Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today

Ristorante Massimo

4.8
1216 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Nestled like a hidden jewel in historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Massimo's warmly lit brick and stone grotto walls, fresh flowers and oil paintings of magnificent Italian landscapes transports guests to Florence, Rome and Venice. Guests relax in a richly appointed atmosphere beneath mahogany-beamed ceilings and private parties unwind in their own intimate dining room. Ristorante Massimo offers authentic dishes from all regions of Italy. From innovative concepts to timeless Italian favorites, our executive chef creates each dish with a distinctive, refined touch as found in some of the worlds most celebrated restaurants. Thoroughly unforgettable, unbelievable satisfying. **limited dining room availability offered online**
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Cancellation Policy
Monday - Friday: for groups of 5 or more - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to charge a $20.00 per person fee.
Saturday: all reservations - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the res reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to change a $20.00 per person fee.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(603) 436-4000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jethro Loichle
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Ristorante Massimo is the perfect setting for celebrating a special occasion or hosting a corporate event. Here guests can enjoy customized menus, an intimate setting and impeccable service. Our elegant private dining room can accommodate up to 20 guests and special arrangements can be made for larger groups. State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment is available. We look forward to taking personal care of every detail of your entertaining needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Massimo Morgia: (603) 436-4000
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
State Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ristorante Massimo offers complimentary weekend valet service. Our private lot is available for guest parking midweek. Simply alert the maitre d' of your arrival via telephone and we will gladly provide access to our gated lot.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Our staff!
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine
What 1216 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The experience was a pleasure from the hostess's greeting to paying the bill. The servers were attentive and welcoming. The food was spectacular. The room was intimate. Can't say enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great experience highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Such great food, service and ambiance. Perfect place to celebrate our 13th wedding Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Everything at Massimo's is top notch. Food, service, ambiance. We go back for special occasions and are never disappointed. Do yourself a favor and dine at Massimo's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Outstanding meal best from here to Boston and back!! Absolutely delicious. Have the short rib/pasta and lamb appetizer both were out of this world!!!!! Yummmmy

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

I was very impressed with the waiter and service he provided. The dinners were good but a bit over priced for the overall taste.
I seating was a bit dated and not comfortable for a 2 1/2 hour dinner.
My lobster broth stuffing was not to expectation. More like a bread loaf.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

As always the food and the service were excellent. The rainbow trout was especially delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We return every year for a delicious meal, great service and peaceful atmosphere. NEERO Conference!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This was a special date night/babymoon/birthday dinner. I cannot believe we had never been before but will definitely be back. The food was delicious and the waitstaff was incredibly attentive. We ordered too much food, definitely could just do a cheese plate and apps next time! We would recommend to anyone in the area and anyone visiting for authentic italian cusine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Best Italian restaurant I’ve been to in New England. I can’t recommend it enough.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great food & service. I would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Massimo is ultimate host. Found unusual wine from great list and it was as good as promised by server. Had a WOW moment with appetizer flavor - flavor flooded senses. Main course fantastic.

Surprised by complimentary dessert for my birthday. My favorite restaurant for anytime.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Excellent food and service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We have been going to Massimos for several years for special occasions . We certainly intend to go regularly from now on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This was a first visit for both of us to Massimo's and we were totally delighted with the experience. The service was first rate, friendly, available without being over bearing, and efficient. The food was fantastic. We started with the small cheese plates, then had a fettucine with crab, garlic, and caviar appetizer that was out of this world. I had the Tuna, and my lady friend had the scallops and were both completely pleased. An outstanding wine list as well. It's not an inexpensive place to dine by any stretch, but it is worth every penny. Also a beautiful setting, warm, romantic, and although it was filled when we were there, it remained quite enough for conversation. The owner stopped by to say hi as well, which is always a nice touch. Highly recommended, and we will certainly be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Special attention by the owner in welcoming us. Wait staff went out of their way to please. Delightful setting. Intimate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Delicious food, great service! Perfect place for a special occasion! We went for our anniversary and were totally impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

First time. Excellent in all ways. Classy and top shelf. The owner and staff couldn't be nicer. The food was fantastic. The waitstaff caters to every detail. Cozy and beautifully decorated. We were there for a business dinner, but will definitely return for pleasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Exiquisit setting. Very attentive service. Food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food is top notch, it is as good as any Northern Italian themed restaurant I have ever been to. My wife loves this place and we went for her birthday. I made a reservation and I surprised her by flying her mother up from Florida. The flight was delayed and Massimo worked with us moving the reservation twice. They never pressured us on the timing. They even removed a place setting so when we got there and set down early she was not suspicious! It all went off without a hitch and we had an amazing dinner! I love this place and can not say enough good things about the staff or the food! Amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I've been to Massimo three times and it is always great. If you're going for a date ask for the small alcove booth. Delicious, creative dishes and consistently wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Restaurant week menu was a big disappointment. Nice atmosphere, great wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Massimo and his staff truly delight their customers and never disappoint...whether restaurant week or a business meeting or special family event or a romantic dinner with your honey, always excellent food, great service and a place where you feel like you are dining in Italy!!!

Last night three couples returned to Massimo’s for restaurant week. Just to put our crowd in perspective, two of the couples have lived in Italy (one for 20 years and the other for 3 years). In addition, one of the guests has very sensitive stomach issues to which Massimo and his chef were very understanding and accommodating. The three courses were amazing...flavored the way Northern Italian dishes should be. No complaints from the six of us!!

We truly thank Massimo, Candace (our waitress), Sam (the bartender who makes some mean cocktails), the Chef and all of the other servers who were attentive and congenial.

We will see you again soon...ah, yes, tomorrow night!!

Compliments to Massimo and his team!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

So delicious, can’t wait to go again. Great restaurant week menu, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

This is the best Italian restaurant in Portsmouth! The lobster bisque was excellent. My daughter loved her spaghetti and meatballs! I loved my Italian gin and juice cocktail! We will be coming back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The service was excellent and well paced. We each selected a different entree and they were all well presented and delicious. Next time we visit Portsmouth we will return to Ristorante Massimo. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

It’s always very delicious at Massimo’s, intimate dining, great food, friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Dined during Portsmouth’s Restaurant Week. Food and service was great. Sam was our server. Perfect Sunday night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The ambiance is amazing and the food is absolutely delicious. Massimo himself is warm and friendly and makes one feel truly welcomed. We did find our waiter distracted as the wrong appetizers were brought out and then he couldn't remember what entrees we ordered and then again desserts arrived that were not right. In the end, after he left the check another waiter came and picked up the payment. Perhaps our waiter had something else going on but he really seemed not to have his head in what he was doing. However, we would go back as the food was memorable. This restaurant is special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our experience was wonderful. The food,service and atmosphere were all outstanding. This is a lovely restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. You can not go wrong at this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Restaurant week, where your cuisine needs to shine. Totally disappointed with the menu. More time was spent on the menu description then the meal itself. A bunch of mush paste... All courses where awful and would not frequent again. I enjoyed a simple pizza at the Rosa much more and that isn't saying much either. Get back to your roots Massimo or time to hang it up along with the Rosa.... Chow!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Massimo’s is always outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This has been and remains my favorite Portsmouth restaurant -- even with the serious competition. Every presentation shows attention to detail and extreme care. The food is delicious and the service is excellent. Never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Hands down the best service we’ve experienced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

An incredible meal with great service and knowledge staff. Definitely going back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Probably the best Italian cuisine in New Hampshire. Very elegant and the best thing is how totally gracious the staff is. This place is classy but it is NOT pretentious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Had a wonderful experience, delicious food and fantastic service. Atmosphere is cozy and historical, the building is from the 1800s. Recommend for someone looking for authentic, top notch Italian cuisine .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Outstanding start to finish; the ultimate gem of Portsmouth!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Very nice. Traditional ambiance, but creative menu. Server's suggestions were right on target.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My wife has gluten dairy allergies, before I made the reservation I called, someone called back about two hours later which was nice, I explained her situation, and she explained that since everything was made to order, almost everything on 5he menu probably could be made to accommodate her and they even had gluten free pasta.
The waitress was great, but as we discussed the menu over 90 percent of it went away as options for my wife.
While her meal was good, she ended up with a steak minus items, that’s not what we were presented by phone.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31