About Rio Grill

101 Crossroads Boulevard
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass.
For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at www.riogrill.com. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 4:00PM.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rio Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 625-5436

Website:
http://www.riogrill.com/

Parking Details:
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.

Public Transit:
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cy Yontz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.

Restaurant Photos

smoked pork belly
Blistered Chiles
Buffalo Carpaccio
Duck Breast w/ Duck Confit Tamale
empanadas
Blood Orange Margarita
Grilled Flatbread
Empanadaditas De Carne
Fire roasted artichoke with aioli sauce
Olallieberry Pie
Chinese Chicken Salad
Dr. Pepper Braised Beef Short Ribs
Caramelized Banana Sundae
Smoked Pork Tenderloin
Bread Pudding
Braised Short Ribs
Beef Empanadas
Artichoke
Stuffed Poblano Pepper
Crispy Pork Shank With Red Pepper Mashed Potatoes
Papa Hemingway's Daquiri
Cream Of Broccoli Soup
Castroville Artichoke
Ice Cream
Red Chili Beer Braised Short Ribs
Smoked Chicken
Grilled Prawns On Penne Pasta
Russet Potato Skins
Onion Strings
Veal Liver and Onions

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

Rio Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Groups (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Great for Lunch (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Great for Brunch (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Romantic (10)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic, as always! Friendly people, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic, as always! Friendly people, good service and great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently good, finally.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is consistently good, finally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The tuna is not sushi grade so don't adv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The tuna is not sushi grade so don't advertise that it is! Very dry and over cooked Albacore..

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I love their potato skins. But too bad t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love their potato skins. But too bad they only serve that for breakfast now.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Although I dined there before, it's alwa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Although I dined there before, it's always fun to see what new items the chef has put on the menu. The sirloin was excellent and cooked perfectly to my taste (and to my dining companion's). Lovely food presentation and excellent service. In fact, we discussed the wines and were offered us a taste of the ones we were considering. We requested a quiet room as the front rooms can be quite noisy. Try Happy Hour, great drinks and appetizers, especially the fried artichokes. Enjoyable dinner. Lots of parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is good, but don't expect typical s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food is good, but don't expect typical southweastern fare or cocktails. We've gone here over the years and not sure it is a repeater. The food is flavorful but at dinner time it is so noisy and pack it is difficult to enjoy conversation or food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The food at Rio Grill is outstanding!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food at Rio Grill is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We saw that the table next to us had ord ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We saw that the table next to us had ordered the skirt steak entree and it was well presented. It's a dish that is easy to split for an up-charge, so we ordered it. What we got was a haphazard split of a meal, each plate looking like the food was thrown on it. It was a mess compared to our neighboring table.

Not only that, but the meat was so tough it was difficult to cut and eat. Why? Because they were passing off flank steak--a cheaper cut of meat--as skirt steak. Fraudulently advertising one and substituting another for an unsuspecting clientele.

We called them on the substitution and commented on how bad it was, and they removed the charge from our bill, including the up-charge (a total of $36!)

In spite of Rio Grill's popularity, going strong for over 30 years, I have to say the food can be inconsistent. And they have some of the worst deserts. Whoever makes them must be an untrained pastry chef. Save your money because generally they are not worth the calories.

Not much change to the menu over the years and repetitive dining there can get pretty boring.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was not very good and pricey. Servi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was not very good and pricey. Service was good. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Always wonderful!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Rio is one of my favorite places to ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Rio is one of my favorite places to dine when in Carmel.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food well prepared and generous portions ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food well prepared and generous portions, service failed to deliver. The waiter was pleasant but his service was less then timely. No one came to the table for 15minutes and 20minutes to find the bottle of wine we ordered. Very unfortunate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great restaurant. Staff was wonderful. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great restaurant. Staff was wonderful. I had my 8 week old daughter and the hostess sat us down somewhere where I could put the car seat next to us. The noise level is pretty loud too, so when she cried, unless you were seated right next to us, you didn't hear her cry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Yum!! We had the rib eye and chicken.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Yum!! We had the rib eye and chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had their special!! Chicken fried ahi tu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had their special!! Chicken fried ahi tuna!, served on a bed of soba noodles!!! AMAZING!!! This is my favorite restaurant in Carmel, have never been disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed dinner with husband and daughter ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with husband and daughter. My husband could have used a few more conventional items on the menus. Missed the scallops that were on special a while back - they were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best and most consistent dining experien ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best and most consistent dining experience in Carmel. Expansive food and cocktail menus with something for everyone, in addition to unique daily specials. Service is always friendly and attentive. Fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go often and enjoy it each time. Nice ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We go often and enjoy it each time. Nice people, good food. Fairly priced!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to Rio Grill for over ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have been going to Rio Grill for over 20 years. Love the food and drinks but the noise level is really a conversation killer. Arrived for early dinner at 6pm and within a half hour the four of us were shouting at each other across the table. Sadly, we felt a bit rushed by our server, which hasn't been our experience in the past. Ribs and burgers are terrific, as are the duck entrees. We would only recommend this restaurant to people who enjoy a raucous bar scene and welcome a lively crowd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food as always. Service is perfect ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food as always. Service is perfect. Love the iced tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here many times, NEVER dis ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We have eaten here many times, NEVER disappointed

Given the opportunity,,,GO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Rio Grill in Carmel can't be beat. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The Rio Grill in Carmel can't be beat. Wonderful cheerful service and delicious food. My husband had the half chicken which was served in a divine sauce with new potatoes and artichokes. It was excellent! I had one of the specials, sand dabs served with truffled potato cakes and try-color carrots cooked to perfection! We had not been to the Rio Grill in many years due to distance. They are still doing an excellent job!!! We look forward to going back again soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Rio Grill for 15 yea ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been going to Rio Grill for 15 years and love it. Always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have not been here in 19 years...prob ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We have not been here in 19 years...probably says I t all ...still serving incredible food. Apple cake - wow! Everything we had tasted delicious. My family loved it. Great new family vacation memories

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a really nice clean place with So ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was a really nice clean place with Southwestern vibe and food was good but just not memorable. Service was exceptional and a few interesting things on the menu but conversation is challenging with the ambient noise. For the price, I think there are many better choices in the Carmel area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Not as good as it used to be. Same menu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Not as good as it used to be. Same menu but something has changed. Service only so so - food okay but there are better places in town. Step it up, Rio. Stay good don't rest on your reputation or you'll lose it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Asked for waiter's recommendation of sal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Asked for waiter's recommendation of salad, he brought me Caesar. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Me and my husband were there on our roma ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Me and my husband were there on our romantic date 😀 This was our first time at Rio Grill. We had a great experience, great food and wonderful service. Would love to go back there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places when ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places when we come to Carmel. The food is consistently excellent. This is more of a locals place rather than tourist centric. Tonight my wife had sea bass, and I had pan fried sand dabs. So good. Save room for dessert. My wife had ollalaberry pie, I had banana cake with burnt carmel sauce and coconut ice cream. Monday night, 50% off all bottles of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Imaginative menu, Very complete bar with ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Imaginative menu, Very complete bar with premium brands, reasonable parking, diverse clientele, excellent execution.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing service and food!!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing service and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was well presented, seasoned an ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our food was well presented, seasoned and very tasty, but our service was fair. Wine list was very good and wine served at the proper temperature. From the moment we walked in to be seated by the hostess ( who appeared to be overwhelmed and complaining) to our waitstaff (our head waiter was hardly present through our entire dinner and the assistants had to be reminded three times to bring water and more bread), it was a marginal experience. Because the food was good, we would give it another try.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We go often and enjoy the ambiance, good ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We go often and enjoy the ambiance, good food -try the pork chop! Always a nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently great meals at Rio Grill fr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently great meals at Rio Grill from starter to dessert. I especially like the mocha flan at the end of the meal. Not huge but just enough to take care of my sweet tooth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to on a Friday eve! Great menu! E ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our go to on a Friday eve! Great menu! Excellent service always!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

have been to this restaurant many times. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

have been to this restaurant many times. one of our favorites. never for breakfast. big mistake we ordered eggs and an omelet. awful . can't believe they even served the sausage we received. it was so fatty. should have been put in the garbage. did not complain. didn't. never go there again and it is just down the street from us. we tended to take guests there. never again. would not recommend to anyone. warn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

This is the 2nd time I have been in town ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is the 2nd time I have been in town for a golf tournament and chose this venue. Great bar, great menu and great service. We had 6 and they were very flexible getting us in earlier than our reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, as always. The baked ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful food, as always. The baked half chicken is one of my favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calamari is great, especially the di ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The calamari is great, especially the dipping sauce.

The Chicken is the best and again taking the bread and cleaning up the chipotle sauce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Theresa had a huge attitude that prevent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Theresa had a huge attitude that prevented us from getting the bread she promised, and she chose not to give us a dessert menu. We tipped her accordingly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.