Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant

Sage fine dining offers an exquisite dining experience unlike anywhere else. With a sophisticated atmosphere, world class chef, and an exclusive wine list, Sage is sure to create a memorable experience for anyone. Please come in and enjoy fine dining, redefined.
No minors (under 18 years of age) permitted
Complimentary Valet Parking.

300 East Lapotac Blvd
Edmonton, AB T7X3Y3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30 pm- 11:00pm, Sunday Dinner 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Whitemud Drive & Winterburn Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 930-2636

Website:
http://www.rivercreeresort.com/sage.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking at the resort above-ground parking lot. Complimentary Valet Parking also available

Executive Chef:
Shane Chartrand

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a Private Dining Room as well as a Semi-Private Room.
We have a selection of set menus to choose from, all of which are wonderful options.
Please contact the restuarant for any questions, details, or to book a table of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Weston Peacock : (780) 863-0777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food but a limited menu does any one really need to eat a 16 oz pork chop.service was very hood and appreciate that they were able to scan tickets to the show so no waiting in line

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Really expensive and not good food. Steak was served cold and didn’t do anything to fix it. 300 dollar meal that was barely edible. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent, along with the appetizers. It was a special occasion and the restaurant went out of their way to include special touches throughout the meal. Unfortunately we collectively found the food just okay which was disappointing considering the reviews and price. My husband and I particularly enjoy high end food and our meals we're both a miss from plating to palate. Would perhaps try again because of the service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This was a very disappointing experience. The seating arrangement (at least ours) was not well suited for couples as we were seated side by side rather than opposite each other and the view was out into the casino - not very appealing. We had heard good things about the restaurant and the manager was and greeter were very nice. Our main concern, though, was the meal. We ordered the 8oz. fillet and the smoker basket (game hen and ribs). We actually had to sent the first fillet back as it was very tough and stringy; the second one was much better. The basket was very disappointing too - absolutely no flavour other than smoke. The ribs were dry and numbered 3 in total. The game hen was decent but nothing special. Overall, for $100 with one glass of wine, this was a very, very disappointing meal and kind of put a bit of a damper on our whole night. I rarely write reviews (good or bad) unless the reason stands out as exceptional and this was exceptional but not in a good way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our third time visiting sage restaurant. Loved the appetizers (prawns,scalop, calamari,oysters and....).we almost try everything on the menu and it was a delight.by the way loved the boss boy he was super polite with great smile. Definetly coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Shrimp app was served in a bowl.
Had to send the soup back to be heated up
cheeze tray could have arrived much sooner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The oyosters were so fresh & sweet , the beet salad is to die for!! And my husbands tenderlion was cooked to perfection and so tender it melted in your mouth!!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was great but not fabulous for the price - found a fishbone in my salmon!!! Service was excellent but noise level was a bit much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Amazing food. Great service. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The meal was ok. I was very happy with my vegan dish (which I had let them know about 2 days before going to the restaurant and was not anything that had been modified from the menu). It definitely could have been warmer though. The others said that the bannock was cold and hard. The service was not good. We had reservations for 6:30 and didn't end up leaving until 9:30. We would order drinks and have to wait 20 minutes each time. From the time we ordered the food to the time it came out it was about an hour wait. Again, everything tasted good but the temperature wasn't there. When we left I did let someone know about the wait times and he apologized. Based on the overall experience I probably wouldn't go back to Sage.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was tasteless and WAY overpriced. We ordered the seafood/brisket. It came with 2 scallops and thinly sliced, fatty brisket in a tasteless and unappetizing broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Caesar salad was delish, but chicken and ribs were dry. Giant fries and home made pickles were yummy and the pork chop was well cooked and juicy but none of the 3 drinks I ordered were correct. My chocolate martini was foaming? And straight vodka. My Caesar was over salted and too spicy. And my coffee and baileys was cold. Although we had a great server and was seated right away, they even checked us into the show at our table which was fabulous but the food and drink were less than good. Will try the sports lounge or buffet next time we come for a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was very good - unique flavour pairings and our waiter Ben was very attentive and Mae our experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have eaten here before and have always had a great experience. The food and the service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was great especially with the promotion of 50% off menu prices. Majority of our dishes were delicious. The cornish hen was a bit dry (it was smoked). The fresh oysters were very small, even though it's a promo of $1 per oysters, I still wouldn't buy it, not much flavour. Service is dependent on who you get, went twice in one week, first time the server was oblivious (another table broke their wine glass, he tried to wave her down, she was hanging out at the greeter stand and she filled our water twice, when we seated, and when we paid). The second time, the server was actually serving, doing his job.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

If the had a better planed menu with a better selection of ingredients it would be appreciated. I am a red seal cook, but as someone who enjoys food ( no I am not over weight). The plate for two is amazing hats off on that. We stayed in a hotel for two nights. The first night our server was amazing the guy from somewhere in Scandinavia. The second night we had a male server that was not a very easy personal. All and all good food buts needs a kick.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Good food, good service, great friends!
If you can stand the cigarette smoke coming from the casino, to get to the restaurant, it is a very enjoyable experience. The restaurant is not smokey at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The steak was one of the best we ever had ... however the sides were not so much!!! The so-called potatoes were like baby food (perhaps instant mashed potatoes) and the two mini cobs of corn covered with an unknown sauce were soggy and messy!!!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 28, 2017

A wonderful meal for our anniversary evening. All their food is cooked amazingly well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had the Giant fried calamari to start, it was one of the best I have ever had. Then the tenderloin steak for our main it was tasty, tender and delicious. Overall a great dinner!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. Very classy place with excellent food choices. Great specials if you ask in advance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

We have had the same server on two other occasions and found him to be very unfriendly, poor english and just not with it. I had to ask for a butter knife and somehow the wrong steak was ordered. All in all the experience was not a pleasant one.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

I have been in your restaurant a few times ,the service was o k the food is not bad ,the dinner for two is great ,enjoyed that the price was o k if you went on 1/2 price night .over all !I enjoy a nice night out thank you..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Delicious food, awesome value, generous portion sizes. The bone marrow and crab cakes make me want to go back again and again. Ribeye was cooked to a nice medium rare and really juicy. All the food came out really hot and fresh. Service was a bit slow as there only seemed to be one server for the back section.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Thank you for making our 30th anniversary a special one.
It was great. We'll be back
Gail Brown

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our waitress was very good as was the food and rest of the service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wonderful staff. We were there before going to a concert and they seated us early so as not to miss the start of it. Front of house staff were very friendly and accommodating. Waiters were also very friendly and helpful with the menu. We paid with gift cards that had been given to us. The cards were more than the bill and they returned a card with the unused portion. Apparently there was a mix up ( which we didn't notice) with the returned card and they phoned next day to tell us this. It was so nice that they did this and we appreciate the honesty. Will for sure return and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious, especially the calamari. Server and other staff were all very nice. The reason for the low service rating is because it took a very long time for our main meals to come, about 40 minutes, and then to get the bill. People that came after us got served before us. We had to rush to get to a concert and we were even there 20 minutes earlier than our reservation. No time for dessert. The only reason that value gets a good rating is because the food was on special at 50% off. The kitchen needs to get organized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Amazing service! And the food quality and taste was second to none. One of the best places in the Edmonton area to come for a great night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

MY ribs were very dry and tough but my dates food was great and drinks and dessert were fine service was a bit lackluster.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Truly an enjoyable evening. Food, service and value excellent. We were celebrating our 57th anniversary and they were so accommodating, even gave us a complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service was perfect and was exactly what we needed for introducing two families; attentive, helpful and exactly the right place to allow good conversation. I'd recommend this as a comfortable and quiet place with good food. I'm not sure what it would be like for people in a rush but it was perfect for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service was ok...Saturday night and basically empty..we had one of the big round booths that seat 5 or 6 people and there being only 2 of us seemed kinda weird but then other couples were seated in these type of booths as well...Looking around we think it was so that people going by in the casino would not be looking at an empty restaurant..which if we were at the two person tables in the back section it would have been empty other than the people at the bar .
The food was ok...for the price I have had better. My Steak was pretty grissoly and tough by the bone ..the waiter saw me trying to saw thru it and didn't do or say anything. I could have used a real steak knife. ...and a discount? ..desert?? something... Anyhow next time (which with the $$ wont be for a while) we will ask for a back 2 person table and also put in a complaint if that steak is like that again! I hate having to ask as I don't like to complain but for a high end restaurant I guess I should have told them that.
We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great place and service. Menu is a bit pricey but lots of summer promotions make it more reasonable. Will definitely be back.
(Be sure to pick up a player card at the casino desk next door then go back and scan your receipt after dinner for credits.)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My salmon was amazing. Crab cake was the texture of a flaked can of tuna. Husbands steak was undercooked service was very slow - drinks were very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food here was really good and from time of ordering to time food arrived was super fast. But if you are ordering drinks order extra they take longer to get than the foods does.
Also bring a jacket the a/c vents blow straight down onto the tables.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our salad was good. My dinner was fine however my partner ordered Filet Fignon MEDIUM-RARE and it arrived late and OVERLY WELL DONE. We asked for a replacement which arrived the same as the first one !!! Enough said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food excellent. Best calimari in the city, delicious beer salad and incredible salad dish. Great place for a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was amazing. Very attentive. Food servings seemed a little large and a bit too much salt. Would be nicer if the view to the casino was less evident. Our table faced the casino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was adequate. Food was not on par with pricing. Few dishes were cold and uninviting. I have been there several times and with each visit the food quality decreases.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.