About River Cafe

1 Water St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201
View Larger Map

The River Café is one of New York and America’s most unique locations. Nestled under the Brooklyn Bridge with sweeping views of the New York skyline and the Statue of Liberty, this elegant restaurant has, since 1977, been a favorite destination for New Yorkers and visitors from around the world who demand the highest level of cuisine.

Renowned for its exquisite setting, beautiful decor and seamless service The River Café serves a wonderful classic New American menu using only the finest, freshest and often rare ingredients. With an award winning and outstanding wine list, romantic piano music nightly, breathtaking floral arrangements, the River Café is more than simply dining, it is often a magical experience. Whether you are coming for dinner or a private party, be sure to leave some time to enjoy The River Café’s spectacular garden.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 365 days of the year; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Lunch: Saturday: 11:30pm - 2:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Old Fulton St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(718) 522-5200

Website:
http://www.rivercafe.com/

Entertainment:
The River Cafe features live piano nightly.

Catering:
Contact Luke Vossen in the Catering Department for details: (718)522-5200.

Public Transit:
A or C train to High Street/Brooklyn Bridge; 2 or 3 train to Clark Street; F train to York St.; Bus #41 to Old Fulton St./Cadman Plaza West

Executive Chef:
Brad Steelman

Private Party Facilities:
Nestled beneath the Brooklyn Bridge with breathtaking view of the New York Skyline, The River Café is the ideal setting for a wide range of events. From cocktail receptions to intimate dinners to the most elegant of weddings, our iconic location and unsurpassed service will dazzle your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Luke Vossen: (888) 338-3996

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Marquise Brooklyn Bridge - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Duck Breast With Winter Risotto - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Foie Gras - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Smoked Salmon On Belini With Caviar - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Soft Egg Ravioli With Black Truffle - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Tuna Tartare - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Milk Chocolate Souffle - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
pistachio semifreddo - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Sautéed Hudson Valley Foie Gras - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Gazpacho With Yellow Watermelon And Feta - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Chocolate Brooklyn Bridge - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Mushroom Wellington - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Maine Lobster Special - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Shrimp - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Lamb Meatballs - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Sorbet - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Branzino - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Lobster - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Branzino Fillet - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Lamb - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Pistachio - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Amuse Bouche - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Wild Boar Bolognese - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Fresh Mozzarella And Sweet Potato Salad - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Ravioli - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Duck Breast With Baby Bok Choy And Carrots - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Chocolate Marquise - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Apple Merengue And Sorbet - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crab Bisque - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crisp Duck Breast - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Salmon On Corn Bellini - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Taylor Bay Scallop Ceviche - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Braised Oxtail With Homemade Tortellini And Fresh Truffle Shavings - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Bone Marrow Duchess Potato - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Niman Ranch Strip Steak With Red Wine Mushroom Marmalade - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Manhattan Bridge Chocolate Dessert - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
gaspacho - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Hawaiian Marlin With Mango - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
steak tartare - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Almond tart - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
New York Cut Sirloin - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crèam Brûlèe - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Melon Salad - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Whole Wheat Pasta - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Grilled Atlantic Swordfish Paillard - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Crispy Duck Breast - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Hudson Valley Foie Gras - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY
Scallop Ceviche - River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY

River Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (165)
Special Occasion (165)
Waterfront (157)
See All
Romantic (147)
Good for Anniversaries (131)
Good for a Date (127)
Good for Birthdays (83)
Notable Wine List (79)
Creative Cuisine (63)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Worth the Drive (57)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Cozy (41)
Tasting Menu (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Great for Brunch (36)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Historic (31)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
People Watching (18)
Live Music (18)
Hot Spot (15)
Outstanding Value (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fireplace (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
5758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the most amazing evening date e ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This was the most amazing evening date ever! I had high expectations of The River Café and I wasn't disappointed! I brought my girlfriend here as a surprise for our last evening in NYC. I wouldn't have changed a single thing about it! Food and service was spot on! Little pricey but it's an evening we will never forget, so you can't put a price on that! We hope to return next time we're in the city!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and the ambience were terrific. ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food and the ambience were terrific. Only negatives were: the bread wasn't as good as the rest of the food, so wasn't the best introduction to the meal. Our table felt sort of pushed into a small space. But overall it was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening with my daughter. Foo ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful evening with my daughter. Food was unbelievable and the service amazing. It's on the pricey side but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been coming here for 32 years... it neve ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Been coming here for 32 years... it never disappoints and it has the bed view in NYC!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We been coming for over 20 years and it' ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We been coming for over 20 years and it's still as fantastic as it always was. It is a microcosm of NYC and used to be a big schlep out to the Boros but now it's in the heart of the trendy dumbo. We've done brunch which is wonderful with family but it is a remarkable place for dinner. Location is its USP but the food and staff are also key ingredients. It's not cheap it worth it.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

初めてのニューヨーク旅行の最後のディナーに予約しました。 リクエストもしていない ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

初めてのニューヨーク旅行の最後のディナーに予約しました。

リクエストもしていないのに案内されたテーブルは夜景が良くみえる理想的な席でした。

ベタですがやはりさすが王道といったお店です。

食事も美味しかったです。特にステーキにはびっくりしました。

Tags: デートにピッタリ, 記念日のお祝いにピッタリ
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The views are wonderful. The food was e ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The views are wonderful. The food was excellent. The staff and service were wonderful. Pricey but a unique NY dining experience. A nice place to make a memory. should be done if you can do it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible experience. Views, fare and ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Incredible experience. Views, fare and service are first rate.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place. Service is outstanding ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Beautiful place. Service is outstanding. Food is excellent. Amazing ambience. The complete experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best gourmet experience we have ever ha ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best gourmet experience we have ever had in a fantastic, romantic setting, watching the moon rising over the Hudson with the Statute of Liberty and Staten Island Ferry glimmering in the moonlit snowflakes, while a score of boats plied up and down the windswept East River under the Brooklyn Bridge to the music of the great pianist as we sipped superb wines and savored superb foods, expertly prepared, served with gallant bravado.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing atmosphere of luksury and great ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Amazing atmosphere of luksury and great views of Brooklyn bridge and Manhattan

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

James Meringer is the perfect host and m ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

James Meringer is the perfect host and made our birthday meal a special occasion to remember. The food is divine here of course. The views over Manhattan are evocative and filmic. The sommelier seemed distracted and showed not much interest in our wine experience. Not sure why tipping isn't optional when the bill comes. Bit brusque. Overall, though - a New York classic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Traumhafter Ausblick. Sehr gutes Essen, ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Traumhafter Ausblick. Sehr gutes Essen, sehr schön angerichtet. Anzugpflicht. Preislich sehr gehoben. Fixpreis für ein Dreigängemenü 125 Dollar pro Person. Endrechnung mit Getränken, Trinkgeld, Steuer für zwei Personen: 379 Dollar. Ich würde jederzeit wieder hingehen, da der Preis für die Lage, Aussicht, Essen, Blumenbouquets, Atmosphäre gerechtfertigt ist. Ein einmaliges Erlebnis.

Tags: Am Wasser, Gut für Jahrestage
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a memorable evening with an amazi ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always a memorable evening with an amazing view of NYC!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding desserts. Good service.

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Outstanding desserts. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is one of the few places where the ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is one of the few places where the food and service match the great view. The Sunday brunch was delicious, with a great range of breakfast-type dishes and lunch-type options. The service was notable for its friendly and efficient attention and I was made to feel very welcome and valued. I would want to come back again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The River Cafe never disappoints - amazi ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The River Cafe never disappoints - amazing food & wine with impeccable service

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always have a first rate experience ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always have a first rate experience when we dine hear. The food, service and ambiance are exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Embarrassed us while giving back our coa ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Embarrassed us while giving back our coats. Asking to leave a larger tip. After paying, plus tax, and leaving a tip. A manager should never run after you for more money. Making a spectacle of himself. It was just two of us. Why should we tip $60? It was rude and will never go back again. We told all our friends and coworkers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We enjoyed a full evening. Arrived early ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

We enjoyed a full evening. Arrived early for drinks in bar and enjoyed piano player. After dinner we returned to bar for an after dinner drink and enjoyed more piano music. Service was great and all were very friendly. The view and ambiance outstanding!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not as refined as you would ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was not as refined as you would expect for a 1st class restaurant , not bad but a bit

'' industrial '' which is in opposition with the romantic/cozy/elegant atmosphere you are experiencing at the River Cafe.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Picked this restaurant for the location, ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Picked this restaurant for the location, food was terrific, service a little stuffy but would expect that from a high end New York Restaurant.

Sommelier was very helpful with wine choice.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I reserve this restaurant for my friend ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

I reserve this restaurant for my friend and I when we travel in NYC. our reservation time is 6pm and I emailed them ask if I can have a table by the window. But they told me first come first service. However, when we arrived in the restaurant, I believe we are second customers come, they arranged a side table for us even all the tables by the window are empty. Don't know the meaning first come first service. The food there is just soso.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Amazing place, best experience with a br ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Amazing place, best experience with a brilliant people and food! +10 views! Thanks for a lovely night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The River Café is in a great location wi ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

The River Café is in a great location with fantastic views of Manhattan. We went for brunch and food is nice - but not nice enough to justify some of the prices, apple juice was $14 - you definitely pay for the view!

The café is well presented and has a European feel to it - we could not fault the décor or the attention to detail.

A pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent position and service. Good foo ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent position and service. Good food. Too much expensive and pretending.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience, everything was gre ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent experience, everything was great, food, service and the beautiful views. Will be definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the ambiance, the location and ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved the ambiance, the location and the staff. The food was delicious. It is a true white tablecloth restaurant, so be prepared. We will return on special occasions. This is what the magic of fine dining is all about.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We hade a grate time - with the location ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We hade a grate time - with the location and interesting menu list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The River Cafe is a true gem. Although ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The River Cafe is a true gem. Although slightly off the beaten path it is well worth going out of your way. A unique view, note-worthy dining paired with exceptional service make this a NYC must visit restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic food! Managed to ha ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food! Managed to have a window seat which made the occasion even more special with the views!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was superb and hospitality also.. I ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was superb and hospitality also.. I like bigger portions but that's life.. lovely atomosphere too.. everyone chatting , no wifi lol👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The best place in the world

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The best place in the world

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was not our day. The location is pe ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was not our day.

The location is perfect and the foods are excellent, but the service was not good. Our glasses remained empty and no one seemed to find it. We began to fill the drink by ourselves.

Desserts arrived 45 minutes after asking them. After 20 minutes I was trying to get their attention in vain. After 30 minutes I started to be tapping the table 5 minutes then I got their attention at last.

I thought it just unlucky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Todo estuvo muy bien. La mesa estaba lis ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Todo estuvo muy bien. La mesa estaba lista, el lugar es muy lindo, sobre el rio y con la vista de Manhattan.

La comida esta muy bien presentada y es muy rica!!

La atencion es muy buena y agradable.

En fin , todo estuvo muy bien!

Tags: Ideal para aniversarios, Ideal para cumpleaños
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant experience with all of t ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

A very pleasant experience with all of the staff been very attentive and nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, beautiful restaurant, ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Beautiful setting, beautiful restaurant, great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as usual. We love the River Caf ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fabulous as usual. We love the River Cafe. We have been going there since 1979.

In additional to the spectacular view, the food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fui por una cena de cumpleaños de mi mar ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fui por una cena de cumpleaños de mi marido. Es de los lugares más románticos en los que hemos estado, la comida y el servicio excelentes. Tuvieron el detalle de ponerle una vela en el postre y de sentarnos al lado de la ventana, como había solicitado. Una noche inolvidable.

Lo recomiendo a parejas 100 %. Thank you so much!

Tags: Ideal para una cita, apto para los apasionados de la gastronomía, café de la tarde, Ideal para cumpleaños, Acogedor, hora del té, Ideal para aniversarios, vista panorámica, romántico, Menú degustación, Junto a la costa, Comida reconfortante, ocasión especial, música en vivo
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.