About Ristoranté Brissago

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Warm and inviting with an air of subtle sophistication, Ristoranté Brissago takes the dining experience to a new level with fresh ingredients flown in weekly from Italy. Enjoy regionally made pastas, cheeses, olive oils and desserts, as well as a wonderful selection of Italian wines. Authenticity is apparent in every aspect, our name, Ristoranté Brissago, is taken from a small town in northern Italy on Lake Maggiori. Truly authentic Italian cuisine served in a romantic setting, amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside. It's the culmination of 10 years of planning, says Executive Chef Michael Sawin . Our Bufala Mozzarella contains 100-percent Buffalo milk and arrives weekly from Campania, where they've been making the cheese for centuries. The menu invites you to sample, share and delight in something from every course. The choices - incredible. The experience - simply amazing...

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday November 18th 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.grandgeneva.com/

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available, as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

You and your guests can take in the spectacular view and elegant ambience while enjoying the freshest food and impeccable service that only Ristoranté Brissago has to offer. We'll take care of all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Ristoranté Brissago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

romantic (27)
special occasion (26)
scenic view (20)
See All
notable wine list (15)
fit for foodies (9)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal!

Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife's Birthday

Dined 6 days ago

We chose Brissago as my wife wanted Chilean Sea Bass for her birthday dinner. We were staying in town for the weekend and cabbed out to the Geneva Grand. We both remember the original Playboy and were pleasantly surprised by the new and updated version. We were quite pleased with the service and the excellent preparation of the food. Unfortunately, people in town were not familiar with the restaurant. W=Everyone wanted to refer us to the Chop House, which we found to be good. We would come again should we return to Lake Geneva.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Price!

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service we had at this restaurant was phenomenal. All staff was very attentive--my drink was never empty. The food was amazing and was definitely worth the price. Absolutely loved the Amaretto Cheesecake! We were seated so we could see the view from outside, which was absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

The overall experience was great. However for the restaurant being the most romantic restaurant in LG, I was a bit disappointed. Very bright. The restaurant was mostly unoccupied and my date and I were seated next to a very noisy family and children. Not what I would consider very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Olive Garden with a better wine list

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Stayed at the resort and had dinner there on Friday. First the good parts: the service (Rex) was excellent. he was very attentive without being obtrusive. The wine list was good too and fairly priced. We had a good Niebbolo at under 75. Now for the bad: the food was awful. The calamari was soggy (old oil). The vegetables on the pizza had little taste and the supposed goat cheese tasted like cream cheese. The antipasto at $16 was inedible. The olives tasted like out of a can. The peppers coated in a hard and semi-sweet who knows what. One slice of very thin prosciutto, two of deli counter salami and too slices of some other meat and a few cubes (!) of dry cheese. In sum, bad food but good wine and service. Skip dinner or lunch and have a glass of wine in the bar (don't order the antipasto) with some bread and good olive oil.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent food and service!

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Reviewer

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a difficult weekend for the restaurant--large convention groups. The food was average at best, and we had issues with one dish that indicated they were not well-prepared to handle the crowds. Prior meals were better, but the quality has been declining for a while.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our new go-to place for special occasions

Dined on March 2, 2016

Made a reservation for a special anniversary. Put that on the Open Table form and asked for a nice table. We had never been here before. Located on the Hotel Grand Geneva grounds, it is inside on the second floor. The only negative was that it had snowed that day and when we drove up a valet was nowhere to be found, despite the hotel desk clerk's insistence someone "should be there." We essentially were told "just go park" and left the keys. When we left, the same issue - no valet, she gave us our keys and told us to find our own car. Any other time I'd had the guy's job, but let it go. The restaurant had few patrons, perhaps due to the weather. Not a huge place - definitely you will need reservations, especially in high season. Decent ambiance, although I could have done without the the Dean Martin Musak. They had prepared a nice table overlooking the great room with rose petals on the tablecloth. The wine list was full and reasonable, all Italian. The cuisine was excellent as well. The chef's tasting experience was not available due to a pending menu change. Our server was beyond wonderful, explaining everything and had good recommendations. They brought out a special complimentary desert for us to share, very nice. Overall we will certainly come again, but it is a bit pricey for a routine night out, but excellent for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary 29

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a great time and wold absolutely go again. The host and servers saw to every detail. We were there for our anniversary and they made me look good in front of my wife. The only small thing was that the veal bond in was more fatty than I was used to but it still tasted great. I would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Have eaten here many times before but th ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Have eaten here many times before but the menu and quality have deteriorated significantly. My east coast red snapper took 45 minutes from ordering and arrived over cooked, dry, and tasteless. On a bed of pea purée with mint made a very strange taste. What's going on in the kitchen I have no idea. Pass on this one it's not worth the cost

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Was surprised how many families were there.

Dined on February 13, 2016

For what I thought would be a romantic restaurant on Valentine's Day weekend, I was surprised that every other table was families. Noise level was not what I expected at all. Kind of a mood killer....

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress, Katie (red head) was amazing. She was extremely attentive and ensured that our experience was the best it could be. This type of service is not achieved in today's restaurants as often as it should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food and fabulous service

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was good and Kate was a fabulous waitress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely Dining spot at the Grand Geneva

Dined on January 30, 2016

We come to the Grand Geneva on an annual basis and try to have dinner at Ristorante Brissago. We have never been disappointed in the service or the meal. This particular night, the server was outstanding and knew all of the dishes well and make some excellent suggestions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice scallop appetizer followed by ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Very nice scallop appetizer followed by a light Chilean sea bass I would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, chill environment.

Dined on January 27, 2016

Has very good food, and is very romantic. The food is worth the price however, and the mood is very chill. The only draw back is the menu could be deeper. With limited entrees to pick from there is not one special that covers all of the depth of great Italian cuisine. As did here that they are going to be doing some tweaking to the menu. Overall amazing food, and the amaretto cheesecake was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice dinner

Dined on January 24, 2016

Nice dinner, good wine list. Was staying at the resort and enjoyed dinner here. Unfortunately, they seemed pretty busy/understaffed as my water glass stayed empty most of dinner and wasn't refilled until after we finished our dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Kids and Fine Dining

Dined on January 23, 2016

I was at Brissago with my wife and we were seated next to two tables of families with young children and we noticed several other tables of families with young (under 12) kids and it was great to see. All too often our travels find us at higher end restaurants that appear to discourage small children. While that is their option, it was very refreshing to see that not only were the kids welcome here, but it seemed they were encouraged. We commented several times how well behaved the kids were. Great job Brissago!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice cozy find on a snowy evening

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Service by Luis was outstanding. He was knowledgeable, attentive, helpful, and made great suggestions. Had a great sense of humor as well. My bride has the ravioli which was very well prepared and flavorful. I had the cioppino which was less so. Lots of heat which seemed to substitute for drawing flavor out of the tomato broth. Some of the shrimp and scallops were overcooked. Overall a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Italian restaurant, great food ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent Italian restaurant, great food, good service, fine Italian wine only listing. a little pricey for Italian food, but was an excellent experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

watch the details

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was wonderful. House salad with Gorgonzola and walnuts delicious. we had 2 different fish including the branzino and the special seabass. both terrific. our waitress was experienced and delightful. a few details however need work: on arrival there was nowhere for coats nor was it offered to take them until we lugged them to our table and then asked. it would be more courteous to do that at the hostess desk. table was set wrong. salad forks go to the outside? who is training these people? I was served my wife's plate by a server, not our waitress who handed it to me like a football from across the table? (not from the left). my wife was still eating with knife and fork to each side at 45 degrees, the universal signal that she was NOT finished. the new assistant came to take it away with an "are you finished?". who is training these people? coffee was cold and no refills offered. in a nice restaurant...it's the little things that matter to create lasting value and impressions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kids at Brissago

Dined on January 1, 2016

Brissago has a great kids tasting experience with pizza, fruit and dessert. My son (7) said it was the best pizza he's ever had! Brissago opens at 5:30 and this is a good time to take kids, after that, it I think it becomes rude to the adults having romantic dinners. We had the adult tasting experience for two and it was marvelous. Perfect amount of food for two, we didn't want leftovers. Service was excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on December 27, 2015

Delightful experience, excellent food, service was great. A hidden gem!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Not worth the price

Dined on December 13, 2015

The lump crab capellini pasta was tasteless and the presentation of the ceasar salad was quite poor. Also, it was supposed to be prepared table side but it wasn't for us. However, the Oso Bucco was good and our server was excellent.

food5
ambience3
service1

Disapointed

Dined on December 6, 2015

I andwered that review last week. I guess that shows the comcern of the customer. I am on the fence on weather I would return.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very Tasty

Dined on November 28, 2015

Service was very good and taste was also very good. I would like to recommend this restaurant for many people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic surprise

Dined on November 27, 2015

When I booked I mentioned it was an anniversary. When we arrived they had the table set off to the side and decked out in rose petals. Very romantic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service4

Food was subpar, especially for the pric ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

Food was subpar, especially for the price. Staff was great but depending on what's going on at the Geneva Grand it may not be suitable for an intimate night out

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

Dined on November 11, 2015

Perfect food and service. I think there were more people eating at the restaurant than there were staying at the resort. I would also make a special trip for this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful expierience

Dined on November 9, 2015

We had dinner. It was a great expierience. The food was so fresh and tasty. The wine was amazing. The service was very tentative. It was a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1

My group was very disappointed with Rist ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

My group was very disappointed with Ristorante' Brissago! Rude waitress spilled olive oil all over the table with no apology. Same waitress refilled our water glasses and was rude again. Soup was lukewarm so we asked for it to be heated up. Service was SLOW and took forever!

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for our anniversary!

Dined on October 25, 2015

Year after year we love coming to brissago. Always great service, delicious food, and a romantic atmosphere. The sea bass is a MUST. My husband had the shrimp scampi and it was delicious with huge shrimp.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

The food was wonderful but the service w ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

The food was wonderful but the service was lacking. I think it was mainly our server. He seemed overall disinterested in us and very slow. We forgot we had ordered another glass of wine until it showed up and we were about to leave. Other people who brought out our food or filled our waters were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent resturant. Food, service, wine, desert

Dined on October 17, 2015

Rose petals on our table was awesome. It was our 22nd wedding anniversary and my wife was just delighted. Thank you for the extra touch. Meant a lot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Dining Experience

Dined on October 12, 2015

Fabulous food and presentation, great romantic atmosphere, the entire staff from the hostess to our server Katie were very friendly and attentive. Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Memorable Experience

Dined on October 5, 2015

This restaurant surpassed our expectations. It turned out to be a memorable experience for my wife and I and two of our adult children. We were at the Grand Geneva for my son's golf tournament and wanted to take him out to dinner to celebrate his accomplishments and Brissago turned out to be the perfect place. The food was great but my veal shank and saffron risotto was definitely the biggest hit of the meal. Everyone tried it and they all raved about how good the risotto was. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT PAST AND SHRIMP ALSO PAST AND ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

EXCELLENT PAST AND SHRIMP ALSO PAST AND SAUSAGE, BREAD, OIL AND CHEESE VERY GOOD ESPECIALLY ONE OF THE BREADSL SERVICE WAS GREAT EVEN WITH THE PARKING ATTENDANT STEVE AND THEN OUR SERVER ....PUMPKIN SOUP I TOOK HOME WAS NOT QUITE ENCOUGH PUMPKIN FLAVOR.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Corey

Dined on September 26, 2015

I had the pasta dish with lobster tails and it was the best pasta dish I've ever had. And I live in Chicago. Kami, our server, was perfect. Very friendly, knowledgable, and attended our table perfectly. The wild cherry old fashioned was also the best old fashioned I've ever tasted. Very very satisfied. I don't make it to Lake Geneva very often, but when I do, I will absolutely be coming back to Ristorante Brisaggo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

City feel in the country!

Dined on September 21, 2015

We stayed overnight from Chicago and just loved the resort and this restaurant in particular. Katie did an amazing job and made excellent suggestions. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was amazing

Dined on September 20, 2015

Food was exceptional. Presentation was top class. Everyone at table had different entrees, from tenderloin, veal and the seafood pastas. The handmade pasta was yummy. The seasoning on the lobster pasta needed a bit more punch. Overall, wonderful food and atmosphere. The only complaint would be that the waiter was not very attentive after the entrees were served. We had to wait to see where he was inorder to ask for our bill.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.