About River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant

300 East Lapotac Blvd
Edmonton, AB T7X3Y3
View Larger Map

Sage fine dining offers an exquisite dining experience unlike anywhere else. With a sophisticated atmosphere, world class chef, and an exclusive wine list, Sage is sure to create a memorable experience for anyone. Please come in and enjoy fine dining, redefined.
No minors (under 18 years of age) permitted
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30 pm- 11:00pm, Sunday Dinner 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Whitemud Drive & Winterburn Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 930-2636

Website:
http://www.rivercreeresort.com/sage.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking at the resort above-ground parking lot. Complimentary Valet Parking also available

Executive Chef:
Shane Chartrand

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a Private Dining Room as well as a Semi-Private Room.
We have a selection of set menus to choose from, all of which are wonderful options.
Please contact the restuarant for any questions, details, or to book a table of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Weston Peacock : (780) 863-0777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Private Room (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love that the menu changes with the s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

We love that the menu changes with the seasons. Service is excellent

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The group were very disappointed with ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

The group were very disappointed with our main meal...

and WAY over priced. Service was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

very cold if you sit by the outside wind ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 2, 2017

very cold if you sit by the outside windows--request to sit by the fireplace.

very small potion of fries for $7

Crab cakes are awesome

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The limited time 30% off promotion Sun t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The limited time 30% off promotion Sun to Thurs is almost too good to be true. However, it is true and provides an exceptional value for a high quality meal. The service was excellent and the meal was comparable to a high end steak house. I enjoyed it and would go back. We both had th tenderloin, which was cooked perfectly and accompanied by silky whipped potoatoes.

Well done.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Good was good, nothing exceptional but I ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good was good, nothing exceptional but I guess it's hard to put this place against some other places I usually dine. Also, it was a MAJOR inconvenience to have to leave the restaurant and go out into the casino to use a washroom full of casino goers. Best to consider the location and see it for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food and service as always. Ne ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. New Years Eve and very busy but the staff were excellent and attentive. Manager came by to make sure everything was meeting expectations. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected better everything for such a pr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Expected better everything for such a premium price, but was less than average. Disappointing....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was great and the food also.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was great and the food also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unfortunately, our food arrived cold had ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unfortunately, our food arrived cold had to be sent back only to be returned warm; drinks also took a long time to be served.

Staff was very friendly and welcoming.

Don't plan on needing to go to the bathroom as you need to walk back through the casino to the main exit! I can't believe there isn't a bathroom IN the restaurant.... isn't that a health and safety requirement????

Ambiance and décor are good except for the SMOKE!

I get that this restaurant is in/part of the Casino; but they really need to do a better job with ventilation!

This restaurant is great and convenient if you are attending a concert (as we were); and you like eating in a smoke filled room; paying a lot of money for mediocre food and service; and you don't need to hit the bathroom during your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

food seemed abit high priced for quality ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

food seemed abit high priced for quality; coffee was served cold

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We really enjoyed our dinner with friend ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner with friends at the Sage restaurant in the River Cree. The food options were very satisfactory; prepared and presented nicely, the wine list extensive, and our server Linda was very kind, professional, and knowledgeable. We were well taken care of.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful Restaurant! We took our Pare ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A beautiful Restaurant! We took our Parents there during their Christmas visit and they had a wonderful time. The food was great and the service was awesome. We loved every minute we were there and felt welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, , Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was quite nicely laid out ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The restaurant was quite nicely laid out and the food was awesome. Unfortunately, being in a Cansino means that it is wafting with smoke from the Casino which almost wrecks the entire experience. Why they have an open entrance to the Casino is quite surprising.

The service and the food was outstanding! We had the ribeye steak and the smoker's basket which were both really great. The server was outstanding as well.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, , Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Good value

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for our anniversary was hopin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went there for our anniversary was hoping for something special for us on this special day but didn't get anything

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

It was the company that made the evening ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was the company that made the evening great. The menu is very limited. No vegetarian options. Not the culinary experience from when it first opened.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

This was my first time at the Sage. Five ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first time at the Sage. Five of us went for a Company Christmas Party prior to a show at the Venue. The open table reservation worked perfectly, and the staff seated us at our table of 6 which was tucked into the rear corner of the restaurant. With breezy outside temps hovering around -15 and a windows on both sides of the table it was a bit chilly, almost uncomfortable in dress clothes to sit in that spot, I would have of preferred to be in the middle of the restaurant or closer to the fireplace but all tables were booked on the busy Saturday night. The staff and host were very nice, entertaining and attentive throughout. My other guests started off with hot coffees to take the chill off but I started with an old fashion bourbon and it came with oversized round ice cube, which made the liquor taste better also added a trendy touch. I began with appetizer of Mussels which were very good, although a bit much for just one person to tackle. For the main I requested one of my favorite cuts - a rib eye steak, which was cooked to medium but the thin cut they selected had little meat, and was really stringy with a lot of gristle and fat. The mashed potatoes were just to my liking, and the side of mushrooms was a treat. My wife offered me a piece of her tenderloin steak which was melt in your mouth good. I tried the Alberta Caesar as my next drink and it was spiced nicely and included a piece of bacon in it. For dessert I had a coffee with Baileys and the Fry Bread in a Saskatoon sauce, both were very good. A lady from the Venue came right to our table and validated our show tickets so we could skip the big line up which was a nice touch. The bill total for the food and liquor was $542.06 for the five of us which in line with the amount of food we ordered and the number of drinks we enjoyed. Will definitely go back but I would steer clear of the back room tables and the rib eye.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

great valu with the entire menu 50 % off ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 5, 2016

great valu with the entire menu 50 % off Sundays to Thursdays. Service and food was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor and ambiance is very similar t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The decor and ambiance is very similar to what you found find in a very nice restaurant in a casino in Vegas.

My husband & I shared 4 small plates. The beets and Greens were fantastic, the mushroom & potatoes soo good, the calamari also very good and the market mussels were okay but lacked flavor. Portion sizes were great for sharing with 2 people.

We had enough room for dessert so I had the banana split. It was very good but would have been even better if the banana bread pudding had been warm.

My hubby out ordered me with the fried bannock. Oh my gosh, if you go to this restaurant do not leave without trying the fried bannock. It's simply to die for!

Service was fantastic!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Over all the experience was alright..... ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Over all the experience was alright..... but we went for 1/2 price night and we all partook in the surf and turf for $48.00 .... the steak was nice but lobster was half of nothing( I got one bite) and it did not come with sides .....hardly worth the price and the liquor was very expensive .... probably will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There were seven of us that went out for ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 21, 2016

There were seven of us that went out for dinner for my daughter's birthday. Overall the steak and sides were very good. However, we would never order the lobster again. It was very dry and stuck to the shell.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We went to celebrate my husband's 50th b ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Chef Shane made us an incredible five course meal. My husband said it was the best meal he ever had. Our server was wonderful as well and very attentive. It was a fantastic experience and would absolutely recommend it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service. The young lady serving ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome service. The young lady serving us was very pleasant,

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my third visit to Sage. I haven ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was my third visit to Sage. I haven't been disappointed yet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing with this restaur ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was amazing with this restaurant with the exception of the smell of cigarette smoke. The smell was quite strong.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not told it was a limited menu on sh ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was not told it was a limited menu on show nights. Filet was overdone, mussels were terrible. Only great thing was the Saskatoon dessert. At these prices, everything should have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent service, great food and wine. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent service, great food and wine. They have some interesting small plates, the special was braised venison tortellini ! Delish! We went on a Sunday evening so food menu was half price, menu is pricey if you don't go on a discounted night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent selection of small plates allo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent selection of small plates allowed for a great variety of tastes. Although we had no room for dessert our waiter brought a birthday complimentary deconstructed cherry pie. Shared between three of us and not a morsel left.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was half price, but unfortunately, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was half price, but unfortunately, even at half price it wasn't worth the value. Presentation was nice, but the chicken and salmon were both over cooked and dry. We had to ask for extra mushroom sauce to help with the dryness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous food! Excellent price...great a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fabulous food! Excellent price...great atmosphere! Pre scanning of concert tickets in restaraunt was perfect!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For medical reasons I must eat a low fat ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

For medical reasons I must eat a low fat primarily vegan diet. There was nothing on the menu that I could eat. Out waitress was phenomenal- she spoke to the chef and they made me a very good vegetarian meal. I'm surprised that there are no vegetarian or vegan options. My friend loved every bite of her crab cake and filet mignon. The only other negative is the smoke smell from the casino. Definitely a turn off. Meals are very pricey, but we were there on a 50% off night and the price was then reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went to Sage prior to an event at River ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went to Sage prior to an event at River Cree. This is my third time there. The first time was excellent. Second time food and service was horrible. Would not have gone back if we weren't going to a show. So glad I gave it a second chance. The food and service was amazing! Had the platter for two and I would have to say I think it was the best meal I have ever had! I also spilled my drink and the server was right there to clean it up and provided a second drink free of charge! The restaurant was very busy so was quite noisy. But everything came out on time and hot. 5 star food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Steaks were really good and the rosemary ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Steaks were really good and the rosemary bread... you can actually taste the rosemary. Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and attention to det ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding service and attention to detail with fine dining experience. A must visit for all with an eye for quality experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

tasty meal, great service! next time, wi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

tasty meal, great service! next time, will save room for desert!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great time but our steak was overc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a great time but our steak was overcooked food was great but felt very simple enjoyed the creamed corn was amazing :) great customer service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great but portion size for pric ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great but portion size for price too little. Had to ask for extra side of fries and was charged 9.00. Overall not a great value. Went home still hungry. Will go the keg next time for auch better value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Fabulous food, friendly and personable s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous food, friendly and personable service! A great place to dine before an event at the River Cree Resort.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very high class night out. The tables a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very high class night out. The tables along the windows are perfect for quiet dining. Uday was a fantastic, attentive server and Weston the manager came by to see how we were enjoying our meal. The romaine greens were the perfect starter to a delicious tenderloin. Will come back to try the cornish game hen and pork chop. Definitely go for their 50% off Sun to Thurs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem of a restaurant, we ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This is a hidden gem of a restaurant, we are very happy to have found it upon visiting the River Cree for a concert, both my wife and I absolutely love the food! Our first visit we had the lamb, it was incredible!!, Second visit we had the smoked hen, and also very good.I would recommend vising Sage the food is excellent, but the menu is on the smaller side on the venue nights due to it being busier.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.