About River House Seafood

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

78% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (27)
Good for a Date (18)
Casual (15)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Live Music (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our reservation was for 8.45 tables empty every yet they made us wait till 9pm and only after we asked., fish overcooked, rissoto dry and pasty. Overall a terrible dinner just as bad the service

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent experience. Good service, excellent food, wonderful ambience. We plan to come back when we are back in Savannah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Best seafood of the three restaurants we tried during our trip.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Go for the booze, not the food.
Oysters were the size of quarters: six would have been three anywhere else, accompaniments in plastic cups.
Had to fight off the presentation of the main course grouper with the appetizers, not once but twice. grouper had an off taste, like it needed some refrigeration. Unsatisfactory although the sauce hid much of the taste. But this may be the best restaurant along the waterfront.
For better dining experiences, go inland!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Much better seafood in Charleston. Your red snapper special was not very good. We'very had better red snapper elsewhere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My wife and I had a great time and were treated like family. The food was phenomenal!!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were visiting Savannah for the weekend! Food was wonderful and portions were plentiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were on our honeymoon and this restaurant was fantastic to kick off our dinner on the first night. We bought the Chatham Artillery Pubch, but forgot our souvenir glass 😩. Overall, fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our server was excellent. The food was delivered fast. The food was so delicious and fresh. The house wine was of good quality. Sat by the window and got to people watch while we dined. I will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Large restaurant in a great location on River Street. Pretty atmosphere with exposed brick , brightly lit with windows looking out onto River Street. River Street is very pretty at night. We loved everything we ordered . Fried green tomatoes, oysters, shrimp with grits & seafood paella .Friendly attentive service

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Svc slow and restaurant was not busy. My daughter ordered a pork chop without peach chutney and it came with it. We advised the food runner and he took it back, scraped it off and returned it to the table! Another waiter (head?) acknowledged this was unacceptable and stated that we would not be charged for it. Big of them. The filet sliders were dry and unremarkable in flavor. The lobster bisque was very good, but the overall experience was a disappointment.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

It was a rustic restaurant on the river front. Food was good, not great. I would still recommend this restaurant

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was very good. We enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

First visit to Savannah and I was not disappointed. Food was great, views were too.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We got a table by the window so we had a great view of the river. I had the fried shrimp dinner and my husband had the paella (with grouper). Both were delicious. Great dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Mediocre food at best, at prices that approach class-act restaurants. Service, though friendly, was not as attentive as it should have been. I would definitely NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Good food and restaurant. Great spot on the waterfront and friendly staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food. Great service. No complaints at all. Will go Bach on my next visit to Savannah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was very good. Our waitress was a rain of sunshine. The live music was awesome!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our waiter was from Venezuela and he was awesome! Had a large selection of appetizers. Our party of 4 ordered 2 appetizers each and every one was excellent. Their artillery specialty drink was a hit as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We love the fish dishes here and enjoy them on every trip to Savannah.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was amazing food, quaint and comfortable atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent service.
Fantastic peach Margaritas
Crab and fish was excellent
Desserts: perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

awesome food appetizer came quickly long wait between that and main course. otherwise it was perfect second time returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Went there 20years before and it hasn't changed. Good food, great service and the Chatham Artillery Punch was the best. The pecan pie was good too!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was awesome and drinks was great and service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were in Savannah on vacation and ate at River House. It is located on River Road, a fun area to walk up and down before and after our meal. The food was delicious. I ended up taking the waitresses suggestion of stuffed grouper with garlic mashed potatoes (instead of pasta). My husband had shrimp/scallop pasta. I would highly recommend if you are in the area. Most of the seating is indoors (just a couple outdoor tables).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is just a pricier Shrimp Factory restaurant. We had gone to the Shrimp Factory on River Street the day before. The River House had the same paper place mats and fake flowers. The food was just okay at best. Very bland!! Our server was very attentive. There was five in our party. Two of the dinners were cold and had to be returned. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great waterfront seafood restaurant on River Street. The seafood was fresh and offered in several cooking styles. Very extensive menu and loved the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

River House Seafood is on the lower level of the Cotton Sail hotel, where we spent 4 days in Savannah. It was not our first choice of a restaurant, but we chose it for convenience to the hotel. We actually stuck with appetizers for my wife and I, while the kids got individual meals. The appetizers we got (escargot, mussels, mahi sliders, salad, and lobster/crab bisque. The bisque was good, but I had better at other local restaurants. The salad my wife got was run of the mill salad, with a significant lack of healthy greens. The other appetizers were a bit bland. Overall, the service was good, but the food and wine was just average. The view of the river was nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The Mixed Grill (Filet, Crab Cake, and Shrimp) are always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My husband and I wanted good seafood down by the river. We found it! The atmosphere and staff were excellent and the food was INCREDIBLE! Some of the freshest seafood we'd had in a long time. By the time we were done, we were ready to burst! Definitely... Two Thumbs Up!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Definitely try the blue cheese, cream cheese spread. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very disappointed. The River House has been our anniversary go to restaurant for the last 15 years. The service was the worst, We had to chase down the waiter M. for water and even bread! Food came to the table overcooked. I was in shock. Will have to find another go-to restaurant. Will never sped another penny there. They let us down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was enjoyable, steak was great. Calamari was so good and crispy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My meal was Awesome! It was well worth the two hour drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very nice love the ambience the Decour very authentic great menu a little pricey, but well worth it. The jumbo crab cakes were amazing as well as the shrimp and grits! My family love the Porkchop dinner; it was almost like a steak & cooked to perfection! Family friendly, very clean and nice; it could really handle any occasion. We had a window seat so it was nice to see the large boats go by. Really enjoyed our experience at The River House and our server Sheeman was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When I looked them up through both yelp and opentable they seemed like a higher end restaurant that's made to celebrate a special occasion. Both websites indicated that there was a "view"... we were sorely disappointed when we got there. The staff was nice but they didn't take into account that I had special requests is why I made a reservation. The "view" that was aforementioned was of passerbys. The food was "eh" at best. Their menu sounded great but the execution was poor. At the end when they "closed" at 11pm I felt rushed to leave. I won't be going back because the overall experience left a bad taste in my mouth not to mention the dirty and gritty oysters. They could have at least rinsed the dirt out of the oysters before serving them. Bad experience aside, neither their food nor the presentation was worth the money. What they forget is, in this age of technology, who isn't a blogger?

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've been coming here for many years and it feels like the food quality is going down it's becoming more of a touristy type restaurant for example the Tuna dinner special listed out the ingredients and a red wine sauce and it turned out to be just plain marinara sauce on the tuna. The tune of those whale overcooked and dry the blue cheese chips had just crumbles of blue cheese like a dusting. I got the fillet mignon sliders and it might has well been a Krystal burger because the meet was so thin and it was so small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.