About Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree

9535 Park Meadows Dr
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

The Rio provides sanctuary from the problems of the world while serving the best dang margaritas and Mexican food this side of the Rio Grande. Fresh Tex-Mex Cuisine is created in house everyday. We are known for our legendary margaritas and our festive atmosphere. We aim to create a family friendly environment and provide weekly entertainment for inexpensive social outings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Yosemite

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 799-4999

Website:
http://riograndemexican.com/details/locations.aspx?id=1&loc=6

Entertainment:
Sunday: Family Appreciation Night and Kids Eat Free


Monday thru Friday: Happy Hour from 3-6pm with $3 tacos, $3 drafts, $3 appetizers and $1 off margaritas!


Parking Details:
Large parking lots surrounding the building

Public Transit:
Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away.
Light rail on County Line is one mile away.

Executive Chef:
William Herrera

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree
  • Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree
  • Margarita
  • Steak Burrito
Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree
Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree
Margarita
Steak Burrito

Private Dining

Seriously good Mexican food, legendary margaritas and the perfect private dining spot for your next event! We can host intimate gatherings for groups of 20 or large events for up to 200 people.

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (18)
kid-friendly (16)
great for lunch (16)
See All
great for outdoor dining (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
fit for foodies (9)
special occasion (8)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (3)
romantic (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and margaritas! It's a 'Go To ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and margaritas! It's a 'Go To' place for my family and I. Thank you!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good margs, great food & service!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good margs, great food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Sat on the patio and enjoyed it. I do wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Sat on the patio and enjoyed it. I do wish my server had more margarita knowledge. It seemed as though he usually sold the house and didn't know anything about the other margaritas or tequilas on the list. I told him I wanted a fresh lime tart margarita and he suggested the manberry.. Probably the sweetest margarita on the list. I may just go to Hacienda next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food good but service slow and non atten ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food good but service slow and non attentive when needed

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We have come to this restaurant for year ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have come to this restaurant for years. We love the staff and the food and the service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding all the way around! Excellen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding all the way around! Excellent service, drinks and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good though a bit pricey. Margar ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is good though a bit pricey. Margarita's are excellent. Get a reservation if going on a Friday or Sat night - the place is packed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good service. Pleasant atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good service. Pleasant atmosphere. Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Ok at best

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Average tex-mex stuff. There are better in Denver. The salsa is pretty bland. The fajita was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Terrible Service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my first time at the Lone Tree Rio but I will never go back. I absolutely love Rio and have had great experiences at the locations in Fort Collins, Boulder, Frisco and Steam Boat. I frequent the Rio every other week but unfortunately, I would not recommend Lone Tree. The hostess was very rude when asking for a table outside and then began ranting very loud to the other hostess about how there wasn't a table while we could se one through the window. The waiter was also very disinterested. We had to ask for drinks multiple times including water, chips and salsa (4 times) to receive the first serving of it, we sat with our food for almost 10 minutes before getting silverware and then sat for our check for over 20 minutes since the last time he was at our table. When I got up to find the manager the server was standing at the bar socializing with the other servers. The restaurant was not busy otherwise I would understand the extended times between service. I would not recommend this Rio in Lone Tree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We enjoyed our margs. It was a chilly da ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed our margs. It was a chilly day but the green chile warmed us nicely! The service is number one!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Saturday night dinner-family get togethe ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Saturday night dinner-family get together. Called ahead and table was ready as expected. Server seemed busy or distracted. Fair service. Food was outstanding. I'll put up with slow service for good food. Better luck next time hopefully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Table was ready as requested. The servic ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Table was ready as requested. The service seemed horrible… Assume that the waiter was new… But the training must've been horrible as he was not on top of it. Manager plus other manager came over for multiple other things that we needed as the waiter was delayed… However they did nothing about it ultimately… They should've had someone else help take over or been personally attentive– – We were celebrating a 75th birthday. They offered sopapillas for free… However 20 minutes later nothing showed up… We paid the bill and left. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Consistent dining experience. Great food ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Consistent dining experience. Great food. Service is usually friendly and efficient. Prices are very reasonable. Great fajitas! We dine here frequently:)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This place has the best margaritas. We w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place has the best margaritas. We went on Mother's Day and they were slammed. Food was average and usually it's much better.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow service and adequate food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was quite slow. The only thing that came in a timely manner was the check after I had given him my credit card. Their salsa is very average - tasted like it came from a bottle. Nothing about the menu distinguished it from any other Mexican place and there are many better choices. I will return to Ajuua or Las Brisas the next time I want Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Awesome as usual

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and as usual awesome margaritas. House margaritas are the best.

Great food on the menu: guacamole tostada, smoked chicken tacos, cup/bowl of green chili, chili rellenos, steak tacos (old style), crab and shrimp enchiladas, queso, and guacamole.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food but very poor service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our waiter seemed clueless. Very slow, not very attentive to our table, never asked if we wanted dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Pretty ok

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was pretty terrible and the food kind of mushy blah (vegetarian burrito) but the online reservation process was a breeze and I have had good service and great food on a previous visit so I will try again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Good Times

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been to the Rio Grande several times and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent, prices are reasonable and the margaritas are the best. Great service and friendly staff. It is sometimes a bit noisy. I also appreciate that they take reservations. I'll definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everyone was very nice, and we were seat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Everyone was very nice, and we were seated right away. The food, however, was just so-so. It wasn't bad, but with so many other restaurants around we probably won't return. That said, this place seemed pretty busy so I'm guessing there are a lot of people who do like it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Margs...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Best house margs, not watered down or full of sour mix. Great happy hour food and pricing,

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask for the extra hot salsa with the chi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Ask for the extra hot salsa with the chips - it's not "burn your throat", but it is spicy with a good flavor. The margaritas are as strong as ever. The rest of the food is pretty standard for a Mexican restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bad food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Chicken quesadilla, queso, and guacamole were not good at all. No flavor at all. Margaritas are good .

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

It was my birthday. I arrived 15 minute ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

It was my birthday. I arrived 15 minutes late so my family had ordered my meal and a drink. The drink didn't show up for 45 minutes! I asked the waiter 2-3 times...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great margaritas! I get the classic. The ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great margaritas! I get the classic. The house salad is generous and the greens are fresh. Their rice is consistent. The service is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great tortillas!!!!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great tortillas!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

It was good, server was very attentive a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It was good, server was very attentive and had a good sense of humor and personality got all our orders correct. The good came up fast! The torts or flaunta was like a big salad didn't take to good or look attractive my friend didn't eat much of it! Margaritas are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was very good, but service by Adolf ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was very good, but service by Adolfo was not. Took 30 minutes to get 2 glasses of water. We got our appetizer before our water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Good value

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food, service, ambiance, and value were good in a scale from 0 - 10 I would rate it 7.5 overall.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Casual, good food and friendly service.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Casual, good food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Awesom and Fresh

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Met friends there who were looking for a good Mexican Restaurant and margaritas. They loved the fresh rood and the margaritas were awesome. They will definitely be back.

This is our go to Mexican Restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

40

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

All perfect, except having to wait 20 minutes for our reserved table...though they confirmed it via phone also

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Huh?

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Really do not understand the ratings this restaurant gets. This is your usual and customary Mexican restaurant which in restaurant terms earns it 3 stars on a good day.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Bland food, good margaritas

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I had the grilled steak burrito and it was bland and a little tough. My wife had chicken fajitas and the plate was NOT sizzling. She also felt the meat could have used more seasoning. The margaritas are great but we did not just go there to drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Bland Food

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

My Margarita was tasty but the food is very boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Started good but then the waiter we had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Started good but then the waiter we had forgot to order my granddaughter's food and that made my daughter upset and I asked for the manager and he apologized for the service but still the food quality has went down since we have been going there for the last 8 years. Sorry but we will not be going back at this point in our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Can't rate

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Sat for 2+ hours and never received food. Walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Poor layout

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The table that we were sat at had a pillar on the bench side which literally gave you 3 inches of seat to sit on. We had to ask the table next to use if we could move closer so that we would have a seat to sit on. The host staff had very little concern about this an seemed to brush this off like it was a inconvenience to them that we wanted a seat with our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

A Favorite

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The drinks are very strong which is a plus. They have a nice selection of Tex-mex favorites. They are accommodating of our dietary needs which is very much appreciated. The service is excellent and the staff is friendly. You can't go wrong here!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.