Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 4/22
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

River City Seafood and Grill

4.3
239 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Casual
Casual dining seafood restaurant serving the highest quality seafood, steaks, and chicken in a warm, comfortable setting.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 10:45 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm -10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm -11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(210) 233-6790
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charlie Coleman
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Charlie Coleman: (210) 233-6790
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Caterings for any occasion
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Tuscany Cr
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Well lit parking lot and parking garage available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Jazz Music Friday and Saturday nights 7-9 pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 239 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good! Service was good. To go order was not right but did not realize it until I got home. Definitely will revisit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

THIS PLACE IS GREAT! I JUST WISH THIS AND ALL "SEAFOOD" RESTAURANTS WOULD OFFER THEIR HOUSE FISH AS SOMETHING OTHER THAN "CATFISH" AS CATFISH IS NOT SEAFOOD!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Decided to give this place a try because of all the good reviews. We had Friday lunch and was sorely disappointed. My stuffed shrimps was chewy and tasted like it had been reheated a few times...service was good but overall food was a great disappointment I could not finish my $17 plate.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food is usually very good here. Had the grilled salmon - very flavorful & got to take some home. My daughter ate my leftovers!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Good food and portion sizes. Bread pudding was awesome. Service was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Best fried shrimp on the 3rd Coast...certainly in SA!
Get the “basic” real-deal...not the new age coconut !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

We had a wonderful meal at River City! Our eyes were bigger than our stomachs though and since the portions are very generous, we probably could have skipped the salads (had the Coconut shrimp as an appetizer....that is a must order!). Champagne Salmon was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Celebrating 19th birthday of my niece and two nephews (triplets) and one of them must have a gluten free menu. They selected River City Grill

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Food was good. Busy and loud.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

This was our first time and the waitress was awesome at offering suggestions of dishes we might like to try. Atmosphere was casual and we were able to easily hear the conversation at the table. Highly recommend giving River City a try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

It was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Just not our thing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

What a gem! We were staying at a nearby hotel for business and were so happy to find such a great restaurant. At first I thought that they were a chain but they are anything but a chain! The food is great! Some recommendations would be the Coconut Shrimp - yum, Grilled Shrimp, the Catfish (pounded thinly), the Hushpuppies so light and with a small kick to them. I typically do not order fried foods but their method of frying is amazing, no greasy meals and with great flavor. The must have dessert is the bread pudding....even if you don't like bread pudding! The waitress strongly encouraged us to get it and it was AMAZING! Nothing like any bread pudding I've ever had. Very casual atmosphere but definitely great for a date or business meal. We ate there two nights in a row. Both evenings, the owner was on the floor working!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Outstanding food and service! We went for V-Day. They were able to accommodate us with a last minute request (although, our Love for each other is far from being on the spur of the moment). The wait person was the BEST! Attentive and able to meet all of our desires. She had great recommendations for the menu...and nailed it every time! We definitely will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The service was great and so was the food. I will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Waitress was in a very big hurry to get us in and out. Many open tables, not crowded, but she was very persistent and annoying. Entire "dining experience" was 26 minutes, from time we entered to time we left, she gave us a to-go box and said "thanks so much, so amazing to serve you, but it was an act that barely disguised the main message, hurry up and go. Yeah, not so "amazing". Experience was not unlike a fast food place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great venue, friendly staff. Everything seafood wise was fresh and flavorful. Bread pudding was as good as advertised. Pretty solid pricing as well for quality seafood. Will definitely be going back sooner rather than later.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

From the hostess to our waitress and the manager who greeted us the staff was very polite. The food was delicious and we never waited for our drinks. My 4 month old son even enjoyed himself we will be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

River City Grill has been a favorite for years. They have been so gracious when my Mom had her 90th birthday a few years ago and they personally came out to deliver the catered food and to wish my Mom Happy Birthday! She has since passed on but we will always have this special memory. We too are from Louisiana so we consider this restaurant a little piece of home. Their bread pudding is amazing and one of my husbands favorite desserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I was actually surprised the place and food were so good. We actually went because other places were booked. Now my wife and I plan to go back. The service was excellent. The staff was friendly. There is a sports bar in the place, but the place is nice enough for a causal night out. The only thing they should consider is updating the look of the menu. The food pictures on the menu and online don’t do this place justice. The food was excellent. I can’t wait to eat there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

excellent Louisiana gumbo and Fresh bread. Shrimp was fried perfectly but the flour breading could have been more seasoned. We will go back soon to try more of the Cajun offerings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Celebrated girlfriends birthday. We are both dining KETO and waitress was helpful with our selection , taking bread away :). We chose to wait at a table in bar area and decided to stay there, order and enjoy. Lovely evening. Great food

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

I read a lot of great reviews so I've been wanting to visit. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was great but the food unfortunately I wasn't a fan of. Popcorn shrimp batter needed seasoning was very bland tasting, blackend catfish wasn't so blackend, and the crab cake and shrimp pasta dish was very dry. I enjoy the top shelf margarita and the broccoli cheese bites! This was my first and last time going, if i'm going to spend a decent amount of money I rather spend it at Pappadeaux.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellent seafood and service. Attention to detail throught the restaurant. Food served hot and seafood was properly prepared with tha right amount of seasoning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Oysters were a mix of big ones and tiny ones, so it was difficult to judge on the size. The stuffed shrimp was VERY spicy, having jalapanos, which as simply described as "seafood stuffing". Had I know it was going to burn my mouth to death, I wouldn't have order it.

It was almost dead for brunch on a Sunday. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. It was freezing cold though as well.

Being that we are from South Austin, I would not make the drive again, but if you are in the area, it is a nice place to eat now and again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

They provided a decent portion of food, however the food didn’t taste good. Too much seasoning on the blackened catfish. Not enough seasoning on the sides. Ordered the crab cakes, wasted money! It tasted like canned crab meat with olive oil mixed with breadcrumbs, formed into a patty, and baked in a pan. The texture was even less desired. Also ordered the shrimp Louisiana, that was surprisingly great! The service was great. It was my boyfriend’s birthday. We were disappointed that they didn’t have anything special for a person celebrating their birthday. $90 spent on a mediocre dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

River city got mixed review when I was looking in to going here to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Let me say, it was FANTASTIC! The food was incredible, and it was quiet enough to where we could have a conversation. I loved the reservation system they have set up, no calling needed, just go online and pick what time works best. I would recommend this to friends and family because of the quality and service we received.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

First time here. Good food and nice atmosphere. Had the Shrimp Louisiana and Mahi Tacos... loved the shrimp and the tacos were good. A bit too much slaw but nothing detrimental.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Always had good food there. Celebrating my birthday w the family. Had crab cakes & creamed corn. The carrot cake was really good. We ordered salmon, blackened catfish & chicken fingers. All food was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Just good ordinary food prepared in a tasty presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent food a little on the spicy side but otherwise delicious according to my wife the drinks were good, very friendly courteous waitstaff the head chef I assume or maybe he was just the manager kept coming to visit us to ask if we needed anything and if food was prepared to our liking which was nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Service was good, she was knowledgable, and on top of things. Appetizers were the best part of the meal. I had fried shrimp, shrimp was very mushy, possibly not fried enough. Cajun pasta noodle plate was way to hot and our guest ate less than 1/2. Another guest asked for a plate that on the menu originally had catfish, he asked to change the fish to talapia. This plate had what looked similar to tilapia, but had a strong fishy taste, and when tasted by others, thought it was still catfish. The only way I would return is for drinks and appetizers, won't eat dinner there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 10, 2017

This was a great place to lunch. Staff is courteous and friendly. Prompt and the food is very good. Many things on the menu many options all seem good. Not very expensive place to visit and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 8, 2017

This is the second time my wife and I have had dinner at the River City Grill. Both times, we have felt the food was average. I had salad and soup this time. The crab bisque was quite good, but the salad with shrimp was a garden-variety mixed salad with four tasteless shrimp on the side. There is little that sets the restaurant, its menu, and the presentation of its fare off from its competition.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

We have been there four times and each time we have had a great experience. If you like great seafood and a great atmosphere, head over to River city seafood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 29, 2017

The food was OK. It was not the best place I have eaten but definitely not the worst.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Our service was wonderfull! Food nice and hot! For a Friday great place as you can make a reservation!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 1, 2017

The quality of food was not worth the value. Taste was flat out bland. For being in the location of Stone Oak I was hoping for an excellent great tasting food experience . I will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 1, 2017

I expected a completely different meal from the reviews. We ordered oysters to start; when they came, they were frying oysters. Raw, they tasted like grit on the shells even with Tabasco.

I ordered Mahi Mahi and it was very dry, so I just didn't eat it; my husband had peel-and-eat shrimp, and those were actually really good.

The service was nice, though. Our server was attentive and cordial.

All in all, though, I would rather go to Sea Island and save $70.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Food and service was great! The Sunday evening we went it was quiet and six of us were able to carry on conversation with no distractions from others. Would recommend it if you are in the Stone Oak area of San Antonio!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6