About Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca

1080 Uptown Park Blvd.
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Elegant, Intimate, Authentic; Ristorante Cavour

Recognized as one of Houston's Best Italian Restaurants, Ristorante Cavour features authentic Northern Italian cuisine amid a beautiful and serene setting accented with Murano chandeliers. Savor traditional Italian favorites alongside seasonal house specialties with selections to indulge the most discriminating palate. Experience our premier wine cellar, featuring hundreds of vintages hand-selected from around the world.

From important business lunches to memorable special occasion dinners, Ristorante Cavour offers guests an impeccable dining experience in an intimate and elegant ambiance. Ristorante Cavour is the setting for one of Houston's "Best Brunches" and offers a traditional Afternoon Tea or signature Granduca Tea throughout the year.


Hotel GRANDUCA is a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Ltd.
Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:30am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday Only: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Afternoon Tea daily by reservation only : 2 pm - 4pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 418-1104

Website:
http://www.granducahouston.com/

Entertainment:
Light Jazz Thursday, Piano Friday and Saturday evenings. Jazz Sunday Brunch

Parking Details:
On-site complimentary valet parking available.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
  • Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
  • Tiramisu
  • Creme Brulee
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca
Tiramisu
Creme Brulee

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Fri 6:00PM - 6:45PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM 8:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We provide a complete array of flexible and creative solutions to your function, space, hosting, catering, technology and entertainment needs.

Ristorante Cavour at the Hotel Granduca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (15)
romantic (13)
great for lunch (10)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
good for groups (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We've visited Ristorante Cavour on sever ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We've visited Ristorante Cavour on several occasions for dinner and Sunday Brunch, and have always enjoyed an excellent meal and service. His was the first time we had breakfast, and we were equally impressed. The food was fresh, inviting, and served in the Same excellent manner as other meals we've enjoyed here. As such, Ristorante Cavour remains one of our favorite restaurants !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I was disappointed that no comment nor ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I was disappointed that no comment nor acknowledgement was made concerning our reason for dining there. We were celebrating our 51st wedding anniversary and had made that point at the time we made the reservation. When they telephoned to assure we were keeping the reservation, they made mention of our reason for dining with them. The night of our dining no reference was made. We had celebrated our 50th anniversary there also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable. Excellent wine ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was impeccable. Excellent wine selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Unfortunate decline

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I once loved this place. I'm so disappointed to have to say that you are better off going somewhere else. The food is still done fairly well but it is no longer of the quality that made me think that this could become one of the best restaurants in Houston. But the service from beginning to end is the most disappointing aspect. Arriving, the greeting was horrible. The valet staff seems to be unconcerned with how they represent the hotel. After seeing that my wife was pregnant, they did nothing but the most rudimentary aspect of not being in the way. Next even thought we were only 2 min early, there was no one prepared. Doors were closed and no one to receive guests. With a reservation, if you consider yourself a high end institution, this is unacceptable. Finally I have been dealing with a check for the past 4 days. I have made 2 phone calls with 2 promises that I will be contacted, so far, no one has attempted to contact me. I have no clue what has changed here but whom ever is in charge needs to take a hard look at themselves and what they want this place to be and represent. .

food4
ambience5
service5

Food and service quite good. Finally, a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food and service quite good. Finally, a place you can talk and not need to shout. Great for quiet dining in wonderful environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New summer menu!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

They have so many new dishes I want to try. I will be back soon...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

No longer our go-to brunch spot

Dined on May 1, 2016

Incredibly disappointed that the brunch has been "revamped" to include very little of what we loved ... gone is the smoked salmon, shrimp, crab claws, kids buffet items, pasta station, etc. It was a total bummer and not at all worth the same price. The service was still exceptional, but we won't be going back.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

very nice ambiance, good staff, very polite

Dined on April 23, 2016

the food although Italian does not have an Italian setting, the portions are of Texan size and that is a shame, the starter is large enough for a main course so we did not got to try to many courses. the quality was good, but the bring out the next place even before you finish the previous dish. the plates are not heated and so you eat almost cold food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely meal with table side salad. Cons ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Lovely meal with table side salad. Consistent great food. Fabulous live piano.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Friend

Dined on April 2, 2016

Like a visit with an old friend, there was nothing new in the experience. But that is the good part. What with exceptional service, great ambiance and low noise levels, what is there to complain about. The kitchen remains above average if not exceptional in this reviewers judgment. All in all, a perfect venue for a visit with old friends.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was superb, the food was quic ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Everything was superb, the food was quick to come out and really just fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want an romantic evening

Dined on February 28, 2016

This place is small and intimate with wonderful food and service. It is quiet and elegant. There is no other restaurant in Houston like it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Dinner

Dined on February 27, 2016

I was very pleased to host a dinner for 6. The food was delicious, the wine that the Wine Stewart helped me choose was perfect, and the ambiance was delightful. It was quiet enough for all 6 of us to enjoy full table conversations. Everyone loved it!! Only 2 of us had been there before.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, slightly pricy!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went here with my girlfriend for our Valentine's Day dinner, and I was definitely happily surprised by the quality of the food. We started off with some bread rolls and two different kinds of butter (on the house!), and those were pretty tasty. We also got a cocktail to share from the bar (for two!), and we were both content with the taste of the cocktail and the amount of alcohol in there - I felt just fine after drinking my half (or maybe 60%...). Not long after we got the bread, our real meal began! My appetizer (crab salad) was maybe the best appetizer I've ever eaten in my life (loads of crab!), and my girlfriend enjoyed her appetizer as well (beef carpaccio salad). Next, my first course was a lobster pasta that was quite decent, although the taste of the sauce was a little strange and probably not my favorite. My girlfriend really enjoyed her first course of bowtie pasta with duck ragout. My second course was filet mignon with crispy prosciutto and truffle mashed potatoes, and it was DELICIOUS! Potentially the best steak I've ever had in my life, so I was really happy about that. My girlfriend had sea bass and was slightly jealous of my entree, although she enjoyed hers as well. Finally, my dessert was a chocolate mousse tart, and it was good (but not outstanding) - my girlfriend's panna cotta was probably a little bit better. The service was very good - our water was filled up consistently, and the waitress helped us understand some of the more exotic ingredients on the menu. The menu was fixed because it was a special occasion, but there were still four different choices for each of the four courses, which was nice. Of course, eating here did cost a pretty penny ($85 per person without tip for the food alone). That being said, it was worth it - the food was absolutely delicious, and in particular, the crab salad and filet mignon were incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Decent food

Dined on January 31, 2016

Was placed at a very small table. Polite staff but mistakes were to our drink order and they brought out the wrong bottle of wine. I think this may be a breakdown in the communication. The food was decent for the price. The level of hostess experience was disappointing for a place of this price and ambiance. Raul was good. He made up for the others some. Overall, there are too many restaurants I would rather frequent at this price level.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Sunday brunch

Dined on January 24, 2016

Delicious food, excellent choice of dishes. Outstanding service, highly recommended,

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant for elegant dining

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Great upscale northern Italian dining; plush, elegant and unhurried. We dine their regularly and appreciate the attention we receive such as always having our regular table available for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

I don't know why I haven't gone before

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

This place is wonderful, it reminds me of Le Cirque. While I don't think that Ristorante Cavour is quite at the same level as Le Cirque, they certainly have the potential to make it there. The service is some of the best in Houston. The timing of the food is very good. The food preparation and temperature was just excellent. I'm surprised that it isn't in the top 100 for the Houston Chronicle but if they can do what they did while I was there for my first visit every day, I'm not sure how they will stay off that list for long.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the FIRST REAL / GOOD / HIGH-END ...

Dined on November 20, 2015

This is the FIRST REAL / GOOD / HIGH-END Italian restaurant that I have found in Houston... The food, setting, service was SUPERB -- & VERY high-end... [ Hotel Granduca also is VERY high-end & in a new development (Uptown Park)... ] I plan to bring my son (a FOODIE) there to try it sometime when he are here... [ Unfortunately for them, the night that we went Thu 11/19 @20:30-22:00, it was nearly EMPTY... Hope their business IMPROVES... ]

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Good but not completely Northern Italian

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

The branzino (Mediterranean sea bass) was as good as we eat in Europe. Cooked to perfection and wonderful. If they have this on the menu when you go, you need to try this.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Great Ambiance

Dined on October 18, 2015

The Cavour in the Granduca Hotel was beautiful and filled with an romantic and luxurious ambiance. the wine list was extensive with numerous good to great selections. The food was only good, not as great as the ambiance. The Italian selections were slight, the duck tasted more like ham, but the pasta Bolognese was delicious. Great spot for a special occasion where the staff makes you feel very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

Disappointing all around. I have been to ...

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

Disappointing all around. I have been to the restaurant several times and it just doesn't have its act together. Sometimes it's good, then the next time bad. For a restaurant so small, the service should be much better. I observed when there last that the waiters catered to the men clients much more than the women. Not a good practice. I had requested a table by the window and did not get it even though there were plenty of empty tables. I think I'll wait a while before returning....

food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

As usual, the food and service at lunch for me and my 3 guests was impeccable. The ambiance was great, the food outstanding and the service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely and elegant evening out for our Anniversary

Dined on September 13, 2015

Made reservations through Open Table, and that process worked wonderfully. Called ahead that we would be a little late and was told not to worry about it. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile as Mr. and Mrs.--our names were known from the reservation. We were only about 5 minutes late and were shown promptly to our table in an out-of the way, quiet, and romantic part of the restaurant, as I had requested through Open Table. Our hostesses were very polite and friendly-not stuffy. Our pre-dinner drinks (a Cosmo with Tito's vodka and a Tanqueray and Tonic) were made to order (hers not too sweet and mine with a hint of lime) and delicious. Attentiveness of the service was just exactly perfect. We ordered a nice bottle of Chilean red blend that was delicious, and both got the mixed green salads, which were ingeniously bounded by a "bowl" made of thin strips of cucumber. Delicious and beautiful. We each got a pasta dish (hers: purple potato gnocchi, mine: tagliatelle with peas, carrots, corn, and some other veggies). Pastas were excellent. We split a golden tile to get a little protein (excellent). We were full and opted for coffee and no desert, but were treated to a perfect little portion of chocolate mousse with raspberry sauce to mark our anniversary (I did not know this was coming). It was a perfect ending to a perfect meal and experience. The service was fantastic, as was the food. The ambiance is very elegant and traditional. The cost is expensive but not unreasonable for what you get. You are paying for food and service, not for name and attitude. I left my car claim check at the table, but not to worry--they already knew we were finished with our meal and had our car waiting for us as we walked out the door. I have paid a lot more, but I have never been treated as well. We will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This is such a classy place

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

If I ever win the lotto I'm fashioning my home after this place. It's lovely, (have a drink in the bar before dinner), the food and service are beyond your expectations. This is my favorite special occasion place in all of Houston and that's saying a lot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good.

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

The dining room is fairly quiet, although it's small and it just takes one table with a loud talker to make for an unpleasant experience. (The waiters were actually too loud the night we dined.) Service is quite good, though they ask how things are too frequently. Food is very good. We had stopped eating at Cavour, but the new chef seems better. Wine list is fine.

food5
ambience5
service5

A Beautiful experience from Start to Finish

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

My husband and I had such a romantic dinner here, the food was outstanding, the presentation was wonderful. The service was wonderful. Everything was 5 stars. I will definitely be going back again in future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant

Dined on September 4, 2015

We dined at Ristorante Cavour for a birthday dinner. Our expectations were definitely met. The restaurant is very beautiful - tapestry, fine linen tablecloths and napkins and Italian chandeliers. The staff was very welcoming and attentive without being overbearing. The food was excellent - definitely have a great chef. The soup of the day was clam chowder - the best we have ever had - lots of very tender clams. My husband said the duck was 1st rate and my osso bucco was fall apart tender. It came with saffron risotto - so delicious and creamy! A complimentary birthday chocolate mousse topped off the meal. No problem having a conversation. We look forward to going again. We would call this a most civilized way of dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful 4 year annivesary

Dined on September 3, 2015

The experience was top notch. Everyone (literally everyone) was so friendly and polite and made us feel very special. We originally stayed here on our wedding night. Coming back was just as magical. Every little bit of food they put on the table was delicious and elegantly presented. Will be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

True Dining Experience

vip
Dined on September 3, 2015

Everything from beginning to end was just perfect. The service was impeccable and really made dining an experience to remember. The ambiance added to the overall experience and so very quiet. We enjoyed the beef tenderloin and the grilled salmon which were cooked to perfection. Highly recommend for a special occasion that needs to be perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

High class experience

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

Was there for Sunday brunch. Expensive so wouldn't recommend this place on a regular basis, but definitely a very special occasion experience. $27.00 eggs Benedict were very good however. Service and ambience outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!! we felt were away on vacation ...

Dined on August 23, 2015

Fabulous!! we felt were away on vacation, the hotel is beautiful and charming. the food the service , the BEST we have found after being in Houston for 8 years!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Classy

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

Very lovely and very classy. Food is great and the service is spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a lunch with a friend. You ...

Dined on August 5, 2015

Perfect for a lunch with a friend. You can actually hear each other. Great atmosphere.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Warm greeting entering the hotel and res ...

vip
Dined on August 5, 2015

Warm greeting entering the hotel and restaurant. The staff was very attentive and the food was elegantly plated with the perfect portion sizes. Wish they added a dessert to the restaurant week menu but all in all, a fantastic menu and elegant ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegance at its Best

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

Food was excellence as usual. Started off with a crab and shrimp cocktail.....super fresh and a nice portion, enough for two. I chose the duck breast as my entree which was plump, juicy and cooked to perfection. Great sauce too. My husband had some amazing osso buco with a side of saffron risotto and fresh carrots. Dessert was so amazing......it was a special made with ice cream, fresh peaches and topped with a baked meringue. Fantastic overall. :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

love the ambience

Dined on July 25, 2015

this was great for a special occasion but overpriced for the quality of the food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant in Houston

Dined on July 24, 2015

Great food with an amazing service. Impressive wine list. The salmon was amazing, the wine pairing form the sommelier was outstanding (Domain Bunan was an amazing rose to pair with the fish). It is by far the best restaurant in Houston.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner

Dined on July 21, 2015

Great Service, Food was excellent. The servers were attentive and friendly. The sommelier has recommended a great wine to pair with our food. We had a great evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service and ambiance

Dined on July 19, 2015

We went for our anniversary. The ambiance was perfect with linen, silver and beautiful variegated roses on the tables. It got louder as the night progressed but the noise level was fine. The brandino was excellently prepared. The steak was undercooked and tough (we will avoid in the future). Desserts are excellent and the proper portion size. Service was attentive without being intrusive. We plan to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.