Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today
Special offers available. See details

Ristorante Zebra

3.9
244 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Neighborhood Gem
Ristorante Zebra is a contemporary full service Italian restaurant created in an historic Victorian beach house in 1993. Enjoy refreshing cocktails in the intimate yet dynamic bar and exquisite dinner professionally served in the Safari themed interior or on the charming outside wrap-around porch.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Contemporary Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Monday thru Saturday for dinner and Sunday for dinner. Our food menu features all of the wonderful items you have come to expect as well as delicious specials, all prepared to order by our talented kitchen staff and served with care by our professional servers. Our bar continues to offer fine wines and spirits as well as expertly prepared cocktails. Join us today! We look forward to seeing you.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(302) 226-1160
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call 302 226 1160 and leave a message for Eric for all of your catering needs. We look forward to hearing from you.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
City Hall dr
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Now offering Sunday Brunch from 11 AM to 2 PM. Delicious fare and refreshing cocktail specials for a delightful way to spend your Sunday Brunch-time. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

What 244 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
4.1
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
25% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

I could not in conscience recommend this restaurant. We have been there before, although this was the first time this season, but we will not go back. I can explain all the reasons, but it would certainly take longer than this review would allow. I will just simply innumerate them instead.
An obnoxious bartender who butted into our private conversation on numerous occasions.
Outrageous cocktail cost
Pasta that was pastey in an Italian restaurant is unacceptable
Mistakes on the final bill, always in their favor, of course.
Waitress (doing her best, I’m sure) but uninformed of wines and food selections.
When it starts at the bar and continues to the check, there’s no fixin this!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Very unique decor which really made for a nice atmosphere. Staff very helpful with descriptions of specials of the day. Excellent Cesar salad & eggplant appetizer. Food & service was fabulous.
Will tell all my friends to definitely eat here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Good food, interesting safari / savannah theme murals on the walls. Small outdoor porch seating area. Older crowd; 70s soft rock hits playing on a loop the night we were there. Could use a refresh to better attract the under-60 crowd.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The restaurant is nice. Food was great, wish I could have tried their wine but it was the night before my marathon. Will go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Every time we go it is such s incredible experience OMG!! When you’re in town visiting Rehoboth visit Ristorante Zebra and ask for Roberto!! He gives you nothing but perfection! Salute!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Appetizer's were very good but veal saltenbuco was only average. My wife did not like the veal shank and neither did another patron. Zebra advertises Oso Buco on their menu but did not have it when we ere there. This is the second time this has happened. Also i specifically asked for it when i made the reservation but they never called to tell us they wouldn't have it. Probably wont go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

My experience at Ristorante Zebra was not good. Read some bad reviews about service and food not being that good but ignored them since they had Osso Bucco on their Pre-fixe menu and we love it. Got menu which said Osso Bucco so we were happy. Got a wine list but said no drink list. Ordered a wine and a Cosmo. The Cosmo, which was made with Absolut Vodka, ended up costing $15, ridiculous price and it taste like a watered down fruit drink. Then when we ordered our Osso Bucco was told the menu was wrong. They brought us another menu out. It was the exact same as the first. Then they bring out another menu which of course did not have Osso Bucco. We should have left but instead chose the Lamb Shank, closest thing to Osso Bucco. Mistake. Neither of us enjoyed it. Our apps, oysters rockefeller and portabello mushroom were also very bland tasting. And to end it all, when we ordered they said dessert was Tiramasu. Then when it was time they said that it was strawberry cheesecake. What came out was a cake with strawberry mousse. The whole dinner was a nightmare and we couldn’t wait to get out. Food was bland. Drink cost outrageous and blah. Service very strange. And not quite sure if the guy that sat us was the owner, but if it was he did not do anything to help matters at all. Too many other great restaurants to choose from in Rehoboth.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

While it was clear the ingredients were of high quality, the end product was 'meh'. For example: an appetizer of asparagus wrapped in prosciutto and cheese had little, if any, unique taste, save the salt in the ham. Similar experience with the 'zebra' pasta and seafood in cream sauce. Lovely product, but overall flavor lacking. (Perhaps a little white pepper?)

Service was pleasant, if uneven. It took several minutes to be acknowledged after seating, which we later discovered was due to a lack of assigned stations. We were reduced to flagging down a waiter and asking for service. Waiters acknowledged that during shoulder season they simply try to 'help each other out' with table service and were not assigned to particular tables or sections of the restaurant. The end result was chaos and many apologies. This is SO completely preventable.

Finally, the owner planted himself at the bar and did NOT stroll through the restaurant greeting guests, inquiring as to service, or offering menu suggestions. Such poor form for a 'better' establishment. His sole task appeared to be collecting receipts. What a sad picture!

We'll return - someday - but there are so many better choices in this town, where the overall experience is more carefully curated.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was good. Service was horrible. Really sucked and couldn’t wait to pay and leave. Really cheesy and outdated. Safari themed wallpaper in an Italian restaurant. Really?!?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The service, food and ambiance was exceptional. A gem of a restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This place is without a doubt one of the best Italian restaurants I have been in in quite a long period of time. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone seeking to find a great meal with great ambience and exceptional service. I rarely give out five stars because I find there is always something to improve upon but with this restaurant that is indeed not the case. Five stars all the way

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

OMG, fantastic as usual and we can't wait to celebrate our Easter Dinner this Easter Sunday.
A must if you are in town I think there serving dinner form 1pm to 8pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food. our server couldn't have been more attentive. We went just a few days before they closed for the season so they were out of few things that weren't really important to us. We will definitely be back when they re-open in the spring

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2017

Everything was excellent! We came for our anniversary which just happened to be on Monday and it turns out that they have a fixed price menu available on Mondays which is a great value. They had Veal Osso Bucco which is one of our favorite meals and it was done impeccably! We were only sad to find out that they close for the winter and we won't be able to come back and enjoy their wonderful food again until the spring.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Sit at the bar for dinner. Michael is great and makes sure you get what you order. Food is not as good as it used to be. Sandy scallops, ordered veal piccata and received chicken not veal. Found out waiter was leaving in 2 days - his attitude and service clearly showed he was already gone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 18, 2017

Zebra continues to be the outstanding choice for finest dining in Rehoboth Beach. Food is a treat for the palate, setting is charming. Staff always pleasant and helpful wanting only your utmost enjoyment from the experience. The prix fixe meal is a steal. Don't hesitate, just go and have a marvellous evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 17, 2017

We went on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was empty. And except for the waitress nothing relieved this feeling, which -- for me -- was unimproved by two hours of 50's Sinatra et al. My main dish was served barely warmed. No one at the table was entirely satisfied. Given that the meal was uninspired, the prices were way too high.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Having eaten before at Zebra I was anticipating an excellent meal as before. It wasn't as good as last time I was there and very expensive for what you got . I don't mind paying $$ for a meal if it's good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 8, 2017

We have enjoyed Zebra for many years and have found in our last two visits that the service and food are on the decline. Theses are dishes and some of the same service staff that we have had numerous times????? I hope that it is not a trend that continues.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 8, 2017

PLEASE NOTE: Stars are inaccurate because we did get further than water.

Made a reservation via Opentable at Zebra. Indicated on the reservation that it was for 2 people plus a child and requested a high chair. We made the reservation for 5:30 as we are cognizant of other diners who may or may not want to dine in the presence of a well behaved 2 year old. When we arrived at Zebra, we stowed our stroller outside and walked in dressed for the occasion. We were not greeted by the host who was standing there looking at us funny, but were greeted by the bartender. The host showed us toward the table, pointed and turned around. I asked for a high chair and he looked back while walking and said "We don't have high chairs" My wife and I sat down with our child, and nothing happened. Nothing for 5-6 minutes in an empty restaurant. We were the only people there besides the staff. The waitress finally came over with menus and greeted us. We asked for a booster seat if they had one. She responded "I'm not really sure if we have one." She left. Water was delivered and again we waited. No one checked back or took a drink order. After another 10 minutes, we stood up to leave and walked out. The Bartender did ask if everything was ok, we politely said "Our daughter would do better with a high chair and we do not want anyone to have a bad meal."

It was as if the whole time they wanted us to leave. Our daughter just sat on the chair playing with her book. We felt unwelcome, watched and stared at, so we just left. There was no visible staff except for the water person and the waitress dropping the menus off.

This could have been handled at the outset had Zebra called after reviewing the reservation and saying they do not have high chairs or do not welcome children. That would have been fine with us. Either way they wasted our time and made for an unpleasant experience. We were looking forward to trying their food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

We found this place on line and were impressed by the menu. The food did not disappoint! We were torn by so many great choices, but the apps and the main courses we chose were awesome! Great dining choice!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Have eaten here before. Just an excellent spot for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2017

Made my day was a wonderful finale to rainy day. Can't say enough about service and quality of food and bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 5, 2017

We love Zebra! Great food and terrific service. The carbonara is a must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Definitely the best restaurant in this area, amazing food! Thank you 😊

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was excellent but the service had a great negative impact on the overall experience. This was our first time here and will probably be our last. What a shame, as the atmosphere was wonderful and the food was outstanding. The server came to our table twice. Once to take the order and the other time to give us our check. Service is important to us at any fine dining restaurant and this was awful. Just being honest.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 28, 2017

Great service from Rachel.
Nice Italian background music.
Prix fix menu is a good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Get an early reservation gets busy later in the evening.
The food had good favors however it was a little pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Despite a fire outside the restaurant that shut down the kitchen, we had an excellent experience! Would definitely recommend the restaurant! We will come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2017

Had the Osso Buco, OMG it was out of this world!! want a fantastic dinner, and Roberto went way out of his way to make this dinner a very special dinner. Simply Fantastic!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding!! Ad as always the service is incredible, the meal is so delicious! That's why we keep coming back!! Like I always say it's a must on your "to do " list!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

We had the short ribs ravioli, chicken Milanese, and the prawns.
Cleaned our plates - our favorite being the ravioli and the Milanese - It was really nice that the restaurant gave the salad separate of the Milanese so you weren't drowning in the dressing and losing the flavor of the breading.
Our server was very nice and everyone was accommodating. We'd come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

OMG!!! My my was so delicious and out friends enjoyed themselves!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

Had a lovely dinner on a Monday night as part of a group of six. On Mondays they feature an excellent 3-course prix fixe menu for $35. Very good selection of appetizers and entrees. Also nice drinks and wine selection and very friendly service. We will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

We come to Ristorante Zebra every time we come to Rehoboth. Food and service are always excellent! Love to sit on the porch! Have been coming here for over 10 years. It is pricey but you get what you pay for. Have had pasta, meat, fish, salads, you name it. Never a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

We were supposed to be a table of 8 people, and our friends cancelled. I went on Open Table at 8:15 and was able to get a table for three the last minute. We requested outdoor seating and were accommodated within a few minutes. The food was excellent and the service was prompt, courteous and friendly. I had the Chilean Sea Bass, my wife had the Veal Marsala and my daughter had the chicken Milanese. This was the best dining experience of the three restaurants we dined in while in Rehoboth Beach, DE

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great meal; Buratto Salad always delicious, Grilled Avocado Salad with Salsa was way to spicy for us, so not loved. Scallops delicious and Prime Rib Special was wonderful as well. We passed on dessert as there was nothing creative or unique in its preparation- just the usual Italian dessert standbys.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Another great meal at Zebra- never disappoints . We sat inside on this visit and had wonderful service on a very busy night.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7