About River House Seafood

125 W River St
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Genuine Savannah Flavor in an 1820’s King Cotton Warehouse. Sit riverside and enjoy local seafood that the SAVANNAH NEWS awarded its highest rating, “A”, while watching local and merchant ships sail by. Delight in our gourmet dessert selections.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Barnard Street Ramp

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 234-1900

Website:
http://www.savannahriverhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment Thursday through Sunday from 6:00pm until 9:00pm

Catering:
We are happy to offer group menus for in house events and to-go orders however we do not offer catering at this time.

Parking Details:
There is a parking lot in front of our restaurant, as well as parking on the ramp beside our building. There are also parking garages within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Conveniently located on Savannah, Georgia"s Historic River Street. A short walking distance from major bus routes, taxi accessible and a stop on Savannah’s fare-free Downtown Transportation system. (DOT)

Executive Chef:
Gladys Young

Private Party Facilities:
Private and Semi-Private arrangements are available based on your group size and accommodation needs.

Private Party Contact:
Linda Sanders: 9122332901x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are happy to offer group menus for in-house events in semi private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
  • River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood
River House Seafood

River House Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Savannah
Seafood
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

scenic view (47)
special occasion (36)
good for groups (28)
See All
great for lunch (27)
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (24)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The chicken was dry of the potatoes had ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 3 days ago

The chicken was dry of the potatoes had no flavor the collard greens were not done the rolls were good and the blue cheese cream cheese was good crabcake was OK but all in all not great food Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

One meal was five-star, the other medioc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

One meal was five-star, the other mediocre. The sever was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

One of the best restaurant in Savannah. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best restaurant in Savannah. Reservation needed on Friday and Saturday if you don't want to wait for a table. The lobster crab bisque and the blue crab stuffed flounder are amazing.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First I must say our server Patrice was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

First I must say our server Patrice was absolutely great! The food was amazing as well. Everything from the fried green tomatoes to the scallops to the shrimp po'boy was delicious! I will be back here. Next time I will try the shrimp and grits which one of my friends had.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious and the server was ve ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was delicious and the server was very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was cold and tasteless. My fish ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My food was cold and tasteless. My fish tasted frozen. My daughter had the fettacinni alfredo that tasted like watered down cheese sauce. My husband the special, snapper, which he said was good. Bread was good. Restaurant is gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great service and delicious food. Loved ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Loved the artillery punch.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awesome. Well presented, w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was awesome. Well presented, with taste to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant has a lovely view and liv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The restaurant has a lovely view and lively feel, the paper on the tables is very frustrating as it keep flying up and in the way, I finally tore it off. I had the filet and grilled shrimp and it really had no flavor. The steak was overcooked. I just was disappointed for the price and flavor so wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were served cold food after a very lo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were served cold food after a very long wait! The food was good but, cold.... I will probably not visit the restaurant again when in Savannah, disappointed that I spent the amount of $$ for the food and had to actually buy something else to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value5

Horrible good and service. I would not r ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Horrible good and service. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Table was ready! Server was great. Food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Table was ready! Server was great. Food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food took a long time to come out, but i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food took a long time to come out, but it was good. We all enjoyed our meals, well prepared. Glad we tried it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Thefoodwasgoodenoughthatweate3mealsthere ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Thefoodwasgoodenoughthatweate3mealsthere. Lunch, appetizersanddesert, and lastly a full dinner. Great atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and great service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing! Service and atmosphere ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was amazing! Service and atmosphere was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Savannah Paella was delicious!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The Savannah Paella was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster and crab bisque is really memora ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Lobster and crab bisque is really memorable. Worth it just for that. On River street so in the middle of the action and nice view. Entrees were fine, but not memorable. Staff very friendly with good service. This is decent if you want something on the River and walkable from a downtown hotel.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was good but the food was n ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The service was good but the food was not because it was very different and strange. The ceasar salad had bacon on it and it was not good.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Try another place! It's not worth the m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Try another place! It's not worth the money. Food quality is not hot and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had two groups go to the restaurant a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had two groups go to the restaurant and both loved the food and restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was ok but small portions for a big ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was ok but small portions for a big price. Not so great service. Excellent view overlooking the river. Over-rated, in my opinion.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The dish I ordered was recommended by th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The dish I ordered was recommended by the server and I was told it was prepared a certain way. When I received it, the dish was totally different and wasn't good. I hardly ate any of it and let the server know it wasn't as she described and it was salty. There was nothing offered to rectify the situation and I just paid and left. Will not come again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Had the stuffed flounder and it was deli ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Had the stuffed flounder and it was delicious. Good bartender made an excellent old fashioned. Food came quick, but did not feel rushed by wait staff. Good job management.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived before our reservation time due ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Arrived before our reservation time due to a big storm that drove everyone inside for shelter. They nicely seated us early. Food and service were first-class. Try the Georgia Peach Margarita for your cocktail. Fried green tomatoes are a do not miss. Good views and ambiance.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Hostess at the podium wasn't friendly a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Hostess at the podium wasn't friendly at all however our server was very attentive. Food was very good! Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a beautiful restaurant, in an ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, in an excellent location. Unfortunately, the food was only okay. Nothing to write home about. No one at my table of 7 was very impressed - pretty bland. I had clams on linguine.... There wasn't much flavor. I've had better at chain restaurants in Kansas!

However, the waitress was wonderful, the beer on tap was local (and delicious) and it was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Service was great! Fried green tomato wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was great! Fried green tomato was the best I've ever eaten, great place for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bisque was amazing. Atmosphere was good. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Bisque was amazing. Atmosphere was good. Server was very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food. Sea bass was cooked perf ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good food. Sea bass was cooked perfectly. Pleasant server. Will certainly go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedd ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary in Savannah. This was one of the best restaurants we ate at while visiting. The inside is beautiful and clean. The food was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Dining experience

 
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was my first time dining at this restaurant and it was amazing. The food and service was both excellent. I highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second review - Very good again.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good service and very good seafood menu, decent but not extensive wine menu and unique ambiance. Right on the waterfront so expect ships of all sizes going right past the windows. Very small outdoor area right on the walkway so would recommend indoor seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Madeira cream sauce on the filet mig ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The Madeira cream sauce on the filet mignon was mouth watering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice place

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed a nice dinner here. Our server Leslie was attentive and friendly. The food was well prepared. Had a table by the window but the way the table was arranged, only one of us could see out to the river.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious shrimp and grits, and paella. ...

 
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious shrimp and grits, and paella. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant. Reasonable prices ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Reasonable prices and fast service. Traditional southern and sea food. Lunch menu will film you up for the day. Will definitely go back for dinner sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly disappointed....

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Steamed oysters (overly steamed) that were almost disintegrated. Salad swimming in dressing. Undercooked steamed shrimp served with ketchup. Waiter with an attitude. I had a few bites, gave up, paid my bill and walked across the street to get a burger at Five Guys. Waste of $50.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Perfect for my family!

 
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My oldest daughter's favorite restaurant. Only thing she wanted to do for her 21st birthday. We don't drink, so I can't rate the bar, but the food is perfect! She says they have the bet crab cakes anywhere. I think they have the best filet. So worth the 80 mile drive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Anniversary Dinner

 
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This restaurant was lovely for an anniversary dinner. Our server started off wonderful, but got a bit slow towards the end of the night. We had the Oysters Rockefeller, Lobster and Crab Bisque (to die for), Paella, and Grouper with Blue Crab. All were delicious! I was disappointed because they ran out of a lot of key menu items (such as the Flounder, which was what I really wanted). However, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food we did have was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.