Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About River Cafe

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is always available to guests with reservations.

If you plan to bring a car to The River Café, please call us to find out if parking is available for the date of your visit.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street
2 or 3 train to Clark Street
F train to York Street
Bus #B25 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room at The River Café is uniquely capable of offering your guests an unsurpassed setting for private dining with spectacular views overlooking New York Harbor, The Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline.

Inquiries about special events or corporate dinners (30 to 100 guests) are handled by Luke Vossen, the Director of Private Events, who will assist in planning every detail. For additional information contact luke@rivercafe.com

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: (888) 338-3996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (216)
Special Occasion (198)
Scenic View (197)
See All
Waterfront (192)
Good for Anniversaries (158)
Good for a Date (146)
Good for Birthdays (107)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Notable Wine List (79)
Worth the Drive (68)
Tasting Menu (65)
Quiet Conversation (62)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Cozy (56)
Authentic (44)
Historic (40)
Business Meals (36)
Live Music (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Fun (20)
People Watching (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Healthy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
6078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great and the view was amazing. But really, they need to lose the old school snobbishness and need for a jacket for men. It's silly in this day and age. We saw someone in flip flops and shorts. Focus on the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

An amazing venue for our first night in New York! It is going to be hard to beat the venue or the view. The staff are superb and the food delicious and attractive with only the best ingredients. The turn around is very fast, but you have 100% whilst you are there. Best to book a cab if you have a soecific time you would like to leave as it was a bit tricky locating a metres one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Laura and I so enjoy dining at The River Cafe. It's a pleasure to dine at a restaurant with a spectacular of the lower Manhattan skyline, great service, wonderful and delicious food presentations in an environment where your fellow patrons are nicely dressed. We highly recommend The River Cafe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing view and very classy restaurant. However, Waiters are too much in a rush.We were served a complimentary 'palate pleaser', 10 mins later our champagne as aperitifs arrived. We did not finish the aperitif and the starter arrived. We asked to wait 5 minutes for the main course, as a result, they kept the fish on the stove and it arrived over cooked. We did not feel like complaining because the staff do not put guests comfortable. When going for dinner in a fancy restaurant, we expected to relax and enjoy the moment and the view. We were served and ate in 55mins, with a bill of 500usd. The service is not genuine and very rigid. Staff should relax a bit and take themselves less seriously to make the experience enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great yearly dinner in élégant atmosphere.
Won't wait 1 year to be back...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Expensive but well worth it. The service is truly outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

The River Cafe has always offered a unique dining experience. Understated elegance, beautifully prepared food and flawless service have been hallmarks of this restaurant.
We recently enjoyed breakfast and found the menu to be imaginative. The River Cafe is not to be missed when in New York, not only for the culinary experience but also for the magnificent views of Manhattan.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

INSANELY EXPENSIVE. They have pre fix menu only

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful experience all around!
Perfect place for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

A dream come true,under THE Bridge,a perfect evening on the East River, four minutts from Wall Street to DUMBO ! Classic food and outstanding service. We enjoyed every minute in this lovely garden with vue to the Manhattan Skyline. Value for money, AND the bill was everthing included,opposite to the test of New York restaurants !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Went expecting an awesome meal. Not so, was disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The River Café is always an amazing experience! Thank you ...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent service and food quality, highly recommended

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrated my wife’s birthday last night and were treated to a truly memorable experience. From the moment we entered the drive into the beautiful garden and flower adorned entrance, we were taken in to a magical oasis. We were warmly greeted and quickly escorted to our table in the lovely appointed dining room and of course the spectacular view of downtown. Edmund and his team were very attentive, knowledgeable and made us feel so welcome. Chef Steelman’s cuisine was spectacular, beautifully presented, perfectly presented and just delicious! Can’t wait to return for another fine meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had an exceptional brunch, a very special place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Had brunch here. A really beautiful special occasion place. Great view, good food, excellent service and very nice ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to the restaurant for dinner and was presented for a fixed 3 or 6 dish dinner for a fixed price of 125 to 155! When we got the bill 18% gratitude was included. As a customer I like to decide the gratitude myself. For the price we paid we expected better food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

i had a wonderful anniversary dinner at river cafe. The staff were extremely attentive and willing to go the extra mile to ensure we had a great dinner! The food was delicious! Only downside is how expensive it is.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything about the dining at The River Cafe is a special event. And everyone has always been especially welcoming to all of our guests. The fragrant flower filled entrance, the spectacular view, the presentation of fine cuisine and wine and the hospitality of the staff makes this is an experience to remember.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Healthy, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance of the River Cafe; however, the two of us sat outside and the music speaker was right above us. It was noisy enough that we had problems having a normal conversation.
Food very overpriced. Really - $7.50 for a cup of coffee???

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for our anniversary and we can't stop raving about it! The food and service were exceptional. When either of us looked like we were getting up to use the restroom, someone came over to assist us in moving the table. Also, every staff member knew it was our anniversary and gave us well wishes. We went at 6:30 and stayed till 9:30 so we got to enjoy the wonderful sunset on the water. We got the Brooklyn Bridge as one of our desserts and it was beautiful. As we were getting the check we asked if we could have the page inside the menu that said the date to remember the occasion and two minutes later a manager came over with the full menu that he had just printed for us in an envelope. The complimentary valet parking allowed us to walk around the scenic DUMBO area after, care-free. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Haven't been there for over 20 years and was pleased to see it is still a great place to eat. Food was outstanding.....and service couldn't have been friendlier. I took my husband for his birthday - we had a great night. I will be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wonderful romantic spot: great for special occasions and family get-togethers. My husband and I celebrated my graduation from Law School and it was unforgettable. The views of the FiDi are spectacular, the service is outstanding and the food is five starts. Very special spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

It's amazing experience in New York. I recommend. The best beautiful view, I am in love with this placa.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Beautiful view with perfectly prepared food and wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excelent views of Manhattan while enjoying an elegant, distinguished service and food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The River Cafe offers an amazing view of Manhattan across the water--make sure you come after dusk to really enjoy the lit skyline. Our party tried all three fish entrees--sea bass, halibut and branzino--all were excellent, especially the branzino prepared with chorizo (not overpowering) and a succulent crust. Excellent wine list available largely featuring French varietals, though an adequate sampling of domestic wines was available.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A Nice restaurant with a fantastic nightview on Manhattan but a littel overpriced

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Magical evening all around! Have been waiting for many years to come here and did not disappoint.

One of - if not the - best meals I've ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excelent view and incredible Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Took my wife here to celebrate her birthday following a recommendation from a friend. I managed to get a booking a week before the day, but only at 10pm. I wanted a late evening booking so we could enjoy the view, but the downside to this was that it felt like the waiters were in a rush to take our order/ clear up the tables (to the point where we had to tell them to either wait on a couple of occasions, as we hadn't actually finished our dish) - so we felt a bit rushed, and weren't fully able to savour the moment (the booking was on a Monday at 10pm). Maybe that experience was just us. Aside from that, the quality of food was amazing, the view of lower manhattan - spectacular. We would definitely recommend this for a date/ special occasion. They even personalised a menu for my wife with a message - which was a wonderful surprise. It is a bit on the pricier side - minimum bill would be approx $125 per person (excluding drinks).

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The best food ever Very nice I would very recommend

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Family Style, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at The River Cafe and highly recommend it. The service and food (my wife's and my main course selections were sea bass and branzino) were outstanding as were the appetizers and desserts. That plus the beauty of the restaurant and the East River view made for a most memorable celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The River Cafe sits under the Brooklyn Bridge right on the water with great views of Manhattan and the new World Tower. The menu isn't huge but the offerings are varied giving a great set of options. During the week they are only open for breakfast and dinner but have a lunch on the weekends as well as Sunday brunch. Dinner and lunch are fixed price appetizer and entree. We had breakfast and both choices were delicious. My omelette was perfectly cooked and my fiance had the avacado toast with poached eggs, also delicious. Highly recommend the food as well as is the restaurant itself.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A must for anyone in NYC who wants a great experience that they will always treasure. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable and the view was breathtaking Thank you River Cafe staff for creating a moment that will last.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good detail to change us to a closer window line. Too much noisy, ir was full of people celebrating and the ambiance was not as romantic as expected.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best place To enjoy NYC view.Great piano player.Very good service and food. A bit pricy in a fair cost-benefit apraisal.
Could improve noise reduction Of main room.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Experience started a tad off foot as we had reservation for 9pm and seated until 9:30; in their deffense we requested table near the window. However, after that it was all uphill. Service is good from the waiters but impeccable from the captain. The sommelier suggested great wine pairing per plate and as my eife is pregnant he was great pointing out they do half pouring by the glass.
Afterwards we had an unconventional request and they were very kind in accomodating it.
Food was really good. We had softshell crab and king shrimp as starters, both amazing. Main was the duck breast and lamb and also both cook perfectly.
The seevice is the highlight of this place; they know they're for special ocassion and know how to make it happen

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The River Cafe was an amazing experience. We were four friends from Norway celebrating a 40th birthday. We were seated next to the window and had a spectacular view of the Manhattan skyline. The service, atmosphere and the food was fantastic. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Gorgeous location and restaurant. A bit pricey, but great for special occasions and if someone else is paying. Had a lovely time celebrating my sons birthday. Food was wonderful and the atmosphere is very romantic. Go at night when all the outside lights are on.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.