Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Rio Grill

Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass.
For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at www.riogrill.com. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 4:00PM.

101 Crossroads Boulevard
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rio Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 625-5436

Website:
http://www.riogrill.com/

Parking Details:
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.

Public Transit:
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cy Yontz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

Rio Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Local Ingredients (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Cozy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fireplace (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

One of the better meals that I have ever had. The duck breast is great, its sauce is perfect. Every other dish is so delicious. Roasted banana cake is the best. Service is great with the right amount of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Been going here for years and its always good. Get the grilled artichoke!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Have to wait about 20min. The lady at the front apolizied for the wait and offer a complimentary appetizer because we have to wait, great gesture. Server Nick was very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and at least three other staffs checked with us during our meal to make sure everthing was good. Before we walked out of the restaurant, another staff came after us within half a minute to return a wallet we left behind.......can't get better service than that. Definitely will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Have been to Rio many times. Food gets spicier with each visit. The new and shorter menu us great. Our server Chris was fantastic but had too many tables to handle. Great dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We've eaten here multiple times, but years ago. We were disappointed in the food. We like spicy, but everything (including the petrale) was way too spicy 🌶. I mean lip tingling, tongue on fire spicy. So - if you like "hot". Go for it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Rio Grill has been a reliable and delightful local for our friends and family for years. Mother's Day was the first disappointment I have experienced. Our mother had asked specifically for a dish to be modified, (she want an avocado only sandwich) She was served the incorrect sandwich 2 times. which delayed our dining and our food became cold. I will still return to Rio Grill in the future, however, I will be paying closer attention to ensuring my order is understood.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been dining here one or twice a year for 25 years. Food is always fine, but this time service was slow and unorganized. The table was ready at reservation time which was nice.
I will go back but I am not in a rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I've been eating there since it opened, and it is consistently good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good location in popular mall. Very nice art objects. Hamburger and ribs. Hamburger was generous with onions, pickles, lettuce, tomato and fries. Baby back ribs were well prepared. Good not great. Go anyway.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This is one of my favorite go-to places on the Peninsula. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We've eaten here a number of times. While generally reliable, the food this last time seemed overpriced and uninspired. When my son asked for a dinner sized spinach salad, we were charged $35. To their credit, they adjusted that after we complained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was pleased with the food but horrified with the service. I was charged twice for my bill. When I noticed the second charge I went back to the restaurant and spoke to the manager. I expressed my concern and she said that it's just how debit cards work. Well I've used my card for other restaurants and I have never been charged twice. She then told me that she has an honest staff and that my card would show only one charge in 3 to 4 days I was shocked because I never accused her staff of anything. I just wanted my money back. She then told me to leave her my number and she would check the charges. She said thank you for coming in. Mean while I have almost 200 dollars on hold on my account. I was told I had to wait. This makes no since to me. I used a gift card and that was subtracted but when it was subtracted my card was charged a second time. That is not how you should do business. So they have lost a family of six that will not return to this restaurant no matter how the food tasted. Also, My uncle was called a door man while entering the restaurant by a white woman just because he was being polite. Then got a strange look from her. My uncle is a handsome black man. We then got strange looks from people in the restaurant. Which we thought was odd. So, we became uncomfortable. One table was greeted by asking them if they wanted wine and were shared the specials for the day. Our table was not greeted the same way So! you can read under the lines how this restaurant roll. So as I was excited to take my family to a special place and buy their dinner. I was then disappointed by the service and the non-concern about the two charges on my account. Today is Monday and I am still being charged for the second charge. So now I have to deal with my bank.
POOR SERVICE

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Everything good except we were seated near the bar area and was very noisy in this area. Would request back room next time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Chicken with artichokes was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food options were unique however execution on certain dishes was lacking. The restaurant was pretty busy so if you are looking for a quite spot for a cozy date this might not be the best option. As mentioned certain dishes were unique and the flavors were amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The best burger on the Peninsula!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is one of our go to places. Food and service is always good

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

nice for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always great food and staff...Highly Recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was fantastic and the casual atmosphere was inviting! I thoroughly enjoyed the special of the day and finished with an amazing bread pudding. Everyone in my group had a different entree from fish, duck, steak and lobster ravioli, no one was disappointed to say the least! Five stars all around!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Bar service was excellent! dinner service a little slow waiter had to many large tables we kind of got lost in the shuffle, but always have a nice time there and will continue to do so.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Waiter forgot hubbys 2nd drink, then 2 arrived !! Forgot ca liflower side dish but it was not on the check so didn't mention it. Lively atmosphere. Parking outside. N ew menu soon: request another vegetarian entree please

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was quite good and the service was professional.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We're from Orange County and manage to get to Carmel at least three times a year. Every time we make it to Carmel we go to Rio Grill at least one night. The food is always excellent and doesn't disappoint. Phenomenal drinks, as well, and desserts are not to be missed, especially the roasted banana cake.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was a fantastic restaurant! The food was delicious, the server was wonderful, and the ambience was perfect. The New York steak was out of this world.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always love our meal! You can never go wrong here.
Locals fave!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Always a great meal when I am in Carmel. Had a terrific meal with some business partners. A bit loud for a conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great dinner experience. Walked in at 9:20 and they stop seating at 9:30. Had appetizers, dinner and dessert. And all of our food was great. The wait staff never tried to rush us and were very friendly. We will be back on our next trip to Carmel.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very noisy space. We were a party of six and had a hard time carrying on a conversation. Will return to Rio Grill but with a party of four

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Disappointed! Has gone from good to just ok. the first time we ate there was at least a C+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our very favorite in Carmel. Best food, service, ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food, Drink, & Service always great! A true local gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I love the Rio Grill but our party our seven could hardly wait for the corned beef for St. Patrick's Day and guess what? By seven p.m. they were out of it and so two of us were REALLY disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. We were there for St. Patrick's Day and the best corned beef ravioli with a mustard create sauce and well and corned beef and cabbage. Bet waiter ever... Jared. Made the meal a treat!!

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've been to Rio Grill a couple of times; this time went there for a family get-together with out-of-towners and they were impressed. Decor is colorful but not tacky. The ambience is always nice, warm and fun. It was noisy at dinner, but the noise is never too boisterous or deafening, and the tables are far enough apart we get some privacy. Waiter was friendly and pleasant, though he seemed a little stretched and frazzled. Bread is always fantastic! Great seafood chowder, unique to Rio Grill. Good artichoke. Our entrees were all flavorful and portions were filling, but seafood pastas were a bit overpriced. And for the price the execution could have been better, e.g., pork shank was beautifully crisped but a bit dry inside. Didn't try dessert because we were all in a food coma by the end. Overall, an experience worth repeating if you feel like splurging.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was fabulous. We really enjoyed the grilled artichoke and the risotto was amazing. Our server, Jared is one of the best around.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We loved it. We took my son there with a friend and they were so good with us! The food is delicious, reasonably priced, great environment. We will be back very soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place for an intimate dinner or family affair. My friend and I met up to have a girls'night out and never imagined how delicious the food would be (skirt steak, my friends) the thoughtful and local wine list and very attentive service. I have lived in Carmel for over 30 years and the Rio Grill has never disappointed. It's always perfect.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service. The crispy pork shank was amazing! Tables are small and too close together., no privacy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were at Rio Grill for brunch. While my husband liked his carnitas omelet, I did not like the green eggs & ham sandwich. The choice of bread (ciabbata) was too heavy & impossible to saw through. I asked the server for a substitute, softer bread but was told there was only a hamburger bun, which I thought was very odd.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.