About Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca

1080 Uptown Park Blvd.
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Elegant, Intimate, Authentic; Ristorante Cavour

Recognized as one of Houston's Best Italian Restaurants, Ristorante Cavour features authentic Northern Italian cuisine amid a beautiful and serene setting accented with Murano chandeliers. Savor traditional Italian favorites alongside seasonal house specialties with selections to indulge the most discriminating palate. Experience our premier wine cellar, featuring hundreds of vintages hand-selected from around the world.

From important business lunches to memorable special occasion dinners, Ristorante Cavour offers guests an impeccable dining experience in an intimate and elegant ambiance. Ristorante Cavour is the setting for one of Houston's "Best Brunches" and offers a traditional Afternoon Tea or signature Granduca Tea throughout the year.


Hotel GRANDUCA is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd.
Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday Only: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Afternoon Tea daily by reservation only : 2 pm - 4pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 418-1104

Website:
http://www.granducahouston.com/

Entertainment:
Light Jazz Thursday, Piano Friday and Saturday evenings. Jazz Sunday Brunch

Parking Details:
On-site complimentary valet parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Mozzarella Peaches  - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Chocolate Bonbons - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Tiramisu - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
  • Creme Brulee - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Mozzarella Peaches  - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Chocolate Bonbons - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Tiramisu - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX
Creme Brulee - Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca, Houston, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We provide a complete array of flexible and creative solutions to your function, space, hosting, catering, technology and entertainment needs.

Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Most delicious Italian food in the city.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

Most delicious Italian food in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was perfect and the food was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was perfect and the food was delicious. My wife was disappointed that the desserts did not include the traditional pumpkin pie and a red velvet cake, as in prior meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for my wife's birthday. We'd be ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday. We'd been there for Sunday brunch several times and loved it. Our experience this time did not disappoint. We were in an elegant setting and the service was exceptional. We will go again with joy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent range of tasty food for Sunday ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent range of tasty food for Sunday brunch. Excellent service, although we had to wait a while in the bar (very nice) for about 20 minutes until our table became available. Complementary valet parking. Everything about the hotel and restaurant is first-rate. I recommend it highly both for dinner and for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, the Ristorante Cavour deliver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, the Ristorante Cavour delivered a fine dining experience in an elegant setting. It is nice to occasionally have a meal in a setting that permits conversation at normal volume levels. There was a large and somewhat boisterous group enjoying an early meal when we arrived for a 6:45 pm reservation, but fortunately they had been seated in the anteroom so that their noise level was not offensive in the main dining room. My only complaint is that their selection of wines by the glass is limited and very expensive. Neither of our guests the other night drink alcohol, so I was forced off their extensive main wine list. Twenty-four dollars a glass for a skimpy serving of a moderately good Barolo is a bit stiff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Different than when I went 3 months ago. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Different than when I went 3 months ago. Price went up. Quality and variety of food definitely down. Took 5 friends for their birthdays. Pricey but would not have

Minded if good quality. This was not. That being said....the service was incredible. I could not have asked for more. Will not go back....would. It recommend.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The food was deliscious. The service was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was deliscious. The service was excellent. Will be back next time in the Galleria area. Thank much to our delightful servers. It was a very quaint and private dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the perfect spot! Lunch at Cavou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always the perfect spot!

Lunch at Cavour is the perfect combination of great food, wonderful service and an elegant place where I can slow down from the frantic pace of my workdays.

It's my "go-to" place for business lunches or time with girlfriends.

I have never been disappointed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the relaxed feel of Ristorante ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We loved the relaxed feel of Ristorante Cavour...Extravagant buffet including omelet and carving station...we particularly loved the salmon as an entree plus an array of salads and cheeses....without forgetting the selections of individual desserts. The service was excellent automatically greeting with complimentary glass of prosecco...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good. This time the menu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food is always good. This time the menu was very limited as the kitchen is currently under reconstruction. I know that when it's back in regular operating order that the menu will be back to its original state and probably even better. We had the awesome butternut squash soup and blue crab salad as appetizers. For our entrees we had a filet of tenderloin and flatbread with fresh tomatoes, cheese and basil. Tiramisu was for dessert and it was oh, so good!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great service and food

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Always great service and food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Staff was prompt & attentive. Great serv ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Staff was prompt & attentive. Great service. The food pictures & menu on here is outdated. The food they served couldn't be distinguished from each other...the branzino came out on a bed of mashed potatoes, smothered with brown gravy. The steak came out on a bed of mashed potatoes, smothered with brown gravy. Both dishes tasted pretty similarly too...I really felt like the chef had simply given up on creativeness. The ambiance was nice & it was SUPER quiet inside. Conversations from nearby tables were at a mere whisper. Will not return to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food and service were exceptional....sam ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food and service were exceptional....same as every other visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Everything from wait ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was delicious. Everything from wait staff who were very helpful to presentation were top notch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ristorante Cavour has become our favori ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Ristorante Cavour has become our favorite restaurant for its consistently excellent food and service, regardless of the time of day. We've had excellent dinners here, as well as an outstanding Sunday brunch. On a recent visit, we enjoyed excellent veal medallions and a wonderful seafood risotto, but you won't be disappointed by Amy of their seafood or freshly-made pasta selections. Finally, the staff always goes out of the way to provide personalized service, making each guest feel special!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I had my birthday dinner ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 9, 2016

My husband and I had my birthday dinner here this year. It was such a romantic place to enjoy the delicious food and private time. The food was very finely prepared, and the place was carefully decorated. I would plan a afternoon tea here pretty soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great and we all enjo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The restaurant was great and we all enjoyed it very much. Did we get the 1000 points ?

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The burrata appetizer was very nice. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2016

The burrata appetizer was very nice. The tomatoes were a beautiful bright red plated beneath a large hand pulled burrata ball. The bslsomic reduction was a bit on the heavy side but all together a fine dish. Their seared tuna dish was a complete miss for me. Ordered rare, it arrived at the table overcooked, as was the accompanying bok choy. The polenta was tough, not creamy and soft as expected. The seafood risotto was a creamy smooth consistency, topped with very little seafood. It was very inexpensive. I would have liked to pay more and have a more balanced dish. The service was a little too attentive. The only table in the restaurant made every worker on staff regularly ask how things were going. We could not get through a conversation without several interruptions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We've visited Ristorante Cavour on sever ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've visited Ristorante Cavour on several occasions for dinner and Sunday Brunch, and have always enjoyed an excellent meal and service. His was the first time we had breakfast, and we were equally impressed. The food was fresh, inviting, and served in the Same excellent manner as other meals we've enjoyed here. As such, Ristorante Cavour remains one of our favorite restaurants !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was disappointed that no comment nor ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2016

I was disappointed that no comment nor acknowledgement was made concerning our reason for dining there. We were celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary and had made that point at the time we made the reservation. When they telephoned to assure we were keeping the reservation, they made mention of our reason for dining with them.

The night of our dining no reference was made. We had celebrated our 50th anniversary there also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was impeccable. Excellent wine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was impeccable. Excellent wine selections.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunate decline

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2016

I once loved this place. I'm so disappointed to have to say that you are better off going somewhere else.

The food is still done fairly well but it is no longer of the quality that made me think that this could become one of the best restaurants in Houston. But the service from beginning to end is the most disappointing aspect.

Arriving, the greeting was horrible. The valet staff seems to be unconcerned with how they represent the hotel. After seeing that my wife was pregnant, they did nothing but the most rudimentary aspect of not being in the way. Next even thought we were only 2 min early, there was no one prepared. Doors were closed and no one to receive guests. With a reservation, if you consider yourself a high end institution, this is unacceptable. Finally I have been dealing with a check for the past 4 days. I have made 2 phone calls with 2 promises that I will be contacted, so far, no one has attempted to contact me.

I have no clue what has changed here but whom ever is in charge needs to take a hard look at themselves and what they want this place to be and represent. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Food and service quite good. Finally, a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and service quite good. Finally, a place you can talk and not need to shout. Great for quiet dining in wonderful environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

New summer menu!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

They have so many new dishes I want to try. I will be back soon...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No longer our go-to brunch spot

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Incredibly disappointed that the brunch has been "revamped" to include very little of what we loved ... gone is the smoked salmon, shrimp, crab claws, kids buffet items, pasta station, etc. It was a total bummer and not at all worth the same price. The service was still exceptional, but we won't be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

very nice ambiance, good staff, very polite

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

the food although Italian does not have an Italian setting, the portions are of Texan size and that is a shame, the starter is large enough for a main course so we did not got to try to many courses.

the quality was good, but the bring out the next place even before you finish the previous dish.

the plates are not heated and so you eat almost cold food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Lovely meal with table side salad. Cons ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely meal with table side salad. Consistent great food. Fabulous live piano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old Friend

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Like a visit with an old friend, there was nothing new in the experience. But that is the good part. What with exceptional service, great ambiance and low noise levels, what is there to complain about. The kitchen remains above average if not exceptional in this reviewers judgment. All in all, a perfect venue for a visit with old friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was superb, the food was quic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything was superb, the food was quick to come out and really just fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want an romantic evening

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2016

This place is small and intimate with wonderful food and service. It is quiet and elegant. There is no other restaurant in Houston like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Dinner

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 27, 2016

I was very pleased to host a dinner for 6. The food was delicious, the wine that the Wine Stewart helped me choose was perfect, and the ambiance was delightful. It was quiet enough for all 6 of us to enjoy full table conversations. Everyone loved it!! Only 2 of us had been there before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, great service, slightly pricy!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I went here with my girlfriend for our Valentine's Day dinner, and I was definitely happily surprised by the quality of the food. We started off with some bread rolls and two different kinds of butter (on the house!), and those were pretty tasty. We also got a cocktail to share from the bar (for two!), and we were both content with the taste of the cocktail and the amount of alcohol in there - I felt just fine after drinking my half (or maybe 60%...).

Not long after we got the bread, our real meal began! My appetizer (crab salad) was maybe the best appetizer I've ever eaten in my life (loads of crab!), and my girlfriend enjoyed her appetizer as well (beef carpaccio salad). Next, my first course was a lobster pasta that was quite decent, although the taste of the sauce was a little strange and probably not my favorite. My girlfriend really enjoyed her first course of bowtie pasta with duck ragout. My second course was filet mignon with crispy prosciutto and truffle mashed potatoes, and it was DELICIOUS! Potentially the best steak I've ever had in my life, so I was really happy about that. My girlfriend had sea bass and was slightly jealous of my entree, although she enjoyed hers as well. Finally, my dessert was a chocolate mousse tart, and it was good (but not outstanding) - my girlfriend's panna cotta was probably a little bit better.

The service was very good - our water was filled up consistently, and the waitress helped us understand some of the more exotic ingredients on the menu. The menu was fixed because it was a special occasion, but there were still four different choices for each of the four courses, which was nice.

Of course, eating here did cost a pretty penny ($85 per person without tip for the food alone). That being said, it was worth it - the food was absolutely delicious, and in particular, the crab salad and filet mignon were incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decent food

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Was placed at a very small table. Polite staff but mistakes were to our drink order and they brought out the wrong bottle of wine. I think this may be a breakdown in the communication. The food was decent for the price. The level of hostess experience was disappointing for a place of this price and ambiance. Raul was good. He made up for the others some. Overall, there are too many restaurants I would rather frequent at this price level.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Fantastic Sunday brunch

 
 (London)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Delicious food, excellent choice of dishes. Outstanding service, highly recommended,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant for elegant dining

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Great upscale northern Italian dining; plush, elegant and unhurried. We dine their regularly and appreciate the attention we receive such as always having our regular table available for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I don't know why I haven't gone before

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2015

This place is wonderful, it reminds me of Le Cirque. While I don't think that Ristorante Cavour is quite at the same level as Le Cirque, they certainly have the potential to make it there. The service is some of the best in Houston. The timing of the food is very good. The food preparation and temperature was just excellent. I'm surprised that it isn't in the top 100 for the Houston Chronicle but if they can do what they did while I was there for my first visit every day, I'm not sure how they will stay off that list for long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the FIRST REAL / GOOD / HIGH-END ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2015

This is the FIRST REAL / GOOD / HIGH-END Italian restaurant that I have found in Houston...

The food, setting, service was SUPERB -- & VERY high-end...

[ Hotel Granduca also is VERY high-end & in a new development (Uptown Park)... ]

I plan to bring my son (a FOODIE) there to try it sometime when he are here...

[ Unfortunately for them, the night that we went Thu 11/19 @20:30-22:00, it was nearly EMPTY... Hope their business IMPROVES... ]

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but not completely Northern Italian

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2015

The branzino (Mediterranean sea bass) was as good as we eat in Europe. Cooked to perfection and wonderful. If they have this on the menu when you go, you need to try this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Ambiance

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 18, 2015

The Cavour in the Granduca Hotel was beautiful and filled with an romantic and luxurious ambiance. the wine list was extensive with numerous good to great selections. The food was only good, not as great as the ambiance. The Italian selections were slight, the duck tasted more like ham, but the pasta Bolognese was delicious. Great spot for a special occasion where the staff makes you feel very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Disappointing all around. I have been to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2015

Disappointing all around. I have been to the restaurant several times and it just doesn't have its act together. Sometimes it's good, then the next time bad. For a restaurant so small, the service should be much better. I observed when there last that the waiters catered to the men clients much more than the women. Not a good practice. I had requested a table by the window and did not get it even though there were plenty of empty tables. I think I'll wait a while before returning....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.