About Ristoranté Brissago

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Warm and inviting with an air of subtle sophistication, Ristoranté Brissago takes the dining experience to a new level with fresh ingredients flown in weekly from Italy. Enjoy regionally made pastas, cheeses, olive oils and desserts, as well as a wonderful selection of Italian wines. Authenticity is apparent in every aspect, our name, Ristoranté Brissago, is taken from a small town in northern Italy on Lake Maggiori. Truly authentic Italian cuisine served in a romantic setting, amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside. It's the culmination of 10 years of planning, says Executive Chef Michael Sawin . Our Bufala Mozzarella contains 100-percent Buffalo milk and arrives weekly from Campania, where they've been making the cheese for centuries. The menu invites you to sample, share and delight in something from every course. The choices - incredible. The experience - simply amazing...

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday November 18th 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.grandgeneva.com/

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available, as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

  • Italian bruschetta (assorted appetizers) - bufala di mozzarella, eggplant caponata, crostini toast
  • Italian Antipasti platter - assorted appetizers: salami, prosciutto, meats, vegetables, artichokes, peppers, tomatoes, fruits, olives, cheese
  • Italian desserts - tiramisu, cheesecake, chocolate apricot cake, biscotti, cannoli
  • Italian branzino, sea bass fish, brandade poatoes, lobster essence
  • Diver scallops with bacon bits
  • Insalata casalinga - Italian food salad with candied walnuts, bleu chese, greens and lemon vinaigrette
  • Bread service spreads - butter, tomatoes tapenade and bleu cheese
  • Penne Garganelli alla amatriciana - Italian egg noodles pasta, tomatoes, spicy sausage, pecorino
Italian bruschetta (assorted appetizers) - bufala di mozzarella, eggplant caponata, crostini toast
Italian Antipasti platter - assorted appetizers: salami, prosciutto, meats, vegetables, artichokes, peppers, tomatoes, fruits, olives, cheese
Italian desserts - tiramisu, cheesecake, chocolate apricot cake, biscotti, cannoli
Italian branzino, sea bass fish, brandade poatoes, lobster essence
Diver scallops with bacon bits
Insalata casalinga - Italian food salad with candied walnuts, bleu chese, greens and lemon vinaigrette
Bread service spreads - butter, tomatoes tapenade and bleu cheese
Penne Garganelli alla amatriciana - Italian egg noodles pasta, tomatoes, spicy sausage, pecorino

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

You and your guests can take in the spectacular view and elegant ambience while enjoying the freshest food and impeccable service that only Ristoranté Brissago has to offer. We'll take care of all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Ristoranté Brissago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
4 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Lake Geneva ›

special occasion (42)
scenic view (36)
romantic (32)
See All
fit for foodies (21)
notable wine list (17)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fine, not great. Service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fine, not great. Service was friendly but very inattentive. Price was a little high, but not bad. I would return only because it is the best in the area.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The kitchen at Brissago is outstanding a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

The kitchen at Brissago is outstanding at any measurement. They can do something with taste that you don't come across everyday. This is a must taste for anyone who like good food. Unfortunately on the day we where there the link between the front and the kitchen was not as it should be. When you order the Chef's menu to taste what he can do, you expect the front can manage to get the courses to the table with a steady pace and not that the following course is there before we finished the previous course.

But make no mistake we will be back at the next opportunity!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Our waiter, Brent and the restaurant wen ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter, Brent and the restaurant went out of their way to make our anniversary special. The food was amazing and perfectly portioned. I also loved the moscato sangria...a great drink. We would definitely return for a special occasion and recommend to friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

in the end, the food was good, but the s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

in the end, the food was good, but the service was terrible, this seemed like it was mainly a kitchen issue, altho the waitress could have been more attentive as well

we went at 7:30 on saturday and with our 2 year old daughter, we only ordered a main course since we didnt want to disrupt other customers if it got too late for our daughter, we ordered 1 glass of wine and that came quickly, then we didnt see the waitress for another 15min, we put our order in and asked that our daughter's come as soon as it was ready (it was a simple pasta with marinara sauce) and we didnt get anything until 8:30 or later, an hour+ into our reservation, this whole time our waitress was nowhere to be found and didn't ever tell us sorry or that the food was coming

the tenderloin was excellent, one of the best cooked pieces of meat ive had and the potatoes/sauce/mushrooms went really well with it, the pasta with lobster was just ok, it needed more sauce and more flavor/salt, the kids pasta was fine, the waitress did apologize when the food arrived, and she did comp a glass of red wine at that time, which came very quickly

at the end the waitress apologized again and asked that we come again and give them another chance, i personally have faith in this place as the tenderloin was great, and in general the menu sounded good and im interested in ordering other items, but the kitchen really needs to step up its game and the wait staff also needs to be more attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated our 37th wedding anniversary and everything was perfect, from the red rose petals on the table to the delightful and delicious entrees (lamb porterhouse and guitar pasta with lobster tail) to the complimentary dessert. Our waitress let us take our time, gave us good suggestions, and was very friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Lake Geneva f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Lake Geneva for a romantic weekend. We read the great reviews of this restaurant and since we were staying in the Grand Geneva we thought it would be perfect. When we arrive the host/manager said he had the perfect table for us by the window and then sat someone else at that table and crammed us into a two top in the corner. The less than friendly waitress brings the menu and tells us about the menu options. Only mentions the most expensive item from each category. That cant be the best option.. just the best for a tip? I actually picked the truffle pasta which she said is strong in truffle flavor but it was handmade noodles. The noodles did not at all taste handmade and I didn't taste an ounce of truffle, just a lot of butter. My boyfriend got the Bolognese which tasted like basic spaghetti and not handmade noodles. The host/manager came and asked what I thought and I said I didn't like it. Our server didn't come back a single other time for water or ask if we want another drink. Only to bring the check and no pen. All in all a disappointing start to our weekend getaway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Outstanding service - Linda Sue Outstan ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding service - Linda Sue

Outstanding food and options. One of the finest wine list. We had the Amarone Cesari- the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was first time visitor at Grand Lake. Ri ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Was first time visitor at Grand Lake. Ristorante Brissago was chosen for our wedding anniversary and diner with friends at our conference. The staff knew it was our anniversary and went all out. Rose petals on the tablet and my wife was presented with a rose, which surprised us all. Food was great and the waiters went out of their way to make it a memorable evening.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The host, our waitress Katie, and the ot ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The host, our waitress Katie, and the other servers made our dining experience exceptional. All of the staff treated us well. The view was impressive. The food was unique, presented well and tasted great. Definitely a night to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The unique ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. The unique bread and cheese and oil is a great start. Chef special is very good and service is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Our reservation w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was very slow. Our reservation was at 5:30 we were the only table in the restaurant at that time. It still took a very long time at every step of the service. We waited over 20 minutes just to get the check. The drinks were watered down and the food was mediocre. I usually love there old fashions and think there are a little strong for my tastes. I recommended the Cesar salad theblast time I had one they prepared it at the table. Her salad was small and ordinary. It will be a long while before I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Excellent from start to finish. Great a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent from start to finish. Great attention to detail, and our server was very knowledgeable and considerate. Portions were just right and the flavors were paired perfectly. We don't get a chance to go out like this much, but it was well worth it. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is an acceptable meal in a resort s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is an acceptable meal in a resort setting. The food was well prepared although not particularly creative. Service was outstanding and the meal was timed appropriately. Unlike previous reviews, portion size seems reasonable given price and prices also seem reasonable given the resort location. All in all, an adequate dining experience although nothing special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary at Br ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary at Brissago and once again they exceeded our expectations. We were treated with a "Happy Anniversary" and taken to a wonderful window table which had rose petals in an arrangement. The food was exceptional as was the service. We had an enjoyable meal complete with complementary desert. We will definitely return when we're in Lake Geneva again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They went out of their way to make my da ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They went out of their way to make my daughter feel special on her birthday!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter, Jesse, knew the menu and win ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waiter, Jesse, knew the menu and wine list quite well. He was very attentive to detail and the meal was outstanding. My wife had the Lamb Porterhouse (Agnello Porterhouse) and I had the Osso Buco alla Milanaise. We went to this location several years ago and they continue to do an excellent job!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and great food. They ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent service and great food. They went our of their way to make our wedding anniversary special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal options were very attractive. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The meal options were very attractive. We selected four course dinner specials that were creatively prepared and not excessive amounts of food. The server cautioned us that the meals would not be large portion, which we appreciated.

The wine selection was a little disappointing. We chose an Italian red wine (valpolicello), that was a varietal and year that we had previously. The wine did not meet our expectations.

Overall, the experience was very nice, with a beautiful view of the lake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rex was great and knowledgeable, it was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Rex was great and knowledgeable, it was our second anniversary and couldn't have been happier with the food and service. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kate, our server, was knowledgable, frie ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Kate, our server, was knowledgable, friendly, and took time to interact with us. The food was excellent and the tree top views breathtaking. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian Dinner Adventure in Dining

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I dined here during Lake Geneva's restaurant week and chose the special three course menu.

Great salad with nice walnut and goat cheese topping. Entree was the Penne Garganelli alla Amatriciana whic was excellent. The sausage with fennel and spicy tomato sauce was filled with flavor. I ordered the creme Brulee for dessert but received something else. They packed my creme brulee to go and it was only average.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance, slow service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was good but very slow.over 2 hours for our table of 5,2 being children.

Food was great though!we've eaten here before many times and food is always consistently good.just this time service we slow...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

restaurant week disappointment

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined Sunday evening for our daughter's birthday; it happened to be Restaurant Week so we decided to try the special menu. Although the food was tasty and the presentation appealing, the size of the servings was extremely disappointing. The beef tip entree would have been small for an appetizer; three bite size pieces of beef and a very small portion of risotto. I cut the beef pieces in half to have 6 bites of meat. We are unlikely to return to Brissago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Dinner at Brissago

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our dinner here was amazing, especially with the restaurant week deal. Our server was very knowledgable and friendly, and made sure we had a great meal. Often, these restaurant week deals elicit less than stellar service from wait staff, but our server was wonderful and kept talking up how great the scallops and salmon were. I don't remember her name, but she was really really good at what she did. The food was delicious. I had the scallops (perfectly cooked) with chickpea purée, salmon, and creme brûlée. All three did not disappoint. Every time we come to the grand Geneva we always stop here. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at Brissago

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our dinner at Ristorante Brissago was a lovely experience. The dinner, staff, and atmosphere were wonderful. This definitely will be a return visit! Our server, Luis, was very helpful and knowledgeable to our questions and choices.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, Nice atmosphere

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

we were here for a birthday dinner, the food was good, the service was awesome, and the atmosphere was very nice. would definitely recommend, and will be back in the future

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife's Birthday

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We chose Brissago as my wife wanted Chilean Sea Bass for her birthday dinner. We were staying in town for the weekend and cabbed out to the Geneva Grand. We both remember the original Playboy and were pleasantly surprised by the new and updated version. We were quite pleased with the service and the excellent preparation of the food.

Unfortunately, people in town were not familiar with the restaurant. W=Everyone wanted to refer us to the Chop House, which we found to be good.

We would come again should we return to Lake Geneva.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Price!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service we had at this restaurant was phenomenal. All staff was very attentive--my drink was never empty. The food was amazing and was definitely worth the price. Absolutely loved the Amaretto Cheesecake! We were seated so we could see the view from outside, which was absolutely stunning. Would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The overall experience was great. However for the restaurant being the most romantic restaurant in LG, I was a bit disappointed. Very bright. The restaurant was mostly unoccupied and my date and I were seated next to a very noisy family and children. Not what I would consider very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Olive Garden with a better wine list

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Stayed at the resort and had dinner there on Friday. First the good parts: the service (Rex) was excellent. he was very attentive without being obtrusive. The wine list was good too and fairly priced. We had a good Niebbolo at under 75. Now for the bad: the food was awful. The calamari was soggy (old oil). The vegetables on the pizza had little taste and the supposed goat cheese tasted like cream cheese. The antipasto at $16 was inedible. The olives tasted like out of a can. The peppers coated in a hard and semi-sweet who knows what. One slice of very thin prosciutto, two of deli counter salami and too slices of some other meat and a few cubes (!) of dry cheese. In sum, bad food but good wine and service. Skip dinner or lunch and have a glass of wine in the bar (don't order the antipasto) with some bread and good olive oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reviewer

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It was a difficult weekend for the restaurant--large convention groups. The food was average at best, and we had issues with one dish that indicated they were not well-prepared to handle the crowds. Prior meals were better, but the quality has been declining for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Our new go-to place for special occasions

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Made a reservation for a special anniversary. Put that on the Open Table form and asked for a nice table. We had never been here before.

Located on the Hotel Grand Geneva grounds, it is inside on the second floor. The only negative was that it had snowed that day and when we drove up a valet was nowhere to be found, despite the hotel desk clerk's insistence someone "should be there." We essentially were told "just go park" and left the keys. When we left, the same issue - no valet, she gave us our keys and told us to find our own car. Any other time I'd had the guy's job, but let it go.

The restaurant had few patrons, perhaps due to the weather. Not a huge place - definitely you will need reservations, especially in high season. Decent ambiance, although I could have done without the the Dean Martin Musak. They had prepared a nice table overlooking the great room with rose petals on the tablecloth. The wine list was full and reasonable, all Italian. The cuisine was excellent as well. The chef's tasting experience was not available due to a pending menu change. Our server was beyond wonderful, explaining everything and had good recommendations. They brought out a special complimentary desert for us to share, very nice.

Overall we will certainly come again, but it is a bit pricey for a routine night out, but excellent for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Anniversary 29

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a great time and wold absolutely go again. The host and servers saw to every detail. We were there for our anniversary and they made me look good in front of my wife. The only small thing was that the veal bond in was more fatty than I was used to but it still tasted great. I would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten here many times before but th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Have eaten here many times before but the menu and quality have deteriorated significantly. My east coast red snapper took 45 minutes from ordering and arrived over cooked, dry, and tasteless. On a bed of pea purée with mint made a very strange taste. What's going on in the kitchen I have no idea. Pass on this one it's not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Was surprised how many families were there.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

For what I thought would be a romantic restaurant on Valentine's Day weekend, I was surprised that every other table was families. Noise level was not what I expected at all. Kind of a mood killer....

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

EXCELLENT SERVICE

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waitress, Katie (red head) was amazing. She was extremely attentive and ensured that our experience was the best it could be. This type of service is not achieved in today's restaurants as often as it should be.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and fabulous service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food was good and Kate was a fabulous waitress.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely Dining spot at the Grand Geneva

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We come to the Grand Geneva on an annual basis and try to have dinner at Ristorante Brissago. We have never been disappointed in the service or the meal. This particular night, the server was outstanding and knew all of the dishes well and make some excellent suggestions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.