About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: 8883383996

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Brooklyn
Best Service
Brooklyn
Best Ambiance
Brooklyn
4 More
Romantic
Brooklyn
Special Occasion
Brooklyn
American
Brooklyn
Most Booked
Brooklyn
Best Restaurants in DUMBO / Vinegar Hill ›

scenic view (323)
romantic (314)
special occasion (314)
See All
fit for foodies (161)
notable wine list (134)
neighborhood gem (69)
great for brunch (48)
great for lunch (46)
hot spot (38)
great for outdoor dining (37)
good for groups (35)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
4828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful location, great service, expec ...

Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful location, great service, expect some elegant "fancy" food where presentation is the highlight.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I love the relax feel, the the food was ...

Dined 4 days ago

I love the relax feel, the the food was great. It was my birthday celebration and i enjoyed it thank you River Cafe its was a pleasure🤗🍸🍛🍰

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating a special anniversary this was the perfect location. The food was exquisite but the service was among the best we've ever had as the staff is genuine and did all they could to make the evening special. Would highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent recommendation from the waiter ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent recommendation from the waiter , food was impeccable , excellent t taste

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect during our time at the River Cafe, from the warm greeting when we arrived, to the friendly-professional-completely on point waitstaff (our waiter was fantastic and then everyone else was amazing as well - they had a team approach), to the fantastic food and beverage, the presentations, and then there's that view - beautiful. We do consider ourselves a bit of a "foodie" couple, and we would highly recommend the River Cafe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view, delicious meal and great ...

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful view, delicious meal and great feel to the restaurant. I thought I was back in the glamour of the 1930's ! Would definitely recommend this place for a special night out:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Very slow between starter and entreees

Dined 6 days ago

We waited for 35 minutes for the main course , nobody seems to be aware that, bad coordination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Restaurant feels dated and very expensiv ...

Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant feels dated and very expensive given that we felt rushed through our meal so that table could be turned over quickly.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Unique dining experi ence

Dined on May 19, 2016

Enjoyed all aspects of River Cafe, although was a little shocked that my lobster was chewy and stringy. Everything else was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding. I had been t ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was outstanding. I had been there before for lunch and was waiting for the right special moment to have dinner. It was everything I had hoped for, and more. Ambiance, as expected, was breath-taking. Service was top notch. All three of us had the crab cake appetizer; it was great (and I am a crab cake aficionado). 3 different main courses; lamb, steak and sea bass all were fantastic. Dessert was 2 apple almond pave and 1 chocolate soufflé and a perfect ending to a perfect dining experience. Would definitely return, though not too soon, it is reserved for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Views

Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant is st the base of Brooklyn bridge and has amazing views of Manhathen at night time. The food is fantastic and great for special occasions but it is very expensive

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great view

Dined on May 18, 2016

We went here as a family of 4 to celebrate my daughter's graduation from New York University. We had an excellent meal and were treated to attentive but not overwhelming service. The menu was diverse and the food was excellent. The views toward Manhattan are excellent and we were lucky to have a window table. This is a superb venue on a fine evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

HAPPY IRISH VISITOR

Dined on May 15, 2016

EXCELLENT DINING AND AMBIENCE FOR A SPECIAL OCCASSION PARTICULARLY FOR A VISITOR TO NEW YORK.THE SETTING IS SPECTACULAR. HOWEVER IT IS EXPENSIVE. WE ENJOYED OUR VISIT IMMENSELY.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion. Jus ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Just an all around classy place that makes everyone feel special and worth going to.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tucked almost under the Brooklyn Bridge, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Tucked almost under the Brooklyn Bridge, the River Café provides spectacular views of Manhattan's skyline and food that is just as awe inspiring. Delicious to the last morsel, each dish around the table was as brilliant as the next.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, food, and view of the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic service, food, and view of the New York City Skyline! Perfect ambience for romance, and sophisticated menu choices eloquently presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at River Cafe whenever we are in ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We dine at River Cafe whenever we are in New York. It is our favorite restaurant. As in the past, our most recent visit did not disappoint at all. This was a special occasion, so months ahead I requested our favorite table. We were seated at that very table, and the staff remembered our special occasion. The food was outstanding; the service was impeccable; and the ambiance was gorgeous as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We happened to get a last minute booking for Saturday and I must say it was fantastic! We had a great table and the whole evening was picture perfect! Staff and food were outstanding. Managed to secure a booking for my daughter's 18th birthday celebrations in October when we will be returning to NY!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good place.

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great place! Fit for lunch and for dinner amazing view.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Last great night!

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was our las night in Manhattan (my husband and I) so we wanted to go to some special place We knew about The River Cafe and decided to make a reservation. From the beginning it has been awesome! The lights, the gardens outside, the flowers in the hall, and the best: the view! It's amazing!!! Then the food delicious and the service was perfect. We are sure we're going back in a future. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food in an iconic setting.

Dined on May 13, 2016

River Cafe came highly recommended as my wife and I were in New York celebrating our 10th anniversary. It was everything I expected and more. Know this going in... It's fancy. It's expensive. But for an occasion that suits a visit to River Cafe, it's supposed to be!! If you're looking for a bargain? If you're opposed to fancy? If you get offended when you're asked to wear a jacket to dinner? Go elsewhere!! This isn't the place for you. However, you're really missing out!! But let me also say, everything you're going to pay in dollars - is worth it! There is NO BETTER VIEW ANYWHERE in New York City! The service was impeccable. Everything is first class. I had the lamb chops and my wife had sea bass! The gnocchi was the best we've ever had!! One of our top dining experiences ever! If you have a special "romantic" occasion and you're celebrating it in NYC, there is no better place. Trust me!! And if you read a bad review, the person writing is likely a complainer or has an ax to grind because River Cafe is unparalleled. Period.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Great view

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Great view

food5
ambience5
service5

Still as wonderful as the first time I c ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Still as wonderful as the first time I came many years ago. Food was delicious and service impeccable. Always first reservation when I visit NYC.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always at the level of expectations but ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always at the level of expectations but needs some menu refreshment. Grossly the same since 6 years now.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Restaurant! Always go here when ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Amazing Restaurant! Always go here when I'm in New York. Best steak and best desert I've ever had! Just love this restaurant at the water front, with the perfect atmosphere and a wonderful view over the river tangent by the Brooklyn Bridge with a direct view on to the statue of liberty and the skyline of Manhattan. Truly beautiful in the sunset!

food5
ambience5
service4

The degustation was outstanding!! Initia ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The degustation was outstanding!! Initially the service was lacking till we got Kelsey - she was lovely.... The view was sensational but the food was definitely the star of the evening - as it should be..

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a booth table facing the NYC skyl ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a booth table facing the NYC skyline along side the Brooklyn Bridge awesome. 6 Course wine paired dinner is one of the best I have Had over the years. I recommend this to food enthusiasts. enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

location, location, location, right unde ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

location, location, location, right underneath the Brooklyn bridge with the NYC skyline as a background. The food was exquisite, and the portions were generous. I would definitely recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience with a terrific vie ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful experience with a terrific view of Manhattan from under the Brooklyn Bridge...great service and food....excellent in everyway!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good once again.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second annual birthday visit to the River Cafe. It was once again outstanding. The price fix menu for the day offered a wide variety of choices. We had a steak and a salmon, both of which were outstanding. The service was impeccable. The view is of course one of a kind. The dessert trio was absolutely indescribably delicious. Can I give it 6 stars?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Done Right!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My family went to The River Cafe to celebrate Mother's Day. Everyone was attentive, thoughtful and helpful. The service was flawless. The menu, while limited, had something for everyone. The food was delicious starting with the rolls and zucchini bread which deserves special mention. The dessert plate was over the top. The chocolate miniature of the Brooklyn Bridge was spectacular to look at and to eat. The chocolate covered strawberry ice cream pop was extremely tasty. It was a generous offering of sweets-too much for any of us to finish. This was a very special treat which we all enjoyed very much. We had a lovely, unhurried experience with a great view of the water and the bridge. The staff accommodated a busy room and made us feel very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu and the wine tasting me ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The tasting menu and the wine tasting menu were fantastic. It was an awesome dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful romantic restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fabulous meal, fabulous location, wonderful service. Visited NY from UK, wanted a restaurant for a special meal, The River Cafe was perfect. They were even able to provide a waterside table. Thank you so much

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excelent place for a Date

Dined on May 7, 2016

First, second dish and wine great. Dessert (Pistachio moose) not as good. Tables are too close one from each other, that would be my complain. The iluminated garden WOW.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A F&B Institution

Dined on May 7, 2016

River Cafe was my wife favorite when we lived in New York returning to such institution after twenty years, being well received by the staff, great food a great wine list the return couldnt be better. Thanks River Cafe

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion MUST!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful! Great View not a bad table in the place. Staff is friendly, knows the menu & suggestions - food is delicious! Our 6th visit in from TN. If you want a any kind of SPECIAL dining - lunch or dinner - THIS IS THE PLACE! Beautiful views inside & out! And order the dessert - you gotta see it! & taste it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Super , superior ! Say no more!! Must Go ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Super , superior ! Say no more!! Must Go!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time in New York and River Cafe the best

Dined on May 5, 2016

What an experience, dining with a view of the Manhatten skyline was unbelievable. The food was presented so well and delicious. The ambience was fantastic as were the staff. We were looked after so well especially with it being our first time in New York. Would definitely recommend this Restaurant to everyone who visits the Big Apple.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We had very nice meal. The view of Manha ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We had very nice meal. The view of Manhattan is great. There may be no better service in NYC. We had the tasting menu. Quite honestly, I think ordering from the menu would have been just as good and taken far less time. I like because it is a small place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food and awesome view.

Dined on May 3, 2016

River cafe is a very romantic place, we went to celebrate our anniversary and from the beginning the service was very kind and nice to make the night memorable. The dinner was perfect, the decoration of the place, and the view of New York under the bridge is unique. The place was quite full but we did not feel in a crowded place. We enjoy a quite night, with great service, the food was perfect and always in time.

Tags: romantic, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.