About Ristoranté Brissago

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Warm and inviting with an air of subtle sophistication, Ristoranté Brissago takes the dining experience to a new level with fresh ingredients flown in weekly from Italy. Enjoy regionally made pastas, cheeses, olive oils and desserts, as well as a wonderful selection of Italian wines. Authenticity is apparent in every aspect, our name, Ristoranté Brissago, is taken from a small town in northern Italy on Lake Maggiori. Truly authentic Italian cuisine served in a romantic setting, amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside. It's the culmination of 10 years of planning, says Executive Chef Michael Sawin . Our Bufala Mozzarella contains 100-percent Buffalo milk and arrives weekly from Campania, where they've been making the cheese for centuries. The menu invites you to sample, share and delight in something from every course. The choices - incredible. The experience - simply amazing...

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday November 18th 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.grandgeneva.com/

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available, as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

  • Italian bruschetta (assorted appetizers) - bufala di mozzarella, eggplant caponata, crostini toast
  • Italian Antipasti platter - assorted appetizers: salami, prosciutto, meats, vegetables, artichokes, peppers, tomatoes, fruits, olives, cheese
  • Italian desserts - tiramisu, cheesecake, chocolate apricot cake, biscotti, cannoli
  • Italian branzino, sea bass fish, brandade poatoes, lobster essence
  • Diver scallops with bacon bits
  • Insalata casalinga - Italian food salad with candied walnuts, bleu chese, greens and lemon vinaigrette
  • Bread service spreads - butter, tomatoes tapenade and bleu cheese
  • Penne Garganelli alla amatriciana - Italian egg noodles pasta, tomatoes, spicy sausage, pecorino
Italian bruschetta (assorted appetizers) - bufala di mozzarella, eggplant caponata, crostini toast
Italian Antipasti platter - assorted appetizers: salami, prosciutto, meats, vegetables, artichokes, peppers, tomatoes, fruits, olives, cheese
Italian desserts - tiramisu, cheesecake, chocolate apricot cake, biscotti, cannoli
Italian branzino, sea bass fish, brandade poatoes, lobster essence
Diver scallops with bacon bits
Insalata casalinga - Italian food salad with candied walnuts, bleu chese, greens and lemon vinaigrette
Bread service spreads - butter, tomatoes tapenade and bleu cheese
Penne Garganelli alla amatriciana - Italian egg noodles pasta, tomatoes, spicy sausage, pecorino

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

You and your guests can take in the spectacular view and elegant ambience while enjoying the freshest food and impeccable service that only Ristoranté Brissago has to offer. We'll take care of all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Ristoranté Brissago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
7 More
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (39)
Scenic View (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Very good le ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. Very good lemon basil salad and various lamb dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait a half hour after our res ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had to wait a half hour after our reservation time to be seated. The meat dishes we had were not as tender as they used to be, Lamb and Osso Buco. We did however get a complimentary snifter of Amaretto di Saronna after dinner which was a nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went here for date night and it was v ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for date night and it was very romantic. The food tasted authentic and was presented beautifully! For extra romance add some rose pedals on your table when you make your reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was fabulous and the service was ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was fabulous and the service was great! We've been there before and have had a wonderful dinner every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had taken my wife for our 16th wedding ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had taken my wife for our 16th wedding anniversary was told it was one of the top romantic in Wisconsin. We arrived at approximately 5:50 our reservations were for 6:00 . The staff was great no problems at all with them. I expected a romantic evening away from our children and we ended up listening to crying children in the restaurant it was very noisy the food was average at best , the time it took to receive our food we were there for two hours and we left right after eating . Very expensive for what it was. Never will I go back nor recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

My wife and I celebrated our 32nd weddin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary and the food, service, and ambiance were all superb. I highly recommend!! My wife has a number of dietary restrictions and we were so impressed with how the team ensured that all my wife's requirements were met. We had an amazing celebration and will be back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderfull dinner for our ann ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was a wonderfull dinner for our anniversary. They made it special when they found out we had been there before and it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place---been there 4 times and nev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place---been there 4 times and never disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening overall. Perfect table wit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great evening overall. Perfect table with perfect service. My pasta was a little child

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to this restaurant Sunday night l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I went to this restaurant Sunday night labor day weekend expecting a romantic enjoyable dinner. The dinning room was 50% loud young children.

I am not used to spending $100 per person in this kid of environment.

I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

We always love dining at brissago. You c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We always love dining at brissago. You can count on high quality service and food, great ambience, and a romantic settjng

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love this restaurant for speci ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We always love this restaurant for special occasions and were not disappointed when we brought my parents here for their 35th wedding anniversary. They left a rose on the table for my mom and made a point to celebrate them on their anniversary. The food was delicious as usual and everyone had a great night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ristorante Brissago was excellent. We w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Ristorante Brissago was excellent. We were greeted upon entry and asked if this was a special occasion and when we told them it was our anniversary, they presented us with a red rose at our table. The menu was enticing and there was a special 4 course menu that both of us wished to try but we did not like the included dessert. The Chef was accommodating and changed this to something more palatable and it even came with a small chocolate that said happy anniversary. The food was presented nicely and all of the courses were more than ample and tasted superb. The wine menu was nice and the bottle we ordered was very good and complemented to food well. This was the best part of our anniversary weekend. We enjoyed it tremendously.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leave your kids at home - no offense but ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Leave your kids at home - no offense but Brissago is not a restaurant for families. The menu, prices and level of service all are geared to a elegant dining experience that should last several hours. Why would parents bring their infants and toddlers to this restaurant perplexes me. Couples were celebrating special occasions and the tables were prepared with fresh rose petals, etc. It is really not appropriate to have a child crying or running around at this type of restaurant. There is a lovely family-friendly restaurant within the Grand Geneva that welcomes kids on the first level of the hotel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for our anniversary. The service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went for our anniversary. The service was outstanding service and the food perfect. The server knew had great suggestions on food and drink. He knew his wine very well. One of the better places in Lake Geneva.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Branzino very good, and mussels we had b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Branzino very good, and mussels we had before delicious. Excellent waitress, Lindasue, I am sure her new trainee has a lot to learn from her, very attentive to details, great presentation of menu to the table next to us, we were there few nights before and she did not push details unless asked.

Great place for celebration, they decorate the table and make you feel really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brissago, has been a staple of me and my ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Brissago, has been a staple of me and my wife's love for the past 4 years. We absolutely enjoy spending time here for birthdays, anniversaries and just any alone time when possible. The service here is outstanding and they definitely understand the meaning of Customer Service. Thank you for always making love & food primary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Very professional ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent experience. Very professional curious service. Food was outstanding. Upscale Italian with attention to details.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a terrific place for my husband ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was a terrific place for my husband and me to have our anniversary dinner. The server was helpful and answered our questions about the menu. The kitchen got backed up a bit, but our server acknowledged it and made sure we were informed about the progress of our meal. The place is nicely decorated with a beautiful view. I just wish the noise from the other parts of the resort weren't so noticeable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter Rex was outstanding and expla ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter Rex was outstanding and explained every dish to perfection. Presentation was beautiful and the food was excellent. The whole experience was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special restaurant. Excellent foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

A very special restaurant. Excellent food excellent service, wonderful one list of Italian wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fine, not great. Service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was fine, not great. Service was friendly but very inattentive. Price was a little high, but not bad. I would return only because it is the best in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The kitchen at Brissago is outstanding a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The kitchen at Brissago is outstanding at any measurement. They can do something with taste that you don't come across everyday. This is a must taste for anyone who like good food. Unfortunately on the day we where there the link between the front and the kitchen was not as it should be. When you order the Chef's menu to taste what he can do, you expect the front can manage to get the courses to the table with a steady pace and not that the following course is there before we finished the previous course.

But make no mistake we will be back at the next opportunity!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our waiter, Brent and the restaurant wen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our waiter, Brent and the restaurant went out of their way to make our anniversary special. The food was amazing and perfectly portioned. I also loved the moscato sangria...a great drink. We would definitely return for a special occasion and recommend to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

in the end, the food was good, but the s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

in the end, the food was good, but the service was terrible, this seemed like it was mainly a kitchen issue, altho the waitress could have been more attentive as well

we went at 7:30 on saturday and with our 2 year old daughter, we only ordered a main course since we didnt want to disrupt other customers if it got too late for our daughter, we ordered 1 glass of wine and that came quickly, then we didnt see the waitress for another 15min, we put our order in and asked that our daughter's come as soon as it was ready (it was a simple pasta with marinara sauce) and we didnt get anything until 8:30 or later, an hour+ into our reservation, this whole time our waitress was nowhere to be found and didn't ever tell us sorry or that the food was coming

the tenderloin was excellent, one of the best cooked pieces of meat ive had and the potatoes/sauce/mushrooms went really well with it, the pasta with lobster was just ok, it needed more sauce and more flavor/salt, the kids pasta was fine, the waitress did apologize when the food arrived, and she did comp a glass of red wine at that time, which came very quickly

at the end the waitress apologized again and asked that we come again and give them another chance, i personally have faith in this place as the tenderloin was great, and in general the menu sounded good and im interested in ordering other items, but the kitchen really needs to step up its game and the wait staff also needs to be more attentive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary and everything was perfect, from the red rose petals on the table to the delightful and delicious entrees (lamb porterhouse and guitar pasta with lobster tail) to the complimentary dessert. Our waitress let us take our time, gave us good suggestions, and was very friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Lake Geneva f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Lake Geneva for a romantic weekend. We read the great reviews of this restaurant and since we were staying in the Grand Geneva we thought it would be perfect. When we arrive the host/manager said he had the perfect table for us by the window and then sat someone else at that table and crammed us into a two top in the corner. The less than friendly waitress brings the menu and tells us about the menu options. Only mentions the most expensive item from each category. That cant be the best option.. just the best for a tip? I actually picked the truffle pasta which she said is strong in truffle flavor but it was handmade noodles. The noodles did not at all taste handmade and I didn't taste an ounce of truffle, just a lot of butter. My boyfriend got the Bolognese which tasted like basic spaghetti and not handmade noodles. The host/manager came and asked what I thought and I said I didn't like it. Our server didn't come back a single other time for water or ask if we want another drink. Only to bring the check and no pen. All in all a disappointing start to our weekend getaway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Outstanding service - Linda Sue Outstan ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service - Linda Sue

Outstanding food and options. One of the finest wine list. We had the Amarone Cesari- the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was first time visitor at Grand Lake. Ri ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Was first time visitor at Grand Lake. Ristorante Brissago was chosen for our wedding anniversary and diner with friends at our conference. The staff knew it was our anniversary and went all out. Rose petals on the tablet and my wife was presented with a rose, which surprised us all. Food was great and the waiters went out of their way to make it a memorable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The host, our waitress Katie, and the ot ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The host, our waitress Katie, and the other servers made our dining experience exceptional. All of the staff treated us well. The view was impressive. The food was unique, presented well and tasted great. Definitely a night to remember.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The unique ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. The unique bread and cheese and oil is a great start. Chef special is very good and service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Our reservation w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was very slow. Our reservation was at 5:30 we were the only table in the restaurant at that time. It still took a very long time at every step of the service. We waited over 20 minutes just to get the check. The drinks were watered down and the food was mediocre. I usually love there old fashions and think there are a little strong for my tastes. I recommended the Cesar salad theblast time I had one they prepared it at the table. Her salad was small and ordinary. It will be a long while before I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent from start to finish. Great a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent from start to finish. Great attention to detail, and our server was very knowledgeable and considerate. Portions were just right and the flavors were paired perfectly. We don't get a chance to go out like this much, but it was well worth it. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an acceptable meal in a resort s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is an acceptable meal in a resort setting. The food was well prepared although not particularly creative. Service was outstanding and the meal was timed appropriately. Unlike previous reviews, portion size seems reasonable given price and prices also seem reasonable given the resort location. All in all, an adequate dining experience although nothing special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary at Br ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary at Brissago and once again they exceeded our expectations. We were treated with a "Happy Anniversary" and taken to a wonderful window table which had rose petals in an arrangement. The food was exceptional as was the service. We had an enjoyable meal complete with complementary desert. We will definitely return when we're in Lake Geneva again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They went out of their way to make my da ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They went out of their way to make my daughter feel special on her birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter, Jesse, knew the menu and win ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter, Jesse, knew the menu and wine list quite well. He was very attentive to detail and the meal was outstanding. My wife had the Lamb Porterhouse (Agnello Porterhouse) and I had the Osso Buco alla Milanaise. We went to this location several years ago and they continue to do an excellent job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and great food. They ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and great food. They went our of their way to make our wedding anniversary special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal options were very attractive. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The meal options were very attractive. We selected four course dinner specials that were creatively prepared and not excessive amounts of food. The server cautioned us that the meals would not be large portion, which we appreciated.

The wine selection was a little disappointing. We chose an Italian red wine (valpolicello), that was a varietal and year that we had previously. The wine did not meet our expectations.

Overall, the experience was very nice, with a beautiful view of the lake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rex was great and knowledgeable, it was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Rex was great and knowledgeable, it was our second anniversary and couldn't have been happier with the food and service. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.