Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, the Best of Mexico in the heart of Palm Springs. Chef Ernesto’s family-Inspired award winning authentic Mexican cuisine is handcrafted with the best ingredients and served in a vibrant space to enhance your dining experience. You’ll be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creation of Chef Ernesto’s cuisine. It is a magical combination of delicious fresh and flavorful ingredients with a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. The place to be for Mexican food where food speaks to your palate. Voted “Best Mexican Restaurant and Best Margarita by Palm Springs Life Readers!

We take reservations for our Sunday Desert Divas Drag Brunch, Hosted by Vanity Halston. Doors Open at 11 AM, Show at Noon; Reservations required by calling (760) 992-5641

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Closed Monday & Tuesday
Wednesday - Thursday 5-9 pm
Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Happy Hour
Wednesday - Thursday 5-7 pm
Friday - Sunday 2-6 pm

Thanksgiving Day; Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: (760) 992-5641

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (18)
Fun (17)
Authentic (15)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (4)
Spicy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This has become one of our favorite "go-to" spots when we are in town. The food is good, the atmosphere festive, and, best of all, the service is terrific - - from arrival to departure, guests are well-treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Best Mexican in Palm Springs. Great food and better than average service. Use Open Table for reservations. Ample parking...full service bar.... patio dining. $30 per person including margarita tax and tip.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We came in with a large group and felt so welcome. The service and the food was wonderful. Finding a restaurant to please a large group is difficult and everyone loved Rio Azul. Can't wait to come back next time I am in the area.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The drag show at the Rio Azul made my month!!!! My friends and I left with our faces hurting from smiling and our stomachs hurting from laughing! It DID NOT disappoint!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Really enjoyed this Rio Azul. I was looking for authentic Mexican dining and found exactly that ... great menu and enjoyed an outstanding entree - "Camarones Al Mojo de Ajo." Service was excellent, especially so knowing it was a busy evening for the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Many choices for Mexican food - this was well worth it. Great mole!! Had my favorite beer on draft, service was outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were here for a bachelorette party for Sunday brunch (along with several others) and it was an absolute blast! The host and performers were fantastic!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our favorite Mexican restaurant! Very popular bar & grille recommend reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

So much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My son's birthday and the food was great and service as well. Wish it was not quite so noisy but I don't have a solution, just the way it is. We go often

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We are always delighted to return to this consistently excellent restaurant with the cheerful and efficient staff, and very enjoyable food. It's a great place for families, kids, or "date night," as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food, great service, and a live harpest. I went there for a Birthday dinner with friends and we all loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was nothing rememerable. The hostess was rude to our party not welcoming and argued with us over the fact that we had requested a booth. With so many other choices for Mexican Food in Palm Springs this place is off my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The restaurant wasn't bad. We chose this location based off of others' reviews, but it fell short of our expectation. We had 6 pm reservations for a Saturday night and the place was empty. Within an hour though, the place was packed with 3 different bridal parties and once that happened, our server disappeared. We had to track him down after about a half an hour of not seeing him to ask for our bill. The food was good, but nothing to rave about. Once the place was packed, it got really hot and stuffy and their a/c couldn't keep up. A big deal for someone who is 7 months pregnant. In all, it was fine. I could go there again and like I said, we went based off of others' reviews, so maybe we had an off night. Or maybe it was just me and I wasn't feeling it that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always the best Mexican food in town service was perfect

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good selection ... but avoid the seemingly re-re-refried beans.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Palm Springs. We drive out to eat here and it never disappoints. Make sure to check with opentable to make sure there isn't a private event going on and get your reservation in before making the drive, as once we didn't check and ended up having to eat elsewhere which left us incredibly disappointed. Other than that, great food, drinks, and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Not going baco

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was fabulous! The salsa was one of the best salsas I've ever had! Plenty to choose from on the menu. It's a little pricey but worth it! I would definitely go back on my next visit t Palm Springs!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Really good Mexican fare with excellent service! We were a party of 6 including 2 kids. Everyone enjoyed the food and the service was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went with friends and never stopped laughing the whole time! Had a blast!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very funny routines for Drag Brunch! Too many F bombs! Do not bring kids or anyone whose sensibilities are easily offended!! I thought it was hilarious but I'm not one of those previously mentioned. Great flexibility for big girls! Food was a good value. Entertainment and service exceptional value! My 88 yr. old Mom did enjoy it too! I'm still 😃 at the memory of the performance!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was good, service was great. Thanks for making it a fun evening.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was excellent! Everything was fresh, great flacors, the broth of my soup had the most developed depth I have ever tasted

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Spicy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The table side guac is very good and the pork tamale I had was outstanding! The rest of the meal was very goo as well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Sunday is their day for the drag show and that is ALWAYS fun. It is almost always a totally full house so make your reservation and bring your adult friends (not really a kid friendly show) and do not forget the bridal showers and fun birthday parties make it much more fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Staff was less than accommodating, especially when it came to seating arrangements. My table's view was blocked by a wall/booth so we couldn't even see the stage or see the performers until they walked up to our table. I ended up not even ordering food. The performers were great, however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2017

In a city that thrives on tourism and with hundreds of great restaurants competing for attention, Rio Azul is successful at standing out from a very outstanding crowd of great places to eat and drink. The menu is varied (with items for everybody), the service is warm, professional, and genuine, and the drinks (and bar menu) unique, in that they bridge the gap between "modern and fashionable" and "reliable standards." Our on-line reservation requested outdoor seating, but upon arrival we decided that it was still too warm out for that. When asked to change to indoor, we were assured that everything possible would be done to accommodate us as quickly as possible, but given that it was 8 PM on a Saturday night, all of the indoor tables had already been fully booked (with an indoor seating preference). Brianna (apologies if this is spelled incorrectly) was responsive, professional, diffused our disappointment (about the prospect of having to wait for very long), and wisely (and bravely?) made adjustments, as were possible (without disappointing any other guests), then efficiently found a table that was not only inside but also delightful. Everything about Rio Azul was great (and we dine out more than 300 meals a year, eschewing "chains" but, instead, seeking "genuine and warm establishments that value our patronage." As new part-time residents in the area (our permanent home is 150 miles away, but we adore Palm Springs, so we've recently bought a place and now make it a second home).

Rio Azul is great, the people are wonderful, and the food and drinks are tasty - - and generous! We will surely return... and return... and return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Guacamole table side was very good! Other food was pretty good. Margaritas were very good! The AC was broken the day we went so we were pretty hot eating. Service was quick and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were in town visiting for the first time. Went to Blue Azul because it was close to our hotel. Turned out to be a great restaurant, or waitress was fun and made great recommendations. Food was authentic and flavorful, the tableside guacamole made from scratch right in front of you was yummy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Drag brunch was spectacular!! Enjoyed every minute of it

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good food, generous servings, and great service. Friendly and courteous staff made the meal even more enjoyable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The chicken poblano, chips, salsa, sangria and margarita were excellent but the crab quesadillas were fishy and the steak with nopalitos was so tough it was inedible. The harp player was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food quality was fantastic. There are two Azul restaurants in town. This is the one to go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic meal, great service.
Would definitely go back to this restaurant. Worth the drive.
We were there for restaurant week for a special deal however their regular menu looked amazing, very reasonable pricing, good size portions and looks like a lively "regulars" place in Palm Springs.
Easy parking

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had a great time on Memorial Day weekend for brunch. They had a show that sold out so they added a second one at a later time. I had made reservations for the earlier time but they called me about the second show and gave me the option of which to attend which was nice of them. However, i originally called to make the reservation and was told they had no availability. After looking at their website it showed OpenTable as an option and it gave available tables so if booked. I was expecting to get a call canceling but they never did. So book through the app if they say nothing is available. The show was packed and you share large tables with other guests which some might not like, but we didn't mind. It was a drag show so it was loud and roudy which we expected. Food was good and drinks were strong. I would recommend it if you aren't an uptight person. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Nice experience for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food, fantastic service! Fresh guacamole made at table-side was excellent. The wait staff was efficient and engaging and answered any questions that we had. Will return again.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great margaritas, carnitas fajitas, salsa and warm salty chips!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Live Music, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food is good and service is friendly but they tend to get at least one fish at the table wrong every time I eat there. They also never know who ordered what and place the entrees at the wrong seats. Service needs to improve. Thursday's are half price margaritas, which is a good deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.