About Ristoranté Brissago

7036 Grand Geneva Way
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
View Larger Map

Warm and inviting with an air of subtle sophistication, Ristoranté Brissago takes the dining experience to a new level with fresh ingredients flown in weekly from Italy. Enjoy regionally made pastas, cheeses, olive oils and desserts, as well as a wonderful selection of Italian wines. Authenticity is apparent in every aspect, our name, Ristoranté Brissago, is taken from a small town in northern Italy on Lake Maggiori. Truly authentic Italian cuisine served in a romantic setting, amid spectacular views of the Wisconsin countryside. It's the culmination of 10 years of planning, says Executive Chef Michael Sawin . Our Bufala Mozzarella contains 100-percent Buffalo milk and arrives weekly from Campania, where they've been making the cheese for centuries. The menu invites you to sample, share and delight in something from every course. The choices - incredible. The experience - simply amazing...

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday November 18th 5:30pm-10:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 50 East & Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 249-4788

Website:
http://www.grandgeneva.com/

Parking Details:
Self-parking is available, as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Sawin

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

You and your guests can take in the spectacular view and elegant ambience while enjoying the freshest food and impeccable service that only Ristoranté Brissago has to offer. We'll take care of all the arrangements. You just walk in and enjoy.

Ristoranté Brissago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Scenic View (9)
Authentic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food and service. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and wanted to have a fancy dinner. We were blown away with everything. They laid out rose petals in the table and a rose.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Slow service and fruit flies. Not really worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our third time at Brissago. Went for my wife's birthday. They gave us a good table, put some rose petals on it. Nice. They also brought out a little pastry with a candle for dessert. The pastry was awful, however; it was WAY too sweet, cloyingly so, and that spoiled that part of the experience.

This was a Saturday night of a three day weekend and the place was quite crowded. So, perhaps the rather brusque service can be forgiven. The waitress was very busy but it took her till the end of the meal to give us her first smile.

The food was "okay". We split a "Casalinga" (i.e., house) salad and a crabmeat/cappellini pasta dish. The salad was very good. The cappellini was al dente, and the crabmeat was plump and tasty. But there was a little bit too much garlic in the preparation. And, as I say, the dessert was awful. So the best I can say about the food is that it was "okay".

I'm hoping that the next time we go there (and we will give it one more chance) it will be better. We will be sure to go when the resort is not so crowded. And I suggest you do too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Porthouse Lamp was excellent. Noise level was moderate but easy to hear the table conversation.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was very disappointing. Waited over 20 minutes after being seated to be recognized by the server. Dishes were not cleared promptly. Water glasses not filled regularly, did not check back to offer additional wine, had to flag down the busser to ask the server to take our after drink order.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was okay but not what I'd expect from a restaurant this pricey. This is my third time dining there, and I've always thought it was over priced. However this time on Valentine's Day was the topper. Portion size very small, nothing special about the flavors, service was very slow. Ambiance was nice, but unless I hear that something has changed for the better I don't see myself going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food wasn't what I was expecting for the price. I would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The ambiance is wonderful and relaxing.

The service is incredible.

But the food is just bland. I had veal and greens. The veal just tasted like regular beef, and I've had better greens at soul food joints for $5.

My wife and I would try this place again if they got a new chef. The Grand Geneva is a wonderful place. This was a huge disapointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went there for a anniversary dinner. Had been there before for wife's birthday and so was looking forward to a return. Almost Every Item Was 5 star....the greeting, the drinks, the table set up (the rose petals were a very nice touch), the service, and the staff. The food however was a huge disappointment. My wife's was just ok and my salad was fine but the osso bucco was way over cooked and the rissoto was so under cooked it was crunchy. Tried to salvage the remainder the next day but it didn't work. We'll still go back for a special occasion but I'll probably order something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice quiet evening, excellent service, excellent meal. We will definitely come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Even better than expected for a resort restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Nice staff. We enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went there for an anniversary dinner. Service was excellent very knowledgeable about the food and wine. Our server was Ryan. Food was excellent as was the dessert. Wine selection was ample. Very good experience with this restaurant and would recommend for any occasion. Only negative would be children present even late at night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This Resturant has a Very pretty setting , great service. Lovely for a romantic date night or a business dinner. The bar is a wonderful location for an out of Way meeting.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Steak came out over cooked after 45 minute wait. Sent it back and another 45 minutes later it was adequate. My wife had to eat by herself as did I. Server was apparently offended we sent the food back and never stopped by our table once after bringing the recorded steak out. 35 AFTER we were completely finished eating, finally the manager brought our check after we had to ask for it. The server walked past our table several times and never acknowledged us at all. Her name was Tori. Her attitude and her obvious lack of concern for our dining experience ruined our evening. When the check was brought out, there was no compensation for our experience. I had to tell the manager AGAIN that this was unacceptable. He hesitantly took off my very pricy steak. Never Again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Good experience throughout the complete meal. Quiet location for any occasion

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Worst Italian food I have had. The "minestrone" soup and pasta sauce were the same exact thing and closely resembled Hunt's chunky tomato sauce with carrots added.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Mixed thoughts,

We went here for our 25th Anniversary the table was beautifully decorated with rose pedals and a rose. The bus boy was awesome fast to serve us water and bread, the manager very welcoming. The server was nice but she was slow due to having too many tables, slow to gret, slow to get drinks, slow to order. When she did come over we has her full attention. We ordered the 4 course meal with wine and added on the 5th pasta course. We asked if that would also have a wine pairing she didn't know but said she would ask. She reccomended a lobster pasta for our 5th course and described it as a pasta with a cream sauce topped with lobster.

Often our courses came out without the wine and or silverware. That was brought later.

First course tuna ... nice

2nd was our favorite a ravioli delicious

3rd was the pasta ... she delivered it it was not topped with lobster as she said. When we asked she replied that the tasting does not come with the lobster.... wish she would have told us that up front. This course was poor, it tasted like tuna helper.

It did not come with the wine pairing and we did not know that until after the dish was served.

4th was duck.. way over cooked and they did not have any more to replace it with. They substituted it with a entree of our choice the Osso Bucco this was overly sweet and the risotto was under cooked.

5th course egg nog creme brulee was also not good.

All in all after many errors the dinner took 3 hours we made the best of it.

Wine pairings were great choices.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fantastic! Good was great & service was impeccable!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We eat at this restaurant every time we are in Lake Geneva. The staff is always friendly . A bit pricey but the food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Easily the worst dinner I've ever had in a nice restaurant. Both my wife's meal and mine were bland and tasted like we could have made them at home for $4. My wife's meal came out cold but was so flavorless that it wasn't worth asking to have it heated up. Disappointing because the Grand Geneva hotel is lovely and the other eateries in the hotel are spot on. This restaurant just seems to have missed the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was just ok. Don't order shrimp scampi. Awful. Could make better athome. Poor quality shrimp. No flavor . Very expensive for quality. We are fine spending if the quality is there. Disappointed,again. Grand Geneva ambiance very nice during holiday season. That was the up side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner while doing an overnight at Grand Geneva. Hostess asked if this was a special event & when told it was our anniversary - brought a rose to our table and at the end of dinner, waitress brought us a complimentary anniversary dessert. Very nice touches and the overall service was outstanding. I'd highly recommend this restaurant. Plus the holiday decorations were lovely & so festive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Been to the restaurant numerous times and the service was awful tonight. It took 70 minutes from ordering to get our entrees and we didn't order appetizers. Complained to the manager and he offered us a free desert. Really? I won't be back anytime soon. I can understand that problems occur but it's how you deal with them that matters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent service and great food in a warm and vibrant atmosphere. We enjoyed dining here very much.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I love this restaurant for the great dining experience! The ambience is warm and inviting. The tables are set in a comfortable seating arrangement. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Our waiter never missed a beat! I loved that we could enjoy the Hotel,s lounge and decorations also while visiting this restaurant. I was happy enough with the food. I would suggest this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I feel as though I need to give some background on this reservation. This was our fourth trip in a year, to Ristorante Brissago. When my significant other comes into town from Phoenix, this has become "Our Spot". The three times leading up to this reservation were absolutely perfect. When I had made reservations for us in March for Scott's birthday, they went above and beyond with rose petals on the table, impeccable service, phenomenal food and desert. That being said, we were disappointed to say the least. It seems as though the entire staff has changed. We sat at our table for probably 10-15 minutes before we were able to order our drinks. Once that happened, it was probably another 10 -15 minutes before we were able to order our appetizers. While our waitress, and her trainee were nice enough, we were used to a level of attentiveness not achieved easily elsewhere. We immediately noticed that the menu had changed, which we really didn't mind because our favorites remained. To follow up our double order of scallops, Scott ordered the Osso Buco , I ordered the Shrimp Scampi. The entrees arrived, Scott's veal was cooked perfectly but the saffron risotto was actually crunchy. My scampi had absolutely no flavor at all. What a let down. All in all our tab was around $200.00. Typically we order one or two bottles of wine, which pushes our tab up around $300.00. We don't mind spending the money for wonderful food & service, after all, you get what you pay for. That being said, I'm not sure that wonderful food and service is what we received. I'm disappointed that we no longer have "Our Spot" and have to find something new in Lake Geneva for fine dining. I do hope this was just an off night for the staff and chef. I have always directed any family and friends from out of town to your establishment because it was always consistent. I also handle travel for a local business and have sent many clients as well. I am disheartened that I feel as though I can longer do that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always excellent food and great service. This is my favorite restaurant. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

With fresh ingredients flown in from Italy a few times a week, this restaurant is consistently amazing. We have had everything from pasta dishes to the Chilean sea bass to the porterhouse and everything is always cooked to perfection with SUPERB flavor profiles. A bit pricey, but the service is impeccable and the ambiance is ideal for a nice, expensive, gourmet meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent venue, delicious meal, terrific service. Northern Italian cuisine with fresh ingredients. I'll be back! Thank you!

Tags: Disabled Access, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server, Tatiana was spectacular! She never rushed us and made us feel extremely special the whole night. The manager was also out of this world. The service has always been great here, but this time it was exceptional! Way to go!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We could watch the Cubs WIN through the glass!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great Italian food With a good Italian wine selection.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Would not go back. Did not like the attitude of the matradee on Saturday 10/22, food was just ok for the price, wine had cork in it. Server was good but most of hi tables were on the opposite side of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Way overpriced and bad tasting food. The Chef's choice 5 course meal looked like a good deal but ended up being awful. With exception of the soup and desert, all courses were barely edible. Have traveled to Italy and eaten in Rome and Venice and this meal was NOT comparable at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and ambiance was awesome! Absolutely delicious! The only thing that bothered us was that it was our 10 year wedding anniversary (10/21/16) and it wasn't communicated to our Server, Jesse. He was wonderful and brought me a rose! He is very knowledgeable on all of the choices and helped us with suggestions. We would definitely go back for the food and if Jesse and the young lady that brought us the San Pellgrino, are there! Thank you for everything! Love The Forty's

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is the second time we have visited and not disappointed at all. Service and Food is outstanding. This will be our "tradition" for our annual occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our assistant waitress and waitress were great they were helpful and nice. Did over the top and we really enjoyed it. The front desk guy was really nice and very informative..because of his suggestions he gave ..our night didn't end their we actually had a great evening at the resort

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Service is above and beyond. Highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Brissago dining experience is always amazing. Each time I have been there, the wine, appetizers and entree's are delicious. I would highly recommend the sea bass and lamb port house dishes. Both dishes are Amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Exceptional attention to my wife's special dietary needs. They were able to create a non-dairy, non-gluten, non-tomato meal that she thoroughly enjoyed. We'll be going back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very good lemon basil salad and various lamb dishes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had to wait a half hour after our reservation time to be seated. The meat dishes we had were not as tender as they used to be, Lamb and Osso Buco. We did however get a complimentary snifter of Amaretto di Saronna after dinner which was a nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We went here for date night and it was very romantic. The food tasted authentic and was presented beautifully! For extra romance add some rose pedals on your table when you make your reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Dinner was fabulous and the service was great! We've been there before and have had a wonderful dinner every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I had taken my wife for our 16th wedding anniversary was told it was one of the top romantic in Wisconsin. We arrived at approximately 5:50 our reservations were for 6:00 . The staff was great no problems at all with them. I expected a romantic evening away from our children and we ended up listening to crying children in the restaurant it was very noisy the food was average at best , the time it took to receive our food we were there for two hours and we left right after eating . Very expensive for what it was. Never will I go back nor recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary and the food, service, and ambiance were all superb. I highly recommend!! My wife has a number of dietary restrictions and we were so impressed with how the team ensured that all my wife's requirements were met. We had an amazing celebration and will be back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was a wonderfull dinner for our anniversary. They made it special when they found out we had been there before and it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.