About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: 8883383996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Marquise Brooklyn Bridge - River Cafe
Bone Marrow Duchess Potato - River Cafe
Niman Ranch Strip Steak With Red Wine Mushroom Marmalade - River Cafe
Duck Breast With Winter Risotto - River Cafe
Foie Gras - River Cafe
Smoked Salmon On Belini With Caviar - River Cafe
Soft Egg Ravioli With Black Truffle - River Cafe
Tuna Tartare - River Cafe
Milk Chocolate Souffle - River Cafe
pistachio semifreddo - River Cafe
Sautéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras - River Cafe
Gazpacho With Yellow Watermelon And Feta - River Cafe
Chocolate Brooklyn Bridge - River Cafe
Mushroom Wellington - River Cafe
Maine Lobster Special - River Cafe
Shrimp - River Cafe
Lamb Meatballs - River Cafe
Sorbet - River Cafe
Branzino - River Cafe
Lobster - River Cafe
Branzino Fillet - River Cafe
Lamb - River Cafe
Pistachio - River Cafe
Amuse Bouche - River Cafe
Wild Boar Bolognese - River Cafe
Fresh Mozzarella And Sweet Potato Salad - River Cafe
Ravioli - River Cafe
Duck Breast With Baby Bok Choy And Carrots - River Cafe
Chocolate Marquise - River Cafe
Apple Merengue And Sorbet - River Cafe
Crab Bisque - River Cafe
Crisp Duck Breast - River Cafe
Salmon On Corn Bellini - River Cafe
Taylor Bay Scallop Ceviche - River Cafe
Braised Oxtail With Homemade Tortellini And Fresh Truffle Shavings - River Cafe
Manhattan Bridge Chocolate Dessert - River Cafe
gaspacho - River Cafe
Hawaiian Marlin With Mango - River Cafe
steak tartare - River Cafe
Almond tart - River Cafe
New York Cut Sirloin - River Cafe
Crèam Brûlèe - River Cafe
Melon Salad - River Cafe
Whole Wheat Pasta - River Cafe
Grilled Atlantic Swordfish Paillard - River Cafe
Crispy Duck Breast - River Cafe
Hudson Valley Foie Gras - River Cafe
Scallop Ceviche - River Cafe

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Brooklyn
Best Service
Brooklyn
Best Ambiance
Brooklyn
4 More
Romantic
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
American
Brooklyn
Most Booked
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in DUMBO / Vinegar Hill ›

Scenic View (288)
Special Occasion (274)
Romantic (258)
See All
Notable Wine List (118)
Fit for Foodies (111)
Waterfront (79)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Great for Brunch (52)
Good for a Date (51)
Hot Spot (50)
Great for Lunch (49)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Historic (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Business Meals (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Live Music (13)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There is nothing better in New York. Fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

There is nothing better in New York. Fantastic food and service. Memorable is the only word to describe this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute fantastic place. Dining with ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

An absolute fantastic place. Dining with the river flowing outside, and the skyline in the background is amazing. The food and wine was fabulous. The staff was friendly and professional. We walked across the bridge before the meal, and I will recommend the walk if the weather is nice.

A favorite, we booked the table from Norway to be sure we got a table during our stay in New York

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is fantastic and the view ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere is fantastic and the view absolutely incredible and really worth a visit for a special occasion

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my fourth time at the River Caf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my fourth time at the River Cafe and the service is always excellent. The staff is top notch! They have made our special occasions very special.

The food is very good and beautifully plated.

My only suggestion is that they not remove the plates between courses so quickly because we felt a little rushed.

The restaurant is beautiful and elegant with a spectacular view.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful View!!!! I loved my dinner, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful View!!!! I loved my dinner, it was a 3 course pre-fixed meal, it was on the expensive side, but very worth it. I thought everything was great, but I thought the service was just average. Took a while to get our check, never came back to check on meals, the bus boys were great, but our actual server was just OK. For the prices being charged, i thought the service should of been much better. Cocktails at the bar were really not great. A little disappointed. Had to send back my first drink, and really didn't like the second one either. Also they never acknowledged my daughters birthday!!!! I put a note on open table, and they never put a candle on dessert or said Happy Birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. We all are v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service. We all are very satisfied.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved my first visit to the river café ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

I loved my first visit to the river café. However I would suggest that your staff introduce themselves when they're serving you especially the main waiter. As I like to know on a personal level who I'm dealing with and I had to ask a both of our young gentleman. Otherwise I would have no complaints . The items on the menu the day if our visit menu were delicious - the service spectacular - the view out of sight and it was an overall awesome experience. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was stunning, and the food was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The view was stunning, and the food was exceptional. It was a perfect destination for elegant dining in New York City.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is definitely one of the most roman ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is definitely one of the most romantic restaurants in NYC, the food and the view are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To many crew. To Cold airconditioning o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

To many crew. To Cold airconditioning over the heads. Overpriced ! Please be carefull with crédit cards from europ. Pay cash . M'y car was blocced because them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Unique setting. The staff was meticulous ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Unique setting. The staff was meticulous and attentive. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have not been back to The River Cafe s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I have not been back to The River Cafe since before Hurricane Sandy. It felt very good to be back! It is beautifully restored. The service, food, view and ambiance are all lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The temperature inside was too low for l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The temperature inside was too low for ladies with thin dresses, and I was freezing. We had a great meal, but it should be able to deselect f.eks. dessert, and that it can be reflected in the price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The River Cafe was excellent, but pricey ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The River Cafe was excellent, but pricey (which I knew). Food, service,ambiance , were excellent. A very romantic location on a clear day or night.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very lovely grounds and restaurant, exqu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very lovely grounds and restaurant, exquisite service, extraordinary food. We loved our experience and recommend everyone to put this restaurant on their "to do" list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner which was a special o ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Anniversary dinner which was a special occasion and River Cafe did not disappoint.

Great food, drinks, atmosphere and not forgetting that view!!

It is a must see and food heaven destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing setting right on the water and w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing setting right on the water and watching the lights of Manhatten come on was very special. Food and service excellent. A walk back over Brooklyn Bridge was a wonderful end to a perfect evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING! We went for my birthday, I don ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

AMAZING! We went for my birthday, I don't like gifts I like memories and this was a great one. The food was fantastic, even my 15yr old love every bite, and the VIEW!!! The staff was amazing, made my daughter a signature drink after ordering a kiddy cocktail, she was very happy. We all wanted everything so we all picked different things and shared, that is the way to go for sure. We even got to watch the president land across the river in his helicopter motorcade on his way to the UN. We will be back for sure

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the River Cafe is simpl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything about the River Cafe is simply sexy. The botanical garden outside, the cobblestone ground, the terrific view, the excellent customer service. A wonderful experience from start to finish. It is not for the faint of pockets. But well worth the money.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Been to the River Café several times, fi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Been to the River Café several times, first time it didn't hit the home run. Seating for two is wedged in with other tables for two, where your neighbor at times would actually make contact. Grilled octopus appetizer was cold inside, but date loved her Duck, nicely cooked and well presented. I personally just had an off night. Size of staff is impressive, but I thought it was obvious their goal is to turn the tables. Pace of dinner doesn't support an important date night, but the atmosphere of lights and water is impressive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

we had a very romantic dinner celebratin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

we had a very romantic dinner celebrating aniversary. everybody seemed to be celebrating something special. very high value but it worst it for an aniversary ocassion. meat is great. fixed prices only. no "a la carte" dinner. you have to choose from a 3 steps or 6 steps menu. very noisy but nice ambiance and a great view. specially if you get a by the window table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing! Best meal we've had in a while ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing! Best meal we've had in a while and we eat out a lot.wouldnt change a thing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

River Cafe was a great dining experience ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

River Cafe was a great dining experience. Although very pricey, it was worth the money for a very special occasion. The only thing that marred the experience was a very loud group a couple of tables away. Luckily they left when we were about mid-meal.

I got a reservation very late, so we were understandably seated at a table in the back of the dining room (away from the view). As soon as a window table opened up, however, we were re-seated. Very thoughtful and an example of exemplary service. We had the 6 course Chef's selections with wine pairings. The food was outstanding, presentation was meticulous, and the wine pairings were wonderful, and presented with as much info as we cared to know about the wineries and regions. There were plenty of people around to meet very need, but they were extremely careful about not invading the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an amazing time. We were seated n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an amazing time. We were seated near the window with an amazing view.

All of the wait staff was exceptional. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most beautiful view of the skyline f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The most beautiful view of the skyline from the dining room. This is your go to restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really impressive place. Not cheap but g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Really impressive place. Not cheap but good value for money. We had to wait for the table more than 30 minutes so they invited us to a Champagne glass. Service excellent and excellent food. The views are gorgeous. Will come back for sure

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing 4 star experience The most beau ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing 4 star experience

The most beautiful dining room in NYC(but Brooklyn looking at a water and cityscape

Impeccable service and food

It makes an ordinary Thursday night into a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views but overpriced ... The food ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great views but overpriced ... The food was good but for the price you pay I would expect better

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I was recommended to go by a good friend ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was recommended to go by a good friend for the spectacular view and dining experience. Both were spot on and it was my wife's birthday and well worth the treat.

Everything was great and the changing skyline of NYC at dusk was amazing.

My only criticism really is not pointed at this restaurant in particular but for a very up market restaurant the tables were very close together and you felt on top of your neighbours. Secondly, the maitre d's clear remit is to get us in and get us out as "fast as possible " which, for what we were paying was very unfortunate and unnecessary. However, being broad shouldered Brits we ignored them and continued at our pace!!

We left though having had excellent food, excellent views and happy!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Attended on my own.Wanted to experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Attended on my own.Wanted to experience River Café for myself as heard good things about the restaurant.The seating is such that I was able to chat to both side tables so never felt self conscious..the calibre of the waiters was high..very informative.. were very formal ( on the same level as the Savoy in London!!) ...the little tasters in between courses were superb..The food itself was out of the ordinary..Table flowers were exquisite....Only problem for me was that I don't ever eat that much..i.e 3 courses.. otherwise a magical experience that was very special ..had great fun ..loved the location,scenery and company.. so be aware it is more upmarket dining experience and the impact on your purse and dress code reflects this.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, People Watching, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fantastic except the pair ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything was fantastic except the pairing with oysters and sherry.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

i was visiting nyc for a week , i heard ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

i was visiting nyc for a week , i heard so much about this place so i went there with my dad and my sis for dinner.

yes, the price is expensive, but. totally worth the price. . great service , great food,

great view..

lovely! next time i want to have a lunch there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a very expensive meal---but exc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was a very expensive meal---but exceptional in all areas. The food was great-as was the hospitality, service and ambience. I would totally recommend it to another, or return or another occassion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant trades on its excellent ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This restaurant trades on its excellent shoreline location but charges too much for the experience. We were told the menu was a 3-course set price only to discover that the dessert was extra! The supercilious smile on the maitre's face said it all. Finally, there is a hint of the musty about this place & one wonders if it will fade quite soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful meal and wonderful service. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Wonderful meal and wonderful service. I ordered the lobster, and my friend had steak. Both were as good as it gets. Same with appetizers, dessert, and wine selection. And the view! Yes!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second meal at The River Ca ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was our second meal at The River Cafe and it was excellent in all respects. Wonderful food , beautiful setting and excellent service. A friend and I come to NYC every year for a 'girls trip' and we discovered the River Cafe last year and just ate there on Monday. Every bit as great as last year. We will return next years for certain.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service - have visited this ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Exceptional service - have visited this restaurant twice before when I've been in New York and is a firm favourite which never disappoints. Will continue to recommend to friends and will be back when I return to NYC. A real gem of Brooklyn with the most attentive staff. A lovely evening made even lovelier :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place. Small portions, interesting ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great place. Small portions, interesting food. Very stuffy but in a good way. Quaint nice and old fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good atmosphere directly at the waterfro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

good atmosphere directly at the waterfront with a great view over the eastriver on Manhattan's skyline.

Restaurant is not really 'cost saving' 😆 but for special occassions - why not.

After dinner a 30 minute march over the Brooklynbridge back to Mannhattan is a perfect 'dessert'.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The view is great and food is good. Ho ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The view is great and food is good. However, the A/C was too strong and not very comfortable

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.