About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: 8883383996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Marquise Brooklyn Bridge
Braised Oxtail With Homemade Tortellini And Fresh Truffle Shavings
Bone Marrow Duchess Potato
Amuse Bouche
Niman Ranch Strip Steak With Red Wine Mushroom Marmalade
Duck Breast With Winter Risotto
Foie Gras
Smoked Salmon On Belini With Caviar
Soft Egg Ravioli With Black Truffle
Tuna Tartare
Milk Chocolate Souffle
pistachio semifreddo
Sautéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Gazpacho With Yellow Watermelon And Feta
Chocolate Brooklyn Bridge
Mushroom Wellington
Maine Lobster Special
Shrimp
Lamb Meatballs
Sorbet
Branzino
Lobster
Branzino Fillet
Lamb
Pistachio
Wild Boar Bolognese
Fresh Mozzarella And Sweet Potato Salad
Ravioli
Duck Breast With Baby Bok Choy And Carrots
Chocolate Marquise
Apple Merengue And Sorbet
Crab Bisque
Crisp Duck Breast
Salmon On Corn Bellini
Taylor Bay Scallop Ceviche
Manhattan Bridge Chocolate Dessert
gaspacho
Hawaiian Marlin With Mango
steak tartare
Almond tart
New York Cut Sirloin
Crèam Brûlèe
Melon Salad
Whole Wheat Pasta
Grilled Atlantic Swordfish Paillard
Crispy Duck Breast
Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Scallop Ceviche

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Brooklyn
Best Food
Brooklyn
Best Service
Brooklyn
5 More
Best Ambiance
Brooklyn
Romantic
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
American
Brooklyn
Most Booked
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in DUMBO / Vinegar Hill ›

Scenic View (315)
Special Occasion (305)
Romantic (288)
See All
Fit for Foodies (146)
Notable Wine List (124)
Neighborhood Gem (78)
Great for Brunch (53)
Great for Lunch (49)
Hot Spot (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Late-night Find (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I brought a friend here to celebrate her ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

I brought a friend here to celebrate her birthday. What a wonderful choice! The restaurant and the grounds surrounding it are beautiful. The wait staff was not only friendly & professional but one of the staff went out of his way to bring a foot stool for my friend to rest her leg on - she was recovering from knee replacement surgery. He was very sweet & handsome, too. The food was excellent, including the size of the portions. One could expect tiny portions, based on the price and atmosphere. However, my friend, who ordered the steak, took home a doggy bag because of the large size of the portion. We had a beautiful lunch at The River Cafe. I look forward to dinner there. The scenery must be especially fantastic at night.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely space and overall experience, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely space and overall experience, but I found a hair in my lobster, and then after looking further (low light) found another one. I didn't make a scene so didn't tell anyone but it definitely made me lose my appetite thinking about how many more I may have already eaten. In a place where dinner is over $300 my expectation is that food is scrutinized a bit more than that. Hair happens but it was a bit gross.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambience is tops in NYC. Service was out ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ambience is tops in NYC. Service was outstanding!

Would like to see a vegetable and or starch with the entree.

What they serve with the entree is not enough to justify each of those items. Highly recommend for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Simply outstanding food, service and set ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Simply outstanding food, service and setting. Undoubtedly one of NY's finest restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife's Birthday celebration she loved th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wife's Birthday celebration she loved the view and on water experience. Recommend to impress a date or special day. Cheers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food, service and view was outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food, service and view was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great view of Manhattan. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great view of Manhattan. Must order the Duck or Steak for main course. The Foi and Steak tartare for appetizers are impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

very special restaurant for New Yorkers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

very special restaurant for New Yorkers and out-of-towners. Superb though pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a classy spot, gentlemen be sure ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

always a classy spot, gentlemen be sure to wear a jacket! been here for a few special occasions, right across from where i was married so great for anniversaries.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Historic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Since there are few restaurants in NYC o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Since there are few restaurants in NYC on the water, the River Cafe is already unique. Yet the service, cuisine, ambiance and the view make it one of a kind.All staff are top notch and not stuffy but very friendly and fun. People are quite dressed up as a jacket is required for men. Tables by the window and the water are incredibly romantic. This is definitely a special occasion restaurant and it has been kept this way for years with the same wonderful live pianist who can play anything you come up with. Arrive a little early for a sunset drink at the small bar. You won't be disappointed. By the way, it is a haven for those you need gluten-free. The entire dessert menu uses GF ingredients and the staff is extremely knowledgeable at what might need to be done to make your dinner choices safe and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely stunning restaurant, first ti ...

 
 (Glasgow)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Absolutely stunning restaurant, first time in New York and booked the River Cafe for a special birthday, the whole place just oozes class, well worth a visit...

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasions, Outdoor Eating, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and decor are the main attribut ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The view and decor are the main attributes of the river cafe. The service has nothing comparable to Michelin starred restaurants, and dishes were good but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent dinner with friends; could not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent dinner with friends; could not have asked for a more attentive staff including valet; food and presentation outstanding; will go back again soon

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent with the ...

 
 (東京)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food and service were excellent with the nice view of Manhayten.

Only the air conditioning was too cold . It was difficult to enjoy our food as we were so freezing.

After we asked them to control the temperature, they stopped and started often, but once the air conditioning was turned on, freezing again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, service and views. There i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing food, service and views.

There is nothing bad I can say about this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced for diner. Tables for 2 are ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overpriced for diner. Tables for 2 are at the back with very limited waterfront view. AC works in cycles so it gets too cold and then too hot. My husband lend me his jacket as I was directly under the AC draft and felt cold, he was told to put his jacket back on and I was given a shawl which wasn't enough to keep me warm. Tables are too close, I was able to listen to conversations on the two next to ours. All of this makes the place not up to what it pretends to be.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

After having River Cafe recommended to u ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

After having River Cafe recommended to us, we booked lunch for Saturday during our visit to NYC from Scotland and were not disappointed! Great food, great service and fantastic views! Will defos be back next time we are visiting NYC! Well worth a visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, lovely view, excellent ser ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing food, lovely view, excellent service. Love the brooklyn bridge dessert

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect for special occasions or anytime ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Perfect for special occasions or anytime you are looking for an outstanding dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Truly outstanding again!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Truly outstanding again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprised my friend with brunch at the R ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Surprised my friend with brunch at the River Cafe for her 75th birthday. It was the perfect way to celebrate!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced . Steak was tough , no veget ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Over priced . Steak was tough , no vegetables served .

Tags: Scenic View, Romance
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Having had this restaurant recommended b ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Having had this restaurant recommended by a friend I had high hopes and I wasn't disappointed. The location is beautiful and the ambience is superb. Go for the view of Manhattan and the Brooklyn Bridge- try to be there as the sun sets, stunning. Staff service is faultless, menu is varied . We had the steak and each person had it cooked to perfection. My only criticism was the lack of vegetables to compliment the food . A very small portion of mashed potato and nothing green at all made it feel heavy as the meat portion was huge, which was a shame . All in all a special place for a special occasion and at a cost of $850 for 4 people for those with deep pockets.

Tags: Special Occasions, Scenic View, Romance, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A truly remarkable dining experience. Fr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A truly remarkable dining experience. From the greeting on entry to departure, River Cafe does everything right, and more than right. The service was outstanding. Every need is anticipated. It is clear that every staff member is well-trained in the art of professional service. My wife and I had the tasting menu with the wine pairing and it was quite incredible. The selections from the chef, particularly the seafood, were quite spectacular and the wines paired were excellent. We also appreciated that the wine steward asked us before the meal if there were any wines we particularly liked or disliked and our choices were reflected in the pairings. All this, plus the view of the river and downtown Manhattan at sunset. Quite a remarkable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Invariably fantastic. From the food to t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Invariably fantastic. From the food to the ambiance, one of my favorite places in New York.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The River Cafe has never disappointed. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The River Cafe has never disappointed. I took my family there for my mother's 80th birthday and everything from the service to the food to the atmosphere was perfect. It is just so charming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can honestly say this was the best mea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I can honestly say this was the best meal I have ever had! I have eaten in many Michelan star restaurants all over the world and this was my most favorite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb, dining room and views a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was superb, dining room and views are amazing. To be honest, can't really fault the place. I have eaten at a number of top restaurants both in New York and London and this evening was very enjoyable, and my wife who was celebrating her birthday loved it also.

Thanks River Cafe

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasions, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensive, but worth it.

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Expensive, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal in the big city underneath the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best meal in the big city underneath the Brooklyn Bridge! Can't get there enough from the Jersey Shore.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have a special occasion, this is ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you have a special occasion, this is the place you want to go. The views are breathtaking, the white-glove service is impeccable, the food is simply incredible, and the ambiance is affluent and classy. If you want to impress your date, then come to The River Café. I'd even say this is where you'd want to propose, if that's in the cards...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Restaurant We owned a very h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Spectacular Restaurant

We owned a very highly rated French bistro in Westchester County until we sold it a few months ago. We have not been to the River Café in several years and it is more spectacular than ever! From the moment you enter their beautifully landscaped driveway you are transported from Brooklyn to the French countryside! The service was fabulous without being precious. Food was beautiful and delicious and the view simply the best in NYC! An extraordinary experience! Bravo!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was very good and we sat at a t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our meal was very good and we sat at a table by a window so that was special. The service was impeccable!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never fails us! It's out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This restaurant never fails us! It's outstanding in every way. The amazing views, friendly professional staff & the food - wow the food!

We always visit for special occasions & the staff make sure they do something to recognise this.... from glasses of champagne for our first meal to celebrate getting married in New York to 'Happy Birthday' on our desserts when we were celebrating our 40th's. Everything is always perfect at the restaurant & I highly recommend it to anyone who likes perfection!

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had dinner here for his ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here for his birthday- an unbelievable experience. The team made us feel so special and we had a great time celebrating. I would highly recommend and have already booked our anniversary dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked 11am for "lunch", so we though ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We booked 11am for "lunch", so we thought. But they are not currently serving lunch, only breakfast and dinner. We arrived very late, 11:45 because of traffic issues and they told us the kitchen closed at 11:30, we were bummed. BUT, they very kindly accomadated us with a table in the pretty much empty restuaraunt and said if we ordered quickly they would work it in the kitchen, which they did. The eggs beni was fantastic, as was the bloody mary. The service was great, friendly and very attentative. The view is great, the entire NYC skyline, east river, ferry docks, and the new world trade center building are all right there. The only minus is the eggs where $28 a dish, so it gets pricey fast, especially for breakfast!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning view of Financial district as n ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Stunning view of Financial district as night falls over Manhattan. Although a window table would have been nice we could still appreciate the view from half way in the room as the windows are large. We also arrived early to appreciate the view as dusk fell from the bar. The restaurant is just under Brooklyn Bridge and we took the ferry from mid town which took 20 mins and was a perfect way to arrive.

Starters were outstanding, pudding great and best cheese board on this trip. Mains were good but nothing special - of standard you would expect. Location really makes this, but place is better for friends or lovely meal out generally rather than special romantic date. Tables a bit too close together for that. Tables turned over quickly and food comes promptly so if you want to relax book for a later meal when you are not under any pressure to leave.

Prices are what you would expect. We weren't charged for our bottle of pudding wine as they didn't have the one we ordered, so we had to make do with another which they said we could have at the same price. They then forgot to add it to the bill. We pointed out the discrepancy when the bill arrived and they waived the cost. Perfect behaviour.

Seating is done on the night so as 'tourists' we weren't going to get a window seat, but being dressed up I think helped at least get us close. Jackets required. The restaurant can supply a car to take you back to Manhattan for a fixed price which was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stunning view and great food and wine. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Stunning view and great food and wine. The service was excellent and we had a winderful evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in the New York C ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the New York City Area! Amazing views and perfect food.

The service was impeccable and I have never had a less than superb experience.

Heartily recommend this memorable place!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on the east coast, outst ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best restaurant on the east coast, outstanding food, service and the view is spectacular.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.