About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: 4147717910x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Papardelli With Duck Ragu - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Iberico Pork Flank With Black Truffles - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Grigliata mista di mare - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Caesar Salad - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Calamari - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ricotta Cheesecake W/Olive Oil Gelato - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Pappardelle Al Ragu D'anatra - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Carpaccio Di Manzo Alla Veneta - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Pollo Al Mattone - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Brunello Di Montalcino - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Rigatoni Con Melanzane E Pomodoro - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Carre D'agnello Con Ragu Di Fagioli Toscani - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Piccolo Antipasto Della Casa - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Pollo Al Matone - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Fried Calamari - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
chocolate budino w/ salted caramel and maple cream - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Mozzarella - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Tiramisu - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Spaghetti All'aragosta - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Mussels - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Panna Cotta - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Cabernet Sauvignon - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Cheese and Fruit Plate - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Torta di Cioccolato - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Ink Squid Pasta With Seafood - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI
Red Snapper - Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa, Wauwatosa, WI

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Join us Mondays and Tuesdays and enjoy half off wines under $100. Special valid Sep 26, 2016 - Jan 26, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (31)
Notable Wine List (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Romantic (24)
Authentic (22)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Historic (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Seasonal (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great atmosphere

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!!! Great ambi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and service!!! Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always my boyfriend got the duck ragu ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

As always my boyfriend got the duck ragu and as always it was amazing. I got the pasta dish from the chefs menu. Not my favorite meal there but still good. For the first time we tried the tomato and mozzarella appetizer it was great with the baked bread. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and our waiter was amazin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great and our waiter was amazing. Great night!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I felt the food was way overpriced for w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I felt the food was way overpriced for what you got. The booth we were seated in was freezing as it was by the front windows in January. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We love coming to Ristorante. We order t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We love coming to Ristorante. We order the same thing most of the time as we love the chicken with brussel sprouts and I love the carpaccio. If it is black truffle season my husband loves to have some scrambled eggs with the truffles shaved on and the chef is happy to accommodate. Also the duck ragu - dangerous! The wines are wonderful and we let the sommelier or even our server make a selection for us as they are always right on. The property is intimate, moreso than any of the other Bartolotta restaurants, and has a special warmth to it.

Highly recommend for couples and small groups of friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a big fan of Bartolotta Restaurants ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I am a big fan of Bartolotta Restaurants and frequented this particular location quite often when it first opened. We were there for New Year's Eve just a few days ago. We hadn't been to this particular restaurant for some time. And after eating there, I remember why. The first table offered was at the kitchen entrance and unacceptable. The appetizers were just adequate and pretty skimpy. 2 pieces of prosciutto. My risotto with duck ragu was OUTSTANDING. My main course was just okay. With tip and drinks nearly $300.00. I'll continue to frequent the other Bartolotta Restaurants, but will not be returning to what used to be one of my favorite venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Second visit to Restaurante Bartolotta, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second visit to Restaurante Bartolotta, very attentive staff and excellent service. Not rushed. Would most definitely recommend if you are looking for a different dining experience. Good food and good portion size

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurante Bartolotta remains our favor ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Restaurante Bartolotta remains our favorite restaurant in Milwaukee - and the quality is consistently excellent! Try the Rigatoni Melanzane - our favorite!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at this terrific ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time at this terrific restaurant. We recently moved to Milwaukee and heard that we should go here and it was better than advertised! White truffles and an Amarone to pair with pasta, seafood and a filet. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always! From the duck ragu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful as always! From the duck ragu pappardelle to the wood roasted bone-in prok chop, the food was delicious. We've been dining at Ristorante Bartolotta for many years, and it's one of our favorites, if not THE favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think I hit a bad night. There was a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I think I hit a bad night. There was a big crowd and insufficient staff. Three out of four meals were great. I am going to try the restaurant again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Truffle lunch in December is my favorite ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Truffle lunch in December is my favorite meal here. But really, they're all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

simply amazing food.... We will be back ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

simply amazing food....

We will be back for more...

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attended two times in December to take a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Attended two times in December to take advantage of the December lunch 3-course meals. Delicious options -- very difficult to choose. I had the ravioli uovo (fabulous flavors bursting in my taste buds) and the lasgnette which was swordfish in a tangy sauce over homemade noodles. Had the same appetizer both times because it was so tasteful (it was like a mini eggplant sandwich with a hot cheese filling). My friend had the soup and said it was indescribably delicious and somewhat decadent). Of course, the tiramisu was delicious as ever. I always look forward to a melding of flavors unlike I'm able to recreate at home when I go to Ristorante Bartolotta's and I was not disappointed with either meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very knowledgeable about ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The waiter was very knowledgeable about the food. He gave a brief history of what was on the menu and the reason they have certain things and how they are prepared.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Look forward to lunch every December. Al ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Look forward to lunch every December. Always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh how I wish this restaurant were open ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Oh how I wish this restaurant were open for lunch beyond the month of December The food is so good and the restaurant itself is charming. The perfect break from work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the annual trip for the white t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This was the annual trip for the white truffle menu. Oh my it was worth it. The truffle risotto was amazing and the shaved truffles on the ravioli was show stopping. I love this place, the service the standards. It is consistently a perfect dining experience. Never have I been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good until the bill came ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Everything was good until the bill came and we found out they added fifty dollars to one of our meals for shaved truffle. We know that truffle can be expensive but for the waiter not to tell us there was such a up charge on the meal was poor thinking. When a twenty seven dollar meal turns to 77 dollar meal the quest should know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I recently visited for dinner with frien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I recently visited for dinner with friends and had amazing appetizers, dinner and drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal tremendously. The a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We enjoyed our meal tremendously. The assist server Jordan was great. Personable and fun. The main server Kristen? Was efficient but more aloof. Lacked that little "extra"we have come to expect. Perhaps she was just having a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I have had Christmas lunch h ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My wife and I have had Christmas lunch here for many years. Again we were not disappointed. The food was outstanding.

Felt sorry for our server. He had too many tables , but was pleasant and helpful.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food here is always good but the ser ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food here is always good but the service, while friendly, can be inconsistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The atmosphere and all of our food was g ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The atmosphere and all of our food was great. Not you ordinary Italian fare.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decent service, tasty food and very quai ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Decent service, tasty food and very quaint. Could you do just as good if not better across the street for less money? Absolutely. The overall experience here did not equal the value of the money that was spent. I ordered wine and was served something other than what I ordered. Not only was there no apology when we called it to the server'side attention, but we observed no awareness that another patron may have also been involved in a possible mix up.

Each course was flavorful and portion sizes were adequate. However, ice cold tableside bread and butter in an intimate rustic Italian setting.......major disappointment.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service disappointing. Last two visits ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Service disappointing. Last two visits same problem. Need to reassess our frequency.

Food great as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner is always good. Sitting at bar i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner is always good. Sitting at bar is more comfortable than table, actually. Bartender knows the regulars but the waitstaff doesn't. Bar sitting makes it more casual and friendly as the he/she usually knows our favorite drink/meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

the prices are about 15% too high except ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

the prices are about 15% too high except on anything w/a truffle and then it is excessive to the point where I would be hesitant to order anything w/a truffle again-as the portion size of the truffle is fine but the ravioli then serve it on for $60 is rather small. should be at least 4 large ravioli for the $60 and spread the truffles around...

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We've been dining at Ristorante Bartolot ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We've been dining at Ristorante Bartolotta since it opened, over 20 years ago. Always one of our favorites. The food is fabulous and the service - OUTSTANDING. (Special shout out to our server, Jeff, who was the BEST. Very attentive AND knowledgeable.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was not personable- food was pret ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Server was not personable- food was pretty flavorless. Overpriced

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Wonderful service and responsiveness fro ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful service and responsiveness from staff! The food was fantastic! Very fresh and some of the best I have tasted at a restaurant in a long time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great service! I have nev ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and great service! I have never been disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ordered dessert to go. Our waitress ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ordered dessert to go. Our waitress went to the restaurant next door to get a set of plastic utensils. Also, because it was my wife's birthday, the dessert was free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

People were very polite and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

People were very polite and knowledgeable - they could make recommendations because they had tasted it before - making suggestions as far as drinks to try . My food was very good perfectly prepared - the seafood entree - scallops a little mushy and the octopus very chewy - shrimp had good flavor and so did the salmon and calamari. We don't dine out alot and felt the prices were high - the setting is dressy but many people came in jeans - casual I guess works all around. Hours are short. How about a brunch on Sunday?

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food here--always go here when we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food here--always go here when we are near Wauwatosa

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ristorante Bartolotta is one of my very ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ristorante Bartolotta is one of my very favorite restaurants in metropolitan Milwaukee. Their food is delicious, and the service is always outstanding. We go there whenever we can.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great. The service is warm, frien ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always great. The service is warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is always excellent and consistent. I am from New York and when I am in town on business I always make it a point to eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quaint and romantic atmosphere. Se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very quaint and romantic atmosphere. Service was as you would expect from a Bartolotta restaurant. Caesar salad was ordered without anchovies, served with anchovies..sent it back. Filet was ordered med. rare., was served well done...sent it back. Broccolini side veggie was very salty, didn't touch it. Chef's Menu White Truffle Scallops was ok, but was expecting more overall truffle flavor, not worth $$$$$.

We are fans of the other Bartolotta restaurants in Milwuakee, just not Ristoranti. Plenty of other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding service, great food. Always ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding service, great food. Always a wonderful place to spend an evening.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.