About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Half-off wine promotion every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Hasselbacher: 4147717910x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website for the latest in Italian Chef dinners or visiting winemakers!

Restaurant Photos

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Papardelli With Duck Ragu
Iberico Pork Flank With Black Truffles
Grigliata mista di mare
Caesar Salad
Calamari
Ricotta Cheesecake W/Olive Oil Gelato
Pappardelle Al Ragu D'anatra
Carpaccio Di Manzo Alla Veneta
Pollo Al Mattone
Brunello Di Montalcino
Rigatoni Con Melanzane E Pomodoro
Carre D'agnello Con Ragu Di Fagioli Toscani
Piccolo Antipasto Della Casa
Pollo Al Matone
Fried Calamari
chocolate budino w/ salted caramel and maple cream
Mozzarella
Mussels
Tiramisu
Spaghetti All'aragosta
Panna Cotta
Cabernet Sauvignon
Cheese and Fruit Plate
Torta di Cioccolato
Ink Squid Pasta With Seafood
Red Snapper

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Neighborhood Gem
Milwaukee
3 More
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (70)
neighborhood gem (58)
fit for foodies (56)
See All
romantic (56)
notable wine list (49)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Two of the meals were excellent (pasta d ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Two of the meals were excellent (pasta dishes)and two were very mediocre at best (pork collar, which was highly recommended by waitress). Would expect that having two waitstaff for the table, they could at least see when the water glasses were empty....

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Alwaysa great experience because of the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Alwaysa great experience because of the wonderful service & delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a hot night, the air conditioning ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was a hot night, the air conditioning was inadequate so it was quite warm in the restaurant, uncomfortably warm. The food was good however it was overshadowed by the poor service, ordered a side of pasta with entree it never came, ordered a drink it never came, had to consistently ask for updates on previously ordered items.

Ordered an entree which consisted of an assortment of seafood including shrimp, scallops, octopus, and fish of the day which was a small square piece of something that was dried out and had no flavor, the other items had good flavor and were prepared well.

Three others in my party ordered pasta dishes which were all prepared nicely and enjoyed by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Our favorite restaurant for date night. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for date night. The ambiance is lovely and the service is always top-notch.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the namesake of a group of resta ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is the namesake of a group of restaurants owned by Joe Bartolotta. I have visited several times in the past, and have enjoyed my time.

With this visit, we were warmly greeted and seated promptly. The wait staff was quite knowledgeable about the menu and particularly the wine list, which I appreciate, since I am not well versed on Italian wines. The waiter helped me pick a nice one, that was not too over-the-top on price.

The only disappointment came with the main course. Two of us ordered a seafood medley which was overcooked and quite chewy. Even the flavors were bland, which I did not expect. One of us had pasta, which was quite good. It really melted in the mouth. So, if you go, I suggest sticking to the pasta. At least for now....

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Top notch food and service. Outstanding ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top notch food and service. Outstanding Caesar salad. Great entree list made main course selection difficult. Dining area relatively small and a bit crowded and noisy. Road construction in the neighborhood makes getting there somewhat difficult, but it's worth the effort.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Staff was great. I appreciate how they ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Staff was great. I appreciate how they asked if there was a special occasion and they did recognize that occasion for the person's birthday. I liked the small environment which made it very quiet and I appreciated that one did not have to dress up too much (many men and women in shorts). I liked that the bar was small and one could sit at the bar too. The village of Wauwatosa is great but the street being under construction is a challenge.

Loris

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We celebrated our wedding anniversary th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary this past weekend at Ristorante Bartolotta, and the entire experience was superb. Our waiter, Philip, provided the best service of any dining experience we've had in the past 5 years. We arrived 5-10 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately at a quiet table. The food was all cooked perfectly and arrived when we were ready for it without any prompting. We were able to enjoy a leisurely meal without being made to feel as if we were taking too long or occupying the table beyond what was expected. All in all, this was the best dining experience we've enjoyed, and would gladly return in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had visitors in town who have eaten in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had visitors in town who have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in the world, I was a little nervous to chose my favorite neighborhood bistro. They took forever reading the menu, discussing each dish. They also knew their wines, they discussed the blends on the winelist. Two nights before they had eaten at a 5 star restaurant in Chicago and raved about it. The nervousness almost turned into cold feet. I had already made a mistake in reserving. I put down two diners instead of 3 and when I changed it, I didn't realize I had to call the restaurant when I made a change. They had no tables for three. We were to wait for an hour for a table. My guests said, "no way, we are not leaving", they wanted to get eat at Bartolotta's. We ate at the bar, it was perfect, the server/bartender gave us such informative service. Employed there for nine years, she didn't balk at any question. My friends kept saying it's like a NYC bistro, right in Wauwatosa. The cuisine was fantastic, we dined for over two hours, topped it off with expresso and tiramisu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

want a great meal...this is the place! F ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

want a great meal...this is the place! From the appys to the desserts...you will not be disappointed. Food is great and service impeccable!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a very nice evening at Bartol ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice evening at Bartolotta's in Tosa Village. The service was good. Ryan was especially attentive and helpful. The duck pappardelle was outstanding, as usual. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner and the bonus was, on o ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner and the bonus was, on our anniversary, it was half price bottles of wine!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of Wauwatosa's gems! This restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

One of Wauwatosa's gems! This restaurant is consistently good & miles beyond its competitors. It is a perfect place for a special event. Don't hesitate to make special dietary requests. They go out of their way to accommodate .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this Tosa stand-out never disappoints. s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

this Tosa stand-out never disappoints.

service was friendly, prompt, and attentive.

excellent tomato (pomodoro) appetizer with great gorgonzola cheese

veal saltimbocca should not be missed, spaghetti with spiny lobster excellent with mildly spicy sauce

desert - no way, but went home with a boxed tiramisu

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again, Ristorante holds up its stan ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Once again, Ristorante holds up its standards. Great cocktails, excellent wine. Misticanza was fresh and wonderful and my good old standby ravioli entree was just as fantastic as always. Josh is always right on top of things.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is great, the prices are v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food here is great, the prices are very high for the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It is a Bartalota restaurant. Slightly o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It is a Bartalota restaurant. Slightly overpriced, and slightly underwhelming. Nothing great, but nothing terrible.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I recommend the ristorante anytime someo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I recommend the ristorante anytime someone is looking for a excellent meal!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely helpful with gluten free/ dair ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Extremely helpful with gluten free/ dairy free options.

Great, knowledgeable staff!! Love Ristorante 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful, as always! Our serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was wonderful, as always! Our server Philip was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, amazing service - an overall ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good food, amazing service - an overall great experience. Expect nothing less from a Bartolotta group restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great job. We are going to come back. Ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great job. We are going to come back. Excellent food, loved the chef's menu and the flexibility that came along with it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm not sure we received the value for t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I'm not sure we received the value for the money. The food and atmosphere were good but I had higher expectations. This is a highly regarded Milwaukee area restaurant. I wasn't as wowed as I thought I would be.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food as always. A bit more arugula ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food as always. A bit more arugula on pomodoro salad would be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great First Visit.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

First time here but won't be the last. Entertained a group of customers/clients and RB, they didn't let us down! From the host to the service to the food, all over the top good, highly recommend if you haven't tried it out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just awesome service. Our waitress was v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Just awesome service. Our waitress was very helpful with the menu and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Duck Ragu is fabulous as is the lobster ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Duck Ragu is fabulous as is the lobster pasta! Seasonal selections keep the menu fresh and interesting!! Very authentic Italian cuisine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still Great!

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times. The food is always outstanding and the service is great. The people are friendly without fawning over you. The restaurant has a cozy feeling that is very inviting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rigatoni was outstanding. Wine selectio ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Rigatoni was outstanding. Wine selections were amazing and the sea salt Carmel dessert is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was reasonable. The service was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was reasonable. The service was poor. After our entrée was delivered, we didn't see our server until the desert menu was offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

First time at Bartolotta in Tosa. The fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time at Bartolotta in Tosa. The food was awesome along with the service. My husband and I very much enjoyed out Anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and wine was fantastci

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always great food and friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable staff. All Italian wine listing can be intimidating, waitress helped us pick out a great blend that went fantastic with our dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food, three of us ordered the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Delicious food, three of us ordered the chicken and all thought it was the best they ever had. Service was slow but good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Skip for brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought we were in for a special treat going to a Bartolottas for Mother's Day brunch. Nope, they phoned it in. Yeah, so there are kids in your restaurant, IT'S MOTHERS DAY.

At the very minimum, going out of your way for moms should be expected... meh, not here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Mother's day brunch - great menu selections

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and mother for Mother's Day brunch. Although a bit pricey, the service and atmosphere were wonderful. We enjoyed smoked salmon starter and my Fritatta was terrific. Our two servers were on top of our requests and needs.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We just returned from an amazing trip to Italy and were delighted to find wines from La Spinetta, a winery that we had visited and whose wines we loved! We had the Vermentino with the whitefish on the Chef's tasting menu. Then I bought a couple bottles to take home. Easier than trying to haul it back from Italy! Best fish I've had in a while. Bartolotta never lets us down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food recommendations, and great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing food recommendations, and great ambience for a night out. Truly great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been dining at Bartolotta on State for over 15 years. On this occasion we had a four course meal in under an hour. The service was so rushed that it was impossible to enjoy the food and relax. The wait staff hovered and seemed to be annoyed when my husband did not make a fast enough decision regarding his desert choice. The food was average .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Almost as good as being in Italy

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent food and wine, superb staff. Really one of my favorite places to eat. The excellence is very consistent and I always leave wanting to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in town ! This resta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The best restaurant in town ! This restaurant continues to exceed our expectations ..... Nathan is so gracious and treats every individual as though they are the most important guest in the restaurant .

Leo bent over backwards to make sure he met our needs .

We are never disappointed at Ristorante Bartolotta. The Chef is the Best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.