About River Crab - St. Clair

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
4 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Seafood
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Most Booked
The Thumb
Best Restaurants in St. Clair ›

scenic view (113)
special occasion (95)
romantic (71)
See All
great for brunch (51)
fit for foodies (44)
good for groups (38)
great for lunch (35)
neighborhood gem (28)
great for outdoor dining (27)
notable wine list (18)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Not the fine dining experience we're accustom too.

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our most recent visit included an out of town friend who we haven't seen in 30 years. Our choice was the River Crab, which we often regard as the finest dining available in the area. We were seated near the door, which was rather loud and busy. It made it difficult to hear each other. Our waitress was very pleasant, but seemed new and not trained nearly enough. She struggled with serving wine, brought our meal before we barely had any chance to enjoy our salads. Our steaks were cooked too long. Medium rare was more like medium well. Not pink, cooked entirely though. We probably should have complained, even though it was already a bit embarrassing. For now we will continue to dine at the River Crab, but not with out of town guests.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Pim, did a very nice job and ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our server, Pim, did a very nice job and helped me select a very succulent salmon dish. Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seldom disappointed in the River Crabbe. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Seldom disappointed in the River Crabbe. Been going there since 1967. Latest was our 49th wedding anniversary dinner. Waiter Kevin was great.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We have Landry membership. Had reservat ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We have Landry membership. Had reservations for Sat nite 6:45,arrived 10 min. early, and were told a 10 - 15 minute wait for a priority window table along the water. We went to the lounge to wait for our friends and our table. Our friends arrived at 6:45. Drink service was quite slow. At 7:15 we asked about our table and were told 10 - 15 minutes. It was about 7:45 when we finally got our table. Dinner service was also quite slow so we did not get our bill until after 10:00. I ordered the Pasta Pagliari and was disappointed at the small portion of seafood and sauce. (Red Lobster's version is $3.00 more and much better). We were fortunately with friends we thoroughly enjoy, so did have a very good time, but one couple is in their mid-eighties and my husband is recuperating from a very recent procedure to insert stents in blocked cardiac arteries.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always cooked to perfection! The appetizers are the best. Can't wait to go there again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

ThewholefamilyattendedforMothersDay Thefood excellent Theserverwasfantastic

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed Mother's Day brunch with the family.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great buffet, water views, overall nice experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, nice view

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was great and the service was great. It was really crowded, but it was Mothers Day. We had reservations and were sat right away. A little pricy, but good food.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Service Lacking

Dined on May 7, 2016

We really enjoy the ambiance and food at the River Crab however we were celebrating our Anniversary for this occasion and found that the waitress seemed uninterested in what she was doing with us. She was trying to work so quickly that the straw from my drink and cutlery while cleaning up went flying onto the table. There was no candle, they didn't bring my husband a second drink when ordered and it seemed like a rushed dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Evening dinning

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great Service. With Landry points a great bargain. Meal was outstanding

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was awesome and our waiter was ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was awesome and our waiter was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visiting

Dined on May 6, 2016

From start to the entire experience was outstanding. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable without being to intrusive. The dinning area has great view and is relatively quiet. We will go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

good atmosphere , waitress was excellent

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good atmosphere, waitress was excellent, and food was great. Only wish food was labeled in the brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Graduation Dinner

Dined on April 30, 2016

The River Crab has always been one of my favorite places to dine for the past 30 years. Because it is a little pricey, we usually just go on special occasions. We were a little disappointed in our visit this time. The redskin mashed potatoes tasted like they were made with sugar instead of salt and when I told the waitress she told me the cook said they always make them that way. Also, we were never offered fresh ground pepper for our Caesar salads. We got tired of waiting and trying to flag the waitress down, so we ate them the way they were and they were a little under dressed too. The candles on the table were never lit. I ordered fillet oscar and my fillet came with mushroom demi glace and they topped it with crab and brought me a little bowl of Bearnaise sauce on the side. The demi glace should have been left off. It was quite strange. I'm hoping this was just a one time slip for them. That being said...the other 7 people enjoyed their dinner choices. The appetizers were also very good. We will go back but if we are not happy next time it will probably be the last.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and atmosphere are outstan ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere are outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food....

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great service and food....

food1
ambience5
service2
value2

overall disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the start of the reservation waiting over and hour to the clam chowder being watered down. Then to order the special only to be told after a half hour that they were out then have the table next to us order it and told the chef found it but we were charged for the more expensive dish. The manager played with the lights the entire night.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The view and the dinner was great

Dined on April 20, 2016

We got to the River Crab early and sat in the bar and had a drink. The service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Sunday Brunch on the Water

Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent service, very good food, wonderful water view....loved the prime rib and desserts the best!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keith777

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was great! My Antoinette's Birthday was the occasion. All I can say is Thank you!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

River Crab Review

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was excellent and view was spectacular! Food portions were just right and pricing was good. Clam chowder was superb! Had a wonderful time and would recommend to friends and family!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Eats

Dined on April 9, 2016

The seafood was fresh and flavorful. Dessert and appetizer portion sizes are a tad small. Overall everything was delicious the view is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The River Crab

Dined on April 4, 2016

This place never fails to impress. I was very delighted to see a new menu item. A whole Fried Bronzini and it was delicious. what the heck everything their is awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a 1:30 reservation and we were seated at 2:00. We thought that wasn't bad for one of the busiest days of the year for restaurants. There was a wide selection of food. We really enjoyed the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stella was awesome. Food was amazing as always!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food is always amazing. Our waitress Stella was the bomb. Great atmosphere also

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keith took GREAT care of us. Attentive ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Keith took GREAT care of us. Attentive and knowledgeable staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic brunch, as always!!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Fantastic brunch, as always!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Another Landry's Triumph

Dined on March 18, 2016

Tillman and his crew have done it again! My wife accompanied me on a business trip to Port Huron and we decided to try River Crab in St Clair......we were not disappointed. A little out of the way, but well worth the side trip. Great food. Great staff. Great view. Pretty much what you're used to if you frequent the Landry's Brands.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch on the St Clair river

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were there for brunch, there was a huge variety of food to choose from all of which was very good. I would recommend the brunch to my friends. We were entertained by a pianist and a sea plane practicing take off and landings on the river.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The food and ambience was just OK.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The hostess and wait staff were very nice and accommodating. The river view was pleasant. I was not impressed with the food. I've had better at a Muer restaurant and was expecting more. The building was old and tired looking. I drove 45 minutes and relied on others' recommendations from this site . Very dissappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Birthday dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was horrible, especially for the price!!! I had the surf and turf.. Filet was horrible tasting, the lobster tail was chewy, it's sad that the mashed patatoes were the best part of the meal. The wait staff was friendly, the decor was out dated. There were zip ties holding up electrical on ceiling.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best tasting food in the area

Dined on March 12, 2016

Had the Salmon (grilled) was excellent, vegetable medley was cooked to perfection all had a snap to them. Meal came with rice and was very tasty. The tempura shrimp appetizer was the best I ever had. I will recommend The River Crab to all my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent!!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Waitress was nice. I hate to say that the place needs some remodeling because I'm afraid the prices will go up but it really does. Never the less I really enjoy going there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday treat!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful view of the river. Nautical themed decor, including a racing boat attached to the ceiling (by the tables on the river) with photos of past races. The food is fantastic with a good selection of fish and seafood. I ended up with the Citrus Parmesan Chicken, along with a wedge salad and shrimp cocktail. Substitutions were allowed on my entree sides. The rack of lamb appetizers (a special on that night) were adorable and delicious. The cedar plank salmon was also a big hit with my companions, as was the seafood trio. The service and waitstaff are very good and attentive to your needs.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FANTASTIC!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our Mom's 70th Birthday Celebration was a fantastic experience! The food and service were Outstanding! Thank you so much

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St Clair Riverside Dining

Dined on February 28, 2016

We eat here a lot, probably 3 times a month. Great view, food, and service. A Landry Club membership is a great addition. Highly recommend!🍴

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous night on the River

Dined on February 27, 2016

The great food here was further enhanced by that rare find; excellent service. Our server was professional, quietly respectful, knowledgeable and with quiet attention to detail she made our meal perfect pleasure. It's not often that you happen upon real "service" and it made the night for our group of seven, celebrating nothing but friendship. Thank you River Crab for training your waitstaff so well. The meal was delicious too. All ordered fish and empty plates all around. We appreciated no loud music, allowing easy conversation at this larger table. Really couldn't have asked for more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our "go to" places.

Dined on February 27, 2016

If you like river views, then this is where you need to be. The staff is of the highest quality only surpassed by the food! Although a tad on the pricey side, we still find it a value because of the ambiance and decent serving size. Everything here was mouthwatering, right down to the after dinner treat of complimentary dark chocolate fishes.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

An unfortunate evening

Dined on February 27, 2016

The River Crab is our only fine dinning restaurant we have locally. In as recent as three years ago every lunch and dinner we ate at this restaurant was melt in your mouth delicious. It was the go to place for all our celebrations and we considered dinner there a special occasion. I am deeply sadened to say in the last two years we have experienced a series of catastrophic, miserable meals. Food improperly prepared, served cold. At least one meal being sent back and the guest eating their meal alone, or no meal at all. Long waits for dinner to be served. The root of the problems seem to lay within the kitchen. I must credit Martha Collins with staying on top of the problems and making extraordinary efforts to make it right with the offended guests. The waitstaff are the epitome of professionalism. The handle these problems with grace and remain positive. All the waitstaff are experienced and work well with management to handle and right any thing that may have gone a rye during a guest' meal. I do hope Martha is able to identify and correct the kitchen problems soon. I do recommend this restaurant. I think there are more positives then negatives awaiting you there.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful, romantic lunch, spon ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

We had a wonderful, romantic lunch, spontaneously planned at the last minute. The food, atmosphere and service was out-standing. We plan now to do this more often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.