Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree

The Rio provides sanctuary from the problems of the world while serving the best dang margaritas and Mexican food this side of the Rio Grande. Fresh Tex-Mex Cuisine is created in house everyday. We are known for our legendary margaritas and our festive atmosphere. We aim to create a family friendly environment and provide weekly entertainment for inexpensive social outings.

9535 Park Meadows Dr
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Yosemite

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 799-4999

Website:
http://riograndemexican.com/details/locations.aspx?id=1&loc=6

Entertainment:
Sunday: Family Appreciation Night and Kids Eat Free


Monday thru Friday: Happy Hour from 3-6pm with $3 tacos, $3 drafts, $3 appetizers and $1 off margaritas!


Parking Details:
Large parking lots surrounding the building

Public Transit:
Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away.
Light rail on County Line is one mile away.

Executive Chef:
William Herrera

Private Party Facilities:
Seriously good Mexican food, legendary margaritas and the perfect private dining spot for your next event! We can host intimate gatherings for groups of 20 or large events for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Sabrina Ralston: (888) 653-1794

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
See All
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Spicy (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Really good food and drink! Service was fast and people are very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent restaurant. A little on the noisy side. Good food. Short wait.We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our waiter could not R.E.M. we who had ordered drinks , who had ordered what meal, did not refill drinks. It was a mess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been a regular at Rio for years. But since they remodeled and reduced the dining area and changed the menu and food portions, we have been disappointed. You are packed in the dining room like sardines. We saw 2 servers run into other workers or guests and drop their plates/glasses making a mess. This is due to the tight spaces now in the dining room. The noise level is far too loud, not very enjoyable. They changed the portion size of their food items (i.e., quesadillas are much smaller know and the price is either the same or more). They changed their chips recipe. They taste stale and old. The only consistent thing is the margaritas which are very good. Overall, we are not as excited to go to Rio like we used to be. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best TexMex in south Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great patio, service was good, chips, salsa &drinks refilled without asking, food out quickly. Great place to meet friends or dine with the family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fajitas are horrible for the price. Food service is slow. The only redeeming quality here is the margaritas

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great margaritas and fajitas!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food, Spicy, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It is so dirty. Please clean up the joint so we can come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was very disappointing. My fish tacos were bland and soggy. And the fish was overcooked. Other people at the table had different items and were also not happy. On a positive note, I accidentally gave my server $50 instead of $20 and she brought it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a terrible experience. In the bar we ordered 1 margarita each. We were served a pitcher. I was in the bathroom when it was delivered, so my husband thought I must have ordered that or perhaps that is how they serve a margarita for 2. Then we got the bill, ouch! The bar was also too breezy, we felt chilly.
Dinner was late, medium temperature, did not taste fresh. By end of meal, music was tooooo loud. I would not recommend this restaurant based on these issues. It wasnt just one thing, but many.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Gluten free options are great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The margaritas were boozy but too sweet. I had the jalapeno and silver coin margs. No heat with the jalapeno one. Food was fair. Nothing soecial about the chicken burrito. Service adewuate, not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been going here every weekend for 5 years.Since the renovation,it is so noisy. The portions have gotten smaller but more expensive.We are very disappointed with the changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was OK..margaritas were the best part.Fajitas we ordered were a grande size...when the came,they were the same size as the lunch portion.Was an OK experience,but I don't plan on going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The house margaritas were horrible, I don't think they every clean the machine. We sent them back and ordered the premium ones, the server was great and made sure we did not get charged for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The quesadillas were good, but the burritos were sub-par. We had a team of 10 people ordering, and the food took a while to come out. None of the people ordering burritos at our table liked it.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The margs are timeless. Can't go wrong. Great patio area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food at Rio is ok at best. We have been there a few times over the years because it is right next to the movie theater and I am underwhelmed every time. Great drinks though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was terrible and food matched. I ordered the fish tacos. When they arrived I asked the waitress if I could get some extra sauce that was drizzled on top. The waitress said yes but then came back and said "I just typed it in the computer and it's $2 for more so I'm sure you don't want it." When I asked why it was $2 she said "because they make it in house daily and it's really good". Wow. Sour cream mixed with lime juice and pepper. Must be tough for the chef. Maybe you can exchange the mush that is their Mexican rice for a spoonful of Crema. Or the hard as a rock corn tortillas. Adios, rio grande.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was very disappointing, very crowded and to loud to enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The presentation of the food on the plate was artistic but the flavor was absent. I had fish tacos. The fish was plentiful and cooked nicely but the mango sauce was mostly absent and undetectable in taste. My husband had tortilla soup which was flavorless as well. No ancho child flavor at all. But the margaritas were very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Consistently great food and margaritas. Love going to Rio

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love this place!!! Especially the staff. They are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Overall, this place is good. I do believe it is a little over priced for the meal. Had the steak fajitas, but the meat was cold. Waited for the server, which she was busy, but after a 6-7 minute wait, I just ate them before it got worse. Seems they may be remodeling with the walls a plain white so maybe this has something to do with it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love what they have done with the remodel ! Still one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The new digs are not clean. Very disappointed. Also the waiter was horrible. We had to ask to order and get another round of drinks. Very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My third time here and the food is just not as good as the downtown location. Our service was pretty horrible. Save yourself the time and just go to the downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very disappointed after the "remodel". Completely changed the great, comfortable feel the restaurant used to have. Now it just feels loud and crowded.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was so excited for blood orange margarita, I missed the promo but staff was still wearing Tshirt's that advertised them. It's was loud, food was not at all worth the cost (if I am make it better it ain't worth goin out for)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A little noisy, but we were close to the middle of the restaurant. Girls night out so we weren't exactly quiet. Lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food and margs are always good. Server was very slow but pleasant. I'm not thrilled with the renovation. It makes the place seem a bit cramped now. All in all, we had a nice time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great food, great margaritas, and great service. I always enjoy my dinner here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great kids menu, good standard Mexican dishes, fun range of cocktails

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent!! Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Rio Grande in downtown Denver is much better.
The quality of the food was not as good along with the ambience.
Would not go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Still the best margaritas and food. But the reconstruction making the restaurant smaller WAS A TERRIBLE IDEA. They reduced the dining space in half. You are sitting elbow to elbow with the table next to you. They jammed the tables in the dining area. Noise level is ridiculous. Wish they would have left the space alone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had reservations and were taken to our table quickly. The server attended to our needs but it was obvious she was extremely busy. We were contemplating ordering desert but the server never even asked if we wanted any. Our table was being cleaned out from under us as the bill was being delivered. So, we left without desert. I understand you want to clear tables for those who might be waiting (there wasn't a line when we left) but there was a missed opportunity for a sale and I won't be in a hurry go to back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went for dinner before a movie. Have done this many times in the past and it was always great. This time they did not have a table very close to the reservation time, the waiter disappeared a lot, the food took over 30 minutes to come out and when it came out it was cold. They just went through a big renovation at this location and I hope they get back to where they were quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was great made for a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.