About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: 4147717910x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Restaurant Photos

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Papardelli With Duck Ragu
Iberico Pork Flank With Black Truffles
Grigliata mista di mare
Caesar Salad
Calamari
Ricotta Cheesecake W/Olive Oil Gelato
Pappardelle Al Ragu D'anatra
Carpaccio Di Manzo Alla Veneta
Pollo Al Mattone
Brunello Di Montalcino
Rigatoni Con Melanzane E Pomodoro
Carre D'agnello Con Ragu Di Fagioli Toscani
Piccolo Antipasto Della Casa
Pollo Al Matone
Fried Calamari
chocolate budino w/ salted caramel and maple cream
Mozzarella
Tiramisu
Spaghetti All'aragosta
Mussels
Panna Cotta
Cabernet Sauvignon
Cheese and Fruit Plate
Torta di Cioccolato
Ink Squid Pasta With Seafood
Red Snapper

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Neighborhood Gem
Milwaukee
3 More
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (54)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Romantic (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A perfect 10! Loved every minute of our ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A perfect 10! Loved every minute of our visit and already thinking about when we can go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience for an intimate ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food and ambience for an intimate dinner for two. Just the right amount of attention from the waitstaff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous, as always.... We had 2 of our ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fabulous, as always....

We had 2 of our grandchildren dining with us for the first time......they loved it! Their journey has only just begun at the infamous Bartolotta Restaurants !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE the heirloom tomato menu. Had to co ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

LOVE the heirloom tomato menu. Had to come back for the cold tomato soup with crab salad and risotto special with scallops. Half price wine night Monday and Tuesday. Love this place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as usual! Our family has bee ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding as usual! Our family has been to Ristorante at least 30 times in past several years. Never been disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a true classic....the food is ma ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

this is a true classic....the food is marvelous and the wait staff nothing short of superb . They are attentive without being obvious.

Prices are reasonable enough that you don't need to wait for a special occasion to go .

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful gin martini. Then I tried a di ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful gin martini. Then I tried a different dish this time. Regular menu item -- garganelli pasta with prosciutto, peas in a light cream sauce, yum! Lovely vermentino (white wine) from a vineyard we had visited in Tuscany. Solid experience every time. Josh is always wonderful.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Historic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual. I travel from Chicag ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful as usual. I travel from Chicago because I love

The food .. Always great! Service is perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations on a Friday night at 6: ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had reservations on a Friday night at 6:30 for 4. Restaurant was busy of course and energetic, but we were still able to hold a conversation. We had business to discuss, so we really took our time ordering drinks, then appetizer, then dinner, so we were there for about 3 hours!! The drinks and food were great as was desert. There was a team of 2 that waited on us and they were very receptive to our wants and needs and very quick with a drink refill when needed. With drinks appetizer and desert it came to about $55 per person which for 3 hours of eating, drinking and discussing was a really a good value for us! I will go there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went there for our anniver ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary and loved it. Great food, friendly staff, cool pictures and decor..plus they even put a candle in our tiramisu. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent heirloom tomatoes chef's menu. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

excellent heirloom tomatoes chef's menu. I had the panzanella appetizer and my favorite - the ravioli. Josh always takes great care of us at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was just fine. However our tab ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our meal was just fine. However our table was in the back near the restrooms. Every time someone came out, I was bumped. I did complain, and our waiter said that the table we were at was used for walk-ins. When I said we had a reservation, they comped us a dessert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic seasonal menus that always del ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic seasonal menus that always delight! Ask for a wine flight with your order, whether it's the Prix Fix or not. The Wine Director will provide perfect pairings for every course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately our experience was awful. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was awful. We were celebrating a birthday and had made an early reservation on a Monday night. It was crowded upon arrival but not full. After waiting a good 10-15 minutes I had to ask host for a waiter as we were not greeted nor given any water to start. It was downhill from there. Very disappointed as we have dined here many times before and our expectation was high. Needless to say, we won't be going back anytime soon. 😔

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Best experience of the 5 Bartolotta rest ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best experience of the 5 Bartolotta restaurants we've dined at thus far. Very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Four of us went for dinner on a Sunday n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Four of us went for dinner on a Sunday night. It seems that the restaurant had their B-Team due to the spotty service. We arrived early to have a drink or two at the bar but found that there was no bartender on duty. The bartender duty was shared and we had to wait for some time and then the server made us feel like he was doing us a favor. Not pleasant.

When we sat down service got better but it was slow and they screwed up on another drink order. To be fair they did apologize for the poor bar service up front and offered free drinks but I simple would prefer the correct drink done right the first time.

The food was good but not up to standard. When my scallops arrived I was told that the sauce was "broken" but it should still taste ok! Wow, I was not impressed.

I am guessing that this was simply an off night but I wonder if Sunday's are all off...? I have had some great meals and experiences here but this is definitely not the first under par meal I have had here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Way too noisy. Service spotty. Portions ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Way too noisy. Service spotty. Portions too small for large price. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

One of my favorites!!! Perfect... Wonder ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

One of my favorites!!! Perfect... Wonderful... So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two of the meals were excellent (pasta d ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Two of the meals were excellent (pasta dishes)and two were very mediocre at best (pork collar, which was highly recommended by waitress). Would expect that having two waitstaff for the table, they could at least see when the water glasses were empty....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Alwaysa great experience because of the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Alwaysa great experience because of the wonderful service & delicious food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a hot night, the air conditioning ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a hot night, the air conditioning was inadequate so it was quite warm in the restaurant, uncomfortably warm. The food was good however it was overshadowed by the poor service, ordered a side of pasta with entree it never came, ordered a drink it never came, had to consistently ask for updates on previously ordered items.

Ordered an entree which consisted of an assortment of seafood including shrimp, scallops, octopus, and fish of the day which was a small square piece of something that was dried out and had no flavor, the other items had good flavor and were prepared well.

Three others in my party ordered pasta dishes which were all prepared nicely and enjoyed by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

How long does it take to get a proper gl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

How long does it take to get a proper glass of white wine? Our waitress Christin was inattentive and a bully. When she brought warm wine after being seated for 20 minutes it took us more than 15 minutes to get her attention. She fought with us when we asked to get a new bottle. She brought us ice in a bucket and said it would chill in10 minutes. Already 40 minutes had Passed at that point. Embarrassing and a terrible experience for my dads 87th birthday. Bad news for Bartolottas. Find some wait staff that merit your good name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Our favorite restaurant for date night. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for date night. The ambiance is lovely and the service is always top-notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the namesake of a group of resta ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is the namesake of a group of restaurants owned by Joe Bartolotta. I have visited several times in the past, and have enjoyed my time.

With this visit, we were warmly greeted and seated promptly. The wait staff was quite knowledgeable about the menu and particularly the wine list, which I appreciate, since I am not well versed on Italian wines. The waiter helped me pick a nice one, that was not too over-the-top on price.

The only disappointment came with the main course. Two of us ordered a seafood medley which was overcooked and quite chewy. Even the flavors were bland, which I did not expect. One of us had pasta, which was quite good. It really melted in the mouth. So, if you go, I suggest sticking to the pasta. At least for now....

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Top notch food and service. Outstanding ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top notch food and service. Outstanding Caesar salad. Great entree list made main course selection difficult. Dining area relatively small and a bit crowded and noisy. Road construction in the neighborhood makes getting there somewhat difficult, but it's worth the effort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Staff was great. I appreciate how they ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Staff was great. I appreciate how they asked if there was a special occasion and they did recognize that occasion for the person's birthday. I liked the small environment which made it very quiet and I appreciated that one did not have to dress up too much (many men and women in shorts). I liked that the bar was small and one could sit at the bar too. The village of Wauwatosa is great but the street being under construction is a challenge.

Loris

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We celebrated our wedding anniversary th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary this past weekend at Ristorante Bartolotta, and the entire experience was superb. Our waiter, Philip, provided the best service of any dining experience we've had in the past 5 years. We arrived 5-10 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately at a quiet table. The food was all cooked perfectly and arrived when we were ready for it without any prompting. We were able to enjoy a leisurely meal without being made to feel as if we were taking too long or occupying the table beyond what was expected. All in all, this was the best dining experience we've enjoyed, and would gladly return in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had visitors in town who have eaten in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had visitors in town who have eaten in some of the finest restaurants in the world, I was a little nervous to chose my favorite neighborhood bistro. They took forever reading the menu, discussing each dish. They also knew their wines, they discussed the blends on the winelist. Two nights before they had eaten at a 5 star restaurant in Chicago and raved about it. The nervousness almost turned into cold feet. I had already made a mistake in reserving. I put down two diners instead of 3 and when I changed it, I didn't realize I had to call the restaurant when I made a change. They had no tables for three. We were to wait for an hour for a table. My guests said, "no way, we are not leaving", they wanted to get eat at Bartolotta's. We ate at the bar, it was perfect, the server/bartender gave us such informative service. Employed there for nine years, she didn't balk at any question. My friends kept saying it's like a NYC bistro, right in Wauwatosa. The cuisine was fantastic, we dined for over two hours, topped it off with expresso and tiramisu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

want a great meal...this is the place! F ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

want a great meal...this is the place! From the appys to the desserts...you will not be disappointed. Food is great and service impeccable!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a very nice evening at Bartol ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice evening at Bartolotta's in Tosa Village. The service was good. Ryan was especially attentive and helpful. The duck pappardelle was outstanding, as usual. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner and the bonus was, on o ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner and the bonus was, on our anniversary, it was half price bottles of wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of Wauwatosa's gems! This restaurant ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

One of Wauwatosa's gems! This restaurant is consistently good & miles beyond its competitors. It is a perfect place for a special event. Don't hesitate to make special dietary requests. They go out of their way to accommodate .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this Tosa stand-out never disappoints. s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

this Tosa stand-out never disappoints.

service was friendly, prompt, and attentive.

excellent tomato (pomodoro) appetizer with great gorgonzola cheese

veal saltimbocca should not be missed, spaghetti with spiny lobster excellent with mildly spicy sauce

desert - no way, but went home with a boxed tiramisu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again, Ristorante holds up its stan ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Once again, Ristorante holds up its standards. Great cocktails, excellent wine. Misticanza was fresh and wonderful and my good old standby ravioli entree was just as fantastic as always. Josh is always right on top of things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is great, the prices are v ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food here is great, the prices are very high for the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It is a Bartalota restaurant. Slightly o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It is a Bartalota restaurant. Slightly overpriced, and slightly underwhelming. Nothing great, but nothing terrible.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I recommend the ristorante anytime someo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I recommend the ristorante anytime someone is looking for a excellent meal!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely helpful with gluten free/ dair ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Extremely helpful with gluten free/ dairy free options.

Great, knowledgeable staff!! Love Ristorante 💜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful, as always! Our serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was wonderful, as always! Our server Philip was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, amazing service - an overall ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good food, amazing service - an overall great experience. Expect nothing less from a Bartolotta group restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.