About River Crab - St. Clair

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Seafood
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
1 More
Most Booked
The Thumb
Best Restaurants in St. Clair ›

scenic view (163)
special occasion (131)
romantic (77)
See All
great for outdoor dining (75)
good for groups (53)
great for brunch (52)
fit for foodies (43)
great for lunch (43)
neighborhood gem (34)
notable wine list (26)
kid-friendly (14)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice scenic location for a Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice scenic location for a Sunday Brunch. Great service and value, located at the bottom of a fairly steep hill. Better to drive down and drop off you party before parking.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation and were seated rig ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation and were seated right on time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An absolute gem on the St. Clair River. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

An absolute gem on the St. Clair River. Fantastic food, service & views! Decor is a bit tired but can be overlooked with the other positives about the experience. A treat for us each & every time!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy eating at The Riv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I enjoy eating at The River Crab. We aren't sure, but we feel that the wait staff are trained to turn their tables quickly. Our server did an excellent job, but we felt that we had to slow her down. We were out for a Saturday night dinner and we were not in a hurry. She kept saying that there was no rush, but she continuously pushed us to order. I told my husband that the next time we dine there, we will tell the server that when we put our menus in a certain place on the table, that we are ready to order.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have to say at 7:45 u were out of the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have to say at 7:45 u were out of the dish we wanted. The waitress never refilled my husbands tea and my water was filled after I started drinking my husbands as we were on the dec and it was hot. I also wanted cheese cake and it was out too. The food was delicious. It was over an hour drive so alittle sad at the service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Monday July 25. Grand food. Great servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Monday July 25. Grand food. Great service. Terrific vista. Romanatic by river side

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

There for a special occasion turned out ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

There for a special occasion turned out to be not so special .... Duc d'orleans overshadowed us! Not allowed on patio! Huge bummer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food service was fair at best. I've ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food service was fair at best. I've been going to the River Crab for years it didn't seem to be up to par with past years service and food quality.

The green beans weren't cooked and my seafood platter could have been hotter.

The best thing the River Crab has going for it is the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Best fish around. We visit yearly . Wai ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best fish around. We visit yearly . Wait staff very attentive and friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had taken the Huron Lady II Sunday ri ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had taken the Huron Lady II Sunday river cruise earlier that day, our group had a 5:15 dinner reservation for 16 to settle back, enjoy a meal and watch the freighters go by. Having never been to the River Crab before I didn't realize that outdoor seating was available when I booked the reservation. We arrived at 5:00 and the hostess and staff were able to rearrange some outdoor tables and accommodate us on the patio for a wonderful dinner and beautiful view. Everything was perfect! Thank you so much - We will definitely be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous setting, outdoor dining with be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fabulous setting, outdoor dining with beautiful view of St Clair River. Great gathering place for drinks with friends & family

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You know girlfriend all about coming to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

You know girlfriend all about coming to the river crab and good the food was but you showed me wrong. I ordered shrimp and pasta thinking it would be great and was shocked when found the noodles was very dry and old and over cooked . There was only two pieces of shrimp ? Why ? For 32. You would think you would give more then two shrimps. I stated to my waitress and she stated if that is the only thing your not happy we are good?????

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I had made reservations for a table by t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had made reservations for a table by the water. When we arrived we were told that a table by the water would be a 2 hour wait. So we settled for outdoor dining. It was over 10 minutes before a Manager walked by and asked if we had been taken care of - we hadn't. The manager was very nice and quickly took our drink and appetizer order. From there the service just got better. The food was incredible, the service great and we salvaged the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neil was our server, was extremely prof ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Neil was our server, was extremely professional and very attentive. sat outside had a great brunch with husband and daughter

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had late reservations, 9:45 and the k ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had late reservations, 9:45 and the kitchen closes at 10:30 so I knew were at the tail end of everybody's shift. Our waiter Tony was awesome! He was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. He made sure we understood the items we were ordering and answered any questions in a confident manner. One of the better dining experiences we have had in a while. The lobster is over priced for the quantity received, $37 for a 10oz tail seems a little pricy for me and it didn't come with much, just some asparagus. But the food quality is always excellent and we will be back for sure, the Dynamite scallops appetizer is awesome and the pan seared scallop dinner is just amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was unremarkable for all 6 of us an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was unremarkable for all 6 of us and it took way too long to get to the table. We were tired of sitting there and were uncomfortable because of the excessive air conditioning.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always good, the service is ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is always good, the service is usually great and the price is reasonable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Situated on the St. Clair River with amp ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Situated on the St. Clair River with ample outdoor seating and indoor patio seating along the river provide scenic views of freighters transiting the Great Lakes--can't beat the ambiance.

The food is very good and the wait staff are attentive, efficient and helpful. Fish is always prepared well and the Gazpacho is wonderful. The Key Lime Pie is wonderfully tart and just the right (smaller) size.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful view, right on the water; frie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful view, right on the water; friendly staff; great food and service; nice bar and beverage selection. Tables are situated to easily blend family dining with romantic occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary and everything was wonderful! We even received a complimentary menu with our names on it. Food was terrific and River Crab is considered one of favorite places to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love River Crab! We really thank tou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love River Crab! We really thank tour waiter Tony & the receptionists for moving our table after the electric plug at table 95 did not work--my husband needs power for his oxygen concentrator. Everyone was so helpful! Tony didn't miss a beat--- running from the enclosed porch area to our new table--giving us great service! We celebrated my birthday & our friends anniversary--everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was celebrating a friend's birthday an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was celebrating a friend's birthday and River Crab is one of her favourite places to eat. We selected from the lunch box special. I had the shrimp and artichoke pasta and the birthday girl chose the hamburger...we both had the martha vineyard salad as our appetizer which was delicious. Also, we each enjoyed a glass of wine with our meal. The portions were very generous and we each ended up taking half of our entree home. It is great value for the price and our server was very attentive. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took an of state guest here for brunch b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Took an of state guest here for brunch before the art show and it was a great start to the day. The staff is very personable and experienced. Very good brunch selection with made to order omelettes available too. Dining with spectacular view of the river is a bonus

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here before several times and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I've been here before several times and enjoyed it. Not so much this time. Made reservations but still had to wait over 1/2 hour for a decent table...not in the section we requested...no apologies. Very noisy. View was blocked by a huge boat docked outside which was there before we arrived and still there after we left...so did it belong to a diner or overnight guest at the adjacent inn? In any case many diners were not able to enjoy the view that evening. Waitress was not attentive and seemed very rushed, but possibly not her fault. There was a different wait-person assigned to each of the tables in our section....so they all must have had their tables spread around. Really?! Food was not hot...it was greasy and looked like it was thrown on the plate. My guest ordered the same meal as myself, but it arrived with different vegetables....I had a huge pile of soggy green beans, the other person had a very small portion of squash. (Not ordered this way.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

First, your Open Table on line booking s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First, your Open Table on line booking service is fantastic. Our reservation was properly recorded and confirmed and even our special instructions were noted. Now, as to the River Crab, it is our opinion that this is one of the finest restaurants on the St. Clair River. This restaurant deserves a five star rating for food, service, and ambience. My wife and I celebrated our 19th anniversary and Will be going back much sooner than our 20th. We would definitely recommend your service and the river crab to anyone interested in a fine dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is not what it used to be. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service is not what it used to be. The last three times we have dined here, we were disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Scallops, escargot, shrimp and halibut w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Scallops, escargot, shrimp and halibut were delicious! Great atmosphere with friendly yet professional staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to dinner for a birthday. Dinner wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Went to dinner for a birthday. Dinner was good, but waitress Rhonda was terrible. Leave your bad mood outside. Will return for dinner but it will be a while

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

great location and wonderful views..staf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

great location and wonderful views..staff was attentive but didnt have the liquor that I prefer(bacardi limon) but the Crab Legs I ordered were exceptional. would definately go back and this time hope it will be in the evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drove from Milford. Excellent ambiance w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Drove from Milford. Excellent ambiance with the table outside on the water with freighters passing, great dinner, excellent service. If you live in eastern Michigan you must dine here at least once because few other places offer what River Crab has.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food a little pricey great view Ser ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good food a little pricey great view

Server was very attentive

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is such a lovely location, be sure ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is such a lovely location, be sure to sit by the windows. The menu has something for everyone and many delectable fresh seafood options. Since it was Father's Day, it was uite busy. Perhaps a bit more support staff for topping up drinks would have been helpful in reducing wait times and some frustration. Overall, if you haven't been, you must go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server was good, however I was takin ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The server was good, however I was taking my Father out for Father's Day and when he brought the check, he felt it necessary to announce my Landry's Rewards and also the total of the check. This is inappropriate and embarrassing. Also, we both and the filet and the filet leaves much to be desired!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Servers should have help with service li ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Servers should have help with service like refilling water and coffee or any beverage,removing used plates .When they have 3 or more tables specially with 6 or more,everyone has to wait .Our waiter really tried his best however it was so hard for him to keep up with everyone's needs specially if you sit next to complainers.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

this was our first visit , which was not ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

this was our first visit , which was not what we visioned. the staff was very dry not energetic at all. We requested a certain area which was told that the area was closed which was not accurate. when we expressed this was our first visit and we would like to sit by the window we were ignored,

I must say the other landrys locations are more people friendly and very welcoming

the food was good there were no signs labeling what each dish was

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Great view and food. A bit crowded at f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great view and food. A bit crowded at food tables but nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The Sunday brunch is fantastic!! We sat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Sunday brunch is fantastic!! We sat by the water and it was beautiful! Service was exceptional !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere and always deliciou ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and always delicious food! We go to the River Crab often and always enjoy it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I wish we would have known about you bef ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I wish we would have known about you before we booked a venue at the Doubletree in Port Huron. The place was busy, but accommodated all comers. Your valets made me lose weight just watching them. Since my wife and I are both professional chefs I am a sharp reviewer of food stuffs. The Lobster and shrimp slightly overdone, the scallop sauce a bit rich and that being said the filet was to die for, perfectly cooked and the asparagus was fit for a king as were the potatoes. You present a culinary mecca. We will be back again in Sept. The drive from Alabama was long, but your barkeeps, servers and other wait staff made us post you, to our friends who travel, looking for the diamond in the rough. 4 stars..well done.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Potatoes were hard, we had requested a s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Potatoes were hard, we had requested a special table for a bday / convocation dinner and we were seated by the waiters spot where they put silverware and the menus noisy and very tacky

Women's restrooms were out of t.paper.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.