Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, the Best of Mexico in the heart of Palm Springs. Chef Ernesto’s family-Inspired award winning authentic Mexican cuisine is handcrafted with the best ingredients and served in a vibrant space to enhance your dining experience. You’ll be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creation of Chef Ernesto’s cuisine. It is a magical combination of delicious fresh and flavorful ingredients with a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. The place to be for Mexican food where food speaks to your palate. Voted “Best Mexican Restaurant and Best Margarita by Palm Springs Life Readers!

We take reservations for our Sunday Desert Divas Drag Brunch, Hosted by Vanity Halston. Doors Open at 11 AM, Show at Noon; Reservations required by calling (760) 992-5641

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Closed Monday & Tuesday
Wednesday - Thursday 5-9 pm
Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Happy Hour
Wednesday - Thursday 5-7 pm
Friday - Sunday 2-6 pm

Thanksgiving Day; Closed Christmas Day

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: (760) 992-5641

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (27)
Casual (24)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Spicy (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Live Music (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The table side guac is very good and the pork tamale I had was outstanding! The rest of the meal was very goo as well...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Staff was less than accommodating, especially when it came to seating arrangements. My table's view was blocked by a wall/booth so we couldn't even see the stage or see the performers until they walked up to our table. I ended up not even ordering food. The performers were great, however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Sunday is their day for the drag show and that is ALWAYS fun. It is almost always a totally full house so make your reservation and bring your adult friends (not really a kid friendly show) and do not forget the bridal showers and fun birthday parties make it much more fun.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

In a city that thrives on tourism and with hundreds of great restaurants competing for attention, Rio Azul is successful at standing out from a very outstanding crowd of great places to eat and drink. The menu is varied (with items for everybody), the service is warm, professional, and genuine, and the drinks (and bar menu) unique, in that they bridge the gap between "modern and fashionable" and "reliable standards." Our on-line reservation requested outdoor seating, but upon arrival we decided that it was still too warm out for that. When asked to change to indoor, we were assured that everything possible would be done to accommodate us as quickly as possible, but given that it was 8 PM on a Saturday night, all of the indoor tables had already been fully booked (with an indoor seating preference). Brianna (apologies if this is spelled incorrectly) was responsive, professional, diffused our disappointment (about the prospect of having to wait for very long), and wisely (and bravely?) made adjustments, as were possible (without disappointing any other guests), then efficiently found a table that was not only inside but also delightful. Everything about Rio Azul was great (and we dine out more than 300 meals a year, eschewing "chains" but, instead, seeking "genuine and warm establishments that value our patronage). As new part-time residents in the area (our permanent home is 150 miles away, but we adore Palm Springs, so we've recently bought a place and now make it a second home).

Rio Azul is great, the people are wonderful, and the food and drinks are tasty - - and generous! We will surely return... and return... and return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Guacamole table side was very good! Other food was pretty good. Margaritas were very good! The AC was broken the day we went so we were pretty hot eating. Service was quick and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were in town visiting for the first time. Went to Blue Azul because it was close to our hotel. Turned out to be a great restaurant, or waitress was fun and made great recommendations. Food was authentic and flavorful, the tableside guacamole made from scratch right in front of you was yummy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Drag brunch was spectacular!! Enjoyed every minute of it

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good food, generous servings, and great service. Friendly and courteous staff made the meal even more enjoyable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The chicken poblano, chips, salsa, sangria and margarita were excellent but the crab quesadillas were fishy and the steak with nopalitos was so tough it was inedible. The harp player was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food quality was fantastic. There are two Azul restaurants in town. This is the one to go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic meal, great service.
Would definitely go back to this restaurant. Worth the drive.
We were there for restaurant week for a special deal however their regular menu looked amazing, very reasonable pricing, good size portions and looks like a lively "regulars" place in Palm Springs.
Easy parking

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had a great time on Memorial Day weekend for brunch. They had a show that sold out so they added a second one at a later time. I had made reservations for the earlier time but they called me about the second show and gave me the option of which to attend which was nice of them. However, i originally called to make the reservation and was told they had no availability. After looking at their website it showed OpenTable as an option and it gave available tables so if booked. I was expecting to get a call canceling but they never did. So book through the app if they say nothing is available. The show was packed and you share large tables with other guests which some might not like, but we didn't mind. It was a drag show so it was loud and roudy which we expected. Food was good and drinks were strong. I would recommend it if you aren't an uptight person. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Nice experience for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food, fantastic service! Fresh guacamole made at table-side was excellent. The wait staff was efficient and engaging and answered any questions that we had. Will return again.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great margaritas, carnitas fajitas, salsa and warm salty chips!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Live Music, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Food is good and service is friendly but they tend to get at least one fish at the table wrong every time I eat there. They also never know who ordered what and place the entrees at the wrong seats. Service needs to improve. Thursday's are half price margaritas, which is a good deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised. The food was very good, tacos excellent and the margaritas were exactly how we like them, not too sweet.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Rio Azul is always one of the highlights of our visits to Palm Springs, and this time was no exception. Marvelous margaritas, impeccable made-to-order guacamole, and main courses which seem to be made with an extra helping of love from the kitchen, all served with courtesy and efficiency, at surprisingly gentle prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and the chips were very good. I had the chicken enchilada suiza and my husband had the chile relleno. The place was full of local families on a Sunday evening, so you could tell it was popular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We went for the drag brunch and could not have been happier! It made the entire trip! Vanity is amazing and such a great host

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great Mexican food, awesome margaritas starting a $5.00 Good variety of dishes, from traditional to steaks and seafood. Definitely will be coming back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Best Chile Verde I've ever had hands down! Portion could have been a little larger but flavor was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a great meal and would highly recommend the restaurant

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there on Mother's Day and had a great time. They had a live harp playing in the background which was amazing. There were a couple of noxious groups that made the ambience a lot louder than needed but the food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here to celebrate my Mothers Day. They had a huge, very loud private party going on in the main room, off Indian Canyon. Regular diners were placed in the bar area. Parking is very limited. Drinks were so-so. Tableside guacamole was very good. My chili relleno was undercooked. Service was good and attentive, until we needed the check, and couldn't find our waiter,as we had theater tickets nearby. We live in the Coachella Valley and had never been here before, so this was overall, a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for the Sunday "Drag Brunch" and it was a HOOT!!! The "men" were fantastic. Brunch was inexpensive and Margaritas were great!!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time and the food & service was on point!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Sunday Drag Brunch is sooooo much fun!!! A great way to spend a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a very enjoyable experience at Rio Azul. This was probably our 6th visit and have never been disappointed. Looking forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Met a couple of friends there for drinks and dinner. We had a great time!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Nothing really to recommend the place. It was just okay. Had the carnitas fajitas for2. Portion was really small for the price. Only 3 corn tortillas were brought with it, had to ask for more,recieved 3 more. House margarita was terrible. Tableside prepared guacamole was not worth the price and lacked flavor. Since we are not from the area, I have to believe there are better Mexican joints to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Margarita was horrible. It was supposed to be a Cadillac and it was one of the worth margaritas I ever tastes. The food was Just okay. Nothing to write home about. Salsa didn't have any taste and was not spicy hot. Fresh guacamole at the table was way over priced. Fresh but not very much of it. Extremely disappointed with this restaurant. Visiting Palm Springs and this was the worst restaurant we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very good food reasonably priced would recommend this Mexican restaurant to anyone

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This place is always amazing... it's our "go to" place for the best Mexican food in Palm Springs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Tasty Mexican food. Supersize your margarita for $2 extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

A definite go to for a great casual evening with friends and family. One of Palm Springs gems for residents and visitors alike!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Spicy, Fun, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was mediocre. Not sure why refried beans are orange. The interior is dingy. Thankfully we sat on the outdoor patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Last time we were here, about a year ago, we were crazy for the food. This time, not so much. Shrimp Diabalo was very good, but the Poblano Rellanos with carnitas-not good. They used some strange ground pork for the carnitas which was NOT how it was a year ago. Then it was the usual chuncks of pork, deep fried and crispy delicious. This time, poor! We were very disappointed. But the margaritas ("Skinny" large was great) are excellent and the service is so considerate, we accepted that maybe the chef had changed or something. Not sure we will go back. Sorry to see it change...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Loved the food as did all six of us. First visit just the two of us and had a great time as we sat outside and had great service. Second trip the waitress was not impressive, unaccomodating, slow, ...
We will go back as food is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.