Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: (414) 771-7910

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Authentic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Seasonal (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating my birthday and this was our first visit. Our table was fine but the noise level was deafening which made it most difficult to hear the server. The specials were read-off in a machine-gun like fashion and when added to the noise level, made it difficult to understand. The food was below average, rigatoni, Raviloi, etc., so we were disappointed with the experience. I was still eating my food and the server picked up my plate to take it away. He never even asked if I was finished! Perhaps it was just an off night. A dissaponting night no doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointed in the lack of seafood options, the only fish on the menu was salmon".......not very Italian. The bread served was sourdough with butter, I was hoping for a nice crusty Italian bread with lovely olive oil and seasoning. I have eaten several of the other family restaurants and have always been delighted, not this time.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have been to Risorante many many times. I love the duck paparadelle it never disappoints. However my last visit I decide to try the summer heirloom prix fixe menu the burrata was excellent although it was skimpy on the tomatoes. The pasta course was very good. The seafood main was very disappointing - overpriced and average overcooked seafood. Another person had the seafood from the main menu - also overcooked. If you want good seafood don't go to Ristorante- stick to the pasta which is always good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I loved the food we got, but the menu I sent much smaller than I remember it being. Thr waiter we had, Samuel was very nice, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our number one go to spot for 20 years, always a great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was very good, but our server wasn't very attentive and it took a long time to get our cocktails. The bar seemed to be understaffed, and when the hostess stepped in and started making drinks, they didn't taste the same as our first round.

The restaurant is located in a cool historic building, but it's very small and therefore the tables are very close together.

I would recommend it for the food and ambiance, but service could improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was delicious. Friendly and upbeat Service. Relaxing and comfortable outdoor setting. Will be back again and again!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 27, 2017

spiny lobster pasta was surprisingly bland. had expected something with a little kick based, but found it more bland than non-spicy dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our anniversary. As always, the service was great, and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Don't know what's up......last few meals there have been sub-par. This time, the chef's special sliced steak was weak....ordered medium rare, delivered very medium, plus some. Accompanying salad of arugula was wilted
The usually delicious duck ragu was good....but the sauce plopped on top of the pasta.
My $13 Caprese salad had one slice of mozzarella, and a few tomato slices, though the tomatoes were pale and less than optimally tasty. For the price, I was surprised.
The service is always good, but with so many great dining options around, I may think twice before making another reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We have been going to Ristorante for 23 years for our anniversary... the staff spoils us and will always go there to celebrate. Our first time there Joe sat with us and shared a dessert.. most memorable and cannot thank the staff and team that take care of us year after year

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Ristorante Bartolotta is among the very best restaurants in Milwaukee. I personally consider it the best of the Bartolotta restaurants, although all are excellent. Both the food and the service are outstanding. I recommend it highly to all who love delicious Italian cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent service and food, didn't disappoint, awesome place for dates and special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Reasonable pricing for great food!! Would recommend strongly to everyone. There was some construction in the area that made parking a bit of an issue, but that had nothing to do with how much we enjoyed the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We celebrated two long term wedding anniversaries and it was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Nice place to go for a special occasion or on someone else's dollar. The service is uniformly excellent. Food prices are high, especially for the $16 desserts, which weren't all that special. Appetizer options were limited. The charcuterie plate would have been enhanced by some good Italian cheese, not fried gnocchi. Filet and pasta with duck were hits; the grilled seafood missed the mark (shrimp were good, but octopus was tough and squid was rubbery). Tip: Consider going on a Monday or Tuesday to take advantage of half-price bottles of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One person in our party had the baked pork chop hand was very pleased with how it tasted and the amount of meat on the bone. One person had the salmon and was very pleased with how his dinner tasted. The last person had a salad and a seafood dish that had quite a variety of seafood items included. All of the meals were prepared well and were interesting.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great meal and service!!! Although we were full and did not order dessert our waitress remembered it was our sons birthday celebration and sent us home with two desserts to enjoy later. Very very nice!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Air conditioning not working. Fan blowing air down our necks--very uncomfortable. They need to reverse fans to blow air against ceiling and not down on patrons.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The service was warm, respectful and prompt (considering how busy they were).
The ravioli was fresh and well seasoned - I savored every mouthful, and am not normally a slow eater. The tiramisu was rich and flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We returned once again bringing friends and once again were so well received We had some great drinks to start and our orders taken. The food was just great and an added bonus of half price wine was a very nice surprise. Our servers were so attentive and very efficient. A great night. We will of course be back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Ristorante did it again. Great food. However, this time was a bit of a let down as I selected in Open Table that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and nothing special was done or even mentioned at the restaurant. I can't fault Ristorante for this as it may have been an Open Table error, but still a bit bummed. We were also seated by a window (a bit cramped) and it was uncomfortably warm. It felt like the air conditioning wasn't working or on. This was definitely out of the ordinary for a Bartolotta's experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Awesome as usual. Chef's menu was amazing! Service excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Classic Italian done with flair. Always a winning place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Ristorante Bartolotta is one of our "go-to" places in the Milwaukee area. Great food, great wine list, servers really know their stuff.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious food, excellent wine list, good service and very charming!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Got there before they opened. Very nice bartender crafted two Italian old fashioneds while we waited for our table. We received the table we requested and had an excellent experience. And were fortunate to be there when they had morel mushrooms. Of course we had tiramisu.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great place with excellent northern Italian fare and quaint surroundings.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

What a disappointment. Used to be one of my favorite places. Parking was horrible, drove around for 10 min to find a spot. Our server was mediocre, friendly to begin with and then absent. Tony her assistant was the only good thing. My seafood dish was $34 and was overlooked. (My sister in law had the same problem with her dish.) The fish was brown and like a brick, the grilled octopus was rubbery...didn't eat half of it. I was asked about the meal about ten min after we got it and mentioned it was overlooked. I was offered salmon or something else, but didn't want to wait. Our waitress apologized and brought the table two desserts at no charge. Honestly, I would have preferred the dish be comped. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Graduation. Very nice time. God and derive fantastic. Came from NJ and this is as good as any restaurant in NYC. I will come again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service was really great, appetizer boring (sorry), entrees good, but not great, wine way over priced, dessert not so good. Last time I visited , about 5 years ago- it had the wow factor- not so this time

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of our favorites in Milwaukee. Great food every time and delicious Italian wine to pair perfectly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Two out of three dinners were good. One not so great, but super service, ambiance and good time by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I haven't been to this restaurant in a few years and forgot how much I enjoy the food and the atmosphere. Really enjoyed the food. It was great. Plan on returning real soon and ordering the same meal!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was spectacular. The service was excellent, except for several glitches while we were being seated. Also, I received a call beforehand to confirm my reservation, but the caller thought I was someone else. All in all, though, it was an excellent experience, and my family had a great time.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Peyam and Tony took great care of us. Their recommendations for drinks, wine and food were just what we were looking for and individually matched our tastes. Their guidance helped us make the most of our visit.

We split a salad, risotto and entrée which was just the portion sizes we needed. Each of the selections were delicious.

The tables were a bit close together but since the table right next to us remained vacant we were able to enjoy a nice, private dinner.

We will go back and definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall dinner was great. Our servers were fantastic. Only snag was a young child at the next table banging away on the table with the utensils.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Bartolotta restaurants never fail to deliver the BEST food, wine, ambiance, staff and fun! The coziness of Wauwatosa and this Bartolotta gem is one of our favorites picks for Birthdays and Anniversaries. Bravo to Bartolotta's for maintaining their excellence in all of their restaurants, and particularly at this warm, small setting in Tosa.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.