About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Half-off wine promotion every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Hasselbacher: 4147717910x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website for the latest in Italian Chef dinners or visiting winemakers!

Restaurant Photos

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Italian
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
4 More
Best Service
Milwaukee
Notable Wine List
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Italian
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (97)
fit for foodies (80)
romantic (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (72)
notable wine list (66)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was reasonable. The service was ...

Dined a day ago

The food was reasonable. The service was poor. After our entrée was delivered, we didn't see our server until the desert menu was offered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Bartolotta in Tosa. The fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

First time at Bartolotta in Tosa. The food was awesome along with the service. My husband and I very much enjoyed out Anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and wine was fantastci

Dined on May 13, 2016

Always great food and friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable staff. All Italian wine listing can be intimidating, waitress helped us pick out a great blend that went fantastic with our dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, three of us ordered the ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Delicious food, three of us ordered the chicken and all thought it was the best they ever had. Service was slow but good!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Skip for brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought we were in for a special treat going to a Bartolottas for Mother's Day brunch. Nope, they phoned it in. Yeah, so there are kids in your restaurant, IT'S MOTHERS DAY. At the very minimum, going out of your way for moms should be expected... meh, not here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's day brunch - great menu selections

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and mother for Mother's Day brunch. Although a bit pricey, the service and atmosphere were wonderful. We enjoyed smoked salmon starter and my Fritatta was terrific. Our two servers were on top of our requests and needs.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We just returned from an amazing trip to Italy and were delighted to find wines from La Spinetta, a winery that we had visited and whose wines we loved! We had the Vermentino with the whitefish on the Chef's tasting menu. Then I bought a couple bottles to take home. Easier than trying to haul it back from Italy! Best fish I've had in a while. Bartolotta never lets us down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food recommendations, and great ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing food recommendations, and great ambience for a night out. Truly great service.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Average

Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been dining at Bartolotta on State for over 15 years. On this occasion we had a four course meal in under an hour. The service was so rushed that it was impossible to enjoy the food and relax. The wait staff hovered and seemed to be annoyed when my husband did not make a fast enough decision regarding his desert choice. The food was average .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost as good as being in Italy

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent food and wine, superb staff. Really one of my favorite places to eat. The excellence is very consistent and I always leave wanting to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant in town ! This resta ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The best restaurant in town ! This restaurant continues to exceed our expectations ..... Nathan is so gracious and treats every individual as though they are the most important guest in the restaurant . Leo bent over backwards to make sure he met our needs . We are never disappointed at Ristorante Bartolotta. The Chef is the Best!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service and food!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We visit Tosa a few times a year and always enjoy our stop here. Keep in mind this is a relatively small venue. If you're looking for a secluded table for an intimate dinner this is not your spot. However, if you're looking to be social and perhaps people watch then this is the place. Either way the food and service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Diane

Dined on April 15, 2016

Love everything about this restaurant. Great food and service. However, the noise level is getting excessive. And the parking in Wauwatosa, particularly in this area, is a real problem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed.

Dined on April 15, 2016

All Bartolotta restaurants are treasures so expected alot I guess. Appetizer, salad and pasta all average.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll spare you all the verbiage and make ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

I'll spare you all the verbiage and make this a one-word review: Spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful night

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had a great evening. The servers provided excellent recommendations for entrees and were simply amazing. We'll be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Restaurant

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is without a doubt my favorite restaurant. It has a New York feel to it and is simply wonderful. I love the food and the staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We have been to Ristorante Bartolotta several times, and it never fails to exceed our high expectations. The food is always delicious and the service is knowledgeable, refined, and yet comfortable. We seem to learn something new about food and/or Italy on every visit, and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & wine

Dined on March 20, 2016

Good food , wine and service what more could you ask for? Authentic Italian food cooked to perfection

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, attentive service. Food was fanta ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Great, attentive service. Food was fantastic, but the portions are small (even if you order the 'large').

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely outstanding, awesome!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Had a marvelous Sunday early evening dinner. The service was divine, and the food, from appetizer to salad to main course to desert was just tremendous. One of the things I love about this restaurant is that you never feel a need to hurry through your meal, each course allows you time to finish and enjoy. The quality is second to none.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

surprise fish

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Overall a very nice meal and experience -- probably will go back to Lake Park next time, but overall good. The tiramisu was very good

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We took the sommelier's recommendation o ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

We took the sommelier's recommendation on a bottle of wine and it was awesome, as was the Rocket Baby bakery bread. Our entrees were excellent. The Vin Santo/Biscotti dessert was so good, and a refreshing change from our typical dessert choices. Overall very, very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annual celebration dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

As always, the food, service and ambience are well worth the money spent on a fine dinner. The professional staff is courteous, knowledgeable, engaging but not overbearing. We never feel rushed helping to make this an even more enjoyable experience. We only have dinner here once a year and have never been disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 9, 2016

I'm in the area on business and the restaurant was recommended by my local client. Overall was disappointed. Tables are close together and dining room is noisy. Restaurant was busy but not full. Server hovered until we agreed to order - and we hadn't been there long. We ended up selecting items from the menu while the server stood at the table. Once food was served, a second person hovered and seemed intent on clearing plates as soon as we stopped eating - bread plates were cleared once bread was finished and we found ourselves with two plates of appetizers on the tables that we'd intended to share but no plates to put food on. Entrees were served quickly and the same hovering to clear those plates repeated. Throughout dinner, it felt someone - another patron or a staff member - was regularly brushing by our table. That added to the sense of crowding. I ordered a veggie/pasta w/ sauce entrée that sounded good but was disappointing - sauce was good but dish was light on veggies and heavy on pasta. Bill was $350 with tip, which included three mixed drinks, two glasses of wine, two appetizers and two desserts. At $70/person, I expect a better experience. I won't return.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First is best!

Dined on March 6, 2016

This is the first of the Bartolatta's restaurants. It is the best of the bunch. Great food, great service in a setting unlike any restaurant in town. Treat yourself to a wonderful experience and discover why this is the best of the Bartolatta bunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love this place.

Dined on March 1, 2016

We come usually once a month. We have had 2 celebratory events there: my wife's 50th birthday and my Mother's funeral celebration. We celebrate twice a month in February for Valentines day and our anniversary. Thanks Joe, we love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Spot - Loud

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our party of 5 dined on Saturday night. Two staff members served us throughout the night...very nice! Food was tremendous! Although not promoted in this way, our group shared all items. Worked well. Highly recommend this gem. Only downside, very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truffles!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Love truffle season. The chef here does such an amazing truffle menu. The risotto, the pasta, then the everyday dishes like the duck! The wine is always fantastic and all the supporting actors, such as salads and desserts, digestivi, and so on! Leo was superb. Thanks for another wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jim

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service, food, and waitstaff are all incredible. As I always do, I recommend Ristorante Bartolatta to all my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

another gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

Another visit and another tasty and fun meal ! Service was very attentive, all the food and beverages we ordered were prompt and spot on. The gluten free pasta was DELICIOUS ! The duck ragu was I believe the tastiest batch I've had in my visits, mouthwatering. I've always had fun and great food, I plan to go back again (and again and again) !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was awesome. However service was a ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was awesome. However service was a bit 'snobby'. The waiter was not pleased when I wanted to order the cheapest bottle of wine on the menu. He will all about getting us to spend more. Also we didn't get many checks at our table of how we were doing and what we needed compared to other tables in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First-rate dining option

Dined on February 16, 2016

Both the food and the service are excellent. It's a large, open room, so you may not feel like you have much privacy, but you can have a good conversation without being bothered by the noise from other tables, and without fear of being overheard. Great venue for special occasions!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

They were running a little behind schedu ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

They were running a little behind schedule by 6:45, which is to be expected on Valentine's Day. Unlike other restaurants, they do not make you feel as if they over booked and are trying to flip the table as quickly as possible. Great streamlined menu that seemed to provide options for all dietary restrictions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made Valentine's Day reservations for my girlfriend and I. We arrived a little early and they took us right away. A small restaurant that doesn't have a lot of room between each table or for waiting, but it wasn't overcrowded either. Service was impeccable and the food was fantastic!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's tradition

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I have dined at RB on Valentine's for the last ten years and love it so much that we come on other days too. They always have black truffle selections available on Valentines. I had what may have been the best pork dish ever - grilled Iberian pork with truffles, roasted calliflower and sautéed greens. It was so juicy and the char flavor did well with the truffles. The truffled salad featured a fried egg on top that made the dish luxurious. Our waiter was wonderful and put us on to a great Umbrian Sagrantino di Montefalco that went well with the food well and was delicious on its own. We had a little Vin Santo and biscotti for dessert. A very nice night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good a Little pricey. Service fantastic

Dined on February 14, 2016

From the moment we walked in the staff was very attentive at a level which is very acceptable. Tables were a little close together but noise level was very low. We very much enjoyed our time there.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife for Valentines dinner. This ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my wife for Valentines dinner. This chefs menu might be his best yet! Alexa & Marybeth our servers made our dinning experience . There was not an empty table in the restaurant yet we never had to wait for anything. Nathan selected a wine that complemented our wine & our Bartolotta's experience!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Decent food But A Bit Pricey

Dined on February 12, 2016

The atmosphere was good, the service was very good and the wine list impressive. We thought that the quality of the food was good, but not in line with the price. With the exception of the Mozzarella alla Pizzaiola appetizer, which was outstanding, the main course was not superb. When you’re paying over $100 for a meal, you expect and deserve superb.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the cozy, rustic, relaxed feelin ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We love the cozy, rustic, relaxed feeling of this Bartolotta restaurant. Service is always great and the food, fabulous!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.