About River City Seafood and Grill

115 N Loop 1604 E
Ste 1109
San Antonio, TX 78232
View Larger Map

Casual dining seafood restaurant serving the highest quality seafood, steaks, and chicken in a warm, comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 10:45 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm -10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm -11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Tuscany Cr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 233-6790

Website:
http://www.rivercityseafoodandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Music Friday and Saturday nights 7-9 pm

Catering:
Caterings for any occasion

Parking Details:
Well lit parking lot and parking garage available.

Executive Chef:
Charlie Coleman

Private Party Contact:
Charlie Coleman: 2102336790

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River City Seafood and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always enjoy our meals here, they hav ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We always enjoy our meals here, they have a great menu including a great kids menu. They always aim to please.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been hearing great things about t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I have been hearing great things about this restaurant on my local radio station and decided to visit on a Sunday night. There were only 4 tables occupied and it was very quiet, so our party of 4 was able to converse comfortably. Service was excellent, but we did have to ask for more bread (which was delicious). The food was very good, but pricey. I don't think I will be returning. I can can get very good seafood for a more reasonable price at some other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Always enjoy it here. Service ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good food. Always enjoy it here. Service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love the flavors in all the dishes, o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We love the flavors in all the dishes, our waiter was friendly, courteous, helpful on selection, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food, service, and ambiance was grea ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food, service, and ambiance was great. They had our table ready a few minutes early. Our Groupon was accepted for lunch with no questions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have used this place at least 4 times ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I have used this place at least 4 times now for a luncheon get together. Always good service and good food. Usually have 12 persons, separate checks not a problem here. And you can sit and chat all you want.

Went to Cheesecake Factory for dinner last week - terrible service and high prices. The next time we will come to River City.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very tasty - especially the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food is very tasty - especially the eggplant cajun dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good menu, great food and service. Wort ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good menu, great food and service. Worth a return trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was served ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was served fast and fresh. Will go back. Would recommend.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crab and corn bisque was a delight. Wait ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Crab and corn bisque was a delight. Wait staff was attentive and seating was quick. Happy hour was a great value.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience My husband had the Oyst ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great experience

My husband had the Oysters & Fried Shrimp which he loved the light breading...

I had the Grilled Mahi Mahi filet with rice & vegtables...it was excellent and being it was grilled the flavor was fantastic!!!

We will definitely make this our new special place to dine and bring family.

Our waiter was James who was very attentive to us and the Owner Charlie came out with our appetizer and introduced himself...he is very passionate about every dinner he prepares.

You will not be disappointed!!!! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local eatery with a nice menu sele ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great local eatery with a nice menu selection. Reasonable prices and great ambiance. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service here is always superb. This ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service here is always superb. This time Jackie was our server and she was outstanding..

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch with the family. The fried shrimp ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lunch with the family. The fried shrimp was decent. Was not impressed. Will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was great and we had a party of ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great and we had a party of 10. The server was very patient and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We took a group of eight to dinner on Fa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We took a group of eight to dinner on Father's Day. River City did not disappoint. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Juan (our server) was impressive in that he had four tables in the back (all with at least one highchair). He did not write down anything but it all came out correctly. Juan was awesome and we enjoyed dining as a family at River City.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious salmon Caesar salad and cockta ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Delicious salmon Caesar salad and cocktails... I think the atmosphere of the restaurant could use a bit of work in terms of decor and ambiance. However, everything else was wonderful including the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Not that good.

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were seated quickly due to our reservation however we had to wait a while to actually be waited on. Once waited on we placed our order for food and drinks at the same time since it took so long to get help to begin with. My husband's salad came out before our drinks . Finally we got waters but then it took even longer to get my glass of wine. For a $9 glass of Malbec it was really bad. Seemed like the bottle had been open for a few weeks or something. Food finally arrived after what seemed like forever. Not really impressed once I finally received. Do not think I will go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Seafood with a Cajun twist

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We loved the crispy, thin fried catfish! We order the Crispy Fried Catfish with Shrimp and thought the shrimp were excellent as well. Nothing tasted fishy and had just the right seasoning. The only negative was that when you ordered the fried catfish and shrimp platter it came with French fries and jalapeno hushpuppies (which were very good too) and we really were craving some kind of vegetable or salad to cut through all the fried food. It's a very casual style restaurant and we noticed several families with children. We will definitely go back and try some of the other items on the menu, but it will be hard not to order the crispy fried catfish again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The hostess did not have my open table r ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The hostess did not have my open table reservation, and made it seem like it would be an ordeal to sit a table of 3 at an empty restaurant. They had us wait even though most tables were empty. Service was mediocre at best. Food was decent. Overall would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Catfish was very good; margarita was so ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Catfish was very good; margarita was so huge I couldn't drink it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

too much fried food offered and no specials

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a birthday celebration and the waiter did not ask or provide and dessert menu so I guess that they do not have desert available

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent seafood and service.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been wanted to try this place for over a year and just never got around to it. Big mistake--it will be one of our favorite places to go and luckily it is conveniently located to our neighborhood. Service was great, and the seafood was wonderful. Good menu and looking forward to trying many different entrees. The fresh crawfish (seasonal) was very good and we split the large fried oyster and shrimp plate and could not finish it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Great service

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Oysters were tremendous. Broccoli cheese bites were excellent. Mahi was a little dry and plain. Overall better than average food. Our waiter was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a nice restaurant that is always ready to service with a solid and tasty menu of well prepared food. Nice ambiance and the wine and drinks are great. The servings are right and food nice and hot. Fish is always fresh and well prepared. Prices are reasonable and comparable to other restaurants in this class.

One of our favorite spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is consistently very good! It's ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is consistently very good! It's the only place where I eat fried shrimp because it is deveined. :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Casual seafood dining. It was pretty qu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Casual seafood dining. It was pretty quiet on a Monday night at 7 pm so it might be much different if busy. I had the Mahi tacos grilled and my guest had the shrimp. The portions were generous and the fish tasted fresh and was not over cooked. My tacos were swimming in the sauce so the tortillas gut a but soggy but otherwise it was good. A totally different environment and experience than at say Wildfish. Fine to take the family for fairly priced, fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Good Food

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had popcorn shrimp, boiled crawfish, crab cake, shrimp pasta and the seafood platter which is fried shrimp and catfish. The food was very good, and large portions. Service was very good also.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was excellent and fresh. Fried jalapeños and artichoke dip were very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Entrees were hot and fresh. One of us ha ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Entrees were hot and fresh. One of us had mahi and the other had fried butterfly shrimp. Both were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fried or cheesy are the primary choices. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Fried or cheesy are the primary choices. Even a healthy and tasty salmon fillet came with 2 pounds of pasta smothered in cheese. Oysters on the half shell were unremarkable and even questionable at the time but haven't been a problem afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Food was okay, ambiance was casual

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for Valentine's weekend and service, food, and ambiance were okay. I did not find the food particularly notable- not bad, just average. It is very casual so we were a bit overdressed. We had the crab and corn soup, the grilled catfish, the seafood platter, and one of their signature mango drinks. The hot red potatoes were different and pretty good and the drink was unique and good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We loved our dinner, however we were sea ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 2, 2016

We loved our dinner, however we were seated at a table (in a pretty empty restaurant) next to their semi-private room, where there was some kind of sales pitch going on for a water treatment system. It was a little annoying to try to enjoy our dinner while listening to the sales pitch. Not sure why the hostess didn't seat us somewhere else??? We didn't ask to move because we didn't realize how loud the meeting was going to be, until they started their presentation... by that time we had already ordered food and drinks. We will definitely return, but if we see that room is in use, we will certainly ask to be seated away from that area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was excellent, and they have crawfi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was excellent, and they have crawfish which is a big plus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sumptuous Cuisine / Relaxed Atmosphere

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2016

Superb food deliciously prepared; nice ambiance but would prefer somewhat warmer-décor (starting with white linen tablecloths); and, great, upscale strip center location (easy in/out). My only issue is that management should ensure that its staff is properly trained in conventional professional etiquette [or, maybe it’s just me—I still open-doors and pull-out chairs for a lady]. Nonetheless, I plan to return very soon and have already recommended the restaurant to a couple of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

New Years Eve Dining

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2016

First time at the restaurant for New Years Eve with a party of 5. What a great local find!

All of the different seafood entries we ordered were delicious. The calamari appetizer was cooked to perfection and I absolutely loved the Crab/Corn bisque.

Restaurant was clean, had a great atmosphere and we could easily hear each other. Also loved that they had the College Football playoff game on in the bar so we could keep track of the score.

Our waitress was fantastic, very attentive.

We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NYE

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good food and value. Gumbo was very good. Only complaint is the lack of choice on side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Glad we found it

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Came here on Christmas Eve by chance. Food was delicious!lots of Cajun spices, the shrimp appetizers was spicy and flavorful! Service was great! We'll be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

MR

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 1, 2015

Food was't good . Presentation was OK.

Service was OK

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Nice local find for seafood.

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2015

Enjoyed a good meal and nice glass of wine recently. Have driven by severa times and missed it due to it being set back from the service road. Had the Mahi Mahi and the sampler appatizer which were both good. The shrimp are nice and big and the seafood boil is well seasoned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.