About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: (912) 233-2901

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (28)
Good for a Date (22)
Historic (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Scenic View (16)
Cozy (14)
Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Live Music (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Family Style (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the Grouper Florentine and my husb ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I had the Grouper Florentine and my husband had the crispy Flounder. Both were delicious. My husband also tried the Artillery punch, a very fun drink. We ate here on a Monday night, the restaurant was quiet and cozy.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect date night with a river view! Gr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Perfect date night with a river view! Great service & wonderful food. We are food snobs and are always afraid when going to new resturants. Try it out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The macoroni was not very good. I feel l ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The macoroni was not very good. I feel like that would be an easy fix

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good, it was quiet and cozy ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was good, it was quiet and cozy... which is what we were looking for. But... we felt like we were rushed through dinner. The place was not really busy so it wasn't like anyone as waiting for the table. The waiter didn't seem interested in giving us any information, just gave us the menus and kept coming back for an answer.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food, good service.

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I don't like to leave bad reviews but on ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I don't like to leave bad reviews but on the other hand I would like to give a heads up to other diners. Dinner was a disaster for me. I ordered the oysters Rockefeller and they were awful. Mostly collard greens and extremely small oysters with no taste. I did not complain but when I received my entree of seafood paella it was cold, dry and the grouper was bad. This was the restaurant's signature dish as stated on the menu so I thought it would be good. I told our server and the manager came to our table to apologize and offered another entree which I declined. They gave us complimentary dessert and coffee for our trouble. My husband ordered flounder stuffed with crabmeat and a wedge salad which he enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had the place almost to ourselves whi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had the place almost to ourselves which was so nice...very little noise which allowed for easy conversation. Wait staff was attentive. Blackened Mahi sliders were delicious. Would definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First tume in Savannah and someone recom ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 2, 2017

First tume in Savannah and someone recommend this restaurant. Was a great choice!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good food and awesome service . O ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always good food and awesome service . Oyster Rockefeller is a must with a great low country twist.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place for our New Year's eve d ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful place for our New Year's eve dinner. Great atmosphere for a date with hubby but not stuffy and pretentious. Bartender made a perfect Old Fashioned, we're bourbon lovers so this was a good start to the evening. David was our server and was attentive but not overbearing. The foods was delish except that the shrimp on my Shrimp & Grits was tough. I let it pass because the flavor was good. The Creme Brule was good but not great. We'd go back.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers we're good. Entrees we're ve ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Appetizers we're good. Entrees we're very under seasoned and very over done. Lobster was inedible, crab cakes over cooks to dry rocks and what was done to the Filets was a shame. Might of been a bad night for the chiefs but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great time. Food was great

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great time. Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was disappointing ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The overall experience was disappointing, the food was salty, and not very appetizing. It did not live up ok the hipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good friends. Great food. Good Service. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good friends. Great food. Good Service. A lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was terrible. Grouper tasted horrib ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was terrible. Grouper tasted horrible. We are from FL and know real grouper. This was not. Crab topping and bearnaise sauce was a blob on top with consistency of mayo- not sauce. Crab meat had no taste. Filet mignon was burnt and tasted like charcoal and that was medium?! Paella was lousy too. Food was cold- mashed potatoes had warm and cold spots. Green beans still had cold water in them. Never again. A $150 fiasco of a meal. Would have eaten better for $15 at McDonalds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

This is a great place for any occasion. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a great place for any occasion. Food is pricey, but very good. Service is always exceptional. We had a special event in Savannah and wanted to make the day complete by adding a special lunch. (3 people = $78, full portion meals, soup and 3 sweet teas) Two of us ordered the catch of the day, Grilled Red Snapper, topped with lump crab, wine sauce and a wonderful loaded baked potato. Of course a side of lobster bisque (Outstanding) One person ordered the Crab cake dinner (OK, full of crab but kind of bland) Will definitely be back!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Waitress and Services was not good at al ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Waitress and Services was not good at all. Food came cold and they just reheated in the microwave ruining the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Very nice, good service

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very nice, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent authentic oyster po'boy sandwi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent authentic oyster po'boy sandwich and sautéed shrimp. they accommodated my daughter's need for a gluten free meal. Very accommodating and reasonably priced.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Been twice. Outstanding both times the m ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Been twice. Outstanding both times the mussels especially

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the special grouper stuffed with us ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had the special grouper stuffed with us Crab. Excellent dish and large sized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great time and meal. love the downtown o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

great time and meal. love the downtown of savannah and this is one more place to revisit

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience and a deli ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience and a delicious meal at the River House. I had the crab stuffed flounder and my husband had the filet and crab cake. Both were recommended by our waitress (Patricia, I think). We finished off the meal with a slice of praline cheesecake that we haven't stopped talking about since. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Savannah!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the Salmon BLT. Possibly the best ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I had the Salmon BLT. Possibly the best Salmon fillet and certainly the best sandwich I have ever eaten. The red rice was great as well. My wife had the crab cake and said it was the best she's ever had, and she has had plenty. The crab cake was at least 8 ounces and full of crab. This place is a must visit when in Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful choice. Had the blackened mahi ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful choice. Had the blackened mahi & stuffed flounder. Also tried the crab dip for an appetizer & praline cheesecake for dessert. Great service & wine-food pairing recommendations. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service all around fantastic ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food, service all around fantastic experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a must Stop in Savannah Great s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always a must Stop in Savannah

Great service and food

If I lived in the area I am sure I would. Be at the river house several times a month

Serena was our server and it amazes me how the server who never writes anything down

Gets it all right 3 of us and no salt on one and change a few things and when it comes perfect

Great staff in kitchen also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. Good location, however ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing. Good location, however food and service was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

My husband and I came here for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I came here for Thanksgiving dinner. It was delicious and every meal I've had there since then has been delicious highly recommended!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best twin lobster tails we have had in a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Best twin lobster tails we have had in a long time

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I went to River House for ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I went to River House for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a wonderful meal. My husband, who is not an adventuresome eater, and is often disappointed when we eat out, had the vegetable platter and really, really liked it. He is still talking about how good the black-eyed peas were. I had the grouper oscar, which was also wonderful. Our server, Aron, was excellent. He recommended the grouper as I was stuck trying to decide between that and a couple of other dishes, and I have no regrets. I also had a glass of Chardonnay, which was lovely and reasonably priced. The meal was leisurely, which was perfect for Thanksgiving dinner. We also had the pumpkin pie with ice cream for dessert which was delicious and coffee that was the best I've had in a long time. The ambiance was perfect - soft music in the background, relaxed and slightly elegant. We just had a great time.

Tags: Live Music, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a great view too! Went ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food with a great view too! Went for Thanksgiving dinner but ordered off the regular menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst experience ! Don't waste your mone ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Worst experience ! Don't waste your money and appetite! Dirty place ! Dirty restrooms !! Bad service !!! No stars !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Grouper tasted fishy and was overcooked. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Grouper tasted fishy and was overcooked. My husband's fried oysters were also overcooked.

They offered free desserts which were not too good either. We won't go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My food was amazing. It was a great birt ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My food was amazing. It was a great birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fantastic. Menu options for peo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was fantastic. Menu options for people with picky taste.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and value. Nothing fancy and g ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food and value. Nothing fancy and getting down the cobblestone street is a challenge - especially at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The service was excellent. Our food came ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was excellent. Our food came out in perfect timing. My husband loved the Mahi Mahi. My only complaint was the Filet-minion. It was under cooked and lacked taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE..... We wa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A WONDERFUL DINING EXPERIENCE..... We walked by this restaurant earlier in the day, looked at the menu, noted the tablecloths and it appeared to be a nice restaurant for dinner. We were right! We started with the Blue Crab Dip, served with homemade tortilla chips and both the dip and chips were fabulous! Our table ordered the Pasta Primavera with Shrimp, the Friend Shrimp, and the Shrimp & Sausage Gumbo..... and we all cleaned our plates. My husband was looking for some "Southern" and the Gumbo was exactly what he was looking for. Our server was attentive, perfectly paced our dinner, and our nice table in the corner was exactly what we were looking for. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any friend or family seeking a venue for dinner while visiting Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice experience. Food and service b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very nice experience. Food and service both quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.