Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Rio Grill

Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. The restaurant opens for lunch M-F at 11:30-4pm with brunch on Sat & Sun from 11:30 – 3pm. Dinner nightly from 4pm-9:30pm with Happy Hour M-F & Sun 4pm - 6:30pm!

101 Crossroads Boulevard
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday-Friday & Sunday 4:00pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Rio Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 625-5436

Website:
http://www.riogrill.com/

Parking Details:
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.

Public Transit:
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cy Yontz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

Rio Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (36)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fun (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Healthy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Spicy (6)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1033 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Half way through our appetizer before our drinks arrived. Had to send one drink back as it tasted of artificial flavoring???
BBQ ribs tough and very sweet. Chicken was dripping with gravy. Food took way to long to arrive. Different servers throughout meal.
Read good reviews of this restaurant...why?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

It used to be one of my favorite places to eat but the last few years it has just become average and a little over priced. Still the best grilled artichoke. Awful fries and very average burger. Overpriced wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated a friend's birthday. The staff was friendly, and courteous along with being good at what they do. We were not rushed and had an enjoyable evening with great food.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great hostess (very knowledgeable about art, ownership of restaurant, etc.) and great waiter as well. Food was very creative. Only complaint was it took a long time to get our entree, but was well worth the wait.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Delicious as always. We love The Rio Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

My wife and I have been dining at the Rio Grill for years. We live in Pacifica, CA and we drove to Carmel for lunch. Yes, the food and service are that good!

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

LUV, LUV, LUV IT!!! So nice and cozy. Great atmosphere to be in and the good is delicious!!All the staff is friendly the bartender was very helpful with the menu. Great experience!! Would highly recommend Rio Grill to anyone!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Clever and interesting menu. Very good unique appetizers. The "candied swine" a definite must. Very good wine list also. An enjoyable evening all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Been going there for close to 30 years. Quality of meal was and always has been was
exceptional. Our favorites are the artichoke and the smoked chicken and we have never
been disappointed.

Bob

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was Friday eve so the bar and restaurant was very noisy, even when requesting a quiet corner but the food and service were excellent. Two pieces of ranchy pork belly was enough to share but so good you didn't want to. Lamb belly was great but the spice was almost overwhelming, bison short ribs had the same mention by the diner and did the duck diner. Lemon tart with raspberry couli and mocha flan was outstanding. If you want a quieter experience I'd suggest a weekday eve.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food, service & ambiance all great! What a happy lil place to grab a meal & linger. Can't wait to go back & try another dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our waitress was delightful. Informational and happy.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was terribly slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Rio Grill has been in the Carmel Barnyard center for more than 30 years serving up well seasoned California Cuisine. I have been stopping in 1-2 a year for most of those years, whenever I am in the area. The Rio Grill has maintained is commitment to freshness and excellence. Being a bit off the beaten track in Carmel and Monterey they have needed to work harder that their competition, and they have done a good job at it. This visit I had the pork shank. I was wonderfully presented with a flavorful medley of vegetable and herbs. Grilled artichoke starter, a long time standard, was tasty and came with a piquant sun dried aioli. The ollallieberry pie, another standard, was a fine finish.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food, great service, beautiful place. Well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 28, 2017

food has always been good here, but seems to be exceptionally good this time. fun birthday celebration!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We often go to Rio Grill for special occasions. The food is always outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very disappointing not as good as it use to be very tired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The menu was creative, the wait staff very attentive, the atmosphere most pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Rio Grill is our "go to" restaurant in Carmel. It never disappoints. Their chicken is awesome, as are the ribs and salmon. The atmosphere is lively and the service is friendly. We were celebrating our son's engagement and they went the extra mile...even had rose petals scattered on the table!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food was very good--- skirt steak and halibut outstanding; paella excellent but a little saucy and could use more bomba rice. Service very attentive. Loved the artwork decorating the dining area!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Love the new menu with new meal selections! Everyone at our table enjoyed their courses. Service was impeccable as well. It's a popular place, so definitely make reservations before showing up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Don't miss Rio Grill!
Amazing food, ambience, service and what staying power. After 33 years it is still the hit of the area - it is fresh, a great scene and mostly they welcome new and returning diners as if we are all family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We had a terrific dinner at Rio Grill last night. We traveled all day to California and then drove to Carmel. Long day. The meal made up for it. Food was artfully prepared and very tasty. Our server couldn't have been better. Though crowded she made sure we were well taken care of. Even better Monday was half price bottles of wine so we were able to take advantage of that! All in all we'd highly recommend this restaurant when in Carmel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Came for lunch, but discovered it was brunch. We found a few items and were pleased they were willing to make the potato skins that we had seen on the lunch menu...that we came for. The carnitas omlette was amazing. The potato skins were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant in our neighborhood. Rio Grill never disappoints and we have been going here for almost thirty years. We should have our faces painted in the bar along with other local patrons, albeit some of them are more famous! The chef, Cy, has a very creative Mexican sous chef and over the years the menu has leaned increasingly towards more inventive interpretations of Mexican cuisine such as the daily empanada and taco, duck tamales, and a variety of daily soup specials (potato poblano cheese is one of my favorites!)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Organic, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was awesome, we had the sugared pork belly and buffalo carpaccio. Then we ordered a second pork belly since it was so good. Ishmael was our waiter and we went with all of his suggestions and they were perfect. We had a split on the two salads beer and mixed green then we shared the duck. It was duckmazing. It is a definite go to place. Totally will go back maybe even tonight👍🏻👏🏼🍷🍸

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The acoustics in the dining area are terrible. We had to speak very loudly to be heard by one another, sitting directly across the table. Even without the unnecessary background music piped in, it was too difficult to carry on a regular conversation. Add a screaming toddler nearby, and it was not good at all.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This time was a miss. Not a disaster but the first really unsatisfactory main dish in the past 30 years...The end of a great run.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always have loved this place but the last few times have been a bit disappointing. Menu change is so so. Miss some of the great items.
Service is still good. Hope they bring back some of the favorites!

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Staff was great. Super attentive and everything came out quickly. We were running late on our reservation and they stayed open a little longer do us. Food and dessert were really good. Glad we made it out there on our trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Tasty food with unique presentation. Lots of locals so it must be good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very busy night and our server was not very fast. My meal was a special pork shank which came out almost cold, luke warm.
Not a value for a strip mall dining establishment, however it was a Friday night in a popular vacation area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The Salmon BLT was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The Rio Grill is and has always been one of our favorite restaurants. The food and drinks are amazing and inventive. I highly recommend the Blood Orange Chipotle Margarita along with the Red Chile Bison Shortribs for anyone who has a taste for dishes with a Southwestern flair. The grilled artichoke is always our favorite starter, and the desserts are a perfect finish to the meal, IF you have room for them.
Thanks to Chef Cy Yontz and the Rio Grill staff for another fine dining experience. Chef Yontz will be providing a luncheon at the Santa Fe Wine and Chile Fiesta in New Mexico this September that is highly anticipated by his fans.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Meeting an old friend I had not seen for 30 years. The waitress was so happy and delighted for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The mashed potatoes and prime rib were luke warm at best Did not know there was a "Spicy sauce" on the meat, was a special and were not told. Took away from the smoked flavor of the meat Would have liked on the side. Desserts were amazing

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Everything we've ordered at Rio Grill has been outstanding! I highly recommend the artichoke appetizer. It's by far the best artichoke I've ever had. Mondays are 1/2 price for bottles of wine, which is a definite plus too. We are here in Carmel for a month, and I'm sure we will frequent Rio Grill often during our stay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The bison short ribs were not good. Tasted fatty and the celery mixture with them didn't complement the dish.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Rio Grill is a fine though informal dining experience. The ambiance is most inviting with wonderful art decorating the restaurant. The strong southwestern influences on the food are superbly executed and worth going out of your way to enjoy. The duck breast and tamale with a red chili sauce is outstanding - not to be missed.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.