Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant

Sage fine dining offers an exquisite dining experience unlike anywhere else. With a sophisticated atmosphere, world class chef, and an exclusive wine list, Sage is sure to create a memorable experience for anyone. Please come in and enjoy fine dining, redefined.
No minors (under 18 years of age) permitted
Complimentary Valet Parking.

300 East Lapotac Blvd
Edmonton, AB T7X3Y3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30 pm- 11:00pm, Sunday Dinner 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Whitemud Drive & Winterburn Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 930-2636

Website:
http://www.rivercreeresort.com/sage.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking at the resort above-ground parking lot. Complimentary Valet Parking also available

Executive Chef:
Shane Chartrand

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a Private Dining Room as well as a Semi-Private Room.
We have a selection of set menus to choose from, all of which are wonderful options.
Please contact the restuarant for any questions, details, or to book a table of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Weston Peacock : (780) 863-0777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Our waitress was very good as was the food and rest of the service

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wonderful staff. We were there before going to a concert and they seated us early so as not to miss the start of it. Front of house staff were very friendly and accommodating. Waiters were also very friendly and helpful with the menu. We paid with gift cards that had been given to us. The cards were more than the bill and they returned a card with the unused portion. Apparently there was a mix up ( which we didn't notice) with the returned card and they phoned next day to tell us this. It was so nice that they did this and we appreciate the honesty. Will for sure return and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious, especially the calamari. Server and other staff were all very nice. The reason for the low service rating is because it took a very long time for our main meals to come, about 40 minutes, and then to get the bill. People that came after us got served before us. We had to rush to get to a concert and we were even there 20 minutes earlier than our reservation. No time for dessert. The only reason that value gets a good rating is because the food was on special at 50% off. The kitchen needs to get organized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Amazing service! And the food quality and taste was second to none. One of the best places in the Edmonton area to come for a great night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

MY ribs were very dry and tough but my dates food was great and drinks and dessert were fine service was a bit lackluster.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Truly an enjoyable evening. Food, service and value excellent. We were celebrating our 57th anniversary and they were so accommodating, even gave us a complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service was perfect and was exactly what we needed for introducing two families; attentive, helpful and exactly the right place to allow good conversation. I'd recommend this as a comfortable and quiet place with good food. I'm not sure what it would be like for people in a rush but it was perfect for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service was ok...Saturday night and basically empty..we had one of the big round booths that seat 5 or 6 people and there being only 2 of us seemed kinda weird but then other couples were seated in these type of booths as well...Looking around we think it was so that people going by in the casino would not be looking at an empty restaurant..which if we were at the two person tables in the back section it would have been empty other than the people at the bar .
The food was ok...for the price I have had better. My Steak was pretty grissoly and tough by the bone ..the waiter saw me trying to saw thru it and didn't do or say anything. I could have used a real steak knife. ...and a discount? ..desert?? something... Anyhow next time (which with the $$ wont be for a while) we will ask for a back 2 person table and also put in a complaint if that steak is like that again! I hate having to ask as I don't like to complain but for a high end restaurant I guess I should have told them that.
We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great place and service. Menu is a bit pricey but lots of summer promotions make it more reasonable. Will definitely be back.
(Be sure to pick up a player card at the casino desk next door then go back and scan your receipt after dinner for credits.)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My salmon was amazing. Crab cake was the texture of a flaked can of tuna. Husbands steak was undercooked service was very slow - drinks were very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food here was really good and from time of ordering to time food arrived was super fast. But if you are ordering drinks order extra they take longer to get than the foods does.
Also bring a jacket the a/c vents blow straight down onto the tables.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our salad was good. My dinner was fine however my partner ordered Filet Fignon MEDIUM-RARE and it arrived late and OVERLY WELL DONE. We asked for a replacement which arrived the same as the first one !!! Enough said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service was impeccable and the food excellent. Best calimari in the city, delicious beer salad and incredible salad dish. Great place for a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was amazing. Very attentive. Food servings seemed a little large and a bit too much salt. Would be nicer if the view to the casino was less evident. Our table faced the casino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was adequate. Food was not on par with pricing. Few dishes were cold and uninviting. I have been there several times and with each visit the food quality decreases.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Lack of knowledge on the part of the waiter as to what came with the main course order. At his suggestion we ordered side of whipped potatoes only to have the two of us each receive a fair sizeable bowl of whipped potatoes with our perch. He said the perch would be stuffed with potatoes and veggies but it was not. The perch was okay for taste but totally over salted. The halibut dish was good but the portion size of the halibut was meager sitting on top of an over abundance of risotto and the rest of the additions. We didn't need to order the extra dish of sprouts that we totally felt were overcooked. Waiter was definitely pushing for adding to orders. For the price of the meat dishes they should include the potatoes/rice and a vegetable. Definitely overpriced for the value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 30, 2017

This was a disappointment. We went in their thinking it was a fancy restaurant. The restaurant was completely empty. They were playing Roxette to set the ambiance. I like Roxette as much as the next person, but not for a date night/fancy restaurant experience. We sat down and ordered 2 glasses of wine and the $120 dinner for two which included Game Hen, Crab Legs, and Tenderloin. When we got it, it looked like they just took it from the old stock from the buffet table. It was cold, overcooked, and dry...the game hen was the worst and not even edible.

I would never recommend this restaurant and will not be going back. Total bill was over $200 for two of us and I could honestly get a better meal for about $20. This was also during their 30% off event which is just crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This restaurant is located off the main casino in the River Cree. Smoking is allowed in the casino and there was an odour noticeable but was not annoying. The service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant. I ordered the rib eye and it was done medium rare as I requested. Two others ordered filet,both medium rare, one arrived as ordered but the other medium well. The sides were disappointing . Two pieces of corn on the cob and mashed potatoes. We of course knew this was coming but the size was surprising. Between the three of us we estimated we had one ear of corn and a small amount of potatoes. The forth diner ordered the sea food special, she found it thick and gummy,not at all to her liking. The two considered sending there meals found back but we were there to take in the Jay Leno show and did not have the time. We thought the wines overpriced. One was priced at $60 and sold for for $15 in the wine store. Considering the price for the meal we would not go back to the Sage.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were welcomed very nicely and promptly. Our server was great all be it a little slow near the end as stable near us was ordering shots and seemed to be getting private service from the chef and took his attention perhaps a bit too much but over all was great.
Menu had great choices and will certainly be coming back to try more items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food tasteless & bland. Filet was tough and overcooked. Presentation looked like a child had done it. Chicken was dry and ribs(2) bland and fatty. They filled up the plate with 9 potatoes!
The brisket was tasteless. We were treating a couple from Ontario to dinner. What an embarrassment. If you charge such outrageous fees for food it had better be high quality.
We would never recommend Sage .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Nice atmosphere. The booth was a little oversized for 2 people. All in all a good experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 2, 2017

It was my first time at Sage. All five in our group enjoyed the food. The service was good although there was a dish delivered to our table that was not ordered. Our waiter was nice enough to serve us all with a complimentary birthday desert for my son. My first time trying Bannock and we all really enjoyed it. The 30% off menu pricing on the night we were there makes for a very affordable evening out. We will be back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The beef ribs that came with my meal were VERY tender and very good. The Cornish game hen and baby red potatoes were very good too. We were NOT rushed, yet the server was around if we needed him. Some meals were a bit expensive BUT I have to remember that this is an upscale restaurant with top of the line foo, so it is likely comparable to other upscale resutaurants. Wonderful staff by the way, and the manager greeted us personally several times, to see how we enjoyed our meals and the service. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, fantastic wine and liqueur selection. This was my second visit to Sage. The first time was a couple years ago and I recall the food was good but not remarkable. I was pleased to note that there has been an improvement in the food quality. There were 7 of at the table for a birthday celebration. All the meals were spot-on. The mussels were plump and delicious and the broth was one of the best I've had. The oysters were tiny but fresh. I had the salmon and substituted the side for truffle mashed potatoes - they were amazing. My dinner companions all opted for either a steak or the brisket. All were very well prepared. W ordered wine with our dinner and the server was attentive in making sure our glasses stayed topped up. We had the bannock for dessert with maple ice cream, a fantastic combination. I finished off with a glass of Port and had a taste of a special coffee that my friend ordered. Both were just the right amount of sweet to end the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our waiter Jammy and the manager were incredibly hospital!!!i was there with my girlfriend for a romantic date. Absoulutly amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent as always!, As always, as always, as always

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Made reservations on a Friday for 530 assuming the restaurant would be busy. No one was around or in the restaurant and waited for 10 minutes for someone to come out and seat us. Our server was great and brought us water, our drinks and informed us of the special which was a $32 prime rib with seasonal veggies and whipped potatoes. I wanted to opt for a caesar salad to start but the waiter recommended their beet salad which he said was popular. And it was a delicious beet salad! However I was not impressed with my prime rib, it came out medium rare as I requested but I found it to be only lukewarm and the cut was quite fatty. My whipped potatoes looked more like mush and were hidden under my yorkshire pudding. But they did taste good. The seasonal veggies were zucchini and cabbage. I didn't care for the cabbage which was super unappealing but the zucchini had some nice grill marks on it and tasted great.My friend had the chicken and ribs which came with a poppyseed topping on the chicken which she didn't like. The ribs were good but dry. The bill was over $100 and for the price I didn't feel the food was worth it or that amazing. Maybe the menu items we chose weren't up to my foodie taste buds but I was actually disappointed. I have eaten out at many nice restaurants and there was no wow factor at all.The ambiance was very bright, the restaurant was clean but I didn't notice it to be very busy which to me is a sign that it's not that popular of a restaurant. A couple other tables appeared but maybe it was still too early for dinner. Don't know if I will be back again to try anything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was okay but for the price it should have been amazing and wasn't. Our server was excellent and the restaurant was beautiful. Only the food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fabulous experience. Lena was great! 1 point off food for the calamari. Little soggy and little flavour and chewy. Prime rib was great and so were the mashed potatoes. Loves the dishes used.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Appetizers were good waitress was pleasant. Preferred my steak medium it came rare so sent it back and it came back slightly more cooked but still rare and bleeding on my plate. The manager stopped over and said the kitchen will cook my steak more and bring me out a whole new plate but they brought my steak back on the bread plate I had returned my steak to them on. The waitress asked if I wanted to send it back again for the second time and I said no I ate my mashed potatoes and the onions on my plate. The waitress asked if we wanted to have desert we said no but she brought it anyway , she said she felt bad.
So we got the bill and they charged me for a full meal and did not take my steak off.
We called the waitress over and disagreed that we were charged for a steak that was not done right and not eaten. She went to the kitchen came back and said they took it off. At no point did the manager ever come back and apologize for the meal.
Definitely not worth the prices charged we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The French onion soup was the best I have ever had.....excellent!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We heard good things about Sage but we disappointed. We were attended to right away but drinks took 10 minutes. We ordered and never saw our waiter again until we had to flag him for the bill. Food was below average, service was horrible and they do not have a dress code. People wearing ball caps, sweat pants and one guy swearing extremely loud and no staff member addressed this idiot. For the price of food and drinks they should have a dress code or at least have people remove their hats before being seated. Will not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall the food was fantastic. By far the best Calamari we have ever had. I think I would have given 5 stars all the way through except the food took a very long time to come and the restaurant was maybe half full. After we were done and I paid the bill, no one ever came back to see if we needed any more water or another drink as we sat and visited for quite awhile. Overall I would highly recommend Sage for a decent higher end plate but along with that brings a higher end price.

Thank you

John

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

When I first arrived I noticed the smoke from the casino wafting into the restaurant. There are no washrooms in the restaurant. They do not allow customers to bring in their own wine and pay for the corkage fee. We were told we would have to bring in a receipt for the wine and the corkage fee would probably be 3 times what it was worth. The wine list was okay, although it is not listed on the website along with the menu. The salmon was delicious, although it was a small piece for the price. I would rather have rice than creamed corn. The steak had corn on the cob as a side, which is why I chose the salmon. Corn on the cob to me would be more suitable for a BBQ than fine dining. There was a special on for 30% off the food menu, otherwise the prices would have been quite pricey. Staff were friendly enough. Ambience was nice that the music was not loud and we could enjoy our conversation with each other. We were not hurried, which was nice as well to enjoy each others company without being pressured to leave after our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant is very attractive in its decor
But we were there for valentine dinner and I would have liked to have seen a vase and maybe candles on the tables to add to the ambience
The table setting felt flat and utilitarian. It was bare.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was not as good as other times I've been there, but we all really enjoyed ourselves anyway

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good, great service. Small menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The menu changes often .. the food was ok very pricey on the weekends ... 30 percent less on weekdays ...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 7, 2017

It was just okay that rush you out which is very surprising for how much you pay. Never asked us again if we wanted anything and we sat for 45 mins after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Stopped for a bite before the Don McLean show, food was excellent & fast because we told them we were short for time on getting to the show and they delivered perfectly! Prices were a little high because it was a saturday and there was a show, but prices are normally 30% lower with a bigger menu if you go for dinner on a weekday night. Would definitely try it again!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.