About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: 8883383996

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Marquise Brooklyn Bridge
Bone Marrow Duchess Potato
Braised Oxtail With Homemade Tortellini And Fresh Truffle Shavings
Amuse Bouche
Niman Ranch Strip Steak With Red Wine Mushroom Marmalade
Milk Chocolate Souffle
Tuna Tartare
Soft Egg Ravioli With Black Truffle
pistachio semifreddo
Mushroom Wellington
Smoked Salmon On Belini With Caviar
Gazpacho With Yellow Watermelon And Feta
Chocolate Brooklyn Bridge
Manhattan Bridge Chocolate Dessert
Lobster
Branzino
Sorbet
Ravioli
Hawaiian Marlin With Mango
gaspacho
Duck Breast With Winter Risotto
Foie Gras
Sautéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Maine Lobster Special
Shrimp
Lamb Meatballs
Lamb
Pistachio
Branzino Fillet
Wild Boar Bolognese
Fresh Mozzarella And Sweet Potato Salad
Duck Breast With Baby Bok Choy And Carrots
Apple Merengue And Sorbet
Crab Bisque
Crisp Duck Breast
Chocolate Marquise
Salmon On Corn Bellini
Taylor Bay Scallop Ceviche
steak tartare
New York Cut Sirloin
Crèam Brûlèe
Almond tart
Melon Salad
Crispy Duck Breast
Whole Wheat Pasta
Grilled Atlantic Swordfish Paillard
Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Scallop Ceviche

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Brooklyn
Best Service
Brooklyn
Best Ambiance
Brooklyn
4 More
Romantic
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
American
Brooklyn
Most Booked
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in DUMBO / Vinegar Hill ›

scenic view (354)
special occasion (347)
romantic (333)
See All
fit for foodies (174)
notable wine list (134)
neighborhood gem (80)
great for lunch (58)
great for brunch (53)
hot spot (49)
great for outdoor dining (42)
good for groups (36)
late-night find (26)
vibrant bar scene (19)
kid-friendly (5)
business meals (1)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a perfect place for a lunch date ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

This is a perfect place for a lunch date and a dinner date. I was amazed by the view of manhattan and also the service. The whole restaurant and its premises are covered with flowers and plants and it is beautiful. We had lunch so we got to see Manhattan from the other side and it was beautiful! I had the salmon plate and my boyfriend had eggs and we had a few drinks. The server took pictures of us and was polite and the food was good. I highly recommend this place for a date

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fine but nothing special. ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was fine but nothing special. It's hard to mess up oysters and the steak was over cooked. The cocktails were delicious and the view was very nice.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This Restaurant has a spectacular view! ...

Dined 4 days ago

This Restaurant has a spectacular view!! The Setting is very beautiful and the food is excellent Had a nice lunch

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had travelled to New York to celebrat ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had travelled to New York to celebrate our birthdays and a visit to the River Cafe was on our must do list. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and would highly recommend it for the exceptional food, service and location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My initial reaction is, "This is the bes ...

Dined 5 days ago

My initial reaction is, "This is the best way to start off a lovely and charming Friday in the city of Brooklyn!" The weather was perfect, the botanical scene quintessential, the picture perfect view of Manhattan on the waterfront with the larger than life Brooklyn Bridge that makes you want to reach out and touch it from your seat at River Cafe!🌉 I highly recommend ordering your favorite drink to enjoy with the breathtaking view! The dishes we ordered were delicioso! All of the staff are great and very attentive to your every need! I will be back again to bring my husband!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Good food, good wine, good atmosphere an ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Good food, good wine, good atmosphere and good view of Manhattan. Disappointed with service though as we didn't get wine until half-way into each dish and some other minor things which would have been fine in less expensive resturants, but we expected better from this one.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Beautiful setting, no atmosphere.. Stuff ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Beautiful setting, no atmosphere.. Stuffy staff, looking down on their guests. Poor Really disappointed, expensive considering there was no alcohol.... Would say to friends to visit for the views but to expect a very old fashioned approach... Smiles are free

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My cousin and I had reservations for din ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

My cousin and I had reservations for dinner and decided to go with the 6 course chef special tasting menu. We were impressed! All of the dishes were so tasty and beautifully presented. On top of that, we received complimentary tastings of various wines paired with each of the plates and even had sparkling and port with our desserts. We left happy and very full. What makes the dining experience even more special is the beautiful view of the skyline of Manhattan. A great place to celebrate a special occasion or even just to celebrate making it through Monday! Make sure to check the dress code (especially for men). Just go! You won't regret it :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we were celebrating our 35th wedding ann ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and the river cafe was the perfect spot. the ambiance is special the food and service were excellent. the views of the wayter and new york city were special. i highly recommend this restaurant for sspecial occasions

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic evening for 4 of us, celebrati ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic evening for 4 of us, celebrating 50th birthdays. Service was excellent as soon as we arrived, we were given a table at the window to enjoy the Manhattan skyline lighting up, and then had a true feast of food and wine. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

From the start to the end it's an amazin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

From the start to the end it's an amazing ambience, de lights that receive you to the view where you eat... Everything is perfect. My only Complain is that the food should be more careful selected. The desserts delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The view of the East River, the Brooklyn ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The view of the East River, the Brooklyn Bridge, and Lower Manhattan is exceptional. The food was less exhilarating, though some of the dishes did match the surroundings. The $125 prix fixe menu was overpriced (as were the wines), but your not paying for that alone.

Tags: special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was by far the most enjoyable meal ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This was by far the most enjoyable meal I can recall. The exterior gardens are lovely and invite you into a memorable dining experience. Staff was wonderful. Amazing view. We cannot wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have brought groups and my wife here se ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Have brought groups and my wife here several times over 30 yrs. Great dining experiences.. However the fixed menu price makes your restaurant over priced which greatly limits my familys number of visits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Way overpriced with a table in the back ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Way overpriced with a table in the back of the room.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was as spectacular as the view.

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was as spectacular as the view.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always fabulous....food service and ambi ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Always fabulous....food service and ambiance !

food5
ambience5
service5

Must visit on a New York trip

Dined on June 14, 2016

Must visit on a New York trip

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food, the ambiance, the views were ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food, the ambiance, the views were all wonderful. The service could have been better, given the prices. But we did really like the food and found it a wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary. The Brooklyn Bridge dessert was a special treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

so far our best Restaurant experiance it ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

so far our best Restaurant experiance it was a great evening

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food was fantastic.River C ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

As always the food was fantastic.River City is one of my favorite resturantsand the view can not be beat. Always look forward to the beautiful flowers on each table...but our table did not have them? I asked way and was ignored. The trio of Madernia wine was great for desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Lovely setting- food is good to very goo ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Lovely setting- food is good to very good - host was rude and snobby - too bad

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great View. Very nice place. The crowd ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great View. Very nice place. The crowd is middle aged and the dress code passe'.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 34th wedding ann ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary. River Cafe was outstanding in every way. Food, service, view, recommendations on the menu were all executed at the highest level. Sommelier was very helpful picking the perfect burgundy. Waiter understood the pace we wanted right away. We were never rushed. Highly recommended for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to river cafe for my friends big ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went to river cafe for my friends big birthday😊It had been recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed!The location was fantastic and as it was her dream to cross the Brooklyn Bridge this was perfect with the most amazing foot and view. We had a fabulous day thank you for great service and food....!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful dining experience for a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience for a special occasion. The staff made us feel very special. The food was outstanding. The staff was outstanding. The view from our table was outstanding. Can't say enough about this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A flawless night. Outstanding food and s ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

A flawless night. Outstanding food and service. And the view is unique.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our visit to the River Café will be memo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our visit to the River Café will be memorable. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed everything from ambience to the great food. we were fortunate to be seated at a scenic table. Thank You River Café!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going to the River Cafe is always wonder ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Going to the River Cafe is always wonderful. The hospitality is amazing! There is nowhere better in NYC, to my mind. They welcome you like royalty and the service is perfect. I can't think of a more splendid place. Thanks River Cafe, you make me so happy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food would definit ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic service and food would definitely go back and also happy to recommend to anyone heading to New York or Brooklyn.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were superbly looked after from the m ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were superbly looked after from the moment we arrived. A wonderful place to spend a special birthday.

Tags: special occasions, lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every respect . Superb fo ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding in every respect . Superb food, atmosphere , service and great piano

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Diving Experience.. Ever

Dined on June 11, 2016

My boyfriend stumbled upon the River Café on Food Network which featured their famous "Brooklyn Bridge Dessert," and we decided to go for our 1 year anniversary. From start to finish it was INCREDIBLE. We arrived early for our reservation and had a few drinks at the bar until the hostess brought us to our table. Our experience from start to finish was truly unparalleled. The service was wonderful, the view was outstanding the food was absolutely delicious. Thank you River Café for a anniversary we won't forget and for becoming home to our new anniversary tradition. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat customer

Dined on June 10, 2016

I have been dining at The River Cafe for 25 years and every time I am in New York it is the first Restuarant I book. It is the dining highlight of my year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive, but if you're looking to ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Very expensive, but if you're looking to celebrate a special event with someone special, and you know what you're getting into, it's worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a thank you to all of you - everything u ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

a thank you to all of you - everything up to expectations

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Went here with my parents and had such a great brunch. The view of the Brooklyn Bridge and downtown Manhattan is such a great backdrop for it too. The food was amazing and the service was on point. Would highly recommend!

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exclusive and exquisite

Dined on June 5, 2016

A fantastic experience for any traveller looking to enjoy fine dining in a great location right under the Brooklyn bridge. We enjoyed a view next to the river while a pianist played at the back of the restaurant. The hosts were a delight to speak to and the food was something to remember. Overall a lovely experience and highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice experience, beautiful view and expe ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice experience, beautiful view and expensive. What else do you expect in NYC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Anniversary!!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Celebrating our 32nd, the staff at the River View made this so memorable. From the view to the food to the service. It really was a perfect evening and the staff made it so.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.