Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 109 times today

River Cafe

4.8
6794 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Waterfront
The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open 365 days of the year
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(718) 522-5200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Jacket Required
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brad Steelman
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Old Fulton St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is always available to guests with reservations.

If you plan to bring a car to The River Café, please call us to find out if parking is available for the date of your visit.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A or C train to High Street
2 or 3 train to Clark Street
F train to York Street
Bus #B25 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
Rating coming soon

A special-occasion restaurant on the Brooklyn waterfront.

The Infatuation is an app and website which uses a small team of local editors who dine anonymously to rate and review restaurants. We are partnering with them to bring you their smart, helpful, trustworthy reviews of restaurants on OpenTable
What 6794 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.9
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 hours ago

A great experience! Most upscale restaurants will make you go to the bar if you get there ahead of your reserved time. My wife and I were greeted and told if we wanted to be seated early, which we happily accepted. Everyone was fantastic! The food was equally as fantastic. We didn’t get a window seat but that wasn’t as important if you can believe that...Anyway, we left full and happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

Romantic.. food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

A special birthday celebration is the perfect occasion to dine at the River Café. Certainly any memorable occasion could be enjoyed at this venue. The ambience and service is outstanding, the food was quite satisfactory, but of course you pay for the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We are coming every year to the River Cafe to enjoy the most beautiful view on the Manhattan skyline at night accompanied by a perfect dinner. That’s the place to go to enjoy delicious and creative meals, a very polite and attentive service and the perfect view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Went for a special anniversary breakfast and it was brilliant!! Sophia, Marco and all the staff were fantastic!! 10 out of 10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We went to River Cafe for our son’s graduation from NYU. It lived up to all of our high expectations. The setting is exqusite (best view of Manhattan imaginable), the service was first rate without being intrusive and the food was divine. We will return ASAP.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I choose this restaurant because my honeymoon and see great view. But the manager give me the bad seat can not see the brooklyn bridge. I see in the list I am #3 because i am already made reservation 1 month before. But captain and stuff are 2 tumbs. Food is very good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We had a lovely table by the window with an incredible view of the city lights. The food was amazing!! Was a perfect spot to celebrate! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Perfect!! Most beautiful place I’ve ever been in my life

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

extraordinary panorama,trip from europe,gould have apreciate a windows's table

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

A beautiful view of Manhattan in a unique garden setting. Wonderful food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Awesome food. Awesome drink. Awesome service....but trumping all this (pardon awful pun) was the awesome view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

best birthday ever

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Delicioso todo, el restaurante muy bonito y limpio, solo que es bastante caro, pero vale la pena todo lo que comes ahí, todo de verdad muy rico.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I suprised my wife for her birthday she absolutely loved the restaurant.When you first pull up you can tell its going to be an amazing place.The valet parked our car n treated my wife like a queen the whole river cafe staff is excellent .Men if u dont come with a suit jacket they will provide u one.They are real strict about dress code.My wife loved it has the best view of the water n the city

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

A wonderful experience at the River Cafe! It is absolutely beautiful! Josh was very accommodating and a terrific maitre'd!! We cannot wait to go back!! Thank you to everyone for such a great anniversary!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I will say I was a little nervous to try this place after reading some of the reviews, however my husband and I had an absolutely wonderful dinner here.

The staff upon arrival were very welcoming and friendly. The servers provided exceptional service without being to in your face. You can taste the work that goes into preparing such beautifully presented food. The Three Shells and Roasted Rabbit appetizer were incredible, and the Branzino and Duck Entrees are melt in your mouth delicious.

For dessert we tried the chocolate Brooklyn Bridge ( I mean... you kinda have to.. right?) and the goat cheese cheese cake. Both were delectable and even came with a " Happy Anniversary" note on chocolate.

It was truly a pleasant experience and I highly recommend coming here for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went yesterday to celebrate with my cousin as a new Mr & Mrs. We were all overwhelmed by the views, atmosphere, food and drink quality. The experience was simply faultless.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

What an amazing view and experience. The food was INCREDIBLE! Worth every penny. Expensive and not a typical place you would go on a regular basis. Staff was amazing too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Cadre extraordinaire ,bon repas pour un 1 étoile mais service prétentieux
Comparativement le modern ( MOMA) qui a 2 étoiles a un rapport qualité bien meilleur et un service bcp plus sobre.
Après la vue et le cadre sont inoubliables

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We found some last-minute midweek availability for breakfast on the penultimate day of a short break in NYC and SO glad we did! The service was impeccable (attentive but not imposing) and the view was gorgeous. But the best part of all was the food and drink! Definitely the best orange juice of my life, and my wagyu pastrami and partner's waffle benedict were the best breakfast food we've ever had anywhere in the world.

We were offered the signature Brooklyn Bridge dessert (cake for breakfast YES PLEASE) and it lived up to all expectations.

Wonderful all round, thank you River Cafe!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

What a magic place! It was perfect for the last dinner in NYC with friends. Nice place for special ocasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We have been here many times and we were never disappointed. The service and food is always outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Lovely gourmet restaurant with amazing view of downtown. A great fine dining experience in a beautiful setting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

I have been here previously but did not recall a prefix 3 course menu for $130 pp.

Was first presented with a chefs sampler complimentary. Some small portion of a type of cod purée.

Pork belly and scallop. Good. Pork a smidge on the dry side.

Duck was very good.

Peanut butter soufflé was very nice.

One thing that bothered me was I was told no jeans or sneakers in an email. I observed a couple of gentlemen wearing jeans and sneakers in the dining room. It did not bother me that they were not wearing the suggested attire “but” I purposely purchased shoes and slacks for this meal as I was un prepared for this trip.

I understand the rules and I have been turned away at another establishment for wearing jeans so this puts the maitre de in a situation as it was embarrassing for me.

What’s going to happen next time I show up in jeans and sneakers?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Wonderful scenery and amazing service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing experience, fantastic food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Absolutely fabulous meal, service and ambience! We were celebrating our son's college graduation and he described our night as "perfect!"

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Better service at a banquet hall

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wow what a view!! Beautiful restaurant in a perfect spot. Great service and very good food.
Recommended...but the most expensive restaurant we’ve ever been to. And we have traveled the world.
A once in a lifetime experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

the most amazing restaurant i have ever visited thats all there is to say, expensive but worth every penny - and that view!

wow!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything was fantastic, above and beyond what I ever could have expected. I cannot wait to return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Fine dinning at its best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

連絡ができず1時間弱遅刻してしまったのに問題ないですよと笑顔で案内され、景色を見るならと素晴らしい席を用意してくれた。控えめな生演奏、テーブルセッティング、スタッフの動きと笑顔、料理、景色、全て良かった。他のお客も幸せそうだった。

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Exceptional location and Manhattan skyline view. Veeeery romantic place. Excellent service and helpful staff. Very good food. Overall exceptional treat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Awesome! Food was absolutely incredible! Service was top notch. The ambiance was perfect especially for our occasion. The view was breathtaking!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

All around great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Amazing restaurant service and food was really great! We loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The place is beautiful. Employees very nice. Men are supossed to wear a jacket but we dont have one they lend you one. The only thing is it smells sometimes!
If u wanna feel like in a movie just go to this place! It has a mixed price about 130usd per person, we have to book before going. The food was delicious !!
Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Expensive. Outstanding service and food. The view and restaurant are very nice. Totally recommended for any special occasion.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
170

Tweets by River Cafe