Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About River Cafe

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is always available to guests with reservations.

If you plan to bring a car to The River Café, please call us to find out if parking is available for the date of your visit.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street
2 or 3 train to Clark Street
F train to York Street
Bus #B25 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room at The River Café is uniquely capable of offering your guests an unsurpassed setting for private dining with spectacular views overlooking New York Harbor, The Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline.

Inquiries about special events or corporate dinners (30 to 100 guests) are handled by Luke Vossen, the Director of Private Events, who will assist in planning every detail. For additional information contact luke@rivercafe.com

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: (888) 338-3996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (180)
Scenic View (169)
Waterfront (162)
See All
Special Occasion (161)
Good for Anniversaries (134)
Good for a Date (132)
Good for Birthdays (93)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Notable Wine List (71)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Worth the Drive (55)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Tasting Menu (48)
Historic (44)
Cozy (44)
Authentic (36)
Live Music (32)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Brunch (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
People Watching (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
5980 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The River Cafe was a great experience, but more because of the venue and the food. I went with my boyfriend and we both thought the service could be very much improved - we felt at times that the maître and waiters were a bit rude and pushy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The view and location are perfect, the food however was dissapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

A lovely experience. Great staff, great food, great view. Expect a large bill, but totally worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Glamorous view, expensive food, generous savings, great for anniversaries and birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Magical! Perfect view, perfect food, perfect ambiance!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome views of the city and a great place to take the love in your life. Service and food was good and would recommend to others.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience every time we go, and this was no exception!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience!! Lived up to expectations! Staff was so welcoming!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was just spectacular ! The lobster is a must try!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant with fantastic skyline.very nice place.service not sactisfactying.food good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very tasty and well portioned. View of the river and Brooklyn Bridge was perfect for my anniversary dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely stunning views of lower Manhattan, top notch service & food was outstanding! Thanks for making my birthday so memorable & perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Well it's one of the most beautiful scenic views from a restaurant. The sunset with lower manhattan skyline is unreal and the food and staff were excellent. A+

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband's Biirthday!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Excelente restaurant to go with Your couple and family/ excellent food / beautiful view

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great location (we arrived by subway, driving looked difficult in that area). Outstanding view of Manhattan. Expensive but worth it. Excellent service despite that the waiter forgot my coffee, but he compensated both of us with complimentary after dinner drinks. Very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a beautiful location overlooking New York. Tucked away under the Brooklyn Bridge. Very classy, romantic venue.
The food is exquisite. Every course was perfect. A good choice on the menu.
The staff were very attentive, helpful and polite.
I would not hesitate going here again 😃

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barkeeper sehr unprofessionell
Name nicht richtig verstanden. ;
Gelächter, geschmunzelt; gelästert!
Sehr unprofessionell! !!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Never a disappointment at The River Café. The food, service and ambiance are always over the top. There is nothing I would do differently. My guests and I thoroughly enjoyed our evening and can't wait to go back again! One of my favorites.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding and unique place not to be missed when visiting NYC

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great experience, from start to finish it was an eventful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful service, ambience and food for cebrating an anniversary

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place left a smile in my heart! It's pretty perfect! Great service amazing view and definitely a must if you visit the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing! We loved everything and we hope to come back someday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Chef's tasting was pricey but definitely worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ireland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Unforgettable experience worth every penny. While I knew the view was breathtaking, I was happily surprise by the food being of Michelin-star level. Service also was very good. Strongly recommended, not to be missed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Went for mom's birthday dinner, and were very pleased with the service, surroundings and experience as such.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was my second time dining here for a special occasion. As always - beautiful, very beautiful location; attentive, pleasant, and professional staff; and excellent food. Well worth the wait and will definitely return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We loved our return to the River Cafe. Had not been there in many years...will e back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Organic, Historic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing views!!! Impresionantes vistas de Manhattan y preciosa decoración/atmósfera del lugar. Lo saben y lo pagas. La calidad de la comida no está a la altura del precio ni del sitio. Mejorable tanto la materia prima como el punto de cocina. Dos menús con agua del grifo y una única copa de champán 350USD! Para una ocasión especial y para quienes valoren la ubicación privilegiada en la que te encuentras. Es un must. Ahora bien, si además quieres comer calidad(como correspondería si lo hicieran bien) no es el sitio. En resumen calidad/precio te clavan, pero lo especial de las vistas, el encanto del lugar y el buen servicio lo merecen/compensan. (estás en NYC!!! y por una vez...;-)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kent)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Stunning location with the best views in New York. Matched also with the food & service. Expensive but you get a dinner experience that'll you will remember for ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I dined alone, yet the Team were as attentive as if I were a party of 20. Steak Tartar was the best I have ever had. If I did not live half-a-world-away, River Café would be a regular haunt, for sure. Truly beautiful restaurant with a mouth-watering menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Celebrating our friends wedding! We winced when the bill came, especially because of the huge tax and tip portion added. But it was worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The location is magical, the service very professional, the food is ok, could be better. High prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excelente !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Famous for its view River Cafe also offers outstanding dining experience. Given the quite limited seating space the atmosphere seems a bit hectic. Tasting menu has been a great experience, service matches nicely and although pretty crowded still personal. The only fly in the ointment will be the big check at the end ....

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent food and scenery. My only criticism is that I was called the evening before my breakfast reservation and told I must dress business/casual and when we arrived most guests were in jeans, tshirts and tennis shoes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had a wonderful time and though we've been several times before, scored a window seat. Bonus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Fantastic view of Manhattan, but way to expensive. The food was ok (dessert was amazing), but 200 dollars for three courses and one glass of vine felt like your typical tourist trap. To bad, becouse the location and ambiance was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Always a special night and tonight was no exception. Service, food, everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.