Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 2.33mi
  4. Distance: 2.53mi

About Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa

The flagship of the Bartolotta Restaurants, Ristorante Bartolotta opened in Wauwatosa in 1993 and has been a local favorite ever since. Regularly voted the best Italian in Milwaukee, the charming Ristorante Bartolotta features handmade pastas and rustic Northern Italian cooking, with a chef's tasting menu that changes ever so often by the season.

7616 W. State Street
Wauwatosa, WI 53213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Harwood Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 771-7910

Website:
http://www.bartolottaristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Chef's Special Menu changes often and always offers the best authentic regional Italian cuisine. Peruse our all-Italian wine list of over 200 labels - you will surely find some new favorites! Enjoy half-off bottles of wine under $100 every Monday and Tuesday night.

Parking Details:
Street parking & 3 Public lots within 1 block of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Juan Urbieta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/ristorante-bartolotta/ to see upcoming events at Ristorante Bartolotta!

Ristorante Bartolotta - Wauwatosa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Always loved this restaurant - food this time was average and completely overpriced for a bowl of pasta, flourless chocolate cake was literally a sliver
My daughter ordered an Italian soda--server placed a whole liter on the table and charged $10?
Service was less than expected
Disappointed, will be returning to our favorite, Lake Park Bistro

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was attentive but not cloying.
The food was well made and memorable.
The drinks were superb.

We will be returning.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2017

A bit pricey but food and service were excellent.
The restaurant was full on a Monday night, so popular place but noisy.
It was hard to carry a conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It's always been our favorite Bartollots's restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Dinner out with daughter/ son in law, and Ristorante did not disappoint per usual.

Prompt very attentive service. Appetizers including bruschetta from the seasonal menu were spot on delicious. Main courses were both outstanding, pasta was perfect and both types of Ragu so rich and delicious. Desserts and espresso very good.

Always a great meal and great time at the Ristorante, they have yet to dissapoint me in all these years. I'll make sure to be back sooner rather than later!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We were impressed that someone called us to let us know parking might be a problem since Tosa Fest was going on! That same curteous service was evident the whole evening! One of our favorite places!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Awesome food and service - been here before and will be back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a great experience and a tasty-gorgeous dinner. We reserved for two of us and brought three on a busy Saturday night, so we had to wait for a while as a result. But the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. They took great care of us at the bar, brought us an amazing appetizer as a gesture of generosity once we were seated, and served us a phenomenal dinner. Two pasta entree sizes are a great option. The salmon was grilled, spot-on. Really caring, courteous staff made it an experience I'd recommend and absolutely want to go back to.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Mediocre at best. Food was not worth the money spent. As we drove home, we pointed out to each other restaurants that had a better taste at a third of the price. Not please with my spaghetti Angosta. Calamari was good, but that was the highlight of the night, otherwise it was a grave disappointment. I don't care that I gave them only 2 stars because they can do without my money. We have over a hundred better choices, so we wouldn't be returning. In fact I think I was robbed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Prices are far in excess of the value.
Very noisy, packed shoulder to shoulder and wine list seems overpriced. Ristorante began as a neighborhood "joint" and is still a neighborhood joint. If ownership thinks this is fine dining, reduce the number of tables and invest in improving acoustics. Teach the servers to deliver the entrees to the correct person and encourage them to check back if anything else is needed.
Ristorante is not Bacchus or Lake Park- get back to basics in Tosa where it all started.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

the food is phenomenal and the drinks are perfect. a must try!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Having had exceptional meals at other Bartolotta establishments, I have to say Ristorante Bartolotta comes up short. Our reservation was handled well, service was attentive, they gladly accommodated us with a small portion for a toddler in our party, the wine and drink menu was lovely and dessert was wonderful. However, the main courses were lackluster and the sourdough bread, though tasty, seemed a particularly odd offering at an Italian restaurant. Also given the price - all of our entrees were in the $25-$30 range- the physical space affords no intimacy and has a very casual decor. They are a neighborhood eatery wanting fine dining profits. Ultimately, it's an uneven experience, though my husband and I agreed we'd go back for a glass of wine and some
Tiramisu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always our go to restaurant for special occasions. Never been disappointed! Great food, wine and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food and service were both great! As were the recommendations of our server. We had a very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I orderd a "Sandy's Reserve".... but they were out of Woodford reserve? maybe run out to Ray's and pick up a bottle or 86 it from menu?
Ordered bottle of Produttori del Barbaresco, 2012 Vintage waiter brought the 2013 vintage and said they were the same? Maybe but for $95 buck you should get what you ordered.

Service was robotic. We had lunch at Eddy Martini's same day, difference is service is day and night.

View down hallway the the kitchen you see the dish washing station?
In this day in age you should see the chefs work area not dirty dish racks.
Interior needs an update, seems like an Italian restaurant cliche.... are the pictures of the Bartalotta family?

Calarmari app was average, still lightly breaded.

Heirloom fixed prix items were great.

Teramisu, was excellent.

In general, not the experience we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in The Milwaukee area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had Calamari, Caprese Salad, bread from Rocket Baby in Tosa, Spinach/Truffle Ravioli and Tiramisu for dessert. Everything was excellent. Wine was great too. Service was somewhat slow and it's pretty expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were celebrating my birthday and this was our first visit. Our table was fine but the noise level was deafening which made it most difficult to hear the server. The specials were read-off in a machine-gun like fashion and when added to the noise level, made it difficult to understand. The food was below average, rigatoni, Raviloi, etc., so we were disappointed with the experience. I was still eating my food and the server picked up my plate to take it away. He never even asked if I was finished! Perhaps it was just an off night. A dissaponting night no doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Very disappointed in the lack of seafood options, the only fish on the menu was salmon".......not very Italian. The bread served was sourdough with butter, I was hoping for a nice crusty Italian bread with lovely olive oil and seasoning. I have eaten several of the other family restaurants and have always been delighted, not this time.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have been to Risorante many many times. I love the duck paparadelle it never disappoints. However my last visit I decide to try the summer heirloom prix fixe menu the burrata was excellent although it was skimpy on the tomatoes. The pasta course was very good. The seafood main was very disappointing - overpriced and average overcooked seafood. Another person had the seafood from the main menu - also overcooked. If you want good seafood don't go to Ristorante- stick to the pasta which is always good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I loved the food we got, but the menu I sent much smaller than I remember it being. Thr waiter we had, Samuel was very nice, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our number one go to spot for 20 years, always a great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was very good, but our server wasn't very attentive and it took a long time to get our cocktails. The bar seemed to be understaffed, and when the hostess stepped in and started making drinks, they didn't taste the same as our first round.

The restaurant is located in a cool historic building, but it's very small and therefore the tables are very close together.

I would recommend it for the food and ambiance, but service could improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was delicious. Friendly and upbeat Service. Relaxing and comfortable outdoor setting. Will be back again and again!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 27, 2017

spiny lobster pasta was surprisingly bland. had expected something with a little kick based, but found it more bland than non-spicy dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our anniversary. As always, the service was great, and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Don't know what's up......last few meals there have been sub-par. This time, the chef's special sliced steak was weak....ordered medium rare, delivered very medium, plus some. Accompanying salad of arugula was wilted
The usually delicious duck ragu was good....but the sauce plopped on top of the pasta.
My $13 Caprese salad had one slice of mozzarella, and a few tomato slices, though the tomatoes were pale and less than optimally tasty. For the price, I was surprised.
The service is always good, but with so many great dining options around, I may think twice before making another reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We have been going to Ristorante for 23 years for our anniversary... the staff spoils us and will always go there to celebrate. Our first time there Joe sat with us and shared a dessert.. most memorable and cannot thank the staff and team that take care of us year after year

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Ristorante Bartolotta is among the very best restaurants in Milwaukee. I personally consider it the best of the Bartolotta restaurants, although all are excellent. Both the food and the service are outstanding. I recommend it highly to all who love delicious Italian cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent service and food, didn't disappoint, awesome place for dates and special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Reasonable pricing for great food!! Would recommend strongly to everyone. There was some construction in the area that made parking a bit of an issue, but that had nothing to do with how much we enjoyed the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We celebrated two long term wedding anniversaries and it was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Nice place to go for a special occasion or on someone else's dollar. The service is uniformly excellent. Food prices are high, especially for the $16 desserts, which weren't all that special. Appetizer options were limited. The charcuterie plate would have been enhanced by some good Italian cheese, not fried gnocchi. Filet and pasta with duck were hits; the grilled seafood missed the mark (shrimp were good, but octopus was tough and squid was rubbery). Tip: Consider going on a Monday or Tuesday to take advantage of half-price bottles of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One person in our party had the baked pork chop hand was very pleased with how it tasted and the amount of meat on the bone. One person had the salmon and was very pleased with how his dinner tasted. The last person had a salad and a seafood dish that had quite a variety of seafood items included. All of the meals were prepared well and were interesting.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great meal and service!!! Although we were full and did not order dessert our waitress remembered it was our sons birthday celebration and sent us home with two desserts to enjoy later. Very very nice!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Air conditioning not working. Fan blowing air down our necks--very uncomfortable. They need to reverse fans to blow air against ceiling and not down on patrons.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The service was warm, respectful and prompt (considering how busy they were).
The ravioli was fresh and well seasoned - I savored every mouthful, and am not normally a slow eater. The tiramisu was rich and flavorful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We returned once again bringing friends and once again were so well received We had some great drinks to start and our orders taken. The food was just great and an added bonus of half price wine was a very nice surprise. Our servers were so attentive and very efficient. A great night. We will of course be back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Ristorante did it again. Great food. However, this time was a bit of a let down as I selected in Open Table that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and nothing special was done or even mentioned at the restaurant. I can't fault Ristorante for this as it may have been an Open Table error, but still a bit bummed. We were also seated by a window (a bit cramped) and it was uncomfortably warm. It felt like the air conditioning wasn't working or on. This was definitely out of the ordinary for a Bartolotta's experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.