Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 41 times today

Rio Grill

4.5
1148 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. The restaurant opens for lunch M-F at 11:30-4pm with brunch on Sat & Sun from 11:30 – 3pm. Dinner nightly from 4pm-9:30pm with Happy Hour M-F & Sun 4pm - 6:00pm!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Southwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:30 am–4:00 pm
Brunch
Sat, Sun 11:30 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 4:00 pm–9:30 pm
Happy Hour
Mon–Fri, Sun 4:00 pm–6:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 625-5436
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eduardo Coronel
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Rio Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

View Private Dining Details
What 1148 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Creative, flavorful. Very fresh ingredients.
Meat, fish, salads, great specials.

Outstanding bread. At peak times it can be very noisy. Eating next to the fireplace is a treat. Half price on bottled wines Monday nights. A few exclusions, but not many. Extensive well organized selections. We love going to the Rio when in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We were mainly interested in conversation as we had not seen each other in a long time. Our server was beyond considerate and capable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

I found the food to be excellent, the ambiance extremely pleasant with fun decor and perfect lighting. The service was fast and everybody was very knowledgable and gave us great recommendations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Always very good and dependable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food and ambiance were good but our server was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were celebrating our son’s birthday and have been to Rio Grill before for family gatherings.
We always enjoy the food and talking with our server, Ishmael. His son and our grandson are friends.
We plan to return to Rio Grill for future celebrations because of the way we are treated and because of the quality of the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We have been dining at the Rio Grill for over 30 years. Alexis was a waitress. We have
Enjoyed the Baby Back Ribs but the last couple of times they have been dry. Maybe partly
Cooked too dar in advance? This last visit they were served with French fries and had
Been smeared with tomato sauce. The ribs are smaller. They used to be larger and more
Succulent. Coleslaw still good. The calamari are greasier than they used to be. The drinks
Are still excellent as is the wine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Older crowd than we expected. Food was good, but no wow factor. Good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We absolutely love the Rio Grill! It’s usually our first meal when we visit Carmel. Our lunch favorites include their grilled artichoke, the skirt steak salad and their daily taco specials. They also make the best iced tea. The artichoke is served with a tasty sun-dried tomato aioli and is prepared so that the heart is easily enjoyed after the leaves are removed - you can also taste the smoke from the grill. The steak salad is the perfect combination of tender, marinated steak with fresh blue cheese, crisp greens, tomatoes and fried shallots. It hits the spot, without weighing you down. The tacos very depending on the day, but are always flavorful and generally unique. The Rio Grill is one of our favorite spots and worth the stop!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great menu. Busy place so it's a bit noisy at dinner. Servers are happy and energetic . Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

My Business unit came here for dinner and said that it was really good. They had a great time, plenty of options for all of the food issues in the group and they had alot of fun. Would definitely go back. Service was really good as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Out of town guests with young children. The welcome was warm and the table was festive. They were prepared for young children. Couldn’t have been better!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good service, great pecan salad and tasty entrees. the paella was great. Hostess welcoming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Very nice restaurant with amazing food and excellent service. Try the duck breast for dinner, pork shank and short ribs were the favorites! Waiters were very attentive and food was prepared in style. Great location worth a visit!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We always eat at the Rio when we come down to Carmel. I always get the ribs— my guilty pleasure — and in twenty years I’ve never been disappointed before. Not sure what happened, but hope it was just a bad night and not a new chief who doesn’t have the knack.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Nice atmosphere and good variety in the menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Our group of four elderly, local foodies thoroughly enjoyed the creative menu and the delicious food that was well served from it. We had a great time sharing samples all the way through dessert. Only the boisterous table of local geezers nearby made it hard to have a conversation. The artichoke, as ever, was delicious--we shared it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We have a tradition of eating at Rio Grill for our anniversary each year. But we find good excuses to come back for other occasions (like, that we haven't been there for a while). This time, I had the pork shank and my sweetheart had the pork chop. The seasonings for these two dishes were quite different and equally delicious. The sauces that are with the entrees are distinctive and complex but can be appreciated without thinking about the subtleties. Our server was excellent: attention without being obvious. When making the reservation, I was asked what the occasion was and mentioned it was our anniversary. When we got to our table the paper cover was decorated with a big red-crayoned heart and crinkled paper strips in bright colors. Such a nice touch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Rio Grill is a gem if your looking for great food with a lively atmosphere. The place is always busy but the wait is worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

When staying at the Highlands Inn we always come to this restaurant for a fabulous dinner. Excellent service, delicious food, fair prices on most wines. The grilled artichoke is a favorite!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The overall meal was good. The service could have been better as it was lacking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I like Rio Grill but I wish it was more consistent. Last time our food was just ok. This time paella and shrimp pasta were better, more together. The bar is awfully loud, people shrieking at tables, and there was food all over the floor (the table next to us reported it was onion rings). Still, many of the Carmel restaurants have issues and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The service was ok—they tried. The food was terrible. We had diver scallops and prawns for $35 and the were inedible—smelled strongly of dead fish. They did credit the bill so they are trying. We were there 30 days ago and had Paella—same thing only worse. They offer very fancy dishes for a grill and the chef has no idea what he is doing. We won’t go back—they should go back to a grill menu —burgers; ribs , steaks and a few Mexican dishes—. If they offer any seafood, it better be fresh—not that hard to do.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Delightful dining: excellent food, great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food. The duck tamale was amazing. The Chinese Chicken Salad was unique and highly flavorful. Go here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Our food was outstanding and one of the best waiters ever!!! Love Rio Grill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

All 4 of us loved the diverse menu and fabulous flavors

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Andrew is a great waiter and A GOOD AMBASTOR FOR THE RIO RILL.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Our family has enjoyed and loved Rio for well over 10 years. This visit however will probably be the last. The service was great as always, but the food arrived cold for all but one of us. The kids quesadilla arrived with the cheese not melted. None of us were happy with our meals, it was very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

My sea bass was dry and not warm. The sides were very small--I was looking forward to the grits and got about 3 bites. Part of our party ordered the mixed grill for $35 and got tiny little portions on a large plate--at the end he said he was still hungry. We probably won't go there again--not a good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Met all my expectations. Food and Service were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Mother’s 85th birthday Carmel celebration! Great time!! Just as we remembered it!! Loved short ribs and pork chop!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Love the mussels

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Always a delicious supper

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Really enjoyed our lunch. Our server, Aaron, was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

We had a very nice dinner, a sirloin steak special and a half rack of baby back pork ribs between the two of us, plus a side of "cowboy beans" and starting with a shared wedge salad. All were well prepared and tasty. The cowboy beans were a treat -- pinto beans in a spicy barbecue sauce with a generous amount of burnt ends from the grilled ribs. Also a great dessert -- a crisp version of an ice cream sandwich with plenty of chocolate sauce. Altogether, very nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

great staff and food..the wine list is complete and with local wines...very nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Wonderful service on a very busy night. Hostess was jammed, but understanding and helpful. Waiter was also excellent. The paella was tasty, potato skins the same, and as I mentioned, the service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

we usually have a good experience at the Rio Grill. they were clearly understaffed that evening; waitress disappeared for long periods of time and she focused on a party of 12 next to us. it is a good place for lunch but will no longer go for dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29

Tweets by Rio Grill