Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Rio Grill

Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at www.riogrill.com. The restaurant opens for lunch M-F at 11:30-4pm with brunch on Sat & Sun from 11:30 – 3pm. Dinner nightly from 4pm-9:30pm with Happy Hour M-F & Sun 4pm - 6:30pm!

101 Crossroads Boulevard
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 9:30pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm; Happy Hour: Monday-Friday & Sunday 4:00pm - 6:30pm

Cross Street:
Rio Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 625-5436

Website:
http://www.riogrill.com/

Parking Details:
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.

Public Transit:
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cy Yontz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

Rio Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (32)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Business Meals (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
993 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything we've ordered at Rio Grill has been outstanding! I highly recommend the artichoke appetizer. It's by far the best artichoke I've ever had. Mondays are 1/2 price for bottles of wine, which is a definite plus too. We are here in Carmel for a month, and I'm sure we will frequent Rio Grill often during our stay.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Rio Grill is a fine though informal dining experience. The ambiance is most inviting with wonderful art decorating the restaurant. The strong southwestern influences on the food are superbly executed and worth going out of your way to enjoy. The duck breast and tamale with a red chili sauce is outstanding - not to be missed.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

We bailed on the 1:45 wait at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch Restaurant, and am glad we did. Rather than eating overpriced basic steakhouse fair, we were treated to a wonderful meal.

OMG - The lamb shank was out of this world. I am a lamb shank connoisseur and these folks know how to put a brilliant twist on a classic dish.

The chocolate flourless cake was #%*%ing incredible.

Go...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Fantastic..as usual..we eat here each time we visit Carmel Valley..about 3 times a year

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Been enjoying for past 38 years.
Never disappointed. Consistency is unique. Food is delicious.
Rene John

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Rio Grill is a comfortable place to meet up with friends for an evening of feeling well attended to be the staff! Cocktails made to order and wine very good. We 4 ALL loved, loved our meals. My husband said it was the best steak he has ever had. I had the half chicken and I'm not kidding you when I say it too, it was the best chicken recipe I have ever had. It is such a pleasure to go to a "Real-Food Restaurant" ...this is really a mouth tasting sensation. Try it...I promise you you'll love it!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I am so happy that we found The Rio Grill online. His is a very unique restaurant. The decor and ambiance put you in a great mood. The staff does and great job. They are really top notch. The food is incredible. My family was high giving me after this dinner. Great choice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2017

From the minute we walk in, our sweet hostess is always so accommodating. We visit Rio Grill often and enjoy our entire experience, from the staff to the food. Always spot on-never disappointed! Ismael is a fantastic sever!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Quite noisy. Not enough non-spicy entrees to suit my date. Fancy presentation on my meal (pork shank), but the eating didn't quite measure up to the presentation. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Rio is our go to favorite while visiting Carmel. Food is supurb great atmosphere, and you can actually park near the resturant.
It just wouldn't be Carmel with out a visit here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was my birthday and they put curly confetti on the table. Looked like a celebration when I got there. Food was magnificent, creative and inventive. Sadly no birthday dessert, but waiter did put candle on the ice cream. Loved the evening. Terrific waiter as well.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Rio is part of our annual visits to Carmel. It's like coming home. You're welcomed as a valued guest, served consistently high quality cuisine at a reasonable price, with a level of service second to none. It's one of those rare restaurants where you leave with a great feeling, year after year.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Can't beat The Rio for overall vibe. Smoked chicken, a signature dish, was a little off but the pork belly appetizer and deserts made up for it. Lots of newer faces in there for me which is good but anchored by long tine friend Alexis makes it feel like home turf. I wish my office was still nearby but going back to The Rio makes it even more special

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

we had a horrible experience at rio, the staff gave the wrong drink to my daughter which it had alcohol. not ever coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Haven't been here in some years but the artichoke was everything wonderful that I had remembered. The poblano chile stuffed with quinoa and salsa with an enchilada type red sauce was wonderful. Hubby's ribs were great. The iced tea was flavorful and light. Sissy had spicy margarita, to die for. Loved our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wonderful food and great service. We were first-time diners and will definitely return on our next visit to Carmel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The artichoke was to die for. best ever. Required to go back just for that although the rest of the menu was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, People Watching, Vegan, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

It's the best! We come to Carmel once a year, and we always go to Rio Grill

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Dinner was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 13, 2017

When I set a date for a catch up lunch with my girlfriends .... we nearly always head to Rio Grill. We can linger as long as we want to and the service is ALWAYS outstanding. Menu is varied; something for everybody. Great wine list too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 10, 2017

You can always rely on Rio Grill for great service from the moment you enter the restaurant, delicious, creative food, fun atmosphere and good value. We always choose Rio and we are never disappointed! Thank you Rio Grill folks!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Rio Grill for 25 years. It's always great. I have never had a bad dish. I will always go back and strongly recommend Rio Grill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I asked two times for the "music" to be turned down because we could not hear each other across a table for two. Finally it was turned down a bit, but not enough for adult conversation. The food is always good, and the service is too....if only they could do without the nearly deafening music.
I'll have to find another place to meet associates for lunch...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Late pm dinning for this area. Solid food. Great service. All on a Sunday pm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We are in Carmel for one week each year and we always eat there twice. We love it. Food is always good, best artichokes ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

One of the better meals that I have ever had. The duck breast is great, its sauce is perfect. Every other dish is so delicious. Roasted banana cake is the best. Service is great with the right amount of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Calamari was good but a somewhat skimpy size. Prawns and pasta was wonderful. There were six in our party and everyone loved their dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We have frequented this restaurant on many occasions and food and service have been fairly consistent. However, on this occasion we discovered that the menu had changed. Based on the limited items that we found to be appealing I went with "Rio's special" Chinese Chicken Salad. It was very disappointing with far too much dressing. Based on the competition in the Carmel area I thought that the price for meal and drinks was not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Been going here for years and its always good. Get the grilled artichoke!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Have to wait about 20min. The lady at the front apolizied for the wait and offer a complimentary appetizer because we have to wait, great gesture. Server Nick was very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and at least three other staffs checked with us during our meal to make sure everthing was good. Before we walked out of the restaurant, another staff came after us within half a minute to return a wallet we left behind.......can't get better service than that. Definitely will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Have been to Rio many times. Food gets spicier with each visit. The new and shorter menu us great. Our server Chris was fantastic but had too many tables to handle. Great dinner!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've eaten here multiple times, but years ago. We were disappointed in the food. We like spicy, but everything (including the petrale) was way too spicy 🌶. I mean lip tingling, tongue on fire spicy. So - if you like "hot". Go for it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Rio Grill has been a reliable and delightful local for our friends and family for years. Mother's Day was the first disappointment I have experienced. Our mother had asked specifically for a dish to be modified, (she want an avocado only sandwich) She was served the incorrect sandwich 2 times. which delayed our dining and our food became cold. I will still return to Rio Grill in the future, however, I will be paying closer attention to ensuring my order is understood.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been dining here one or twice a year for 25 years. Food is always fine, but this time service was slow and unorganized. The table was ready at reservation time which was nice.
I will go back but I am not in a rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I've been eating there since it opened, and it is consistently good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Good location in popular mall. Very nice art objects. Hamburger and ribs. Hamburger was generous with onions, pickles, lettuce, tomato and fries. Baby back ribs were well prepared. Good not great. Go anyway.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is one of my favorite go-to places on the Peninsula. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've eaten here a number of times. While generally reliable, the food this last time seemed overpriced and uninspired. When my son asked for a dinner sized spinach salad, we were charged $35. To their credit, they adjusted that after we complained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I was pleased with the food but horrified with the service. I was charged twice for my bill. When I noticed the second charge I went back to the restaurant and spoke to the manager. I expressed my concern and she said that it's just how debit cards work. Well I've used my card for other restaurants and I have never been charged twice. She then told me that she has an honest staff and that my card would show only one charge in 3 to 4 days I was shocked because I never accused her staff of anything. I just wanted my money back. She then told me to leave her my number and she would check the charges. She said thank you for coming in. Mean while I have almost 200 dollars on hold on my account. I was told I had to wait. This makes no since to me. I used a gift card and that was subtracted but when it was subtracted my card was charged a second time. That is not how you should do business. So they have lost a family of six that will not return to this restaurant no matter how the food tasted. Also, My uncle was called a door man while entering the restaurant by a white woman just because he was being polite. Then got a strange look from her. My uncle is a handsome black man. We then got strange looks from people in the restaurant. Which we thought was odd. So, we became uncomfortable. One table was greeted by asking them if they wanted wine and were shared the specials for the day. Our table was not greeted the same way So! you can read under the lines how this restaurant roll. So as I was excited to take my family to a special place and buy their dinner. I was then disappointed by the service and the non-concern about the two charges on my account. Today is Monday and I am still being charged for the second charge. So now I have to deal with my bank.
POOR SERVICE

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Everything good except we were seated near the bar area and was very noisy in this area. Would request back room next time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.