Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Rio Grill

Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass.
For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at www.riogrill.com. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 4:00PM.

101 Crossroads Boulevard
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rio Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 625-5436

Website:
http://www.riogrill.com/

Parking Details:
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.

Public Transit:
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cy Yontz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

Rio Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fireplace (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Romantic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Spicy (4)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Very noisy space. We were a party of six and had a hard time carrying on a conversation. Will return to Rio Grill but with a party of four

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Disappointed! Has gone from good to just ok. the first time we ate there was at least a C+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our very favorite in Carmel. Best food, service, ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food, Drink, & Service always great! A true local gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I love the Rio Grill but our party our seven could hardly wait for the corned beef for St. Patrick's Day and guess what? By seven p.m. they were out of it and so two of us were REALLY disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food. We were there for St. Patrick's Day and the best corned beef ravioli with a mustard create sauce and well and corned beef and cabbage. Bet waiter ever... Jared. Made the meal a treat!!

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've been to Rio Grill a couple of times; this time went there for a family get-together with out-of-towners and they were impressed. Decor is colorful but not tacky. The ambience is always nice, warm and fun. It was noisy at dinner, but the noise is never too boisterous or deafening, and the tables are far enough apart we get some privacy. Waiter was friendly and pleasant, though he seemed a little stretched and frazzled. Bread is always fantastic! Great seafood chowder, unique to Rio Grill. Good artichoke. Our entrees were all flavorful and portions were filling, but seafood pastas were a bit overpriced. And for the price the execution could have been better, e.g., pork shank was beautifully crisped but a bit dry inside. Didn't try dessert because we were all in a food coma by the end. Overall, an experience worth repeating if you feel like splurging.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was fabulous. We really enjoyed the grilled artichoke and the risotto was amazing. Our server, Jared is one of the best around.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We loved it. We took my son there with a friend and they were so good with us! The food is delicious, reasonably priced, great environment. We will be back very soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place for an intimate dinner or family affair. My friend and I met up to have a girls'night out and never imagined how delicious the food would be (skirt steak, my friends) the thoughtful and local wine list and very attentive service. I have lived in Carmel for over 30 years and the Rio Grill has never disappointed. It's always perfect.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service. The crispy pork shank was amazing! Tables are small and too close together., no privacy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were at Rio Grill for brunch. While my husband liked his carnitas omelet, I did not like the green eggs & ham sandwich. The choice of bread (ciabbata) was too heavy & impossible to saw through. I asked the server for a substitute, softer bread but was told there was only a hamburger bun, which I thought was very odd.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious, wait staff ok, but overly inattentive & a little inept.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Never disappointed !

The only complaint is the last three times when reserved on open table, I did not receive the 100 points even though I checked in with the hostess and my confirmation #.

The points cannot be rewarded after the fact.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good mexican food. Very generous portions and excellent quality. Very good value!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food. Great value. Corkage fee waived if you buy a bottle. One of our absolute favs in Carmel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friendly wait staff, great food & service! The Roasted Banana Cake dessert was amazing!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The food here was wonderful and our server, Jared, was more than awesome! Made suggestions that were so right on!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Cozy, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was really good. Had the prime steak and scallops with pork belly. Extra effort was made in the preparation. The cocktails are excellent. Good selection of wine. Nice to not have to go into the heart of Carmel to park and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I love the Rio Grill. And everyone that I have either recommended to it, or taken them to it, has had a wonderful experience. Food is always super good, and more importantly, consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

So glad my husband and I made a same day reservation for a Saturday night. Good thing, the no-reservation wait was an hour. Happy to get our cozy table. They were out of the first two menu choices. My hubby had to change his wine selection to go with a third choice and they accommodated. Loved the bacon dust on the wedge salad. The calamari was solid with a flavorful (but garlicky) dip. The pork shank and skirt steak were very different and both amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food. Great atmosphere, cozy yet chic. This will become a favorite for us.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Rio Grill and its sister restaurant Tarpy's Roadhouse are dining experiences that will not disappoint you.
The best burger in town at Rio Grill. The roasted chicken dinner is one of my favs. Can be noisy at times because of the size.
Nothing better than seated in the outdoor patio at Tarpy's enjoying the best Cobb salad ever! Sunday Brunch very enjoyable as well.
Great specials at both restaurants, farm to table, organically delicious.
Don't miss the Ollaliberry pie with Vanilla ice cream.
Good martini's and wine list.
Service accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

If you order the artichoke and the ribs, you'll go away happy. Everything else can be risky. We come here a couple of times a year, and when I don't order the tried and true, I'm disappointed. This time it was the duck breast that the staff talked up. Maybe I got a bad piece, but my portion was a dud-- just a few slices with a lot of fat and grizzle. Yuck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We come to Carmel a couple of times a year. Rio is now one of our favorite dining spots. It is worth going across Hwy 1. The people are always friendly. I just had one of the bests pork chops with polenta that I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Have eaten there twice. Calamari was good as was the chicken salad. The service is decent. Our first occasion the waiter was attentive half the time and absent the second half of the the meal. The second time I ate there the waitress was ambivalent and not attentive. A little hit or miss so I'd like to see some improvement there.

I find that if you need a quick bite and you're looking for decent food that isn't egregiously overpriced, (which is not always easy to come by in Carmel,) this is a good choice.

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Don't waste your time. Great 20 years ago. Awful now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always have a good time, the food is very good, always consistent
Easy parking
Family friendly or great for "date night"

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Restaurant prepared table for my wife's birthday but waiter never once acknowledged her special occasion. He was pretty much out or just had no personality to be serving. Food was ok but not great. Steak was expensive and undercooked. Glass of wine and sparkling wine are expensive

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food here delicious. We went early on New Years Eve, the place was packed and rather loud but the service was quite good and the food -- especially the fire roasted artichoke will bring us back next time we are in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Rio always is good food, great service, and lots of fun! We are locals, and our family , extended family and friends have been eating there for 30+ years. Great management and long-time employees! PS...it is loud...but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful service! The skirt steak was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Restaurant was really loud. Waiter came by once every 30 minutes. We asked bussers for service. Food was room temperature. Pasta was gummy. Shrimp was undercooked and gooey. Ribs were crazy tough. Won't be back. Sad, because I've been going for 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a joy to dine here :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always reliable quality food and service. Probably 50% of diners are local. Wine list is ok, but overpriced even for Carmel,

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was our Anniversary and they went out of their way to get us a semi private quiet table. They had a heart drawn on the table and rose petals surrounding it. Service was outstanding only issue was that the rib eye was not rare as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a good experience eating at The Rio Grill. The service was good as well as the food.
Ribs were tasty ( more coleslaw would have been good) lemon tart was small but nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We had a nice lunc, but it is a loud venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This place was amazing. The food was top notch and the service was great. Half off bottle of wine on mondays!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The location doesn't really fit the the great food they serve here. We were in a party of 4 and every dish we ordered was fantastic! First, we ordered empañadas. Yum!!!! The arugula salad was so tasty, I wanted to lick the dressing off the plate. Heehee. The chinese chicken salad is not your regular chicken salad. This one comes with dark noodles amd is very intimidating when you see it. But delicious!! The duck breast is served with chilaquilles and mole....WHAT?!! Again, YUM!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.