Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: (414) 771-7910

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Romantic (39)
Cozy (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Authentic (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Historic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was very good from bar to wait staff. Food is excellent. We LOVE the restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Without a doubt every aspect of our dining experience was superior! In addition, the service was excellent. The wait people were knowledgeable about the menu, were courteous, and the food was served promptly! Without hesitation we would recommend the restaurant to one and all!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

A charming location in downtown W'tosa.. I went with acquaintances visiting from Europe who spend time in Italy.. and they were very very impressed with the food.. Go for the food, its authentic, extremely well done and a treat. The restaurant itself is a throwback ... cozy southern Italian charm.. Excellent service throughout our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to the restaurant several times. Every time I go, I enjoy the food but not the service. I feel like they cater to certain clients at this restaurant. They make me feel like I am not good enough or I guess my money isn't. They are rather arrogant. I notice they focus on only certain tables. The food is good, I just wish they had different service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I booked for Easter brunch, and the food was very good! We usually only attend a buffet brunch on Mother's Day, and being that Bartolotta provides a three course meal, our choice was made easy. The menu choices provided would appeal to any taste, and the drink menu was very good. The only thing I did not like was that our service could have been better. The servers (yes, you get two per table) were quick to replace utensils and fill water glasses, but bar drinks were not replaced upon finishing them; we would have had a higher bar tab otherwise (and isn't one of the perks of brunch the cocktails after all?). For the ambiance and menu choices, the prices were extremely reasonable. Will definitely come back to another time...after the road construction is done. Yikes, what a nightmare that was!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Often my go to restaurant for occasions or just picking up dinner

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Their ravioli is a must have every time we go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Nice variety of wine, delicious food, friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was a bit slow to start

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was outstanding. Recommendations for paring wine with dinner selections was spot on. Food was prepared well with the courses coming at the right intervals which made for a very relaxing evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was very good and the service was outstanding. It was one of those wonderful dining experiences where your needs were attended to before you even had time to think about needing something and you never had to ask for anything. The Tiramisu was one of the lightest, creamiest, tastiest, and perfectly balanced versions of this classic dessert that I have eaten anywhere in the world! It made for a spectacular finish to an already great meal. Would definitely come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great meal to celebrate my mothers birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This place is consistently one of the best restaurants in town.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

After being open all these years you'd think the signature dishes would be perfect. And yet the dishes were quite salty, especially the duck ragu. So very disappointing. Service was excellent though.

Tags: Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Not enough waiters. Service took a way to long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had a great time for our anniversary with friends. Great flavours and service.
Would recommend it for a special occasion, romantic meal and foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Absolutely fabulous dinner and the staff is the best in town! It was busy, so we ate at the bar and had more fun with the staff and our dining neighbors at the bar than had we ever would have had at a table. Thanks Bartolottas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Even though we live in Wauwatosa we haven't been to Ristorante Bartolotta in several years. The food never disappoints. Our desserts were especially delectable and Valentine's coffee is always a treat! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars consistently is because of the noise, the close proximity of tables dining next to you, and everyone standing at the bar making it tricky to get around them. It is a small space so it's understandable. It's definitely worth the trip yet if you're looking for a quieter, more romantic experience this might not fit the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Pricey but delicious. Our server, Peyam, was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Admit we went because we rec'd a gift certificate, but enjoyed the overall experience. Waited until we could celebrate our anniversary there. It was an excellent romantic choice. We stuck with the pasta menu and it was delicious. Also it didn't hurt that it was half price night for bottles of wine! Would definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, but service was stretched and wine pours were ridiculously small, even when compared to other high end restaurants. 2 oz white and 3oz red for $12-15. Get a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our first time here, but we like the other Bartolotta restaurants. Nice atmosphere, quaint, and very helpful staff. I didn't feel like the staff was quite attentive enough checking back with us and pouring wine, but great people. I personally don't like paper sheets over the top of linen tablecloths. The food was absolutely fabulous!

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent service and entrees. Intimate seating- good wedding anniversary celebration location

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We enjoyed the four course Black Truffle Chef's menu this time around, and incredible does not come close to describing the level of excellence we enjoyed.
The panzanella salad was the perfect combination of different flavors and textures. The salad really invigorated the senses, and set the stage for the courses to come. The Tuscan spaghetti, like every pasta I've had here, was perfect al dente, and the meat ragu was robust and and well-developed. The main course was a porterhouse served with combination of stewed chickpeas, kale, and porcini mushrooms. The steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned, and the mushroom and chickpea stew was one of my favorite parts of the dinner. Just like the panzanella, the combination and balance of flavors and textures really made it an ideal accompaniment. Tiramisu is a must here- I get it nearly every time. The wine pairings worked well, but the truffles, of course, truly elevated the entire meal. The savory umami and richness that truffles deliver is unique and cannot be replicated, so I would really recommend indulging the next time truffle season rolls around..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I don't know why it took me so long to try them out. I will come again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

GOOD TIME, GOOD FOOD, FRIENDLY STAFF, LITTLE TIGHT SEATING THOUGH

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Exceptional service. That is why we keep coming back for more.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good. Service was terrible. Did appreciate the manager's attempt to rectify the disappointing experience. Just not the usual Bartolotta level of dining we have come to expect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A midweek visit for dinner during the Black Truffel tasting menu. Entrees, both old favorite and tasting menu additions, were expertly prepared and delicious.

Service was courteous, professional and ultimately satisfactory if unremarkable. Ordered the same wine as we did on Valentine's Day; interesting that our server volunteered to decant the wine on the holiday but not midweek.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall while nice the food to me can be bland and both my dishes lacked flavor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

When ordering a 60 dollar porterhouse, I'd expect it to be bigger than a breakfast steak I can get at the local diner with my eggs over easy. Absolutely disappointed. I guess if I wanted steak, I should have gone to a steak house, not an Italian restaurant. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines is not the best at this place. It's very small and very crowded with wait staff were poor, ours did not pay attention, did not listen and would wander off to work on other tables in the middle of serving us. Food was pretty good as usual but you are paying for excellent service here and on this occasion it was lacking.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been dining at RB since it opened - over 20 years and always enjoy the meal and the ambiance. In recent years it has become our go-to place for Valentines Day. The fried calamari are consistently the best I've ever had. I enjoy the tagliatelle with slow cooked duck ragu and the filet with truffle sauce. This last visit my wife had a delicious salmon dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic except the seating is far too cramped.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You take a chance when visiting a favorite restaurant on a major holiday (Valentine's Day); will the crowd overwhelm the service, the kitchen, the experience? This visit to Ristorante demonstrated when you're excellent, nothing shakes you. The service was engaging, friendly and demonstrated no stress despite the completely sold out restaurant. Food was excellent, both old favorites and seasonal menu additions. Wine service, although not discounted because of the holiday, was perfect. Another excellent experience proving when it works, it can overcome any peak in attendance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always happy with Barolotta's - a favorite of ours in Tosa and Milwaukee area!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always look forward to coming back to Ristorante Bartolotta. We never have a bad experience. The service was impeccable. The food was perfectly cooked. Wonderful calamari to start. Filet and chicken was superb. Thank you for another great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wife and I went to celebrate Valentine's Day the weekend before and left completely satisfied. This was our third consecutive V-day and will probably continue to be our go-to. Seems like the best Italian food in Milwaukee area. Food was great as always! Service was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I went to the Ristorante again this year ( 2017 ) for our wedding anniversary / Valentine's Day celebration. We had reservations ( a must for special days ) on Sunday, as both of us were busy on the day before Valentine's Day. In less than one hour after opening, the entire establishment was filled. Imagine how busy it would be on V day.

With the exception of $$$$$, every other category I can think of was outstanding.

We've been to 4 other Bartolotta restaurants. I'd say this location, albeit small, is the best of the lot. I wonder how far out I can make the 2018 V day / anniversary reservation?

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a busy night, so understandable to some degree about the service, but the waitresses were not attentive, one didn't even introduce herself, had to ask for bread, waited a good ten minutes for one waitress to come back for our drink order after she came and said she'd be taking take of us, she just kind of disappeared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.