About Ristorante Zebra

32 lake ave
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Ristorante Zebra is a contemporary full service Italian restaurant created in an historic Victorian beach house in 1993. Enjoy refreshing cocktails in the intimate yet dynamic bar and exquisite dinner professionally served in the Safari themed interior or on the charming outside wrap-around porch.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday for dinner and Sunday for brunch and dinner. Our food menu features all of the wonderful items you have come to expect as well as delicious specials, all prepared to order by our talented kitchen staff and served with care by our professional servers. Our bar continues to offer fine wines and spirits as well as expertly prepared cocktails. Join us today! We look forward to seeing you.

Cross Street:
City Hall dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 226-1160

Website:
http://www.ristorantezebra.us/

Catering:
Please call 302 226 1160 and leave a message for Eric for all of your catering needs. We look forward to hearing from you.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Now offering Sunday Brunch from 11 AM to 2 PM. Delicious fare and refreshing cocktail specials for a delightful way to spend your Sunday Brunch-time. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Ristorante Zebra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

special occasion (19)
fit for foodies (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (13)
romantic (9)
notable wine list (7)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
97 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere is still good overall, bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere is still good overall, but the noise level can be deafening and the restaurant could use some TLC. For example, you shouldn't see torn wall paper or holes in walls. A place that charges $49 for halibut and $60 for lamb should look the part!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved the atmosphere and service. My ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and service. My daughter's chicken was a dry but they did bring some sauce when she asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was not up to usual specs ( tabl ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was not up to usual specs ( table of ) and they were not really busy. And we were on the porch. "Ray" spent a lot of time inside. The Dover Sole(we had 2 of them) was overcooked and disappointing.

We may not go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We love this restaurant. The service an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love this restaurant. The service and food are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous Meal! Couldn't be better, great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous Meal! Couldn't be better, great service! The veal was tender and delicious....this is our new "go to"!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but overpriced. Wine too expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good food, but overpriced. Wine too expensive. Appetizers and entrees excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

This place is outstanding. Ristorante Ze ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This place is outstanding. Ristorante Zebra is an authentic, delicious Italian Restaurant. The pastas, salads, and meats are amazing. I got the Chicken Milanese and I can't stop thinking about how yummy it was and how I want it every night for dinner. It's like a bread-crumbed chicken pancake! If you are looking for a place in Downtown Rehoboth to eat at for dinner, come here. It has a great atmosphere, with animal skin designs painted on the walls and candles lit everywhere. The service is very good and the waiters/waitresses and hosts/hostesses are so nice, and overall, this is a fabulous restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service and good, but not great fo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service and good, but not great food. Expensive for pasta and standard Italian entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I dined there on a busy night, and as a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I dined there on a busy night, and as a result, we were surprised when we opened the menus and found out that there would be no substitutions or modifications in dishes that evening, something we had no warning of until we sat down. I asked and they would not even take a simple request that one would assume would save them time, unless almost everything was pre-prepared. As a result, I ended up having the chicken breast with mushrooms and marsala wine. We asked if the bread rolls were made in house, and found out that they were purchased elsewhere, which was rather disappointing as they were simple French rolls. When the entrees arrived, my chicken was very tough, to the point that I was unable to finish it, as it was so unbearable to eat. Once we were given our dishes, no one asked if we wanted anything else, and no one checked in on us for so long that we ended up getting up and taking the pepper that was on a cart nearby so that we could use it. Our waitress only arrived to give us our check. Overall, it was a disappointing experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great evening delicious Branzino

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great evening delicious Branzino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It's top rate Food/ ambience top rate Di ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It's top rate

Food/ ambience top rate

Dining Experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, close to everything, and fun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great Food, close to everything, and fun atmosphere!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

3rd visit. Overall this is a fine dining ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

3rd visit. Overall this is a fine dining establishment. But does fall short when you look at the prices, the wait staff comes from Russia for the summer and the food while good does not match the price points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Our table was ready when we arrived. Exc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived. Excellent, friendly, attentive service. Victoria was our server and she was outstanding..

Oh, and our dinner was delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always. Very accommodating ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic as always. Very accommodating for outdoor seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Zebra. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our first time dining at Zebra. It was a beautiful evening so we dined outside which was really nice. The restaurant is in a really nice spot downtown but off the beaten path. The food took a really long time to come out but it was delicious when it finally did. Overall we were pleased with the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Service was very slow. We waited 20 minu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was very slow. We waited 20 minutes before our drink orders were taken. They either had inexperienced servers or were understaffed. The food was not worth the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Restaurant week

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great value for restaurant week. Many varied menu choices. Portion sizes smaller than regular menu but very generous. We had oysters rockerfeller (3) and a burratta with citrus salad app, both very good. Veal saltimbocca and veal francese, both served with asparagus and a sliced potato gratin plus spinal on the saltimbocca. Delicious cheesecake full size slices!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second trip to Zebra during ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was my second trip to Zebra during Rehoboth Beach restaurant week. The $35 fixed price 3-course menu was very good and had high quality and tasty selections. My only complaint was the fact that I made a 6pm reservation and was greeted by a less-than-gracious hostess at the front door. The restaurant was empty both inside and outside and when I requested a seat outside on the patio/porch, she begrudgingly sat us at an outdoor table seating us in a cramped two-seat table on the side of the outdoor patio. There were plenty of four-top tables on the porch that stayed completely empty until we left at 7:15pm. I was a bit confused why we were treated so badly when requesting a seat outside at a fairly quiet time of the dinner hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Elegant and Delicious

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant, and boy am I glad we came here! The atmosphere is elegant and chic. The service was wonderful, and the food was scrumptious. For a beautiful restaurant in Rehoboth Beach, the prices are reasonable and you don't feel ripped my ft like you do at some other places in town, especially the one where you sit in a so called "porch."

Love the Zebra!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What happened?

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Use to love Zebra and was excited to go for restaurant week. Still a pretty place, but the food and service was nothing like I remember. I hope it gets better through the season

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

OK food, not good for those with food allergies

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My husband and I went to Zebra for a nice dinner. My husband had plenty of choices, but I had limited choices due to a gluten allergy, and I did not find the staff or the chef very accommodating. Luckily for me, this is quite unusual even with an Italian restaurant. I was surprised and very disappointed in the service and flexibility. I will not go to Zebra again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed they kept running out of th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Disappointed they kept running out of the two wines we were drinking and needed to keep switching

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fabulous, our waiter Todd was f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was fabulous, our waiter Todd was fun but passionate about his job, and the decor was exotic! Will definitely dine there again when back in town!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good location, but parking was very inco ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Good location, but parking was very inconvenient! Maybe they need to get a valet parking service!

Food looks great, very nice presentation, taste good, service was not so great! Wine list need a major update! Please add more Napa! Same with cocktail list! Very marginal, nothing exacting :(

Again, food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Seasons

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

We've dined at Zebra several times over the summer. We were surprised the menu didn't chance for the fall. There wer a few seasonal specials but not much to choose from.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Simply incredible!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

As always a fantastic dinner!!! Service as always incredible!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and good service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

The food was Great. We showed up early and we able to have drinks at the bar. Nice small bar, a little restricted in selection, but they certainly have all the basis and give you a nice pour. The staff seem very helpful and polite. We both had pasta which was excellent. Overall had a nice time and would definitely go back. I would not recommend the restruant for kids. It has the feel of a nice country club dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Noisy Table

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Our experience at the Zebra restaurant was very good except for one table of extremely noisy people. The restaurant staff made no effort to quiet them down.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Best restaurant in Rehoboth

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

The food service and ambiance never fails at Zebra. A first class dining experience that is a special treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp appetizer with feta was amazi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

The shrimp appetizer with feta was amazing. They are not stingy with the wine pours. Definitely try the homemade pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Be prepared to pay!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

We still love this old favorite. Very good food, sometimes great. Crisp service until the crowds arrive, no hard feelings. But oh my-- the prices! Be prepared to pay $16-18 for appetizers, $48 or $49 for special entrees. Hard to see why osso bucco is $48, last time I bought a veal shank it was cheaper than say, a steak or a good piece of fish. The price creep in appetizers this year in Rehoboth is everywhere. But the overall feeling I am left with is, they are making money in the high season, when they can, because they can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful night

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Beautiful decor, very good Italian menu, seafood, pasta, wine - our family's second trip there for a wonderful birthday celebration. Whimsical Jungle mural is a favorite touch to a joyous experience. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always Outstanding

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Although we had not been there in a year, Zebra remains one of our favorite beach stops. Ask for a table in Roberto's room. Great service. Try the asparagus starter. Smaller pasta sizes are ample. Veal chop is excellent. Buon appetito!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced, unfriendly wait staff and di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Overpriced, unfriendly wait staff and did I mention not worth the price. We ordered 3 entrees and received appetizer sized portions. They also brought us the wrong food twice when serving our entrees. Also, we were brought an appetizer in error. We politely told the waiter that we did order an appetizer. They removed it from our table and immediately delivered it to the table next to us.

Overall we were very upset with our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

NOT AS GOOD AS IT ONCE WAS

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Have been coming here for years but was disappointed this summer. The food was not as good and the service was only fair. The ambiance is lovely but I no longer think the experience is worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Appreciated wine taste to decide which o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

Appreciated wine taste to decide which one I wanted. Love Italian food and this was all homemade pasta, tender veal, and interesting combinations. Tried tiramisu and it was great! Waiters glad to take pics as we celebrated. Decor will surprise you but we loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

African Decor

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a quiet dinner. We enjoyed a nice bottle of wine with our dinner. The veal picata and the veal Milanese were very good, as we're the specialty coffee drinks we had as we shared a baked Alaska for dessert. The service was very good, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Always good

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

One of my favorite restaurants. Food is always great and I really like the small plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for special occasions.

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

As new residents in the Rehoboth Beach area we are learning to find dining opportunities during the summer that are not impossible to get into because of the seasonal crowds. Zebra is a little outside the main drag, though still in the parking meter area, and clearly upscale for a beach town. An early reservation got us in and out without being crowded. In fact it was half empty. The food was great, albeit well on the expensive side, and the staff very professional. The restaurant passed both our litmus tests: the specials were printed with prices (not rattled off by a waiter demonstrating memory skills) and the used silverware replaced for the next course. This is probably a once a year treat for retired people, but well worth it for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.