About River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant

300 East Lapotac Blvd
Edmonton, AB T7X3Y3
View Larger Map

Sage fine dining offers an exquisite dining experience unlike anywhere else. With a sophisticated atmosphere, world class chef, and an exclusive wine list, Sage is sure to create a memorable experience for anyone. Please come in and enjoy fine dining, redefined.
No minors (under 18 years of age) permitted
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30 pm- 11:00pm, Sunday Dinner 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Whitemud Drive & Winterburn Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 930-2636

Website:
http://www.rivercreeresort.com/sage.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking at the resort above-ground parking lot. Complimentary Valet Parking also available

Executive Chef:
Shane Chartrand

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a Private Dining Room as well as a Semi-Private Room.
We have a selection of set menus to choose from, all of which are wonderful options.
Please contact the restuarant for any questions, details, or to book a table of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Weston Peacock : 7808630777x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Modern Decor (12)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great valu with the entire menu 50 % off ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

great valu with the entire menu 50 % off Sundays to Thursdays. Service and food was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor and ambiance is very similar t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

The decor and ambiance is very similar to what you found find in a very nice restaurant in a casino in Vegas.

My husband & I shared 4 small plates. The beets and Greens were fantastic, the mushroom & potatoes soo good, the calamari also very good and the market mussels were okay but lacked flavor. Portion sizes were great for sharing with 2 people.

We had enough room for dessert so I had the banana split. It was very good but would have been even better if the banana bread pudding had been warm.

My hubby out ordered me with the fried bannock. Oh my gosh, if you go to this restaurant do not leave without trying the fried bannock. It's simply to die for!

Service was fantastic!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Over all the experience was alright..... ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Over all the experience was alright..... but we went for 1/2 price night and we all partook in the surf and turf for $48.00 .... the steak was nice but lobster was half of nothing( I got one bite) and it did not come with sides .....hardly worth the price and the liquor was very expensive .... probably will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There were seven of us that went out for ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 21, 2016

There were seven of us that went out for dinner for my daughter's birthday. Overall the steak and sides were very good. However, we would never order the lobster again. It was very dry and stuck to the shell.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

We went to celebrate my husband's 50th b ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Chef Shane made us an incredible five course meal. My husband said it was the best meal he ever had. Our server was wonderful as well and very attentive. It was a fantastic experience and would absolutely recommend it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service. The young lady serving ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome service. The young lady serving us was very pleasant,

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was my third visit to Sage. I haven ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was my third visit to Sage. I haven't been disappointed yet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing with this restaur ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was amazing with this restaurant with the exception of the smell of cigarette smoke. The smell was quite strong.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not told it was a limited menu on sh ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Was not told it was a limited menu on show nights. Filet was overdone, mussels were terrible. Only great thing was the Saskatoon dessert. At these prices, everything should have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent service, great food and wine. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent service, great food and wine. They have some interesting small plates, the special was braised venison tortellini ! Delish! We went on a Sunday evening so food menu was half price, menu is pricey if you don't go on a discounted night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent selection of small plates allo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent selection of small plates allowed for a great variety of tastes. Although we had no room for dessert our waiter brought a birthday complimentary deconstructed cherry pie. Shared between three of us and not a morsel left.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was half price, but unfortunately, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was half price, but unfortunately, even at half price it wasn't worth the value. Presentation was nice, but the chicken and salmon were both over cooked and dry. We had to ask for extra mushroom sauce to help with the dryness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous food! Excellent price...great a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fabulous food! Excellent price...great atmosphere! Pre scanning of concert tickets in restaraunt was perfect!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to Sage prior to an event at River ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Went to Sage prior to an event at River Cree. This is my third time there. The first time was excellent. Second time food and service was horrible. Would not have gone back if we weren't going to a show. So glad I gave it a second chance. The food and service was amazing! Had the platter for two and I would have to say I think it was the best meal I have ever had! I also spilled my drink and the server was right there to clean it up and provided a second drink free of charge! The restaurant was very busy so was quite noisy. But everything came out on time and hot. 5 star food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

For medical reasons I must eat a low fat ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

For medical reasons I must eat a low fat primarily vegan diet. There was nothing on the menu that I could eat. Out waitress was phenomenal- she spoke to the chef and they made me a very good vegetarian meal. I'm surprised that there are no vegetarian or vegan options. My friend loved every bite of her crab cake and filet mignon. The only other negative is the smoke smell from the casino. Definitely a turn off. Meals are very pricey, but we were there on a 50% off night and the price was then reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Steaks were really good and the rosemary ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Steaks were really good and the rosemary bread... you can actually taste the rosemary. Service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and attention to det ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding service and attention to detail with fine dining experience. A must visit for all with an eye for quality experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

tasty meal, great service! next time, wi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

tasty meal, great service! next time, will save room for desert!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a great time but our steak was overc ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had a great time but our steak was overcooked food was great but felt very simple enjoyed the creamed corn was amazing :) great customer service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great but portion size for pric ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great but portion size for price too little. Had to ask for extra side of fries and was charged 9.00. Overall not a great value. Went home still hungry. Will go the keg next time for auch better value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Fabulous food, friendly and personable s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous food, friendly and personable service! A great place to dine before an event at the River Cree Resort.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very high class night out. The tables a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very high class night out. The tables along the windows are perfect for quiet dining. Uday was a fantastic, attentive server and Weston the manager came by to see how we were enjoying our meal. The romaine greens were the perfect starter to a delicious tenderloin. Will come back to try the cornish game hen and pork chop. Definitely go for their 50% off Sun to Thurs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a hidden gem of a restaurant, we ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This is a hidden gem of a restaurant, we are very happy to have found it upon visiting the River Cree for a concert, both my wife and I absolutely love the food! Our first visit we had the lamb, it was incredible!!, Second visit we had the smoked hen, and also very good.I would recommend vising Sage the food is excellent, but the menu is on the smaller side on the venue nights due to it being busier.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

the food was not up to par for such a hi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

the food was not up to par for such a high priced restaurant maybe because it was half price I don't know but the food was awful

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

I am bery sad to report that the sevice ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I am bery sad to report that the sevice and food was not good. The lobster chowder was BROWN and tasted nothing like lobster. Truth be told I've never tasted anything more disgusting. Our meal took Over an hour. I went there because I had been once before when Salt N pepper was there and had a very good dinning experience. I won't be back sadly. Good pricing but I'd prefer better tasting food. This visit gave the impression this was an establishment was portrayed as high end... but the quality of food was not chef material. Get a chef lose the line cook quality and maybe I'd try again.

Sorry!

On the up side the waitress and other staff was great and I acknowledge the slow service had nothing to do with the serving staff the kitchen failed... in my opinion

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

We had high expectations as we had heard ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had high expectations as we had heard good things about Sage downtown. Now im not even sure the two are from the same owner. The prices are exuberant in comparison to the quality of the food. Upon our arrival, they couldn't tell if we had already been seated for our reservation. Then tried to seat us with some different people, all because our guests had been sat before us. I ordered the chicken, and it was dry and bland. For the price, it should've been the greatest chicken i have ever had! The brussel sprouts with bacon were barely cooked, and im pretty sure it was chopped beef in the bowl. I still haven't received the water i asked for at the beginning of dinner either.

We like to go to higher end restaurants periodically, and have a decent understanding of what to expect. But i can assure you that Sage river Cree, wouldn't fair well against a boston pizza or chillis, let alone a Corso 32 or Von's as the price point and ambience would suggest they aspire to.

i would not recommend this place to anyone, and will not go there again, unless for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was terrible and we tried a lot of ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was terrible and we tried a lot of different menu items. The restaurant also stinks like cigarette smoke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The meal that was served even for 50prec ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The meal that was served even for 50precend off was not satisfactory.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Steak was over cooked. Lobster was rubbe ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Steak was over cooked. Lobster was rubbery. So called lobster "chowder" was really a "bisque".!!! You need a real chef!!

Ambiance was nice. One of my guests was larger and could not fit in the booth and they should have tried harder to get us a table instead. All the staff were pleasant enough but the food was awful! I can't really recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Just awesome! Great value and Uday the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Just awesome! Great value and Uday the waiter was just fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service. Only issue i ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent meal and service. Only issue is the cigarette smoke smell throughout the casino and restaurant .

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

As always!!! Fantastic service food and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2016

As always!!! Fantastic service food and laughter :)

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, had a wonderful dinner pre- ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great place, had a wonderful dinner pre-show. Would go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere at Sage was relaxing and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The atmosphere at Sage was relaxing and quiet in the back corner where we were seated. The waiter was excellent, not overbearing and yet he attended to everything we needed including a free dessert for my wife's birthday. He made great wine recommendations. The food was also very well prepared and well timed between appetizers and entrees. Overall, we will be back. Prices were a bit on the high side however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The night that we went was a half price ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The night that we went was a half price night. The appetizer was just ok, nothing special about it. The beef tenderloin that I ordered was not good and have to return it. The second piece that came out was excellent . It's not the first time it happened. The taste was not that great and I don't like the sides at all. If it wasn't half price, I won't go there as it's quite pricy and not sure whether I would get my money worth.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had dinner before the Gypsy Kings. S ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had dinner before the Gypsy Kings. Service was good and quick. We were excited with the menu and the 50% off. To be honest it was disappointing. I didn't say anything but the couple we were with, the husband was very upset with the portion size of the appi and dessert and said there is no way that the rib steak dinner would be $44...now $22, he also had one bite of his mussels and sent them back. He was charged for them - so then needed to sort that out. This was not enjoyable. His wife's steak was 75% NOT eaten as it was mostly FAT. My steak was ok....carrots were COLD. I chose not to say anything. It seemed as though the price was 50% off but so was the integrity of the food. Needless to say our bill was as though the prices were not 50%off. $250. That we pay at other fine dining for 4 and we have EXCELLENT food.

Not the dining experience I /we expected:(

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good fast service but the food left a lo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good fast service but the food left a lot to be desired. My friends pork chop was served rare but tasted pretty good. My lobster soup was grainy but was flavored well. The crab cake presentation was poor but tasted ok. Honestly the best thing I had was the seasonal cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Had an excellent dining experience with ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Had an excellent dining experience with my sister prior to attending the performance by the Gypsy Kings. Much appreciated the discount promotion since we both are on pension and this type of night out is rather unusual for us seniors.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Shane made our Anniversary a very s ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Chef Shane made our Anniversary a very special occasion!.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining was a fantastic experience. Serve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Dining was a fantastic experience. Served by true professionals that enjoy what they do. highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.