About River House Seafood

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: (912) 233-2901

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (20)
Good for a Date (16)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Casual (11)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Historic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Live Music (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were welcomed and given a beautiful window table with awesome views of the river. Fresh fish was fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 19, 2017

The restaurant was extremely quiet but for some reason it took 25 minutes for our first drink to come. The server was very apologetic but it still didn't make sense. The food was not good overall. The fried oysters were OK, but corn relish was weak. the fried green tomatoes said "goat cheese" as an ingredient and it came with such a faint sprinking of it I could barely tell. French onion soup was OK but too sweet. The only thing I really enjoyed eating was the warm bread rolls that came with the table (also took very long to get to).

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nicole was our server, she was very attentive, nice and knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great selection of food & drinks. Very attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on June 3, 2017

Visited at an off hour but service was great and food was fine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great food.. Red Snapper & Cerviche 🖒
The Children’s plate as well .
Thanks to the cook

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 27, 2017

There was a mix up and our waiter did not realize we were seated. Someone took care of us immediately and the food was delicious. All the employees look happy and attentive to the customers.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 24, 2017

My wife and I were visiting Savannah and had dinner there mid week, 7PM. We were greeted and seated promptly, water was poured and drink orders taken. The menu was extensive and perfect for diners with a relatively limited range. Several specials were described in addition to the numerous menu options. We enjoyed our appetizers and entrees very much. The wine list was quite adequate and reasonably priced. I think I would become a regular in this place if I lived here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was great! The entire evening was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a terrible experience. Made reservations months ahead for our once a year vacation. always pick one great restaurant per trip for our special dinner. ordered onion soup and Caesar salad. Soup was overly sweet. ordered steak and lobster. waited on our entrée. and waited. finished a glass of wine and ordered the specialty drink. still no dinner. And then the waiter came out and said he was sorry but there was no lobster. Would shrimp do? what a disappointment. waited some more. My daughter finally said that was enough. we asked for our bill and left. But I forgot one important thing. A manager? came over after we were told there was no lobster and said he had posted it all over the place and threw his waiter under the bus..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on May 20, 2017

We did not stay for dinner. When we first arrived we looked over the menu and did not see crab legs on the menu as advertised. Around 10 minutes later the waitress came and said no that was an old menu I have on the website and they do not have crab legs. So we went next door!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had high expectations, but were quickly disappointed.
To start, the hostess was not friendly--almost rude.
Our server was great, and the live music was a nice way to distract from the almost sullen ambience.
Each of our dishes were so-so. Nothing special, but should be, as Savannah has plenty of other top restaurants that we will be frequenting next time we are there.
Wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was visiting Savannah and thought eating by the river would be nice. But we Felt rushed by the waitress and the food came out warm.

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good didn't wait long for my food waitress was a little slow in servicing us especially since the restaurant wasn't crowded. But the overall experience was great. I will come again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
·Dined on May 8, 2017

The service was wonderful, the food delicious! Loved the view of the river. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 7, 2017

We really enjoyed the meal and the service was great. Very disappointed that we could only book a 4:30 pm slot on a Sunday afternoon through Open Table. There were lots of empty tables when we arrived and there were still plenty when we left at 6:30 pm so we wondered what the problem was. We hadn't the option to call direct.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were six friends eating on our vacation. We were going to this restaurant having used reviews from trip advisor. The food came out cold and was not very good. We were given free desserts but the food still was unacceptable especially for the prices they charged.I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were very pleased with our dinner at the River House. We had a reservation and were seated right away, even though the restaurant was very busy. The food was good, and service attentive. We would certainly go back if we return to Savannah.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on April 27, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, has seating inside or outside. Service was great during the time of day we were there, food was very good. We went late afternoon when it was still lunchtime and prices were reasonable. By the way it's happy hour all day and they have good drink specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on April 24, 2017

Stopped in for lunch on my last day in Savannah and was welcomed by friendly staff and serve some great Seafood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service and location

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

Average place - menu was identical to the Shrimp House where we had dined for Lunch so a little disappointed when needing to pay $12 more for the same entree at dinner. Both place are great for Southern food Lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food. We eat there every time we visit Savannah.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on April 13, 2017

Seated promptly. Good service. Good food. Wait for food was very long to point I inquired on status with of server. Manager stopped by to advise dinner would arrive shortly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
·Dined on April 13, 2017

The staff was too busy talking either one another. Although they looked at us a number of times we were ignored so we left!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on April 12, 2017

Waitress was friendly enough but was poorly trained and wouldn't allow us to swap out the fries for another side (have never experienced this before), didn't know what kind of oysters the restaurant was serving (e.g., where the oysters were sourced) and claimed never to have been asked this question before, charged us for an item we didn't order, and took away our plates before we were finished eating. It was abominable, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a very pleasant dining experience here. Food was well-prepared and some dishes were creative, but overall perhaps not quite in the outstanding category. Our server was friendly and helpful, but bar service was very slow and drink timing wasn't well coordinated with the meal. River House has a prime location that lifts the prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on April 9, 2017

Table was ready nearly an hour after our reservation. Food was mediocre, two dinner entrees were served cold. Service was decent, but we were seated in a section with a trainee, despite noting when the reservation was made that we were we were celebrating a special occasion. Overpriced. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Tried this spot as a 'celebratory' dinner as part of a girls weekend in Savannah. Overall, the food was excellent, but my steak was overcooked and we weren't given much time to enjoy our appetizers before the entrees arrived at the table - they were put in the system at the same time, so not much time to enjoy our oysters, hummus, or crab dip. This seems to be a very popular spot on the weekend, so definitely make a reservation and plan to stay for a while. It's worth the wait and ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Slow and somewhat inattentive service. Food was only slightly warm; due to service issue and the fact we needed to eat we didn't want to wait another half hour to get it back. Won't return; food overrated anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on April 5, 2017

Steak was perfectly cooked to our liking. Service,while friendly, was slow. Had to ask for bread 3 times after being told he was bringing it.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on March 27, 2017

We sat outside and the waiter was never available. We did not see him because he had tables inside the restaurant . He forgot that he needed to check on the one table outside.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

Five of our 7 entrees were delivered st once, the 6th person waited 10 more minutes for theirs, while mine came 20 minutes later! No excuse for such poor timing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our third time here. We liked it so much on vacation last year we came back. Although locally it was prom night the service still managed to be on point. The crab and lobster bisque was very good as were our fish dinners.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good appetizets. Quite good service. Lukewarm food not do good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a good experience here. The food was fine and just what we expected. Seafood is the specialty. Raw oysters were good. All in all, a good experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 22, 2017

When we lived in Savannah several years ago, this was one of the many restaurants where we would dine. Although it still has a nice atmosphere and the service was fine, both my wife and I felt the food was average at best. And it wasn't because we purchased unpopular items on the menu. In fact , our waitress said both were very good choices and 2 of her favorites. Thus, given the price of the food and quality, I wouldn't give this restaurant more than an average rating

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Casual, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice place. The food is okay, nothing so taste... The Chef should try his food.

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service was below average and the food was cold. The only redeeming quality was the rolls.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent service; Aaron was our waiter. He was so attentive and food was delivered at a comfortable pace. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.