About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: 9122332901x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Savannah
Seafood
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

scenic view (53)
special occasion (44)
romantic (34)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
good for groups (28)
great for lunch (23)
neighborhood gem (19)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The Savannah Paella was delicious!

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The Savannah Paella was delicious!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lobster and crab bisque is really memora ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Lobster and crab bisque is really memorable. Worth it just for that. On River street so in the middle of the action and nice view. Entrees were fine, but not memorable. Staff very friendly with good service. This is decent if you want something on the River and walkable from a downtown hotel.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The service was good but the food was n ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The service was good but the food was not because it was very different and strange. The ceasar salad had bacon on it and it was not good.

Tags: kid-friendly
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Try another place! It's not worth the m ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Try another place! It's not worth the money. Food quality is not hot and fresh.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had two groups go to the restaurant a ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We had two groups go to the restaurant and both loved the food and restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was ok but small portions for a big ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was ok but small portions for a big price. Not so great service. Excellent view overlooking the river. Over-rated, in my opinion.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The dish I ordered was recommended by th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The dish I ordered was recommended by the server and I was told it was prepared a certain way. When I received it, the dish was totally different and wasn't good. I hardly ate any of it and let the server know it wasn't as she described and it was salty. There was nothing offered to rectify the situation and I just paid and left. Will not come again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the stuffed flounder and it was deli ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Had the stuffed flounder and it was delicious. Good bartender made an excellent old fashioned. Food came quick, but did not feel rushed by wait staff. Good job management.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Arrived before our reservation time due ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Arrived before our reservation time due to a big storm that drove everyone inside for shelter. They nicely seated us early. Food and service were first-class. Try the Georgia Peach Margarita for your cocktail. Fried green tomatoes are a do not miss. Good views and ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Hostess at the podium wasn't friendly a ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Hostess at the podium wasn't friendly at all however our server was very attentive. Food was very good! Would recommend.

food3
ambience4
service4

This is a beautiful restaurant, in an ex ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, in an excellent location. Unfortunately, the food was only okay. Nothing to write home about. No one at my table of 7 was very impressed - pretty bland. I had clams on linguine.... There wasn't much flavor. I've had better at chain restaurants in Kansas! However, the waitress was wonderful, the beer on tap was local (and delicious) and it was nice.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great! Fried green tomato wa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was great! Fried green tomato was the best I've ever eaten, great place for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bisque was amazing. Atmosphere was good. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Bisque was amazing. Atmosphere was good. Server was very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good food. Sea bass was cooked perf ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good food. Sea bass was cooked perfectly. Pleasant server. Will certainly go there again.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedd ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary in Savannah. This was one of the best restaurants we ate at while visiting. The inside is beautiful and clean. The food was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Dining experience

Dined on June 9, 2016

It was my first time dining at this restaurant and it was amazing. The food and service was both excellent. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second review - Very good again.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Good service and very good seafood menu, decent but not extensive wine menu and unique ambiance. Right on the waterfront so expect ships of all sizes going right past the windows. Very small outdoor area right on the walkway so would recommend indoor seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Madeira cream sauce on the filet mig ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

The Madeira cream sauce on the filet mignon was mouth watering.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A nice place

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed a nice dinner here. Our server Leslie was attentive and friendly. The food was well prepared. Had a table by the window but the way the table was arranged, only one of us could see out to the river.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious shrimp and grits, and paella. ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious shrimp and grits, and paella. Excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant. Reasonable prices ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Reasonable prices and fast service. Traditional southern and sea food. Lunch menu will film you up for the day. Will definitely go back for dinner sometime.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Amazingly disappointed....

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Steamed oysters (overly steamed) that were almost disintegrated. Salad swimming in dressing. Undercooked steamed shrimp served with ketchup. Waiter with an attitude. I had a few bites, gave up, paid my bill and walked across the street to get a burger at Five Guys. Waste of $50.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for my family!

Dined on May 30, 2016

My oldest daughter's favorite restaurant. Only thing she wanted to do for her 21st birthday. We don't drink, so I can't rate the bar, but the food is perfect! She says they have the bet crab cakes anywhere. I think they have the best filet. So worth the 80 mile drive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant was lovely for an anniversary dinner. Our server started off wonderful, but got a bit slow towards the end of the night. We had the Oysters Rockefeller, Lobster and Crab Bisque (to die for), Paella, and Grouper with Blue Crab. All were delicious! I was disappointed because they ran out of a lot of key menu items (such as the Flounder, which was what I really wanted). However, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food we did have was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dined on Soup and Appetizers

Dined on May 29, 2016

Arrived for a late lunch, and it was so difficult to decide what t order. Started with a bowl of crab and lobster bisque. It was delicious, as well as the fried green tomatoes. The appetizer jumbo scallops along with the fried oysters were also delicious. The icing on the cake was the peach cobbler with vanilla ice. OMG! I was stuffed when I left there. The tab was $65 without beverages but well worth it. The only downside was that it took forever to receive the rest of our food following the soup although the restaurant wasn't crowded. Really liked the ambiance of the wood floors and brick walls. I would surely dine here again.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Great Food on the river.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Pros: Great food on the river. Very good cocktails and the appetizers were delicious. The desserts tasted homemade. Cons: There was a musty odor as you walked in the door. Our child ordered a cheeseburger, although he is not usually a picky eater, he said that his burger tasted funny. Service: Our waiter was very attentive, although was lacking some of the Southern hospitality usually given in Savannah restaurants. We would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on May 28, 2016

The atmosphere, and setting of the restaurant was really neat. The shrimp plate and the Salmon, with a pecan glaze plate was really good. Some of the best that we have every had. The waitress was very helpful and nice as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

This has always been one of our favorite ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants in our visits to Savannah. Our waiter Aaron was excellent. Menu was disappointing. Too many embellishments on the entrees. My husband would have enjoyed his Pork Chop better if it had not been served as it was. The Seafood Pasta I had was not enjoyable. I ate the two or three shrimp and some of the pasta. Sauce was entirely too rich. We love their Pecan Pies and bought two to take home. For two people who were looking for just simple Seafood and well prepared dishes this was a disappointment.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Seafood and View

Dined on May 28, 2016

During a recent trip to Savannah, we ate at the River House. The food was excellent and our server was very attentive. I had oysters and a wedge salad and my boyfriend had a Caesar salad and soup. We were both very happy with our meals and would go back for the view and food when visiting again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Not bad but expected better

Dined on May 28, 2016

It's hard to rate a restaurant based on 3 entrees but our collective impression was that we expected better for the price. Bread rolls with butter/spread were excellent, as was the caesar salad and the spicy garlic shrimp appetizer. The rice in the seafood paella didn't have much flavor to it, the linguine with clams was a bit salty, and the NY strip steak was fair. The asparagus that came with the NY strip wasn't cooked and seemed to be right out of the can. Mashed potato was excellent, however. Not a bad dining experience, but all 3 of our entrees could have been better.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food, service, and atmosphere were all really good. I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great stop in Savannah

Dined on May 27, 2016

Blackened mahi sliders were excellent with just the right amount of spice - 2 per appetizer. Lobster and Lump crab bisque was creamy and flavorful. The shrimp and scallop pasta was a hit - generous amount of shrimp (maybe 5 or 6) and ditto for scallops. Would definitely go back. Skip the dessert here and head to Leopold's for homemade ice cream that is out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Savannah for two nights, foun ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We visited Savannah for two nights, found the River House and ate there the first night. Enjoyed it so much, we went back the second night, and are already planning on it being our first destination during any visit to Savannah. Superb in every way! Glen and Frances Davis

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location right on River Street. Si ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great location right on River Street. Sit outside and people watch. Say hello to dogs, kids, families... makes for a lively meal. Waiter Keith was pleasant, knowledgeable and accommodating. Crispy flounder was delicious. Grouper dish was terrific. Had crab dip appy with a bottle of wine, then dinner and topped it off with peach crisp and vanilla ice cream. All in all, a terrific meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SO Happy to try a new place on River Street~

Dined on May 22, 2016

My Husband and I were looking to try a new place on River Street, since it is our getaway weekend local, from Hilton Head. The ambience was low key and a little Loft Chic. Our waiter was polite, helpful and on top of his service throughout the evening. The service was excellent and timely. The food was so tasty, different sauces to enjoy that made the usual choices upbeat and very delicious. Must have - the Fried Green Tomatoes - served very warm, lightly battered with a perfect blend of sweet/sour and the creamiest cheese ever!!! It is ample to share for sure. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great calamari and lemon aioli. Superb ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great calamari and lemon aioli. Superb crab cakes.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what I can say other than my experience ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

what I can say other than my experience was outstanding & I will definitely go back, the food was awesome & the service was great!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the night, great service, ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Really enjoyed the night, great service, good food, nice live music, awesome space with exposed brick and white table clothes, and even a good spot to people watch and see the cargo ships pass by.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Bouisllebais was outstanding. Grouper wa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Bouisllebais was outstanding. Grouper was done perfectly. The mash potatoes were a bit hard & cool vs creamy & hot

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Good service, good location, ok food.

Dined on May 12, 2016

I was hoping for a really good dinner, and it was ok, it just wasn't the best. The ambience was good, and there were tablecloths on the table, which I always like. My grouper was a bit tasteless, but the dessert was good. My husband's crab cakes were good. Our server was on top of things and was nice. I guess for a touristy location it was ok.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.