About River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant

300 East Lapotac Blvd
Edmonton, AB T7X3Y3
View Larger Map

Sage fine dining offers an exquisite dining experience unlike anywhere else. With a sophisticated atmosphere, world class chef, and an exclusive wine list, Sage is sure to create a memorable experience for anyone. Please come in and enjoy fine dining, redefined.
No minors (under 18 years of age) permitted
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30 pm- 11:00pm, Sunday Dinner 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Whitemud Drive & Winterburn Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 930-2636

Website:
http://www.rivercreeresort.com/sage.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking at the resort above-ground parking lot. Complimentary Valet Parking also available

Executive Chef:
Shane Chartrand

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a Private Dining Room as well as a Semi-Private Room.
We have a selection of set menus to choose from, all of which are wonderful options.
Please contact the restuarant for any questions, details, or to book a table of 7 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Janine Michon: 7809302636x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for Groups (23)
Romantic (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent meal and service. Only issue i ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Only issue is the cigarette smoke smell throughout the casino and restaurant .

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

As always!!! Fantastic service food and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

As always!!! Fantastic service food and laughter :)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, had a wonderful dinner pre- ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place, had a wonderful dinner pre-show. Would go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere at Sage was relaxing and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The atmosphere at Sage was relaxing and quiet in the back corner where we were seated. The waiter was excellent, not overbearing and yet he attended to everything we needed including a free dessert for my wife's birthday. He made great wine recommendations. The food was also very well prepared and well timed between appetizers and entrees. Overall, we will be back. Prices were a bit on the high side however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The night that we went was a half price ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The night that we went was a half price night. The appetizer was just ok, nothing special about it. The beef tenderloin that I ordered was not good and have to return it. The second piece that came out was excellent . It's not the first time it happened. The taste was not that great and I don't like the sides at all. If it wasn't half price, I won't go there as it's quite pricy and not sure whether I would get my money worth.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had dinner before the Gypsy Kings. S ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had dinner before the Gypsy Kings. Service was good and quick. We were excited with the menu and the 50% off. To be honest it was disappointing. I didn't say anything but the couple we were with, the husband was very upset with the portion size of the appi and dessert and said there is no way that the rib steak dinner would be $44...now $22, he also had one bite of his mussels and sent them back. He was charged for them - so then needed to sort that out. This was not enjoyable. His wife's steak was 75% NOT eaten as it was mostly FAT. My steak was ok....carrots were COLD. I chose not to say anything. It seemed as though the price was 50% off but so was the integrity of the food. Needless to say our bill was as though the prices were not 50%off. $250. That we pay at other fine dining for 4 and we have EXCELLENT food.

Not the dining experience I /we expected:(

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good fast service but the food left a lo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good fast service but the food left a lot to be desired. My friends pork chop was served rare but tasted pretty good. My lobster soup was grainy but was flavored well. The crab cake presentation was poor but tasted ok. Honestly the best thing I had was the seasonal cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Had an excellent dining experience with ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Had an excellent dining experience with my sister prior to attending the performance by the Gypsy Kings. Much appreciated the discount promotion since we both are on pension and this type of night out is rather unusual for us seniors.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Shane made our Anniversary a very s ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Chef Shane made our Anniversary a very special occasion!.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining was a fantastic experience. Serve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Dining was a fantastic experience. Served by true professionals that enjoy what they do. highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice evening...celebrated 2birth ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice evening...celebrated 2birthdays....Great service from Scott and attention from other staff as well. Thanks to all and we will be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

the whole experience was very good, top ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

the whole experience was very good, top to bottom. Food, service from everyone, ambience.

Will be back!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too bad they don't do anything for speci ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Too bad they don't do anything for special occasions. This was a 60th anniversary. Even a piece of dessert would be nice. The meal was excellent and the service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I was at Sage with 6 people last July 7t ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I was at Sage with 6 people last July 7th to celebrate my boyfriend's bday. Everything was fantastic as we ordered 3 combos Reg. $120. We all find that the wine selection are very expensive. I came back with 3 other people last Aug 7th. Hoping to have lamb, but no supply. So, three of us ordered 3 small plates per person. One ordered, the steak and he was so disappointed as it is greasily with no flavour. We still find the wine selection too expensive. But we like the 50% off on food. The waiter could have come back more often and ask if we are okay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The chef was amazing! I am vegetarian a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The chef was amazing! I am vegetarian and there wasn't anything on the menu for me. However the waiter told the chef and he came out and asked what I liked and made me an amazing dinner! I was very impressed with his cooking skills! The food was impeccable, loved it. The chef came out after I dined to find out how I enjoyed the meal . Was extremely satisfied and would come back again without a doubt!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome food and our server was very att ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome food and our server was very attentive and knew what

gluten free foods were on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Soup was suppose to be a chowder and cam ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Soup was suppose to be a chowder and came as a bisque. Calamari was not far from the worst ever. Cornish game hen was very good as was as was bacon/broccoli. There are many other items on the menus we would like to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Having read the accolades on the website ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Having read the accolades on the website of the River Cree Casino we decided to eat at Sage. We were staying at the hotel so we thought it would be a nice dinner prior to our event at the casino. We reviewed the menu and thought it sounded good. We ordered chicken and pork ribs. Both priced between $25 - 28. The wine list was extremely overpriced. J Lohr cabernet sauvignon was priced at $67 dollars a bottle. We opted to go by the glass. One was $14 a glass the other $16. Midrange wine at best.

Within 6 minutes of ordering our main course, dinner arrived at the table. I was really hoping for a made to order dinner at that price. The food was marginal at best. T

We were in and out of the restaurant in 40 minutes. This did not seem like a fine dining experience as advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We arrived early and got seated right aw ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We arrived early and got seated right away, we were served quickly, the food was good and some portions were large, the staff were friendly, the manager came by to make sure everything was going o.k. we did book an earlier reservation (6:30) as we had a show that night, thought we would be 1.5 - 2 hrs, we were done in just a little over an hour, as they got busy there was no pressure to leave unlike some places we have gone to on the weekends, overall it was an excellent place which made for a nice evening out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FIRST TIME TRIAL WITH RELATIVES WAS GOOD ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

FIRST TIME TRIAL WITH RELATIVES WAS GOOD EXPERIENCE. HOWEVER, THE LAST EXPERIENCE WAS NOT VERY GOOD; LAMB RACK WAS OVER DONE WITH BOWL OF GREEN PEAS. SAME APPLIED TO STEAK AND LOBSTER COVERED WITH GREEN PEAS.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great restaurant. The menu choices were ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great restaurant. The menu choices were limited but the food item and entre combinations were excellent. Dessert - Fried Bannock with Maple Ice Cream and Saskatoon berries was awesome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent before concert location. Super ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent before concert location. Superb dining experience. Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating to our every wish. Our food choices were very well presented and delicious. We were in and out in 1 1/2 hours and never felt rushed. Our wine choice was very smooth as well. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was very good but the food was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very good but the food was a huge disappointment ! We ordered the Salmon and Chicken meals. Salmon was served on what seemed like creamed corn out of a can and minced veggies and the Chicken was just serviced with the minced veggies. No flavour and presentation was terrible. Would never come back to this restaurant and would NEVER recommend to friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Our waiter was the best part of the even ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our waiter was the best part of the evening. Experienced , knowledgable . The food was good, well presented. Remember thought when they talk about the 1/2 price , that is the main on,y, sides, deserts are full price. Wine list apparently was extensive , our niece ordered. However, she had heard 1/2 price menu and wrongly thought all. Wine, when we received the bill, is highly overpriced. As long as you're aware, as we should have been. I would recommend the Sage for any special event

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was by far one of the most pleasant ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was by far one of the most pleasant experiences I have had dining out. The service was impeccable! I only rated the noise level moderate because there was an entertainment event on the evening we were there & that increased the noise level from the traffic in the restaurant. The restaurant is offering 50% off all menu items Sun-Thurs, we were told as a promotion for the 10 year anniversary. The food was definitely worth more than we paid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A little pricey, but good value with the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A little pricey, but good value with the 50% off Sunday thru Thursday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly, the menu has changed and the food ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Sadly, the menu has changed and the food was very blasé, not fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I have wanted to come to Sage for a long ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have wanted to come to Sage for a long time as I have heard good things about the food and know it offers a great discount on food Sunday -Thursday. I thought the customer service was fantastic! The environment was vey nice, comfortable. I had the salmon special, in bannock. It was a tiny portion, I can't imagine a male being at all satisfied with the portion. It tasted ok, really just average. Even at 50%, I felt the entree was way over priced. It really could have been an appetizer. My entire party was underwhelmed with the meals, again it was the price point and serving size. I really looked forward to dining here and wanted to love this place.... I'm disappointed. I will probably try again as maybe I just ordered the wrong items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great waitress -Anya was attentive and e ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great waitress -Anya was attentive and efficient. Our table was in the rear portion of the restaurant where the noise level was much quieter. The wine list was way overpriced for the selection offered. In general the quality and presentation of food did not warrant the price. I ordered a medium well filet mignon, which arrived very well done. There was no lamb on the menu at 6.30 p.m. Which was disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Room was way too bright, the food was me ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Room was way too bright, the food was mediocre and the wine was super expensive. Seventeen dollars a glass for Kim Crawford!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

good deal with the 50% off; food very ta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

good deal with the 50% off; food very tasty; great Caesar Salad!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love the relaxed feel of this place , ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place , the service was well-timed and friendly. We will definitely be returning to try more dishes as they've recently changed their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good for sure, however for ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Food was very good for sure, however for the price was fairly expensive. However they had 1/2 price food Sun-Thurs so it's definitely worth it for that price but I would be disappointed paying full price for the quality of food. Desserts were fantastic however! Only thing is that portions were relatively small compared to other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We have been to Sage before on concert n ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have been to Sage before on concert nights and enjoyed a glass of wine and appetizers. As much as we appreciated the dinner menu being offered at half the normal price , I must say we were disappointed in the food. We did enjoy the lobster bisque, however our chicken meals were tough and tasteless. We did let our server know when she asked us and subsequently one meal was removed from the bill. The service was good, but due to the meal we likely would not rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been to Sage before and the menu ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have been to Sage before and the menu was creative and diverse. This time (a Sunday evening) they offered a fixed menu with limited selection and poor quality. The server said that the menu was reduced because they were "busy" and there was a show at the casino. Being busy seems like a poor excuse for the significant reduction in quality.

This was a meal of highs and lows - the seafood appetizer was delicious, fresh and inventive - however the regular appetizers were unavailable. The deconstructed cream cheese desert was delicious as well. In between, not so good - the steak was warm and poorly presented. The chicken with mushrooms was downright poor. Mixing cold chicken with a mushroom ragout does not qualify as fine dining.

This was a real let down since the Chef's cuisine has been talented and inspirational in the past. From now on, we will check on what menu is available before attending again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The only negative feedback to give is it ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The only negative feedback to give is it took too long to receive our meal - one hour which we felt was extremely slow considering the number of clients at the time. I would recommend if you have all evening to sit in a restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We enjoyed our Father's Day dinner and w ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We enjoyed our Father's Day dinner and we're able to have a really nice relaxining visit as well.Our server BEN was helpful and fun..Menu was 50% off so a great value.We feel it is very pricey at regular price..

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There were a couple of things with the f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

There were a couple of things with the food that I really shouldn't criticize as it could just be a personal preference (like the salmon being really dry and seemingly overcooked) and when it got very busy with a corporate event we did tend to get left out for extended periods but we were in no hurry so that worked out. The one thing that I do take exception to is the 50% off Sunday to Thursday. If you can provide the same food and service for half the price on 5 days of the week that seems like overpricing on the remaining 2 days. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not worth the money.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This place is ridiculously over priced and very small portions. Our meals were not very flavourful or appealing looking. Our waiter was friendly but not attentive. We had the same experience our first visit and thought we'd try again. Very dissapointed the second time around. Will not be going back. There are so many other fine dining options in Edmonton to revisit and explore. They have lost my business. If I need to eat at River Cree I'll just check out Tap 25 or the buffet.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This restaurant impressed me on every le ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant impressed me on every level. We had made two reservation for a total of 10 people and they combined our tables so that we could all be together. Also this restaurant has a 50% food discount Sunday to Thursday. That made steak and lobster on $23!!! The food was amazing, the drinks amazing but very pricey. Overall this place is worth the trip out to Enoch! Definitely will go back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.