About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Half-off wine promotion every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Hasselbacher: 4147717910x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website for the latest in Italian Chef dinners or visiting winemakers!

Restaurant Photos

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa
Papardelli With Duck Ragu
Grigliata mista di mare
Iberico Pork Flank With Black Truffles
Caesar Salad
Calamari
Ricotta Cheesecake W/Olive Oil Gelato
Pappardelle Al Ragu D'anatra
Carpaccio Di Manzo Alla Veneta
Pollo Al Mattone
Brunello Di Montalcino
Rigatoni Con Melanzane E Pomodoro
Carre D'agnello Con Ragu Di Fagioli Toscani
Piccolo Antipasto Della Casa
Pollo Al Matone
Fried Calamari
chocolate budino w/ salted caramel and maple cream
Mozzarella
Mussels
Tiramisu
Spaghetti All'aragosta
Panna Cotta
Cabernet Sauvignon
Cheese and Fruit Plate
Torta di Cioccolato
Ink Squid Pasta With Seafood
Red Snapper

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
6 More
Best Food
Milwaukee
Best Service
Milwaukee
Neighborhood Gem
Milwaukee
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (67)
neighborhood gem (64)
See All
romantic (61)
notable wine list (55)
good for groups (13)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

this Tosa stand-out never disappoints. s ...

Dined 3 days ago

this Tosa stand-out never disappoints. service was friendly, prompt, and attentive. excellent tomato (pomodoro) appetizer with great gorgonzola cheese veal saltimbocca should not be missed, spaghetti with spiny lobster excellent with mildly spicy sauce desert - no way, but went home with a boxed tiramisu

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, Ristorante holds up its stan ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Once again, Ristorante holds up its standards. Great cocktails, excellent wine. Misticanza was fresh and wonderful and my good old standby ravioli entree was just as fantastic as always. Josh is always right on top of things.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food here is great, the prices are v ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food here is great, the prices are very high for the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It is a Bartalota restaurant. Slightly o ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

It is a Bartalota restaurant. Slightly overpriced, and slightly underwhelming. Nothing great, but nothing terrible.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend the ristorante anytime someo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I recommend the ristorante anytime someone is looking for a excellent meal!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely helpful with gluten free/ dair ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Extremely helpful with gluten free/ dairy free options. Great, knowledgeable staff!! Love Ristorante 💜

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was wonderful, as always! Our serv ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was wonderful, as always! Our server Philip was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food, amazing service - an overall ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Good food, amazing service - an overall great experience. Expect nothing less from a Bartolotta group restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great job. We are going to come back. Ex ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great job. We are going to come back. Excellent food, loved the chef's menu and the flexibility that came along with it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm not sure we received the value for t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I'm not sure we received the value for the money. The food and atmosphere were good but I had higher expectations. This is a highly regarded Milwaukee area restaurant. I wasn't as wowed as I thought I would be.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food as always. A bit more arugula ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food as always. A bit more arugula on pomodoro salad would be nice.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great First Visit.

Dined on June 6, 2016

First time here but won't be the last. Entertained a group of customers/clients and RB, they didn't let us down! From the host to the service to the food, all over the top good, highly recommend if you haven't tried it out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just awesome service. Our waitress was v ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Just awesome service. Our waitress was very helpful with the menu and very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Duck Ragu is fabulous as is the lobster ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Duck Ragu is fabulous as is the lobster pasta! Seasonal selections keep the menu fresh and interesting!! Very authentic Italian cuisine!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Great!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times. The food is always outstanding and the service is great. The people are friendly without fawning over you. The restaurant has a cozy feeling that is very inviting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Rigatoni was outstanding. Wine selectio ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Rigatoni was outstanding. Wine selections were amazing and the sea salt Carmel dessert is to die for!

food4
ambience3
service1

The food was reasonable. The service was ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was reasonable. The service was poor. After our entrée was delivered, we didn't see our server until the desert menu was offered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Bartolotta in Tosa. The fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First time at Bartolotta in Tosa. The food was awesome along with the service. My husband and I very much enjoyed out Anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and wine was fantastci

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always great food and friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable staff. All Italian wine listing can be intimidating, waitress helped us pick out a great blend that went fantastic with our dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, three of us ordered the ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Delicious food, three of us ordered the chicken and all thought it was the best they ever had. Service was slow but good!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Skip for brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought we were in for a special treat going to a Bartolottas for Mother's Day brunch. Nope, they phoned it in. Yeah, so there are kids in your restaurant, IT'S MOTHERS DAY. At the very minimum, going out of your way for moms should be expected... meh, not here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's day brunch - great menu selections

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and mother for Mother's Day brunch. Although a bit pricey, the service and atmosphere were wonderful. We enjoyed smoked salmon starter and my Fritatta was terrific. Our two servers were on top of our requests and needs.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We just returned from an amazing trip to Italy and were delighted to find wines from La Spinetta, a winery that we had visited and whose wines we loved! We had the Vermentino with the whitefish on the Chef's tasting menu. Then I bought a couple bottles to take home. Easier than trying to haul it back from Italy! Best fish I've had in a while. Bartolotta never lets us down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food recommendations, and great ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing food recommendations, and great ambience for a night out. Truly great service.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Average

Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been dining at Bartolotta on State for over 15 years. On this occasion we had a four course meal in under an hour. The service was so rushed that it was impossible to enjoy the food and relax. The wait staff hovered and seemed to be annoyed when my husband did not make a fast enough decision regarding his desert choice. The food was average .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost as good as being in Italy

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent food and wine, superb staff. Really one of my favorite places to eat. The excellence is very consistent and I always leave wanting to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in town ! This resta ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The best restaurant in town ! This restaurant continues to exceed our expectations ..... Nathan is so gracious and treats every individual as though they are the most important guest in the restaurant . Leo bent over backwards to make sure he met our needs . We are never disappointed at Ristorante Bartolotta. The Chef is the Best!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service and food!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We visit Tosa a few times a year and always enjoy our stop here. Keep in mind this is a relatively small venue. If you're looking for a secluded table for an intimate dinner this is not your spot. However, if you're looking to be social and perhaps people watch then this is the place. Either way the food and service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Diane

Dined on April 15, 2016

Love everything about this restaurant. Great food and service. However, the noise level is getting excessive. And the parking in Wauwatosa, particularly in this area, is a real problem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed.

Dined on April 15, 2016

All Bartolotta restaurants are treasures so expected alot I guess. Appetizer, salad and pasta all average.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll spare you all the verbiage and make ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

I'll spare you all the verbiage and make this a one-word review: Spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful night

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a great evening. The servers provided excellent recommendations for entrees and were simply amazing. We'll be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Restaurant

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is without a doubt my favorite restaurant. It has a New York feel to it and is simply wonderful. I love the food and the staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We have been to Ristorante Bartolotta several times, and it never fails to exceed our high expectations. The food is always delicious and the service is knowledgeable, refined, and yet comfortable. We seem to learn something new about food and/or Italy on every visit, and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & wine

Dined on March 20, 2016

Good food , wine and service what more could you ask for? Authentic Italian food cooked to perfection

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, attentive service. Food was fanta ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Great, attentive service. Food was fantastic, but the portions are small (even if you order the 'large').

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely outstanding, awesome!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Had a marvelous Sunday early evening dinner. The service was divine, and the food, from appetizer to salad to main course to desert was just tremendous. One of the things I love about this restaurant is that you never feel a need to hurry through your meal, each course allows you time to finish and enjoy. The quality is second to none.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

surprise fish

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Overall a very nice meal and experience -- probably will go back to Lake Park next time, but overall good. The tiramisu was very good

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We took the sommelier's recommendation o ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We took the sommelier's recommendation on a bottle of wine and it was awesome, as was the Rocket Baby bakery bread. Our entrees were excellent. The Vin Santo/Biscotti dessert was so good, and a refreshing change from our typical dessert choices. Overall very, very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annual celebration dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

As always, the food, service and ambience are well worth the money spent on a fine dinner. The professional staff is courteous, knowledgeable, engaging but not overbearing. We never feel rushed helping to make this an even more enjoyable experience. We only have dinner here once a year and have never been disappointed.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.