About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill. Rio Azul is not your typical Mexican Restaurant. They are Palm Springs only choice for traditional Mexican Cuisine, handcrafted with the best ingredients and served fresh and flavorful! The unique menu is certain to have something for every palate.

Prepare to be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creations of Executive Chef Ernesto Gastelum. Chef Gastelum’s cuisine is a magical combination of delicious fresh ingredients, and a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order and freshly prepared. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. Relax in our beautiful setting while Chef Gastelum and his team perfectly prepare your meal.

Voted Best Mexican Restaurant 2012 & 2014 by Palm Springs Life Readers & Best Margarita 2013 & 2015!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4-9 pm
Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm
Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Thursday 4-7 pm
Friday - Sunday 2-6 pm

Closed Thanksgiving Day

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: 7609925641x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Green Corn Tamale - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Enchiladas Poblanas - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Camarones A La Diabla - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Queso Flamiado - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Homemade Churros - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
For  House Margaritas - Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, Palm Springs, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Open Christmas Eve at 11 AM.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Closed Christmas Day - reopening Monday December 26th at 4 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Open New Years Eve at 11 AM.

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Fun (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took two hours to get our food. Wasn't b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Took two hours to get our food. Wasn't busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Reservation appreciated, we were quickly ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Reservation appreciated, we were quickly seated. Service was great, food and drinks were excellent. Obviously a local favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If the get busy they get confused and se ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

If the get busy they get confused and service suffers I took s long time for anyone to come to out table to ask for drinks Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Everything was perfect. Our waiter,Este ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Everything was perfect. Our waiter,Esteban was very helpful in selecting the house specialties that were cooked to perfection using family recipes. We had a seafood dish and pork tamale that were delicious. Not your typical Mexican restaurant. A cut above for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Poor service tonight. They were the extr ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Poor service tonight. They were the extremely busy. We Waited 30 minutes for drinks. Food was excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We were seated immediately but had to wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were seated immediately but had to wait about them minutes to have our drink order taken. After our order was finally take with apologies for the wait service was greatly inproved.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The best Mexican food in Palm Springs. T ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The best Mexican food in Palm Springs. There are many dishes to choose from on the menu. I recommend any of the pork dishes. I try to order something I never tried before when I go. Never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always... Great food and the be ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great as always... Great food and the best Sunday drag show

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the margaritas and salsa and everyt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Love the margaritas and salsa and everything on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Unfortunately our server was buried and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Unfortunately our server was buried and after two hours we simply asked the manager to pack up our food and we would take it to go. We were on the patio and despite available servers inside (Who were mulling around the host stand in plain eyesight ) there was only one server who unsuccessfully tried to manage all tables outside . Only one of our dishes actually came out after about an hour and a half and there were three of us This is my first negative posted review and I am hopeful the business responds with better training and increased guest satisfaction. Marguaritas and chips were delicious.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The kids meal was a great deal at $5, it ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The kids meal was a great deal at $5, it was a lot of food. The kids really enjoyed the harp music! So soothing and sweet. The regular meals were a bit overpriced. Handmade guacamole was surprisingly bland. Overall it was an ok experience made much better by the harpist.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sunday drag brunch. Laughed so hard my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sunday drag brunch. Laughed so hard my stomach was sore all day.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Go see Sunday Drag Brunch if you are in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Go see Sunday Drag Brunch if you are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We went to the brunch drag show which wa ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went to the brunch drag show which was a lot of fun... food was really good

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to Rio Azul many times, takin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've been to Rio Azul many times, taking friends and recommending it to others. There was a noticeable price increase on both food and beverages this visit. The restaurant certainly didn't require reservations and the food was lukewarm and average. Don't know what happened in the past 5months, but we won't be back. Servers were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

The calamari or shrimp tacos are absolut ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The calamari or shrimp tacos are absolutely AMAZING!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, People Watching, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unimpressed with service and quality of ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unimpressed with service and quality of food. Carnitas was minced and mushed on my plate. No chunks of pork. The guacamole had a bunch of stuff it on and still managed to have no flavor. The service we got (party of 13) was horrendous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Not so good. Busy and disorganized. T ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not so good. Busy and disorganized. Too chaotic to enjoy. I felt that I was lucky to get what I ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Busy night. They tried but service was t ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Busy night. They tried but service was terrible. I knew walking in. Because before I gave my name a guy was complaining they weren't being edited on. It took a half hour before anyone cane to our table to ask for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We have been to Rio Azul a few times now ...

 
 (Norfolk)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have been to Rio Azul a few times now and have always had a good time. The restaurant was very busy because of events in Palm Springs. The restaurant is very popular and always a great place to eat with either a couple or larger groups.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've always enjoyed Rio Azul, but not t ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We've always enjoyed Rio Azul, but not this time. They were very unprepared for a busy Friday night in Palm Springs and provided very slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had a great time for Halloween brunch ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great time for Halloween brunch! The show and costumes were really fun! It looked like everyone else was having a good time too.

Thanks

Tags: Spicy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good and felt authenti ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very good and felt authentic. We sat out on the patio and it was quite nice; despite being right up against the street. The fountain helps mask the car sounds. The only improvement I'd suggest is making the fresh table side guacamole more flavorful. It was quite bland. Perhaps more salt or other spices. We found we had to add salt or mix in salsa to give it more flavor. The serving size was amazing though and our server did a great job of making it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always great! Friendly service with grea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always great! Friendly service with great fodd and ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice location, we ate outside in side pa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 14, 2016

nice location, we ate outside in side patio...music was VERY loud....and a bit frantic.....very upbeat!!! but couldn't have nice conversation when he was playing. probably better inside. food was good....served quickly and hot.....waiter was nice guy, but forgot about us after food was served and took 10 minutes to present bill after table was cleared......service could be improved.

but, we would go back....give them 2nd chance....and eat inside if entertainment is there!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our first meal at Rio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We really enjoyed our first meal at Rio Azul, so close to downtown Palm Springs. The food was truly excellent. We tried the ceviche tosadas for appetizer, the house margaritas, the albondigas soup and the chile verde. It was all so delicious, and as I am a true fan of chile verde, I can say that theirs is one of the best I've ever tried. The pork was tender and delectable, with very little fat, and the verde sauce/gravy was simply superb. It had the perfect combination of tomatillos, spices and cilantro. Yummy!! The albondigas (meatball) soup was also really good, with a great tangy/spicy flavor and really big, firm meatballs. The table salsa was also very good, but could've used used some more pepper heat for my taste. Still scarfed it up, though!

I really wish we had a great Mexican restaurant like this near San Jose, but we just don't seem to.

We were there on a Sunday evening and they had live music as well. The artist was a gifted harpist, who could truly get all over his instrument. Yes, a harp! The guy was fantastic!!

Check this place out next time you are out in the Coachella Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazingly delicious food. Haven't found ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazingly delicious food. Haven't found better or their equal in PS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have always loved this place and it ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have always loved this place and it never disappoints. Danni is always gracious, welcomes us and remembers our orders!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great local spot for delicious food. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great local spot for delicious food. The Sangria was outstanding and the food was well prepared. We sat outside on a lovely terrace where a talented musician played the harp....fantastic!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This drag show brunch is so much fun, fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This drag show brunch is so much fun, for some intimidating but youre made to feel very comfortable with lots of laugh. The Mexican food is also excellent.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here in March 2016 & the food & s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We ate here in March 2016 & the food & service was very good. We brought a friend in from out of town, & things were not the same. The food & service were mediocre, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The Drag Brunch was so much fun! The Gir ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The Drag Brunch was so much fun! The Girls were fierce and put on amazing show! Food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rio Azul is one of the best Mexican rest ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Rio Azul is one of the best Mexican restaurants in Palm Springs. The food is tastier and fresher than other Mexican restaurants in the city. The margaritas are very good too. The service is always excellent too. We will keep coming back!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great drag show for Sunday brunch! Would ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great drag show for Sunday brunch! Would for sure recommend.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here Sunday for the drag brunch. ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We came here Sunday for the drag brunch. The show was so much fun. The food was excellent.

Our server was Danielle she was wonderful. The rest of the staff was great to. Very good service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rio Azul is the best Mexican restaurant ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Rio Azul is the best Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs. There are some awesome items to select from on the menu. This visit was no exception. The service was outstanding and the food was great. I recommend ordering one of their specialties. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great music and food with big strong mar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great music and food with big strong margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Brought friends over because we needed o ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Brought friends over because we needed our weekly fix of Rio Azul. As always greeted with simile faces and everyone was in a wonderful mood.

Our server was Daniela Dickerson who was lots of fun and just knew how to bring out the cocktails and food like a conductor of a symphony. Timing is everything!! By the way, the cocktails were strong!! Thank you Daniela!!

We all, as usual ate everything on our plates. Short of licking them, but the food was tasty, presented well, good portions and all in all another successful evening at the authentic Mexican Restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Five stars. Never disappointed. Always d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Five stars. Never disappointed. Always delivers. Delicious authentic dining. Excellent margaritas.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Fun, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant with authentic Mexi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very good restaurant with authentic Mexican food but even if you are not a fan of Mexican cuisine, they were very accommodating to prepare the food without the spices. I would highly recommend it and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.