Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About River Cafe

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is always available to guests with reservations.

If you plan to bring a car to The River Café, please call us to find out if parking is available for the date of your visit.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street
2 or 3 train to Clark Street
F train to York Street
Bus #B25 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (185)
Scenic View (168)
Special Occasion (167)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (152)
Waterfront (152)
Good for a Date (130)
Good for Birthdays (105)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Notable Wine List (69)
Worth the Drive (66)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Tasting Menu (47)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Authentic (42)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Business Meals (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Cozy (29)
Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Fun (18)
People Watching (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Live Music (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Seasonal (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
6361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Michael the sommelier was amazing! This was our second visit and everyone is always so polite and helpful! We intrusted our wine selection with Michael who paired our filet and salmon perfectly! We enjoyed our meal, the food was perfect! Definitely a place we relish visiting, and the views are spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our third time at the River Cafe. We come to NYC every year for a week long visit and have gone to the River Cafe for the last 3 years. The first two years we had no complaints at all. It was wonderful and worth every penny. No so this year.

We go for Sunday brunch. It started off wonderfully. But by they end of the meal, it was less than wonderful. The service was either right there frequently or not there at all. Our dessert menu sat on the table for at least 20 minutes before anyone noticed and asked if we would like dessert. After a detailed discussion with the woman taking our order about how I wanted my filet mignon cooked, it came out undercooked. She stopped by once but didn't ask how it was and left so fast that I couldn't tell her.

All in all, for the price ($60.00 for 2 courses) + $80.00 cab/uber ride to and from, I'd rather go somewhere else and probably will in the future. In addition, the menu has changed very little in the last 3 years. Yes, they've changed a first course item or two and maybe an entree' but basically it's the same year after year.

It no longer is good value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Italy)·Dined 3 days ago

The prix fixe lunch is an incredible deal. Service is impeccable, and of course the view makes it a perfect place for special occasion dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Disabled Access, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 3 days ago

Not my first time there but my first at night. Amazing views ambiance attention and food. The Maitre graced us with a great table. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Experience! Must Do in Brooklyn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This is the second time we have celebrated our anniversary at River Cafe. The setting couldn't be more beautiful or romantic, and the tables set with flowers, candles and white tablecloths make it very elegant. The service was also impeccable. The menu, which is a prix fixe of three courses, is also interesting and creative. The food is not the best in NYC, but still very special. My key lime souffle for dessert was especially good. It is a VERY expensive night out, but a perfect place for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely setting. Perfunctory service. Food is okay but no great shakes. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing breakfast with a view to die for! Worth the trip. Atmosphere is quiet but wonderful.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Exquisite evening, delightfull menu, amazing view!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Though extremely expensive by any standards, if you can afford it, it is worth the visit.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

The restaurant is absolutely beautiful at night. The view of the city is breathtaking. You're not paying for mean (which is exceptionally small), you're paying for the view and experience of the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

El lugar es maravilloso y tiene una vistas de Manhattan espectaculares. Recomiendo llegar cuando empieza el atardecer y cenar mientras empieza a iluminarse toda Manhattan. El menú es delicioso y tiene buenos vinos. Además variedad de panes.
El servicio excelente.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Atmosphere is great.
Service was a bit slow.
Appetizer and dessert (goat cheese cheesecake was the best cheesecake i've ever had) was great, but the main course lacked veggie and meat balance. Too much meat w no salad or veggie to balance.
Waiter was hard to find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Adelaide)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very nice place with a great view of the Brooklyn bridge and lower Manhatan, not very good food though

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very expensive for ok food. Fantastic view of the skyline

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Hoher Geräuschepegel, eher Massenabfertigung. Nicht gemütlich, eng aufeinander und einen Tisch am Fenster zu kriegen sehr schwierig. Bedienung freundlich, Essen sehr gut. Die Aussicht toll.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

ドレスコードがあるレストランです。カフェと名前についていますが、カジュアルではありません。周りのアメリカ人は皆紳士の装い、女性もドレスアップしてる方がほとんどです。マンハッタンの夜景が見渡せて、素晴らしいロケーションです。

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a wonderful meal & excellent service. The chocolate Brooklyn Bridge for dessert was magnificent! We look forward to going back when visiting NY.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food is amazing, the service is so good and it's def the most romantic place to dine with your boy/ girl friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Daughter visit to potential college.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A little cold bc of the air conditioning. Everything else was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We had a wonderful meal on Tuesday - the day we got married! Highly recommend for a treat. The wait staff were lovely and we got a table by the window which we were thrilled about. Food was spectacular! Thank you to all for making our special day that bit more special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great night...just not cheap :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fabulous evening with dramatic views one of my favourite places in NYC,,,,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent in every way, the staff was attentive yet not intrusive, the food was the of the highest quality and prepared perfectly. The setting, staff, service and the food all combined to create a dining experience second to none. Well done

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

A wonderful place with excellent staff, fantastic food and the best views !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

When I visit New York this is always the restaurant I book to celebrate the fact that we are here. It is the most amazing place ever and I am so glad it recovered from the devastation of Hurricane Sandy❤️

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cambridge)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My wife summed it up perfectly.... " the best meal I have ever had!" Many thanks for your hospitality and giving us a window seat. An iconic place to have a meal, the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was good but staff is not really very nice. Efficient, yes. Nice or friendly, not so much. It's iconic NY and worth the trip! I'll always go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Service & ambiance were beyond my expectations . The detail put into everything was very noticeable. Gorgeous floral arrangements

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fabulous location for amazing views of lower manhatten. Superb service. Very special food. A bit pricey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

An amazing evening - fresh, delicious, innovative dishes, as well as a classy "old NY vibe". Service was A+. Will likely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Fabulous views, excellent food. Flowers in the entrance worth a mention too. Very pleasant evening, piano player a nice touch too.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Celebramos nuestro 25 aniversario de casados allí, con nuestros hijos. La cena fue espectacular y las vistas, maravillosas. Nos lo había recomendado un amigo y fue todo un acierto. Fue el broche final a nuestro viaje a Nueva York. Gracias.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Fabulous food great service lovely setting what more can I say. Came here years a good and still every bit as good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

we were there to celebrate our 15 yr wedding anniversary and requested a table near the window ... and that's exactly what we got! The ambiance is rich and the view of NYC is breathtaking....I'd love to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Exceeded all my expectations. Delicious food and lovely venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excelente localización, con una vista espectacular
La cena muy sabrosa, el ambiente de primera.
Un poco elitista en el servicio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had a wonderful time at this upscale restaurant. The service was absolutely impecable. The food was good but we found it was a bit over priced. The scenery was wonderful, very nice to be seated in the window. The outside is also amazing, we took great pictures.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.