Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Buffalos - Palmetto BluffBuffalos - Palmetto Bluff
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Contemporary American | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Jessamine - Palmetto BluffJessamine - Palmetto Bluff
(3)
$$$$
American | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Booked 1 time today
The PearlThe Pearl
(150)
$$$$
Seafood | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Booked 4 times today
Red Fish - BlufftonRed Fish - Bluffton
(378)
$$$$
Seafood | Bluffton, Hilton Head
The Bluffton RoomThe Bluffton Room
(275)
$$$$
American | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Booked 8 times today
The Oyster BarThe Oyster Bar
(21)
$$$$
Seafood | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Booked 1 time today
CQ'sCQ's
(791)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 9 times today
LinksLinks
(168)
$$$$
American | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 10 times today
Red Fish - Hilton HeadRed Fish - Hilton Head
(1934)
$$$$
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 13 times today
The Black Marlin Bayside Grill - Priority SeatingThe Black Marlin Bayside Grill - Priority Seating
(372)
$$$$
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 2 times today
Trattoria DivinaTrattoria Divina
(767)
$$$$
Italian | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 3 times today
Coast - Hilton HeadCoast - Hilton Head
(239)
$$$$
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 7 times today
Marleys Island GrilleMarleys Island Grille
(459)
$$$$
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 4 times today
Relish CafeRelish Cafe
(2)
$$$$
Southern | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 2 times today
Michael Anthony's Cucina ItalianaMichael Anthony's Cucina Italiana
(1489)
$$$$
Italian | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Booked 12 times today

About Permanently Closed - River House - Palmetto Bluff

476 Mount Pelia Rd
Bluffton, SC 29910
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Standing on the banks of the May River, the River House Restaurant draws inspiration and ingredients from all that the May River, the Lowcountry and the South have to offer. Dining here is a memorable affair of relaxed elegance, not unlike what one would have enjoyed in the original Wilson home. Using the freshest organic and seasonal ingredients, many sourced from local markets and farms, we craft a cuisine that is farm fresh and elegantly presented with hospitality that is undeniably southern.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

River House - Palmetto Bluff - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

5.0

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
See All
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Please be aware the River House will be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Please be aware the River House will be closing about August 20. Soon after, the restaurant in the new Inn will open.

The old River House will be used for corporate events.

We had a good meal, but we'll wait for the new Inn to give a full review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Beautiful setting by the river. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Beautiful setting by the river. Wonderful service and creative fresh food. a 5 star dining experience. Reservation required.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Dwayne was fabulous! Always ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter Dwayne was fabulous! Always have great service & ALL people who work there are extremely friendly. Never a bad thing to say about River House.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is always top notch! Excellen ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 6, 2016

This place is always top notch! Excellent service and atmosphere! Perfect for a romantic dinner. Get there early to have cocktails in their outdoor screened porch and head to the fire pits after dinner to roast marshmallows for smores! Always a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to celebrate our 40th anniver ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We decided to celebrate our 40th anniversary at The River House as a friend has given it rave reviews. Everything was outstanding. Easily the best meal out in several years! We could not have enjoyed it more. Everything was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely fabulous find through open ta ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Absolutely fabulous find through open table. Food service wine and dinner with my daughter was outstanding -what an awesome restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Time staying at the Montage Bluff ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 19, 2016

First Time staying at the Montage Bluff but it was incredible... The food was exceptional... and the views of the S.C. Marsh low country unmatched... will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific service, beautiful setting! The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Terrific service, beautiful setting! They also have a nicely stocked wine cellar.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

You must experience this place!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were blown away by the experience we had at this fabulous restaurant! Every single valuable staff member was gracious and professional. The chef could be a James Beard winner - no lie! The presentation equaled the quality and taste of the food. You just need to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2016

What a lovely place to dine even when it is raining outside for the view is beautiful and the food is delicious. The service was just right and everything arrived when it should have so it was very relaxing. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dining experience and exc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience and excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiters & staff - professional fr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great waiters & staff - professional friendly polite knowledge of menu items

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but over priced

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Limited parking started the evening off a bit on the wrong foot but the server immediately got things back on track. Kitchen seemed a bit slow with a moderate number of tables seated. There was a large group in the "Wine Cellar" that may have slammed the kitchen for a while. Wine by the glass is served with pricing intended for the first glass to cover the cost of the bottle. Ordered a glass from a bottle that wholesales around 11 USD and it cost 12 USD. Having eaten at most of the upscale restaurants in the area, this would be 5 or 6 in the top ten. Be prepared to pay on the high side for entrees. Minor whingeing aside it was all and all a generally good evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Overloaded server and poor staff coordination

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2016

We arrived at 7:15 to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday. Ordered wine and ask for some bread as one in our party was hungry. Ten minutes later we still had no bread. Got up to ask for help. Another 5 min went by and no action. Asked another waiter and it was 5 more minutes. We ordered and at 8:45 still had not received our entrees and had to get up and refill wine as no one had come by in 15-20 min. Finally complained to the front desk, management intervened and we were served and one bottle of wine was comp'd. The food was largely good but the delays were not. Would so recommend the Canoe Club over the River House for a lovely dining experience on the veranda. Three waiters pitched in and we had a great birthday dinner for my mom the next night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

River House

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Absolutely incredible! We have been there on past Wedding Anniversaries and have never been disappointed. The service was beyond impeccable. Can not say enough good things about our head waiter and all of the assistants. The food was an experience unlike you find at other restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for dinner

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2016

I had the Sea Bass and it was delectable. Service was excellent. Great Wine list. My friends had the pork chops and the salmon and were very complimentary of those dishes as well. The chocolate dessert was excellent as well. Wonderful view and atmosphere was excellent. Not noisy so we could talk and enjoy each others' company.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Dewayne our waiter was excellent and helped with our selections for the main meal and dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

River House doesn't disappoint

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2016

As property owners at Palmetto Bluff we eat often at the River House. The food is consistently very good and the service by seasoned professionals is outstanding. The atmosphere is not formal, but classy, and the location at the Inn overlooking the May River is one of the best in South Carolina. After dinner, sitting on the porch with a glass of wine watching children roast their S'mores over the fire pit is a grand experience. If there is a wedding party in residence, you might even see some fireworks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of our favorites at Palmetto Bluff. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2016

One of our favorites at Palmetto Bluff. The service is always outstanding. I enjoyed starting with the Spring Onion soup while my husband loved his beet salad. Our entrees did not disappoint. Wine and cocktails outstanding. Looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

They cater to large parties and if you a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2016

They cater to large parties and if you are a couple-be prepared as your needs are most always secondary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Excellent Choice

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2016

The River house lived up to it's reputation. Service was exceptional. Food outstanding. I also liked the space design that lent itself to having a private and meaningful conversation. I was there with my son and we had plenty of things to get caught up on since we do not get to see each other that often.The staff was respectful of our time and was very attentive!

as with all things they cannot be perfect. We are Shrimp enthusiast and the shrimp cocktail was on the small size..Other than that a great experience!! we will return!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2016

We've celebrated my wife's birthday in the River House and it was the perfect decision. The place has a nice atmosphere, food and wine are high quality and the staff is friendly. Everyone was very attentive and wished her the best for her birthday and they gave her two desserts as a birthday surprise (a special thanks to our server Dwayne).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not at par with Palmetto Bluff Standards

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Palmetto Bluffs to celebrate our anniversary and Valentine day. Can't say enough good things about Palmetto Bluffs. Wish that were true of the River House Restaurent. Service was mediocre at best. Felt like our waitress was ignoring us most of the time. My wife had a turbot dish that just had no flavor and was over cooked. I had a duck dish that was good but not exceptional. The sommelier was excellent and knowledgable of the wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

THANK YOU.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2016

We celebrated our daughters Birthday with her husband & 6 yr old granddaughter Madalynn. Our experience was wonderful enhanced by Laura our server who was wonderful with our granddaughter! She held her plate while Madalynn tried to cut her steak as she has recently become VERY independent & doesn't think she needs help with ANYTHING. She even gave her a tour of the Kitchen which was the highlight of her evening.

The only thing that was not perfect for that evening was there was a VERY large boisterous group in the bar upon our arrival & it was quite noisy. Other than that it was wonderful!!

Thank you all for a most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Elegant

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Delicious food, courteous and helpful staff, knowledgable sommelier. Gets loud due to room acoustics. Would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

excellent dinner

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a great experience at the River House at Palmetto Bluff. Both my wife and I had the cobia and it was probably the best seafood dish we have ever had. Quality of food was outstanding and service was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camille

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband & I ordered from the restaurant week menu & ordered the same entre & it was excellent. However, I wished I had ordered the same appetizer that he had. I had the salad & I'm sorry to say it was the worst salad I have ever had.

Also, I was expecting the atmosphere to be a bit more elegant. For instance, dimmer lighting, wait staff to be dressed a bit less casual & a dress code for patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

River House 2.0

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Well done! We had not been since management changed hands. Very pleasantly surprised. Subtle changes in the dining layout an notiecable improvement. Service quality was personable, knowledgeable and generally several notches higher. Menu variety, presnetation all much improved. The only suggestion would be to consider to soften the lighting for a warmer, more intimate experience.

We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A birthday special

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2016

A very elegant way to celebrate my wife's 80th birthday. Quiet, great food and service. Best for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to the River Restaurant twic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2015

I have been to the River Restaurant twice before over the last 4 years...making it a point to dine there when I am visiting from Connecticut. Myself and 4 other family members went for Christmas eve dinner and it was awful. We had to ask for bread twice because it never came, they didn't give us butter without us asking. The supposed wine expert was not knowledgeable, the service was extra slow with the dining room never being full, the pork was overcooked and we had to ask for steak knives to cut it, the waiter did not return to see how things were going and did not consistently pour our bottle of wine and, finally, the portions were small. This all for $300. Not going back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

What a dinner!

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2015

Loved loved loved every second of our dining experience. The restaurant which is in the Inn (ignore Google maps) embodied the style of Palmetto Bluff. Laid back, stunningly beautiful, top notch service, and exquisite food. The complimentary potato vichyssoise was excellent as were our servers suggestions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitstaff

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 4, 2015

The waitstaff was quite attentive, however they were difficult to understand. I know it's probably difficult to get the people with experience. But their accents and speed of talking made difficult to fully understand.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Sepecial Occasion

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 3, 2015

The location is right on the May River and offers great views. There is a nice large screened in patio for dining. In good weather, they have an outside fire pit and make your own s'mores. Service in the dining room was top notch and the food was really good. A little disappointed that there were no specials. Appetizer potato croquettes were the best I've ever had - nice and light and fluffy. Fish entree were tasty and well cooked. It was our anniversary, so they gave us a complementary glass of champagne, which was a nice touch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place is lovely

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2015

Nice, relaxed, attentive service, good menu... Everything we ordered was nicely prepared and swerved well. Completely enjoyable evening, beautiful view. The food quality was good but not epic. Nothing outstanding, which it should be at Palmetto Bluff... Very nice service. Will return but it isn't a foodie place, just nice low country fare in a beautiful location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Palmetto Bluff

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2015

Palmetto Bluff is a beautiful resort and we have had both breakfast brunch and lunch at Buffaloes on numerous occasions and it has been excellent. We were celebrating two birthdays at the River House and my husband had called ahead for special desserts and both were forgotten or not communicated to the chef. The service and setting was A++++ but the food was extremely disappointing. The menu selections were not what I expected it seemed they were not sure what the audience of the restaurant was hamburgers and chicken sandwiches to Foie Gras and tuna tartare? I had chicken and biscuits and the chicken seemed pre-made and the biscuit stale everyone in our party was disappointed in the meals and the desserts were forgotten so someone in our party had to get up from the table and give the waiter a heads-up. Will definitely go back and give the restaurant another shot hopefully it was an off night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 19, 2015

A very special place that will not disappoint. Service is impeccable, the food is a wonderful combination of sophistication and old south.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2015

We've been dining at the River House for the past eleven years. It has changed a lot during that time. The menu is not nearly as elegant and special as it used to be. Sandwich options on a fine dining menu? Really?? Having said that, my watermelon gazpacho was quite good, but the smokey flavor was unnecessary and too heavy. Smoke flavor on the fingerling potatoes made me think the chef only plays one note. My husband said his ribeye was the best he'd ever had. Profiteroles were good, but not remarkable. The peanut ice cream and chocolate cake were delightful. So, sort of a mixed bag. Overall, good, but not extraordinary, which is what we'd come to expect from prior visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Five star dining leisurely yet sophisticated

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 6, 2015

The food, service, ambiance and everything else is nothing short of a spectacular treat. This is one of my favorite places to dine and just to hang out at when I want a real treat. Review the web site for palmetto bluff and you will understand why this is a very special location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

New menu is an improvement

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2015

We eat at the River House every couple of months, and it had gotten a little tired between the time the old chef left and the new chef arrived. The new chef and the new menu are definitely improvements, and bring the River House back to the highest level of resort restaurants. (The service has always been very good in a low key, resort way. The food had lost its specialness, however, and now it is back.)

Keep the good work and keep the menu fresh with specials perhaps.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2015

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had an amazing time. The service was fantastic, the food preparation and timing was perfect. We would highly recommend dining here. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we were tended to and made it a very memorable experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.