Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining room will accommodate 55-60 people.

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Hietpas: (414) 771-7910

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Romantic (38)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Cozy (32)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Authentic (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Historic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Admit we went because we rec'd a gift certificate, but enjoyed the overall experience. Waited until we could celebrate our anniversary there. It was an excellent romantic choice. We stuck with the pasta menu and it was delicious. Also it didn't hurt that it was half price night for bottles of wine! Would definitely go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, but service was stretched and wine pours were ridiculously small, even when compared to other high end restaurants. 2 oz white and 3oz red for $12-15. Get a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our first time here, but we like the other Bartolotta restaurants. Nice atmosphere, quaint, and very helpful staff. I didn't feel like the staff was quite attentive enough checking back with us and pouring wine, but great people. I personally don't like paper sheets over the top of linen tablecloths. The food was absolutely fabulous!

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent service and entrees. Intimate seating- good wedding anniversary celebration location

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We enjoyed the four course Black Truffle Chef's menu this time around, and incredible does not come close to describing the level of excellence we enjoyed.
The panzanella salad was the perfect combination of different flavors and textures. The salad really invigorated the senses, and set the stage for the courses to come. The Tuscan spaghetti, like every pasta I've had here, was perfect al dente, and the meat ragu was robust and and well-developed. The main course was a porterhouse served with combination of stewed chickpeas, kale, and porcini mushrooms. The steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned, and the mushroom and chickpea stew was one of my favorite parts of the dinner. Just like the panzanella, the combination and balance of flavors and textures really made it an ideal accompaniment. Tiramisu is a must here- I get it nearly every time. The wine pairings worked well, but the truffles, of course, truly elevated the entire meal. The savory umami and richness that truffles deliver is unique and cannot be replicated, so I would really recommend indulging the next time truffle season rolls around..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I don't know why it took me so long to try them out. I will come again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

GOOD TIME, GOOD FOOD, FRIENDLY STAFF, LITTLE TIGHT SEATING THOUGH

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Exceptional service. That is why we keep coming back for more.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good. Service was terrible. Did appreciate the manager's attempt to rectify the disappointing experience. Just not the usual Bartolotta level of dining we have come to expect.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A midweek visit for dinner during the Black Truffel tasting menu. Entrees, both old favorite and tasting menu additions, were expertly prepared and delicious.

Service was courteous, professional and ultimately satisfactory if unremarkable. Ordered the same wine as we did on Valentine's Day; interesting that our server volunteered to decant the wine on the holiday but not midweek.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall while nice the food to me can be bland and both my dishes lacked flavor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

When ordering a 60 dollar porterhouse, I'd expect it to be bigger than a breakfast steak I can get at the local diner with my eggs over easy. Absolutely disappointed. I guess if I wanted steak, I should have gone to a steak house, not an Italian restaurant. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines is not the best at this place. It's very small and very crowded with wait staff were poor, ours did not pay attention, did not listen and would wander off to work on other tables in the middle of serving us. Food was pretty good as usual but you are paying for excellent service here and on this occasion it was lacking.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We've been dining at RB since it opened - over 20 years and always enjoy the meal and the ambiance. In recent years it has become our go-to place for Valentines Day. The fried calamari are consistently the best I've ever had. I enjoy the tagliatelle with slow cooked duck ragu and the filet with truffle sauce. This last visit my wife had a delicious salmon dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was fantastic except the seating is far too cramped.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

You take a chance when visiting a favorite restaurant on a major holiday (Valentine's Day); will the crowd overwhelm the service, the kitchen, the experience? This visit to Ristorante demonstrated when you're excellent, nothing shakes you. The service was engaging, friendly and demonstrated no stress despite the completely sold out restaurant. Food was excellent, both old favorites and seasonal menu additions. Wine service, although not discounted because of the holiday, was perfect. Another excellent experience proving when it works, it can overcome any peak in attendance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always happy with Barolotta's - a favorite of ours in Tosa and Milwaukee area!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always look forward to coming back to Ristorante Bartolotta. We never have a bad experience. The service was impeccable. The food was perfectly cooked. Wonderful calamari to start. Filet and chicken was superb. Thank you for another great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wife and I went to celebrate Valentine's Day the weekend before and left completely satisfied. This was our third consecutive V-day and will probably continue to be our go-to. Seems like the best Italian food in Milwaukee area. Food was great as always! Service was perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I went to the Ristorante again this year ( 2017 ) for our wedding anniversary / Valentine's Day celebration. We had reservations ( a must for special days ) on Sunday, as both of us were busy on the day before Valentine's Day. In less than one hour after opening, the entire establishment was filled. Imagine how busy it would be on V day.

With the exception of $$$$$, every other category I can think of was outstanding.

We've been to 4 other Bartolotta restaurants. I'd say this location, albeit small, is the best of the lot. I wonder how far out I can make the 2018 V day / anniversary reservation?

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a busy night, so understandable to some degree about the service, but the waitresses were not attentive, one didn't even introduce herself, had to ask for bread, waited a good ten minutes for one waitress to come back for our drink order after she came and said she'd be taking take of us, she just kind of disappeared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dinner was fine and service was excellent but was disappointed by a relatively small menu. Would have loved to have seen a few more dinner options especially in beef or osso bucco, etc.

Table seating was also very tight which makes private conversation difficult.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was impressed the server had recorded our wine from a prior visit and reminded us which one we had. Easy decision -- we went with the one we had enjoyed before. Excellent service!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I have always loved this place. Great food, fun and knowledgeable servers with an awesome wine list. We have dined here many times and will continue to return for special occasions or just a wonderful night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Three of the four of us ordered the Duck Ragu and was outstanding. I ordered the Spaghetti & spiny Lobster and while it was good, it appeared to have been reheated in a microwave and the food was somewhat tough. It also had a lot of heat for a delicate dish such as lobster. Other than that everything was great. What was really outstanding was the comping of all our deserts because we were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always love to go to this restaurant. Ambience, service and quality of dishes make it a perfect Date Night out.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was over cooked and a very small portion for the price. The salad was salty! There are so many wonderful restaurants in Milwaukee that we won't come back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely atmosphere. Very conducive to conversation. Excellent wait staff. We were made to feel very welcome.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 31, 2017

It was a great night out and great food with excellent service! Will go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Staff! Texted me to alert me a early availability!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A great local restaurant with wonderful food. The staff took care of us with numerous suggestions to taste and drink. We mixed and matched food combinations and house specialties. We enjoyed three courses of delicious food and drink topping it off with a spectacular dessert. The risotto with duck ragu was out of this world! I do not live in Wisconsin, but I am sure when I get back to Wauwatosa, I will be eating at Ristorante Bartolatta for dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was very impressed when our server, Krista, knew why the pork chop was not marked on the menu as gluten free. (Potatoes are cooked in the same oil as the breaded shrimp.) Also, I always enjoy selecting a new mixed drink from the bartender's own creations. Thank you, Bartolotta Restaurants, for my birthday postcard, too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Ordered the Duck Ragout with house-made pappardelle. This is a superb dish, something I dream about. Bottles of wine were half-price the night we went so we ordered something we ordinarily wouldn't have. The service was attentive and very helpful selecting a wine. Asked for a recommendation for dessert. The menu had the classic tiramisu but I was looking for something else. The salted caramel pudding with chocolate ganache that the server recommended was wonderful. I do not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for classic Italian cooking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time here, did not meet expectations. Dining room is small and cramped, sloppily decorated. Service was good, food I would say is good not great, way too expensive for the quality. You can spend this much in a 4 or 5 star New York restaurant that doesn't even compare to the quality here. I would say there are far better Milwaukee choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was our first time to Bartolotta, and we tried it with a Christmas gift card. The ambiance has a European, vintage flair. The menu, while not extensive, had very interesting choices that were a cut above your average Italian cuisine. Everything was delicious. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to going back.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service!!! Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As always my boyfriend got the duck ragu and as always it was amazing. I got the pasta dish from the chefs menu. Not my favorite meal there but still good. For the first time we tried the tomato and mozzarella appetizer it was great with the baked bread. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was great and our waiter was amazing. Great night!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I felt the food was way overpriced for what you got. The booth we were seated in was freezing as it was by the front windows in January. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.