, salad arrived before drinks, bread after the meal, i had to give my daughter my water as refill , another server had to be asked for refill of Pinot, We were well past done before check arrived. Food was average service was even less.....

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Ordered the purple crabcake salad (without the crabcake), mussels and fresh pasta with clams. The salad was good, but we were still charged $16 for the salad and nothing was

deducted from the bill for the crabcake. The "fresh" pasta was boxed linguine...UGH! Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Just awful food. We noticed that none of the other diners finished their meals, and NO ONE asked for a doggy bag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was excellent, and the server, while being attentive, funny (in a very dry way) and personable, did not interfere with our dining and conversation. The ambiance was lovely, and even on a fairly chilly, windy night, it was nice to be dining near the River. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone whether tourist or resident of Savannah.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Waterfront, Casual, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was average to good but not outstanding for the price. The wine list is extremely limited and not very good. Our coffee at the end of the meal was served cold. Service was average. There are many better dining options in Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had Grouper Florentine. It was served over yummy grits. Also tried the Artillery Punch, it definitely has a punch. Great service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I really enjoyed my Grouper that's why I gave it 4 stars. My wife had the Crab Cakes but she did not enjoy them at all. She said there was too much filler. I tasted hers and agree because of the filler they tasted very dry.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great restaurant. Have not been in years, so this was a great place to catch up with friends during Savannah Restaurant Week.

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I am a paella fan but the River House version (their signature dish) was rather tasteless and uninspiring. A little tired service did not help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The shrimp and crawfish etouffee was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was spot on. There is parking right across the street which a lot of the restaurants on the river don't have.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I had the Grouper Florentine and my husband had the crispy Flounder. Both were delicious. My husband also tried the Artillery punch, a very fun drink. We ate here on a Monday night, the restaurant was quiet and cozy.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Perfect date night with a river view! Great service & wonderful food. We are food snobs and are always afraid when going to new resturants. Try it out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The macoroni was not very good. I feel like that would be an easy fix

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was good, it was quiet and cozy... which is what we were looking for. But... we felt like we were rushed through dinner. The place was not really busy so it wasn't like anyone as waiting for the table. The waiter didn't seem interested in giving us any information, just gave us the menus and kept coming back for an answer.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I don't like to leave bad reviews but on the other hand I would like to give a heads up to other diners. Dinner was a disaster for me. I ordered the oysters Rockefeller and they were awful. Mostly collard greens and extremely small oysters with no taste. I did not complain but when I received my entree of seafood paella it was cold, dry and the grouper was bad. This was the restaurant's signature dish as stated on the menu so I thought it would be good. I told our server and the manager came to our table to apologize and offered another entree which I declined. They gave us complimentary dessert and coffee for our trouble. My husband ordered flounder stuffed with crabmeat and a wedge salad which he enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had the place almost to ourselves which was so nice...very little noise which allowed for easy conversation. Wait staff was attentive. Blackened Mahi sliders were delicious. Would definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 2, 2017

First tume in Savannah and someone recommend this restaurant. Was a great choice!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always good food and awesome service . Oyster Rockefeller is a must with a great low country twist.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful place for our New Year's eve dinner. Great atmosphere for a date with hubby but not stuffy and pretentious. Bartender made a perfect Old Fashioned, we're bourbon lovers so this was a good start to the evening. David was our server and was attentive but not overbearing. The foods was delish except that the shrimp on my Shrimp & Grits was tough. I let it pass because the flavor was good. The Creme Brule was good but not great. We'd go back.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Appetizers we're good. Entrees we're very under seasoned and very over done. Lobster was inedible, crab cakes over cooks to dry rocks and what was done to the Filets was a shame. Might of been a bad night for the chiefs but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great time. Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good friends. Great food. Good Service. A lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The overall experience was disappointing, the food was salty, and not very appetizing. It did not live up ok the hipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was terrible. Grouper tasted horrible. We are from FL and know real grouper. This was not. Crab topping and bearnaise sauce was a blob on top with consistency of mayo- not sauce. Crab meat had no taste. Filet mignon was burnt and tasted like charcoal and that was medium?! Paella was lousy too. Food was cold- mashed potatoes had warm and cold spots. Green beans still had cold water in them. Never again. A $150 fiasco of a meal. Would have eaten better for $15 at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a great place for any occasion. Food is pricey, but very good. Service is always exceptional. We had a special event in Savannah and wanted to make the day complete by adding a special lunch. (3 people = $78, full portion meals, soup and 3 sweet teas) Two of us ordered the catch of the day, Grilled Red Snapper, topped with lump crab, wine sauce and a wonderful loaded baked potato. Of course a side of lobster bisque (Outstanding) One person ordered the Crab cake dinner (OK, full of crab but kind of bland) Will definitely be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waitress and Services was not good at all. Food came cold and they just reheated in the microwave ruining the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very nice, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent authentic oyster po'boy sandwich and sautéed shrimp. they accommodated my daughter's need for a gluten free meal. Very accommodating and reasonably priced.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Been twice. Outstanding both times the mussels especially

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had the special grouper stuffed with us Crab. Excellent dish and large sized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.