About River Crab - St. Clair

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (51)
Scenic View (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Healthy (7)
Historic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Live Music (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 10 hours ago

Great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant was recommended by a fri ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. This was our first time and it was not disappointing. Loved the atmosphere and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food quality, well presented ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding food quality, well presented and extremely tasty. This is at this time the best place to have a truly outstanding meal, with a great view and superb service. The River Crab reminds me of the old restaurants that use to be in the Detroit area. The setting is relaxed, you can wear a suit or casual and in either case feel comfortable. It is the BEST in the area. Thank you.

Tags: Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and so happy the River Cra ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and so happy the River Crab could fit us in on such a busy evening! Michelle, our server, was fantastic and the wine and dinners were delicious as usual! Never a disappointment!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resturant, nice menu selection Gre ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great resturant, nice menu selection Great views and wonderful staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I would just Like to thank the Staff for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I would just Like to thank the Staff for the great time that we had this past New Years Eve dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant, even though it' ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our favorite restaurant, even though it's an hour's drive away.... New Years' Eve, they were to serve 800 covers that night.... but it still didn't disappoint ..... Food was excellent, service was exceptional!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

coconut shrimp was poor. no coconut. no ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

coconut shrimp was poor. no coconut. no dipping sauce

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food. Friendly staff. Tony knows hi ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Good food.

Friendly staff.

Tony knows his customers, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. I recommend highly and will definitely go there again for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this gem. We have been coming he ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We love this gem. We have been coming here for years. It is always good and the servers are exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my 65th birthday.Second time here ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was my 65th birthday.Second time here.I picked the place.Glad I did.We had Jessica for our waitress.She was so pleasant.Our son and his wife joined us.We really enjoyed our dinner.No complaints at all.Food was marvelous.

Was very nice and quiet.No kids,only adults.

We will be back for sure.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Buffet at this restaurant is excelle ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Buffet at this restaurant is excellent. They do not have it on Christmas though. I would not recommend the Filet. It is not up to the quality that it should be. There are many other fine selections though.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It's been several years since I've been ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It's been several years since I've been here as I had relocated out of state. A employment opportunity came up recently which brought me back home just before Christmas and it was only my son and I here (unfortunately the rest of the family won't be joining us for six months or so).

In searching for a place to go for Christmas dinner, I found the River Crab was open and decided to drive up to enjoy the meal and the view of the river. We were not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have enjoyed several quality meals at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I have enjoyed several quality meals at the River Crab, however Christmas Eve (2016) was a disappointment. Menu was limited with no substitutions allowed, service was slow, drinks were diluted, potatoes and vegetables were obviously under the heat lamp to long. Four of my ten guests did not finish their meal based on quality. Essentially the River Crab was overbooked or were understaffed and failed to deliver a memorable experience. Atmosphere was loud, price was at a premium, staff was courteous but not apologetic. Truly not what I anticipated when making the reservation. As a side note the menu posted when booking was not the same offered when we arrived, I would not have gone forward had I been aware.

Regards,

Wayne D.

St. Clair Twp., MI

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We went for Christmas Eve and the Food w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve and the Food was Great and the Service was Excellent!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River Crab is one of our favorites and i ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

River Crab is one of our favorites and it didn't disappoint on this visit. It's primarily seafood but it has plenty of choices of non-seafood items as well. The fresh catch seafood is always excellent and prepared perfectly. The restaurant has great ambiance as well, situated right on the waterfront in St. Clair. Good service also. Wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My adult children when they visit from c ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My adult children when they visit from california always want to have dinner at the river crab

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent, and service wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food is always excellent, and service was delightful. All wait staff was attentive to our needs. Location on the river is great for summer boat viewing as well as winter ice flows.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It has been about a year since I last at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It has been about a year since I last ate at River Crab. It was an amazing meal all around. The food was incredibly good, and service equally so. I would highly recommend River Crab to anyone that enjoys excellent seafood!

Tags: Private Room, Scenic View, People Watching, Historic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Crab cake and salad were very good!. Had ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Crab cake and salad were very good!. Had to request a bread basket. What's up with that. Main course was OK. Rice and vegeetables were not hot. I would say not even warm. Perch was good, but nothing special. Worth the price? Not really. Server was fine, could have been more attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Would be good to know on the menu if som ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Would be good to know on the menu if some non- fish item was fried in oil that had been used for shellfish. ( In case of allergies)

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The River Crab is one of our favorite re ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The River Crab is one of our favorite restaurants, we live just a mile away so go there often. The food was fantastic as usual and the place was clean, warm and cozy as usual. The negative on this recent visit was the service, it was not up to the professional standard that is always delivered. Maybe just an off night or perhaps short staffed hopefully not a trend for future visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Sean was great. He was attentive, not ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sean was great. He was attentive, not intrusive. We all enjoyed our food and beverage selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was not busy when we were ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The restaurant was not busy when we were there. And even though very few tables were occupied, the hostess placed us at a table right next to a large, noisy group. With all the space available that night, I thought the hostess used poor judgement.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were 'waited on' by Tony, who provide ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were 'waited on' by Tony, who provided excellent friendly service. All the food was presented very nicely and within a reasonable time.

The only wrinkle was that my steak for more like "Medium to Well Done", rather than "Medium Rare" that I had ordered.

The good news is that the restaurant immediately addressed it, made sure my dining partner's meal was also looked after and 10-15mins later the two meals came back, this time as ordered. The manager also paid us a visit to apologize, and made sure that everything else was good.

So for this dining experience, not a '5 star' rating, but certainly a solid '4 stars'.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Thanksgiving buffet, great selection. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving buffet, great selection. Enjoyed a wonderful view and relaxed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food & service & manager Marth ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic food & service & manager Martha Collins runs a great restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love ❤️ coming there anytime and when ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love ❤️ coming there anytime and when we can. And we will for sure book 📚 again for Thanksgiving Day🦃 The experience was AWESOMW as well as the staff. 💞💞💞

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Sports, Spicy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, People Watching, Casual, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so happy this time with our experi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I was so happy this time with our experience. The last couple of times I felt quality was slipping, I do miss the strolling musicians that used to add so much more dining pleasure

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleaser although I would like t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always a pleaser although I would like to see some seasonal specialties. Bartender Kieth is a real gentleman and professional. Happy Hour is fantastic and a real enjoyable time before dinner. Our favorite all around restaurant still after 40+ years of attending.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and son in law from CA alway ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My daughter and son in law from CA always enjoys a night out at The River Crab when they are visiting MI,

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday brunch here is iconic! Ms Ste ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Sunday brunch here is iconic!

Ms Stella attended our visit with outstanding service.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good experience from the view, our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good experience from the view, our waiter Tony, wonderful atmosphere and fantastic meals!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overall it was a very nice evening. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

overall it was a very nice evening. We were a little disappointed because we requested a window table and we did not get seated near a window. We also had a little annoyance with dirty dishes being left near our table but that was corrected by the general manager once we complained. The food was very good and we feel it was priced well.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great spot to get together with friends ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great spot to get together with friends for a special occasion or to enjoy a romantic date night on the water. Menu has a nice variety of both food and wine or drink options, however if you are looking for a large number of healthy options you may have a difficult time. The majority of the menu is traditional seafood or American style versions of classics that are not exactly waistline friendly. The bartenders were very friendly and helpful with our pre-dinner cocktails and the waiter was knowledgeable and provided great service throughout the entire evening. Our entire party was very pleased with the overall experience and we would definitely return next time we are in town to celebrate a birthday or anniversary.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful dinner with friends. Great foo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner with friends. Great food and Service.

Seated promtly and at the table we requested.

When we are in the Port Huron area we be sure to dine at the River Crab.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Regina went above and beyond to ensure a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Regina went above and beyond to ensure a perfectly delightful dining experience for my husband's birthday. The Sea Bass snd Planked Salmon were cooked to perfection and our seats were perfect for viewing the beauty of the freighters and fall colors on the St Clair River. We loved our dining experience💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been in years...such a great pla ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Had not been in years...such a great place for evening out with Family. Good was fantastic, and the service from Debbie was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here with our son for the Sunday Br ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Went here with our son for the Sunday Brunch. Great selection of food from eggs to carved beef as well as a great dessert table. Lots of seafood items shrimp, smoke salmon and smoked mussels. Would definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.