About River House Seafood

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: (912) 233-2901

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Casual (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Scenic View (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter was from Venezuela and he was awesome! Had a large selection of appetizers. Our party of 4 ordered 2 appetizers each and every one was excellent. Their artillery specialty drink was a hit as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We love the fish dishes here and enjoy them on every trip to Savannah.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was amazing food, quaint and comfortable atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent service.
Fantastic peach Margaritas
Crab and fish was excellent
Desserts: perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

awesome food appetizer came quickly long wait between that and main course. otherwise it was perfect second time returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Went there 20years before and it hasn't changed. Good food, great service and the Chatham Artillery Punch was the best. The pecan pie was good too!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was awesome and drinks was great and service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were in Savannah on vacation and ate at River House. It is located on River Road, a fun area to walk up and down before and after our meal. The food was delicious. I ended up taking the waitresses suggestion of stuffed grouper with garlic mashed potatoes (instead of pasta). My husband had shrimp/scallop pasta. I would highly recommend if you are in the area. Most of the seating is indoors (just a couple outdoor tables).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is just a pricier Shrimp Factory restaurant. We had gone to the Shrimp Factory on River Street the day before. The River House had the same paper place mats and fake flowers. The food was just okay at best. Very bland!! Our server was very attentive. There was five in our party. Two of the dinners were cold and had to be returned. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great waterfront seafood restaurant on River Street. The seafood was fresh and offered in several cooking styles. Very extensive menu and loved the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

River House Seafood is on the lower level of the Cotton Sail hotel, where we spent 4 days in Savannah. It was not our first choice of a restaurant, but we chose it for convenience to the hotel. We actually stuck with appetizers for my wife and I, while the kids got individual meals. The appetizers we got (escargot, mussels, mahi sliders, salad, and lobster/crab bisque. The bisque was good, but I had better at other local restaurants. The salad my wife got was run of the mill salad, with a significant lack of healthy greens. The other appetizers were a bit bland. Overall, the service was good, but the food and wine was just average. The view of the river was nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The Mixed Grill (Filet, Crab Cake, and Shrimp) are always amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

My husband and I wanted good seafood down by the river. We found it! The atmosphere and staff were excellent and the food was INCREDIBLE! Some of the freshest seafood we'd had in a long time. By the time we were done, we were ready to burst! Definitely... Two Thumbs Up!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Definitely try the blue cheese, cream cheese spread. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very disappointed. The River House has been our anniversary go to restaurant for the last 15 years. The service was the worst, We had to chase down the waiter M. for water and even bread! Food came to the table overcooked. I was in shock. Will have to find another go-to restaurant. Will never sped another penny there. They let us down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Food was enjoyable, steak was great. Calamari was so good and crispy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My meal was Awesome! It was well worth the two hour drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very nice love the ambience the Decour very authentic great menu a little pricey, but well worth it. The jumbo crab cakes were amazing as well as the shrimp and grits! My family love the Porkchop dinner; it was almost like a steak & cooked to perfection! Family friendly, very clean and nice; it could really handle any occasion. We had a window seat so it was nice to see the large boats go by. Really enjoyed our experience at The River House and our server Sheeman was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When I looked them up through both yelp and opentable they seemed like a higher end restaurant that's made to celebrate a special occasion. Both websites indicated that there was a "view"... we were sorely disappointed when we got there. The staff was nice but they didn't take into account that I had special requests is why I made a reservation. The "view" that was aforementioned was of passerbys. The food was "eh" at best. Their menu sounded great but the execution was poor. At the end when they "closed" at 11pm I felt rushed to leave. I won't be going back because the overall experience left a bad taste in my mouth not to mention the dirty and gritty oysters. They could have at least rinsed the dirt out of the oysters before serving them. Bad experience aside, neither their food nor the presentation was worth the money. What they forget is, in this age of technology, who isn't a blogger?

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We've been coming here for many years and it feels like the food quality is going down it's becoming more of a touristy type restaurant for example the Tuna dinner special listed out the ingredients and a red wine sauce and it turned out to be just plain marinara sauce on the tuna. The tune of those whale overcooked and dry the blue cheese chips had just crumbles of blue cheese like a dusting. I got the fillet mignon sliders and it might has well been a Krystal burger because the meet was so thin and it was so small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were all excited for some Tuna, we asked for it very rare and it came out pretty much fully cooked. The taste was horrible. It seems like each time we go back the food quality get's worse and worse. I will be looking beyond River Street for seafood the next time we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food was overcooked, dry, and tasteless. We were on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We went to River House to celebrate a special occasion with our kids. Everyone was able to find something that fit their food palette which isn't always easy with 5 kids. I had the special which was tuna over spaghetti squash which had wonderful flavor. The server was attentive and friendly and helped make the dining experience better. We all had a wonderful meal thanks to river house's staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Was in town over the 4th of July long weekend celebrating my husbands 65th birthday and also for his moms 90th on July 1. We went on Thursday the 29th and had a wonderful meal, great service and guitarist was as a nice plus to the evening. We had oysters, soup, stuffed tilapia and crab cakes and everything was great. Would recommend this and would come again.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The seafood was awesome! Moist and flavorful appetizers and entrees. Historic area offered entertainment while waiting to dine....positive experience on all counts!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were welcomed and given a beautiful window table with awesome views of the river. Fresh fish was fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The restaurant was extremely quiet but for some reason it took 25 minutes for our first drink to come. The server was very apologetic but it still didn't make sense. The food was not good overall. The fried oysters were OK, but corn relish was weak. the fried green tomatoes said "goat cheese" as an ingredient and it came with such a faint sprinking of it I could barely tell. French onion soup was OK but too sweet. The only thing I really enjoyed eating was the warm bread rolls that came with the table (also took very long to get to).

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nicole was our server, she was very attentive, nice and knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great selection of food & drinks. Very attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our dinner was nothing short of fantastic! The Etouffee was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Waterfront, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Visited at an off hour but service was great and food was fine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food.. Red Snapper & Cerviche 🖒
The Children’s plate as well .
Thanks to the cook

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 26, 2017

There was a mix up and our waiter did not realize we were seated. Someone took care of us immediately and the food was delicious. All the employees look happy and attentive to the customers.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Would have received better review and scores if the service was attentive but it was not. My wife found a hair in her crab cake. Restaurant removed charge and provided one free dessert. Pity this quality issue occurred. During the initial problem waiter was nowhere to be found at first.
Aside from this all other aspects were positive and we would be willing to try it again.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My wife and I were visiting Savannah and had dinner there mid week, 7PM. We were greeted and seated promptly, water was poured and drink orders taken. The menu was extensive and perfect for diners with a relatively limited range. Several specials were described in addition to the numerous menu options. We enjoyed our appetizers and entrees very much. The wine list was quite adequate and reasonably priced. I think I would become a regular in this place if I lived here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was great! The entire evening was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a terrible experience. Made reservations months ahead for our once a year vacation. always pick one great restaurant per trip for our special dinner. ordered onion soup and Caesar salad. Soup was overly sweet. ordered steak and lobster. waited on our entrée. and waited. finished a glass of wine and ordered the specialty drink. still no dinner. And then the waiter came out and said he was sorry but there was no lobster. Would shrimp do? what a disappointment. waited some more. My daughter finally said that was enough. we asked for our bill and left. But I forgot one important thing. A manager? came over after we were told there was no lobster and said he had posted it all over the place and threw his waiter under the bus..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We did not stay for dinner. When we first arrived we looked over the menu and did not see crab legs on the menu as advertised. Around 10 minutes later the waitress came and said no that was an old menu I have on the website and they do not have crab legs. So we went next door!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had high expectations, but were quickly disappointed.
To start, the hostess was not friendly--almost rude.
Our server was great, and the live music was a nice way to distract from the almost sullen ambience.
Each of our dishes were so-so. Nothing special, but should be, as Savannah has plenty of other top restaurants that we will be frequenting next time we are there.
Wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was visiting Savannah and thought eating by the river would be nice. But we Felt rushed by the waitress and the food came out warm.

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.