Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.87mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree

The Rio provides sanctuary from the problems of the world while serving the best dang margaritas and Mexican food this side of the Rio Grande. Fresh Tex-Mex Cuisine is created in house everyday. We are known for our legendary margaritas and our festive atmosphere. We aim to create a family friendly environment and provide weekly entertainment for inexpensive social outings.

9535 Park Meadows Dr
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Yosemite

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 799-4999

Website:
http://riograndemexican.com/details/locations.aspx?id=1&loc=6

Entertainment:
Sunday: Family Appreciation Night and Kids Eat Free


Monday thru Friday: Happy Hour from 3-6pm with $3 tacos, $3 drafts, $3 appetizers and $1 off margaritas!


Parking Details:
Large parking lots surrounding the building

Public Transit:
Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away.
Light rail on County Line is one mile away.

Executive Chef:
William Herrera

Private Party Facilities:
Seriously good Mexican food, legendary margaritas and the perfect private dining spot for your next event! We can host intimate gatherings for groups of 20 or large events for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Sabrina Ralston: (888) 653-1794

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was OK..margaritas were the best part.Fajitas we ordered were a grande size...when the came,they were the same size as the lunch portion.Was an OK experience,but I don't plan on going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The house margaritas were horrible, I don't think they every clean the machine. We sent them back and ordered the premium ones, the server was great and made sure we did not get charged for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The quesadillas were good, but the burritos were sub-par. We had a team of 10 people ordering, and the food took a while to come out. None of the people ordering burritos at our table liked it.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The margs are timeless. Can't go wrong. Great patio area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food at Rio is ok at best. We have been there a few times over the years because it is right next to the movie theater and I am underwhelmed every time. Great drinks though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was terrible and food matched. I ordered the fish tacos. When they arrived I asked the waitress if I could get some extra sauce that was drizzled on top. The waitress said yes but then came back and said "I just typed it in the computer and it's $2 for more so I'm sure you don't want it." When I asked why it was $2 she said "because they make it in house daily and it's really good". Wow. Sour cream mixed with lime juice and pepper. Must be tough for the chef. Maybe you can exchange the mush that is their Mexican rice for a spoonful of Crema. Or the hard as a rock corn tortillas. Adios, rio grande.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was very disappointing, very crowded and to loud to enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The presentation of the food on the plate was artistic but the flavor was absent. I had fish tacos. The fish was plentiful and cooked nicely but the mango sauce was mostly absent and undetectable in taste. My husband had tortilla soup which was flavorless as well. No ancho child flavor at all. But the margaritas were very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Consistently great food and margaritas. Love going to Rio

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love this place!!! Especially the staff. They are the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall, this place is good. I do believe it is a little over priced for the meal. Had the steak fajitas, but the meat was cold. Waited for the server, which she was busy, but after a 6-7 minute wait, I just ate them before it got worse. Seems they may be remodeling with the walls a plain white so maybe this has something to do with it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love what they have done with the remodel ! Still one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The new digs are not clean. Very disappointed. Also the waiter was horrible. We had to ask to order and get another round of drinks. Very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My third time here and the food is just not as good as the downtown location. Our service was pretty horrible. Save yourself the time and just go to the downtown location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very disappointed after the "remodel". Completely changed the great, comfortable feel the restaurant used to have. Now it just feels loud and crowded.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Was so excited for blood orange margarita, I missed the promo but staff was still wearing Tshirt's that advertised them. It's was loud, food was not at all worth the cost (if I am make it better it ain't worth goin out for)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A little noisy, but we were close to the middle of the restaurant. Girls night out so we weren't exactly quiet. Lots of fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and margs are always good. Server was very slow but pleasant. I'm not thrilled with the renovation. It makes the place seem a bit cramped now. All in all, we had a nice time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food, great margaritas, and great service. I always enjoy my dinner here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great kids menu, good standard Mexican dishes, fun range of cocktails

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent!! Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Rio Grande in downtown Denver is much better.
The quality of the food was not as good along with the ambience.
Would not go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Still the best margaritas and food. But the reconstruction making the restaurant smaller WAS A TERRIBLE IDEA. They reduced the dining space in half. You are sitting elbow to elbow with the table next to you. They jammed the tables in the dining area. Noise level is ridiculous. Wish they would have left the space alone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations and were taken to our table quickly. The server attended to our needs but it was obvious she was extremely busy. We were contemplating ordering desert but the server never even asked if we wanted any. Our table was being cleaned out from under us as the bill was being delivered. So, we left without desert. I understand you want to clear tables for those who might be waiting (there wasn't a line when we left) but there was a missed opportunity for a sale and I won't be in a hurry go to back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went for dinner before a movie. Have done this many times in the past and it was always great. This time they did not have a table very close to the reservation time, the waiter disappeared a lot, the food took over 30 minutes to come out and when it came out it was cold. They just went through a big renovation at this location and I hope they get back to where they were quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server was great made for a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just okay, nothing to write home about. The menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best margarita that I have ever had. Server was great and on top of things. Food was nice and hot and very good

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We took my folks there for a combined birthday lunch. We have been many times and the great food and service keeps us coming back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Best margaritas ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome as usual. Great margaritas, tacos, burritos, queso

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve, early. Great enchiladas and margarita. The rio is out go-to place when dining out. They the guan too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Got us to our table early. Drinks were good and strong. Food came out quick even though they were very busy and was very good. Very open restaurant so very loud but fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My Mexican food taste runs to the "gringo" side so I found things a bit spicy. My family laughs at me. But their margaritas are worth every penny, and only $6/ea at Happy Hour.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fast service, good food, and our waitress Jodi was great.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great mexican food - margaritas are delicious. The Spicy green chili on the steak enchiladas is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was great as well. music was too loud.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Steak very chewy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love the Rio, but there were large parties and not enough staff tonight. Sat immediately but waited almost 20 minutes for a waiter who only came by after we asked for some help. Order took almost 30 minutes for 2 burritos, no one checked on us for more drinks or chips until our food arrived. Staff was clearly outnumbered tonight - our waiter apologized and we didn't thin it was his fault, he needed more help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.