HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

River City Seafood and Grill

4.5
226 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
Casual dining seafood restaurant serving the highest quality seafood, steaks, and chicken in a warm, comfortable setting.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 10:45 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm -10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm -11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(210) 233-6790
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charlie Coleman
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Charlie Coleman: (210) 233-6790
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Caterings for any occasion
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Tuscany Cr
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Well lit parking lot and parking garage available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Jazz Music Friday and Saturday nights 7-9 pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 226 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
ATXFoodlover (Austin)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

What a gem! We were staying at a nearby hotel for business and were so happy to find such a great restaurant. At first I thought that they were a chain but they are anything but a chain! The food is great! Some recommendations would be the Coconut Shrimp - yum, Grilled Shrimp, the Catfish (pounded thinly), the Hushpuppies so light and with a small kick to them. I typically do not order fried foods but their method of frying is amazing, no greasy meals and with great flavor. The must have dessert is the bread pudding....even if you don't like bread pudding! The waitress strongly encouraged us to get it and it was AMAZING! Nothing like any bread pudding I've ever had. Very casual atmosphere but definitely great for a date or business meal. We ate there two nights in a row. Both evenings, the owner was on the floor working!

Report
Helpful
KimK 
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Outstanding food and service! We went for V-Day. They were able to accommodate us with a last minute request (although, our Love for each other is far from being on the spur of the moment). The wait person was the BEST! Attentive and able to meet all of our desires. She had great recommendations for the menu...and nailed it every time! We definitely will be back!

Report
Helpful
AriMtz (Austin)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The service was great and so was the food. I will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
TonyL (New Orleans)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Waitress was in a very big hurry to get us in and out. Many open tables, not crowded, but she was very persistent and annoying. Entire "dining experience" was 26 minutes, from time we entered to time we left, she gave us a to-go box and said "thanks so much, so amazing to serve you, but it was an act that barely disguised the main message, hurry up and go. Yeah, not so "amazing". Experience was not unlike a fast food place.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great venue, friendly staff. Everything seafood wise was fresh and flavorful. Bread pudding was as good as advertised. Pretty solid pricing as well for quality seafood. Will definitely be going back sooner rather than later.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

From the hostess to our waitress and the manager who greeted us the staff was very polite. The food was delicious and we never waited for our drinks. My 4 month old son even enjoyed himself we will be returning.

Report
Helpful
DwightB (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

River City Grill has been a favorite for years. They have been so gracious when my Mom had her 90th birthday a few years ago and they personally came out to deliver the catered food and to wish my Mom Happy Birthday! She has since passed on but we will always have this special memory. We too are from Louisiana so we consider this restaurant a little piece of home. Their bread pudding is amazing and one of my husbands favorite desserts.

Report
Helpful
GlenG (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

I was actually surprised the place and food were so good. We actually went because other places were booked. Now my wife and I plan to go back. The service was excellent. The staff was friendly. There is a sports bar in the place, but the place is nice enough for a causal night out. The only thing they should consider is updating the look of the menu. The food pictures on the menu and online don’t do this place justice. The food was excellent. I can’t wait to eat there again.

Report
Helpful
mmgg (San Antonio)
4.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

excellent Louisiana gumbo and Fresh bread. Shrimp was fried perfectly but the flour breading could have been more seasoned. We will go back soon to try more of the Cajun offerings.

Report
Helpful
DeniseD (San Antonio)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Celebrated girlfriends birthday. We are both dining KETO and waitress was helpful with our selection , taking bread away :). We chose to wait at a table in bar area and decided to stay there, order and enjoy. Lovely evening. Great food

Report
Helpful
Lenie12 (San Antonio)
2.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

I read a lot of great reviews so I've been wanting to visit. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was great but the food unfortunately I wasn't a fan of. Popcorn shrimp batter needed seasoning was very bland tasting, blackend catfish wasn't so blackend, and the crab cake and shrimp pasta dish was very dry. I enjoy the top shelf margarita and the broccoli cheese bites! This was my first and last time going, if i'm going to spend a decent amount of money I rather spend it at Pappadeaux.

Report
Helpful
JeffryB (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellent seafood and service. Attention to detail throught the restaurant. Food served hot and seafood was properly prepared with tha right amount of seasoning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
3.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

Oysters were a mix of big ones and tiny ones, so it was difficult to judge on the size. The stuffed shrimp was VERY spicy, having jalapanos, which as simply described as "seafood stuffing". Had I know it was going to burn my mouth to death, I wouldn't have order it.

It was almost dead for brunch on a Sunday. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. It was freezing cold though as well.

Being that we are from South Austin, I would not make the drive again, but if you are in the area, it is a nice place to eat now and again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Antonio)
3.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

They provided a decent portion of food, however the food didn’t taste good. Too much seasoning on the blackened catfish. Not enough seasoning on the sides. Ordered the crab cakes, wasted money! It tasted like canned crab meat with olive oil mixed with breadcrumbs, formed into a patty, and baked in a pan. The texture was even less desired. Also ordered the shrimp Louisiana, that was surprisingly great! The service was great. It was my boyfriend’s birthday. We were disappointed that they didn’t have anything special for a person celebrating their birthday. $90 spent on a mediocre dinner.

Report
Helpful
RachelD (San Antonio)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

River city got mixed review when I was looking in to going here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Let me say, it was FANTASTIC! The food was incredible, and it was quiet enough to where we could have a conversation. I loved the reservation system they have set up, no calling needed, just go online and pick what time works best. I would recommend this to friends and family because of the quality and service we received.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16