About Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree

9535 Park Meadows Dr
Lone Tree, CO 80124
View Larger Map

The Rio provides sanctuary from the problems of the world while serving the best dang margaritas and Mexican food this side of the Rio Grande. Fresh Tex-Mex Cuisine is created in house everyday. We are known for our legendary margaritas and our festive atmosphere. We aim to create a family friendly environment and provide weekly entertainment for inexpensive social outings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Yosemite

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 799-4999

Website:
http://riograndemexican.com/details/locations.aspx?id=1&loc=6

Entertainment:
Sunday: Family Appreciation Night and Kids Eat Free


Monday thru Friday: Happy Hour from 3-6pm with $3 tacos, $3 drafts, $3 appetizers and $1 off margaritas!


Parking Details:
Large parking lots surrounding the building

Public Transit:
Light rail stop on Lincoln is less than half a mile away.
Light rail on County Line is one mile away.

Executive Chef:
William Herrera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree, Lone Tree, CO
  • Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree, Lone Tree, CO
  • Margarita - Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree, Lone Tree, CO
  • Steak Burrito - Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree, Lone Tree, CO

Report a photo problem

Margarita - Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree, Lone Tree, CO
Steak Burrito - Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree, Lone Tree, CO

Private Dining

Seriously good Mexican food, legendary margaritas and the perfect private dining spot for your next event! We can host intimate gatherings for groups of 20 or large events for up to 200 people.

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant - Lone Tree Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great Beer (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

New Year's Eve, early. Great enchiladas ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve, early. Great enchiladas and margarita. The rio is out go-to place when dining out. They the guan too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got us to our table early. Drinks were g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Got us to our table early. Drinks were good and strong. Food came out quick even though they were very busy and was very good. Very open restaurant so very loud but fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My Mexican food taste runs to the "gring ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My Mexican food taste runs to the "gringo" side so I found things a bit spicy. My family laughs at me. But their margaritas are worth every penny, and only $6/ea at Happy Hour.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fast service, good food, and our waitres ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fast service, good food, and our waitress Jodi was great.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mexican food - margaritas are deli ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great mexican food - margaritas are delicious. The Spicy green chili on the steak enchiladas is my favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Food was great ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was great as well. music was too loud.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Steak very chewy

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Steak very chewy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Love the Rio, but there were large parti ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Love the Rio, but there were large parties and not enough staff tonight. Sat immediately but waited almost 20 minutes for a waiter who only came by after we asked for some help. Order took almost 30 minutes for 2 burritos, no one checked on us for more drinks or chips until our food arrived. Staff was clearly outnumbered tonight - our waiter apologized and we didn't thin it was his fault, he needed more help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Horrible service! Ordered the large faji ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Horrible service! Ordered the large fajitas, for $3 more you get one additional piece of meat, ridiculous! After telling the waitress the manager comes over says hi and walks away. Not solving the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Very affordable happy hour food and marg ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very affordable happy hour food and margs. House margs are pretty amazing which is a refreshing change from most house margs. We like the bar so we haven't even been in the restaurant yet, but it looks intimate/nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our group of 6 sat on the patio which lo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our group of 6 sat on the patio which looks out over the parking lot but there was plenty of room and the wait staff was friendly and accommodating. None of us ordered anything very adventurous (e.g. chicken burritos and tostadas, guac,chips and marqs) so maybe that was the problem. The tostadas were mostly lettuce piled on top of minimal chicken and beans and they didn't have much flavor so we piled on green chili, salsa, and hot sauce. The side of beans were extra salty but I'm told the marqs were very good. All in all, just an okay experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good margs. Spicy salsa. I tried a new d ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good margs. Spicy salsa. I tried a new dish that wasn't my fav. Good rice! Good chile too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

All around very nice. Food was great. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

All around very nice. Food was great. We were very happy that this restaurant would let us make a reservation. We were going to a movie and making a reservation made timing easy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was mediocre. It lacked flavor ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was mediocre. It lacked flavor and spice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We have been eating at the Rio Grande fo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We have been eating at the Rio Grande for many years (and I mean many), and have been pleased with the food and level of service, but all of the sudden this location has turned for the worse. The food was absolutely terrible! Several of the meals were brought out cold, several massively over cooked, and overall the food has changed dramatically from the last tie we ate at this location a couple of months ago. Simply terrible! The service was also extremely slow and our food took a very long time in coming out. This was a birthday occasion so made the experience even worse.

My family and I will not be returning to this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great drinks/margaritas. Food (tex-mex) ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great drinks/margaritas. Food (tex-mex) could be much better

Tags: Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The #1 reason we go is for the margarita ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The #1 reason we go is for the margaritas. The food has gotten better through the years. They wait staff has been very good the last couple times in. The open table reservation process is a must on a Friday night. You will wait a long time if you don't have a reservation. We were 15 minutes early and we were still seated immediately.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a favorite. The drinks are good. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always a favorite. The drinks are good. if you have any issues, management will make it better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent. The ladies at ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service was excellent. The ladies at the front desk pleasant and seated us immediately. Unfortunately even though the restaurant had many tables available we were seated right next to the doors to the kitchen. Our server, Reggie, was very good. Pleasant and efficient in his service to our table. My husband had the pork tacos and I had the chicken. They were mostly filler, corn salsa on mine and cabbage on his. The beans and rice were plentiful but had no taste . We ordered more salsa and added salt and pepper to get some flavor.

We were at the Rio Grande in Greely a while ago and the food was very good so we expected the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Great food and margaritas! It's a 'Go To ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food and margaritas! It's a 'Go To' place for my family and I. Thank you!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good margs, great food & service!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Good margs, great food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Sat on the patio and enjoyed it. I do wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Sat on the patio and enjoyed it. I do wish my server had more margarita knowledge. It seemed as though he usually sold the house and didn't know anything about the other margaritas or tequilas on the list. I told him I wanted a fresh lime tart margarita and he suggested the manberry.. Probably the sweetest margarita on the list. I may just go to Hacienda next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We have come to this restaurant for year ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have come to this restaurant for years. We love the staff and the food and the service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good but service slow and non atten ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food good but service slow and non attentive when needed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Outstanding all the way around! Excellen ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding all the way around! Excellent service, drinks and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is good though a bit pricey. Margar ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is good though a bit pricey. Margarita's are excellent. Get a reservation if going on a Friday or Sat night - the place is packed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good service. Pleasant atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good service. Pleasant atmosphere. Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Ok at best

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Average tex-mex stuff. There are better in Denver. The salsa is pretty bland. The fajita was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Terrible Service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my first time at the Lone Tree Rio but I will never go back. I absolutely love Rio and have had great experiences at the locations in Fort Collins, Boulder, Frisco and Steam Boat. I frequent the Rio every other week but unfortunately, I would not recommend Lone Tree. The hostess was very rude when asking for a table outside and then began ranting very loud to the other hostess about how there wasn't a table while we could se one through the window. The waiter was also very disinterested. We had to ask for drinks multiple times including water, chips and salsa (4 times) to receive the first serving of it, we sat with our food for almost 10 minutes before getting silverware and then sat for our check for over 20 minutes since the last time he was at our table. When I got up to find the manager the server was standing at the bar socializing with the other servers. The restaurant was not busy otherwise I would understand the extended times between service. I would not recommend this Rio in Lone Tree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We enjoyed our margs. It was a chilly da ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed our margs. It was a chilly day but the green chile warmed us nicely! The service is number one!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Table was ready as requested. The servic ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Table was ready as requested. The service seemed horrible… Assume that the waiter was new… But the training must've been horrible as he was not on top of it. Manager plus other manager came over for multiple other things that we needed as the waiter was delayed… However they did nothing about it ultimately… They should've had someone else help take over or been personally attentive– – We were celebrating a 75th birthday. They offered sopapillas for free… However 20 minutes later nothing showed up… We paid the bill and left. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Saturday night dinner-family get togethe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Saturday night dinner-family get together. Called ahead and table was ready as expected. Server seemed busy or distracted. Fair service. Food was outstanding. I'll put up with slow service for good food. Better luck next time hopefully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Consistent dining experience. Great food ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Consistent dining experience. Great food. Service is usually friendly and efficient. Prices are very reasonable. Great fajitas! We dine here frequently:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This place has the best margaritas. We w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This place has the best margaritas. We went on Mother's Day and they were slammed. Food was average and usually it's much better.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow service and adequate food

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was quite slow. The only thing that came in a timely manner was the check after I had given him my credit card. Their salsa is very average - tasted like it came from a bottle. Nothing about the menu distinguished it from any other Mexican place and there are many better choices. I will return to Ajuua or Las Brisas the next time I want Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Awesome as usual

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and as usual awesome margaritas. House margaritas are the best.

Great food on the menu: guacamole tostada, smoked chicken tacos, cup/bowl of green chili, chili rellenos, steak tacos (old style), crab and shrimp enchiladas, queso, and guacamole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food but very poor service

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our waiter seemed clueless. Very slow, not very attentive to our table, never asked if we wanted dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Pretty ok

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was pretty terrible and the food kind of mushy blah (vegetarian burrito) but the online reservation process was a breeze and I have had good service and great food on a previous visit so I will try again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Good Times

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2016

I have been to the Rio Grande several times and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent, prices are reasonable and the margaritas are the best. Great service and friendly staff. It is sometimes a bit noisy. I also appreciate that they take reservations. I'll definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everyone was very nice, and we were seat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Everyone was very nice, and we were seated right away. The food, however, was just so-so. It wasn't bad, but with so many other restaurants around we probably won't return. That said, this place seemed pretty busy so I'm guessing there are a lot of people who do like it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.