Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree

The Rio provides sanctuary from the problems of the world while serving the best dang margaritas and Mexican food this side of the Rio Grande. Fresh Tex-Mex Cuisine is created in house everyday. We are known for our legendary margaritas and our festive atmosphere. We aim to create a family friendly environment and provide weekly entertainment for inexpensive social outings.

9535 Park Meadows Dr
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Yosemite

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 799-4999

Website:
http://riograndemexican.com/details/locations.aspx?id=1&loc=6

Entertainment:
Sunday: Family Appreciation Night and Kids Eat Free


Monday thru Friday: Happy Hour from 3-6pm with $3 tacos, $3 drafts, $3 appetizers and $1 off margaritas!


Parking Details:
Large parking lots surrounding the building

Public Transit:
Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away.
Light rail on County Line is one mile away.

Executive Chef:
William Herrera

Private Party Facilities:
Seriously good Mexican food, legendary margaritas and the perfect private dining spot for your next event! We can host intimate gatherings for groups of 20 or large events for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Sabrina Ralston: (888) 653-1794

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (5)
Family Style (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, this place is good. I do believe it is a little over priced for the meal. Had the steak fajitas, but the meat was cold. Waited for the server, which she was busy, but after a 6-7 minute wait, I just ate them before it got worse. Seems they may be remodeling with the walls a plain white so maybe this has something to do with it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love what they have done with the remodel ! Still one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The new digs are not clean. Very disappointed. Also the waiter was horrible. We had to ask to order and get another round of drinks. Very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My third time here and the food is just not as good as the downtown location. Our service was pretty horrible. Save yourself the time and just go to the downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very disappointed after the "remodel". Completely changed the great, comfortable feel the restaurant used to have. Now it just feels loud and crowded.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Was so excited for blood orange margarita, I missed the promo but staff was still wearing Tshirt's that advertised them. It's was loud, food was not at all worth the cost (if I am make it better it ain't worth goin out for)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A little noisy, but we were close to the middle of the restaurant. Girls night out so we weren't exactly quiet. Lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and margs are always good. Server was very slow but pleasant. I'm not thrilled with the renovation. It makes the place seem a bit cramped now. All in all, we had a nice time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food, great margaritas, and great service. I always enjoy my dinner here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great kids menu, good standard Mexican dishes, fun range of cocktails

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent!! Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Rio Grande in downtown Denver is much better.
The quality of the food was not as good along with the ambience.
Would not go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Still the best margaritas and food. But the reconstruction making the restaurant smaller WAS A TERRIBLE IDEA. They reduced the dining space in half. You are sitting elbow to elbow with the table next to you. They jammed the tables in the dining area. Noise level is ridiculous. Wish they would have left the space alone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations and were taken to our table quickly. The server attended to our needs but it was obvious she was extremely busy. We were contemplating ordering desert but the server never even asked if we wanted any. Our table was being cleaned out from under us as the bill was being delivered. So, we left without desert. I understand you want to clear tables for those who might be waiting (there wasn't a line when we left) but there was a missed opportunity for a sale and I won't be in a hurry go to back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went for dinner before a movie. Have done this many times in the past and it was always great. This time they did not have a table very close to the reservation time, the waiter disappeared a lot, the food took over 30 minutes to come out and when it came out it was cold. They just went through a big renovation at this location and I hope they get back to where they were quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server was great made for a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just okay, nothing to write home about. The menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best margarita that I have ever had. Server was great and on top of things. Food was nice and hot and very good

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We took my folks there for a combined birthday lunch. We have been many times and the great food and service keeps us coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best margaritas ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome as usual. Great margaritas, tacos, burritos, queso

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve, early. Great enchiladas and margarita. The rio is out go-to place when dining out. They the guan too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Got us to our table early. Drinks were good and strong. Food came out quick even though they were very busy and was very good. Very open restaurant so very loud but fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My Mexican food taste runs to the "gringo" side so I found things a bit spicy. My family laughs at me. But their margaritas are worth every penny, and only $6/ea at Happy Hour.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fast service, good food, and our waitress Jodi was great.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great mexican food - margaritas are delicious. The Spicy green chili on the steak enchiladas is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was great as well. music was too loud.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Steak very chewy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love the Rio, but there were large parties and not enough staff tonight. Sat immediately but waited almost 20 minutes for a waiter who only came by after we asked for some help. Order took almost 30 minutes for 2 burritos, no one checked on us for more drinks or chips until our food arrived. Staff was clearly outnumbered tonight - our waiter apologized and we didn't thin it was his fault, he needed more help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Horrible service! Ordered the large fajitas, for $3 more you get one additional piece of meat, ridiculous! After telling the waitress the manager comes over says hi and walks away. Not solving the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very affordable happy hour food and margs. House margs are pretty amazing which is a refreshing change from most house margs. We like the bar so we haven't even been in the restaurant yet, but it looks intimate/nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our group of 6 sat on the patio which looks out over the parking lot but there was plenty of room and the wait staff was friendly and accommodating. None of us ordered anything very adventurous (e.g. chicken burritos and tostadas, guac,chips and marqs) so maybe that was the problem. The tostadas were mostly lettuce piled on top of minimal chicken and beans and they didn't have much flavor so we piled on green chili, salsa, and hot sauce. The side of beans were extra salty but I'm told the marqs were very good. All in all, just an okay experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good margs. Spicy salsa. I tried a new dish that wasn't my fav. Good rice! Good chile too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

All around very nice. Food was great. We were very happy that this restaurant would let us make a reservation. We were going to a movie and making a reservation made timing easy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was mediocre. It lacked flavor and spice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We have been eating at the Rio Grande for many years (and I mean many), and have been pleased with the food and level of service, but all of the sudden this location has turned for the worse. The food was absolutely terrible! Several of the meals were brought out cold, several massively over cooked, and overall the food has changed dramatically from the last tie we ate at this location a couple of months ago. Simply terrible! The service was also extremely slow and our food took a very long time in coming out. This was a birthday occasion so made the experience even worse.

My family and I will not be returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great drinks/margaritas. Food (tex-mex) could be much better

Tags: Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The #1 reason we go is for the margaritas. The food has gotten better through the years. They wait staff has been very good the last couple times in. The open table reservation process is a must on a Friday night. You will wait a long time if you don't have a reservation. We were 15 minutes early and we were still seated immediately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always a favorite. The drinks are good. if you have any issues, management will make it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.