About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: 9122332901x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Savannah
Seafood
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

scenic view (50)
special occasion (42)
romantic (38)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
good for groups (30)
great for lunch (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (14)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (5)
 (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location right on River Street. Si ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great location right on River Street. Sit outside and people watch. Say hello to dogs, kids, families... makes for a lively meal. Waiter Keith was pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating. Crispy flounder was delicious. Grouper dish was terrific. Had crab dip appy with a bottle of wine, then dinner and topped it off with peach crisp and vanilla ice cream. All in all, a terrific meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SO Happy to try a new place on River Street~

Dined on May 22, 2016

My Husband and I were looking to try a new place on River Street, since it is our getaway weekend local, from Hilton Head. The ambience was low key and a little Loft Chic. Our waiter was polite, helpful and on top of his service throughout the evening. The service was excellent and timely. The food was so tasty, different sauces to enjoy that made the usual choices upbeat and very delicious. Must have - the Fried Green Tomatoes - served very warm, lightly battered with a perfect blend of sweet/sour and the creamiest cheese ever!!! It is ample to share for sure. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great calamari and lemon aioli. Superb ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great calamari and lemon aioli. Superb crab cakes.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what I can say other than my experience ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

what I can say other than my experience was outstanding & I will definitely go back, the food was awesome & the service was great!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the night, great service, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Really enjoyed the night, great service, good food, nice live music, awesome space with exposed brick and white table clothes, and even a good spot to people watch and see the cargo ships pass by.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Bouisllebais was outstanding. Grouper wa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Bouisllebais was outstanding. Grouper was done perfectly. The mash potatoes were a bit hard & cool vs creamy & hot

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good service, good location, ok food.

Dined on May 12, 2016

I was hoping for a really good dinner, and it was ok, it just wasn't the best. The ambience was good, and there were tablecloths on the table, which I always like. My grouper was a bit tasteless, but the dessert was good. My husband's crab cakes were good. Our server was on top of things and was nice. I guess for a touristy location it was ok.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

We were there to celebrate my daughter's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there to celebrate my daughter's graduation from Georgia Southern University. The restaurant is one of our favorites. The brick walls and floors are so pretty. The service is great. The food is delicious. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find!

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I made a reservation thinking that the food would be the same as any other seafood restaurant. To our surprise it was fantastic! The service was over the top that started with warm rolls. (GREAT) For starters we ordered the lobster crab bisque, which was really nice. The bisque was full of crab. We ordered a fried seafood platter, so that we could try a sampling of a variety of seafood! Not disapointed there either! Large lightly battered shrimp, large scallops and a fantastic crab cake. The portion size was perfect. Our server kept our glasses full and stopped by to make sure that we had everything that we needed at just the right times. We will definitely be back! Great find!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great sitting outside in beautiful Savannah

Dined on May 4, 2016

Upon arrival the hostess' did not have our reservation and questioned when we made the reservation - which was about 11am for a 6:30pm seating. Enjoyed the al fresco ambience - watching the ships leave the port, street traffic and musicians. Server forgot to place our meal order; didn't notice until we finally requested another drink and then realized "oops" and apologized all over the place. Food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

It was average. Nothing really wrong ju ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was average. Nothing really wrong just average

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed our meal here!

Dined on April 26, 2016

This restaurant was very nice and we enjoyed our meal! The food was very good and we were satisfied. I was not overly hungry so I only had poster bisque (very good) and crab dip (average, I have had better). My friends had pasta/seafood dishes and they cleaned their plates! This is a nice choice to dine by the water!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner, pricing, quality.

Dined on April 26, 2016

After a day on the road my wife and I were looking for something really special based on the reviews. We were both surprised at the lack of flavor and overall quality of the food. It was average at best. The pricing did not support the food. It was Tuesday and may have been an off night, but was not somewhere I would go back too.

food4
ambience4
service4

River House was a last minute add to our ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

River House was a last minute add to our agenda while in Savannah and I'm glad that it was! I was expecting a touristy spot since the restaurant is on the river, but was pleasantly surprised. It's a simple restaurant with great food. Would recommend!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made our vacation special.

Dined on April 20, 2016

We preplanned our dining when we vacationed in Jacksonville this April. We chose the River House Seafood after reading the great reviews on line. The reviews were all positive and we found that we must agree. Our meals were superb with service to match. We were fortunate to dine at sunset and enjoyed the evening even more as the sun went down over the marsh and marina. I highly recommend this restaurant for dinner. Fresh seafood selections and a dining room small enough to insure quality to every dish that leaves the kitchen. No mass cooking here. Thanks to all the wonderful servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spinach Salad topped with crab cake

Dined on April 19, 2016

Best crab cakes in this region! It was served on top of a wonderful spinach salad. Great service.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful dinner! Tranquil and ta ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

What a wonderful dinner! Tranquil and talented live musician, great drinks and the best food! Beautiful ambiance and decor. Keith is the best!

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

When we walked in and gave our name to t ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

When we walked in and gave our name to the hostess, she found it on the top of her list. One of the other hostesses appeared to immediately start looking for a table. There were lots of tables that were available but had not been cleared. It was obvious that they needed more people to bus the tables. As I stood at the hostess station she tells me it will be a little while and crossed thru my name. I thought at the time that crossing the name off would typically only happen when the customer is seated. There were about 10 people waiting and more in the bar area. Everyone there was seated and when I approached the hostess station to inquire about our table I found 2 pages of names had been crossed off. All those people were seated at tables. So she quickly found us a table. It was obvious that she should not have crossed our name off in the first place. The waiter was mostly attentive but did not mention any specials for the evening and we only found out there were any when he later told the table next to us. The food was good and good value for the area but I gave a low rating because of the service.

food4
ambience3
service4

Fabulous crab cakes

Dined on April 8, 2016

Fabulous crab cakes

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful experience. The ser ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We had a delightful experience. The service was excellent. The waitress offered some suggestions, and they are fantastic. She was knowledgeable and helpful. The food was well prepared and delicious. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River House Rocks

Dined on April 7, 2016

Had both lunch and dinner here. Crab and lobster bisque was outstanding. Service was also excellent. Nice atmosphere on the riverfront. Elevator from Cottonsail takes you right down to restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was great. We feel relaxed with dinner.

Dined on April 3, 2016

we ate the paella and 1/2 dozen oister. they matched with white wine You can see the big ship on river from inside. We had great time for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Unhappy

Dined on April 2, 2016

It took over an hour to get our food. When we finally got it, my husband's steak was overcooked. Manager was aware of the situation but did not apologize. Will not go back.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

3 meals out of four were good.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Your appetizers are good. We waited 85 minutes after we sat down for our entrees. That's unacceptable! And then, my pork chop was over cooked. The other entrees (salad, steamed shrimp, pasta) were good.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Mediocre at best

Dined on March 31, 2016

Loaded chips were cold and ranged from soggy to crisp, Regency Cesaer salad was inedible, very little watery dressing, some of the romaine had been frozen. The main courses were fair to average. All around disappointment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Meal

Dined on March 31, 2016

We had a very nice meal here our first night in Savannah. We got there after 8 pm so they were out of a few entrees but everybody in our party left without any complaints.

food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Great Location, Good Menu

Dined on March 31, 2016

Our waitress was not very good, forgot to offer us appetizers (which we would have ordered) and took forever to bring drinks (had to get them from bar). Food was delicious, BUT kitchen was out of the filet AND whatever sauce usually used in the dish I initially wanted to order.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service1

Perfunctory service, tepid bisque, lefto ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Perfunctory service, tepid bisque, leftover shrimp and grits! Excellent green fried tomatoes.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food. Great service from server

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good food. Great service from server

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice respite for a Saturday lunch

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Loved the fried green tomatoes with the sriracha sauce. Unique and quite tasty. Also enjoyed the shrimp and grits entree. My friend had the Savannah red rice paella. It was tasty but a bit watery for our taste. Nice quiet place with very good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food and service. Hit the mark ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Fabulous food and service. Hit the mark on every course.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food!

Dined on March 21, 2016

Highly recommend. Was in Naples, Florida, spent the night in Savannah and had shrimp and calamari - which was better than any fresh Gulf seafood I had down in Naples. Will be making this a regular stop on travels through!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I will not return nor recommend.

Dined on March 19, 2016

The hostess had bad attitude. We were seated rather quickly due to reservations. Server from Canada was great. Food was slow coming out but decent. Prices were high.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

River House at a Glance

Dined on March 13, 2016

The serving was just the right portion and the food was delicious. My wife had a crab cake which was actually very close to being Maryland Style. I in turn had Grouper which was also delicious. Wine was good and service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Escargot terrible (bread w/it WAS great however)

Dined on March 8, 2016

Blackened mahi much too highly seasoned. The fish itself was cooked quite nicely but too much spicy seasoning on surface. Orzo on which it was served bland. Crab cakes OK, but had better at other restaurants on River Street. Wine list selection by-the-glass was good. For the price, I wasn't impressed.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice Savannah Lunch Spot

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

We recently went here for lunch and really enjoyed it. Local clams, tasty lobster bisque, and a very good Caesar salad. We'd return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great time!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had an awesome time here on the first night of our girl's trip! Food was excellent, drinks were great (prepare to get tipsy off of one of the artillery punches) and service was great too. We will be going back next time we're in Savannah.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food & service in heart of ver ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Excellent food & service in heart of very beautiful city

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Do yourself a favor and try the shrimp a ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Do yourself a favor and try the shrimp and grits-- some of the best that this Northern girl has ever tried! The bacon and stewed tomatoes in the sauce were a nice touch. I enjoyed it with the house pinot grigio and a caesar side salad. Truly hit the spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food pleasant atmosphere we had a ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food pleasant atmosphere we had a nice birthday celebration for my brother

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.