About Ristorante Zebra

32 lake ave
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
View Larger Map

Ristorante Zebra is a contemporary full service Italian restaurant created in an historic Victorian beach house in 1993. Enjoy refreshing cocktails in the intimate yet dynamic bar and exquisite dinner professionally served in the Safari themed interior or on the charming outside wrap-around porch.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday thru Saturday for dinner and Sunday for brunch and dinner. Our food menu features all of the wonderful items you have come to expect as well as delicious specials, all prepared to order by our talented kitchen staff and served with care by our professional servers. Our bar continues to offer fine wines and spirits as well as expertly prepared cocktails. Join us today! We look forward to seeing you.

Cross Street:
City Hall dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 226-1160

Website:
http://www.ristorantezebra.us/

Catering:
Please call 302 226 1160 and leave a message for Eric for all of your catering needs. We look forward to hearing from you.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Now offering Sunday Brunch from 11 AM to 2 PM. Delicious fare and refreshing cocktail specials for a delightful way to spend your Sunday Brunch-time. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Ristorante Zebra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Baltimore / Maryland
Most Booked
Ocean City / Delaware Shore
Best Restaurants in Rehoboth Beach ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was very attractive . Whe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was very attractive . When we received our menus it was much abbreviated from what was on line as well as posted outside. The food was presented very nicely and was very delicious ,;however ,the service , well there wasn't any!,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Super food and service. Sat on the front ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Super food and service. Sat on the front porch on a beautiful night.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meals were delicious, but the noise ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our meals were delicious, but the noise level was too high to have a comfortable conversation. I would go back, though, and hope to be lucky enogh to be surrounded by quieter tables!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found this great restaurant simply be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We found this great restaurant simply because OT said it was close to our hotel. What a find. It is tucked away behind the main Rehoboth streets and you probably wouldn't notice it by yourself. The food was excellent, the waitress and staff very friendly and the service perfect - not too slow and not to fast. It is a little pricey, but the atmosphere was excellent. My wife and I enjoyed a perfect romantic evening. And we loved the 360 degree safari mural, which took us back to our trips to South Africa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally awesome!!! I highly recommend th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Totally awesome!!! I highly recommend that you try this restaurant a must on your bucket list!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After dining at Zebra the first time, I ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

After dining at Zebra the first time, I could not wait to return. Took my friends from Florida to Zebra and they absolutely loved everything about the restaurant.

Thank you to the staff of Zebra.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of 4 for an end if summe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were a party of 4 for an end if summer dinner. We have been going to Zebra since they opened. The ambiance, food and primary server service were excellent. We had 4 different entrees -- all of which exceeded our expectations. Part of their service routine, however, is highly objectionable and very amateur for a restaurant of this history and caliber. The food runners show up at the table asking, "Who had the ..." rather than knowing that from the server's order. That's how it's done in diners with $5.99 entrees -- not a place like this. Oh, if you don't think people notice and comment on that fact, you are very wrong. Did it ruin the experience --- definitely not but it's uncomfortable and it totally interrupts table conversation. I am going to forward this to the restaurant because we all would like to know why they do this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

As always a ignorant! dinner, totally a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As always a ignorant! dinner, totally a must on your "to do list"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delightful first experience at ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a delightful first experience at Zebra! While we arrived with less than a full appetite, we appreciated all the food we ordered and will enjoy the leftovers tomorrow!

Our server had a hard time opening our bottle of wine after asking if it was OK to substitute something else as our original choice was unavailable..all was fine in the end.

Sweet that my husband's birthday was acknowledged by a nice dessert and candle..

We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great meal, as always; wine sti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a great meal, as always; wine still priced outrageously!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Over priced for the meal choices. food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Over priced for the meal choices.

food was good but had much better for less dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We were looking for a nice meal while sp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were looking for a nice meal while spending the weekend at the beach - hadn't been to the Zebra Room since they first opened over 20 years ago. The bartender was very busy while we waited for our table, but he made up for it by comping our drinks! The meal was delicious - my husband raved about the bronzino.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! This is our fourth vi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never disappoints! This is our fourth visit over the years to Zebra..( pronounced NOT like the animal). We enjoy the Italian cuisine. Ingredients are fresh and well presented. The serving sizes are generous!. The wine list is impressive with a great variety at varying price levels.

The wait staff is attentive but not intrusive. very friendly and exhumes and understated elegant atmosphere.

If weather permits, sit out and dine on their front porch. A very enjoyable experience. We will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Zebra and have been going there ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We love Zebra and have been going there for years. As always the food was excellent and we all enjoyed our dishes. Pasta and veal were both terrific !

The restaurant atmosphere remains really fun. Our only complaint is that we were seated next to two tables full of small children who were very loud and unbehaved....we asked our waitress to move us and she did. If not, that would have not been a good evening. Maybe figure out what to do with families and small children ?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Came in on my birthday with my daughter ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Came in on my birthday with my daughter and wife. The food was simply amazing. Every course was served accurately and fresh. Was some of the best Italian food that I have had in a very long time. The service was spot on, fast, courteous and perfect. Asparagus was excellent and the lobster was fresh. Would definitly recommend and visit again when vacationing in the area. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Service was very sl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was very slow and not attentive. In addition, dishes were ordered with modifications that did not occur and the waitress seemed clueless. Waited 15 mins for a check when we asked. Was not crowded, but was quite loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food but the service is cold... Ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food but the service is cold... Maybe it's what they're going for but from the hostess to bartender to server, no one smiled or tried to be friendly.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food service was the worst I have ex ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food service was the worst I have experienced. Although the restautant was half empty we were seated in a small room that was hosting a large party that made so much noise we could not hear each other at our table. We asked to be moved and were seated in another room and then we were told the table was served and had to move yet again. We ordered appetizers and entrees . Appetizers were brought out and then the entrees were brought out 40 minutes later. When we questioned the delay we were told the kitchen was backed up. I can only imagine what it would be like if the restaurant were filled to capacity

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a really nice dinner here Sunday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a really nice dinner here Sunday night. It was pouring rain but we found a lovely table on the porch, service was excellent and our meals were very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Restaurant busy and crowded, even after ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restaurant busy and crowded, even after 8pm. Service very good, if rushed- overall atmosphere was a little frantic. Wine list better than average. We ordered pasta dishes, both of which were a overcooked (kitchen very busy?) and overpriced. Did not stay for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The hostess (also manager) was rude, fli ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The hostess (also manager) was rude, flippant and dismissive of the fact that they failed to have our table reserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Fantastic!!! Simply Fantastic a must o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fantastic!!! Simply Fantastic a must on you "to do list"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zebra continues to be a 5 star experienc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Zebra continues to be a 5 star experience in every sense. The service is what you would expect from a large cosmopolitan city. The food and drinks are fantastic. Our appetizers were the Feta e Peperoni and the Insulata di Pomodoro Basilico con Mozzarella. They were both fantastic but what really stood out were the tomatoes. Not only were they picture perfect they were sweet, meaty and just plain delicious! Our entrees were fantastic too- the Tortellini al Farmaggiocon Prosciutto and the Spaghettini Tutto Mare. Both were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been an favorite for some time ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This has been an favorite for some time but the experience we had last Friday was deplorable. A surly waiter who was flip and inattentive. Tasteless food and over cooked pasta nailed the coffin! I had guests who had not a a precious good experience and this night just confirmed their opinion. I was extremely disappointed and won't be back.

D. Corin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

For the price point i was underwhelmed. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

For the price point i was underwhelmed. Food was fine but not anything that was extremely memorable or superb or special. For the price points charges i was expecting a nicer food presentation and higher quality taste. Restaurant was good but there are better dining options for this price point in RB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Have been wanting to try Ristorante Zebr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Have been wanting to try Ristorante Zebra for a couple years now, but with so many good restaurants in Rehoboth, just got around to trying it this year. Service and food were both outstanding and the decor is eclectic and fun. This would be a great place for a variety of occasions. Definitely planning on making a return visit and would highly recommend it to others! I had the eggplant/mozzarella/prosciutto appetizer, the lobster risotto and the cannoli for dessert. I like that you can order all the dishes as appetizer or main course size, which allows you to try more things. Everything we had was spectacular. Give Ristorante Zebra a try!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd visit. Just a great spot c

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

2nd visit. Just a great spot c

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Zebra used to be one of our favorite res ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Zebra used to be one of our favorite restaurants in Rehoboth. We spent plenty special dinners, anniversaries, etc there but over the last 2 years the food and service has been terrible. Our last 2 dinners at Zebra were the final straw for us - food coming to the table cold, entire courses forgotten, having to ask for bread, silverware, and water.....the list goes on and on. For the price that Zebra charges, I expect top level service and food and recently it has been anything but that. Sunday night was the last straw - we don't plan to return anytime soon. Very unfortunate - I hope they are able to turn things around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Never even ordered our food. We wanted ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Never even ordered our food. We wanted to have a nice family dinner and when we were seated at our month in advance reserved round table of 5 by the kitchen it turned out to be not balanced. When we asked for another table we were told by our waiter "go and talk to your hostess." Our hostess came over and instead of addressing us at the table she proceeded to focus on a table cloth at another table and yell over to us "that's all we have, sorry." We decided right then and there to make reservations at Bramble and Brine and walked out. As we were leaving we made our displeasure known and again the response of both our waiter and hostess was, "sorry that's the luck of the draw."

We have never been treated so poorly in the 5+ years we have been going to Rehoboth. I would not give this establishment a penny of your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

One of our beach resort favorites for ov ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of our beach resort favorites for over 15 years. Food always good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The borrotta citrus salad was delicious ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The borrotta citrus salad was delicious as were the scallops! YUM!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food not good service.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good food not good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

It's a beautiful place. Great location. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It's a beautiful place. Great location. Nicely decorated.

We may have chosen badly... I had veal Milanese. It was very dry and over cooked. My husband had veal Marsala.- also over cooked. Our appetizer abs salads very great. We had a very sweet and good server - attentive and astute. There was a large party in the back room do it was loud - probably not an issue other times.

The most negative was the waiters running in and out of the front door from the porch . They truly were running frantically.- pass our table through the entire meal. This totally ruined what should have been a nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We hadn't been to Zebra in a number of y ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We hadn't been to Zebra in a number of years primarily because we hadn't been to Rehoboth . Always enjoyed our meals there in the past. This meal was disappointing. A summer salad highlighting citrus fruit should be served with fresh citrus, not fruit from a can or jar. The chicken Milanese was flavorless and the accompanying arugula salad was over seasoned. For the price one pays for beach resort dining the expectation is for higher quality food. I can get mediocre food at any chain restaurant anywhere. The service was excellent, we sat at the bar and the bartender was friendly, knowledgeable and courteous. I would think twice about coming back after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

What took us so long? We have been comin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

What took us so long? We have been coming to the Delaware shore for many years and finally got around to dining at Zebra. It is a classic-feeling white tablecloth setting with quality high-end Italian food. The avocado-mango appetizer was particularly stunning, if pricey at $16 for a meatless starter. I asked our server to tell the chef I wanted this dish every day for the rest of my life. Mushroom pappardelle and Tagliatelle Zebra were both quite tasty, with clearly handmade pasta. We rarely order dessert but happily shared a luscious, crisp cannoli (singular cannolo?). Like most beach spots, it got noisy as it filled up. The service was technically astute but somewhat cold and curt, detracting from an otherwise splendid meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife's favorite place at the beach. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My wife's favorite place at the beach. The food is always high quality and very tasteful. We had a wonderful server who was very engaging and attentive. Very nice night out on our anniversary. We will be back before the summer is over.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Zebra is an old favorite. Food is alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Zebra is an old favorite. Food is always excellent...service was great...and so fun in the safari atmosphere. Love the outdoor dining as well. Off the beaten path, but well worth the walk. Love that they have small plates of pasta, perfect portions...then you can have dessert!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The atmosphere is still good overall, bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The atmosphere is still good overall, but the noise level can be deafening and the restaurant could use some TLC. For example, you shouldn't see torn wall paper or holes in walls. A place that charges $49 for halibut and $60 for lamb should look the part!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our 30th year in Rehoboth, and our first ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our 30th year in Rehoboth, and our first, but certainly not last visit to Ristorante Zebra. We scored a table on the patio and had a fabulous dinner. They did a nice job accommodating my garlic allergy. I had the carbonara and it was terrific. We all enjoyed our meals and will certainly make this a favorite spot when we return each summer for holiday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the atmosphere and service. My ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and service. My daughter's chicken was a dry but they did bring some sauce when she asked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.