Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About River Cafe

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is always available to guests with reservations.

If you plan to bring a car to The River Café, please call us to find out if parking is available for the date of your visit.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street
2 or 3 train to Clark Street
F train to York Street
Bus #B25 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room at The River Café is uniquely capable of offering your guests an unsurpassed setting for private dining with spectacular views overlooking New York Harbor, The Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline.

Inquiries about special events or corporate dinners (30 to 100 guests) are handled by Luke Vossen, the Director of Private Events, who will assist in planning every detail. For additional information contact luke@rivercafe.com

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: (888) 338-3996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (242)
Scenic View (221)
Special Occasion (220)
See All
Waterfront (206)
Good for Anniversaries (181)
Good for a Date (160)
Good for Birthdays (122)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Notable Wine List (85)
Worth the Drive (79)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Tasting Menu (69)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Cozy (56)
Authentic (53)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Business Meals (38)
Great for Lunch (33)
Hot Spot (29)
Fun (28)
People Watching (27)
Great for Brunch (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Live Music (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Historic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Seasonal (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Healthy (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Organic (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Family Style (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
6232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing location, food and service. A bit tight for wheelchair access. However, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating our anniversary. The Maitre d offered us a window seat - however we decided to sit on the banquet. Food was delicious, loved the gnocchi and lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great location, very good service but prefix menu is overpriced, very average and not worth the trip to Brooklyn. I've been in NYC for 21 yrs this is my first trip to Brooklyn for dinner...and now I know why. I will stay in NYC on the varsity team...I live at Columbus Circle..so why would I take a 30+ min train ride for worse food at price the same as here in the City. That was the worse $360 meal I've ever had all things considered (travel, time, quality)...but the room is very nice and the staff is well intended. Nobu I here I come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Ein "Logenplatz " in New York, einen schöneren Blick auf Manhattan kann man nicht haben.
Das Essen war sehr gut (Lamm und Hummer als Hauptgang); das Restaurant können wir weiterempfehlen. Viel Personal mit für eine Adresse mit zwei Sternen und dem Preisniveau unterschiedlich zu bewertender Aufmerksamkeit - von sehr gut bis hochnäsig.
In Deutschland oder Frankreich wäre die Leistung der Köche mit Sternen oder Punkten geringer zu bewerten, trozdem für einen besonderen Abend in NY: immer wieder 😀👍🏼
Die Reservierung nur 2 Wochen im Voraus, hat bestens geklappt, auch der Fensterplatz war uns sicher - danke sehr für den schönen Geburtstagsabend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Not only were the view, location, live piano music and service on point but the food was *incredible!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday and arrived earlier to enjoy the views and a glass of wine. It's lovely, especially as you're driving up. It's like a wonderland garden :) I would probably have preferred eating outside much more! The inside was pretty and not as big as I had imagined. With so many great views in the city, I didn't feel as if the view was as unique or as great as I had expected- but it was still nice. The price was surprisingly high, although I had been anticipating a hefty price tag- don't know for sure if it was worth it with so many other options at half the price and just as good.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was not above average. It was regular dining with good food, however lacks character as it is not really a unique dining experience. I feel there is no theme or flow to the restaurant. The view can only really be enjoyed if you are sitting by the window. I would not go back to this restaurant and think that there are other restaurants or activities that would yield the same view. "Per se" is memorable. This one is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Extraordinary, every plate, the view , the atention of all and every one!! We had a blast , thks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had brunch and can highly recommend it. Great brunch dining options and service. Not hurried and reasonably quiet. Wonderful view of lower Manhattan from tables near the windows. Uber had a hard time finding the location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Special time. Exceptional service and food. You need to be prepared to be dressed up and ready to spend some coin. But WELL WORTH IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The view was out of this world and so was the service. I would definitely go here again. Just a tip, if you are going to wear heels be careful because the road is cobblestone so make sure your shoes are sturdy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic experience. Setting was beautiful and we were lucky enough to be given a window seat affording wonderful views of Manhatten and the Brooklyn Bridge.

Service was fantastic and very attentive and the taster menu was sublime. Some of the best food I've had and I look forward to returning next time I visit New York.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This may be the most romantic ambience in the 5 boroughs.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Rivera Cafe is absolutely amazing. A bit pricy but worth every penny. The service was outstanding and one of the best places I've ever eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Beautiful place and very good food. A place to go and enjoyada with the atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing as always! We had Ricky as our captain, just like we did when we came 3 years ago. He was amazing! He took great care of us! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Thank you !! The dinner was really fantastic. The people was very kind.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent cuisine with gracious but not stuffy service. Ideal for my wife's birthdsy

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 12, 2017

A perfect oasis of wonderful food and top class service with a view of Manhatten that will leave you breathless

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Its not that great , for a special occasion find some better place.
Even with reservation they made us wait for half an hour.
Dont recommend at all.

Much better places are thr, with way better service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Remarkable setting to celebrate a special occasion (in my case, an anniversary). Excellent food, excellent service, great ambience, breaktaking view of the east river. Look forward to celebrating special occasions here in the future!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The location, ambience and service top notch. Food is a bit overrated. Perhpas I am a bit critical coming from the hospitality industry. I have dined and managed a lot of facilities and hotels. Therefore I have a more discerning eye. Overall the experience was fantastic. I will recommend. Thank you for the survey. Cheers!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Fantastic food and atmosphere. My wife loved the duck and dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent atmosphere, food and service. The view is spectacular!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Tables by the window to see the river are SO close together that we were involved in our neighboring table's conversation while there was a table left open behind us. The Maitre d was not attentive to the customer's experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We went for our wedding dinner and it was beyond exceptional and is beautiful. Amazing ambience, views, service, food, wine and attention to detail from start to finish! Well worth every penny!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals today. In the past Ive said the food can be a bit bland for my taste, but tonight's dishes were both flavorful. Knocchi and crabcakes were our starters, and entrees were halibut and bass. Both were superb. Added to the ambiance, views, soft piano playing, service, you cant do much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance and fantastic view. The place is classy and highly enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had our honeymoon trip dinner at The River Cafe and the restaurant was very generous on giving good seats by the window with the view of the city. Also a nice congratulation presentation was added on the dessert. In general the service was great and I would definitively recommend having a meal here for special or even casual meals out. It was a memorable honeymoon dinner for us.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food. Given they have you keep your jacket on at all times, wish the room was cooler as the massive wndows let a lot of sun and heat in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The reviews I read were on point! This is a top notch , 5 star service restaurant. We were a group of 10 who had previously reserved for 8 and they accommodated us with no fuss or interruption. We all ate a variety of different option on the Sunday Brunch menu and everyone was extremely pleased with their food. The location is excellent under the Brooklyn bridge, the waterfront make it picture perfect. I was visiting from Miami --to see my NY family. It was a beautiful after-noon and money well spent... Its a little pricey but worth every dime.. You get what you pay for and we paid and received Top Notch dining experience! Thank you to the wait staff who took excellent care of us on Sunday July 9.. you all deserve 5 STARS!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Unforgettable brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

good values v- little dark xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were disappointed in the River Café. Over the years we have celebrated special occasions at this restaurant and were always pleased. This visit was different. The view is still spectacular and the service was excellent. However, the tables are very close to each other, and our table for three should really have been just for two persons. Our meal itself was very good, but we thought the portions were small, which should not be for a three course meal.( Our teenage son was eating bread at the end of the meal, which was not a good sign. )All in all, we did not think the five hundred plus dollars for the meal was worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was a gift for my husband and I and it was a wonderful experience. The views are spectacular and the food is extremely good. Service was outstanding and we were not rushed at all. It is very expensive but for special occasions in my mind so worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The views and ambiance outweigh the slightly overpriced evening. But can honestly say, left feeling full, indulging in excellent food and a very attentive staff. Followed by a walk in the garden, exceptional evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

River Café has an exquisite view of New York Harbor and lower Manhattan. The view comes with wonderful food and excellent service. Regrettably lunch is only served on Saturday

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Girls Birthday brunch. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Anyone who doesn't enjoy this gem must have voted for Mr. 45 because the overall experience was amazing. The Steinway, scenic view, amazing food, wonderful service, scrumptious drinks and honestly for what it is there lunch prices are a steal. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing. Some of the best bites I have ever had. Unmatched ambiance. Expensive and worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.