About Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

350 S. Indian Canyon Dr.
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill. Rio Azul is not your typical Mexican Restaurant. They are Palm Springs only choice for traditional Mexican Cuisine, handcrafted with the best ingredients and served fresh and flavorful! The unique menu is certain to have something for every palate.

Prepare to be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creations of Executive Chef Ernesto Gastelum. Chef Gastelum’s cuisine is a magical combination of delicious fresh ingredients, and a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order and freshly prepared. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. Relax in our beautiful setting while Chef Gastelum and his team perfectly prepare your meal.

Voted Best Mexican Restaurant 2012 & 2014 by Palm Springs Life Readers & Best Margarita 2013 & 2015!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday CLOSED

Wednesday - Thursday 5-9 pm

Friday - Saturday 11 am - 10 pm

Sunday 11 am - 9 pm

Cross Street:
Baristo

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 992-5641

Website:
http://www.rioazulpalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.

Public Transit:
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.

Executive Chef:
Ernesto Gastelum

Private Party Facilities:
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.

Private Party Contact:
Daniela Saenz: 7609925641x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill
Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (32)
good for groups (29)
special occasion (22)
See All
great for brunch (21)
great for outdoor dining (21)
fit for foodies (19)
great for lunch (18)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (10)
romantic (5)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I came here for our anniv ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My husband and I came here for our anniversary. I ordered a 2 item custom meal, and chose to have the chile relleno and a pork tamale. The chile relleno was delicious with its perfectly melted cheese and topped off with a yummy tangy green sauce. The pork tamale was amazing with its finely spiced pork and perfectly moist dough. My husband had the chimichanga which he said was great. We topped off our dinner with sopapillas that were drizzled in honey and had a side of icecream. If we're ever in Palm Springs, we'd definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is delicious and service very ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food is delicious and service very good. Love eating here often. Margaritas are great. Guacamole made table side. Menu is innovative. Try something different.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not so loving it, service was not all th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Not so loving it, service was not all that friendly, harp way too loud to have a conversation during dinner. Food was ok, nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Enchiladas del Mar is a must try dish. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enchiladas del Mar is a must try dish. Absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite Mexican restaurant. Every s ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My favorite Mexican restaurant. Every single employee treats you like you're a part of their family.

Rare indeed............

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's the best Mexican restaurant in Palm ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It's the best Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs. The food is authentic and there is a lot on the menu to choose from. Although this time I thought the carnitas were overcooked a little and dry. Usually they are very good. I will try them again next visit. As always, the service is very good. I will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first visit and would defini ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was my first visit and would definitely go back in a heartbeat. The drinks we excellent and the service was wonderful. Great ambiance and environment for a fun dinner/get together.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the pork fajitas!!! Delicious!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Get the pork fajitas!!! Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The male host with blonde/bleached hair ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The male host with blonde/bleached hair was really rude when we checked in for our reservation. He said there were only tables in the bar area available. When I questioned that, they sat us in the dining area. For the 90 minutes we were there, there were at least 6 other tables including a booth that were never seated. Hmmmmmm. Maybe he had a bad day. Either way, he was really rude ...despite that uncomfortable encounter, this remains our favorite Mexican restaurant in Palm Springs. The food was exceptional as always and he wait staff is so nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was in Palm Springs looking for a good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I was in Palm Springs looking for a good Mexican restaurant, and found this restaurant on OpenTable. I checked reviews online and most were very good. I am very happy with my dinner at Rio Azul. The food was excellent, the service was very good, and it was a perfect backdrop for dinner with an old friend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Rio Azul is our favorite Mexican Restaur ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Rio Azul is our favorite Mexican Restaurant. They make incredible margaritas and their chips and salsa are wonderful. I tend to order the carnitas chimichanga every time I go because they are so good. My niece ordered the shrimp chimichanga and she raved about it. The only thing we were disappointed in was that my niece's husband ordered a dinner salad and instead of serving it first, the waiter brought it with the main dinner. All-in-all it was a great dinner and my niece said they are definitely going back during their stay in Palm Springs.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

we had a wonderful experience, starting ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

we had a wonderful experience, starting with our host who was friendly and efficient. Our server was on top of everything the entire evening. Our food was brought our fairly quickly and it was delicious. I would definitely recommend Rio to everyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Dani is a gre ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food. Great service. Dani is a great server!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Way too much cilantro in everything for ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Way too much cilantro in everything for me. I took most of it home but still could not eat it. Will not drive that far again to eat there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Restaurant Week

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Rio Azul had a great variety of options available for their participation in Restaurant Week. My friend and I chose options that sounded different from their usual menu selections. Everything was wonderfully delicious.

Our server, Daniela, was particularly friendly and always checked on us if we needed anything. Her support staff was also very friendly and timely with things as needed.

Overall, an extremely enjoyable evening.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the deal, LOVED the food!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We went for restaurant week, love it, and will be back for another meal as soon as we can.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great staff! A very fun envi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food, great staff! A very fun environment and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Authentic Mexican Food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Came here for my birthday. Order the Pibil, which was amazing! The service was a little slow, but that could of been because the restaurant was packed, and it was restaurant week. Will be coming back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

kinda ho-hum....nothing exciting to say

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

tables weren't cleared fast. got brought over to our table only to be told, whoops, it's not ready...it's not like it's a huge place.....things seemed chaotic. Food was ok...nothing exciting....average Mexican food. asked for spicier salsa...it wasn't really that much spicier than the regular.i

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was average. The servers were p ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was average. The servers were pleasant but it took a long time to get our food. The ambiance was the stereo-typical Mexican wall art.

Some people love this place - I'm not sure why. I see no reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great use of citrus. Gotta try the yell ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great use of citrus. Gotta try the yellow pepper stuffed shrimp appetizer!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorial Day weekend

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love their food. But they seemed to not be able to handle a big weekend. We waited 1 hour for our food to arrive. That's a lot of chips and salsa. So we were full by the time food arrived. This has happened before on holiday. They need to up their game and plan for this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Once again an amazing dinner for the six ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Once again an amazing dinner for the six of us. Each and every one of us wanted to lick our plates, but we all know that is not only proper but good manners must prevail.

Therefore, if your looking for the BEST Mexican Food in Palm Springs, made to order with fresh ingredients this is your place.

Service is exceptional, friendly, fun and 5 stars!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. It's one our favor plac ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great as always. It's one our favor place to go dinner and brunch. Service is great. The drag show is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a fun Sunday brunch. Not too ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great for a fun Sunday brunch. Not too early, very affordable and the Drag show is so much fun. The emcee is what makes it. Be sure to tell her if you are celebrating something!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy going there

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food, service, drag brunch You meet lot fun people. It's one of our favor restaurant in town. Prices are great

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Drag Me to Brunch is a Must See!!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing food and fabulous entertainment! Drag Me to Brunch was a great drag show. The food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The best Mexican food in Palm Springs!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Rio Azul is our favorite go-to restaurant for Mexican food. All the dishes are delicious and the servers are friendly. Never had a bad meal here.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Drag me to brunch!!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I reserved a table for 8 ahead of time for the 11:30 am time slot on Sunday. Just in time for the drag queen show! When we got there, they sat us right away. Our whole party wasn't even there yet and they weren't bothered by that. It's a great place for a large party, we saw so many large parties seated.

We were there celebrating a bday and it was a perfect ending to our long weekend. All brunch items were only $15 and EVERYONE enjoyed their plate, all that Mexican food was necessary to soak up the champagne from the bottomless mimosas!! Bottomless mimosas for only $10 and they're ACTUALLY bottomless. They came around to refill before you even saw the bottom of the glass. And the queens were all FABULOUS! They put on a great, hilarious show. We had a great time. Definitely bring plenty of singles for the ladies, they love the tips!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent. The food the Sunday d ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always excellent. The food the Sunday drag show is grate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drag Me to Brunch Sundays - So Fun!!!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Rio Azul for the Sunday brunch drag show and it was AWESOME. The ladies are so funny and talented, the show was electric! The food and drinks were very good and the whole experience was wonderful -- and a bargain!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Love this place!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

They were extremely busy since it was Cinco de mayo they worked really hard to make sure we were taken care of. I always have a good experience here and think everyone should visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is by far the best Mexican food in ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This is by far the best Mexican food in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Mexican Restaurants in PS.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were celebrating Cinco De Mayo and the place was packed. Despite the crowd, the service was very good. Alex was our waiter and he's one of the best. There are some authentic Mexican dishes on the menu that I highly recommend. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Drag Brunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

They have the best drag brunch around!

Great service and great show.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average at best

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was average; nothing to write home about. I wouldn't eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Thanks for supporting a great cause in t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Thanks for supporting a great cause in the community! Also... The molé is the best in the desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Drag show brunch

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went on a Sunday to enjoy the drag show. Food was good. Unlimited mimosa for $10. Great atmosphere. We went with for a bachelorette brunch while in Palm Springs. Not kid friendly.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Rio Azul attempts unsuccessfully to stra ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Rio Azul attempts unsuccessfully to straddle the line between a more traditional Homestyle Mexican restaurant and a high-end Mexican restaurant, losing the positive aspects of both. The food was decent, and the preparation of the guacamole was interesting. However, our server was distracted, lethargic, and unfriendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.