About River City Seafood and Grill

115 N Loop 1604 E
Ste 1109
San Antonio, TX 78232
View Larger Map

Casual dining seafood restaurant serving the highest quality seafood, steaks, and chicken in a warm, comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 10:45 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm -10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm -11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Tuscany Cr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 233-6790

Website:
http://www.rivercityseafoodandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Music Friday and Saturday nights 7-9 pm

Catering:
Caterings for any occasion

Parking Details:
Well lit parking lot and parking garage available.

Executive Chef:
Charlie Coleman

Private Party Contact:
Charlie Coleman: (210) 233-6790

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River City Seafood and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 2 days ago

Some of best New Orleans style food in south Texas.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 16, 2017

It's not our first time at Rivercity Seafood we've been here a million times and we will keep coming back. All the different food we've had has been amazing. best crawfish fresh and spicy!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for the second time on Valentine's Day 2017. We had reservations but we're able to get seated early at a cozy corner booth. The place wasn't very busy but service was a little slow, and I'm not sure if that was our server's or the kitchen's fault. However, the food was outstanding. You definitely get a great seafood experience without spending an arm and a leg. This is a good place to go if you love Cajun/Seafood and want to stay away from the corporate chains.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good reasonably priced food. Get the crawfish

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a major let down... really for the price tag I was thinking "high-end" however, everything was frozen (nothing fresh). We've eaten better food at Luby's and for far less!

The food was High School cafeteria quality of-- it's almost edible; frozen is never option-- take some pride and cook fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Truly an amazing place to eat. The best raw oysters my wife and I have ever had. So glad we went. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

OMG!!! I saw this restaurant on neighborhood eats with Marvin Hurst and this restaurant is outstanding. I have never heard or eaten here, but excellent!!! Will come back!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Main couse meal was great. I had the Augrain eggplant that was really good. My wife had the shrimp and oyster platter and she was pleased withi it. I had clam chowder appetizer which wasnt the best. My wife had stuffed mushrooms and they were very tough to chew.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I went here. The crab cake was underwhelming especially for the price. However my ribeye steak was great and she really loved her soft shell crab. Service was excellent and the food was delivered quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The seafood is very good and the service is efficient and professional!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my first time visiting this restaurant and I had high expectations. Maybe that's why it gets 3 stars.

It is located in a high-end shopping center and I expected a high-end restaurant but when you walk in, the restaurant interior does not really match. It was rather basic and bland in looks. It looked like it may have been an Italian restaurant at one time and River City moved in and made a few changes. It does not "feel" like a seafood restaurant.

The food was mediocre. I started with the crab and corn bisque. Nothing special, almost "can like" taste. I then had the Champagne Salmon, which is not on the menu (you have to ask for it) which had all the ingredients that got me excited, grilled salmon, sauteed shrimp, butter cream sauce and angel hair pasta. Again, nothing special, not much flavor but it was a big portion.

The two highlights of the visit are: The homemade bread pudding was the absolute best I've ever eaten, and I'm not exaggerating. The service was good, our server, Gracie was excellent, very friendly and attentive. She saved the evening.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Was excellent!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Appetizers were good

Food was ok

I suffered all night because of breading on fried shrimp

Restaurant was nice

Not a place I would go often

I'm probably a little hard due to I'm from Louisiana n know great Cajun food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

So disappointed we ordered an appetizer fried shrimp with peppers. I've had this other places and I loved it. Here the breading fell off the shrimp and it tasted greasy. We also ordered gumbo unfortunately a bowl and not a cup. It was very thick with an unpleasant taste and feel in your mouth. Understand I love gumbo this was far from what gumbo should taste like. Now to the waitress she had real no knowledge of the menu and literally flew by out table. When she asked how everything was she asked on her way didn't even stop to hear our answer. I really wanted to like this restaurant, it's close to my home and I love fish. Unfortunately, this doesn't meet the will return test.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service was very good but double check with your waiter before ordering something that says its spicy. They are a cajun place and are liberal with the cayenne pepper! Also, their bread puddin dessert is excellent so be sure to order that. It is huge and plenty for two people.

Tags: Spicy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant has been a long time favorite, but the lobster ordered by one diner Saturday night was a disaster. It was so rubbery it could not be cut with a knife and not one bite was taken. We seldom send food back to the kitchen, but this was unacceptable. Consequently, that diner was just getting a substitute plate of eggplant au gratin as others in the party of 7 were finishing their meals. Not good. Sadly, the manager did not stop by our table to check on us and our server was not particularly helpful. She stated a new lobster dish would take 25 minutes..... perhaps this is why the first one was like rubber. We will go back, but will order with caution.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

excellent overall. seafood gumbo and clam chowder best i've eaten anywhere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service - our server was fast and friendly. We were seated and waited on promptly. Food is fresh and served hot. The bread is wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went there on Christmas Eve with 15 people. Food was good, service was good, ambiance was good. We were very happy and really enjoyed our experience there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a birthday dinner with a couple that had been there before and raved about the étouffée. The fried artichoke appetizer was tasty. The rye old fashioned was so-so. I tried the cajun eggplant; it was good - I probably would not order it again. The aforementioned couple had étouffée again and loved it - again. The bread pudding was delicious. The waiter was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Muy buen sabor y muy bien preparados

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We always enjoy our meals here, they have a great menu including a great kids menu. They always aim to please.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I have been hearing great things about this restaurant on my local radio station and decided to visit on a Sunday night. There were only 4 tables occupied and it was very quiet, so our party of 4 was able to converse comfortably. Service was excellent, but we did have to ask for more bread (which was delicious). The food was very good, but pricey. I don't think I will be returning. I can can get very good seafood for a more reasonable price at some other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good food. Always enjoy it here. Service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We love the flavors in all the dishes, our waiter was friendly, courteous, helpful on selection, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance was great. They had our table ready a few minutes early. Our Groupon was accepted for lunch with no questions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I have used this place at least 4 times now for a luncheon get together. Always good service and good food. Usually have 12 persons, separate checks not a problem here. And you can sit and chat all you want.

Went to Cheesecake Factory for dinner last week - terrible service and high prices. The next time we will come to River City.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food is very tasty - especially the eggplant cajun dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good menu, great food and service. Worth a return trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was served fast and fresh. Will go back. Would recommend.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Crab and corn bisque was a delight. Wait staff was attentive and seating was quick. Happy hour was a great value.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great experience

My husband had the Oysters & Fried Shrimp which he loved the light breading...

I had the Grilled Mahi Mahi filet with rice & vegtables...it was excellent and being it was grilled the flavor was fantastic!!!

We will definitely make this our new special place to dine and bring family.

Our waiter was James who was very attentive to us and the Owner Charlie came out with our appetizer and introduced himself...he is very passionate about every dinner he prepares.

You will not be disappointed!!!! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great local eatery with a nice menu selection. Reasonable prices and great ambiance. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service here is always superb. This time Jackie was our server and she was outstanding..

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lunch with the family. The fried shrimp was decent. Was not impressed. Will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great and we had a party of 10. The server was very patient and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We took a group of eight to dinner on Father's Day. River City did not disappoint. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Juan (our server) was impressive in that he had four tables in the back (all with at least one highchair). He did not write down anything but it all came out correctly. Juan was awesome and we enjoyed dining as a family at River City.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious salmon Caesar salad and cocktails... I think the atmosphere of the restaurant could use a bit of work in terms of decor and ambiance. However, everything else was wonderful including the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were seated quickly due to our reservation however we had to wait a while to actually be waited on. Once waited on we placed our order for food and drinks at the same time since it took so long to get help to begin with. My husband's salad came out before our drinks . Finally we got waters but then it took even longer to get my glass of wine. For a $9 glass of Malbec it was really bad. Seemed like the bottle had been open for a few weeks or something. Food finally arrived after what seemed like forever. Not really impressed once I finally received. Do not think I will go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We loved the crispy, thin fried catfish! We order the Crispy Fried Catfish with Shrimp and thought the shrimp were excellent as well. Nothing tasted fishy and had just the right seasoning. The only negative was that when you ordered the fried catfish and shrimp platter it came with French fries and jalapeno hushpuppies (which were very good too) and we really were craving some kind of vegetable or salad to cut through all the fried food. It's a very casual style restaurant and we noticed several families with children. We will definitely go back and try some of the other items on the menu, but it will be hard not to order the crispy fried catfish again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The hostess did not have my open table reservation, and made it seem like it would be an ordeal to sit a table of 3 at an empty restaurant. They had us wait even though most tables were empty. Service was mediocre at best. Food was decent. Overall would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Catfish was very good; margarita was so huge I couldn't drink it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a birthday celebration and the waiter did not ask or provide and dessert menu so I guess that they do not have desert available

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been wanted to try this place for over a year and just never got around to it. Big mistake--it will be one of our favorite places to go and luckily it is conveniently located to our neighborhood. Service was great, and the seafood was wonderful. Good menu and looking forward to trying many different entrees. The fresh crawfish (seasonal) was very good and we split the large fried oyster and shrimp plate and could not finish it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Oysters were tremendous. Broccoli cheese bites were excellent. Mahi was a little dry and plain. Overall better than average food. Our waiter was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a nice restaurant that is always ready to service with a solid and tasty menu of well prepared food. Nice ambiance and the wine and drinks are great. The servings are right and food nice and hot. Fish is always fresh and well prepared. Prices are reasonable and comparable to other restaurants in this class.

One of our favorite spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is consistently very good! It's the only place where I eat fried shrimp because it is deveined. :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Casual seafood dining. It was pretty quiet on a Monday night at 7 pm so it might be much different if busy. I had the Mahi tacos grilled and my guest had the shrimp. The portions were generous and the fish tasted fresh and was not over cooked. My tacos were swimming in the sauce so the tortillas gut a but soggy but otherwise it was good. A totally different environment and experience than at say Wildfish. Fine to take the family for fairly priced, fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had popcorn shrimp, boiled crawfish, crab cake, shrimp pasta and the seafood platter which is fried shrimp and catfish. The food was very good, and large portions. Service was very good also.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.