About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: 8883383996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Marquise Brooklyn Bridge - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Duck Breast With Winter Risotto - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Foie Gras - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Smoked Salmon On Belini With Caviar - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Soft Egg Ravioli With Black Truffle - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Tuna Tartare - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Milk Chocolate Souffle - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
pistachio semifreddo - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Sautéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Gazpacho With Yellow Watermelon And Feta - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Chocolate Brooklyn Bridge - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Mushroom Wellington - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Maine Lobster Special - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Shrimp - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Lamb Meatballs - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Sorbet - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Branzino - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Lobster - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Branzino Fillet - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Lamb - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Pistachio - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Amuse Bouche - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Wild Boar Bolognese - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Fresh Mozzarella And Sweet Potato Salad - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Ravioli - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Duck Breast With Baby Bok Choy And Carrots - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Chocolate Marquise - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Apple Merengue And Sorbet - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crab Bisque - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crisp Duck Breast - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Salmon On Corn Bellini - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Taylor Bay Scallop Ceviche - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Braised Oxtail With Homemade Tortellini And Fresh Truffle Shavings - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Bone Marrow Duchess Potato - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Niman Ranch Strip Steak With Red Wine Mushroom Marmalade - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Manhattan Bridge Chocolate Dessert - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
gaspacho - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Hawaiian Marlin With Mango - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
steak tartare - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Almond tart - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
New York Cut Sirloin - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crèam Brûlèe - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Melon Salad - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Whole Wheat Pasta - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Grilled Atlantic Swordfish Paillard - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crispy Duck Breast - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Hudson Valley Foie Gras - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Scallop Ceviche - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Brooklyn
Best Service
Brooklyn
4 More
Best Ambiance
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
American
Brooklyn
Most Booked
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in DUMBO / Vinegar Hill ›

Scenic View (229)
Special Occasion (216)
Romantic (199)
See All
Waterfront (181)
Good for Anniversaries (143)
Good for a Date (136)
Notable Wine List (100)
Good for Birthdays (94)
Fit for Foodies (78)
Creative Cuisine (65)
Worth the Drive (57)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Tasting Menu (50)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Great for Brunch (45)
Hot Spot (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Historic (36)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Business Meals (32)
Authentic (30)
Cozy (29)
People Watching (27)
Live Music (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fun (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Seasonal (15)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
5337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's quite a venue with stunning views o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It's quite a venue with stunning views of downtown Manhattan. And depending on where you're seated, you can see the Statue of Liberty. It's a 3 course prix fixe at $125. The service is top notch and not too stuffy. There was a screaming match with plenty of expletives in the kitchen that caused some discomfort in the dining room (I found it funny). But all in, it was a great dining experience. The restaurant is also especially good for romantic occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Chicken was overlooked on outside and un ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Chicken was overlooked on outside and undercooked/raw inside. Service was incredibly slow, food over 1 hour after order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

The River Café was an awesome experience ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The River Café was an awesome experience. It is the most expensive restaurant we've ever dined in, but it was a special occasion and was a memorable evening that is now written in our hearts forever. The view is awesome, the service impeccable, and the food is spectacular. We had the six course tasting menu which was fantastic. We also got the wine pairing which is too much wine for any human to consume, but it is always a fun experience nonetheless! The place was packed, even on a Sunday late evening, which gives you an indication of its popularity!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The River Cafe is an experience, not jus ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

The River Cafe is an experience, not just dinner. Although it is expensive ( and expensive to get to), it is a truly special treat. The restaurant is charming and cozy: lower ceilings, warm panelled walls, soft piano music in the background, beautiful flower arrangements on each table, and the VIEW ! Oh my! The city skyline across the river is breathtaking. Add to all that, the food is beautifully presented and understatedly delicious. The staff is friendly without being intrusive and very attentive. This was my second visit and I was anxious that my friends feel it was worth the price. They all agreed that it was the highlight of a very fun trip .

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without doubt the best dining experience ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Without doubt the best dining experience from start to finish we have ever had. My wife and I were simply blown away - we travelled from South Africa for this amazing evening. We will be going back. Well done to all the staff, from the maitre, the bar staff and specifically Kelsey our waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The warmest welcome, the most profession ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The warmest welcome, the most professional service, and my favorite restaurant in New York City. Thank you for another very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our wedding anniversary and they ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our wedding anniversary and they made it unforgettable.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive!!! Fixed prices .. The oc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very expensive!!!

Fixed prices .. The occasion is recommended to be special.

Otherwise I would choose another restaurant!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved loved loved the food! But the ser ...

vip
 (México)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved loved loved the food!

But the service wasn't so great. Since we sat down, we were offered drinks until like 20min later and we always had to look and call a waiter to ask for something.

The foie gras and scallop appetizer was amazing. The oysters delicious. And the branzino to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything great except chairs, dinner a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything great except chairs, dinner and view were great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in NYC and one of the be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best in NYC and one of the best views in the world. Most scenic restaurants are not spectacular at food. This is an exception as the food is as good as it gets. A fixed price 3 course menu for $125 that includes many choices and all of the food is made with the best ingredients. Service could not be better. If we are in New York we always find time to enjoy dining at the River Cafe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was superb in every way. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience was superb in every way. The view, the ambiance, the service and the food could not be faulted in any way. A wonderful memory for a group of college roomies celebrating a reunion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best view in New York. Fantastic service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Best view in New York. Fantastic service from you arrive till you leave. outstanding food.

Simply the best and my favorite in New York

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view really breath taking at n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful view really breath taking at night, food is fantastic and you are waited on hand and foot..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant it's absolutely stunning, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The restaurant it's absolutely stunning, it has great views of the city and excellent food and service. The only downside is that our table was really close to other table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Both the atmosphere and the service were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Both the atmosphere and the service were perfect scores.

However, it was not delicious than a dish thought either.

It is a main salmon

It was burnt that I ate before, and the center was soft.

Like oil, a punch did not work this time.

Because the steak was too big, and the taste was not good, I got tired on the way.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

From our arrival until our departure, we ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 30, 2016

From our arrival until our departure, we were looked after fabulously. All staff are so courteous and helpful. We loved the choices on the Menu and enjoyed it all - thank you!

Would definitely recommend and have done so already!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was amazing.. the views were spectacu ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was amazing.. the views were spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too pricy, too noisy

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

too pricy, too noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Spectacular venue -- location, amenities ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Spectacular venue -- location, amenities, wine list, view, sophisticated menu. The sense of refinement at The River Cafe is a welcome and refreshing option. Some would consider the menu pricey, however, you get what you pay for. Excellent, will be returning on every visit to New York City.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views of the city and spectacu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Beautiful views of the city and spectacularly good food.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding , best dining exp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Absolutely outstanding , best dining experience ever in our 50 years. Went for my wife's 50th birthday breakfast, immediately surpassed my expectation- staff were so attentive and food was just gorgeous.

Felt so special until the other diners arrived and they got just the same !

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excelente lugar y comida! La atención fu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excelente lugar y comida! La atención fue muy buena! La comida es exquisita! Y la vista...lo mejor!!! Volvería mil veces muy agradable. Solo muy ruidoso cuando está lleno. Pero la vista es hermosa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our sixth anniv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our sixth anniversary at the restaurant. We were married in the private room at the restaurant and they always give us the special table where my wife accepted my marriage proposal. The food, service and atmosphere are excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. You know not much could top that vi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wow. You know not much could top that view but the service, ambiance and the food sure did. A beautiful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a view and what service. Waited to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What a view and what service. Waited to come here for my wife's 50th birthday since we were last in NYC 2 years ago. The food was superb, the views amazing and the service fantastic. Cannot recommend highly enough, a holiday highlight for us

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been many years since I had last ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It had been many years since I had last been here,and I'm sorry I was away so long. The service and food were wonderful, and of course, the view of the lower Manhattan skyline across the water cannot be beat. It's not cheap to eat here, but it is worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic evening for a 10 year Annive ...

 
 (Newcastle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A fantastic evening for a 10 year Anniversary special. Staff amazing and extremely friendly & attentive!! Totally amazing views!!!

Price extremely pricey although tasty not you everyday occasion.

A couple got engaged when we where there & the staff handled it beautifully knowing when to stand in and congratulate.

Would recommend & go back but only for an expensive special occasion!

Thank you for a fantastic night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Perfect, that's the only word needed.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect, that's the only word needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a table to celebrate a special bi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Booked a table to celebrate a special birthday whilst visiting New York. Had heard great things about this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Staff are very attentive, but don't hover around your table too much. We were greeted as soon as we walked through the door, coats checked and taken to the bar area as we were slightly early for our booking. The pianist was amazing, could have lingered in the bar area for hours. French 77 cocktail was delicious.

We opted out of the tasting menu as the whole table needs to select it. We were given useful advice when selecting the wine. This is probably the most expensive meal we have ever had, but as it was a special occasion we felt it was worth it. The men did not have a problem with the request to wear jackets - we'd almost expected a dress code like that in a restaurant of this quality. The views of Manhattan by night were spectacular. The chairs at our table were thoughtfully placed so all 4 of us could see across the river, and no one had their back to the huge windows. The room was crowded, it wasn't easy to walk away from the table to access the washrooms for instance. Ricky aka Ricardo attended to our table and was a delight to deal with. The food was delicious but, in our opinion, over priced. If you are looking for a special treat in New York...go for it, you won't be disappointed but your wallet will feel the pain.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The options for the prix fixe menu were ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The options for the prix fixe menu were amazing. The presentation was beautiful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous experience!! Can't wait to ret ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fabulous experience!! Can't wait to return. Service and food impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special Thanksgiving celebrat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was a special Thanksgiving celebration of my party of three well groomed , educated stylish and classy women who made reservations ahead , confirmed properly and was one of the three first table to arrive for the 1:00 pm seating. We were the second party to be seated in an empty dining room and Josh gave us the worst seat in the house. I think it was because ewe were women because th either tables all had men. It a a mother r, sister and two young ladies.

I noticed no one was seated at that table until long after the dining area full. The food was nothing o write home about and the service just ok. I really am disappointed especially in Josh as I have not eaten there in 15years. No loss however. I will not return. Way to much money of what you get. and I really wanted some pumpkin pie and got a half dollar sized tart. Never again .Shame on you River CAFE and Shame on you Josh. The view is great but not worth all that. It used to be a great restaurant but no longer.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Katastrophale Qualität und inakzeptables ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Katastrophale Qualität und inakzeptables Preis/-Leistungsverhältnis . Nie wieder !!!

Der totale Touristennepp...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Visited 23/11/16. Initially booked for a ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Visited 23/11/16. Initially booked for a special dinner for my girlfriends birthday during our visit to NYC from the UK. Very expensive but the food is exceptional with service to match, incredible view of lower Manhatten and the area immediately outside the entrance is so quiet, beautiful and picturesque it was the perfect spot to propose! (she said YES!). Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Most spectacular location in New York wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Most spectacular location in New York with most definitely the best steak I've eaten service was unrivalled. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing: -Food -service -place

 
 (Mainz)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Amazing:

-Food

-service

-place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary in every way! A one of a k ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Extraordinary in every way! A one of a kind experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant under Brooklyn bridge ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing restaurant under Brooklyn bridge. Perfect for lunch after walking across bridge.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, nice size and well laid out. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great view, nice size and well laid out. Staff were great and very helpful. Interesting food choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.