About Ristoranté Brissago

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Warm and inviting with an air of subtle sophistication, Ristoranté Brissago takes the dining experience to a new level with fresh ingredients flown in weekly from Italy. Enjoy regionally made pastas, cheeses, olive oils and desserts, as well as a wonderful selection of Italian wines. Authenticity is apparent in every aspect, our name, Ristoranté Brissago, is taken from a small town in northern Italy on Lake Maggiori. Truly authentic Italian cuisine served in a romantic setting, amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside. It's the culmination of 10 years of planning, says Executive Chef Michael Sawin . Our Bufala Mozzarella contains 100-percent Buffalo milk and arrives weekly from Campania, where they've been making the cheese for centuries. The menu invites you to sample, share and delight in something from every course. The choices - incredible. The experience - simply amazing...

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday November 18th 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.grandgeneva.com/

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available, as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

  • Italian bruschetta (assorted appetizers) - bufala di mozzarella, eggplant caponata, crostini toast
  • Italian Antipasti platter - assorted appetizers: salami, prosciutto, meats, vegetables, artichokes, peppers, tomatoes, fruits, olives, cheese
  • Italian desserts - tiramisu, cheesecake, chocolate apricot cake, biscotti, cannoli
  • Italian branzino, sea bass fish, brandade poatoes, lobster essence
  • Diver scallops with bacon bits
  • Insalata casalinga - Italian food salad with candied walnuts, bleu chese, greens and lemon vinaigrette
  • Bread service spreads - butter, tomatoes tapenade and bleu cheese
  • Penne Garganelli alla amatriciana - Italian egg noodles pasta, tomatoes, spicy sausage, pecorino
Italian bruschetta (assorted appetizers) - bufala di mozzarella, eggplant caponata, crostini toast
Italian Antipasti platter - assorted appetizers: salami, prosciutto, meats, vegetables, artichokes, peppers, tomatoes, fruits, olives, cheese
Italian desserts - tiramisu, cheesecake, chocolate apricot cake, biscotti, cannoli
Italian branzino, sea bass fish, brandade poatoes, lobster essence
Diver scallops with bacon bits
Insalata casalinga - Italian food salad with candied walnuts, bleu chese, greens and lemon vinaigrette
Bread service spreads - butter, tomatoes tapenade and bleu cheese
Penne Garganelli alla amatriciana - Italian egg noodles pasta, tomatoes, spicy sausage, pecorino

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

You and your guests can take in the spectacular view and elegant ambience while enjoying the freshest food and impeccable service that only Ristoranté Brissago has to offer. We'll take care of all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Ristoranté Brissago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (38)
scenic view (33)
romantic (32)
See All
notable wine list (20)
fit for foodies (20)
good for groups (11)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This is an acceptable meal in a resort s ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is an acceptable meal in a resort setting. The food was well prepared although not particularly creative. Service was outstanding and the meal was timed appropriately. Unlike previous reviews, portion size seems reasonable given price and prices also seem reasonable given the resort location. All in all, an adequate dining experience although nothing special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary at Br ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary at Brissago and once again they exceeded our expectations. We were treated with a "Happy Anniversary" and taken to a wonderful window table which had rose petals in an arrangement. The food was exceptional as was the service. We had an enjoyable meal complete with complementary desert. We will definitely return when we're in Lake Geneva again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They went out of their way to make my da ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

They went out of their way to make my daughter feel special on her birthday!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Jesse, knew the menu and win ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter, Jesse, knew the menu and wine list quite well. He was very attentive to detail and the meal was outstanding. My wife had the Lamb Porterhouse (Agnello Porterhouse) and I had the Osso Buco alla Milanaise. We went to this location several years ago and they continue to do an excellent job!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and great food. They ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and great food. They went our of their way to make our wedding anniversary special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal options were very attractive. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The meal options were very attractive. We selected four course dinner specials that were creatively prepared and not excessive amounts of food. The server cautioned us that the meals would not be large portion, which we appreciated. The wine selection was a little disappointing. We chose an Italian red wine (valpolicello), that was a varietal and year that we had previously. The wine did not meet our expectations. Overall, the experience was very nice, with a beautiful view of the lake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Rex was great and knowledgeable, it was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Rex was great and knowledgeable, it was our second anniversary and couldn't have been happier with the food and service. It was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Kate, our server, was knowledgable, frie ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Kate, our server, was knowledgable, friendly, and took time to interact with us. The food was excellent and the tree top views breathtaking. We will definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Italian Dinner Adventure in Dining

Dined on June 6, 2016

I dined here during Lake Geneva's restaurant week and chose the special three course menu. Great salad with nice walnut and goat cheese topping. Entree was the Penne Garganelli alla Amatriciana whic was excellent. The sausage with fennel and spicy tomato sauce was filled with flavor. I ordered the creme Brulee for dessert but received something else. They packed my creme brulee to go and it was only average.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and ambiance, slow service

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was good but very slow.over 2 hours for our table of 5,2 being children. Food was great though!we've eaten here before many times and food is always consistently good.just this time service we slow...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

restaurant week disappointment

Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined Sunday evening for our daughter's birthday; it happened to be Restaurant Week so we decided to try the special menu. Although the food was tasty and the presentation appealing, the size of the servings was extremely disappointing. The beef tip entree would have been small for an appetizer; three bite size pieces of beef and a very small portion of risotto. I cut the beef pieces in half to have 6 bites of meat. We are unlikely to return to Brissago.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Brissago

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our dinner here was amazing, especially with the restaurant week deal. Our server was very knowledgable and friendly, and made sure we had a great meal. Often, these restaurant week deals elicit less than stellar service from wait staff, but our server was wonderful and kept talking up how great the scallops and salmon were. I don't remember her name, but she was really really good at what she did. The food was delicious. I had the scallops (perfectly cooked) with chickpea purée, salmon, and creme brûlée. All three did not disappoint. Every time we come to the grand Geneva we always stop here. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Brissago

Dined on May 31, 2016

Our dinner at Ristorante Brissago was a lovely experience. The dinner, staff, and atmosphere were wonderful. This definitely will be a return visit! Our server, Luis, was very helpful and knowledgeable to our questions and choices.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, Nice atmosphere

Dined on May 29, 2016

we were here for a birthday dinner, the food was good, the service was awesome, and the atmosphere was very nice. would definitely recommend, and will be back in the future

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal!

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a wonderful meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife's Birthday

Dined on May 26, 2016

We chose Brissago as my wife wanted Chilean Sea Bass for her birthday dinner. We were staying in town for the weekend and cabbed out to the Geneva Grand. We both remember the original Playboy and were pleasantly surprised by the new and updated version. We were quite pleased with the service and the excellent preparation of the food. Unfortunately, people in town were not familiar with the restaurant. W=Everyone wanted to refer us to the Chop House, which we found to be good. We would come again should we return to Lake Geneva.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Price!

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service we had at this restaurant was phenomenal. All staff was very attentive--my drink was never empty. The food was amazing and was definitely worth the price. Absolutely loved the Amaretto Cheesecake! We were seated so we could see the view from outside, which was absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

The overall experience was great. However for the restaurant being the most romantic restaurant in LG, I was a bit disappointed. Very bright. The restaurant was mostly unoccupied and my date and I were seated next to a very noisy family and children. Not what I would consider very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Olive Garden with a better wine list

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Stayed at the resort and had dinner there on Friday. First the good parts: the service (Rex) was excellent. he was very attentive without being obtrusive. The wine list was good too and fairly priced. We had a good Niebbolo at under 75. Now for the bad: the food was awful. The calamari was soggy (old oil). The vegetables on the pizza had little taste and the supposed goat cheese tasted like cream cheese. The antipasto at $16 was inedible. The olives tasted like out of a can. The peppers coated in a hard and semi-sweet who knows what. One slice of very thin prosciutto, two of deli counter salami and too slices of some other meat and a few cubes (!) of dry cheese. In sum, bad food but good wine and service. Skip dinner or lunch and have a glass of wine in the bar (don't order the antipasto) with some bread and good olive oil.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent food and service!

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Reviewer

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a difficult weekend for the restaurant--large convention groups. The food was average at best, and we had issues with one dish that indicated they were not well-prepared to handle the crowds. Prior meals were better, but the quality has been declining for a while.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our new go-to place for special occasions

Dined on March 2, 2016

Made a reservation for a special anniversary. Put that on the Open Table form and asked for a nice table. We had never been here before. Located on the Hotel Grand Geneva grounds, it is inside on the second floor. The only negative was that it had snowed that day and when we drove up a valet was nowhere to be found, despite the hotel desk clerk's insistence someone "should be there." We essentially were told "just go park" and left the keys. When we left, the same issue - no valet, she gave us our keys and told us to find our own car. Any other time I'd had the guy's job, but let it go. The restaurant had few patrons, perhaps due to the weather. Not a huge place - definitely you will need reservations, especially in high season. Decent ambiance, although I could have done without the the Dean Martin Musak. They had prepared a nice table overlooking the great room with rose petals on the tablecloth. The wine list was full and reasonable, all Italian. The cuisine was excellent as well. The chef's tasting experience was not available due to a pending menu change. Our server was beyond wonderful, explaining everything and had good recommendations. They brought out a special complimentary desert for us to share, very nice. Overall we will certainly come again, but it is a bit pricey for a routine night out, but excellent for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary 29

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a great time and wold absolutely go again. The host and servers saw to every detail. We were there for our anniversary and they made me look good in front of my wife. The only small thing was that the veal bond in was more fatty than I was used to but it still tasted great. I would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2

Have eaten here many times before but th ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Have eaten here many times before but the menu and quality have deteriorated significantly. My east coast red snapper took 45 minutes from ordering and arrived over cooked, dry, and tasteless. On a bed of pea purée with mint made a very strange taste. What's going on in the kitchen I have no idea. Pass on this one it's not worth the cost

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Was surprised how many families were there.

Dined on February 13, 2016

For what I thought would be a romantic restaurant on Valentine's Day weekend, I was surprised that every other table was families. Noise level was not what I expected at all. Kind of a mood killer....

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress, Katie (red head) was amazing. She was extremely attentive and ensured that our experience was the best it could be. This type of service is not achieved in today's restaurants as often as it should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food and fabulous service

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was good and Kate was a fabulous waitress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely Dining spot at the Grand Geneva

Dined on January 30, 2016

We come to the Grand Geneva on an annual basis and try to have dinner at Ristorante Brissago. We have never been disappointed in the service or the meal. This particular night, the server was outstanding and knew all of the dishes well and make some excellent suggestions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice scallop appetizer followed by ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Very nice scallop appetizer followed by a light Chilean sea bass I would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, chill environment.

Dined on January 27, 2016

Has very good food, and is very romantic. The food is worth the price however, and the mood is very chill. The only draw back is the menu could be deeper. With limited entrees to pick from there is not one special that covers all of the depth of great Italian cuisine. As did here that they are going to be doing some tweaking to the menu. Overall amazing food, and the amaretto cheesecake was amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice dinner

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Nice dinner, good wine list. Was staying at the resort and enjoyed dinner here. Unfortunately, they seemed pretty busy/understaffed as my water glass stayed empty most of dinner and wasn't refilled until after we finished our dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Kids and Fine Dining

Dined on January 23, 2016

I was at Brissago with my wife and we were seated next to two tables of families with young children and we noticed several other tables of families with young (under 12) kids and it was great to see. All too often our travels find us at higher end restaurants that appear to discourage small children. While that is their option, it was very refreshing to see that not only were the kids welcome here, but it seemed they were encouraged. We commented several times how well behaved the kids were. Great job Brissago!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice cozy find on a snowy evening

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Service by Luis was outstanding. He was knowledgeable, attentive, helpful, and made great suggestions. Had a great sense of humor as well. My bride has the ravioli which was very well prepared and flavorful. I had the cioppino which was less so. Lots of heat which seemed to substitute for drawing flavor out of the tomato broth. Some of the shrimp and scallops were overcooked. Overall a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Italian restaurant, great food ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent Italian restaurant, great food, good service, fine Italian wine only listing. a little pricey for Italian food, but was an excellent experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

watch the details

Dined on January 3, 2016

Food was wonderful. House salad with Gorgonzola and walnuts delicious. we had 2 different fish including the branzino and the special seabass. both terrific. our waitress was experienced and delightful. a few details however need work: on arrival there was nowhere for coats nor was it offered to take them until we lugged them to our table and then asked. it would be more courteous to do that at the hostess desk. table was set wrong. salad forks go to the outside? who is training these people? I was served my wife's plate by a server, not our waitress who handed it to me like a football from across the table? (not from the left). my wife was still eating with knife and fork to each side at 45 degrees, the universal signal that she was NOT finished. the new assistant came to take it away with an "are you finished?". who is training these people? coffee was cold and no refills offered. in a nice restaurant...it's the little things that matter to create lasting value and impressions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kids at Brissago

Dined on January 1, 2016

Brissago has a great kids tasting experience with pizza, fruit and dessert. My son (7) said it was the best pizza he's ever had! Brissago opens at 5:30 and this is a good time to take kids, after that, it I think it becomes rude to the adults having romantic dinners. We had the adult tasting experience for two and it was marvelous. Perfect amount of food for two, we didn't want leftovers. Service was excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on December 27, 2015

Delightful experience, excellent food, service was great. A hidden gem!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Not worth the price

Dined on December 13, 2015

The lump crab capellini pasta was tasteless and the presentation of the ceasar salad was quite poor. Also, it was supposed to be prepared table side but it wasn't for us. However, the Oso Bucco was good and our server was excellent.

food5
ambience3
service1

Disapointed

Dined on December 6, 2015

I andwered that review last week. I guess that shows the comcern of the customer. I am on the fence on weather I would return.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very Tasty

Dined on November 28, 2015

Service was very good and taste was also very good. I would like to recommend this restaurant for many people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.