About Ristorante Massimo

59 Penhallow Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
View Larger Map

Nestled like a hidden jewel in historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Massimo's warmly lit brick and stone grotto walls, fresh flowers and oil paintings of magnificent Italian landscapes transports guests to Florence, Rome and Venice. Guests relax in a richly appointed atmosphere beneath mahogany-beamed ceilings and private parties unwind in their own intimate dining room. Ristorante Massimo offers authentic dishes from all regions of Italy. From innovative concepts to timeless Italian favorites, our executive chef creates each dish with a distinctive, refined touch as found in some of the worlds most celebrated restaurants. Thoroughly unforgettable, unbelievable satisfying. **limited dining room availability offered online**

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Cancellation Policy
Monday - Friday: for groups of 5 or more - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to charge a $20.00 per person fee.
Saturday: all reservations - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the res reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to change a $20.00 per person fee.

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 436-4000

Website:
http://www.ristorantemassimo.com/

Entertainment:
Our staff!

Parking Details:
Ristorante Massimo offers complimentary weekend valet service. Our private lot is available for guest parking midweek. Simply alert the maitre d' of your arrival via telephone and we will gladly provide access to our gated lot.

Executive Chef:
Jethro Loichle

Private Party Facilities:
Ristorante Massimo is the perfect setting for celebrating a special occasion or hosting a corporate event. Here guests can enjoy customized menus, an intimate setting and impeccable service. Our elegant private dining room can accommodate up to 20 guests and special arrangements can be made for larger groups. State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment is available. We look forward to taking personal care of every detail of your entertaining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo Morgia: (603) 436-4000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Ristorante Massimo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Cozy (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Historic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Even better ambiance. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a lovely way to celebrate a birthday. The staff were so welcoming and the ambiance comfortable and inviting. Exceptional meal. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was my third time dining at Ristorante Massimo. Simply put they achieve consistent excellence in service, ambience, and food preparation.

We started with a meatball appetizer that was quite delicious. I had the ravioli with eggplant and sausage and my girlfriend had tagliatelle carbonara with pancetta; both were outstanding. We also shared a very fresh salad with burrata cheese.

Planning to return the next time we're in Portsmouth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Massimo's is always great and it didn't disappoint this time

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Outstanding in every respect! Service was attentive but not hovering. Questions were welcomed and we weren't made to feel like idiots. Unusual items on menu made the meal interesting. All the food was terrific with beautiful presentation. Noise level was such that you can easily hear your table mates. We recently dined at a pricey Italian restaurant with good reviews on the upper East Side NYC. Ristorante Massimo outclassed the NYC place in every respect. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hands down best restaurant in Portsmouth, and we have a lot of great restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We are Portsmouth locals...we had been wanting to try Massimo since moving to the city three years ago. We got a gift card and decided to go for Valentine's Day. I was so incredibly disappointed after hearing so much hype about the restaurant. First, I will say that the service was outstanding- kind waiters, very classy and very attentive (but not overbearing.) We ordered the meatballs to start- they were very good- Kobe beef, pesto sauce, ricotta- yum. Then we had the carpaccio salad- very small portion and not a 'salad' at all... just a few beets on top of the carpaccio with goat cheese- not worth the order. We ordered the brussel sprouts as a side- they were good, but not amazing. We each got the homemade pasta dish that had peas, proscuittio, cheese and a raw egg in it... lacked in flavor and not worth the hype! The egg never cooked by mixing it around, the meal was only luke warm. My husband and I both only took a few bites and left almost a whole bowl of food. When our waiter came back he made a joke about the food left and asked if we wanted to take it to go- we both said NO! I would've thought that would be a hint that we dind't like it- but it was never mentioned. Just so disappointed to spend over $100 on a meal that was not good and overrated- so many other gems in the Port City. Really wonderful staff, but... We won't be returning.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ristorante Massimo is definitely one of the true romantic restaurants in the area. Many claim to and they are wide open and often very noisy. At Ristorante Massimo it is always quiet, they have little nooks and quaint spaces to enjoy your dinner. I recommend making reservations, as they are always busy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was tasty, portions are on the small side. The corner booth was quiet and romantic. The waitstaff was very nice. I love they have parking across the street at their private lot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and i were very pleased with the service and food. The wait staff was very pleasent, promt, and curtious. The prices were surprisingly low for the service we received, and we felt very comfortable with the situation of the dining room. The only negative thing that we encountered had nothing to do with the restaurant, but with the woman sitting at another table that was very loud and annoying, but again, not the restaurants fault.

To sum up, a very pleasent experiance, and my wife and i will be returning to dine again.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food & service, My Scallops were cooked to perfection! My wife really enjoyed her pasta dish. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Celebrated our 33rd anniversary here and it was outstanding as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing food, amazing atmosphere, amazing service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Such a lovely experience from start to finish. Welcomed as old friends by the owner, attentive service, lovely menu and wine choices and a delicious meal. What more could one ask? Yumm!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

while we usually eat upstairs we decided to do downstairs. its is great to talk and great atmosphere and service. food was as usual excellent. Massimo is great and treats us so well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience. The room is great, and the food is outstanding. My wife had a braised beef pasta dish, app size which she likes. I had what may have been the best veal chop i ever ate! We had a burrata salad, and a bufala mozzarella salad both great. We had a nightcap at the wonderful upstairs bar, with two very entertaining bartenders!!

We'll be back, and most likely will eat at the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience from the moment we sat down. Massimo added to the overall experience, greeting our younger daughter with compliments and even had a complimentary coloring set waiting for her and our older daughter at the table. Melissa, our server made us feel right at home and Erin, the lovely lady who greeted us and took our coats has a the unique gift of being able to remember who each coat belongs to without a number system :) The Foie Gras, Gnocchi, Pappardelle pasta and Scallops were È delizioso!!! It was a night to remember :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Don't know what all the hype is about! Made a reservation one month ago for a special birthday dinner. Asked for a quiet, alcove table. When we got there we had to wait 20 minutes for our table (which would have been ok if we got what we asked for). When we were seated we were put in an alcove table right inside the door, directly facing a party of 20! It was also in the direct path of the kitchen where all the waiters had to pass. The large party was so loud we could hardly hear ourselves. They were so loud that the waitress actually apologized to us. She was our waitress as well as the party of 20's waitress. As you can expect we were the ones left out in the cold. We had ok service but not what it should have been. The meatball appetizer was fantastic but the meal went down from there. The scallops were overcooked, as was the filet. The filet had so much pepper on it that you really couldn't taste the meat, and the carrots that were served with it were burned. We got the cookie basket for dessert which supposedly had biscotti in it but there were no biscotti. We also had to remind someone to get it for us as we had our coffee and tea for about 10 minutes but had no dessert. When it was time to leave we even had to find our own coats!!! Luckily we saw where the hostess had put them. All in all it was not a good dinner. We may return to the bar (so that we can get those delicious meatballs) but we will not return to a restaurant that is so noisy you can't hear each other. Very disappointing!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went for the first time to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday and attend a Pat Metheny jazz concert in Portsmouth. The food was fabulous and the service impeccable. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a treat dining at Massimos. Best food in town by far along with the best service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing evening evening of food and conversation.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Very disappointed in the food as friends had recommended the restaurant. Ordered the gnocchi and having an Italian wife I guess I expected gnocchi similar to her family, but what we got were three potatoe cakes that tasted nothing like gnocchi. My wife ordered the duck and that was disappointing also, tough and not very tasty. A positive was out waiter who was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent place to bring a customer. The service was perfect, the food was delightful, and the decor was really nice. John, our waiter, was attentive, friendly, funny, knowledgeable, and confident in his recommendations. Everything I look for in a waiter.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a very special night and it is a classic restaurant with flowers on the table and the feel of a genuine Italian restaurant. Obvious care with everything. I had the pork chop special which was amazing. (Biggest I've ever seen) I only wish the waiter had mentioned the price in his spiel about the specials.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent service,great food, great selection of wines and meals.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful find. We waited 15 minutes for our reservation however the owner, Massimo, was so friendly and engaging. He offered us a beverage on the house while we waited. The whole staff was very friendly. The food was scrumptious and the service impeccable. The dining room is cozy and romantic. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A special evening was made even more so with the staff, food and atmosphere of Massimo's! Will be a treasured memory for us and we look forward to coming back in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the whole experience..... the only disappointment was that the waiter forgot to bring our left-overs :(

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Formal, knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff. Elegant menu and fine wine list. A bit pricey but worth the cost. Pick a night that is not very popular for an excellent personal dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My first trip to Massimo's for a "business dinner" - I am a self-published author and I took my beta readers out for dinner. My five girls and I had a fantastic evening. The staff was totally on-point - the hostess, the waiters, and we had the pleasure of being served by the Wine Director, who wowed us with an education as well as new and exciting options, plus he had a winning sense of humor. The meal was one of the best ones I've had west of Italy - every single dish we tried was absolutely delectable. The owner dropped by to welcome us as well. A lovely, intimate space, the atmosphere is fancy but relaxed and approachable. The hostess took our coats upon arrival and remembered us upon departure, and valet for Friday night dining is a bonus, too! I cannot wait to take my husband here for a date night!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Excellent food and service but pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We went for my husband's birthday and we just had the most wonderful time! Everyone, from the girl checking us in to wait staff smiling as they walked by were so nice. The food was delicious, very flavorful. We truly enjoyed our experience and can not wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for our second anniversary and had a lovely evening. We had a 5:15 reservation, probably the first diners for the night, as they were still setting up the dining area when we arrived. The owner greeted us when we were seated, which was very nice of him. The food was delicious--we got smoked duck, beef tartar, and the gorgonzola mountain for our "small bites"; I had the carbonara for my entree and my boyfriend got a beautifully-cooked beef tenderloin (Filetto di Manzo). The recommended wine paired nicely with both of our dishes. The atmosphere livened up as more diners came in. Christmas music was playing in the background at a reasonable volume. It got hard to hear my date at times, but that might depend on your fellow diners. Service was attentive, yet gave us plenty of time to enjoy our night at our own pace with few interruptions. They made sure that we were comfortable and the dining room temperature wasn't too cold, as it was near the entrance. We were fine, but it seems that other diners were cold as halfway through the night, they closed the double-doors that led to the lobby and increased the temperature on the thermostat. We were asked if it was a special occasion right before we ordered dessert and when it came out, our mini cannoli was embellished with a candle and "Happy Anniversary" chocolate, "compliments of the house." Very thoughtful touch! Our bill came out to around $130 with tax and tip. We will definitely be back for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was excellent as always, the service was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding as always! Massimo's is an exceptional restaurant ! From the minute you meet the valet, to the friendly and attentive staff, to the extra touch of Massimo's himself coming over to your table - you feel special. The food is extra ordinary and simply put delicious. My wife and I along with our friends truly look forward to our dining experience! Keep up the great work and we will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We try to get to Massimo's at least twice a winter during our "date night" evenings out. We have never been disappointed. We especially appreciate that Massimo is always a presence and cruises around the dining room to assure satisfaction. We were seated in a cozy alcove on this visit which I loved, quiet and yet still part of the scene.

All the food was excellent but the bread was exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Only issue was slightly slow service at the beginning, otherwise everything was great! The scallops were perfect and the gnocchi was very good. Burrata appetizer was excellent. Good value and our waiter was excellent as well. The table was downstairs under a brick arch with a mini chandelier. Very romantic and easy to talk. The owner stopped by and was very personable.

"Free" valet parking (you should tip of course!) is a great service as parking can be difficult in Portsmouth. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I ate here with 4 friends that have been to Italy many times, they could not believe what they were eating - they wanted to drag the chef out to congratulate him/her. The most amazing meal in years !! Highly recommend.

Massimo is also a great host, he takes careful attention to greet all guests and want to ensure their experience is optimal. Amazing staff too !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This is my 3rd or 4th visit to Massimo and it exceeds my expectations every time. From the parking valet to the hostess, waiters, etc., the service is top notch. The ambiance is warm, inviting and elegant. The food is amazing. Our table tried pasta, lobster, steak, and scallops and everything was fantastic. We tried 3 different desserts to share, and they were all delicious. The flourless chocolate cake is divine. We were all fighting over it. No reason to drive all the way to the North End for fantastic Italian food. Massimo is perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Wonderful MeL and dessert! Outstanding service. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We chose Restaurante Massimo for our 25th wedding anniversary and couldn't have chosen a better spot. We were greeted at the door by our hostess. She ensured we had the most romantic table and that our every request was taken care of. The drink list was extensive and the staff made sure we were happy with our selections. The food was absoulely outstanding. Wonderful flavor and portions just bigger than our appetites. The desert, as expected, was also great. I'm looking forward to going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was our first visit to Massimo 's. We were celebratin our 45th anniversary and we're really impressed that Massimo recognized that fact. Even though we were a few minutes early, we were offered a glass of wine while waiting. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. Steve, our waiter, was also very professional and helpful in explaining the menu. The alcove we were seated in was perfect for a romantic dinner. All the food was very tasty and the presentation was outstanding. I would highly recommend Massimo's to anyone wanting a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Complementary valet parking just icing on the cake. The food here was unbelievable! Not your traditional 'red sauce' Italian restaurant. Very creative and unique dishes. The veal chop served with pouched lobster was literally to die for! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in a long time, and hands down the best meal we've had is 2016. We are big, big fans of Italian and this was our first time - we'll definitely be back.

My only disappointment came with the waiter, though very nice to us, it was clear he was struggling that night with focus and attentiveness. We had to ask a few times for the same thing, and he was very apologetic and kind. We all have off-nights and I'm not faulting him greatly for it - as I said, we'll be back. Besides the food the best part was the owner coming by personally, twice. Feeling like we were welcomed into his home was simply amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Okay, so I'm going to join the list of many fans of this restaurant!

The food was well prepared with manageable portions. My tagliatelle carbonara didn't look too appetizing but it was wonderful! I had the buratta salad which was also very enjoyable. They do cater for vegetarians.

We were seated in a cozy book so it felt a little private but we could look out on the room. Greeted by the owner when we walked in which was a nice personal touch. He stopped by during our meal and when we left.

Definitely good for a revisit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Ristorante Massimo and it was a great experience. I let them know in advance that it was a special anniversary for my wife and I. They sat us at a wonderful private table and our waitress Melissa was so warm and attentive that she really made the night. The food was excellent but the service and ambiance makes this restaurant very special.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

What an evening. Arrived a half hour earlier than our reservation during restaurant week and it wasn't an issue. Massimo and his very nice hostess sat us just outside the dining room and we had drinks fairly quickly. Ate the three course meal special and every bite was fabulous. From the meatball amatraciana, to the braised short rib, right on through the caramel apple shortbread. All quite delicious. The service was also pretty perfect. Massimo really knows how to make you feel welcome and he clearly cares about his restaurant and it's guests. Bravo, we shall return.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent meal. Would be quite expensive if it weren't for food week in Portsmouth. Service and ambiance were outstanding. Highly recommend for those willing to pay $100+ per person.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was blown away by the overall experience of Ristorante Massimo. The staff we're attentive but low key and helpful. My girlfriend has a severe seafood allergy that sometimes causes a problem for us to choose a restaurant, but our waiter was almost happy to tell us that it wouldn't be a problem and he would make sure both of our dinners contained no trace. I have never experienced this kind of reaction at a restaurant and was very impressed.

We were served in a booth set back into an alcove surrounded by the original granite foundation and (what looked like) polished cherry with what I consider just the right amount of down light. We each chose a 3 course meal so I won't go into details about each dish but they blew our expectations away. Overall I truly couldn't have been more impressed with the atmosphere, staff, food, etc. and we have been talking about visiting yearly for our anniversaries.

PS. If anyone from RM should read this, thank you for making the anniversary/birthday dinner one to remember for us!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.