About Ristorante Massimo

59 Penhallow Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
View Larger Map

Nestled like a hidden jewel in historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Massimo's warmly lit brick and stone grotto walls, fresh flowers and oil paintings of magnificent Italian landscapes transports guests to Florence, Rome and Venice. Guests relax in a richly appointed atmosphere beneath mahogany-beamed ceilings and private parties unwind in their own intimate dining room. Ristorante Massimo offers authentic dishes from all regions of Italy. From innovative concepts to timeless Italian favorites, our executive chef creates each dish with a distinctive, refined touch as found in some of the worlds most celebrated restaurants. Thoroughly unforgettable, unbelievable satisfying. **limited dining room availability offered online**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Cancellation Policy
Monday - Friday: for groups of 5 or more - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to charge a $20.00 per person fee.
Saturday: all reservations - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the res reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to change a $20.00 per person fee.

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 436-4000

Website:
http://www.ristorantemassimo.com/

Entertainment:
Our staff!

Parking Details:
Ristorante Massimo offers complimentary weekend valet service. Our private lot is available for guest parking midweek. Simply alert the maitre d' of your arrival via telephone and we will gladly provide access to our gated lot.

Executive Chef:
Jethro Loichle

Private Party Facilities:
Ristorante Massimo is the perfect setting for celebrating a special occasion or hosting a corporate event. Here guests can enjoy customized menus, an intimate setting and impeccable service. Our elegant private dining room can accommodate up to 20 guests and special arrangements can be made for larger groups. State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment is available. We look forward to taking personal care of every detail of your entertaining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo Morgia: 603-436-4000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Ristorante Massimo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Hampshire
Best Food
New Hampshire
Best Service
New Hampshire
5 More
Best Ambiance
New Hampshire
Best Value
New Hampshire
Notable Wine List
New Hampshire
Romantic
New Hampshire
Special Occasion
New Hampshire
Best Restaurants in Portsmouth ›

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (56)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and food were outstanding! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service and food were outstanding! Great Special occasion Restaurant. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and wine

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit. We were pleasantly greeted ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

First visit. We were pleasantly greeted by Massimo. Invited us to have a drink while waiting.

Food was delicious. Staff is well informed, courteous and attentive. Great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't as good as it use to be although ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wasn't as good as it use to be although the veal chop was great a little disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We had a wonderful dinner with another c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with another couple. The atmosphere is for special occasions. Exposed brick, formal, but comfortable. The food was excellent. I had the veal chop which was perfectly cooked, juicy and flavorful. I tasted my husband's meatball appetizer, and I would come back just for those!! He had a pasta dish with lobster that he said was really good. Only 3 stars for service due to our server bringing out our entrees before our appetizer course was served. We had ordered 3 courses...the soup and salads came, then there was a really, really long wait without the server coming by. When she appeared with the entrees, we were quite surprised, but it explained the long wait. The owner came by to apologize. Despite the mis-step, we look forward to another special occasion meal at this restaurant. We also plan to try the less formal upstairs restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We celebrated a 60th birthday party with ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We celebrated a 60th birthday party with family on a recent Friday night. The table was ready as per the reservation time. There were a number of "foodies" in the group and all enjoyed their dinner selections. Pace of dinner was also very good. Owner came over to the table to wish a Happy Birthday. I would highly recommend Massimo.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I surprised my wife with a nice 16 year ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I surprised my wife with a nice 16 year anniversary dinner and night out. Massimo was recommended by a friend. My wife and I were very happy with the meal and setting. We will be definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Massimo was fabulous. We had a wonderfu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Massimo was fabulous. We had a wonderful waitress and dining experience. Food was the best we have had in Portsmouth! Wil definitely go back. We were downstairs, more formal for our occasion and look forward to try upper level also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fine dining experience. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent fine dining experience. The Food, the Staff ... First class all the way. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience at Ristorante Massim ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

A great experience at Ristorante Massimo. For 6 years now we always go to Massimo for our special occasions and are never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for an Anniversary celebrati ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place for an Anniversary celebration! The food was magnificent! Loved the bolognese!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best and truest Italuan one can get with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best and truest Italuan one can get without a plane ticket to Italy.

It's perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and atmosphere We will ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere

We will come back soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience. E ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience. Expensive but well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Ristorante Massimo did not disappoint! T ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Ristorante Massimo did not disappoint! Their menu changes, but we had the roasted lamb, and it was the best we'd ever tasted. The crispy polenta with pesto topped the meal off perfectly. We also had the Cheese & Olive starter, Caprese, and Pasta with peas, all of which were so well done. Their Sommelier gave us some great wine suggestions, too. All in all, this was a great place to go for our 10th Anniversary Vacation dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a memorable time filled with grea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always a memorable time filled with great individual service and fine fine food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went to Massimo's to celebrate our an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We went to Massimo's to celebrate our anniversary and loved it. This is not our first time dining here and every time we have had great food and great service. We dined downstairs because the atmosphere is very romantic. We were there on a Thursday so we did the Prix Fixe menu and loved every course. They have an excellent wine list to complete the meal!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is a real treat, flavors that a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The food is a real treat, flavors that are rich in an array of nuances. I worthy treat to the palate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very fine dining experience with great a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very fine dining experience with great ambiance. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Massimo's offers authentic Italian cuisi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Massimo's offers authentic Italian cuisine in a classic setting. The wait staff is professionally attentive and were pleased to answer any questions. Overall, a nice experience and good value for the quality of preparedness and menu choices. We look forward to a future visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely first class food and wait sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Absolutely first class food and wait staff and ambiance. Hard to remember a better meal out at any Italian restaurant. Five starts!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Italian decor and food w updated ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Classic Italian decor and food w updated menu options They are the best staff I've ever encountered

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner . Great service and gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful dinner . Great service and great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent. Service impeccable ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Service impeccable. Would highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall best restaurant in Portsmouth. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Overall best restaurant in Portsmouth. That's all.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience at Ristorante M ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Another great experience at Ristorante Massimo. We had been very much looking forward to a return trip and were not disappointed. Everything was superb (again). The Carbonara is unbelievable, veal chop divine. Candace couldn’t have done a better job making sure we always had what we needed when we needed it. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my girlfriend there because she l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I took my girlfriend there because she loves "Italian" Italian food and she had the biggest smile on her face the whole time! We enjoyed some appetizers and got our entrees and they were all exceptional. I'd recommend this to any couple looking to have a nice quiet meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing night, and by far the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Absolutely amazing night, and by far the best dinner I've ever had. Simply cannot recommend this place more, excellent food and atmosphere, and the staff border on perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another memorable, and thoroughly enjoya ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Another memorable, and thoroughly enjoyable visit to Massimo's. Reminds us of fine dining in Italy. May be our favorite restaurant in Portsmouth. Way to go team Massimo!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular food and ambiance. The serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Spectacular food and ambiance. The service was impeccable. I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend Massimo!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine, food, and atmosphere were perf ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The wine, food, and atmosphere were perfect! Exceptional service by a very knowledgable staff. This was an anniversary and it was just what I had hoped for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot begin to express how wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I cannot begin to express how wonderful the whole experience at Massimo was. From pre-dinner cocktails at the upstairs bar with Chris and Steve to being greeted by the owner himself, our fantastic waitress Allie, the ambiance and OH MY GOD....the food. Carpaccio, the best veal chop I've ever had, and the other half had Carbonara which she said was better than she had in Italy. Table 12 (romantic for two) is the way to go. You will not be disappointed. I wish it were closer I'd go there at least once a month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All round lovely and relaxing dining on ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

All round lovely and relaxing dining on a recent holiday trip to Portsmouth. Very enjoyable!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG, we had a fabulous meal at Massimo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

OMG, we had a fabulous meal at Massimo's. One of the top 5 Restaurants in Portsmouth.

I had the Caprese salad to start, it was fantastic. I had the Carbonara for my mid course. I get that everytime we visit the restaurant. I also had the short rib manicotti. extraordinary food at this wonderful restaurant. Massimo always greets his guests with a big smile and always remembers you when you return. The service is spot on. Always a nice wine referral by Candace. This is one of our favorite spots. Bravo Massimo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back again as this was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Can't wait to go back again as this was truly a remarkable dining experience from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and superb service. Highl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent meal and superb service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a lovely restaurant with excelle ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with excellent food and a quiet romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was very nice. However, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice. However, that was about it. The food was just okay, a lot of odd things in their dishes which I think people would either like or dislike. Very expensive too.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

If you are looking for real top end food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

If you are looking for real top end food and drink Massimo's is the place for you. The food is incredible, great wine list, romantic, cozy atmosphere and top notch service priced appropriately. Ristorante Massimo gets an A+++

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.