About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: 9122332901x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
  • River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA
River House Seafood, Savannah, GA

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Waterfront (31)
Special Occasion (26)
Scenic View (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Historic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Live Music (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful choice. Had the blackened mahi ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful choice. Had the blackened mahi & stuffed flounder. Also tried the crab dip for an appetizer & praline cheesecake for dessert. Great service & wine-food pairing recommendations. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service all around fantastic ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, service all around fantastic experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a must Stop in Savannah Great s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always a must Stop in Savannah

Great service and food

If I lived in the area I am sure I would. Be at the river house several times a month

Serena was our server and it amazes me how the server who never writes anything down

Gets it all right 3 of us and no salt on one and change a few things and when it comes perfect

Great staff in kitchen also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Good location, however ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing. Good location, however food and service was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

My husband and I came here for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I came here for Thanksgiving dinner. It was delicious and every meal I've had there since then has been delicious highly recommended!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best twin lobster tails we have had in a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best twin lobster tails we have had in a long time

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I went to River House for ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went to River House for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a wonderful meal. My husband, who is not an adventuresome eater, and is often disappointed when we eat out, had the vegetable platter and really, really liked it. He is still talking about how good the black-eyed peas were. I had the grouper oscar, which was also wonderful. Our server, Aron, was excellent. He recommended the grouper as I was stuck trying to decide between that and a couple of other dishes, and I have no regrets. I also had a glass of Chardonnay, which was lovely and reasonably priced. The meal was leisurely, which was perfect for Thanksgiving dinner. We also had the pumpkin pie with ice cream for dessert which was delicious and coffee that was the best I've had in a long time. The ambiance was perfect - soft music in the background, relaxed and slightly elegant. We just had a great time.

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a great view too! Went ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food with a great view too! Went for Thanksgiving dinner but ordered off the regular menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience ! Don't waste your mone ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Worst experience ! Don't waste your money and appetite! Dirty place ! Dirty restrooms !! Bad service !!! No stars !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Grouper tasted fishy and was overcooked. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Grouper tasted fishy and was overcooked. My husband's fried oysters were also overcooked.

They offered free desserts which were not too good either. We won't go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My food was amazing. It was a great birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My food was amazing. It was a great birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fantastic. Menu options for peo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was fantastic. Menu options for people with picky taste.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and value. Nothing fancy and g ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food and value. Nothing fancy and getting down the cobblestone street is a challenge - especially at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The service was excellent. Our food came ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was excellent. Our food came out in perfect timing. My husband loved the Mahi Mahi. My only complaint was the Filet-minion. It was under cooked and lacked taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE..... We wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE..... We walked by this restaurant earlier in the day, looked at the menu, noted the tablecloths and it appeared to be a nice restaurant for dinner. We were right! We started with the Blue Crab Dip, served with homemade tortilla chips and both the dip and chips were fabulous! Our table ordered the Pasta Primavera with Shrimp, the Friend Shrimp, and the Shrimp & Sausage Gumbo..... and we all cleaned our plates. My husband was looking for some "Southern" and the Gumbo was exactly what he was looking for. Our server was attentive, perfectly paced our dinner, and our nice table in the corner was exactly what we were looking for. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any friend or family seeking a venue for dinner while visiting Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice experience. Food and service b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very nice experience. Food and service both quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good. No problem getting in. Th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was good. No problem getting in. They had some live music that was quiet. The waiter was attentive. The food was very good. I loved the menu choices wish I could have tried more. The price was on par for the area. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

More than likely a tourist staple. Food ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

More than likely a tourist staple. Food was average. Won't seat you until full party is there...even with empty tables.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We returned for shrimp grits. They seeme ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We returned for shrimp grits. They seemed to be prepared much differently than I remembered but tasted good.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I read a lot a reviews after booking a t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I read a lot a reviews after booking a table reservation, and some of them scared me. They spoke of rude staff and bland food. My wife and I did not experience either of those. We were greeted by very friendly and hospitable staff. Our waiter was a little soft-spoken, but he was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. He was great. The good was very tasty. I had the etoufee and my wife had the shrimp and grits. Both were VERY good. My etoufee had a perfect amount of spice and an amazing cornbread casserole in the center. The shrimp and grits came with roasted tomatoes, which I thought was odd until I tasted it. The flavors blended beautifully to create a great dish my wife loved, and I stole a few tasty bites. The ambiance included brick arches surrounded by exposed wood beams and flooring. We looked out onto the river and watched freighters go by as we ate. Thank you, River House, for a great experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome service, excellent food. Love th ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Awesome service, excellent food. Love the atmosphere. My favorite place to dine in Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is in a wonderful old bu ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This restaurant is in a wonderful old building on River Street. We really enjoyed everything about this space. Old brick, old art work, incredible lighting. Our service was very good and food was awesome. We were there for an early dinner after golf so couldn't get a feel for the true ambiance. Highly recommend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was conveniently located ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The restaurant was conveniently located near our hotel. Service was efficient and friendly, it was convenient for wandering around the stores and nice river walk.

Food was pretty average, but we still enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went here to celebrate my wife's birt ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went here to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food and service were beyond expectations. However, a party came in toward the end of our stay and they were seated very close to us and were EXTREMELY NOISY and rude. We appeared to be the third table that got up and left after their arrival. I know that it is difficult if not impossible to control customer's behavior. Nonetheless, we cut short an EXTREMELY PLEASANT and ENJOYABLE evening due to their unacceptable behavior.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sat on patio with our dog. OK patio, wou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Sat on patio with our dog. OK patio, would have appreciated some kind of covering. Appetizers were French Onion Soup and Lobster Bisque (both very good). Entrees ordered were Shrimp & Scallops with Fettuccine (nice light & tasty sauce) and Paella (moist with lots of seafood). Good, not great, but would order again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Our party had everyt ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was very good. Our party had everything from pizza to meatloaf and everything was very flavorful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The River House is my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The River House is my favorite restaurant in Savannah for its ambiance and view and what it offers out-of-town guests in the feel of the real Savannah.

The food never disappoints, and the price is reasonable and fair. I think the crabcakes are always a good menu choice. This time I even splurged and had the pecan pie -- outstanding!

I will continue to suggest the River House for tourists and locals alike.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to stop in Savannah for dinner o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Decided to stop in Savannah for dinner on our way home. We were sat inside by the window & noticed a table outside opened up, we asked to move & they staff was very quick & helpful to move us. Outside was STUNNING. Great view of the river, people watching & could hear the guy outside playing music. It was quite romantic! The food & cocktails were absolutely delicious! Its on our list of places to return to the next time we're in town!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a late anniversary vacation to ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was a late anniversary vacation to Savannah. We just looked on line and the location and menu looked great. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Service was great and food even better. We both had the blackened snapper. Outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at River House. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at River House. The location was good, right on River Street. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food was very good, but I can't say it was anything special. We ordered the fried shrimp and oyster dinner. The oysters were good, but very small.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. Quite a nice menu ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service was great. Quite a nice menu selection .

The ambiance of the restaurant in an old warehouse was quaint and historical .

Front porch dining available but limited with a view of the river and passing cargo ships and riverboats .

Prices are decent and a good selection of adult beverages .

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and service!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a very pleasant, re ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 26, 2016

My husband and I had a very pleasant, relaxing experience at the restaurant, we will return on future trips.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Scallop appetizer was delicious. Unf ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The Scallop appetizer was delicious. Unfortunately, the entree arrived at the same time as the appetizers. They took it back to keep it warm, but the shrimp on the Shrimp & Grits were over then cooked. The Fried Chicken entree was a "healthy" version, of a boneless skinless chicken breast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Reservations were made and we were seate ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Reservations were made and we were seated promptly upon arrival. This was an evening meal and the service and knowledge of the staff was superior. Food arrived in a timely manner and was as ordered. Our waiter was outstanding in all of his duties. Not crowded on top of one another here. Tables are nicely spread out to give you plenty of room to enjoy your meal. Would not hesitate to make a first choice when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

White table cloth dining with wonderful ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

White table cloth dining with wonderful ambiance. Shrimp and Grits were the finest! Each one at our table of 4 had nothing but positive things to say about River House Seafood. Make sure you ask about parking before you arrive. We walked down some rather difficult steps

before we knew a hotel elevator on Bell Street level would take us directly to the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered a $30 NY strip that I asked to b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ordered a $30 NY strip that I asked to be cooked medium (the only way to eat a steak). When it came to the table it was very well done. I notified the waiter who simply told me that this overcooked steak was actually medium!!?! I was able to send it back after the manager came to the table and apologized for the mistake. Although not a steakhouse, if you're going to charge $30 for a steak it is very necessary for the entire staff to be educated on of the differences between well done and medium at least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

When we were seated my husbands chair al ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2016

When we were seated my husbands chair almost collapsed. When I checked mine I noticed the seat was split. Service was too prompt. My soup came before we had ordered our entrees. Our entrees came five minutes later making me doubt when they were cooked. We had our check in hand within 35 minutes of being seated. If we were on a bus trip we would have been pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Vegetables were not good at all - fish w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Vegetables were not good at all - fish was good - nice waitress

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Our Server Leslie was great. We sat outs ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our Server Leslie was great. We sat outside at a sidewalk table for lunch. My wife had the salmon BLT and loved it. I had a wedge and the mussels. Blue cheese dressing was OK but not great. Mussels were good. Praline Cheesecake for dessert was delicious and just a bit decadent. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.