About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: 8883383996

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Marquise Brooklyn Bridge
Bone Marrow Duchess Potato
Braised Oxtail With Homemade Tortellini And Fresh Truffle Shavings
Amuse Bouche
Niman Ranch Strip Steak With Red Wine Mushroom Marmalade
Milk Chocolate Souffle
Tuna Tartare
Soft Egg Ravioli With Black Truffle
pistachio semifreddo
Mushroom Wellington
Smoked Salmon On Belini With Caviar
Gazpacho With Yellow Watermelon And Feta
Chocolate Brooklyn Bridge
Duck Breast With Winter Risotto
Foie Gras
Sautéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Maine Lobster Special
Shrimp
Lamb Meatballs
Lobster
Branzino
Sorbet
Lamb
Pistachio
Branzino Fillet
Wild Boar Bolognese
Fresh Mozzarella And Sweet Potato Salad
Ravioli
Duck Breast With Baby Bok Choy And Carrots
Apple Merengue And Sorbet
Crab Bisque
Crisp Duck Breast
Chocolate Marquise
Salmon On Corn Bellini
Taylor Bay Scallop Ceviche
Manhattan Bridge Chocolate Dessert
Hawaiian Marlin With Mango
gaspacho
steak tartare
New York Cut Sirloin
Crèam Brûlèe
Almond tart
Melon Salad
Crispy Duck Breast
Whole Wheat Pasta
Grilled Atlantic Swordfish Paillard
Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Scallop Ceviche

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Brooklyn
Best Food
Brooklyn
Best Service
Brooklyn
5 More
Best Ambiance
Brooklyn
Romantic
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
American
Brooklyn
Most Booked
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in DUMBO / Vinegar Hill ›

scenic view (351)
special occasion (342)
romantic (329)
See All
fit for foodies (170)
notable wine list (134)
neighborhood gem (84)
great for brunch (58)
great for lunch (54)
hot spot (50)
good for groups (38)
great for outdoor dining (36)
late-night find (22)
vibrant bar scene (18)
kid-friendly (4)
business meals (1)
Sunday lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing. Everything was bea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing. Everything was beautifully presented and timed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a terrific place to dine. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

It is a terrific place to dine. The food, staff , ambiance and view was the best. A perfect place for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought River café might be touristy b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

I thought River café might be touristy but was I wrong. The food was excellent, service impeccable and the views are about as good as it gets. Excellent pace for brunch and I assume for dinner as well.

David L (NYC)They treated us like royalty too.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Other than nearly requiring a loan offic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Other than nearly requiring a loan officer to meet the bill everything from the moment we approached the front door till we finished our dessert deserves high accolades. Everyone was very friendly and the service was spot on attentive without being bothersome. The food was very creative, presented well and was nicely flavorful. The river, Manhattan, and Brooklyn Bridge view really put it over the top. Nice work!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived at the restaurant 10 minutes ear ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Arrived at the restaurant 10 minutes early to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We were seated right away (We had an 8:30PM reservation). We didn't get to sit by the window, but anywhere you sit, you still get to see the majestic view. The drink menus were given to us and eventually the amuse-bouche (duck confit with baked risotto - delicious and beautifully plated) came. Then we ordered a half bottle of red wine (Croze Hermitage - lovely earth tones and just the right sweetness and acidity). Warm bread and creamy butter came.

At around 9:20pm, the place did get busy for awhile and we noticed that the other patrons who came after us had their orders taken. We didn't know who our waiter was so I asked the waitress who kept refilling our glass with wine that we have not received the dinner menu. She was surprised and she thought that someone took our order and we were just waiting for our dish. I said no with a smile. She was very apologetic and asked us if we were unhappy, I said with a laugh, YES. She took our orders (foie gras two ways and wagyu steak tartare for appetizers, niman ranch strip steak and duck breast for main entrees and the brooklyn bridge cake and goat cheese cake for dessert- everything was scrumptious) and poured us another wine (Freemark Abbey Cabernet Sauvignon - delcious!) to make up for the oversight.

We finished our entrees when Kelsey, our very apologetic and accommodating waitstaff, came to us and asked us if we are interested in moving to table by the window. We were very thankful and said YES. This glorious view is one of the reasons why The River Cafe is the most romantic place to be, it is simply beautiful. Our dessert came with Happy Anniversary chocolate square and candles.

It was romantic indeed and nothing will top this night especially on our anniversary. Had a wonderful time here and with minor hiccup, it was overall one of the best dining experiences we ever had.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dinner to celebrate my Da ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner to celebrate my Dads 60th birthday. Very good service with knowledgeable waiters who knew menu thoroughly. My only very small criticism would be that the butter brought for the bread was straight out of a fridge which made it very difficult to do anything with. Usually you would expect the butter to be brought to room temperature in such a restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every aspect of the experience was perfe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Every aspect of the experience was perfect. A fitting way to celebrate 25 years of marriage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was a bit of a disappointmen ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The evening was a bit of a disappointment. I think it's a great place for a special evening or for a meal with out-of-towners. Otherwise it felt a bit formulaic. The food is very good but the service seemed perfunctory. We asked about the tasting menu and got a very halfhearted reply with the waiter pointing to a few items on the menu. Wine list is very good and had some nice, reasonably-priced selections.

As for the rest of the evening, It didn't help that a camera crew was filming a Ford commercial in the restaurant's forecourt. Takes a bit of the magic away when members of the crew are queuing on the men's room with their two-way radios squelching. Felt a bit like a building site.

Perhaps the River Cafe team was off its game as a result, but overall I'd rate this experience as simply "good" given the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Absolute amazing view from Brooklyn to t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Absolute amazing view from Brooklyn to the bridge and Manhattan skyline. Service was faultless. Staff incredibly attentive.

Drink list was safe with the usual suspects, senior bar tender can indeed make a mean Martini.

We had a degustation menu with wine pairing. Food was reasonable but inconsistent in quality or taste with outstanding dishes like the Foix Grass ( i know not politically correct...) with a Soterne as a delicious daring wine pair. For the pricing and ambiance and level of guests, the red meat was not good quality - not enough marbling or ageing and was chewvy. The dessert was just more cute that showcasing the talents of the chef.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning location, staff very attentive ...

 
 (Glasgow)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Stunning location, staff very attentive and friendly. Served very quickly so left feeling rushed for what was an expensive lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing NYC experience. This was a high ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing NYC experience. This was a highlight of our trip.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been many years since we went bac ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It had been many years since we went back and although the view is still the best there is to be had, the setting the most romantic in the five boroughs, the food quality was a disappointment. Between us we started with the Wagyu Steak Tartare, Hudson Valley Foie Gras and the Scallop and Foie Gras. Overall the flavorings were bland and although the presentation was fine, they didn't 'pop' nearly as much as the fireworks that took place outside. Our main courses consisted of the Rack of Lamb, the Duck Breast and the Lobster Wellington and again, everything was presented nicely, but everything lacked the pizzaz of a kitchen trying to find something to entice with. The desserts were cloyingly sweet and also uninspired: the mixed sorbet plate was clearly not anything thought through. Too bad, because you would hope that the exterior views should at least match the interior when it comes to New York par excellence...

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent and a veryt memeorable experie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent and a veryt memeorable experience. I had always heard aboyt it but after visiting for the first time I was very pleased. Will go back for sure

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! This is a great date location ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent! This is a great date location! My wife and I had an awesome romantic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant with great river vie ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fabulous restaurant with great river view. Food was excellent and service was very good but we had to wait over 20 minutes after our reservation time to get to the table. The maitre d however did recognise this as we were leaving and invited us to stay for a free drink. A nice touch

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good food and a beautiful place to ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food and a beautiful place to dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A beautiful restaurant. The flowers, gar ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A beautiful restaurant. The flowers, garden, and view are magical. Unique and memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff was frienly, service was impeccabl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Staff was frienly, service was impeccable and the food and wine was fresh and amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this place is truly an oasis in the hear ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

this place is truly an oasis in the heart of nyc! we wanted someplace special for our anniversary and River Cafe delivered on every level. from the minute we drove into the flower filled entrance and were greeted by the valet and staff we knew it was going to be an elegant and special evening. the views were spectacular, the wine delicious and the food amazing. i look forward to going back time and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to the River C ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our second visit to the River Cafe and it was fantastic just like our first visit. The staff were all amazing and friendly. The food was lovely and it has to be the best restaurant view in New York. Would definitely recommend to anyone and will be returning on our next visit to NY.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is excellent! The food is excel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The view is excellent!

The food is excellent!

And the service is more than excellent!

For special occasion, I will definitely recommend the River Cafe!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always our choice for dinner on our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It's always our choice for dinner on our last night in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful food, location and view. BUT t ...

 
 (Derbyshire)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Beautiful food, location and view. BUT tables to close together. £350 paid. Worth it for quality of food and service but we couldn't have a private conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, late night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Superlative everything. Cocktails outsta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Superlative everything. Cocktails outstanding, food outrageously delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really very nice location for sundowner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really very nice location for sundowner or dinner after dark to see the city glowing lights. Little bit cold air condition, especially for women. Price all in all is too much...60% the view 40% for food and its quality. We are from Europe and there you will get much better food in extraordinary Stars-restaurants for less money. The River Cafe could be romantic, but is really a little too crowdy and noisy. Less would be more. But the spot on East-River is absolutely a must see.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service and food were outstanding in eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service and food were outstanding in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have not been to the River Cafe in alm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have not been to the River Cafe in almost 20 years. I will never stay away so long again! My husband and I took my mom and my aunt out for my mother's birthday. The entire experience was wonderful. When I made the reservation on OpenTable, I inquired as to whether I could order a cake. A birthday cake order form arrive by email almost immediately, with 5 delicious options @ $12.50 per person (for the record, we opted for the chocolate mousse and we regret nothing haha!). When we arrived, we were shown to a window table, with a breathtaking view of the eponymous river. Boats, ferries, water taxis, and jet skis went by and the city provided a fabulous backdrop. As for the meal, it was outstanding! The lunch menu is small, but perfectly suited towards building a great meal no matter what you choose as a starter and an entree. I had the gnocchi to start, and the breast of duckling. Both were perfectly prepared and presented. My mother and aunt ordered the gnocchi and the Mushroom Wellington, and loved both. My husband opted for the steak (perfectly rare and enough for 2 people -- though he ate the whole thing). A really good pinot grigio complemented the food, and was just right for a hot summer afternoon in Brooklyn. As wonderful as the food is, the service is even better! Everyone there is professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. They made a great lunch into a great event and great memory for us all. Please treat yourself to a visit to the River Cafe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We look for special places like the Rive ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We look for special places like the River Cafe for our weekends in NYC. We remembered coming here for a company Christmas party several years ago, so we thought we would try it for lunch. Delightful food, excellent wine, spectacular views, attentive service. We could not be happier. River Cafe will be our goto place from here on out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything excellent. The ambiance it's ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Everything excellent. The ambiance it's fantastic, it looks like a film. Great kitchen. Service very professional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive staff (from valets to ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very attentive staff (from valets to servers). Food looked too picturesque to eat but was too delicious not to. The view (we had a table by the window) was fantastic. I only looked away to assess my next course and to glance at my beautiful wife. Outside, the River Cafe is situated in a peaceful, park-like setting. We wished the valet hadn't retrieved our car so quickly - we could have stayed there all night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was so big for me that I could not ...

 
 (東京)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Steak was so big for me that I could not eat completely.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic View ... Good Ambiance ... a w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fantastic View ... Good Ambiance ... a wonderful place

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another amazing dinner at the river cafe ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Another amazing dinner at the river cafe- the food was amazing as to be expected, but it never fails to deliver. Special note on our waitress- Kelsey- a gem and a great sense if humour! Thanks and see you next year

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere was perfect - from the gr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect - from the greeting at the front door, white jacketed wait staff and suited stewards. Attentive care without being overwhelming. Plus, a perfect view of Manhattan at sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A special evening with wonderful service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

A special evening with wonderful service, good and of course the view. Expensive but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Venue, excellent food, A little to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great Venue, excellent food, A little too pricey but recommend for a special occasion

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service were perfect. I would o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service were perfect. I would only recommend for special occassions based on pricing. Our bill could have been a car payment ;-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had 1 vegetarian and they took note b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had 1 vegetarian and they took note but had such limited options. Not worth the $600 I spent honestly. Drinks and ambience were good. Our one waiter spilt water on us EVERYTIME he poured too.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Celebrated my wife's birthday at the Riv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday at the River Café.

She absolutely loved it. Food was amazing. The view was amazing.

Service was excellent.

This has become our go to place. We live in the middle of Long Island, but so worth the trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.