About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: 9122332901x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Savannah
Seafood
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Scenic View (41)
Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Romantic (25)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Waterfront (6)
Historic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

White table cloth dining with wonderful ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

White table cloth dining with wonderful ambiance. Shrimp and Grits were the finest! Each one at our table of 4 had nothing but positive things to say about River House Seafood. Make sure you ask about parking before you arrive. We walked down some rather difficult steps

before we knew a hotel elevator on Bell Street level would take us directly to the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered a $30 NY strip that I asked to b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ordered a $30 NY strip that I asked to be cooked medium (the only way to eat a steak). When it came to the table it was very well done. I notified the waiter who simply told me that this overcooked steak was actually medium!!?! I was able to send it back after the manager came to the table and apologized for the mistake. Although not a steakhouse, if you're going to charge $30 for a steak it is very necessary for the entire staff to be educated on of the differences between well done and medium at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

When we were seated my husbands chair al ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

When we were seated my husbands chair almost collapsed. When I checked mine I noticed the seat was split. Service was too prompt. My soup came before we had ordered our entrees. Our entrees came five minutes later making me doubt when they were cooked. We had our check in hand within 35 minutes of being seated. If we were on a bus trip we would have been pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Vegetables were not good at all - fish w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Vegetables were not good at all - fish was good - nice waitress

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Our Server Leslie was great. We sat outs ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our Server Leslie was great. We sat outside at a sidewalk table for lunch. My wife had the salmon BLT and loved it. I had a wedge and the mussels. Blue cheese dressing was OK but not great. Mussels were good. Praline Cheesecake for dessert was delicious and just a bit decadent. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite recent reviews concerning servic ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Despite recent reviews concerning service and food quality, I decided to try River House as we were site seeing on River St. It started out well, we were seated promptly and the waitress was pleasant. Water was served immediately, drink orders were taken and when they were delivered our order was taken which included appetizers of the lobster/crab bisque and calamari. When these arrived quickly, hot, fresh and very good I thought that we made a good choice, maybe the reviews were not accurate, maybe the reviewers were expecting a little too much. Unfortunately, 35 min later our waitress said the main courses were "just a few more minutes". We weren't in a particular hurry, but the wait was starting to wear. The restaurant was only 70% capacity. Needless to say, the food must have been sitting, waiting for more than 10 minutes. It wasn't hot, the stuffing of the flounder was already drying out on top, the red snapper was lukewarm. Unfortunately, this place should have a Red Lobster sign on it, because that was the quality of the food. Edible, but not fresh tasting at all, a real disappointment for a restaurant with accessibility fresh seafood. Believe the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Overcooked my steak. Well done vs mediu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Overcooked my steak. Well done vs medium rare. No apologies given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Very tasty spot for our birthday needs w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very tasty spot for our birthday needs while on vacation! Exceeded my expectations due to other people's posts on open table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Rude and clearly drunken nearby patrons ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Rude and clearly drunken nearby patrons made our experience much less favorable than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Great food will eat there next time I am ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food will eat there next time I am in Savannah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at River House was great. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our experience at River House was great. We were seated next to a group so it was not as quiet as expected, however the food was fantastic and the service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This wasn't the most impressive dining e ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This wasn't the most impressive dining experience I've had in Savannah. It's a great location right on the river, but the quality of service and food left much to be desired. The restaurant was not very crowded, but it took a long time for us to get our food. We watched the tables around us get bread baskets while we waited, and we had to remind our server to bring ours out. The salmon salad that I ordered came with a piece of salmon what was about the size of my thumb, so I was still pretty hungry after my meal. Can't say I'll go back there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Server was very friendly. The food had ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Server was very friendly. The food had a really good flavor. The reason for the lower food score is the two flounder dishes had slot of bones in them which is not what I expect from a filet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

My server was amazing! She was very atte ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My server was amazing! She was very attentive and enthusiastic. She made some great recommendations as well.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation and stopped here for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were on vacation and stopped here for dinner. What a great place! The food was amazing! Would definitely go back if in the area!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at the restaurant. Unfortun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Second time at the restaurant. Unfortunately the caesar salad was dripping in dressing making it inedible. Shrimp added was good but the lettuce was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

A beautiful restaurant right across W Ri ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A beautiful restaurant right across W Ricer Street from Savannah River. The service was perfect and the food was good. I highly recommend the Crab Dip & Shrimp Boil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We recently decided to eat at River Hous ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We recently decided to eat at River House after a 4 year absence and overall the experience although good did not live up to our memory. First the good, the escargot appetizer and the lobster and crab bisque were excellent. The escargot were served in a cream sauce instead of the usual garlic and butter and they were wonderful and the sauce was great mopped up with the complimentary rolls. Lobster and crab bisque had rich creamy broth and lots of crab meat. In terms of the bad, the oysters on half shell were hard and dry and tasted as though they had been defrosted, not really acceptable in a seafood restaurant. Shrimp and grits would be great except for all the peppers and tomatoes they piled on. If they just served the shrimp on top of the grits they would have a winner. Toss up with the oysters for worst dish of the night would be the seafood paella. The seafood was bland and tasteless and the paella was quite simply not a paella, texture and taste were more of a Chinese stir fried rice with eafood tossed in at the very end.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good atmosphere, location and service. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good atmosphere, location and service. The food was average and was not the price. Would not go back

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I have been to River House several times ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have been to River House several times and never had a bad meal. The escargot was perfect and the paella is devine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant, fast service and acco ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant, fast service and accommodating -

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Ok, service definitely could have ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was Ok, service definitely could have been a bit more attentive, but it was adequate. The food was mostly good, but they did serve us rancid chips. They tasted as if they were either fried in rancid oil or fried so long ago that they went rancid. I was unhappy about that. But the rest of the food was fine.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Service is good. Nice server and hosts. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service is good. Nice server and hosts. THE FOOD IS HORRIBLE!!! Do not waste your money here. Go to Huey's or a the Olde Pink House. Or virtually anywhere else for good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The setting is perfect for Historic Sava ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The setting is perfect for Historic Savannah Dining. We saw ships sailing along the river to/from the Port of Savannah. After dinner, it's the ideal location to stroll along the river plaza or sit a while on a bench to people watch, catch an amazing sunset over the river.

With easy access from the elevator on Bay Street or from the lobby of the Cotton Sail Hotel, this location is a must when visiting Savannah.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Healthy, Vegan, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried oysters were more breading and oys ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fried oysters were more breading and oysters dried-out. Could not taste oyster.

Friends had shrimp and were very happy with their meals....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Was on the road traveling and I found th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Was on the road traveling and I found this on Open Table from I95. Great Find! The food was fantastic and the service was great. A bit difficult for a non local to find, but worth the effort!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food was good for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good for a tourist type restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went there for lunch. The food was gr ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went there for lunch. The food was great . The service was excellent. The waiter was knowledgable and gave us recommendations that we loved. Will go back soon

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the restaurant and everything abou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loved the restaurant and everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant; fantastic food. Fr ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant; fantastic food. Fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits were delicious -- best of my week in Savannah. Everyone in my party was pleased with the restaurant choice. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Obviously the crab was from frozen but o ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Obviously the crab was from frozen but others food were very good and fresh. Service was very nice and very friendly. We reserve for an outside table not knowing that it was on the sidewalk. Sidewalk is nice for a drink but not for a special evening dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This place is in a great location. The ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is in a great location. The dining room has nice exposed brick and river views. They also have paper placemats detailing the recipe for their signature cocktail. The appetizers were lovely. The mains were bland. I had their "signature dish" - seafood paella. It was lacking flavor and the rice was mushy. Because it's in a tourist district the crowd is somewhat interesting, think white table cloths and diners in baseball caps. I think it's a great place for drinks, maybe a simple lunch while in the tourist district. I'm just not thinking it's worth a return trip for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Although the restaurant wasn't busy our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Although the restaurant wasn't busy our server took about 25 minutes to bring our wines. We also ordered salads with our meal and the meal came prior to the salads. We had to reminder her about our order- ended up eating the salad last.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant is ruggedly beautiful... ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The restaurant is ruggedly beautiful... loaded with history.... ambiance....and a great river view. The food was outstanding. The service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did have to wait for our table to be ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We did have to wait for our table to be ready. The service was very good, I would say excellent but when the server dropped the check it took him forever to come back to pick it up. While the food was very good, I think the portions were very skimpy, the vegetable on my red snapper dish was 1 slice of zucchini and a few bland cubes of potatoes. Another diner at the table had swordfish that had a teaspoon of the salsa on top. Just a few things could make this restaurant so much better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great dinner here! Seafood was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great dinner here! Seafood was amazing and we loved the Savannah punch. Great night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken was dry of the potatoes had ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The chicken was dry of the potatoes had no flavor the collard greens were not done the rolls were good and the blue cheese cream cheese was good crabcake was OK but all in all not great food Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We took our teenagers to River House whi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We took our teenagers to River House while on vacation. Great view of the ships coming in and out and located right on River Street. Old brick walls and floors add to the ambience. It is expensive, but the food is delicious, locale is awesome and atmosphere is unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One meal was five-star, the other medioc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

One meal was five-star, the other mediocre. The sever was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Oysters and other dishes had broken shel ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Oysters and other dishes had broken shell pieces in food. Food ovrrall was good. Service was good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.