About Ristorante Paoletti

440 Main Street
Highlands, NC 28741
View Larger Map

Please furnish us with an e-mail address upon making a reservation at Ristorante Paoletti so that we may confirm availability. Thank you!

Celebrating 31 years in Highlands, North Carolina in 2015, we invite you to enjoy fantastic regional Italian dining in an elegant, new/old-world atmosphere. Serving the area's largest selection of fresh coastal Seafood & Local Rainbow Trout. An array of specialties is complimented by one of the deepest wine cellars in the Southeast. Infused Spirits, Craft Cocktails & a large selection of Wines-by-the-glass from Champagne to Barolo & Cabernet are available Nightly. Our menu's printed daily Specials reflect seasonal and locally grown ingredients. Full Dinner Menu available at the Bar. Located next door to Highlands Inn and the Old Edwards Inn on Main Street in Highlands.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Dinner Service from 5:00 PM till closing
at the Bar and Dining Room
Every Evening in Season.
We operate mid-March through November
-and the Christmas Week through New Years Eve

Cross Street:
Next Door to Highlands Inn, Across Street from Old Edwards Inn

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 526-4906

Website:
http://www.paolettis.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Paoletti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Sort By:
Newest
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Pretty good food reasonably price and an ...

vip
Dined on July 13, 2015

Pretty good food reasonably price and an extensive wine list. Veal executed perfectly. Apps were good escargot were Delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5

Superb late night dining experience!

Dined on July 6, 2015

Great customer service, friendly, great food and ambiance! I definitely plan to recommend this restaurant to my friends and family! Definitely plan to return for years to come. Excellent!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food and service

vip
Dined on July 3, 2015

The food and service are always great at Paoletti's- used to frequent their establishment in Delray Beach, Fla and followed them to Highlands !!! Kudos to Arthur, VJ, and Julio !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Paoletti

Dined on June 3, 2015

Paoletti's food and service were both above and beyond. The ambiance was romantic and relaxing. I couldn't have had a better experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere and good food. Wine po ...

Dined on June 1, 2015

Great atmosphere and good food. Wine pours were lacking. My husband's looked like 2 oz. And mine was around 3 oz

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss Paoletti's when you come to Highlands!!

Dined on May 30, 2015

When I think of eating out in Highlands, Paoletti's is ALWAYS at the top of my list. Highlanders know that this is the place to take friends and family and those who are new to the area. Highlands has a terrific blend of high quality restaurants to choose between, but when I run into people who have once been through Highlands, they invariably mention that they ate at "that Italian place". Paoletti's has a fantastic and well varied menu, a terrific and well experienced wait staff, and an energetic ambiance. I have favorites that I order off of the menu (white clam sauce linguine)(grilled jumbo sea scallops) but the nightly specials (which I do try on occasion) challenge those favorites. Also, two favorite appetizers are stuffed dates and stuffed artichoke leaves (not always on the menu, but you can ask for them!). I haven't been early for the small plates menu, but I plan to try it very soon. My only disappointment is that they are not open for lunch! I will offer one hint if you are booking a reservation on opentable.com ... book well in advance and if you are looking for a reservation in the 7:00 time frame, call the restaurant directly. Do yourself a favor and don't miss out on Paoletti's if you are in Highlands.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A 27 year favorite!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2015

My wife and me have celebrated 15 of our 27 anniversaires with Palolettis and their great staff! Aurthur, the owner cares deeply about quality ...and Julio is a great dining room manager!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Upscale Italian Food in Old-Style Cozy Setting

Dined on May 14, 2015

We chose Paoletti for our evening in Highlands as we loved to frequent their location in Delray Beach, FL many years ago until they closed it. The wine list, while extensive, was focused on Italian wines, which makes sense, but for those of us who prefer the white wines of CA/OR/WA, it was quite limited. Luckily we'd brought a special bottle with us for corkage. The service was perfection; we were not rushed but all our needs were met promptly. Our server, Eric, was terrific; very personable. The baked bread with herbed cheese is wonderful & plentiful. The baked stuffed clams and special pork chop were delicious, but the eggplant rollatini was not as good as I remembered it from FL.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent Wine List

Dined on May 11, 2015

Paoletti's was a great recommendation from a friend. While the food was great, the service and wine knowledge and list out-paced it more. Every waiter, not just your waiter, made an effort to meet every need. The wine list was amazing compared to anywhere we traveled on this vacation. We would go back in a minute. And highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent

vip
Dined on April 25, 2015

Great food Julio and VJ are great !! Always a nice upscale crowd

food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful High Quality restaurant in qua ...

Dined on April 24, 2015

Wonderful High Quality restaurant in quaint town of The Highlands. We go at least once a year and always make a reservation here. Love it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious meal. Nice staff. Definitely ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2015

Delicious meal. Nice staff. Definitely recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

Dined on April 11, 2015

We made reservations for dinner here for a date night without kids. We got there and were seated at our reservation time by a very friendly host. We got salads to start, 2 entrees, a bottle of wine and dessert and our bill was MORE than reasonable. The food was outstanding and the service was equally awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. We stayed at the Olde Edwards Inn and this restaurant is literally across the street so, very convenient for walking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, consistently special place in Highlands

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

We went early on a Sunday evening and were rewarded with the "best" table by the window- a cozy, circular booth. I ordered off the specials of the day menu-- a squid ink pasta with scallops. Absolutey delicious! My husband ordered halibut prepared with a lemon sauce. It was one of the best fish dishes he has ever had and he always orders halibut if it is on a menu. I had the tuna tartare for an appetizer and I loved the spicy sauce. This is a restaurant that we always go to when we are staying in Cashiers. Well worth the drive for the always delicious Italian food and consistently great service. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Good but not great!

Dined on April 5, 2015

Food was good and the service was on point. It was very loud and seating is very tight. There was also a 4-top next to us where the people were obviouly catching up after not seeing each other in a while and were extremely loud!! We chose this palace over Cyprus and Wolfgang. I would go back but I was a lite disappointed in the overall experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Average

Dined on April 5, 2015

We had a ten minute wait before anyone greeted us at the hostess stand, which didn't help start things off. The wine list was extensive, the bread and olive tapenade were excellent, but the entrees lacked flavor and depth. I had the pasta Bolognese and my wife the squid ink pasta, both were average at best. The portion size was substantial. The Tiramisu was very good for dessert. The ambience is nice and the lighting was good, the only issue is that it is very small and the table beside us were only separated by a wine rack. They were extremely loud, which was annoying. I would say this place is better suited for groups not couples. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. I'm not sure if there is another option for Italian in Highlands, but I would be inclined to try somewhere else.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Don

Dined on April 3, 2015

Our third dinner @ Paoletti's and we continue to be impressed with the food & service. We treated friends for a special occasion & they gave every dish rave reviews. The seafood was prepared beautifully & so fresh, esp. loved the Halibut dish. The Limoncello Martini was a wonderful pre-dinner drink, thanks to the Bar for the advise on homemade Limoncello.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply Awesome

Dined on March 27, 2015

We dined here (party of four) on Friday, March 27 and were seated right away. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the specials. All four of our meals were OUTSTANDING! I had a red snapper dish that was incredible. My wife had chicken parm that was wonderful! We have been coming here for years and have always had a great experience! Will come back again and again! Thank you for a wonderful evening! Bobby

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Ristorante Paoletti

Dined on March 21, 2015

We have been dinning at Paoletti's for over 20 years. We've never been disappointed in the food, service or wine list. We treat all our out of town guest to Paoletti's with great confidence and that is the first restuarant they want to return too when they visit. We can safely say we have never had a bad experience what so ever. The Best of the Best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Mountain Gem

Dined on December 30, 2014

Outstanding food and service (Tania) in an area that has many great food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Highlands Gem!

Dined on December 27, 2014

This is one of our all time favorite places. Visited twice on our recent holiday at Scaly Mountain, NC. The food is outstanding as is the service. The mushroom ravioli special was exquisite as was the seafood tower but everything we've had on this and prior visits has been very good. The staff are particularly friendly and accomadating with our twin boys who are under two and they also love the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Favorite Italian Restaurant

Dined on December 26, 2014

Paoletti's is truly a gem. Located in Highlands, NC it is small, intimate, candlelit---everything we love for a memorable meal. The servers are extremely well-versed in the numerous daily specials as well as the nuances of the many preparations offered. The menu showcases appetizers, salads and entrees to suit any palate. I prefer mostly vegetarian food, for example, and always find many items to choose from. The wine list is extensive. I would recommend Paoletti's with confidence to anyone. It is always best to make a reservation---they are very popular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Would go back!

Dined on December 25, 2014

We had a late reservation on Christmas Eve. Unfortunately they had run out of some items so I had to change my selection from lobster ravioli to red snapper. It was delicious nonetheless. I was told by a waiter to let the front desk know you wanted ravioli and they would save an order. My husband had veal and loved it. Wine was good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

4 Columbia SC Couples

Dined on November 22, 2014

Great couples weekend topped off with a perfect meal at Paoletti.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabbo!

Dined on November 9, 2014

This is the best dining experience .. from the greeting to the wine to the dessert. Make a reservation as soon as you know your schedule . only 18 tables!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Unfortunately we had the worse waiter th ...

vip
Dined on November 8, 2014

Unfortunately we had the worse waiter there. Very disappointing.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant

vip
Dined on October 29, 2014

I love this place the food is beyond amazing and the service is fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We were told to ask for Alex and we did. ...

Dined on October 27, 2014

We were told to ask for Alex and we did. We were a group of 3 fraternity brothers and wives. Alex did a wonderful job with the service! Thanks again!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

never disappoints

Dined on October 24, 2014

When visiting the Highlands/Cashiers area in North Carolina our trip would be incomplete without a dinner at Paoletti's. This is a small, elegant Italian food experience -- starched white tablecloths, candlelit ambience. The menu is extensive, with daily specials, and the food never disappoints. The wine list is impressive, and the sommelier is knowledgable and serves as a wonderful asset to his restaurant. I highly recommend Paoletti's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Persnickity

vip
Dined on October 23, 2014

A little find for Highlands. Interesting Italian wine list. Varied menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Snapper and Filet

vip
Dined on October 22, 2014

We come annually as leaf lookers in the area. Paoletti is always a must on our trips. It was perfect once again. Cosmos, wine, bread, salads, snapper and filet Mignon all were excellent. The service could not be improved on at all. The wine was so good, we took advantage of their retail wine offer and took another bottle home. Make reservations as it is usually nicely busy with everyone that knows how special it is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine Dining Experience

Dined on October 21, 2014

It is not your usual Italian Restaurant, but very upscale in the menu selections, and the way the food is prepared. Excellent service, personal and professional and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

Dined on October 21, 2014

My husband and I had a great evening at Paoletti. The meal was fabulous and the service was wonderful. We look forward to our next visit to Highlands and Paoletti.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding!! Great menu variety. The ...

Dined on October 4, 2014

Outstanding!! Great menu variety. The seafood selections come with a variety of preparation options. Great wine selection. We make it a point to eat at Ristorante Paoletti's every time we are in the mountains of NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our Best Dining Experiences

Dined on October 3, 2014

We have been fortunate to eat at some of the best restaurants in the world and I would include Paoletti as one of them. The food was creative, flavorful and nicely presented. The service was courteous, attentive and professional. The interior and its atmosphere is similar to a well established New York Italian restaurant. But the one person above all who made the entire dining experience absolutely enjoyable was the sommelier V.J. This man knows more about wine and food and its pairing than any person I have ever met. He graciously offered to match each dish (which he selected) with one of his favorite wines. Through this V.J. exposed us to fabulous wines that were unknown to us. When you go (and you must) be sure to ask for him.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always excellent

vip
Dined on September 27, 2014

Great dinner........................................................................

food5
ambience3
service5

Italian Style Food and Wines

Dined on September 27, 2014

1st time visiting this restaurant, only because we could not get an early reservation elsewhere. Sorry it took us 3 years to try. Wonderful. Lobster Ravioli was very delicate and not overloaded with sauce. Spinach and Veal stuffed Crepes also wonderful, with plenty left over for another meal. I do not recall what our men ate, but we were all pleased. Wine selections were easy as tasting was offered. No doubt we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5

Overrated

Dined on September 26, 2014

My filet mignon was overcooked and tough there were 4 of us and none of the food was outstanding for the price. Carrabbas serves better food.

food4
ambience4
service4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on September 26, 2014

Our 26th year of having dinner at Paoletti's around our anniversary. Food quality and service has slacked off slightly. Our server, Alex, was attentive and polite.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Highlands Golf Trip

Dined on September 17, 2014

Paoletti's is a never miss stop for us on every trip to Highlands. The food, service, and ambiance are always superior. Julio greeted us at the door and seated us at a wonderful table. Servers appeared quickly with drinks and bread. The specials and the explanation of several dishes by our main server were very helpful. We had salmon in a lemon butter with garlic kale. Perfectly cooked and presented. Dessert was bread pudding and tiramisu, and both were excellent. What a great night of fantastic dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.