Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: (414) 771-7910

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Authentic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

One person in our party had the baked pork chop hand was very pleased with how it tasted and the amount of meat on the bone. One person had the salmon and was very pleased with how his dinner tasted. The last person had a salad and a seafood dish that had quite a variety of seafood items included. All of the meals were prepared well and were interesting.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal and service!!! Although we were full and did not order dessert our waitress remembered it was our sons birthday celebration and sent us home with two desserts to enjoy later. Very very nice!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Air conditioning not working. Fan blowing air down our necks--very uncomfortable. They need to reverse fans to blow air against ceiling and not down on patrons.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was warm, respectful and prompt (considering how busy they were).
The ravioli was fresh and well seasoned - I savored every mouthful, and am not normally a slow eater. The tiramisu was rich and flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We returned once again bringing friends and once again were so well received We had some great drinks to start and our orders taken. The food was just great and an added bonus of half price wine was a very nice surprise. Our servers were so attentive and very efficient. A great night. We will of course be back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Ristorante did it again. Great food. However, this time was a bit of a let down as I selected in Open Table that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and nothing special was done or even mentioned at the restaurant. I can't fault Ristorante for this as it may have been an Open Table error, but still a bit bummed. We were also seated by a window (a bit cramped) and it was uncomfortably warm. It felt like the air conditioning wasn't working or on. This was definitely out of the ordinary for a Bartolotta's experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Awesome as usual. Chef's menu was amazing! Service excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Classic Italian done with flair. Always a winning place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Delicious food, excellent wine list, good service and very charming!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Got there before they opened. Very nice bartender crafted two Italian old fashioneds while we waited for our table. We received the table we requested and had an excellent experience. And were fortunate to be there when they had morel mushrooms. Of course we had tiramisu.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great place with excellent northern Italian fare and quaint surroundings.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 25, 2017

What a disappointment. Used to be one of my favorite places. Parking was horrible, drove around for 10 min to find a spot. Our server was mediocre, friendly to begin with and then absent. Tony her assistant was the only good thing. My seafood dish was $34 and was overlooked. (My sister in law had the same problem with her dish.) The fish was brown and like a brick, the grilled octopus was rubbery...didn't eat half of it. I was asked about the meal about ten min after we got it and mentioned it was overlooked. I was offered salmon or something else, but didn't want to wait. Our waitress apologized and brought the table two desserts at no charge. Honestly, I would have preferred the dish be comped. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Graduation. Very nice time. God and derive fantastic. Came from NJ and this is as good as any restaurant in NYC. I will come again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service was really great, appetizer boring (sorry), entrees good, but not great, wine way over priced, dessert not so good. Last time I visited , about 5 years ago- it had the wow factor- not so this time

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This is one of our favorites in Milwaukee. Great food every time and delicious Italian wine to pair perfectly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Two out of three dinners were good. One not so great, but super service, ambiance and good time by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I haven't been to this restaurant in a few years and forgot how much I enjoy the food and the atmosphere. Really enjoyed the food. It was great. Plan on returning real soon and ordering the same meal!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was spectacular. The service was excellent, except for several glitches while we were being seated. Also, I received a call beforehand to confirm my reservation, but the caller thought I was someone else. All in all, though, it was an excellent experience, and my family had a great time.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Peyam and Tony took great care of us. Their recommendations for drinks, wine and food were just what we were looking for and individually matched our tastes. Their guidance helped us make the most of our visit.

We split a salad, risotto and entrée which was just the portion sizes we needed. Each of the selections were delicious.

The tables were a bit close together but since the table right next to us remained vacant we were able to enjoy a nice, private dinner.

We will go back and definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Overall dinner was great. Our servers were fantastic. Only snag was a young child at the next table banging away on the table with the utensils.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Bartolotta restaurants never fail to deliver the BEST food, wine, ambiance, staff and fun! The coziness of Wauwatosa and this Bartolotta gem is one of our favorites picks for Birthdays and Anniversaries. Bravo to Bartolotta's for maintaining their excellence in all of their restaurants, and particularly at this warm, small setting in Tosa.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 26, 2017

2 years anniversary. The place was great with great food and an incredible vibe. Really nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrated my husband's birthday. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to wait a few minutes for a table by the window or take what was available. We waited and appreciated our location. Service was gracious and attentive. We enjoyed our food - beef carpaccio, salads, duck ragu and a special that was simple and delicious - pasta with chickpeas and tomato. We were too full for dessert. The staff brought a tiramisu to go for my husband when the check was presented. We enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was very good from bar to wait staff. Food is excellent. We LOVE the restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Without a doubt every aspect of our dining experience was superior! In addition, the service was excellent. The wait people were knowledgeable about the menu, were courteous, and the food was served promptly! Without hesitation we would recommend the restaurant to one and all!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

A charming location in downtown W'tosa.. I went with acquaintances visiting from Europe who spend time in Italy.. and they were very very impressed with the food.. Go for the food, its authentic, extremely well done and a treat. The restaurant itself is a throwback ... cozy southern Italian charm.. Excellent service throughout our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I have been to the restaurant several times. Every time I go, I enjoy the food but not the service. I feel like they cater to certain clients at this restaurant. They make me feel like I am not good enough or I guess my money isn't. They are rather arrogant. I notice they focus on only certain tables. The food is good, I just wish they had different service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I booked for Easter brunch, and the food was very good! We usually only attend a buffet brunch on Mother's Day, and being that Bartolotta provides a three course meal, our choice was made easy. The menu choices provided would appeal to any taste, and the drink menu was very good. The only thing I did not like was that our service could have been better. The servers (yes, you get two per table) were quick to replace utensils and fill water glasses, but bar drinks were not replaced upon finishing them; we would have had a higher bar tab otherwise (and isn't one of the perks of brunch the cocktails after all?). For the ambiance and menu choices, the prices were extremely reasonable. Will definitely come back to another time...after the road construction is done. Yikes, what a nightmare that was!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Often my go to restaurant for occasions or just picking up dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Their ravioli is a must have every time we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nice variety of wine, delicious food, friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was a bit slow to start

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was outstanding. Recommendations for paring wine with dinner selections was spot on. Food was prepared well with the courses coming at the right intervals which made for a very relaxing evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was very good and the service was outstanding. It was one of those wonderful dining experiences where your needs were attended to before you even had time to think about needing something and you never had to ask for anything. The Tiramisu was one of the lightest, creamiest, tastiest, and perfectly balanced versions of this classic dessert that I have eaten anywhere in the world! It made for a spectacular finish to an already great meal. Would definitely come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great meal to celebrate my mothers birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This place is consistently one of the best restaurants in town.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

After being open all these years you'd think the signature dishes would be perfect. And yet the dishes were quite salty, especially the duck ragu. So very disappointing. Service was excellent though.

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Not enough waiters. Service took a way to long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had a great time for our anniversary with friends. Great flavours and service.
Would recommend it for a special occasion, romantic meal and foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.