About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill. Rio Azul is not your typical Mexican Restaurant. They are Palm Springs only choice for traditional Mexican Cuisine, handcrafted with the best ingredients and served fresh and flavorful! The unique menu is certain to have something for every palate.

Prepare to be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creations of Executive Chef Ernesto Gastelum. Chef Gastelum’s cuisine is a magical combination of delicious fresh ingredients, and a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order and freshly prepared. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. Relax in our beautiful setting while Chef Gastelum and his team perfectly prepare your meal.

Voted Best Mexican Restaurant 2012 & 2014 by Palm Springs Life Readers & Best Margarita 2013 & 2015!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 10:00pm
Sunday 11:00 - 9:00pm

Sunday Drag Show Brunch 12 pm

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: 7609925641x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (43)
neighborhood gem (34)
great for outdoor dining (30)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
great for lunch (21)
special occasion (18)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
romantic (6)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy going there

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food, service, drag brunch You meet lot fun people. It's one of our favor restaurant in town. Prices are great

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drag Me to Brunch is a Must See!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing food and fabulous entertainment! Drag Me to Brunch was a great drag show. The food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent food

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best Mexican food in Palm Springs!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Rio Azul is our favorite go-to restaurant for Mexican food. All the dishes are delicious and the servers are friendly. Never had a bad meal here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Drag me to brunch!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I reserved a table for 8 ahead of time for the 11:30 am time slot on Sunday. Just in time for the drag queen show! When we got there, they sat us right away. Our whole party wasn't even there yet and they weren't bothered by that. It's a great place for a large party, we saw so many large parties seated. We were there celebrating a bday and it was a perfect ending to our long weekend. All brunch items were only $15 and EVERYONE enjoyed their plate, all that Mexican food was necessary to soak up the champagne from the bottomless mimosas!! Bottomless mimosas for only $10 and they're ACTUALLY bottomless. They came around to refill before you even saw the bottom of the glass. And the queens were all FABULOUS! They put on a great, hilarious show. We had a great time. Definitely bring plenty of singles for the ladies, they love the tips!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent. The food the Sunday d ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always excellent. The food the Sunday drag show is grate

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Drag Me to Brunch Sundays - So Fun!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Rio Azul for the Sunday brunch drag show and it was AWESOME. The ladies are so funny and talented, the show was electric! The food and drinks were very good and the whole experience was wonderful -- and a bargain!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place!

Dined on May 6, 2016

They were extremely busy since it was Cinco de mayo they worked really hard to make sure we were taken care of. I always have a good experience here and think everyone should visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is by far the best Mexican food in ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

This is by far the best Mexican food in Palm Springs.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best Mexican Restaurants in PS.

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We were celebrating Cinco De Mayo and the place was packed. Despite the crowd, the service was very good. Alex was our waiter and he's one of the best. There are some authentic Mexican dishes on the menu that I highly recommend. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drag Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

They have the best drag brunch around! Great service and great show.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Average at best

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was average; nothing to write home about. I wouldn't eat here again.

food5
ambience4
service3

Thanks for supporting a great cause in t ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Thanks for supporting a great cause in the community! Also... The molé is the best in the desert!

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Drag show brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went on a Sunday to enjoy the drag show. Food was good. Unlimited mimosa for $10. Great atmosphere. We went with for a bachelorette brunch while in Palm Springs. Not kid friendly.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service2

Rio Azul attempts unsuccessfully to stra ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Rio Azul attempts unsuccessfully to straddle the line between a more traditional Homestyle Mexican restaurant and a high-end Mexican restaurant, losing the positive aspects of both. The food was decent, and the preparation of the guacamole was interesting. However, our server was distracted, lethargic, and unfriendly.

food4
ambience4
service4

We love this place, but the rested is no ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We love this place, but the rested is not have our reservation even though I had a confirmation. Thankfully they had room.

food5
ambience5
service5

The tacos de calamari and tacos de pesca ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The tacos de calamari and tacos de pescado are absolutely amazing! And the deep fried ice cream is a must-have!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Drag queen brunch is a lot of fun!

Dined on April 17, 2016

The drag queen brunch is a great way to spend a Sunday lunch hour. So fun, food was good (definitely try the guacamole, prepared table side). And bottomless mimosas? Yes, please! Be sure to take some dollar bills for tipping the performers.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

We vacationed in Palm Springs for three weeks and dined at Rio Azul 3 times. Everything we had was excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Mexican food surprise

Dined on April 1, 2016

This is one of our go-to places in Palm Springs. It feels like Mexico, the food is excellent and the servers are very friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Such a disappointment

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

For all the "awards" and recognition this restaurant has received-super disappointing. The service was slow at the onset and then rushed at the end. The drinks were left almost full-the jalapeno martini was so overly spicy it was ridiculous. For winning an award for the best margarita...there must not be much competition. Both the regular and the jalapeno were a disappointment. The food was mediocre at best and the restaurant was so dim it was hard to see. After a week of terrific meals in the desert-this was one we wish we had skipped.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

March 31st Dinner with Family

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food. We especially loved the nachos, calamari, and margaritas.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I am not sure if it was just a bad night ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

I am not sure if it was just a bad night for them but we did not have a good experience. We ordered guacamole and asked for more chips and never got them. They got my wife's order wrong and what she got did not have much taste. My son got nachos because they were not spicy but they had a spicy sauce. My daughter had soup but it was salty. My pork was good but not as tender as I expected. Overall a disappointing experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mr

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great place and great food, everything was just about perfect. We will be back. If I could improve one thing it would be to make the chip salsa a bit more spicy. Best Mexican Food in Palm Springs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in Palm Springs

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

This is my favorite Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs. The food is delicious and the service is always the best. A very friendly restaurant. You will not be disappointed. Great Margaritas too!! Everyone there is always having fun.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent margaritas for happy hour! Pla ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Excellent margaritas for happy hour! Place needs to be spruced up as it looks worn out.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Pleased!

Dined on March 16, 2016

We went on a Tuesday night with friends to celebrate a birthday. This was our second visit to Rio Azul, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Everyone loved their dinner, the food was OUTSTANDING and the service VERY good. This is the best quality Mexican food we have found in Palm Springs and we will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

review

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Probably one of the best Mexican restaurants in Palm Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

I had the poblano enchilada. It was outs ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

I had the poblano enchilada. It was outstanding. I can see myself stopping here for a meal every visit to Palm Springs.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Great food and service!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Excellent! Great food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to go for brunch on a sunday ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

great place to go for brunch on a sunday. Great food Great Sevice. Drag show is lots of fun and the girles are very friendly and make the guest very comfatable , keep up the good work and thank you for all your hard work to keep our sunday a funday. we will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We booked at last minute and were accomm ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We booked at last minute and were accommodated well, although our corner booth was perhaps. Bit tight and away from the flow in the restaurant. Our server was engaging and very good at his vocation, making the evening enjoyable. The booth location turned up to be perfect and made for a nice evening. Food was very flavourful, nicely presented and decent portion sizes for all. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We attended the DRAG ME TO BRUNCH and it ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We attended the DRAG ME TO BRUNCH and it was very entertaining! The show was hilarious and done very well! The table side guacamole was wonderful and make sure to take plenty of dollar bills!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Mexican Gem

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Fun, family friendly Mexican Resturant in downtown Palm Springs! Great food and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful drag performers!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Good quality drag performances, and I'm jaded. I will go here again and again. The food was no-nonsense and fresh, and there is plenty of attention by waiters during the performance for drink service. Reservations are a must, and you have to be OK with community seating (all at a long table). We were chatting up people around us from all over the US and Canada. It was really a good experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Just OK

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

A bit disappointed with the quality of the food at this popular restaurant. Maybe we hit an off night. Service was fine, just underwhelmed food wise.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

February 10 Dinner Take-Aways

Dined on February 11, 2016

Two tips for prospective diners at Rio Azul. First, the guacamole is made at tableside, so keep an eye on the preparer to make sure she adds enough avocado to the garlic. The garlic was still seeping out my pores 24 hours later. Second, order the pomegranate margarita only if you like your margarita icky sweet. It wasn't our table's thing. Also, a few inquiries about the various sauces that came with alternative dishes were responded to with "red sauce" or "green sauce". Maybe there were only 2 kinds with multiple different names. All in all, getting the guacamole and margaritas right are the main requirements of a worthwhile Mexican dining experience. Sorry, Rio Azul.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Recommendation from a satisfied customer

Dined on February 7, 2016

A friend of our daughter was here a few months ago and recommended this place so we gave it a try. Everyone enjoyed their meals and drinks. The service was attentive, friendly and timely. However, I must say that the Fish Tacos (Tacos de Pescado) were superior to any that I've had anywhere. I will go back to Rio Azul again just for these wonderful, perfectly seasoned beauties!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Friendly staff and very accommodating. ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Friendly staff and very accommodating. Excellent food. Guacamole needed a little salt but not a big deal. If I lived in Palm Springs this would be a place I would frequent often.

food5
ambience4
service5

Solid Mexican food. Excellent variety, ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Solid Mexican food. Excellent variety, good menu at terrific prices given that it's in a resort town.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.