Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill. Rio Azul is not your typical Mexican Restaurant. They are Palm Springs only choice for traditional Mexican Cuisine, handcrafted with the best ingredients and served fresh and flavorful! The unique menu is certain to have something for every palate.

Prepare to be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creations of Executive Chef Ernesto Gastelum. Chef Gastelum’s cuisine is a magical combination of delicious fresh ingredients, and a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order and freshly prepared. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. Relax in our beautiful setting while Chef Gastelum and his team perfectly prepare your meal.

Voted Best Mexican Restaurant 2012 & 2014 by Palm Springs Life Readers & Best Margarita 2013 & 2015!!!

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9 pm
Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Thursday 4-7 pm
Friday - Sunday 2-6 pm

Closed Thanksgiving Day

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: (760) 992-5641

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (23)
Casual (21)
Authentic (19)
See All
Comfort Food (15)
Fun (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Live Music (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Spicy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice patio, great food! The quail was AMAZING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall dining was a good experience but the service left more to be desired. They forgot one of our drinks, took a very long time to bring water to the table or even place our order for food. We were on the corner of the patio so it also made it difficult to get the attention of the staff when we wanted anything.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

There are nicer, more expensive places to eat in Palm Springs, but for good, basic Mexican fare, Rio Azulejo delivers. Service is good, ambiance could be better inside, (great outside) and the food is very good for a reasonable price. Worth a try!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rio Azul is a great place to meet up with friends, relax and enjoy great Mexican fusion food and drink. The staff is both friendly and attentive. I never have a bad experience when we eat at Rio Azul.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was good Mexican food. They were helpful in pushing our reservation up when our plans changed. When the weather is good the patio dining is nice.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great 2 for 1 margs Thursday nights. Food delicious! Love the pork Carnitas and the calimari tacos. Only beef was that the service was slow. Friendly, helpful service when we got it though!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always love a good meal here. Staff is friendly, food always great. It is a local favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

They do a good job here on all counts, food quality, food quantity, service,ambiance etc. All commendable. Would and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Good food. Too cold to sit outside, our table was in the bar, which was a bit quieter than the main restaurant. The Oscars were on TV, which was fun. The food took a while to arrive, but the wait was worthwhile.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The place was a little crowded when we got here but they were able to sit us right away. I figure service was going to be a little slow. I just didn't realize that it would be a lot slower. The food were ok and there's really nothing that stands out except their salsa.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is my favorite Mexican restaurant! Great food!! Great value!! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Mother's 70th birthday with party of 10, 68 yr age difference, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awful food after waiting 10 minutes to bus 5 dirty tables as none were ready at reservation time.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Rio Azul is a favorite of ours and the place we usually go on a Friday night when we're in Palm Springs. We were there on the Friday of President's Day weekend. Although we had specifically reserved an indoor table, we still had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. I guess that is understandable given that it was raining and I'm sure they had to accommodate folks who would have otherwise been seated on the patio. The service was very good, and actually much better than on our last visit when we waited forever for our our food. Still, even with the unevenness of the service, we persist because we like the food here. My favorite is the carnitas, but others in our group prefer the enchilada suizas. Expect a wait and pass the time waiting with their skinny Margarita (fresh lime juice instead of sweet and sour mix) and then enjoy the food.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful authentic Mexican food. Friendly staff gray value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good Mexican food, not too salty, good value, great location near accommodations. Very nice service, great musician on the harp! Delicious enchilada Del Mar. not too noisy.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The wait staff here is the best. Super friendly and remembers us every time. The food is the best Mexican in Palm Springs.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great margaritas and tasty, large portions. Did not need a reservation. Outdoor dining available. Would return.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Delicious food, great location, easy parking, nice decor and comfortable seating.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food is always great and consistent. The service is friendly and excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The only issue I had was that I was able to make an online reservation when they infact were booked. They called me morning of to cancel. Later to call and inform they'd had a cancellation. Worked in our favor as I had guests in from OC, spur of the moment. Ended up being a great morning, brunch and drag show. Food was amazing. Service was top of the line. Just should know when a business is booked so a reservation cannot be made.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was our first time to eat here, and boy was it good. The margaritas were excellent. Chips and salsa perfect. I had pork tacos and they were the best I've ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We wanted to love it (and did at first). Nice people, nice atmosphere. The food was just okay, not outright horrible, but bland and a tad dry, without a lot of flavor. We were sad because we loved it when we arrived and wanted it to be our new spot in the desert for Mexican food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Love the staff here. Great neighborhood place with the best Mexican food in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brought friends visiting from New York for the Drag Queen Brunch. It was fun and the bridal parties there also made it more fun. We all loved it and the food was, as always excellent. See you soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have always thought Rio Azul had the best Mexican food, but it was really off Saturday night. My carne asado burrito had very little meat and what it did have was tough and so salty my lips were glazed over half way through. The rest of the large tortilla was filled with rice and a few other ingredients. Definitely not worth the high cost. Also, with an open table reservation we were seated at a miniscule 2 top looking into the glaring fluorescent light of both the kitchen and bathroom, while 4 other groups of 2 were seated at 4 tops in the middle of the room. It will be a while before my return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second time there, again excellent food, very tasty. Service was great, very friendly server. Jalapeño margarita as fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time to Palm Springs and wanted quick bite with my 8 yo son.
Pros- friendly servers, really good fresh salsa, great food, fresh ingredients not too expensive and outdoor patio. I would have given a higher star for value but they charged $12 for a short glass margarita b/c I asked for Mezcal In lieu of house tequila.
Cons- bathroom toilet clogged and dark dated decor inside, patio is off busy street so kind of noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

very good margaritas,we had fajitas that were excellent. reasonable prices and great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We have eaten here many time and the food is always excellent , the service very good and it really is a real Mexican restaurant !

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Sunday afternoon drag show. Definitely a must in Palm Springs. Go around 1130 so you are done breakfast by 12 and can enjoy the show and bottomless mimosas.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and even better drag show by the Desert Divas! Super fun, hilarious and entertaining. Definitely worth checking out the Sunday Brunch Drag Show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a reservation for New Year's Eve, and although crowded, the service was great and the food was excellent. We had a very fun time, and enjoyed the margaritas and atmosphere.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Calamari were under fried and the hot wings were under cooked. Everything else was very good and Raul was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

All 3 diners were well pleased with their selections - flavor, quantity, presentation.
The only negative is one of which many restaurants are guilty, and which Rio Azul illustrated in spades: When an appetizer is ordered, and it takes a while for it to arrive, DON'T follow it within 30 nanoseconds with the main course. It's annoying, it interferes with the tempo of cocktails with the appetizer, and note to restaurant: you might even sell another cocktail.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always busy when we dine here but standards never slip. Staff very helpful. Fresh Guacamole made at table is wonderful and can recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our food was excellent and our server was beyond great however our reservation was not honored. They were 40 minutes late seating us. When I take the time to make a reservation I expect it to be honored. Because of this I doubt that I would go back during what could be busy times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I've been here a few times this time just what I paid for the amount of food was not what I usually get I ordered the tacos plate they've always been wrapped up with some type of a paper wrap this time I did not get that and the amount of sirloin steak I did not get it either it was minimal I wasn't pleased and my daughter's burrito came with sour cream when I just asked for a plain bean and cheese burrito and rice so my daughter did not get to eat with us while we were eating. And also I made reservations for 6:45 p.m. and we did not get to sit down to about 720 730 my bill amount was $77 and change just wasn't pleased this time

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great steak tacos. They made a sangria for me even though it wasn't on the menu. Great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.