About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: 4147717910x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Restaurant Photos

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Papardelli With Duck Ragu - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Iberico Pork Flank With Black Truffles - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Grigliata mista di mare - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Caesar Salad - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ricotta Cheesecake W/Olive Oil Gelato - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Calamari - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Pappardelle Al Ragu D'anatra - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Carpaccio Di Manzo Alla Veneta - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Pollo Al Mattone - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Brunello Di Montalcino - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Rigatoni Con Melanzane E Pomodoro - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Carre D'agnello Con Ragu Di Fagioli Toscani - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Piccolo Antipasto Della Casa - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Pollo Al Matone - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Fried Calamari - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
chocolate budino w/ salted caramel and maple cream - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Mozzarella - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Tiramisu - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Spaghetti All'aragosta - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Mussels - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Panna Cotta - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Cabernet Sauvignon - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Cheese and Fruit Plate - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Torta di Cioccolato - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ink Squid Pasta With Seafood - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Red Snapper - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us Mondays and Tuesdays and enjoy half off wines under $100. Special valid Sep 26, 2016 - Jan 26, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

On Saturday, December 31st we will offer a 3 course prix fixe dinner from 5pm-6:30pm starting at $70 per person and a 4 course prix fixe dinner from 5pm-Close starting at $90 per person (Beverages, tax and gratuity not included; special menu only on NYE, a la carte menu will not be available)

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Wisconsin
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (14)
Historic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Server was not personable- food was pret ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Server was not personable- food was pretty flavorless. Overpriced

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We've been dining at Ristorante Bartolot ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We've been dining at Ristorante Bartolotta since it opened, over 20 years ago. Always one of our favorites. The food is fabulous and the service - OUTSTANDING. (Special shout out to our server, Jeff, who was the BEST. Very attentive AND knowledgeable.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and responsiveness fro ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful service and responsiveness from staff! The food was fantastic! Very fresh and some of the best I have tasted at a restaurant in a long time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great service! I have nev ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and great service! I have never been disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ordered dessert to go. Our waitress ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ordered dessert to go. Our waitress went to the restaurant next door to get a set of plastic utensils. Also, because it was my wife's birthday, the dessert was free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food here--always go here when we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food here--always go here when we are near Wauwatosa

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

People were very polite and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

People were very polite and knowledgeable - they could make recommendations because they had tasted it before - making suggestions as far as drinks to try . My food was very good perfectly prepared - the seafood entree - scallops a little mushy and the octopus very chewy - shrimp had good flavor and so did the salmon and calamari. We don't dine out alot and felt the prices were high - the setting is dressy but many people came in jeans - casual I guess works all around. Hours are short. How about a brunch on Sunday?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ristorante Bartolotta is one of my very ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ristorante Bartolotta is one of my very favorite restaurants in metropolitan Milwaukee. Their food is delicious, and the service is always outstanding. We go there whenever we can.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great. The service is warm, frien ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always great. The service is warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is always excellent and consistent. I am from New York and when I am in town on business I always make it a point to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quaint and romantic atmosphere. Se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very quaint and romantic atmosphere. Service was as you would expect from a Bartolotta restaurant. Caesar salad was ordered without anchovies, served with anchovies..sent it back. Filet was ordered med. rare., was served well done...sent it back. Broccolini side veggie was very salty, didn't touch it. Chef's Menu White Truffle Scallops was ok, but was expecting more overall truffle flavor, not worth $$$$$.

We are fans of the other Bartolotta restaurants in Milwuakee, just not Ristoranti. Plenty of other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding service, great food. Always ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding service, great food. Always a wonderful place to spend an evening.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's hard to beat Ristorante Bartolotta! ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It's hard to beat Ristorante Bartolotta! a wonderful atmosphere, knowledgeable attentive staff, superb food. We had the duck ragu on the GF pasta for an app, salads and the chicken seared with a cast iron brick. All top notch!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our wedding anniversary, wha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for our wedding anniversary, what a special treat! Service was very professional and friendly, food was an amazing gastronomic experience of Italian cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

1st date was here 7 years ago, she said ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 23, 2016

1st date was here 7 years ago, she said I set the bar high and they never let me down. Duck Ragu was outstanding. Great service, great food .Bartolotta's establishes the bar for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great wine, great place! I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food, great wine, great place! I highly recommed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner Celebrating my dear husb ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Fabulous dinner Celebrating my dear husband's Birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six year wedding anniversary for me and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Six year wedding anniversary for me and my wife. Let them know when I made the reservation under "special notes"....they never said anything throughout the whole dinner. My $40 steak I asked for "medium" was well done - like shoe leather. We've spent a lot of money going to the bartotta's over the years and they're usually a cut above the rest. Not this time. Very disappointed. This just sucked. Thanks for the $170 bill.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great ambience, food was creative and de ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great ambience, food was creative and delicious. Server was very attentive and knowledgeable. Made our birthday date night special and memorable!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family celebrated my parent's 50th we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My family celebrated my parent's 50th wedding anniversary and we had a wonderful evening. We had great service and the staff took the time to congratulate my parents. The food was excellent as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Love the atmosphere and the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious as always, great menu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was delicious as always, great menu "standards" and nice seasonal options. The team waiter system is great. Lovely wine selection. Just a tad bit "close" for seating. We love it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I first went here in 1997 and have gone ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I first went here in 1997 and have gone back a few times every year. I have to travel from Philly to Milwaukee 3-4 times a year and eat here every time out. Food and staff are great, consistent and unchanged for close to 20 years.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not as good as the other Bartolatta rest ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Not as good as the other Bartolatta restaurants. See the comments below. Overall, I was disappointed with the experience there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Always great

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has always done a very n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This restaurant has always done a very nice job. Of all of the Bartolotta's restaurants, this one remains our favorite.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want the great food and service t ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

If you want the great food and service this is the place to go, OUTSTANDING by any measurement

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, the good people at Ristorant ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Once again, the good people at Ristorante Bartolotta did not disappoint. The food was excellent, the service gracious, and the evening a success!

We asked for a window seat and were relocated quickly and cheerfully. We also were given a special vegetarian version of the pasta special. The chef and server worked together to make it just right for our dietary restrictions.

The cocktails and desserts were wonderful, as always. I especially recommend their martinis and the budino dessert. For a special evening, there is nowhere better than Ristorante Bartolotta!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was very good, as is always the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food was very good, as is always the case. My only criticism was we ordered a bottle of wine which did not arrive until our salads. We could see our waitress was busy with customers and could see the bottle sitting on the bar. Both the bartender and host were standing together talking to each other for quite awhile, we felt one of them could have certainly brought it over so we didn't have to wait 20-25 min. Because of our history with this restaurant we will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

excellent service and delicious food. Gr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

excellent service and delicious food. Great wine list

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a five star restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is a five star restaurant. The food was very good. Service also very good. As you would expect in a fine restaurant. They had very good wines on a limited wine list. The bread was to die for. It was a bit pricey, but for special occassions it was worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect 10! Loved every minute of our ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

A perfect 10! Loved every minute of our visit and already thinking about when we can go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service - worth endur ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food and service - worth enduring the disaster of the construction surrounding the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and ambience for an intimate ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food and ambience for an intimate dinner for two. Just the right amount of attention from the waitstaff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous, as always.... We had 2 of our ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fabulous, as always....

We had 2 of our grandchildren dining with us for the first time......they loved it! Their journey has only just begun at the infamous Bartolotta Restaurants !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE the heirloom tomato menu. Had to co ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 4, 2016

LOVE the heirloom tomato menu. Had to come back for the cold tomato soup with crab salad and risotto special with scallops. Half price wine night Monday and Tuesday. Love this place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual! Our family has bee ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding as usual! Our family has been to Ristorante at least 30 times in past several years. Never been disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a true classic....the food is ma ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 30, 2016

this is a true classic....the food is marvelous and the wait staff nothing short of superb . They are attentive without being obvious.

Prices are reasonable enough that you don't need to wait for a special occasion to go .

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful gin martini. Then I tried a di ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful gin martini. Then I tried a different dish this time. Regular menu item -- garganelli pasta with prosciutto, peas in a light cream sauce, yum! Lovely vermentino (white wine) from a vineyard we had visited in Tuscany. Solid experience every time. Josh is always wonderful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual. I travel from Chicag ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful as usual. I travel from Chicago because I love

The food .. Always great! Service is perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations on a Friday night at 6: ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had reservations on a Friday night at 6:30 for 4. Restaurant was busy of course and energetic, but we were still able to hold a conversation. We had business to discuss, so we really took our time ordering drinks, then appetizer, then dinner, so we were there for about 3 hours!! The drinks and food were great as was desert. There was a team of 2 that waited on us and they were very receptive to our wants and needs and very quick with a drink refill when needed. With drinks appetizer and desert it came to about $55 per person which for 3 hours of eating, drinking and discussing was a really a good value for us! I will go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.