About River Crab - St. Clair

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
2 More
Seafood
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Most Booked
The Thumb
Best Restaurants in St. Clair ›

Scenic View (186)
Special Occasion (151)
Great for Outdoor Dining (93)
See All
Romantic (84)
Great for Brunch (61)
Good for Groups (57)
Great for Lunch (47)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Notable Wine List (34)
Kid-friendly (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent ambiance and outstanding brunc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent ambiance and outstanding brunch - thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time eating at this r ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time eating at this restaurant but it WIL NOT be our last! Very informative waiter, he answered every question we had. Food was delicious! View was spectacular, margarita was fabulous!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our most favorite places to eat a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of our most favorite places to eat and enjoy the views. Excellent perch

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have heard from many people how wonder ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have heard from many people how wonderful their experience was dining at your restaurant.

We celebrated our goddaughter's graduation and my award from work along with my brother.

The food, service, wine and view were exceptional. This was also the beginning of our vacation.

Thank you for making our celebration a memorable one!

We look forward to visiting your restaurant again next year!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the River Crab is a neighborh ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, the River Crab is a neighborhood Gem. Consistent and lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance of the place has not change ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The ambiance of the place has not changed from the C.A. M., which is a good thing, however, the wonderful food we previously enjoyed did not happen with the exception of a salad meal which looked great and was apparently very well received by my guest. The other 4 meals were OK (mediocre) but that's the best we can say. "Advice", work on the kitchen..

p.s.

Our server and the host were great, attentive & interesting.

WB..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside by the river. Our server ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We sat outside by the river. Our server was personable and efficient--outstanding. The food was excellent. Would recommend and will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good.Our server (Ste ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was very good.Our server (Stella) was very friendly,but not clingingly so Her suggestions for the best desert was spot on.We would come here more often if we lived closer.It's a 170 mile round trip from Flint..

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The River Crab is a wonderful place for ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The River Crab is a wonderful place for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch. It has warm friendly servers and wonderful food! The patio lets you enjoy the beautiful St. Clair River. We simply can't say enough about our many great experiences enjoying the River Crab!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was fabulous the service was wo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The view was fabulous the service was wonderful and the food good. Well worth searching out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The attention to detail on all levels wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The attention to detail on all levels was fantastic. My wife Birthday dinner could've have gone better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent except we found ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was excellent except we found the restaurant a bit warm.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The air conditioning went out and it was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The air conditioning went out and it was extremely hot. My husband ordered Perch -received the perch but the potato did not come with meal had to wait , it finally came after he was finished with meal. Waitress was very slow .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Enjoyed a lunch date with friends. Serv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed a lunch date with friends. Service and food was very good. However, where we sat, the room was very warm, it was next to the window with a view of the lake.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone we encountered staff wise was f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everyone we encountered staff wise was friendly and outgoing. Service was excellent in the bar and in the dining room. Food was well prepared and well presented. We went there on previous recommendations of friends and we're happy that we did. We would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a welcoming atmosphere with great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It is a welcoming atmosphere with great service and an amazing view of the river. The food was delicious and I can't wait to go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at this re ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first experience at this restaurant,and it was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Debbie was great! Our food ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our waitress Debbie was great! Our food was good. What we found super uncomfortable was the area that we were sitting in did not have air conditioners. We felt like we were in a green house and almost felt ill by the time we left. It is unfortunate but it truly took away from our night out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

The appitizers were very good and the en ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The appitizers were very good and the entrees were also very tasty. Our server was Kevin who was very polite and courteous. The only thing that I can say is that they do not know how to make a Lemon Drop Martini, We enjoy going there

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The experience was excellent. It was a g ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The experience was excellent. It was a great spot to take guests from out of town. The service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The River Crab was great as usual. Very ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The River Crab was great as usual. Very good service and excellent food. Couple this with the location and AMAZING view and it's a winner every time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our second time to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our second time to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the River Crab, and we enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservations for Sunday brunch. Selectio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Reservations for Sunday brunch. Selection of food items was very good, but the food itself was mediocre at best. Wait staff was extremely courteous, friendly and very attentive-kudos! Restaurant interior appears old and dated. Seating was comfortable. Overall an unremarkable meal and a poor value.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Enjoyed our meal so much that the next e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed our meal so much that the next evening we stopped back to eat on the outdoor deck.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place on the river in St ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a great place on the river in St. Clair. If you call for a reservation you must ask for a seat out near the window if you want to be right on the river. I didn't do this so was a little disappointed. My suggestion would be to call for a reservation well in advance. The food was really good as well as the wine selection. It was our Anniversary and they gave us a complimentary crème brulee to enjoy ..nice touch! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Sunday Brunch with a beautiful wate ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best Sunday Brunch with a beautiful water front seating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant. We used to go ther ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love this restaurant. We used to go there for special occasions,now, dining there is a special occasion anytime.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Smith and company were playing on the de ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Smith and company were playing on the deck, they were really good and definitely added to the experience, on the whols an extremely enjoyable evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ambiance was great but my crabcake was b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Ambiance was great but my crabcake was burned on the bottom! 😞

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Very nice restaurant on the St Clair Riv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very nice restaurant on the St Clair River with valet parking. Service and food very good. A nice place to go for a special occasion. It is a Landry's Club Member so you earn reward points every time you dine there and you also earn points for making your reservation through Open Table.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice scenic location for a Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice scenic location for a Sunday Brunch. Great service and value, located at the bottom of a fairly steep hill. Better to drive down and drop off you party before parking.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation and were seated rig ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated right on time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An absolute gem on the St. Clair River. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

An absolute gem on the St. Clair River. Fantastic food, service & views! Decor is a bit tired but can be overlooked with the other positives about the experience. A treat for us each & every time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy eating at The Riv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoy eating at The River Crab. We aren't sure, but we feel that the wait staff are trained to turn their tables quickly. Our server did an excellent job, but we felt that we had to slow her down. We were out for a Saturday night dinner and we were not in a hurry. She kept saying that there was no rush, but she continuously pushed us to order. I told my husband that the next time we dine there, we will tell the server that when we put our menus in a certain place on the table, that we are ready to order.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have to say at 7:45 u were out of the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have to say at 7:45 u were out of the dish we wanted. The waitress never refilled my husbands tea and my water was filled after I started drinking my husbands as we were on the dec and it was hot. I also wanted cheese cake and it was out too. The food was delicious. It was over an hour drive so alittle sad at the service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Monday July 25. Grand food. Great servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Monday July 25. Grand food. Great service. Terrific vista. Romanatic by river side

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There for a special occasion turned out ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

There for a special occasion turned out to be not so special .... Duc d'orleans overshadowed us! Not allowed on patio! Huge bummer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food service was fair at best. I've ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food service was fair at best. I've been going to the River Crab for years it didn't seem to be up to par with past years service and food quality.

The green beans weren't cooked and my seafood platter could have been hotter.

The best thing the River Crab has going for it is the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This used to be one of Chucks. Being a d ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This used to be one of Chucks. Being a direct relative it is good they have kept so many of the old favorites of Chuck Muers. We did stay at the adjoining Blue Water Inn that Betty had begun renovating. Too bad that they do no hold true the value of the place. The room had not been throughly cleaned in months. Dust every where. Dirty linens. Yuk. We did bring up to staff, that I do believe were very embarrassed. Let's see what happens. But will probably not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Best fish around. We visit yearly . Wai ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best fish around. We visit yearly . Wait staff very attentive and friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.