About River House Seafood

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: (912) 233-2901

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Historic (29)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Cozy (21)
Scenic View (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
People Watching (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Family Style (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Live Music (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The service was below average and the food was cold. The only redeeming quality was the rolls.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent service; Aaron was our waiter. He was so attentive and food was delivered at a comfortable pace. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The ambiance is lovely but the service is lacking. One of the members of our party didn't receive her meal until 15 minutes after everyone else, and it was shrimp and grits, their specialty from what they said. It's overpriced for what they offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

After reading some reviews, we were skeptical. However, it turns out we had a great experience. 3 in our party, and all enjoyed the meal, the temperature of food, and service. We had 2 appetizers, calamari, and boiled shrimp. I personally loved the calamari! I had grouper oscar, my husband had paella, and teenager had the fabulous crab cakes. We are going for a second dinner on our vacation this same week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great setting in old warehouse on the river. Can watch the freighters go by. Food was good and there is a good menu. Service was pleasant but slow and food for our table of five came out at three different times and was not that hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excited to dine here. Wife got the salad. She said it was "amazing" so we had high hopes. What followed was an exercise in how to ensure we don't come back. We got the bleu chips. They were cold. The wife got paella. Cold. I got the duck...it was the special. Of all the dumb things I've done, getting duck at a seafood restaurant was the dumbest. I guess. Anyway. It was warm. It was also well done. Horrible. The kids got burgers no bun. Lukewarm. Fries? Lukewarm. Just no. Not coming back. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The signature paella dish was disappointing. The chicken was dry, shrimp average but overall not a lot of flavor. The blackened Mahi was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had an awesome meal with fresh seafood! Just what we were looking for. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our waiter was inattentive and clumsy. Several of the entrees were cold.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Have dined at this restaurant twice now and both times the service has been excellent and food very good, would dine again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After my first visit I said I would never come back here again. I only decided to return do to the fact I had friends in my party that wanted to go and it was terrible! The shrimp cocktail was not good at all the temperature was off and the shrimp were most likely previously frozen. Our chowder was awful and the coconut pie was the worst I have ever had! I will not return here ever again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 3, 2017

By far one of my favorite restaurants in Savannah. A converted 18th century cotton warehouse overlooking the river. I always try to take visiting guest here. The fresh seafood is the best in town. The bluecheese butter on their hardrolls is amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The shrimp boil appetizer is great. Very tasty and done to perfection. Baked tilapia was crunchy and moisit. Also well done. However the signature dish savannah paella is too salty, rice was under cooked, chicken tastes like cardboard. The dish tasted like ingredients thrown together at the last minute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great restaurant with good food, a good ambiance and great service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Nice quaint location in the Historic River Street District. The menu was priced very well and the food was quite good. The raw oysters were some of the best I've had in a very long time. The filet was extremely well seasoned and my lobster was cooked to perfection. They are making additional improvements to the dining area and it looks fantastic. The service was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Seated in Siberia. Crab cake over cooked to the point of burned exterior. Salad placed on warm plate makes for soggy lettuce. Got waiters choice for dressing as he didn't ask what we wanted. Bus tray sat 3 feet from our table stacked with dirty dishes during our entire meal. I know it's in a tourist area but everyone just seemed to phone it in. The whole staff needs to ask themselves why they are in the hospitality business. Highlight: fried green tomato app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time visiting Savannah. Great menu and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So where do I start? I think we must have offended our waiter by asking if a drink we saw was on the drink special list sitting on our table. He immediately took the list and placed it under the placard on our table. I'm guessing that meant we were not allowed to order any drinks at the special price. From that point on, the meal went downhill from there.

The food was okay. My wife ordered the fried chicken and I ordered the pecan salmon. It was edible but not memorable. Service seem to go in reverse. It was as if we were there to appease our waiter and not him trying to appease us. Oh well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was average . Really expected much better. I had the worse crab cakes I've ever eaten. My daughter ordered fettuccine it was watery and tasteless. Salads were limp

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We ordered steak and crab cake. The food came out lukewarm even cooler than that. They brought back the sides warmed. Tried the Creme Brûlée the top crust was non existent. The custard was border line eggy. They brought out a second one. Crust was thicker and the custard was creamer but I have had way better. I had high expectations per the reviews and the price of the food. Definitely a mistake to go to such a tourist food location.

They staff tried their best with the food given them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The bourbon and pecan crusted salmon with mashed sweet potatoes and collard greens was outstanding. Loved the fried green tomatoes. Ended the perfect meal with chocolate hazelnut bread pudding. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge as her favorite for seafood and she was right on the mark. A nice walk from the hotel to the vibrant riverfront area; very scenic with a really fun band playing at the square. A very fun evening. The food was excellent, presented beautifully with many choices.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

First time to Savannah. Food, service, and location, all outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My wife declared her shrimp and grits to be the finest she has ever been served. The cocktails weren't bad, either. The staff was abundant, helpful, and courteous. Highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Ok, so the food was great - no problem there. Pretty much four or five seafood choices on the menu at any given time. I've eaten here several different years and it doesn't change. Plan early, get a reservation and you're fine. I used Open Table to reserve. However, this time I was extremely disappointed in the service and not what you usually think. We got waited on just fine. I was offered a special menu like everyone else on a yellow, 8 1/2 X 11 paper in addition to the menu, as a chef's special. Immediately off the bat at only 7:30 in the evening, they told us they did not have the first item. Ok, I can take that. Then we ordered, both seafood entrees from the special menu, and after about 5 minutes, and drinks and appetizer, we were informed, ut oh, there's no more Sea Bass. Well, that's simply unacceptable. If quantities are limited, just as soon as you realize you have no more, stop offering the special menu. I saw them continue to offer the special menu to others. Not cool. I would go back, but I really don't like getting excited about a dinner selection and then having the rug pulled out from under.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

On a very very busy night for all of Savannah we had a great meal. Did not sit until 30 minutes after reservation time but service was very good and very helpful with meal selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The experience was amazing! We enjoyed everything . The service was great and food very delicious. Love the rolls before dinner. This resteraunt was very calm and upper casual. I would recommend this resteraunt . I give it all five stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

For a $100 dinner for two I would have expected a atmosphere where young children were not allowed to run wild in the restaurant as well as not been seated in an addition to the restaurant in a shared hallway in their complex.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was great.

Food seemed pre- prepared and heated up. Green beans out of a can?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our Valentines Day dinner was absolutely awesome from every aspect. Our waiter was helpful, friendly and attentive. The food was awesome and I loved the atmosphere. Well done! Will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant was great. The reason I put 4 stars for food is because of the crème brulé. I Love crème brulé but theirs wasn't what expected but overall great experience. Had an amazing time

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We absolutely loved our evening at River House. Everything from the atmosphere to the service to the food and drinks was phenomenal! The staff was courteous and attentive. The food was too much to choose from and it all sounded delicious and what we chose was amazing. Filet that can be cut with a fork and a crab cake that is so delectable. We are so pleased with our Valentine's choice and we will definitely be back as there are plenty of options we want to try! Thankyou so much for a memorable evening !

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Outstanding service from the moment I arrived in my limo...the hostess was very accommodating! And my waitress was extremely attentive. She even took pictures for me....she helped to make it a very memorable Valentine's night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This spot was a Valentine's day surprise for my sweetheart. I had made reservations there but arrive a hour to early. They were courteous about finding us a seat before our reservation time. The atmosphere in the place was calming, the tables was arranged beautifully and the service was prompt. The food was amazing and we really enjoyed our night. We did notice that they served bread when guest was being seated and our waiter forgot to give us our. I think he noticed it to when he served the table next to us. I guess since we didn't say anything about it he just continued as normal. Overall loved it. We are already making plans to return there in the near future.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We spent Valentines Day here and it was a very nice dinner and atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Paella was ok, not a lot of flavor and warm on temperature. The broth is a chicken instead of seafood there for lack of flavor . Also, if you like big chunks of onions, peppers and tomatoes then you might like this paella. Service a little slow especially trying to get your check.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was fabulous. We were looking for fresh seafood and there were multiple options. The ambiance was romantic and cozy. Truly an enjoyable experience

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dinner was very good, but appetizers came out the same time as the entrees. Need to wait awhile for drink refills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a reservation but weren't told their is construction going on. It was hot inside. Our table was uneven and rocked the entire time. The food was ok, but nothing special. Our waiter was more interested in helping walk ups at the bar. We won't go back there on a return visit to Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 9, 2017

River House Seafood was as advertised, a very nice river front restaurant. Our first visit to this location in Savannah and we were impressed with the service and the food. The menu changes as availability of ingredients changes season to season. I had fresh oysters in the half shell to start and they were very tasty. I then had a seafood medley , three each, of shell fish and a snapper grilled to perfection with a mixed vegetable side. My wife had a 10oz. filet of beef cooked to perfection that she ate all of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.