About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: (414) 771-7910

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Romantic (35)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Business Meals (16)
Historic (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall while nice the food to me can be bland and both my dishes lacked flavor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

When ordering a 60 dollar porterhouse, I'd expect it to be bigger than a breakfast steak I can get at the local diner with my eggs over easy. Absolutely disappointed. I guess if I wanted steak, I should have gone to a steak house, not an Italian restaurant. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines is not the best at this place. It's very small and very crowded with wait staff were poor, ours did not pay attention, did not listen and would wander off to work on other tables in the middle of serving us. Food was pretty good as usual but you are paying for excellent service here and on this occasion it was lacking.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been dining at RB since it opened - over 20 years and always enjoy the meal and the ambiance. In recent years it has become our go-to place for Valentines Day. The fried calamari are consistently the best I've ever had. I enjoy the tagliatelle with slow cooked duck ragu and the filet with truffle sauce. This last visit my wife had a delicious salmon dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic except the seating is far too cramped.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You take a chance when visiting a favorite restaurant on a major holiday (Valentine's Day); will the crowd overwhelm the service, the kitchen, the experience? This visit to Ristorante demonstrated when you're excellent, nothing shakes you. The service was engaging, friendly and demonstrated no stress despite the completely sold out restaurant. Food was excellent, both old favorites and seasonal menu additions. Wine service, although not discounted because of the holiday, was perfect. Another excellent experience proving when it works, it can overcome any peak in attendance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always happy with Barolotta's - a favorite of ours in Tosa and Milwaukee area!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always look forward to coming back to Ristorante Bartolotta. We never have a bad experience. The service was impeccable. The food was perfectly cooked. Wonderful calamari to start. Filet and chicken was superb. Thank you for another great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wife and I went to celebrate Valentine's Day the weekend before and left completely satisfied. This was our third consecutive V-day and will probably continue to be our go-to. Seems like the best Italian food in Milwaukee area. Food was great as always! Service was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I went to the Ristorante again this year ( 2017 ) for our wedding anniversary / Valentine's Day celebration. We had reservations ( a must for special days ) on Sunday, as both of us were busy on the day before Valentine's Day. In less than one hour after opening, the entire establishment was filled. Imagine how busy it would be on V day.

With the exception of $$$$$, every other category I can think of was outstanding.

We've been to 4 other Bartolotta restaurants. I'd say this location, albeit small, is the best of the lot. I wonder how far out I can make the 2018 V day / anniversary reservation?

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a busy night, so understandable to some degree about the service, but the waitresses were not attentive, one didn't even introduce herself, had to ask for bread, waited a good ten minutes for one waitress to come back for our drink order after she came and said she'd be taking take of us, she just kind of disappeared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner was fine and service was excellent but was disappointed by a relatively small menu. Would have loved to have seen a few more dinner options especially in beef or osso bucco, etc.

Table seating was also very tight which makes private conversation difficult.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was impressed the server had recorded our wine from a prior visit and reminded us which one we had. Easy decision -- we went with the one we had enjoyed before. Excellent service!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I have always loved this place. Great food, fun and knowledgeable servers with an awesome wine list. We have dined here many times and will continue to return for special occasions or just a wonderful night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Three of the four of us ordered the Duck Ragu and was outstanding. I ordered the Spaghetti & spiny Lobster and while it was good, it appeared to have been reheated in a microwave and the food was somewhat tough. It also had a lot of heat for a delicate dish such as lobster. Other than that everything was great. What was really outstanding was the comping of all our deserts because we were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always love to go to this restaurant. Ambience, service and quality of dishes make it a perfect Date Night out.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was over cooked and a very small portion for the price. The salad was salty! There are so many wonderful restaurants in Milwaukee that we won't come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. Very conducive to conversation. Excellent wait staff. We were made to feel very welcome.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It was a great night out and great food with excellent service! Will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Staff! Texted me to alert me a early availability!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A great local restaurant with wonderful food. The staff took care of us with numerous suggestions to taste and drink. We mixed and matched food combinations and house specialties. We enjoyed three courses of delicious food and drink topping it off with a spectacular dessert. The risotto with duck ragu was out of this world! I do not live in Wisconsin, but I am sure when I get back to Wauwatosa, I will be eating at Ristorante Bartolatta for dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was very impressed when our server, Krista, knew why the pork chop was not marked on the menu as gluten free. (Potatoes are cooked in the same oil as the breaded shrimp.) Also, I always enjoy selecting a new mixed drink from the bartender's own creations. Thank you, Bartolotta Restaurants, for my birthday postcard, too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Ordered the Duck Ragout with house-made pappardelle. This is a superb dish, something I dream about. Bottles of wine were half-price the night we went so we ordered something we ordinarily wouldn't have. The service was attentive and very helpful selecting a wine. Asked for a recommendation for dessert. The menu had the classic tiramisu but I was looking for something else. The salted caramel pudding with chocolate ganache that the server recommended was wonderful. I do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for classic Italian cooking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time here, did not meet expectations. Dining room is small and cramped, sloppily decorated. Service was good, food I would say is good not great, way too expensive for the quality. You can spend this much in a 4 or 5 star New York restaurant that doesn't even compare to the quality here. I would say there are far better Milwaukee choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was our first time to Bartolotta, and we tried it with a Christmas gift card. The ambiance has a European, vintage flair. The menu, while not extensive, had very interesting choices that were a cut above your average Italian cuisine. Everything was delicious. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service!!! Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always my boyfriend got the duck ragu and as always it was amazing. I got the pasta dish from the chefs menu. Not my favorite meal there but still good. For the first time we tried the tomato and mozzarella appetizer it was great with the baked bread. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was great and our waiter was amazing. Great night!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I felt the food was way overpriced for what you got. The booth we were seated in was freezing as it was by the front windows in January. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We love coming to Ristorante. We order the same thing most of the time as we love the chicken with brussel sprouts and I love the carpaccio. If it is black truffle season my husband loves to have some scrambled eggs with the truffles shaved on and the chef is happy to accommodate. Also the duck ragu - dangerous! The wines are wonderful and we let the sommelier or even our server make a selection for us as they are always right on. The property is intimate, moreso than any of the other Bartolotta restaurants, and has a special warmth to it.

Highly recommend for couples and small groups of friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I am a big fan of Bartolotta Restaurants and frequented this particular location quite often when it first opened. We were there for New Year's Eve just a few days ago. We hadn't been to this particular restaurant for some time. And after eating there, I remember why. The first table offered was at the kitchen entrance and unacceptable. The appetizers were just adequate and pretty skimpy. 2 pieces of prosciutto. My risotto with duck ragu was OUTSTANDING. My main course was just okay. With tip and drinks nearly $300.00. I'll continue to frequent the other Bartolotta Restaurants, but will not be returning to what used to be one of my favorite venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second visit to Restaurante Bartolotta, very attentive staff and excellent service. Not rushed. Would most definitely recommend if you are looking for a different dining experience. Good food and good portion size

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Restaurante Bartolotta remains our favorite restaurant in Milwaukee - and the quality is consistently excellent! Try the Rigatoni Melanzane - our favorite!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time at this terrific restaurant. We recently moved to Milwaukee and heard that we should go here and it was better than advertised! White truffles and an Amarone to pair with pasta, seafood and a filet. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful as always! From the duck ragu pappardelle to the wood roasted bone-in prok chop, the food was delicious. We've been dining at Ristorante Bartolotta for many years, and it's one of our favorites, if not THE favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I think I hit a bad night. There was a big crowd and insufficient staff. Three out of four meals were great. I am going to try the restaurant again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Truffle lunch in December is my favorite meal here. But really, they're all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

simply amazing food....

We will be back for more...

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Attended two times in December to take advantage of the December lunch 3-course meals. Delicious options -- very difficult to choose. I had the ravioli uovo (fabulous flavors bursting in my taste buds) and the lasgnette which was swordfish in a tangy sauce over homemade noodles. Had the same appetizer both times because it was so tasteful (it was like a mini eggplant sandwich with a hot cheese filling). My friend had the soup and said it was indescribably delicious and somewhat decadent). Of course, the tiramisu was delicious as ever. I always look forward to a melding of flavors unlike I'm able to recreate at home when I go to Ristorante Bartolotta's and I was not disappointed with either meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The waiter was very knowledgeable about the food. He gave a brief history of what was on the menu and the reason they have certain things and how they are prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Look forward to lunch every December. Always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Oh how I wish this restaurant were open for lunch beyond the month of December The food is so good and the restaurant itself is charming. The perfect break from work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was the annual trip for the white truffle menu. Oh my it was worth it. The truffle risotto was amazing and the shaved truffles on the ravioli was show stopping. I love this place, the service the standards. It is consistently a perfect dining experience. Never have I been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Everything was good until the bill came and we found out they added fifty dollars to one of our meals for shaved truffle. We know that truffle can be expensive but for the waiter not to tell us there was such a up charge on the meal was poor thinking. When a twenty seven dollar meal turns to 77 dollar meal the quest should know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I recently visited for dinner with friends and had amazing appetizers, dinner and drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We enjoyed our meal tremendously. The assist server Jordan was great. Personable and fun. The main server Kristen? Was efficient but more aloof. Lacked that little "extra"we have come to expect. Perhaps she was just having a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My wife and I have had Christmas lunch here for many years. Again we were not disappointed. The food was outstanding.

Felt sorry for our server. He had too many tables , but was pleasant and helpful.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food here is always good but the service, while friendly, can be inconsistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The atmosphere and all of our food was great. Not you ordinary Italian fare.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.