Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About River Cafe

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Breakfast: Monday-Friday 8:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is always available to guests with reservations.

If you plan to bring a car to The River Café, please call us to find out if parking is available for the date of your visit.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street
2 or 3 train to Clark Street
F train to York Street
Bus #B25 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
The Terrace Room at The River Café is uniquely capable of offering your guests an unsurpassed setting for private dining with spectacular views overlooking New York Harbor, The Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline.

Inquiries about special events or corporate dinners (30 to 100 guests) are handled by Luke Vossen, the Director of Private Events, who will assist in planning every detail. For additional information contact luke@rivercafe.com

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: (888) 338-3996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (169)
Waterfront (157)
Scenic View (153)
See All
Special Occasion (146)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
Good for a Date (119)
Good for Birthdays (76)
Notable Wine List (69)
Worth the Drive (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Cozy (44)
Tasting Menu (40)
Historic (34)
Authentic (30)
Business Meals (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Live Music (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Outstanding Value (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
5895 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Amazing! Classy yet quaint. Beautiful views and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, place and service, not cheap although, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

3-course prix fixe for $125, plus wine, plus mandatory 20% tip, makes for a pricey meal. But the view is incomparable, and our group found the main courses delicious and substantial. My lamb chops were superb, others liked their sea bass and strip steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for a birthday breakfast celebration. They closed the kitchen at 12:00pm so we were unable to order desserts.At the very least they could have warned us the kitchen would be closing. Just in case we wanted something else. The website says they are open for lunch. The food was delicious and the service was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely perfect for a stunning view of NYC whilst enjoying the fabulous food. Great range of dishes to suit everyone's taste and not a single fault could be found for what was a special occasion for myself and my family. Attentive and helpful staff who attended to every need with addressed and satisfied, without doubt the perfect end to our trip.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It was perfect. The River Café and especially the lovely waiters made or wedding perfect. Thanks so much. :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebraiting a birthday in the family. It was a great evening and a spectacular view og Manhattan skyline. Great place but expencive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (México)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, food, view and place. Everything about the restaurant is comfortable and makes you feel at home.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful and delicious restaurant to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

It was my daughters 21st birthday celebration we both loved it food was outstanding staff attentive and a wonderful setting if it's a special occasion I would highly recommend it

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Did not disappoint! Impeccable service, outstanding food, remarkable view. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had not been to the restaurant in many years and looked forward to returning. It did not disappoint. It is as elegant as I remember it. We had a great experience and most importantly, my wife loved it. Hats off to the owners who have preserved true fine dining in an era of imposters. My only suggestion is that you should include a small salad in the prix fix menu. We'll be back.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent service. Good food. Request for window table

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kent)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was one of the best restaurants I have been to in along time. The views were amazing, the service was attentive and faultless. The food was divine as were the wines. It is a wonderful restaurant with outstanding qualities. A must go to restaurant if visiting New York

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great location and great service. I went there for my sister's birthday. She loved the special desert plate she got. Thank you so much. We enjoyed their awesome food while we see great view in front of us! Absolutely recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great service, views on NYC skyline and Brooklyn Bridge, fantastic food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing dinner and setting to celebrate my husband's 40th bday. The view of the NYC skyline is fantastic. The service was attentive but not intrusive. My family enjoyed the duck, lobster, Sea Bass, and NY Strip....all were excellent. Would highly recommend for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As usual it was terrific. We always invite our fellow out of town guests to a dinner here.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing restaurant fantastic food and fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cheshire)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Proposed to my now fiance on saturday 11th march 17. The view the atmosphere, the staff, the food all fantastic! So helpful and welcoming. The Valet guy took some photos as i proposed. It was perfect!!! Hope to go again someday on another trip from the UK.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing and memorable evening!!! Food and wine e pairing was exceptional as well as the service!!

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The location on the waterfront by Brooklyn Bridge is unbeatable. The ambience is special, relaxed and friendly. The food is exceptional, as is the service. A real treat for all the senses.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Emblemático establecimiento , con distinción, solera y mucha clase . Servicio excelente , comida deliciosa . Vistas panorámicas

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything about the River Cafe is special! The welcome, the professional wait staff, the food....special! The view is fantastic and set the perfect mood for a few days in NYC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The River Cafe has been and remains my favorite restaurant. We were there for dinner. The food was delicious, the service was impeccable, the atmosphere was delightful and the beautiful flowers were just that--perfectly beautiful regardless of the time of year. I highly recommend the River Cafe and be sure to get the Brooklyn Bridge dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was beautiful and lush with lots of greenery and flowers.
Service was impeccable.
Food and drinks were very good.
Lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

excellent - really enjoyed it - order the brooklyn bridge for desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing service and beautiful view. Steak was good but size made it feel like cow was on steroids prior. Overall great experience

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was an engagement celebration for my godson and it was perfect in every way ---creating a memory for the young couple that will last for a lifetime. We will be forever grateful to the river café for making the day yet even more special than it already was. And a shout out to Jenna who paid particularly close attention to my requests when I phoned her in advance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful experience all round. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. Such lovely waiters and waitresses.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A Great place for an Expensive but enjoyable dinner. The food is good the service very good and the views of NYC are incredible. This is a place where everyone should go at least once. Make a reservation and come a little early. You will be rewarded with a great table and have a very enjoyable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I think that the right definition for this place is "they make you feel the only guest". Everything was perfect; service, food, music, views...
Thanks for giving me an unforgettable birthday ☺️

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Just one phrase: Everything was absolutly perfect. Food, wine and enviroament was simply great. Ideal for dating your wife and anniversaries.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We booked this to celebrate our anniversary. Good ambience; staff generally attentive. My wife and my self we where sitting near a ac draft and had to give my jacket to cover my wife shoulders. One of the waiter saw this but he didn't do anything until I looked at him and then brought a pashmina to my wife..nothing major but considering the class/level of the restaurant you expecting this little things to be done without any hint. Food good and decent wine list. Overall good experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good but not great. For 125 a person, expected incredible service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Stunning view, wonderful ambience, very, very good food, and a dear price to be paid for it all. Overall, probably best dinning experience ever.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is a wonderfully enjoyable experience!! VERY pricey but luxury service, food, drinks and experience. Top restaurant experience. HIGHLY recommended.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A place for a very special occasion. Amazing view and fantastic food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The place is very special, with nice attention and excellent food. The price - value ratio could be better. It is an elegant and well located place under the Brooklyn Bridge.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The River Cafe will take you under its wing if fine dining is not a thing you do often. I had no idea about the menu or wine list. I just said chef special and please choose a nice white wine for myself. The knowledgeable waiter took car of everything. I had a six-course meal ranging from shellfish to shrimp cocktail with king crab, monkfish, and sirloin steak. I was served the signature dessert with the Brooklyn bridge made from chocolate. I ate slowly enjoying every bite. I especially appreciated the flavors of combining coconut sorbet with iced pomegranate. The River Cafe is a once in a lifetime experience I will always remember. Oh and I can't say enough about the view of the city from the waterfront.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.