About Rio Grill

101 Crossroads Boulevard
Carmel, CA 93923
View Larger Map

Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years.
Chef Yontz’ creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite!
In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant’s famous "Rio Rita.” The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass.
For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at www.riogrill.com. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 10:00 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 – 4:00PM.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Rio Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 625-5436

Website:
http://www.riogrill.com/

Parking Details:
The Rio Grill offers plenty of convenient parking.

Public Transit:
Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Cy Yontz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
At Rio Grill, we will provide an unforgettable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. With the newly refurbished Santa Fe Room and Chef Yontz’s fantastic food, we will accommodate all your personal and corporate event needs.

Restaurant Photos

smoked pork belly - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Blistered Chiles - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Buffalo Carpaccio - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Duck Breast w/ Duck Confit Tamale - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
empanadas - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Blood Orange Margarita - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Grilled Flatbread - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Empanadaditas De Carne - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Fire roasted artichoke with aioli sauce - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Olallieberry Pie - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Chinese Chicken Salad - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Dr. Pepper Braised Beef Short Ribs - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Caramelized Banana Sundae - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Smoked Pork Tenderloin - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Bread Pudding - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Braised Short Ribs - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Beef Empanadas - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Artichoke - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Stuffed Poblano Pepper - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Crispy Pork Shank With Red Pepper Mashed Potatoes - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Papa Hemingway's Daquiri - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Cream Of Broccoli Soup - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Castroville Artichoke - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Ice Cream - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Red Chili Beer Braised Short Ribs - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Smoked Chicken - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Grilled Prawns On Penne Pasta - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Russet Potato Skins - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Onion Strings - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA
Veal Liver and Onions - Rio Grill, Carmel, CA

Private Dining

At Rio Grill, we will provide a memorable experience and take care of all the details for your next event. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding reception, Rio Grill is Carmel’s best restaurant for a special occasion.

Rio Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Carmel ›

Special Occasion (26)
Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's simply too noisy to enjoy a convers ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

It's simply too noisy to enjoy a conversation. The food is good as well as the service. It continues to deliver on all aspects of casual dining except for the noise which has grown worse and worse over the years. We finally struggled enough and, after many years; we decided not to go back there again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Artichoke appetizer is great! I had the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Artichoke appetizer is great! I had the stuffed poblano and it was very flavorful. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Rio Grill continues to be on our regular ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Rio Grill continues to be on our regular go-to list in Carmel. The staff is always friendly and efficient. The menu offers many good choices. All of the food offers interesting combinations of tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bar has great atmosphere! Appetizers in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Bar has great atmosphere! Appetizers including artichoke were excellent. One of my favorites was the green bean side. The stuffed pablano pepper was mediocre.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Can't get enough of the pumpkin seed sal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Can't get enough of the pumpkin seed salmon and mocha flan. Consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our food was wonderful, but our server w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our food was wonderful, but our server was quite slow and inattentive. We had to signal her when we needed service several times and the entire dinner took about 2 hours. I had also called ahead of time to find out about gluten free options for a child. There weren't quite as many options as I had been led to believe, although the child was perfectly happy with the artichoke and a bunless burger. And the fries were not flour coated, so that was good. Wine prices are quite high, although we were fortunate to be there on half price wine Mondays.

Tags: Spicy, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Wonderful meal. Salmon covered in pumpk ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Wonderful meal. Salmon covered in pumpkin seeds was expertly cooked and presented. Service was excellent. A little noisy, but all in all worth the trip.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Corkage fee was a bit too high, otherwis ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Corkage fee was a bit too high, otherwise very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The owner was immediately welcoming us a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The owner was immediately welcoming us and the waiter was superb. Terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Servi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Service is too slow for families.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

longstanding favorite; many spicy and or ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

longstanding favorite; many spicy and original dishes

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Haven't been to Rio Grill in many many y ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Haven't been to Rio Grill in many many years but was told by a friend that the menu was greatly improved. Very true, and we enjoyed all of our selections: good crab cakes, lovely calamari (with tentacles which is what we like) with a terrific tangy dipping sauce, good but slightly chewy skirt steak, very nice scallops, and shrimp linguini. All mains had good portions of well prepared tasty sides. We only had room enough to share one chocolate pudding, rich enough to be satisfied with a little bite.

Smoked salmon bruscetta was not a good idea (smoked salmon overcooked).

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pork chop was excellent, hamburger was d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Pork chop was excellent, hamburger was dry and cold; pumpkin cheesecake a big disappointment; service friendly and good.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined here many times over the y ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We have dined here many times over the years, and we always have a delicious meal, and a nice dining experience. They have a great menu, with something for everyone.

Tip: come on Monday night and all bottles of wine are 50% off.....really a great deal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Randy and our busboy Christia ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our waiter Randy and our busboy Christian were both the best! Great recommendations and delicious food !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredibly slow. Never offer ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Service was incredibly slow. Never offered water until I nearly finished my beer (end of meal). It seemed like every table had a bread (complimentary) plate. We never received one. When the waiter finally came by we ordered drinks, app and meals all together.

Food and drinks were exceptional.

Likely won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Old fashioned, heavy food, reasonably we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Old fashioned, heavy food, reasonably well prepared. Certainly nothing special. Restaurant is quiet and service friendly and efficient. Food is not terrible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Rio Grill has been our favorite Monterey ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Rio Grill has been our favorite Monterey Peninsula restaurant for many years. Parking is plentiful in the shopping center. Menu is Southwestern focused with California fresh sourced ingredients. Not to be missed is the grilled artichoke with an herbed basalmic olive oil and side aioli dip, Meat empanadas were tasty. Garden salad with curry vinaigrette was yummy. The duck entree had a unique southwestern influence with squash tamal and mole sauce. The skin was reminiscent of Chinese roast duck. The duck was ordered medium rare and was. But the meat was on the chewy side and not easy to cut with the steak knife. Decor is modern SW and noise level was moderate. Service was spot on, friendly and professional.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every time we visit Carmel from the east ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Every time we visit Carmel from the east bay, we plan on lunch or dinner at Rio Grill. Their menu is ALWAYS a treat and the service is excellent. Expand your horizons.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by waiter and waitstaff. O ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great service by waiter and waitstaff. Our party of 7 included two boys 8 and 5 and they were happy with the kids menu. We hadn't been here for a while--found food much improved.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really wanted to like Rip Grill, but i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I really wanted to like Rip Grill, but it simply isn't that great. The food ranges from pretty good to mediocre. Service was very good and Monday half-price wine nights are great. Go on Monday.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A delightful find! Seated within 3-4 mi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 24, 2016

A delightful find! Seated within 3-4 minutes of our arrival thanks to open table reservation. Dinner for 6 good friends with a menu to fit all our dietary needs. Absolutely excellent fish! Attentive and knowledgeable server. We can see why Rio Grill is a neighborhood favorite

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The skirt steak is excellent; salmon als ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The skirt steak is excellent; salmon also looked like a very good option. Everything was very fresh, beer was tasty ( Coronado IPA in a bottle) and wine list pretty extensive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Attentive service and good food. Beet s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Attentive service and good food. Beet salad was delicious but a little heavy on the dressing. Filet was also excellent. The bone-in steak made for great presentation, but the bone added nothing to the taste and was difficult to cut around. I would go back and I would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. The food was not fresh. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Disappointing. The food was not fresh. Maybe "rewarmed". Mine was spicy. Not tasty. Service was slow although the restaurant was not busy.

Restaurant is located in a strip mall. View is a parking lot. No towels in the rest room either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Always consistent in quality. Food sele ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always consistent in quality. Food selection is spot on perfect . Very attentive staff as well as their presentation . Their salmon melts in your mouth while making your taste buds crave for more.

Very nice selection of wines, mixed drinks and other beverages.

Highly recommended for business or pleasure .

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our mea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Rio Grill. Our food was great, and our waiter, Theo, was simply amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun casual place for dining. Margaritas ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Fun casual place for dining.

Margaritas need some improvement. ...all of us thought they were a bit TOO tart.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Tapas, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It took us one and one half hours to ord ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It took us one and one half hours to order and get our food. Kitchen appeared to be seriously backed up. The place was so noisy it was difficult to carry on a conversation. The food was good and the wait person did her best.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food. Try the artichoke! Wonderful ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food. Try the artichoke! Wonderful. Excellent service. It is noisy!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Artichoke appetizers are the best, some ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Artichoke appetizers are the best, some entrees were disappointing this time though, too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wait staff acted clueless

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Wait staff acted clueless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

My favorite restaurant since the mid 80s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My favorite restaurant since the mid 80s. We go back whenever we visit the area and have never been disappointed. Loved the empanadas this trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked The Rio Grill solely on review ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We picked The Rio Grill solely on reviews in OT. Having just arrived in Carmel after a long day of travel, we were tired and hungry. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meal they prepared. I had the duck breast with duck confit tamale over apple jicama slaw with mole sauce. What flavor. The duck breast was cooked to perfection! My wife had the pork chop served with a spicy polenta, green beans and sautéed mushrooms. It was also excellent.

We would definitely return and recommend Rio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's was a great local scene. Good food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It's was a great local scene. Good food and service. I would definently go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Over and over, they never fail food that ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Over and over, they never fail food that's tasty in an atmosphere that just feels right.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Carmel! We st ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Carmel! We stop in every time we're in town and are always thrilled with the food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rio Grill is still a great place to eat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Rio Grill is still a great place to eat ! We have been going

since it opened over 30 yrs ago. This was our first time back

in 16 yrs and its still delicious. Only thing missing was the

roasted garlic they used to serve with the bread. Fabulous

pumpkin seed crusted salmon is not to be missed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my wife's birthday and the hostes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 12, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and the hostess brought over ribbons and our server Nick D was fabulous. We live in the Bay area, but will go back again to celebrate next year

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our great experience started w the hoste ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our great experience started w the hostess and our server, Nick. They were very friendly, very accommodating and provided terrific service. And the food was amazing. It was really wonderful because they knew it was my husband's birthday (Optional Open Table info) and we waited just a minute or two as they made sure our table was festive. Oh, and don't forget to order a dessert!! We'll go back for sure!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.