About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill. Rio Azul is not your typical Mexican Restaurant. They are Palm Springs only choice for traditional Mexican Cuisine, handcrafted with the best ingredients and served fresh and flavorful! The unique menu is certain to have something for every palate.

Prepare to be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creations of Executive Chef Ernesto Gastelum. Chef Gastelum’s cuisine is a magical combination of delicious fresh ingredients, and a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order and freshly prepared. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. Relax in our beautiful setting while Chef Gastelum and his team perfectly prepare your meal.

Voted Best Mexican Restaurant 2012 & 2014 by Palm Springs Life Readers & Best Margarita 2013 & 2015!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9 pm
Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Thursday 4-7 pm
Friday - Sunday 2-6 pm

Closed Thanksgiving Day

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: 7609925641x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Green Corn Tamale - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Enchiladas Poblanas - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Camarones A La Diabla - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Queso Flamiado - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Homemade Churros - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
For  House Margaritas - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Open Valentine’s Day at 5 PM serving our regular dinner menu

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Spicy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Live Music (3)
Live Sports (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Brought friends visiting from New York f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Brought friends visiting from New York for the Drag Queen Brunch. It was fun and the bridal parties there also made it more fun. We all loved it and the food was, as always excellent. See you soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always thought Rio Azul had the b ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

I have always thought Rio Azul had the best Mexican food, but it was really off Saturday night. My carne asado burrito had very little meat and what it did have was tough and so salty my lips were glazed over half way through. The rest of the large tortilla was filled with rice and a few other ingredients. Definitely not worth the high cost. Also, with an open table reservation we were seated at a miniscule 2 top looking into the glaring fluorescent light of both the kitchen and bathroom, while 4 other groups of 2 were seated at 4 tops in the middle of the room. It will be a while before my return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Second time there, again excellent food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Second time there, again excellent food, very tasty. Service was great, very friendly server. Jalapeño margarita as fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First time to Palm Springs and wanted qu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

First time to Palm Springs and wanted quick bite with my 8 yo son.

Pros- friendly servers, really good fresh salsa, great food, fresh ingredients not too expensive and outdoor patio. I would have given a higher star for value but they charged $12 for a short glass margarita b/c I asked for Mezcal In lieu of house tequila.

Cons- bathroom toilet clogged and dark dated decor inside, patio is off busy street so kind of noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

very good margaritas,we had fajitas that ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

very good margaritas,we had fajitas that were excellent. reasonable prices and great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have eaten here many time and the foo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have eaten here many time and the food is always excellent , the service very good and it really is a real Mexican restaurant !

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and even better drag show by ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and even better drag show by the Desert Divas! Super fun, hilarious and entertaining. Definitely worth checking out the Sunday Brunch Drag Show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Sunday afternoon drag show. Defini ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Sunday afternoon drag show. Definitely a must in Palm Springs. Go around 1130 so you are done breakfast by 12 and can enjoy the show and bottomless mimosas.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a reservation for New Year's Eve, ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a reservation for New Year's Eve, and although crowded, the service was great and the food was excellent. We had a very fun time, and enjoyed the margaritas and atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Calamari were under fried and the ho ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Calamari were under fried and the hot wings were under cooked. Everything else was very good and Raul was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

All 3 diners were well pleased with thei ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

All 3 diners were well pleased with their selections - flavor, quantity, presentation.

The only negative is one of which many restaurants are guilty, and which Rio Azul illustrated in spades: When an appetizer is ordered, and it takes a while for it to arrive, DON'T follow it within 30 nanoseconds with the main course. It's annoying, it interferes with the tempo of cocktails with the appetizer, and note to restaurant: you might even sell another cocktail.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Always busy when we dine here but standa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always busy when we dine here but standards never slip. Staff very helpful. Fresh Guacamole made at table is wonderful and can recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our food was excellent and our server was beyond great however our reservation was not honored. They were 40 minutes late seating us. When I take the time to make a reservation I expect it to be honored. Because of this I doubt that I would go back during what could be busy times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I've been here a few times this time jus ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've been here a few times this time just what I paid for the amount of food was not what I usually get I ordered the tacos plate they've always been wrapped up with some type of a paper wrap this time I did not get that and the amount of sirloin steak I did not get it either it was minimal I wasn't pleased and my daughter's burrito came with sour cream when I just asked for a plain bean and cheese burrito and rice so my daughter did not get to eat with us while we were eating. And also I made reservations for 6:45 p.m. and we did not get to sit down to about 720 730 my bill amount was $77 and change just wasn't pleased this time

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great steak tacos. They made a sangria f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great steak tacos. They made a sangria for me even though it wasn't on the menu. Great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful meal, large portions of excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful meal, large portions of excellent food and margaritas Family dinner left us happy and full

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We love this place. Best service and Me ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We love this place. Best service and Mexican food in PS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unimpressed

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very unimpressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Good vegetarian items & staff knowledge ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good vegetarian items & staff knowledge of what is vegetarian. Different seating options including bar, high table & outside. There is a bar area with tvs set to sports. The non happy hour guacamole is made in front of you but didn't have the kick I expected. Enchiladas were good. Good service.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

By far I think this restaurant serves th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 17, 2016

By far I think this restaurant serves the best Mexican food in all of Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've eared here dozens of times. Everyt ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I've eared here dozens of times. Everything on the menu has been great. Best chips and salsa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Took two hours to get our food. Wasn't b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Took two hours to get our food. Wasn't busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Reservation appreciated, we were quickly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Reservation appreciated, we were quickly seated. Service was great, food and drinks were excellent. Obviously a local favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If the get busy they get confused and se ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 3, 2016

If the get busy they get confused and service suffers I took s long time for anyone to come to out table to ask for drinks Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Everything was perfect. Our waiter,Este ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Everything was perfect. Our waiter,Esteban was very helpful in selecting the house specialties that were cooked to perfection using family recipes. We had a seafood dish and pork tamale that were delicious. Not your typical Mexican restaurant. A cut above for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Poor service tonight. They were the extr ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Poor service tonight. They were the extremely busy. We Waited 30 minutes for drinks. Food was excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We were seated immediately but had to wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were seated immediately but had to wait about them minutes to have our drink order taken. After our order was finally take with apologies for the wait service was greatly inproved.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The best Mexican food in Palm Springs. T ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The best Mexican food in Palm Springs. There are many dishes to choose from on the menu. I recommend any of the pork dishes. I try to order something I never tried before when I go. Never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always... Great food and the be ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great as always... Great food and the best Sunday drag show

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the margaritas and salsa and everyt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Love the margaritas and salsa and everything on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unfortunately our server was buried and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Unfortunately our server was buried and after two hours we simply asked the manager to pack up our food and we would take it to go. We were on the patio and despite available servers inside (Who were mulling around the host stand in plain eyesight ) there was only one server who unsuccessfully tried to manage all tables outside . Only one of our dishes actually came out after about an hour and a half and there were three of us This is my first negative posted review and I am hopeful the business responds with better training and increased guest satisfaction. Marguaritas and chips were delicious.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The kids meal was a great deal at $5, it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The kids meal was a great deal at $5, it was a lot of food. The kids really enjoyed the harp music! So soothing and sweet. The regular meals were a bit overpriced. Handmade guacamole was surprisingly bland. Overall it was an ok experience made much better by the harpist.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sunday drag brunch. Laughed so hard my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sunday drag brunch. Laughed so hard my stomach was sore all day.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Go see Sunday Drag Brunch if you are in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Go see Sunday Drag Brunch if you are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We went to the brunch drag show which wa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went to the brunch drag show which was a lot of fun... food was really good

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to Rio Azul many times, takin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been to Rio Azul many times, taking friends and recommending it to others. There was a noticeable price increase on both food and beverages this visit. The restaurant certainly didn't require reservations and the food was lukewarm and average. Don't know what happened in the past 5months, but we won't be back. Servers were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The calamari or shrimp tacos are absolut ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The calamari or shrimp tacos are absolutely AMAZING!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, People Watching, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unimpressed with service and quality of ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unimpressed with service and quality of food. Carnitas was minced and mushed on my plate. No chunks of pork. The guacamole had a bunch of stuff it on and still managed to have no flavor. The service we got (party of 13) was horrendous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Not so good. Busy and disorganized. T ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not so good. Busy and disorganized. Too chaotic to enjoy. I felt that I was lucky to get what I ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Busy night. They tried but service was t ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Busy night. They tried but service was terrible. I knew walking in. Because before I gave my name a guy was complaining they weren't being edited on. It took a half hour before anyone cane to our table to ask for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.