Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 30 times today

Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill

4.4
537 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Welcome to Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill, the Best of Mexico in the heart of Palm Springs. Chef Ernesto’s family-Inspired award winning authentic Mexican cuisine is handcrafted with the best ingredients and served in a vibrant space to enhance your dining experience. You’ll be charmed by the colorful and deliciously vibrant atmosphere and wowed by the culinary creation of Chef Ernesto’s cuisine. It is a magical combination of delicious fresh and flavorful ingredients with a philosophy of slow food preparation where everything is made to order. As a result you have a dining experience that excites and delights your senses. The place to be for Mexican food where food speaks to your palate. Voted “Best Mexican Restaurant and Best Margarita by Palm Springs Life Readers!

We are now selling tickets online for our DESERT DIVAS DRAG BRUNCH at www.rioazulpalmsprings.com. Please click the drag brunch tab and scroll down to purchase tickets.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 11:00 am–10:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am–9:00 pm
Happy Hour
Mon–Thu 5:00 pm–7:00 pm
Fri–Sun 2:00 pm–6:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 992-5641
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ernesto Gastelum
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The main dining room is available for groups and private dining up to 80 people. New outside patio can seat 48 people.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Daniela Saenz: (760) 992-5641
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering Menu is available which also includes Party Platters to Go.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Baristo
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant, in front of the restaurant on Indian Canyon Drive or in the parking garage across the street off Baristo.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Located on Indian Canyon Drive.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 537 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.0
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Folk are friendly here and the outdoor patio is nicely lined with greenery to block the traffic and the parking lot. Moreover, there's no crappy music playing outside. The service is cheery and the menu is standard Mexicuisine. Prices are reasonable to reflect the food but also the location - downtown Palm Springs. Rio Azul is made for bachelorettes and groups of friends who want to enjoy decent margaritas and inexpensive grub but, If you like your meals to repeat themselves then beware, Rio Azul is a bean feast. Served with beans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Has a great dinner as always. Food and service were impeccable. Love this place. A favorite for us and our guests from out of town. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Mother’s day- Rio Azul is her fave

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Bachelorette party.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Rio Azul is my favorite Mexican restaurant in town, and they did not disappoint. Our server was stellar. I brought two friends from out of town, and one of them said it was the best Mexican food he’s ever had. I have to agree!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent Mexican offering great food, excellent service and lovely outdoor dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Once again Rio Azul out did it's self. Was a strange night for our server as he was in overwhelm BUT handled it like a champ!!

Food exceptional and the Cadillac Margaritas were just what the doctor ordered.

It was a wonderful time in one of my favorite authentic Mexican food restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

The best guacamole I’ve had in years! Cool table side prep was fun too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The best Mexican food around. Great guacamole and margaritas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Great food and service! Be sure to get the salsa negra, it is amazing. Consistently good food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Support staff was AMAZING!! Server was rude and barely said anything! Asked the waiters assistant for everything because the server was mia all night! Other than that food was amazing and enjoyed the atmosphere

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We really like the food and drinks here, but when the restaurant gets very busy, service suffers. Still worth eating here, but we will avoid the most popular times/nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great Service and wonderful live music. We really enjoyed the fresh guacamole made on site and the maggueritas were very tasty!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 9, 2018

How can a Mexican restaurant, especially one that has a chef who claims to employ citrus as a key ingredient in many of his dishes, not know that a key guacamole ingredient is either lime or lemon juice? Tacos a D+, Green corn tamale more like a Christmas tamale - sweet - give it a B+. Rice average, beans watery.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

We went on a Sunday evening, April 8, using the online OpenTable service. We requested a booth and got it. They had a very expansive menu for entrees, wines, beers, margaritas. We chose the Grande Margarita($7) and it was a totally fine margarita in a huge glass. I had the shrimp tacos(ask for CORN tortillas-healthier!), rice and black beans. EXCELLENT with generous portions. My husband had the Enchiladas Suiza and, again, it was "right on" tasty, spicy but not too much. There was a harpist(YES) that played really nice easy listening and romantic music. Ashlee was our waitress and she was a total love. Knew the menu back & forth, questions about beverages etc she had it all while being an ex-Vet(Army). Parking is at a premium. Very nice experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Loved the ladies! Friendly staff. Best drag brunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Delicious food. Waiter was very helpful since it was our first time there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great Mexican food and a fun and friendly location.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 4, 2018

slow service, salty food

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 27, 2018

After reading lots of great reviews, I was disappointed to experience mediocre Mexican food in a drab, beaten-up setting. There was nothing special about any of it, and none of it was particularly good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We had a wonderful time at Sunday Drag Brunch! It was a great show with delicious food, and truly bottomless mimosas!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Service was horrible! We had reservations for 13 for my friends bachelorette party. It took around 15 minutes to order drinks and another 30 minutes to get our drinks. When we finally got our meals, one person did not receive her meal. She had to sit there and watch us eat when they brought her food. We were close to 2 hours there and again service was so bad, we had to ask several times for the bill. The waiter then refused to take the forgotten meal off the bill and was extremely rude about it. He had the audacity to tell us it didnt take that long because "he timed it". After arguing with us he said he would get the manager. Fifteen minutes later, I had to get up and ask for the manager myself!!
The manager apologized for the server but then refused to cancel our reservations for the next day for the drag brunch. We certainly did not want to return and spend more money at this establishment. We were free to not show up but then we would be charged $17 per person. Needless to say, do not waste your time and choose any other resturant in Palm Springs. This is the first time that I really did not want to leave a tip for the waiter. But alas, gratuity is included and this is why our waiter Esteban felt like he could give us horrendous service and be completely disrespectful. It pains me to know that he received a whopping $60 for us. Never again will I return, it was a buzzkill and all around bad experience!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Visited Palm Springs for 1st time. Read reviews about this authentic Mexican restaurant; all top notch so gave them a try. Our hostess was super friendly, listened well & made me a special non-alcoholic version of their Margaritas. But the 'deliciousness' stopped there. Our chips had zero salt so tasted flat, the salsa was too spicy and the guacamole had no zip at all. Our entrees, though enormous, weren't up to our version of "good." We left most of the food on the plate. Loved sitting outside on the patio. It would have been FAR TOO NOISY & CROWDED if we'd sat inside where the restaurant obviously hosts LOTS of special parties.
Anyway, they get 4 stars for welcoming and sadly, only 1 star for the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great food and great service. Authentic Mexican food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent vibe. Authentic friendly staff. Food, craving more now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

The guacamole was very good & camarones al diablo was outstanding. Next time I’m in Palm Springs, I’ll return to Rio Azul

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

As always, everything was great. Best Mexican food around. Our favorite. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

The chips and salsa are excellent. The wait service is good. The food is just OK. Rather expensive for what you get.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Very good food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I cannot rave about this restaurant enough. I made a reservation 2 months prior the date for the brunch and drag show on a Sunday for my sister's bachelorette party... the show was amazing and the food was soo good... the drinks even better since they do not skimp you out on the alcohol.. I appreciate the restaurant so much because even though I had made the reservation prior they needed a credit card to reserve our spot... I didn't know they were calling me till the day before when they had cancelled mine and all the spots were booked... I freaked out but still they were able to squeeze me in and everything was sooo perfect... Thank you Rio Azul

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great service, and predictably good food. Warm and friendly atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This was our second time here. It has an authentic feel and happy staff. We had lots of fun watching the entertainer, and the food was good. Drinks too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Needed to get servers attention at first but once he got to us everything from food to drinks to cleanup and bill came quickly after that. I thought the food was an authentic and tasty. Music was entertaining. We went on Thursday because it was one block from the Palm Springs Street Fair.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

We were in Palm Springs for a short vacation. We were looking for a good Mexican restaurant and had read great reviews for the Rio Azul restaurant so we decided to give it a try. We both had the chile relleno and we were not disappointed. One of the best we have ever had. Also great Margaritas!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Was one of a few restaurants recommended by our concierge, when my friends and I were discussing the options someone said that this restaurant is very good, I saw they were on open table and had good reviews so I booked. So happy I did. Prices were reasonable, food and margaritas were excellent, so was the service. Food is traditional Mexican, not texmex, it was so nice to have delicious Mexican food, and sit outside in the cool southwest air with my friends. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Excellent food, excellent service .... parking is a hassle but that is Palm Springs

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great drag brunch! Great service during the show. There are lots of bachelorette parties that come. Make a reservation because it’s a packed house.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Always delicious and great service. Good value and vibe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

While we chose Rio Azul largely for its proximity to our hotel, it ended up providing the most satisfactory Mexican food I have had during numerous visits to Palm Springs. The menu is fairly wide-ranging, with several vegetarian and fish options. We both ordered Mexican standards; I found my black beans and steak burrito were both well prepared, with the beef in the burrito tenderer and more flavorful than I anticipated. Discounted margaritas, not surprisingly, lacked potency. The patio, where a harpist was playing and singing songs in Spanish, provided a pleasant touch and was much more appropriate for a Mexican restaurant than light-pop hits of the '70s and '80s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Great as usual.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Rio Azul Mexican Bar & Grill