About River City Seafood and Grill

115 N Loop 1604 E
Ste 1109
San Antonio, TX 78232
View Larger Map

Casual dining seafood restaurant serving the highest quality seafood, steaks, and chicken in a warm, comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 10:45 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm -10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm -11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Tuscany Cr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 233-6790

Website:
http://www.rivercityseafoodandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz Music Friday and Saturday nights 7-9 pm

Catering:
Caterings for any occasion

Parking Details:
Well lit parking lot and parking garage available.

Executive Chef:
Charlie Coleman

Private Party Contact:
Charlie Coleman: 2102336790

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

River City Seafood and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (13)
great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
See All
special occasion (8)
fit for foodies (7)
kid-friendly (7)
romantic (1)
great for brunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

Service was great and we had a party of ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was great and we had a party of 10. The server was very patient and attentive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We took a group of eight to dinner on Fa ...

Dined 5 days ago

We took a group of eight to dinner on Father's Day. River City did not disappoint. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Juan (our server) was impressive in that he had four tables in the back (all with at least one highchair). He did not write down anything but it all came out correctly. Juan was awesome and we enjoyed dining as a family at River City.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Delicious salmon Caesar salad and cockta ...

Dined 5 days ago

Delicious salmon Caesar salad and cocktails... I think the atmosphere of the restaurant could use a bit of work in terms of decor and ambiance. However, everything else was wonderful including the service.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not that good.

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We were seated quickly due to our reservation however we had to wait a while to actually be waited on. Once waited on we placed our order for food and drinks at the same time since it took so long to get help to begin with. My husband's salad came out before our drinks . Finally we got waters but then it took even longer to get my glass of wine. For a $9 glass of Malbec it was really bad. Seemed like the bottle had been open for a few weeks or something. Food finally arrived after what seemed like forever. Not really impressed once I finally received. Do not think I will go back anytime soon.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Seafood with a Cajun twist

Dined on May 13, 2016

We loved the crispy, thin fried catfish! We order the Crispy Fried Catfish with Shrimp and thought the shrimp were excellent as well. Nothing tasted fishy and had just the right seasoning. The only negative was that when you ordered the fried catfish and shrimp platter it came with French fries and jalapeno hushpuppies (which were very good too) and we really were craving some kind of vegetable or salad to cut through all the fried food. It's a very casual style restaurant and we noticed several families with children. We will definitely go back and try some of the other items on the menu, but it will be hard not to order the crispy fried catfish again.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

The hostess did not have my open table r ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The hostess did not have my open table reservation, and made it seem like it would be an ordeal to sit a table of 3 at an empty restaurant. They had us wait even though most tables were empty. Service was mediocre at best. Food was decent. Overall would not recommend.

food4
ambience4
service4

Catfish was very good; margarita was so ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Catfish was very good; margarita was so huge I couldn't drink it all

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

too much fried food offered and no specials

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a birthday celebration and the waiter did not ask or provide and dessert menu so I guess that they do not have desert available

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent seafood and service.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been wanted to try this place for over a year and just never got around to it. Big mistake--it will be one of our favorite places to go and luckily it is conveniently located to our neighborhood. Service was great, and the seafood was wonderful. Good menu and looking forward to trying many different entrees. The fresh crawfish (seasonal) was very good and we split the large fried oyster and shrimp plate and could not finish it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food. Great service

Dined on March 27, 2016

Oysters were tremendous. Broccoli cheese bites were excellent. Mahi was a little dry and plain. Overall better than average food. Our waiter was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on March 26, 2016

This is a nice restaurant that is always ready to service with a solid and tasty menu of well prepared food. Nice ambiance and the wine and drinks are great. The servings are right and food nice and hot. Fish is always fresh and well prepared. Prices are reasonable and comparable to other restaurants in this class. One of our favorite spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is consistently very good! It's ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is consistently very good! It's the only place where I eat fried shrimp because it is deveined. :-)

food3
ambience3
service4

Casual seafood dining. It was pretty qu ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Casual seafood dining. It was pretty quiet on a Monday night at 7 pm so it might be much different if busy. I had the Mahi tacos grilled and my guest had the shrimp. The portions were generous and the fish tasted fresh and was not over cooked. My tacos were swimming in the sauce so the tortillas gut a but soggy but otherwise it was good. A totally different environment and experience than at say Wildfish. Fine to take the family for fairly priced, fresh food.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Food

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had popcorn shrimp, boiled crawfish, crab cake, shrimp pasta and the seafood platter which is fried shrimp and catfish. The food was very good, and large portions. Service was very good also.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was excellent and fresh. Fried jalapeños and artichoke dip were very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Entrees were hot and fresh. One of us ha ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Entrees were hot and fresh. One of us had mahi and the other had fried butterfly shrimp. Both were very good!

food3
ambience2
service4

Fried or cheesy are the primary choices. ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Fried or cheesy are the primary choices. Even a healthy and tasty salmon fillet came with 2 pounds of pasta smothered in cheese. Oysters on the half shell were unremarkable and even questionable at the time but haven't been a problem afterwards.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was okay, ambiance was casual

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for Valentine's weekend and service, food, and ambiance were okay. I did not find the food particularly notable- not bad, just average. It is very casual so we were a bit overdressed. We had the crab and corn soup, the grilled catfish, the seafood platter, and one of their signature mango drinks. The hot red potatoes were different and pretty good and the drink was unique and good.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We loved our dinner, however we were sea ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

We loved our dinner, however we were seated at a table (in a pretty empty restaurant) next to their semi-private room, where there was some kind of sales pitch going on for a water treatment system. It was a little annoying to try to enjoy our dinner while listening to the sales pitch. Not sure why the hostess didn't seat us somewhere else??? We didn't ask to move because we didn't realize how loud the meeting was going to be, until they started their presentation... by that time we had already ordered food and drinks. We will definitely return, but if we see that room is in use, we will certainly ask to be seated away from that area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, and they have crawfi ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was excellent, and they have crawfish which is a big plus

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Sumptuous Cuisine / Relaxed Atmosphere

Dined on January 5, 2016

Superb food deliciously prepared; nice ambiance but would prefer somewhat warmer-décor (starting with white linen tablecloths); and, great, upscale strip center location (easy in/out). My only issue is that management should ensure that its staff is properly trained in conventional professional etiquette [or, maybe it’s just me—I still open-doors and pull-out chairs for a lady]. Nonetheless, I plan to return very soon and have already recommended the restaurant to a couple of friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve Dining

Dined on January 1, 2016

First time at the restaurant for New Years Eve with a party of 5. What a great local find! All of the different seafood entries we ordered were delicious. The calamari appetizer was cooked to perfection and I absolutely loved the Crab/Corn bisque. Restaurant was clean, had a great atmosphere and we could easily hear each other. Also loved that they had the College Football playoff game on in the bar so we could keep track of the score. Our waitress was fantastic, very attentive. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

NYE

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good food and value. Gumbo was very good. Only complaint is the lack of choice on side dishes.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Glad we found it

Dined on December 24, 2015

Came here on Christmas Eve by chance. Food was delicious!lots of Cajun spices, the shrimp appetizers was spicy and flavorful! Service was great! We'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

MR

Dined on December 1, 2015

Food was't good . Presentation was OK. Service was OK

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice local find for seafood.

Dined on November 4, 2015

Enjoyed a good meal and nice glass of wine recently. Have driven by severa times and missed it due to it being set back from the service road. Had the Mahi Mahi and the sampler appatizer which were both good. The shrimp are nice and big and the seafood boil is well seasoned.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Great menu. I'll be back! =)

Dined on October 27, 2015

Great menu. Food was well prepared and very flavorful. And the prices are much lower than I was expecting. All in all, a great dining experience. I'll be back! =)

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service3

Some good things, some Not so good. Disappointed.

Dined on September 12, 2015

The appetizers and desserts were very good, very tasty. Main courses though, were a little disappointing. I ordered the soft shell crab-fried. The dish looked very appealing, but the crab was almost a hollow shell. There were a couple of legs that had some meat, but overall it was just an over fried crab. I also got a bowl of the clam chowder that came after I received my main course. Some time later (after I asked for it) bread arrived. If you're looking for good chowder...this isn't it.

food5
ambience5
service3

Birthday bash

Dined on August 22, 2015

Food succulent. Wonderful atmosphere. At this visit Waiter inexperience for a group of seven. Front desk people inexperienced gave our table to another group of seven w/o really cheching.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

Dined on August 22, 2015

Delicious as always! Great service even though they were very crowded. One of my favs for seafood in San Antonio!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

You probably won't be disappointed

Dined on August 21, 2015

This was my first trip to the restaurant. The food was tasty. Not the best I have ever had, but definitely a very good meal at a reasonable price. This is not the type of restaurant I would take a "foodie" to and probably not great for dates or special occasions, but it is definitely a good family restaurant. The only negative comment I have is about the wine list. It is limited and those that are carried are not very impressive to wine snobs like me. However, I will definitely go back for the food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Good experience

vip
Dined on August 16, 2015

We normally go for upscale seafood dining and decided we wanted some catfish and selected River City. Great choice for what we wanted and all the entrees were great. We all three had catfish and I also had the fried oysters. The fish was very fresh and plentiful. We all took some home. If you are looking for a wide assortment of fresh fish selections, this is not your place, but if you want great fried seafood, its a great choice. Very reasonably priced.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Linuturk

Dined on August 14, 2015

Brought some friends here and they loved it as much as we did.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Tasty and varied menu; Great service!

Dined on August 4, 2015

I'm from New Orleans, so the menu looked promising. Hard to find items like soft-shell crabs as well as corn and shrimp chowder were very good, but not TOO spicy! Plenty of tasty and diverse appetizers, along with outstanding desserts means I will come back! As good as the food was, the service was even better! Friendly (almost playful!) and attentive, our experience was definitely enhanced by our server!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service5

I needed alka seltzer when I got home.

Dined on August 1, 2015

The appetizers and food were below average. The wine was great, though. Definitely never going back, nor will recommend to any friend.

food3
ambience4
service4

small shrimp

vip
Dined on July 25, 2015

Calamari and Salmon good, really small shrimp on Tasso pasta dish. We had good service so I will try again staying away from shrimp.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday celebration location

Dined on July 10, 2015

Reserved table sort of last minute. Staff was very accommodating with handicap accessibility and considerate by placing us in a low traffic area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Food and Service

vip
Dined on June 27, 2015

I would recommend making reservations if you are going in the evening. Food was great. Our server was very nice. Lots of options and unique options to chose from for dinner. We will go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very comfortable seating our party of fo ...

Dined on May 29, 2015

Very comfortable seating our party of four were celebrating a birthday we enjoyed the Mahi-Mahi, fried jumbo shrimp, fried stuffed shrimp & grilled salmon. Wonderful food. The menu is fabulous! We plan on frequenting the River City Seafood restaurant to try some of the other foods on the menu. Great Food! Great Place! Thank you for the wonderful service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Good Food, Great Service

Dined on May 23, 2015

Having dined at this restaurant over a dozen times, we've always enjoyed good food from a menu offering a wide variety of choices (cajun, grilled seafood, fried seafood, steaks, etc.), and excellent service. Of the many attributes that draw us back time and again is River City's bread pudding dessert - the best we have every had, anywhere.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.