HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree

4.4
346 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Casual
  • Happy Hour
The Rio provides sanctuary from the problems of the world while serving the best dang margaritas and Mexican food this side of the Rio Grande. Fresh Tex-Mex Cuisine is created in house everyday. We are known for our legendary margaritas and our festive atmosphere. We aim to create a family friendly environment and provide weekly entertainment for inexpensive social outings.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Daily 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 4:00 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(303) 799-4999
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
William Herrera
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Seriously good Mexican food, legendary margaritas and the perfect private dining spot for your next event! We can host intimate gatherings for groups of 20 or large events for up to 200 people.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Sabrina Ralston: (888) 653-1794
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Yosemite
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Large parking lots surrounding the building
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away.
Light rail on County Line is one mile away.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Sunday: Family Appreciation Night and Kids Eat Free


Monday thru Friday: Happy Hour from 3-6pm with $3 tacos, $3 drafts, $3 appetizers and $1 off margaritas!


Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 346 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
csanderson7707 (Denver)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

I have never had a bad meal when I have gone there. This is my favorite place to get a marg! I recommend the Rio to everyone!

Report
Helpful
Pwrfection (Denver)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Didn't love my tostado because it was almost all lettuce. If I had c wanted a salad I would have ordered one. Good, service though!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

Just had drinks and apps here for a small get-together with girlfriends, and the service was wonderful! Our server was very attentive and friendly. The mango margarita I had was delicious also.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

This time everything from the Margaritas to the Fajitas was superb. Always been good, but the Fajitas this time around were extremely well tasting with a good combination of the right spices and tenderness of the meat. Extremely good service. Enjoyable evening. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
vipDenver0Mark (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Great margaritas, queso, chili rellenos, steak tacos, smoked chicken tacos

Report
Helpful
MrsS (Washington DC)
3.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Their queso was gas station quality. Average Mexican food. But if you have 3 margaritas I’m sure their food tastes drunkenly delicious.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

Very nice restaurant. Been here a couple of times. Excellent food. Family friendly. Kids loved it too. Would recommend to anyone. Best part is the free chips and salsa. Lol

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Columbus)
2.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

The restaurant had a fun vibe and was very popular. The food itself was pretty bad; neither my wife or I ate our meals.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

Good food and margs, VERY HOT green chili

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Denver)
3.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

The best part of our dinner had to be the Service, the black beans, the Salsa & the margaritas.
The Tamales were dry, lacked much flavor & had very sparse amounts of protein.

Our server, was very attentive & took great care of us!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

I would give Rio Grande in Park Meadows an A-. I have to ding them on not having combination plates. I enjoy having cheese and onion enchiladas and a hard shell taco on the same plate. Unfortunately, I had to choose one or the other. I went with the cheese and onion enchiladas, and they were GREAT. But I was missing the taco to go with it. Otherwise a great spot. The service was AMAZING. The server was attentive, but not overly so.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on December 15, 2017

Overall a nice place for Mexican cuisine and a beer.

Report
Helpful
Budman (Denver)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Great drinks, great food, and an all around fun place. Only down fall is the rude head greeter.

Report
Helpful
Ahail (Denver)
5.0  Dined on December 1, 2017

The Rio does a great job on the food and margaritas!

Report
Helpful
Steph (Denver)
1.0  Dined on November 28, 2017

Will not return--way too loud, and it was a Tuesday. Beef in burrito tastes and had texture of mushy pot roast. Shrimp in tacos was ok. Black beans had no seasoning. Wait staff was not engaged. Will not be back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

Celebrating a birthday-the dessert they brought as a compliment was fantastic. Great Margs and the food is pretty authentic too. Casual fun

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
4.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

I️t was loud but that’s fine. They were super busy and the waitstaff was running around. Could’ve used some additional waitstaff, for sure, but everyone was very friendly and nice.

Report
Helpful
vipAnniversaryDinner (Denver)
3.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

Easy to get to and food was pretty good. A couple of us ordered the Green Chili on the servers recommendation and it was almost too spicy to eat- sour cream helped. Side salad was nice and big. Happy hour pricing is always appreciated and a good deal.

Report
Helpful
FedexDave (Denver)
4.0  Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was tasty...all Organic does help with that. Music was a bit loud...
Not a lot of options to chose from...limited choices.

Report
Helpful
vip2sisters (Denver)
3.0  Dined on October 28, 2017

Restaurant was extremely busy which means the service was just adequate. We ran out of water and chips for the con queso we ordered. Also, I indicated that it was my mother’s 75th birthday but nothing special was done. Disappointed in the service.

Report
Helpful
csanderson7707 (Denver)
5.0  Dined on October 27, 2017

The Rio never disappoints! There margs are the best in town!!

Report
Helpful
vipMimi (Denver)
5.0  Dined on October 3, 2017

We hav been regulars since the early days in Ft Collins. Luv the Rio!

Report
Helpful
vipashnc27 (Denver)
2.0  Dined on September 26, 2017

I used the love the Rio! The food has gone down hill in the past years. It's over priced for average dishes now.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on September 23, 2017

One of my friends got hurt and everyone was really helpful and kind. My friends and I really appreciate your help. It was also my other friends birthday, and we all enjoined the desert.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on September 15, 2017

Really good food and drink! Service was fast and people are very nice.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent restaurant. A little on the noisy side. Good food. Short wait.We will be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
2.0  Dined on August 18, 2017

Our waiter could not R.E.M. we who had ordered drinks , who had ordered what meal, did not refill drinks. It was a mess.

Report
Helpful
vipDenver0Mark (Denver)
2.0  Dined on July 29, 2017

We have been a regular at Rio for years. But since they remodeled and reduced the dining area and changed the menu and food portions, we have been disappointed. You are packed in the dining room like sardines. We saw 2 servers run into other workers or guests and drop their plates/glasses making a mess. This is due to the tight spaces now in the dining room. The noise level is far too loud, not very enjoyable. They changed the portion size of their food items (i.e., quesadillas are much smaller know and the price is either the same or more). They changed their chips recipe. They taste stale and old. The only consistent thing is the margaritas which are very good. Overall, we are not as excited to go to Rio like we used to be. Disappointed.

Report
Helpful
viphtaylor (Denver)
5.0  Dined on July 14, 2017

Best TexMex in south Denver.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12