Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Ristorante Massimo

Nestled like a hidden jewel in historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Massimo's warmly lit brick and stone grotto walls, fresh flowers and oil paintings of magnificent Italian landscapes transports guests to Florence, Rome and Venice. Guests relax in a richly appointed atmosphere beneath mahogany-beamed ceilings and private parties unwind in their own intimate dining room. Ristorante Massimo offers authentic dishes from all regions of Italy. From innovative concepts to timeless Italian favorites, our executive chef creates each dish with a distinctive, refined touch as found in some of the worlds most celebrated restaurants. Thoroughly unforgettable, unbelievable satisfying. **limited dining room availability offered online**

59 Penhallow Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Cancellation Policy
Monday - Friday: for groups of 5 or more - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to charge a $20.00 per person fee.
Saturday: all reservations - We ask that a guest call by 12:00p.m. the day of the res reservation to cancel or we reserve the right to change a $20.00 per person fee.

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(603) 436-4000

Website:
http://www.ristorantemassimo.com/

Entertainment:
Our staff!

Parking Details:
Ristorante Massimo offers complimentary weekend valet service. Our private lot is available for guest parking midweek. Simply alert the maitre d' of your arrival via telephone and we will gladly provide access to our gated lot.

Executive Chef:
Jethro Loichle

Private Party Facilities:
Ristorante Massimo is the perfect setting for celebrating a special occasion or hosting a corporate event. Here guests can enjoy customized menus, an intimate setting and impeccable service. Our elegant private dining room can accommodate up to 20 guests and special arrangements can be made for larger groups. State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment is available. We look forward to taking personal care of every detail of your entertaining needs.

Private Party Contact:
Massimo Morgia: (603) 436-4000

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Ristorante Massimo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Cozy (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Authentic (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Historic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved our dinner the other night. Been here before. This time we had three spectacular Kobe beef meatballs to start. Lots of food, wine and an amazing dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great place for a personal or business dinner. Outstanding variety of food choices. My wife has celiacs and they were very helpful... she had many choices. Also a nice wine list... will go back again when I am on the area.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food and top notch staff. Staff were attentive, but not intrusive.
Would recommend as an ideal spot for special occasions.

Food was delicious and sizes were just right.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I made it clear when I made the reservation that it was a celebration dinner for my wife's birthday but no extra effort was put into making this evening special for us. The service we received from the waiter was far less than I expect from this restaurant, especially in light of the fact that we were celebrating a birthday. The food was very good and the table was very quaint but I was very disappointed overall in the service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Charming and great food. Service a bit slow

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We visited Massimo's for our sons 21st birthday. The staff was super friendly and could not do enough to make our experience pleasurable. The food was great as well as the cocktails. Of the six of us in our party, five chose the Tagliatelle Pasta Carbonara, Prosciutto, Peas, Black Truffles, Egg Yolk; it is our favorite dish at Massimo's. Most of us ordered the entree portion as we had it for lunch the following day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Delicious food (with smaller plates available) in a romantic "old world" atmosphere, gracious service and a good wine list

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My wife and I visit Portsmouth, N.H. several times a year. However, Ristorante Massimo is a restaurant that we have not visited before - but surely will again. This is a "must dine" location in Portsmouth, with wonderful food, a romantic atmosphere and a terrific wait staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

You will never have a bad meal here, period. Such a unique place, food is always top notch and always worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the food service and overall experience. A restaurant not to miss!!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was our first time at Massimo's. Although the staff is very well dressed, the place is actually very casual - jeans everywhere. The valet parking is a big plus in (where the heck do I park) Portsmouth.

We arrived a half hour early so we had a drink in the bar upstairs. We had so much fun with the bartenders that we thought about staying upstairs and eating at the bar. I had a Citradelic beer for the first time (tangerine IPA) at the recommendation of the bartender and it was way better than it sounds.

Diner was great. I had the Filet and it was cooked to perfection. My wife had the Eggplant Ravioli and as she loved it!

Massimo, the owner, stopped by the table to see if everything was to our liking. Great guy!

Definitely book a table. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, a great dining experience. Both dinner and service were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great staff, great food and service, a must stop in Portsmouth!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful as always.. Can't go wrong here.. Especially if it's a special occasion... Fabulous wine list and wonderful atmosphere... We will return...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Never disappointed with this wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Went for 2017 Spring restaurant week. The portion sizes were perfect and the service was great. I had the opportunity to sit in the back room, which was actually quite nice. It was quieter than the main room. The servers were attentive and the food was very good. My favorite thing this year was the dessert, which was an excellent little cake with apple cider mascarpone. The mascarpone was amazing. Instead of just putting cinnamon in it or something, I could tell it was made with reduced apple cider. It had a very subtle and complex flavor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Fantastic food and warm service make this restaurant a favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in the Portsmouth area. To top this off it was Restaurant Week where there is a fixed price fixed menu with sufficient choices for all to enjoy. Only one slip up by the wait staff, mishearing my appetizer order so I received the lobster versus the salami. Why am I complaining about having to eat lobster (which was my second choice)? Just that I was surprised by any error at this fine restaurant. Note that they did offer to reorder / replace the lobster but I decided to stay with what I had received.
The whole staff is friendly, from the Owner stopping by to check on us down to the sharp young gentleman bussing the tables.
Plus they have a fantastic Italian wine selection. What more can you ask for?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Highest quality food and service, consistently; never disappoints.
Cozy relaxing ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Absolute perfection. The level of quality in the food and staff is that of a restaurant 4 times the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great anniversary dinner with several close friends. The food was great and our server, Candice was wonderful !! The menu is wonderful and the atmosphere is very cozy !!
Highly recommended for special occasions!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went during Restaurant Week 2017 and had a fabulous meal three course meal, amazing drinks, and a nice private table in the downstairs area. Staff was incredibly friendly! Overall great time and would highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food is always great. It was restaraunt week so price was good. We like downstairs for special occasions Bar is great. Service was only ok

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Went for restaurant week with my girlfriend, a little date night. Food was great, atmosphere was cozy and the service was exceptional. We will be going back again soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Always outstanding food and ambience. Massimo is an excellent restauranteur, giving the personal touch to each diner. Fabulous

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week. Usually, it's impossible for me to find an appetizer, entree, and dessert that really appeal to me so I often sit out Restaurant Week. Here, they put together some really good choices. The crab bruschetta was really tasty. The short ribs were delicious and the portion was just right. The dessert was from chocolate heaven. Seth, our waiter, did a great job. He was professional, knowledgeable, pleasant, and attentive without overdoing it. It was a really nice meal all the way around!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our favorite spot for special occasions! We've enjoyed for years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

If you're looking for truly Italian, this isn't the place to go. The food was pretty good, but I would characterize it more as Mediterranean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Dinner was amazing as always. Still our favorite place to go when we get a night out!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Honestly one of the best dining experiences I've had. The service was incredible. The food was delicious. The ambience delightful. A definite place to eat at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food was not as good as I thought it would be. a little disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was outstanding-and the food was exceptional

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nothing negative in this review, food and service were both outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was really amazing, and the service was even better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

An intimate setting with beautifully crafted dishes and divine service, Massimo's is a gem in Portsmouth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This was our first time to this restaurant which was on the top of a list given to us by a friend. The menu was full of tantalizing choices. I chose 3 mini appetizers which were presented beautifully on a bread board and followed this with an eggplant ravioli which was superb. My husband had a garden salad with a delicious light dressing followed by scallops which he loved. We did not choose a wine but the wine list looked extensive. The only drawback was trying to find parking in Portsmouth near the restaurant at 6 p.m. Later, the waiter told us we could call from the street on weekdays and they would park the car. On weekends they have valet parking. Problem solved. We will go again, probably for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We haven't had good food like this in this area for a long time

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

An absolutely wonderful experience from start to finish. The food was phenomenal, and the service outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My go to in Portsmouth and it has never disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. First time we've been here. The staff all seemed very polite and very professional yet comfortable. Our server just happened to be the wine expert which was perfect as we wanted a nice bottle of wine. My meal was the best I've ever had and was grilled beef tenderloin cooked to perfection. I had a small amount of ground pepper put on and that made this a perfect meal. My wife had the scallops and said that she thought they were slightly undercooked. But to be honest we aren't restaurant snobs so understanding exactly how they should be cooked properly may very well have been the way they were brought out. She would have liked them a little more cooked but she said they were very tasty and I had a bite and thought they were awesome so maybe it was just some of them? They were huge scallops I must say. Overall this was the best night and meal I've ever had and will go back again on our next bid day. Oh the wine we had was Damiano Lecinquevigne Barolo 2012 and was so good we went and bought three bottles at NH Liquor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.