Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill. Rio Azul is not your typical Mexican Restaurant. They are Palm Springs only choice for traditional Mexican Cuisine, handcrafted with the best ingredients and served fresh and flavorful! The unique menu is certain to have something for every palate.

Prepare to be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creations of Executive Chef Ernesto Gastelum. Chef Gastelum’s cuisine is a magical combination of delicious fresh ingredients, and a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order and freshly prepared. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. Relax in our beautiful setting while Chef Gastelum and his team perfectly prepare your meal.

Voted Best Mexican Restaurant 2012 & 2014 by Palm Springs Life Readers & Best Margarita 2013 & 2015!!!

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9 pm
Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Thursday 4-7 pm
Friday - Sunday 2-6 pm

Closed Thanksgiving Day

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: (760) 992-5641

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Good for Groups (26)
Fun (25)
See All
Authentic (23)
Comfort Food (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (9)
Spicy (9)
Live Music (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Family Style (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great margaritas, carnitas fajitas, salsa and warm salty chips!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Live Music, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Rio Azul is always one of the highlights of our visits to Palm Springs, and this time was no exception. Marvelous margaritas, impeccable made-to-order guacamole, and main courses which seem to be made with an extra helping of love from the kitchen, all served with courtesy and efficiency, at surprisingly gentle prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and the chips were very good. I had the chicken enchilada suiza and my husband had the chile relleno. The place was full of local families on a Sunday evening, so you could tell it was popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We went for the drag brunch and could not have been happier! It made the entire trip! Vanity is amazing and such a great host

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best Chile Verde I've ever had hands down! Portion could have been a little larger but flavor was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a great meal and would highly recommend the restaurant

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went there on Mother's Day and had a great time. They had a live harp playing in the background which was amazing. There were a couple of noxious groups that made the ambience a lot louder than needed but the food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here to celebrate my Mothers Day. They had a huge, very loud private party going on in the main room, off Indian Canyon. Regular diners were placed in the bar area. Parking is very limited. Drinks were so-so. Tableside guacamole was very good. My chili relleno was undercooked. Service was good and attentive, until we needed the check, and couldn't find our waiter,as we had theater tickets nearby. We live in the Coachella Valley and had never been here before, so this was overall, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for the Sunday "Drag Brunch" and it was a HOOT!!! The "men" were fantastic. Brunch was inexpensive and Margaritas were great!!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time and the food & service was on point!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Sunday Drag Brunch is sooooo much fun!!! A great way to spend a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a very enjoyable experience at Rio Azul. This was probably our 6th visit and have never been disappointed. Looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Met a couple of friends there for drinks and dinner. We had a great time!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Nothing really to recommend the place. It was just okay. Had the carnitas fajitas for2. Portion was really small for the price. Only 3 corn tortillas were brought with it, had to ask for more,recieved 3 more. House margarita was terrible. Tableside prepared guacamole was not worth the price and lacked flavor. Since we are not from the area, I have to believe there are better Mexican joints to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Margarita was horrible. It was supposed to be a Cadillac and it was one of the worth margaritas I ever tastes. The food was Just okay. Nothing to write home about. Salsa didn't have any taste and was not spicy hot. Fresh guacamole at the table was way over priced. Fresh but not very much of it. Extremely disappointed with this restaurant. Visiting Palm Springs and this was the worst restaurant we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good food reasonably priced would recommend this Mexican restaurant to anyone

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This place is always amazing... it's our "go to" place for the best Mexican food in Palm Springs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Tasty Mexican food. Supersize your margarita for $2 extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A definite go to for a great casual evening with friends and family. One of Palm Springs gems for residents and visitors alike!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Spicy, Fun, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was mediocre. Not sure why refried beans are orange. The interior is dingy. Thankfully we sat on the outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Last time we were here, about a year ago, we were crazy for the food. This time, not so much. Shrimp Diabalo was very good, but the Poblano Rellanos with carnitas-not good. They used some strange ground pork for the carnitas which was NOT how it was a year ago. Then it was the usual chuncks of pork, deep fried and crispy delicious. This time, poor! We were very disappointed. But the margaritas ("Skinny" large was great) are excellent and the service is so considerate, we accepted that maybe the chef had changed or something. Not sure we will go back. Sorry to see it change...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Loved the food as did all six of us. First visit just the two of us and had a great time as we sat outside and had great service. Second trip the waitress was not impressive, unaccomodating, slow, ...
We will go back as food is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I had my reservation for drag brunch for at least a month prior, yet my group was split up when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Love the drag show brunch!
Always a good time wneh visiting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always friendly, with a fun atmosphere and a great staff! We go back time and time again! Great food, great people, great fun!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Spicy, Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything was excellent. A good place to go to before going to the Palm Canyon Theatre.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We went for drag bunch and it was a blast! The Queens are great performers and very fun! Best time we have had in PD. Thank you, my 13 year old loved the attention.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I had the best fajitas of my life. Unfortunately, there was not enough spice in the other dishes we had. Our waiter did finally bring us some salsa from the back that they keep around for, "those that can handle it." It did jazz everything up a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was a four out of five... Pretty good.... Service was slow kind considerate, but don't go here if you're in a hurry. Overall I absolutely go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Was just average Mexican food. We had better meals in Palm Springs for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Nice patio, great food! The quail was AMAZING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall dining was a good experience but the service left more to be desired. They forgot one of our drinks, took a very long time to bring water to the table or even place our order for food. We were on the corner of the patio so it also made it difficult to get the attention of the staff when we wanted anything.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

There are nicer, more expensive places to eat in Palm Springs, but for good, basic Mexican fare, Rio Azulejo delivers. Service is good, ambiance could be better inside, (great outside) and the food is very good for a reasonable price. Worth a try!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rio Azul is a great place to meet up with friends, relax and enjoy great Mexican fusion food and drink. The staff is both friendly and attentive. I never have a bad experience when we eat at Rio Azul.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was good Mexican food. They were helpful in pushing our reservation up when our plans changed. When the weather is good the patio dining is nice.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great 2 for 1 margs Thursday nights. Food delicious! Love the pork Carnitas and the calimari tacos. Only beef was that the service was slow. Friendly, helpful service when we got it though!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always love a good meal here. Staff is friendly, food always great. It is a local favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

They do a good job here on all counts, food quality, food quantity, service,ambiance etc. All commendable. Would and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Good food. Too cold to sit outside, our table was in the bar, which was a bit quieter than the main restaurant. The Oscars were on TV, which was fun. The food took a while to arrive, but the wait was worthwhile.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.