About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: 9122332901x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Scenic View (43)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A beautiful restaurant right across W Ri ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

A beautiful restaurant right across W Ricer Street from Savannah River. The service was perfect and the food was good. I highly recommend the Crab Dip & Shrimp Boil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We recently decided to eat at River Hous ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

We recently decided to eat at River House after a 4 year absence and overall the experience although good did not live up to our memory. First the good, the escargot appetizer and the lobster and crab bisque were excellent. The escargot were served in a cream sauce instead of the usual garlic and butter and they were wonderful and the sauce was great mopped up with the complimentary rolls. Lobster and crab bisque had rich creamy broth and lots of crab meat. In terms of the bad, the oysters on half shell were hard and dry and tasted as though they had been defrosted, not really acceptable in a seafood restaurant. Shrimp and grits would be great except for all the peppers and tomatoes they piled on. If they just served the shrimp on top of the grits they would have a winner. Toss up with the oysters for worst dish of the night would be the seafood paella. The seafood was bland and tasteless and the paella was quite simply not a paella, texture and taste were more of a Chinese stir fried rice with eafood tossed in at the very end.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good atmosphere, location and service. T ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good atmosphere, location and service. The food was average and was not the price. Would not go back

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I have been to River House several times ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have been to River House several times and never had a bad meal. The escargot was perfect and the paella is devine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant, fast service and acco ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lovely restaurant, fast service and accommodating -

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Ok, service definitely could have ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was Ok, service definitely could have been a bit more attentive, but it was adequate. The food was mostly good, but they did serve us rancid chips. They tasted as if they were either fried in rancid oil or fried so long ago that they went rancid. I was unhappy about that. But the rest of the food was fine.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Service is good. Nice server and hosts. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service is good. Nice server and hosts. THE FOOD IS HORRIBLE!!! Do not waste your money here. Go to Huey's or a the Olde Pink House. Or virtually anywhere else for good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The setting is perfect for Historic Sava ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The setting is perfect for Historic Savannah Dining. We saw ships sailing along the river to/from the Port of Savannah. After dinner, it's the ideal location to stroll along the river plaza or sit a while on a bench to people watch, catch an amazing sunset over the river.

With easy access from the elevator on Bay Street or from the lobby of the Cotton Sail Hotel, this location is a must when visiting Savannah.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Healthy, Vegan, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried oysters were more breading and oys ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fried oysters were more breading and oysters dried-out. Could not taste oyster.

Friends had shrimp and were very happy with their meals....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Was on the road traveling and I found th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Was on the road traveling and I found this on Open Table from I95. Great Find! The food was fantastic and the service was great. A bit difficult for a non local to find, but worth the effort!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food was good for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good for a tourist type restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went there for lunch. The food was gr ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went there for lunch. The food was great . The service was excellent. The waiter was knowledgable and gave us recommendations that we loved. Will go back soon

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the restaurant and everything abou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loved the restaurant and everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant; fantastic food. Fr ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant; fantastic food. Fried green tomatoes and shrimp and grits were delicious -- best of my week in Savannah. Everyone in my party was pleased with the restaurant choice. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Obviously the crab was from frozen but o ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Obviously the crab was from frozen but others food were very good and fresh. Service was very nice and very friendly. We reserve for an outside table not knowing that it was on the sidewalk. Sidewalk is nice for a drink but not for a special evening dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This place is in a great location. The ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is in a great location. The dining room has nice exposed brick and river views. They also have paper placemats detailing the recipe for their signature cocktail. The appetizers were lovely. The mains were bland. I had their "signature dish" - seafood paella. It was lacking flavor and the rice was mushy. Because it's in a tourist district the crowd is somewhat interesting, think white table cloths and diners in baseball caps. I think it's a great place for drinks, maybe a simple lunch while in the tourist district. I'm just not thinking it's worth a return trip for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Although the restaurant wasn't busy our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Although the restaurant wasn't busy our server took about 25 minutes to bring our wines. We also ordered salads with our meal and the meal came prior to the salads. We had to reminder her about our order- ended up eating the salad last.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant is ruggedly beautiful... ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The restaurant is ruggedly beautiful... loaded with history.... ambiance....and a great river view. The food was outstanding. The service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did have to wait for our table to be ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We did have to wait for our table to be ready. The service was very good, I would say excellent but when the server dropped the check it took him forever to come back to pick it up. While the food was very good, I think the portions were very skimpy, the vegetable on my red snapper dish was 1 slice of zucchini and a few bland cubes of potatoes. Another diner at the table had swordfish that had a teaspoon of the salsa on top. Just a few things could make this restaurant so much better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great dinner here! Seafood was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great dinner here! Seafood was amazing and we loved the Savannah punch. Great night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken was dry of the potatoes had ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The chicken was dry of the potatoes had no flavor the collard greens were not done the rolls were good and the blue cheese cream cheese was good crabcake was OK but all in all not great food Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We took our teenagers to River House whi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We took our teenagers to River House while on vacation. Great view of the ships coming in and out and located right on River Street. Old brick walls and floors add to the ambience. It is expensive, but the food is delicious, locale is awesome and atmosphere is unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One meal was five-star, the other medioc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

One meal was five-star, the other mediocre. The sever was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Oysters and other dishes had broken shel ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Oysters and other dishes had broken shell pieces in food. Food ovrrall was good. Service was good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

One of the best restaurant in Savannah. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the best restaurant in Savannah. Reservation needed on Friday and Saturday if you don't want to wait for a table. The lobster crab bisque and the blue crab stuffed flounder are amazing.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First I must say our server Patrice was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First I must say our server Patrice was absolutely great! The food was amazing as well. Everything from the fried green tomatoes to the scallops to the shrimp po'boy was delicious! I will be back here. Next time I will try the shrimp and grits which one of my friends had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious and the server was ve ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was delicious and the server was very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was cold and tasteless. My fish ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My food was cold and tasteless. My fish tasted frozen. My daughter had the fettacinni alfredo that tasted like watered down cheese sauce. My husband the special, snapper, which he said was good. Bread was good. Restaurant is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service and delicious food. Loved ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Loved the artillery punch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awesome. Well presented, w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was awesome. Well presented, with taste to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has a lovely view and liv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The restaurant has a lovely view and lively feel, the paper on the tables is very frustrating as it keep flying up and in the way, I finally tore it off. I had the filet and grilled shrimp and it really had no flavor. The steak was overcooked. I just was disappointed for the price and flavor so wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were served cold food after a very lo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were served cold food after a very long wait! The food was good but, cold.... I will probably not visit the restaurant again when in Savannah, disappointed that I spent the amount of $$ for the food and had to actually buy something else to eat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value5

Horrible good and service. I would not r ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Horrible good and service. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Table was ready! Server was great. Food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Table was ready! Server was great. Food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food took a long time to come out, but i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food took a long time to come out, but it was good. We all enjoyed our meals, well prepared. Glad we tried it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Thefoodwasgoodenoughthatweate3mealsthere ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Thefoodwasgoodenoughthatweate3mealsthere. Lunch, appetizersanddesert, and lastly a full dinner. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and great service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing! Service and atmosphere ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was amazing! Service and atmosphere was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Savannah Paella was delicious!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Savannah Paella was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster and crab bisque is really memora ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Lobster and crab bisque is really memorable. Worth it just for that. On River street so in the middle of the action and nice view. Entrees were fine, but not memorable. Staff very friendly with good service. This is decent if you want something on the River and walkable from a downtown hotel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.