About Ristorante Zebra

32 lake ave
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Ristorante Zebra is a contemporary full service Italian restaurant created in an historic Victorian beach house in 1993. Enjoy refreshing cocktails in the intimate yet dynamic bar and exquisite dinner professionally served in the Safari themed interior or on the charming outside wrap-around porch.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday for dinner and Sunday for brunch and dinner. Our food menu features all of the wonderful items you have come to expect as well as delicious specials, all prepared to order by our talented kitchen staff and served with care by our professional servers. Our bar continues to offer fine wines and spirits as well as expertly prepared cocktails. Join us today! We look forward to seeing you.

Cross Street:
City Hall dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 226-1160

Website:
http://www.ristorantezebra.us/

Catering:
Please call 302 226 1160 and leave a message for Eric for all of your catering needs. We look forward to hearing from you.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Now offering Sunday Brunch from 11 AM to 2 PM. Delicious fare and refreshing cocktail specials for a delightful way to spend your Sunday Brunch-time. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Ristorante Zebra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (9)
special occasion (9)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
romantic (6)
good for groups (4)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3

3rd visit. Overall this is a fine dining ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

3rd visit. Overall this is a fine dining establishment. But does fall short when you look at the prices, the wait staff comes from Russia for the summer and the food while good does not match the price points.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our table was ready when we arrived. Exc ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived. Excellent, friendly, attentive service. Victoria was our server and she was outstanding.. Oh, and our dinner was delicious...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always. Very accommodating ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic as always. Very accommodating for outdoor seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

This was our first time dining at Zebra. ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our first time dining at Zebra. It was a beautiful evening so we dined outside which was really nice. The restaurant is in a really nice spot downtown but off the beaten path. The food took a really long time to come out but it was delicious when it finally did. Overall we were pleased with the experience.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was very slow. We waited 20 minu ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was very slow. We waited 20 minutes before our drink orders were taken. They either had inexperienced servers or were understaffed. The food was not worth the prices charged.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great value for restaurant week. Many varied menu choices. Portion sizes smaller than regular menu but very generous. We had oysters rockerfeller (3) and a burratta with citrus salad app, both very good. Veal saltimbocca and veal francese, both served with asparagus and a sliced potato gratin plus spinal on the saltimbocca. Delicious cheesecake full size slices!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second trip to Zebra during ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This was my second trip to Zebra during Rehoboth Beach restaurant week. The $35 fixed price 3-course menu was very good and had high quality and tasty selections. My only complaint was the fact that I made a 6pm reservation and was greeted by a less-than-gracious hostess at the front door. The restaurant was empty both inside and outside and when I requested a seat outside on the patio/porch, she begrudgingly sat us at an outdoor table seating us in a cramped two-seat table on the side of the outdoor patio. There were plenty of four-top tables on the porch that stayed completely empty until we left at 7:15pm. I was a bit confused why we were treated so badly when requesting a seat outside at a fairly quiet time of the dinner hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant and Delicious

Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant, and boy am I glad we came here! The atmosphere is elegant and chic. The service was wonderful, and the food was scrumptious. For a beautiful restaurant in Rehoboth Beach, the prices are reasonable and you don't feel ripped my ft like you do at some other places in town, especially the one where you sit in a so called "porch." Love the Zebra!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

What happened?

Dined on June 9, 2016

Use to love Zebra and was excited to go for restaurant week. Still a pretty place, but the food and service was nothing like I remember. I hope it gets better through the season

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

OK food, not good for those with food allergies

Dined on June 8, 2016

My husband and I went to Zebra for a nice dinner. My husband had plenty of choices, but I had limited choices due to a gluten allergy, and I did not find the staff or the chef very accommodating. Luckily for me, this is quite unusual even with an Italian restaurant. I was surprised and very disappointed in the service and flexibility. I will not go to Zebra again.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed they kept running out of th ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Disappointed they kept running out of the two wines we were drinking and needed to keep switching

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous, our waiter Todd was f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was fabulous, our waiter Todd was fun but passionate about his job, and the decor was exotic! Will definitely dine there again when back in town!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

Good location, but parking was very inco ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Good location, but parking was very inconvenient! Maybe they need to get a valet parking service! Food looks great, very nice presentation, taste good, service was not so great! Wine list need a major update! Please add more Napa! Same with cocktail list! Very marginal, nothing exacting :( Again, food was good!

food4
ambience4
service4

Seasons

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

We've dined at Zebra several times over the summer. We were surprised the menu didn't chance for the fall. There wer a few seasonal specials but not much to choose from.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply incredible!

Dined on October 16, 2015

As always a fantastic dinner!!! Service as always incredible!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and good service

Dined on September 27, 2015

The food was Great. We showed up early and we able to have drinks at the bar. Nice small bar, a little restricted in selection, but they certainly have all the basis and give you a nice pour. The staff seem very helpful and polite. We both had pasta which was excellent. Overall had a nice time and would definitely go back. I would not recommend the restruant for kids. It has the feel of a nice country club dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Noisy Table

Dined on September 18, 2015

Our experience at the Zebra restaurant was very good except for one table of extremely noisy people. The restaurant staff made no effort to quiet them down.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Rehoboth

Dined on September 12, 2015

The food service and ambiance never fails at Zebra. A first class dining experience that is a special treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

The shrimp appetizer with feta was amazi ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

The shrimp appetizer with feta was amazing. They are not stingy with the wine pours. Definitely try the homemade pasta

food4
ambience5
service4

Be prepared to pay!

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

We still love this old favorite. Very good food, sometimes great. Crisp service until the crowds arrive, no hard feelings. But oh my-- the prices! Be prepared to pay $16-18 for appetizers, $48 or $49 for special entrees. Hard to see why osso bucco is $48, last time I bought a veal shank it was cheaper than say, a steak or a good piece of fish. The price creep in appetizers this year in Rehoboth is everywhere. But the overall feeling I am left with is, they are making money in the high season, when they can, because they can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful night

Dined on September 3, 2015

Beautiful decor, very good Italian menu, seafood, pasta, wine - our family's second trip there for a wonderful birthday celebration. Whimsical Jungle mural is a favorite touch to a joyous experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Outstanding

Dined on August 30, 2015

Although we had not been there in a year, Zebra remains one of our favorite beach stops. Ask for a table in Roberto's room. Great service. Try the asparagus starter. Smaller pasta sizes are ample. Veal chop is excellent. Buon appetito!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Overpriced, unfriendly wait staff and di ...

Dined on August 23, 2015

Overpriced, unfriendly wait staff and did I mention not worth the price. We ordered 3 entrees and received appetizer sized portions. They also brought us the wrong food twice when serving our entrees. Also, we were brought an appetizer in error. We politely told the waiter that we did order an appetizer. They removed it from our table and immediately delivered it to the table next to us. Overall we were very upset with our experience.

food3
ambience4
service3

NOT AS GOOD AS IT ONCE WAS

Dined on August 20, 2015

Have been coming here for years but was disappointed this summer. The food was not as good and the service was only fair. The ambiance is lovely but I no longer think the experience is worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Appreciated wine taste to decide which o ...

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

Appreciated wine taste to decide which one I wanted. Love Italian food and this was all homemade pasta, tender veal, and interesting combinations. Tried tiramisu and it was great! Waiters glad to take pics as we celebrated. Decor will surprise you but we loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

African Decor

Dined on August 15, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet dinner. We enjoyed a nice bottle of wine with our dinner. The veal picata and the veal Milanese were very good, as we're the specialty coffee drinks we had as we shared a baked Alaska for dessert. The service was very good, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Always good

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is always great and I really like the small plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasions.

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

As new residents in the Rehoboth Beach area we are learning to find dining opportunities during the summer that are not impossible to get into because of the seasonal crowds. Zebra is a little outside the main drag, though still in the parking meter area, and clearly upscale for a beach town. An early reservation got us in and out without being crowded. In fact it was half empty. The food was great, albeit well on the expensive side, and the staff very professional. The restaurant passed both our litmus tests: the specials were printed with prices (not rattled off by a waiter demonstrating memory skills) and the used silverware replaced for the next course. This is probably a once a year treat for retired people, but well worth it for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Pairing of Food and Dining Ambience

Dined on August 2, 2015

The restaurant's ambience is equally as good as its food. It is fresh and crisp combines with a hue of the Old World's sense of romance and adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Expensive and not great!

Dined on August 1, 2015

Our food was just so so. For a lot of money, we expeccted more. Maybe that's not the case in Rehoboth!

food5
ambience5
service4

Great Evening for Newbies

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

While I have dined at this restaurant over the years, most of my party of seven had not been before. They uniformly raved about their meals. We had the corner table on the porch, perfect for conversation on a lovely night at the old-world (by Rehoboth standards) restaurant. We were very pleased with the food and the service. Indoors can be noisy, I much prefer the porch and will certainly go again this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE THIS PLACE!

Dined on July 26, 2015

Absolute gem! Fantastic food and service! Great for a dinner date or gathering!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Excellent

vip
Dined on July 23, 2015

Zebra is consistent They recently have had osso buco on the menu. I highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Overwhelmingly Disappointing

Dined on July 18, 2015

Have you ever found yourself looking forward to something and then when the event occurs you are so overwhelmingly disappointed?....Well that was my night at Zebra this past Saturday. The waiter was gruff, the chef inflexible, and air temperature in the dining room too warm. All of the wrong things for the premium prices that Zebra demands. I ordered pasta but asked that no black pasta be used, instead just regular linguini. The waiter said, "No" and then further explained that the Chef will yell at him for making changes to the order. I then asked for a recommendation of another dish and the waiter felt it necessary to say, "Pasta is Pasta and there is no taste difference despite color." (Really?) I asked, then why have Black pasta. Odd that they have regular linguini on the menu but you cannot transfer the linguini into another dish. It will be a good year before I plan to return - perhaps with my own box of noodles for the chef to use.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great night out in Rehoboth

Dined on July 12, 2015

Great time to experience from arrival to desert. The service was great. The appetizers we're out of the world especially the mushroom strudel. Everyone in our group loved their entreey as well. Last, the decor and ambiance at Zebra is a must see.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

Disappointing

Dined on July 11, 2015

I would have to say solidly mediocre. The "Scallopini" was instead a dry (probably frozen) breaded veal cutlet, hockey puck. In fact, breaded describes a lot of the menu. I'm so glad I didn't waste $46 on the veal chop. I believe it too was breaded. I was hoping for a nice fresh fish option. The only fish on the menu was a Japanese style tuna with rice. The ambiance is tacky with jungle like plastic covered seats. We were not given an option of sitting outside although there were open tables and the waitress was obviously in experienced. We were brought the wrong meal with great fanfare, like tada! Very disappointing. The cesaer salad was ok, the wine decent and the waitress was trying hence the 2 instead of 1 star.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and drinks, prompt servic ...

Dined on July 11, 2015

Wonderful food and drinks, prompt service. However, the staff seem snobby and unwelcoming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Off the beaten path in a resort town

Dined on July 7, 2015

Have driven past here several times and finally decided to try Zebra. A nice little Italian restaurant w good food, good service, and good wine, all at a reasonable price. Unlike so many places these days, the portions were not huge but just the right amount of food. We didn't leave there feeling stuffed like we had over eaten. Sitting on the porch on a not too humid night was perfect. Will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Outstanding

vip
Dined on July 4, 2015

Zebra is our favorite restaurant in the Rehoboth area. Our party this visit included 8 and all were very happy with their pasta courses and entrees ..Most had veal dishes, always excellent.. We all had desserts too! With Roberto, Service was impeccable. A word of warning to Open Table users: there is another restaurant named Zebra in NC I mistakenly reserved there instead our local gem. I was delighted that we were accommodated when I discovered my error two days before this busy holiday weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

Ristorante Zebra

Dined on July 3, 2015

We went to Ristorante Zebra for our friends 39th Wedding Anniversary. While dining on the front porch was lovely our food experience was not. Food was over priced for portion size. Our check was over $300.00 with tip and that did not include desserts. We actually left hungry. My friend ordered the Chicken Marsala and the chicken was tough and one part of the breast was way undercooked. We did inform our server of this but the entree was not removed from the check. None of our entrees came with pasta which was very disappointing for the price of each entree. Needless to say there are many wonderful Italian restaurants in the Rehoboth area so we will be dining elsewhere in the future.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.