About River Crab - St. Clair

1337 River Road (M-29)
St. Clair, MI 48079
View Larger Map

Upscale casual dining on the beautiful St. Clair River. Enjoy fresh fish, mouthwatering seafood, choice steaks and local/seasonal favorites as you watch the boats and freighters drift right by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Yankee & Davis

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(810) 329-2261

Website:
http://www.rivercrabbluewaterinn.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Thursday, Friday & Saturday evenings.
Live Bands on our beautiful deck every Wednesday night during the summer.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet / Free self-parking also available in our private lot.

Executive Chef:
Scott Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We can accommodate private gathering up to 120 guests, working with your style and budget. Our fresh seafood, tender steaks, delicious pastas and decadent desserts are the perfect complement to any private event.

River Crab - St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Seafood
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
1 More
Most Booked
The Thumb
Best Restaurants in St. Clair ›

Scenic View (183)
Special Occasion (148)
Great for Outdoor Dining (102)
See All
Romantic (86)
Good for Groups (61)
Great for Brunch (59)
Great for Lunch (49)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Waterfront (29)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great friendly server Good Value Quiet F ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great friendly server

Good Value

Quiet

Food Fresh

Wonderful view

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jessica provided great service on a very ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Jessica provided great service on a very busy evening. Entrees were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been our go to restaurant for o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This has been our go to restaurant for over 40 years. During that time span, not much has changed in any significant way. The atmosphere, service and food has always been excellent. Whether you are there for a special event or just stopping by for a drink and quick snack, we have never once been disappointed. The menu is a little pricey but the service and laid back atmosphere makes it worth the price. If you want a really special weekend, go Saturday night for dinner, spend the night at the adjacent motel, have brunch the next day. We just keep going back because we haven't found any place, litterly, in the world that tops the River Crab for the overall dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the Sunday brunch. Such a wide ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We loved the Sunday brunch. Such a wide assortment to choose from and everyone was pleased with what they chose. Especially enjoyed the bananas Foster.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was excellent from an awesom ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The evening was excellent from an awesome view of St Clair River to a very tasty meal enjoyed by ALL. The service was friendly and at our pace. We will return soon and often .. Thank You

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good food and service. the décor c ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good food and service. the décor could use some updating. We also stayed at the hotel that is attached. The rooms have been updated and are nice. More updates are needed on the outside. The bathrooms need a little more care wit regard to caulk and mold.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Escargot and east meets west apps were o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Escargot and east meets west apps were outstanding. Really good bread too. My shrimp caesar salad and my husband's cajun chicken tortellini were excellent. Good service two. Our appetizer and dessert was comped bc of two inconveniences. We'll be back. Worth the 40 min drive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is my happy place! This was the on ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is my happy place! This was the only place I wanted to celebrate my birthday! Thank you to everyone at the River Crab and the Blue Water Inn for making it an absolutely fabulous birthday!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great location, good service. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Good food, great location, good service. We go there for special occasions and the food and service is always great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, quiet elegant atmosphere ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service, quiet elegant atmosphere for a nice special dinner with my wife. We had a front window view of the river at our table. Unfortunately 20 minutes into our dinner, a huge motor yacht pulled into the dock and blocked our view. I think the restaurant should have a policy against such huge boats docking in front of the windows.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

River Crab is worth the drive - or boat ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

River Crab is worth the drive - or boat up the river - great food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with friends on a Sunday and didn't ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Went with friends on a Sunday and didn't realize that we could only have brunch and not order off the menu. We were very impressed at the buffet and the cost and will definitely return, our waiter was excellent..

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , beautiful view of the river ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food , beautiful view of the river. Downside, inadequate parking. Very expensive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Just a great place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Just a great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The management always greats us and we g ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The management always greats us and we go for special occasions and Friends get togethers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The only rather negative thing is your L ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The only rather negative thing is your Lady Hostess Manager could dress more professionally. Something suited to her position. She is great on her job and staff respond to her favorably. Otherwise we love, love the River Crab, Also Bubba Gumps in Chicago and the Rainforest in Florida and Chicago.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was friendly, service could not ha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Staff was friendly, service could not have been better, food was excellent!! Very relaxed atmosphere made for a perfect birthday celebration. We will definitely go back😊

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet with oscar topping is deliciou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The filet with oscar topping is delicious and my personal favorite! My two family members ordered the white fish, they seemed to enjoy but I thought the flavor was bland. Will be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent view, excellent service, delic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent view, excellent service, delicious meal. We were seated quickly and waited on promptly. We enjoyed the free birthday creme Brule

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience on the river ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful dining experience on the river with great staff and management.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were very good, but ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food and service were very good, but the main attraction is the setting. The restaurant is located directly on the Saint Clair river and offers a unique and spectacular view of the river and passing boat traffic, including huge lake freighters and salties, especially when service is offered on the outside deck.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the view and watching the freighter ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Love the view and watching the freighters go by. Like the new menu choices, both food and wine, definitely more diverse. Expensive but very nice for a special occasion. The early menu though is a great value. They should note more prominently for a couple of the dessert options that there is an up charge. Also wanted to listen to music on the patio but it rained. The band was moved inside so it was a little louder than normal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been going to the River Crab for ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We have been going to the River Crab for about 20 years. We often go to celebrate our anniversary and always request a window seat to enjoy the waterfront view. This time we were given a table by a small glass door with limited view of the water which was rather disappointing especially because other tables were available when we arrived. We were disappointed that bouillabaisse was no longer on the menu and the Charley's Chowder recipe was not the same and the new one was not quite as good. I requested garlic mashed potatoes in place of rice for my entrée and received roasted redskin potatoes instead. Our waitress seemed a little irritated and pre-occupied when we first arrived. She warmed up once she brought us our bill. We're not sure that going back is worth the hour drive which makes us very sad because this has been one of our favorite Landry locations.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful Setting on the river! Plenty o ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Beautiful Setting on the river! Plenty of boat traffic!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance and outstanding brunc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent ambiance and outstanding brunch - thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time eating at this r ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time eating at this restaurant but it WIL NOT be our last! Very informative waiter, he answered every question we had. Food was delicious! View was spectacular, margarita was fabulous!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our most favorite places to eat a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of our most favorite places to eat and enjoy the views. Excellent perch

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have heard from many people how wonder ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have heard from many people how wonderful their experience was dining at your restaurant.

We celebrated our goddaughter's graduation and my award from work along with my brother.

The food, service, wine and view were exceptional. This was also the beginning of our vacation.

Thank you for making our celebration a memorable one!

We look forward to visiting your restaurant again next year!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the River Crab is a neighborh ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always, the River Crab is a neighborhood Gem. Consistent and lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance of the place has not change ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The ambiance of the place has not changed from the C.A. M., which is a good thing, however, the wonderful food we previously enjoyed did not happen with the exception of a salad meal which looked great and was apparently very well received by my guest. The other 4 meals were OK (mediocre) but that's the best we can say. "Advice", work on the kitchen..

p.s.

Our server and the host were great, attentive & interesting.

WB..

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat outside by the river. Our server ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We sat outside by the river. Our server was personable and efficient--outstanding. The food was excellent. Would recommend and will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good.Our server (Ste ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was very good.Our server (Stella) was very friendly,but not clingingly so Her suggestions for the best desert was spot on.We would come here more often if we lived closer.It's a 170 mile round trip from Flint..

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The River Crab is a wonderful place for ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The River Crab is a wonderful place for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch. It has warm friendly servers and wonderful food! The patio lets you enjoy the beautiful St. Clair River. We simply can't say enough about our many great experiences enjoying the River Crab!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was fabulous the service was wo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The view was fabulous the service was wonderful and the food good. Well worth searching out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The attention to detail on all levels wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The attention to detail on all levels was fantastic. My wife Birthday dinner could've have gone better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent except we found ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything was excellent except we found the restaurant a bit warm.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The air conditioning went out and it was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The air conditioning went out and it was extremely hot. My husband ordered Perch -received the perch but the potato did not come with meal had to wait , it finally came after he was finished with meal. Waitress was very slow .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Enjoyed a lunch date with friends. Serv ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Enjoyed a lunch date with friends. Service and food was very good. However, where we sat, the room was very warm, it was next to the window with a view of the lake.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everyone we encountered staff wise was f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everyone we encountered staff wise was friendly and outgoing. Service was excellent in the bar and in the dining room. Food was well prepared and well presented. We went there on previous recommendations of friends and we're happy that we did. We would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a welcoming atmosphere with great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It is a welcoming atmosphere with great service and an amazing view of the river. The food was delicious and I can't wait to go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.