Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.96mi
  3. Distance: 3.39mi
  4. Distance: 3.52mi

About River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant

Sage fine dining offers an exquisite dining experience unlike anywhere else. With a sophisticated atmosphere, world class chef, and an exclusive wine list, Sage is sure to create a memorable experience for anyone. Please come in and enjoy fine dining, redefined.
No minors (under 18 years of age) permitted
Complimentary Valet Parking.

300 East Lapotac Blvd
Edmonton, AB T7X3Y3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday 5:30 pm- 11:00pm, Sunday Dinner 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Whitemud Drive & Winterburn Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 930-2636

Website:
http://www.rivercreeresort.com/sage.html

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking at the resort above-ground parking lot. Complimentary Valet Parking also available

Executive Chef:
Shane Chartrand

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a Private Dining Room as well as a Semi-Private Room.
We have a selection of set menus to choose from, all of which are wonderful options.
Please contact the restuarant for any questions, details, or to book a table of 8 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Weston Peacock : (780) 863-0777

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River Cree Resort & Casino - Sage Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

The beef ribs that came with my meal were VERY tender and very good. The Cornish game hen and baby red potatoes were very good too. We were NOT rushed, yet the server was around if we needed him. Some meals were a bit expensive BUT I have to remember that this is an upscale restaurant with top of the line foo, so it is likely comparable to other upscale resutaurants. Wonderful staff by the way, and the manager greeted us personally several times, to see how we enjoyed our meals and the service. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, fantastic wine and liqueur selection. This was my second visit to Sage. The first time was a couple years ago and I recall the food was good but not remarkable. I was pleased to note that there has been an improvement in the food quality. There were 7 of at the table for a birthday celebration. All the meals were spot-on. The mussels were plump and delicious and the broth was one of the best I've had. The oysters were tiny but fresh. I had the salmon and substituted the side for truffle mashed potatoes - they were amazing. My dinner companions all opted for either a steak or the brisket. All were very well prepared. W ordered wine with our dinner and the server was attentive in making sure our glasses stayed topped up. We had the bannock for dessert with maple ice cream, a fantastic combination. I finished off with a glass of Port and had a taste of a special coffee that my friend ordered. Both were just the right amount of sweet to end the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our waiter Jammy and the manager were incredibly hospital!!!i was there with my girlfriend for a romantic date. Absoulutly amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Excellent as always!, As always, as always, as always

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Made reservations on a Friday for 530 assuming the restaurant would be busy. No one was around or in the restaurant and waited for 10 minutes for someone to come out and seat us. Our server was great and brought us water, our drinks and informed us of the special which was a $32 prime rib with seasonal veggies and whipped potatoes. I wanted to opt for a caesar salad to start but the waiter recommended their beet salad which he said was popular. And it was a delicious beet salad! However I was not impressed with my prime rib, it came out medium rare as I requested but I found it to be only lukewarm and the cut was quite fatty. My whipped potatoes looked more like mush and were hidden under my yorkshire pudding. But they did taste good. The seasonal veggies were zucchini and cabbage. I didn't care for the cabbage which was super unappealing but the zucchini had some nice grill marks on it and tasted great.My friend had the chicken and ribs which came with a poppyseed topping on the chicken which she didn't like. The ribs were good but dry. The bill was over $100 and for the price I didn't feel the food was worth it or that amazing. Maybe the menu items we chose weren't up to my foodie taste buds but I was actually disappointed. I have eaten out at many nice restaurants and there was no wow factor at all.The ambiance was very bright, the restaurant was clean but I didn't notice it to be very busy which to me is a sign that it's not that popular of a restaurant. A couple other tables appeared but maybe it was still too early for dinner. Don't know if I will be back again to try anything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was okay but for the price it should have been amazing and wasn't. Our server was excellent and the restaurant was beautiful. Only the food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fabulous experience. Lena was great! 1 point off food for the calamari. Little soggy and little flavour and chewy. Prime rib was great and so were the mashed potatoes. Loves the dishes used.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Appetizers were good waitress was pleasant. Preferred my steak medium it came rare so sent it back and it came back slightly more cooked but still rare and bleeding on my plate. The manager stopped over and said the kitchen will cook my steak more and bring me out a whole new plate but they brought my steak back on the bread plate I had returned my steak to them on. The waitress asked if I wanted to send it back again for the second time and I said no I ate my mashed potatoes and the onions on my plate. The waitress asked if we wanted to have desert we said no but she brought it anyway , she said she felt bad.
So we got the bill and they charged me for a full meal and did not take my steak off.
We called the waitress over and disagreed that we were charged for a steak that was not done right and not eaten. She went to the kitchen came back and said they took it off. At no point did the manager ever come back and apologize for the meal.
Definitely not worth the prices charged we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The French onion soup was the best I have ever had.....excellent!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We heard good things about Sage but we disappointed. We were attended to right away but drinks took 10 minutes. We ordered and never saw our waiter again until we had to flag him for the bill. Food was below average, service was horrible and they do not have a dress code. People wearing ball caps, sweat pants and one guy swearing extremely loud and no staff member addressed this idiot. For the price of food and drinks they should have a dress code or at least have people remove their hats before being seated. Will not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall the food was fantastic. By far the best Calamari we have ever had. I think I would have given 5 stars all the way through except the food took a very long time to come and the restaurant was maybe half full. After we were done and I paid the bill, no one ever came back to see if we needed any more water or another drink as we sat and visited for quite awhile. Overall I would highly recommend Sage for a decent higher end plate but along with that brings a higher end price.

Thank you

John

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

When I first arrived I noticed the smoke from the casino wafting into the restaurant. There are no washrooms in the restaurant. They do not allow customers to bring in their own wine and pay for the corkage fee. We were told we would have to bring in a receipt for the wine and the corkage fee would probably be 3 times what it was worth. The wine list was okay, although it is not listed on the website along with the menu. The salmon was delicious, although it was a small piece for the price. I would rather have rice than creamed corn. The steak had corn on the cob as a side, which is why I chose the salmon. Corn on the cob to me would be more suitable for a BBQ than fine dining. There was a special on for 30% off the food menu, otherwise the prices would have been quite pricey. Staff were friendly enough. Ambience was nice that the music was not loud and we could enjoy our conversation with each other. We were not hurried, which was nice as well to enjoy each others company without being pressured to leave after our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant is very attractive in its decor
But we were there for valentine dinner and I would have liked to have seen a vase and maybe candles on the tables to add to the ambience
The table setting felt flat and utilitarian. It was bare.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was not as good as other times I've been there, but we all really enjoyed ourselves anyway

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The menu changes often .. the food was ok very pricey on the weekends ... 30 percent less on weekdays ...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It was just okay that rush you out which is very surprising for how much you pay. Never asked us again if we wanted anything and we sat for 45 mins after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Stopped for a bite before the Don McLean show, food was excellent & fast because we told them we were short for time on getting to the show and they delivered perfectly! Prices were a little high because it was a saturday and there was a show, but prices are normally 30% lower with a bigger menu if you go for dinner on a weekday night. Would definitely try it again!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

most food was good, overcooked a rather exspensive steak though

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was quite delectable. I highly recommend the Lobster Chowder.
The server was quite knowledgeable about wine and could confidently make recommendations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I was very disappointed in the smoke that entered the restaurant. It took away from the dining experience as well as the taste and enjoyment of the food. I had the pickerel and was not impressed with the fact that the only vegetables were a few small cubes of carrots and celery. It made me feel that I was paying a high premium for what looked likes frozen vegetables. Because the mashed potatoes were runny and stuffed inside the inside of the fish, they were runny on the plate and were not appealing (as if you were eating the guts of the fish!!)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great Service. Good choice when you're at the Conference center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We love that the menu changes with the seasons. Service is excellent

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The group were very disappointed with our main meal...
and WAY over priced. Service was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 2, 2017

very cold if you sit by the outside windows--request to sit by the fireplace.
very small potion of fries for $7
Crab cakes are awesome

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The limited time 30% off promotion Sun to Thurs is almost too good to be true. However, it is true and provides an exceptional value for a high quality meal. The service was excellent and the meal was comparable to a high end steak house. I enjoyed it and would go back. We both had th tenderloin, which was cooked perfectly and accompanied by silky whipped potoatoes.

Well done.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good was good, nothing exceptional but I guess it's hard to put this place against some other places I usually dine. Also, it was a MAJOR inconvenience to have to leave the restaurant and go out into the casino to use a washroom full of casino goers. Best to consider the location and see it for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. New Years Eve and very busy but the staff were excellent and attentive. Manager came by to make sure everything was meeting expectations. Look forward to returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Expected better everything for such a premium price, but was less than average. Disappointing....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was great and the food also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unfortunately, our food arrived cold had to be sent back only to be returned warm; drinks also took a long time to be served.
Staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Don't plan on needing to go to the bathroom as you need to walk back through the casino to the main exit! I can't believe there isn't a bathroom IN the restaurant.... isn't that a health and safety requirement????
Ambiance and décor are good except for the SMOKE!
I get that this restaurant is in/part of the Casino; but they really need to do a better job with ventilation!

This restaurant is great and convenient if you are attending a concert (as we were); and you like eating in a smoke filled room; paying a lot of money for mediocre food and service; and you don't need to hit the bathroom during your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

food seemed abit high priced for quality; coffee was served cold

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner with friends at the Sage restaurant in the River Cree. The food options were very satisfactory; prepared and presented nicely, the wine list extensive, and our server Linda was very kind, professional, and knowledgeable. We were well taken care of.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A beautiful Restaurant! We took our Parents there during their Christmas visit and they had a wonderful time. The food was great and the service was awesome. We loved every minute we were there and felt welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The restaurant was quite nicely laid out and the food was awesome. Unfortunately, being in a Cansino means that it is wafting with smoke from the Casino which almost wrecks the entire experience. Why they have an open entrance to the Casino is quite surprising.

The service and the food was outstanding! We had the ribeye steak and the smoker's basket which were both really great. The server was outstanding as well.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went there for our anniversary was hoping for something special for us on this special day but didn't get anything

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was the company that made the evening great. The menu is very limited. No vegetarian options. Not the culinary experience from when it first opened.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first time at the Sage. Five of us went for a Company Christmas Party prior to a show at the Venue. The open table reservation worked perfectly, and the staff seated us at our table of 6 which was tucked into the rear corner of the restaurant. With breezy outside temps hovering around -15 and a windows on both sides of the table it was a bit chilly, almost uncomfortable in dress clothes to sit in that spot, I would have of preferred to be in the middle of the restaurant or closer to the fireplace but all tables were booked on the busy Saturday night. The staff and host were very nice, entertaining and attentive throughout. My other guests started off with hot coffees to take the chill off but I started with an old fashion bourbon and it came with oversized round ice cube, which made the liquor taste better also added a trendy touch. I began with appetizer of Mussels which were very good, although a bit much for just one person to tackle. For the main I requested one of my favorite cuts - a rib eye steak, which was cooked to medium but the thin cut they selected had little meat, and was really stringy with a lot of gristle and fat. The mashed potatoes were just to my liking, and the side of mushrooms was a treat. My wife offered me a piece of her tenderloin steak which was melt in your mouth good. I tried the Alberta Caesar as my next drink and it was spiced nicely and included a piece of bacon in it. For dessert I had a coffee with Baileys and the Fry Bread in a Saskatoon sauce, both were very good. A lady from the Venue came right to our table and validated our show tickets so we could skip the big line up which was a nice touch. The bill total for the food and liquor was $542.06 for the five of us which in line with the amount of food we ordered and the number of drinks we enjoyed. Will definitely go back but I would steer clear of the back room tables and the rib eye.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 5, 2016

great valu with the entire menu 50 % off Sundays to Thursdays. Service and food was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The decor and ambiance is very similar to what you found find in a very nice restaurant in a casino in Vegas.
My husband & I shared 4 small plates. The beets and Greens were fantastic, the mushroom & potatoes soo good, the calamari also very good and the market mussels were okay but lacked flavor. Portion sizes were great for sharing with 2 people.
We had enough room for dessert so I had the banana split. It was very good but would have been even better if the banana bread pudding had been warm.
My hubby out ordered me with the fried bannock. Oh my gosh, if you go to this restaurant do not leave without trying the fried bannock. It's simply to die for!
Service was fantastic!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.